# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Mahalek v. Korean Air Lines, Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_0741%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 516 U.S. 1038

## Text

is Supreme Court, U.S,
\) FILED

. j
ow

O5071 7 wu 2515
No.
DEEICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

THOMAS MAHALEK
Petitioner,

Vv.

KOREAN AIR LINES, CO., LTD,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARL

RICHARD E. BROWN

(Counsel of Record)
BROWN, MONZIONE, FABBRO,
ZAKARIA & SCARLETT
900 Montgomery Street
San Francisco, California 94133
(415) 834 -1111

A ttomeys for Petitioner.

i
QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Must a surviving sibling prove that they were
financialiv dependent on a decedent in order to recover
damages ior loss of society under the Warsaw Convention?

li

Table of Contents.

Question presented for review
Table of authorities cited
Opinions below

Jurisdiction

Statutory provisions involved
Statement

Summary of the argument
Argument

I. Certiorari should be granted because of the
close relationship of the question raised to the
question presented in Zicherman v. Korean
Air Lines, Co.

II. Certiorari should be granted to resolve conflict-
ing opinions on recovery for loss of society
damages

Ill. Cases pending across the country await definite
ruling on damages recoverable under the
Warsaw Convention

Conclusion
Table of Authorities Cited.
CASES.

Anderson v. Whittaker Corp., 894 F.2d 804 (1990)

In re Korean Air Lines Disaster of September 1, 1983
575 F.Supp 342 (J.P.M.D.L. 1983).

AO ~A NY NY NO =

10

ba aca aaa

ili
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED (CONT'D)
In re Korean Air Lines Disaster of September 1, 1983

807 F.Supp. 1073 (S.D.N.Y. 1992) 3

Pagnucco et al. v. Pan American World Airways, Inc,
F.3d (Nos. 1280, 1281, 1282, 1994)

10
Porter v. Dicken, 328 U.S. 252 (1946) 7
Porter v. Lee, 328 U.S. 246 (1946) 7
Sea-Land Services, Inc v. Gaudet, 414 U.S. 573 (1974) 8
Sistrunk v. Circle Bar Drilling Co., 770 F.2d 455 (1985). 8

8

Sutton v. Earles, 26 F.3d 903 (9th Cir. 1994) S. 7,
Taylor v. McElroy, 358 U.S. 918 (1958), 360 U.S.

709 (1959) 7
Wahlstrom v. Kawasaki Heavy Indus., Ltd., 4 F.3d

1084 (1993) 6
Zicherman v. Korean Air Lines, Co., 43 F.3d 18

(2nd Cir. 1994) 4,6
Zicherman v. Korean Air Lines, Co., 1994 WL

606516 (2nd Cir. N.Y. November 3, 1994) 4
Zicherman v. Korean Air Lines, Co., S.Ct. 1995

(115 S.Ct. 1689) 5

STATUTES AND RULES.
United States Code

28 U.S.C. § 2101(e)
28 U.S.C. § 1254(1)
49 U.S. C. § 1502 2

NN

No.

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

THOMAS MAHALEK
Petitioner,

¥.

KOREAN AIR LINES, CO., LTD,
Respondent.

PETTTION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARL

Thomas Mahalek respectfully petitions for a writ of
certiorari to review the judgment of the United States District
Court for the Northern District of California.

OPINIONS BELOW

The court of appeals has not rendered an opinion. The
opinion of the district court (App., infra, Al) is unreported.
The amended opinion of the district court (App., infra, A2) is
unreported.

2
JURISDICTION

Notice of Appeal was filed March 24, 1995. Appeal was
properly docketed by the Ninth Circuit on March 28, 1995.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§1254(1) and 28 U.S.C. §2101(e). Petitioner seeks review of
the case below before judgment has been entered in the Court
of Appeals. The case below is of imperative public
importance and requires immediate settlement in this Court.

PROVISION OF LAW INVOLVED

This case raises the interpretation of Article 17 of The
Warsaw Convention, known formally as the Convention for
Unification of Certain Rules Relating to International
Transportation by Air, 49 Stat. 3000, T.S. No. 876 (1934)
reprinted in 49 U.S.C. §1502 note.

