# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Willis v. DeBruyn

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_1195%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 511 U.S. 1005

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILE Dp

931258 van 2 7 1994

NO. BAICE-OETHE CLERK
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1993

DAVID A. WILLIS,
Petitioner,

Vv.
JAMES E. AIKEN, Commissioner,
Indiana Department of Corrections,
PORTER SUPERIOR COURT and
LINLEY E. PEARSON, Attorney
General of Indiana,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

James M. Shellow

Counsel of Record

SHELLOW, SHELLOW & GLYNN, S.C.
222 East Mason Street
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202
(414) 271-8535

Dean A. Strang
Anne Willis Reed

Attorneys for Petitioner

ii
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Does a precedential «cision of
the Indiana Court of Appeals .;hnolding a
state court jury instruction that "you are
to determine the law for yourself," and
that the other instructions are only "the
best source of the law," conflict with
this Court's decisions requiring state
jury instructions to implement federal
constitutional guarantees of due process?

Can the same precedential deci-
sion escape federal habeas corpus review
because Indiana's "fundamental error"
doctrine may be independent of federal
law, even though the decision makes no
"plain statement" of reliance on state
law rather than federal?

is it a "new rule" to prohibit
state ccurts from telling juries they are

not bound by the Constitution??+

lif certiorari is granted, Willis
will ask to argue a fourth issue: whether Indi-

iii

PARTIES
The names of all parties appear
in the caption of the case. There is no
parent or subsidiary company to be

included under Supreme Court Rule 29.1.

ana fundamental error doctrine really is
independent of federal law.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW....... Il
\ eet errr rr re ee ee ee IIl
TABLE OF CONTENTS .........222eecceces IV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...........-2200- VI
OPINIONS BY OTHER COURTS ............. 2
DURLSDICTION ccccccccvcsvcccvevecccccs 3

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED ...3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ........-222eeee- 4
PRESENTATION AND RESOLUTION OF THESE

TSSURS BRL .ccccccccccccccccccsccses 7
FEDERAL JURISDICTION BELOW ........... 13
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ...........-22e00- 14

I. THE INDIANA COURT OF

APPEALS HAS DECIDED THAT

CRIMINAL JURIES MAY BE TOLD

THEY ARE NOT BOUND BY THE

FEDERAL CONSTITUTION. ........... 17

A. STATE COURTS MAY NOT
ALLOW JURIES TO IGNORE
DEFENDANTS' CONSTITUTIONAL
PROTECTIONS . scccccccccesecs 18

B. THE JUSTIFICATIONS
OFFERED BY THE STATE FOR

THE INSTRUCTION ARE
Pe, ee 27

|

Vv

II. THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT
HAS INTERPRETED COLEMAN V.
THOMPSON IN SUCH A WAY AS TO
RENDER USELESS THE PRESUMPTION

OF HARRIS V. REED. .............. 33

A. COLEMAN CANNOT BE
EXTENDED TO CASES WHERE

THE STATE COURT DISCUSSED

BH LOOM es ce ccescesesecesse 39

B. INDIANA'S FUNDAMENTAL
ERROR LAW, AND THUS THE

STATE COURT OPINION EVEN

AS THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

READ IT, IS THOROUGHLY

BOUND UP IN FEDERAL
CONSTITUTIONAL LAW......... 44

III. UNDER THE SEVENTH
CIRCUIT'S APPLICATION OF TEAGUE
V. LANE, ALL RULES ARE NEW. ..... 45

ee wr he Pe a ee ee ee 49

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Ake v. Oklahoma, 470 U.S. 68 (1985)
ee ey ne er er | ee 41, 43

Beavers v. State, 236 Ind. 549, 141

ee See Se)” bode st oe eee eaeae 15, 28

Burch v. Louisiana, 441 U.S. 130

PED uaa Wiha ne ae a a oe oO ee 26, 48

Bushell's Case, 124 Eng. Rep. 1006

Sar aa ae: a) 6 aks bb ON a be ean eta ne wee 18

Carter v. Kentucky, 450 U.S. 288

CRE Ga dw ee eeeck nk a kas eee eee 27, 48
1 nv. Thom a. Z34 8. ©. 2000
$s... | ee ery 33-34, 37-40, 44-45
Fuquay v. State, 583 N.E.2d 154

(Ind. CE. ABD. LPL) cocecveccccccceves 15
il Vv. land, 372 U.S. 767

REE ie hc ra ar ra: a Pe a eg 24-25

Giles v. State, 229 Md. 370, 183

re Be Feb) ee ye nee eee 22-23

Gilmore v. Taylor, 113 S. Ct. 2112

I sg ia a alk ak ei al od ae ae ee 46-47

Griffin v. California, 380 U.S. 609

CROs cae doe wan ee nie ae oe 8 ee 26, 48

Harris v. Reed, 489 U.S. 255
(2909) cacuseasecconveees 11-12, 16, 33-45

Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032
CIEE Ucar a Gare 2 eG es ae we oe eee 11, 35

Se o's aa<. op b's Bid alee wae 26, 48
Slansky v. State, 192 Md. 94, 63

ee i ere 22-23

Sparf v. United States, 156 U.S. 51

TED 5 veda 0 00's 40s s CEN Nee 19 |
State v. Burpee, 65 Vt. 1, 25 A. 964 |
SOUR, Ss sbch ceueedes convene 29, 49

State v. Willis, 552 N.E.2d 512
(Ind. App. 1990) 2, 8-9, 14-17, 28, 42, 45

State v. Willis, No. 85-PSCr-49

(Porter Super. Ct. Nov. 29, 1988) ..... 2
Stevenson v. State, 289 Md. 167, 423

ee et er eee ee 25
Sullivan v. Louisiana, 113 S. Ct.

ne SAOEee.” «sconce node uke 27, 46, 48
T i cky, 436 U.S. 478

SS Peer Fee ee 26, 48
Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288

Sn. . ceo uk acke aaah tae aes 13, 45, 46
United States v. Anderson, 716 F.2d

7 Bo Ee ~ OS Serer er a 20
United States v. Battiste, No.

14,545, 24 F. Cas. 1042 (C.C.D.

