# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Peeler v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_0978%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 811

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S,
( FILED
|

“931836 My 17 Ow
NUMBER __gprice OF THE CLERK

IN THE
UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

CAROL C. PEELER,
Petitioner
vs.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE
FIFTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Amold Anderson Vickery
COUNSEL FOR PETITIONER
ARCHER, WALDNER,

& VICKERY, L.L.P.
2929 Allen Parkway,
Suite 2770
Houston, Texas 77019
(713) 526-0700

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether either the Fifth or Sixth Amendment
to the United States Constitution affords a
basis of relief to a person whose pre-
indictment retained counsel betrays her by
failing to commur..ate the Government’s
unequivocal offer of transactional immunity
because he was being "loyal to the others”
instead of his client?

Whether the Fifth Circwit’s action in partially
self-selecting the panel to consider this case
on rehearing violates due process?

Certificate of Interested Persons

The undersigned counsel of record certifies that the
following listed parties have an interest in the outcome of
this case. These representations are made in order that the
Justices of this Court may evaluate possible disqualification
or recusal.

(1) Carol C. Peeler, Defendant/Petitioner;

(2) Arnold A. Vickery, of the firm of ARCHER,
WALDNER, & VICKERY, L.L.P., 2929 Allen Parkway,
Suite 2770, Houston, Texas 77019

(3) United States of America, Plaintiff/Respondent;
(4) Robert D. Lindsay, Chief, Criminal Division,

Department of Justice - Tax Division, 10th & Constitution
Avenue, N.W., Suite 4131, Washington, D.C. 20530

ii

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
CERTIFICATE OF INTERESTED PERSONS
TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES
STATUTES AND RULES

REFERENCE TO LOWER COURT
OPINION

GROUNDS FOR JURISDICTION
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
ARGUMENT

s BOTH THE FIFTH AND SIXTH
AMENDMENTS REQUIRE THE
GOVERNMENT TO "HONOR,
RESPECT AND PRESERVE"
PEELER’S CHOICE OF COUNSEL
AS THE "ESSENTIAL MEDIUM"

OF COMMUNICATION BETWEEN
THE GOVERNMENT AND HERSELF.

ill

A. The Sixth Amendment
"Ineffective Assistance"
Analysis is NOT
Coextensive with the
"Critical Phase --
Appointment of
Counsel Issue. 7

B. Peeler is Also Entitled to
Relief Under the Fifth

Amendment 18
o Jordan’s Deficient

Representation Prejudiced

Peeler 22

Il. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S HANDLING
OF THE CASE ALSO VIOLATES
DUE PROCESS 26

CONCLUSION 31

PROOF OF SERVICE
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 34

iV

CASES

Akins v, Texas,

325 U.S. 398,

65 S.Ct. 1276,

89 L.Ed. 1692 (1945)

r
323 F.2d 333,
(Sth Cir. 1963),
cert. denied
376 U.S. 908 (1964)

430 U.S., 387,
97 S.Ct. 1232,
51 L.Ed.2d 424 (1977)

labama,
399 U.S. 1,
90 S.Ct. 1999,
26 L.Ed.2d 387 (1970)

Cuyler y. Sullivan,
464 U.S. 335,

100 S.Ct. 1708,
64 L.Ed.2d 333 (1980)

Edwards vy. Arizona,

451 U.S. 477,
101 S.Ct. 1880,
68 L.Ed.2d 378 (1981)

30

29

13

10, 11

16, 24

14, 15, 16, 18

378 U.S. 478,
84 S.Ct. 1758,
12 L.Ed.2d 977 (1964)

Evitts v. Lucey,
469 U.S. 387,

105 S.Ct. 830

83 L.Ed. 821 (1985)

Hill vy. Lockhart,

474 U.S. 52,

106 S.Ct. 366,

88 L.Ed.2d 203 (1985)

Irvin v. Dowd,
366 U.S. 717,
81 S.Ct. 1639 (1961)

Kimmelman y. Morrison,
477 U.S. 365,

106 S.Ct. 2574,

91 L.Ed.2d 305 (1986)

Kirby vy. Illinois,

406 U.S. 682,

92 S.Ct. 1877,

32 L.Ed.2d 411 (1972)

Lockhart v. Fretwell,
eS Saat
113 S.Ct. 838,
122 L.Ed.2d 180 (1993)

10

19, 20

16

30

17

10, 11

23

487 U.S. 285,
108 S.Ct. 2389,
101 L.Ed.2d 261 (1988)

vania vy. Finl
481 U.S. 551,
107 S.Ct. 1990 (1987)

Maine y. Moulton,
474 U.S. 159,
106 S.Ct. 484,

88 L.Ed.2d 481 (1985)

ichigan n,
475 U.S. 625,
106 S.Ct. 1404,
89 L.Ed.2d 631 (1986)