WARSAW CONVENTION
ARTICLE 17

"The carrier shall be liable for damage sustained in the
event of the death or wounding of a passenger or any other
bodily injury suffered by a passenger if the accident which
caused the damage so sustained took place on board the
aircraft or in the course of any of the operations of embarking
or disembarking."

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Korean Air Lines Flight 007 strayed into Soviet airspace
and was shot down on September 1, 1983. All those aboard
perished. Among the passengers was Muriel A.M.S. Kole,
whose brother, Thomas Mahalek ("Mahalek"), is the Petitioner
before this Court.

3

The Petitioner filed suit against Korean Air Lines Co., Ltd.
("KAL") in the Northern District of California. Along with all
other federal court actions arising out of the KAL tragedy, the
Petitioner's case was transferred to the United States District
Court for the District of Columbia for consolidated
proceedings on the question of liability. See Jn re Korean Air
Lines Disaster of September 1, 1983, 575 F.Supp. 342
(J.P.M.D.L. 1983).

Following a jury trial, KAL was found liable for "wilful
misconduct" in connection with the Flight 009 tragedy. Under
Article 25 of the Warsaw Convention, KAL therefore could
not invoke the $75,000.00 cap on damages that would
otherwise be available. The Petitioner's case was then
remanded to the district court for a damages trial.’

Before a jury was empaneled to assess damages against
KAL, the district court ruled it would follow Judge Motley's
ruling as set forth in Jn re Korean Air Lines Disaster of
September I, 1983, with respect to the applicable damage
law, and that Petitioner could recover for the loss of the
decedent's society, and for mental injury he suffered in the
aftermath of the tragedy.” See 807 F.Supp. at 1084-1088. The
district court did not require that the Petitioner prove he was
financially dependent on the decedent in order to recover
damages for loss of society.

After hearing evidence, the jury awarded damages to the
Petitioner as follows:

1. Loss of society $ 75,000

The District Court entered final judgment. (App., infra, Al)
Pending before the District Court were Petitioner's Motion for

‘In the interests of brevity, some of the steps along the way of
the complex multi-district proceedings have been omitted.

*Petitioner is not seeking review of this element of damages.

4

Prejudgment Interest and Bill of Costs, and KAL's Motion for
Judgment as a Matter of Law.

Shortly thereafter, KAL filed a Motion to Vacate and Set
Aside the Liability Judgment; Petitioner's action was re-
transferred to the District of Columbia. KAL's Motion to
Vacate and Set Aside the Liability Judgment was denied, and
Petitioner's action was remanded back to the damage trial
court. Seventeen months after entering judgment, the District
Court granted KAL's Motion for Judgment as a Matter of Law,
and issued an Amended Judgment, (App., infra, A2) Vacating
the Jury Verdict. Petitioner's Appeal of the Amended
Judgment is now pending in the Court of Appeals for the
Ninth Circuit.

In a companion action, Zicherman v. Korean Air Lines,
Co., 43 F.3d 18 (1994), Marjorie Zicherman, sister and Muriel
Mahalek, mother of decedent Muriel A.M.S. Kole, filed suit
against KAL in the Southern District of New York. Each
Petitioner sought recovery in_ her individual capacity, and
Zicherman also sued as personal representative of her sister's
estate. After hearing evidence, the jury awarded damages to
the Plaintiffs which included damages for loss of society and
mental injury. The district court computed prejudgment
interest, and entered final judgment.

KAL noticed an appeal from the district court's final
judgment, contesting all of the damages awarded on both legal
and factual grounds. In an opinion dated November 3, 1994,
1994 WL 606516 (2nd Cir. N.Y.) the Second Circuit affirmed
the District Court's judgment, with two important exceptions:

1. The Second Circuit ruled that damages for loss of
society cannot be recovered under the Warsaw Convention
unless the surviving relative was financially dependent on the
decedent;

2. The Second Circuit also ruled that damages for mental
injury are not recoverable under the Warsaw Convention under

any circumstances. &

Because the jury had not been instructed that financial
dependency was a prerequisite to recovery for loss of society,
the Second Circuit examined the record for evidence of
financial dependency. It found that Mahalek was not
financially dependent on her daughter, and accordingly vacated
all of the damages that Mahalek had been awarded. As to
Zicherman, the Second Circuit found some evidence of
financial dependency, and therefore remanded the case back to
the District Court for a determination on this narrow question.
The mental injury to Zicherman was vacated.

