# Amicus Curiae Brief — City of Boerne v. Flores

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_1542%3A31

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 521 U.S. 507

## Text

~—.

No. 95-2074 | AV “

ae Ee DS D
IN THE JAN 19 1997

Supreme Court of the Unite} States...

OCTOBER TERM, 1996 /

>.

CITY OF BOERNE, TEXAS,
Petitioner,

—versus—
P.F,. FLORES, ARCHBISHOP OF SAN ANTONIO,
Respondent,
—and—

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Intervenor-Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF MEMBERS
OF THE VIRGINIA HOUSE OF DELEGATES
AND THE VIRGINIA SENATE
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

* Mitchell A. Karlan
Preeta D. Bansal
GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER LLP
200 Park Avenue, 47th Floor
New York, New York 10166-0193
(212) 351-4000

* Counsel of Record

TABLE OF CONTENTS

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE..............
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ................
ARGUMENT

RFRA SUPPORTS STATE LEGISLATORS
AND ENHANCES STATE LEGISLATIVE
PROCESSES BY ENSURING THE ROLE OF
JUDICIAL INSTITUTIONS IN CRAFTING
NECESSARY EXEMPTIONS TO STATUTES
OF GENERAL APPLICABILITY TO

PROTECT RELIGIOUS FREEDOM
RANA a dakscicthccirsceeiunsszessiieeasdcases

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Holy Trinity Church v. United States, 143 U.S. 457

CBODOY rccsiccsn tneicooas ede ane

Iowa State Univ. Research Foundation, Inc. v.
American Broadcasting Cos., 621 F.2d 57 (2d

Cle, 100 eee oe

Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc. v. U.S.

EPA, 725 F.2d 761 (D.C. Cir. 1984) o...cccccccssscessseee

Stuart Circle Parish v. Board of Zoning Appeals of
the City of Richmond, Virginia, _ F. Supp. _,

1996 WL 685755 (E.D. Va. Nov. 26, 1996) ...........

STATUTES

HE U.S.C. 6 DODO na csi ssccecciseacsiet

BULL. (2 oS

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

H.R. Rep. No. 88, 103d Cong., Ist Sess. (1993)..........

S. Rep. No. 111, 103d Cong., Ist Sess. (1993), -

reprinted in 1993 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1892.....0.....:ccce

139 Cong. Rec. $14353 (daily ed. Oct. 26, 1993)........

OTHER AUTHORITIES
Benjamin N. Cardozo, The Nature of the Judicial

eS

Learned Hand, How Far Is A Judge Free In
Rendering A Decision?, in The Spirit of Liberty:

Papers and Addresses of Learned Hand (Irving

sa ie

Learned Hand, Sources of Tolerance, in The Spirit

of Liberty: Papers and Addresses of Learned

Hand (Irving Dilliard ed., 1974) 00000000000.

Thomas Jefferson, Notes on the State of Virginia, in
The Portable Thomas Jefferson (Merrill D.

ESS ee

James Madison, Federalist No. 37, in The Federalist

Papers (Clinton Rossiter ed., 1961) ............00000...

5 foes) Hie Ge
se ie

Mee Lee i

~.
ri
4
C aU

i< Pe See

i.
oe tas Y=

saat ri

7 o8 ie » : 7

LS Sieg od ARI ee

= 5

ee | ere
ru Ee re

a ad)

See one Pike 4 ice a eter oes

hae ee Se CES Raete
te, aa ae hk Owe Se
ie ao os het aN

No. 95-2074
eee
IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1996

City OF BOERNE, TEXAS,

Petitioner,
- versus -

P.F. FLORES, ARCHBISHOP OF SAN ANTONIO,

Respondent,
- and -
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Intervenor-Respondent.
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
EEE

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF
MEMBERS OF THE VIRGINIA HOUSE OF DELEGATES
AND THE VIRGINIA SENATE
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

rz » ee
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

Amici Curiae are twenty-three members of the
Virginia House of Delegates and seven members of the
Virginia Senate. Members of the Virginia House of
Delegates are Kenneth R. Plum, Harvey B. Morgan, Harry J.
Parrish, Mitchell Van Yahres, Marian Van Landingham,
James M. Scott, W. Tayloe Murphy, R. Steven Landes, Julia

A. Connally, L. Karen Darner, Glenn M. Weatherholtz,
George H. Heilig, Jr., Franklin P. Hall, James F. Almand,
Linda T. Puller, John H. Tate, Jr., Vincent F. Callahan, Jr.,
James H. Dillard Il, Leo C. Wardrup, Alan A. Diamonstein,
Frank M. Ruff, Eric I. Cantor, Thomas M. Jackson, Jr., and
John J. "Butch" Davies. Members of the Virginia Senate are
W. Roscoe Reynolds, R. Edward Houck, Patricia S. Ticer,
Emmett W. Hanger, Jr., Joseph V. Gartlan, Jr., Janet D.
Howell, and Frederick M. Quayle.

