# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Thomas v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_1158%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 511 U.S. 1004

## Text

\
\

Supreme Court, U.S.
PIL SD t/

93121 8 JAN 25 1994

No. OFriCe OF THE ULERA

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1993

KEVIN K. THOMAS,
BARRY D. THOMAS,
Petitioners

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

CHARLES W. B. FELS

Counsel of Record
KENNETH F. IRVINE, JR.
Post Office Box 1126
Knoxville, TN 37901-1126
(615) 637-0661
Counsel for Kevin K. Thomas

DOUGLAS A. TRANT

JUDITH O. WOODS

900 S. Gay St., Suite 1502
Knoxville, TN 37902

(615) 525-7980

Counsel for Barry D. Thomas

QUESTION PRESENTED:
WHETHER THIS “OURT SHOULD ALLOW “HE SIXTH

CIRCUIT TO WEAKEN THE RULE OF ILLINOIS V.

GATES TO ALLOW CORROBORATION OF AN
ANONYMOUS LETTER BY PUBLIC, INNOCENT
DETAILS RATHER THAN BY CORROBORATION OF
“FUTURE ACTIONS OF THIRD PARTIES,

ORDINARILY NOT EASILY PREDICTED"?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
QUESTION PRESENTED cccccceccceseces i
TABisn CF CUSED cnoeseecsneseserves ij
TADLE OF AWSHUMLE SDD ceceovsseseveses iv
OPTIMAL WER pec ectesecseewveseeeses 2
EIDE ES Buee cose e608 6eet.eeeeeneas 2
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION
LIVI? £66.66 66b 0660606 CRO Oe SE 3
STATEOts UF Them CRB seveeeseoeuece 4
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .... 16
I. Introduction -- Anonymous
Informants and
COPTOROSOCEOR 4.240060 64808 84 16
Ii. The Sixth Circuit
DODGE TULTO cscccdvevcesveness r 4.
1s a CONGIGSLOR ssseetceda eee 28

APPENDIX

Fourth Amendment To The U.S.
COBSCATUSIOR 2ceeueoeeeeaceeneaneas la

Report and Recommendation, dated
oni tn - 6 a os 6-66 86-696 b 68 6 66 2a

Memorandum Opinion, dated April 17,
BOOS Cheeses eseseeestorerecescceoues 38a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit, dated
PAS We BPPD cocesevsceocesecees 52a

Order on Petition to Rehear, dated

Pues Fp BOOS ceoccecocccconceeces 77a
Anonymous Letter No. 1 ........... 79a
Anonymous Letter No. 2 ...... pele Bla

iv
TABLE OF CASES AND
OTHER AUTHORITIES
PAGE

I. CASES

Draper v. United States,

; £m el. ee eee passim

Illinois v. Gates,

ee Walks: BE COO) sh ced ewseues passim

United States v. Macklin,
902 F.2d 1320
(Sth Cir. 1990) ..cccccccccccces 12

United States v. Martin,
615 F.2d 318
a re 21

United States v. Weber,
923 F.2d 1338
oan Gas) Be) aes ceeeewsev een es 29

Il. STATUTES
U.S.C. | LSSS( 2) cccvocvceeceesesses 3

W. LaFave, Search and Seizure,

§ 3.3(f), at 687 (2d ed. 1987) . 20

III. CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION:

U.S. Constitution,
po a ee 3

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1993

No.

KEVIN K. THOMAS,
BARRY D. THOMAS,

Petitioners,

Vv.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners Kevin K. Thomas and Barry

D. Thomas respectfully pray that a writ of
certiorari issue to review the per curiam,
unpublished, opinion of the Court of

Appeals for the Sixth Circuit entered on

August 31, 1993, and the denial of the

petition to rehear, which was entered on

October 27, 1993.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Report and Recommendation of the
reviewing Magistrate-Judge, dated March 16,
1992, is attached at 2a. The Memorandum
Opinion of the District Judge, dated April
17, 1992, is attached at 38a.

The opinion of the Court of Appeals,
reversing the Magistrate and the District
Judge, is reprinted in the appendix. See
App. at 52a. The order denying the
petition to rehear is likewise reprinted in

the appendix. App. at 77a.

JURISDICTION
The opinion of the Sixth Circuit was
entered on August 31, 1993. The petition to

rehear was denied in an order, dated

October 27, 1993. The jurisdiction of this

Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED
U.S. Constitution, Amendment 4

This provision is set forth at App. la.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Introduction.

On March 8, 1990, the home of Kevin
and Amy Thomas was searched by federal and
state agents.’ On the same day, the home
of Barry and Angie Thomas was also searched
by federal and state agents.’

Each search was conducted pursuant to
a warrant issued by a part-time federal
magistrate. The bulk of the information
used to obtain each warrant was taken
directly out of two undated, anonymous
letters.?

The first anonymous letter was
received by several different law

Imhe correct address of this residence
is 700 Adella Avenue.

"The address of this residence is 1018
Beverly Hills Drive.

3Copies of these letters are attached at
pages 79a - 88a.

enforcement agencies on or about October
30, 1989. The second anonymous letter was
received on or about January 23, 1990. It
was not possible to determine when the
anonymous letters were actually written nor
whether they were both written by the same
person.

Most of the information set out in the
two anonymous letters consisted of innocent
facts which could be readily obtained with
little or no effort.

Significantly, the letters also
contained predictions of the future
activities of Kevin and Barry Thomas.

After receiving the second anonymous
letter, an agent of the Tennessee Bureau of
Investigation, in cooperation with other
law enforcement officers, attempted to
corroborate the two anonymous letters.

On March 8, 1990, the state agent

presented an applications for two warrants,

with identical affidavits in support, to a
part-time federal magistrate. The part-
time magistrate issued the search warrants
and they were executed the same day.
Marijuana seedlings were seized at
both locations. Charges were filed against
each of the petitioners under 21 U.S.C. §

841(a)(1).

B. Findings of the Reviewing
Magistrate.

The reviewing magistrate, Chief
Magistrate-Judge Robert P. Murrian, held a
hearing on probable cause. After carefully
reviewing the two anonymous letters, the
affidavit and the search warrants,
Magistrate Murrian issued a twenty-two (22)
page Report and Recommendation. In this

report he observed that the anonymous

letters contained twenty-nine (29) material

allegations.‘

Twenty of these twenty-nine
allegations were not corroborated in any
fashion according to the Magistrate's
Report and Recommendation.

Of the remaining nine allegations,
five were corroborated and four were
partially corroborated. None of the
corroborated items fit within the category
of "future actions of third parties
ordinarily not easily corroborated." Each
of the corroborated items was the type of
information which was readily available to
the general public.

The items which the magistrate found
were corroborated or partially corroborated

were:

‘See Report and Recommendation, dated
March 16, 1992, at 12a. (hereinafter "R &
ih

1. Barry and Angie Thomas had been
previously arrested in Knoxville for
cultivating marijuana. About 100
plants were seized from their
residence at that time.

2. Barry and Angie Thomas reside at
1018 Beverly Hills Prive and probably
have done so since Movember, 1989.

3. Kevin and Amy ThoniasS own the
property at 1018 Beverly Hills Drive.

4. Kevin and Amy Thomas own the
property at 700 Adella Avenue.

5. There is a two story out-building
on the property at 1018 Beverly Hills
Drive.

6. The air turbine on the roof of the
outbuilding at 1018 Beverly Hills
Drive sometimes spins even in light
wind conditions.

7. Barry and Angie Thomas own two
great Danes.

8. Kevin Thomas has been a utility
customer at 700 Adella Avenue since
1987.

9. There is some kind of familial,
social and/or landlord/tenant
relationship between Kevin Thomas and
Barry and Angie Thomas.

See R & R, at pp. 20a - 2la.

The Chief-Magistrate found that

although the officers had attempted to
conduct a limited investigation to
corroborate the anonymous letters, the
investigation had serious flaws. He noted
that several of the allegations made in the
anonymous letters were actually

contradicted by the officer's attempts at

corroboration.”

The Chief-Magistrate also noted that
the writer of the second anonymous letter
specifically invited the police to

corroborate certain activities that she/he

°For example, a thermal imaging test
conducted at one residence suggested that
marijuana was being grown in an open and
detached garage. This contradicted the
claim in the anonymous letters that
marijuana was being grown in the basement.
See 26a. In another instance the anonymous
informant's claim that electricity usage had
increased at a particular time was
contradicted when the records showed the
usage had decreased. See 27a - 28a.

9

predicted would happen. The Magistrate
then observed that:

The affidavit makes no mention of any
of this predicted behavior having been
observed by the police. Thus, the
affidavit is devoid of corroboration
of "future actions of third parties
ordinarily not easily predicted" which
the informant invited the police to
corroborate. See Gates, 462 U.S. at
245, 103 S.Ct. at 2335-2336. I find
this to be a crucial omission. Visual

surveillance of both premises failed

to reveal suspicious activity.

R & R, at pp. 22a - 23a. (emphasis added).
The Chief-Magistrate concluded that

probable cause did not exist when the

warrants were issued. Specifically he

found:

Without reading the affidavit in a
hypertechnical way, and giving
substantial deference to the
conclusion reached by the issuing
magistrate judge, the undersigned
concludes that the affidavit in
support of these two search warrants
does not demonstrate that there was a.
fair probability that contraband or
evidence of a crime would be found at
700 Adella Avenue or 1018 Beverly
Hills Drive on March 8, 1990, when
these two search warrants were issued.

10

R&R, at p. 35a.

B. Findings of the United States
District Judge.

The District Court adopted the Chief-
Magistrate's report and recommendation and
went further, stating that "[t]he Court
does not think that this is even a close

6

case." The court characterized the

affidavit in this case as “broad,
speculative and conclusory” and said that
it was "disturbed that warrants were ever
issued on the basis of the evidence
submitted to the issuing magistrate."’
In clear and strong language, the
District Court made the following finding:
The Court has read the application for
the warrants, together with all the
exhibits, and has considered them as a

whole and taking them together, the
Court is of the opinion that probable

{
|

‘Memorandum Opinion, -dated April 17,
1992, at p. 7. See 49a. (hereinafter "Op.
at a”).