i: Dene 2 6seas cee eka hae es 6b Ge 20, 49
United States v. Dellinger, 472 F.2d

340 (7th Cir. 1972), cert. denied,

ee OB. OUG. CEOVE . wc bic han oes st eex 20
United States v. Dougherty, 473 F.2d

Saee Seles CAL. SUE) (ued seheeceweeuas 21

United States v. Drefke, 707 F.2d
978 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 464

Oe ee ee | ee ee ot vawae seeenwas 21

United States v. Krzyske, 836 F.2d

1013 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 488

se Me a Raa te ieee ere 21

United States v. Moylan, 417 F.2d

1002 (4th Cir. 1969), cert. denied,

IF Wc ee Ce * aves semietaweneaes 21
v. W , 705

Fim Gee Wes Cae BOEET Secéccesenes 21

United States v. Wiley, 503 F.2d 106

Se OS er ols Wu s oew-r eee ees 21

Wilkins v. Maryland, 402 F. Supp. 76

(D. Md. 1975), aff'd, 538 F.2d 327

(4th Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 429
Ca See ee: 6 ow oe thee be wee ue 25, 31

Willis v. Aiken, 8 F.3d 556 (7th
Cir. 1993) ...2,.9-13, 27-28, 33-38, 45-47

Willis v. Aiken, No. H91-147 (N.D.

i Fee. ot ee ee Ze Be ae
Willis v. State, 512 N.E.2d 871
CS. Es SOO Ce. 6b 60s KG ee oe enn nee een 2

In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970) 26, 48

W v. Warden, 372 F.2d 742 (4th
Cir.), cert. denied, 389 U.S. 863
(LOOT) 5ise ee ones CERN ose Kaespet areas 25

CONSTITUTIONS AND STATUTES

wos Gees Sa ee oes ee es bw eee ee 3

ix

U.8. Comet. QMONG. ZIV .ccccccvevess 3, 4
‘Ind. Const. art. I, 8@C. 19 ..ccece. 3, &
26 U.8.C. § TSSE(L) wccctcccvecsessccss 3
ke Se ee Sere re ee eee ee 14
26 U.8.Cc 8 2BSR oF eee vee cows bes ecesn 13
Be WeWcles -B SOSD bcvesscccvvrecsesseeves 13
a | err ee ae eee 14
ZB U.B.C. BF BOOS cevcceceerecvocecveces 13

OTHER SOURCES

Howe, Juries As Judges of Criminal
Law, 52 Harv. L. Rev. 582 (1939) .... 18

Note, Jury Nullification And Jury
Control Procedures, 65 N.Y.U. L.
i er Ce hs ea eke ne Oa ke. & 0 20

Note, The Jury's Role Under the
Indiana Constitution, 52 Ind. L.J.
Tae MEDC noe ncesadeeewareeseees 22, 30

Scheflin and Van Dyke, Jury
Nullification: The Contours of a
Controversy, 43:4 Law & Contemp.

Ps Be SOE Seevcceebecedeenrvseceese 20

Scheflin, Jury Nullification: The
Right To Say No, 45 So. Cal. L. Rev.
DE SATE Scacecatedwaerscoerticive 18-19

No. 94-
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1993

DAVID A. WILLIS,
Petitioner,

Vv.
JAMES E. AIKEN, Commissioner,
Indiana Department of Corrections,
PORTER SUPERIOR COURT and
LINLEY E. PEARSON, Attorney
General of Indiana,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

David Willis asks that a writ
of certiorari issue to review the opinion
and judgment of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit in his

case.

2

OPINIONS BY OTHER COURTS

he Decision of which review
is sought: Willis v. Aiken, 8 F.3d 556
(7th Cir. 1993) (App. A)

Y Direct appeal from convic-
tion: Willis v. State, 512 N.E.2d 871
(Ind. App. 1987), transfer denied (App.
B)

3. State postconviction pro-
ceedings: State v. Willis, No. 85-PSCr-

49, slip. op. (Porter Super. Ct. Nov. 29,
1988) (App. C)

4. Appeal of state postcon-
viction decision: State v. Willis, 552
N.E.2d 512 (Ind. App. 1990), transfer
denied (1991) ("Willis II") (App. D)

S. Federal habeas corpus:
Willis v. Aiken, No. H91-147, slip op.
(N.D. Ind. Dec. 4, 1991) (App. E)

6. Federal habeas corpus

judgment, December 6, 1991 (App. F)

3

JURISDICTION
The Court of Appeals for the

Seventh Circuit rendered its judgment in
this matter on October 29, 1993. There
were no orders on rehearing or extending
the time to petition for certiorari.
This Court's jurisdiction is conferred by
28 U.S.C. section 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

In all criminal cases
whatever, the jury shall have
the right to determine the law
and the facts.

IND. CONST. art. I, § 19.

This constitution,
and the laws of the United
States which shall be made in
pursuance thereof; and all
treaties made, or which shall
be made, under the authority of
the United States, shall be the
supreme law of the land; and
the judges in every state shall
be bound thereby, any thing in
the constitution or laws of any
state to the contrary notwith-
standing.

U.S. CONST. art. VI.

No State shall make
or enforce any law which shall

4

abridge the privileges or immu- |
nities of citizens of the ;
United States; nor shall any
State deprive any person of
life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law[.]
U.S. CONST. amend. XIV, § 1.
STATEMENT ~~? THE CASE
This is an appeal from the
denial of a petition for a writ of habeas
corpus.
David Willis is 62 years old,
and was for many years a trial lawyer in
Valparaiso, Indiana with a solo practice.
He is a former board member and secretary
of the Indiana Bar Association. In 1984,
Willis received a check for about $15,000
in settlement of a client's claim and
used the funds to retire a personal obli-
gation. A short time later, before the

issuance of any criminal charges, he

repaid the client with interest. Still,

Indiana charged Willis with felony theft.

Willis's 1986 trial in Porter
Superior Court began with this instruc-
tion:

Since this is a
criminal case the Constitution
of the State of Indiana makes
you the judges of both the law
and the facts. Though this
means that you are to determine
the law for yourself, it does
not mean that you have the
right to make, repeal, disre-
gard, or ignore the law as it
exists. The instructions of
the court are the best source
as to the law applicable to
this case.

