# Opposition Brief — Alabama v. Cochran

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_0781%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 516 U.S. 1073

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

(s) FILED

EC 14 1995
No. 95-761 |

OFFICE OF THE ULERA |

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1995

é

STATE OF ALABAMA,

Petitioner,

JAMES WILLIE COCHRAN,
Respondent.

a

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Eleventh Circuit

+

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

LAWRENCE J. Fox
KENNETH C. FRAZIER
Seamus C. Durry*
BreNDA W. Ho ston

*Counsel of Record

DriNKER BippLte & REATH
1345 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
(215) 988-2700

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
JFUIOIIC EIN cco vccvevves Mae Rial eGvaWds suse bus-one 1
IT sn 2 wo vrs Oo dan aw N on are tbed oe bak 1
SEAR MMeeINE OF THE CASE. 2... ccc ccdvcdeccccees 3
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT ................. 9
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT............. 10

A. The Court of Appeals’ “Inconsistent Applica-
tion” Rationale Is Sound, And Does Not Con-
flict With This Court’s Precedents ........... 11

B. The District Court’s “Clear and Plain State-
ment” Rationale Provides An Independent
Basis For Affirmance Of The Court Of Appeals’
PO Ce bei vier vivurssutrscctecoveesesioes 16

RAED chahs¥o0 sb etrdr eeu rarccsseetn eee deo. 21

ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases
Barr v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 146 (1964)......... 11

Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986) ........... passim

Cochran v. State, 548 So.2d 1062 (Ala. Crim. App.
WDE) ssc ctcesconvdass Urneeekseveresbnes 6, 13, 17, 18

Cochran v. State, 500 So.2d 1064 (Ala. 1986)........... 4

Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 722 (1991)
va ehdkesobun Vers CODaaR SOREL settee 10, 16, 17, 19, 21

Delap v. Dugger, 890 F.2d 285 (11th Cir. 1°%,....... 15
Dugger v. Adams, 489 U.S. 401 (1989)........ 9 34,35
Engle v. lenac, 456 US. 107 (ROGA) so oo civ cece se eerie 20
Ex parte Adkins, 600 So.2d 1067 (Ala. 1992).......... 12
Ex parte Bankhead, 585 So.2d 112 (Ala. 1991)......... 12
Ex parte Cochran, 500 So.2d 1179 (Ala. 1985).......... 4
Ex parte Floyd, 571 So.2d 1234 (Ala. 1990)........ 11, 13
Ex parte Godbolt, 546 So.2d 991 (Ala. 1987).......... 12
Ford v. Georgia, 498 U.S. 411 (1991).......4......... 3, 11
Francois v. Wainwright, 741 F.2d 1275 (11th Cir.
GDR). wee divtncvedas ative Giese 11

Giles v. State, 632 So.2d 568 (Ala. Crim. App. 1992) ..4, 20

Guthrie v. State, No. 7 Div. 287, slip op. (Ala. Crim.
App. FOMO U2, TOE) vnc cSeaee sedi cewnaaese cee cua 12

Hardin v. Black, 845 F.2d 953 (11th Cir. 1988)........ 21
Hargrave v. Dugger, 832 F.2d 1528 (11th Cir. 1987) .... 20

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Harris v. Reed, 489 U.S. 255 (1989)..... 16, 17, 18, 19, 21
Hathorn v. Lovorn, 457 U.S. 255 (1982)............ 11, 15
Hemphill v. State, 571 So. 2d 365 (Ala. Crim. App.

soe AEE AT PEE be BRC eS ie Pe ee 12
Huffman v. Ricketts, 750 F.2d 798 (9th Cir. 1984) ..... 20
James v. Kentucky, 466 U.S. 341 (1984)................ 1
Johnson v. Mississippi, 486 U.S. 578 SS Sek oe Ss 11, 20
Lynn v. State, 477 So.2d 1365 (Ala. Crim. App.

AUNT LEC GtG Ved cedineT s seir eds vatevbirevccs cece 3
Lynn v. State, 543 So.2d 704 (Ala. Crim. App. 1987) .... 12
Messer v. Florida, 834 F.2d 890 (11th Cir. 1987)....... 11
Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032 (1983)........ 16, 19, 21
Morrison v. State, 551 So.2d 435 (Ala. Crim. App.

