# Opposition Brief — Tseng Fu Lin v. City of Goldsboro

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_1508%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 519 U.S. 822

## Text

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1995

S

TSENG FU LIN, d/b/a ORIENTAL JADE RESTAURANT,

Petitioner,

CITY OF GOLDSBORO, FLOYD MCcKEEL, and
CHARLES R. SOUTHERLAND,

Respondents.

S

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The North Carolina Court Of Appeals

.

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

.

W. Harrevt Everett, Jr., Esquire
Counsel of Record

Everett, Womete & Finan, L.L.P.
507 B Spence Avenue

P.O. Drawer 10809

Goldsboro, NC 27532-0809
(919) 778-6707

Attorney for Respondents

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether the North Carolina Court of Appeals erred
in affirming the North Carolina Superior Court's grant of
summary judgment for Respondents?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Question Presented for Review ................005: i
Table Gf COMRGOUE: 0 icin ces tere cetienkreaeen ii
FaOee OF AWENOUIUGD 055055 cee ka vances sbay cues iii
Statement of Ue COG. vo. isicic ce ctenawcwanee eeeress 1
AMUN ow cee eiantenebescesnss et PEpee th eleneees 4
COMIUMON. oc occccusvesucksekedbes Sau Chance ey eeen 11
Appendix
North Carolina Superior Court Order of February
1, 1995 Granting Summary Judgment ......... App. 1
Answer and Counterclaim ...............eteeee. App. 2
Affidavit of Joust PN. PRBIOB «pris s bass ervcscsenn App. 16
Response to Petition for Discretionary Review by
North Carolina Supreme Court .............. App. 19
Goldsboro City Ordinance §25-35 .............. App. 22
Goldsboro City Ordinance §25-37 .............. App. 23
N.C.G.S. §143-139... cry cccecerccecccscecevaces App. 25
N.C.GS. Q1GRACIIS 6c iva ies suneciena tener App. 28
NCGS. GEOGRASES os iics cakny aves ntcentsnenes App. 30
N.C.GS. GIGGADES ois scceivesesvesnsasueeees App. 31
N.C.G.S. GIOGAEET 05 0k ces cannes euvens (bees App. 32
North Carolina Plumbing Code, Volume 2, Chap-
ber S, GE GULL, GiaMcss dss cckssnwushaviatvies App. 34

ili
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page

CASEs:
Birnbaum v. Trussell, 347 F.2d 86 (2nd Cir. 1965)....5, 7

Board of Regents v. Roth, 565 U.S. 564 (1972).......... 7
City of Ladue, et al. v. Gilleo, 512 U.S. 129 (1994)......7
Dohany v. Rogers, 281 U.S. 362 (1930)................ 10
Dolan v. City of Tigard, 114 S.Ct. 2309 (1994) ........ 10
Gaffney v. Silk, 488 F.2d 1248 (1st Cir. 1973)........ ee
Harlowe v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800 (1982)........... 5.7
Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976).............. 9
McNeill v. Harnett County, 327 N.C. 552, 398 S.E.2d
Cis bred feet és rreppestuveversuiesuceuss 8, 9
Memphis Light, Gas and Water Div. v. Craft, 436 U.S.
DL RUh it aeWinebbabeeued cab eds cesses cedeene% 7,9
Nelson v. Knox, 256 F.2d 312 (6th Cir. 1958) ........ 5, 7
Oyama v. California, 332 U.S. 633 (1948) ............. 10
Turpin v. Lemon, 187 U.S. 51 (1902).............5005. 10
Youngstown Sheetmetal & Tubing v. Sawyer, 343 U.S.
TTS Cede Uy bibl bbs pipe vbdsvevd ce stbsdoecnsi 7
STATUTES:
Goldsboro City Ordinance §25-35 ............... ee
Goldsboro City Ordinance §25-37 .............00-000 5
North Carolina General Statutes §143-139 ............ 6

North Carolina General Statutes §153A-283........... 8

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
North Carolina General Statutes §160A-174........... 6
North Carolina General Statutes §160A-312........... 8

North Carolina State Plumbing Code, Volume 2,
CRUE Dh, ee eh cevcctevetsinitsveructvessutes' 5

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Respondents respectfully request that the Court deny
the petition for a writ of certiorari seeking review of the
decision of the North Carolina Court of Appeals in this
case. (Discretionary review denied by the North Carolina
Supreme Court.)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE!

The Petitioner is the owner of a restaurant at 2102
North 117 Bypass, Goldsboro, North Carolina, entitled
the Oriental Jade Restaurant. On September 20, 1991 and
March 24, 1993, the City maintenance crews cleaned out a
large section of sanitary sewer pipe where Petitioner’s
building connected to the City’s sanitary sewer main.
Said sanitary sewer main was clogged with grease and
had contaminated the plumbing of citizens connected to
the sewer further down-line. (Appendix p. 5). John Hales,
Plumbing/Mechanical Inspector for the City of Gold-
sboro, determined that, because the Petitioner’s restau-
rant was the first customer Connected to the sanitary
sewer main, the Petitioner’s restaurant was the source of
the grease blockage. (Appendix p. 5). By letter dated
March 31, 1993, Mr. Hales notified the Petitioner that,
because of the grease problem they had previously dis-
cussed, the Petitioner was required by Goldsboro City
Ordinance §25-35 to install a grease trap of sufficient size
and strength to protect the City’s sanitary sewer main.

' Pursuant to Rule 24.2, Respondents tender this Statement
of the Case to correct factual misstatements by Petitioner.

(Petitioner's Appendix p. 82). Mr. Hales verbally advised
the Petitioner on numerous occasions between March 31,
1993, and December 15, 1993, that a grease interceptor, as
required by the North Carolina State Plumbing Code,
would have to be installed in the restaurant. (Appendix

pp. 5-6).

Sometime after March 31, 1993, there was a fire at the
Oriental Jade Restaurant. The restaurant closed for
repairs to the building. Although the Petitioner was
denied a water permit because he had failed to install the
grease interceptor, he was granted a temporary water
permit for the purpose of repairing the building. (Appen-
dix p. 6).

By certified letter of December 3, 1993, Chief Build-
ing Inspector, Floyd McKeel, again notified the Petitioner
that water service to the Petitioner’s building would not
be authorized on a permanent basis until such time as a
grease interceptor was installed, pursuant to the North
Carolina State Building Code and City Ordinance. (Peti-
tioner’s Appendix p. 85). Thereafter, Petitioner requested
a variance from this requirement from the City of Golds-
boro, which request was denied. (Petitioner’s Appendix
p. 18). The Petitioner failed to comply with the directives
and notifications from the Respondents over an extended
period of nine months and, as a result, the Petitioner was
notified by certified letter dated December 15, 1993 that
his permit to connect with City water was revoked effec-
tive December 16, 1993, pursuant to Goldsboro City Ordi-
nance §25-35. (Petitioner’s Appendix p. 90).

