# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Protect Key West, Inc. v. Perry

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_1293%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 511 U.S. 1141

## Text

931363 MAR 119%

Ober te VF jae we

No.

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1993

PROTECT KEY WEST, INC., a Florida Not-for-Profit
Corporation, d/b/a Last Stand,

Petitioner,
vs.

LES ASPIN, SECRETARY OF DEFENSE OF THE
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, LAWRENCE H.
GARRETT, III, AS SECRETARY OF THE NAVY,
FRANK B. KELSO, ADMIRAL, AS CHIEF OF NAVAL
OPERATIONS, UNITED STATES NAVY,

Respondents.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court
of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JOEL H. SACHS
Counsel of Record
KEANE & BEANE, P.C.
Attorneys for Petitioners
1 North Broadway
White Plains, New York 10601
(914) 946-4777

\' \

|
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Is 28 U.S.C. 8 2412(d)(. (B) jurisdictional in nature,
so that a party seeking an award of fees and other
expenses need not appeal a District Court's denial of
costs and attorneys’ fees which was made prior to the
filing of any fee application under 28 U.S.C. § 2412
(d)(1)(B)?

2. Is it reversible error to deny a fee application under
28 U.S.C. 8 2412 (d)(1)(A) and 28 U.S.C. 8 2412 (d)(1)(B)
where the District Court has found the agency's actions,
despite a theory of “cure,” violated federal law?

aii

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

SPRUNG PING bik vnicictiiiciteticeie i
PRT CD | hisistiiteesiineeee ii
fa NTE TE REIL Me eS iii
NN TUE i sikcisattsicinntes tate areas 2
Statement Of FtasiWictiaes ...0cesccccsecescesccacnecccceccescessacess 2
OEE III eiiesitccicscrsccratecictenioeriaee ee 2
SPORTS OT GN CW asi iscicavincctcdechsserasickeateeies cue 2
Reasons For Granting The Writ ...............cccccccceeeeeeeeess 5
A. Timeliness of the Appeals .................ccccccosecessees 5

B. Substantial Justification ..........00....cceccceeeeeceeeees 8
IIE oc.oviccocneshinsibusducrdandniammes ce 10

iii

TABLE OF CITATIONS
Cases Cited: page

Action on Smoking and Health v. C.A.B.,
724 F.2d 211 (D.C.Cir. 1984) .........cceeeeeceeeeeeeeeeeeees 6

Allen v. Secretary of Health & Human Services,
781 F.2d 92 (6th Cir. 1986) ............ceeceseeeeereeeeeeee ees 6

Brock v. Writers Guild of America, West, Inc.,
762 F.2d 1349 (9th Cir. 1985) ........... cece eee wees 6, 7

Clifton v. Heckler,
ee , RUDEIIDD covcceseveccovccceseneseossees 6

Commissioner, I.N.S. v. Jean,
Sn cpanecadecorenececonets 8

Damato v. Sullivan,
Sy ee EE CUE COE, REE) vccccccecccccccccesececesconcess 6

James v. U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Develop.,
783 F.2d 997 (11th Cir. 1986)............. cc ceeeeeeeeee sees 7

Myers v. Sullivan,
916 F.2d 659 (11th Cir. 1990)...............ceeeeee eee 6, 7

Olson v. Norman,
CORD, BOMEED cccccocccscncevccsvecceseesseuss 6

Pierce v. Underwood,
3. ccnepuscesuseccodusesecerecen 8

page

Rawlins v. United States,

ee A en 6
Skip Kirchdorfer, Inc. v. United States,

Ue Fe FOB COA, Be acssciinvciesncsscccsecocssiecsve: 7
Statutes Cited:
28 U.S.C. A. § 1254(1) (West 1903)......cccccccccccccccccccccee 2
SS U.S.C. A. & 1SS1 (WSR LGC) cceccccesseveecescccsseseces 2.3
28 U.S.C. A. § 2412 (West Supp. 1992) ...................0.. 2
28 U.S.C. A. § 2412(d)(1)(A) (West Supp. 1992) ........... 5
28 U.S.C. A. 8 2412(d)(1)(B) (West Supp. 1992)... 3, 5, 6
28 U.S.C. A. § 2412(d)(2)(D) (West Supp. 1992)........... 5
42 U.S.C. A. § 4331 et seq. (West 1977)................00000 9

iv

APPENDIX

Review Sought: page

Judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Eleventh Circuit Filed December 1, 1993 ...... la

Order of the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Florida Filed August 13,

Order of the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Florida Filed May 26,

Other:
Order of the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Florida Filed April 10,

Opinion and Order of the United States District
Court for the Southern District of Florida
i OE EE, BEE vidctiiddiedtsedscdinepcstsbbesivencavesaces 9a

Demand for Relief from Petitioner's Complaint
Fidel Frame 4. 1GG1 .ncccccccsccscccccescocssevrsesvesscesscesens 40a

Defendants’ Motion for Amendment of March 30
Order Filed April 9, 1993............ sccccereesesscssesseees 4la

Pertinent text of 28 U.S.C. A. § 2412 (West Supp.
GOED ciccevccevosicceseccestecncucnsddasvesstecioaniaresevinedsanendes 45a

No.

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1993

PROTECT KEY WEST, INC., a Florida Not-for-Profit
Corporation, d/b/a Last Stand,

Petitioner,
vs.

LES ASPIN, SECRETARY OF DEFENSE OF THE
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, LAWRENCE H.
GARRETT, III, AS SECRETARY OF THE NAVY,
FRANK B. KELSO, ADMIRAL, AS CHIEF OF NAVAL
OPERATIONS, UNITED STATES NAVY,

Respondents.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court
of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States District Court,
Southern District of Florida, in favor of Petitioner but
denying costs and attorneys’ fees, is reported at 795
F.Supp. 1552 (S.D.Fla. 1992).

The decisions of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit, affirming without opinion, are
reported at 11 F.3d 166 (11th Cir. 1993).

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit was entered on December 1,
1993. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. A. § 1254(1) (West 1993).

STATUTE INVOLVED

28 U.S.C. A. § 2412 (West Supp. 1992). The
pertinent text of the statute is set forth in the appendix
beginning at page 45a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner is a non-profit environmental organization
with approximately 600 members, located in Key West,
Florida. Petitioner filed suit against Respondents,
alleging violations of federal environmental law. The
United States District Court for the Southern District of

Florida had jurisdiction over the merits of the litigation
pursuant to the federal question statute, 28 U.S.C. A. §

4
4
I
t
‘
:
7
3
:

en See Sees

3

1331 (West 1993). Petitioner's suit demanded, inter alia,
“costs of [the] action, including ‘attorneys’ fees.” (A.40).

After a hearing, the District Court, on March 30,
1992, ordered and adjudged, inter alia, that
Respondents had violated federal environmental law,
that a permanent injunction should issue against
Respondents, and that “each party shall bear its own
cost and attorneys’ fees of this litigation, as Defendants’
litigation position was substantially justified.” (A.38).
Respondents subsequently moved for an “Amendment”
of the judgment. (A.41). The motion was granted ex
parte. (A.7). No appeal was taken from the District
Court's judgment, filed March 30, 1992, or from the
order amending the judgment, filed April 10, 1992.

Subsequent to the judgment’s amendment, Petitioner
timely filed, on May 14, 1992, an application for fees
and other expenses pursuant to 28 U.S.C. A. § 2412
(d)(1)('B) (West 1992) for the first time. After
Respondents filed an opposition to the application, the
District Court denied the application, reasoning that
“(bly order dated March 30, 1992, the Court found that
the defendant's [sic] litigation position was substantially
justified.” (A.5). Petitioner, on July 23, 1992, timely
filed an appeal to the United States Court of Appeals for
the Eleventh Circuit from the District Court's order
denying the application.

Petitioner then filed a motion with the District Court
seeking, inter alia, relief from the order denying the
application. After Respondents filed an opposition to the
motion, the District Court, on August 13, 1992, denied
the requested relief, reasoning “(t]he government's

es fe ee ere em ee

EL AS SO |

. |

theory of ‘cure,’ although ultimately rejected by this
Court, had a reasonable basis in law and fact.” (A.3).
Petitioner, on August 31, 1992, timely filed an appeal to
the United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh
Circuit from the District Court's order denying relief.

Respondents, on appeal, raised two issues which are
pertinent to this Petition:

1) Whether the notices of appeal, filed
more than 60-days after the District
Court's final judgment, as amended, gave
the appellate court jurisdiction over the
merits of the denial of the application?