Ee eins Gas aiahs bh aebe pwned acd evede es 9, 13, 14
Powers v. Ohio, 499 U.S. 400 (1991).................. 21
Rogers-Bey v. Lane, 896 F.2d 279 (7th Cir. 1990)...... 20
Spencer v. Kemp, 781 F.2d 1458 (11th Cir. 1986) ...... 11
State v. Tarver, 629 So.2d 14 (Ala. Crim. App. 1993) .... 13
Turner v. Murray, 476 U.S. 28 (1986)................. 22
U.S. ex rel. Gibson v. McGinnis, 773 F. Supp. 126

PEE nas a Fun e eet ke ccd Geveckecedesscs 21
Walker v. Endell, 850 F.2d 470 (9th Cir. 1987) ........ 20

Walker v. State, No. 7 Div. 164, Slip op. (Ala. Crim.
EY SE ir he aihescebecceacestcodcusss 12

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page
Walton v. State, 523 So.2d 134 (Ala. Crim. App.),
cert. denied, No. 86-829 (Ala. 1987)...........++0+: 12
Watkins v. State, 632 So.2d 555 (Ala. Crim. App.
WON ic kdnsescesuateshes (oeatetaushbetesieets teas 11
Wheat v. Thigpen, 793 F.2d 621 (5th Cir. 1986) ....... 15
Wilcher v. Hargett, 978 F.2d 872 (Sth Cir. 1992)....... 15

Ylst v. Nunnemaker, 501 U.S. 797 (1991).............. 17

JURISDICTION

The Clerk of this Court originally rejected the Peti-
tion for Writ of Certiorari in this case because the Petition
was neither timely received nor postmarked by the due
date in accordance with this Court’s Rule 29.2. The Attor-
ney General attempted to cure this jurisdictional defect
by filing the Affidavit of Brenda L. Bell, an employee of
the United States Postal Service. The Affidavit is insuffi-
cient to cure the jurisdictional defect because the affiant
does not state that the “package” addressed to this Court
and placed in the United States mail on the due date
contained the Petition for Writ of Certiorari relating to
this case. The Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be
denied for lack of jurisdiction.

€

INTRODUCTION

The courts below granted James Cochran habeas
corpus relief based on overwhelming and undisputed
evidence of racial discrimination in the prosecutor’s use
of peremptory strikes at Cochran’s pre-Batson trial. This
evidence included that prosecutor’s own candid and
striking testimony that he viewed black jurors as, among
other things, “unreliable.” Of the thirty-five black jurors
known to have been available for service at Cochran’s
three pre-Batson trials, he struck thirty-one. Colleagues
from that prosecutor’s office testified below that exclu-
sion of black citizens from jury service was a prevalent
and accepted practice in Jefferson County, Alabama prior
to Batson. It is unfortunate that the Attorney General

persists in seeking to preserve a conviction and death
sentence so clearly marred by racial prejudice.

This is an important case because it involves a capital
sentence, and because it demonstrates that Batson was a
necessary change in the law. The case is not worthy of
this Court’s review, however, because the lower courts
reached the correct result by application of settled princi-
ples of law concerning which this Court's prior decisions
have provided clear and adequate guidance. Moreover, as
discussed below, the “inconsistent application” rationale
on which the Court of Appeals relied in reaching the
merits of Cochran’s Batson claim was but one of many
avenues of analysis available to support the judgment.
Finally, the unique facts and procedural history of this
case — particularly as they relate to the Batson claim -
make it highly unlikely that the decision below will affect
an appreciable number of other cases or litigants.

The sole Question Presented by Petitioner is whether
the Court of Appeals erred in concluding that the Batson
claim “could be reviewed on the merits in Cochran’s
federal habeas corpus proceeding because the state courts
did not consistently apply its procedural bar.” The Attor-
ney General contends that the decision below conflicts
with this Court’s decision in Dugger v. Adams, 489 U.S.
401 (1989), and also with the Court of Appeals’ prior
decisions. As discussed below, however, there is neither
tension nor conflict amongst these decisions, and review
by this Court is not warranted. We begin by clarifying the
procedural history as it relates to the Batson claim.

S

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

From the very beginning of the state proceedings,
Cochran’s lawyers challenged the State's racially biased
use of peremptory challenges. In a written motion filed
on February 28, 1977, before Cochran’s first trial, Cochran
requested that “the District Attorney and his staff be
restricted from using their peremptory strikes in a
racially biased manner or, in the alternative, that the
District Attorney and his staff not be allowed to use the
peremptory strikes.” R1-3-Tab R-38, at 27. In the motion,
Cochran’s counsel argued that “[t]he District Attorney
and his staff have over a long period of time excluded
members of the black race from being allowed to serve on
the jury where the issues to be tried involved members of
the opposite race.” Id. Despite the fact that the motion
requested only that the prosecutor be restricted from
using peremptory strikes in a racially biased manner, it
was opposed by the prosecutor, and denied by the trial
court. R1-3-Tab R-38, at 90.