The Petitioner subsequently installed the grease

interceptor, was granted a water permit, reopened his

business and was granted sewer service. (Appendix p.
16).

Petitioner filed a complaint on April 20, 1994 alleging
that Respondents ordered the closing of Petitioner’s busi-
ness and shut off the utilities at his restaurant without
providing Petitioner with notice or an opportunity to be
heard. (Petitioner’s Appendix p. 76). The Superior Court
denied Petitioner’s motion for a preliminary injunction
directing the Respondents to provide utility service. (Peti-
tioner’s Appendix p. 34). After hearing the arguments of
both parties, the North Carolina Superior Court, Honor-
able Russell Lanier presiding, granted Respondents’
Motion for Summary Judgment on the ground that
Respondents were protected from suit by governmental
immunity. (Petitioner's Appendix p. 1, Respondents’
Appendix p. 1).

On December 19, 1995, the North Carolina Court of
Appeals affirmed the Superior Court’s decision on the
following grounds: 1) Respondents’ actions were autho-
rized by North Carolina statutory law, thereby permitting
the application of governmental immunity by the Supe-
rior Court; 2) based on North Carolina case law, Peti-
tioner had no property interest in the water service and,
therefore, could not claim a violation of his due process
rights; and 3) assuming arguendo that Petitioner did have
a property interest in the water service, there was no
infringement on his right to due process. (Petitioner's
Appendix p. 61). The North Carolina Supreme Court
denied Petitioner’s request for discretionary review on
February 8, 1996. (Petitioner’s Appendix p. 59). Petitioner
now asks this Court to review this decision.

In his Statement of Fact, Petitioner makes two allega-
tions that have not been raised prior to this petition.
Petitioner alleges that, after investigation, federal author-
ities declined to take any action against him because
North Carolina authorities had already determined that
Petitioner had “complied with the law by having a Grade
A Report” (citing Petitioner's Appendix p. 15). Respon-
dents have no knowledge of any investigation or allega-
tions pursuant to the ‘Clean Water Protection Law’ and
suggest that the report provided by Petitioner does not
address compliance with the North Carolina Plumbing
Code. Furthermore, contrary to Petitioner’s statements,
the letter of December 9, 1993 from North Carolina Gov-
ernor James B. Hunt, Jr. (Petitioner's Appendix p. 16),
does not indicate that the State decided not to prosecute
Petitioner's violation of the North Carolina Plumbing
Code. Rather, the letter requests further information from
Petitioner in order that the Department of Insurance may
render a decision. These allegations have not been previ-
ously addressed by the state courts nor has Petitioner
introduced any evidence to support either allegation at
neither the state trial court nor state appellate court.

7

ARGUMENT

THE NORTH CAROLINA COURT OF APPEALS HAS
NOT DECIDED A FEDERAL QUESTION IN A WAY
THAT CONFLICTS WITH DECISIONS OF ANOTHER
STATE COURT OF LAST RESORT OR THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS OR THE UNITED
STATES SUPREME COURT

The Petitioner has failed to provide this Court with
any decisions of another state court of last resort, the

United States Court of Appeals, or the United States
Supreme Court which decide a federal question in a way
contrary to the decision of the North Carolina Court of
Appeals in this case.

Petitioner contends that the decision of the North
Carolina Court of Appeals in this case is contrary to the
decisions of the Courts of Appeal in Nelson v. Knox, 256
F.2d 312 (6th Cir., 1958); Gaffney v. Silk, 488 F.2d 1248 (1st
Cir. 1973); and Birnbaum v. Trussell, 347 F.2d 86 (2nd Cir.
1965); as well as this Court’s decision in Harlowe v.
Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800 (1982). In fact, the decision of the
North Carolina Court of Appeals is consistant with and in
accordance with these decisions.

Nelson, Gaffney, Birnbaum, and Harlowe each stand for
the proposition that municipal officers do not have com-
plete immunity but, rather, have only a qualified privi-
lege that acts as a defense against liability for harm
caused by acts done by them in good faith in performance
of their official duties as they understood it. Clearly, if a
municipal officer violates a person’s constitutional or fed-
eral rights, the doctrine of immunity is abrogated.
Birnbaum, supra.

The North Carolina Court of Appeals, in affirming
the Superior Court’s decision, found that the acts of
Respondents were legislatively authorized. (Petitioner's
Appendix p. 68). Goldsboro City Ordinance §25-37 pro-
vides that “all water and sewer service lines shall be as
specified in North Carolina Plumbing Code, Volume 2,
and as approved by the Plumbing Inspector.” The North
Carolina State Plumbing Code, Volume 2, Chapter 8,
§801.4 provides, in relevant part, that:

A grease interceptor shall be installed at the
waste line leading from sinks, drains or other
fixtures in the following establishments when,
in the opinion of the Plumbing Official, a hazard
exists: restaurants, hotel, kitchens or bars. . . or
other uses where grease can be introduced into
the drainage systems in quantities that can
affect line stoppage or hinder sewage disposal.

Furthermore, pursuant to North Carolina General Stat-
utes §§160A-174 and 143-139, respectively, the City of
Goldsboro has the right to prohibit or abate conditions
detrimental to the health, safety or welfare of the City
and to enforce the North Carolina Building Code.

The North Carolina Court of Appeals found that this
legislation supported the actions of Respondents. It
authorized Respondent’s plumbing official to require the
installation of a grease interceptor by Petitioner and,
when necessary, abate the condition that was detrimental
to the health and welfare of the citizens of Goldsboro. On
March 31, 1993, after determining that Petitioner’s restau-
rant was the source of the grease that had repeatedly
clogged the City’s sanitary sewer main, the Plumbing
Inspector notified Petitioner and directed him to install
the grease interceptor, as was required by the North
Carolina Plumbing Code, supra. After repeated notifica-
tions over a period of nine months, and Petitioner’s con-
tinuing refusal to install the grease interceptor,
Respondents acted to protect the health and welfare of
the citizens of Goldsboro and prohibit this detrimental
situation by revoking Petitioner’s temporary water per-
mit. Shortly thereafter, Petitioner installed the grease
interceptor and was granted a water permit, as provided
by the relevant legislation.

Nelson, Gaffney, Birnbaum, and Harlowe each set forth
the doctrine of qualified, good faith immunity. The North
Carolina Court of Appeals found that Respondents’
actions were not only in good faith but also legislatively
authorized. Accordingly, the decision cf the North Caro-
lina Court of Appeals is not in contradiction with, but is,
in fact, in accordance with the cases cited by Petitioner.
Therefore, the Court should not grant certiorari on this
basis.?

