# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Babcock & Wilcox Co. v. Arkwright-Boston Manufacturing Mutual Insurance

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_0730%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 516 U.S. 1140

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
Fit 2D

‘ No. 95-706
nny 1 19%

In The CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States _

October Term, 1995
>

THE BABCOCK & WILCOX COMPANY, et al.,

V. Petitioners,

ARKWRIGHT-BOSTON MANUFACTURING MUTUAL
INSURANCE COMPANY; ST. PAUL MERCURY INSURANCE
COMPANY; AMERICAN HOME ASSURANCE COMPANY;
AMERICAN INTERNATIONAL MARINE AGENCY; ALLIANZ
INSURANCE COMPANY; INSURANCE COMPANY OF
NORTH AMERICA; CARYL VAUGHN GIBBS, INDIVIDUALLY
AND ON BEHALF OF CERTAIN UNDERWRITERS OF
LLOYDS OF LONDON; INDEMNITY MARINE ASSURANCE
COMPANY LTD.; ENGLISH AND AMERICAN INSURANCE
COMPANY, LTD.; INSURANCE COMPANY OF NORTH
AMERICA (UK) LTD.; AND C.A. PARR,

Respondents.

S

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals For The Sixth Circuit

e
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
4
Davip S. Cupps Peter J. Katis*
MattHew J. HatrCHADORIAN JOHN M. SyLvesTER
STEPHEN J. Petras, JR. James E. SCHEUERMANN
Vorys, SATER, SEYMOUR AND Pease Paut K. STOCKMAN
Suite 2100 KirKPATRICK & LOCKHART LLP
One Cleveland Center 1500 Oliver Building
Cleveland, OH 44114-1724 Pittsburgh, PA 15222
(216) 479-6100 (412) 355-6500

Attorneys for Petitioner,
The Babcock & Wilcox Company

*Counsel of Record

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Contrary to the law of every other Circuit that
has addressed this question, may the United States Court
of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit adopt a rule permitting
the grant of a defendant’s motion for summary judgment
and dismissal of a plaintiff’s case pursuant to Fed. R. Civ.
P. 56: (i) merely because the plaintiff has not satisfied the
affirmative burden raised by its own summary judgment
motion; and (ii) without any prior notice having been
given to the plaintiff that the ultimate dispositive issue
could serve as the basis for the dismissal?

2. Should this Court address the failure of the Sixth
Circuit, as well as that of other Circuit Courts of Appeals,
to follow this Court’s rule, set forth in Commissioner of
Internal Revenue v. Estate of Bosch, 387 U.S. 456 (1967),
requiring that a federal court sitting in diversity jurisdic-
tion and predicting state law in the absence of direct state
supreme court precedent give presumptive weight to
other relevant decisional law of that state?

ey

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING AND AFFILIATIONS

The petitioner is Plaintiff-Appellant, The Babcock &
Wilcox Company. Third-Party Defendant-Appellant,
McDermott, Inc., and Defendant-Appellant, Creole Insur-
ance Company, Limited, join in this petition. The respon-
dents are listed on the caption of the case.

The Babcock & Wilcox Company is a wholly owned
subsidiary of Babcock & Wilcox Investment Company,
which is a wholly owned subsidiary of McDermott, Inc., a
corporation which has issued publicly traded securities.
McDermott, Inc. is a subsidiary of McDermott Interna-
tional, Inc., a publicly owned corporation. Creole Insur-
ance Company Limited is a wholly owned subsidiary of
McDermott International, Inc., and an affiliate of McDer-

mott, Inc.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ........-.----++ee+eeeeee i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING AND

I cee pecacnsvenetervsceessveunces il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES........... Perr ey Vv

OPINIONS BELOW... 02. c ccc cece cccccecevvcccces ]

JURISDICTION ......... cece cece reece er eeeeeereee l

PROCEDURAL RULE AND STATUTE INVOLVED... 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE............---e ee eee: 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ....... 8

1. The Sixth Circuit’s Affirmance Of The Grant Of
The Subscribers’ Motion For Summary Judg-
ment Is A Radical Departure From Precepts Of
Summary Judgment Practice That, If Left
Uncorrected, Will Create A Conflict Among
Cc Guar ci gue dna wun en cere eesseses 8

2. The Sixth Circuit’s Decision Is Contrary lo
Prior Directives Of This Court And Widens The
Conflict Among The Circuits On The Issue
Whether A Federal Erie Court Should Give Pre-
sumptive Deference To Relevant Decisional
Law On A State-Law Issue In The Absence Of

