# Reply Brief — District of Columbia v. Kattan

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_1230%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 511 U.S. 1018

## Text

—

in svete
rFIFFE RW

‘

No. 93-1296 MAR 2 8 1994 |

y, |
ila

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OctToBER TERM, 1993

District oF CoLuMBIA, et al,
Petitioners,

V.

SARAH KaTTAN, By HER PARENTS AND NExtT FRIENDS,
SusAN J. THOMAS AND JOSEPH KATTAN, et al,
Respondents.

Reply to Brief in Opposition to
Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the District of Columbia Circuit

JOHN PayTon,
Corporation Counsel

VANESSA Ruiz,
Principal Deputy
Corporation Counsel

Cuar.es L. REISCHEL,
Deputy Corporation Counsel
Appellate Division

*Donna M. Murasky,
Assistant Corporation Counsel

Office of the Corporation Counsel
One Judiciary Square

Sixth Floor

441 Fourth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20001
Telephone: (202) 727-6252 ext. 3303

*Counsel of Record

ae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

[. ELDER REQUIRES REVERSAL HERE ........

II. THIS CASE PRESENTS AN IMPORTANT QUES-
.y ' £: gk Serer errs eee ere ee

111. THE OTHER ARGUMENTS IN THE OPPOSITION

THAT THIS CASE DOES NOT MERIT REVIEW

DO NOT WITHSTAND ANALYSIS ............

A. This Court Need Not Decide Whether Kay v. Ehrler
Bars The Pro Se Fee Award Here......

B. This Case Does Not Present Any Complex Factual
CE ho seks dadvcaes sea seeis-

C. This Case Does Not Involve Any Discetieney
Balancing Of The Equities ..............

IV. THE D.C. CIRCUIT’S WAIVER RULE DOES NOT
ADVANCE THE FAIR AND EFFICIENT AD-
MINISTRATION OF JUSTICE.. .

CONCLUSION

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Benavides v. Bureau of Prisons, 993 F.2d 257 (D.C. Cir.).
cert. denied, 114 S. Ct. 559 (1993) 5
City of Newport v. Fact Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S. 247
(1981) 3
Cooter & Gell v. Hartmax Corp., 496 U.S. 384 (1990) 6
Cuneo v. Rumsfeld, 553 F.2d 1360 (D.C. Cir. 1977) 2,5, 7,8
Elder v. Holloway, 62 U.S.L.W. 4149 (U.S. Feb. 22,
1994) passim
Fogerty v. Fantasy, Inc., 62 U.S.L.W. 4153 (U.S. March
1, 1994) 6
Kay v. Bhrler, 111 S. Ct. 1435 (1991) passim
Lawrence v. Staats, 586 F. Supp. 1375 (D.D.C. 1984), aff'd
in part sub nom., Lawrence v. Bowsher, 931 F.2d 1579
(D.C. Cir. 1991) 8
Morris v. American National Can Corp., 988 F.2d 50 (8th
Cir. 1993) 4
Pennsylvania v. Delaware Valley Citizens’ Council for
Clean Air, 483 U.S. 711 (1987) 4
STATUTES & RULES
42 U.S.C. § 1988 2

Fed. R. Civ. P. 8, 12(g)&(h), and 51 8
Fed. R. Civ. P. 59(e)

bt

ii

ee

In the Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser Term, 1993

District or CoLumBIA, et al,
Petitioners,

Vv.

SARAH KatTTaNn, By Her Parents AND NeExtT FRIENDS,
Susan J. THOMAS AND JOSEPH KaTTAN, et al,
Respondents.

Reply to Brief in Opposition to
Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the District of Columbia Circuit

I. ELDER REQUIRES REVERSAL HERE.

In Elder v. Holloway, 62 U.S.L.W. 4149 (U.S. Feb. 22,
1994), this Court ruled that federal courts have an obliga-
tion to decide claims properly before them in accordance with
the law. Even in the case of a federal appellate court, ques-
tions of law ‘‘must be resolved de novo,” and its inquiry into
what the law is must ‘‘be conducted in light of all relevant
precedents, not simply those cited to or discovered by the
district court.’’ Jd. at 4151, 4150.