Petitioner also alleges that the North Carolina Court
of Appeals erred in rejecting Petitioner’s claim that
Respondents’ actions violated his constitutional right to
due process. For Petitioner to prevail on the basis of lack
of due process, Petitioner must first establish a property
interest or an entitlement to the water services. Protected
interests are normally not created by the Constitution;
rather, they are created and defined by an independent
source such as state statutes or rules entitling a citizen to
certain benefits. Board of Regents v. Roth, 565 U.S. 564, 577
(1972); Memphis Light, Gas and Water Div. v. Craft, 436 U.S.
1 (1978). Under Roth and Memphis Light, the court will

? Petitioner also contends that the decision of the North
Carolina Court of Appeals in this case is contrary to this Court’s
decisions in City of Ladue, et al. v. Gilleo, 512 U.S. 129 (1994)
(holding that a city ordinance banning all residential signs, but
those falling within limited exceptions, violated resident’s free
speech rights), and Youngstown Sheetmetal & Tubing v. Sawyer,
343 U.S. 579 (1952) (holding that the President was without the
authority to order the seizure of the plants of steel companies
involved in a labor dispute). However, Respondents are unable
to ascertain how these cases are relevant, let alone contrary, to
the case at hand. In fact, Petitioner fails to cite any rulings
contrary to the decision of the North Carolina Court of Appeals.

look to North Carolina law to determine whether a citi-
zen has a substantive interest in water services. In the
instant case, the North Carolina Court of Appeals found
that McNeill v. Harnett County, 327 N.C. 552, 398 S.E.2d
475 (1990), was controlling and necessitated the conclu-
sion that Petitioner had no property interest in the water
service provided by Respondents and, therefore, could
not claim a violation of his due process rights.

In McNeill, the appellants contended that the termi-
nation of water services without notice or opportunity for
a hearing violated their right to due process. The North
Carolina Supreme Court held that the water service fur-
nished by the County did not rise to the level of “prop-
erty” protected by due process requirements. Id., 327 N.C.
at 571. The Honorable Justice Meyer found that, while
other statutes specifically authorize disconnections in cer-
tain situations, the language of N.C.G.S. §153A-283 states
specifically that “[i]n no case may a county be held liable
for damages for failure to furnish water or sewer ser-
vices.”

The Court concluded that, in light of this statutory
language, “a citizen of a county in North Carolina may
not assert a claim of entitlement to water services.” Id.
Based upon the McNeill decision, the North Carolina
Court of Appeals concluded that Petitioner had no prop-
erty interest in Respondents’ water services.

3 Similarly, Goldsboro City Ordinance §25-35, as
authorized by N.C.G.S. §160A-312(b), provides, in pertinent
part, “[nJo party interested shall have a claim for damage in
consequence of [a permit to connect with the city water and
sewer systems] being revoked or annulled.”

The North Carolina Court of Appeals further stated
that, even if Petitioner had a property interest in the
water services, it could not discern any infringement on
Petitioner’s right to due process. The Court discussed the
requirement set forth in Memphis Light that there be suffi-
cient notice to afford reasonable assurance against “erro-
neous or arbitrary withholding of essential services.” Id.,
436 U.S. at 18 (citing Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319
(1976)). Citing McNeill, supra, the Court found that Peti-
tioner was given numerous written and verbal notifica-
tions and directives of the required grease interceptor
over a period of at least nine months prior to the termina-
tion of water services. Petitioner knew to whom, where,
when and how he could discuss the Plumbing Code
requirement of a grease interceptor and the potential for
termination of the water services from the letters of
March 31, 1993, December 3, 1993, and December 15, 1993
(Petitioner’s Appendix pp. 82, 85, 90, respectively) as
well as his many meetings in person with the inspectors.4

The Court held that this was “adequate protection
from the arbitrary withholding of water services from his
restaurant.” Therefore, the Court held, assuming
arguendo, that Petitioner had a property interest in the
water services, Respondents did not violate his right to
due process in light of the facts in the instant case.

4 Although the North Carolina Court of Appeals did not
note this, Petitioner states in his Statement of Fact that he even
participated in the City’s administrative procedure by filing for
a variance in December 1993, which was denied by
Respondents’ inspector. (Petitioner’s Appendix p. 18).

10

Petitioner contends that this ruling is in contradiction
with this Court’s decision in Oyama v. California, 332 U.S.
633 (1948). However, in Oyama, this Court held that the
California Alien Land Law, as applied to a minor Ameri-
can citizen whose parents were ineligible for naturaliza-
tion, discriminated on the basis of racial descent and
deprived the minor of equal protection of the laws. The
holding of the North Carolina Court of Appeals in this
case is in no way contrary to this Court’s decision in
Oyama.°

Finally, Petitioner states that this Court has held that
when “water is cut off and there is a refusal to turn it
back on while the petitioner’s license is still in force and
no exigencies such as fire or shortage exist, but is used
merely to abate an ordinance violation without the limits
of constitutional guarantees” Article VI of the Constitu-
tion is violated. (Petition for Writ, pp. 18-19, citing Do-
hany v. Rogers, 281 U.S. 362 (1930); Turpin v. Lemon, 187
U.S. 51 (1902); and Dolan v. City of Tigard, 114 S.Ct. 2309
(1994)). However, this is not correct and is a clear mis-
statement of this Court’s rulings in these cases. The cited
cases resolve issues of eminent domain and are not con-
trary to the holding of the North Carolina Court of
Appeals in the instant case.

+

5 Petitioner also contends that the Court's ruling violated
his “entitlement to an American Dream.” (Petition for Writ, p.
23). Petitioner fails to cite any authority for this “entitlement”
and Respondents have been unable to ascertain any state or
federal statutory or case law to support this contention.

i i i i

11

CONCLUSION

The decision of the North Carolina Court of Appeals
does not constitute new law nor does it conflict with
decisions of other state courts of last resort, the United
States Courts of Appeal, or the United States Supreme
Court. Accordingly, Respondents respectfully request
that the Court deny the petition for a writ of certiorari.

This the 19th day of August, 1996.
Respectfully submitted,

W. Harrect Everett, Jr.
Everett, WomsLe &

FINAN, L.L.P.
507 B Spence Avenue
P.O. Drawer 10809
Goldsboro, NC 27532-0809
(919) 778-6707

Attorney for Respondents

APPENDIX

App. 1

FILED: February 1, 1995, 11:01 a.m., Wayne County Clerk
of Superior Court

NORTH CAROLINA IN THE GENERAL COURT
WAYNE COUNTY OF JUSTICE
TSENG FU LIN d/b/a SUPERIOR COURT
ORIENTAL DIVISION
JADE RESTAURANT, FILE NO. 94 CVS 860
Plaintiff,
vs. ORDER

CITY OF GOLDSBORO,

FLOYD M. McKEEL, agent,

and CHARLES

R. SOUTHERLAND, agent,
Defendants.

This Order came on for hearing before the under-
signed Judge upon Defendants’ written Motion for Sum-
mary Judgment, and the Court having considered the
pleadings before the Court and heard oral argument of
the parties, it appears that there are no genuine issues of
material fact and that the Defendants are entitled to Sum-
mary Judgment as a matter of law.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND
DECREED, that Defendants’ Motion for Summary Judg-
ment by and is hereby GRANTED.

