# Appellants Brief — William Frye White, Receiver of Cowardin, Bradley, Clay, & Co., Appt. v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_0143%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appellants Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1916
- **Citation:** 241 U.S. 149

## Text

4

Supreme Court of the United States.

October Term, 1915—No. 309.

WHITE, Receiver,
vs.

THE UNITED STATES.

1. Table of Cases Cited, ‘ . ; ; . Mi
2. Statement of Facts, . ; : ; I
3. Specification of Errors, 6
4. Argument, ‘ : , , ; : , 7 i

I. Work on the road was within the contract, 9

II. If any doubt remain as to the correct interpretation
of the contract the practical construction by the
parties prevails, . : > , a8
III. Claimant, apart from rights under contract, can recover
in quantum meruit, . : ; ' ; ee

IV. Summary, ; . ; " ; ; ; . 4!

SE a ON ee a

:

pee

iii

Supreme Court of the United States.

October Term, 1915—No. 309.

WHITE, Receiver,
vs.

THE UNITED STATES.

I.
TAPLE OF CASES CITED.

A.

Ackeston, Livingston v., 5 Cowen, 531, . : . 40
Attorney General v. Drummond, 1 Dru. & Wal., 353, 38

B.
Banks, Paige v., 13 Wall., 608, : : 37
Belt v. United States, 15 C.C., 92, . . 40
Brooklyn Life Insurance Co. v. Dutcher, 95 U. S., 269,
29, 31, 35, 36
C.
Carazos v. Trevino, 6 Wall., 773, _ - , . 2
Chicago v. Sheldon, 9 Wall., 50, ' ; > xe

Chicago Great Western Railway Co. v. Northern Paci-
fic Railway Co., ror Fed., 792, . , : :

iv

D.

PAGE.

District of Columbia v. Gallaher, 124 U. S., 505,

28, 32, 34, 35) 37) 42
Drummond, Attorney General v., 1 Dru. & Wal., . 38

Dutcher, Insurance Co. v., 95 U. S., 269, . 29, 31, 35, 36

G.

Gallaher, District of Columbia v., 124 U. S., 505,

28, 32, 34, 35) 37) 42
Garrison v. United States, 7 Wall., 688, . . 28, 38, 42
Gibbons, United States v., rog U. S., 200,

28, 32, 33, 34, 38, 42

H.
Hawaii, Lowry v., 206 U. S., 222, ; ‘ . 28, 36
Hickam v. Hickam, 46 Mo. App., 496, . “ : 40
5.

Insurance Co. v. Dutcher, 95 U. S., 269, 29, 31, 35, 36

L.
Livingston v. Ackeston, 5 Cowen, 531, ‘ - 40
Lowry v. Hawaii, 206 U.S., 222, . ; . 28, 36
M.

Merchants’ Mutual Life Insurance Co., Reid V., 95
U. S., 23, ‘ . ‘ , : . ‘ ree:

v

N.

PAGE.

Northern Pacific Railway Co., Chicago Great North-
ern Railway Co. v., 101 Fed., 792, ‘ , -

0.

Old Colony Trust Co. v. Omaha, 230 U. S., 118, . 36
Omaha, Old Colony Trust Co. v., 230 U. S., 118, . 36
P.

Paige v. Banks, 13 Wall., 608, . : ; a
Philadelphia R. R. Co. v. Trimble, ro Wall., 337, . 37
Plumley v. United States, 226 U. S., 545, ; ,
R.

Reid v. Merchants’ Mutual Life Insurance Co., 95 U.

my OS, ; . : ‘ ‘ , : » 37
Ss.

Simpson v. United States, 199 U. S., 399, ‘ .
Sheldon, Chicago v., 9 Wall., 50, ; ‘ ‘ 29, 37
T.

Topliff v. Topliff, 122 U.S., 121, . : ; oe
Trevino, Carazos v., 6 Wall., 773, — - . io ie 37

Trimble, Philadelphia R. R. Co. v., 10 Wall., 337, - 37
Turner & Otis v. Webster, 24 Kans., 38, . ‘ > 2

vi

U.
United States, Belt v., 15 C.C., 92, . : ; P 40
United States, Garris-n - , 7 Wall., 688, . 28, 38, 42
United States, Plumley v., 226 U. S., 545, : » “2
United States, Simpson v., 199 U. S., 399, , ~

United States v. Gibbons, 109 U. S., 200,
28, 32, 33, 34, 38, 42
Ww.

Webster, Turner & Otis v., 24 Kans., 38, . , + 52

Supreme Court of the United States.

October Term, 1915. No. 309.

Witt, Receiver, vs. Tuk Unrrep States.

BRIEF FOR APPELLANT.

2.
STATEMENT OF FACTS.

On March 19, 1903, Lieutenant-Colonel A. M. Miller,
Corps of Engineers, United States Army, issued an adver-
tisement inviting proposals for work and materials for a
filtration plant to be constructed in Washington, District
of Columbia, for the purification and filtration of the entire
water supply of the city.

The plans and specifications, which were prepared by the
War Department and issued on the same date as the adver-
tisement for bids, consisted of 23 numbered plans showing
the plant generally and in detail, and elaborate printed speci-
fications containing 294 numbered paragraphs describing
the method of work, the kind of materials, together with
the system of Government supervision, inspection, and so
forth.

Under the method of bidding proposed by the United
States the whole work was divided into seven classes, known
respectively as Class A, B, C, D, E, F and G. Bids could
be submitted for any or all of the classes, but under the
method prescribed separate prices had to be submitted for
each class and for each item under each class.

MERA

2

The present appellant's firm, on the 6th day of April,
1903, entered into a contract “to furnish all the materials
(except cement)” and “ do all the work necessary under
Class A and Class B of the attached plans and specifications,
in full accordance with the terms of said plans and specifi-
cations.”

It will be noticed that the contractor under this contract
had no duties in reference to the other five classes of work
to be done, although the plans and specifications covering
them became a part of his contract with the United States.

By the terms of the contract the United States agreed to
pay, “as specified, the following sums for materials fur-
nished and work done, all quantities being more or less :—

“Class A—

“ for 880,000 cubic yards excavation,

“for 65,400 cubic yards embankment under filters,

“for 46,700 cubic yards other embankment, and

“ for 123,400 cubic yards filling over filters,
“all at 30 cents per cubic yard;

“for 2,000 cubic yards puddle at $1.00 per cubic yard,

“for 31 acres seeding at $75.00 per acre,

“for 9,700 square yards sodding at 25 cents per square
yard.”

Class B covered concrete in floors, walls, piers and vault-
ing, granolithic pavement, and for placing materials in
masonry and drainage of roofs, No question arises under
class B, and it is therefore not set forth in detail.

The plans showed as a feature of the work a road or
driveway to be constructed about the reservoir, at a con-
siderable height above the filter beds. There were other
streets and roadways already existing, which crossed or
bordered on the plant. These were to be left in existence,
and nothing was to be done on them; nothing was done on
them, and no question arises in reference to them.

3

The driveway or road which was to be constructed by
thc contractor constituted the western boundary of the space
occupied by the filters. This roadway was shown on all the
plans, except those consisting of details of the filters, etc,

It appears on the general plan of the works (General
Plan No. 1). It appears on sheet No. 4, which was a
general plan showing finished surfaces. It appears like-
wise on sheet No. 2, which showed the work in sections;
and on sheet No. 16. It appears in detail also in plan No.
1 of June 14, 1904, and No. 2 of June 14, 1904, the last two
being working plans showing in detail the grades to which
the road was to be constructed.

The road was thus clearly shown by the plans, and the
specifications incorporated the plans as follows:

“The general extent, location and character of the
work are shown by a set of 23 plans, numbered from
1 to 23 consecutively, which plans are made a part of
these specifications.”

Under the head of
“ EMBANKMENT. Items Nos. 2, 3, AND 4,”

the specifications read :

66

57. The work under this heading includes the fill-
ing of low places under filters and other structures, the
filling of central courts, the embankment about the
filters and all other fills and embankments shown by
the plans or directed to be made by the Engineer Offi-
cer in charge.

“58. Classification —Embankments shall be divided
into three classes :

“1. Embankment under filters,

“2. Embankments about the walls of filters and

in courts,
“3. Filling over filters.

4

“Material placed below the dam, in the roadways
and at other low places for the purpose of disposing of
it, and material disposed of off the ground shall not
be paid for as embankment. When waste embank-
ments come against the walls of filters or the pure-
water reservoir the usual section shall be built and paid
for as embankment and all materials outside shall be
treated as waste.”

There was no further reference to any road to be con-
structed by the contractor, and the only other mention of
“ roadways” of any kind occurs in paragraphs 293 and 294,
which read :

“993. Work Done by the United States —The
United States will construct the gate-houses, sand
washers, pumping station, macadam roadways and
other structures not included in these specifications and
necessary for the completeness of the plant and the
work to be done under these specifications shall be car-
ried on so as to facilitate and not discommode the
prosecution of that and other adjoining and contiguous
work, whether done by the United States or by another
contractor.

“294. Roadways——The United States shall cause
to be maintained by the contractor reasonable pas-
sageways and roadways, leaving the necessary clear
space, and the work under each class shall at all times
be so carried on as not to interfere with any other
work done in connection with this plant.”

The road for the building of which the contractor claims
compensation is a permanent elevated driveway extending
-around the reservoir of the filtration plant. (Findings |,
II, Ill, IV.)

5

The contractor made this road, and nearly completed it.
He was paid as the work on it progressed, to the total amount
of $12,000.00, The Engineer Officers of the United States
supervised the work, inspected it, and it was accepted and
paid for as work done in accordance with the plans which
were embodied in the contract. Supplemental plans of the
road giving details were also furnished by the United States
to the contractor, according to the terms of the contract.
Payment for the road work was made in the manner pro-
vided for by the specifications, and vouched for as “ other
embankment,” by the engineer officer in charge. (Findings
V, VI.)

Then on February 14, 1905, after the road had been prac-
tically completed (all but about 6,000 cubic yards), the
United States officer in charge told the contractor that no
more would be paid for on account of work on the road.
The contractor soon ceased work on it.