Direct State Supreme Court Precedent........ 14
eee TEETER ee 24
Ge sues 49s evr eewevewe wees evens: App. 1

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit, dateu May 17, 1995....App. 1

District Court Opinion and Order on Summary
Judgment, dated August 19, 1993............ App. 15

TABLE OF CONTENTS -—- Continued

Page
District Court Order Scheduling Summary
Judgment Hearing, dated April 9, 1993...... App. 37
District Court Opinion and Order on Choice of
Law, dated August 2, 1992 .............s0ce. App. 42
Order of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Sixth Circuit Denying Petitions for Rehear-
ing, Gated August 4, 1995 .......sccccececees App. 68
Petitions for Certiorari Raising Questions About
the Determination of State Law Under Erie R.R.
CO GE SE in cic ccdeceg event sis ateer eres App. 70

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Advanced Cardiovascular Sys., Inc. v. Scimed Life
Sys., Inc., 988 F.2d 1157 (Fed. Cir. |, SRR 11

Air Prods. & Chems., Inc. v. Hartford Accident &
Indem. Co., 707 FE. Supp. 762 (E.D. Pa. 1989),
modified, No. Civ. A. 86-7501, 1989 WL 73656
(E.D. Pa. June 30, 1989), aff'd in part and vacated
and remanded on other grounds, 25 F.3d 177 (3d
EE Pe etna yey ET Can On erie 18

American Sheet Metal, Inc. v. Em-Kay Eng’g Co., 478
F. Supp. 809 (E.D. Cal. 1979) ..................... 19

Appalachian Ins. Co. v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 676
wus DO COG Che, VOI oon vic cc cen cdicincbincens 18

Arkwright-Boston Mfrs. Mut. Ins. Co. v. Aries Marine
Corp., 932 F.2d 442 (5th Cir. 1991) ................ 11

Associated Indem. Corp. v. Dow Chem. Corp., 814 F.
supp. 613 (E.D. Mich. 1993) .........0cccessccens. 18

Baltimore & Ohio R.R. Co. v. Baugh, 149 U.S. 368
GEOR kaneis haces i eabbeaeteen eee eae Po

Bank of New York v. Amoco Oil Co., 35 F.3d 643 (2d
Re EOD ovo curs conpeaunsnaeiel renee 19

Beaudett v. City of Hampton, 775 F.2d 1274 (4th Cir.
1985), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1088 (1986)............ 11

Becker v. Interstate Properties, 569 F.2d 1203 (3d Cir.
1977), cert. denied, 436 U.S. 906 (1978), abrogated
on other grounds by, Robinson v. Jiffy Executive
Limousine Co., 4 F.3d 237 (3d Cir. 1993) ........... 20

Bonilla v. Nazario, 843 F.2d 34 (1st Cir. 1988) ..... 12, 13

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Boston Five Cents Sav. Bank v. Secretary of Dep't of
Housing and Urban Dev., 768 F.2d 5 (1st Cir.
WOMEN), vols. ee eae eee 9
Bradley v. Pittsburgh Bd. of Educ., 913 F.2d 1064 (3d
Ci SUR coc er ee eae 13

Brobst v. Columbus Servs. Int'l, 761 F.2d 148 (3d Cir.
1985), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 1043 (1988)......... 11,

Buckeye Union Ins. Co. v. Price, 313 N.E.2d 844

(2S . rrr rer rrr oc Sah els 16
CPC Int'l, Inc. v. Northbrook Excess & Surplus Ins.

Co., 962 26.77 Cist CO FRR ede os kuceaetcaccc esses 20
Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317 (1986).......... 11
Champion Int'l Corp. v. Continental Casualty Co., 546

F.2d 502 (2d Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 819

bi gf Pe Pee ee eran Oe ee aig hone A 18
Chemstar, Inc. v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 41 F.3d 429

(9th Cir. 1994), petition for cert. filed, 63 U.S.L.W.

Bae LEONG) 5 van ves ¥ee4sksaucesenbe eases 18
Commissioner of Internal Revenue v. Estate of Bosch,

SOT TED. GG CDG 6 nk es icievien We cesseosatay 8, passim
Dimidowich v. Bell & Howell, 803 F.2d 1473 (9th Cir.