466 U.S. 668,
104 S.Ct. 2052,

80 L.Ed.2d 674 (1984)

ni Vv veia,
467 U.S. 180,
104 S.Ct. 2292,
81 L.Ed.2d 146 (1984)

United States v. Williams,
a? ae

112 S.Ct. 1735,

118 L.Ed.2d 352 (1992)

Vil

14, 15, 18

12, 13, 16, 20

15, 25

22, 23, 24, 31

9, 10, 11

11

Wainwright v. Torna,

455 U.S. 586, |

102 S.Ct. 1300,

71 L.Ed.2d 475 (1982) 7, 8,9
|
|

Viil

STATUTES & RULES

18 U.S.C. §371

28 U.S.C. §46(d)

28 U.S.C. §636(b)(1)
28 U.S.C. §1254(1)
28 U.S.C. §2255
Constitution of the

United States of America,
Sth Amendment

Constitution of the
United States of America,
6th Amendment

Rule 10.1(a), Rules of the
Supreme Court of the
United States

Rule 14(g), Rules of the
Supreme Court of the
United States

ix

PAGE

5

27

22

xii

1, 2, 3, 4,
31, 33

1478, 4
17, 18, 22

7, 8, 9, 10
11, 12, 13, 14
15, 16, 17, 18
26, 31

Rule 14(i), Rules of the
Supreme Court of the
United States

Rule 14.1(k), Rules of
the Supreme Court of the
United States

Rule 29.3, Rules of the
Supreme Court of the
United States

Rule 34, Federal Rules of
Appellate Procedure

Disciplinary Rule 7-104(A)(1)
of the American Bar Association’s
Code of Professional Responsibility

xi

34

28

13

a an

Reference to Lower Court Opinions

None of the opinions of the courts below are
reported. In accordance with Supreme Court Rule 14. 1(k),

all are reproduced in the appendix.

xi

(i)

(ii)

(ili)

5 ls for Juriadiction
Peeler seeks certiorari to review the January
19, 1994, opinion and judgment of the Fifth
Circuit Court of Appeals.

Peeler’s Motion for Rehearing was denied on
February 16, 1994.

Jurisdiction is conferred on this Court by 28

U.S.C. §1254(1).

Xii

Statement of the Case

The operative facts of this case are simple, but
alarming. They are recited in some detail in Peeler’s Motion
for §2255 Relief and accompanying exhibits, and reiterated
in a separate chronology, both of which are included in the
Appendix to the Petition. See Tr. 00134-165. Consistent
with the admonitions of Rule 14(g), we recount only the
most essential facts in "concise" fashion.

The gravamen of Peeler’s Motion is that the
Government offered her immunity, through her lawyer, in
December of 1985, in exchange for her voluntary
cooperation and truthful testimony, and that her lawyer chose
not to tell her about the Government’s offer or otherwise to
pursue it because he was being "loyal to the others", i.e. the
other potential codefendants and their counsel, all of whom

were signatories to a joint defense pact.

According to the sworn testimony of the AUSA
assigned to prosecute this case, he told Peeler’s lawyer that
"I would offer her immunity from the beginning of time to
the end of the world as concerned the Hillcrest Securities
activities." Exhibit 3 to §2255 Motion, Alexander
Deposition at pp. 17-18. Subsequently, AUSA Alexander
confirmed again that the offer was made. His affidavit
stated simply that “on or about December 1-3, 1985, I made
a definite, unambiguous offer of transactional immunity
regarding all Hillcrest matters to Darrell Jordan, the attorney
for Carol Peeler. Specifically, as best I recall, I advised Mr.
Jordan that the government was willing to ‘forgive all of Ms.
Peeler’s sins regarding the Hillcrest matter from the
beginning of the world until the end of time’ in exchange for
her cooperation. The immunity offer extended to Ms.
Peeler’s husband as well, and would have prevented both of

them from being indicted or prosecuted had Mr. Jordan

EA GE RIOY BANGED TS seme ey ree

communicated Ms. Peeler’s acceptance of the offer to me."

Darrell Jordan has admitted in sworn testimony that
an effective or reasonable defense lawyer should
communicate an offer of immunity to his client, and he has
also admitted that he did not communicate any offer of
immunity to Carol Peeler. Exhibit 9 to Motion, Jordan
Deposition at pp. 7-9.