7Op. at 46a.

cause simply does not exist. No
substantial evidence supports the
issuing magistrate's finding of
probable cause. The Court is
disturbed that warrants were ever
issued on the basis of the evidence
submitted to the issuing magistrate.
Courts do not sit to rubber stamp the
actions of law enforcement officer.

Suspicion, speculation, and innuendo
are piled on each other in the
affidavit but the totality of the
circumstances contained in it would
not lead a person of reasonable
prudence to believe at the time of the
warrant applications that evidence of
a crime would be present in the
residences of these defendants. The
Court characterizes the affidavit in
this case as "broad, speculative and
conclusory," United States v. Macklin,
902 F.2d 1320, 1326 (8th Cir. 1990).
(emphasis added).

Op. at pp. 45a - 47a.

. The District Court remanded the case,
to the reviewing magistrate, for a good
faith hearing. The Chief-Magistrate found
that the government had failed to show good
faith. Indeed the Chief-Magistrate found

that the manner in which the agents

presented the facts surrounding a test

conducted at one residence, “certainly
comes awfully close to recklessness in
presenting the facts.” The District Court
reviewed and adopted the findings of the
magistrate and ordered the suppression of
the items seized during the searches.

Thus both the Chief~-Magistrate for the
District and the District Court determined
that the affidavits in question did not
corroborate "future actions of third
parties ordinarily not easily predicted"
and that the wealth of otherwise innocent
detail that was corroborated could not

overcome this fatal deficiency.

C. The Sixth Circuit Opinion.

In a per curiam, unpublished opinion,

a panel of the Sixth Circuit reversed the
findings of the Chief-Magistrate and the
District Court. Impressed with the amount

of innocent detail contained in the two

13

anonymous letters the panel reluctantly
acknowledged that "even the detailed

knowledge displayed in the letters would
not have been enough, standing alone, to

"8 However

justify issuance of a warrant...
the panel was convinced that the issuance
of the warrants was justified because "much
of the information amenable to
corroboration was corroborated by the
police."®

The panel was undeterred by the
absence of corroboration of predicted

future actions of third parties, on which

the opinions of the Chief-Magistrate and

®The panel dealt with the lack of detail
about one residence by drawing a "natural
inference" from the greater detail at the
other residence. The panel failed to cite
any authority for this novel "natural
inference" which would seem to violate the
two separate privacy interests at stake.
See 70a - 72a.

%Sixth Circuit Opinion, dated August
31, 1993, at 7la.

14

the District Court had turned. The panel
rejected the need for such information and
stated that "corroboration of apparently
innocent items is sufficient to support the
issuance of a warrant when there are enough
items and they are particular."?°
Applying this expanded reading of

Illinois v. Gates,”

the Sixth Circuit then
reversed the Magistrate and the District

Judge, and reinstated the search warrants.

a at 7la.
11462 U.S. 213 (1983).

15

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THIS COURT SHOULD NOT ALLOW THE SIXTH

CIRCUIT TO WEAKEN THE RULE OF ILLINOIS v.

GATES TO ALLOW CORROBORATION OF AN
ANONYMOUS LETTER BY PUBLIC, INNOCENT
DETAILS RATHER THAN BY CORROBORATION OF
"FUTURE ACTIONS OF THIRD PARTIES,

ORDINARILY NOT EASILY PREDICTED."

I. Introduction --
Anonymous Informants
and Corroboration
Probable cause in this case turns on

the efforts of the officers to corroborate
the facts contained within two anonymous
letters. There is no dispute that the two
anonymous letters, standing alone, failed

to establish the requisite probable cause

for a search of these homes.

16

The district court and the reviewing
magistrate attempted to faithfully apply
the precedents of this Court to the facts
of this case. They recognized that
anonymous tips have always been treated
with great caution because "the veracity of
persons supplying anonymous tips is by
hypothesis largely unknown, and
unknowable.” Illinois v. Gates, 462 U.S.
213, 237 (1983). The subsequent opinion of
the Sixth Circuit repudiates the wisdom of

this Court in this important area.

a. Illinois v. Gates -- Anonymous

Informants.

In Gates, the police had received an
anonymous letter asserting that a named
couple residing in a Chicago suburb were
involved in drug trafficking. The
anonymous letter went on to say that the

couple frequently travelled to Florida to

17

get drugs. It stated that the wife would
drive their car to Florida and would then
fly back to Illinois. The husband would
then fly to Florida and return the loaded
car back to Illinois. The anonymous letter
informed the police that the couple was
getting ready to make a trip to Florida to
get drugs.

Police surveillance established that
the husband flew to Florida. He then went
to a motel room which was registered in his
wife's name. The next morning he departed
with a woman and headed north on an
interstate leading to Chicago.

The Gates Court noted that the
anonymous letter contained a range of
details relating not only to easily
obtained facts and conditions which existed
at the time the tip was given, but also

relating "to future actions of third

18

parties ordinarily not easily predicted."

462 U.S. at 245. The Court observed that:

the letter writer's accurate
information as to the travel plans of
each of the Gateses was of a character
likely obtained oniy from the Gateses
themselves, or from someone familiar
with their not entirely ordinary
travel plans. If the informant has
access to accurate information of this
type a magistrate could properly
conclude that it was not unlikely that
he also had access to reliable
information of the Gateses alleged
illegal activities ....

[P]robable cause does not demand the
certainty we associate with formal
trials. It is enough that there was a
fair probability that the writer of
the anonymous letter had obtained his
entire story from either the Gateses
or someone they trusted. And
corroboration of major portions of the
letter's predictions provides just
this probability.

462 U.S. at 245-246 (footnotes omitted--
emphasis added).

The importance of the anonymous tip
being corroborated by means of police

observation of activity predicted in the

tip was central to the holding in Gates.

See Gates, 462 U.S. at 226.

19

In Gates, this Court rejected the
strict view that only corroboration of

incriminating allegations is relevant. The

Court noted that activity which might
otherwise seem innocent could become
suspicious in light of the anonymous
information provided. 462 U.S. at 243

n. 13. But, the seemingly innocent
activity to which the Court was referring
was activity the anonymous informant had

predicted and which the police had

observed.

"Even after Gates, corroboration of a
very few nonsuspicious and easily predicted
events should not suffice." W. LaFave,

Search and Seizure, § 3.3(f), at 687 (2d

ed. 1987). As the Chief-Magistrate
observed:

Even if an affidavit contains a whole
range of details, it may not be
sufficient to corroborate an anonymous
tip or tips. Such detail will have a
bearing on judging the basis of the
informant's knowledge, but is

20

irrelevant to his or her truthfulness.
An informant who is an accomplished
liar could undoubtedly spin an
elaborate lie, chocked full of easily
obtained details. See United States
v. Martin, 615 F.2d 318, 329 n.9 (5th
Cir. 1980).

R & R, at pp. 6a - 7a.

The two anonymous letters in the
present case simply were not corroborated
to the extent required by Gates. As the
Magistrate and District Court correctly
noted, the corroboration of five
allegations, and the partial corroboration
of four other, pales in comparison to the
corroboration in Gates in which police
observed in a detailed fashion exactly the
kind of trip to Florida the anonymous

informant had predicted.

b. Draper v. United States --
Confidential Informants.

Gates of course involved an anonymous

informant of unknown reliability. Even in

21

cases where this Court has reviewed

information from known informants of known

reliability, it has never adopted the
remarkable approach suggested by the Sixth
Circuit in this case. In Gates, this Court
cited Draper v. United States, 358 U.S. 307
(1959), for the proposition that otherwise
innocent activity might become relevant
based on the corroborative efforts of the

police.

The Gates Court described Draper as
"the classic case on the value of
corroborative efforts of police officers.”
462 U.S. at 242. In Draper, a paid
informant told police that the suspect had
gone to Chicago the day before by train;
that he would return to Denver one or two
days later; that he would be carrying three
ounces of heroin; that he would return
during the morning hours on the train; that

the suspect had a certain physical

22

description; that he would be wearing
certain described clothing; that he would
be carrying a tan zipper bag; and that the
suspect always walked real fast. 358 U.S.
at 309.

The police surveilled the train
station and, on the second day after
receiving the tip, observed a suspect
alight from the Chicago train at Denver's
Union Station. He met the exact physical
description given by the informant, he was
wearing the precise clothing described by
the informant, he was walking fast and he
was carrying a tan zipper bag. 358 U.S. at
309.

The informant in Draper had given this
detailed description of a suspect and had
predicted these future activities of the
suspect. This Court held that since the
police had verified all of the informant's

predictions of future activities, except

23

the possession of heroin, there were now
reasonable grounds to believe that the
suspect would be carrying heroin. Draper,
358 U.S. at 313.

As the Chief-Magistrate in the present
case rightly observed:

That which was verified by police in
Draper were seemingly innocent
details. The details were, however,
actions of a third party not easily
predicted unless one knows what one is
talking about. They were not details
relating to easily obtained facts and
conditions which existed at the time
of the tip. Cf. Gates, 462 U.S. at
245; 103 S.Ct. at 2335-2336.

R & R, at p. 12a.

24

II. The Sixth Circuit
Departure

a. The expansion of Gates.

In the decision below, the Sixth
Circuit has expanded the holding of Gates
in a dramatic way. The court below does
not contend that the police had
corroborated any "future actions of third
parties ordinarily not easily predicted."
Instead the Court simply finds this
requirement of Gates to be unnecessary and
substitutes its own test that
“corroboration of apparently innocent items

is sufficient to support the issuance of a

25

warrant when there are enough items and
they are particular."!?

The new Sixth Circuit standard
repudiates the law of Gates and Draper. It
eviscerates the importance of corroborating
predictions of future activity as a means
of determining whether anonymous informants
really know what they are talking about.

Moreover it is a dangerously
unworkable standard. When will there be
"enough items" and what makes them
"particular" enough? If a search may be
justified exclusively by "enough" innocent

information as long as it is "particular"

do we not as a society return to the

The panel added that "Cojther
information in the letters was inculpating
and non-public, such as the knowledge that
there were approximately 100 plants seized
in the earlier arrest." As stated earlier,
the difficulty with this assertion is that
nowhere in the record does anyone even
suggest that this information was “non-
public". The fact of the seizure and arrest
was of course matters of public record.