In so ruling, this Court explainedthat the contrary rule
that had been adopted by the Ninth Circuit did not advance
the legitimate and important interests of either plaintiffs or
defendants. In cases like Elder, involving questions of law,
the Ninth’s Circuit rule wrongly results in erroneous deci-
sions ‘‘because of shortages in counsels’ or the court’s legal
research or briefing.’’ Jd. at 4151. This Court also observed:

The Ninth Circuit’s rule could have a number of un-
toward effects. It could occasion appellate affirma-
tion of incorrect legal results . . . and it could place

l

¢~

2

defense counsel in a trying situation. See ABA
Model Rule of Professional Conduct 3.3(a)(1989 ed.)
(‘A lawyer shall not knowingly: . . . (3) fail to
disclose to the tribunal legal authority in the con-
trolling jurisdiction known to the lawyer to be direct-
ly adverse to the position of the client and not
ded’ by opposing counsel.’’).

Id. at 4151 n.3.

Elder requires reversal here. In this case, at the time that
the Kattans submitted their fee application in 1988, the par-
ties agreed that Cuneo v. Rumsfeld, 553 F.2d 1360 (D.C. Cir.
1977), governed the claim of an attorney for fees for any pro
se representation. Three years later, when Judge Green
awarded these fees to Mr. Kattan, none of the parties had
brought to her attention, and she apparently had not found,
this Court’s intervening decision in Kay v. Fhrler, 111 S. Ct.
1435 (1991), barring fee awards to pro se attorneys under
42 U.S.C. § 1988, a federal fee-shifting statute in-
distinguishable from the basic fee provision here. Because
under Elder, an appellate court is required to decide a legal
claim properly before it de novo in light of all relevant
precedents, Judge Green was required to decide the validi-
ty of Mr. Kattan’s claim for attorney’s fees for his pro se
representation in light of the obviously relevant Kay v.
Ehrler. When she failed to do so, the District acted proper-
ly in bringing Kay v. Ehrler to her attention in a motion
under Fed. R. Civ. P. 59(e), a motion which destroyed the
finality of her judgment.

The reasons for the rule set forth in Elder apply with equal
force here. First, the waiver rule announced by the D.C. Cir-
cuit, in which legal rights are settled based on the authority
cited by the parties in the district court in the first instance,
does not advance the legitimate and important interests of
any of the litigants. Second, as even the Opposition appears
to concede (Opp. 22 n.23), the D.C. Circuit’s waiver rule has
resulted in ‘appellate affirmation of [an] incorrect legal
result{] . . ..”’ Elder, supra, 62 U.S.L.W. at 4151 n.3. Final-
ly, the ethical considerations cited by this Court in Elder are

3

relevant here. Model Rule 3.3(a) would have required counsel
for the Kattans to bring Kay v. Ehrler to Judge Green’s at-
tention had they known of the decision.

II. THIS CASE PRESENTS AN IMPORTANT QUES-
TION OF LAW.

The Opposition argues that the District has misstated the
issue in this case and that the issue actually presented is of
no importance. The Opposition is wrong on both counts.

One way of fairly stating the issue here is whether the lower
federal courts must decide claims properly before them ‘‘in
light of all relevant precedents, not simply those cited to”’
them. Elder, supra, 62 U.S.L.W. at 4150. It is the District’s
position that when Judge Green entered her order awarding
fees in 1991, some three years after the fee application had
been briefed, she was obligated to decide Mr. Kattan’s claim
for fees as a pro se attorney in light of Kay v. Ehrler, an ob-
viously relevant precedent from this Court. The D.C. Circuit,
however, rejected this position. As Elder demonstrates,
whether the D.C. Circuit erred presents an important legal
issue.