The question of why Jordan failed to communicate
the offer is germane to the legal issue of prejudice under the
applicable case law from this Court. The record before the

Court demonstrates that the reason Jordan betrayed his own

client was -- in his own words

"we were remaining loyal to
the other people"

Exhibit 10 to §2255 Motion, Deposition of Sally Giddens,
quoting Darrell Jordan, at p.54. The “other people” were
the lawyers and potential codefendants in the joint defense

pact. The reason that Jordan thought that it was necessary

to put the question of immunity for his own client on the
back burner was that, he and the other defense counsel had
launched an end run around prosecutor Alexander via a joint
defense stratagem known as the "GIDEON INITIATIVE".
In order to give that initiative a chance to work, it was
important that the prosecutor not perceive any “cracks in the
dyke" [sic]". Exhibit 14 to §2255 Motion, HUGHES &
LUCE internal memorandum dated January 21, 1986, to
Darrell Jordan. Jordan made the decision to withhold the
immunity offer from his client and to defer the opportunity
for immunity, even though his associates had advised him in
writing that "“[t]he risks of doing so are that Bill
[Alexander] will find another crack in the dyke [sic], or
develop additional harmful information on Carol." Id,
Unfortunately for Carol Peeler, Jordan’s unilateral

decision to gamble with her freedom did not work out.

Prosecutor Alexander found another crack in the dike in the

personage of Hillcrest principal Buzz Tompkins. Tompkins
got immunity. Exhibit 18 to Motion (March 10, 1986
agreement between Tompkins and Government). Tompkins
then shared some information with the government about the
September 1982 "as of” trades. This information caused the
government to alter the focus of its entire investigation and
prosecution and to indict Peeler, her husband, and the other
Hillcrest principals. Exhibits 5-8 to the Motion. Even
though Peeler had been cleared by polygraph of having mens
rea, (Exhibit 25 to Motion) the defense to this charge’ was
much more difficult because, indisputably, on two days in
September of 1982, Peeler had executed trades “as of"
earlier in that week. When Congress passed the tax bill in

January of 1983 it made that portion of the law effective "as

' Peeler was actually charged with multiple violations of 18 U.S.C.
§371, all stemming from the September 1982 “as of” trades. This was
the basis of federal jurisdiction in the lower courts. See Rule 14(i),
S.Ct.R.

of" September 22, 1982, thereby rendering the deductions
arising out of those trades putatively unlawful.
Consequently, she was persuaded by one of her HUGHES &
LUCE lawyers that she was "guilty" and should plead guilty
to one count of the 22 count indictment so that the charges
against her husband would be dropped.

Peeler plead guilty on March 31, 1989. Several days
later she learned for the first time -- from reporter Giddens -
- that the Government had, in fact, offered her immunity

before Buzz Tompkins and that her lawyer had failed to tell

her about it.

Argument

I. BOTH THE FIFTH AND SIXTH AMENDMENTS
REQUIRE THE GOVERNMENT TO “HONOR,
RESPECT AND PRESERVE" PEELER’S CHOICE
OF COUNSEL AS THE "ESSENTIAL MEDIUM"
OF COMMUNICATION BETWEEN THE
GOVERNMENT AND HERSELF.

A. The Sixt ) “Ineffect to

Appointment of Counsel Issue, All of the courts below

have denied Sixth Amendment relief to Peeler -- not on the
substantive constitutional merits of her claim -- but rather
because they believed that their hands were tied by a single
phrase from this Court’s one page, per curiam, opinion in
Wainwright v. Torna, 455 U.S. 586, 102 S.Ct. 1300, 71
L.Ed.2d 475 (1982). For this reason only this Court can
remedy the situation and do justice in this case. This is a
compelling reason for the Court to grant certiorari.

The phrase is "[sJince respondent had no

constitutional right to counsel, he could not be deprived of

the effective assistance by his retained counsel’s failure to
file the application timely". 102 S.Ct at 1301.

The reasoning of the lower courts in applying that
phrase has been that (a) because Peeler was not erititled to
appointed counsel at this stage of the proceedings against
her, then (b) she was not entitled to constitutionally effective
representation from the lawyer whom she hired to represent
her. This is not only illogical, but also inconsistent with
other Sixth (and Fifth) Amendment case law.

In Torna habeas relief was denied to a petitioner who
complained about his retained counsel’s failure to seek
discretionary review by the Florida Supreme Court, after he
had already been convicted and his conviction upheld on
direct appeal. In denying relief the Court made the
statement quoted above. Taken out of the factual context of

the case, this seems, at first blush, to make the Sixth

Amendment appointment of counsel analysis coextensive

with the “ineffective assistance” claim. But the factual
context of Torna was markedly distinguishable from the case
of Carol Peeler. Torna had already been adjudicated as
guilty in a proceeding which comported with due process;
thus, he had no presumption of innocence. Peeler, by
contrast, had not even been formally indicted, so she still
enjoyed the presumption of innocence.”