Trial Record ("T.R.") at 46,
49. The instruction was, and still is,
an Indiana pattern. Indiana Pattern Jury
Instructions (Criminal) § 1.03. Willis
did not object to it.

The trial was full of invita-
tions for the jury to determine the law
for itself. Most egregiously, in closing

argument, the prosecutor argued that

Willis should carry "the burden":

6

The evidence shows
this was not the only position
of trust that he violated.
Cross-examination. Discipli-
mary complaint. Roberta
Clausen. She got a life insur-
ance check, bounced. What's
he doing with this money? It's
just not fair to put the burden
on us as to his actions.

TR. GC G52.

The trial judge then followed
with final instructions, invoking the
protections guaranteed by the federal
Constitution but then repeating the in-
struction to "determine the law for your-
self," using the court's instructions
only as "the best" source of that law.
some BE 3S

The six-person jury convicted,
and the trial court later sentenced Wil-
lis to a two-year term of imprisonment.
T.R. at 95, 675. He was confined in the
Indiana prison system for one year and

spent a second year on parole. He

|

brought this petition while he was incar-

cerated.

PRESENTATION AND RESOLUTION OF THESE
ISSUES BELOW

Willis did not object to the
pattern instruction at trial, nor did he
call it error on direct appeal. He did
challenge the instruction, and other
aspects of his trial as well, in a peti-
tion for postconviction relief filed in
the Indiana courts. A state trial court
granted that petition, but not on this
ground. App. C.? Thus Indiana appealed,
and Willis cross-appealed challenging

this instruction.

2The postconviction trial court held,
oddly, that the challenge to the instruction was
barred by "res adjudicata" - one spelling of the
name for Indiana's doctrine that issues decided
on appeal cannot be heard in a postconviction
proceeding. App. C-7. Since the challenge had
not been made on direct appeal, this ruling made
no sense, but it did not affect later proceed-
ings.

The Indiana Court of Appeals
reversed the trial court, rejecting all
of Willis's claims. On this issue, the
court phrased the question as "[w]hether
an instruction that the jury could deter-
mine the law denied Willis basic consti-
tutional rights and due process." Willis
II, 552 N.E.2d at 513, App. D-9. The
court noted that Willis "failed to object
to this instruction at trial," and that
he had challenged the instruction as fun-
damental error. Id. at 515, App. D-10.

Then the court went on to dis-
cuss article I, section 19 of the Indiana
constitution, note its purpose, and quote
at length from Indiana opinions approving
the state's scheme of jury as judge of
the law. Finally, the Indiana court
rejected explicitly, with discussion,
(although citing only Indiana cases) Wil-

lis's claim that the jury instruction

a ee ne ea em

giving effect to article I, section 19
"deprives criminal defendants of basic
constitutional protections." Willis II,
552 N.E.2d at 515-16, App. D-14. In the
end it held that "[nJo fundamental error
exists." 552 N.E.2d at 516, App. D-15.
No form of the word "waiver" was used in
this section of the opinion.

Willis then filed a petition

for habeas corpus in the district court
for the Northern District of Indiana.
The district court held that the state
court decision rested on state law
grounds, reading the Indiana court's sub-
stantive discussion to have relied upon
the Indiana constitution and Indiana case
law. Willis v. Aiken, No. H91-147 slip
op. at 15, App. E-18-19.

The Court of Appeals for the

Seventh Circuit upheld the denial of

habeas, but rejected the district court's

10

reasoning. The state court had clearly
addressed the federal issue: "It would
indeed be unusual for the appellant to
argue, or for the state court to assume,
that one part of the state constitution
might be rendered 'unconstitutional' by
another section of the same document.

Any holding that a provision of the
state constitution does not deny due
process must necessarily include a deter-
mination that the state constitutional
provision is not violative of the Federal
Constitution." 8 F.3d at 562; App. A-9-
10.

Further, the Seventh Circuit
made it clear that it was unhappy with
the Indiana instruction: "We certainly
do not want to be misunderstood as con-
doning the problematic instruction at

issue in this case." 8 F.3d at 568, App.

A-22. Nevertheless, the court rejected

11

Willis's claims on procedural grounds.
The state court, said the Seventh Circuit
had rested its decision not on a holding
that the instruction was correct, but
rather on a holding that the instruction
was not fundamental error. That latter
holding, said the Seventh Circuit, was an
independent and adequate state ground. 8
F.3d at 567, App. A-20.

In reaching this holding, the
court declined to apply the presumption
of Harris v. Reed, 489 U.S. 255 (1989),
that "if 'it fairly appears that the
state. court rested its decision primarily
on federal law,' [federal courts] may
reach the federal question on review
unless the state court's opinion contains
a '"plain statement" that [its] decision
rests upon adequate and independent state

grounds.'" Harris, 489 U.S. at 261,

quoting Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032,

12

1042 (1983). Noting the absence of
applicable guidance from this Court, the
court decided that the Harris presump-
tion's predicate was not satisfied. Even
though the state court had addressed the
federal constitutional issue, the court
held, it had done so "only to determine
whether it ought to disregard its waiver
rule on the ground that the federal con-
stitutional issue constitutes 'fundament -
al error.'" 8 F.3d at 562, App. A-8-9.
Indiana's fundamental error doctrine, in
turn, is itself independent of federal
law, the court decided. 8 F.3d at 566-
67, App. 18-20. Therefore, the state
court opinion upholding the instruction,
although addressing federal issues, did
not fairly appear to rest on federal law.
8 F.3d at 567, App. 20,

As an alternative holding, the

Seventh Circuit also held that the rule

13

Willis seeks would be "new" under Teague
v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288 (1989), and that
habeas relief was barred for that reason
as well.

