# Reply Brief — Florida Department of Revenue v. General Development Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_1537%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 519 U.S. 824

## Text

3 Supreme Court, us.
( PteLkr bp

y
No. 95-2069 SEP ¥ 1996

CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States
October Term, 1995

STATE OF FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, and
CONTINENTAL CASUALTY COMPANY,

Petitioners,
v.

GENERAL DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

REPLY TO BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

KENT L. WEISSINGER PAUL M. DODYK
Assistant General Counsel Counsel of Record
FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF

REVENUE Jeffrey L. Nagel
P.O. Box 6668 CRAVATH, SWAINE & MOORE
Tallahassee, FL 32314 Worldwide Plaza
(904) 921-2151 825 Eighth Avenue

New York, NY 10019-7475

Attorney for Florida (212) 474-1000

Department of Revenue
Attorneys for Continental
Casualty Company

September 9, 1996

§
5

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Be a EP EEE hanes cla o's o eo wee il
SPURTE SG so cs oe CO kc ke be heen ye l
I. THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT REFUSED TO
FOLLOW FEIRING AND KING ............ 2
A. The Eleventh Circuit Adopted Florida
State Law In Defining The Terms
“Assessed” And “Assessable” In The
Federal Bankruptcy Code........... 2
B. The Eleventh Circuit Decision Conflicts
With Supreme Court Precedent ......... 3
C. The Eleventh Circuit Decision Creates
I eT i a ke eia wk as 4

II. THE DECISION BELOW IS IMPORTANT
TO STATE TAXING AUTHORITIES
BECAUSE IT DISRUPTS THE UNIFORM
TREATMENT OF STATE TAXES IN
I Ce ers Saeed ss 7

II. THE TAX WAS CLEARLY ASSESSED “BY
AGREEMENT” WITHIN THE MEANING
OF THE GANBRUPICY CODE ........... 8

6 or eet eM pe as beens o% 9

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

Cases
City of New York v. Feiring, 313 U.S. 283

C198]) cos saa ea 1,3,4
Franchise Tax Bd. v. Bracey (In re Bracey),

TT FSG 294 (Oe GC TS ss here 6, 7
King v. Franchise Tax Bd. of California (In re

King), 961 F.2d 1423 (9th Cir. 1992) ....... passim
Laing v. United States, 423 U.S. 161 (1976) .... 3
Wernimont v. lowa Dept of Rev. (In re

Wernimont), 183 B.R. 181 (Bankr. N.D.

lows 1996) ofa oes eee ees 6, 7
Statutes
26 WGK EGE See eee ae 3
26 USA, $6253 56a eee 3
26 U.S. 6 TASS 8 i ea ee 3
26 USL. © TAGS 6 ei see eee 3

INTRODUCTION

The linchpin of Respondent’s Brief in Opposition is its
argument that the Eleventh Circuit did not resort to Florida
State law for a definition of the terms “assessed” and
“assessable” in the Federal Bankruptcy Code. (Opp. 4).

Respondent is plainly wrong. Even the most cursory
reading of that opinion makes it unmistakably clear that the
Eleventh Circuit drew its definition of these terms from
Florida law: for example, “... only one Florida Statute
provided a definition of the conditions of assessment.” (Pet.
A-7; see also Pet. A-6, A-9, A-11).

Respondent’s Opposition is an extended attempt to
confuse the definition of the terms “assessed” and
“assessable”, as they appear in the Bankruptcy Code, with the
findings concerning “applicable” state law necessary to the
application of that Federal definition to the tax law of a
particular state. The definition of the terms “assessed” and
“assessable” is a matter of Federal law. See King v. Franchise
Tax Bd. of California (In re King), 961 F.2d 1423 (9th Cir.
1992); City of New York v. Feiring, 313 U.S. 283 (1941). In
determining whether the state’s assertion of its tax in a
particular case satisfies the Federal definition of “assessed”’,
the Federal court of course must reference state law. King,
961 F.2d at 1426-27; Feiring, 313 U.S. at 285. Reference to
state law, in applying the Federal definition of “assessment”,
is in nO way inconsistent with the rule that Federal law
defines terms in the Federal bankruptcy laws.

