# Opposition Brief — Contel Cellular Inc. v. Leaf River Valley Cellular Telephone Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_0908%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 516 U.S. 1145

## Text

No. 95-908

sa The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1995

€

CONTEL CELLULAR INC. AND CONTEL
CELLULAR OF ILLINOIS, INC.,

Petitioners,

LEAF RIVER VALLEY CELLULAR TELEPHONE CO.,
INC. AND CENTRAL CELLULAR TELEPHONES, LTD.,

Respondents.

o—-_-

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Illinois Appellate Court

*

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

e _
Davip F. GRAHAM CarRTER G. PHILLIPs*
KATHLEEN L. ROACH Srpcey & AUSTIN
STEVEN W. YOUNG 1722 Eye Street, NW
SipLey & AUSTIN Washington, DC 20006

One First National Plaza (202) 736-8000
Chicago, Illinois 60603
(312) 853-7000

Attorneys for Respondents
* Counsel of record

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. ‘“hether this Court has jurissiction to review an
interlocutory order of a state appellate court where the
matter remains to be tried in the lower state court and no
relief has yet been granted, because some of the relief that
might be awarded after trial might implicate federal regu-
lations.

2. Whether an Illinois state court has the power to
adjudicate damage claims under Illinois law for breach of
a contract and breach of the fiduciary duty owed by the
general partner of an Illinois limited parinership, where
the claims pertain to a business that operates under FCC
licenses.

ii

LIST OF AFFILIATED CORPORATIONS

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 29.6, the following
is a list of the parent corporations and non-wholly owned
subsidiaries of each respondent:

Leaf River Valley Cellular Telephone Co., Inc. (“Leaf
River”): Leaf River Telephone Company owns 51% of the
stock of Leaf River Cellular. United States Cellular Invest-
ment Company of Rockford (“USCIC Rockford”) owns
49% of the stock of Leaf River Cellular. United States
Cellular Investment Company (“USCIC”) is the parent
corporation of USCIC Rockford. United States Cellular
Company (“USCC”), a publicly traded corporation, is the
parent corporation of USCIC. Telephone and Data Sys-
tems, a publicly traded corporation, owns approximately
80% of the shares of USCC. Leaf River has no non-wholly
owned subsidiaries.

Central Cellular Telephones, Ltd. (“Central Cellu-
lar”): Sharon Telephone Company owns 25.5% of the
stock of Central Cellular. Bergen Telephone Company
owns 25.5% of the stock of Central Cellular. USCIC Rock-
ford owns 49% of the stock of Central Cellular. Central
Cellular has no non-wholly owned subsidiaries.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
RPUPMPE MUU PRONE 2 occ c cs vtcccccecccccceves i
LIST OF AFFILIATED CORPORATIONS............ ii
JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT.................... 1
DRPRU UP EM OVO occ cc cccccvcccececcvccecencs 1
COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE............ 2

REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE
A Ser ne ee eee 5

I. THIS COURT LACKS JURISDICTION TO HEAR
THE PETITION UNDER 28 U.S.C. § 1257
BECAUSE THE ORDER DENYING PETI-
TIONERS’ INTERLOCUTORY APPEAL WAS
NOT A FINAL JUDGMENT OR DECREE...... 6

Il. NO QUESTION EXISTS THAT THE COMMUNI-
CATIONS ACT EXPRESSLY PRESERVES STATE
COURT REMEDIES FOR THE INSTANT
CLAIMS FOR BREACH OF CONTRACT AND
eT ME cen pavc< stan vwenveencasees 11

A. CONTEL’S PATENTLY IRRELEVANT
AUTHORITIES RAISE NO QUESTION FOR
Nt i akin bd ov bw the So wn adie ob o6¥ee% 12

B. CONTEL RAISES NO QUESTION APPRO-
PRIATE FOR REVIEW BECAUSE THIS
COURT’S DECISIONS HAVE CONSIS-
TENTLY RECOGNIZED A STATE COURT’S
POWER TO ADJUDICATE STATE LAW
CLAIMS, EVEN WHERE THEY PERTAIN TO
AN FCC LICENSED BUSINESS, AND NO
ee MEE cc vu eeccccerstacsscesns 14

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

C. CONTEL RAISES NO QUESTION FOR
REVIEW BECAUSE THE FCC CONSIS-
TENTLY AGREES WITH THE INTERPRETA-
TION OF THE COMMUNICATIONS ACT
ADOPTED BY THE COURTS BELOW....... 16

CONCLUSION ...... 000 eer eeedA econ eesseneteuehers 18

eS—————EeEe

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Bradley v. Richmond School Board, 416 U.S. 696

GN 6845 1enet hdd Catan ecb Vib cap ered a Sones 8
Construction Laborers v. Curry, 371 U.S. 542 (1963) .... 10
Cooperative Comm. v. AT&T Corp., 867 F. Supp.