FEDERAL JURISDICTION BELOW

The district court had juris-

diction over this petition for writ of
habeas corpus under 28 U.S.C. §§ 2241,
2254 and 1331. After the district
court's adverse judgment, which was
entered December 4, 1991, Willis timely
filed a notice of appeal and sought a
certificate of probable cause from the
district court, but that court refused to
issue the certificate by decision dated
January 6, 1992. Acting on Willis's sub-
sequent motion in the Court of Appeals,
on January 17, 1992 that Court granted a
certificate of probable cause. The Court

of Appeals thus had jurisdiction over

this appeal from denial of a writ of

14

habeas corpus pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§§ 1291 and 2253.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Indiana courts instruct every
criminal jury that it is "the judge of
the law." No caveat excepts that law
which the jury may not "judge," but must
faithfully apply: the protections guar-
anteed to defendants by the federal Con-
stitution. Commonly the instruction is
the pattern given here, that the jury may
"determine the law for [it]self," using
the trial court's instructions as only
"the best source" of the law.

This case now presents two
incompatible truths. The state court
opinion in Willis II is Indiana precedent
for the substantive, and clearly mista-

ken, proposition that the instruction is

15

proper;? but the federal courts believe
they cannot condemn the instruction be-
cause Indiana did not decide federal law.
The incompatibility of those
two truths underlies each of the three
reasons why certiorari should be granted
in this case. First, Indiana has decided

that juries may be told they can ignore

3Puquay v. State, 583 N.E.2d 154, 156
(Ind. Ct. App. 1991). In Fuquay, the defendant
had requested a jury-as-judge instruction some-
what broader than this pattern, stressing that
the trial court's instructions were "not neces-
sarily binding" and that the jury had "the right
to independently determine the law to be differ-
ent from the instruction from the Court." 583
N.E.2d at 156. Rejecting the appeal, the court
of appeals cited Willis II as upholding a prop-
erly limited instruction: "In State v. Willis,
[citation], this court upheld an instruction
stating: [instruction quoted]. The decision in
Willis relied heavily upon the opinion of Justice
Arterburn in Beavers [v. State, 236 Ind. 549, 141
N.E.2d 118 (1957)]. Thus, it seems clear that in
exercising their constitutional right to deter-
mine the law, juries, under their oaths, are
bound to determine it correctly, and that an in-
struction which would lend credence to the view
that the jury was free to 'do its own thing' and
determine the law in accordance with its own per-
sonal opinion as to the law, is erroneous and
should not be given." Id. at 156-57.

16

the Constitution. That state court deci-
sion conflicts with every decision of
this Court which requires firm and accu-
rate jury instructions on constitutional
protections. Second, the Seventh Circuit
has found the Indiana decision unreview-
able although it contains no plain state-
ment of an intent to rely on state waiver
law. That decision is in conflict with
Harris v. Reed, 489 U.S. 255 (1989), and
allows a state decision on the merits to
stand unreviewed. And third, the Seventh
Circuit has found it to be a "new rule"
to require juries to follow the Constitu-
tion. In doing so, Willis submits, the
¢ourt has made "old" rules a null set,
and thus effectively eliminated habeas
corpus itself.

The result: Indiana lawyers,
following Willis II, will keep failing to

object to this instruction. For those

0058 atthe hei bina hepa,

Abt ali Sal ani Mite Ao 2

17

who finally do, Indiana courts, following
Willis II, will continue to uphold it.
And in the months and years before the
federal courts finally hear a case where
the issue was preserved at trial, every
Indiana criminal defendant will be tried
by a jury which is told that it need not
follow the law.

I. THE INDIANA COURT OF APPEALS HAS
DECIDED THAT CRIMINAL JURIES MAY BE TOLD
THEY ARE NOT BOUND BY THE FEDERAL CONSTI-
TUTION.

"(D])etermine the law for your-
self," with the trial court's instruc-
tions as a guide. This instruction freed
the jury to conduct a referendum on the
Bill of Rights. The instruction made
Willis's trial fundamentally unfair, and
not just in theory. When the prosecutor
explicitly invited Willis's jury to place
the burden of proof on the defendant,
saying, "It's just not fair to put the

burden on us as to his actions," T.R. at

18

651, she was speaking to a jury which had
been told, and would be told again, that
it could shift the burden of proof if it

wanted to.

A. State Courts May Not Allow
ri nore Defendants'
Constitutional Protections.

The history of jury-as-judge
provisions helps explain how such an
instruction could be given in a modern
court, and why it must not be given
again. The idea that a jury's power to
determine the law for itself to status of
a right dates back at least to 1670.% In
the eighteenth and early nineteenth cen-
turies the right was incorporated in the
constitutions of numerous states, and
some assumed that federal juries had the

same right.>

*4Bushell's Case, 124 Eng. Rep. 1006
(C.P. 1670).

SHowe, Juries As Judges of Criminal
Law, 52 Harv. L. Rev. 582 (1939); Scheflin, Jury

19

In federal courts, the issue

was resolved early. In 1895, this Court
held that in federal criminal trials,
juries were bound to follow the instruc-

tions of the trial judge. Sparf v.

United States, 156 U.S. 51, 102 (1895).

The Court adopted the view of Mr. Justice
Story, who in 1835 instructed a Massachu-
setts federal jury that, though it had
the power to nullify the court's inter-
pretation of the law, it had no right to
do so. "On the contrary," he concluded,

I hold it the most
sacred constitutional right of
every party accused of a crime,
that the jury should respond as
to the facts, and the court as
to the law... Every person
accused as a criminal has a
right to be tried according to
the law of the land... and
not by the law as a jury may ’
understand it, or choose, from

Nullification: The Right To Say No, 45 So. Cal.
L. Rev. 168, 177 (1972).

Se eee ae

20
wantonness, or ignorance, or
accidental mistake, to inter-
pret it. ’
United States v. Battiste, No. 14,545, 24
F. Cas. 1042, 1043 (C.C.D. Mass. 1835)
(Story, J.)

Thereafter, it was defendants
who most commonly asked for "jury nulli-
fication," urging federal judges to
instruct their juries that the jurors had
the right to determine the law for them-
selves and to nullify the charge given by
the court.® Invariably these efforts
failed. See, e.g., United States v. And-
erson, 716 F.2d 446, 449-50 (7th Cir.
1983) (abortion protests); United States
v. Dellinger, 472 F.2d 340, 408 (7th Cir.