In the final payment, the $12,000 already paid to the
contractor on account of the road was deducted by the
United States.

Consequently the contractor has received nothing for his
work,

There were 67,578 cubic yards of inspected material
which he had used for the construction of the road. He
claims $20,275.40, which is at the contract price of 30
cents a cubic yard, and damages. (Findings IX.)

The contractors’ receiver brought suit in the Court of
Claims July 25, 1906. On October 14, 1907, the death
of the receiver was suggested and the appellant was substi-
tuted as party claimant. On October 16, the Attorney
General filed a denial of “ each and every allegation” of the
petition. On June 3, 1912, the case was submitted. On
November 21, 1912, the Court remanded the case for oral
argument. On the same day, after being argued, the case
was submitted. February 10, 1913, the Court of Claims
found the facts as above substantially stated, and dismissed

6

the petition. From this judgment, a motion for a new trial
having been overruled, claimant duly appealed to this Court.

3.
SPECIFICATION OF ERRORS.

The Court of Claims erred:

1. In holding that the work of building the road was
work done outside of the contract.

2. In holding that the plaintiff's claim was based on a
single item of the specifications, and not on the contract
as a whole.

3. In ignoring and failing to give any force to those parts
of the agreement shown by the following provisions °

“The general extent, location ana character of the
work are shown by a set of 23 plans, which plans are
made a part of these specifications.” (Spec., 45;
Transcript of Record, 6.)

“The plans and specifications are intended to be
explanatory of each other, but should any discrepancy
appear, or any misunderstanding arise, as to the import
of anything contained in either, the explanation of the
Engineer Officer in charge shall be final and binding
on the contractor; and all directions, explanations, and
detailed or corrected plans, required or necessary to
complete any of the provisions of these plans and speci-
fications and give them due effect will be given by the
Engineer Officer in charge.” (Spec., 285; Transcript
of Record, 9.)

“The said party of the second part agrees to fur-
nish all the materials (except the cement) and do all
the work necessary under Class A and Class B of the
attached plans and specifications in full accordance with
the terms of said plans and specifications.”

“ And the said party of the first part [Lieut.-Col.

Te Seaia re oe
* " Ste 72 Oe aig I FORT IN Eo vin . 3 4
sieceapeasiasiaiidaiaiiation ED eR Tee a ee Me eo ee

7

A. M. Miller, United States Army] agrees to pay to
the said party of the second part [the contractor], as
specified, the following sums for materials furnished
and work done, all quantities being more or less
* * * for forty-six thousand seven hundred (46,-
700) cubic yards other embankment * * ¥* 30
cents per cubic yard.”

4. In so construing the contract as to render meaning-
less the provision of Specification 57 as to “all other fills
and embankments shown by the plans or directed to be made
by the Engineer Officer in charge.”

5. In holding this road to be a “ low place,” and ignoring
the obvious fact that it was, on the contrary, a high place.

6. In mistaking and misprinting part of specification 58,
so as to change its meaning, viz:

“ Material placed below the dam, in the roadways
and at other low places for the purpose of disposing
of it, and material disposed of off the ground shall not
be paid for as embankment.”

This is misprinted in the opinion by changing ‘“‘ roadways”
to “ roadway” and by inserting a comma:

“ Material placed below the dam, in the roadway,
and at other low places * * *.”

and the opinion is re-misprinted in the transcript of record,
so that it now reads:

“* * * the dam, in the roadways, and at other
low places * * *%,”

7. In concluding upon the findings of fact that claimant
is not entitled to recover.
8. In holding that the roadway was a “ so large part of

8

the work” and a work of “ magnitude” when it was only a
piece of work involving the payment of $20,273.40 out of a
contract involving the expenditure of $3,468,405.00.

9. In making a finding meaningless by trying to state
comparative costs, without the mention of any standard or
positive base of comparison, or any amount in money, viz:

“The roadway in question was just as convenient
a place as any to dispose of waste material, and the
cost to the contractor was no more than it would have
been to place it in the Soldiers’ Home grounds.”

So that no fact is found or stated thereby.

10. In not making a reasonable and coherent construction
of the contract, under which both parties acted, which gives
force to all its provisions, and adopting instead a forced in-
terpretation, which no one had thought of, which ignores
the plain meaning of the instrument.

11. In holding that the interpretation put on it by them-
selves is the only one of which the contract is susceptible,
and not considering that the construction by Colonel Miller,
under which claimant was paid $12,000 on account of the
road work, was a construction of which said contract was
susceptible; and that the work done by the claimant in good
faith and the money paid therefor relied on a practical con-
struction of ihe contract which cannot now be reversed, espe-
cially where the work done and the materials provided under
said construction have been used by the United States to
its benefit.

12. In not applying to the case at bar the rule of such-
cases as Gibbons v. United States, 109 U. S., 200, and Dis-
trict of Columbia v. Gallaher, 124 U. S., 505, which hold
that where the terms of a contract are not clear the practi-
cal construction of the parties should prevail.

13. In holding that claimant could not recover upon
quantum meruit even if the work, though not within the con-

9

tract, was of advantage to the Government, on the ground
that the findings show that said work involved no extra
expense to the contractors.

4.
ARGUMENT.

I. The work done on the road was in pursuance with and
within the contractor's contract with the United States.

II. If any doubt remain as to the correct interpretation
of the contract, the practical construction of the parties

should prevail.
I.

The work done on the road was in pursuance with and
within the contractor’s contract with the United States.

The above proposition, appellant submits, can be estab-
lished from the face of the instrument itself, taking the
instrument as a whole by demonstrating:

a. That the instrument by its language and diagrams
includes this road as work to be performed.

b. That the instrument provides for the payment for
this work.

c. That no contradiction exists in the instrument,
naturally construed.

d. That, on the contrary, if the theory of the United
States attorney be adopted the language of some parts
of the instrument becomes inappropriate, and ceases to
be relevant.

ce. That the alleged discrepancy in quantity be-
tween the 46,700 cubic yards of other embankment
contemplated by the original contract and the
amount of 67,578 cubic yards actually put in is ex-
plained by reference to the terms of the contract
itself, coupled with the conduct of the parties there-
under.

SLOPE ANNETTE RE ENS EE REIN VPE NPT STELLATE RG

10

a.

The instrument evidencing the contract between the
United States and appellant consists of a paper-writing
dated April 6, 1903, which reads:

“Form 19a.

“4. This agreement, entered into this sixth day of
April, nineteen hundred and three, between Lieut.-
Colonel A. M. Miller, Corps of Engineers, United
States Army, of the first part, and S. P. Cowardin,
James F. Bradley, S. P. Clay, Thos. E. Stagg, and
M. Kelly, partners composing the firm of Cowardin,
Bradley, Clay & Company, of Richmond, in the County
of Henrico, State of Virginia, of the second part:
Witnesseth that in conformity with the advertisement
and specifications hereunto attached, which form a
part of this contract * * *.”

Turning to the advertisement and specifications, we find
the following, among other provisions :

“45. Plans—The general extent, location and
character of the work are shown by a set of 23 plans,
numbered from 1 to 23, consecutively, which plans
are made a part of these specifications, and which
plans are on file at the office of the Washington
Aqueduct.”

Thus we see that the plans are incorporated in the speci-
fications and thereby become a part of the agreement of
April 6, 1903.

It is determined by the Court of Claims that the plans
showed a roadway bordering the reservoir west of the filter
beds. (Finding IV.)

Accordingly the legal effect of the beginning of the written
contract is the same as if it had read:

II

“This agreement * * * witnesseth that in con-
formity with the advertisement and specifications which
show a roadway bordering the reservoir west of the
filter beds, * * * [and other things] which form
a part ot this contract * * *,”

The sentence proceeds :

"eo * eee. * 9 »* eee
* * * and the said Cowardin, Bradley, Clay &
Company do covenant and agree to and with each other,
as follows:

“The said party of the second part [the firm] agrees
to furnish all the materials (except the cement) and
do all the work necessary under Class A and Class B
of the attached plans and specifications in full accord-
ance with the terms of said plans and specifications ;”

We naturally inquire what Class A and Class B are, and
on turning to paragraph 24 of the specifications we find:

“Class A. Excavation, embankment, puddle, seeding
and sodding.

“Class B. Concrete masonry, granolithic pavement,
placing materials in masonry, and drainage of roofs.”

Now that we know what Class A and Class B are we see
that this part of the sentence quoted previously is the same
as if it read thus:

“ [The firm] agrees to furnish all the materials (ex-
cept the cement) and do all the work necessary, of ex-
cavation, embankment, puddle * * * — [ete.]
* * * to fulfill the attached plans and_ specifica-
tions,-which (among other things) show a roadway
bordering the reservoir west of the filter beds.”

eter DH

12

At this point we look at the plans, and see that the pro-
posed road bordering the reservoir west of the filter beds
is a road projected to run at a considerable elevation above
the original surface of the ground, on an embankment.

(.\ppellant’s counsel begs to say parenthetically that it
would comfort him greatly if he felt sure that every reader
of this brief will actually consult the plans which are before
the Court as a part of findings IV and V, and thus see, in
visible form, the road laid out as a part of the work.)

We notice nothing on the plans to distinguish this pro-
posed road from any other part of the work to be done. :
We see readily that this road is to be constructed by making
an embankment.

The Government will admit that the only way to build
the proposed road is by first making an embankment. With
such permission as may be allowed us by the learned counsel
for the Government, we will call this proposed road what in
fact it was, a road-embankment, and, as it is the only one
of its kind shown on the plans or involved in the contract
we will take the further liberty of calling it “the road-
embankment,” and of paraphrasing the written contract as
follows:

“(The firm] agrees to furnish all the materials (ex-
cept the cement) and do all the work necessary of
excavation, embankment, puddle * * * [ete]
* * * to fulfil the attached plans and specifications
which show (among other things to be made) the road-
embankment.”

Or in short form:

“The firm] agrees to furnish all the materials (ex-
cept the cement) and do all the work necessary of
* * * the road-embankment.”