2) Whether the District Court abused its
discretion in concluding that the position
of the Respondents was “substantially
justified” within the meaning of 28 U.S.C. 8
2412?

Without opinion, the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit affirmed the District Court's
denial of the application and the District Court's refusal
to grant relief from the denial. (A.1).

|
4
:
;

EE SL TE Se a seme Pes mm ee Pe se

5

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT HAS RENDERED A
DECISION IN THIS MATTER WHICH IS N CONFLICT
WITH DECISIONS OF OTHER UNITED STATES
COURTS OF APPEAL ON THE SAME MATTER,
WHICH CALLS FOR AN EXERCISE OF THIS COURT'S
POWER OF SUPERVISION. FURTHER, THE
DECISION HAS DECIDED A FEDERAL QUESTION IN
A WAY THAT CONFLICTS WITH APPLICABLE
DECISIONS OF THIS COURT.

A. Timeliness of the Appeals

No application under 28 U.S.C. § 2412(d)(1)(B) was
made prior to the District Court's judgment on March
30, 1992, denying costs and attorneys’ fees.
Consequently, the court did not have before it the
information required by the statute, which mandates a
showing that Petitioner was “eligible to receive an
award”; the amount sought, supported by an itemized
statement; and an allegation that the position of the
United States was not substantially justified. See 28
U.S.C.A. § 2412(d)(1)(B) (West Supp. 1992).

The District Court's judgment did not mention 28
U.S.C. § 2412(d)(1)(B), nor did its reasoning comply with
the statute's requirement that fees and other expenses
be awarded unless both the government's litigation
position and the agency's action were substantially
justified. See 28 U.S.C. A. § 2412(d)(1)(A) (West Supp.
1992) and 28 U.S.C. A. § 2412(d)\(2)(D) (West Supp.
1992).

The Petitioner did not view the District Court's
judgments of March 30, 1992 and April 10, 1992,
rendered prior to any fee applice!‘on, as determinative of
the issue of fees and other expenses under 28 U.S.C. A.
§ 2412(d)(1)(B) (West Supp. 1992). Rather, in
Petitioner's view, the judgments’ denial related only to
the general request in the Complaint’s demand; no
appeal on the issue of denial of fees under 28 U.S.C. A. 8
2412(d)(1)(B) (West Supp. 1992) was possible. This view
in supported by cases citing a District Court's lack of
subject matter jurisdiction prior to a timely fee
application.

Several United States courts of appeal have held that
a court lacks subject matter jurisdiction where it
attempts to grant an award of fees under 28 U.S.C. 8
2412(d)(1)(B) absent a timely application. The Fifth
Circuit has held “that the statutory time limitation, as
an integral condition of the sovereign’s consent to be
sued, is a jurisdictional prerequisite to an award of
fees...” Clifton v. Heckler, 755 F.2d 1138, 1144-45 (Sth
Cir. 1985)(footnote omitted). Accord Allen v. Secretary of
Health & Human Services, 781 F.2d 92, 94-5 (6th Cir.
1986); Damato v. Sullivan, 945 F.2d 982, 986 (7th Cir.
1991); Olson v. Norman, 830 F.2d 811, 821 (8th Cir.
1987); Brock v. Writers Guild of America, West, Inc., 762
F.2d 1349, 1360 (9th Cir. 1985); Myers v. Sullivan, 916
F.2d 659, 666 (11th Cir. 1990); Action on Smoking and
Health v. C.A.B., 724 F.2d 211, 225 (D.C.Cir. 1984);
Rawlins v. United States, 686 F.2d 903, 914 (Ct.Cl.
1982).

a

na ath DNL a ETRE SAM NS ok

7

The Ninth Circuit has held that a district court's sua
sponte award of fees was reversible error. Brock, 762
F.2d at 1359-60. The court reasoned that “[slection
2412(d)(1)(B) plainly states that the filing of an
application for fees is a prerequisite to a fee award.” Id.
at 1360.

The Federal Circuit has characterized 28 U.S.C. 8
2412(d)(1)(B) as other than jurisdictional, characterizing
the thirty day period as “a ‘statute of limitations’ against
fee awards.” Skip Kirchdorfer, Inc. v. United States, 803
F.2d 711, 712 (Fed.Cir. 1986). The characterization is
echoed in James v. U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban
Develop., 783 F.2d 997, 999 (11th Cir. 1986)(“The thirty-
day time limit for filing a fee application should serve as
a statute of limitations, not as a trap for the unwary.”).

If the Eleventh Circuit here viewed the District
Court's denial of a general request for costs and
attorneys’ fees as determinative of the issue of all fees
and costs, including those under 28 U.S.C. 8
2412(d)(1)(B), so that the District Court's judgment must
be appealed, the decision is surely a “trap for the
unwary.” But see Myers, 916 F.2d at 668 (requirement
not designed as a trap for the unwary)(citing James, 783
F.2d at 999). Such a view of the District Court's denial
of a general cost and fee demand would also counter
Congressional intent that the filing requirement of 28
U.S.C. § 2412(d)(1)(B) be interpreted broadly to prevent
unwarranted denial of fees. Myers, 916 F.2d at 671.

Where, as here, a statute mandates an application
prior to a grant, applicants are denied the benefits
Congress intended if courts can validly deny the grant

8

absent an application and without reference to the
statute. Under the reasoning affirmed by the Eleventh
Circuit, Petitioner would be forced to appeal any general
denial, although the lower court lacked any subject
matter jurisdiction over a potential application neither
referenced in a demand nor mentioned in the denial.
Likewise, a potential applicant would be forced to appeal
a sua sponte award made under other federal statutes
which allow awards of fees and costs, if the amount
awarded did not meet or exceed the potential applicant's
estimation of the amount which could be claimed under
28 U.S.C. § 2412(d)(1)(B).

Granting of the writ would thus aid applicants under
28 U.S.C. § 2412(d)(1)(B) and the courts of appeal by
defining the nature and requirements of the statute.

B. Substantial Justification
\

The District Court's orders denying Petitioner's
application are contrary to this Court's decision in
Commissioner, I.N.S. v. Jean, 496 U.S. 154 (1990).
There, this Court stated that 28 U.S.C. § 2412 (d)(1)(B)
“directs a court to determine whether the Government's
past position was substantially justified ‘on the basis of
the record (including the record with respect to the action
or failure to act by the agency upon which the civil action
is based)...” Commissioner, I.N.S., 496 U.S. at 159-60
(emphases added)(citation omitted). The decisions are
also contrary to Pierce v. Underwood, 487 U.S. 552, 566
n.2 (1988)(substantial justification is such that “a
reasonable person could think...it has a reasonable
basis in law and fact.”).

3 lit Scant she wits eRe

a Pt PN ASAP AIO tots MS ee Dos * in wT

9

The District Court's judgment belies any assertion
that the agency's actions were substantially justified
under 28 U.S.C. § 2412(d)(1)(A) and 28 U.S.C. §&
2412(d\(2\(D). The District Court found that the agency
action was “wholly inadequate” under the National
Environmental Policy Act, 42 U.S.C. A. § 4331 et seq.
(West 1977) (“NEPA”) when compared “with what is
required by law...” (A.26). Further, the agency action
“fails to meet the requirements of NEPA.” (A.27). The
court also concluded that the Respondents’ “theory of
‘cure’ in this case would violate the letter and spirit of
NEPA.” (A.31). Accordingly, the District Court issued a
permanent injunction against the Respondents.

Thus, the District Court’s denial of Petitioner's
application because “the government's theory of ‘cure,’
although ultimately rejected by this Court, had a
reasonable basis in law and fact” is in direct conflict
with Pierce. If the Eleventh Circuit affirmance was
based on Respondents being substantially justified, it is,
given the District Court's findings, clearly in conflict
with the decisions in Jean and Pierce.

Granting of the writ would therefore allow this Court
to reaffirm the requirement that a substantially justified
litigation position alone is not sufficient for a denial
under 28 U.S.C. § 2412(d). Granting of the writ would

also allow this Court to decide whether an agency action .

which is found to violate federal law is, per se, not
substantially justified.

10

CONCLUSION

Granting of the writ would clarify for the United
States courts of appeal whether 28 U.S.C. §&
2412(d)(1)(B) is jurisdictional in nature or is simply a
“statute of limitations” to be rigidly enforced. Granting
of the writ would allow the Court to affirm Plerce and
Jean, while further defining “a reasonable basis in law
and fact”.