After the Second Circuit issued its November 3 opinion,
KAL petitioned for a rehearing. On December 5, 1994, the
Second Circuit withdrew its initial opinion, and filed an
amended opinion. In the amended opinion, the Second Circuit
ruled that the jury's awards for loss of support and loss of
inheritance were also subject to a financial dependency
requirement. These two awards were therefore vacated,
pending further proceedings in the District Court.

Zicherman and Mahalek petitioned this Court for a writ of
certiorari which was granted on April 17, 1995 (115 S.Ct.
1689.)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The decision below is erroneous and the issue that it
addresses is important. The decision in this case conflicts
with Sutton v. Earles, 26 F.3d 903 (9th Cir. 1994). Sutton,
conflicts with the Second Circuit's decisions in Zicherman v.
Korean Air Lines, Co., supra, and Wahlstrom v. Kawasaki
Heavy Indus., Ltd., 4 F.3d 1084 (1993). At both the circuit
court and district court level conflicting decisions have
occurred. There are a multitude of cases involving the same
issue that are waiting to be tried and are in need of guidance
from this Court. This case, along with Zicherman which is
now pending before this Court, is a timely and rare

6
opportunity to provide that guidance.

1. The case below arises out of the same event and
involves the same decedent as the Zicherman case which is
presently before this Court on writ of certiorari.

2. The opinion below raises important legal questions
identical to the questions presented in Zicherman v. Korean
Air Lines, Co., 43 F.3d 903 (2nd Cir. 1994), which is
presently pending before this Court.

3. A conflict exists among district courts and circuit
courts as to whether federal damage law requires a showing of
financial dependency in order to recover loss of society
damages. By imposing a financial dependency requirement,
the district court's and Second Circuit's ruling unduly restricts
recovery. By adopting a cruel and irrational rule of law, one
that is particularly inappropriate under the unique structure of
the Warsaw Convention, it affords an unconscionable degree
of economic protection to the airline industry where a carrier
has been found liable for egregious, wilful misconduct.

4. Numerous cases arising from the KAL tragedy and the
disaster at Lockerbie, Scotland are pending in Courts of
Appeal and District Courts around the country. This Court
should provide definitive guidance on the elements of damages
recoverable under the Warsaw Convention to prevent
conflicting and inconsistent results.

ARGUMENT

L CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED BEFORE JUDGMENT
BELOW BECAUSE OF THE CLOSE RELATIONSHIP OF THE

QUESTION RAISED TO THE QUESTION PRESENTED IN
ZICHERMAN V. KOREAN AIR LINES, Co.

The case below presents a question identical to the
question presented in Zicherman v. Korean Air Lines, Co., 43
F.3d 18 (2nd Cir 1994). This Court granted certiorari in the

7

Zicherman case on April 17, 1995. (115 S.Ct 1689). Petitioner
in the case below, Thomas Mahalek, is brother to the
Petitioners in Zicherman.

This Court has granted certiorari where a petition for
certiorari presents a question that is identical with, or similar
to, an issue already pending before this Court in another case
in which certiorari has been granted. See, Taylor v. McElroy,
358 U.S. 918 (1958), 360 U.S. 709, 710 (1959). See also
Porter v. Dicken, 328 U.S. 252, 254 (1946) (certiorari was
granted before judgment below "by reason of the close
relationship of the important question raised to the question
presented in Porter v. Lee" (328 U.S. 246 (1946))).

The District Court followed the rule embraced by the
Second Circuit: financial dependency is required to recover
loss of society damages under general maritime law, although
the Ninth Circuit has reached the opposite result in Sutton v.
Earles, 26 F.3d 903 (1994). Petitioner's case is currently before
the court of appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

There exists a conflict between the circuits on this issue.
This Court should grant Thomas Mahalek's Petition to allow
Petitioner to argue directly before this Court, to resolve a
matter of great importance and to correct the District Court's
error.

IL CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO RESOLVE CONFLICTING
OPINIONS ON RECOVERY FOR Loss OF SOCIETY DAMAGES.