SBR Pe ELA FA Pe

13

Counsel for the Government undoubtedly will admit the
justice of this paraphrase, their position being that the con-
tractor was obliged to build the road-embankment.

b.

It is denied, however, that the Government is under a
liability to pay for this work.

The liability of the Government to pay rests upon the
next clause of the written contract, which reads:

“ And the said party of the first part [Lieut.-Colonel
Miller for and in behalf of the United States] agrees
to pay to the said party of the second part [the firm],
as specified, the following sums for materials fur-
nished and work done, all quantities being more or
less: Class A. For eight hundred and eighty thousand
(880,000) cubic yards excavation, for sixty-five thou-
sand four hundred (65,400) cubic yards embankment
under filters, for forty-six thousand seven hundred
(46,700) cubic yards other embankment, and for one
hundred and twenty-three thousand four hundred
(123,400) cubic yards filling over filters, all at thirty
(30) cents per cubic yard * * * [ete.].”

By this language the United States agrees to pay for
46,700 cubic yards of other embankment than that under
filters at 30 cents per cubic yard, the quantity being stipu-
lated as “ more or less.”

The road-embankment was without doubt “ other em-
bankment.”” Then and there is an end of this case and the
claim is clearly good, except for two considerations raised
by the Government which must be weighed at this point.

The first consideration raised by the Government is that
some embankment other than the road-embankment is meant
by the words “ other embankment.” Of course, if some-
thing else than the road-embankment is intended it will be

“ce

oe — , pags o* Bit ° HOS iSeASe
Be. i ia e a a
‘

14

shown in the plans, or clearly stated and explained by the
specifications, or the other findings of the Court of Claims
based on the evidence.

No “ other embankment” is shown by the plans, unless
it be the road-embankment.

No “ other embankment” is mentioned in the findings of
fact set out by the Court of Claims, nor is any part of the
work pointed to which involved any “ other embankment”
unless it be the road-embankment.

No “ other embankment” is stated in the specifications
except it be the road-embankment.

The natural place to look in the specifications is at Speci-
fication 57, the first paragraph under the section headed

“A. Embankment. Item Nos. 2, 3, and 4.”

The “ A” refers to the work under Class A, which we
have seen consists of excavation, embankment, etc. “ Item
Nos. 2, 3, and 4” refer to the embankment to be paid for
under the contract, which we have seen was:

“ 65,400 cubic yards * * * under filters,
46,700 cubic yards other embankment,
“423,400 cubic yards filling over filters.”

se

By consulting the plans it is clear that all the “ embank-
ment” (or “ filling,’ the words being used interchangeably ),
except the road-embankment in suit, was embankment under
or over filters.

With this condition in mind let us read Specification 57,
which says:

“A. Embankment. Items Nos. 2, 3, and 4.

e-w

57. The work under this heading includes the fill-
ing of low places under filters and other structures, the
filling of central courts [these were the spaces over

15

and between the filters], the embankment about the
filters, and all other fills and embankments shown by
the plans or directed to be made by the engineer officer
in charge.”

In other words, the “ other embankment” is, if anything,
“all other fills and embankments shown by the plans
or directed to be made by the engineer officer in charge.”

Now, the road-embankment is the only “ other embank-
ment” shown by the plans, and is clearly indicated by this
language. If there were nothing further there could be
no excuse for contending that the Government had not
promised to pay for the road embankment.

But the Government points to this specification next fol-
lowing :

“58. Classification —Embankments shall be divided
into three classes:

. Embankment under filters,

. Embankments about the walls of filters
and in courts,

3. Filling over filters.

a

“Material placed below the dam, in the roadways
and at other low places for the purpose of disposing
of it, and material disposed of off the ground shall not
be paid for as embankment. When waste embank-
ments come against the walls of the filters or the pure-
water reservoir the usuai section shall be built and paid
for as embankment and all materials outside shall be
treated as waste.”

The Government's argument is that, as no provision
is made under this classification for the road-embankment,
that it cannot have been contemplated by the phrase “ other

16

embankment” in the contract; and it is also urged that the
road-embankment falls within the terms of the provision
respecting “ material placed below the dam, in the road-
ways and at other low places.”

Each of these arguments would have force, taking Speci-

fication 58 alone, and looking at it without regard to its
relations to the other parts of the contract plans and specifi-
cations, and each has impressed the court below as of great
importance. Undoubtedly, if well founded, these argu-
ments would show that a conflict exists between paragraph
58 and the rest of the contract. Nevertheless, a careful
study of 58 in its relations to the rest of the agreement
of which it is a part can_ only lead inevitably to the follow-
ing conclusions :
1. The classification undertaken in 58 relates to the items
of 65,400 cubic yards embankment under filters and the
123.400 cubic yards filling over filters, and was not intended
to relate at all to the 46,700 cubic yards of other embank-
ment which were planned to go into the road-embankment,
and had been recognized by 57.

2 The road-embankment was not referred to as “ below
the dam” or by the words “ roadways and other low places.”
nor as “all materials outside”; and none of this paragraph
refers to the road-embankment at all.

To take the second subject first, as it can be more

quickly treated.

“ Material placed below the dam, in the roadways
and at other low places for the purpose of disposing of
it, and material disposed of off the grounds shall not
be paid for as embankment.”

These words are capable of two constructions. If the
clause “in the roadways and at other low places” is sub-
ordinate to the clause “material placed below the dam,”
then the sentence refers to two distinct dispositions of ma-

17

terial, the first being that of material placed below the

dam, in roadways and at other low places (all being be-
| low the dam), and the second “ material disposed of off the

ground.”
| Should this construction be adopted no question can arise
about the road-embankment, for, as can be seen readily
| from the general plan, no part of the road-embankment in
| question is below the dam.
But it is possible that the sentence means something si it-
| ly different. It is possible that the phrases “ below the dam.”
| “in the roadways and at other low places” are codrdinate,
| the words “ material placed” being omitted by ellipsis, but
. understood as if repeated before the words “ in the roadways
and at other low places.” In that case the sentence means :

“ Material placed below the dam, material placed in
the roadways and at other low places for the purpose
of disposing of it, and material disposed of off the
ground shall not be paid for as embankment.”

If this be the proper construction, it is clear that the
“ roadways” in mind, whatever they are or wherever they
may be, are “low places.” ‘‘ Roadways and other low
places” can only mean “ roadways which are low places and
other places which are low also.”

The road-embankment proposed was not, nor was its site
a “ low place.” It was, on the contrary, very much higher
than the filters. and even before any embanking had begun
its site was many feet higher in level than the level shown
by the plan for the finished tops of the filters, as can readily
be seen by consulting the plans which are a part of finding
IV. It is very strange that if the road-embankment was
meant, it should be called “ low.”

It should further be borne in mind that the name “ the
roadway” is only applied to the road-embankment by the
Court of Claims in its findings as a convenient substitute

18

for the expression “ driveway about the Washington City
reservoir.” (See second paragraph of Finding III.)

Thus it seems clear that the “ roadways” spoken of in con-
nection with “ other low places” were not the same as the
road-embankment around the reservoir, which the findings
call “the driveway” and afterwards the “ roadway,” but
we cannot be sure of this, perhaps, unless we find some
other roadways in the work which would fulfil the descrip-
tion.

On referring to paragraph 294 of the specifications we
find the roadways which were intended. They are men-
tioned appropriately enough under the heading ‘‘ Roadways”
and are evidently what the writer of paragraph 58 had in
mind, if the second construction of that paragraph be the
correct one.

“294. Roadways.—The United States shall cause to
be maintained by the contractor reasonable passageways
and roadways, leaving the necessary clear space, and
the work under each class shall at all times be so car-
ried on as not to interfere with any other work done
in connection with the plant.”

The site of the plant was excavated to a considerable
depth and covered about 30 acres (Specification 46). Hence
this provision for the maintenance of reasonable roadways,
which would be, of course, “low places,” just as the roads
in any great excavation work would be.

There were also other roadways not shown by the plans.
to which 58 may have had reference. These roadways
were the macadam roadways mentioned in Specification 295.

“993. Work Done by the United States—The
United States will construct the gatehouses, sand
washers, pumping station, mecadam (sic) roadways
and other structures not included in these specifications

LENORE LG ERO ITS
Pp oy tie pital Tach oo PL I mur es Qeew —— . ,
; SPOTS BOONES 7H PT AS ERB OT EE EE REN BUGLE re mgevs

19

and necessary for the completeness of the plant and
the work done under these specifications shall be car-
ried on so as to facilitate and not discommode the
prosecution of that and other ad joining and contiguous
work, whether done by the United States or by another
contractor.”

Is it not likely that it is the “ roadways” of 294 or the
macadam roadways of 293 which are in contemplation in
58? And is not this conclusion irresistable when we realize
that the road-embankment was never the vuught of or referred
to as the “roadway” in the construction of the plant or by
the contract ?

There remains to be taken up the other question raised
on Specification 58. The United States insists that the
classification therein stated relates to the item of 46,700
cubic yards of “ other embankment” as well as the 65,400
cubic yards of embankment under filters and the 123,400 -
cubic yards of filling over filters.

Appellant does not so construe the paragraph. On the
contrary, he asserts that the classification of 58 only applies
to “embankment” as distinguished fiom “ other embank-
ment.” There was no occasion to classify “ other embank-
ment.” It had already been set apart by paragraph 57,
and was not capable of being further classified.

Paragraph 58 merely deals with the embankment which
is not called “ other embankment” and classifies it. The
occasion for classifying it is that there will be set forth in
later paragraphs the methods of building this embankment.

“ Other embankment” has been dropped, as it is suffi-
ciently shown in the plans. As there is no occasion for
mentioning it further it is not mentioned.

The specifications thus follow a perfectly logical sequence
of thought.

