# Opinion — Hebe Co. v. Shaw

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_0664%3A6

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opinion
- **Published:** January 1, 1919
- **Citation:** 248 U.S. 297

## Text

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES.

No. 664.—Ocroser TERM, 1918.

The Hebe Company and Carnation Milk)
Products Company, Appellants,
vs.

Norman FE. Shaw, Secretary of Agricul-$
ture of Ohio, and Thomas C. Gault,
Chief of Bureau of Dairy and Foods of
the Board of Agriculture of Ohio.

Appeal from the District
Court of the United
States for the South-
ern District of Ohio.

[January 7, 1919.|

Mr. Justice Homes delivered the opinion of the Court.

This is a bill in equity brought to restrain prosecutions threatened
against the plaintiffs and their customers for selling a food product
of the plaintiffs called Hebe, the bill being based upon the destruc-
tion of the plaintiffs’ business which it is alleged will ensue. The
prosecutions are threatened mainly or wholly under certain statutes
of Ohio which, the plaintiffs argue, do not bear the construction
put upon them by the defendants, or, if they do, are bad under the
Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the United States
and the Commerce Clause. Article I, Section 8. A similar ease
was heard before three judges. By agreement the evidence in
that case was made the evidence in this. The District Judge
adopted the opinion of the three and dismissed the bill.

Hebe is skimmed milk condensed by evaporation to which six
per cent. of cocoa nut oil is added by a process that combines the
two. {t is sold in tin cans containing one pound or six ounces of
the product and labelled ‘‘Hebe A Compound of Evaporated
Skinmed Milk and Vegetable Fat Contains 6% Vegetable Fat,
24; Total Solids.’’ with the place of manufacture and address of
the Hebe Company. On the side of the label are the words ‘‘ For
Coffee and Cereals For Baking and Cooking.’’ By § 12725 of the
General Code of Ohio ‘‘Whoever manufactures, sells, exchanges,
exposes or offers for sale or exchange, condensed milk unless it

$
&
é

2 The Hebe Co. and Carnation Milk Products Co. vs. Shaw.

has been made from . . . unadulterated . . . milk, from
which the cream has not been removed and in which the Proportion
of milk solids shall be the equivalent of twelve per cent. of milk
solids in crude milk, twenty-five per cent. of such solids being fat,
and unless the package, can or vessel containing it is distinetly
labelled, stamped or marked with its true name, brand, and by
whom and under what name made’’, is subject to a fine, and for
each subsequent offense to a fine and imprisonment. The first
question is whether Hebe falls within these words.

It is argued that, as Hebe is a wholesome or not unwholesome
product, the statutes should not be construed to prohibit it jf
such a construction can be avoided, and that it ean be avoided by
confining the prohibition to sales of condensed milk as such, under
the name of condensed milk, as was held with regard to ice cream
in Hutchinson Ice Cream Company v. Iowa, 242 U. 8. 153. But the
statute could not direct itself to the product as distinguished from
the name more clearly than it does. You are not to make a certain
article, whatever you call it, except from certain materials—the
object plainly being to secure the presence of the nutritious elements
mentioned in the act, and to save the public from the fraudulent
substitution of an inferior product that would be hard to detect.
Savage v. Jones, 225 U. 8. 501, 524. By § 5778 a food is adulterated
if a valuable ingredient has been wholly or in part abstracted from
it, and the effect of this provision upon skimmed milk is qualified
only by § 12720 which states the stringent terms upon which alone
that substance can be sold. It seems entirely clear that condensed
skimmed milk is forbidden out and out. But if so the statute
cannot be avoided by adding a small amount of cocoa nut oil. We
may assume that the product is improved by the addition, but the
body of it still is condensed skimmed milk, and this improvement
consists merely in making the cheaper and forbidden substance
more like the dearer and better one and thus at the same time more
available for a fraudulent substitute. It is true that so far as the
question of fraud is concerned the label on the plaintiffs’ cans tells
the truth—but the consumer in many cases never sees it. Moreover
when the label tells the public to use Hebe for purposes to which
condensed milk is applied and states of what Hebe is made, it more
than half recognizes the plain fact that Hebe is nothing but con-
densed milk of a cheaper sort.