Respectfully submitted,

Beck }. Sache.

JOEL H. SACHS
Counsel of Record
KEANE & BEANE, P.C.
Attorneys for Petitioners
1 North Broadway
White Plains, New York 10601
(914) 946-4777

Dated: February 25, 1994

la
[DO NOT PUBLISH]

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 92-4707, 92-4839

D.C. Docket No. 91-10054-Civ-JLK

PROTECT KEY WEST, INC., A Florida
NOT-FOR-PROFIT CORPORATION, d/b/a
LAST STAND,

PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT,
VERSUS
LES ASPIN, SECRETARY OF DEFENSE OF THE
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, LAWRENCE H.
GARRETT, III, AS SECRETARY OF THE NAVY,
FRANK B. KELSO, ADMIRAL, AS CHIEF OF
NAVAL OPERATIONS, UNITED STATES NAVY,

DEFENDANTS-APPELLEES.

Appeals From The United States District Court
for the Southern District of Florida

(December 1, 1993)

Before FAY, Circuit Judge, DYER and REAVLEY*, Senior
Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM: AFFIRMED. See 11th Cir. Rule 36-1.

* Honorable Thomas M. Reaviey, Senior U.S. Circuit Judge for the
Fifth Circuit, sitting by designation.

2a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

CASE NO. 91-10054-CIV-KING

Protect Key West, Inc.,
a Florida Not-for-Profit
Corporation, d/b/a
LAST STAND

Plaintiff,

V.

RICHARD CHENEY, Secretary of Defense
of the United States of America,

H. LAWRENCE GARRENT III, as
Secretary of the Navy, and ADMIRAL
FRANK B. KELSO, as Chief of Naval
Operations, United States Navy,

Defendants.

OMNIBUS ORDER ON PLAINTIFF'S MOTION
FOR RECONSIDERATION

THIS CAUSE comes before the Court on Plaintiffs
“Motion to Amend Application for Fees and Other
Expenses under the Equal Access to Justice Act and
Motion for Relief from Order Denying Plaintiffs
Application for Attorneys’ Fees” and “Motion for Leave to
Proceed on Appeal in Forma Pauperis.” Upon

3a

consideration, the Court hereby ORDERS AND
ADJUDGES:

1. Plaintiffs Motion to Amend be and the same
hereby is GRANTED. Plaintiffs Application for Fees and
Other Expenses Under the Equal Access to Justice Act,
filed May 14, 1992, is deemed amended for all proper
purposes to include a cost of transcripts in the amount
of $739.00.

2. Plaintiffs renewed motion for reconsideration of
this Court's order denying attorneys’ fees under the
Equal Access to Justice Act be and the same hereby is
DENIED. As set out in two previous Orders, the
government's position was substantially justified in
these proceedings. The government's theory of “cure,”
although ultimately rejected by this Court, had a
reasonable basis in law and fact. Plaintiff shall have ten
(10) days from the date of this Order to file a notice of
appeal, pursuant to Fed. R. App. P. 4.

3. Plaintiffs motion for leave to proceed on appeal in
forma pauperis be and the same hereby is GRANTED
pursuant to Fed. R. App. P. 24. The Court has reviewed
the affidavit of Anthony R. Marchione, Treasurer of
Protect Key West, Inc., and finds that the plaintiff
organization has a negative net worth. Plaintiff has no
property or other assets, and gets no income from sales.
Therefore, Plaintiff is entitled to proceed in forma
pauperis under the appellate rules.

4a

DONE and ORDERED in chambers at the United
Stated District Courthouse, Federal Courthouse Square,
Miami, Florida, on this 13th day August, 1992.

JAMES LAWRENCE KING
U.S. DISTRICT JUDGE
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

cc: Teresa Davenport, AUSA
Pauline H. Milius, Esq.
Joel Sachs, Esq.
Leonard Sands, Esq.
Herbert Walker, Esq.

5a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

CASE NO. 91-10054-CIV-KING

PROTECT KEY WEST, INC.., et al.,

Plaintiff,

V.

RICAHRD CHENEY, et al.,

Defendant.

ORDER DENYING PLAINTIFFS’ APPLICATION FOR
ATTORNEYS" FEES
This cause came before the court upon plaintiffs

application for attorneys’ fees.

By order dated March 30, 1992, the Court found that
defendant's litigation position was substantially
justified. It is therefore

ORKDERED, ADJUDGED and DECREED that the
instant application for attorneys’ fees be, and the same
is hereby, DENIED.

6a

DONE and ORDERED in chambers at the United
States District Courthouse, Federal Courthouse Square,
Miami, Florida, this 26th day of May, 1992.

JAMES LAWRENCE. KING
U.S. DISTRICT JUDGE
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

cc: Teresa Davenport, AUSA
Pauline H. Milius, Esq.
Richard Eddy, Esq.
Joel Sachs, Esq.
Leonard Sands, Esq.

7a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

CASE NO. 91-10054-CIV-KING

PROTECT KEY WEST, INC..,
a Florida Not-for-Profit
Corporation, d/b/a

LAST STAND

Plaintiff,
v.

RICHARD CHENEY, Secretary of Defense
of the United States of America,
et al.,

Defendants.

/

ORDER OF CLARIFICATION

THIS CAUSE came before the Court on Defendants’
Motion for Amendment of this Court's Order of March
30, 1992.

Upon consideration, the Motion is hereby GRANTED
in part. The final sentence on page four is amended to
state, “The Court finds that this project, known as Peary
Court, is a major federal action.”

8a

DONE and ORDERED in chambers at the United
States District Courthouse, Federal Courthouse Square,
Miami, Florida, on this 10th day of April, 1992.

JAMES LAWRENCE KING
U.S. DISTRICT JUDGE
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

ce:

ALL COUNSEL OF RECORD

9a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

CASE NO. 91-10054-CIV-KING

PROTECT KEY WEST, INC.,
a Florida Not-for-Profit
Corporation, d/b/a

LAST STAND

Plaintiff,

V.

RICHARD CHENEY, Secretary of Defense
of the United States of America,

H. LAWRENCE GARRETT III, as
Secretary of the Navy, and ADMIRAL
FRANK B. KELSO, as Chief of Naval
Operations, United States Navy,

Defendants.
/

OPINION, ORDER OF REMAND, ORDER OF
INJUNCTION, AND FINAL ORDER OF DISMISSAL
WITH JURISDICTION RETAINED TO ENFORCE

THIS CASE was tried, by agreement of the parties
and pursuant to Fed. R. Civ., P. 65 (a)(2), on March 12,
1992 in a non-jury final hearing on all issues. This
Memorandum Opinion, incorporating findings of fact
and conclusions of law and final decree, is entered after

10a

careful consideration of the record, the evidence
introduced during the trial, the oral argument of
counsel, and the briefs of the parties.

Plaintiff Protect Key West, Inc., d/b/a Last Stand
("Protect Key West") filed this action on June 4, 1991,
against Defendants Richard Cheney, Secretary of
Defense of the United States of America; H. Lawrence
Garrote III, as Secretary of the Navy; and Admiral Frank
B. Kelso, as Chief of Naval Operations, United States
Navy. The Complaint alleged that the Defendants had
violated the National Environmental Protection Act
("NEPA"), 42 U.S.C. 88 4321 et seq.; regulations of the
Councii on Environmental! Equality ("CEQ") for
implementing NEPA, 40 C.F.R Part 1500 et seq.;
regulations of the United States Department of Defense
for implementing NEPA, 32 C.F.R. Part 214; regulations
of the United States Department of the Navy for
implementing NEPA, 32 C.F.R Part 774; and the Federal
Coastal Zone Management Act of 1982 ("CZMA"), 16
U.S.C. 88 1451 et seq. The Complaint sought an
injunction against the further governmental action until
the Navy complied in full with the regulations set out
above.

The alleged violations center around the Navy's
preparation of an Environmental Assessment ("EA")
dated September, 1988 for a housing project known as
Peary Court, located in the City of Key West, Florida (the
"City"). Plaintiff contends that the EA, the Finding of No
Significant Impact ("FONSI") published in a City
newspaper on February 6 through 8, 1989, and the
Navy's decision-to build on Peary Court violate the letter
and spirit of NEPA, regulations implementing NEPA and

3
q
j

lla

CZMA. The Navy answers that all of its actions and
decisions are in full compliance with federal law.