First, in 57 the work under the heading “ Embankment”

20

is defined, generally, to be the filling of low places under
filters, the filling of central courts, the embankment about
the filters and all other fills and embankment shown by the
plans or directed to be made by the Engineer Officer in
charge. :

Then in 58, discarding “ all other fills and embankments
shown by the plans” as being thereby sufficiently specified,
the embankments which are to be further discussed are
classified as

1. Embankment under filters.

2 Embankment about the walls of filters and in
courts.

3. Filling over filters.

It will be noticed that each of these is worded differently
from 57.

Now, why is “ other embankment” not mentioned ? Simply
and solely because there is nothing peculiar about it. It is
just plain embankment which can be readily made by
following the plans.

59, 60, 61, 62 give the elaborate details for embankment
under filters. It is clear now why a classification was made
in 58. It is so that “embankment under filters” may be
distinguished from other kinds of embankment. It is also
obvious why “ other embankment’’—. ¢., the road embank-
ment—was not mentioned in 58. To do so would have
done no good and might have caused confusion. It would
be at best repetition, and, the specifications being a practical
document, avoid repetition.

The reason for classification is to point out that the type
of embankment to be put under filters is to be a special
kind. The ground is to be specially prepared by the re-
moval of all loose fill and soft material (59). The ground
shall then, after the removal of loam and top soil, “ be
furrowed or picked up to make a bond” with the filling or

21

embankment “and on sloping ground shall be steeped as
directed by the Engineer Officer in charge.”

61 and 62 proceed with further particulars which need
not be stated.

When the special mode of embankment under filters has
been set forth, then in 63 come the provisions for embank-
ment about the walls of filters and in courts, which is one
division of the filling or embankment over filters, mentioned
in the contract.

Nowhere are special directions laid down for ordinary
embankment, as it was naturally assumed that the plans plus
ordinary common sense were a sufficient guide.

It would appear that the classification made in 58 was
a classification of embankment by method and not by
location.

If 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, and 62 are read consecutively it is
seen that no contradiction is involved, with our theory that
58 has no reference to the 46,700 cubic yards of “ other
embankment.”

By the Government's theory the “ other embankment”
is the same as “ embankment about the walls of filters and
in courts.”

Under that theory the words

“all other fills and embankments shown by the plans”
are totally disregarded.

It should be noted that in 59 Embankment under filters is
specified as “Item 2.” 63 specifies Embankment About

‘

Walls of Filters and in Courts as “ Item 3. These desig-
nations, which appellant hereby calls to the due attention
of Government counsel and of the Court, have been pre-
viously overlooked.

So far as these designations have any bearing, the use
of the latter accords with the Government’s theory of the
meaning of 57 and 58.

It is submitted, however, that this is too slender and nice
a point on which to hinge a construction of the contract

rN eae

22

which leaves 57 still standing in consistency with the rest of
the contract and the plans, but without any force, as a sort
of misrepresentation to trap the contractor.

Indeed, the adoption of such a view is equivalent to
striking out Specification 57 altogether.

Other incidents of the work done under the contract
were such as to confirm our belief that the road-embank-
ment was part of the work to be paid for as “ other embank-
ment.”

A part of the road-embankment was sodded (Finding

. VI, paragraph 1), in accordance with the contract provi-

sions for sodding. If the road-embankment did not come
within the contract how very curious it is that it should
be sodded under the contract provisions.

If the road-embankment work was not to be paid for,
one would suppose that that fact would have been made
clear by some definite words of exclusion. No such words
exist. On the other hand, 44,000 cubic yards were put into
the road-embankment and paid for under the terms of the
contract. ‘Twenty-three thousand more cubic yards had
been put in, and had not been paid for. The action of the
Engineer Officer in charge in furnishing detailed plans and
in paying for the 44,000 cubic yards, resolved any doubt
which might have arisen under the original provisions or,
consequent on the increased yardage necessitated by the
change in the part of the road near the pumping station.
(Compare the maps of June, 1904, Finding V, with those
of March, 1903, Finding IV.) This is covered by the
following provisions :

“All directions, explanations and detailed and
corrected plans required or necessary to complete
any of the provisions of these plans and specifica-
tions and give them due effect, will be given by the
Engineer Officer in charge.”

23

That provision cannot be acted on and then the conse-
quent responsibility shirked.

See also this clause:

“The plans and specifications are intended to be ex-
planatory of each other, but should any discrepancy
appear or any misunderstanding arise, as to the import
of anything contained in either, the explanation of
the Engineer Officer in charge shall be final and bind-
ing on the contractor.”

It would be hard to think of a more complete explanation
than that involved in handing to the contractor detail plans
of the road-embankment, and payment for the work done
in accordance therewith.

How was it possible to imagine that the road-embankment
was not “ other embankment” when it was being paid for
as such? ‘The contractor had also agreed to these provi-
sions :

“28. The contractor will not be allowed to take ad-
vantage of any error or omission in these specifications
as full instructions will always be given should such
error or omission be discovered.”

If there were any error, and instead of “ full instruc-
tions” being given, the contractor was simply told that no
more would be paid for a certain feature of the work, and
a sum of money already paid to him was deducted from
what afterwards was due him, it is clear that the contractor
has done no wrong, but that the United States failed in its
duty, on discovery of the error, to give him full instruc-
tions.

The following provision also was a part of the agreement :

“29. The decision of the Engineer Officer in charge
shall be final.”

24

The construction of the contract made by the Engineer
Officer in charge when he furnished detail plans of the
road-embankment, gave grades, lines and slopes, required
the sides of the completed part to be sodded, and confirmed
this construction of the contract by paying $12,000 on ac-
count of work done on the road-embankment, was a decision
of the Engineer Officer in charge. By 29 it should have
been final. Reversal of this decision, especially after the
work had been done, was a breach of this provision of the
contract.

“The decision of the Engineer Officer in charge shall be
final”—yet the Engineer Officer in charge, not Colonel
Miller, who had drawn the contract and knew its provisions,
ventured to reverse a decision which by the terms of the
contract was final.

Another provision of the contract broken by the United
States was this:

“39. Once in every month the Engineer Officer in
charge will make an estimate of the work done and
materials delivered and will pay the contractor the
amount due, less ten (10) per cent., which will be re-
tained until the completion and final acceptance of the
work done and materials delivered under these speci-
fications.”

By virtue of this clause the payment of $12,000 on ac-
count of work done on the road-embankment was a payment
of an amount due the contractor and as such, if there were
any doubt about the contract provisions, involved a decision
of the Engineer Officer in charge. If these monthly esti-
mates were not binding on the United States and payments
under them were not binding on the Engineer Officer in
charge and his successor, there would be a breach of the
terms of 39.

25

C.

If the natural construction of the instrument be adopted,
there is no contradiction in it, and full force is given every
part of it, except the figure 3 in the first line of paragraph
63. All the language is given full force. All the plans
are given full force. Everything is consistent, and all the
parts of the agreement form a consistent whole.

d.

But if the present theory of the Government be adopted
we encounter many contradictions. The whole of Specifica-
tion 57 must be discarded, part of it being directly contrary
to the Government's present theory, and the rest being
surplusage. Certain features of four of the plans—every-
thing in them showing the road-embankment—must be dis-
carded or regarded as contradictory. All the references
to the plans and the several provisions making the plans
a part of the contract must be explained away or regarded
as contradictory. This might be a possible feat of con-
struction if the work under Class C, D, FE, F or G could
possibly have reference to the road-embankment shown on
the plans. But these classes all provide for work and ma-
terials which do not have the slightest relation to the con-
struction of a road-embankment.

Under the Government's present theory, what possible
explanation can be made of the detail plans furnished the
contractor and mentioned, in finding V? How can 285 of
the “ General Clauses” be explained, taken in connection
with the furnishing of these detail plans ?

How can 28, 29 and 39 of the “ General Conditions”
be reconciled with the action of the Engineer Officer in
charge ?

How can the present attitude of the Government be
squared with its attitude prior to February 14, 1905?

How can the sodding of this work he made consistent

26

with the theory that the road-embankment was not a part
of the contract work? How explain the giving of lines and
grades? Or the inspection of the embankment ?
One more section of the specifications seems strongly
contradictory of the present theory of the Government.
Under the head of

“ Work to be Done under These Specifications”
it is provided :

“53. Disposal of Excavated Material—Al\ materials
suitable for use for puddles, or the requisite amount
thereof, shall be set aside and reserved for this pur-
pose; and other select materials shall be reserved
and used for embankments, filling, and for covering
the filters.”

Then follows the only specific mention of deposit of
surplus material, which, under the rule of expressio unius
exclusio alterius, would clearly imply that the road-embank-
ment could not be contemplated as a place for the disposal
of surplus material. It is this:

“A part of the surplus material shall be deposited
on the south slope of the dam and carried to such lines
and slopes as the Engineer Officer in charge shall
direct. All trees, bushes and rubbish shall be cleared
from the slope and adjacent ground at the foot of the
dam before the material is deposited. The contractor
must make all arrangements for the disposal of sur-
plus material and hold the United States harmless
against all claims whatever relating thereto.”

If the road-embankment was to be another such place
and was not “other embankment” under the contract we

Bc a eta te ak ian eRe ee

27

should expect it to be mentioned here. But there is no
word of it.

This Specification 53 is diametrically opposed to the
Government's present theory.

Thus appellant claims that it is only fair to construe the
agreement in accordance with its natural and consistent
meaning, and insists with more confidence as he believes
that construction is in accord with the intent of the parties
and is the same construction for which he has always con-
tended, on the basis of which his firm made its bid, and on
which the United States acted until February 14, 1905.

On the faith of such an agreement the appellant's firm
performed the work called for, and it is, he submits, un-
becoming and contrary to the agreement itself to deny him
his wage.

é.

The only other argument against the appellant’s con-
struction of the contract is that the amount of cubic
yards actually put into the road as determined by the
Court of Claims was 67,578 cubic yards. Defendant's
counsel argues that it is not possible that the contract
provision for the payment for “ 46,700 cubic yards more
or less,” of other embankment can apply because the
discrepancy between the two figures amounts to nearly
21,000 cubic yards.