The District Court followed Second Circuit precedent
which drew exclusively on general federal maritime law to
decide what damages are recoverable under the Warsaw
Convention. The Second Circuit then followed those Circuit
Courts of Appeal that imposed a financial dependency
requirement for loss of society damages under general

maritime law. See, e.g., Anderson v. Whittaker Corp., 894
F.2d 804, 811-12 (6th Cir. 1990); Sistrunk v. Circle Bar
Drilling Co., 770 F.2d 455 (Sth Cir. 1985). The Second Circuit
recognized, however, that the Ninth Circuit has reached the
opposite result; the Ninth Circuit ruled that there is no need
to establish financial dependency. Su on v. Earles, 26 F.3d
903, 914-17 (9th Cir. 1994).

Although the Second Circuit's position is followed by other
circuits, the rule espoused by the Ninth Circuit is more
sensible, and should be adopted. Financial dependency has no
rational relationship of any kind to loss of society, and it is
intolerable and inhumane to suggest otherwise. A brother's
loss of love and affection for his sister, as well as a parent's
loss of a child will more often times occur in the absence of
financial dependency. In the case below, there was ample
evidence of Mahalek's loss. Mahalek did not look to his sister
for financial support; as a result, the jury's finding of his loss
is somehow deemed irrelevant. Had he been less self-
sufficient, and insisted on support from the decedent, he would
have been allowed to recover. This is an absurd result, and
does not comport with any sense of justice or decency and it
must not stand. More aptly stated; money should not be a
prerequisite to love.

This Court has recognized that, at least for federal general
maritime wrongful death actions, loss of society is recoverable.
Sea-Land Services, Inc. v. Gaudet, 414 U.S. 573 (1974).
Although the issue of financial dependency was not raised
under the facts of Gaudet, imposing a dependency requirement
is inconsistent with this Court's definition of "society" as
embracing a broad range of mutual benefits each family
member receives from the others’ continued existence,
including love, affection, care, attention, companionship,
comfort, and protection. 414 U.S. at 585 (emphasis added).

It must also be remembered that the case below was not a
maritime case per se, but rather a Warsaw Convention case.

9

Although the Second Circuit drew on maritime law for some
guidance in construing the Convention, it failed to take note
of one special feature not found in maritime law: the damage
cap. In the vast majority of internatical aviation accidents,
Article 25 of the Warsaw Convention limits the air carrier
liability to $75,000.00 per passenger. This is a tremendous
economic advantage for the aviation industry, one that the
shipping industry does not have. As a result, in the rare case
of wilful misconduct, it is in conflict with the Convention
itself to further limit liability by imposing the additional
barrier of financial dependency as a prerequisite to loss of
society damages.’

TL CASES PENDING ACROSS THE COUNTRY AWAIT A DERINITE
RULING ON DAMAGES RECOVERABLE UNDER THE
WARSAW CONVENTION.

There are currently at least 31 pending cases arising out of
the KAL tragedy that have not yet had a jury trial to assess
damages. In addition, KAL has appeals of damage verdicts
which are pending in the Second, Sixth and Ninth Circuit
Courts of Appeal, as well as the District of Columbia Circuit
Court of Appeals. Given the uncertainty over the elements of
damages recoverable under the Warsaw Convention, the risk
of inconsistent treatment of similarly situated plaintiffs is
great.

It should also be noted that the bombing of Pan American
flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland, led to a finding of wilful

*For these reasons, awards for loss of support and loss of
inheritance should also be unfettered by a financial dependency
requirement.

10

misconduct by the defendant airline. See Pagnucco et al. v.
Pan American World Airways, Inc. F.3d __ (Nos.
1280, 1281, 1282, 2d. Cir., 1994) There have been two
damage trials already and there are scores of damages cases
waiting to be tried in the aftermath of the Lockerbie decision.
These cases also await definitive guidance from this Court on
the damages available under the Convention. In sum, the
authorities are in considerable disagreement on a matter of
importance to the courts, to Thomas Mahalek, and to many
other parties who are similarly situated. This case presents
this Court with the opportunity to resolve a conflict among
district courts and circuit courts and to bring uniformity to this
area of law. Therefore, the Court should grant the petition.

CONCLUSION
Certiorari should be granted to review the decision below.

Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD E. BROWN

(Counsel of Record)

BROWN, MONZIONE, FABBRO
ZAKARIA & SCARLETT

900 Montgomery Street

San Francisco, California 94133
(415) 834-1111

Attorneys for Petitioner

Appendix Table of Contents.