1986), modified in part on other grounds, 810 F.2d

Tar COGN GA Fs + oe eh ekccereOinensieeasee 19
Erie R.R. Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938) ..... 8, passim
Faruque v. Provident Life & Accident Ins. Co., 508

ae SOP Ce TO eas bc ncccvenvrcedieueeetien 16
Flintkote Co. v. Dravo Corp., 678 F.2d 942 (11th Cir.

SUMED s ss cccececesvsescuueeunab ce@iasseeeeeereeee 20

Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Fountain v. Filson, 336 U.S. 681 (1949).............-. 10
General Motors Corp. v. Doupnik, 1 F.3d 862 (9th Cir.

GON uv ioc haven Vecsey edna ee cov eesavisesccuset vas 19
Hanna v. Plumer, 380 U.S. 460 (1965) ............. 14, 22
Heublein, Inc. v. United States, 996 F.2d 1455 (2d

CSUN wi voc aa Sead esate cess cldcusesaseiescctyaes 9
Hicks on Behalf of Feiock v. Feiock, 485 U.S. 624

| nner see nuer a mare Ener ran rrr rr ee yere 15
Houghton v. Foremost Fin. Servs. Corp., 724 F.2d 112

a gk | errr eT errr eer ye Tee 9
Hubbard v. ‘Parker, 994 F.2d 529 (8th Cir. 1993)....... 11
International Surplus Lines Ins. Co. v. Certain Under-

writers at Lloyd’s of London, 868 F. Supp. 917

4 Be | SOP TOOeTETCTerrT ere TT er er rrre 17
Jardines Bacata, Ltd. v. Diaz-Marquez, 878 F.2d 1555

(9 | re er re Teer 13
John Deere Co. v. American Nat'l Bank, Stafford, 809

fo Be: Be ee, |) ery rrer rere rr cere ey 12
John v. Louisiana, 757 F.2d 698 (5th Cir. 1985)......... 4
Latecoere Int'l, Inc. v. United States, Dep't of Navy,

SD FOG BOGE CEU Ce. Bsc oven os veticicesicnes: 9
LewRON Television, Inc. v. D.H. Overmyer Leasing

Co., 401 F.2d 689 (4th Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 393

Sa CREED has asacevneeseeaescedesneeeens eres 9
Malhotra v. Cotter & Co., 885 F.2d 1305 (7th Cir.

Seed seeks yas vuw ceeds coda reuse sc teen cueer erent: 12
Michigan Chem. Corp. v. American Home Assurance

Co., 720 O20 S74 (Gt Cie. BOGE) «2. ccc cesccccess. 18

ee.

Vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Mingus Constructors, Inc. v. United States, 812 F.2d
ee ls eRe odes Ca kerk d otc cs wbdaaerceee ch 9
Mitchell v. McCarty, 239 F.2d 721 (7th Cir. 1957)...... 9
Moorman v. Prudential Ins. Co. of Am., 445 N.E.2d
Ree ee I so oo akin ce pa ae overeat’ ieee we 16
Morales Morales v. Rafael Arias, 856 F.2d 396 (1st
SNS oie Cs oS oe ca ea Wee Ca ee po ee edn 12

Morton Thiokol, Inc. v. Aetna Casualty & Sur. Co.,
No. A-8603799 (Ohio Com. Pls. Dec. 28, 1988) .... 17

NL Indus., Inc. v. GHR Energy Corp., 940 F.2d 957
(5th Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 1032 (1992) .... 13

N.L.R.B. v. Robbins Tire & Rubber Co., 437 U.S. 214
UE ay ok a Gale ha ere a ede ene eae ere oe 14

National Fire Ins. v. Bartolazo, 27 F.3d 518 (11th Cir.
BO sas oh tG kak eee wer Lak ard Peak Ce eee 11

Norfolk & Western Ry. Co. v. Accident & Casualty
Ins. Co., 796 F. Supp. 929 (W.D. Va. 1992), dis-
missed in relevant part as moot, 41 F.3d 928 (4th
Ge SD cose casi cena dead cee eeaae et coures ences 17

Northern Shipping Co. v. Arkwright-Boston Mfrs.
Mut. Ins. Co., 617 F. Supp. 136 (E.D. Pa.), aff'd,

FO Fee BES CO ROE BROOD cose reese eenecsaceee’s 17
Otis Elevator Co. v. George Washington Hotel Corp.,

27 ee Fee Ae Ge Fe oe he vecnredepecincseses 12
Owens-Illinois, Inc. v. Aetna Casualty & Sur. Co., 597

