# Amicus Curiae Brief — City of Boerne v. Flores

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_1542%3A37

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 521 U.S. 507

## Text

(2,>

No. 95-2074 Supreme Court? U.S.
rasa ae argon EL
JAN 10 1997

IN THE

a

Suprene Court of the LnitdStates—
OCTOBER TERM 1995
-

CITY OF BOERNE, TEXAS,
Petitioner,

——Vversus—

' P.F. FLORES, ARCHBISHOP OF SAN ANTONIO,

Respondent,
—and—

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Intervenor-Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE COALITION
FOR THE FREE EXERCISE OF RELIGION
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

MARC D. STERN

Counsel of Record
AMERICAN JEWISH CONGRESS
15 East 84th Street
New York, New York 10028
(212) 360-1545

Of Counsel Listed Inside

Of Counsel

Oliver S. Thomas
Special Counsel
NATIONAL COUNCIL OF CHURCHES
2708 Montvale Road
Maryville, TN 37801
(423) 977-9046

J. Brent Walker

Melissa Rogers

BAPTIST JOINT COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC AFFAIRS
200 Maryland Avenue

Washington, D.C. 20002-5797

(202) 544-4226

Steven T. McFarland

Center for Law and Religious Freedom
CHRISTIAN LEGAL SOCIETY

4208 Evergreen Lane - Suite 222
Annandale, VA 22003

(703) 642-1070

Aron U. Raskas

Nathan J. Diament

Institute for Public Affairs

UNION OF ORTHODOX JEWISH CONGREGATIONS OF AMERICA

333 Seventh Avenue

New York, NY 10001 |
(212) 563-4000

Of Counsel (cont'd)

Michael Farris

HOME SCHOOL DEFENSE ASSOCIATION
P. O. Box 159

Paeonian Springs, VA 22129

(703) 338-5600

Samuel Rabinove

Richard Foltin

AMERICAN JEWISH COMMITTEE
165 East 56th Street

New York, NY 10022

(212) 751-4000

Elliot Mincberg

PEOPLE FOR THE AMERICAN WAY
2000 M Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20036

(202) 467-4999

David Zwiebel, Esq.
AGUDATH ISRAEL

84 William Street

New York, NY 10038
(212) 797-9000

Steven R. Shapiro

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
132 West 43rd Street

New York, NY 10036

(212) 382-0557

Of Counsel (cont'd)

Steven K. Green

AMERICANS UNITED FOR SEPARATION OF CHURCH AND STATE
1816 Jefferson Place

Washington, DC 20036

(202) 466-3234

Jack F. Trope

Association of American Indian Affairs
P.O. Box 268

Sisseton, SD 57262

(605) 698-3998

a

The undersigned, counsel of record for the amici, furnishes
the following list pursuant to U.S. Sup.Ct. R. 26.6:

COALITION FOR THE FREE EXERCISE OF RELIGION

All of the members of the Coalition are corporations, and
have no parents or subsidiaries, except as indicated below.

Agudath Israel of America

Aleph Institute

American Association of Christian Schools
American Baptist Churches USA

American Civil Liberties Union

American Conference on Religious Movements
American Ethical Union, Washington Ethical Action Office
American Humanist Association

American Jewish Committee

American Jewish Congress

American Muslim Council

Americans for Democratic Action

Americans for Religious Liberty

Americans United for Separation of Church & State
Anti-Defamation League

Association of Christian Schools International
Association on American Indian Affairs

Baptist Joint Committee on Public Affairs

B'nai B'rith

Central Conference of American Rabbis

Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)

Christian Life Commission, Southern Baptist Convention
Christian Science Committee on Publication*
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Church of the Brethren

Church of Scientology International

Certificate of Interest (Cont'd)

Coalition for Christian Colleges and Universities

Coalitions for America

Concerned Women for America

Council of Jewish Federations

Council on Religious Freedom

Council on Spiritual Practices

Criminal Justice Policy Foundation

Episcopal Church

Evangelical Lutheran Church In America

Federation of Reconstructionist Congregations and Havurot

Friends Committee on National Legislation

General Conference of Seventh-day Adventists*

Guru Gobind Singh Foundation****

Hadassah, the Women's Zionist Organization of America, Inc.

Home School Legal Defense Association

International Association of Jewish Lawyers and Jurists

International Institute for Religious Freedom

Japanese American Citizens League

Jewish Reconstructionist Federation

Justice Fellowship

Liberty Counsel

Mennonite Central Committee U.S.**

Muslim Prison Foundation

Mystic Temple of Light, Inc.

National Association of Evangelicals

National Campaign for a Peace Tax Fund

National Committee for Public Education and Religious
Liberty

National Council of Churches o* Christ in the USA

National Council of Jewish Women

National Federation of Temple Sisterhoods

National Jewish Commission on Law and Pubiic Affairs

National Jewish Community Relations Advisory Council

National Sikh Center

Certificate of Interest (Cont'd)

Native American Church of North America

Native American Rights Fund

North American Council for Muslim Women

People For the American Way Action Fund

Peyote Way Church of God

Presbyterian Church (USA), Washington Office
Rabbinical Council of America

Sacred Sites Inter-faith Alliance

Soka-Gakkai International - USA

Traditional Values Coalition

Union of American Hebrew Congregations

Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations of America
Unitarian Universalist Association of Congregations
United Church of Christ, Office for Church in Society***
United Methodist Church, Board of Church & Society
United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism

° Unincorporated association.

** The Mennonite Central Committee, U.S. is a part of the
Mennonite Central Committee, Inc.

*** The parent organization of the Office for Church in
Society is the Executive Council of the General Synod
of the United Church of Christ.

**** Organized as a Maryland trust.

4

(Vy
: , “a

Marc D. Stern

Counsel of Record
AMERICAN JEWISH CONGRESS
15 East 84th Street

New York, NY 10028

(212) 360-1545

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CERTIFICATE OF INTEREST .
SAAD OP ALTTOEEM oo ccc ccc nccccces ii
INTEREST OF THE AMGCUS ..... 6. ccc ccc ccese |
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ..................... |
GU id Bir es ls dy i ong 3
I. RFRA DOES NOT ESTABLISH RELIGION ....... 3
A. RFRA Does Not Impermissibly Favor Religion
i ee OR ae te Pad 3
i. Case Law Recognizes the Permissibility
Oe eo sbydoiekcssse us 6
ii. Legislative Precedents Support the
Constitutionality of Exemptions ........... 7
B. RFRA Does Not Create Impermissible
Entanglement With Religion ................. 8

C. RFRA's Broad Scope Minimizes the Likelihood of
Religious Favoritism in the Granting of
Pa a is bee cueos a vse 11

Il. RFRA WAS AN APPROPRIATE EXERCISE OF
CONGRESS' POWER UNDER § 5 OF THE

FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT ................ 13
A. RFRA Facilitates Enforcement of the Ban Against
Religious Discrimination ................... 12
B. Congress Has Broad Power to Guard Against
Purposeful Religious Prejudice............... 16
C. RFRA is But the Latest Example of Congress’
Exercise of a Broad §5 Power............... 18
i. Title VII and the States................. 18
ii. The Voting Rights Act ................. 18

D. The Framers of the Fourteenth Amendment
Intended to Protect Religious Liberty ......... 21

Pe ee

E. The Legal and Political Background of the
Fourteenth Amendment Supports Congress' Power

SI hk oo ee aioe bao eas 6c sd heen 23

Ii]. RFRA IS FULLY CONSISTENT WITH THE
SEPARATION OF POWERS ..........cccecee: 24

A. Separation of Powers Doctrine Does Not Bar
COPOCNVG LGUIOR on cece cee u eves: 25
B. RFRA Does Not Impose a Rule of Decision... . . 26

C. Klein Does Not Proscribe Use of Legislative
NG 3 we cee aaweh eee oe etal et eee 27

D. RFRA is Fully Consistent With Marbury and
BPR R Ee oe POE Ps Tee 28
LEG vs we Cees eset ieee tet kee keus 30

-ii-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES
Ableman v. Booth, 62 U.S. 506 (1858) ............... 23
Adarand Construction, Inc. v. Pena, 115 §.Ct. 2097

ATA on Perr rere rer ey orem 21
Arlan's Dep't Store v. Kentucky, 37\ U.S. 218 (1962) ..... 5
Armstrong v. Wilson, 942 F.Supp. 1252 (N.D. Cal.

PR PP y rere errs tees eer eT eee TEE 21
Ashwander v. TWA, 297 U.S. 288 (1936) ............ 3,9
Barclays Bank PLC v. Franchise Tax Board, 114 S.Ct.