Appendix A
Judgment on Jury Verdict

Appendix B
Order Vacating Judgment on Jury Verdict

Appendix C
Exhibit A to Reply of Korean Air Lines

Co., Ltd. to Plaintiff's Supplemental Memorandum

of Points and Authorities in Opposition to
Motion for Judgment as a Matter of Law

Appendix D
Notice of Appeal

Appendix E
Assignment of Docket Number, Ninth Circuit
Court of Appeals

Appendix F
Request for Voluntary Dismissal

Appendix G
Order Granting Motion for Voluntary Dismissal

Al2

Al3

Al
APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

THOMAS L. MAHALEK, individually C-83-4381 WHO
and as the heir of MURIEL KOLE,

Plaintiff,
vs.
KOREAN AIRLINES, CO., LTD.

Defendant.

JUDGMENT ON JURY VERDICT

This action having come on for trial before the Court and
a jury, the Honorable William H. Orrick, District Judge,
presiding, and the issues having been duly tried and the jury
having duly rendered its verdict,

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that:

1. Plaintiff, Thomas L. Mahalek, suffered mental anguish
and grief as a result of the death of Muriel Kole.

2. Plaintiff's mental anguish and grief did not result in
actual mental injury accompanied by physical manifestations
or aggravation of preexisting physical conditions that
physically debilitated him with grief.

3. The amount of loss of love, affection and
companionship that plaintiff has suffered (a) from September
1, 1983, to date of trial is $75,000; and (b) from date of trial
forward is zero.

Dated: October 28, 1993.

William H. Orrick
United States District Judge

A2

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

THOMAS L. MAHALEK, individually C-83-4381 WHO
and as the heir of MURIEL KOLE,

Plaintiff,
VS.
KOREAN AIRLINES, CO., LTD.

Defendant.

ORDER

Pending before this Court are plaintiff Thomas L.
Mahalek's ("Mahalek") motions for prejudgment interest and
costs and defendant Korean Air Lines Co.'s ("“KAL") motion
for judgment as a matter of law. The Court having considered
the briefs of both parties; GRANTS KAL's motion for
judgment as a matter of law and DENIES Mahalek's request
for prejudgment interest and costs.

I.

Four relatives of Muriel Kole, 2 passenger killed on KAL
Flight 007, brought wrongful death actions against KAL under
the Warsaw Convention. Kole's mother and sister brought an
action in the Southern District of New York before Judge
Motley ("Zicherman"). Kole's husband and brother
("Mahalek") brought separate actions in this Court.

Based on principles of collateral estoppel, this Court has
repeatedly followed the ruling of Judge Motley in Zicherman,
who ruled on several substantive issues prior to this Court

A3

doing so. See In Re Korean Air Lines Disaster of September
1, 1983, 807 F.Supp. 1073 (S.D.N.Y. 1992).

Because Judge Motley had ruled that non-dependent
relatives of a decedent could recover loss of society damages,
this Court allowed Mahalek's case to proceed to trial. The
jury awarded Mahalek $75,000 for the loss of society he
suffered as a result of the death of his sister on KAL Flight
007. The Court entered a judgment on the Mahalek verdict on
October 29, 1993.

I.

The Second Circuit has recently ruled on KAL's appeal of
Judge Motley's ruling in Zicherman. In Zicherman v. Korean
Airlines, Ltd, F.3d __, 1994 WL 685690 (2nd Cir. 1994),
the Second Circuit affirmed Motley's opinion in part, reversed
in part, and vacated in part. Most significantly, it held that
general maritime law, not DOHSA applied to the KAL crash.
1994 WL 685690 at *3. In terms of loss of society damages,
however, it held that "Zicherman [decedent's sister] and
Mahalek [decedent's mother] may recover loss of society
damages only if they were dependents of Kole at the time of
her death." 1994 685690 at *4. The appeals court vacated the
loss of society award to Mahalek (decedent's mother) because
she conceded at trial she was not dependent on her daughter.
As to Zicherman (decedent's sister}, the Court remanded to the
trial court for a determination as to whether she was dependent
on the decedent.