This discrepancy, however, is explained by the fact
that the original plans provided for a road which was
to consist of only a single right of way in the neighbor-
hood of the Pumping Station. Subsequently the plan
was adopted of having a road which ran around the
pumping station on each side, so that it became a road
which divided and went around the pumping station on
either side and united again after passing it. This
divided roadway is for the first time shown in the de-
tailed plans which the Engineer Officer in charge gave

IDE MORONS ORES pI IY ryy SOT STAR

28

to the contractor, as found by the Court of Claims in
Finding V, of which the plans have been made a part.
The amount of yardage necessary to build such a road
as shown by these supplementary detailed and cor-
rected plans was as determined by the United States
67,578 cubic yards. See Finding IX. The contractor
accepted these plans and proceeded to work under them.
He was justified in doing this by the provision of the
contract found under the heading of General Clauses, in
Specifications 285, which reads as follows:

“ All directions, explanations, and detailed and
corrected plans required or necessary to complete
any of the provisions of these plans and specifica-
tions and give them due effect, will be given by the
Engineer Officer in charge.”

The action of the parties in proceeding with the work
under the detailed and corrected plans which called for a
larger quantity of other embankment than the 46,700 cubic
yards set forth in the original contract was justified by
the clause of the contract quoted above, and the United
States so proceeded and thereby accepted liability there-
under to pay for 67,578 cubic yards in accordance with
the terms of the contract.

This intention of the United States was manifested
by the actual payment for 44,444 cubic yards at the

contract rate.
Il.

If any doubt remain as to the correct interpretation of
the contract, the practical construction of the parties pre-
vails.

Garrison v. United States, 7 Wall., 688.
District of Columbia v. Gallaher, 124 U. S., 505
United States v. Gibbons, 109 U. S., 209.
Lowry v. Hawaii, 206 U. S., 222.

29

There is no surer way to find out what parties meant
than to see what they have done.
Insurance Company v. Dutcher, 95 U. S., 269.

The practical construction given to this contract by the
parties was that the road was included in the work to be
done and to be paid for at the contract price as “ other em-
bankment.”’

In Chicago v. Sheldon, 9 Wall., 50, the question arose on
a stockholders’ suit to enjoin an assessment by the city of
Chicago on a street railway company for street paving im-
provements, the charter of the company providing that the
company should “ as regards the grading, paving, macadam-
izing. filling, or planking of the streets’ upon which the
tracks were laid, keep a certain number of feet “ in good
repair and condition” in accordance with orders “ respect-
ing the ordinary repairs thereof” adopted by the common
council. The city assessed the company $26,677 for a new
grading, curbing and paving. pe

The Supreme Court said that the contract related only
to repairs, and that a fair and reasonable interpretation
favored such a view; and that the clause concerning re-
pairs was present to the minds of the parties.

“ What adds great weight to this point of view is,
it accords with the practical construction given to the
contract by both parties. * * * In cases where
the language used by the part'vs to the contract is
indefinite or ambiguous and, hence, of doubtful con-
struction, the practical interpretation by the parties
themselves is entitled to a great, if not controlling
influence. The interest of each generally leads him
to a construction most favorable to himself, and when
the difference has become serious and beyond amicable
adjustment it can be settled only by the arbitration of
the law. But in an executory contract, and where its

30

execution necessarily involves a practical construction,
if the minds of both parties concur, there can be no
great danger in the adoption of it by the Court as the
true one.”

Applying this rule to the present situation, the intent of
the parties as illuminated by their practical construction
of the contract was clearly that the road-embankment was
work payable under the contract. The test of a practical
construction is not that of a unilateral construction, but of
a mutual construction. The Court of Claims in the case at
bar took a narrow view of the rule of the practical con-
struction of the parties, saying :

“ The plaintiff contends that the allowance for a time
by the engineer in charge for the fill on the roadway
as coming within the provision for fill or embankment
for which the contractors were to be paid, was a prac-
tical construction of the contract which must now pre-
vail. ‘The answer to this contention is that such con-
struction was afterwards and during the progress of
the work reversed; also that the rule invoked prevails
only where the contract is susceptible of more than one
interpretation.”

With deep respect to the Court of Claims, it is submitted
that the rule of practical construction by both parties can-
not in this case be so easily disposed of. If the Court
meant to rule that the present contract is only susceptible
of the interpretation adopted by the Court, I must humbly
protest that to my mind it seems very strange that if the
contract was only susceptible of that one interpretation that
Mr. McClennan and Col. Miller should both have inter-
preted it as including the roadway, and never dreamed of
any other construction. They were both men of usual
mental ability, used to the drawing and practical construc-

3I

tion of contracts, Col. Miller being the author of this con-
tract, and they both thought the contract meant something
diametrically opposite from the interpretation of the Court
of Claims. Yet the Court of Claims must have considered that
practical construction as conceivable, for it is only after a care-
ful analysis and exposition of the contract of over 2,000
words that it arrived at a different construction. If the
contract is susceptible of only one consruction, is it not
strange that none of the persons who had to do with making
the contract ever thought of it? And is it not conceivable
that the construction which they put upon the words “ all!
work shown by the plans,” considering that the plans showed
the roadway, was one which the contract was susceptible
or bearing? Assuming for the moment that it was not
the correct one, or the only correct one, I strongly urge
that it was a possible interpretation. And if the interpre-
tation which these gentlemen with one accord took, even
though it appear to a Court an unreasonable one, was a
conceivable one (and the fact that they took it shows that
it was conceivable to them), I humbly submit that this con-
tract cannot be said to be capable of only one interpretation.

It is to be noted also that the Supreme Court in the Shel-
don case does not lay down the rule that the practical con-
struction of the parties prevails only when the court thinks
the contract ambiguous. It is to prevail when the parties
themselves find the contract susceptible of more than one
meaning.

“In an executory contract,” says Mr. Justice Nel-
son, “and where its execution necessarily involves a
practical construction, if the minds of both parties con-
cur, there can be no great danger in the adoption of it
by the Court as the true one.”

But the Court of Claims says that the practical construc-
tion made by the parties “ was afterwards and during the
progress of the work reversed.” That refers to the fact

Soot a

32

that after the work was done a new mind in charge for the
War Department refused to pay any more for work done
on the road. ‘This new mind did not reverse the practical
construction of both sides, but did interpret the contract
differently for the United States. At that time, 44,444
cubic yards had been put in and paid for under the original
practical construction; a good deal more had been put in
because the contractor did not suspect that it would not be
paid for. ‘That work was done, and had been done under
a clear understanding on both sides of what the contract
meant.

Does the rule of practical construction of contracts apply
only when the entire performance contemplated by the con-
tract is completed under it? Such a rule cannot be found
in the cases. It would lead to outrageous results. Sup-
pose A engages in writing B to paint his house three coats
of paint at one cent a square yard, payable weekly. The
work takes four weeks. For the first three weeks A pays
B at the rate of one cent a square yard per coat, which both
understand is the contract price. At the end of the fourth
week B comes for his pay, but A says: “ Oh, I don’t owe
you anything. In fact you owe me a good deal, because
our contract appears to me to mean one cent a square yard
painted with three coats.”

The cases cited by the opinion below to support such a
proposition (which seems to have a tendency to result in
hardship) are

Gibbons v. U. S., 109 U. S., 200, and
D.C. v. Gallaher, 124 U. S., 505.

The Gibbons case turned on the construction of a con-
tract with the United States for rebuilding on a navy yard
some brick buildings that had been destroyed by fire. The
specifications provided :

“The foundation and the brick walls now standing
that were uninjured by the fire will remain and be car-

33

ried up to the height designated in the plan by new
work,”

After the claimant had begun work it was discovered that
a part of the walls still standing had been so injured by fire
as to be useless. The commandant of the navy yard then
ordered the buildings further torn down, which was done
| by claimant and new brickwork built by him at a cost of
$4,500. No agreement in writing varying the original con-
| tract was entered into.
The Justice of the Supreme Court, who wrote the opinion,
| observed :

“ The language of the specifications is, perhaps, sus-
ceptible of two meanings.”

“ According to one, it is as if it read that ‘the founda-
tions and brick walls now standing so far as they were
uninjured by the fire, will remain’; according to the
other, that the foundations and brick walls now stand-
ing ‘being such as were uninjured by the fire,’ will
remain.”

“But (continues the opinion), without going into
any refinements of merely verbal interpretation, we
think the meaning of the parties, explained by the cir-
cumstances attending the transaction, is sufficiently
plain.”

The decision, as to what wall was fit to remain, should
be made by the proprietor at the outset.

“ To require the claimant to determine the fact for
himself provisionally, subject at any time before com-
pletion of the work to have his judgment reversed, and
to be required in consequence to perform work which
he could not and did not provide for in his estimates,
would be unreasonable and unjust.”

34

Does this case uphold the proposition that a reversal of
the practical construction of the parties during the progress
of the work deprives claimant of his right to recover in ac-
cordance with the original construction of the contract? To
me it seems to hold directly against that proposition.

The other case cited by the Court of Claims, in ruling
that the practical construction of the parties cannot avail
the present claimant, is D. C. v. Gallaher, 124 U. 5S., 505.

In this action the claimant was the contractor for buildin
the Tiber Creek sewer in the City of Washington.

The principal item at issue was a deduction made dur-
ing the course of the work for a failure to observe the
specifications.

The Supreme Court said :

“The whole controversy between the parties as to
this item and also for a portion of the claimant's de-
mand on account of extra work and material arises out
of the fact that the letter of the contract and specifica-
tions does not correspond with the plan of the work
furnished by the District engineer and the sample of
the work which had been done previously by other
contractors, and with which that of the present claim-
ant was to connect. The work as actually done was
under the direction and supervision of the ‘District engi-
neer and was performed in accordance with the plan
and sample which was supposed and understood to he
what was required by the contract, and to be paid for
at the contract price. We think that the practical con-
struction which the parties put upon the terms of their
own contract, and according to which the work was
done must prevail over the literal meaning of the con-
tract, according to which the defendant seeks to obtain
a deduction in the contract price.”