Sane Mek SPU OPE ese cigecscccebluciee ew 16
Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975) ..9, 10
FCC v. Pottsville Broadcasting Co., 309 U.S. 134

oe ee ey PET oT rey hae ae oe aeeee 14
Flynt v. Ohio, 451 U.S. 619 (1981) ..............00.. 11
Houston v. Moore, 3 Wheat. 433 (1818)................ 7
In re Applications of Decatur Telecasting, Inc., 7 FCC

PN NE CHIN hs. ne viv ep eche edness ieee 17
In re Applications of KQED, Inc., 6 FCC Red. 598

Gee Eck senicwcesets Hastsers ied ae 17
In re Application of Rodney A. McDaniel, 4 FCC Rcd.

SIEM CPR: cdies kd wineede 1604) ele, 17
In re Application of Wind N’ Sea FM Limited Partner-

UD, F Was MU. Be Te ov hvoe ous kc cekaeess, 17
In the Matter of Applications of Centel Corp., 8 FCC

TOs. DE RENE aoa ecab ade kiccdaddane ester te. 16
Interstate Circuit, Inc. v. Dallas, 390 U.S. 676 (1968) ..... 1
KVHP TV Partners, Ltd. v. Channel 12 of Beaumont,

Inc., 874 F. Supp. 756 (E.D. Tex. 1995) ............ 16
Market Street Ry. v. Railroad Commission, 324 U.S.

Pa LOE on hese vedas ee rnney nel eekeealeseenee 7

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

North Dakota Pharmacy Board v. Snyder's Stores, 414
US. 156 (1907S) .nccccccvevecavtcneesetedssceuaneewe 7
O'Dell v. Espinoza, 456 U.S. 430 (1982).............66. 7

Radio Station WOW uv. Johnson, 326 U.S. 120 (1945) . .passim
Regents of the University System of Georgia v. Carroll,

SOO U.S. TRG CROCE v vccvccccesacitssbenenncheverts 15
San Diego Gas & Elec. Co. v. City of San Diego, 450

We GES COPED ov cvcccccesvexcenunuauyumeeuuered 7,8
United Tel. Co. of Carolinas, Inc. v. FCC, 559 F.2d 720

CEPA GOR SIUT a oc vk ivesevuscoessuvacheeesieeeeee 15
STATUTES
ge 8 Be ee re ere ee 13
BIE ame BPP a AR oy 1, 6,7
OF UDR. © GA, 60 ve dhceNanwveueesueeieeieeeee passim

OTHER AUTHORITY

wupemn Comet Take 80. vic vcecccsuscvvessercistee 11

erento we,

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Respondents Leaf River Valley Cellular Telephone
Company, Inc. (“Leaf River”) and Central Cellular Tele-
phones, Ltd. (“Central Cellular”) respectfully request that
this Court deny the Petition for Writ of Certiorari filed by
petitioners Contel Cellular Inc. and Contel Cellular of
Illinois, Inc. (collectively “Contel”) seeking review of the
decision of the Illinois Appellate Court.’

+

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

This Court lacks jurisdiction to hear the Petition
under 28 U.S.C. § 1257 because the order denying peti-
tioners’ interlocutory appeal was not a final judgment or
decree.

STATUTES INVOLVED
28 U.S.C. § 1257: State Courts; certiorari

(a) Final judgments or decrees rendered by
the highest court of a State in which a decision
could be had, may be reviewed by the Supreme

* Contel erroneously states that the Illinois Supreme
Court’s order should be reviewable under § 1257. (Pet. at 1.)
Because the Illinois Supreme Court merely declined to review
the decision of the Appellate Court, the decision of the
Appellate Court (if considered final) would be the one
reviewable by this Court. See Interstate Circuit, Inc. v. Dallas, 390
U.S. 676, 678 n.1 (1968).