1 See er rer rere ee eee er ee 26
Board of Educ. v. Grumet, 114 §.Ct. 2481 (1994) . 4, 5, 6, 11
Bowen v. Kendrick, 487 U.S. 589 (1988) ............-... 5
Braunfield v. Brown, 366 U.S. 599 (1961) .........---. 5
Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976) ......-.--.-+----- 30

Campos v. Coughlin, 854 F.Supp. 194 (S.D.N.Y. 1994) .. 14

Church of the Lukumi Babalu Aye, Inc. v. City of
Hialeah, 508 U.S. 520 (1993) ........-...-. 12, 13, 14

City of Mobile v. Bolden, 446 U.S. 55 (1980) .... 18, 25, 28
City of Richmond vy. J.A. Crosson, 488 U.S. 469 (1989) .. 23
City of Rome v. United States, 446 U.S. 156 (1980) .. 18, 19

Cooper v. Aaron, 358 U.S. 1 (1958) .....-------+-+5: 28
Corp. of the Presiding Bishop v. Amos, 483 U.S.

TTT os 65 erie d eG ow cra wean s heeds we 6o en 4,5
Dred Scott v. Sanford, 60 (19 Howard) U.S. 393 (1857) . . 23
EEOC v. Wyoming, 460 U.S. 226 (1983)..........---. 16

Employment Division v. Smith, 494 U.S. 872 (1990) . passim
Estate of Thornton v. Caldor, Inc., 472 U.S. 703 (1985) 6,7
Ex Parte Virginia, 100 U.S. 339 (1879) ........-.---. 16
Ex parte Klein, 13 Wall.128 (1872) ...........---- 26, 27

,

F.W. Woolworth v. NLRB, 121 F.2d 658 (2d Cir. 1941)... 14

Fitzpatrick v. Bitker, 427 U.S. 445 (1976) .......... 17, 18
Fullilove v. Klutznick, 448 U.S. 442 (1980)... ... 17, 20. 21
Hobbie v. Unemployment Appeals Comm'n, 480 U.S.
SO i hence seh ieee eee a 4
Hutto v. Finney, 437 U.S. 678 (1982) ................ 21
Jolly v. Coughlin, 76 F.3d 468 (2nd Cir. 1996) .......... 9

Jordan v. Winter, 604 F.Supp. 807 (N.D. Miss. 1984) .... 19
Kaufman v. Carter, 1996 W.L. 731925 (E.D. Mich.

| FE eer anw Harper nena samen) Sane him 21
Keeler v. Mayor and City Council of Cumberland,

940 F Supp. 879 (Md. 1996) ................... 9, 26
Larson v. Valente, 456 U.S. 228 1982) ............... 13
Lassiter v. Northampton County Bd. of Elections,

Be I PERS bie 6 io The eee eee 20, 25
Leblanc-Sternberg v. Fletcher, 67 F.3d 412 (2nd Cir.

RD ol ia at oe oe es ak eee ee 13
Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971) .............. 5
Loving v. U.S, 116 $.Ct. 1737 (1996) . 0. wc ccc ces. 29
Lyng v. Northwest Indian Cemetery Protective Assoc.,

TP Oe ee ee nis news so Feta eeeedea ae 9
ALLB. v. S.L4., 65 U.S.L.W. 4035 (1996) .....2...5.. 18
Mack v. O'Leary, 80 F.3d 1175 (7th Cir. 1996) .......... 9
Major v. Treen, 574 F.Supp. 325 (E.D. La. 1983) ....... 19
Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. 137 (1803) .............. 28
Mcintire's Case, Fed. Cas. No. 8,824 (C.C. Dist. Col.

UE Ns codes eo Eh eecdee bs ee cee eee 8
Mississippi Islamic Center v. City of Starkville, 876

Fae Ce le RO sch ccs Sie Fe aoe 14
Mississippi Republican Executive Committee v.

Brooks, 469 US. 1002 (1963) 2... care ewss 19

-iv-

iii ial

Monnell v. City of New York, 436 U.S. 658 (1988) ...... 24

Morgan v. Katzenbach, 384 U.S. 641 (1966)......-. 12, 17
Niece v. Fitzner, 941 F.Sup: 1497 (E.D. Mich. 1994) ... 21
Norwood v. Harrison, 413 U.S. 455 (1977) ......- 5+ ->- 4
Oregon v. Mitchell, 400 U.S. 112 ED vy yep vie es 20, 25

Personnel Administrator v. Feeney, 442 U.S. 256 (1979) . 18
Plaut v. Spendthrift Farms, Inc., 115 S.Ct. 1447 (1995) .. 28

Prigg v. Pennsylvania, 42 U.S. 539 eS ee . 24
Quern v. Jordan, 440 U.S. 332 Eg ce scare vets 24
Robertson v. Seattle Audubon Society, 503 U.S.

Se es,
Rosenberger v. Rector, 115 §.Ct. 2510 ee 12
Sasnett v. Sullivan, 91 F.3d 1018 (7th Cir. 1996),

petition for cert. pending, No. i 8,9
School District of Abington Township v. Schempp,

ee ao 12
Sherbert v. Verner, 374 U.S. 398 (1963) .......-. 9, 10, 30
Small v. Lehman, 98 F.3d 762 (3rd Cir. 1996) ......----- 9
Smith v. North Babylon School District, 844 F.2d

90 (2d Cir. 1988) .......---- eee ere S a
South Carolina v. Katzenbach, 383 U.S. 307 (1966) .. 20, 26
Texas Monthly v. Bullock, 489 U.S. 1 (1989) ...-.---- 4,6
The Jesus Center v. Farmington Hills ZBA, 215 Mich.App.

54, 544 N.W.2d 698 (1996) .......---- seer 9
Thornburg v. Gingles, 478 U.S. 30 BR sky ss 19, 28
Tony and Susan Alamo Foundation v. Secretary, 471

BE 10
Underwood v. Hunter, 471 U.S. 222 (1985) ....------- 13
United States v. Seeger, 380 U.S. 163 (1965) ......--- 3,8
Walz v. Tax Comm'r, 397 U.S. 664 (1970) .....------ 5,8
Welsh v. United States, 398 U.S. 333 (1970) ......------ 3

-V-

Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1972) ............ 3,4
Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S.

FER CUE spiked credo hd 4a ee eee aeons 29
Zorach v. Clauson, 343 U.S. 306 (1952) ............. 1]
Zurcher v. Stamford Daily, 436 U.S. 547 (1978) ........ 26
STATUTES
Be is en HR OOD bi ois iv aces ekeee ees ue 7
ee. OG ok voce as 0A see eee 8
GE Ars ora bavi eV eabaevees awe
MUSE Oe ree ees 20
er ere ee em ee er 16, 27
PR TEM os a vie Kno ck oe oh wt ee 8
Pe MR ooo Gk ance reek eneeeeenaee 8
POU GE os 2 ae ie Sue eae eee 8
Privacy Protection Act of 1980, 42 U.S.C. § 2000aa ..... 26
Religious Freedom Restoration Act, 42 U.S.C. §2000bb,

OD is acs CR Te ee eee ee eee passim
Title VII, 42 U.S.C. §2000e-1(a), ef seg. ......... 5, 18, 28

Voting Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. 1973, et seq. ... 18, 19, 26, 28

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY
8 GR | Arr rE ratty rors 15
S.1093, 104th Cong., Ist Sess., Cong.Rec. (S)10895
Oe eer tr Be we pe 30
S.Report 103-11, 103rd Cong., Ist Sess. .............. 15
OTHER AUTHORITIES
A. Amar, The Bill of Rights and the Fourteenth Amendment,
101 Yale L.J. 1193, 1222-24 (1992) ................ 23

-Vi-

Ark. O.A.G., 93-414, (1994) ....... Me ee 27

Constitution of the United States of Armwsica. Analysis and
Interpretation (1987) at 963-64

CE 2: er ee eee a

J.B. James, The Ratification of the Fourteenth Amendment
CAS rrr eS err ne 24
K. Lash, The Second Adoption of the Free Exercise Clause:

Religious «ception Under the Fourteenth Amendment, 88
N WU. L Rev. 1106 (1994) .....----- 0c eres: 22

Md. O.A.G., Opinion 94-037 (1994) ..........225-55 27

M. McConnell, The Origins and Historical Understanding of
Free Exercise of Religion, 103 Harv. L.Rev. 1409 (1990) 7

M Pawa, When The Supreme Court Suppresses Constitutiona!
Rights, Can Congress Save Us?, 141 U.Pa. L.Rev. 1029
PUR vc pvp eres ant ees ser cha era teknereers 18

P Hamburger, A Constitutional Right of Religious Exemption:
An Historical Perspective, 60 Geo. Washington L.Rev. 915
CU ols Pig coe canes Bis cen bans Pe ACen rh eas 7

RJ. Kaczorowski, The Nationalization of Civil Rights -
tutional Theory and Practice in a Racist Society,

eae er) eee 25

-vil-

-
——_

li

EDITOR'S NOTE

THE FOLLOWING PAGES WERE POOR HARD COPY
AT THE TIME OF FILMING. IF AND WHENA
BETTER COPY CAN BE OBTAINED, A NEW FICHE

WILL BE ISSUED.