So the Supreme Court upheld the practical understanding
of the parties in spite of the fact that the contract literally

35

construed was contrary to it. Furthermore, the practical
construction so far as defendant was concerned, was re-
versed, just as in the case at bar, after some of the work
was done, but before it was all finished, by a different inter-
pretation of the District engineer, and a deduction in pur-
suance with his interpretation.

D.C. v. Gallaher does not seem to sustain either of the
propositions for which it is cited*in the opinion of the Court
of Claims, but to sustain rather the position of the claimant
that, whether or not the contract is susceptible of more than
one interpretation, if the parties practically construe it,
their understanding prevails, and that after the work is
started, a new interpretation by one of the parties cannot
affect the status of work which has been finished so that
by reacting it deprives the laborer of the benefit of the origi-
nal practical construction.

Even if the contract is, as the Court of Claims says, not
susceptible to any construction other than that arrived at
by the Court of Claims (which claimant does not admit)
under the authority of the cases cited judgment should be
given for claimant.

“The practical construction of an agreement by a party
to it is always a consideration of great weight,” says the
Supreme Court in /nsurance Co. v. Dutcher, 95 United
States, 269.

“The construction of a contract is as much a part
of it as anything else.”

(There is no qualification of the rule of practical con-
struction, It is always a consideration of great weight.)

“Tt was competent for the company, under proper
circumstatices, at any time to change its rule with re-
spect to the future; but it could not affect vested rights
acquired in the past while a different rule prevailed.

NEY
SURF P PER

OE ERT, NOS OME LEN DOG LION ALY RATES BD ale”

36

Prior contracts must be carried out as they were when
they were entered into. Neither party in invitum
as respects the other can make any change. When it
was proposed by the assurer to apply the new rule and
practice in this case, the assured might well say, ‘non
in haec federa veni,’ and insist upon the interpretation
which prevailed in other like cases when the parties
became bound to each other and continuously for two
years later.”
Insurance Co. v. Dutcher, 95 United States, 273.

In Old Colony Trust Co. v. Omaha it was said:

“ Generally speaking the practical interpretation of
a contract by the parties to it for any considerable
period of time before it comes to be the subject of con-
troversy is of great if not controlling influence.” |

230 U. S., 118, citing Chicago v. Sheldon, Ins. Co.

v. Dutcher, D. C. v. Gallaher, and two Nebraska
cases.

In Lowry v. Hawaii, 206 U. S., 222, Mr. Justice Me-
KENNA, discussing whether an agreement evidenced by
writing between a mission and the Kingdom of Hawaii
in the year 1849, relating to the transfer of a
mission school to the Crown, should be construed
strictly, or whether extrinsic evidence might be admitted to
show the real purpose of the transfer as disclosed by the
surrounding circumstances and the subsequent conduct of
the parties, said:

“In Brooklyn Life Insurance Co. v. Dutcher, 95
U. S., 269, it was said: ‘There is no surer way to find
out what parties meant than to see what they have

, al e . .
done.’ So obvious and potent a principle hardly needs

AEE EE LORIE SRO LE

37

the repetition it has received. And equally obvious
and potent is a resort to the circumstances and con-
ditions which preceded a contract * * *. The con-
ventions of parties may change such circumstances and
conditions or continue them, but it cannot be separated
from them, and this makes the value of contempo-
raneous construction. It is valuable to explain a stat-
ute where disinterested judgment is alone invoked and
exercised. It is greater to explain a contract where
self-interest is quick to discern the extent of rights or
obligations and never yield more than the written or
spoken word requires. See, for further illustration,
the following :

Reid v. Merchants’ Mutual Insurance Co., 95 U. S.,

23;

District of Columbia v7. Gallaher, 124 U. S., 505;

Topliff v. Topliff, 122 U. S., 121;

Paige v. Banks, 13 Wall., 608;

Philadelphia R. R. Co. v. Trimble, 10 Wall., 337:

Chicayo v7. Sheldon, 9 Wall., 50:

Cavasos v. Trevino, 6 Wall., 773;

Simpson v. United States, 199 U. S., 399;

Chicago Great Western Railway Co. v. Northern

Pacific Railway Co., 101 Fed., 792.

The opinion in Chicago Great Western Railway Company
v. Northern Pacific Railway Company, 101 Fed., p. 795,
contains an interesting discussion on this point, in which it is
said :

“Tt is a canon in the interpretation of contracts that
the practice of the parties under them may furnish a
solid basis on which their construction may rest.‘ Tell
me,’ says Lord Chancellor Sugden, * what you have

38

done under a deed and I will tell you what that deed

means.”
Attorney Gen. v. Drummond, 1 Dru. & Wal., 353,
366;

Affirmed by Drummond v. Atty. Gen., 2 House of
Lords Cases, 837.

The contract now in question was drawn by Col. Miller
in the War Department of the United States, and, of course.
the rule of construction which construes a contract most
strongly against the draftsmen should be applied.

The words of a contract should be taken most strongly
against the Government where it has been drawn by a Gov-
ernment officer and where an officer has given the contract
a contemporaneous construction unfavorable to the Govern-
ment.

Garrison v. U. S., 7 Wall., 688;

In Gibbons v. United States, 109 U. S., 204, it is said:

“The foundation and walls themselves, as left
standing by authority of the proper officers, con-
stituted under the circumstances a representation on
the part of the United States that they had been
adjudged to be so far uninjured by fire that they
were to remain, upon the faith of which the intend-
ing contractor was entitled to rely for the purpose
of estimating the probable cost of the work to be
done.”

Cannot appellant say here with equal justice that, by
analogy, the plans showing a road to be built constituted
under the circumstances a representation on the part of the
United States that such a road was to be built and paid for
at 30 cents per cubic yard, on which the intending con-
tractor was entitled to rely for the purpose of estimating
the probable cost of the work to be done ?

39

Was not this representation confirmed by the contem-
poraneous construction put on the contract by the United
States; by the giving of grades, lines, and detail plans for
the work; by the sodding required on the completed part
of the work; by the supervision, inspection and acceptance
of the work by the United States; by the allowance and
payment of $12,000 on account of it; and by the continuance
of the United States in this representation until the work
was substantially complete ?

As a result, the United States has an excellent road built
under its plans for which it has paid nothing.

IIL.

Apart from any rights under the contract, the claimant
is entitled to recover upon quantum meruit.

The rule for recovery in quantum meruit is that the value
of the services to the person who has been benefited should
he paid for, considering the question solely as one of bene-
fit and of the value of the services rendered. The law of
the present case attempts an entirely new test, to wit: What
is the cost to the person rendering the services? The Court
of Claims is of opinion that as the building of the road “ in-
volved no extra expense to the contractors,” it is not within
the rule of quantum meruit, and accordingly refuse any
recompense to the contractor for his labor.

Is it not a great mistake tc consider only the question of
cost to the contractor? This road could not have been
made on separate contract, except for a much greater sum
than $20,273.40. It was because the material was available
that it was possible to do it at what was perhaps a cost to
the contractor of less than $20,273.40.

The question in quantum meruit, however, is not what
the services cost, but what it is fair to pay for them. ‘To
say that the contractor could only recover what he has given
up at cost price, loses sight both of the element of reasonable

40

profit, and of the essential element of the benefit to the
United States. It is the value of the services rendered
that should be considered.

Thus in Belt v. U. S., 15 C. C., 92, the value of the goods
was recovered; similarly Livingston v. Ackeston, 5 Cowen.
531, a leading case on the subject of quantum meruit, lays
down this rule:

“No doubt the services cf the plaintiff having been
performed for the benefit of defendant with his knowl-
edge and approbation the law will imply a promise
to pay for them, unless it appears they understood no
compensation was to be made. Jacobson v. Executors
of LeGrange, 3 John., 201.”

See also the curious case of Hickam v. Hickam (former
slave working in ignorance of the Emancipation proclama-
tion), 46 Mo. App., 496.

The correct rule is laid down in Turner & Otis v. Webster,
24 Kans., 38, where it is said:

“Justice is done to all parties by ignoring any
promise or understanding about compensation
(where the parties had made no contract as to com-
pensation but the services had been performed) and
giving to the laborer reasonable compensation for
the werk done and requiring the pariy receiving the
benefit of such work to pay a just and reasonable
price therefor.”

It is contrary to human experience to suppose that the
work done on this road cost nothing, and we respectfully
ask that the benefit of the United States be regarded accord-
ing to the ordinary rule of quantum meruit recovery.

The Court of Claims cited Plumley v. U.S. as an authority
constraining the denial of a recovery in this action. A

41

careful reading of that case shows no reference to any ques-
tion of quantum meruit.

The case was that Plumley was working on a contract
which contained a clause that in the event of questions rising
under the contract the matter should be referred to the
Secretary of the Navy, Plumley agreeing in that event to
abide by his decision in the premises. The Secretary hav-
ing decided against him, it was held that the decision was
conclusive.

Certain extra work was done of considerable value, but
no attempt had been made to get any order for the extra
work or to have it approved by the Secretary, as the contract
required. It was held that, although it might be a hard
case, yet Plumley could not recover for that which, though
extra, was not ordered by the officer and in the manner re-
quired in the contract. Plumley v. United States, 226
United States, 545.

Such a case differs entirely from the present one, in that
the present one has no question of extra work, and no sug-
gestion of any violation or disregard by the contractor of
any contract provision.

IV.
SUMMARY.

The appellant's firm built the greater part of a road
for the United States, which was understood by the
parties to have been contracted for to be paid at the
price of 30 cents per cubic yard.

When the road was nearly complete, and, after the
United States had paid $12,000 to the contractor on ac-
count of his work, the United States notified the con-
tractor that he should be paid no more, and took back
the $12,000 already paid by retaining that sum from
payments due for other work.

TORE Te Oe

42

The United States has thus obtained an embanked
road without cost. (Statement of facts.)

The contractor claims that under his contract the
United States was liable to pay for the road, as work
within the terms of the contract (1.).

And that even if the literal meaning of the contract could
be construed so as not to include the road work, that
the practical construction by the parties under which
the work was done and in part paid for must prevail.

United States v. Gibbons;
District of Columbia v. Gallaher.
United States v. Garrison, 7 Wallace, 688 (IT.).