More importantly, subsequent opinions from this
Court make it clear that Torna should not be applied so
mechanistically. Two years after Torna the Court handed
down United States v. Gouveia, 467 U.S. 180, 104 S.Ct.
2292, 81 L.Ed.2d 146 (1984). The Court denied relief. But
in so doing it focused on the Sixth Amendment’s right to

appointment of counsel, and it carefully demonstrated that

Chief Justice Rehnquist noted this important distinction in

Pennsylvania _v, Finley, 481 U.S. 551, 555, 107 S.Ct. 1990, 1993
(1987).

this Sixth Amendment right and the Sixth Amendment right
to effective counsel are not coextensive:

The narrow issue before the Court of Appeals
and before us today is whether the Sixth
Amendment requires the appointment of
counsel for indigent inmates in respondents’
situation. Respondents have not contended
that they were denied the opportunity to
retain their own private counsel .. .
Respondents also have not asserted a Sixth
Amendment ineffective-assistance-of-counsel
claim ...

104 S.Ct. at 2296n.1 [emphasis added, citations omitted].’

> In view of this language in Gouveia which suggests that these
Sixth Amendment rights are not necessarily coextensive, we do not
address the more thorny issue of whether a person who is confronted
with a prosecutor, a grand jury, and an immunity offer is at such a
critical stage of the proceedings as to be entitled to appointment of
counsel. Clearly Escobedo v. Ilinois, 378 U.S. 478, 84 S.Ct. 1758, 12
L.Ed.2d 977 (1964), holds that the Sixth Amendment’s right to counsel
can attach before formal charges have been filed. So, too, does
Coleman y. Alabama, 399 U.S. 1, 90 S.Ct. 1999, 26 L.Ed.2d 387
(1970) (defendant is entitled to appointed counsel at pre-indictment
preliminary hearing). And certainly a person who does face that “skilled
prosecutor” is in the very predicament that the Court envisioned in
Gouveia anc Kirby v. Mlinois, 406 U.S. 682, 92 S.Ct. 1877, 32
L.Ed.2d 411 (1972). Although many courts view the plurality opinion
in Kirby as establishing a “bright line" test, in fact the Court explained
its constitutional concerns and the rationale for its holding in oft-quoted,
practical, functional terms:

10

If the twin Sixth Amendment rights were coextensive, then
this last sentence of Justice Rehnquist’s opinion would be

meaningless surplusage.

The initiation of judicial criminal proceedings
is far from a mere formalism. It is the starting point
of our whole system of adversary criminal justice.
For it is only then that the government has committed
itself to prosecute, and only then that the adverse
positions of the government and defendant have
solidified. It is then that a defendant finds himself
faced with the prosecutorial forces of organized
society, and immersed in the intricacies of substantive
and procedural criminal law.

92 S.Ct. at 1882.

In December of 1985 Carol Peeler was confronted by very
powerful “prosecutorial forces of organized society,” including an
experienced prosecutor who was telling her lawyer that he intended to
convene a grand jury, summon her before that grand jury to testify, and,
if she did not cooperate by accepting the immunity offer, he would ask
that grand jury indict her. She was, in the words of Kirby deeply
“immersed in the intricacies of substantive and procedural criminal law.”
If, as the Court held in Coleman a person is entitled to counsel at a pre-
indictment hearing, then surely she would also be entitled to counsel
when she was summoned before the grand jury to either testify or plead

the Fifth. But see United States v. Williams, ..-«~U.S.___—_, «112
S.Ct. 1735, 1743, 118 L.Ed.2d 352 (1992)

Therefore, if the Court retreats from the language of Gouveia,
Peeler would ask the Court to carefully consider and apply these
precedents to the peculiar facts of her case and hold that she was entitled
to counsel at this juncture.

11

Other Sixth Amendment cases demonstrate what

obligations the government has once an accused person has
counsel. For example in Maine vy. Moulton, 474 U.S. 159,
106 S.Ct. 477, 489, 88 L.Ed.2d 481 (1985), this Court
upheld the exclusion of taped confessions which were
obtained by a police informant after Moulton had invoked
his right to hire counsel. After quoting from other cases
about the fundamental nature of the right to counsel, the
importance of having the "guiding hand of counsel at every
stage of the proceedings against him", and observing that
"the right to the assistance of counsel is shaped by the need
for the assistance of counsel. . . at earlier, ‘critical’
Stages in the criminal justice process ‘where the results
might well settle the accused’s fate" the Court stated
something that would seem to be a constitutional truism:
Once the right to counsel has

attached and been asserted, the
State must of course honor it.