In the trial before this Court, Thomas Mahalek conceded
that he was not dependent on his sister for financial support.
Therefore, based on the Second Circuit's ruling in Zicherman,
this Court grants KAL's motion for judgment as a matter of
law.

In an attempt to avoid judgment as a matter of law,
Mahalek cites Sutton v. Earles, 26 F.3d 903, 917 (9th Cir.
1994) for the proposition that, in the Ninth Circuit, a plaintiff

A4

bringing a wrongful death action under general maritime law
need not show that he is dependent on a decedent to recover
loss of society damages. Id.

Sutton is distinguishable from the case at hand, however,
because it held only that parent plaintiffs could collect loss of
society damages without regard to dependency. Id. The Ninth
Circuit based this ruling in part on the fact that parents are
common beneficiaries of wrongful death statutes. Id. at 915.
This rationale does not apply to non-dependent siblings,
however. See, e.g., Evich v. Connelly, 759 F.2d 1432 (9th
Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 914 (1987) (non-dependent
sibling may not bring wrongful death action under the Jones
Act or DOHSA).

Mahalek aiso argues that KAL's motion for judgment as a
matter of law should not be considered because KAL did not
make its motion at the close of the evidence as required by
Rule 50(a). However, KAL has provided transcripts that show
it moved for a "directed verdict." See Reply of Korean Air
Lines Co., Ltd. to Plaintiffs Supplemental Memorandum of
Points and Authorities in Opposition to Motion for Judgment
as a Matter of Law, filed October 20, 1994, Ex. A. Therefore,
this argument is without merit.

Additionally, Mahalek argues that KAL did not file its
motion for judgment as a matter of law not later than ten days
after entry of judgment as required by Rule 50(b). Judgment
was entered on October 29, 1993. KAL filed its motion on
November 12, 1993. When the period of time prescribed by
a rule is less than eleven days, intermediate Saturdays,
Sundays, and holidays are excluded in the computation.
Fed. R.Civ.P. 6(a) Under this computation, the motion was
timely file.

I.

Accordingly,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT:

1. KAL's motion for judgment as a matter of law is
GRANTED.

AS

2. Mahalek's motion for prejudgment interest and costs in
DENIED.

DATED: March 8, 1995

WILLIAM H. ORRICK
United States District Judge

A6
APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR
THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

BEFORE THE HONORABLE
WILLIAM H. ORRICK, SENIOR JUDGE

THOMAS L. MAHALEK,
INDIVIDUALLY
AND AS THE HEIR OF MURIEL KOLE

PLAINTIFF,

NO. C-83-
4381WHO

VS.

KOREAN AIRLINES, CO., LTD.,

DEFENDANT.

ee ee

SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA
MONDAY, OCTOBER 25, 1993
TUESDAY, OCTOBER 26, 1993

TRANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS
APPEARANCES:

FOR PLAINTIFF: BELLI, BELLI, BROWN,MONZIONE
FABBRO & ZAKARIA
900 MONTGOMERY STREET
SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA 94133
BY: RICHARD E. BROWN, ESQ.

~ ——

A7

FOR DEFENDANT: CONDON & FORSYTH

1900 AVENUE OF THE STARS

SUITE 650

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90067
BY: STEPHEN R. GINGER, ESQ.

GEORGE N. TOMPKINS, III ESQ

REPORTED BY: LAWRENCE J. WHITE, CSR, CP,
CM OFFICIAL REPORTER, USDC

COMPUTER-AIDED TRANSCRIPTION BY TURBOCAT
ASSOCIATED FEDERAL REPORTERS,
SAN FRANCISCO, CA. 94102

Pg. 114
I'LL EVER KNOW AT THE MOMENT.

MR. BROWN: I GUESS THE THREE IN
CONTENTION ARE THE FIRST THREE YOU READ. IF
I'M CORRECT IN UNDERSTANDING YOUR HONOR,
YOU SAID YOU WOULD USE THE PLAINTIFF'S
INSTRUCTION ON WRONGFUL DEATH, THE
DEFENDANT'S INSTRUCTION ON GRIEF AND
SORROW AND THE DEFENDANT'S INSTRUCTION ON
M®7TAL ANGUISH?

THE COURT: YES.

MR. BROWN: I DO HAVE SOME OBJECTIONS
TO THE USE OF THOSE TWO INSTRUCTIONS BY
DEFENDANT.