1972), cert. denied, 410 U.S. 970 (1973)
(anti-war protests); Uni Vv

6scheflin & Van Dyke, Jury Nullifica-

tion: The Contours of a Controversy, 43:4 Law &
Contemp. Prob. 51, 52-56 (1980); Note, Jury Nul-
lification And Jury Control Procedures, 65

N.Y.U.L. Rev. 825 (1990).

21

Krzyske, 836 F.2d 1013, 1021 (6th Cir.),

cert. denied, 488 U.S. 832 (1988) (tax
: protests); United States v. Drefke, 707
i
F.2d 978, 982 (8th Cir.), r nied,

464 U.S. 942 (1983) (tax protests) ;
United States v. Washington, 705

F.2d 489, 494 (D.C. Cir. 1983) (false
passports); United States v. Wiley, 503
F.2d 106 (8th Cir. 1974) (tax protests) ;
United States v. Dougherty, 473

¥.26 1423, 1330-37 (B.C... Car, 2972)
(anti-war protests); Unit Vv.
Moylan, 417 F.2d 1002, 1009 (4th

Cir. 1969), cert. denied, 397 U.S. 910
(1970) (anti-war protests).

In state courts, though, the
issue was not resolved. The constitu-
tions of Maryland, Indiana, Georgia and
Oregon retain provisions empowering
juries in criminal cases to determine the

; law. Indiana, however, differs from the

22

rest; alone among American jurisdictions,
Indiana instructs its juries that they
have this right.

Strangely, until the state
court opinion in this case, no Indiana
defendant had argued that the jury-as-
judge instruction deprived him of federal
rights.’ This Court, however, made one
brief pronouncement on the question in
1963, after it had been raised in two
Maryland cases.

In both Maryland cases, Slansky
v. State, 192 Md. 94, 63 A.2d 599 (1949)
and Giles v. State, 229 Md. 370, 183 A.2d
359, 364-65 (1962), the defendants argued
that the Maryland jury-as-judge provision
deprived them of the due process and, in

Giles's case, equal protection rights

7TNote, The Jury's Role Under the
Indiana Constitution, 52 Ind. L. J. 793, 795 n.10
(1977).

23

guaranteed by the Fourteenth Amendment.
In both cases, the Maryland Court of

Appeals held that the Fourteenth Amend-
ment did not protect the defendant from

this state action. The Giles court said:

[In Slansky], in
holding that the constitutional
rights of the defendant had not
been abridged, we pointed out
that the due process clause of
the Fourteenth Amendment does
not require the states to con-
form their criminal procedure
to that of the federal courts,
but left the states free to
work out their own systems of
criminal procedure as they had
done for many years both before
and after the adoption of the
amendment. .. . So far as we
are advised, the Supreme Court
of the United States has not
rendered any decision since
Slansky which would now require
a different result from that
there reached by this Court.

Giles sought review from that
holding in this Court. Not surprisingly
in that day, the Court held that Giles's

claim that Maryland trial procedure vio-

lated the due process clause of the Four-

24

teenth Amendment did not present a sub-
stantial federal question and dismissed

the appeal. Giles v. Maryland, 372 U.S.
767 (1963) .8

8since Giles, Maryland has recognized
that jurors are not free to judge the law which
implicates constitutional protections and has de-
veloped pattern jury instructions which advise
juries in criminal trials that they are bound by
those of the court's instructions which embody
constitutional guarantees:

Implicit in the decisions
of this Court limiting the jury's ju-
dicial role to the "law of the crime"
is a recognition that all other legal
issues are for the judge alone to de-
cide. Because of this division of the
law-judging function between judge
and jury, it is incumbent upon the
trial judge to carefully delineate
for the jury the following dichotomy:
(i) that the jury, under Article 23,
is the final arbiter of disputes as
to the substantive "law of the
crime," as well as the "legal effect
of the evidence," and that any com-
ments by the judge concerning these
matters are advisory only; and
(ii) that, by virtue of this same
constitutional provision, all other
aspects of law (e.g., the burden of
proof, the requirement of unanimity,
the validity of a statute) are beyond
the jury's pale, and that the judge's
comments on these matters are binding
upon that body.

AN. Dk AT Op EET Ie eae

ee Ae ee eee

"

In reliance upon the Supreme
Court's holding in Giles that the Mary-
land constitutional provision did not
create a Fourteenth Amendment issue,
lower federal courts on two occasions

have rejected challenges to Maryland con-

victions. Wyley v. Warden, 372 F.2d 742
(4th Cir.), cert. denied, 389 U.S. 863
(1967); Wilkins v. Maryland, 402 F. Supp.

76 (D. Md. 1975), aff'd, 538 F.2d 327
(4th Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 429 U.S.
1044 (1977).

In granting this petition, this
Court would announce that the Giles deci-
sion would be different today. While a
jury instruction which authorized a jury

to judge the law may have created no per-

Stevenson v. State, 289 Md. 167, 423 A.2d 558,
565 (1980); see also Maryland Pattern Jury
Instruction -Criminal 2:00A and 2:00B.

26

ceived Fourteenth Amendment issue in
1963, this Court has since made it clear
that due process requires state jury
instructions on constitutional protec-
tions, and that instructions which under-
state or dilute those protections violate
due process. Griffin v. California, 380
U.S. 609 (1965) (state jury must not be
instructed that it may consider the
defendant's failure to testify as indica-
tion of guilt); In re Winship, 397 U.S.
358 (1970) (state jury must be instructed
that state bears burden of proving all
elements beyond reasonable doubt); Taylor

v. Kentucky, 436 U.S. 478 (1978) (state

jury must be instructed on presumption of

innocence); Burch v. Louisiana, 441 U.S.

130 (1979) (six-person state jury must be

instructed that its verdict must be

unanimous); Sandstrom v. Montana, 442
U.S. 510 (1979) (state jury may not be

Me he el ee ae eeheert

trina 5

27

instructed that defendant must rebut pre-
sumption on any element); Carter v. Ken-
tucky, 450 U.S. 288 (1981) (state jury
must be instructed that defendant has
privilege not to testify); Sullivan v.
Louisiana, 113 S. Ct. 2078 (1993)
(instruction relieving the state of the
burden of proof beyond a reasonable doubt
can never be harmless error). The
Indiana pattern instruction tells juries
that they may ignore every single
instruction which this Court requires,

and for that reason it cannot stand.

have been offered for the pattern
instruction over the course of this liti-
gation do not narrow or save it, as the

Seventh Circuit implicitly recognized.