Another way of fairly stating the issue here is whether a
litigant forfeits his right to have his case decided in accor-
dance with a relevant rule of law announced by this Court
because a contrary rule of law, which had been adopted as
the law of the Circuit, reasonably appeared to govern the
case prior to this Court’s decision. Once again, given this
Court’s numerous decisions reversing the law of the Circuits,
this issue is an important legal issue.

Review is warranted here not only because this Petition
presents an important legal issue but also because the waiver
standard adopted by the D.C. Circuit is in conflict with the
decisions of this Court and of other Circuits. The Opposi-
tion’s attempts to distinguish a few of the decisions the
District cited in its Petition are patently unsuccessful for
several reasons, including the following. City of Newport v.
Fact Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S. 247 (1981), for example, can-

4

not be distinguished on the ground that the district court
there ‘‘in fact passed on the very issue presented” while
Judge Green ‘declined to reach the merits."’ Opp. 15 & 15
n.19. Here, Judge Green did reach the merits and she wrongly
ruled that Kay v. Ehrler was not controlling (App. 33a-34a),
a ruling that the D.C. Circuit left intact. Furthermore, the
Opposition’s attempt to distinguish Morris v. American Na-
tional Can Corp., 988 F.2d 50 (8th Cir. 1993), also fails. No
reasonable lawyer or federal court judge could have believed
that Delaware Valley II (Pennsylvania v. Delaware Valley
Citizens’ Council for Clean Air, 483 U.S. 711 (1987)), would
be this Court’s last pronouncement on the issue of risk
enhancement, and the Eighth Circuit excused a waiver of
the issue in Morris because it had adopted, as the law of the
Circuit, Justice O'Connor's opinion in Delaware Valley I.

I1i. THE OTHER ARGUMENTS IN THE OPPOSITION
THAT THIS CASE DOES NOT MERIT REVIEW DO
NOT WITHSTAND ANALYSIS.

A. This Court Need Not Decide Whether Kay v. Ehrler
Bars The Pro Se Fee Award Here.

The Opposition argues that this Court should deny review
because review will require this Court to decide whether Kay
uv. Ehrler bars the pro se fee award here. This argument is
plainly mistaken. This Court, as it did in Elder, can decide
only the waiver issue and, should the Court decide that issue
in favor of the District, it can remand to the D.C. Circuit
with instructions to determine whether Kay v. Ehrler is con-
trolling.

B. This Case Does Not Present Any Complex Factual
Questions.

The Opposition urges that this Court should deny review
because this case, in a number of ways, presents complex
factual questions. This argument, in all of its manifestations,
is unfounded.

First, given Elder, this Court could rule that Judge Green
was obligated to decide Mr. Kattan’s claim for fees as a

5

pro se attorney in light of Kay v. Ehrler whether or not the
District's understanding of Cuneo was reasonable. However,
should the Court decide that a more stringent waiver stan-
dard is needed here, one which, for example, depends on
whether an attorney reasonably could have concluded that
Cuneo was controlling, this Court is free to announce what
the standard should be and remand to the D.C. Circuit for
further proceedings.

Alternatively, this Court could itself decide whether the
District’s position was reasonable. On the record here, this
issue is an issue of law. Furthermore. the record here makes
clear that the District's understanding of Cuneo was
reasonable. Thus, less than three weeks before the divided
decision in this case, the D.C. Circuit in Benavides v. Bureau
of Prisons, 993 F.2d 257 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 114 S. Ct.
559 (1993), ruled that the only distinction the District could
have made between Cuneo and this case was ‘‘untenable’’ and
thus indefensible. Jd. at 259. In addition, at the district court
level, the Kattans cited only Cuneo in support of their argu-
ment that the law required an award of attorney's fees to suc-
cessful pro se attorneys. In taking this approach, they
obviously expressed their belief that a reasonable reading of
Cuneo required a fee award to an attorney for any pro se
representation under the IDEA. They should therefore be
estopped from arguing later, for tactical reasons, that the
District's agreement with their earlier position was
unreasonable. Finally, the Opposition concedes that, follow-
ing Kay v. Ehrler, no reasonable attorney proceeding pro se,
including Mr. Kattan, would seek fees in a case like this one.
even though the D.C. Circuit has not expressly overruled
Cuneo. '