The trial court’s refusal to restrict the prosecution
from rvsially biased use of peremptory strikes flowed
presumably from a prevalent, albeit erroneous, view that
racially motivated use of peremptory challenges was per-
missible under the then-governing law. R1-36, at 22, 45
(testimony of former assistant district attorneys); Lynn v.
State, 477 So.2d 1365, 1376-77 (Ala. Crim. App. 1985)
(“Alabama courts have consistently held that it is not
error for the prosecuting attorney to strike a jury on the
basis of race.”); but see Ford v. Georgia, 498 U.S. 411, 420
(1991) (explaining that beth Batson and Swain prohibited
racially biased use oi peremptory strikes, and that Batson

simply altered the quantum of proof necessary to estab-
lish a particular claim). Unfettered by the trial court, the
prosecutor exercised 24 of 26 strikes in Cochran’s first
two trials to exclude black members of the venire.

Cochran’s counsel reasserted the motion to restrict
racially biased striking of jurors at the trial in 1982.
Again, the trial court denied the motion. R1-3-Tab R-9, at
539. On direct appeal from the 1982 conviction, and
before Batson was decided, the Alabama Supreme Court
affirmed Cochran’s conviction, but remanded for resen-
tencing. Ex Parte Cochran, 500 So.2d 1179, 1187 (Ala.
1985). On remand, the trial court resentenced Cochran to
death without an evidentiary hearing.

Batson was decided on April 30, 1986, eight days after
Cochran’s counsel filed their brief attacking the resen-
tencing order in the Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals.
At that time, Cochran’s case was on submission in the
Court of Criminal Appeals at a stage in the direct appel-
late proceedings in which the sole focus was on issues
concerning the resentencing proceedings that were the
subject of the Alabama Supreme Court’s remand. Cochran
v. State, 500 So.2d 1064 (Ala. 1986) (“The only issue before
us is whether the trial court erred in not holding a new
sentencing hearing.”). Alabama appellate ‘courts have
refused to consider “guilt phase” claims when asserted
on appeal from a remand proceeding involving only
resentencing. See Giles v. State, 632 So.2d 568, 576 (Ala.
Crim. App. 1992) (citing Magwood v. State, 548 So.2d 512,
515 (Ala. Crim. App. 1988)). Cochran’s direct appellate
counsel testified below that, given the unique procedural
posture of the case at the time Batson was decided, they
knew of no method by which they could place the claim

eT

before the Alabama Supreme Court. R1-20-Volume I, at
36, 212-13. In any event, given the posture of the appeal,
the Alabama Supreme Court reviewed only the propriety
of the trial court’s refusal to hold a new sentencing hear-
ing on remand.

Cochran raised the Batson issue by written amend-
ment to his Petition for Post-Conviction Relief under
Temporary Rule 20. R1-3-Tab R-64. The Attorney General
quotes at length from a colloquy that occurred at the
post-conviction hearing in which the state trial court
expressed the conclusion that the Batson claim was pro-
cedurally defaulted. Respondent's (sic) Petition for Writ of
Certiorari, at 10-11 (citing R1-3-Tab R-60, at 22-23) (the
“Certiorari Petition”). Although conceding that the state
trial court ultimately ruled on the merits of the Batson
claim “in the alternative,” the Attorney General neverthe-
less relies on this colloquy to support the State’s argu-
ment that the state trial court defaulted the claim.

But the post-conviction hearing transcript does not
tell the whole story. In fact, after the post-conviction
hearing, the state trial judge contacted Cochran’s counsel
by telephone, expressing “concern” over the summary
disposition of the Batson issue, and requested copies of
counsels’ strike sheets from the 1982 trial. R1-20-Volume
I, at 40. Having apparently reviewed this limited evi-
dence, the state trial judge began his discussion of the
Batson issue in his written opinion with a cryptic dis-
avowal of the very colloquy on which the Attorney Gen-
eral now relies:

Now to the Batson issue. ‘The matter does not
appear to me now as it appears to have

appeared to me then.’ From ‘Judicature’ Febru-
ary-March, 1988 publication.

At the outset of this hearing this Court did not
wish to hear the Batson motion stating the
Court’s consideration was precluded. The more
this Court thought about this issue, the more
consideration of the issue was required.

R1-3-Tab R-61, at 5. The trial court then reviewed the
merits and concluded:

This Court finds that there is no ground nor
evidence to justify further hearing on this issue.
This Court finds that there was no violation of
the Batson opinion. This Court finds there was
no discriminatory striking of blacks within the
criteria outlined by the Batson decision... .

Id. at 7. The Court of Criminal Appeals affirmed the trial
court’s rejection of the Batson claim on the merits, sim-
ilarly concluding that “there is nothing in the record to
indicate or imply that the State engaged in racial discrim-
ination in the selection of the jury . . . .” Cochran, 548
So.2d 1062, 1069 (Ala. Crim. App. 1989).

We raised the Batson claim again in the habeas corpus
proceedings below. The District Court initially denied
discovery on the claim on the ground that the claim was
procedurally barred from review, but later concluded that
the claim was reviewable because the state courts had
decided the claim on the merits. Appendix to Petition for
Writ of Certiorari, at 27-30. Although the Court of Appeals
opted to dispose of the procedural default issue on the
“inconsistent application” rationale, it is clear, as dis-
cussed below, that the District Court’s reasoning provides

an equally compelling basis for affirmance of the judg-
ment below.