On December 17, 1991, Plaintiff filed a motion for
preliminary injunction. By order dated December 19,
1991, this Court referred the motion to Magistrate
Judge Stephen T. Brown for a Report and
Recommendation. After an evidentiary hearing on the
motion on February 6 and 7, 1992, Magistrate Judge
Brown recommended denial of preliminary injunctive
relief on February 25, 1992. Plaintiff subsequently
moved for a temporary restraining order ("TRO"), alleging
that "mobilization" was commencing and construction
imminent. This Court granted the TRO on March 6, and
set a trial on the merits for March 12, 1992.

At the trial, the parties introduced documentary
evidence, including the administrative record ("AR"), and
record from the hearing held by Magistrate Judge
Brown. The Court heard from Dennis Wardlow, Mayor
of the City of Key West, as amicus curiae in his personal
capacity.

FINDINGS OF FACT

I. BACKGROUND

At issue in this cause is the construction of 160
homes for military personnel on Peary Court, a 28.65-
acre parcel of land located in Key West, Florida. (AR 11)
It is a part of the Trumbo Point Naval Air Station
situated east of White Street and south of Palm Avenue,
across from the main entrance to Trumbo Annex.

12a

Although not included in the City's Historic District, the
property abuts the District on two sides. (AR 45, 125)

The site was used as United States Army barracks
for approximately 120 years, from 1831 to 1951. (AR
180) In 1951 the barracks were demolished and
housing for Navy personnel was constructed on the site
("Wherry Housing"). In 1974, Wherry Housing was
demolished and most of the site was cleared, with the
exception of the streets and some concrete foundations.
(AR 63) The land is currently vacant except for a small
Credit Union building which occupies 0.8 acres. (AR 8)

From 1974 through 1985, Naval Air Station Key West
("NAS Key West") granted the City a series of one-year
leases. In 1985, the Navy granted the City a five-year
lease. (AR 8, 63,114) The City utilized the propérty
primarily for recreational purposes, constructing a
central ballfield on the property shortly after obtaining
the license and a smaller ballfield several years later.
(AR 63) In addition, the City requested and was given
permission to use the site for a recycling center, among
other things. (AR 8) When the City's license expired in
November, 1990, the Navy requested the City to vacate
the site. (AR 144)

The administrative record reflects the Navy's
longstanding plans to reconstruct military housing on
the site (AR 10: Master Plan for Naval Complex, dated
Sept. 1981) On July 1,1987, the Navy and Coast Guard
entered into an agreement by which the Coast Guard
would seek to fund the construction of 226 units of
family housing on the Navy-controlled property. (AR 26)
The Navy would build, manage, and maintain the units

13a

and they would be made available to families of all the
military services in the Key West area. (AR 13)
Thereafter the Navy determined to construct such
housing for some 160 families. (AR 13, 26, 31)

The Court finds that this project, known as Peary
Court, is a major federal action that will significantly
affect the environment.

In preparation for the Peary Court Project, the Navy
prepared an Environmental Assessment ("EA”). (AR 45)
The sufficiency of this EA is the focus of the present
action. A draft EA was prepared in April 1988. (Exh. T,
#8) The final EA is dated September 1988. (AR 45)

On December 22, 1988, the Chief of Naval
Operations informed the Naval Facilities Engineering
Command in Charleston, South Carolina, that the EA
had been reviewed and a determination made that
preparing an Environmental Impact Statement ("EIS")
was not required. (AR 58) Accordingly, the direction was
given to publish Notice of Finding of No Significant
Impact ("FONSI") and the availability of the EA in the
local Key West newspaper. (AR 58, 61) This publication
was made in the Key West Citizen on February 6, 7, and
8, 1989. (AR 67) The notice stated that an EA had been
prepared, and that the Navy would forego preparation of
an EIS. The notice also specified how interested parties
could obtain a copy of the EA.

Only one request was made for the EA. Then-
Commissioner Harry Powell requested and received a
copy of the EA on February 8, 1989. (AR 73) No written

l4a

comments were submitted to the Navy regarding the EA
or FONSI in response to the publication.

At the public hearing held on the proposed project on
May 31,1990, a number of people attended and spoke,
including Commissioner Harry Powell, Sharon Wells,
Mayor Anthony Tarracino, and Theodore Strader. (AR
107)

Il. LEAD AGENCY

The Court finds that the Navy is the appropriate lead
agency for the Peary Court project. The Navy owns the
property and is ultimately responsible for its disposition.

Ill. THE EA

The EA is an 11l-page document including three
pages of maps. It consists of an introduction, four
discussion sections, and a conclusion. (AR 45) The EA
is attached as an exhibit hereto.

The EA first discusses the need for housing, noting
among other things that increased tourism and lack of
developable land in the Florida Keys had substantially
increased rents and adversely affected housing
availability in the Key West area. (AR 45)

Section II is entitled "Alternatives." The EA first
describes the proposed action, addresses alternative
sites, and explains why "no action” has been eliminated.
(AR 45) |

oe neers

————————

15a

Section III of the EA is called "Affected Environment"
and describes the site physically, explaining the
environmental conditions of Key West generally. (AR 45)

Section IV, "Environmental Consequences," lists nine
areas of environmental effect (Biological Resources,
Noise, Air, Hydrology, Cultural Resources, Traffic and
Circulation; Land Use and Visual Resources,
Socioeconomics, and Energy Resources). Each of these
consists of one-sentence to one-paragraph statements
that there will be no significant adverse result from the
project. (AR 45)

Finally, the EA concludes that the project would not
significantly affect the environment. (AR 45)

Plaintiff has alleged several deficiencies in the EA,
addressed below.

IV. STORMWATER RUNOFF

In the "Land Use and Visual Resources" section, the
EA states that "permits relating to storm water... will
be obtained." (AR 45) In the "Hydrology" section, the EA
notes that "[djrainage can be handled through the
existing system with minor improvements." (AR 45)

While the EA was being prepared, the Navy, In
August, 1988, met with the City Engineer for the City to
discuss the existing drainage at the Peary Court site and
other requirements. (AR 236, Part 7-147) In addition,
the Navy had a Site Engineering Investigation Report
prepared for the Peary Court site which included a
topographic survey, geotechnical investigation, utilities

16a

investigation, and a storm water management report.
This report is a part of the Navy's Request for Proposal
("RFP"), through which the Navy conveys to the design
and construction contractors the technical specifications
that must be met. (AR 236, Part 7)(not dated) The
stormwater management report states that a surface
water permit will be needed from the South Florida
Water Management District ("SFWMD") and that the
storm drainage must be designed and constructed in
accordance with the "Basis of Review for Surface Water
Management Permits Applications" within the SWFMD.
(AR 236, Part 2-19, Part 7-18) The SFWMD is charged
with identifying the significant environmental features of
the project which relate to water resources, evaluate the
impact of the project on chose water resources, and
either issue or deny a permit application. (AR 236, Part
7-199) SFWMD's responsibility in the permit process is
to ensure that the applicant's proposed design will not
be harmful to water resources or inconsistent with the
public interest. (AR 236, Part 7-193) The Navy's
contractor has applied for a permit and has submitted
its drainage system design to the SFWMD which is
completing its review.

The Navy has still not conducted any hydrology
studies addressing issues of drainage, possible
contamination of stormwater runoff, possible
contamination of Florida Bay and impact on the Lens
aquifer underlying Peary Court. The Navy regards these
as design rather than environmental issues, to be
resolved when construction is underway.