. _ . - : . aire 2as8
EET OIE AEG ENA AAA AITN TS BI LT EE LEIP IE MEE ER OS ELE MIE IN _—

The Hebe Co. and Carnation Milk Products Co. vs. Shaw. 3

We are satisfied that the statute as construed by us is not in-
validated by the Fourteenth Amendment. The purposes to secure
a certain minimum of nutritive elements and to prevent fraud
may be carried out in this way even though condensed skimmed
milk and Hebe both should be admitted to be wholesome. The
power of the legislature ‘‘is not to be denied simply because some
innocent articles or transactions may be found within the pro-
seribed class. The inquiry must be whether, considering the end
in view, the statute passes the bounds of reason and assumes the
character of a merely arbitrary fiat.’ Purity Extract & Tonic Co.
v. Lynch, 226 U. 8. 192, 204. If the character or effect of the
article as intended to be used ‘‘be debatable, the legislature js
entitled to its own judgment, and that judgment is not to be super-
seded by the verdict of a jury,’’ or, we may add, by the personal
opinion of judges, ‘‘upon the issue which the legislature has de-
cided.’’? Price v. Illinois, 238 U. S. 446, 452. Rast v. Van Deman
& Lewis Co., 240 U. S. 342. 357. The answer to the inquiry is
that the provisions are of a kind familiar to legislation and
often sustained and that it is impossible for this Court to say
that they might not be believed to be necessary in order to accom-
plish the desired ends. See further Atlantic Coast Line R. R. Co.
v. Georgia, 234 U. S. 280, 288.

With regard to the other objection urged, the statute ‘‘was not
aimed at interstate commerce but without discrimination sought to
promote fair dealing in the described articles of food.’’ Savage
v. Jones, 225 U.S. 501, 524. The defendants disclaim any intention
to interfere with the sale of the goods in the original packages by
the consignee, and if the record is thought to raise a doubt with
regard to that it may be met by a modification of the decree so as to
leave it without prejudice in case prosecutions should be threatened
or attempted for such sales. Some question was raised as to
whether the individual can was not to be regarded as the original
package. But it appears that the cans are brought from Wisconsin,
where Hebe is manufactured, into Ohio in fibre cases containing
forty-eight one-pound cans or ninety-six six-ounce cans. The eases
are the original packages so far as the present question is con-
cerned, Austin v. Tennessee, 179 U. S. 343, although no doubt, as
shown by McDermott v. Wisconsin, 228 U. S. 115, 136, the power
of Congress to regulate interstate commerce would extend for some

2
cf
¥
{
os seornceremeeecoamenaegel

a anaes a

The Hebe Co. and Carnation Milk Products Co. vs. Shaw.

4

purposes to the cans. The Food and Drugs Act of June 30, 1906,
¢, 3915, 34 Stat. 768, dealt with in McDermott v. Wisconsin, does not
prevent state regulation of domestic retail sales. Armour & Co. y,
North Dakota, 240 U.S. 510, 517. Weigle v. Curtice Brothers Co.,
decided today. Indirect effects upon interstate commerce do not
invalidate the act. Sligh v. Kirkwood, 237 U.S. 52, 61. Savage
v. Jones, 225 U.S. 501, 525,

Decree affirmed.

A true copy.

Test:

MY
4
i
A

Clerk, Supreme Court, U.S.

Mig abs SE

LY
*3
%
3
s
4
:

4
e
Ss
Fi
|
8
$

}
4
j
5
:
3
;
%

ea a

Spas ht IRIAN ANID OLA PLO ME IIE TELE OD

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES.

No. 664—Ocroser TERM, 1918.

The Hebe Company and Carnation Milk)

roducts C any, J lV: ; ae
Products Company, Appellants Appeal from the District

VS. :
Court of the United
‘orman E. Shaw, Seeretary of Agricul- : ‘

opcoracs . s a States for the South-

ture of Ohio, and Thomas C. Gault, ‘in Cates: at Oe
Chief of Bureau of Dairy and Foods of ;
the Board of Agriculture of Ohio.

[January 7, 1919.]

Mr. Justice Day, with whom concurred Mr. Justice VAN DEVANTER
and Mr. Justice BraNnpets, dissenting.

The right to prohibit the sale of plaintiffs’ product in the
State of Ohio is mainly rested upon Section 12,725 of the Gen-
eral Code of that State. In the absence of a construction by the
Supreme Court of Ohio, we must interpret the statute ourselves.
We have been unable to come to the conclusion, reached by the
majority of the court, as to the meaning of the law. As the
result of this decision is to exclude from sale in the State of Ohio,
a food product not of itself harmful, but shown to be wholesome,
we shall briefly state the reasons which impel the dissent.