The evidence presented to the District Court on the
Batson claim was undisputed, clear and compelling. The
prosecutor from Cochran’s 1982 trial admitted that, at the
time of Cochran’s trial, he believed that black jurors, as a
class, were: (i) less “reliable” jurors for law enforcement
than white jurors; (ii) more likely to be “distrustful of
police” than white jurors; (iii) less likely to recommend
the death penalty than white jurors; and (iv) more likely
to “identify with” a black defendant than white jurors.
R1-36-Volume V, at 33-34. The prosecutor offered no race-
neutral explanation for having used seven of his first ten
peremptory strikes to exclude all but two of the nine
black members of the trial venire. In fact, the prosecutor
could not deny that his beliefs about black jurors influ-
enced his selection of Cochran’s jury. Id. at 38.

Also, two former assistant district attorneys
employed by the Jefferson County District Attorney's
office during the relevant time period testified that exclu-
sion of black jurors from service was a prevalent and
accepted practice in the office at the time of Cochran’s
trial, particularly in cases involving a black defendant
and a white victim. Id. at 16, 44. This practice infected
Cochran’s trial in 1982, just as it had his first two trials, in
1977 and 1978. The Attorney General stipulated in the
court below that the prosecutor used 11 of 12 strikes in
the 1977 trial and 13 of 14 strikes in the 1978 trial to
exclude black jurors from.service. Id. at 3-11. This general
pattern continued at Cochran’s 1982 trial.

Again by stipulation, the Attorney General conceded
below that: (i) the prosecutor struck black jurors who had
given the same answers in voir dire as white jurors whom
the prosecutor did not strike; (ii) the prosecutor struck
black jurors who provided only responses favorable for
the prosecution in voir dire, i.e., that they had been
victims of a crime; and (iii) the prosecutor struck one
black juror despite the fact that the juror did not respond
to any questions during voir dire. R1-36-Volume V, at 3-4;
Petitioner's Motion for Reconsideration and Request to Alter
or Amend Judgment and Findings, at 15-18 (citing state
record as to each fact) (the “Reconsideration Motion”).!

The one black juror who participated in deliberations
at Cochran’s trial testified in voir dire that: (i) he was
personally acquainted with the District Attorney and had
played golf with him; (ii) he had served on a jury previ-
ously and voted to convict the defendant; (iii) he had
been the victim of a crime; and (iv) his son, like the
victim, had worked in a grocery store. The prosecutor
testified in the District Court that these factors rendered
this particular black juror “very satisfactory” to the gov-
ernment. R1-36-Volume V, at 41.

On the basis of this evidence, the District Court
granted the writ.

1 The Attorney General stipulated in the District Court to
the facts set forth in the Reconsideration Motion. R1-36-Volume
V, at 3. A copy of the Reconsideration Motion was included at
Tab 1 in Appellee’s Record Excerpts filed in the Court of
Appeals.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

In the years following this Court's decision in Batson,
the courts of Alabama repeatedly excused both trial and
direct appellate defaults in order to remedy Batson viola-
tions that occurred in pre-Batson trials. The Attorney
General’s contention that this case involves a procedural
default rule that was applied by the state courts in two
out of only three cases is thus misleading and incorrect.
We cite below nine examples of cases in which defaults
were excused, and there are surely more. This is not an
appropriate case, therefore, in which to examine the
limits of this Court’s suggestion in Dugger v. Adams, 489
U.S. 401, 410 (1989) that the “adequacy” of a procedural
default rule enforced in the “vast majority of cases”
might not be undermined by deviations in, as the Attor-
ney General puts it, a “few cases.”

Even if this Court were to accept the Attorney Gen-
eral’s myopic focus on the three state court decisions he
chooses for comparison, there is still no conflict between
the Court of Appeals’ decision in this case and Adams.
Adams simply does not stand for the proposition that a
default rule applied in a “majority” of cases must be
enforced by a federal court. Moreover, as demonstrated
below, the Attorney General flatly misstates the holding
in one of the three chosen cases — Morrison v. State — to
support his contention that the procedural default rule at
issue has been consistently applied to cases “like
Cochran’s.”

In any event, the sole Question Presented here would
in all likelihood not be reached by this Court on review,
because the record of the state proceedings demonstrates

10

that the Alabama state courts resolved the Batson claim
on the merits, as the District Court held. There is thus no
reason in this case to address the consistency, or lack
thereof, with which Alabama courts have applied pro-
cedural default rules to Batson claims.