Court by writ of certiorari where the validity of
a treaty or statute of the United States is drawn
in question or where the validity of a statute of
any State is drawn in question on the ground of
its being repugnant to the Constitution, treaties,
or laws of the United States, or where any title,
right, privilege, or immunity is specially set up
or claimed under the Constitution or the treaties
or statutes of, or any commission held or
authority exercised under, the United States.

47 U.S.C. § 414: Exclusiveness of chapter.

Nothing in this chapter contained shall in
any way abridge or alter the remedies now exist-
ing at common law or by statute, but the provi-
sions of this chapter are in addition to such
remedies.

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE

An examination of the proceedings below reveals
that Contel’s petition improperly seeks review of a nonfi-
nal order. Contel filed a motion to dismiss the complaints
filed against it by Leaf River and Central Cellular in the
Illinois circuit court. On October 12, 1994, the circuit
court denied Contel’s motion to dismiss. On December
14, 1994, the circuit court denied Contel’s motion for a
finding that a question of law existed appropriate for
interlocutory appeal under III. S.Ct. Rule 308. Contel nev-
ertheless perfected an appeal under Ill. S.Ct. Rule 307, by
characterizing its motion to dismiss as also a motion for a
stay. On March 21, 1995, the Illinois Appellate Court
affirmed the order denying Contel’s motion to dismiss.

a ee

The court did not address what relief would be appropri-
ate upon a final judgment, but held only that no impedi-
ments existed to the trial court’s jurisdiction. (See Pet. at
A16.) On October 4, 1995, the Illinois Supreme Court
denied Contel’s Petition for Leave to Appeal the inter-
locutory order of the Appellate Court, remanding the
cases for trial on the merits. No final judgment or decree
has been entered in these cases by any lower court.
Rather, the cases have been proceeding in the circuit
court.

Moreover, the complexion of the cases - and of the
issues Contel seeks to have this Court review — has
already changed during the course of these further pro-
ceedings. For example, the complaints Contel attaches to
its Petition and refers to throughout were in fact mooted
by amended complaints filed on August 17, 1995 that
altered the prayers for relief, e.g., by dropping any
request for injunctive relief.

If this Court determines to examine the merits of
Contel’s petition, Contel’s statement of the case describes
most of the facts leading up to this litigation, but contains
some material deficiencies regarding the background of
the primary legal issue decided below — whether an Illi-
nois state court has the power to decide claims for breach
of a contract governed by Illinois law and for breach of
the fiduciary duties owed under Illinois law by the gen-
eral partner of an Illinois limited partnership.

Leaf River and Central Cellular filed these consoli-
dated actions seeking relief for a breach of contractual
and fiduciary obligations owed to them and the Rockford

ee

MSA Limited Partnership (the “Partnership”). The Part-
nership provides cellular telephone service in and around
Rockford, Illinois under an FCC license. Plaintiffs con-
tend that Contel, the general partner of the Partnership,
breached its obligations under the Partnership Agree-
ment and its fiduciary duties by misappropriating for
itself the opportunity to provide cellular service in Illi-
nois RSA 1, a cellular market adjoining Rockford. Accord-
ingly, Leaf River and Central Cellular seek money
damages for the value of the lost business opportunity
Contel misappropriated.

Contrary to Contel’s representations in its petition,
(see Pet. at 14, 15, 17), Leaf River and Central Cellular
have repeatedly and consistently explained that they do
not seek “ownership” or “control” of the FCC license that
Contel obtained for itself, nor do they seek a “transfer” of
the FCC license for Illinois RSA 1. (See App. Order, Pet. at
A15.) Plaintiffs have not requested specific performance
of Contel’s obligation to pursue the RSA 1 license on
behalf of the Partnership and its partners, but, as the
Appellate Court recognized, seek substitutional relief
instead, in the form of money damages:

Plaintiffs . . . have not asked the trial court to

transfer control of the license. They seek only

compensatory damages from defendants for

their offenses as general partners, specifically |
(1) seizing a partnership opportunity for them-

selves and (2) breach of the provision of the

partnership agreement which requires that if the

general partner applies for a license to serve

another service area, the application shall be on

behalf of the partnership.