INTEREST OF THE AMICI

The Coalition for the Free Exercise of Religion ("Coalition")
is a coalition of over sixty religious and civil liberties
organizations. These organizations represent almost every major
faith group in America, spanning the spectrum of religious
diversity in America—Christians, Jews, Moslems, Native
Americans and Sikhs. The Coalition includes religious liberals
and conservatives, and groups with world views as disparate as
People for the American Way and Concerned Women for
America. They are united by the conviction that the protection
of religious liberty is an essential element of a democratic society.
(Its members are listed in Appendix A.) The Coalition was called
into being in response to the decision of this Court in
Employment Division v. Smith. It drafted, lobbied for, and
ultimately secured the passage of, the Religious Freedom
Restoration Act ("RFRA").

The Coalition takes no position on the question of whether
RFRA requires the City of Boerne to adjust its landmarks
preservation law to accommodate the religious obligations of
Bishop Flores. This brief addresses only the question of whether
RFRA is a constitutionally legitimate exercise of Congressional
power.

The brief is filed with the consent of the parties.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

1. (a) This Court has repeatedly held that government can
constitutionally accommodate religion. It invited such
accommodation in Employment Division v. Smith, and in
numerous earlier cases. Corporation of the Presiding Bishop v.
Amos establishes that the three-part test does not invalidate all
accommodation.

(b) Since the beginning, legislatures have granted
exceptions for religious objectives to secular laws, one of which

—— atin ahd He
|

2.

(the substitute of an affirmation for oath) is found in the
Constitution itself.

(c) RFRA is constitutional even in light of cases such as
Estate of Thornton v. Caldor, Inc. and Texas Monthly v. Bullock.
Unlike these cases, RFRA does not require accommodation
without a showing of a substantial burden on religious practice
and without regard to the impact on third parties.

(d) Unlike case-by-case accommodation—which Petitioners
advocate—accommodation under RFRA is available to all
religious practitioners, without regard to their size or political
clout. RFRA treats all religions equally. It does not require an
inquiry into centrality, which might be entangling.

2. (a) This Court has repeatedly upheld Congress’ power
under § 5 to draft statutes which reach beyond the Amendment's
core prohibitions to compensate for difficulties of proving
violations. These principles sustain § 2 of the Voting Rights Act,
as well as its ban on literacy tests, and Title VII of the 1964 Civil
Rights Act (as it applies to state and local government). All that
is necessary is that a “violation be lurking,” a condition met here.
Intentional religious discrimination in the granting or withholding
of exemptions is unconstitutional and does exist. No formal fact-
finding is required to justify an exercise of the power in this way.

(b) The legislative history of the Fourteenth Amendment
indicates an intent to protect religious liberty. Moreover, under
the then regnant philosophy of Prigg v. Pennsylvania, it was
unnecessary to include § 5 to empower Congress to enforce § 1
of the Amendment. Taken together, these background facts
counsel a broad reading of § 5.

3. (a) The separation of powers doctrine does not prevent
Congress from reexamining the practical results of this Court's
constitutional decisions and, if appropriate, addressing these
results under one of its powers. When it does so, Congress

~

exercises a balancing function as important to the constitutional
scheme as the separation of powers.

(b) Ex Parte Klein's ban on rule of decision is inapplicable
RFRA is a permissible change of federal statutory law, not a
direction to courts how to decide specific cases. Nor does Klein
prohibit Congress from legislating a broadly applicable standard,
as opposed to specific rules.

ARGUMENT

I. RFRA DOES NOT ESTABLISH RELIGION

A. RFRA Does Not Impermissibly Favor Religion

Over Non-Religion

Petitioners first contend that RFRA violates the
Establishment Clause because it “privileges religion over all other
types of beliefs and [] meddles[] with the religious life of the
nation.”' [Cert. Petition at 19-20, Brief at 49.] This is an attack
not on RFRA, but on all religious accommodation. It asserts that
the government is required to be indifferent to the impact of its
policies on religion and that government can shape its actions to
accommodate all interests but religious ones. The argument
ignores numerous precedents.

Employment Division v. Smith, 494 US. 872 (1990),
implicitly rejects this argument. The majority there invited

1. The Act does not define religion. This Court's precedents have
alternatively insisted on a theistic definition of religion, Wisconsin v.
Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1972) and a non-theistic one, Welsh v. United
States, 398 U.S. 333 (1970), United States v. Seeger, 380 US. 163
(1965). The issue has not yet arisen in the RFRA context. Courts have
allowed RFRA claims to be made by members of a truly broad spectrum
of religions, including non-traditional ones. Plainly religion should be
given a generous construction so as not to set up government endorsed
criteria for religion, a construction that would avoid potential
constitutional difficulties. Cf Ashwander v. TWA, 297 U.S. 288 (1936).

-4-

legislative exemptions for religious practices. “[A] society that
believes in the negative protection accorded to religious belief
can be expected to be solicitous of that value in legislation as
well ....”. 494 U.S. at 890. Petitioners must believe that the
Court was urging legislatures to violate the Constitution.

It was not only Justice Scalia who recognized the legitimacy
of legislative exemptions. Before and after Smith, other Justices
(including every sitting Justice except Justice Breyer, who has
not yet considered the question), have rejected the argument that
legislative accommodation of religion necessarily establishes
religion:

[T]he Constitution allows the state to accommodate

religious needs by alleviating special burdens. ... [I]n

commanding neutrality the Religion Clauses do not

require the government to be oblivious to impositions

that legitimate exercises of state power may place on

religious belief and practice. Rather, there is “ample

room under the Establishment Clause for ‘benevolent
neutrality which will permit religious exercise to exist
without sponsorship and without interference ....””

(Citations omitted.)

Board of Educ. v. Grumet, 114 S.Ct. 2481 (1994). 114 S.Ct. at
2492-93 (Souter, Biackmun, Stevens, O'Connor and Ginsburg,
JJ.); id. at 2501 (Kennedy, J., concurring); id. at 2511-12 (Scalia,
Rehnquist and Thomas, JJ., dissenting). Those declarations
broke no new ground. Corp. of the Presiding Bishop v. Amos,
483 U.S. 327, 334-36 (1987); id at 341 (Brennan, J.,
concurring); id. at 347-48 (O'Connor, J., concurring); 7exas
Monthly v. Bullock, 489 U.S. 1, 17-21 (1989) (plurality opinion
of Brennan, J.); id. at 327 (concurring opinion of O'Connor, J.);
id. at 29-44 (Scalia, J., dissenting); Hobbie v. Unemployment
Appeals Comm'n, 480 U.S. 136, 145. n.11 (1985); Norwood v.
Harrison, 413 U.S. 455 (1977), Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S.

:%

205 (1972); Walz v. Tax C omm'r, 397 U.S. 664 (1970), Sherbert
v. Verner, 374 U.S. 398 (1963).

In 1961, this Court upheld Sunday Blue Laws against free
exercise challenges by Saturday Sabbath observers. While
observing that exempting Sabbatarian merchants might create
unfair competition, it nevertheless suggested that a statutory
exemption might be appropnate. Braunfield v. Brown, 366 U.S.
599, 608 (1961). A year later, it upheld just such a statute
against an Establishment Clause challenge by a competing
merchant. Arlan's Dep't Store v. Kentucky, 37\ U.S. 218
(1962).