Fy ND : B Re CGF. Bhan Se cree ic eccasscenewees 17
Packard v. Provident Nat'l Bank, 994 F.2d 1039 (3d

Cir.), cert. denied, 114 S. Ct. 440 (1993)............ 19

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Pittsburgh Corning Corp. v. Travelers Indem. Co., No.
Civ. A. 84-3985, 1988 WL 5302 (E.D. Pa. Jan. 21,
A ee ere rer re rrr ree ran Dae 17
Provau v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 772 F.2d
gee! Ge ay.) SINR am nye Siren re eran rates 20
Rains v. Cascade Indus., Inc., 402 F.2d 241 (3d Cir.
|, See are Seer ier er nr Sai seh mbt rare ee eer re wy ae 9
Resolution Trust Corp. v. Ruggiero, 994 F.2d 1221
+, Be Bere err rrr ey rrr rear rire 11
Rodriguez v. Doral Mortgage Corp., 57 F.3d 1168 (1st
6 nr! er errr re rrr reer yr rrr rer 14
Sherwood v. Washington Post, 871 F.2d 1144 (D. D.C.
| i ro Pre err errr rere rr Tere 9
Sifers v. General Marine Catering Co., 892 F.2d 386,
modified in part on other grounds, 897 F.2d 1288
fu Re , Rrererrrr rrr reeerr rrr ir reer reir 20
Spinner Corp. v. Princeville Dev. Corp., 849 F.2d 388
Be ae, | Serr rrr rr rer er ere 19
Starsky v. Williams, 512 F.2d 109 (9th Cir. 1975)....... y
State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Davis, 937 F.2d
G15 COG Cle. F991). oo cece cc ccc ccc tccccccccceseees 19

Stella v. Town of Tewksbury, 4 F.3d 53 (1st Cir. 1993) .... 11

Stonewall Ins. Co. v. National Gypsum Co., No. 86
Civ. 9671 (JSM), 1992 WL 123144 (S.D.N.Y. May

27, 1992), appeal pending ........+-+eeeeeeeeeeeeees 18
Tavery v. United States, 32 F.3d 1423 (10th Cir.
NN ag ee oa rs Pee eed RCN SNe sped ee tes Kars 41, i2

Trusthouse Forte, Inc. v. 795 Fifth Ave. Corp., 756
F.2d 255 (2d Cir. 1985)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page

Tyler v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 958 F.2d 1176 (2d
Cir.), cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 82 (1992) ............. 18

Uniroyal, Inc. v. Home Ins. Co., 707 F. Supp. 1368
Ses te. DUER eee cectcecevaneuscaesaisseeuveuta 18
United States v. Little, 52 F.3d 495 (4th Cir. 1995) .... 20
United States v. Lopez, 115 S. Ct. 1624 (1995)......... 22

Wermager v. Cormorant Twp. Bd., 716 F.2d 1211 (8th
GOR WME 604 cesasrdeencs vacetéedacoseaenteien 9

West v. American Tel. & Tel. Co., 311 U.S. 223 (1940) .... 15
Williams v. City of St. Louis, 783 F.2d 114 (8th Cir.

ners me MADRE ISIS Se BS BOK peg dl Mages cane dg: 12
STATUTES

y Bh Cee 5 rer poe re Oe ee Pr ey 1

ae Gis Re oo nta es Foes ictansctvene cee 2

ty ee ea a ose eee een eee ae an

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Paul L. Caron, The Role of State Court Decisions in
Federal Tax Litigation: Bosch, Erie, and Beyond, 71

CM Ba DOOR: Pe ROOD oc ududes connvhustadeeeene te 21
Richard D. Freer, Erie's Mid-Life Crisis, 63 Tul. L.
TW. DE ERO s an 2406600440 20s oedeeh eee es reeves 21

6 James W. Moore et al., Moore’s Federal Practice
TI 56.04[1], 56.13 (2d ed. 1994)..................., Yy

Note, Deference to Federal Circuit Court Interpreta-
tions of Unsettled State Law: Factors, Etc., Inc. v.
Pro Arts, Inc., 1982 Duke L.J. 704................. 21

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES Continued

Court Is State Law Losing Cround?, 1977
B.Y.U.L. Rev. 1

A C. Wright, et al., Federal Practice & Procedure
77)