The Opposition (Opp. 4, 8, 9, 10, 21) also suggests that the District
should be faulted because the court in Cuneo stated “‘{t}he law is not clear
on the question of whether a party appearing on his own behalf, who is
also an attorney, is entitled to tax attorney fees as costs." 553 F.2d at 1366.
This suggestion is ridiculous. The court made this statement in surveying
the law of other jurisdictions construing a number of fee-shifting statutes:
the court then went on to adopt as the law of the D.C. Circuit the rule that
such fees are recoverable. After Cuneo, therefore, the law of the D.C. Cir-
cuit was clear — attorneys proceeding pro se under federal fee-shifting
Statutes may recover fees.

6

C. This Case Does Not Involve Any Discretionary Balan-
cing Of The Equities. |

The Opposition urges that review should be denied
because, although the courts below did not say so, what is
at issue here is a judgment based on the “facts and cir-
cumstances of this case, . . . such as the conduct and at-
titude of trial counsel’ for the District. Opp. 23. See also
Opp. 3, 3 n.4, 4, 12, 13. According to the Opposition, the D.C.
Circuit found a waiver of the pro se fee claim because, inter
alia, the District ‘“‘had tenaciously attempted to defend an
untenable position’”’ in litigating the merits of the action.
Opp. 12.

This argument is utterly mistaken for several reasons.

First, it overlooks the reasons given by the D.C. Circuit
for its waiver ruling. The D.C. Circuit ruled that the District
could not invoke Kay v. Ehrier because it failed to dispute
Cuneo by pressing a distinction between the FOIA and the
IDEA that ‘“‘would have been far from frivolous.”’ App. 5a.
See also App. 7a-8a. That ruling is a pure legal ruling, not
a balancing of any equities, and, if wrong, is an abuse of
discretion. See, e.g., Fogerty v. Fantasy, Inc., 62 U.S.L.W.
4153 (U.S. March 1, 1994) (the standards governing the ex-
ercise of discretion in awarding attorney’s fees are questions
of law); Cooter & Gell v. Hartmarx Corp., 496 U.S. 384, 405
(1990) (‘A district court would necessarily abuse its discre-
tion if it based its ruling on an erroneous view of the
MW sca th

Second, it overlooks the fact that the courts below ex-
pressly rejected the arguments the Opposition urges they
secretly embraced. Thus, the Kattans’ request for sanctions
at the trial level was denied (App. 31a), and when they asked
for a larger fee award on appeal for trial misconduct, that
was also denied. App. 10a. Furthermore, the District per-
suaded Judge Green that both Mr. Kattan and his co-counsel
were requesting hourly rates that were too high. App.
27a-29a. When the Kattans appealed the hourly rate Judge
Green had adopted for co-counsel, the D.C. Circuit affirnied

7

that rate. App. 8a-9a. Finally, despite arguments by the
Kattans, neither Judge Green nor the D.C. Circuit faulted
the District for its delay in bringing Kay v. Ehrler to Judge
Green's attention.’

In a similar fashion, the Opposition argues that Judge
Green may have found a waiver in order to compensate the
Kattans for her three-year delay in acting on the fee applica-
tion, during which time this Court resolved the pro se fee
issue against them. Opp. 23. This argument, however, far
from being a reason for denying review, is a reason for gran-
ting review. A federal court cannot refuse to follow the law
on the grounds that had it acted more promptly, the other
side would have won based on an incorrect legal principle.