Petitioners’ Establishment Clause argument is understandably
devoid of precedential support other than a_ half-hearted
invocation of the three-part test of Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 US.
602 (1971). [Petitioners' Brief at 47-48.] The Lemon argument
was made, and rejected, in Amos’ for reasons that are equally
applicable here. In Amos, this Court applied the Lemon test to
the broad religious corporation exemption of Title VII, 42
U.S.C. §2000e-1(a), and found that a statute exempting
organizations from anti-discrimination law had the secular
purpose of “allevia(ting] significant governmental interference
with the ability of religious organizations to define and carry out
their religious missions.” Amos, 438 US. at 385. It did not have
the primary effect of advancing religion, in the Court's view,
because it merely allowed the church to do what it would have
done anyway. /d. at 337. And, even assuming that there is any
relevance of the entanglement test in the context of activities
other than recurring appropriations, Bowen v. Kendrick, 487

> The status of the three-part test is not entirely clear. Compare
Board of Educ. v. Grumet, 114 S Ct. at 2494-95 (Blackmun, J.) with id.
at 2498-99 (O'Connor, J.). The amici themselves are divided on the
desirability and vitality of that test.

i aN

ibe

U.S. 589 (1988), RFRA. wxe the Title VII exemption, does not
require any weighing of the relative importance of religious
beliefs, see Point I.B., infra, which would entangle courts in
religious questions.

i. Case Law Recognizes the
Permissibility of Accommodation

The argument from precedent for the facial invalidity of
accommodation rests on 7Jexas Monthly v. Bullock, 489 U.S. |
(1989), and Estate of Thornton v. Caldor, Inc., 472 U.S. 703
(1985). Neither sustains the argument. 7exas Monthly struck a
Texas sales tax imposed on secular, but not religious, magazines.
Even Justice Brennan's plurality opinion, the judicial high water
mark of Establishment Clause restrictions on accommodation,
sustains RFRA. Justice Brennan explained that an
accommodation which neither imposes substantial burdens on
third parties nor subsidizes religious practice in ways unrelated
to the alleviation of a burden on religious practice will not be
invalidated as an impermissible preference. 489 U.S. at 15 and
18, n.8. See also Board of Educ. v. Grumet, 114 S.Ct. at 2501
(Kennedy, J., concurring).

RFRA applies only when government imposes a substantial
burden on religious practice. It thus easily passes the second of
Justice Brennan's tests, that an accommodation ease a
governmental burden on religion. In the vast majority of cases,
religious accommodation does not impose a substantial burden
on others. Where it does, a state may well have a compelling
interest in not accommodating religion.

Justice Brennan's opinion did not command a majority.
Justice White concurred on freedom-of-the-press grounds.
Three Justices (per Justice Scalia) objected that Justice Brennan's
opinion tilted too far against free exercise, for “our cases make
plain that it is permissible for a State to act with the purpose and
effect of limiting governmental interference with the exercise of

Be

religion.” /d. at 40. Two other Justices (O'Connor and
Blackmun), while finding the Texas statute infirm for directly
subsidizing religious speech while not funding directly
competitive secular speech, also argued that Justice Brennan's
formulation cabined permissible accommodation too narrowly,
subordinating the Free Exercise Clause to the Establishment
Clause. /d. at 27. Taken together, nothing in these opinions
remotely sustains the claim that RFRA establishes religion.

Estate of Thornton v. Caldor, Inc., involved a statute that
absolutely required employers to accommodate the Sabbath
observances of their employees. Moreover, no religious practice
other than Sabbath observance was protected. As Justice
O'Connor noted in her concurrence, that case did not compel the
invalidation of more universal and flexible forms of
accommodation. 472 U.S. at 711-12. RFRA applies to all
religious practices. Its compelling interest defense provides the
flexibility wholly absent in Caldor, Inc.

ii. Legislative Precedents Support the
Constitutionality of Exemptions

Legal historians disagree whether exemptions were
mandatory or merely permissive in the early years of the
Republic, compare M. McConnell, Zhe Origins and Historical
Understanding of Free Exercise of Religion, 103 Harv. L.Rev.
1409 (1990) with P. Hamburger, 4 Constitutional Right of
Religious Exemption: An Historical Perspective, 60 Geo.
Washington L.Rev. 915 (1992). There is, however, no
gainsaying the fact that religious exemptions from neutral laws
have long been granted by legislatures.

The Constitution itself exempts those with religious
exemptions from taking the prescribed oath, Art. VI, cj. 3,
permitting an affirmation in its place. Congress soon followed
that policy for witnesses, an exemption which continues
uninterrupted to this day. 1 U.S.C. §1, s.v. - oath; 28 U.S.C. §

: 3

459, 953; Fed.R.Civ.P. 43(d); Fed.R.Evid. 603; MclIntire's Case,
Fed. Cas. No. 8,824 (C.C. Dist. Col. 1803). Conscientious
objectors have enjoyed an exemption from compulsory military
service from the earliest days of the Republic. United States v.
Seeger, 380 U.S. 163 (1965). Churches enjoyed the benefit of
real property tax exemption from an early date. Walz v. Tax
Comm'r, 397 U.S. 664 (1970).

James Madison, a leading separationist, proposed as part of
the Bil! of Rights guaranteeing the right of conscience against
state interference. Constitution of the United States of America:
Analysis and Interpretation (1987) at 963-64. Madison saw no

inconsistency between not establishing religion and insulating
individual believers from the coercive power of the state. In
short, wherever one looks for guidance, the position of
Petitioners runs athwart history.

B. RFRA Does Not Create Impermissible

Entanglement With Religion

A second argument made against RFRA is that it plunges
courts into the morass of deciding whether a practice is central
to the claimant's religion. See, e.g., Sasnett v. Sullivan, 91 F.3d
1018 (7th Cir. 1996), petition for cert. pending, No. 96-710.
Petitioners echo this claim. “The Act necessarily fails the
entanglement prong by forcing every government to become
expert on every religion.” [Petitioners' Brief at 48.] They warn
that legislatures will be forced to conduct official investigations
of the universe of religious beliefs in order to comply with
RFRA.

That argument rests on a misunderstanding. RFRA does not
invalidate any statute before it creates a substantial burden on
religious practice. No government need worry about the
possibility that a particular Act may some day trench on
someone's religious practice, nor need it conduct a survey of all
world religions to determine whether any adherents might be

-9-

affected by a proposed action. RFRA requires only that, when
a conflict is called to government's attention, it accommodate
that practice if not in conflict with a compelling interest.
Petitioners’ rhetorical specter of a government commission
investigating all religion is frightening; it merely has nothing to
do with RFRA.

Equally wrong is the argument that RFRA is entangling
because it applies only where a substantial burden is imposed on
a practice central to a faith. Centrality is not a threshold question
under RFRA. Nothing in the phrase “substantial burden”
necessitates an inquiry into centrality. The a “burden” threshold
is drawn from this Court's opinion in Sherbert v. Verner, supra,
374 US. at 403. Sherbert has survived Smith, Keeler v. Mayor
and City Council of Cumberland, 940 F Supp. 879 (Md. 1996).
But if the inquiry necessary to determine if a religious practice
imposes a substantial burden creates excessive entanglement,
Sherbert, too, fails on Establishment Clause grounds.

The sponsors of RFRA demonstrated a detailed
acquaintance with this Court's Free Exercise decisions. They
must be presumed to have been aware of this Court's holdings
that courts could not inquire into centrality. See Employment
Division v. Smith, 494 U.S. at 886-87; Lyng v. Northwest Indian
Cemetery Protective Assoc., 485 U.S. 435 (1988). Nothing in
the legislative history suggests that Congress insisted on such an
inquiry for RFRA. Familiar canons counsel against reading a
statute to create a constitutional difficulty. Ashwander v. TWA,
297 U.S. 288 (1936). Several courts have rejected a centrality
threshold. Sasnett v. Sullivan, 91 F.3d 1018 (7th Cir. 1996);
Mack v. O'Leary, 80 F.3d 1175 (7th Cir. 1996); Jolly v.
Coughlin, 76 F.3d 468 (2nd Cir. 1996); The Jesus Center v.
Farmington Hills ZBA, 215 Mich.App. 54, 544 N.W.2d 698
(1996). Contra, e.g., Small v. Lehman, 98 F.3d 762 (3rd Cir.
1996). As the Second Circuit put it:

-10-

[T]he judiciary has but a “limited function ... in
determining whether beliefs are to be accorded [RFRA]
protection.” Cur scrutiny extends only to whether a
claimant sincerely scolds a particular belief and whether
the belief is religious in nature. Any inquiry any more
intrusive would be inconsistent with our nation's
fundamental commitment to individual religious
freedom; thus, courts are not permitted to ask whether
a particular belief is appropriate or true—however
unusual or unfamiliar the belief may be.

76 F.3d at 476 (citations omitted).

The “substantial burden” language of §2000bb-1 is not
rendered superfluous by this reading. Some religion-state
conflicts can be avoided without any compromise of religious
practice. In Zony and Susan Alamo Foundation v. Secretary,
471 U.S. 290 (1985), a church challenged a ruling requiring it to
pay adherents working in church enterprises the minimum wage.
The church objected that its adherents were religiously bound not
to enrich themselves at its expense, and that their receipt of
wages from the church interfered with that obligation. This
Court noted, however, that adherents remained free to donate
their earnings to the church or to be paid with in-kind services.
The challenged statute worked no burden on the church that it
could not avoid without modifying its religious practices.
RFRA's “substantial burden” language codifies this holding.