The Commonwealth of Virginia has long been
committed to ensuring religious freedom of its citizens. Since
the founding of the Republic, Virginia's commitment to and
experiment in freedom of religious exercise has played an
important role in this nation's commitment to religious
freedom. In his Notes on the State of Virginia, Thomas
Jefferson wrote of the beneficial effects on the republic
created by the flourishing of numerous creeds:

Difference of opinion is advantageous in
religion. The several sects perform the office
of a Censor morum over each other. Is
uniformity attainable? Méillions of innocent
men, women, and children, since the
introduction of Christianity, have been burnt,
tortured, fined, imprisoned; yet we have not
advanced one inch toward uniformity. What
has been the effect of coercion? To make one
half the world fools, and the other half

hypocrites.

Thomas Jefferson, Notes on the State of Virginia, in The
Portable Thomas Jefferson 212 (Merrill D. Peterson ed.,
1975). In furtherance of its commitment to religious
freedom, the General Assembly of Virginia was among the
first in the Union to enact in 1786 “A Bill for Establishing

Religious Freedom." See The Portable Thomas Jefferson,
supra, at 251-253.

As legislators of the Commonwealth of Virginia,
amici curiae are committed to upholding Virginia's
commitment to religious free exercise and at the same time
are vitally concerned with preserving state legislative
prerogative to enact laws of general applicability without
undue interference from Congress or the judiciary.
Determination by the Court of the issues presented in this
case -- especially whether Congress, in enacting the Religious
Freedom Restoration Act of 1993 ("RFRA or the "Act"),
acted within its constitutional and legislative power in
creating a right of action for courts to review state legislative
enactments based on claims that such enactments ©
substantially burden religious free exercise -- thus involves
balancing of interests that are of great importance to amici.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Religious Freedom Restoration Act of 1993
("RFRA" or the "Act") achieves the aim of preserving
freedom of religious exercise without unduly constraining
state legislative processes. Indeed, RFRA vitally supports
state legislatures in enacting statutes of general applicability
by ensuring that such statutes will be reviewed by those
institutions -- courts -- that are best suited to craft
exemptions to such laws where necessary to further
legitimate religious exercise.

State legislatures are ill-equipped and incapable of
prospectively crafting exemptions to generally applicable
Statutes that take account of all religious practices that
inadvertently may be unduly restricted. Although subsequent
legislative amendment of general laws is possible, claims that
generally applicable statutes may substantially burden

3

religious freedom are best reviewed by courts rather than by
legislatures. Such claims require determination of the
sincerity of religious beliefs, which often involves credibility
determinations uniquely well suited for the judicial task;
exemptions to general laws based on religious practice are
better and more efficiently crafted in the context of case-by-
case adjudications based on developed factual records, which
is the essence of the judicial function; and courts, through
their adherence to historical precedent, are uniquely well
situated to mitigate in a principled fashion against the
unforeseen and unintended harsh consequences of laws which
must be written in general terms.

Thus far from infringing on state legislative processes
or the prerogatives of state legislators, amici believe that
RFRA supports them. RFRA enables amici to do their jobs
of legislating generally without undertaking the ill-conceived
and futile task of attempting prospectively to evaluate the
effect of general laws on every known religious practice or to
make the kinds of credibility determinations concerning the
sincerity of religious belief that courts are best equipped to
make. By creating a right of judicial review, RFRA helps
ensure that legislative enactments will not result in unintended
and unremedied burdens on religious exercise, and places the
responsibility for crafting necessary exemptions to
accommodate free exercise claims on courts, which are
institutionally better situated than legislatures in performing
this function.

ARGUMENT

RFRA SUPPORTS STATE LEGISLATORS
AND ENHANCES STATE LEGISLATIVE PROCESSES
BY ENSURING THE ROLE OF JUDICIAL INSTITUTIONS
IN CRAFTING NECESSARY EXEMPTIONS TO
STATUTES OF GENERAL APPLICABILITY
TO PROTECT RELIGIOUS FREEDOM

The Religious Freedom Restoration Act of 1993
creates a private right of action "to provide a claim or defense
to persons whose religious exercise is substantially burdened
by government." 42 USC. § 2000bb(b)(2). The Act
expressly “applies to all Federal and State law, and the
implementation of that law, whether Statutory or otherwise."
42 U.S.C. § 2000bb-3(a). As such, RFRA provides an
avenue for judicial review of state and federal Statutes,
including those of general applicability, that may substantially
burden religious exercise even if they do not run afoul of the
First Amendment.