(Id.) In fact, to make clear that they seek damages as
opposed to any ownership or control over the FCC
license, since the time of the Appellate Court’s decision
Leaf River and Central Cellu.ar amended their com-
plaints to eliminate the request for relief that sought to
require Contel to share all benefits from its interest in
Illinois RSA 1 - an important fact that Contel neglects to
mention. (See Pet. at 13.) Contel also fails to mention the
primary request for relief in both the original and
amended complaints, namely, “compensatory damages in
an amount to be determined at trial.” (Pet. at A28, A39.)

REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED

Contel’s petition should be denied because no final
judgment or decree has been entered, concerning the
“transfer” or “ownership” of an FCC license or otherwise.
Indeed, Contel casts its entire argument hypothetically, in
order to discuss the federal questions that it believes
would arise “if the state court were to grant” certain
relief. (Pet. at 14) (emphasis supplied). Further, one of the
two forms of relief Contel believes would offend federal
law has already been removed from the case by virtue of
subsequent proceedings. Plaintiffs’ remaining requests
for relief have not yet been granted or denied, rendering
Contel’s petition premature.

Even if this Court were to consider the merits of
Contel’s petition, no reason to grant certiorari is pre-
sented. Contel claims that the Illinois Appellate Court
erred by relying on Section 414 of the Federal Communi-
cations Act and holding that these private disputes could

proceed in Illinois state court. Section 414 is clear, how-
ever, and has been consistently applied the way the Illi-
nois Appellate Court did were. The bulk of Contel’s
petition simply recites patently irrelevant FCC regula-
tions and asserts that their potential application to the
particular facts of this action should be deemed “impor-
tant.” By failing to cite any decisions by any court agree-
ing with its position, however, Contel has raised no
conflict of authority requiring review. Moreover, no ques-
tion of law exists that has not been settled by this Court,
nor has one been decided in a way that conflicts with the
decisions of this Court. Indeed, Contel simply attempts to
avoid this Court’s well-established precedent. Finally,
even the FCC, whose policy Contel claims needs protect-
ing, has consistently repudiated Contel’s position. In
short, this purely private dispute raises no questions of
general importance appropriate for review.

I. THIS COURT LACKS JURISDICTION TO HEAR
THE PETITION UNDER 28 U.S.C. § 1257 BECAUSE
THE ORDER DENYING PETITIONERS’ INTER-
LOCUTORY APPEAL WAS NOT A FINAL JUDG-
MENT OR DECREE.

This Court lacks jurisdiction to hear Contel’s petition
because no final judgment or decree has been entered in
these cases. Contel does not even address this threshold
issue in its petition, instead launching into arguments
which, by their contingent nature, demonstrate that no
review should take place at this time. The petition attacks
a lower state court’s interlocutory order affirming the
denial of Contel’s motion to dismiss. This Court’s review
of state court decisions is limited, however, to “[f]inal

judgments or decrees rendered by the highest court of a
State in which a decision could be had.” 28 U.S.C. § 1257.
Therefore, the general rule is that the state court judg-
ment “must... be final as an effective determination of
the litigation and not of merely interlocutory or inter-
mediate steps therein. It must be the final word of a final
court.” Market Street Ry. v. Railroad Commission, 324 U.S.
548, 551 (1945). If acts remain to be performed on remand
that are not merely ministerial, and that might them-
selves create a federal question, the judgment is normally
deemed nonfinal and nonreviewable. Houston v. Moore, 3
Wheat. 433, 434 (1818); San Diego Gas & Elec. Co. v. City of
San Diego, 450 U.S. 621, 632-33 (1981); O'Dell v. Espinoza,
456 U.S. 430 (1982). Here, the Appellate Court's interlocu-
tory order remanded these cases for trial in the circuit
court on the merits. Thus, under the literal terms of
§ 1257, such an order is not reviewable.