7 2/41

(1983)

| ‘ 4 > ,e7v 7 ’ > sh) , y
Geri J]. Yonover, Ascertaining State Law: The Con

1g Erie Dilemma, 38 DePaul L. Rev. 1 (1989)
eri |. Yonover, A Kinder, Gentler Erie: Reining In
Ise Certification, 47 Ark. L. Rev. 305 (1994)

Page

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner, The Babcock & Wilcox Company (“B&W”),
respectfully petitions for a writ of certiorari to review the
judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the
sixth Circuit in this case. McDermott, Inc. (“McDermott”)
and Creole Insurance Company Limited (“Creole”) join in
this petition.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals, App. 1-14, is
reported at 53 F.3d 762 (6th Cir. 1995). The opinion and
order of the district court, App. 15-37, are not reported

——————__—__—_—— @-—_ —

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit was entered on May 17, 1995. The
Petitions For Rehearing and Suggestion For Rehearing En
Banc of Plaintiff-Appellant, The Babcock & Wilcox Com
pany, and Third-Party Defendant-Appellant, McDermott,
Inc., and Defendant-Appellant Creole Insurance Com-
pany Limited were denied on August 4, 1995. The juris
diction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1)

— A ——

PROCEDURAL RULE AND STATUTE INVOLVED
Fed. R. Civ. P. 56. Summary Judgment

t * +

(c) Motion and Proceedings Thereon. The
motion shall be served at least 10 days
before the time fixed for the hearing. The
adverse party prior to the day of hearing
may serve opposing affidavits. The judg-
ment sought shall be rendered forthwith if
the pleadings, depositions, answers to
interrogatories, and admissions on file,
together with the affidavits, if any, show
that there is no genuine issue as to any
material fact and that the moving party is
entitled to a judgment as a matter of law. A
summary judgment, interlocutory in char-
acter, may be rendered on the issue of lia-
bility alone although there is a genuine
issue as to the amount of damages.

28 U.S.C. § 1652. State laws as rules of decision

The laws of the several states, except where
the Constitution or treaties of the United States
or Acts of Congress otherwise require or pro-
vide, shall be regarded as rules of decision in
civil actions in the courts of the United States, in
cases where they apply.

+

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Background. For over sixty years, B&W has designed,
manufactured, installed, delivered and maintained indus-
trial utility and marine boilers throughout the United

hited sana

States and the world. During most of this period, B&W
had a continuous corporate practice and policy of
approving or permitting the use of asbestos-containing
materials as components in the design, assembly, installa-
tion and servicing of its boilers.

Like many other industrial entities whose historical
operations or products involved asbestos-containing
materials and that did not recognize the associated dan-
gers, B&W is currently facing staggering liabilities from
persons claiming injury as a result of exposure to these
materials. To date, tens of thousands of asbestos-related
personal injury claims have been asserted against B&W,
along with numerous other parties alleged to be respons-
ible for the claimants’ exposure to asbestos. B&W has
incurred hundreds of millions of dollars in asbestos-
related liabilities in the form of payments made to the
asbestos claimants, with a significant number of unre-
solved claims still pending against B&W.

In response to the staggering asbestos-related lia-
bilities confronting it, B&W has turned to its historical
liability insurers for coverage. Both B&W’s primary-layer
liability insurers and the great majority of its excess layer
insurers, which provided coverage to B&W beginning in
1950, have agreed to pay substantial sums to indemnify
B&W for a significant portion of those liabilities. Nev-
ertheless, the Defendant-Respondent insurers, which sub-

scribe to a first-layer excess liability policy providing
coverage to B&W for the 1979-80 policy period (“the
Subscribers”), have refused to pay any of their policy
limits to indemnify B&W.

The Subscribers’ 1979-80 policy (the “Subscriber Pol-
icy”) contains a $2.5 million per-occurrence buffer layer
provision. This provision, in effect, provides that the
Subscriber Policy will cover, up to its limits, all liabilities
arising out of any one “occurrence” taking place during
the policy period, to the extent those liabilities exceed a
$2.5 million per-occurrence deductible.

The dispute in this case —- not one that ordinarily
would or should consume the time and resources of this
Court — centers around the application of this buffer-layer
provision to the large group of asbestos claims at issue.
B&W has contended that these asbestos claims arise out
of one common, caus**2 “occurrence” and, thus, the
amount of liability for »! of the claims, when added
together, well exceeds the $2.5 million per-occurrence
deductible. By contrast, the Subscribers take the position
that each of the tens of thousands of asbestos claims
arises out of a separate and distinct causative “occur-
rence” and, therefore, because the value of no one claim
exceeds the $2.5 million threshold, no coverage is pro-
vided by their Policy.