Finally, the unique procedural history of this case,
particularly as it relates to the timing of the Batson deci-
sion, makes it highly unlikely that the decision below will
affect many other litigants. Batson has been the law now
for almost a decade, and the struggle to remedy Batson
error from pre-Batson trials is nearing an end. In this case,
the lower courts were able to remedy a clear Batson
violation by application of settled principles of habeas
corpus jurisprudence.

+

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

The doctrine of procedural default in habeas corpus
jurisprudence is rooted in the “independent and adequate
state law ground” doctrine first enunciated by this Court
in defining its certiorari jurisdiction. Coleman v. Thompson,
501 U.S. 722, 729-30 (1991). The principle, put simply, is
that a federal court in a habeas corpus proceeding will
not disturb a dispositive ruling by a state court rejecting a
federal constitutional claim where the state court’s judg-
ment rests on state law grounds that are both “adequate”
to support the judgment and “independent” of any inter-
pretation of federal law. Id. In the habeas corpus context,
the rule is grounded on concerns for comity and federal-
ism. Id. at 730-31. Application of the rule ensures state
courts an opportunity to address federal constitutional

11

state courts an opportunity to address federal constitu-
tional claims in the first instance, and reflects respect for
the states’ interest in enforcing local procedural rules in
the conduct of criminal proceedings.

A. The Court of Appeals’ “Inconsistent Applica-
tion” Rationale Is Sound, And Does Not Con-
flict With This Court’s Precedents.

To be “adequate” to foreclose federal review, the
procedural default upon which the state judgment is
premised must be one that is strictly and regularly
applied. Ford, 498 U.S. at 423-24; Dugger v. Adams, 489
U.S. 401, 410 n.6 (1989); Johnson v. Mississippi, 486 U.S.
578, 589 (1988); James v. Kentucky, 466 U.S. 341, 348-51
(1984); Hathorn v. Lovorn, 457 U.S. 255, 263-65 (1982); Barr
v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 146, 149 (1964); Messer v.
Florida, 834 F.2d 890, 893 (11th Cir. 1987); Spencer v. Kemp,
781 F.2d 1458, 1470-71 (11th Cir. 1986); Francois v. Wain-
wright, 741 F.2d 1275, 1281 (11th Cir. 1984). There is more
than ample support for the Court of Appeals’ conclusion
that trial and direct appellate procedural default rules
have not been strictly or consistently applied to Batson
violations in the Alabama courts, particularly those Bat-
son claims arising from capital trials conducted before
Batson was decided. See, e.g., Watkins v. State, 632 So.2d
555 (Ala. Crim. App. 1992) (collecting cases).

Indeed, in the aftermath of Batson, the courts of Ala-
bama routinely disregarded procedural obstacles to cor-
recting Batson error that occurred at pre-Batson trials. See,
e.g., Ex parte Floyd, 571 So.2d 1234, 1236 (Ala. 1990) (in
context of state post-conviction proceeding, Alabama

12

Supreme Court remands to trial court for Batson hearing
despite procedural default on direct appeal); Lynn v.
State, 543 So.2d 704, 706 (Ala. Crim. App. 1987) (Alabama
Court of Criminal Appeals remands for Batson hearing on
recommendation of Attorney General); Hemphill v. State,
571 So.2d 365, 367 (Ala. Crim. App. 1990) (in non-capital
case, Court of Criminal Appeals remands for Batson hear-
ing without discussing procedural default); Ex parte Bank-
head, 585 So.2d 112, 117 (Ala. 1991) (On Application for
Rehearing) (on direct appeal, Alabama Supreme Court
remands for Batson hearing under plain error rule where
no objection was raised at trial); Walker v. State, No. 7 Div.
164, slip op. at 3 (Ala. Crim. App. July 26, 1991) (remand
for Batson hearing under plain error rule where Batson
issue raised for first time on direct appeal).

Given the prevalent misconception in the Alabama
courts prior to Batson that race-based use of peremptory
challenges was constitutional, the Alabama courts were
particularly aggressive in the years following Batson in
reaching out to protect the rights of capital defendants
where Batson error appeared in the record of a pre-Batson
trial. See, e.g., Bankhead, 585 So.2d at 117 (on application
for rehearing, Court remands for Batson hearing); Ex parte
Adkins, 600 So.2d 1067, 1068-69 (Ala. 1992) (remand for
Batson hearing); Ex parte Godbolt, 546 So.2d 991, 998-99
(Ala. 1987) (remand for Batson hearing “[a]lthough the
matter was not called to our attention by counsel”); Guth-
rie v. State, No. 7 Div. 287, slip op. at 2 (Ala. Crim. App.
June 12, 1992) (remand for Batson hearing where “appel-
lant neither raised this issue in the trial court nor argued
it on appeal”); Walton v. State, 523 So.2d 134 (Ala. Crim.
App.), cert. denied, No. 86-829 (Ala. 1987) (remand for

13

Batson hearing on application for rehearing). The courts
of Alabama spoke clearly during these years, by aggres-
sive, indeed extraordinary application of the “plain
error” rule and, where necessary, by simple disregard of
procedural default rules altogether. See, e.g., Floyd, 572
So.2d at 1236. Given that the courts of Alabama opted
repeatedly to excuse procedural defaults in order to rem-
edy Batson violations from pre-Batson trials, it cannot
fairly be said that the courts below showed any disre-
spect to the courts of Alabama by proceeding to the
merits of Cochran’s Batson claim.