12

474 U.S. at 170 (emphasis added). The Court went on to
elaborate: "This means more than simply that the State
cannot prevent the accused from obtaining the assistance of
counsel. The Sixth Amendment also imposes on the State an
affirmative obligation to respect and preserve the
accused’s choice to seek this assistance." Id, at 170-71
(emphasis added).

In a footnote the Court explained one of the reasons
that the government must "honor, respect and preserve" the
attorney client relationship and the role of the lawyer as
liaison between his client and the government: "‘[T]he
lawyer is the essential medium through which the demands
and commitments of the sovereign are communicated to the
citizen.’” Id at 171n.7, quoting Brewer v. Williams, 430
U.S., 387, 97 S.Ct. 1232, 51 L.Ed.2d 424 (1977). See also
474 at 187-88 (Burger, C.J., dissenting) which quotes the

ethical limitation of Disciplinary Rule 7-104(A)(1) of the

13

American Bar Association’s Code of Professional
Responsibility .*

This constitutional admonition to "honor, respect and
preserve” the right to counsel clearly does not depend on
whether the defendant is in the post-indictment "critical"
phase at which he has a Sixth Amendment right to appointed
counsel. The obligation also extends to a preindictment
suspect who asserts his Fifth Amendment right to counsel.
Edwards y. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477, 101 S.Ct. 1880, 68
L.Ed.2d 378 (1981). Recently the Court observed that

"[p]reserving the integrity of an accused’s choice to

* The Court reiterated the point again in Patterson v. Illinois, 487
U.S. 285, 290n.3, 108 S.Ct. 2389, 101 L.Ed.2d 261 (1988):

We note as a matter of some significance that petitioner
had not retained, or accepted by appointment, a lawyer
to represent him at the time he was questioned by
authorities. Once an accused has a lawyer, a distinct
set of constitutional safeguards aimed at preserving
the sanctity of the attorney-client relationship takes
effect.

~.

14

communicate with police only through counsel is the essence
of Edwards and its progeny”. Patterson v. Illinois, 487
U.S. 285, 291, 108 S.Ct. 2389, 101 L.Ed.2d 261 (1988).°

In Michigan v. Jackson, 475 U.S. 625, 106 S.Ct.
1404, 89 L.Ed.2d 631 (1986); the Court affirmed the
overturning of a murder conviction because the police had
obtained incriminating evidence after the accused had
asserted his right to counsel. The holding demonstrates
again that, for constitutional purposes, it really does not
matter whether the right to have counsel emanates from a
Sixth Amendment obligation on the government to
provide/appoint counsel, or from a Fifth Amendment choice
to request or retain counsel. _ Rather, its holding was

"grounded in the understanding that ‘the assertion of the

5 In Patterson the Court held that the waiver analysis of the right
to counsel is essentially the same, regardless of whether that right
emanates from a pre-indictment Fifth Amendment invocation of counsel,
or a post-indictment Sixth Amendment right.

15

right to counsel [is] a significant event,’" 106 S.Ct. at 1410-
11, citing and quoting Edwards y. Arizona, supra, and
Maine vy, Moulton, supra.
Under the teachings of these subsequent cases, once
a criminal target is represented by counsel, there is no
difference for Sixth Amendment "effectiveness" purposes
between counsel retained by the defendant himself and
counsel appointed to represent an indigent defendant.
ler_v llivan, 464 U.S. 335, 100 S.Ct. 1708, 64
L.Ed.2d 333 (1980)(a person is not foreclosed from asserting
an ineffective assistance claim merely because he hired the

lawyer in question).°

* In addition to the distinction between defendants with retained vs.
appointed counsel, some of the older cases also distinguished between
adjudications of guilt vs. guilty pleas. That distinction, too, is no longer
of any constitutional significance. Hill v, Lockhart, 474 U.S. 52, 106
S.Ct. 366, 369-71, 88 L.Ed.2d 203 (1985)(ineffective assistance of
counsel can vitiate guilty plea).

16

arrears

The application of these principles to the case at bar
is simple. Once Peeler exercised her constitutionally
mandated’ right to hire counsel, the government was obliged
to use that lawyer as the “essential medium” to convey the
offer of immunity. Prosecutor Alexander could not call
Carol Peeler directly to offer her immunity. And when that
lawyer chose to sacrifice his client’s liberty out of "loyal[ty]
to the others", his constitutional deficiencies are necessarily
imputed to the government itself. Kimmelman v, Morrison,
477 U.S. 365, 106 S.Ct. 2574, 91 L.Ed.2d 305 (1986)
That would be so even if the government was not aware of
the ineffective assistance. But, a fortiori is it so where, as
here, the prosecutor and other government officials were
aware in early 1986, shortly after the offer was made, that

Jordan failed to convey the offer of immunity; but Peeler

7 In addition to the Fifth and Sixth amendments, the contract clause
of the Constitution also confers an inalienable right to hire a lawyer.