2. Proceedings Below. On May 22, 1991, B&W filed this
action for declaratory judgment and breach of contract
against the Subscribers in the United States District Court
for the Northern District of Ohio. In a preliminary ruling,
the district court held that the law of Ohio applied to this
case and, in particular, to the interpretation and applica-
tion of the Subscriber Policy. App. 67. Following discov-
ery, the parties filed cross-motions for summary
judgment on the issue of how many occurrences were
represented by the group of asbestos claims against B&W
(the “number of occurrences” issue). On August 19, 1993,

Se tn WO as

we he bh a abet ,

the district court entered an opinion and order granting

Defendants’ motion for summary judgment and dismiss-
ing B&W’s case.

The district court’s opinion never addressed the sin-
gle issue - the number-of-occurrences issue — that was
presented in the parties’ cross-motions for summary
judgment. Rather, the district court addressed only an
analytically distinct issue, i.e., whether the 1979-80 policy
period of the Subscriber Policy was “triggered” by the
asbestos claims at issue (the so-called “trigger of cover-
age” issue). The trigger-of-coverage issue had never been
presented to the court by Defendants’ motion for sum-
mary judgment. Nonetheless, the district court granted
Defendants’ summary judgment on this issue and -dis-
missed B&W’s case, without B&W having been afforded
the opportunity to present evidence on, and properly
brief, the issue. In a word, B&W had been ambushed.

The stated basis for the district court’s ruling was
that B&W had not satisfied its affirmative burden of
proving that the policy period of the Subscriber policy
had been triggered. Yet, the district court committed clear
error when it ruled, not that B&W’s own summary judg-
ment motion would be denied and the case would pro-
ceed to trial, but rather that Defendants’ cross-motion for
summary judgment would be granted on an issue not pre-
sented by that motion. App. 35. The critical error in this
ruling, and the resulting fundamental unfairness to B&W,
is patently obvious: B&W’s case was dismissed on cross-
motions for summary judgment on a dispositive issue
that the parties, particularly the Subscribers, never raised
in their cross-motions and about which the district court
never gave notice to B&W that it could serve as the basis

for dismissing B&W’s case. At best, B&W had only been
notified that its motion would be denied and the case
would proceed to trial if it did not come forward with
sufficient evidence on the trigger-of-coverage issue.

In presenting its appeal of the district court’s ruling
to the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Cir-
cuit, B&W requested correction of the manifest pro-
cedural error in the court’s grant of the Subscribers’
summary judgment motion and also requested that the
Sixth Circuit address the one and only issue that had
been presented by the parties’ cross-motions for sum-
mary judgment but that had not been decided by the
district court — the number-of-occurrences issue. The
Sixth Circuit chose to do the latter but not the former.

Specifically, the Sixth Circuit acknowledged but
rejected B&W’s argument that it had not been given prior
notice that the trigger-of-coverage issue could be the
basis for dismissal of its case. App. 5-6. Nonetheless, in
the course of rejecting B&W’s argument and upholding
the district court’s ruling, the Sixth Circuit actually high-
lighted the validity of B&W’s argument. Indeed, after
searching thoroughly through the district court record for
the document that supposedly placed B&W on notice that
Defendants’ summary judgment motion would be
granted if B&W did not come forward with sufficient
evidence on the trigger-of-coverage issue, the Sixth Cir-
cuit was able to identify only one document: “Defen-
dants’ Reply Memorandum in Opposition to Summary
Judgment Motions of B&W and McDermott.” App. 5. This
document related to Defendants’ opposition to B&W’s
motion, not to the Subscribers’ motion. Thus, the Sixth
Circuit opinion, while rejecting B&W’s appeal, actually

a. edi utc

3
+

serves to reinforce B&W’s argument that neither the
Defendants nor the district court gave B&W any notice
that the trigger issue could be the basis for a grant of
Defendants’ summary judgment motion.

Recognizing the tenuous basis of its decision, the
Sixth Circuit provided an alternative, independent basis
for rejecting B&W’s appeal — namely, the Court decided
to address the number-of-occurrences issue that had been
presented to the district court but had not been decided.
In ruling adversely to B&W on this issue, the Sixth Cir-
cuit committed its own glaring error that contravened the
directives of prior Supreme Court precedent. Specifically,
although the Sixth Circuit was sitting as an Erie court
with jurisdiction based on diversity of citizenship, the
Court did not attempt to predict how the highest court of
Ohio would decide the issue as required by this Court’s
precedents; rather, it decided the issue as a matter of
federal common law. App. 9-14.