In its opinion, the Court of Appeals focused primar-
ily on Floyd and State v. Tarver, 629 So.2d 14, 18-19 (Ala.
Crim. App. 1993). In Tarver, the Alabama Courts of Crimi-
nal Appeals ruled that a Batson claim raised for the first
time at the post-conviction phase had been procedurally
defaulted on direct appeal. The Tarver Court distin-
guished Floyd on the ground that no Swain objection had
been raised at Tarver’s trial. Tarver, 629 So.2d at 19. The
Court of Appeals noted in its analysis below that this case
is like Floyd, and not like Tarver, because Cochran’s coun-
sel made a Swain objection at his trial.

The Attorney General argues here, as he did on
application for rehearing below, that a third case, Mor-
rison v. State, 551 So.2d 435 (Ala. Crim. App. 1989), shares
the procedural characteristics of both Cochran and Floyd,
in that Morrison involved a pre-Batson trial at which a
Swain objection was raised. Given that the Morrison court
rejected the Batson claim on procedural default grounds
in the state post-conviction proceedings, the Attorney
General posits that the courts of Alabama have indeed
applied its procedural default rules “consistently” — at

14

least in two out of three cases in which a Swain objection
was made at trial prior to a direct appellate default of a
Batson claim. This argument does not warrant this Court’s
consideration for several reasons.

First, the “two out of three” argument is grounded in
the false premise that a procedural default rule can be
“adequate” despite widespread inconsistent application
so long as the rule is applied marginally consistently to
an isolated triad of cases sharing similar procedural his-
tories. As discussed above, the cases are legion in which
the Alabama courts excused both trial and direct appel-
late defaults to address Batson error arising from pre-Bat-
son trials. There is simply no support, and the Attorney
General points to none, for the proposition that “rele-
vant” cases for purposes of analyzing consistency of
application are limited to those sharing like procedural
histories.

The second flaw in the “two out of three” rationale is
that it proceeds from the premise that the Alabama courts
defaulted the Batson claim in the Morrison case despite
knowing that a Swain objection had been raised at Mor-
rison’s trial. The Attorney General fails to point out,
however, that the Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals
was apparently unaware that a Swain objection had
been raised at Morrison’s trial. Morrison, 551 So.2d at 437
(“There was no objection to [the prosecutor’s use of
peremptory strikes] at trial or on direct appeal.”
(emphasis added)). Thus, the decision in Morrison lends
no support to the Attorney General’s contention that the
Alabama courts have been consistent in rejecting Batson
claims in cases he deems “like Cochran’s.”

15

Even if this case were as the Attorney General pre-
sents it, there would be no conflict with Adams, or with
the Court of Appeals’ prior decision in Delap v. Dugger,
890 F.2d 285 (11th Cir. 1989). This Court did not hold in
Adams that-the failure to enforce a procedural default rule
in a “few cases” should be disregarded, or that a rule
enforced in the “vast majority of cases” is “adequate” per
se. Neither did the Court of Appeals so hold in Delap. In
fact, in neither case did the majority acknowledge any
deviation by the state courts in application of the relevant
procedural default rule. Adams, 489 U.S. at 410 n.6; Delap,
890 F.2d. at 300. Instead, in both cases the majority con-
cluded that the alleged examples of “deviation” by the
state courts were either unclear or misinterpreted by the
habeas corpus petitioner. Id. Neither Adams nor Delap,
then, can fairly be read as establishing that state pro-
cedural rules applied in a “majority” of cases are “ade-
quate” to bar federal review.

In fact, this Court has suggested that a single devia-
tion from enforcement of a procedural rule undermines
“adequacy,” if the deviation occured under circumstances
similar to that presented in the case under review. Ha-
thorn, 457 U.S. at 264 (“[t]he striking similarity between
Quinn [in which the procedural default rule was not
enforced] and this case . . . persuades us that the Missis-
sippi Supreme Court is not ‘strictly or regularly’ follow-
ing [the relevant procedural rule] . . . .”); see also Wheat v.
Thigpen, 793 F.2d 621, 626 (5th Cir. 1986) (finding incon-
sistent application on the basis of a single state court
decision); Wilcher v. Hargett, 978 F.2d 872 (5th Cir. 1992)
(same). Thus, the weight of authority, including this

16

Court’s prior decisions, supports the Court of Appeals’
rationale. There is thus no conflict in the decisional law.

