# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Von Baumbach v. Sargent Land Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_0269%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1917
- **Citation:** 242 U.S. 503

## Text

19

ently, meant to give its sanction to this correct
practice. The word ‘‘sustained’’ alone would
have covered an estimated depreciation, and the
intent of Congress in adding the word “ actually ”’
must have been to require some charging off of de-
preciation or some payment into a depreciation
fund. This is the construction given to the phrase
‘losses actually sustained’ in Baldwin’s Loco-
motive Works v. McCoach, 215 Fed. 967, 969; 221
Fed. 59, and the same meaning should be placed on
the phrase ‘‘a reasonable allowance for deprecia-
tion.”’

In addition, the act, when dealing with the re-
turn, provides that the corporation shall state
‘‘ separately any amounts allowed for depreciation
of property.’’ This ‘‘allowance ’’ must, of course,
be made by the company itself and not by the taxing
officials, and the language seems to point to some
actual things done by the corporation in regard to
‘¢ depreciation ’’ and not to a mere estimate.

(B) Depletion of capital can not be deducted as
“ depreciation.”

It may be admitted that under certain circum-
stances the term ‘“‘ depreciation ’’ might be given a
meaning broad enough to cover depletion of capital,
but it seems certain that this is not its ordinary
natural meaning. If a loaf of bread is eaten, no
person would say that it had ** depreciated.”’ If
a merchant has a stock of goods and he sells some

eee sic.

20

while others are damaged or affected by change of
fashion, he certainly would not call the processes
by the same name. In the case of a coal mine we
say that the machinery, shafts, etc., depreciate, but

we do not say that the coal depreciates by being sold. ,
The hardship of the case, if any, should not be met
by calling the process of sale something which it is
not, namely, ‘‘ depreciation.’’

The English decisions all seem to maintain, or, at
least, countenance the view that depletion of ecapi-
tal can not be deducted as depreciation. Lee v.
Neuchatel Asphalt Co. 41 Ch. Div. 1; Wilmer v.
McNamara & Co. Ltd. (1895), 2 Ch. 245; Coltness
Tron Co. v. Black, 6 App. Cas. 315; Alianza Co. v.
Bell (1904), 2 K. B. 666 (1905), 1 K. B. 184 (1906),
A. C. 18; Kauri Timber Co. Limited v. Commr. of
Taxes (1913), A. C. 771, 777. In the latter case the
Privy Council said:

With regard to the decided cases, the gen-
eral principle as to the impropriety of treat-
ing a quota of invested capital, or of the cor-
pus of the subject acquired, as a proper item
of debit from annual profits received, can no
longer be considered to be in doubt. [Italics
ours. ]

In Earl of Derby v. Aylmer (1915), 31 Times 1
Law Rep. 528, the question was whether, under the
language of the act of 1878, section 12, the Earl
of Derby was entitled to a deduction on account
of the diminished value of a stallion for breeding

oan
BERT AME CF RRR tle RAR RELI EME SAN BOE RPE I hi os

21

purposes owing to his increasing age. In holding
that he was not the court said:

That the diminished value was on the same
footing as the investment of money in a wan-
ing source of income.

It is true ‘ iat these cases go to some extent upon
the peculia” language of the acts involved, but they
appear aiso to be largely based upon the general
principle that a depletion of capital is not a proper
item of debit in an income account. The matter
was squarely ruled in the way we contend for under
the Civil War income-tax acts by the Commissioner
of Internal Revenue (Boutwell on the direct and
excise tax system of the United States, pp. 273,
274), and apparently this ruling was never ques-
tioned. In the case of Stratton’s Independence v.
Howhbert, 207 Fed. 419, 421, 422, Judge Pope said:

The ordinary definition of ‘‘ depreciation ”’
is the lessening of value. As applied to min-
ing properties the word carries with it, as in
the case of any other business, the idea of
deterioration in visible improvements, such
as mills and other surface structures and
perhaps the underground improvements so
far as they are put in by the hand of man,
and therefore, speaking popularly, when we
think of depreciation in mining properties,
we think of a lessening in value by time, or
perhaps by accident, of those physical ele-
ments which go to develop and to improve
the property. Now, does this meaning, com-

22

monly entertained and accepted and which is
common to every class of corporations, be-
come enlarged in case of mining companics
so as to make the extraction of ore likewise
an element of depreciation? The court’s
view is that it does not. This conclusion is in

part induced by the reasons which have been

above discussed in connection with the term

‘¢ net income ’’ and in part by the peculiar

nature of the mining business. This latter is

sui generis. It lives by dying. It is a busi-

ness that is intrinsically uncertain. The

segregation of part of a stock of goods is a
definite detraction from the whole. The ex-
eavation of a body of ore, however, may re-
veal other bodies and result in immeasurable
increment. The taking out of ore, while in a
sense depreciation from the body, very often
leads to the revealing of still larger bodies,
and thus results, not in a lessening of the
value of the claim, but in a great increase in
such value. Mining excavation, when prop-
erly conducted, is very often more a develop-
ment than a waste or a detraction. As ap-
plied to this class of corporation, having as
its purpose to exhaust—it may be a year
hence or a hundred years hence—the body of
ore for profit, the mere fact that ore may be
extracted does not in my judgment make the
value of such ore an element to be classed and
deducted as a depreciation of the property.
The court therefore holds, as to this second
provision of the statute, that the extraction
of ore does not constitute a credit in favor of

4

RTL RESTO RY ERY AIEEE LORY TEE INCA a

23

mining companies upon the account between
them and the Government when this excise
tax is to be assessed.

This same principle seems to be recognized by
the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania in Common-
wealth v. The Ocean Oil Co., 59 Pa. St. 61; Com-
monwealth v. Penn Gas Coal Co., 62 Pa. St. 241;
and by the Supreme Court of Wisconsin in a recent
decision under the income-tax act of that State.
Van Dyke v. City of Milwaukee, 159 Wis. 460. On
the other hand, no authority has been called to our
attention where depletion of capital has been
treated as ‘‘ depreciation,’’ except the decision of
the court below and the decision of Judge Lacombe
in the Nipissing Mines case, 202 Fed. 803.