("We certainly do not want to be miscon-

28

strued as condoning th[is] problematic
instruction," 8 F.3d at 568, App. A-22.)
First, in its opinion on this appeal, the
Indiana court of appeals explained that
the jury's power is in fact limited and,
as thus limited, constitutional; and that
in any event, a jury which convicts on
insufficient evidence can be overruled by
judges. 552 N.E.2d at 515, App. D-9-11,
quoting at length from Beavers v. State,
236 Ind. 549, 141 N.E.2d 118, 122 (1957).
Neither half of this justifica-
tion blunts the harm of the instruction.
First, though judges may indeed acquit
defendants convicted by juries on insu®f-
ficient evidence, the jury-as-judge
instruction invites other constitutional
error which no court can correct. No
reviewing court can determine whether a

jury decided to place upon a defendant

the burden of proving his innocence, or

ee

ee

St AW OR Re adm eee ene Le

29

decided to drop the element of intent
from a theft crime. See State v. Burpee,
65 Vt. 1, 25 A. 964, 973 (1892).

Second, judicial pronouncements
that Indiana juries' powers are really
limited miss the point. Appellate courts
in Indiana know that a jury's right to
judge the law is limited; the point is
that the jury does not know it. When the
jury is not told of the limitations on
its powers, then those limitations do not
exist as a practical matter.

A different justification con-
vinced the federal district court which
heard this habeas petition: the instruc-
tion's language. The court held that the
instruction here was limited enough,

relying on the instruction's caveat not

to "make, repeal, disregard or ignore the

law as it exists." Willis v. Aiken, No.

30

H91-147 slip op. at 15 (N.D. Ind. Dec. 4,
1991), App. E-23.

Far from narrowing the instruc-
tion, this language is worse than noth-
ing. Accord Note, supra, 52 Ind. L.J. at
793, 797-98. To "make .. . the law as
it exists" is meaningless; law that
already exists cannot be made anew. The
warning not to "repeal, disregard or
ignore the law as it exists" flatly con-
tradicted the phrase which preceded it:
"You are to determine the law for your-
self." Neither phrase has any meaning if
the other is true. The next sentence
further muddles the admonition by telling
the jurors only that the judge is "the
best source as to the law."

Most importantly, the jury was
never told that it was bound absolutely
by what the trial judge said on some

issues -- and that is where the Four-

ee

OO te MOR RT ee SN ate Ee

2 RS BN a AE Ar

ets a Pe Se ad

31

teenth Amendment was lost. The jury was
not told that procedural constitutional
protections must be honored and then the
jury was urged not to honor those protec-
tions when the prosecutor told them that
it just was "not fair" to make the state
carry the burden of proof. T.R. at 651.
Even courts that have upheld jury-as-
judge instructions would not have done so
in the face of such an argument: "Had
the prosecution argued unconstitutional
legal propositions to the jury, in order
to subvert the valid instructions of the
trial judge, this court might take a dif-
ferent view of this petition." Wilkins,

402 F. Supp. at 82.9

IShould this petition be granted,
Willis will also argue the instruction invited
the jurors to alter the elements of the charged
offense, depriving him of his constitutional
rights to notice and a meaningful appeal. Again,
in his trial, that deprivation is more than theo-
retical. The state used a voir dire example,
evidence of disciplinary complaints, and expert
testimony on lawyers' duties in a way that could

32

Indiana's pattern jury-as-judge
instruction invites juries to ignore
other instructions, those which implement
constitutional protections and set out
the elements of crimes, as surely as if
it inserted the words "if you decide you
want that to be the law" after every jury
instruction required by the Constitution.
Convictions tainted by that instruction
cannot stand; neither can the Indiana
court of appeals decision in this case,
which is precedent that such convictions

are fine.

invite the jury to substitute, for the intent
element of this crime, a higher standard of con-
duct for lawyers. That made the jury-as-judge
instruction especially dangerous to him.

33

II. THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT HAS INTERPRETED
COLEMAN V. THOMPSON IN SUCH A WAY AS TO
RENDER USELESS THE PRESUMPTION OF HARRIS
V. REED.

The Seventh Circuit's opinion
made it clear, perhaps as explicitly as
lower courts respectfully can, why this
issue is appropriate for certiorari.

This case, it said, represented "a spe-
cific but recurring litigation problem
that has not yet been the focus of
Supreme Court guidance: When the state
court addresses a federal constitutional
issue but only to determine whether it
ought to disregard its waiver rule on the
ground that the federal constitutional
issue constitutes 'fundamental error.'"

8 F.3d at 562, App. A-8-9. The court
continued: "Today, we continue our
attempt to follow a path that the Supreme
Court has cut only partially and where

future directions are only dimly illu-

34

mined by current precedent." 8 F.3d at
563, App. A-10-11.

With that uncertain introduc-
tion, the Seventh Circuit decided this
case. The procedural issue was the
application of the "Harris presumption,"
under which federal courts address fed-
eral habeas claims where the decision of
the last state court to hear them "fairly
appeared to rest primarily on those
claims, or to be interwoven with those
claims, and did not clearly and expressly
rely on an independent and adequate state
ground." Coleman v. Thompson, 111 S.Ct.
2546, 2557 (1989) (interpreting Harris).