And that in any case, the contractor, having confered
a benefit on the United States by supplying the work
and materials for th road embankment, should be paid
for the value of his s». vices (III.).

Respectfully submitted,

Cuauncey Hackett,
Attorney for the Appellant.

Service of the foregoing brief accepted this 17th day
of February, A. D. 1916.
Huston THOMPSON,
Attorney for Appelice.
R. P. W.

Inthe Supreme Gourt of the United States,

OcToBerR TERM, 1915.

WiiuiaM Frye Waite, RECEIVER or Cow-
ardin, Bradley, Clay & Company, ap-

pellant, No. 309.
y

THe Unirep Srares.
API '" PROM THE COURT OF CLAIMS.
BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES.

STATEMENT.

This is an appeal from a judgment dismissing the
petition.

The suit arose over a contract for the construction
of a filtration plant in the city of Washington, D. C.

On April 6, 1903, Cowardin, Bradley, Clay &
Company executed a contract with Lieut. Col.
Miller, representing the United States, for the fur-
nishing of labor and materials in the construction of
said plant. The plans indicated a roadway beginning

at the superintendent’s house at a point northwest
31852—16——1 .

BO PII

2

of the piant, thence running along the west side there-
of between the plant and the reservoir, and passing
the pumping station in a southwesterly direction
around the east side of the reservoir to the south dam
of the Washington City Reservoir. Said plans con-
tained no detail whatsoever as to the exact location
or dimensions of the roadway; they merely marked
where it was to be placed.

On August 27, 1903, John D. McClennan was
appointed receiver for the original contractors, and
was subsequently replaced by William Frye White.

In January and February of 1904 material exca-
vated irom the filter plant was deposited on the said
roadway. In June and November of 1904, supple-
mental plans relating to the roadway (Finding V, Ree.
14) and giving details as to grades were furnished, and
appellant, who had been depositing excavated ma-
terial on parts of said roadway, thereafter deposited
it along the whole roadway. Several payments,
amounting in the aggregate to $12,000, had been
made by the Government on yoadway estimates of
its engineers. On February A isak Col. Leech, the
successor of Col. Miller, as engineer officer in charge,
notified the receiver that he refused to allow further
pay for work on the roadway. In the final
sett] it there was deducted from the balance due
appellant (Finding VIII, Rec. 16) a sum equal to
the cost of the fill in the roadway, already paid at the
rate of 30 cents a cubie yard, amounting to about
$12,000.

3

The following paragraphs of the specifications and
proposals in this case are pertinent (Rec. 5-11):

29. The decision of the engineer officer in
charge shall be final.

43. Work.—The work to be done under
these specifications consists in making, fur-
nishing, building, and placing the excavation
and embankment and fill, the concrete ma-
sonry, the filter sand and gravel, the granoe
lithic pavement of the courts required for the
construction of a system of filters and pure-
water reservoir, and the pipes and drains per-
taining thereto. The cement for the concrete
and certain other materials shal! be supplied
by the United States,

44. These specifications do not include the
sand-washing apparatus, regulator houses, and
fixtures above the substructures, the track
system, pumping station and appurtenances,
and other parts of the complete plant to be
otherwise or subsequently supplied.

45. Plans.—The general extent, location,
and character of the work are shown by a set
of 23 plans, numbered from 1 to 23 consecu-
tively, which plans are made a part of these
specifications and which plans are on file at
the office of the Washington Aqueduct.

53. Disposal of excavated material.—-A}| ma-
terials suitable for use for puddle, or the requi-
site amount thereof, shall be set aside and
reserved for this purpose and other select ma-
terials shall be reserved and used for em-
bankments, filling, and for covering the filters,
A part of the surplus material shall be de-

5 4 ey
DER ASSET NLE RNIN OE

4

posited on the south slope of the dam and
carried to such lines and slopes as the engineer
officer in charge shall direct. All trees, bushes,
and rubbish shal! be cleared from the slope and
adjacent ground at the foot of the dem before
the material is deposited. The contractor
must make all arrangements for the disposal
of surplus material and hold the United States
harmless against all claims whatever relating
thereto.

57. Work.—The work under this heading in-
cludes the filling of low places under filters and
other structures, the filling of central courts,
the embankments about the filters, and all
other fills 1nd embankments shown by the
plans or directed to be made by the engineer
officer in charge.

58. Classification —Embankments shall be .
divided into three classes:

(1) Embankment under filters.

(2) Embankments about the walls of filters
and in courts.

(3) Filling over filters.

Material placed below the dam, in the road-
ways, and at other low places for the purpose
of disposing of it, and material disposed of off
the ground shall not be paid for as embank-
ment. When waste embankments come
against the walls of the filters or the pure-water
reservoir the usual section shal! be built and
paid for as embankment, and all material out-
side shall be treated as waste.

63. Embankments about walls of filters and
in courts—Item 3.—These embankments shall
be made as embankments under filters, except

5

that materials may be taken as they come in
excavation without seiection, except that soil
or any manifestly unsuitable material shall be
excluded, and may be placed in 6-inch layers
instead of 3-inch layers, and the finished sur-
face shall be left as nearly as possible at the
desired grade, which, in the embankment
about the filters, shall be approximately level
within the springing line, and under courts
shall be the required grade for the foundation
of the pavement. Exposed surfaces shall be
covered with soil and smoothed to the re-
quired surfaces.

293. Work done by United Staies.—The
United States will construct the gatehouses,
sand washers, pumping station, macadam
roadways, and other structures not included
in these specifications and necessary for the
completeness of the plant, and the work to be
done under these specifications shall be car-
ried on so as to facilitate and not to diseom-
~ mode the prosecution of that and other ad-
joining and contiguous work, whether done by
the United States or by another contractor.

Section 1 of the proposal provides, in part, as
follows:

Class A.—¥or eight hundred and eighty
thousand (880,000) cubic yards excavation,
for sixty-five thousand four hundred (65,400)
cubic vards embankment under filters, for
forty-six thousand seven hundred (46,700) cubie
yards other embankment, and for one hundred
and twenty-three thousand four hundred
(123,400) cubic yards filling over filters, all at
thirty (30) cents per cubic yard; * * *.

6

Appellant sues to recover for 67,578 cubic yards
of material deposited on said roadway at a contract
price of 30 cents per cubic yard, amounting to the
sum of $20,273.40.

His claim is that the fill on the said roadway
was required of him by the contract; that the
Government in making the said payments so con-
strued the contract and estopped itself from other-
wise interpreting the same; that aside from the con-
tract appellant should recover on a quantum meruit
for the material supplied and work performed.

The Government’s position is that the face of the
contract excludes the claim of damages for the fill
on the roadway; that the decision of the engineer
officer in charge at the time of final settlement was
binding on the contractor; and that appellant could
not recover on a quantum merwit for the reason
that the work on the roadway was never requested
by the Government and was to be performed at the
expense of appellant.

BRIEF OF ARGUMENT.

Hirst.—The contract on its face forecloses appel-
lant’s claim.
Second.—Appellant is not entitled to recover upon
a quantum meruit.
FIRST.

The Contract on its Face Forecloses Appellant’s Claim.
Appellant’s contention is that because a roadway

was indicated on tlie drawings and because paragraph
57 of the specifications required him to do the work

7

included in the phrase ‘all other fills and embank-
ments shown by the plans”’ he should be paid for the
material placed upon said roadway. Such an appli-
cation would put into practice that which this court
has inveighed against, namely, the carving of a
phrase out of a context and reading it independently
of the rest of the contract.

The purpose of the contract, so far as appellant
was concerned, was the construction of embankments
and fills relating to the filtration plant proper. Sec-
tions 57 and 58 and paragraph 1 of proposals indicate
this very clearly.

Section 57 enumerates three kinds of fills, con-
eluding as follows: “and all other fills and embank-
ments shown by the plans or directed to be made by
the engineer officer in charze.”’

Appellant arzues that this concluding phrase in-
cludes work outside of the filtration plant proper,
as, for example, the work on the roadway. The
languace, however, which precedes this phrase relates
exclusively to work upon the filtration plant and in-
dispensable to its construction and operation. Hence,
“all other fills and embankments shown by the plans”
must refer to fills and embankments necessary to the
filtration plant and such as had been previously
enumerated, to wit, the three kinds of fills thereto-
fore described. Therefore the phrase is ejusdem
generis of that which precedes it. This view is sus-
tained by the classification in paragraph 58, wherein
specifying in particular as to embankments it di-

8

vides them into three classes, corresponding to the
kind set forth in paragraph 57:
Paragraph 57:
1. Filling under filters and other struc-
tures.
2. Filling of central courts.
3. Embankments about the filters.
Paragraph 58. Classification —Embankments
shall be divided into three classes.
1. Embankment under filters.
2. Embankments about the walls of fil-
ters and in courts.
3. Filling over filters.

The three classes in paragraph 58 relate to work
on the filtration plant proper. Moreover, the use of
the word “shali’”’ indicates that the classification is
mandatory. Unless, therefore, the fill on the road-
way is comprehended within one of the three desig-
nated classes it does not come within the terms of
the contract affecting appellant. Obviously the
maxim, Expressio unius est exclusio alterius is appli-
cable, and hence the description of the different
kinds of “embankments” enumerated in paragraph
58 excludes every other kind from consideration. If
under this clause it was contemplated that appellant
was to fill the roadway, why was it necessary to
make any classification whatsoever? The reasonable
thing would have been for the contract to have con-
tained one general clause requiring appellant to make
all fills and embankments. If he was to fill over,
under, and around the filters and also the roadways
and to be paid for all of them, then it was wholly

9.

unnecessary to define “fill” and “embankments” as
in paragraph 58. The definition there set forth
would have been superfluous.

But the language following the classification in
paragraph 58 clearly excludes payment for the fill on
the roadway when it says:

Materia! placed below the dam, in the road-
ways and at other low places for the purpose
of disposing of it, and material disposed of off
the ground shall not be paid for as embank-
ment.