THE COURT: GET THEM SPECIFICALLY IN
WRITING AND I WILL DEAL WITH THEM.

MR. GINGER: YOUR HONOR, JUST TO
PROTECT OUR POSITION AND PRESERVE THE RIGHTS

A8

ON APPEAL, I HAVE TO STATE THE GROUNDS FOR
MY MOTION FOR DIRECTED VERDICT, AND I WOULD
APPRECIATE IT IF YOU WOULD GIVE A RULING. I
THINK IT’S THE SAME RULING YOU HAVE BEEN
GIVING ALL ALONG.

IN ANY EVENT, WE MOVE FOR DIRECTED
VERDICT ON THE GROUNDS THAT PLAINTIFF HAS NO
STANDING TO BRING THIS ACTION UNDER DOHSA;
THAT LOSS OF SOCIETY IS NOT RECOVERABLE
UNDER THE APPLICABLE LAW, WHICH WE SAY IS
DOHSA; THAT MENTAL ANGUISH AND GRIEF IS NOT
RECOVERABLE UNDER THE APPLICABLE LAW,
WHICH IS DOHSA, OR ANY FEDERAL COMMON LAW.

THERE IS INSUFFICIENT EVIDENCE TO LET
THE CASE GO TO THE JURY ON THE ISSUE OF LOSS
OF SOCIETY BECAUSE HE'S TESTIFIED THAT HE WAS
NOT FINANCIALLY DEPENDENT, AND WE SAY

Pg. 115

THAT UNDER THE LAW YOU HAVE TO BE
FINANCIALLY DEPENDENT TO GET ANYTHING.

ALSO THERE IS INSUFFICIENT EVIDENCE TO
LET THE CASE GO TO THE JURY UNDER YOUR
RULING THERE HAS TO BE A_ PHYSICAL
MANIFESTATION. I DON'T BELIEVE ANY OF THE
MATTERS THEY TESTIFIED TO CONSTITUTE A
PHYSICAL MANIFESTATION OR ACTUAL MENTAL OR
PHYSICAL INJURY.

THE COURT: THE MOTION FOR DIRECTED
VERDICT IS DENIED. COURT IS IN RECESS.

(TRIAL ADJOURNED)

A9
APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

THOMAS L. MAHALEK, individually NO. 83
and as the heir of MURIEL KOLE 4381 WHO
Plaintiff,
NOTICE OF

KOREAN AIR LINES, CO., LTD.,
et al.

)
)
)
)
)
vs. ) APPEAL
)
)
Defendants. )
)

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that plaintiff THOMAS
MAHALEK,, in the above-referenced case appeals to the Court
of Appeals, Ninth Circuit, from the Amended Judgment on
Jury Verdict filed March 9, 1995, and the order granting
defendant Korean Air Lines' Motion for Judgment as a Matter
of Law, filed March 9, 1995.

NOTICE IS FURTHER GIVEN THAT plaintiff requests
the Clerk of the above-entitled Court to prepare a Clerk's
transcript and designate all papers and records on file or
lodged with the Court in the above-entitled action.
DATED: March 21, 1995

BROWN, MONZIONE, FABBRO,
ZAKARIA & SCARLETT
BY:

RICHARD E. BROWN

Attorney for Plaintiff
THOMAS MAHALEK

Al0
APPENDIX E

Office of the Clerk
United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
121 Spear Street, P.O. Box 193939
San Francisco, CA 94105-3939

March 28, 1995

U.S. Court of Appeals Docket Number: 95-15559
Lower Court Docket No.: CV-83-04381-WHO
Short Title: Mahalek v. Korean Air Lines Co.

Dear Counsel:

A copy of your notice of appeal/petition has been received in
the Clerk's office of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Ninth Circuit.

The U.S. Court of Appeals docket number shown above has
been assigned to this case. You must indicate this Court of
Appeal docket number when corresponding with this office
relative to your case. Please furnish this docket number
immediately to the court reporter if you place an order, or
have placed an order, for portions of the trial transcripts. The
court reporter will need this docket number when
THE DUE DATES FOR DESIGNATING AND FILING THE
REPORTER'S TRANSCRIPT IF APPLICABLE, FILING

THE PARTIES' BRIEFS AND OTHERWISE PERFECTING
THE APPEAL HAVE BEEN SET BY THE ENCLOSED
"TIME SCHEDULE ORDER", PURSUANT TO
APPLICABLE FRAP RULES. THESE DATES CAN BE
EXTENDED ONLY BY COURT ORDER. FAILURE OF

All

THE APPELLANT TO COMPLY WITH THE TIME
SCHEDULE ORDER WILL RESULT IN AUTOMATIC
DISMISSAL OF THE APPEAL.