There were no existing decisions of the Ohio
Supreme Court squarely deciding the number-of-occur-
rences issue. Nonetheless, the Sixth Circuit disregarded
the decisions of lower Ohio courts and federal courts
applying Ohio law to the number-of-occurrences issue. It
also failed to consider the principles of Ohio insurance
law that repeatedly have been espoused by the Ohio
Supreme Court and that should have been outcome-
determinative. Instead, the Sixth Circuit merely consid-
ered and adopted decisions on the issue by several out-
of-state federal district courts, without ever attempting to
determine if the analytical underpinnings of those deci-
sions were consistent with the principles of Ohio insur-
ance law.

Following the Sixth Circuit’s issuance of its decision
upholding the district court’s grant of the Subscribers’
summary judgment motion, B&W (as well as McDermott
and Creole) filed with that Court Petitions For Rehearing
And Suggestion For Rehearing En Banc. On August 4,
1995, the Sixth Circuit denied the petitions without fur-
ther explanation of its decision. App. 68-69.

+

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The Sixth Circuit’s affirmance of the district court's
grant of the Subscribers’ motion for summary judgment,
if left undisturbed, will (i) create a conflict among the
Circuits on long-settled principles of summary judgment
practice under Fed. R. Civ. P. 56; and (ii) contribute to the
federal courts’ increasing failure to abide by this Court's
prior directives under Erie Railroad Co. v. Tompkins, 304
U.S. 64 (1938), and Commissioner of Internal Revenue v.
Estate of Bosch, 387 U.S. 456 (1967), regarding the “proper
regard” to be accorded state lower-court decisions.
Because this decision has such far-reaching adverse
effects, it warrants review by this Court.

1. The Sixth Circuit’s Affirmance Of The Grant Of The
Subscribers’ Motion For Summary Judgment Is A
Radical Departure From Precepts Of Summary Judg-
ment Practice That, If Left Uncorrected, Will Create
A Conflict Among The Circuits.

The Sixth Circuit’s erroneous affirmance of the dis-
trict court’s grant of the Subscribers’ motion for summary

judgment squarely rejects two fundamental principles of

hc wih-v6 hn oes a

heehee ete.

federal summary judgment practice that have been
adopted by this Court as well as the Courts of Appeals
for other Circuits.

First, the affirmance is contrary to the rule adopted
by other Courts of Appeals that, where cross-motions for
summary judgment have been filed, one moving party’s
failure to establish its entitlement to judgment as a matter
of law should not result in a judgment in favor of the
cross-movant.! The Sixth Circuit’s decision is inconsistent
with the principle that the filing of cross-motions for
summary judgment does not reflect the parties’ consent
to the resolution of the case on the existing record and
does not grant the district court the freedom to treat the
case as though it had been submitted for final resolution
on a stipulated record.”

| E.g., Heublein, Inc. v. United States, 996 F.2d 1455, 1461 (2d
Cir. 1993); LewRON Television, Inc. v. D.H. Overmyer Leasing Co.,
401 F.2d 689, 692 (4th Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 393 U.S. 1083 (1969);
Mitchell v. McCarty, 239 F.2d 721, 723 (7th Cir. 1957); Starsky v.
Williams, 512 F.2d 109, 112 (9th Cir. 1975); Houghton v. Foremost
Fin. Servs. Corp., 724 F.2d 112, 114 (10th Cir. 1983); Latecoere Int'l,
ive. v. United States, Dep't of Navy, 19 F.3d 1342, 1366 (11th Cir
1994); Mingus Constructors, Inc. v. United States, 812 F.2d 1387,
1391 (Fed. Cir. 1987).

2 E.g., Boston Five Cents Sav. Bank v. Secretary of Dep't of
Housing and Urban Dev., 768 F.2d 5, 11-12 (1st Cir. 1985) (Breyer,
J.); Rains v. Cascade Indus., Inc., 402 F.2d 241, 245 (3d Cir. 1968);
John v. Louisiana, 757 F.2d 698, 705 (5th Cir. 1985); Wermager v
Cormorant Twp. Bd., 716 F.2d 1211, 1214 (8th Cir. 1983); Sherwood
v. Washington Post, 871 F.2d 1144, 1147-48 (D. D.C. 1989). See 6
James W. Moore et al., Moore's Federal Practice {] 56.04[1], 56.13
(2d ed. 1994).