The “substantial burden” test also excludes claims where the
secular burden is too trivial to coerce religious behavior or to
serve as a likely vehicle for discriminating against unpopular
faiths. Sherbert rests on the insight that substantial indirect
penalties on religious practice coerce religious behavior as much
as a direct ones. But some secular benefits are trivial and their
denial no burden. In Smith v. North Babylon School District,
844 F.2d 90 (2d Cir. 1988), a student objected to the scheduling

it

of her high school graduation on her Sabbath. She asserted that
the school was obligated to accommodate her by rescheduling it.
The Second Circuit held that the benefit of attendance at
graduation was too insignificant to exert pressure on Smith to
compromise her faith. This rule, too, is embodied in the
“substantial burden” language.

C. RFRA's Broad Scope Minimizes the Likelihood
of Religious Favoritism in the Granting of
Accommodation
Petitioners insist that accommodation should be worked
retail (despite their apparent inconsistence with almost all of their
Establishment Clause argument [Petitioners’ Brief at 48]). Such
exemptions, often designed to alleviate the problem of a
particular faith group, may be granted unfairly by legislatures,
which may well respond only to powerful, popular and
sympathetic religions. See Smith, 494 U.S. at 890.

That ad hoc potential is not without potentially serious
constitutional repercussions. “The anomalous case-specific
nature of ... legislative authority ... leaves the Court without any
direct way to review such state action for the purpose of
safeguarding a principle at the heart of the establishment clause,
that government should not prefer one religion to another, or
religion to non-religion.” Board of Educ. v. Grumet, supra, 114
S Ct. at 2491. Id. at 2497 (O'Connor, J., concurring).

RFRA requires religious accommodation wholesale. It
allows any faith, no matter how small, unpopular or politically
ineffectual, to press its claims before a neutral arbiter under an
objective and religiously neutral standard. The consideration and
adjudication of RFRA claims facilitates judicial review for
fairness and minimizes favoritism to the vanishing point.
Petitioners ask this Court to choose between their retail model,
which virtually invites religious favoritism, and RFRA's wholesale
approach, far less susceptible to manipulation. There is no

o} 2

question as to which policy poses less risk to Establishment
Clause values.

Petitioners construe the Establishment Clause to require the
government to ignore the impact of its practices on religious
observers. They have forgotten this Court's declaration that the
Constitution does not require that. Zorach v. Clauson, 343 U.S.
306 (1952). Moreover, without the ability to exempt religious
belief from the scope of neutral regulation, legislatures would
often be forced to choose between legislating for the public good
or imposing rules on religious institutions and individuals that
force a violation of their view of God's will, a result public
opinion will often not tolerate. In areas as diverse as abortion,
gay rights, landmark preservation, employment and public
education, the result will be a reluctance to legislate altogether.

Thirty-five years ago, Justices Goldberg and Harlan warned
against reading the Establishment Clause to require an all
pervasive secularism. School District of Abington Township v.
Schempp, 374 U.S. 203, 306 (1963) (concurring opinion).
Petitioners invite this Court to ignore that warning. Their
invitation should be declined.

Il. RFRA WAS AN APPROPRIATE EXERCISE OF
CONGRESS' POWER UNDER § 5 OF THE
FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT
Congress’ power to enact RFRA turns on the scope of § 5

of the Fourteenth Amendment. Petitioners argue for a narrow
reading of that power, particularly on some of the broader
reaches of Morgan v. Katzenbach, 384 U.S. 641 (1966). Amici
believe that Petitioners read the Fourteenth Amendment too
narrowly. As interesting as the question of the scope of § 5 is, it
is unnecessary to reach it. RFRA easily fits within the narrowest
possible reading of § S—that Congress has the power to ensure
that core prohibitions of the Amendment are effectively
redressed

Pre ee. ee ee

it

A. RFRA Facilitates Enforcement of the Ban
Against Religious Discrimination

The Free Exercise and the Equal Protection Clauses prohibit
intentional governmental discrimination against religion generally
or against a specific religion, Rosenberger v. Rector, 115 S.Ct.
2510 (1995); Church of the Lukumi Babalu Aye, Inc. v. City of
Hialeah, 508 U.S. 520 (1993); Larson v. Valente, 456 U.S. 228
(1982). So would a discretionary action by a local body, such as
a zoning board, designed to exclude a particular faith. Leblanc-
Sternberg v. Fletcher, 67 F.3d 412 (2nd Cir. 1995). That ban
on religious discrimination is not circumvented by cloaking
discrimination in neutral garb, just as the bar on racial
discrimination is not elided by overt neutrality. Church of the
Lukumi Babalu Aye, supra, cf. Underwood v. Hunter, 471 U.S.
222 (1985). Even a facially neutral statute or act should be
struck if motivated by religious bias. Unfortunately, such animus
is hard to document.

Church of the Lukumi Babalu Aye considered a facially
neutral ordinance banning animal slaughter. The City of Hialeah
asserted health, sanitation and animal rights justifications when
challenged by the church whose religious ritual of animal sacrifice
was outlawed by the ordinances. After a nine-day trial, a
seasoned district court judge found no evidence of religious
discrimination. 723 F.Supp. 1467 (S.D. Fla. 1989). Three
experienced circuit judges affirmed. 936 F.2d 586 (11th Cir.
1991).

This Court unanimously reversed. Carefully parsing the
ordinances and reviewing the history of their enactment, it
concluded that the ordinances had the purpose of suppressing the
Santeria faith. But even the members of this Court could not
agree on a methodology. Compare 508 U.S. at__; /d at

(Scalia, J., concurring), /d. at ___—s- (Souter, J,
concurring). Other courts have only with difficulty unmasked

-14-

religious bigotry. Mississippi Islamic Center v. City of
Starkville, 876 F.2d 465 (Sth Cir. 1989) (variance); Campos v.
Coughlin, 854 F.Supp. 194 (S.D.N.Y. 1994).

Public officials are aware that outright expressions of
religious hostility are politically unacceptable and legally
indefensible. As Judge Jerome Frank observed:

Persons engaged in unlawful conduct seldom write
letters or make public pronouncements explicitly stating
their attitudes or objectives; such facts must usually be
discovered by inference; the evidence does not come in
packages labelled “Use me”, like the cake, bearing the
words “Eat me,” which Alice found helpful in
Wonderland.

F.W. Woolworth v. NLRB, 121 F.2d 658, 660 (2d Cir. 1941).

The drawing of inferences is a more difficult manner of proof
than the use of direci evidence. It is fraught with uncertainty and
the possibility of mistake. Congress had every reason to believe
that the result would be religious discrimination going
undetected. Congress was not just speculating. It heard
extensive testimony to this effect from religious liberty
practitioners.

Because many of its members began their careers at the local
level, Congress was aware of the subt!e ways in which bias can
be disguised behind ostensibly neutral decisionmaking. Members
were also aware that the more powerful churches are able to
shape legislation to avoid conflicts with their religious practices.
Smaller, less organized faiths are unable to protect themselves in
the process either because they are unaware of it, or because of
outright bias. To take an obvious case, Kosher ritual slaughter
was permitted under the Hialeah ordinances, but Santeria ritual
slaughter was not. Church of the Lukumi Babalu Aye v. City of
Hialeah, supra, 508 U.S. at _.

hh.

That the concern about hidden bias is weighty is illustrated
by landmark preservation law. Whether a particular building is
important enough to be landmarked, whether a particular
alteration would destroy its historical value, and whether
hardship has been demonstrated, are all highly discretionary
judgments, easily subject to manipulation by multi-member
decision making bodies in pursuit of religious or anti-religious
agendas. Congress could and did readily conclude that
discretionary decisionmaking is not easily reviewed for bias:

After Smith, claimants will be forced to convince courts
that an inappropriate legislative motive created statutes
and regulations. However, legislative motive often
cannot be determined and courts have been reluctant to
impute bad motives to legislators.

H.R. Rep. 103-88 at 6.

The Senate Committee likewise found that governmental
bodies will rarely reveal their intent to deliberately disadvantage
religious minorities. It agreed with Justice O'Connor's
observation that “few States would be so naive as to enact a law
directly prohibiting or burdening a religious practice as such.”
S.Report 103-111 (103rd Cong. Ist Sess.) at 7. See also 42
U.S.C. 2000bb(a)(2) (same).

Moreover, this judgment finds empirical support in the
related and equally discretionary area of church zoning. If one
reviews church zoning cases decided in the last ten years, for
example, one is struck by the inverse relationship between the
size of a church and the number of church zoning cases involving
it. There are at most a handful of cases involving Catholic,
Methodist or Episcopal churches but dozens involving small
evangelical churches and Orthodox Jewish synagogues. There is
more than one reason for this phenomenon, but bias by
decisionmakers (and communities) is surely an important one.