In contrast, the Eleventh Circuit erroneously held that
Florida State law supplies the definition of “assessment.” (Pet.
A-6, A-7, A-9, and A-11). Because that holding conflicts with
the Court’s holding in Feiring and the analysis of other
Federal courts that have considered the question, it should be
reviewed by this Court and reversed. (Pet. 8-11).

2

I. THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT REFUSED TO
FOLLOW FEIRING AND KING

A. The Eleventh Circuit Adopted Florida State
Law In Defining The Terms “Assessed” And
“Assessable” In The Federal Bankruptcy
Code.

Despite Respondent’s attempts to confuse, it is
unmistakably clear that the Eleventh Circuit used Florida law
to define the terms “assessed” and “assessable” in the Federal
Bankruptcy Code. After describing the facts, the Eleventh
Circuit states: “Based on the provision’s use of the term
‘applicable law,’ it is apparent that state law should govern
the determination of when a state corporate tax is considered
assessed.” (Pet. A-6). The court goes on: “Accordingly, we
must look to Florida law to determine when GDC’s tax
liability was considered assessed.” (/d.). If these references
contain any ambiguity as to what the court was doing, it
proceeded to say: “. .. only one Florida statute provided a
definition of the conditions of assessment.” (Pet. A-7).

The Eleventh Circuit then proceeded to reject Petitioner’s
argument that “the tax is not assessed until the amount is
finally liquidated and subject to collection” under Federal law
on the grounds that “this is not what the plain meaning of the
Florida statutes suggest.” (Pet. A-9). In applying the wrong
law, the Eleventh Circuit not surprisingly reached the wrong
result. The Eleventh Circuit denied priority to the Florida tax
claim by finding that Florida’s “assessment” occurred some
10 years before the tax became final and collectible. That
result imposes a severe disadvantage uniquely applicable to
the Florida taxing authority.

Respondent’s bold assertion that the concept of assessment
has never been defined in terms which made its incidence
subsequent to judicial proceedings overlooks the Internal
Revenue Code. (Opp. 7-8). Under the Internal Revenue Code,

3

a Federal creditor is prohibited from making an “assessment”
until the decision of the tax court, the circuit court, and this
Court all render a final decision. An “assessment” under the
Code is a bookkeeping notation made when the Secretary
establishes an account against the taxpayer on the tax rolls.
Laing v. United States, 423 U.S. 161, 170 n.13 (1976). The
assessment shall not be made “until the decision of the Tax
court has become final.” 26 U.S.C. § 6213(a) (emphasis
added). Finality occurs after review by the circuit court and
this Court. See 26 U.S.C. §§ 6215, 7483 (notice of appeal),
7485 (stay of assessment).

Furthermore, the concept of finality adopted for the
Federal definition of assessment by the Ninth Circuit in King
entails completion of all proceedings upon which collection
of the tax is dependent, whether judicial or administrative in
nature. Respondent’s argument that an assessment must occur
before judicial review is insupportable. To the contrary, the
concept of assessment is customarily defined in terms which
require the completion of all administrative and judicial
proceedings to determine the validity of a tax claim. To
Petitioner’s knowledge, the only court which has imposed a
definition of assessment that occurs prior to the completion
of all administrative or judicial proceedings necessary to
establish liability is the Eleventh Circuit in this case.

B. The Eleventh Circuit Decision Conflicts With
Supreme Court Precedent.

Respondent’s attempt to reconcile the Eleventh Circuit’s
opinion with this Court’s opinion in Feiring is a transparent
extension of its attempt to confuse the question of what law
applies to define terms in the Federal bankruptcy laws with
the reference to state law entailed in the application of the
Federal definition to a state tax in a particular case. In

4

Feiring, this Court clearly held that terms in the Federal
bankruptcy laws are to be determined by Federal law:

“Whether the present obligation is a ‘tax’ entitled to
priority within the meaning of the [Federal bankruptcy]
statute is a federal question. . .. Hence we look to the
terms and purposes of the Bankruptcy Act as establishing
the criteria upon the basis of which the priority is to be
allowed.” Feiring, 313 U.S. at 285.