CONCLUSION.

The judgment of the court below should be re-
versed and the cases ordered remanded to the dis-
trict court with directions to enter judgments for
the defendants.

Wiu1amM WALLACE, Jr.,
Assistant Attorney General.
NovEMBER, 1916.

O

7 ee *
% RE ODay ORNS map, “ = . -
Rees: SLEDGE NOES UMM RES SS ALORS Sears te,

Inthe Supreme Court of the Bnited States.

OcTroBER Term, 1915.

Nos.

FRED vON BauMBACH, COLLECTOR oF INTERNAL
Revenue, petitioner,
v.
SarGeENnT Lanp Company, A CORPORATION.

* §Frep von Bavumpacn, CoLLecTrorR oF INTERNAL
Revenue, petitioner,
v.
Surron LAnp CompANy, A CORPORATION.

FRED von BaumBAcH, COLLECTOR OF INTERNAL
Revenue, petitioner,
e v.
4 KEARSARGE LAND CoMPANY, A CORPORATION.

PETITION FOR WRITS OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH
CIRCUIT, AND BRIEF IN SUPPORT.

To the Supreme Court of the United States:

The Solicitor General, on behalf of the United
States, prays for writs of certiorari to review the
judgments of the Circuit Court of Appeals for the
Eighth Circuit in the above-entitled causes.

12229—15

2
QUESTION PRESENTED.

The question presented is whether corporations,
lessors in mining leases, are liable to pay a corpora-
tion tax on the royalties or rents received therefrom,
under the provisions of section 38 of the act of Con-
gress of August 5, 1909, 36 Stat. 11, 112.

THE FACTS.

At some early time the Pillsbury brothers became
the owners of large tracts of land in Minnesota
(R. 44). After removing the timber, they sold
undivided interests in the land, with a view of
developing its ore deposits, to Bennett and Long-
year (R. 45). Subsequently, and prior to 1902, the
undivided interests of the Pillsbury’s passed, on their
deaths, to their respective devisees, whose interests
were, in some cases, as small as 216ths, and some of
whom were minors (R. 45, 46). Under the laws of
Minnesota a minor can not make a lease for more than
25 years (R. 46). As ore leases are usually made for
a longer period, and as such small fractional inter-
ests embarrassed the efficient handling of the prop-
erty, it was determined to form corporations, and to
issue to the owners so much stock therein as would
exactly represent the undivided interest of each
(R. 47). Because the amount of land owned was
im excess of what the laws of Minnesota permitted
one corporation to own (R. 47), these three respond-
ent corporations were formed about February 20,

1906 (R.1, 13, 25). The original articles of each
provided (R. 8): ;

The general nature of its business shall be
the buying, owning, exploring and develop-
ing, leasing, improving, selling and dealing
in lands, tenements and hereditaments, and
the doing of all things necessary or incidental
to the things above specified.

This provision was amended December 29, 1909,
to read (R. 3):

‘‘The general purpose of the corporation is to

unite in one ownership the undivided frac-
tional interests of its various stockholders in
lands, tenements and hereditaments, and to
own such property, and, for the convenience
of its stockholders, to receive, and distribute
among them the proceeds of any disposition
of such property at such times, in such
amounts, and in such manner, as the board of
directors may determine.”

Article X (after stating that the title to the prop-
erty was in two classes (1) the heirs and devisees
of the Pillsburys, and (2) Bennett and Longyear),
recited (R. 10):

this corporation having been formed, by
mutual agreement of all said owners of both
classes, for the more convenient handling,

‘improvement, development and disposition

of said properties * * *.

Prior to the organization of these corporations cer-
tain so-called mining leases had been made by the
owners (R. 46), of which Plaintiffs Exhibit 15 is a

+

. sample (R. 97, 98). Probably all the leases had been
negotiated prior.to the organization of the corpora-
tions (R. 50, 51), but one of the most important
(Plaintiff's Ex. 16), was actually executed by the
Sargent Land Company on January 2, 1907 (R. 50).
These leases do not differ in any material respect
from the ordinary form of mining lease used generally
in this country. They “lease and demise” and “let
and demise” certain lands for the purpose of explor-
ing and taking out “the iron ore,” “the merchantable
iron ore” therein. One lease is for a term of 50
years, and the other is until all merchantable ore
grading 49 per cent and upwards has been mined and
shipped. In one lease the lessee agrees to pay “as
rent or royalty” 25 cents a ton. In the other the
lessee agrees to make graded payments of certain
amounts per ton “as royalty.”” Both leases provide
for minimum payments by the lessee in any event.
Since the lessee is bound by elaborate stipulations to
drill honestly for ore, to remove the ore in a proper
manner, and to keep accurate accounts so that the
royalty may be properly determined, the lessor re-
serves the right to enter on the land and drill for
itself, also to inspect the workings; and the lessee is
obligated to render daily and monthly statements as
to the ore mined and the ore shipped. The leases
contain the usual provisions as to the lessor’s right to
reenter and repossess on breach by the lessee of its
agreements; they provide that tenants’ fixtures shall
not be removed, and a lien is reserved on the ore till
it is sold.

0

The rights thus reserved to the lessor corporations
they constantly exercised during the taxing years in
question. They incorporated a company to inspect
the operations of the lessees, and such inspections
were regularly made (R. 55, 57-59). The controversy
between the Kearsarge Land Company and the Oliver
Mining Company, which appears on pages 77 to 80 of
the record, is a fair example of the close attention
and supervision given by these lessors to the opera-
tions of the lessees; and this was natural and nec-
essary since the amount of their royalty depended on
the extent to which, and the manner in which, the
lessees mined the ore. In addition, the corporations
did other things during the taxing years in question
which space does not permit a rehearsal of. Their
various activities are correctly set out by the district
judge in his opinion (R. 115, 116).