-16-

Indeed, if the testimony of religious liberty experts were not
sufficient, and if the knowledge of members of Congress did not
carry the burden of demonstrating that neutral laws often mask
discrimination, this Court's decision in Smith would fill in the
gap. The majority there acknowledged that the discriminatory
availability of accommodation was one likely result of its
judgment. 494 US. at 890.

RFRA ferrets out bias by requiring proof of a legitimate
motive when government imposes a substantial burden on
religious exercise. The compelling interest test, coupled with the
least restrictive alternative inquiry, screens out those cases where
the government's interest is not truly secular, but intended to
suppress or disadvantage a faith. The stringency of the
compelling interest test, and the requirement of a close fit
between means and ends, are well designed to ensure that hidden
bias does not go undetected.

B. Congress Has Broad Power to Guard Against

Purposeful Religious Prejudice

It is common ground that within its sweep, the § 5 power is
broad indeed. Like the enumerated powers of Art. I, § 8, the §
5 power includes:

Whatever legislation is appropnate, that is, adopted to
carry out the objective the amendments have in view,
whatever tends to enforce submission to the
prohibitions they contain, and to secure all persons the
enjoyment of perfect equality of civil nghts and the
equal protection of the law against State denial or
invasions, if not prohibited, is brought within the
domain of congressional power.

Ex Parte Virginia, 100 U.S. 339, 345-46 (1879).

Surely, Congress may “enforce submission to the
prohibition” on intentional religious discrimination. Where a
“violation lurks,” Congress may act. EEOC v. Wyoming, 460

ola

U.S. 226, 260 (1983) (Burger, C.J., dissenting). RFRA prohibits
some actions that are not intentionally biased, but that sweep is
constitutionally appropriate given the legitimate concern with
“lurking” intentional religious discrimination and the difficulties
of proof.

This broad power trumps the reserved power of the states.
Speaking in the analogous context of the Fifteenth Amendment,
this Court wrote: “As against the reserved powers of the States,
Congress may use any rational means to effectuate the
constitutional prohibition of racial discrimination in voting.”
Moreover, “Congress may take steps to permit litigation against
states ...constitutionality impermissible in other contexts.”
Fitzpatrick v. Bitker, 427 U.S. 445, 453, n.9 (1976). Accord
City of Rome v. United States, 446 U.S. 156, 172-78 (1980).

But Petitioners say [Brief at 35-36] that Congress did not
make explicit findings that official religious discrimination is a
substantial problem. This reflects the view of Justice Harlan,
dissenting in Morgan v. Katzenbach, supra. The majority of the
Court, though, held otherwise. “It is enough that we can
perceive a rational basis for Congress to have acted as it did.”
384 U.S. at 652-53. What has been said above about the
existence of religious discrimination certainly satisfies this
requirement. Petitioners’ brief (/d.) can also be read to require
Congress to consider the consequences of its lawmaking.
Nothing in Morgan v. Katzenbach.

In Fullilove v. Klutznick, 448 U.S. 448, 477 (1980), this
Court reiterated that formal findings were unnecessary in
upholding an act that lacked them: “Congress, of course, may .
legislate without compiling the kind of ‘record’ appropriate with
respect to judicial or administrative hearings.” Justice Powell,
concurring, likewise rejected such a requirement:

[C]ongress is not expected to act as though it were
duty bound to find facts and make conclusions of law.

-18-

The creation of national rules for the governance of our
society simply does not entai! the same concept of
recordmaking that is appropriate to a judicial or
administrative proceeding. Congress has no
responsibility to confine its vision to the facts and
evidence adduced by particular parties. Instead, its
special attribute as a legislative body lies in its broader
mission to investigate and consider all facts and
opinions that may be relevant ....

448 US. at 502-03.

C. RFRA is But the Latest Example of Congress’
Exercise of a Broad § 5 Power
Congress has repeatedly prohibited conduct which is not
itself illicit in order to ensure that prohibited conduct does not
go unremedied.

i. Title VII and the States

A state violates the Equal Protection Clause only if it
deliberately discriminates. M.L.B. v. S.L.J., 65 U.S.L.W. 4035,
4042 (1996). A law which merely has an adverse impact is not
unconstitutional. Personnel Administrator v. Feeney, 442 U.S.
256 (1979). Nevertheless, relying on § 5, Congress extended
Title VII's adverse impact theory to the states on the ground that
barring de facto discrimination was an appropriate way of
ensuring that sophisticated forms of intentional discrimination did
not go undetected. Fitzpatrick v. Bitker, 427 U.S. 445, 453, n.9
(1976); M. Pawa, When The Supreme Court Suppresses
Constitutional Rights, Can Congress Save Us?, 141 U.Pa. L.Rev.
1029, n. 369 (1993) (collecting cases). RFRA is similarly
justified.

ii. The Voting Rights Act

Congress’ remedial powers were again invoked in City of
Rome v. United States, 446 U.S. 156 (1980). Simultaneously

-19-

with its decision that the Fifteenth Amendment barred only
intentional discrimination, City of Mobile v. Bolden, 446 U.S. 55
(1980), the Court upheld Congress’ power to prohibit electoral
changes having the effect of causing a retrogression in minority
political power (42 U.S.C. § 1973):

[T]he Act's ban on electoral changes that are
discriminatory in effect is an appropriate method of
promoting the purposes of the Fifteenth Amendment,
even if it is assumed that § | of the Amendment
prohibits only intentional discrimination in voting.
Congress could rationally have concluded that, because
electoral changes by jurisdictions with a demonstrable
history of intentional racial discrimination in voting
create the risk of purposeful discrimination, it was
proper to prohibit changes that have a discriminatory
impact.

Congress in 1982 extended the effects test to all Voting
Rights Act ("VRA") claims, including those arising under § 2.
Thornburg v. Gingles, 478 U.S. 30 (1986). That extension, too,
was unsuccessfully challenged. /ordan v. Winter, 604 F.Supp.
807 (N.D. Miss. 1984), affd sub nom, Mississippi Republican
Executive Committee v. Brooks, 469 U.S. 1002 (1985), citing
Major v. Treen, 574 F.Supp. 325, 342-49 (E.D. La. 1983).
Major explained:

Congress ... determined ... that the intent test
inordinately burdened plaintiffs in vote dilution cases,
was unnecessarily divisive due to the charges of racism
which must inevitably be leveled against individual

officials or entire communities, and ... compelled
protracted, often futile, inquiries into the motives of
Officials who acted many years ago. .... Congress

enact[ed] a legislative prophylaxis, calculated to
forestall the iwistitution of potentially discriminatory

-20-

electoral systems and extirpate facially neutral devices
or procedures which continue to expose minority voters
to harmful consequences rooted in _ historical
discrimination. (Citations omitted.)

The same rationale justifies VRA's ban on literacy tests. 42
U.S.C. §1973aa. Fairly administered, such tests are
constitutional, Lassiter v. Northampton County Bd. of Elections,
360 U.S. 45 (1959). Nevertheless, this Court in Sowth Carolina
v. Katzenbach, 383 U.S. 307, 333-35 (1966), upheld a temporary
Statutory ban on literacy tests as against the claim that by
preempting the judicial process of case-by-case litigation the Act
violated the Court's core role of enforcing the Fourteenth
Amendment. “On the contrary, § 2 of the Fifteenth Amendment
expressly declares that Congress shall have power to enforce ....
[The Framers] indicated that Congress was to be chiefly
responsible for implementing the rights ...” protected by the
Amendment. /d..at 325.

RFRA cannot be distinguished from the VRA cases on the
ground that instances of religious bigotry are outweighed by a
larger number of cases where bias is absent and hence that RFRA
is too strong a remedy for whatever problem exists. How much
undetected or unremedied bias to tolerate is a legislative
question. Thus, under § 5 of the VRA (another exercise of
Congress § 5 power) the Justice Department in 1995 interposed
19 objections out of a total of 3987 preclearance submissions.
(Copies of the reports are lodgec with the Clerk.) The question
calls for a political judgment, one the Constitution commits to
Congress.

Oregon v. Mitchell, 400 U.S. 112 (1970), upheld a

permanent statutory ban on literacy tests. The multiple opinions
of the Court were summarized in Fullilove:

The [Mitchell] Court was unanimous, albeit in separate
opinions, in concluding tha: Congress was within its

Wim a ce rere ot ee a ee

21.

authority to prohibit the use of such voter
qualifications, Congress could reasonably determine
that its legislation was an appropriate method of
[foreclosing the possibility that purposefully
discriminatory administration of literacy tests would
escape undetected and] attacking the perpetuation of
prior purposeful discrimination, even though the use of
these tests or devices might have discriminatory effects
only. (citations omitted).