Finally, a fatal objection to appellant’s position is
that neither the “proposals’’ nor the contract proper
provided for this road fill, either expressly or by im-
plication. By their silence they sustain the con-
struction urged by defendants. Thus the specifica-
tions divided the work into seven items:

No. 1, excavation; Nos. 2, 3, and 4, embankment
(which the specifications in terms subdivided into (1)
embankment under filters, (2) embankments about
the walls of filters and in courts, (3) filling over filters) ;
No. 5, puddle; No. 6, seeding; No. 7, sodding. These
terms were carried forward into the “proposals”
(Specifications, p. 17), except “embankment around
the walls of filters and in courts.” Item No. 3 of the
proposals was designated “other embankment.’’ No
new items were added, but approximate estimates of
the amount required under the several items were
given.

The contract proper, in terms, embodied the terms

of the “proposals,” without change. Obviously the
31852—16——2

ORO NESE Wet AE ate eT RPOR SL AON ap tet ER TE of

10

item “other embankment”’ was here employed synon-
mously with “embankment about the walls of
filters and in courts,’’ and was not intended to cover
the road. The approximate estimate of 46,700 cubic
yards for the item “other embankment” forces this
conclusion. This estimate is so small as to be
utterly inconsistent with an intention to provide for
the road fill, as the yardage claimed for filling the
roadway alone is more than double that amount.
Assuming a rough estimate to have been possible, it
is inconceivable that in calculating the amount of
road fill and the amount of fill required around the
walls of filters and in courts the Government engi-
neers would have found a total of only 46,700 cubic
yards. The clear presumption is that no road fill
was intended to be included. Its deliberate exclu-
sion must have been due to the fact that the specifi-
cations made no provision for such work as a part of
appellant’s contract.

Furthermore, the substitution of the heading
“other embankment” in item 3 of the “proposals,”
for “embankments about the walls of filters and in
courts,” in item 2 of paragraph 58 of the specifica-
tions, strikingly illustrates the point that the term
“all other fills and embankments,” etc., in paragraph
57, is ejusdem generis as the preceding matter in that
paragraph, and the items given under the classifica-
tion in paragraph 58, and lends a meaning to the
phrase “all other fills and embankments” consistent
with the language in paragraphs 57 and 58, and

proposal 1.

OOS BION fat NTS oe SIT ELE ARH EIR PES FSM IN ENS LAK NERS MOTE EONS

11

An examination of the plans shows that the details
with regard to the roadway were wholly lacking.
Referring to sheet No. 2 presenting four cross sections
of the natural surfaces upon which the filters were
constructed, and indicating the relationship of the
filters to said natural surface, the upper right-hand
corner of each section shows a slight depression over
which is the word “road.’”’ This is the road in ques-
tion. It will be seen that there are no details as to
direction, depth, width, ete.

Despite the fact that the road is far below the
natural surface and is therefore a low place as com-
pared with said surface and thus fitly described in
the clause “roadways and at other low places,”
counsel says:

The road embankment proposed was not,
nor was its site, a “low place.” It was, on
the contrary, very much higher than the
filters, and even before any embanking had
begun its site was many feet higher in level
than the level shown by the plan for the fin-
ished tops of the filters, as can readily be seen
by consulting the plans which are a part of
Finding IV. It is very strange that if the
road embankment was meant it should be
called “low.’’ (App. brief, p. 17.)

The language in the specifications upon which ap-
pellant was bidding was, in its comparative and
usual sense, descriptive of the conditions as repre-
sented on the plans and as they were before the work
was undertaken. In this sense the road was low com-
pared. with the natural surface of the filter land, so

12

that it comes well within the descriptive phrase “ ex-
cluding payment for material placed in the road-
ways and at other low places.”

Mr. Justice Barney said (Ree. 18):

An examination of the plans submitted with
the proposals for the work shows that the
roadway was indicated thereon, but contained
no detail whatsoever as to exact location or
dimensions. They m>rely mark where a road-
way is to be placed.

It is more than passing strange, if appellant was
to construct said road, that the plans should have
done nothing more than indicate the roadway,whereas
the very same plans in other details affecting appel-
lant’s work were profusely illustrative “as to exact
location or dimensions.” _ It is stil! more strange that
if appellant company believed at the time the con-
tract was signed that it was to do this work that it
should have required detailed drawings of all other
embankments and fills and yet been willing to bid
without accurate or detailed information of this road.
It is apparent that appellant company’s failure to
request information was due to the fact that the com-
pany was not to construct the road. It may clarify
the situation to know that there was only one road
to be constructed. Appellant’s brief, page 2, says:

The plans showed as a feature of the work
a road or driveway to be constructed about
the reservoir at a considerable height above
the filter beds. There were other streets and

roadways already existing which crossed or
bordered on the plant. These were to be left

. —— — Pe OR ag PONE, WIDE 43
SOILS sf OE TITEL TM ANT Shea PSE I ERS PAT RI NO IOM EG TOIL Pea

13

in existence and nothing was to be done on
them; nothing was done on them and no
question arises in reference to them.

Paragraph 293 of the specifications states that:
The United States will construct the gate-
houses, sand washers, pumping station, mac-
adam roadways, and other structures not included
in these specifications and necessary for the
completeness of the plant * * *. [Italics
ours. |

The roadway in question was macadamized. This
was the only roadway to be built, and it was to be
constructed by the United States. Hence the Gov-
ernment did not deem it necessary on the maps or
in the specifications to give details to appellant.
The company’s action in accepting the plans and
specifications without such details would indicate
that it so understood.

Again, it is not customary for the Government to
pay twice for one removal of earth unless it specifi-
cally provides for the same. The material taken
out of the filters and placed on the roadway was
paid for at the rate of 30 cents a cubic yerd. This
was a reasonable price. It included not only the
excavating but the removing. When the Govern-
ment paid for embankments under filters and in
courts it paid for handling earth a second time.
Thus in making the excavation for a filter and build-
ing up a concrete wall the earth removed had to be
again handled in order to put it against the wall and
in 6-inch layers. (Par. 63.) For example, earth

14

might have been excavated from a filter site, carried
to a point for 30 cents per cubic yard, and subse-
quently the same earth carried back, put up against
a wall in layers, and an additional 30 cents per cubic
yard paid for it. But where earth is taken directly
from an excavation and dumped, for which 30 cents
per cubic yard is paid, as in this contract, an addi-
tional 3G cents per cubic yard should not be paid
because the dirt, for convenience sake, happened
to be thrown upon a roadway which the Govern-
ment itself was to build. From sheet 2 of the
drawings it is evident that the fill on the road-
way came from the natural high surface above the
site. The material was deposited upon the roadway

without its being moved a second time. It must be
- kept in mind that appellant was paid 30 cents for every
cubie yard that was deposited on the roadway dur-
ing some stage of the construction of the plant.
He is now apparently actuated to claim an additional
30 cents simply on the theory that the Government
was able to make use of this dump in building its
roadway. ‘The placing of the material on the road-
way did not cost appellant anything more than it
would have cost to have removed it from the prem-
ises. In fact, sheet 2 of the drawings would indicate
that as the filters were immediately contiguous to
the roadway appellant could uot have found a more
inexpensive place to put the excavated earth. He
had an opportunity to remove it to another place, of
which he did not avail himself. It is said (Finding
VI, Ree. 15) that ‘the roadway in question was just as’

a PORN ESE ON ENE LR

15

convenient a place as any to dispose of waste mate-
rial.” As Judge Barney says (Rec. 19):

It thus appears to have been a privilege
rather than otherwise for the contractors to
have been allowed the right to deposit ma-
terial excavated from the filter beds upon this
road way.

The findings show that while the Government
engineers never ordered the contractor to build the
roadway (Finding VI, Ree. 15), after the work was
commenced the engineers “gave him the line of the
toe of the slope” and from time to time furnished
him the lines showing the direction of the road and
the stakes showing the grade, and the depositing of
the material was under the engineers’ inspection.

Appellant argues that these facts, together with
the indication of the road on the drawings, sustains
his contention that the fill was provided for by the
contract. But paragraph 293 required the Gov-
ernment to build » roadway and to so facilitate the
work under the specifications as not to diseommode
the prosecution of the rest of the work. If «ppellant
had had carte blanche in dumping the excavated
material, without any guide or direction from the
Government, he might have interfered with the rest
of the work. It was therefore necessary to indicate
where the materia! was to be deposited.

The fact that Col. Miller, the first engineer in
charge, misunderstood the situation «nd allowed
appellant company payments to the amount of

- 16
$12,000 on estimates for work done on this road
does not’ bind the Government, as the United States
can not be bound by its officials acting outside the
contract where its terms are susceptible of only one
interpretation.

As paragraphs 29, 57, and 285 give the engineer
officer the final decision in the interpretation of the
contract, it is maintained that the ruling of Col. Leech,
the engineer officer in charge when the project was
completed (as he had previously notified appellant he
would rule), that the fill on the roadway was not to
be paid for under the terms of the contract, hie-deet-
eren was final, in view of the fact that he was not
charged with conduct implying bad faith. (United
States v. Gleason, 175 U.S. 588-605.)

SECOND.

Appellant is Not Entitled to Recover Upon a Quantum
Meruit.

Appellant should not recover upon a quantum
meruit for the reason that the work upon the said
road was not done at the request of the engineer
officer in charge (Rec. 18) nor required of appellant
by the drawings or the specifications. Moreover,
it appears that the roadway was as convenient a place,
and was less expensive than any other place, for the
disposal of the waste material. As appellant was
already paid 30 cents per cubic yard at some stage of
the moving of the material to the roadway, it is
maintained that he can not show loss, but on the

17

contrary a benefit. Unless appellant can show loss
to himself he is estopped from an action upon a
quantum meruit. (See Plumley v. United States, 226
U. 8. 545-547.)
CONCLUSION.

It is respectfully submitted that the judgment of

the court below should be sustained.
Huston THOMPSON,
Assistant Attorney General.

a
/

osu? ie i han ha Rte as a a as i a ne es a ae CR Ci Peta ASV OS

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_0143%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