The following information is being provided in an attempt to
answer the most frequently asked questions regarding the
appellate process. Please review this information very
carefully. For convenience, the term "Circuit Rules" will be
used for "Rules of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Ninth Circuit" and “FRAP" for "Federal Rules of Appellate
Procedure” will be used throughout this document.

Enclosed with this letter is an appellate processing schedule
along with a case processing checklist which may be attached
to your case file as an aid in monitoring case progress.

APPELLANTS/PETITIONERS WHO ARE FILING PRO SE
SHOULD REFER TO THE ACCOMPANYING
INFORMATION SHEET REGARDING THE FILING OF
INFORMAL BRIEFS.

Al2

APPENDIX F
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT
FILED
AUG 9 1995

THOMAS L. MAHALEK, individually ) NO. 95-15559
and as the heir of MURIEL KOLE )
) REQUEST FOR
Appellant, ) VOLUNTARY
) DISMISSAL
vs.

KOREAN AIR LINES, CO., LTD.,

Respondent.

Se Oe ee ee ee”

Appellant THOMAS L. MAHALEK hereby moves for a
Voluntary Dismissal of the above-captioned appeal without
prejudice to reinstate upon disposition of the United States

Supreme Court Decision in Zicherman v. Korean Air Lines,
115 SC 1689, Docketed April 17,.1995.

Dated: August 8, 1995

BROWN, MONZIONE, FABBRO,
ZAKARIA & SCARLETT

BY:

RICHARD E. BROWN
Attorney for Plaintiff
THOMAS MAHALEK

Al3

APPENDIX G

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

FILED
SEP - 5 1995
THOMAS L. MAHALEK, individually ) NO. 95-15559
and as the heir of MURIEL KOLE )
) DC# CV-83-
Plaintiff/ Appellant ) 4381-WHO
) Northern
vs. ) California
) (San Francisco)
KOREAN AIR LINES, CO., LTD., )
)
Defendants/ Appellee. ) ORDER
)

Appellant's motion for voluntary dismissal of this appeal
without prejudice to reinstatement upon disposition of the
United States Supreme Court decision in Zicherman v. Korean
Air Lines, 115 S. Ct. 1689, docketed April 17, 1995 is
granted. The motion to reinstate must be filed within 28 days
after the Supreme Court disposition.

A certified copy of this order sent to the district court shall
act as and for the mandate of this court.

For the Court:

CATHY A. CATTERSON
Clerk of the Court

Wayne Anderson
Deputy Clerk

pro 8.28

THOMAS MAHALEK v. KOREAN AIR LINES CO.
Ltd *

U. S. District Court, Northern Div.

of California, No. C 83 4381 WHO

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF SAN FRANCISCO

I hereby certify that a copy of the foregoing Petitioner,
Thomas Mahalek's Petition for Writ of Certiorari was mailed on
October 6 , 1995, with postage thereon fully prepaid to
be placed in the U.S. mail at San Francisco, California, to
all parties required to be served in said action by placing a
copy thereof, enclosed in a sealed envelope, addressed as
follows:

Stephen R. Ginger, Esquire George N. Tompkins, III, Esquire

CONDON & FORSYTH TOMPKINS, HARAKAS, ELSASSER

1900 Avenue of the Stars & TOMPKINS

Suite 650 Courthouse Square

Los Angeles, CA 90067 140 Grand Street

(310) 557-2030 White Plains, New York 10601
(914) 428-2525

W. Paul Needham, Esquire Juanita Madole, Esquire

NEEDHAM & WARREN SPEISER, KRAUSE, MADOLE & COOK

10 Liberty Square Two Park Plaza, Suite 1060

Boston, MA 02109 Irvine, CA 92714

(617) 482-0500 (714) 553-1421

ee 2, 8 ,,

RICHARD E. BROWN

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_0741%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