The finality requirement of § 1257 serves several
important policies: “(1) it avoids piecemeal review by
federal courts of state court decisions; (2) it avoids giving
advisory opinions in cases where there may be no real
‘case’ or ‘controversy’ in the sense of Art. III; (3) it limits
federal review of state court determinations of federal
constitutional issues to leave at a minimum federal intru-
sion in state affairs.” North Dakota Pharmacy Board v.
Snyder's Stores, 414 U.S. 156, 159 (1973). Granting Contel’s
petition would offend all of these principles. First, Contel
seeks piecemeal review of an interlocutory order denying
its motion to dismiss complaints - which have since
already been amended. Any ensuing final disposition by
the trial court will likely beget further appeals by one or

both sides, which may in turn present reviewable federal
issues.

More problematic, however, is that Contel’s petition
seeks an advisory opinion on the relevance and applica-
tion of FCC regulations to forms of relief that have not
yet been ordered, including one request for relief — the
injunction to share benefits — that has already been elimi-
nated from the case as a result of plaintiffs’ amendment
of their complaints. In fact, Contel prefaces its entire
argument on a contingency, “if the state court were to
grant the requested relief.” (Pet. at 14) (emphasis sup-
plied). Although Contel claims that if the trial court were
to grant the injunction which plaintiffs no longer seek or
an accounting, such an order would violate federal law
(Pet. at 13, 17, 22), nowhere does Contel show how grant-
ing the primary claim for compensatory damages would
implicate federal law. Since no court has determined
which, if any, form of relief ought to be awarded against
Contel, the petition is hopelessly premature. See San Diego
Gas & Elec. Co., 450 U.S. at 633 (declining review where
no final decision on the propriety of all possible
remedies). Finally, Contel’s petition would also cause fed-
eral intrusion in the State of Illinois’ affairs, by interrupt-
ing the state court’s adjudication of claims for breaches of
Illinois laws. See Radio Station WOW uv. Johnson, 326 U.S.
120, 124 (1945) (the finality prerequisite “derives added
force when the jurisdiction of this Court is invoked to
upset the decision of a State court”).

Although this Court may apply a “pragmatic” inter-
pretation of the finality requirement in exceptional cir-
cumstances where a case is not literally concluded, see
Bradley v. Richmond School Board, 416 U.S. 696, 722-23 n.28

(1974), none of those circumstances exists here. In Cox
Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975), this Court
delineated four narrow categories where review of state
decisions prior to final disposition of a case may be
appropriate. The first category is “where for one reason
or another the federal issue is conclusive or the outcome
of proceedings preordained.” Id. at 479. This exception
does not apply here because neither the outcome of a trial
on the merits, nor the proper form of relief to be granted,
was decided or preordained by the interlocutory order.

The second exception to the finality rule concerns
situations “in which the federal issue, finally decided by
the highest court in the State, will survive and require
decision regardless of the outcome of future state-court
proceedings.” Id. at 480. The Court gave as an example
Radio Station WOW, Inc., where review was granted to an
order of the Nebraska Supreme Court finding fraud and
directing the transfer of the properties of a federally
licensed radio station. By contrast, the instant interlocu-
tory order did not adjudicate the merits of the claims or
direct a transfer of a licensed facility. Contel simply
claims that such a transfer order, if one were to be issued,
would cause a “collision” with federal law. (Pet. at 17,
19.) Given that Leaf River and Central Cellular do not
even seek any transfer, however, Contel’s inchoate fear of
a collision does not warrant this Court’s immediate inter-
vention.

The third exception to the finality requirement may
occur “where the federal claim has been finally decided,
with further proceedings on the merits in the state courts
to come, but in which later review of the federal issue
cannot be had, whatever the ultimate outcome of the

10

case.” Id. at 481. This category applies to cases where, if
the petitioner were to lose on the merits, “governing state
law would not permit him again to present his federal
claims for review.” Id. Such an exception again is inap-
posite because upon a final judgment and grant of any
relief, Contel would have an opportunity to raise on
appeal any appropriate federal defense to such an award.