26

a

General Warrants and Writs of Assistance
that the Fourth Amendment was intended to
prevent?

The ramifications of the Sixth Circuit
standard are not insignificant. In the
Sixth Circuit at least, every home is now
subject to a search if an anonymous person
contacts the local police with a tip that
contains "enough items and they are

particular. "?}*

3The fact that this new standard is set
forth in an unpublished per curiam opinion
heightens the importance of Supreme Court
review without which the Sixth and other
Circuits would be free to establish their
own de facto standards which do not bear the
imprimatur of this Court's authority.

27

III. Conclusion

As the District Court in the Eastern
District of Tennessee correctly found
"[sJuspicion, speculation and innuendo are
piled on each other...."'* "The
government's argument merely laminates even
more speculation on top of the affiant's
Own conclusory allegations and
speculations."

The Sixth Circuit has now added one
additional layer of speculation and
innuendo.

The difficulty of this aaa mee
been eloquently described elsewhere. "Each
of these inferences standing alone may be
reasonable. But with each passing

inference, the last reached is less and

less likely to be true. Virtual certainty

Mop. at 46a.
Op. at 47a - 48a.

28

becomes probability, which merges into
possibility, which fades into chance."’®

This Court has previously determined
that in evaluating the statements of
anonymous informants it is important to
corroborate "future actions of third
parties ordinarily not easily predicted."
The Sixth Circuit has now repudiated this
holding, substituting instead a new
standard in which corroboration of innocent
activity is sufficient without regard to
future activity as long as there are
"enough items and they are particular."

No other circuit court of appeals has
taken this radical approach to search
warrants based on information from
anonymous sources. The petitioners
respectfully request that this Court grant

their petition for certiorari to determine

United States v. Weber, 923 F.2d 1338,
1345 (9th Cir. 1990).

29

i
Bot
——T ye eee eS

for itself whether Gates and Draper are to

be expanded in this fundamental and

important respect.

30

Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES W. B. FELS
Counsel of Record

KENNETH F. IRVINE, JR.

RITCHIE, FELS & DILLARD P.C.

606 W. Main Avenue

Post Office Box 1126

Knoxville, TN 37901-1126

(615) 637-0661

Counsel for Kevin K. Thomas

DOUGLAS A. TRANT

JUDITH O. WOODS

900 S. Gay St., Suite 1502
Knoxville, TN 37902

(615) 525-7980

Counsel for Barry D. Thomas

31

FOURTH AMENDMENT TO THE
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

AMENDMENT 4

Unreasonable searches and
seizures.-- The right of the people to be
secure in their persons, houses, papers,
and effects, against unreasonable searches
and seizures, shall not be violated, and no
warrants shall issue, but upon probable
cause, supported by oath or affirmation,
and particularly describing the place to be
searched, and the persons or things to be |

seized.

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT FOR THE
EASTERN DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE

AT KNOXVILLE

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff,

Vv.

KEVIN KEITH THOMAS,
Defendant.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff,

Vv.

BARRY D. THOMAS,

Defendant.

NO.CR.3-92-001

ee ee ee ee

NO.CR.3-92-002

ee

REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION

These cases came before the

undersigned on March 5, 1992
with the motions to suppress
pending in both cases [Docs.

accordance with an agreement

counsel, oral arguments were

, in connection

which are
10]. In
reached by

entertained on

the question of whether or not there is
probable cause to support the issuance of
the search warrants in question. It was
agreed that should the Court find that
there is no probable cause to support the
issuance of the search warrants, then the
question of whether or not the search would
nonetheless be valid pursuant to United

States v. Leon, 468 U.S. 897, 104 S.Ct.

3405 (1984), would be addressed. In the
event it is determined that the
requirements of Leon have been met, then it
is agreed that the Court will take up the
issue raised in the supplemental motions to

suppress dealing with Franks v. Delaware,

438 U.S. 154, 98 S.Ct. 2674 (1978)
(statements in an affidavit that are
intentionally false or made with reckless
disregard for the truth must be stricken
and then whether the warrant issued on

probable cause must be determined by the

i -

affidavit with those statements excluded).
Thus, the question considered herein is the
purely legal question of whether or not
within the four corners of the affidavit
submitted in support of each of these
search warrants there is sufficient
probable cause to justify the issuance of
the warrants.

Defendants in these cases seek to
suppress evidence derived from the searches
of their respective residences located at
700 Adella Avenue, Sevierville, Tennessee,
and 1018 Beverly Hills Drive, Sevierville,
Tennessee. The affidavit in support of the
search warrant has attached to it as
Exhibit 2 and Exhibit 3 two anonymous
letters. The first letter was received on
October 30, 1989, by the Drug Enforcement
Administration (DEA) in Knoxville,
Tennessee. The letter was undated. On

January 23, 1990, the Knoxville DEA office

received a second anonymous letter. That
letter was also undated. The style of the
letter suggested that it might be from the
same person or persons who sent the first
letter but that has not been conclusively
proved. Based upon these letters, other
exhibits to the affidavit, and the
application and affidavit sworn to by
Gregory C. Monroe, a Special Agent with the
Tennessee Bureau of Investigation, a United
States Magistrate Judge of this District
issued search warrants for the premises
located at 1018 Beverly Hills Drive and at
700 Adella Avenue.

There is no dispute that the two
anonymous letters, standing alone, fail to
establish the requisite probable cause for
a search of the premises. "(T)he veracity
of persons supplying anonymous tips is by
hypothesis largely unknown, and

unknowable." Illinois v. Gates, 462 U.S.

213, 237 103 S.Ct. 2317, 2332 (1983). The
question before this Court at present is
whether or not the portions of the
affidavit which describe the results of the
police investigation triggered by the
letters, considered in conjunction with the
two letters, constitute probable cause for
the searches. See Id. at 237-238; 2332.

Therefore, my primary focus will
be on what, if anything, the results of the
police investigation added to the
information provided in the two anonymous
letters. "Even after Gates, corroboration
of a very few nonsuspicious and easily

predictable events should not suffice."

W.LaFave, Search and Seizure, § 3.3(f), at

687 (2d ed. 1987). Even if an affidavit
contains a whole range of details, it may
not be sufficient to corroborate an
anonymous tip or tips. Such detail will

have a bearing on judging the basis of the

informant's knowledge, but is irrelevant to

his or her truthfulness. An informant who

is an accomplished liar could undoubtedly

spin an elaborate lie, chocked full of

easily obtained details. See United States

v. Martin, 615 F.2d 318, 325 n.9 (5th Cir. {
1980).

In Gates, the anonymous letter
contained a range of details relating not
only to easily obtained facts and
conditions which existed at the time the
tip was given, but also relating "to future
actions of third parties ordinarily not
easily predicted." 462 U.S. at 245; 103
S.Ct. at 2335-2336.

The letter writer's

accurate information as

to the travel plans of

each of the Gateses was

of a character likely

obtained only from the

Gateses themselves, or

from someone familiar

with their not entirely

ordinary travel plans.

If the informant had

access to accurate

7 a

information of this
type, a magistrate
could properly conclude
that it was not
unlikely that he also
had access to reliable
information of the
Gateses alleged illegal
activities. ...
[P]robable cause does
not demand the
certainty we associate
with formal trials. It
is enough that there
was a fair probability
that the writer of the
anonymous letter had
obtained his entire
story from either the
Gateses or someone they
trusted. And
corroboration of major
portions of this
letter's predictions
provides just this
probability.

462 U.S. at 245-246, 103 S.Ct. at 2336
(footnote omitted--emphasis added). This
idea of the anonymous tip being
corroborated by means of police observation
of activity predicted in the tip is central

to the holding in Gates. Id.; 462 U.S. at

226, 103 S.Ct. at 2326.

As indicated above, the
truthfulness of the person or persons who
authored the two anonymous letters in the
instant case is “largely unknown and
unknowable". Gates, 462 U.S. at 237, 103
S.Ct. at 2332. Therefore, one must try and
decide if the anonymous information
provided was corroborated to the degree
that the probable cause standard was
satisfied.

In Gates, the Court rejected the
strict view that only corroboration of an

incriminating allegation should be

relevant. The Court noted that activity
which might otherwise seem innocent could
become suspicious in light of the anonymous
information provided. 462 U.S. at 243

Nn. be, 103 $.Ct. et 2535 nm. i3. But, the
seemingly innocent activity to which the

court was referring was activity the

anonymous informant had predicted and which

the police had observed. I say this

because the Court cites Draper v. United

States, 358 U.S. 307, 79 S.Ct. 329 (1959),
for this proposition and noted that “the
corroborating detail established in Draper,
was of entirely innocent activity. ...”
Gates, 462 U.S. at 243, n.13; 103 S.Ct. at
2335 n.13. The Court described Draper as
"the classic case on the value od
corroborative efforts of police officials.”
462 U.S. at 242; 103 S.Ct. at 2334. In
Draper, a paid informant told police that
the suspect had gone to Chicago the day
before by train; that he would return to
Denver one or two days later; that he would
be carrying three ounces of heroin; that he
would return during the morning hours on
the train; that the suspect had a certain
physical description; that he would be

wearing certain described clothing; that he

would be carrying a tan zipper bag; and

10a

that the suspect ‘iecisini "walked real fast."
358 U.S. at 309, 79 S.Ct. at 331.

The police surveilled the train
station and on the second day after
receiving the tip, the police observed a
suspect alight from the Chicago train at
Denver's Union Station. He met the exact
physical description given police by the
informant, he was wearing the precise
clothing described by the informant, he was
walking "fast" and he was carrying a tan
zipper bag. Id. The Court held that since
the police had verified every bit of the
informant's information, except that the
suspect would be carrying heroin, they had
reasonable grounds to believe that the
other detail--he would be carrying heroin--
would be true. 358 U.S. at 313; 79 S.Ct.
at 333. Thus, the Court held, the
arresting officers had probable cause to

arrest the suspect and the subsequent

lla

aie nenieeaeaesiae inane

search and seizure were lawful. 358 U.S.
at 314; 79 S.Ct. at 333.