After the passage of the Corporation Tax Act the
corporations claimed that they were not liable thereto
because they were not doing business, and had no
income (R. 8). Being compelled to make a return,
they filed one showing depreciation in excess of their
gross income (R. 4,5). The Government nevertheless
assessed a tax upon them, the exact basis of which
does not clearly appear in the record (R. 5, 107, 108).
The record does show, however, that their claim for
depreciation was based entirely on the annual deple-
tion of capital from gradual waste of the ore supplies
(R. 109), and that no actual allowance or charge for
such so-called “depreciation’”’ was ever made by them
on their books of account (R. 49, 108).

18

bearing in mind the foregoing general principles,
the weight of the reasoning is in favor of the con-
struction we contend for. The strongest argument
lies in the connection in which the term ‘ depre-
eiation’’ is found. The deduction permitted is:
All losses actually sustained within the
year * * * including a reasonable allow-

ance for depreciation of property.

It seems clear, therefore, that ‘ depreciation,”’
as defined by the act, is within the class ‘‘ losses
actually sustained within the year ’’; and it seems
equally clear that a loss to be ‘‘ actually sustained ”’
must have caused some actual disservice or damage
to the person concerned. The mere depreciation
of stocks on the exchange, of goods from damage,
of a house from the weather, is not a loss “‘ actually
sustained ’’ until in some way a payment has been
made, or some analogous thing has been done which
constitutes what is termed a ‘ taking of the loss.’’
Any other view will open the door to fraudulent
or exaggerated estimates of losses by the taxpayer,
and this is especially true of ‘‘ depreciation.”? It
is almost impossible to adopt any rule for estimat-
ing ‘‘ depreciation ’’ which shall apply to all busi-
nesses, and there is never any difficulty in obtaining
the services of experts who will give as exaggerated
an estimate of ‘‘ depreciation’’ as the owner de-
sires. As a matter of fact, most prudent business
men do actually charge off annually a certain
amount for ‘‘ depreciation,’ and the act, appar-

7

122 Minn. 190. These decisions made a rule of prop-
erty in Minnesota as to mining leases, which the Cir-
cuit Court of Appeals, under the decisions of this
court, was bound to follow.

3. The decision of the Court of Appeals that the
plaintiffs had no income, or were entitled to cancel it
all by “depreciation,” is contrary to the decision of
this court in Stratton’s Independence, Limited, v.
Howbert, 231 U.S. 399.

4. The cases are of great public importance.
Many suits are pending, or are about to be brought,
to recover large amounts of taxes whose collection is
claimed to be illegal for the same reasons asserted
by the Circuit Court of Appeals in the present cases.
Moreover, the same point will constantly arise
under the Income Tax Act,'for if, as held by the
Circuit Court of Appeals, the corporations here had
no income within the meaning of the Corporation
Tax Act, equally individuals and corporations,
lessors in mining leases, would have no income
under the Income Tax Act, and the Gover ament
would be compelled to forego large amounts of taxes.

BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITION.
:.

The respondents were ‘doing business’’ within the
meaning of the Corporation Tax Act.

This depends on whether the cases fall within
Mitchell v. Clark Iron Co., 220 U. 8. 107, 170, or
within United States v. Emery, Bird, Thayer Realty
Co., 237 U.S. 28.

RS iS

8

In Mitchell v. Clark Iron Co. the bill of complaint
alleged that the company was incorporated under
the laws of Minnesota (ch. 28, Laws 1876) and was
authorized to own and hold real estate; that it was
the owner of certain lands in Minnesota which it
had explored for iron;

That the defendant Clark Iron Company
some years ago made explorations for iron
ore upon the lands hereinbefore described, or
some portion thereof, and caused explora-
tions and developments to be made thereon,
resulting in the discovery of large bodies ot
iron ore in said premises, or some portion
thereof.

That for more than three years last past the
said lands upon which such deposits of iron
ore have been discovered, have been leased to
other parties or corporations for the purpose of
carrying on mining operations thereon and
taking out and removing iron ore, in consid-
eration of the payment to the said defendant
Clark Iron Company of rents or royalties
based upon the iron ore so mined and re-
moved, and that for more than three years last
past the said defendant Clark Iron Company
has not engaged in any business other than to
watch over and care for the said lands and
receive the rents and royalties accruing there-
from and distribute the same to its stockholders
by means of dividends, except such business
as has been necessary to transact in defending
its title to the said premises, in which the said
defendznt has incurred large expense, the
amount of which is unknown to this plaintiff,

REPRE

9

and that the only income the said defendant
company has had for more than three years
last past has been by way of rent and revenue
from the said lands, accruing by and thru
the leasing thereof for iron mining purposes
by way of rental paid by the lessees on a
royalty basis upon the iron ore mined and
removed from said lands. [Italics ours.]

The case was tried on demurrer, so that these were
the only facts before the court. This court, after
stating these facts as to the nature of the business
done by the company, said (220 U. S. 171):

We think it is clear that corporations
organized for the purpose of doing business,
and actually engaged in such activities as
leasing property, collecting rents, managing
office buildings, making investments of profits,
or leasing ore lands and collecting royalties,
managing wharves, dividing profits, and in
some cases investing the surplus, are engaged
in business within the meaning of this statute,
and in the capacity necessary to make such
organizations subject to the law. [Italics ours.]

In the Emery, Bird, Thayer Realty Company case
this court said (237 U. S. 32, 33):

* * * The question is rather what the
corporation is doing than what it could do,
228 U. S. 305, 306, but looking even to its
powers they are limited very nearly to the
necessary incidents of holding a specific tract
: of land. The possible sale of the whole would
be merely the winding up of the corporation.