The final exception to finality under Cox Broadcasting
Corp. is “where the federal issue has been finally decided
in the state courts with further proceedings pending in
which the party seeking review here might prevail on the
merits on nonfederal grounds, thus rendering unnecess-
ary review of the federal issue by this Court, and where
reversal of the state court on the federal issue would be
preclusive of any further litigation on the relevant cause
of action” and where “a refusal immediately to review the
state-court decision might seriously erode federal policy.”
Id. at 482-3. To define this narrow category, the Court
cited Construction Laborers v. Curry, 371 U.S. 542 (1963),
which reviewed the grant of a temporary injunction
enjoining a union from picketing even though the
National Labor Relations Board had exclusive jurisdiction
over the claim. Jurisdiction in Curry also rested on the
ground that the union had no defense to a permanent
injunction other than its federal one that had already
been decided. 371 U.S. at 542. By contrast, no relief has
been granted in these cases, and Contel’s arguments
merely address a portion of the relief that might be
awarded. Further, no important federal interests will be
eroded by permitting the Illinois state court to determine
the state law claims for breach of contract and fiduciary
duty and to determine what relief, if any, is permissible

|

11

and appropriate. See Flynt v. Ohio, 451 U.S. 619, 622
(declining review where delay until a final judgment
would not seriously erode federal policy). Rather, the
important federal interest here is to avoid creating any
false “conflict between the courts of two different govern-
ments,” an interest which is most effectively promoted by
denying Contel’s premature petition for review of an
interlocutory state court order. Radio Station WOW, 326
U.S. at 124.

Il. NO QUESTION EXISTS THAT THE COMMUNI-
CATIONS ACT EXPRESSLY PRESERVES STATE
COURT REMEDIES FOR THE INSTANT CLAIMS
FOR BREACH OF CONTRACT AND FIDUCIARY
DUTY.

Contel’s apparent basis for requesting review of the
lower state court decision is that the Illinois Appellate
Court relied too “heavily” on Section 414 of the Commu-
nications Act in holding that these disputes should pro-
ceed in the state trial court. (Pet. at 14.)2 Contel has failed,
however, to raise any question, let alone one deserving of
certiorari, about the language of § 414 of the Communica-
tions Act in relation to these garden-variety breach of
contract and fiduciary duty actions. The express language

2 This type of argument, that a misapplication of law
occurred, is in itself a weak basis for seeking review. See S.Ct. R.
10 (“A petition for a writ of certiorari is rarely granted when the
asserted error consists of . . . the misapplication of a properly
stated rule of law.”)

12

of the Communications Act provides the best reason that
Contel’s claim of preemption is unfounded:

Nothing in this Act contained shall in any way
abridge or alter the remedies now existing at
common law or by statute, but the provisions of
this Act are in addition to such remedies.

47 U.S.C. § 414. Thus, Contel’s claim that “the relief
requested” by Leaf River and Central Cellular has some-
how been preempted flies in the face of Congress’s
express preservation of common law and statutory
remedies, of which compensatory damages is the most
obvious example.

A. CONTEL’S PATENTLY IRRELEVANT
AUTHORITIES RAISE NO QUESTION FOR |
REVIEW. |

Glossing over the express savings provision of Sec-
tion 414, Contel cites a series of FCC regulations and
decisions that are not only prematurely raised, (see Sec-
tion I, supra), but also irrelevant. Contel argues that Leaf
River and Central Cellular seek to share “control over” or
“ownership in” the Illinois RSA 1 FCC license. (Pet. at 14,
15.) From this presumption, Contel argues that because
such a result would violate FCC regulations under the
particular facts of these cases, the claims against Contel
must be preempted. In order to make this argument,
however, Contel persists in an intentional misunder-
standing of plaintiffs’ original complaints and ignores
plaintiffs’ amended complaints. Plaintiffs do not request
transfer of, an ownership interest in, or control over,
Contel’s FCC license. Rather, as plaintiffs have repeatedly 7

Ne RE I NNT

13

explained to defendants, as they expressly advised the
courts below, as the Appellate Court recognized (see p. 4
supra), and as plaintiffs have made explicit by amending
their complaints, plaintiffs seek only money damages for
Contel’s breaches of common law contract and fiduciary
obligations, in an amount equal to the value of the inter-
est which Contel obtained by breaching its duties with
regard to the business opportunity in Illinois RSA 1. The
series of statutes and regulations cited by Contel never
were intended to address such a purely private dispute,
and have never been so applied.