Puriegton Howanitz, Director of Public Works for the
City and an expert in water, water quality, stormwater,

17a

and drainage systems, has expressed concern about
stormwater runoff in the vicinity of Peary Court. In
particular, there is flooding of Palm Avenue at the
intersection of White Street from 1980 to the present as
a result of stormwater runoff. (Howanitz Aff., Exh. 5, at
1-3) Howanitz testified that the runoff will be
exacerbated if Peary Court is built. (Howanitz Deposition
at 34, 60-62) Theodore C. Strader, an expert in City
Planning, concurs. (Strader Deposition, Exh. 9, at 69-
70; Exh. BB, at 10-11, 14-15) The construction of
houses and parking areas will likely contaminate the
Lens aquifer. (Exh. BB, at 18-25)

V. HISTORIC DISTRICT

In the Cultural Resources section, the EA states that
"[clompliance with requirements for juxtaposition of new
construction with the Historical District will be
ensured." (AR 45) The EA also states that the Historic
District will be taken into consideration in the design of
the housing units, under "Land Use and Visual
Resources.” (AR 45)

During 1988, meetings and discussion of building
plans were held between representatives of the Navy and
the City, which included members of the Historical
Architectural Review Commission ("HARC") and the
Historic Florida Keys Preservation Board ("Preservation
Board"). (AR 52, 53, 54, 66, 83, 89) The Navy now takes
the position that the Peary Court project's compatibility
with the Historic District has been assured through
coordination between the Navy and the Florida State
Historical Preservation Office ("SHPO"). (AR 91, 92, 100,

18a

102, 107, 113-4, 123, 125, 135, 137, 149, 152, 162,
167, 176, 178-79, 181-82, 184-85, 193 211, 228-29)

In accordance with § 106 of the NHPA, the Navy
entered into a Memorandum of Agreement ("MOA") with
SHPO and the Advisory Council in November 1990. (AR
149) Among other things, the Navy agreed that
archeological and traffic studies would be prepared; that
SHPO and the City would review the proposed housing,
landscaping, and road improvement plans; and that the
architectural design of the proposed housing would be
compatible with the adjacent historic district. (AR 149)
After this suit was filed, and in accordance with the
MOA, the Navy forwarded the project design to the City
and SHPO for review on November 5, 1991. (AR 224,
225) Comments were returned on December 20, 1991.
(AR 231) The Navy took the SHPO/City comments into
account, including a meeting with SHPO staff on
January 17, 1992. (Exh. R; Exh. 2) A few weeks ago, on
February 18, 1992, SHPO responded that the project
was "consistent with the Secretary of Interior's
Standards for Rehabilitation ." (Exh. 24)

Sharon L. Wells, an expert in history and historic
preservation, has said that the architecture of the Peary
Court project is incompatible with the Historic District.
(Wells Aff., Exh. 12, at 54) She stated that added
vehicles from the families living in Peary Court will
exacerbate traffic conditions in the Historic District.

(Wells Aff. at 8) Eugene E. Burr, an expert in planning
and architecture, believes that the changed traffic
patterns will have a significant impact upon the Historic
District. (Burr Deposition, at 41-43)

19a

VI. ALTERNATIVE SITES

In terms of alternatives to the Peary Court site, the
EA states simply:

B. Locate on another site

This alternative was rejected because there
is no other Navy-owned land available that
has the advantages of the preferred site.
Non-Navy land is practically non-existent
and would require the expenditure of
Capital funds for land purchase.

(AR 45)

Plaintiff complains that the Navy did not adequately
take into account the alternatives to building at Peary
Court. The Navy prepared a Case Alternative Report
which analyzed all reasonable alternatives in the Key
West area. (AR 114)(not dated) The report considers
sixteen possibilities to provide the required housing,
including Peary Court and other potential sites, as well
as alternative means of obtaining housing (e.g.,
purchase of existing housing). (AR 114) In August 1990.
this report was distributed for review to SHPO, NAS Key
West, the City, HARC, the Historic Florida Keys
Preservation Board, and the Advisory Council on
Historic Preservation. (AR 113, 114)

Vil. TREES
Under Biological Resources, the EA notes and the

Court finds that the only substantial vegetation on the
site is trees; that no threatened or endangered species of

20a

plant life or wildlife occupy the site; and that no
wetlands will be impacted. (AR 45)

The Navy states that as early as October 1988 made
a commitment to preserve the trees on the site and so
notified HARC. (AR52) The Navy's contractor will be
required to build around existing trees at Peary Court,
and all protected trees will remain undisturbed. (AR
234)

A number of the Plaintiffs affiants expressed
concern that the Peary Court project could result in the
loss of valuable "specimen trees." (Wells Aff. at 6-7;
Burns Aff. at 3; Stewart Aff. at 3)

VIII. TRAFFIC

The EA states that there will be an increase of
approximately 240 vehicles utilizing the streets in and
around Peary Court, but that there should be no
significant increase in traffic congestion because the
roads will be relocated and realigned. (AR 45)

The City submitted several proposed traffic
circulation plans to the Navy which were duly
considered. (AR 54, 66) The City’s proposal to move the
Palm Avenue entrance and exit was endorsed by NAS
Key West. (AR 54) After Plaintiff filed this suit, the Navy
in October 1991 produced a document called “Traffic
Impact Study for Peary Court Housing Area Trumbo
Point Annex NAS Key West, Florida” (“Traffic Study”),
which concluded that traffic conditions would improve
on White Street and worsen slightly on Palm Avenue,
that the proposed design would reduce cut-through and

2la

commercial traffic while adding a small amount of
residential traffic in the area of White and Southard
Streets, and that the only significant traffic effect of the
project would be the reduction of traffic on Southard
Street. (AR 229) This Traffic Study, which was
conducted four months after the litigation was
commenced, was distributed for review to SHPO, NAS
Key West, the City, and the Advisory Council on Historic
Preservation. (AR 226-28)

David A. Ornstein, A.I.C.P., an expert in planning,
testified that Palm Avenue, between North Roosevelt
Boulevard and White Street, was overburdened with
traffic in 1987 and has the State's lowest level of service
at present. (Ornstein Aff., Exh. AA, at 11-14; Ornstein
Deposition, at 35) It was his opinion that the addition of
traffic from the new families will have a significant
impact on the already overburdened Palm Avenue.
(Ornstein Aff. at 14, Strader AFF., Exh. BB, at 3-4)

Mr. Strader testified that the Navy Study is
inaccurate because normal traffic flows during the study
had been interrupted for unrelated highway
construction along Roosevelt Avenue, making the Traffic
Studies’ figures unreliable. Further, Strader states that
the negative traffic impact in this area is unavoidable.
Palm avenue cannot be widened because it flows into
the narrow Palm Avenue Bridge. (Strader Aff. at 5, 8-10)

IX. PROTECTION OF ARCHEOLOGICAL REMAINS

As agreed in the MOA, an archeological survey was
carried out pursuant to Department of Interior
procedures. (AR 181, "Executive Summary") (dated Mar.

22a

6, 1991) The report of the investigation called for
preservation and maintenance of an area that had been
the previous site of a cemetery , a well at cistern 10, and
an area of suspected wells under the loop road. (AR 181
at 38, 39; AR 182) As a result of this archeological
survey, the cemetery will be protected. (AR 181, 182)
SHPO gave its approval and concurred in the matter in
March, 1991 (AR 184). Plaintiff agrees that its concerns
have been satisfied. (Burr Deposition, Exh. 3, at 34;
Wells Deposition, Exh. 12, at 32-33)

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

I. STANDARD OF REVIEW

Before the Court undertakes a substantive review of
the requirements of NEPA, it is necessary to determine
the appropriate standard of review. The Eleventh
Circuit has reviewed a federal agency's decision not to
prepare an Environmental Impact Statement under "a
standard of reasonableness," specifically rejecting the
more narrow "arbitrary and capricious” standard. See

C.A.R.E. Now, Inc, v. Federal Aviation Admin., 844 F.2d

1569, 1572 (11th Cir.), reh'g denied en banc 854 F.2d
1326 (1988). The court concluded that NEPA required a

higher level of review than that ordinarily employed in
‘ reviewing agency action under the Administrative
Procedure Act. ! Id, at 1572-73 n.3. Using that level of

1 5 U.S.C. 8 706(2)(A) provides that the "reviewing court shall .
. . Set aside agency action, findings and conclusions found to be --
arbitrary, capricious, and abuse of discretion or otherwise not in
accordance with law."

23a

scrutiny, the court found that the Federal Aviation
Administration's issuance of a Finding of No Significant
Impact for an airport runway extension project was
reasonable, setting out its mission by stating: "[OJur
task is not to choose the best alternative, but to
ascertain that the FAA made a ‘reasoned choice’ among
these alternatives." Id, at 1574. The court analyzed the
merits of each proposed alternative considered by the
FAA before the agency reached its conclusion. Thus,
while the court accorded broad discretion to the agency
in selecting the best option, the procedure by which that
decision was made was subjected to review. The FAA
was compelled to justify the reasoning and factual
conclusions contained in its EA and subsequent FONSI.

Since C.A.R.E. was decided, the Supreme Court has
held in March v. Oregon Natural Resources Council, 109
S. Ct. 1851 (1989), that the appropriate standard of
review of an agency's determination not to prepare a
supplemental EIS is the "arbitrary and capricious"
standard. The Eleventh Circuit subsequently adopted
this standard for determining the adequacy of an EIS.