That which was verified by police
in Draper were Seemingly innocent details.
The details were, however, actions of a
third party not easily predicted unless one
knows that one is talking about. They were
not details relating to easily obtained
facts and conditions which existed at the
time of the tip. Cf. Gates, 462 U.S. at
245; 103 S.Ct. 2335-2336.

The anonymous letters, read ina
non-technical and common sense manner,
allege the following materials items:

Letter No. 1

Kevin Thomas, 700 Adella
Drive [sic: Avenue],
Sevierville, Tennessee, has
or had on his premises:
three 1000 watt halide
lights with many HUGE
marijuana plants underneath
and several flourescents
[sic] over literally
HUNDREDS of small cuttings
ready to sell and
transplant!

12a

Kevin Thomas' brother,
Barry, and Barry's wife were
arrested “last spring” with
100 plants growing in a
bedroom.

Barry helped Kevin cultivate
and harvest a BUMPER outdoor
crop "this fall" from the
islands of Douglas Lake.

Barry and Kevin are "holding
now."

Barry is sure to "hang lamps
against as soon as he is
released from probation.

Kevin is about to harvest
his "Basement Bud" and laugh
all the way to the bank
AGAIN.

Letter No. 2

Barry and Angie are at it
again, this time in the
workshed at their residence
on Beverly Hills Drive, in
Sevierville.

This house is owned by Kevin
Thomas, Barry's brother, and
Kevin's address is 400
Adella Ave. Sevierville,
Tennessee.

Kevin is conspiring with his
brother and sister-in-law to
again cultivate marijuana.

13 a

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

This cultivation began just
after Barry and Angie were
released from unsupervised
probation for a November
1988 simple possession
conviction resulting from a
May 1988 arrest for
cultivation (newspaper
clipping attached).

Barry and Angie received
record expungement after
successful completion of
their probation period.

During their probationary
period of 11 months 29 days
in the summer of 1989 Barry
and Angie cultivated
marijuana along with Kevin
Thomas on the islands of
Douglas Lake.

Kevin also grows pot in his
basement.

Barry and Angie obtained the
cuttings from the marijuana

growing in Kevin's basement

to maintain their continuing
criminal enterprise.

The workshed at the Beverly
Hills address is not
attached to Barry and
Angie's home and is outside
the curtilage.

If someone approached the
workshed they might well
smell marijuana or hear the

14a

17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

hum of high intensity
lights.

Barry and Angie plan to
install an air conditioner
and you will see that it
runs even when the weather
is freezing.

An air turbine on the roof
of the workshed turns at
high speeds even in the
calmest of winds and
freezing temperatures.

Black plastic covers the
windows of the workshed to
prevent bright lights form
leaking through.

The electricity consumption
at the Beverly Hills address
is much higher than normal
for the area.

The electricity consumption
at the Beverly Hills address
is much higher than last
year and this is
attributable to grow lights
being used.

Kevin shut his marijuana
growing operation down last
year when Barry and Angie
were arrested.

Aerial surveillance using
head detectors would reveal
high levels of heat loss
from the workshed.

15a

these

29

24.

25.

26.

yy

28.

29.

What

items

Barry and Angie dispose of
the waste from their
marijuana operation at
landfills or commercial
dumpsters and are too smart
to put it in their own
trash.

Barry and Angie use a
certain hydroponic medium,
Pro-Mix BY soilless mix,
purchased at Knox Seed
Supply, packaged in 80 lb
bales and if you watch, you
will see them carry them
from their car to the
workshed.

Ground surveillance would
show Kevin entering the

workshed ("greenhouse") at
the Beverly Hills address.

Barry and Angie own great
danes.

Barry and Angie's first
harvest of marijuana is
expected no sooner than the
middle of February and no
later that late March.

Barry and Angie expect to
harvest every three months
after that.

was corroborated regarding

of information?

l6a

Item 2 was partially
corroborated. On May 15, 1988, Barry D.
Thomas and Angela Thomas were arrested for
cultivating and growing marijuana according
to Knoxville Police Department records.
About 100 marijuana plants were seized
according to police records. The fact of
the arrests was in the newspaper. The fact
that about 100 marijuana plants were seized
was not. The “last spring" reference in
the first letter is unexplained.

Records from the Sevier Electric
Company corroborated items 1, 7, and 8,
partially, i.e., the utility service at 700
Adella Drive (sic: Avenue) and Beverly
Hills, Lot 22 was in the name of Kevin
Thomas and Angie Thomas, respectively.

Cars seen by police on the Beverly Hills
Drive property were registered to Barry and

Angela Thomas.

17 a

"3
“
. a

Item 8 is corroborated because
property records show that Kevin Thomas and
his wife own the property at Lot 22, .
Beverly Hills Subdivision, at 1018 Beverly
Hills Drive.

Items 1 and 8 are-partially
corroborated in that property records show
that Kevin Thomas and his wife own the
property at 700 Adella Avenue. Sevier
County Electric System records show that-
Kevin Thomas is the name on the account at
700 Adella Avenue. A car registered to him
was seen on the property during police
surveillance.

Item 10 is corroborated to the
extent that police records showed that
Barry and Angie were arrested in May 1988
for cultivating and growing marijuana.

But, that information was public knowledge

because of the press coverage.

18a

Item 15 is partially
corroborated. Exhibit 1C to the affidavit
shows a picture of a two story outbuilding
"located on the curtilage” of the residence
at 1018 Beverly Hills Drive.

Item 18 is partially
corroborated. The affiant saw an air
turbine on the outbuilding at 1018 Beverly
Hills Drive. Affiant stated that he saw
the turbine spinning rapidly on February 3,
1990 “regardless of wind conditions." He
says there was very little to no wind that
day. Nothing is said, however, about the
temperature.

Item 27 is corroborated. The
affiant saw to Great Danes on the property
at 1018 Beverly Hills Drive.

On March 5, 1990, a named law
enforcement officer (not the affiant) used
a hand-held thermal imaging device to

surveil [sic] the property at 1018 Beverly

19 a

Hills Drive. The affiant stated: "The
outbuilding located on the curtilage of the
residence at 1018 Beverly Hills Drive had a
slightly brighter white image than the
residence located at 1018 Beverly Hills
Drive. Two other shed-type outbuildings
located in that neighborhood were dark and
produced no white image whatsoever in the
screen of the thermal imaging device."

This tends to corroborate items 7 and 23.

There is no corroboration

ai, 46, @4, 25, 26, 28, ené 29.

The corroborated items are: (1)
Barry and Angie Thomas had been arrested in
Knoxville for cultivating marijuana, (2)
about 100 marijuana plants were seized from
their residence at that time, (3) Barry and
Angie Thomas reside at 1018 Beverly Hills

Drive and probably have done so since

20 a

November, 1989 based on utility records,
(4) Kevin Thomas and his wife own the
property at 1018 Beverly Hills Drive and
have done so since 1987, (5) Kevin Thomas
and his wife own the property at 700 Adella
Ave., (6) there is a two-story outbuilding
on the property at 1018 Beverly Hills
Drive, (7) the air turbine on the roof of
the outbuilding at 1018 Beverly Hills Drive
sometimes spins even in light wind
conditions, (8) Mr. and Mrs. Barry Thomas
own two Great Danes, (9) Kevin Thomas has
been a utility customer at 700 Adella
Avenue since 1987; (10) there is some kind
of familial, social and/or landlord/tenant
connection between Kevin Thomas and Barry
and Angie Thomas.

All of these corroborating items
fall into the category of easily obtainable
facts which were available at the time the

letters were apparently written. The only

2la

ee ee

exception might be the assertion by the
informant that 100 plants were found in the
Barry Thomas' residence when Barry and
Angie were arrested. But, even that
information has nothing to do with the
future actions of anyone. None of the
corroborated information does. As
indicated above, the corroboration of
actions which have been predicted by an
informant were key elements in the probable
cause findings in Draper and Gates.

The writer of the second
anonymous letter in the instant case
invited the police to corroborate predicted
activities of Kevin, Barry, and Angie
Thomas. See Items 16, 17, a3. 26, 2ox 22;
28, 29. The affidavit makes no mention of
any of this predicted behavior having been
observed by the police. Thus, the
affidavit is devoid of corroboration of

"future actions of third parties ordinarily

22a

not easily predicted" which the informant
really invited the police to corroborate.

See Gates, 462 U.S. at 245, 103 S.Ct. at

2335-2336. I find this to be a crucial
omission. Visual surveillance of both
premises failed to reveal suspicious
activity.

Finally, one_must 100k at which
the police were able to find out
independently of the tip and in addition to
the rather innocuous details from the
letters which they were able to
corroborate. After all, the question of
probable cause is to be judged under the
totality of the circumstances.

The task of the issuing

magistrate is simply to

make a practical,

commonsense decision

whether, given all the

circumstances set forth

in the affidavit before

him, including the

"veracity" and "basis

of knowledge" of

persons supplying

hearsay information,

23 a

there is a fair

probability that

contraband or evidence

of a crime will be

found in a particular

place. And the duty of

a reviewing court is

simply to ensure that

the magistrate had a

"substantial basis for

- « « conclud[ing] that

probable cause existed.
Gates. 462 U.S. at 238-239, 103 S.Ct. at
2332 (citation omitted). And so, now I
turn to the circumstances set forth in the
affidavit which I have not previously
discussed.

Perhaps the strongest piece of
evidence is the March 5, 1990,
surreptitious monitoring by a police
officer of the workshed at the Beverly
Hills Drive premises. This was done with a
hand-held thermal imaging device. The
affidavit states, in relevant part, as

follows:

On March 5, 1990, at
approximately 11:30

24a

p.m., Special Agent
Poag conducted
surveillance of the
residence located at
1018 Beverly Hills
Drive and the
outbuilding contained
on the curtilage of
that residence. Again,
Special Agent Poag
utilized the hand-held
thermal imaging device.
The outbuilding located
on the curtilage of the
residence at 1018
Beverly Hills Drive had
a Slightly brighter
white image than the
residence located at
1018 Beverly Hills
Drive and surrounding
residences. Two other
shed-type outbuildings
located in that
neighborhood were dark
and produced no white
image whatsoever in the
screen of the thermal
imaging device.