If Harris applied, Willis won.
The state court had certainly reached the
merits of Willis's constitutional argu-
ment, that was clear, 8 F.3d at 562, App.
A-9-10; and there was no statement any-

where in the Indiana opinion that it did

35

not intend to base its decision on the

merits.1°

10tndeed, the structure of the state

court opinion here is practically indistinguish-

able from that reviewed in Harris, mentioning but
never relying on the defendant's failure to pre-

serve the error. The Harris court said:

Applying the 'plain statement'
; requirement in this case, we conclude that
i the Illinois Appellate Court did not
‘clearly and expressly' rely on waiver as a
ground for rejecting any aspect of peti-
tioner's ineffective-assistance-of-counsel
Claim. [citing Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S.
1032, 1041 (1983)] To be sure, the state
court perhaps laid the foundation for such -
a holding by stating that most of peti-
tioner's allegations 'could have been
raised [on] direct appeal.' App. 12.
Nonetheless, as the Court of Appeals recog-
nized, this statement falls short of an ex-
plicit reliance on a state law ground.

oe Naat Re Re

489 U.S. at 266. In the accompanying footnote,
the Court continued:

While it perhaps could be ar-
gued that this statement would have suf-
ficed had the state court never reached the
federal claim, the state court clearly went
on to reject the federal claim on the mer-
its. As a result, the reference to state
law in the state court's opinion is insuf-
ficient to demonstrate clearly whether the
court intended to invoke waiver as an al-
ternative ground. It is precisely with re-
gard to such an ambiguous reference to

state law in the context of clear reliance

te ae

36

But the Seventh Circuit held
that the Harris presumption did not
apply, because its predicate was not sat-
isfied; the state court decision did not
fairly appear to rest on or be interwoven
with federal law. 8 F.3d at 565-67, App.
A-16-18, 20. The Indiana court had
reached the merits, yes, but only in the
"procedural context" of Willis's funda-
mental error argument. 8 F.3d at 562,
App. A-10. Since "fundamental error" is
an independent Indiana doctrine, the
court concluded, Willis II's holding up-
holding the instruction was immune from
federal review.

The Seventh Circuit reached

this result by applying, as best it

on federal law that Long permits federal
review of the federal issue.

ig. @@ a. i3.

37

could, one case: Coleman v. Thompson,
111 S.Ct. 2546, 2557 (1989). In Coleman,

this Court held that a Virginia decision
which was gilent on the merits?! did not
fairly appear to rest on federal grounds,
even though the state court might implic-
itly have had to decide that the chal-
lenged trial errors were not so great as
to justify forgiving the procedural
default. The standards by which Virginia
decided to forgive such defaults, this
Court said, were independent of federal
law. 111S. Ct. at 2560.

"After Coleman," said the Sev-
enth Circuit here, "we believe that the
formalism of [Harris] is no longer the

controlling factor. We also believe

11ltn Coleman, the state appellate
court granted a motion to dismiss the appeal be-
cause the notice of appeal was late. The motion
was not based on federal grounds and none were
mentioned in the state court's summary order.

38

that, because it remains our duty to
‘examine the scope of the relevant state
court judgment,' [citing Coleman at
2559], it is permissible for us to exam-
ine the caselaw of Indiana to determine
the function that the fundamental error
doctrine plays in its appellate process."
8 F.3d at 565-66, App. A-18-19.

In construing Coleman to alter
Harris, rather than simply to apply it,
the Seventh Circuit missed the crucial
distinction between the two cases. In
Harris, the state court opinion discussed
the merits; in Coleman, it did not. Thus
the Seventh Circuit also missed the dis-
tinction here: in Coleman, there was no
precedential state court decision uphold-
ing an unfair trial. In Willis, there
is.

This section will show why

Coleman cannot change Harris in cases

39

where the state court reached the issue.
If plain statements of reliance on state
grounds are not required in those cases,
then Harris is overruled, and under the
"fundamental error" analysis that will
take its place, most state errors of fed-

eral law will stand as precedent.

Discussed The Issue.

The Seventh Circuit's interpre-
tation of Coleman applies to nearly every
habeas case, since all or nearly all the
states have fundamental error doctrines.
In every case where the state court held
(or, as here and in Harris, obliquely
referred to a possible) waiver but then
discussed the merits of the issue, the

Seventh Circuit reads Coleman to say that

courts must examine states' fundamental

error doctrines as predicate to Harris's

plain statement rule. If the fundamental

40

error doctrine is itself independent, no
plain statement will be required.

That made sense in Coleman,
where this Court needed to determine the
intent of an order which was silent on
the merits. The order did not "fairly
appear" to have any connection to federal
law; but before declaring the Harris
predicate unsatisfied there, this Court
examined the state's fundamental error
doctrine as a check to see whether the
state court had implicitly, necessarily,
relied on federal law.

Extending Coleman to this case,
where the Harris predicate clearly is
satisfied on the face of the state deci-
sion, does harm to jurisprudence and to
justice. As to jurisprudence, under the
Seventh Circuit's analysis, no court will

ever get past the Harris predicate; plain

statement analysis no longer applies in

ee ee

41

any case. In its place is a test based
on fundamental error. If the state's
fundamental error doctrine is independ-
ent, the state opinion does not fairly
appear to rest on federal law and review
is barred even without a plain statement;
and if the fundamental error doctrine is
based on federal law, no plain statement
could bar review, since the waiver hold-
ing itself is not independent.12 The
Seventh Circuit has, unintentionally but
no less completely, overruled Harris, and
habeas review in that circuit now depends
on the happenstance of how a state's fun-
damental error doctrine evolved.

The harm to justice follows.
Under the Seventh Circuit's analysis, in
States whose fundamental error doctrines

are deemed independent, habeas review is

l2The latter statement is the holding

of Ake v. Oklahoma, 470 U.S. 68, 75 (1985).

42

barred, even where, as here, the state
court opinion stands as state precedent
for federal error.