See North Buckhead Civic Ass'n v. Skinner, 903 F.2d
1533, 1538 (11th Cir. 1990).

In practice, the standards tend to merge. As the
Supreme Court has noted, the difference between the
two standards is "not of great pragmatic consequence.
[Ojur decision today will not require a substantial
reworking of long-established NEPA law." Marsh. 109 S.
Ct. at 1861 n.23 (citations omitted); see also Manasota-
88, Inc. v. Thomas, 799 F.2d 687, 692 n.8 (11th Cir.
1986) (difference between standards is “often difficult to
discern"). Under either standard, the reviewing court

24a

must "ensure that agency decisions are founded on a
reasoned evaluation of the relevant factors."" Marsh, 109
S. Ct. at 1861.

The Court's role in this case is thus carefully
circumscribed. The merits of the Peary Court proposal
per se are not before the Court. Nor may this Judge call
into question any reasonable agency methodologies used
in arriving at its conclusion. Rather, the Court's review
is limited to ensuring that the process that produced the
result complies with NEPA. The Court is obligated to
scrutinize the analysis and conclusions reached in the
EA for evidence of such compliance.

Il. EVALUATION OF THE ENVIRONMENTAL
ASSESSMENT AND FONSI

A. Inadequacy of Environmental Assessment

The original EA prepared for the Peary Court Project
consists of eight typewritten pages, exclusive of three
area maps, with just over two pages devoted to
"Environmental Consequences." Each of the potential
environmental impacts addressed therein is dismissed
in conclusory "findings," without further discussion or
even citation.2 The FONSI itself simply restates the
conclusions of the EA. (AR 67)

2 The EA ts attached to this Order as an exhibit. Unnumbered
pages 8 and 9 contain the Navy's discussion of environmental
consequences. The impacts are dismissed in short paragraphs of no
more than a few sentences. The Navy makes the following
statements, with little or no further elaboration:

25a

The District of Columbia Circuit has established four
useful criteria for reviewing an agency decision to forego
preparation of an EIS: (1) whether the agency took a
"hardlook" at the problem; (2) whether the agency
identified the relevant areas of environmental concern;
(3) as to the problems studied and identified, whether
the agency made a convincing case that the impact was
insignificant; and (4) if there was impact of true
significance, whether the agency convincingly
established that the changes in the project sufficiently

reduced it to a minimum. See Cabinet Mountains

A. Biologic Resources. "No significant biologic impacts would result
from construction on this site.”

B. Noise. “There will be no significant increase in noise generated by
this project.”

C. Air. “There will be no significant increase in air pollution due to
the proposed action.”

D. Hydrology. “Drainage can be handled through the existing
system with minor improvements.”

E. Cultural Resources. “Because there are no significant cultural
resources on the land proposed for the action, no significant impacts
to cultural resources are expected. Compliance with requirements
for juxtaposition of new construction with the Historical District will
be ensured.”

F. Traffic and Circulation. "Although there will be an increase in
approximately 240 vehicles utilizing the streets and intersections
around Peary Court, there should be no significant increase in traffic
congestion.”

26a

Wilderness vy. Peterson, 685 F.2d 678, 682 (D.C. Cir.
1982\(citation omitted).

Carefully comparing the procedure followed by the
Navy in preparing the EA on Peary Court with what is
required by law, see id, at 682, leads to the inescapable
conclusion that the September 1988 EA was wholly
inadequate. Far from the requisite "hard look," the Navy
barely took any look at the environmental consequences
of the project in the EA. Because the EA does not evince
a good faith effort to "study and identify” relevant
problems and alternatives, any analysis of whether the
Navy "convincingly" established the insignificance or
planned mitigation of environmental harms would be
pointless. There is no formal study, informal
documentation, or even informal agency discussion
referenced in the EA. Because the EA does not state
that any other agency or organization was involved or
consulted in its preparation, the Court concludes that
this did not occur. As to each potential impact, the EA
merely restates its own ultimate conclusion that no
problems will result from any of the contemplated
action. Alternatives are not specifically mentioned, but
for a two-sentence dismissal of the option, "Locate on
Another Site.”

The Navy prudently does not attempt to defend this
action solely on the adequacy of the EA. Indeed, the
Mayor of Key West, as amicus curiae testifying in favor
of the construction of military housing on the site,
noted: “[iJf all the Court had to look at was the original
Environmental Assessment from 1988, the Court would
have to find that the decision to reconstruct the military

27a

housing at Peary Court was arbitrary and capricious.”
Prop. Fin. Ord. and Op. at 8.

The Court finds that the 1988 EA prepared by the
Navy fails to meet the requirements of NEPA.

B. “Cure” by Subsequent Documentation

The Navy and amicus argue that the studies,
surveys, and investigations conducted after the decision
was made to proceed with the Peary Court project “cure”
any defects in the original EA. Defendants contend that
these studies, taken together, satisfy the requirement for
preparation of an EA, and support the 1988 Finding of
No Significant Impact. Plaintiff responds that the
subsequent studies, reports. analyses, performed after
the fact, cannot and do not cure the defective EA.
Plaintiff urges the Court to order the Defendants to
prepare an a full EIS, because the project will have a
significant impact on the environment.

Resolution of the controversy cuts to the heart of
NEPA’s mandate. A review of NEPA and the EA's role in
the statutory scheme is necessary before the Court
considers the Navy's theory that its subsequent studies
and analyses meet the Statutory requirements, thus
“curing” the EA.

1. NEPA and Regulations Promulgated Thereunder

The National Environmental Policy Act of 1969 sets
forth a “national policy which will encourage productive
and enjoyable harmony between man and his
environment [and] promote efforts which will prevent or

28a

eliminate damage to the environment and biosphere and
stimulate the health and welfare of man." 42 U.S.C. §
4321.

The Eleventh Circuit has recently explained the
genesis and overall approach of the Act::

Prior to the passage of [NEPA],
environmental considerations were
systematically underrepresented in the
federal agency decision making process.
Consistent with traditional notions of
natural resource allocation, the benefits of
development were overstressed and less
environmentally damaging alternatives for
meeting program objectives were often
given limited consideration. NEPA declares
a broad national commitment to protecting
and promoting environmental quality. This
commitment is implemented by focusing
government and public attention on the
environmental effects of proposed agency

action; The Act ensures that important

North Buckhead, 903 F.2d at 1539-40 (emphasis
added)(citation omitted).

29a

NEPA does not set out substantive environmental
standards, nor prescribe any regulatory program.
Rather, the congressional mandate of § 4321 is realized
through a set of "action forcing" procedures that require
an agency to take a “hard look" at environmental
consequences.

Robertson v. Methow Valley Citizens
Council, 109 S. Ct. 1835, 1846 (1989); Vermont Yankee
Nuclear Power Corp. v. Natural Resources Defense

Council, 435 U.S. 519, 558 (1978) (mandate to agencies
under NEPA is "essentially procedural"). The procedural
requirements derive from 42 U.S.C. §4332 (2)(C)(i-iv),
which directs all agencies of the federal government to
prepare for "major Federal actions" a detailed statement
on (1) the environmental impact of the proposed action;
(ii) any unavoidable adverse environmental effects if a
project is implemented; (ili) alternatives to the proposed
action; (iv) the relationship between short-term uses of
the environment and maintenance of long-term
productivity; and (v) any irreversible and irretrievable
commitments of resources involved in the project's
implementation.

Pursuant to Executive Order,? the Council on
Environmental Quality was directed to promulgate
regulations binding on all federal agencies for the
implementation of NEPA. These regulations,
promulgated in late 1978, codified and clarified much of
the established procedure under the statute. The first
step in the compliance process is the preparation of an

3 See Executive Order 11514 (Mar. 5, 1970) as amended by
Executive Order 11991 (May 24, 1977).

30a

"Environmental Assessment," defined in relevant part as
"a concise public document... which serves to: Briefly
provide sufficient evidence and analysis for determining
whether to prepare an environmental impact statement
or a finding of no significant impact[; and] Shall include
brief discussion of the need for the proposal, of
alternatives as required by [8 4332(2)(E)] of the
environmental impacts of the proposed action and the
alternatives, and a listing of agencies and persons
consulted." 40 C.F.R. § 1508.9 (1991).