Thus, Contel’s citation of 47 C.F.R. § 22.942 (Pet. at
15), which prohibits a party from holding an “ownership
interest” in both licenses for one cellular market, is irrele-
vant because respondents seek no such interest. Likewise,
Contel’s citation of Section 310 of the Communications
Act (Pet. at 17), which requires an application to the FCC
before “transfers of control” of an FCC license, is equally
beside the point because plaintiffs seek no such transfer.
Finally, Contel’s citation of Section 332 of the Communi-
cations Act (Pet. at 18-19), pertaining to “entry regula-
tion,” remains a non sequitur. As the Illinois Appellate
Court recognized, by no stretch of language, or imagina-
tion, do Leaf River and Central Cellular seek for the state
of Illinois “to regulate the entry of or the rates charged by
any commercial mobile service.” (Pet. at A16-17). At bot-
tom, Contel simply presents no decision by any court, or
by the FCC, applying these regulations and provisions to
a common law claim, to a request for money damages, or
to any question of federal preemption.

14

B. CONTEL RAISES NO QUESTION APPROPRI-
ATE FOR REVIEW BECAUSE THIS COURT’S
DECISIONS HAVE CONSISTENTLY RECOG-
NIZED A STATE COURT’S POWER TO ADJU-
DICATE STATE LAW CLAIMS, EVEN WHERE
THEY PERTAIN TO AN FCC LICENSED BUSI-
NESS, AND NO CONFLICT EXISTS.

Contel fails to present any conflict between lower
court decisions or those of this Court warranting cer-
tiorari. This Court recognized the respective spheres of
jurisdiction of the FCC and state courts in Radio Station
WOW v. Johnson, 326 U.S. 120 (1945). In that decision, the |
plaintiff sued in state court to have a lease and assign- |
ment of an FCC license set aside for fraud. 326 U.S. at
121. The Nebraska Supreme Court ordered that the lease
and license be set aside, and ordered an accounting of the
station’s revenue by the lessee. Id. at 122. This Court
permitted the accounting to proceed in the state court,
and further held “[w]Je have no doubt of the power of the
Nebraska court to adjudicate, and conclusively, the claim
of fraud in the transfer of the station ... and upon
finding fraud to direct a reconveyance of the lease to the
[plaintiff].” Id. at 131. The Court explained, “[t]he ‘public
interest’ with which the Commission is charged is that
involved in granting licenses. Safeguarding of that inter-
est can hardly imply that the interest of the States in |
enforcing their own laws against fraud have been nulli-
fied insofar as licensed facilities may be the instruments
of fraud.” Id. See also FCC v. Pottsville Broadcasting Co., 309
U.S. 134, 138 (1939) (“The Communications Act is not
designed primarily as a new code for the adjustment of
conflicting private rights through adjudication”). To the

a

een,

15

same effect, in Regents of the University System of Georgia v.
Carroll, 338 U.S. 586 (1950), this Court determined that a
state court had the power to award damages for breach of
contract even where performance under the contract
would have violated FCC policy. The Court stated, “[w]e
do not read the Communications Act to give authority to
the Commission to determine the validity of contracts
between licensees and others.” Id. at 602. Similarly, the
defense of legal impossibility was summarily disposed as
“a matter of state law.” Id. at 594. These decisions firmly
support the exercise of jurisdiction by an Illinois court in
enforcing Illinois laws against breach of contract and
breach of fiduciary duty. Contel fails to mention Radio
Station WOW or Regents until the penultimate page of its
petition, and then only to waffle between: (a) weakly
distinguishing them as involving a radio station instead
of a rural cellular telephone license, and (b) suggesting
that they are somehow wrong for “today’s environment.”
(Pet. at 23.) Neither assertion merits this Court’s review.

Further, the Communications Act has also been con-
sistently construed by the lower courts the way the Illi-
nois courts did here — as preserving private, independent
state law claims among licensees for the courts, not for
the FCC. See, e.g., United Tel. Co. of Carolinas, Inc. v. FCC,
559 F.2d 720, 723 (D.C. Cir. 1977) (affirming an FCC
decision not to adjudicate a dispute among joint ven-
turers, “the Communications Act . . . should not be
turned into a mechanism whereby participants in a joint
communications project can force the Federal Communi-
cations Commission to arbitrate contractual disputes over
the division of residual revenues from their joint venture.
The purpose of the Act is to protect the public interest

16

rather than to provide a forum for the settlement of
private disputes”); KVHP TV Partners, Ltd. v. Channel 12 of
Beaumont, Inc., 874 F. Supp. 756, 762 (E.D. Tex. 1995)
(section 414 “expressly preserves state causes of action
for breaches of duties that are not created by the Commu-
nications Act”). Thus, by literally applying Section 414,
the Illinois Appellate Court broke no new ground.