This the 30th day of January, 1995.

/s/ Honorable Russell J. Lanier
Judge Presiding

App. 2

FILED: June 27, 1994, 2:39 p.m., Wayne County Clerk of
Superior Court

NORTH CAROLINA IN THE GENERAL COURT
OF JUSTICE

WAYNE COUNTY SUPERIOR COURT

TSENG FU LIN d/b/a DIVISION

ORIENTAL FILE NO.: 94 CVS 860

JADE RESTAURANT,
Plaintiff,

™ ANSWER AND

CITY OF GOLDSBORO, COUNTERCLAIM
FLOYD M. McKEEL, agent,
and CHARLES
R. SOUTHERLAND, agent,
Defendants.

MOTION TO DISMISS

Now come the Defendants, by and through their
attorney, L. Ashley Smith, and move the Court pursuant
to Rule 12(b)(6) of the North Carolina Rules of Civil
Procedure to dismiss the Complaint of the Plaintiff for
failure to state a claim upon which relief can be granted.

FIRST DEFENSE
GOVERNMENTAL IMMUNITY

Defendant, City of Goldsboro, pleads the doctrine of
governmental immunity in bar of Plaintiff's claims for
damages.

App. 3

SECOND DEFENSE
QUALIFIED IMMUNITY

Plaintiff has brought this action against Defendant
Municipality alleging that the Defendant Municipality
ordered the closing of Plaintiff's business without provid-
ing the Plaintiff with notice or opportunity to be heard.
Plaintiff complains of actions taken by Defendants
McKeel and Southerland while acting in their official
capacity as employees of Defendant Municipality.

In carrying out the complained of actions, the Defen-
dants McKeel and Southerland were acting in good faith
and within the scope of their authority. In so acting, the
Defendants McKeel and Southerland did not breach any
duty to Plaintiff which was clearly established as a matter
of law at the time of the complained of incident. Thus,
Defendants are entitled to qualified, good faith immunity
from this suit.

iA
THIRD DEFENSE

RESPONDING TO SPECIFIC ALLEGATIONS
OF THE COMPLAINT

The Defendants, answering the Complaint of the
Plaintiff, allege and say as follows:

1. That the allegations contained in paragraphs 1, 4,
and 7 of the Complaint are admitted.

2. That as to the allegations contained in para-
graphs 2 and 3 of the Complaint, the Defendants are
without sufficient knowledge or information to form a
belief as to the truth of the allegations in said paragraphs,
and the same are, therefore, denied.

App. 4

3. That as to the allegations contained in paragraph
6 of the Complaint, it is admitted that the Defendant,
Floyd M. McKeel was an agent of the Defendant, City of
Goldsboro, at the time of the events allegedly giving rise
to the Complaint. Except as expressly admitted herein,
the remaining allegations in paragraph 6 of the Com-
plaint are denied.

4. That as to the allegations contained in paragraph
8 of the Complaint, it is admitted that the Defendant,
Floyd M. McKeel, authorized the termination of water
service to 2102 North Highway 117 By-Pass, Goldsboro,
North Carolina, on December 15, 1993. Except as
expressly admitted herein, the remaining allegations in
paragraph 8 of the Complaint are denied.

5. The allegations contained in paragraphs 5, 9 and
10 of the Complaint are cenied.

FOURTH DEFENSE

By way of a further and affirmative defense, the
Defendants allege and says as follows:

6. The right to prohibit or abate conditions detri-
mental to the health, safety or welfare of the Defendant
City has been delegated to Defendant City by G.S.
§ 160A-174.

7. The right to enforce the North Carolina Building
Code has been delegated to Defendant City by GS.
§ 143-139.

8. Goldsboro City Ordinance § 25.37 provides that
“all water and sewer service lines shall be as specified in

App. 5

North Carolina Plumbing Code, Volume 2, and as
approved by the Plumbing Inspector.”

9. The North Carolina State Plumbing Code, Vol-
ume 2, Chapter 8, § 801-4 provides, in part, that:

A grease interceptor shall be installed at the
waste line leading from sinks, drains or other
fixtures in the following establishments when,
in the opinion of the Plumbing Official, a hazard
exists: restaurants, hotel kitchens or bars, fac-
tory cafeterias or restaurants, clubs, or other
uses where grease can be introduced into the
drainage systems in quantities that can affect
line stoppage or hinder sewage disposal.

10. On both September 20, 1991, and March 24,
1993, City maintenance crews cleaned out a large section
of sanitary sewer pipe where Plaintiff’s building con-
nected to the sanitary sewer main. Said sanitary sewer
main was clogged with grease and had contaminated the
plumbing of citizens connected to the sewer further
down-line. As Plaintiff's restaurant was the first customer
connected to the sanitary sewer main, the origin of the
grease can only be attributed to Plaintiff's facility.

11. By letter dated March 31, 1993, John N. Hales,
Plumbing/Mechanical Inspector for the City of Golds-
boro, notified Oriental Jade Restaurant that the City was
requiring Plaintiff to install a grease trap of sufficient size
and strength to protect the City’s sanitary sewer main. A
copy of said letter is attached as hereto Exhibit “A” and
incorporated herein by reference.

12. That John N. Hales, Plumbing/Mechanical
Inspector for the City of Goldsboro, verbally advised the
Plaintiff, Tseng Fu Lin, on numerous occasions between

App. 6

March 31, 1993, and December 15, 1993, that a grease
interceptor would have to be installed in the restaurant as
required by the North Carolina State Plumbing Code.

13. That despite receipt of Defendant’s letter of
March 31, 1993, and the numerous oral warnings, Plaintiff
refused and still refuses to install a grease interceptor in
the restaurant at 2102 North Highway 117 By-Pass,
Goldsboro, North Carolina, in order to bring the building
into compliance with City Ordinances and the North
Carolina State Building Code.

14. That some time after March 31, 1993, Oriental
Jade Restaurant closed in order to make repairs caused by
fire. Temporary water service was authorized to the
premises so that Plaintiff’s contractor could perform the
needed repairs.

15. By certified letter, return receipt requested,
dated December 3, 1993, from Floyd M. McKeel, Chief
Inspector of the City of Goldsboro, Plaintiff was notified
that water service to 2102 North Highway 117 By-Pass,
Goldsboro, North Carolina, would not be authorized on a
permanent basis until such time as a grease intercepter
[sic] was installed pursuant to the North Carolina State
Building Code and City Ordinances. A copy of said letter
and the return receipt signed by Plaintiff are attached
hereto as Exhibit “B” and incorporated herein by refer-
ence.