Indeed, this case highlights
one reason we need state courts to
plainly tell us when they are relying on
state law, one that even Harris did not
underscore. Such statements help the
federal courts "rapidly to identify
whether federal issues are properly pre-
sented," yes - Harris, 489 U.S. at 265 -
but they do something more. Such state-
ments warn state courts, and state law-
yers, that the precedent they are reading
is limited. Had the court in Willis II
said, "This issue is waived, and is not
fundamental error under our idiosyncratic
state doctrine, and that is the basis for
our holding," Indiana courts presumably
would not be citing Willis II today for

its substantive holding. But there is no

ot te dl at

43

such statement, so courts and trial law-
yers see no reason to challenge this
instruction again.}3

Willis hopes this Court will
agree with the Seventh Circuit that the
impact of fundamental error on Harris is
a recurring problem in real need of a

solution from this Court. He further

13In Ake v. Oklahoma, the Court ana-

lyzed state fundamental error doctrine in a case
where the state court discussed the merits. But
that case demonstrates exactly the point of this
section. The point of Ake's examination of fun-
damental error doctrine was not to decide whether
the Harris predicate was satisfied. Instead, the
Court held, there was no need to recite the en-
tire Harris analysis (predicate, plain statement,
independence of any plainly stated ground) be-
cause its outcome was clear. Oklahoma's waiver
law was so clearly dependent on federal law that
the Harris analysis would mandate review. Had
Oklahoma's waiver law been different, the Harris
analysis would still have led the Court to re-
quire a plain statement to save this explicit
discussion upholding the trial court's failure to
appoint a psychiatrist, because the opinion could
be cited for the proposition that such a failure
was fine under the federal constitution. That
is, Ake allows courts to skip to the end of the
Harris analysis if the state's waiver doctrine is
based on federal law, but not to jettison Harris
if it is not.

44

urges that Harris, for the good reasons
stated in that case and those demon-

strated by this one, remain the law.

Should certiorari be granted,
Willis intends also to argue that even if
habeas review did depend, after Coleman,
on the nature of the state's fundamental
error doctrine rather than on plain
statements, Indiana's decision was
inseparable from its construction of fed-
eral law. Indiana's fundamental error
doctrine is thoroughly bound up in fed-
eral law, so thoroughly that had the
Indiana court found that the pattern
instruction did deny federal due process,
it would have been bound to grant Willis
relief. The full error of the Seventh

Circuit's contrary holding is demon-

45

strated here; the state Willis opinion is
treated in Indiana as precedent for its
holding on the merits. Even under the
Seventh Circuit's construction of Cole-
man, Indiana relied on federal law, not
state law.
III. UNDER THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT'S APPLI-
CATION OF TEAGUE V. LANE, ALL RULES ARE
NEW.+4

"Because the foregoing discus-
sion [of Coleman's effect on the Harris
presumption] involves an issue on which
there is no definitive guidance from the
Supreme Court," 8 F.3d at 567, App. A-20,
the Seventh Circuit reached an alterna-
tive holding. It held that Willis's
petition was barred by Teague v. Lane,

489 U.S. 288 (1989), because it sought a

14This section shows simultaneously
that the rule Willis seeks is not "new" under
Teague and is "implicit in the concept of ordered
liberty," an exception to Teague, because both
are true for the same reasons.

46

"new rule" which did not implicate "the
fundamental fairness and accuracy of the
criminal proceeding." Id. at 568, App.

A-22, quoting Gilmore v. Taylor, 113 S.

Ct. 2112, 2119 (1993) (in turn quoting

Teague at 311).

This section of the opinion too

was cautious, almost uncertain. "We cer-

tainly do not want to be misunderstood as
condoning the problematic instruction at
issue in this case," the court said. 8
F.3d at 568, App. A-22. And "[wle are
aware," the court went on, that the
Supreme Court has held recently that an
instruction relieving the state of the
burden of proof beyond a reasonable doubt
cannot be characterized as harmless
error." Id., App. A-22-23, citing Sulli-
van v. Louisiana, 113 S. Ct. 2078 (1993).

Nevertheless, said the court, the state

court's decision was "on the basis of the

47

established caselaw of the Supreme Court
of Indiana?>5 and not in contravention of
any explicit precedent of this court or,
more importantly, the Supreme Court of
the United States," id., and "whatever
its potential for confusion," id., App.
A-23, it was not one of Gilmore's "small
core of rules implicit in the concept of
ordered liberty." Id.

If that is right, then habeas
corpus is dead. If it is "new" to
require state juries to to presume inno-
cence, to reach unanimous verdicts when
only six are sitting, and to hold to the
reasonable doubt standard, for every ele-
ment, then all rules are new.

For the two decades before this

trial, it had been clear that the funda-

15Here, even the Seventh Circuit
seems to slip into the obvious reading of the
Indiana decision - that it was based on the
merits, not on waiver.

48

mental trial protections of the Bill of
Rights are binding upon the states by
virtue of the Fourteenth Amendment and,
specifically, that instructions diluting
or misstating those protections were
cause for reversal. From Griffin in 1965
through Winship, Taylor, Burch, and
Sandstrom, Carter, to Sullivan last year,
this Court consistently required that
state courts' jury instructions implement
the Constitution's trial guarantees.
Those decisions leave no room for a side
instruction which makes those guarantees
optional.

Indeed, the rule has been,
truly, implicit to the concept of ordered
liberty since long before Griffin:

"The doctrine that
jurors are judges of the law in
criminal cases abolishes the

sacred 'law of the land,'
which, since the days of King

John and Magna Charta, has been
the birthright of all English-

speaking people, and tends to

eT ty ee ee

49

the exercise of irresponsible
arbitrary power. They are
judges whose decision cannot be
reviewed. Their decrees are
irrevocable and final. If they
set aside a constitution or a
statute, their act cannot be
questioned. If in the jury
room they legislate and enact a
law for the case in hand it
never sees the light of day; it
is a mystery and a myth; no one
can lay his hands upon it; no
one can construe or interpret
it; it affords no guide for the
future, for it vanishes into
nonentity the moment the ver-
dict is returned, and the ver-
dict makes no sign; the deci-
Sion and the judges quickly
disappear.

'The showman and the
show, Themselves but shadows,
into shadows go.'"

State v. Burpee, 65 Vt. 1, 25 A. 964, 973
(1892); see also Battiste, 24 F. Cas. at
1043.

CONCLUSION

It is not too strong to say
that the fairness and legality of every
criminal trial in Indiana, and as to the
"new rule" issue, the writ of habeas cor-

pus itself, depend on the answers to the

50

questions presented in this petition.
Willis asks that it be granted.
Respectfully submitted this

27th day of January, 1994

James M. Shellow
Counsel of Record
SHELLOW, SHELLOW &
GLYNN, S.C.

222 East Mason Street
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
53202

[414] 271-8535

Dean A. Strang
Anne Willis Reed

Attorneys for
Petitioner

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_1195%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