Exhibit 1C to the search warrant

is a photograph of the outbuilding. There

are no power lines going into that

building.

The magistrate may have assumed

the lines were underground. There is an

25a

electrical weather head on the residence
evidencing above ground power to the
residence. How likely is it that above
ground power would be put into the
residence but below ground power put into a
shed? In any event, electrical power would
have been necessary to power the grow
lights mentioned by the informant.

In the paragraph just preceding
the one set out above, the affiant states
that the thermal imaging device showed a
"brighter white image" when directed to the
detached garage at 700 Adella Avenue than
when directed at the-residence there and
other nearby residences. This reading was
taken about 15 minutes before the reading
on the outbuilding at 1018 Beverly Hills
Drive. The reading taken on the detached

garage at 700 Adella Avenue contradicts the

informant's assertion that "Kevin also

"

grows pot in his basement.

26a

Also, the informant advised in
the second letter that "electricity
consumption is much higher than normal for
the area, and much higher than last year at
the same location . . . attributable only

to the use of grow lights.’ From the
context of the letter, the writer is
speaking of the Beverly Hills Drive
premises. The affiant never tried to
establish what a “normal” consumption of
electricity for the area would be.
Attached to the affidavit were utility
records based on readings taken at the 700
Adella Avenue premises and the Beverly
Hills Drive premises on January 2, 1990,
and March 1, 1990. Exhibit 4 to the
Affidavit.

If "at the same location" means
1018 Beverly Hills Drive, and if we assume

the second anonymous letter was written in

January, 1990 (affiant states that it was

27 a

received by law enforcement officers on
January 23, 1990) and if we assume "last
year” means January 1989, the exhibit
contradicts the informant. Meter usage in
January 1989 was 3130 and it was 2560 in
January 1990. Figures for 1988 were not
supplied to the magistrate.

The affiant indicates that the
electricity use for the months of August
through November for each house was higher
than for the January 1990 reading covering
the month of December 1989. Affiant states
in relevant part:

The bill for January,
1990, covered a period
of thirty-three days,
which would have been
the month of December,
1989 was an extremely
cold month with record
breaking low
temperatures set in
several areas in the
Southeast including
East Tennessee. As
demonstrated on the
printouts attached as
Exhibit 4, the electric
utilities for August,

28 a

September, October and
November 1989 for both
residences were higher
than for the January
1990 reading covering
the month of December
1989. This is
consistent with the
growing of marijuana
indoors using
electricity during the
months of July, August,
September, October and
November.

The final sentence is conclusory
and is a “bare bones” assertion condemned
by Gates. 462 U.S. at 239, 103 S.Ct. at
2333. According to the affiant,
electricity usage is determined by looking

at the next month's reading (". . . for the

January 1990 reading covering the month of

December 1989.") Using this approach,

electrical consumption at the two
residences for August 1989 through February
1990 was as follows:

700 Adella Av. 1018 Beverly Hills

Aug 2103 KWH 3520 KWH

29 a

Sep 4077 KWH 4010 KWH
Oct 2698 KWH 3080 KWH
Nov 1572 KWH 100 KWH
Dec 1429 KWh 2560 KWH
Jan 1792 KWH 2240 KWH
Feb 3340 KWH 1820 KWH

If it is assumed that December
was an extremely cold month with record
breaking temperatures, the December 1989
usage at 700 Adella Avenue was about like
November's. At 1018 Beverly Hills,
December's usage shot up 2460 KWH over
November's. Fluctuations in electricity
usage may be caused by several things,

e.g., variable East Tennessee weather,

residents on vacation for all or part of
the month, utilization of oil heat in
winter and electric air conditioner in
summer, use of natural gas or propane or

kerosene heaters during winter and electric

30a

air conditioners in the summer. The
affiant's conclusion drawn from Exhibit 4
that the electrical consumption at each
residence was consistent with growing
marijuana does not follow reasonably or
logically from the facts asserted. A more
helpful comparison would have been to
electricity consumption at residence near
to and comparabie to the ones in question,
I also mote that the affiant stated
incorrectly the "last reading date on both
residences was January 2, 1990." The
"reading date” on two of the three
documents in Exhibit 4 is March l1, 1990.
The affidavit also states that Exhibit 4
consists of copies of printouts from Sevier
Electric Company for the two residences
between January 1989 and January 1990.
That is incorrect. The readings span

January 1989 to March 1990.

3la

The affiant states that two
packages weighing forty pounds each were
sent from Superior Growers Supply, Inc., to
"Richard Spence" on June 21, 1989, at 1018
Beverly Hills, Sevierville, Tennessee.
Superior-Growers Supply, Inc., advertises

in High Times magazine for the sale of

halide lamps and other devices used to grow
indoor plants. See Exhibit 7. All of the
information in the affidavit and exhibits
thereto reflect that Barry and Angie Thomas
moved to 1018 Beverly Hills Drive in
November 1989. Therefore, the shipment of
the two packages to "Richard Spence" in
June 1989 is stale information having
little to do, if anything, with any alleged
criminal activity on the part of Kevin,
Barry, and/or Angie Thomas. Kevin Thomas
owned the property but that does not
indicate that he had any connection with

the shipment. There must be probable cause

32a

| eae

to believe that property constituting
evidence of criminal activity, contraband,
the fruits of a crime, things otherwise
criminally possessed or property which is

designed or used in committing an offense

is presently on the premises to be
searched. See Rule 41(b), Fed.R.Cr.P.; see

generally, W. LaFave, Search and Seizure §

3.7(a) (2d ed. 1987). “Richard Spence" may
have rented the premises from Mr. and Mrs.
Kevin Thomas, but that hardly sheds light
on what was happening on the premises when
the search warrants issued.

An air turbine that tends to spin
rapidly at times regardless of wind
conditions and from which the police
thought they may have seen light emanating
at 7:00 or 8:00 P.M. on a winter evening
proves little. When it was seen spinning
at about mid-day on February 3, 1990, in

light wind conditions, the reason could

33 a

have been solar heating of the interior of
the shed and consequent spinning of the
turbine as the warmer air escaped to the
outdoors. It is no more probable that some
other heat source was casing the spinning.
The absence of power lines to the shed
raises some doubt about whether not the
"light" emanating from the turbine might
have been a reflection. Exhibit 1C to the
warrant for 1018 Beverly Hills Drive seems
to indicate that it is a metallic turbine
ventilator.

The fact that the writer states
in the first letter that he is a
“disgruntled customer who has seen it all
first hand" is entitled to consideration
regarding the basis of the affiant's
knowledge. "Basis of knowledge" and
veracity of the informant remain "highly
relevant" considerations. Gates, 462 U.S.

at 230, 103 S.Ct. at 2328. But, the

34a

statement says nothing about the
informant's veracity. It certainly is not
against his penal interest since the letter
was not signed.

Without reading the affidavit in
a hypertechnical way, and giving
substantial deference to the conclusion
reached by the issuing magistrate judge,
the undersigned concludes that the
affidavit in support of these two search
warrants does not demonstrate that there
was a fair probability that contraband or
evidence of a crime would be found at 700
Adella Avenue or 1018 Beverly Hills Drive
on March 8, 1990, when these two search
warrants issued.

Accordingly, this matter should
be set for further hearing before the
undersigned regarding whether or not United

States v. Leon, 468 U.S. 897, 104 S.Ct.

3405 (1984) would allow the fruits of the

35a

searches to be introduced into evidence
despite the lack of probable cause to
support the search warrants.’

It is therefore RECOMMENDED that
the defendants' motion to suppress be
sustained to the extent that the probable
cause did not exist to support the issuance
of the search warrants in question, and it
is RECOMMENDED that the matter be re-
referred to the undersigned for further
proceedings consistent with this report and

recommendation.”

+ The Supplemental Motions to

Suppress raise Franks v. Delaware, 438 U.S.
174 98 S.Ct. 2674 (1978), issues and need
only be reached if the searches should be
sustained pursuant to United States v.
Leon.

* Any objections to this Report and

Recommendation must be served and filed
within ten (10) days after service of a
copy of this recommended disposition on the
objecting party. Failure to file
objections within the time specified waives
the right to appeal the District Court's
order. Thomas v. Arn, 474 U.S. 1 40, 106
S.Ct. 466 (1985).

36a

Respectfully submitted,

Robert P. Murrian
UNITED STATES
MAGISTRATE JUDGE

37 a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE
AT KNOXVILLE

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff,
Vv. NO.CR-3-92-01

KEVIN KEITH THOMAS,

ee

Defendant.
and
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff,

NO.CR-3-92-02

BARRY D. THOMAS,

ee ee ee ee ee ee”

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM OPINION

These are two separate criminal
actions that have been consolidated for
certain pretrial purposes. The defendants

are brothers charged with manufacturing a

38 a

controlled substance in violation of 21
U.S.C. § 841(a)(1). [Doc. 1 in both
cases.] Motions to suppress certain
evidence obtained as a result of searches
conducted on their residences have ben
filed by the defendants [docs. 10, 10A in
both cases] and on March 16, 1992,
Magistrate Judge Robert P. Murrian entered
a report and recommendation [doc. 30 in CR-
3-92-01 and doc. 29 in CR-3-92-02] in which
he concluded that affidavit in support of
the warrants issued in these cases failed
to establish probable cause and thus
ecommended that the evidence obtained as
a result of the searches conducted pursuant
to these warrants be suppressed. On
March 26, 1992, the United States filed
appeals from Magistrate Judge Murrian's
report and recommendation [doc. 31 in CR-3-
92-01 and doc. 30 in CR-3-92-02] and

subsequently filed a memorandum in support

39 a

of its appeals [doc. 32 in CR-3-92-01 and
doc. 31 in CR-3-92-02]. The Court will not
extensively recite the facts regarding the
warrants in these cases in light of the
thorough summary of the facts provided by
Magistrate Judge Murrian's excellent report
and recommendation in these cases.

At the time of the searches,
these defendants maintained separate
residences in Sevierville, Tennessee.