That of a part would signify that the Dry

ee

10

Goods Company did not need it. The claim-
ants’ characteristic charter function and the
only one that it was carrying on was the bare
receipt and distribution to its stockholders of rent
from a specified parcel of land. Unless its bare
existence as an intermediary was doing business,
w 1s hard to imagine how it could be less engaged.
[Italics ours. ]

It is submitted that the cases at bar fall directly
within Mitchell v. Clark Iron Company. In that case,
as stated above, it was alleged that all the leases had
been made more than three years prior to the filing
of the complaint, February 10, 1910, so that since the
passage of the Corporation Tax Act the company had
done nothing but watch over its lands, and collect its
royalties. That case is decisive here.

In the Emery, Bird, Thayer Realty Company case,
while it is true that the corporation was carrying out
the functions for which it was incorporated, those
functions were purely passive. The corporation was
a mere conduit pipe. It was as though it had been
incorporated merely to collect the interest on invest-
ments, to receive income, so that it could be reached,
not by an excise, but only by an income, tax. In the
cases at bar, the companies were incorporated for the
very purpose of getting, in the operation and manage-
ment of mining leases, the advantage of a legal person
over minors and undivided interests. The corpora-
tions supplied the main capital—the land. The
lessees supplied the labor and, so to speak, the work-
ing capital. The product was divided between
them. This arrangement constituted a community

11

of interest between lessors and lessees, and required
the corporations to do what they did, namely, exer-
cise a constant supervision over the business to see
that they obtained their just royalties. This is
fully brought out in the opinion of the district judge
(R. 115-117), and it seems impossible to add any-
thing thereto.
II.
A mining lease is not a sale on installments, and the
royalties thereon are income.

(a) The Circuit Court of Appeals in deciding that a
mining lease was a sale relied entirely upon a remark
of Lord Blackburn in Coltness Iron Co. v. Black, 6
App. Cas., 315, 335, and on certain Pennsylvania
cases (219 Fed. 38, 39). But Lord Blackburn con-
cluded the remarks quoted, as follows:

But the argument that no income tax
should be imposed on what is, perhaps not
quite accurately, called rent reserved on a
mineral lease, because it is a payment by in-
stalments of the price of minerals forming part
of the land, any more than on the price paid
down in one sum for the out and out purchase
of the minerals forming part of the land, is,
I think, untenable.

As to the Pennsylvania cases, the Circuit Court of
Appeals faiied to notice Denniston v. Haddock, 200
Pa. St. 426, 428, where the court, after referring to the
cases relied on by the Circuit Court of Appeals, said
of mining leases:

Whether it would be better to call such an
instrument accurately what it certainly was at

12

common law, a lease without impeachment of
waste, or to endeavor to reconcile all the deci-
sions by calling it a conditional sale, is not
necessary at present to discuss. The point
to be noted is that the rules applicable to sales
are not to be applied indiscriminately to such
instruments but each is to be construed like
any other contract by its own terms.

Outside of the peculiar Pennsylvania cases, referred
to by the Circuit Court of Appeals, the authorities
are uniform that a mining lease is not a sale, and that
the rents or royalties thereon are income. United
States v. Gratiot, 14 Pet. 526, 538, 539; Hyatt v. Vin-
cennes Bank, 118 U.S. 408, 416; Raynolds v. Hanna,
55 Fed. 783, 800, 801; Tenn. Oil, Gas & Mineral Co.
v. Brown, 131 Fed. 696, 700; Daly v. Beckett, 24
Beav. 114; Lacey v. Newcomb, 95 Iowa, 287; Hen-
driz v. McBeth, 61 Ind. 478; Comley v. Ford, 65 W.
Va. 429; Eley’s Appeal, 103 Pa. St. 300; McClintock
v. Dana, 106 ib. 386; Shoemaker’s Appeal, ib. 392.
In Eley’s Appeal, supra, the court said (p. 306):

The word “income” means the gain which
accrues from property, labor or business. In
its ordinary and popular meaning, it is strictly
applicable to the periodical payments, in the
nature of rent, which are usually made under
coal and other mineral leases, and we have no
doubt it was used in that sense by the testator.

The case of United States v. Gratiot, supra, is not
cited by the Circuit Court of Appeals and is really
decisive of the question.

13

It is said (219 Fed. 42) of some of these decisions
that they arose under wills, and depended therefore
merely on the intent of the testator, but there were
in them no special indications of the testator’s inten-
tion, and he was merely presumed to have meant by
royalties in mining leases what everybody else meant
thereby.

(6) Prior to the time the rights of the United
States accrued the Supreme Court of Minnesota had
decided, in State v. Evans, 99 Minn. 220, that a min-
ing lease is not a sale but a lease, and that the royal-
ties on it are true rents or profits accruing from the
land, and this was affirmed in Boeing v. Owsley, 122
Minn. 190. That decision made a rule of property
in Minnesota, and the Circuit Court of Appeals was
bound to follow it.

Bucher v. Cheshire R. R. Co., 125 U. 8.
555, 583;

Clarke v. Clarke, 178 U. S. 186;

Abraham v. Casey, 179 U. 8. 210, 218;

East Cent. E. M. Co. v. Cent. Eureka Co.,
204 U.S. 266, 272;

Kuhn v. Fairmont Coal Co., 215 U. 8. 349,
360;

Foster v. Elk Ford Oil & Gas Co., 90 Fed.
178, 182;

York v. Washburn, 129 Fed. 564, 567;

Fretts v. Shriver, 181 Fed. 279.

It is contrary to all principle to have a mining lease
of land in Minnesota called a sale if the question arise
in the District Court for Minnesota, and a lease if it
arise in a State court.

14

(c) It follows that the royalties or rents received
by the respondent were income. The Circuit Court
of Appeals refers as authority to cases where single
sales of property have been held to be mere conver-
sion of capital, but the judges who delivered those
opinions were careful to state that the case of regular
sales for a business are different. The rentals
received on a lease of agricultural land or of a house
necessarily represent, to some extent, a depletion of
capital, and such leases may run so long that, unless
replacement of capital be made, the property is
worthless at the end of the term; but the rentals are
nevertheless income. On this aspect of the case
also Mitchell v. Clark Iron Company, supra, is decisive,
for the court must have held in that case that the
royalties on mining leases were income.