Based on the EA, an agency decides whether to
prepare an "Environmental Impact Statement." 40
C.F.R. § 1501.4(c). An EIS is an exhaustive analysis of
the impacts, proposed mitigation, and alternatives to the
federal project, which has been circulated to other
involved agencies, see §1502.19, subject to public
comment and agency response, see 81503, reviewed by
the CEQ in case of interagency disagreement, see §
1504, and ultimately submitted to the President. The
EIS, therefore, is the primary vehicle for compliance with
NEPA where a project will have a significant impact on
the environment. The EIS is the "action forcing" device
envisioned by Congress to ensure that NEPA's policies
and goals are infused into federal decisionmaking. 40
C.F.R. § 1502.1

Therefore, the EA is a fundamental crossroads in the
process. Based upon the EA's analysis and conclusions,
an agency may issue a FONSI, thereby terminating the
NEPA process, or proceed to the next phase by
preparing an EIS. In effect, the EA and decision to issue
a FONSI based thereon remove an agency from further
obligations under NEPA.

3la

2. "Commit First, Ask Questions Later?"

Against this statutory background, it is clear that the
Navy's theory of "cure" in this case would violate the
letter and spirit of NEPA.

The documentation offered in Support of the EA's
"findings" was prepared after the EA and FONSI were
issued. Indeed, Defendants’ response to Plaintiff's
interrogatories indicates that no written studies,
analyses or reports on any environmental issue were
prepared from the time the project was initially
considered until the EA was issued in September 1988.
Certain studies were conducted as the project went to
bid; a traffic impact study was not conducted until
October 1991, four months after this litigation was
commenced. The record reflects that the analyses of
environmental issues produced after the EA was issued
are by-products of the myriad engineering and other
technical studies conducted subsequent to the decision
to build on the Peary Court site. The Navy argues that
these studies support the agency's earlier finding of no
significant impact.

Accepting the Navy's argument would render the
EA/FONSI process a mere formality. As in this case, an
agency could issue a perfunctory EA (and FONSI based
thereon), and proceed with a project unhindered by
further NEPA requirements. If challenged, the agency
could support its pro forma EA with whatever studies
were produced in the course of implementing the
proposal. Any remaining environmental problems could

32a

be resolved after the decision to go forward with the
project were actually made.

This result is not what Congress intended. The Act's
effectiveness depends on involving environmental
considerations in the initial decision making process.
See Robertson, 109 S. Ct. at 1845 (NEPA goals achieved
during period when agency is "contemplating a major
action"); see also 40 C.F.R. 8 1501.2 ("Agencies shall
integrate the NEPA process with other planning at the
earliest possible time to insure that planning and
decisions reflect environmental values, to avoid delays. .
., and to head off potential conflicts); 40 C.F.R. § 1500.1
("NEPA procedures must insure that environmental
information is available to public officials before
decisions are made and before actions are taken"). In

the NEPA context, post hoc compliance by definition
does not accord with the congressional mandate. See

Sierra Club v. Lujan, 716 F. Supp. 1289 (D. Ariz. 1989);
Cady v. Morton, 527 F.2d 786, 794 (9th Cir. 1975).

The Court is not unaware of the onerous burden that
this law places on an agency desiring to move forward
efficiently and expeditiously. The law must nonetheless
be followed.

The Navy has failed to demonstrate evidence of NEPA
compliance before committing to the Peary Court
project.

33a

Ill, REMEDY

A. Remand

The preceding finding of a NEPA violation does
not determine the appropriate remedy. Clearly,
Congress did not intend that an agency have only "one
bite at the apple” in attempting to comply with the
statute. The Court now turns to equitable
considerations.

The Navy's most persuasive argument against the
injunctive relief sought by Plaintiff is that nothing but
delay would be accomplished by a remand to the agency
for further NEPA proceedings. Both during the
Magistrate Judge's hearing and at trial, the Navy argued
that subsequent studies confirmed the findings of the
EA. Remand, Defendants suggest, would be pointless
because each potential harm of concern to Plaintiff was
either insignificant or mitigated as the design of the
project progressed. See Defs’ Mem in Opp. to Prel. Inj.
at 17-27.4

4 Defendants cite two District of Columbia Circuit cases for the
proposition that later analyses and mitigation measures that
demonstrate that no issue remains for remand may be considered in
reviewing an agency's NEPA compliance: Tongass Conserv, Soc, v.

Cheney 924 F.2d 1137, 1140 (D.C. Cir. 1991); Friends of the River v.
E.ELR.C,, 720 F.2d 93 (1983).

These case are inapposite. In both cases, the court found that
the agency had considered the environmental consequences of the
projects before implementation and during the planning stages. In
the more substantive Friends of the River case. FERC issued an
order after a final EIS was issued that addressed the environmental

34a

The Court is mindful of the strong policy against
sanctioning delay for the sake of procedural regularity.
The facts of this case, however, require the Court to
transcend such concerns, grant relief, and fashion a
remedy.

While the Navy rested its case entirely upon the
administrative record, Plaintiff offered credible expert
testimony of uncorrected environmental problems at the
Peary Court site. See, e.g., Findings of Fact at IV, V, &
VIII. These experts took issue with the findings and
conclusions of the studies relied upon by the Navy in
support of its original EA. Both parties now urge the
Court to determine from this conflicting evidence

concerns raised by the plaintiff. The Court noted that the EIS would
be deficient if not for the later order. The Court declined to remand
because it “would not aid the agencies’ own (environmental) decision
making process, for that process has already occurred.” 720 F.2d at
106 (citation omitted). Before implementation and in support of its
later order, the agency “did make such an investigation, after
receiving and responding to extensive comments from interested
persons outside the agency. and FERC incorporated its finding in
opinion accessible to the public - the July, 1982 order.” Id, Friends
of the River thus stands for the unremarkable proposition that an
EIS may be amended by later agency consideration of environmental
concerns during its decisionmaking. The Tongass court even more
remarkably decided to consider an Addendum to an EIS, as plaintiff
conceded the addition was indeed a part of the original EIS. 924
F.2d at 1140 n.1.

Additionally, it is important to note that both cases invoived
EIS’s. The agencies therein had taken environmental considerations
substantially into account. Such is not the case here, as the Navy's
pro forma EA does not evince such NEPA compliance. The case for
remand is certainly stronger where an agency had foreclosed NEPA
considerations from its decisionmaking early on in the process.

35a

whether the Peary Court project will have a significant
impact on the environment, much as the agency
properly should have done in the first instance.5

This determination, however, is appropriately made
by the agency and not the Court. The Court's proper
function at this point is not to make this substantive
determination, but rather to ensure that the agency
reasonably took account of all of the environmental
consequences of its action before making the decision to
proceed.® The Court makes the limited finding here that
based on Plaintiffs evidence adduced in these
proceedings, the agency at the time the EA was filed,
failed reasonably to consider the environmental
consequences of its decision to proceed as required by
NEPA. Therefore, a remand to agency for further
proceedings consistent with NEPA and this opinion is
appropriate. The Navy will be ordered to prepare an
adequate EA within forty-five days from the date of this
Order.

5 Of course, a finding by this Court of significant impact would
necessitate the preparation of an EIS. 42 U.S.C. § 4332(2)(C). A
contrary ruling would affirm the EA and FONSI.

6 if the EA had been properly prepared and the only issue in
controversy was the subsequent FONSI, the Court's task would be
different. In such a case, the Court appropriately determines
whether the critical findings of the EA are supported, and whether
the agency's decisions were reasonable. See, e.g. C.A.R.E, 844 F.2d
at 1570.

36a

B. Injunction

The Court finds that Plaintiff has satisfied the
prerequisites to the injunctive relief sought.

Plaintiff has demonstrated that irreparable harm will
result from construction of this project. As explained
above, in the absence of an adequate EA, the Court is
unable to determine if the project will have a significant
impact on the environment. The Court is similarly
unable to evaluate the Navy's mitigation measures.
Therefore, in the absence of an injunction, Plaintiff may
suffer the precise irreparable harms sought to be
prevented by this action. Plaintiff has shown that
serious and unresolved questions remain as relate to,
inter alia, stormwater runoff and flooding,
contamination of the Lens aquifer, increased traffic and
congestion, and destruction of specimen trees and
aesthetic resources. Irreparable harm results where
environmental concerns have not been addressed by the
NEPA process. See Sierra Club v. Marsh, 872 F.2d 497,
504 (lst Cir. 1989) (affirming injunction based on NEPA
procedural lapse because "risk implied by a violation of
NEPA is that real environmental harm will occur
through inadequate foresight and deliberation").