The right of action created by RFRA is necessary to
protect the fundamental value of religious free exercise. The
nature of the legislative process is such that in drafting and
enacting laws, legislatures must inevitably paint with a broad
brush. "The limitations on [the legislature's] ability to foresee
or consider particular problems that may in the future arise
under a statutory scheme often require that legislation be
drafted by reference to general categories rather than to
specific classes of activities within those categories." Natural
Resources Defense Council, Inc. v. U.S. EPA, 725 F.2d 761,
770 (D.C. Cir. 1984).

Such generally written laws, although achieving the
purpose of reaching broad variations in conduct, often have
the accompanying and unforeseen consequence of also

reaching conduct not intended to be covered by the
enactment. This is because the nature of legislation is
prospective, and lawmakers cannot a priori anticipate and
consider all possible consequences of their enactments and
specify necessary exemptions. As Judge Learned Hand
remarked over a half-century ago: "[E]ven if the law had
language of its own, it could not provide for all situations
which might come up. Nobody is so gifted with foresight
that he can divine all possible human events in advance and
prescribe the proper rule for each." Learned Hand, How Far
Is A Judge Free In Rendering A Decision? in The Spirit of
Liberty: Papers and Addresses of Learned Hand 105 (Irving
Dilliard ed., 1974).

The hazards of legislating with general and potentially
overbroad strokes are particularly acute when such general
laws burden fundamental values such as freedom of religious
exercise. Congress recognized as much when it enacted
RFRA. Throughout the legislative debates surrounding
enactment of RFRA are numerous references to unacceptable
burdens on religious free exercise imposed by laws of general
applicability. £F.g., 139 Cong. Rec. $14353 (daily ed. Oct.
26, 1993) (statement of Sen. Hatch) (criticizing neutral
Minnesota state law that allowed removal of children from
parents’ homes due to parents’ religiously motivated actions
and Michigan state officials' performance of autopsy despite
father’s religious objections).

In order to mitigate harsh and unintended-for
consequences of broad language, the need thus arises for
exemptions to be formulated as general legislation is applied
in particular cases or circumstances. This Court recognized
this abiding truth over a century ago:

"All laws should receive a_ sensible
construction. General terms should be so
limited in their application as not to lead to

6

injustice, oppression or an _ absurd
consequence. It will always, therefore, be
presumed that the legislature intended
exceptions to its language which would avoid
results of this character... . The common
sense of man approves the judgment
mentioned by Puffendorf, that the Bolognian
law which enacted 'that whoever drew blood
in the streets should be punished with the
utmost severity,’ did not extend to the surgeon
who opened the vein of a person that fell
down in the street in a fit."

Holy Trinity Church v. United States, 143 U.S. 457, 461
(1892) (quoting United States v. Kirby, 74 U.S. 482, 486-
487 (1868)); see also e.g., Iowa State Univ. Research
Foundation, Inc. v. American Broadcasting Cos., 621 F.2d
57, 60 (2d Cir. 1980) ("The doctrine of fair use [in copyright
law], originally created and articulated in case law, permits
courts to avoid rigid application of the copyright statute
when, on occasion, it would stifle the very creativity which
that law is designed to foster.").

Although subsequent legislative amendments could
result in statutorily enacted exemptions designed to mitigate
the unforeseen and harsh consequences of generally
applicable laws, judicial institutions are better equipped to
engage in this task of crafting exemptions for several
independent reasons.

First, the process of exempting particular conduct
from generally applicable laws is better done through case-by-
case adjudication in which a factual record is developed. "All
new laws, though penned with the greatest technical skill and
passed on the fullest and most mature deliberation, are
considered as more or less obscure and equivocal, until their
meaning be liquidated and ascertained by a series of particular

7

discussions and adjudications." James Madison, Federalist
No. 37, in The Federalist Papers 229 (Clinton Rossiter ed.,
1961).

Reasoning has a role to play in the deve:opment and
evolution of the law, "[b]ut as a system of case law develops,
the sordid controversies of litigants are the stuff out of which
great and shining truths will ultimately be shaped. The
accidental and the trans tory will yield the essential and the
permanent." Benjamin N. Cardozo, Zhe Nature of the
Judicial Process 35 (1921). See also e.g., lowa State Univ.
Research Foundation, Inc. v. American Broadcasting Cos.,
621 F.2d 57, 60 (2d Cir. 1980) ("The cases emphasize that
resolution of a fair use claim ‘depends on an examination of
the facts in each case [and] cannot be determined by resort to
any arbitrary rules or fixed criteria." (citation omitted)).