The Feiring Court was equally clear in holding that
reference is made to state law only to determine whether the
facts of the particular case satisfy the Federal definition in
application of the bankruptcy laws:

“The particular demand for which the City now claims
priority of payment as a tax is created and defined by
state enactment. We turn to its provisions and the
decisions of the state courts in interpreting them, not to
learn whether they have denominated the obligation a
‘tax’ but to ascertain whether its incidents are such as to
constitute a tax within the meaning of [the Federal
Bankruptcy Act].” Jd. (emphasis supplied).

The Eleventh Circuit refused to follow Feiring by
adopting a state-law definition of “assessment.” Respondent
attempts to shield the Eleventh Circuit’s decision from review
by confusing the definition of a statutory term with its
application. Petitioners respectfully submit that Respondent’s
Opposition provides no legitimate basis for denying certiorari
and that certiorari should be granted to correct the Eleventh
Circuit’s erroneous refusal to apply Federal law.

C. The Eleventh Circuit Decision Creates Inter-
Circuit Conflict.

Respondent further argues that the decision below creates
no conflict with the Ninth Circuit case of King v. Franchise
Tax Bd. of California (In re King), 961 F.2d 1423 (9th Cir.
1992), relying on its arguments that the Eleventh Circuit

. | —-

5

“differentiated the procedural posture of the two cases” and
“distinguished the statutory delineation of the moment of
assessment in California from that in Florida.” (Opp. 13).

Neither of these arguments address the conflict between
the Ninth and Eleventh Circuits. That conflict arises from the
fact that the Ninth Circuit relied on Federal law in adopting
a definition of assessment generally applicable under the
Federal Bankruptcy Code defined in terms of finality, whereas
the Eleventh Circuit adopted the Florida state definition,
irrespective of finality. Compare King, 961 F.2d at 1427 with
Pet. A-7, A-9.

As for Respondent’s distinctions, the procedural posture
of King was irrelevant to the Ninth Circuit’s definition of an
assessment as “a formal act with significant consequences”
that “cannot occur before it is final.” King, 961 F.2d at 1427.
The procedural posture was relevant only in determining
whether the tax, according to the applicable law, met that
definition. Applying the court’s general definition, the
assessment in King was “final” as of the date the ability of
the taxpayer to appeal lapsed. Jd. Contrary to Respondent’s
argument, the question of what law should be applied to
define the term “assessed” in the Federal Bankruptcy Code
cannot logically depend upon the taxpayer’s conduct in a
particular case.

Similarly, a state’s “delineation” of the “moment of
assessment” is precisely what the King court concluded was
not controlling in determining whether an act of assessment
has occurred. The Court clearly stated: “California’s failure
to label a certain event as the act of assessment does not,
however, control the disposition of our inquiry. We examine
state-created rights so that they can be translated into the
bankruptcy process.” Jd. at 1426. The fact that California
failed to delineate the moment of “assessment” and Florida,
according to the Eleventh Circuit, has done so, is irrelevant.
The point is that neither California nor Florida law can define

6

an act as one of “assessment” under the Federal Bankruptcy
Code, but can only set forth tax collection procedures that a
Federal court must examine to determine whether the tax
meets or fails to meet a uniform Federal definition.

Equally unavailing is Respondent’s reliance on the
decisions in Franchise Tax Bd. v. Bracey (In re Bracey), 77
F.3d 294 (9th Cir. 1996) and Wernimont v. lowa Dept of
Rev. (In re Wernimont), 183 B.R. 181 (Bankr. N.D. lowa
1994). (Opp. 13-14). Both cases support the Petitioners.

Bracey reaffirmed the Ninth Circuit’s decision in King
which defined the term “assessed” not by looking to state law,
but by applying a uniform Federal definition of that term. /d.
at 295.' The Ninth Circuit looked to state law in Bracey only
to determine whether a tax protest had been timely “filed”
because such an appeal would prevent the tax from being
final—i.e. “assessed.” Jd. at 295-96.

Respondent’s reliance on Wernimont is also misplaced.
Wernimont recognized the definition of “assessment”
employed in King—and did not derive its definition of
“assessment” from Iowa law. Jd. at 184. Only after the correct
Federal definition of “assessed” was set forth did the court
“{a]pply[] these definitions to lowa law” to determine whether
an “act of assessment” occurred. Jd.