Kevin Thomas lived at 700 Adella Avenue and
his brother, Barry, lived at 1018 Beverly
Hills Drive. The investigation into their
activities was initiated as a result of two
undated anonymous letters sent to the Drug
Enforcement Administration (DEA). One was
received by the DEA on October 30, 1989,
and the other was received on January 23,
1990. One of the letters states that it
was "a tip from a disgruntled customer."

The letters described the alleged

40a

activities of the defendants in growing
marijuana in the basement of Kevin Thomas’
house and in a shed on the property of
Barry Thomas. Whether the letters were
written by one person or by two different
people is pure speculation.

Gregory C. Monroe, a Special
Agent of the Tennessee Bureau of
Investigation, and other law enforcement
officers undertook an investigation of the
Thomas brothers in an attempt to
corroborate the information in the letters
and otherwise to attempt to obtain
sufficient evidence to apply for a search
warrant. As a part of this effort, as
stated in Mr. Monroe's affidavit in support
of the warrant application, on March 5,
1990, he and another officer "conducted

surveillance from a public area of the

4la

residence located at 70 Adella Drive, "?
using a hand-held thermal imaging device,
and found that a detached garage at this
location appeared to produce a brighter
image than the residence at 700 Adella
Drive or the other residences located
nearby. The same device was used to
ictammine that the shed on the property at
1018 Beverly Hills Drive also produced a

brighter image than the residence at that

address or other residences nearby.

’ The Court is not sure what this

phrase means; however, the Court notes that
law enforcement officials are not privileged
to trespass upon private property and no
part of a person's property is "“public."
See Sneed v. State, 423 S.wW.2a 857, 860
(Tenn. 1967); Hughes v. State, 141 S.W.2d
477, 480 (Tenn. 1940); Chadwick v. State,
429 S.W.2d 135, 139 (Tenn.Crim.App. 1968).
If these officers trespassed upon the
defendant's property, the evidence obtained
as a result would be excludable. See
Silverman v. United States, 81 S.Ct. 679 682
(1961). The open fields doctrine would have
no application in this case.

42a

In the course of surveillance of
the defendant's residences, the agents
observed a number of innocent activities,
including light emanating from a ventilator
on top of the shed at the Beverly Hills
address, while the bottom story was dark,
“which suggests that the top floor and
bottom floor are completely separate, and
the top floor has lights inside," vehicles
belonging to the defendants, the defendants
or their wives visiting each other, the
movement of a charcoal grill from the
Beverly Hills Drive shed to the house and
back within a fifteen minute period, about
which "({i)t was Agent Persinger's opinion
that the female did not have time to use
the grill to cook any food on it,” the
rapid spinning of a ventilator fan on the
roof of the shed at the Beverly Hills Drive
address on a day when little wind was

blowing, and a person carrying garbage bags

43a

"containing an unknown material" from the

to

house to the shed at the Beverly Hills
address. Mr. Monroe also stated in his
affidavit that from his experience in law
enforcement and his reading of books and
magazine articles, such as those in High
Times, a magazine dedicated to articles
about marijuana Cultivation, he was
familiar with the techniques used by in-
door marijuana growers. In addition,
exhibits were attached to the warrant
application. These exhibits included
electric bills for the two addresses, deeds
showing the ownership of the property, and

The government makes two basis
contentions in this appeal: it argues that
Magistrate Judge Murrian used an

inappropriate standard of review and that

he applied an inappropriate analysis in

assessing the factual allegations contained

44a

in the affidavit filed in support of the
warrant application. More specifically,
the government contends that Magistrate
Judge Murrian failed to assess the

"4 of the evidence in

"laminated whole
support of the warrant in considering
whether a substantial basis existed for the
issuing magistrate's determination of the
existence of probable cause and failed to
give sufficient deference to the issuing
magistrate's decision. It also argues that
Magistrate Detain thankies analyzed the
warrant in a hyper-technical manner rather
than a common sense fashion.

The Court has read the

application for the warrants, together with

all the exhibits, and has considered them

* The Court does not understand the

rather poetic phrase "laminated whole" and
prefers the standard established by the
Supreme Court, the totality of the
circumstances.

45a

as a whole and taking them together, the

Court is of the opinion that probable cause
simply does not exist. No substantial
evidence supports the issuing magistrate's
finding of probable cause. The Court is
disturbed that warrants were ever issued on
the basis of the evidence submitted to the
issuing magistrate. Courts do not sit to
rubber stamp the actions of law enforcement
officers.

Suspicion, speculation, and
innuendo are piled on each other in the
affidavit but the totality of the
circumstances contained in it would not
lead a person of reasonable prudence to
believe at the time of the warrant
applications that evidence of a crime would
be present in the residences of these
defendants. The Court characterizes the
affidavit in this case as "broad,

speculative and conclusory," United States

46a

v. Macklin, 902 F.2d 1320, 1326 (8th Cir.

1990). The Court does not find that
Magistrate Judge Murrian engaged in a
piecemeal or hypertechnical analysis of the
affidavit and rather his method of analysis
is not substantially different from that of

the Sixth Circuit in United States v.

$67,220.00 in United States Currency, No.

91-5645 (6th Cir., February 28, 1992).
Simply put, too much speculation,

particularly about the defendants’
activities, much of which that was observed
by the affiant or other agents was entirely
innocent, is required to support the
finding of probable cause. Magistrate
Judge Murrian correctly noted the
speculative and conclusory nature of this
affidavit. The affidavit contains a number
of loose ends, such as inadequate and

l inconclusive comparisons of electricity

usage at these houses. The government's
‘jones

47a

argument merely laminates even more
speculation on top of the affiant's own
conclusory allegations and speculations.
Moreover, one of the anonymous letters is
from an allegedly "disgruntled" customer,
which reveals a bias, grudge, or prejudice
that could have motivated the tip.

Warrants are not issued upon mere
suspicion, which is the best that can be
said of the totality of the circumstances
found in the affidavit and Supporting
exhibits.

"Although the Court
readily concedes that
probable cause is not a
game of certainties, it
resists any effective
characterization as a
game of speculation.
Only upon such
speculation, however,
can the warrant in
question ... be said to
create a fair =
probability that
[evidence] could be
found on the
defendant['s] property.
The affidavit consists
-- Of uncorroborated

48a

accounts of events ...
and of an incomplete
trail of evidence that
can only speculatively
be said to support a
finding of probable
COUGO «ee ec”

United States v. One Parcel of Property at

18 Perkins Road, 774 F.Supp. 699, 704 (D.

Conn. 1991). The Court does not think that
this is even a close case. No probability
of criminal activity is sufficiently
demonstrated.

Examining the affidavit with
""factual and practical considerations of
everyday life on which reasonable and
prudent men, not legal technicians, act,'"

Massachusetts v. Upton, 104 S.Ct. 1085,

2085 (1984), without divorcing the facts
alleged in the affidavit from each other,
the Court can only conclude that probable
cause does not exist and no warrant should

have been issued. While a preference

49a

exists for searches conducted upon the
authority of a warrant, the Fourth
Amendment does not permit searches in these
circumstances, with or without warrants, on

less than probable cause.°®

° As Justice Grafton Green of the

Tennessee Supreme Court observed in Cravens
v. State, 256 S.W. 431, 432 (Tenn. 1923),

"(t]he history of our

ancestors for 300 years

has demonstrated that

police officers cannot

be permitted to ransack

at will the properties

of the people.

Intolerable conditions

have always followed

such practices. A

revolution in England

and the revolution of

the American colonies

are said by high

authorities to have

been largely influenced

by promiscuous seizures

and searches of the

houses and effects of

the people -- efforts

by the constituted

authorities to procure

evidence of the

violation of

regulations deemed wise

by those in power, but

unpopular with many,

(continued... )

50a

Accordingly, the Court OVERRULES
the objections of the United States [doc.
31 in CR-3-92-01 and doc. 30 in CR-3-92-02]
to the report and recommendation of
Magistrate Judge Robert P. Murrian [doc. 30
in CR-3-92-02 and doc. 29 in CR-3-92-02]
and ADOPTS this report and recommendation
as a part of this Court's opinion. This
case is REMANDED to Magistrate Judge

Murrian for further proceedings consistent

with his report and recommendation.

ENTER:

LEON JORDAN
United States District Judge

; °(...continued)
and constantly
transgressed.”

5la

j
:
#
4
3

Nos. 92-6207/6208

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, )
)
Plaintiff-Appellant, JON APPEAL
)FROM THE
Vv. JUNITED STATES
)DISTRICT

)COURT FOR THE
KEVIN KEITH THOMAS (92-6207), )EASTERN
)DISTRICT OF

) TENNESSEE
BARRY D. THOMAS (92-6208), )
)
Defendants-Appellees. )

BEFORE: RYAN and BOGGS, Circuit Judges;
and ROSEN, District Judge.°®

PER CURIAM: The government, in an
interlocutory appeal, seeks to have
evidence seized during the execution of two

search warrants for the residences of Kevin

®° The Honorable Gerald E. Rosen, United

States District Judge for the Eastern
District of Michigan, sitting by
designation.

52a

Keith Thomas and Barry D. Thomas admitted
in the criminal proceedings against them.
The district court held both that there was
insufficient probable cause in the search
warrant affidavit and that the- government
could not avail itself of the good faith
exception to the exclusionary rule. For
the reasons given below, we reverse.
I

On March 8, 1990, two search
warrants were issued, one for 700 Adella
Drive’ and one for 1018 Beverly Hills
Drive. The warrants were executed that day
and returned on March 9.

On January 6, 1992, Kevin Thomas
was charged in federal court in a three-
count information: count I was for

manufacturing marijuana in March 1990, in

”? Defense counsel points out that the

Kevin Thomas residence was at 700 Adella
Avenue.

53 a

7
4
4
¢

violation of 21 U.S.C. §§ 841(a)(1) and
841(b)(1)(B). Count II charged that any
and all interest Kevin Thomas had in real
property at 700 Adella Drive was forfeited
to the government by virtue of the
marijuana manufacturing alleged in Count I.
Count III charged that Kevin Thomas's
interest in the real property at 1018
Beverly Hills Drive was also forfeited to
the government by virtue of the marijuana
manufacturing alleged in Count I. Also on
January 6, Barry Thomas was charged in a
one-count information with manufacturing
marijuana in March 1990, in violation of 21
U.S.C. §§ 841(a)(1) and 841(b)(1)(B).