B. The District Court’s “Clear and Plain State-
ment” Rationale Provides An Independent
Basis For Affirmance Of The Court Of Appeals’
Decision,

State court decisions often contain mixed discussions
of federal (substantive) and state (procedural) grounds
for decision, as in this case. In such cases, this Court has
developed and applied a conclusive presumption -
referred to as the “clear and plain statement” rule - to
determine whether the state procedural ground for deci-
sion should foreclose federal review of a constitutional
claim. Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032, 1040-41 (1983)
(articulating the rule in the context of certiorari jurisdic-
tion); Harris v. Reed, 489 U.S. 255, 263 (1989) (extending
the rule to habeas corpus proceedings). The rule provides
that federal courts will presume that there is no indepen-
dent and adequate state ground for a decision where the
decision “fairly appears to rest primarily on federal law
or to be interwoven with the federal law, and when the
adequacy and independence of any possible state law
ground is not clear from the face of the opinion.” Cole-
man, 501 U.S. at 735 (quoting Long, 463 U.S. at 1040-41).?

2 In Coleman, this Court made clear that the Harris pre-
sumption “applies only when it fairly appears that a state court
judgment rested primarily on federal law or was interwoven
with federal law, that is, in those cases where a federal court has
good reason to question whether there is an independent and
adequate state ground for the decision.” Id. at 739. Coleman thus

|

17

The Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals’ decision
here presents a classic case for application of the Harris
presumption, as the District Court held. The court's
extensive discussion of the factual merit of Cochran’s
Batson claim, and its conclusion that there was “nothing
in the record to indicate or imply that the State engaged
in racial discrimination in the selection of the jury”
plainly demonstrate that the decision rested primarily on
federal law. Moreover, the discussion of procedural
default contained in the opinion is itself “interwoven
with federal law.” The court stated plainly that applica-
tion of the alleged procedural default depended on the
court’s view that the claim lacked merit. Cochran, 548
So.2d at 1068 (“Although Cochran has been sentenced to
death, the alleged error in this case is not ‘plain’ as we
have indicated above.”).

The Attorney General argues here, as he did below,
that the following text, carefully excised from the State
court’s extensive discussion of the merits, constitutes a
“clear and plain statement” within the meaning of Harris:

Under the circumstances present, Cochran is
procedurally barred from relief on his claim that
the State actually used its peremptory chal-
lenges in a racially discriminatory manner in
violation of Batson, supra. As we have observed,
that issue could have been raised on direct
appeal. A petitioner will not be given relief

made clear that there is no requirement of a “clear and plain
statement” in cases involving state court summary affirmances
or dismissals that contain no federal law component, and that
clearly rest on a state procedural ground. Id. at 739-44; see also
YIst v. Nunnemaker, 501 U.S. 797 (1991).

18

under . . . [Rule 20] based upon any ground
which could have been but was not raised on

appeal.

Id. at 1067-68 (citations omitted). The Attorney General
argued below that the quoted text clearly and plainly
demonstrates that the Court of Criminal Appeals’ exten-
sive merits discussion was simply an “alternative” hold-
ing, which is permissible under the Harris test.

But the language the Attorney General cites does not
constitute a “clear and plain statement” within the mean-
ing of Harris. The text includes nothing to support the
contention that the alleged procedural bar was “ade-
quate” to support the judgment, or was “independent” of
federal law. To the contrary, the procedural default para-
graph is preceded by a detailed discussion of the merits
of the claim, and the paragraph itself begins with the
phrase “under the circumstances present,” which ties the
procedural default paragraph to the merits discussion.
Moreover, the discussion that follows the Attorney Gen-
eral’s favored paragraph reveals plainly that the alleged
default would not have been sufficient itself to bar relief,
had the Batson claim been found to have merit. The
court’s concluding paragraph demonstrates that its ruling
was driven primarily by its view that the record con-
tained nothing “to indicate or imply that the state
engaged in racial discrimination in the selection of the
jury.” Cochran, 548 So.2d at 1069. This, we now know, was
simply incorrect.

Where, as here, a state court’s procedural default
finding is interwoven with the merits of a federal consti-
tutional claim, the “clear and plain statement” rule
requires something more than the mere recitation that a

19

procedural default occurred. Harris, 489 U.S. at 264 n.10
(state courts are free to reach merits of federal claim as
“alternative” holding “as long a3 the state court explicitly
invokes a state procedural bar rule as a separate basis for
decision.”). In the words of the District Court, “it is
impossible to determine whether a state ground for deci-
sion is adequate if the state court does not clearly indicate
that it is independently relying on that ground.” R1-31-12
(emphasis added). In Coleman, this Court articulated the
principle succinctly:

After Long, a state court that wishes to look to
federal law for guidance or as an alternative
holding while still relying on an independent
and adequate state ground can avoid the pre-
sumption by stating ‘clearly and expressly that [it's
decision] is .. . based on bona fide separate, adequate
and independent grounds.’