17

herself did not become aware until April of 1989, three days
after she plead guilty to a technical malum prohibitum
offense on the advice of the same law firm.

B. Peeler Is Also Entitled to Relief under the Fifth
Amendment. As we have seen, the Fifth Amendment also
obligates the government to “honor, respect and preserve"
the role of counsel as the “essential medium" for
communications between the government and the accused.
Edwards vy. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477, 101 S.Ct. 1880, 68

L.Ed.2d 378 (1981); Patterson v. Illinois, 487 U.S. 285,
291, 108 S.Ct. 2389, 101 L.Ed.2d 261 (1988).

Correlative to the government’s obligation to respect
the role of defense counsel, counsel also has a duty to render
constitutionally effective representation. The Fifth
Amendment guarantee of due process, like the Sixth
Amendment, also safeguards this right. Therefore,

ineffective assistance claims are also cognizable under this

18

Amendment. Evitts v. Lucey, 469 U.S. 387, 105 S.Ct.
830, 836, 83 L.Ed. 821 (1985) is a due process "ineffective
assistance" case. It holds that due process requires a
criminal defendant to have effective assistance of counsel on
his first appeal as of right. It, thus, affirmed the granting of
the Great Writ. In Evitts the Court was confronted with an
argument by the state of Kentucky that is extremely
analogous to the reasoning of the courts below. Kentucky
argued that, because the Constitution does not require a state
to have any system of appeals as of right in the first
instance, then the fact that a defendant might get ineffective
representation in the course of the gratuitous appeal that is
present is inconsequential. The Court rejected this argument
resoundingly because it recognized that due process was a

broader concept which required courts to take the situations

as they were presented to them and make sure that they

comported with the requirement for fundamental fairness.
Id. at 838-39.

The lesson of Evitts is clear: if the state has an
appeal (even one that is not constitutionally required), due
process requires counsel to be effective in handling that
appeal; similarly, because Peeler had a lawyer (regardless of
whether or not the government was obliged to appoint one to
represent her at this juncture), due process required him to
be loyal and effective. If he is not, his ineffectiveness is
imputed to the government. Or, to reiterate it in the words
of Maine vy. Moulton, 474 U.S. 159, 106 S.Ct. at 484, 88
L.Ed.2d 481 (1985), once Peeler had chosen to have
counsel, the government was constitutionally obliged to
"honor, . . . respect and preserve” her choice.

Several times during the course of the Evitts opinion,
the Court analogized the plight of Lucey to "one who has no

counsel at all." Jd. at 836; also, 835n.6. Its reasoning was

20

that, if the benefits which a person received from his
representation were really not much better than a person who
had "no counsel at all", then the person is entitled to relief
under the Constitution. Ironically, the facts in the case
before this Court graphically illustrate that Carol Peeler
would have been much better off if she had had “no counsel
at all", because then the prosecutor would have been
ethically obliged to communicate the immunity offer directly
to Peeler and she would have then been aware that she had
been offered a reasonable and expedient exit from the
criminal process. She could have made her own decision.
And, as the record evidence indicates, she would have
accepted the offer, conditioned, as it was, only on her

willingness to tell the truth. For this reason the Court of

21

Appeals erred in not even reaching the Fifth Amendment

argument.*
Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 104 S.Ct.

2052, 80 L.Ed.2d 674 (1984), establishes the twin prongs
for substantive analysis of the ineffective assistance claim.
There is little dispute’ about whether or not the record facts

satisfy both prongs of the test.

* The Fifth Circuit refused to address Peeler’s Fifth Amendment
argument because her pleadings and briefings did not differentiate
between the Fifth and Sixth amendment arguments until she filed her
objections to the Magistrate’s report and recommendation. Contrary to
the panel’s opinion, this was properly before the district court because 28
U.S.C. §636(b)(1) provides for de novo review.

* In some cases there would be a need to remand for an evidentiary
hearing to decide two fact issues: (i) whether or not the immunity offer
was made, and (ii) whether it was communicated to Peeler or not. There
is no need for an evidentiary hearing in this case because both points are
established by the prosecutor’s own testimony. AUSA Alexander
testified that he made the offer, and also that he learned shortly thereafter
that it had not been communicated to Peeler. His testimony about the
offer being made was corroborated by two IRS agents who heard him
make the offer, and his testimony about the lack of communication was
readily admitted by Jordan himself.

22

First, both prosecutor Alexander and defense counsel
Jordan have testified that the standard of reasonable
representation would require communication of an immunity
offer. So deficient representation is established as a matter
of fact. Even absent this testimony, however, it would likely
be established as a matter of law under the holdings of this
Court. In Strickland itself the Court acknowledged that the
professional norms for defense counsel include a duty "to
consult with the defendant on important decisions and to
keep the defendant informed of important developments in
the course of the prosecution." Id. at 2065.