On February 10, 1992, both
Thomases filed motions to suppress the
evidence seized from the residences. After
a hearing on the motion to suppress, a
United States magistrate judge recommended

that the evidence be suppressed because

54a

there was insufficient probable cause to
support the issuance of the warrants.
Overruling government objections to the
report, the district judge adopted the
magistrate judge's report and
recommendation. He then referred the
matter back to the magistrate judge to
determine whether the evidence was
admissible under the good faith exception
to the exclusionary rule, United States v.
Leon, 468 U.S. 897, 104 S.Ct. 3405 (1984).

The magistrate concluded that the
government had failed to show objective
good faith. Thus, he recommended that the
evidence be suppressed. Once again the
government objected, and once again the
district judge adopted the recommendation.
The government appealed.

II
The search warrant was based on

the following information. On October 30,

55a

1989, an anonymous letter was sent to the
Knoxville, Tennessee office of the Drug
Enforcement Agency (DEA).® The text of the
letter stated:

ABC News just featured
a 46-state bust of
indoor marijuana
growers (mentioning a
check of utility
bills); "48 Hours”
recently featured the
use of aerial infra-red
Surveillance in
arresting an indoor
grower.

Here's a tip from a
disgruntled customer
who has seen it all
first-hand” three 1000
watt halide lights with

- many HUGE marijuana
plants underneath and
several flourescents
(sic] over literally
HUNDREDS of small
cuttings ready to sell
and transplant! Anyone
care to see for
-yourself?

Kevin Thomas
700 Adella Av.
Sevierville, [sic] TN

® The letter was also copied by "cc” to

other law enforcement agencies.

56a

His brother Barry, who
with his wife was
arrested in Knoxville
last spring with 100
plants growing in a
bedroom, helped Kevin
cultivate and harvest a
BUMPER outdoor crop
this fall from the
islands of Douglas
Lake; they are both
holding now, and Barry
is sure to hang lamps
again as soon as he's
released from
probation.

Kevin is about to
harvest his "Basement
Bud" and laugh all the
way to the bank AGAIN.
He thinks he lives in
Mayberry RFD: "What
are they gonna
do...send Barney out
here with a bullet?"

On January 23, 1990, a second
undated anonymous letter was received in
the DEA office. That letter stated:

Barry and Angie are at

it again, this time in

the workshed at their

residence on Beverly

Hills Dr. in

Sevierville; this house a

57 a

is owned by Barry's
brother

Kevin Thomas
400 Adella Av.
Sevierville, TN’

Kevin is conspiring
with his brother and
sister-in-law to again
cultivate marijuana,
just after Barry and
Angie were released
from unsupervised
probation for a
November 1988 simple
possession conviction
resulting from a May
1988 arrest for
cultivation (see
enclosed newspaper
clippings )---the pair
even received record
expungement after the
successful completion
of their probation
period (11 months 29
days), during which
time (the summer of
1989) they boldly
cultivated marijuana on
the islands of Douglas
Lake with kevin Thomas!

Kevin also grows pot in the
basement, from which

Barry and Angie

obtained the cuttings

” 700 Adella Av., the address in the
first letter, was correct.

58 a

to maintain their
continuing criminal
enterprise. Since
Kevin owns the property
and they succeeded in
bringing in a record
harvest last summer---
despite the fact they
were caught red-handed
in Knoxville--~-Barry
and Angie feel they can
break the law with
impunity.

These criminals’
bravado will suffice to
do them in should this
tip prompt you
gentlemen to initiate
an investigation, since
their deluded egomania
ignores such facts as:

the workshed is
unattached to their
home, placing it
outside the curtiledge
of the residence--
permission from their
neighbor to approach
the same might well
result in the detection
of the pungent of
flowering (an officer
with experience and/or
a trained canine), or
hear the hum of high
intensity discharge
lamp ballasts in
operation (tax
assessors need no

59a

permission to
tresspass) [sic];

they have plans to
install an air
conditioner, which
would be in operation
during freezing outside
temperatures;

there is an air turbine
installed upon the
workshed roof to
evacuate heat and
moisture, turning at
high speeds even in the
calmest of winds and in
freezing temperatures;

black plastic Clearly
covers the window to
prevent the bright
lights from leaking
through;

the electricity
consumption is much
higher than normal for
the area, and much
higher than last year
at the same location
(Kevin shut down this
operation site
immediately upon Barry
and Angie being

arrested), attributable
only to the use of grow
lights;

infra-red heat
detection aerial
Surveillance will show

60a

ee

high levels of heat
loss from a supposedly
unoccupied building,
which can only result
from hot grow lights
and transpiration of
growing plants;

after transplanting and
harvesting, they must
dispose of waste
materials «unmarketable
stems and root
systems)--while they
are wise enough not to
put these materials out
for garbage pickup,
they don't think they
are "hot" enough to be
followed while
transporting the same
and depositing it in a
landfill or, more
likely, in a commercial
dumpster;

their hydroponic medium
of choice is Pro-Mix BX
soilless [sic] mix,
purchased at Knox Seed
Supply in Knoxville,
packaged in black 80
lb. bales---these are
large containers which
must be carried in
plain sight from their
auto, across their
yard, and into their
workshed for use;
ground surveillance
would show Kevin also
entering the

61 a

"greenhouse," which
should not only result
in another conviction
but also in another
warrant to search his
primary residence ar; 1
charge his wife for
their basement garden
forfieture (sic) of
both homes necessari ly
foll Ows.

Surely you have
additional methods to
collect evidence to
show probable cause for
a search warrant, and
Just as surely you know
how best to compi le the
Same to make it stand
up in court so that
these criminals ciyvi
liberties are not

, ’ { + -
nfringed upon in the

]
i

Their first harvest
5LLTiICe Barry, Angie A }
tneir Great Danes moved
im 18 expected no
sooner than the middle
Of February and no

. rr ~ ra SF mm + bh -
every nree INTNS
~ £ + _ +h ~ +
artver ~-4ial

ee

2a ANTING

The

following information was

either corroborated by the police or

deve loped

independently.

1 )

The Adella property had been
transferred to Kevin and Amy
Thomas on September 23,
1987. Electric company
records showed the service
for the Adella home was in
the name of Kevin Thomas.
The telephone directory
listed Kevin Thomas at 700
Adella.

The Beverly Hills property
wis transferred in 1983 to
Kevin Kei*t® ihomas and Amy

Sue Thomas. The electric

c+

company showed service a
that address in the. name of
Angie Thomas as of November

27 1989. Prior to that

,

63 a

“~

date, Kevin

electric

address.

The lact

obtained

affidavit

Ser

ric

and

the Ai: rust,

October

were r irre

“Nv > ]
Jali AaLly i

. } }
covered th

Ler emr or

ennaccasa
ic Ee re hk
~ £ Treran +
=5=
-_ ~ aT ee
Anan + VYnr
latiman ;
~*2# Qi lied :
-
4
—
92a

2
=) 8 4
[afk
rec
cS
wer |
AQa
3
aet-'
LO
™ S-

Thomas had

Vic

bi
at
The

Sep

2)

]

‘

Y

‘

at that

lS were

ached to the

Showed that

emoer

~~ ~~ - ~ *
agi so Al i ]
‘- }. A€

AA 4-4

7 - +} - >

Ad i ) -}

Ac +r

> 2

aw + rl

J Al

Xj IW

e 4
=, —~ ££ +
ra) + 2
= ee oe ae |
-~+ 4 = ~
>
i a = 2 eee .

that such a pattern was

consistent with an indoor
growing operation. The
electrical usage did not
show reasonable seasonal
variations. Furthermore,
usage was abnormally high.
For example, for several
months at the Beverly Hills
property the usage was
consistently over 3,000
kilowatt hours per month.
4) Surveillance of the Beverly
Hills property revealed a
two-story beige outbuilding
with a brown roof. On top
of the roof was a rotating
ventilator shaft that
appeared to let warm air
escape from the building.

The officer said that it was

65a

rotating even in still air,
and his inference was that
the building was used to
grow marijuana. There was
also a dog pen with two
Great Danes on the property.
Two vehicles, one registered
to Barry D. Thomas and one
registered to Angela Thomas,
were parked in front of the
house. Officers also
noticed a white female drive
the vehicle registered to
Angela thomas, and later
noticed the same vehicle
parked at the Adella
property.

Surveillance of the Adella
Property revealed a vehicle
registered to Kevin K.

Thomas.

66a

6 )

Using a hand-held thermal
imaging device, a DEA agent
determined that the detached
garage at the Adella
property had a brighter
white image than either the
residence on that property
or than other residences
located nearby. The agent
also determined that the
outbuilding at the Beverly
Hills address also produced
a brighter white image than
either the residence on the
property or than other
residences located nearby.
Higher levels of heat
produce brighter white
images on the device than do

lower levels of heat.

67a

7)

8 )

Barry and Angie Thomas had
been arrested on May 15,
1988 and charged with
cultivating and growing
marijuana. Arrest reports
indicated that 100 marijuana
plants had been found
growing in their residence
in Knoxville. Public
information in newspaper
articles had not mentioned
the number of plants
recovered, although the
October 30 anonymous letter
Said they had been caught
with 100 plants in the
bedroom.

Two packages of unidentified
Supplies were sent from
Superior Growers Supply to

the Beverly Hills address.

68a

a er

The shipping name used was

0
Pence,’

though there was no
one by that name listed in
the Sevierville telephone

directly as of January 30,

1990.

Ii]

We review the district court's
legal conclusion de novo. Because no oral
or other supplemental information was
provided to the magistrate, the probable
cause analysis is limited to the four
corners of the affidavit. Whitley v.
Warden, 401 U.S. 560, 565 n.8 (1971);
Aguilar v. Texas, 378 U.S. 108, 109 n.1, 84

$.Ct. 1509, 1511 n.i (1966).