III.

The allowance as depreciation of all the receipts of
royalties in excess of expenses was erroneous.

This follows necessarily from Stratton’s Independ-
ence, Limited, v. Howbert, 281 U.S. 399, assuming that
the respondents were “doing business,’ and had
income. To say that they had income, but that, by
deducting as depreciation the very items which con-
stituted this income, they had none, is a reductio ad
absurdum. There is no evidence in the record that
the total amount of royalties received has any legiti-
mate bearing on the amount of depletion of capital,
figured either on a cost or on a value basis. The

15

opinion of the Circuit Court of Appeals went entirely
on the ground that a mining lease is a mere sale on
installments, and that everyone selling property on
installments is entitled to deduct, as depreciation, the
entire amount of the installment payments. The
statement of such a proposition is its best answer,
and, as to mining property at least, the case of
Stratton’s Independence, Limited, is decisive. What-
ever the respondents may be entitled to deduct as
depreciation, they are clearly not entitled, as matter
of law, to deduct the entire amount of their net
receipts. +

IV.
It is respectfully submitted that the writs should
issue as prayed.

Joun W. Davis,

Solicitor General.
-OcroBErR, 1915.

Suthe Supreme Court of the United States.

OcToBER TERM, 1915.

FRED von BaumBacu, CoLLector or IN-}
ternal Revenue, Petitioner,
: v.
Sarcent Lanp Company, A Corporation. |

>No. 707

FRED von Baumsacu, CoLLEcToR or In-)
ternal Revenue, Petitioner,

| v.

: Surron Lanp Company, A CoRPORATION. |

rNo. 708

ae Te

FRED von Baumsacn, CoLLEcTor or In-)
ternal Revenue, Petitioner,

v. No. 709

KerarsarGe Lanp Company, a Corpora-
tion. J

ON WRITS OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH
CIRCUIT.

Wg a gy oT an) ee
Fig eee, SE TaD oe ~

MOTION TO ADVANCE.

Comes now the Solicitor General, appearing on
behalf of the petitioner, and respectfully moves

the court to advance the above-entitled causes
36633—16

ia eae renee imran

6

The companies paid the tax assessed and brought
these actions to recover it. The district judge held
that the companies were “doing business” within
the meaning of the Corporation Tax Act. He held,

- however, that the rentals received were not income,
but were return of capital, and rendered judgment
for the full amount claimed by plaintiffs. The Cir-
cuit Court of Appeals affirmed the judgment (219
Fed. 31), holding (a) that the companies had no
income since the payments were merely capital pay-
ments; (b) that a mining lease is not a lease at all,
but a sale of the ore payable in installments, and
hence the rentals are not income; (c) that the com-
panies merely owned the right to the purchase price
of the ore, as in the case of a person owning promis-
sory notes payable in different years without interest
and that the annual payments could not be called
income; (d) that the companies were not “doing
business”’ within the meaning of the act.

REASONS FOR THE ALLOWANCE OF THE WRIT.

1. The decision of the Court of Appeals that the
plaintiffs were not “doing business” is contrary to
the decision of this court in Mitchell v. Clark Iron Co.,
220 U.S. 107, 170. .

2. The decision of the Court of Appeals that a
mining lease is a sale on installments is contrary to
the decision of the Supreme Court of Minnesota—
the State where the land lay, where the leases were
made and were to be performed—in State v. Evans,
99 Minn. 220 (Sept. 1906), and Boeing v. Owsley,

OCTOBER TERM, 1916.
Argument for Petitioner. 242 U.S.

The decision whether a corporation is carrying on business within the
meaning of the Corporation Tax Law must depend in each instance
upon the particular facts before the court; no particular amount of
business is required.

A corporation which has not reduced its activities to owning and hold-
ing property and the distribution of its avails, but maintains its
organization for continued efforts in pursuit of profit and for such
activities as are therein essential, is carrying on business within the
meaning of the act.

Respondent corporations, besides receiving and distributing among
their shareholders the royalties from a number of outstanding long
term ‘‘mining leases,’’ employed another company to inspect the
lessees’ operations and keep them to their contracts, made some
mining explorations at expense on other parts of their properties,
sold or leased other parcels and sold some timber, held, that they were
carrying on business within the meaning of the Corporation Tax
Law.

Quere: Whether this court, in determining whether royalties under
mining leases are income subject to the Corporation Tax Law, is
constrained to follow the decisions of the highest court of the State
in which the leased property is situate holding that such royalties
are rents and profits.

The ‘‘mining leases’”’ involved in these cases, were not equivalent to
sales of property; and the moneys paid by the lessees to the re-
spondents were not converted capital, but rents or royalties, and as
such were income, proper to be included in measuring their taxes
under the Corporation Tax Law. Stratton’s Independence v. How-
bert, 231 U.S. 399; Stanton v. Baltic Mining Co., 240 U.S. 103.

The depletion of a mine resulting from the removal of ore in the course
of its operation is not a “depreciation of property” for which a
deduction may be made under the Corporation Tax Law.

219 Fed. Rep. 31, reversed.

THE case is stated in the opinion.

Mr. Assistant Attorney General Wallace for petitioner:
The respondents were ‘‘doing business” within the
meaning of the Corporation Tax Act. The cases fall
within Mitchell v. Clark Iron Co., 220 U.S. 107, 170; not
within United States v. Emery, Bird, Thayer Realty Co.,
237 U. S. 28. In the cases at bar the companies were

VON BAUMBACH v. SARGENT LAND CO. 505

242 U.S. Argument for Petitioner.

incorporated for the very purpose of getting, in the
operation and management of mining leases, the ad-
vantage of a legal person over minors and undivided
interests. The corporations supplied the main capital—
the land. The lessees supplied the labor and, so to speak,
the working capital. The product was divided between
them. This arrangement constituted a community of
interest between lessors and lessees and required the
corporations to do what they did—namely, exercise a
constant supervision over the business to see that they
obtained their just royalties. This shows that the object
of a mining lease is to divide up the mining business, the
lessor furnishing most of the capital.