16. Plaintiff having failed to comply with the rea-
sonable requests and notifications from the Defendant
City over a period of nine (9) months, Plaintiff’s permit to
connect with City water was revoked pursuant to Golds-
boro City Ordinance § 25-35 on December 15, 1993. A

App. 7

letter from Floyd M. McKeel, Chief Inspector, to the
Plaintiff dated December 15, 1993, informing Plaintiff of
this action, is attached hereto as Exhibit “C” and incorpo-
rated herein by reference.

17. That the Defendant City and its agents were at
all times acting properly and within the scope of their
authority as established by City Ordinance and State
Statutes.

18. That notice sufficient to advise Plaintiff to bring
his property into compliance with City Ordinances and
the State Building Code was provided, and Plaintiff's
right to due process has, in no way, been violated.

FOURTH DEFENSE

19. Asa further defense, and complete or partial bar
to any claim Plaintiff may have for damages, Defendant
asserts § 25-35 of the Goldsboro City Ordinances which
provides that “no party interested shall have a claim for
damage in consequence of [its City Water] permit being
revoked or annulled.”

COUNTER CLAIM

MOTION FOR MANDATORY INJUNCTION
AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT

20. Paragraphs 1 through 19 above are re-alleged
and incorporated herein by reference as if fully set forth.

21. That Plaintiff is in willful violation of Goldsboro
City Ordinance and the State Building Code in that he
refused and still refuses to install a grease interceptor at

App. 8

2102 North Highway 117 By-Pass, Goldsboro, North Car-
olina.

22. That the discharge of water by a restaurant busi-
ness at 2102 North Highway 117 By-Pass, Goldsboro,
North Carolina, into the City sewer system without the ]
installation of a grease interceptor would be detrimental
to the health, safety and welfare of the citizens of Defen-
dant Municipality.

23. That, if the Plaintiff wishes to receive a business
license and water permit to operate a restaurant business
at the location in question, the City is in need of a
mandatory injunction ordering Plaintiff to install a grease
interceptor to bring the property into compliance with
the North Carolina State Building Code and Goldsboro
City Ordinances.

WHEREFORE, the Defendants pray the Court as fol-
lows:

1. For an Order dismissing this action as to Defen-
dants McKeel and Southerland;

2. That the relief requested in Plaintiff's Complaint
be denied, and that he have and recover nothing by way
of damages, compensatory or punitive, from the Defen-
dants;

3. That the Court enter an Order of abatement and
mandatory injunction requiring Plaintiff to install a
grease interceptor in compliance with Goldsboro City
Ordinances and the North Carolina State Building Code
in the restaurant facility at 2102 North Highway 117 By-
Pass, Goldsboro, North Carolina, prior to the issuance of

App. 9

any permit to connect with City Water or to operate a
business at said location, all at his expense;

4. That Defendaiits have and recover the costs of
this action, including reasonable attorney’s fees, as may
be allowed by law; and

5. For such other and further relief as to the Court
seems just and proper.

This the 27th day of June, 1994.

EVERETT, WOMBLE, FINAN
& RIDDLE

/s/ L. Ashley Smith
State Bar No. 19273
' Attorney for Defendants
P.O. Drawer 10809
Goldsboro, NC 27532-0809
(919) 778-6707

App. 10

Exhibit “A”
City of Goldsboro

P. O. Drawer A
North Carolina
27533-9701

(919) 735-6121
March 31, 1993

Certification No. P364 761820

Oriental Jade Restaurant
2102 N. Highway 117 Bypass
Goldsboro, NC 27530

Dear Sir(s):

Thank you for the time you took to discuss the grease
problem at your restaurant. As I told you at the time of
our discussion, this is the second time in two years that
our sanitation department has had to clean out a large
section of sewer pipe where your building connects to
our sewer main.

I de not know how the grease is getting through, but
the fact is that it is ..tting through. Therefore, I must
insist that you ob*ain a licensed plumber to install a
‘grease trap that will be of sufficient size and gallon per
minute to protect our sewer. The fixtures that will need to
be put on the grease trap must include: the dishwasher,
the pots and pan sink, any floor drains that might receive
wash down from the cooking area and the can wash.

As is customary, we will allow you thirty (30) days
from the date of receipt of this letter to get the equipment
installed. It is hoped that you will comply with this letter
and further action can be avoided.

ila

a -

App. 11

If I can be of further assistan:2, please do not hesitate
to contact me by calling 580-438%. My office hours are
from 8:00 a.m. — 9:30 a.m. and frorzi 4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Mond: « through Friday.

Yours truly,

/s/ John N. Hales

Plumbing /Mechanical Inspector

JNH:jg
cc: Floyd McKeel, Chief Inspector

Exhibit “B”
City of Goldsboro
P. O. Drawer A

North Carolina
27533-9701

December 3, 1993
(919)

Certification No. P375 015124

Mr. Tseng Fu Lin

Oriental Jade Restaurant
2102 N. Highway 117 Bypass
Goldsboro, NC 27530

Dear Mr. Lin:

735-6121

The City Manager has asked that I write you concern-
ing the reasons the Inspections Division of the City of
Goldsboro has required that a grease interceptor be
installed at your restaurant located at 2102 North High-

way 117 Bypass.

App. 12

I refer you to a certified letter dated March 31, 1993
from John Hales, Plumbing/ Mechanical Inspector for the
City of Goldsboro, a copy of which is attached hereto. I
believe this letter fully explains the Inspections Division’s
position concerning installation of a grease interceptor. |

ee ee ee m

If I may summarize, the City’s Maintenance Division
has been called to your restaurant on two occasions in
order to clean out a2 section of sanitary pipe which was
clogged with grease. Since your restaurant is the first
customer connected to the sanitary sewer main, the origin
of the grease can only be attributed to your facility. In
March, 1993, the Inspections Division requested that a
licensed plumber install a grease interceptor of sufficient
size and gallons per minute in order to protect the City of
Goldsboro’s sanitary sewer system. You were subse-
quently granted 30 days from the date of receipt of the
March 31, 1993 letter in order to comply with this direc-
tive.

As of this date, a grease interceptor has not been
installed at the Oriental Jade Restaurant. The City of
Goldsboro has the authority under the North Carolina
State Plumbing Code to mandate this requirement. I refer
to Chapter 8, Section 801-4 entitled “Grease Interceptors”
of the State Plumbing Code which states, in part, that:

“A grease interceptor shall be installed in the
waste line leading from sinks, drains or other
fixtures in the following establishments when,
in the opinion of the Plumbing Official, a hazard
exists: restaurants, hotel kitchens or bars, fac-
tory cafeterias or restaurants, clubs, or other |
uses where grease can be introduced into the !

App. 13

drainage system in quantities that can affect line
stoppage or hinder sewage disposal.”

The City of Goldsboro has performed a considerable
amount of maintenance on the sanitary sewer line coming
into your establishment. I must advise you that, until
such time a grease interceptor is installed at this location
in compliance with the State Plumbing Code, authoriza-
tion will not be forthcoming for permission to connect to
water, sanitary sewer or electrical service. The system
that currently exists at this restaurant is not achieving its
intended purpose. A grease interceptor must be installed
in order to meet City sanitary sewer standards.