Section 12.725 of the General Code of Ohio reads:

“Whoever manufactures, sells, exchanges, exposes or offers for
sale or exchange, condensed milk unless it has been made from pure,
clean, fresh, healthy, unadulterated and wholesome milk, from which
the eream has not been removed and in which the proportion of milk
solids shall be the equivalent of twelve per cent. of milk solids in
crude milk twenty-five per cent. of such solids being fat, and unless
the package, can or vessel containing it is distinctly labeled, stamped
or marked with its true name, brand, and by whom and under what
name made, shall be fined not less than fifty dollars nor more than
two hundred dollars, and, for each subsequent offense, shall be
fined not less than one hundred dollars nor more than five hundred
dollars and imprisoned not less than ten days nor more than ninety
days.”’

The statute defines a crime, and the question is not different than
it would be if the plaintiffs were indicted for its violation. While

2 The Hebe Co. and Carnation Milk Products Co. vs. Shaw.

all statutes are to receive a reasonable interpretation, those of a
criminal nature are not to be extended by implication. Con.
densed milk when this statute was passed was well known to
be milk from which a considerable portion of water had been evap-
orated. Condensed milk to be what its name imports must be made
from whole milk. If not so manufactured, the legislature has
the right to provide that the public shall be advised of the treat-
ment to which it has been subjected. Skimmed milk, conspie-
uously labelled as such, may be sold in the State of Ohio. (See,
12,720, Gen. Code, Ohio.) The legislature has shown no intention
to condemn it as an unwholesome article of food. It is not less
so when condensed.

We are unable to find in these statutes anything which prohibits
the sale of condensed, skimmed milk when it is a part of a whole-
some compound sold for what it really is, and distinctly labeled
as such. In the section under consideration, 12,725, the Ohio
legislature was not dealing with compounds. It was under-
taking to assure the purity of a well-known article of food—con-
densed milk. The statute provides that such condensed milk so
offered for sale shall be made of pure, clean, fresh, unadulterated
and wholesome milk from which the cream has not been removed,
and that the can containing it shall be distinctly labeled with its
true name. With deference to the contrary view, it seems to us
that reading the statute in the light of its purpose to require eon-
densed milk to be made from whole milk and sold for what it is,
the necessary result is to exclude the plaintiffs’ compound from
the words and meaning of the Act. It is not evaporated
milk, and makes no pretense of being such. It is a food compound
consisting in part of condensed skimmed milk. It is so labeled in
unmistakable words in large print on the can containing it. The
label states with all the emphasis which large type can give that
it is a compound made of ‘‘evaporated skimmed milk and vegetable
fat.’’ The proportions of the ingredients are stated. The striking
label does not describe condensed milk, and he who reads it cannot
be misled to the belief that he is buying that article. It is shown
to be wholesome and clean and free from impurities.

It seems to us that the case is within the principle stated by
this court in Hutchinson Ice Cream Company v. Iowa, 242 U. S.
153, in which a statute forbidding the sale as ice cream of an
article not containing a certain portion of butter fat was sustained

. . «aaa eR CaS SRE PI
Bie AE PEE OE ROE Des SP RE IEG LOIS FRAG S VaR

The Hebe Co. and Carnation Milk Products Co. vs. Shaw. 3

as within the police power of the State. The statute was con-
strued by the highest court of the State where it was produced to
include articles sold as ice cream; thus interpreted, we held it to
be a constitutional exercise of the police power of the State. So
here, we think the legislature of Ohio intended to deal with con-
densed milk when sold as such, and to make it an offense to sell
it when of less than the required purity.

It may be conceded that the statute would include such an article
when not up to the standard, but sold for the real thing. The
public is entitled to protection from deception as well as from
impurity. This principle seems to have controlled the decision of
the District Court. The record discloses that in one or more in-
stances dealers had supplied this article as condensed milk. But
- an act or two of this sort by fraudulent dealers ought not to be
the test of the plaintiffs’ right, or control the meaning of this
statute. If such were the case, very few food compounds would
escape condemnation. The few instances of deception shown had
not the sanction of plaintiffs’ authority. Such acts did violence
to the plain terms in which the plaintiffs printed label disclosed
that its product was a compound and defined its parts. The label
so truly expresses just what the substance is, that it is difficult to
believe that any purchaser could be deceived into buying the
article for something other than it is.

The interdiction of the State Board is not against the sale of this
article as condensed milk, but of all sales of this compound in the
State of Ohio. In our view this criminal statute, rightly interpreted,
does not embrace the plaintiffs’ product, and that reason alone
should be sufficient to warrant a reversal of the decree.

A true copy.
Test:

Clerk, Supreme Court, U. 8.

PRIN LE LEI RTP. SII TP EA SLE TN OT A SEN a

— aa

Ry NAR ORR LET LOR Pe NERS SIPS S, Ts CRE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_0664%3A6. Public record. Not legal advice.