A mining lease is not a sale on installments, and the
royalties thereon are income. See the full remarks of
Lord Blackburn in Coltness Iron Co. v. Black, 6 App.
Cas. 315, 335. As for the Pennsylvania cases relied on by
the court below (219 Fed. Rep. 38, 39), see Denniston v.
Haddock, 200 Pa. St. 426, 428; they oppose all the other
authorities. Before the rights of the United States ac-
crued, the Supreme Court of Minnesota had decided, in
State v. Evans, 99 Minnesota, 220, that a mining lease is
not a sale but a lease, and that the royalties on it are true
rents or profits accruing from the land, and this was
affirmed in Boeing v. Owsley, 122 Minnesota, 190, and in
Minnesota v. Royal Mineral Association, 156 N. W. Rep.
128, notwithstanding the decision below. The decision in
State v. Evans made a rule of property in Minnesota, and
the Court of Appeals was bound to follow it.

The royalties or rentals, when received, constituted
gross income of the lessors. Mitchell v. Clark Iron Co.,
supra. Whether these ‘‘royalties” are called payments by
installment of a debt, or conversion of capital from one
form to another, they were, nevertheless, received by the
companies during the taxing years from the business done
by them with the advantages inherent in a corporate

506 OCTOBER TERM, 1916.
Argument for Petitioner. 242 U.S.

organization. They were the gross income of the com-
panies from such business, since gross income is nothing
but gross money receipts or revenue. They are therefore
within the very language of the act. Anderson v. Forty-
two Broadway Co., 239 U. 8S. 69. The distinction is plain
between a casual conversion of capital, Secretary of State v.
Scoble (1903), 1 K. B. 494 (1903) A. C. 299; Stevens v.
Hudson’s Bay Co., 101 Law Times Rep. 96; Gray v. Dar-
lington, 15 Wall. 63, 66, and a conversion occurring in the
regular course of business. Stratton’s Independence, Lid.,
v. Howbert, 231 U. 8. 399, 414, 415; Stanton v. Baltic
Mining Co., 240 U.S. 103, 114.

“Depreciation” cannot be ‘‘allowed” under the act
unless, and only to the extent that, actual deductions or
payments have been made on account of it. Just as
“‘income”’ must be an actual, not a hypothetical, receipt,
so “‘outgo” must be an actual, not a hypothetical, pay-
ment. It seems clear that ‘‘depreciation,” as defined by
the act, is within the class “losses actually sustained
within the year;” and it seems equally clear that a loss to
be ‘‘actually sustained”? must have caused some actual
disservice or damage to the person concerned. Baldwin
Locomotive Works v. McCoach, 215 Fed. Rep. 967, 969; 221
Fed. Rep. 59.

Depletion of capital cannot be deducted as “‘deprecia-
tion.” The latter term does not naturally include the
former. In the case of a mine the machinery, shafts, etc.,
depreciate, but we do not say that the deposit of mineral
depreciates by being sold. The English decisions all seem
to maintain, or, at least, countenance the view that deple-
tion of capital cannot be deducted as depreciation. Lee v.
Neuchatel Asphalt Co., 41 Ch. Div. 1; Wilmer v. Mc-
Namara & Co., Ltd. (1895), 2 Ch. 245; Coliness Iron Co. v.
Black, 6 App. Cas. 315; Alianza Co. v. Bell (1904), 2 K. B.
666 (1905), 1 K. B. 184 (1906), A. C. 18; Kauri Timber
Co., Ltd., v. Commr. of Taxes (1913), A. C. 771, 777. See

na eS
VON BAUMBACH v. SARGENT LAND CO. 507
242 U.S. Argument for Respondents.

Boutwell on the direct and excise tax system of the
United States, pp. 273, 274; Stratton’s I ndependence v.
Howbert, 207 Fed. Rep. 419, 421, 422; Commonwealth v.
Ocean Oil Co., 59 Pa. St. 61; Commonwealih v. Penn Gas
Coal Co., 62 Pa. St. 241; Van Dyke v. Milwaukee, 159
Wisconsin, 460. We know of no authority holding deple-
tion of capital equivalent to “depreciation” other than the
decision of the court below and that in the N ipissing Mines
Case, 202 Fed. Rep. 803.

Mr. John R. Van Derlip, with whom Mr. Burt F. Lum
and Mr. Kenneth Taylor were on the brief, for respondents.

The respondents were not corporations “organized for
profit.” The sole purpose of their organization was the
liquidation of the assets contributed, in undivided por-
tions, by the owners, with a view to the partition of the
whole and to enable them to realize the money equivalent
of their respective contributions, but with no view to
dealing, speculating, trading, or gain. The act means that
a corporation, to be subject to taxation, must be organized
to make profit from the carrying on or doing of business.
Lewellyn v. Pittsburgh, B. & L. E. Ry. Co., 222 Fed. Rep.
177, 183, 184; Smith v. Anderson, L. R., 15 Ch. Div. 247.
The words ‘organized for profit,” do not merely dis-
tinguish between charitable corporations and all others.
The suggestion that any corporation organized by private
persons for their own advantage or interest is organized for
profit is untenable. Such an interpretation is opposed to
the common acceptation of the words, and renders them
idle. For it is not sensibly conceivable that any persons
would organize a corporation, unless it would be of some
advantage to them. The tax is not a tax on incomes, nor
on corporations which merely receive incomes from prop-
erty. Zonne v. Minneapolis Syndicate, 220 U. S. 187;
McCoach v. Minehill &c. R. R. Co., 228 U.S. 295; Flint v.
Stone-Tracy Co., 220 U. 8. 149, 152. The receipt of inter-

508 ; OCTOBER TERM, 1916.