Similarly, the prejudice component is established."°

In Strickland the Court observed that there are some

'© The test of prejudice is still the same. As Justice O’Connor
pointed out in her concurring opinion in Lockhart vy. Fretwell, __
U.S. ___, 113 S.Ct. 838, 845, 122 L.Ed.2d 180 (1993) "[t}he
determinative question [under Strickland] -- whether there is ‘a
reasonable probability that, but for counsel’s unprofessional errors, the
result of the proceeding would have been different,’ -- remains
unchanged.”

23

circumstances which are so inherently prejudicial that, when
shown, prejudice is conclusively presumed. One such
circumstance is to show a conflict of interest that affected
counsel’s performance. The reason that this species of
ineffective assistance is so pernicious is

[ijn those circumstances

counsel breaches the duty of
loyalty, perhaps the most

basic of counsel’s duties.
Id. 104 S.Ct. at 2067. Accord Cuyler vy. Sullivan, 464
U.S. 335, 100 S.Ct. 1708, 64 L.Ed.2d 333 (1980).
Again, the facts of this case squarely meet this
component of the Strickland test. The reason that Darrell
Jordan failed to pursue immunity for Carol Peeler in a timely

manner -- according to Mr. Jordan’s own admission to

reporter Sally Giddens -- was that

" we were remaining loyal to the other people".

(Deposition of Sally Giddens, quoting Darrell Jordan.)

24

Thus, if this Court truly meant what it said in

Michigan vy. Jackson, supra, when it wrote that "‘the
assertion of the right to counsel [is] a significant event,’”
which must be “honored”, “respect[ed] and preserve[d]"

then Peeler’s conviction must be overturned.

25

Il. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S HANDLING OF THE
CASE ALSO VIOLATES DUE PROCESS

Peeler would prefer that this Court accept certiorari
on the substantive constitutional merits of her ineffective
assistance claims and avoid this issue altogether. However,
because the Fifth Circuit’s’’ handling of her appeal “has so
far departed from the accepted and usual course of judicial
proceedings” Rule 10.1(a), S.Ct.R., Peeler would be remiss
if she did not point out this defect to the Court and ask, as

an alternative remedy, that this Court reverse the opinion of

'' This point of error is brought most reluctantly. The undersigned
counsel began his legal career as a law clerk for the late John R. Brown,
then Chief Judge of the Fifth Circuit. Consequently, he has a great
appreciation for the legacies of that great court and some understanding
of the burdens which face the judges of that court. The Fifth Circuit's
long-standing summary calendar procedures are a necessary and
important tool for assisting the court in its workload. On the other hand,
the reason that it has worked well for the Court is that the Court itself
has been scrupulously sensitive to the procedural regularity of summary
disposition without oral argument. It has assigned screening cases to all
active judges “selected in rotation” and has “carefully separated" the
functions of judge assignments and calendaring of cases.

26

the court below and remand the case for reconsideration by
a randomly chosen panel.

In accordance with the “screening” procedures
employed by the Fifth Circuit this case was originally
scheduled for oral argument. This means that at least one of
the three judges on the screening panel thought that the case
merited oral argument. However, unbeknownst to Peeler,
apparently one of the judges on the oral argument panel
decided sua sponte to recuse himself from the oral argument
panel. The other two judges on the panel then instructed the
clerk to advise counsel that the case would be decided on the
briefs without argument. On November 9, 1993, the
remaining two judges issued an unpublished, per curiam
opinion affirming the denial of relief. A footnote to this
opinion indicates that these two judges decided the case as a
quorum of the scheduled oral argument panel under the

ostensible authority of 28 U.S.C. §46(d). Peeler filed a

27

a teniartiaiaeeeeel

Motion for Rehearing arguing that summary disposition by
a two judge court without oral argument was violative of
Rule 34, Fed.R.App.P. On December 29, 1993, the panel
granted the Motion and vacated its opinion, ordering that
"the case will be resubmitted to a three-judge panel".

At this point justice and due process required the
complete reassignment of the case to another panel of judges
who had not already made up their minds about the
Substantive issues in the case -- either a new, standard
screening panel, or a regularly scheduled oral argument
panel.

The reason for this is clearly stated in the Fifth

Circuit’s Internal Operating Procedures:

To insure complete objectivity in the
assignment of judges and the calendaring of
cases, the two functions of (1) judge
assignment to panels and (2) calendaring of
cases are carefully separated.