448 U.S. at 477.°

Similar reasoning has lead courts to uphold application of
the Americans With Disabilities Act to state prisons. See
Kaufman v. Carter, 1996 W.L. 731925 (E.D. Mich. 1996), Niece
v. Fitzner, 941 F.Supp. 1497, 1500-04 (E.D. Mich. 1994);
Armstrong v. Wilson, 942 F.Supp. 1252, 60-61 (N.D. Cal.
1996).

D. The Framers of the Fourteenth Amendment
Intended to Protect Religious Liberty

Chief Justice Rehnquist's dissent in Hutto v. Finney, 437
U.S. 678, 717-18 (1982), suggests that § 5 is broad only when
applied to the guarantee against racial discrimination. No
suggestion to this effect appears in any of the cases discussing
the scope of Congyess' power under § 5. It is supported neither
by the text of the Fourteenth Amendment nor the ratification
debates. Congress and the Courts have not acted as if such a
limitation existed. Section 1983 is used equally to enforce the

3. Fullilove, 448 U.S. at 476-80 used this same analysis with
regard to congressional power to enact contract set-asides. Adarand
Contruction, Inc. v. Pena, 115 S.Ct. 2097 (1995), restricts the use of
contract set-asides not because Congress lacks the power to enact broad
remedies tor discrimination, but because the Equal Protection Clause
imposes special restraints on the use of race conscious remedies.

23.

Due Process Clause, the Equal Protection Clause, and other
incorporated rights.

Moreover, the legislative history of the Fourteenth
Amendment demonstrates an intention to protect the frve
exercise of religion from state intrusion, including impingem. *t
by facially neutral laws. K. Lash, 74e Second Adoption of the
Free Exercise Clause: Religious Exception Under the
Fourteenth Amendment, 88 N.W.U. L.Rev. 1106 (1994).
Professor Lash demonstrates that, because the Fourteenth
Amendment grew out of the national crisis over slavery, one of
its goals was protecting religious liberty.

Sometimes invoking facially neutral laws, defenders of
slavery silenced abolitionist religious voices and prevented slaves
from having access to their religious materials. /d. at 1131-33.
As Professor Lash puts it, “[t]he architects of the Fourteenth
Amendment were well aware of how slavery had resulted in the
suppression of religious exercise,” /d. at 1146. They were
determined to prevent a repetition:

Religious exercise was to be protected from
majoritarian hostility or indifference; it was to be a
substantive right affording more than simply “equal
protection”; and its protection created a zone of
autonomy within which both mandatory and
discretionary aspects of religious exercise were
protected from government interference. Most
important, by explicitly targeting “religiously neutral”
laws as examples of what would become
unconstitutional with the passage of the Fourteenth
Amendment, men like Join Bingham and Lyman
Trumbull gave notice that in the future, generally
applicable laws might sometimes impermissibly violate
an individual's religious liberty.

88 N.W.U. L.Rev. at 1149.

obtran.

93.

E. The Legal and Political Background of the Fourteenth
Amendment Supports Congress’ Power To Enact RFRA

The fit between RFRA and the power of Congress to make
certain that core violations of the Fourteenth Amendment do not
go undetected and unremediated, does not exhaust the possible
bases for an exercise of power under § 5. While others address
these bases in a more comprehensive way, we believe that it is
important to note that the political and legal background against
which § 5 was written makes it unlikely that its drafters intended
it to be given the narrow reading suggested by Petitioners. There
is substantial reason to think that § 5 was intended to empower
Congress to go beyond what the Constitution requires, provided
only that it does not violate some other constitutional provision.

Section 5 reallocated power between the national legislature
and the judiciary, and between the federal government and the
states, because of abuses revealed during the slavery crisis. Dred
Scott v. Sanford, 60 (19 Howard) U.S. 393 (1857), and Ableman
v. Booth, 62 U.S. 506 (18£8}, helped spark the Civil War.
Rectifying these judicial ‘mistakes’ was a primary goal of the
drafters, A.Amar, Zhe Bill of Rights and the Fourteenth
Amendment, 101 Yale L.J. 1193, 1222-24 (1992). Those who
enacted the Fourteenth Amendment were not about to entrust
their handiwork solely to the same courts that had protected
slavery. Section 5 insured that the Congress could define the
rights protected by the Amendment, provided only that it
observed the minimum standards imposed by the Amendment
itself—the so-called one way ratchet. City of Richmond v. J.A.
Crosson, 488 U.S. 469, 490 (1989) Opponents of ratification
argued unsuccessfully that the Amendment should not be ratified
because § 5 threatened federalism. See generally, J.B. James,

f the Fourteenth Am nt (1984).

Moreover, under then prevailing aaibinaeiaie theory, there
was no need to include § 5 to authorize Congress to implement
§ 1. In Prigg v. Pennsylvania, 42 U.S. 539 (1842), the Supreme
Court held that, given the Constitution's protection for slave

-24-

ownership, Congress had the authority to protect it even without
an explicit grant of power:

If ... the Constitution guarantees the right ... the
natural inference certainly is, that the national
government is clothed with the appropriate authority
and functions to enforce it. The fundamental principle

.. would seem to be, that where the end is required,
the means are given; and where the duty is enjoined, the
ability to perform it is contemplated to exist on the part
of the functionaries to whom it 1s entrusted.

42 US. at 615-16. (Citations oriitted.)

Supporters of the Fourteenth Amendment repeatedly

invoked Prigg. E.M. Maltz, Civ,l Rights, The Constitution and
rarer 1863-69, 64-66 gaa R.J. Kaczorowski, The
i f Civil Righ nstitution
Ps np mr 1866- 1883 (1987) at 97. This Court
has acknowledged Prigg to be the governing law at the time the
Fourteenth Amendment was adopted. Quern v. Jordan, 440
U.S. 332, 343, n.14 (1979); Monnell v. City of New York, 436
U.S. 658, 672 (1988). It follows that § 5 was unnecessary to
allow Congress to enforce §1 as written, but must have meant
something more.

This political and legal background establishes that the
drafters of the Fourteenth Amendment intended Congress to
have broad latitude to assert its legisiative power, and that the §
5 power is not narrowly confinec to the exact metes and bounds
of § 1. A more clear-eved presc-iption for RFRA could hardly
be imagined.

Il. RFRA IS FULLY CONSISTENT WITH THE
SEPARATION OF POWERS

Petitioners’ separation of powers argument is even less
substantial. Stripped to its essentials, the claim is that once this
Court interprets the Constitution 1eading to certain real world
results, Congress may do nothing to reach a different real world

4.
result. Petitioners are not clear about the basis of this rule, but
it appears to be motivated by a ruie against judicial /ese majeste.
The point appears, moreover, to be one of timing. Had RFRA
preceded Smith, it would not violate the separation of powers.
It is the act of responding to this Court's decision which
generates the argument.

Petitioners make this claim—for which they cite no
precedent—in the face of this Court's invitation in Smith for
legislative accommodation. Petitioners do not and cannot
explain why Congress’ response to that invitation is
unconstitutionally disrespectful of the Court's authority.
Petitioners’ claim is also belied by well-worn political paths and
judicial precedents.

A. Separation of Powers Doctrine Does Not Bar
Corrective Legislation

Lassiter v. Northampton County Bd. of Elections, supra,
held that the use of literacy tests was within the authority of the
states to regulate the franchise. Tne VRA banned them. 42
U.S.C. §1973aa. Courts now decide challenges to literacy tests
under a statutory standard, not a constitutional one; just as
accommodation cases are now decided under a statutory
standard, not a constitutional cue. This Court has twice
sustained these voting rights provisions. Oregon v. Mitchell,
supra, South Carolina v. Katzenbach, supra.

In City of Mobile v. 3olaen, suvra, the Court held that de
facto voting discrimination did not violate either the Fifteenth
Amendment or the Voting Rights Act. This Court emphasized
that there were important policy reasons to permit the states to
use electoral devices with adverse racial consequences. 446 U.S.
at 78-80; id. at 88-90 (Steven, J., concurring). Congress
promptly amended the VRA to ban de facto electoral
discrimination. 42 U.S.C. §1973. The :egislative history of
those amendments is as sharply critizal of Bo/den as the RFRA

-26-

Congress was of Smith. This revised statute has irrevocably
changed the shape American poltics.