I am asking for your cooperation in this matter. If
you have any questions or if I can be of assistance, you
may contact me at 580-4346.

Yours truly,

/s/ Floyd McKeel
Chief Inspector

FM/RMS/ssj
Attachment

App. 14

Exhibit “C”
City of Goldsboro
P. O. Drawer A

North Carolina
27533-9701

December 15, 1993
(919) 735-6121

Mr. Tseng Fu Lin
2102 N. Highway 117 Bypass
Goldsboro, NC 27530

Dear Mr. Lin:

This letter is to advise you that failure on your part to
install a grease trap at your restaurant, known as Oriental
Jade, located at the above mentioned address, by 12:00
p.m. Thursday, December 16, 1993, this office will have
no alternative but to have your water service discon-
nected.

You have been given ample opportunity to meet the
requirements of the State Building Code and the City
Ordinance requiring you to have a grease trap installed.
The first notice was mailed to you in March 31, 1993. You
have not, as of this date, complied with our request.
Therefore, failure on your part to comply with this notice
will result in the water service being terminated.

|

App. 15

Asking for your cooperation in this matter. If you
have any questions, please contact me by calling

580-4346.

FM:

Sincerely,
/s/ Floyd McKeel

/s/ Acknowledgment of Receival
Mr. Tseng Lin or Authorized
Representative

/s/ R. D. Roscoe
Officer, Goldsboro Police
Department

December 15, 1993, 11:12 a.m.
Date and Time of Delivery

App. 16

FILED: November 30, 1994, 3:06 p.m., Wayne County
Clerk of Superior Court

NORTH CAROLINA IN THE GENERAL COURT
WAYNE COUNTY OF JUSTICE SUPERIOR
TSENG FU LIN d/b/a eee daa ae cae os
ORIENTAL ‘
JADE RESTAURANT,

Plaintiff,

Vs. AFFIDAVIT OF
CITY OF GOLDSBORO, JOHN N. HALES

FLOYD M. McKEEL, agent,

and CHARLES

R. SOUTHERLAND, agent
Defendants.

NOW COMES, John N. Hales, being duly sworn, depose
and say:

1. That I am over eighteen years of age, and I am
competent to make the statements contained in this Affi-
davit.

2. Except for matters and facts which are stated
expressly upon the bases of information which I believe is
true, the statements and facts contained in this Affidavit
are based upon my own personal knowledge and experi-
ence.

3. That I am employed by the City of Goldsboro as
the Plumbing/Mechanical Inspector.

4. That the Plaintiff, Tseng Fu Lin, has complied
with the City of Goldsboro’s request to install a grease
interceptor at 2102 North Highway 117 Bypass, Golds-
boro, North Carolina, by installing a grease interceptor in
July, 1994.

a ee

—Se ee ee

App. 17

5. Further this affiant sayeth not.

This the 30th day of November, 1994.

/s/ John N. Hales

NORTH CAROLINA
WAYNE COUNTY

I, Cathleen D. Fink, a Notary Public in and for the
aforesaid State and County, do hereby certify that John N.
Hales personally appeared before me this day and
acknowledged the due execution of the foregoing instru-
ment.

WITNESS my hand and notarial seal, this the 30th
day of November, 1994.

/s/ Cathleen D. Fink
Notary Public

My Commission Expires: June 3, 1998

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

This is to certify that the undersigned has this date
served the document in the above entitled action upon all
other parties to this cause by

Hand delivering a copy thereof to the attor-
ney for each said party.

X Depositing a copy hereof, postage pre-paid in

the United States Mail, properly addressed to the attor-
ney for each said party.

App. 18

This 1st day of December, 1994.

/s/ L. Ashley Smith
For EVERETT, WOMBLE, >
FINAN & RIDDLE

App. 19

FILED: January 11, 1996, 11:28 a.m., Office of the Clerk,
Supreme Court of North Carolina
No. 5P96 EIGHT-B DISTRICT

NORTH CAROLINA SUPREME COURT

5

TSENG FU LIN, d/b/a
ORIENTAL JADE
RESTAURANT,

Plaintiff / Petitioner,

COA 95-657
From Wayne County
No. 94 CVS 860

V.

CITY OF GOLDSBORO,
FLOYD McKEEL, Agent,
and CHARLES R.
SOUTHERLAND,
Defendants /Respondents.

eee eee eee ee eee

RESPONSE TO PETITION FOR
DISCRETIONARY REVIEW

TO THE HONORABLE SUPREME COURT OF NORTH
CAROLINA:

Respondents, the City of Goldsboro, Floyd McKeel,
agent, and Charles R. Southerland, pursuant to Rule 15(d)
of the North Carolina Rules of Appellate Procedure and
N.C.G.S. § 7A-31, respectfully submit this response to
Petitioner’s Petition for Discretionary Review of the deci-
sion of the North Carolina Court of Appeals dated
December 19, 1995, Case No. COA95-657, affirming the
trial! court’s grant of summary judgment for Respondents.

Petitioner contends that review should be granted
because this cause involves legal principals [sic] of major

App. 20

significance to the jurisprudence of the State and Nation,
and the decision of the Court of Appeals appears likely to
be in conflict with decision of the North Carolina
Supreme Court, United States Supreme Court, and North
Carolina Court of Appeals.

In fact, the decision of the Court of Appeals affirming
the trial court’s grant of summary judgment for Respon-
dents on the grounds of governmental immunity is firmly
supported by the following legal authority:

1. Metz v. Asheville, 150 N.C. 748, 64 S.E. 881
(1909)

2. Lonon v. Talbert, 103 N.C. App. 686, 691, 407
S.E.2d 276, 280 (1991)

3. North Carolina General Statutes Sections
160A-174, 143-139

4. Goldsboro City Ordinance Section [sic] 25-37

5. North Carolina Plumbing Code, Volume 2,
Chapter 8, Section 801.4

The Court of Appeals also rejected Petitioner’s con-
tention that the City of Goldsboro Ordinance permitting
the actions taken by Respondents’ agents violated his
constitutional right to due process. This conclusion is
firmly supported and controlled by your holding in
McNeill v. Harnett County, 327 N.C. 552, 398 S.E.2d 475
(1990).

Finally, Petitioner’s contention in his Petition that
Respondents’ actions constituted an “inverse condemna-
tion without due process of law and just compensation”
was not made to nor considered by the Court of Appeals

App. 21

and should not be considered by this Court in determin-
ing whether to grant certiorari.

Accordingly, Respondents respectfully request that
this Court deny Petitioner’s Petition for Discretionary
Review.

Respectfully submitted this the 10th day of January,
1995.