The Court additionally finds that a balance of the
harms favors the Plaintiff.’ The construction of military

? By Order dated March 6, 1992, this Court deferred ruling on
Magistrate Judge Brown's Report and Recommendation of February
25, 1992 on Plaintiffs motion for a preliminary injunction. Because

37a

housing at some site in the Key West area will be
delayed only by the amount of time necessary to comply
fully with NEPA. Compliance has been an obligation of
the government since the inception of the project, and
should have been built into the project schedule

originally.§
FINAL DECREE OF INJUNCTION

Accordingly, after a careful review of the record, and
the Court being otherwise fully advised, it is

ORDERED and ADJUDGED that the determination
of Defendants to utilize the Peary Court site in the City
of Key West for military housing is in violation of the
National Environmental Policy Act of 1969, 42 U.S.C. 88
4321 et seq., and regulations promulgated thereunder,
40 C.F.R. 88 1500 et seg. It is further

ORDERED and ADJUDGED that Defendants, its
officers, servants, agents, employees and contractors,
including but not limited to Caddell Construction
Company, Inc., of Montgomery, Alabama, be and the
Same hereby are permanently RESTRAINED and

this case has proceeded to a trial on the merits, the Magistrate
Judge's Report and Recommendations not moot.

8 Defendants have submitted an affidavit concerning the costs
of delay from the construction contractor at the Peary Court site.
Defendants entered into a contract with the construction company
several months after this litigation was commenced, and were fully
aware that delay would occur if Plaintiff prevailed. The harm from
delay is a result of the Navy's failure to follow NEPA procedure, and
subsequent establishment of its own construction schedule.

38a

ENJOINED from commencement of construction of
méttary housing at the Peary Court site located within
‘ the City of Key West, Florida or taking any other actions
in furtherance hereof PENDING the preparation of an
Environmental Assessment in conformity with 42 U.S.C.
§8 4321 et seq. and regulations promulgated
thereunder, and consistent with this Opinion. Said
Environmental Assessment shall be PREPARED and
COMPLETED no more than forty-five (45) days from the
date of this Order, but may at Defendant's option be
completed in less time. The injunction granted hereby
shall be DISSOLVED automatically by its expiration five
(5) days from the date said Environmental Assessment is
issued. Defendants may use, employ, and otherwise
incorporate any previously prepared reports, analyses or
studies in the preparation of said Environmental
Assessment. It is further

ORDERED and ADJUDGED that this case be and
the same hereby is DISMISSED. The Clerk of the Court
shall CLOSE this case. The Court retains jurisdiction to
enforce the provisions of this Final Order. It is further

ORDERED and ADJUDGED that each party shall
bear its own cost and attorneys’ fees of this litigation, as
Defendants’ litigation position was substantially
justified. It is further

ORDERED and ADJUDGED that the Report and
Recommendation of February 25, 1991 by and same
hereby is MOOT.

39a

DONE and ORDERED in chambers at the United
States District Courthouse, Federal Courthouse Square,
Miami, Florida on this 30th day of March, 1992.

cc:

JAMES LAWRENCE KING
U.S. DISTRICT JUDGE
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

Magistrate Judge Stephen T. Brown
Via facsimile and mail:

Teresa Davenport, AUSA

Pauline H. Milius, Esq.

Joel Sachs, Esq.

Leonard Sands, Esq.

40a

DEMAND FOR RELIEF FROM PETITIONER'S
COMPLAINT FILED JUNE 4, 1991

f). Granting plaintiff costs of this action, including
attorneys’ fees.

g) Granting Plaintiff such other and further relief as
to this Court may seem just and proper.

DATED White Plains, New York
June 4, 1991

YOURS, etc.,

PLUNKETT & JAFFE, P.C.
Counsel for Plaintiff

1 North Broadway

White Plains, New York 10601
(914) 948-7722

KEVIN J. PLUNKETT, ESQ.
(Florida Bar No. 0204854)
JOEL H. SACHS, ESQ.., of
Counsel

and

SANDS & MOSKOWITZ, P.A.
Local Counsel for Plaintiff

300 Bayview Plaza

3225 Aviation Avenue

Coconut Grove, Florida 33133

By

~

LEONARD SANDS, ESQ.
(Florida Bar No. 257583)

4la

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

PROTECT KEY WEST, INC., a Florida )
Not-for-Profit Corporation, d/b/a
LAST STAND,

Plaintiff,
Civil No.
91-10054-King

RICAHRD CHENEY, Secretary of
Defense of the United States
of America, et al.,

)

)

)

)

)

)

Vv. )
)

)

)

)

)

Defendants. )
)

DEFENDANTS’ MOTION FOR AMENDMENT OF
MARCH 30 ORDER

Defendants respectfully request that the Court
amend its March 30 Opinion and Order in the following
respect.

Under the section titled “Findings of Fact”, the
Opinion states that the Peary Court project “is a major
federal action that will significantly affect the
environment.” Opinion at 4-5. This statement should
be deleted from the Opinion.

In its opinion, the Court reviews the requirements for
the preparation of an EA, and concludes that the Peary

42a

Court EA is inadequate in its discussion of several
environmental issues. Jd. at 15-23. However, in its
discussion under “Remedy”, the Court explicitly refuses
to determine whether the Peary Court project has
significant impacts on the environment. Instead, the
Court states that such determination “is appropriately
made by the agency and not the Court.” Id. at 25.

The “significantly affect” statement is also contrary to
the remedy the Court has fashioned. The Court has
directed the Navy to prepare an “Environmental
Assessment in conformity with 42 U.S.C. 88 4321 et seq.
and regulations promulgated thereunder, and consistent
with this Opinion.” Id. at 27-28. Clearly, the
preparation of an EA would be inappropriate if the Court
had already found that the Peary Court project will
“significantly affect” the environment. As the Court
noted, the “finding by this Court of significant impact
would necessitate the preparation of an EIS.” Id. at
footnote 5.

In conclusion, the “significantly affect” statement is
inconsistent with both the Court’s reasoning and
remedy. It appears to have been included inadvertently,
and the Opinion and Order should be amended to delete
it.

Dated April 9th, 1992

43a

Respectfully submitted,

JAMES G. McADAMS, III
United States Attorney

TERESA DAVENPORT
Assistant U.S. Attorney

PAULINE H. MILIUS

DAVID F. Shuey

Attorneys

U.S. Department of

Justice

General Litigation Section

Environment and Natural
Resources Division

P.O. Box 633

Washington, D.C. 20044-

0663

(202) 272-8228

(202) 272-6341

Attorneys for Defendants

44a
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true copy of the Defendants’
Motion for Amendment of March 30 Order was served by
U.S. mail upon the following attorneys of record on April
9th, 1992.

Joel Sachs, Esq.

Kevin J. Plunkett, Esq.
PLUNKETT & JAFFE, P.C.

1 North Broadway

White Plains, New York 10601

Leonard Sands, Esq.

SANDS & MOSKOWITZ, P.A.
300 Bayview Plaza

3225 Aviation Avenue

Coconut Grove, Florida 33133

DAVID F. SHUEY

45a
PERTINENT TEXT OF 28 U.S.C. § 2412
28 U.S.C. § 2412. Costs and fees

(d)(1MA) Except as otherwise specifically provided by
statute, a court shall award to a prevailing party other
than the United States fees and other expenses, in
addition to any costs awarded pursuant to subsection
(a), incurred by that party in any civil action (other than
cases sounding in tort), including proceedings for
judicial review of agency action, brought by or against
the United States in any court having jurisdiction of that
action, unless the court finds that the position of the
United States was substantially justified or that special
circumstances mak* an award unjust.

(B) A party seeking an award of fees and other expenses
shall, within thirty days of final judgment in the action,
submit to the court an application for fees and other
expenses which shows that the party is a prevailing
party and is eligible to receive an award under this
subsection, and the amount sought, including an
itemized statement from any attorney or expert witness
representing or appearing in behalf of the party stating
the actual time expended and the rate at which fees and
other expenses are computed. The party shall also
allege that the position of the United States was not
substantially justified. Whether or not the position of
the United States was substantially justified shall be
determined on the basis of the record (including the
record with respect to the action or failure to act by the
agency upon which the civil action is based) which is
made in the civil action for which fees and other

expenses are sought.

46a

(2) For the purposes of this subsection-

(D) “position of the United States” means, in
addition to the position taken by the United States in
the civil action, the action or failure to act by the agency
upon which the civil action is based; except that fees
and expenses may not be awarded to a party for any
portion of the litigation in which the party has
unreasonably protracted the proceedings;

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_1293%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