28

That was not done. The Fifth Circuit clerk’s office
advised Peeler’s counsel that the third member of the panel
was specifically requested by the junior judge on the original
panel to participate in the resolution of this case.’ The
result is the reissuance of the same, per curiam, unpublished
opinion previously rendered by the ostensible two judge
quorum.

Peeler has been unable to find any reported opinion
from this Court in which the constitutional implications of
panel gerrymandering were considered. The only time
known to counsel at which a judge of the Fifth Circuit was

accused of such conduct was in Judge Cameron’s scathing

dissent in Armstrong v. Board of Education, 323 F.2d

'? Unfortunately this is not in the record and not available to Peeler’s
counsel. However, if the Court grants the writ on this issue, Peeler will
request that this Court order the augmentation of the record by directing
the clerk of the Fifth Circuit to forward to this Court the back page of
the docket sheet and any internal memoranda regarding the selection of
the panel which ultimately resolved the case.

29

ES a VE a Ae a ae ~"

Pe A OOS ORE o-

Pn WA lea a te PE

333, 352-59 (Sth Cir. 1963), cert. denied 376 U.S. 908
(1964), which hails from an extremely divisive period in the
Fifth Circuit's history. Cf Akins y. Texas, 325 U.S. 398,
400n.1, 65 S.Ct. 1276, 1278n.1, 89 L.Ed. 1692 (1945).

However, there are reasonable analogies. For
example, this Court has a long history of reviewing the
selection process for juries to make sure that they were truly
"impartial" and "indifferent". E.g. Irvin vy. Dowd, 366
U.S. 717, 81 S.Ct. 1639 (1961). Is it any less important
that the judges who are assigned to hear cases are chosen
randomly and impartially, and that they come to the case
with no preconceived notion? Of course not.

The deprivation of due process to Peeler is clear.
Moreover, because this case involves a professional betrayal

by a very highly visible Texas lawyer” and has attracted a

') The Court can take judicial notice that Mr. Jordan is the former
President of the Texas Bar Association.

30

fair amount of media attention already, it not only
jeopardizes justice in this case, but undermines public
confidence in the procedures of the federal courts as a
whole. Therefore, it cries out "for an exercise of this
Court’s power of supervision.” Rule 10.1(a).
Conclusion

Since Strickland a host of ineffective assistance
attacks have been launched -- usually by pro se prisoners
who do not understand the stringency of the twin
requirements of that case. Most have failed. One apparent
reason for this is that most defense counsel are both
competent and loyal. However, this is an extraordinary
case. The well-documented motion for relief under §2255
demonstrates a blatant betrayal of the client’s interests by a
very highly paid defense lawyer, . . . and the

government knew all about it.

31

A person accused of a crime has many forces aligned
against him. All of the power of the government -- police
and prosecutor -- are arrayed against him. Many times
friends and family might turn against him. And the best that
he can hope for from the bench is impartiality. But the
Constitution contemplates that there is one person who will
stand by him. There is one person in whom he could
confide his sins and his fears with confidence that this
information is protected from disclosure by a sacred
privilege. There is one person from whom he could expect
and require unswerving fidelity. There is one person who
will interpose himself between the accused and the
government and serve as the "essential medium" for
communication between them. That person is the accused’s
lawyer. And the constitutional precedents of this Court
unambiguously require the government to "honor, respect

and preserve" the role and function of that person.

32

Carol Peeler hired such a person -- a former
prosecutor turned prominent lawyer, bar politician and
partner in a prestigious Dallas law firm. The government
conveyed its offer of immunity to this “essential medium”.
He failed to tell her about it because he had a different
agenda and conflicting loyalties. The government knew it;
Peeler did not. Under these unique circumstances Peeler
was denied constitutionally effective representation.

Only this Court can rectify that error. On the
authority of the numerous opinions of this Court set forth
herein, Peeler implores the Court to grant the writ of
certiorari, and, after reviewing the merits to "vacate and set

the judgment aside and... discharge the prisoner". 28
U.S.C. §2255.

33

Respectfully submitted

ARCHER, WALDNER & VICKERY

(Signed) Arnoid Anderson Vickery

Arnold Anderson Vickery

S.D. Fed. 1.D. No. 4470

Texas State Bar No. 20571800
2929 Allen Parkway, Suite 2770
Houston, Texas 77019

(713) 526-0700

PROOF OF SERVICE
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

Pursuant to Rule 29.3 of the Rules of the Supreme
Court of the United States, I certify that three copies of the
Petition for Writ of Certiorari has been served on Robert D.
Lindsay, Chief, Criminal Division, Department of Justice -
Tax Division, 10th & Constitution Avenue, N.W.,
Suite 4131, Washington, D.C. 20530
via first class postage prepaid, on this Lt day of May,
1994,

(Signed) Arnaid Anderson vicnery

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_0978%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