Argument for Respondents. 242 U.S.

est, rent, or other income is simply a concomitant of
property ownership. Pollock v. Farmers’ Loan & Trust
Co., 158 U. 8. 601, 625, 626. ‘‘ Profit” in this act signifies
the gain from a commercial or other active business, in-
volving “ordinary and necessary expenses”’ in the way of
rentals, salaries and other outgoes and obligations. Gray
v. Darlington, 15 Wall. 63; People v. Board of Supervisors,
4 Hill, 20. If the words “organized for profit” be ignored,
the act would apply to every corporation carrying on or
doing business, which, concededly, it does not.

Respondents were not ‘‘carrying on or doing business”
during the years for which the tax was assessed. There
was no substantial activity other than the receipt of
moneys payable to them under the outstanding mining
contracts and the distribution of such moneys to their
stockholders. It was only because the act was limited to
corporations doing business that its constitutionality was
sustained. Flint v. Sione-Tracy Co., supra.

In Mitchell v. Clark Iron Co., 220 U. S. 107, 170, the
question whether the Clark Iron Company was “doing
business” within the meaning of the statute was not an
issue.. This court assumed that the company was con-
-tinuing, after the passage and approval of the act, to
make leases from time to time, an activity, which, if it
existed, may be conceded to be doing business within the
statute.

The amendment of the articles of incorporation in
these cases conforms completely in its effect to the amend-
ment made by the Minneapolis Syndicate in the Zonne
Case, supra, and also in Abrast Realty Co. v. Maxwell, 206
Fed. Rep. 333; s. c., 218 Fed. Rep. 457.

In every case the question is determined not by the
power to act, but by the activities engaged in by the
corporation. Flint v. Stone-Tracy Co., 220 U. 8. 107, 145,
151; United States v. Emery, Bird, Thayer Realty Co., 237
U. S. 28, 32; Minehill &c. R. R. Co. v. McCoach, 192

VON BAUMBACH v. SARGENT LAND CO. _ 506
242 U.S. Argument for Respondents.

Fed. Rep. 670, 672; Public Service Ry. Co. v. Herold, 227
Fed. Rep. 500; State Line Co. v. Davis, 228 Fed. Rep.
246, 249.

Owning and caring for property and division of the
income from it is not ‘‘doing business.”” Business must be
actually done. So far as concerns the mining property, the
contracts disqualified respondents from ‘‘doing business.”’
The business was all done by the lessees. The petty
licenses to squatters and the two or three sales of burned
timber to save its value from destruction were of course
merely incidental and negligible. So were the sales of
land, which were trivial, incidental to ownership and made
under a contract antedating respondents’ ownership.
Sales, or receipts of principal, interest or rents, as in-
cidents of ownership, are not doing business.

Since the receipts of money under the mining con-
tracts represented merely a conversion of capital assets
without gain or profit, they were not ‘‘gross income.”
Respondents took and held the legal title, subject to the
outstanding contracts, pursuant to which they could re-
ceive, and anticipate receiving, nothing except the moneys
which should become payable thereunder. Even if the
contracts were not sales of the ore, it does not follow that
the receipts were income. Counsel here distinguished
English cases, and cited Caldwell v. Fulton, 31 Pa. St. 475;
Harlan v. Lehigh C. & N. Co., 35 Pa. St. 287; Citizens’ Gas
Co. v. Whitney, 232 Pa. St. 592, and many other Penn-
sylvania decisions, and Hook v. Garfield Coal Co., 112
Towa, 210; Wilson v. Youst, 43 W. Va. 826; Selvey v.
Grafton Coal Co., 72 W. Va. 680; Manning v. Frazier, 96
Illinois, 279. The contracts are analogous to executory
contracts of sale. Genet v. D. & H. Canal Co., 136 N. Y.
593; Browning v. Boswell, 215 Fed. Rep. 826; Kansas
Natural Gas Co. v. Board, 75 Kansas, 335.

The decisioris of the Minnesota Supreme Court on the
nature of such ‘‘mining leases” are not binding as a rule of

(ESN ee Re NETO Nee Sean EE

510 OCTOBER TERM, 1916.
Argument for Respondents. 242 U.S.

property or otherwise. All the cases cited to the con-
trary concerned private disputes in most instances gov-
erned by local laws or rules of property, and in none of
them was the construction of a federal statute involved.
The law in question is a federal taxing law which under the
Constitution must operate with uniformity to be valid,
and in applying it the federal courts must follow their own
judgment.

Gross income and gross receipts are different things.
There is no tax unless there are net profits. Flint v.
Stone-Tracy Co., 220 U. 8. 145. If the receipts from the
leases were income there would be no distinction under the
act between income and ‘‘property or invested capital.”

That proceeds of sales of capital are not income, see:
Stevens v. Hudson’s Bay Co., 101 L. T. Rep. 96; Secretary
of State for India v. Scoble, 89 L. T. Rep. 1; Baldwin
Locomotive Works v. McCoach, 215 Fed. Rep. 967, 969.

That -is capital which is owned by a taxpayer at the
time of the incidence of the tax, and to the extent of its
value at that time, money into which the property is
afterward converted, is not to be considered as income
which can form the basis of taxation.

The respondents were entitled to deduct the amount of
the royalties as ‘‘a reasonable allowance for depreciation
of property,” under the act. Omission to enter them in a
depreciation account was not material, and the Com-
missioner’s regulation to the contrary was an unlawful
extension of the act. The question of depreciation was one
of fact. Bailey v. Railroad Company, 106 U.S. 109. Asa
fact the capital value of the contracts, as it was when the
act took effect, was diminished by the amount of the
subsequent payments. This was ‘‘depreciation,”’ under
the act. See the Income Tax Law of September 8, 1916,
§§ 10 and 12, 39 Stat. 756.