Zurcher v. Stamford Daily, 436 U.S. 547 (1978), holds that
the Fourth Amendment imposed no special restraints on searches
of newspaper offices for evidence. This Court's opinion
emphasized the importance to law enforcement of obtaining all
possible evidence without delay or obstruction. 436 U.S. at 560-
63. Congress did not agree with this Court's weighing of the
respective interests of the press and police. The Privacy
Protection Act of 1980, adopted the position of the Zurcher
dissenters. 42 U.S.C. §2000aa. That newly created statutory
right interfered with state interesis recognized as valid by this
Court.

Congress’ willingness to sidestep the Court's constitutional
decisions—subject to leaving the decision itself in place as an
authoritative interpretation of the Constitution—is not limited to
the field of civil rights. The Commerce Clause invalidates state
regulation that interferes with the national market contemplated
by the Constitution. Yet Congress has the power to tolerate just
such interference under Art. I, § 8. This Court has even invited
legislative revision of its Commerce Clause decisions. See, e.g.,
Barclays Bank PLC v. Franchise Tax Board, 114 §.Ct. 2268,
2286 (1994).

B. RFRA Does Not Impose a Rule of Decision

Ex parte Klein, 13 Wal!.128 (1872) said that Congress may
not prescribe a rule of decision for che courts, a holding that one
court says invalidates RFRA. Kee/er v. Mayor and City of
Cumberland, 928 F.Supp. 59! (D. Md. 1996). It does not.
Klein refused to enforce a statute directing the courts to ignore
a presidential pardon. Ki/eir is most narrowly read to stand only
for the noncontroversial proposition that Congress may not
undermine the presidential paraon power. RFRA trenches on no
power exclusively committed to another branch. Congress did

at.

say that the Free Exercise Clause means something other than
what this Court says it means.

Even read more broadly, K/e/n does not invalidate RFRA.
Every statute provides a rule for deciding disputes of decision.
There is a dispositive difference between a legislature changing
the law and acting as a super fact-finder. The former is the
everyday business of legislatures, the latter intrudes upon the
courts’ core function. RFRA falls into the permissible category.

Robertson v. Seattle Audubon Society, 503 U.S. 429 (1992),
involved an environmental dispute. With litigation pending,
Congress compromised the competing claims. The Ninth Circuit
invalidated the compromise because i* impacted on the litigation,
purportedly in violation of K/ein. This Court reversed, because
Congress had changed the underlying substantive law.
“Whatever the precise scope of K/ein ... later decisions have
made clear that its prohibition does not take hold when Congress
‘amend{[s] applicable law,’ Roberison v. Seattle Audubon Society,
503 U.S. 429, 441 (1992).” Piaut v. Spendthrift Farms, Inc.,
115 S.Ct. 1447 (1995). RFRA fits this moid precisely.

C. Klein Does Not Proscribe Use of Legislative
Standards

Keeler also invalidated RFRA because it was supposedly
directed not at regulating the conduct of government officials,
but solely at judges. 928 F.Supp. at 603-04. It reasoned that
RFRA does not dictate results in specitic cases (e.g., protecting
peyote consumption) but instead only prescribes a standard for
determining which religious activities are protected. This
reasoning is flawed. RFRA .s not <.rected solely at the courts.
It tells officials that they must take religious practice into
account, and how they must do so. State and federal agencies
are bound to abide by RFRA. Siaie attorneys general have
applied it. Ark. O.A.G., 93-414, (1994); Md. O.A.G., Opinion

-28-

94-037 (1994) (landmark preservation law fails RFRA). Only
where there is a bona fide dispute is RFRA applied by a court.

RFRA's use of a “standard” as opposed to a specific rule is
hardly unprecedented. Title VII prohibits state and local
governments from using employment criteria that adversely
impact minorities without justification. 42 U.S.C. §2000e-2. It
does not say that specified criteria are illegal. The amended § 2
of the Voting Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. §1973, adopted by Congress
in response to—indeed, by way of reiection of—Bolden, supra,
cf Thornburg v. Gingles, 478 U.S. 30, 43-44 (1986); Jd. at 83-
84 (O'Connor, J., concurring), does not proscribe any particular
voting procedure. Modelling itself after a series of judicial
decisions, it establishes a standaid, not a muse.

Given the complexities of modern life, a rule proscribing
generalized legislative standards wouid be wholly impracticable.
It would also be a judicial intrusion on a grand scale into the
operation of the legislature.

D. RFRA is Fully Consistent With
Marbury and Cooper

Neither Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. 137 (1803), nor
Cooper v. Aaron, 358 U.S. 1 (1958), holds that congressional
action revisiting constitutional issues passed on by the Court is
per se improper. Marbury merely holds that the Court is
empowered to decide constitutiona! questions in cases properly
before it. It does not say that no other branch acting within the
proper scope of its constitut.cnal au:aority can ameliorate the
effects of a judicial decision. The holding of Cooper is that states
may not unilaterally defease individval rights protected by the
Fourteenth Amendment. Couper is not a separation of powers
case, but a preemption case.

That the Court has allowed Congress to ameliorate the
practical implications of its decisions in favor of greater
protection for individual rights than the Constitution provides, is

-29-

not mere prudence on its part. Rather, it reflects this Court's
principled commitment to reconciling the separation of powers
with checks and balances:

While the Constitution diffuses power the better to
secure liberty, it also contemplates that practice will
integrate the dispersed powers into a workable
government. It enjoins upon its branches separateness
but interdependence, autonomy dut reciprocity.

Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S. 579, 635
(1952) (Jackson, J., concurring).

“Separation of power principles are vindicated, not
disserved, by measured cooperation between two political
branches ... each contributing to a lawful objective throughout
its own processes.” Loving v. U.S., 116 S.Ct. 1737, 1751
(1996). Thus, while only < court can convict someone of a
crime, the President may nevertheless grant a pardon premised on
the conclusion that the judiciary erroneously assessed guilt. The
“Framers understood ‘that a hermetic sealing off of these three
branches of Government ‘rom o.1€ another would preclude the
establishment of a Nation capasle of governing itself
effectively.”” /d. at 1743 citing Buckley v. Valeo, 424 US. 1,
121 (1976).

Loving does reassert the principle that one branch may not
intrude on the core functions of another. RFRA does not violate
that principle. The courts have the final say on what the
Constitution means. In enacting RFKA, Congress did not usurp
that role. Even today, the Free Exercise Clause means what
Smith said it means. Moreover, Congress can repeal or modify
RFRA at any time. It has already considered repealing RFRA as
it applies to prisons. S.1093, 104th Cong., Ist Sess., Cong.Rec.
(S)10895 (July 28, 1995). Congress cannot ‘repeal’ Smith or
Sherbert.

-30-

CONCLUSION
The judgment below, that RFRA is facially constitutional,
should be affirmed. |

Respectfully submitted,

Marc D. Stern

American Jewish Congress
15 East 84th Street

New York, New York 10028
(212) 360-1545

January 9, 1997

Oliver S. Thomas
Special Counsel
NATIONAL COUNCIL OF CHURCHES
2708 Montvale Road
Maryville, TN 37801
(423) 977-9046

J. Brent Walker

BAPTIST JOINT COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC AFFAIRS
200 Maryland Avenue

Washington, D.C. 20002-5797

(202) 544-4226

Steven T. McFarland

Center for Law and Religious Freedom
CHRISTIAN LEGAL SOCIETY

4208 Evergreen Lane - Suite 222
Annandale, VA 22003

(703) 642-1070

Aron U. Raskas

Nathan Diament

UNION OF ORTHODOX JEWISH CONGREGATIONS OF AMERICA
333 Seventh Avenue

New York, NY 10001

(212) 563-4000

Michael Farris

HOME SCHOOL DEFENSE ASSOCIATION
P.O. Box 159

Paeonian Springs, VA 22129

(703) 338-5600

Samuel Rabinove

Richard Foltin

AMERICAN JEWISH COMMITTEE
165 East 56th Street

New York, NY 10022

(212) 751-4000

Elliot Mincberg

PEOPLE FOR THE AMERICAN WAY
2000 M Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20036

(202) 467-4999

David Zwiebel, Esq.
AGUDATH ISRAEL

84 William Street

New York, NY 10038
(212) 797-9000

Steven R. Shapiro

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
132 West 43rd Street

New York, NY 10036

(212) 382-0557

Steven K. Green

AMERICANS UNITED FOR SEPARATION OF CHURCH AND STATE
1816 Jefferson Place

Washington, DC 20036

(202) 466-3234

Jack F. Trope

ASSOCIATION OF AMERICAN INDIAN AFFAIRS
P.O. Box 268

Sisseton, SD 57262

(605) 698-3998

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_1542%3A37. Public record. Not legal advice.