EVERETT, WOMBLE, FINAN & RIDDLE

/s/ W. Harrell Everett, Jr. /s/ Stacey L. Fuller
Attorney for Respondents Attorney for Respondents

P. O. Drawer 10809 P. O. Drawer 10809
Goldsboro, NC 27532-0809 Goldsboro, NC 27532-0809
(919) 778-6707 (919) 778-6707

N.C. State Bar No. 1388 N.C. State Bar No. 21752

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

THIS IS TO CERTIFY that a copy of this Response to
Petition for Discretionary Review has this day been
served upon the Plaintiff-Petitioner by mailing a copy of
the same to his Counsel of Record, Robert E. Fuller, Jr.,
sent in the United States mail, postpaid to his address,
P.O. Box 1121, Goldsboro, NC 27533-1121, this the 10th
day of January, 1996.

EVERETT, WOMBLE,
FINAN & RIDDLE

/s/ Stacey L. Fuller
Attorney for Respondents
P. O. Drawer 10809
Goldsboro, NC 27532-0809
(919) 778-6707
N.C. State Bar No.: 21752

ee

App. 22

Goldsboro Code of Ordinances § 25-35. Permit revocation.

All permits to connect with the city water and sewer
systems shall be given up¢n the condition that the city
engineer may at any time, befeve the completion of the
connection, revoke and annul the permit when the work
is not being properly executed. No party interested shall
have a claim for damage in consequence of such permit
being revoked or annulled. (Ord. No. 1982-47, § 2,
10-4-82)

Goldsboro Code of Ordinances § 25-35

App. 23

Goldsboro Code of Ordinances § 25-37. City engineer to
grant permit, cause service lines to be laid; ownership of
service lines; revocation of permit, etc.

The city engineer may grant such permit and shall cause
suitable water service lines to be laid from the main water
line to and including the curb stop, which shall be located
near the abutting property line, and be provided with a
suitable meter box. Ownership of the service line from
main line to meter box lines with the property owners.
The work of furnishing and laying the line up to and
including the curb stop shall be performed by the city
maintenance superintendent and paid for in advance by
the property owner, including replacement tap. The
applicant shall furnish and lay the balance of the water
service line at his own expense, subject, however, to the
supervision and director of the plumbing inspector. Such
water service lines shall be laid to the depth of the
bottom of the main water line, unless otherwise permit-
ted by the plumbing inspector, and shall, when required
by the city, be covered with at least eighteen (18) inches
of some approved material to protect the water service
line from frost. All water and sewer service lines shall be
as specified in the North Carolina Plumbing Code, Vol-
ume II, and as approved by the plumbing inspector.
Backflow prevention devices shall be installed where
directed by the plumbing inspector. If the applicant, in
putting in any service lines from the property line to his
Structure, disregards the director of the city engineer,
maintenance superintendent or plumbing inspector in
any particular, the permit granted for the use of water

App. 24

may be revoked by the city engineer and the tap fee
forfeited to the city. (Ord. No. 1982-47, § 2, 10-4-82)

Goldsboro Code of Ordinances § 25-37.

App. 25

N.C.G.S. § 143-139 Enforcement of Building Code

(a) Procedural Requirements. — Subject to the provi-
sions set forth herein, the Building Code Council shall
adopt such procedural requirements in the North Caro-
lina State Building Code as shall appear reasonably nec-
essary for adequate enforcement of the Code while
safeguarding the rights of persons subject to the Code.

(b) General Building Regulations. - The Insurance
Commissioner shall have general supervision, through
the Division of Engineering of the Department of Insur-
ance of the administration and enforcement of all sections
of the North Carolina State Building code pertaining to
plumbing, electrical systems, general building restrictions
and regulations, heating and air conditioning, fire protec-
tion, and the construction of buildings generally, except
those sections of the Code, the enforcement of which is
specifically allocated to other agencies by subsections (c)
and (d) below. The Insurance Commissioner by means of
the Division of Engineering, shall exercise his duties in
the enforcement of the North Carolina State Building
Code (including local building codes which have super-
seded the State Building Code in a particular political
subdivision pursuant to G.S. 143-138(e)) in cooperation
with local officials and local inspectors duly appointed by
the governing body of any’ municipality or board of
county commissioners pursuant to Part 5 of Article 19 of
Chapter 160A of the General Statutes or Part 4 of Article
18 of Chapter 153A of the General Statutes, or other
applicable statutory authority.

(b1) Remedies. — In case any building or structure is
maintained, erected, constructed, or reconstructed or its

App. 26

purpose altered, so that it becomes in violation of this
Article or of the North Carolina State Building Code,
either the local enforcement officer or the State Commis-
sioner of Insurance or other State official with respon-
sibility under this section may, in addition to other
remedies, institute any appropriate action or proceeding
to: (i) prevent the unlawful maintenance, erection, con-
struction, or reconstruction or alteration of purpose, or
overcrowding, (ii) restrain, correct, or abate the violation,
or (iii) prevent the occupancy or use of the building,
structure, or land until the violation is corrected. In addi-
tion to the civil remedies set out in G.S. 160A-175 and
G.S. 153A-123, a county, city, or other political subdivi-
sion authorized to enforce the North Carolina Building
Code within its jurisdiction may, for the purposes states
in (i) through (iii) of this subsection, levy a civil penalty
for violation of the fire prevention code of the North
Carolina State Building Code, which penalty may be
recovered in a civil action in the nature of debt if the
offender does not pay the penalty within a prescribed
period to time after the offender has been cited for the
violation. If the Commissioner or other State official insti-
tutes an action or proceeding under this section, a county,
city or other political subdivision may not institute a civil
action under this section based upon the same violation.
Appeals from the imposition of any remedy set forth
herein, including the imposition of a civil penalty by a
county, city, or other political subdivision, shall be as
provided in G.S. 160A-434.

(c) Boilers. - The Bureau of Boiler Inspection of the
Department of Labor shall have general supervision of
the administration and enforcement of those sections of

App. 27

the North Carolina State Building Code which pertain to
boilers of the types enumerated in Article 7 of Chapter 95
of the General Statutes.

(d) Elevators. - The Department of Labor shall have
general supervision of the administration and enforce-
ment of those sections of the North Carolina State Build-
ing Code which pertain to elevators, moving stairways,
and amusement devices such as merry-go-rounds, roller
coasters, Ferris wheels, etc. (1957, c. 1138; 1963, c. 811;
1989, c. 681, s. 11; 1993, c. 329, s. 2.)

N.C.G.S. § 143-139

N.C.G.S. § 160A-174. General ordinance — making power.

(a) A city may by ordinance define, prohibit, regu-
late, or abate acts, omissions, or conditions, detrimental
to the health, safety, or welfare of its citizens and the
peace and dignity of the city, and may define and abate

App. 28

nuisances.