C. CONTEL RAISES NO QUESTION FOR
REVIEW BECAUSE THE FCC CONSISTENTLY
AGREES WITH THE INTERPRETATION OF
THE COMMUNICATIONS ACT ADOPTED BY
THE COURTS BELOW.

Notably, Contel also fails to present any true conflict
between the lower court order and decisions of the FCC,
citing no FCC decisions that purport to adjudicate claims
such as the ones made here. In fact, an examination of
FCC decisional law reveals that the FCC refuses to
become involved in private matters such as this, instead
referring them back to the courts — even where questions
arise regarding control of cellular licenses. See, e.g., In the

3 Contel errs in suggesting that OBRA’s amendment to the
Communications Act somehow trumps the savings clause of
section 414, which Congress left untouched. (Pet. at 18-19.) The
lower court properly refused to infer that such oblique language
on “entry regulation” evinces a legislative intent to override the
express savings clause preserved in the Act. (Pet. at A16-17.) See
also Cooperative Comm. v. AT&T Corp., 867 F. Supp. 1511, 1516 (D.
Utah 1994) (post-OBRA, holding that “inclusion of the [section
414] savings clause clearly indicates Congress’ intent that
independent state law causes of action , such as interference
with contract or unfair competition, not be subsumed by the
Act, but remain as separate causes of action”).

17

Matter of Applications of Centel Corp., 8 FCC Red. 1829,
1831 (1993) (refusing to consider a claim that transfer of
control of a cellular license would violate the parties’
partnership agreements, “[t]he Commission has repeat-
edly stated that it is not the proper forum for the resolu-
tion of private contractual disputes, noting that these
matters are appropriately left to the courts or to other
fora that have the jurisdiction to resolve them”); In re
Applications of Decatur Telecasting, Inc., 7 FCC Red. 8622,
8624 (1992) (same); In re Application of Rodney A.
McDaniel, 4 FCC Red. 1736 (1989) (“any harm which
[petitioner] might suffer from the transaction can be satis-
fied by money damages pursuant to local judicial deter-
mination. Thus, our action does not in any way prejudice any
remedy to which a court may ultimately determine MC is
entitled”) (emphasis supplied, citations omitted); In re
Applications of Wind N’ Sea FM Limited Partnership, 7 FCC
Red. 2293, 2294 n.5 (1992) (“[t]he Commission has long
held that it has neither the authority nor the machinery to
adjudicate alleged claims arising out of private contrac-
tual agreements”); In re Applications of KQED, Inc., 6 FCC
Red. 625, 626 (1991) (same). Finally, consistent with this
policy it is worth noting here that the FCC has never held
that the mere award of compensatory damages consti-
tutes an ownership interest or control over an FCC
license.*

* Moreover, even if, arguendo, the relief ultimately awarded
in this litigation does involve matters touching on an interest of
the FCC, the court could at that time simply fashion an
appropriate remedy. See Radio Station WOW, 326 U.S. at 132
(“State power is amply respected if it is qualified merely to the
extent of requiring it to withhold execution of that portion of its

18

Thus, not even the FCC agrees with Contei’s position
that the claims in this case should not be adjudicated by
the Illinois courts, but would refuse to resolve this pri-
vate dispute concerning the interpretation of a contract or
fiduciary duties or to award damages for the breach of
such duties. In sum, the overwhelming weight of author-
ity, all of which Conte] fails to address in its petition,
agrees that these actions belong where they are now:
awaiting trial on the merits in Illinois state court.

+

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully Submitted,

Davip F. GRAHAM Carter G. PHILurs*
KATHLEEN L. ROACH Srptey & AUSTIN
SteveN W. YOUNG 1722 Eye Street, NW
Siptey & AUSTIN Washington, DC 20006

One First National Plaza (202) 736-8000
Chicago, Illinois 60603
(312) 853-7000

Attorneys for Respondents
* Counsel of record

decree requiring retransfer of the physical properties until steps
are ordered to be taken, with all deliberate speed, to enable the
Commission to deal with new applications in connection with
the station”).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_0908%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