Nothing in either Bracey or Wernimont lends support to
the Eleventh Circuit’s practice of borrowing definitions of
assessment from the laws of the various states to define the

| Bracey also demonstrates that the procedural posture of the case

has nothing to do with the meaning given by the Ninth Circuit to the term
“assessed.” (Opp. 13 n.2). In Bracey, the taxpayer did appeal the
assessment by filing a formal protest. The King rule and Federal law apply |
whether the taxpayer appeals or not. The taxpayer’s timely protest in ;
Bracey meant that the “assessment” by the State of California was not yet
“final” under the King criteria. Bracey, 77 F.3d at 296. This is precisely
the situation here.

7

term “assessment” as it appears in the Federal Bankruptcy
Code. To the contrary, both cases rely on King and adopt a
uniform Federal definition of “assessment,” making it clear
that King, Bracey and Wernimont all follow Federal law.

Ii. THE DECISION BELOW IS IMPORTANT TO
STATE TAXING AUTHORITIES BECAUSE IT
DISRUPTS THE UNIFORM TREATMENT OF
STATE TAXES IN BANKRUPTCY

Respondent suggests that because “‘a taxpayer had the
obligation either to pay in full the amount of tax in dispute
or to post a bond that guarantees payment”, Florida has little
interest in the outcome of this dispute.” (Opp. 15). The
argument misses the point. At issue here is whether the
Federal Bankruptcy Code should discriminate between
identical claims arising under the laws of different states
based on the way in which each state defines the term
“assessed.” The Eleventh Circuit’s decision disrupts the
uniform application of the Federal Bankruptcy Code by
rejecting the necessity of a uniform Federal definition of the
term “assessed”. The Eleventh Circuit’s decision also
frustrates the intent of the Bankruptcy Code by denying
priority to DOR’s claim even though the DOR was unable to
collect from GDC prior to GDC’s bankruptcy because its
claim had not been finalized.

2 The fact that GDC bonded its liability in this case is immaterial.
Unless the Eleventh Circuit’s decision is reversed, the Court may rest
assured that the Circuit’s accelerated definition of assessment will afford
taxpayers ample opportunity to delay payment beyond “assessment”
without bonding. Bonding is required in the Federal system when a
taxpayer appeals a decision from the Tax Court to the Court of Appeals,
but assessment does not occur until final disposition of the matter by the
circuit court and this Court. See supra p.3.

8

Ill. THE TAX WAS CLEARLY ASSESSED “BY
AGREEMENT” WITHIN THE MEANING OF
THE BANKRUPTCY CODE

Respondent claims that the parties’ agreement to GDC’s
liability for tax and the amount of that liability did not
constitute an assessment by agreement despite the fact that the
parties’ agreement rendered the tax claim final because the
parties reserved their positions as to the priority in bankruptcy
of these tax claims.*

If King correctly defined the term “assessment” in terms
of finality, the parties’ agreement to GDC’s tax liability
would necessarily constitute an assessment by agreement. To
permit private parties to defeat characterization of their
agreements as “assessments by agreement” by imposing
conditions that relate to the priority of a tax claim in
bankruptcy would allow parties to define terms under the
Federal Bankruptcy laws. The Eleventh Circuit delegated the
definition of terms in the Federal Bankruptcy laws to an
agreement between the parties. Petitioners urge this Court to
grant certiorari to correct this unprecedented deviation from
the applicability of Federal law to determine the meaning of
a Federal statute.

3 Respondent and the Eleventh Circuit also argue that the parties’
agreement cannot be an assessment by agreement because it constitutes
a settlement of litigation. That position is obviously untenable. There is
no authority or logic for the exclusion of “settlements” from assessments
by “agreement” as an abstract matter. In this context, where the parties’
agreement renders a state tax claim final, the tax is “assessed by

agreement.”

a

CONCLUSION

| The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

KENT L. WEISSINGER

Assistant General Counsel

FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF
REVENUE

P.O. Box 6668

Tallahassee, FL 32314

(904) 921-2151

Attorney for Florida
Department of Revenue

September 9, 1996

Respectfully submitted,

PAUL M. DODYK
Counsel of Record

Jeffrey L. Nagel

CRAVATH, SWAINE &
MOORE

Worldwide Plaza

825 Eighth Avenue

New York, NY 10019-7475

(212) 474-1000

Attorneys for Continental
Casualty Company

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_1537%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