Finally, despite the Opposition’s recitation that a court
may exercise discretion in determining whether a matter has
been waived by considering ‘“‘whether tactical considerations
prompted a party’s choices, any prejudice to the opposing
party, etc.,’’ no such discretion was exercised here. Opp. 22.
Had such discretion been exercised, it is plain that neither
the District’s acceptance of Cuneo in 1988 nor its failure to
raise Kay v. Ehrler before judgment was prompted by any
tactical consideration. Furthermore, it is equally plain that
the Kattans were not prejudiced by the District’s failure to
dispute Cuneo or by its delay in bringing Kay v. Ehrler to
Judge Green’s attention. In short, there was no exercise of
discretion in the traditional sense in this case. Instead, the
courts below failed to understand and apply the law gover-
ning waiver.

* In view of the facts of Elder, where plaintiff's trial counsel overlook-
ed a Circuit precedent that existed even before his suit was filed, the courts
below properly refused to fault the District for its six-month delay in bring-
ing Kay v. Ehriler to Judge Green's attention, especially since the fee ap-
plication had been pending before her for over two years when this Court
issued Kay v. Ehrler.

8

IV. THE D.C. CIRCUIT’S WAIVER RULE DOES NOT
ADVANCE THE FAIR AND EFFICIENT AD-
MINISTRATION OF JUSTICE.

The Opposition, citing Fed. R. Civ. P. 8, 12(g) & (h), and
51, urges that waiver plays an important role in ‘‘judicial
administration.”’ Opp. 22. In the District’s view, however,
and as Elder and the cases cited in its Petition make clear,
waiver is disfavored in the federal judicial system even
though it does have a proper role to play in certain cir-
cumstances. Here, of course, the rules cited in the Opposi-
tion do not apply to this case. Second, the reasons for these
rules and for judge-made rules of waiver do not apply here.
A waiver may properly be found when necessary to advance
the fair and efficient administration of justice. For example,
a waiver may be found to preclude ‘‘sandbagging”’ — a tac-
tic in which a litigant awaits the outcome of a case and, if
it is adverse, raises a defense that could, and should, have
been raised earlier and that eviscerates all or part of the pro-
ceedings that have taken place.

This obviously is not what happened here. The District did
not seek, and could not hope to gain, any tactical advantage
by its conduct. Furthermore, the Kattans were not prejudiced
and the administration of justice was not adversely affected
by the District's failure to dispute Cuneo or by its delay in
invoking Kay v. Ehrler.

Finally, whatever contribution the waiver doctrine may
make to the fair and efficient administration of justice must,
in the context of this case, be weighed against the impor-
tant contribution that the law of the Circuit makes in achiev-
ing that goal. In this case, the District’s acceptance of Cuneo
as controlling in 1988 advanced the fair and efficient ad-
ministration of justice. The District, by not advancing a
distinction that the D.C. Circuit ultimately found untenable
when squarely placed before it, avoided launching what sure-
ly would have been a losing battle over the validity of the
district court’s opinion in Lawrence v. Staats, 586 F. Supp.
1375 (D.D.C. 1984), in light of the controlling the law of the
Circuit in Cuneo. And the District likely also avoided

9

precipitating another collateral battle over sanctions. The
Kattans did, in fact, file a motion for sanctions because, in
their view, the District ‘“‘tenaciously attempted to defend an
untenable position”’ on the merits, and there is no reason to
believe that they would not have filed another motion for
sanctions had the District “‘tenaciously attempted to defend
an untenable position’’ on the pro se fee issue in 1988.

CONCLUSION

This petition presents an issue that recurs with great fre-
quency and that should be resolved by this Court to ensure
the fair and efficient administration of justice. At the very
least, this Court should order the D.C. Circuit to reconsider
its decision in light of Elder.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN PayTON,
Corporation Counsel

VANESSA Ruiz,
Principal Deputy
Corporation Counsel

CHARLES L. REISCHEL,
Deputy Corporation Counsel
Appellate Division

*Donna M. Murasky,
Assistant Corporation Counsel

Office of the Corporation Counsel
One Judiciary Square, Sixth Floor
441 Fourth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20001
Telephone: (202) 727-6252 ext. 3303

*Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_1230%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