(b) A city ordinance shall be consistent with the
Constitution and laws of North Carolina and the United
States. An ordinance is not consistent with State or fed-

eral laws when:

(1)

(2)

(3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

The ordinance infringes a liberty guaran-
teed to the people by the State or federal
Constitution;

The ordinance makes unlawful an act,
omission or condition which is expressly
made lawful by State or federal law;

The ordinance makes lawful an act, omis-
sion, or condition which is expressly made
unlawful by State or federal law;

The ordinance purports to regulate a sub-
ject that cites [sic] are expressly forbidden
to regulate by State or federal law;

The ordinance purports to regulate a field
for which a State or federal statute clearly
shows a legislative intent to provide a com-
plete and integrated regulatory scheme to
the exclusion of local regulation;

The elements of an offense defined by a city
ordinance are identical to the elements of
an offense defined by State or federal law.

App. 29

The fact that a State or federal law, standing along, [sic]
makes a given act, omission, or condition unlawful shall
not preclude city ordinances requiring a higher standard
of conduct or condition. (1971, c. 698, s. 1.)

N.C.G.S. § 160A-174

App. 30

N.C.G.S. § 160A-311. Public enterprise defined.

As used in this Article, the term “public enterprise”

includes:

(1) Electric power generation, transmission, and distri-
bution systems;

(2) Water supply and distribution systems;

(3) Wastewater collection, treatment, and disposal sys-
tems of all types, including septic tank systems or
other on-site collection or disposal facilities or sys-
tems;

(4) Gas production, storage, transmission, and distribu-
tion systems, where systems shall also include the
purchase and/or lease of natural gas fields and natu-
ral gas reserves, the purchase of natural gas sup-
plies, and the surveying, drilling and any other
activities related to the exploration for natural gas,
whether within the State or without;

(5) Public transportation systems;

(6) Solid waste collection and disposal systems and
facilities;

(7) Cable television systems;

(8) Off-street parking facilities and systems;

(9) Airports;

(10) Structural and natural stormwater and drainage sys-

tems of all types. (1971, c. 698, s. 1; 1975, c. 549, s. 2;
c. 821, s. 3; 1977, c. 514, s. 2; 1979, c. 619, s. 2; 1989, c.
643, s. 5; 1991 (Reg. Sess., 1992), c. 944, s. 14.)

N.C.G.S. § 160A-311

App. 31

N.C.G.S. § 160A-312. Authority to operate public enterprises.

(a) Acity shall have authority to acquire, construct,
establish, enlarge, improve, maintain, own, operate, and
contract for the operation of any or all of the public
enterprises as defined in this Article to furnish services to
the city and its citizens. Subject to Part 2 of this Article, a
city may acquire, construct, establish, enlarge, improve,
maintain, own, and operate any public enterprise outside
its corporate limits, within reasonable limitations, but in
no case shall a city by [sic] held liable for damages to
those outside the corporate limits for failure to furnish
any public enterprise service.

(b) A city shall have full authority to protect and
regulate any public enterprise system belonging to or
operated by it by adequate and reasonable rules. The
rules shall be adopted by ordinance, shall apply to the
public enterprise system both within and outside the
corporate limits of the city, and may be enforced with the
remedies available under any provision of law.

(c) A city may operate that part of a gas system
involving the purchase and/or lease or natural gas fields,
natural gas reserves and natural gas supplies and the
surveying, drilling or any other activities related to the
exploration for natural gas, in a partnership or joint ven-
ture arrangement with natural gas utilities and private
enterprise. (1971, c. 698, s. 1; 1973, c. 426, s. 51; 1975, c.
821, s. 5; 1979, 2nd Sess., c. 1247, s. 29; 1991 (Reg. Sess.,
1992), c. 836, s. 1.)

N.C.G.S. § 160A-312

App. 32

N.C.G.S. § 160A-411. Inspection Department.

Every city in the State is hereby authorized to create
an inspection department, and may appoint one or more
inspectors who may be given the titles of building inspec-
tor, electrical inspector, plumbing inspector, housing
inspector, zoning inspector, heating and air-conditioning
inspector, five [sic] prevention inspector, or deputy or
assistant inspector, or such other titles as may be gener-
ally descriptive of the duties assigned. The department
may be headed by a superintendent or director of inspec-
tions. Every city shall perform the duties and respon-
sibilities set forth in G.S. 160A-412 either by: (I) creating
its own inspection department; (ii) creating a joint inspec-
tion department in cooperation with one or more other
units of local government, pursuant to G.S. 106A-413 or
Part 1 of Article 20 of this Chapter; (iii) contracting with
another unit of local government for the provision of
inspection services pursuant to Part 1 of Article 20 of this
Chapter; or (iv) arranging for the county in which it is
located to perform inspection services within the city’s
jurisdiction as authorized by G.S. 160A-413 and GS.
160A-360. Such action shall be taken no later than the
applicable date in the schedule below, according to the
city’s population as published in the 1970 United States
Census:

Cities over 75,000 population - July 1, 1979
Cities between 50,001 and 75,000 - July 1, 1981

Cities between 25,001 and 50,000 - July 1, 1983

Cities 25,000 and under - July 1, 1985.

App. 33

In the event that any city shall fail to provide inspec-
tion services by the date specified above or shall cease to
provide such services at any time thereafter, the Commis-
sioner of Insurance shall arrange for the provision of such
services, either through personnel employed by his
department or through an arrangement with other units
of government. In either event, the Commissioner shall
have any [sic] may exercise within the city’s jurisdiction
all powers made available to the city council with respect
to building inspection ander Part 5 of Article 19, and Part
1 of Article 20 of this Chapter. Whenever the Commis-
sioner has intervened in this manner, the city may assume
provision of inspection services only after giving the
Commissioner two years’ written notice of its intention to
do so; provided, however, that the Commissioner may
waive this requirement or permit assumption at an earlier
date if he finds that such earlier assumption will not
unduly interfere with arrangements he has made for the
provision of those services. (1969, c. 1065, s. 1; 1971, c.
998, s. 1; 1977, c. 531, s. 5.)

N.C.G.S. § 160A-411

App. 34

North Carolina State Plumbing Code (1991)
Chapter 8: Interceptors, Separators and Backwater Valves
§ 801.1 When Required

Interceptors or separators shall be provided when, in the
opinion of the Plumbing Official, they are necessary for
the proper handling of wastes containing ingredients
harmful to the building drainage system, the public
sewer, or sewage treatment plant or processes.

§ 801.4 Grease Interceptors

A grease interceptor shall be installed in the waste line
leading from sinks, drains or other fixtures in the follow-
ing establishments when, in the opinion of the Plumbing
Official, a hazard exists; restaurants, hotel kitchens or
bars, factory cafeterias or restaurants, clubs, or other uses
where grease can be introduced into the drainage system
in quantities that can affect line stoppage or hinder sew-
age disposal.

North Carolina Plumbing Code, Volume 2, Ch. 8, §§ 801.1,
801.4 (1991)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_1508%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