Stratton’s Independence v. Howbert is consistent with the
foregoing propositions.

iia eeetintaiiet ne teeeneimmeccnmnsiile

VON BAUMBACH v. SARGENT LAND CO. 511

242 U.S. Opinion of the Court.

Mr. Justice Day delivered the opinion of the court.

These three cases were argued and submitted together
and involve practically the same facts. Suits were brought
by the corporations named in the United States District
Court for the District of Minnesota against the Collector
of Internal Revenue, to recover certain taxes, paid under
protest, assessed under the Corporation Tax Law of 1909,
36 Stat. 11, 112, for the years 1909, 1910 and 1911. The
judgments in the District Court were for the respondents
(207 Fed. Rep. 423), which judgments were affirmed in the
Circuit Court of Appeals. 219 Fed. Rep. 31.

In 1890, John 8. Pillsbury, George A. Pillsbury and
Charles A. Pillsbury, doing business together as John S.
Pillsbury & Company, were the owners of large tracts of
lands in northern Minnesota, which had been acquired for
the timber and from which the timber had been cut, being
valuable after such severance of the timber for the mineral

- deposits contained therein. In the year named, the Pills-
burys entered into an arrangement with John M. Long-
year and Russell M. Bennett, authorizing the latter two to
explore the lands for iron deposits. In 1892, Longyear
and Bennett having discovered valuable deposits of iron
ore, a half interest in something over ten thousand acres
of the lands was conveyed to them, the lands thereafter
being owned by the Pillsburys, John, George and Charles,
each an undivided sixth, and John M. Longyear and
Russell M. Bennett each an undivided fourth. In the
year 1901, the Pillsburys having died, these corporations
were formed under the laws of Minnesota. In 1906, the
ownership of these leased lands was vested in the three
corporations named as respondents in the proceedings.
As originally organized, the nature of the business was
stated to be ‘‘the buying, owning, exploring and develop-
ing, leasing, improving, selling and dealing in, lands,
tenements and hereditaments, and the doing of all things

512 OCTOBER TERM, 1916.
Opinion of the Court. 242 U.S.

necessary or incidental to the things above specified.”
In December, 1909, the articles of incorporation were
amended to read as follows: ‘‘The general purpose of the
corporation is to unite in one ownership the undivided
fractional interests of its various stockholders in lands,
tenements and hereditaments, and to own such property,
and, for the convenience of its stockholders, to receive,
and distribute to them, the proceeds of any disposition
of such property at such times, in such amounts, and
in such manner, as the board of directors may deter-
mine.”

All of the mining leases, hereinafter mentioned, with
the exception of a contract with the Van Buren Mining
Company, were executed before the organization of the
corporations. Each of these instruments provided that
the owners of the property demised to the lessees, exclu-
sively, all the lands covered by the descriptions for the
purpose of exploring for, mining and removing the mer-
chantable iron ore which might be found therein for and
during the period named, usually fifty years. The lessees —
were given exclusive right to occupy and control the
demised premises and to erect all necessary buildings,
structures and improvements thereon. Right was re-
served to the lessors to enter for the purpose of measuring
the amount of ore mined and removed and making ob-
servations of the operations in the mines. The lessees
agreed to pay, in most cases, twenty-five cents per ton for
all ore mined and removed, and to make such payments
monthly for ore mined and shipped during the preceding
month. The lessees agreed to mine and ship a specified
quantity of ore in each year, and, in default of this, to pay
the lessors for the minimum amount specified, and take
credit therefor and apply such sums upon ore mined and
shipped thereafter in excess of such minimum. The
lessees were to pay the taxes and to keep the property free
from encumbrances and liens. Right was reserved to

VON BAUMBACH »v. SARGENT LAND CO. 513

242 U.S. Opinion of the Court.

terminate the contract upon the failure of the lessees to
comply with the terms thereof.

The form of the leases is shown in Exhibits 15 and 16,
which were not in the printed record, owing to their
length, but copies of which, pursuant to stipulation, have
been sent to this court. An examination of Exhibit 16
shows that the lessees had the right to terminate and
surrender the lease by giving the lessors, or those having
their estate in the premises, sixty days’ written notice, and
executing sufficient conveyances releasing all interest and
right of the lessees in the premises with any improvements
thereon, and surrendering the same in good order and
condition, etc., and that thereupon all liability of the
lessees to taxes subsequently assessed on the demised
premises or for rent thereof thereafter to accrue, or royalty
on ores therefrom except on account of ores removed,
should cease and determine; the lessees to be liable for all
ores removed from the premises not theretofore paid
for, and to pay for the premises rent or royalty for the
year in which termination should be made, or the por-
tion thereof which should have expired, at the rate of
$12,500.00 per annum.

Since their organization the corporations have disposea
of certain lands and have also disposed of the stumpage
on some timber lands. Certain parcels were rented and
leased, and a village was allowed to use part of the land for
schoolhouse purposes, as well as another part for a public
park.

To insure the proper carrying on of the mining opera-
tions, the companies employed another corporation, en-
gaged in engineering and inspection of ore properties, to
provide supervision and inspection of the work upon the
respondents’ properties, for which the inspecting company
was paid from month to month, as statements were
rendered.

The companies were assessed upon their gross income,

enn) wean

for joint hearing on a day convenient to the court
at the next term.

These are suits brought by the above-named
respondents to recover taxes claimed to have been
erroneously collected under the provisions of the
Corporation-Tax Act. The question presented is
whether corporations, lessors in mining leases, are
liable to pay a corporation tax on the royalties
or rents received therefrom, under the provisions
of section 38 of the act of Congress of August 5,
1909, 36 Stat. 11, 112. The determination of
the question by this court will control the dis-
position of a number of cases where taxes were
collected under similar circumstances.

Opposing counsel concur in this motion.

JoHn W. Davis,

Solicitor General.
APRIL, 1916.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_0269%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