Coleman, 501 U.S. at 733 (quoting Long, 463 U.S. at 1041)
(emphasis added). Thus, it is “the adequacy and indepen-
dence of any possible state law ground” that must be
expressed “clearly” and “plainly” — not simply the fact of
a default. Id. (quoting Long, 463 U.S. at 1040-41)
(emphasis added).

The Court of Criminal Appeals reviewed the merits
of Cochran’s Batson claim under the “plain error” rule.
Plain error review commonly occurs only on direct
review, and the very purpose of the plain error rule is to
identify those claims as to which otherwise applicable
procedural defaults are to be excused. Thus, the very
nature of the Court of Criminal Appeals’ merits discus-
sion reveals that the procedural default finding was

20

dependent on the court’s merits ruling.? Whatever the
Court of Criminal Appeals’ intentions, it is clear from the
opinion that the court would have granted relief, and
thus excused any procedural default, had it found
Cochran’s Batson claim to have merit.

Where a state court reaches the merits of a claim
under the “plain error” rule, federal review is not barred.
See Engle v. Isaac, 456 U.S. 107, 135 n.44 (1982) (“If Ohio
had exercised its discretion to consider respondents’
claim [under the plain error rule], then their initial
default would no longer block federal review.”); Hargrave
v. Dugger, 832 F.2d 1528, 1539 (11th Cir. 1987) (Tjoflat, J.,
specially concurring) (habeas corpus review not barred
where state court elects to address merits of claim under
“plain error” rule); Rogers-Bey v. Lane, 896 F.2d 279, 281
(7th Cir. 1990) (same); Walker v. Endell, 850 F.2d 470,
473-74 (9th Cir. 1987) (federal review permitted where
claim was “reviewed by a state appellate court on the
merits for plain error.”); Huffman v. Ricketts, 750 F.2d 798,
800-01 (9th Cir. 1984) (federal review required where state

3 The court’s willingness to engage in “plain error” review
at the collateral stage flowed presumably from the fact that
Batson had been decided at a point in the direct appellate stage
at which the parties were precluded from raising issues other
than those arising from the resentencing proceedings. Giles, 632
So.2d at 576. The Alabama appellate courts’ “plain error”
review on direct appeal occurred prior to this Court’s decision
in Batson, and Cochran had no real opportunity to raise the
claim on direct appeal thereafter. This is yet another ground on
which the Court of Appeals’ judgment could be affirmed. See
Johnson, 486 U.S. at 587-89 (procedural default rule not “ade-
quate” where rule would require assertion of claim in forum
where claim could not be heard).

21

court entertains merits of procedurally defaulted claim to
determine whether claim constitutes “fundamental
error”); U.S. ex rel Gibson v. McGinnis, 773 F. Supp. 126,
131-32 (C.D. Ill. 1991) (“A state court’s examination of the
merits of a federal claim - even if only to determine
whether it would be fair to impose a state procedural bar
- constitutes sufficient predicate to apply the Harris pre-
sumption.”).

The Harris presumption is triggered “when the ade-
quacy and independence of any possible state law ground is
not clear from the face of the opinion.” Coleman, 501 U.S.
at 735 (quoting Long, 463 U.S. at 1040-41) (emphasis
added). The Attorney General can point to no word or
phrase in the opinion of the Court of Criminal Appeals to
support his contention that the court’s merits discussion
was truly an “alternative” holding. The District Court
thus correctly concluded that the Batson claim was subject
to review, and this rationale provides an independent
basis for affirmance of the judgment below.

¢

CONCLUSION

Racial discrimination in the selection of jurors “ ‘casts
doubt on the integrity of the judicial process . . . and
places the fairness of the criminal proceeding in doubt.”
Powers v. Ohio, 499 U.S. 400 (1991) (citations omitted).
“Purposeful racial discrimination in selection of the
venire violates a defendant’s right to equal protection

22

because it denies him the protection that a trial by jury is
intended to secure.” Batson, 476 U.S. at 86. “The risk of
racial prejudice infecting a capital sentencing proceeding
is especially serious in light of the complete finality of the
death sentence.” Turner v. Murray, 476 U.S. 28, 35 (1986).

These words reflect this Court’s unwavering commit-
ment to the promise of Batson. James Cochran respect-
fully requests that this Court deny the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari, so that he might enjoy the benefit of that
promise.

Respectfully Submitted,

LAWRENCE J. Fox
KENNETH C. FRAZIER
Seamus C. Durry
BrENDA W. HoLsTon

DrinKER BippLte & REATH
1345 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_0781%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