Because the task for case-by-case adjudication is one
for the courts, those institutions are better equipped than are
legislatures in formulating exemptions to general statutes.

Second, courts rather than legislatures are uniquely
well situated to make the kind of credibility determinations
that are often involved in determining whether exemptions to
general laws should be formulated. This is particularly true in
the context of religious free exercise claims. Such claims
inherently involve consideration of the sincerity of religious
belief, and the importance of such belief to one's practice of
religion.

In a recent case in the Commonwealth of Virginia
involving claims under RFRA, for example, the district court
granted preliminary relief in favor of plaintiffs who argued
that application to their Meal Ministry of a section of the
Richmond City Ordinance, which limited the frequency and
volume of the provision of services to the homeless, violated
their mghts to free exercise as protected by the First

8

et bate:

Amendment and RFRA. See Stuart Circle Parish v. Board of
Zoning Appeals of the City of Richmond, Virginia, ae ,

Supp. __, 1996 WL 685755 (E.D. Va. Nov. 26, 1996). The
court based its holding in part on its conclusion that
"[p]laintiffs have made a strong showing tt feeding the poor
constitutes a central tenet of the religion practiced at the six
churches involved in the Meal Ministry." /d. at *11.

Such credibility determinations concerning the
sincerity of religious belief form the basis of religious free
exercise claims. Because courts regularly engage in such
determinations of credibility and are institutionally better
suited to make such determinations within a particular factual
context, providing a right to obtain judicial review promotes
the process of formulating well-crafted exemptions to general
legislation.

Third, courts, through their adherence and
commitment to observing historical precedent, are uniquely
well situated to mitigate in a principled fashion against the
unforeseen and unintended harsh consequences of laws which
must be written in general terms. As Judge Learned Hand
observed, tolerance for minority faiths in this country is best
preserved and enhanced through mindfulness of the lessons of
humility and evanescence contained in the historical record.
Through knowledge and application of the lessons of history,
"the political life of a country like ours would get depth and
steadiness, would tend to escape its greatest danger, which is
the disposition to take the immediate for the eternal, to press
the ad. atage of present numbers to the full, to ignore
dissenters and regard them as heretics, by some adumbration
of what inn have thought and felt in other times and at other
places." ‘ 2arned Hand, Sources of Tolerance, in The Spirit
of Liber; Papers and Addresses of Learned Hand 80
(Irving Dilliard ed., 1974)

Courts, when crafting exemptions to general laws, are
mindful of history and are trained to proceed in a principled
fashion. "[Rjestrictions not easy to define, but felt, however
impalpable they may be, by every judge and lawyer, hedge
and circumscribe [a judge's] action. They are established by
the traditions of the centuries, by the example of other judges,
his predecessors and his colleagues, by the collective
judgment of the profession, and by the duty of adherence to
the pervading spirit of the law." Benjamin N. Cardozo, The
Nature of the Judicial Process 114 (1921).

Rather than reacting to well-organized minority
religions, courts may thus be better able to resist political
pressure in determining whether exemptions to general laws
are warranted. See generally H.R. Rep. No. 88, 103d Cong.,
Ist Sess. at 6 (1993) ("It is not feasible to combat the burdens
of generally applicable laws on religion by relying upon the
political process for the enactment of separate religious
exemptions in every Federal, State, and local statute."); S.
Rep. No. 111, 103d Cong., Ist Sess. at 8 (1993), reprinted in
1993 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1892 ("State and local legislative bodies
cannot be relied upon to craft exceptions from laws of
general application to protect the ability of the religious
minorities to practice their faiths, an explicit fundamental
constitutio:.cl nght.").

By creating a nigh? of action against legislative
enactments, RFRA thus promotes rather than constrains state
legislative processes. RFRA achieves this result by helping to
ensure that legislative enactments will not result in unintended
and unremedied burdens on religious exercise, and by placing
the responsibility for crafting necessary exemptions to
accommodate free exercise claims on courts, which are
institutionally better situated than legislatures in performing
this function.

10

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, amici «xrlae
respectfully urge the Court to affirm the decision of the “Court
of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit upholding the Rekgious
Freedom Restoration Ac

Dated: New York, New York
January 10, 1997

Respectfully submitted,

* Mitchell A. Karlan
Preeta D. Bansal
GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER LLP
200 Park Avenue, 48th Floor
New York, New York 10166-0193
(212) 351-4000

* Counsel of Record

1]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_1542%3A31. Public record. Not legal advice.