‘0 The warrant affidavits show the name
of Richard Spence, but the actual shipping
record showed the material going to Pence.
Agent Monroe testified that he had made an
error in checking the records and preparing
the affidavits.

69a

When a magistrate reviews a
warrant request, he must determine whether,
under the totality of the circumstances,
there is probable cause to issue the
warrant. Illinois v. Gates, 462 U.S. 213,
103 S.Ct. 2317 (1983). When the
government uses an anonymous letter as part
of the basis for the probable cause, it
must corroborate the reliability of that
letter. Great deference should be accorded
the magistrate who issues the warrant.
Massachusetts v. Upton, 466 U.S. 727, 733,
104 S.Ct. 2085, 2088 (1984).

In this case, thee were very
specific allegations made in the two
letters. It was not clear whether the
letter-writers in both cases were the same
person, but both letters were extremely
specific. The letters implied a
Substantial familiarity with the operations

at both Thomases' residences. Though even

70a

the detailed knowledge displayed in the
letters would not have been enough,
standing alone, to justify issuance of a
warrant, much of the information amenable
to corroboration was corroborated by the
pol ice.

A number of corroborated items
were seemingly innocent. But corroboration
of apparently innocent items is sufficient
to support issuance of a warrant when there
are enough items and they are particular.
Other information in the letters was
inculpating and non-public, such as the
Knowledge that there were approximately 100
plants seized in the earlier arrest.

The evidence for searching the
residence on Beverly Hills Drive was less
specific and substantial than that for the
Adella residence. However, the government
rightly argues that the volume and

specificity of the information on the

Jla

Adella residence makes the requirement for
the information on the Beverly Hills less
stringent. This can be compared with the
use of information from a confidential]
informant (CI) with a good track record.
With a proven, reliable CI, warrants can
properly issue on very little additional]
information. The warrant issues in large
measure on the basis of the informant's
track record. In iis case, the
information for the Adella residence was
good, specific, and cor roborated, creating
a natural inference that the information on
the Beverly Hills residence was equally
reliable.

Defendants claim that there were
several statements in the anonymous letters
that either were refuted by the officers’
observations or that were amenable to
corroboration but were not in fact

corroborated. But the officer

Y)
D

verify each and every statement in the

letters for a magistrate to find probable
cause. Nor does every single statement
need to be accurate, so long as the general
reliability of the tipster is confirmed,
and the officers made no material
misrepresentations or omissions before the
magistrate that affected the judgment on
probable cause. In this case, looking at
the totality of the circumstances, and
particularly when giving deference to the
issuing magistrate, there was more than
enough probable cause to support the
issuance of the warrant.

Finally, the defendants claim the
information was stale and that therefore
the warrant should not have issued.
Different offenses have different periods
of time in which the government can act on
information before it is considered stale.

A marijuana growing operation, in which the

73a

marijuana must grow to maturity and then be

harvested, has a longer lifetime of
relevant data than a cocaine distribution
operation in which all sales may be
consummated within hours of delivery. See
United States v. Greany, 929 F.2d 523, 525
(9th Cir. 1991)(nearly two-year old
information on marijuana growing operation
upheld, staleness evaluated in light of
particular facts of case and nature of
criminal activity and property sought);
United States v. Dozier, 844 F.2d 701, 707
(9th Cir. 1988)(marijuana cultivation is
long-term crime; even "substantial" time
lapse not controlling on staleness).

In this case, the magistrate
judge at the suppression hearing and the
district judge actually evaluated the
affidavit de novo, and independently
concluded there was insufficient probable

cause. We hold that, looking at the

74a

aaa

totality
probable «
warrant
appropr

magistrate.

of the

ause to suppor

particularly wh

iate deference to

The pattern

was unusual not b

c3 { ead

sonal variatio

were very spe i f

the latte

supporting

In addition,

onsistent w

operation, inclu

growing supplies

Calm air.

IV

Because we fin

probable caus

issuance

the

the iss

address

75 a

evidence,

there was ample

> he of

issuance

en granting

the ssuing

of

a | ere
e+

y, showing

n. The anonymous

and much of the

Ts was

their over:

there was evidence

ith a mari

ding the purchase

and the ventilator

d that there was

e in the affidavit
of the warrant, we

ue raised by the

government of reliance on the good faith
exception to the exr lusionary rule.
Therefore, we REVERSE the district court
and REMAND for further proceedings in

conformity with this opinion.

UN

UNITED S'

Pla

Defe

BEFORE:

No. 92-6207/08

VITED STATES COURT OF AP

PEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

TATES OF AMERICA, )

intiff-Appellant, )

ITH THOMAS,

ndant-Appellee.

RYAN and BOGGS Circuit

,

and ROSEN,” District Judge.

petition

The court having recei
for rehearing en banc,

having been circulated

the original panel members but a

other active judges of this cour

—
Sl

lly
District
Michigan,

this court having reque:

iggestion for rehearing

ion. Gerald E. Rosen, Un
Judge for the Eastern
sitting by designation

J7a

ved a

and the

t

,

ited
Distrz

c

A. 4

the petition for rehearing has been
referred to the original hearing panel.

The panel has further reviewed
the petition for rehearing and concludes
that the issues raised in the petition were
fully considered upon the original
Submission and decision of the case.

Accordingly, the petition is denied.
ENTERED BY ORDER OF

THE COURT

Leonard Green, Clerk

78 a

ANONYMOUS LETTER NO. 1
Dear Sirs:

ABC News just featured a 46-state bust of
indoor marijuana growers (mentioning a
check of utility bills); "48 Hours"
recently featured the use of aerial infra-
red surveillance in arresting an indoor
grower.

Here's a tip from a disgruntled customer
who has seen it all fist hand: three 1000
watt halide lights with may HUGE marijuana
plants underneath and several flourescents
[sic] over literally HUNDREDS of small
cuttings ready to sell and transplant!
Anyone care to see for yourself?

Kevin Thomas
700 Adella Av
Sevierville, TN

His brother Barry, who with his wife was
arrested in Knoxville last spring with 100
plants growing in a bedroom, helped Kevin
cultivate and harvest a BUMPER outdoor crop
this fall from the islands of Douglas Lake;
they are both holding now, and Barry is
sure to hang lamps again as soon as he's
released from probation.

Kevin is about to harvest his "Basement
Bud" and laugh all the way to the bank
AGAIN. He thinks he lives in Mayberry RFD:
"What are they gonna do...send Barney out
here with a bullet?

79 a

st assuredly

,

cc: sevier County Sheriff
Tennessee Highway Patrol
Tennessee Bureau of Invest igatic
Federal Bureau of Investi
United States Marshals
Drug Enforcement Agency

UDO
*
a

ANONYMOUS LETTER NO. 2

Barry and Angie are at it again,
this time in the workshed at their
residence on Beverly Hills Dr. in
Sevierville; this house is owned by Barry's
brother

Kevin Thomas
400 Adella Av.
Sevierville, TN

Kevin is conspiring with his
brother and sister-in-law to again
cultivate marijuana, just after Barry and
Angie were released from unsupervised
probation for a November 1988 simple

issession conviction resulting from a May

eo ere! \ v

we

988 arrest for cultivation (see enclose
newspaper clippings)---the pair even
received record expungement after the
Successful completion of their probation

period (11 months 29 days), during which

time (the summer of 1989) they boldly
cultivated marijuana on the islands of
Louglas Lake with Kevin Thomas!

Kevin also grows pot in the
basement, from which Barry and Angie
obtained the cuttings to maintain their
continuing criminal enterprise. Since
Kevin owns the property and they succeeded
in bringing in a record harvest last
Summer---despite the fact they were caught
red-handed in Knoxvi lie---Barry and Angie
feel they can break the law with impunity.

These criminals' bravado will
Suffice to do them in should this tip
prompt you gentlemen to initiate an
investigation, since their deluded egomania
ignores such facts as:

the workshed is

unattached to their

home, placing it

outside the curtiledge

82a

[sic] of the residence-
-permission from their
neighbor to approach
the same might well
result in the detection
of the pungent of
flowering (an officer
with experience and/or
a trained canine), or

hear the hum of high

assessors need no

permission to

conditioner, which

would be in operation

83a

during freezing outs

temperatures;

there is an air turbine

installed upon the
workshed roof to
evacuate heat and
moisture, turning at
high speeds even in

Calmest of winds and

freezing temperature:

Dlack plastic clear]
covers the window to
prevent the bright
lights from leaking
through;

the electricity

consumption is muct

ide

the

Y

higher than normal f<

the area, and much
higher than last yea

at the same location

84a

r

> *

EEE

(Kevin shut down this
operation site
immediately upon Barry
and Angie being
arrested), attributable
only to the use of grow
lights;

infra-red heat
detection aerial
Surveillance will show
high levels of heat
loss from a supposedly
unoccupied building,
which can only result
from hot grow lights
and transpiration of
growing plants;

after transplanting and
harvesting, they must
dispose of waste

materials (unmarketable

85a

stems and root

Systems )--while they
are wise enough not to
put these materials out
for garbage pickup,
they don't think t hey
are "hot" enough to be
followed while
transporting the same
and depositing it in a
landfill or, more
likely, in a commercial]
dumpster;

their nydroponic medium
Of choice is Pro-Mix BX
Soilless [sic] mix,
purchased at Knox Seed
Supply in Knoxville,
packaged in black 80
lb. bales---these are

large containers which

86a

nust be carried in

plain sight from their
auto, across their
yard, and into theirz
workshed for use;
ground surveillance
would show Kevin also
entering the
“greenhouse,” which
Should not only result
in another conviction
but also in another
warrant to search his
primary residence and
charge his wife for
their basement garden--
forfieture (sic) of
both homes necessarily

follows.

87 a

Surely you have additional

methods to collect evidence to show

probable cause for a search warrant, and

just as surely you know how best to compile

the same to make it stand up in court so
that these criminals' civil liberties are
not infringed upon in the process.

Their first harvest since Barry,
Angie, and their Great Danes moved in is
expected no sooner than the middle of
February and no later than late March:
they expect to harvest every three months
after that.

Good hunting!

88a

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_1158%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