10

In this case, the only issue raised by Subscribers’
summary judgment motion seeking dismissal of B&W’s
case was the number-of-occurrences issue. The district
court did not grant the motion based on that issue. Rather
the district court granted Subscribers’ motion based on a
distinct issue — the trigger-of-coverage issue — that at best
was mentioned only in the context of B&W’s affirmative
motion seeking summary judgment in its favor. The Sixth
Circuit’s decision upholding the district court’s dismissal
of B&W’s case places the Sixth Circuit at odds with each
of the other Circuit Courts of Appeals that has considered
this procedural issue. Accordingly, if a dismissal by a
district court on these same facts had been reviewed in
any other such Circuit, the dismissal would have been
vacated with directions to the district court to deny each
of the parties’ cross-motions for summary judgment and
to proceed to trial.

Second, assuming arguendo that the trigger-of-cover-
age issue was raised at all by the Subscribers’ briefing on
cross-motions for summary judgment, then the Sixth Cir-
cuit’s affirmance of the district court’s dismissal rejects
the rule adopted by this Court, and followed by every
other Circuit Court of Appeals considering the issue, that
adequate notice must be provided to a party before the
entry of summary judgment against it. See Fountain v.
Filson, 336 U.S. 681, 683 (1949). In this case, the only
arguable notice that was provided to B&W of the poten-
tially dispositive trigger-of-coverage issue was that con-
tained in a reply brief entitled “Defendant Subscribers’
Reply Memorandum in Opposition to Summary Judgment
Motions of Babcock & Wilcox and McDermott.” This reply
brief, which relates to B&W’s affirmative summary

a a le a tate he oe Sidi

——~@ See also Bradley v. Pittsburgh Bd. of Educ., 913 F.2d 1064,
1069 (3d Cir. 1990) (reversing district court’s grant of summary
judgment pursuant to a motion in limine).

14

34, 37 (1st Cir. 1988) (Breyer, J.) (quoting 10A C. Wright, et
al., Federal Practice & Procedure, § 2720 at 34 (1983)); Brobst
v. Columbus Servs. Int'l, 761 F.2d 148, 154 (3d Cir. 1985),
cert. denied, 484 U.S. 1043 (1988).

Finally, the Sixth Circuit’s new rule is also squarely
contrary to a central purpose of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure — to prevent litigation by ambush. See N.L.R.B.
v. Robbins Tire & Rubber Co., 437 U.S. 214, 253 (1978);
Rodriguez v. Doral Mortgage Corp., 57 F.3d 1168, 1171-72
(1st Cir. 1995). Accordingly, this Court should grant cer-
tiorari to strike down this rule and to restore uniformity
in the federal courts as to the requirements for adequate
notice to a party prior to the entry of summary judgment
against that party.

2. The Sixth Circuit’s Decision Is Contrary To Prior
Directives Of This Court And Widens The Conflict
Among The Circuits On The Issue Whether A Fed-
eral Erie Court Should Give Presumptive Deference
To Relevant Decisional Law On A State-Law Issue
In The Absence Of Direct State Supreme Court Pre-
cedent.

This Court has characterized its decision in Erie Rail-
road Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938), as “one of the
modern cornerstones of our federalism, expressing poli-
cies that profoundly touch the allocation of judicial
power between the state and federal systems.” Hanna v.
Plumer, 380 U.S. 460, 474 (1965) (Harlan, J., concurring).
Unfortunately, the Sixth Circuit and several other Courts
of Appeals are undermining the well-established Erie
doctrine by the manner in which they purport to ascer-
tain a state’s law on an issue in the absence of any direct

15

state supreme court precedent on the issue. This Court, in
Commissioner of Internal Revenue v. Estate of Bosch, 387 U:S.
456 (1967), has set forth the procedure to be applied in
such a situation. Specifically, this Court has stated:

If there be no decision by [the State’s highest]
court then federal authorities must apply what
they find to be the state law after giving ‘proper
regard’ to relevant rulings of other courts of the
State. In this respect, it may be said to be, in
effect, sitting as a state court.

Id. at 465. Moreover, as Bosch reaffirmed, “proper regard”
requires that a federal court predicting state law under
Erie treat a lower state court decision as “ ‘a datum for
ascertaining state law which is not to be disregarded

. unless it 1s convinced by other persuasive data that the
highest court of the state would decide otherwise.’ ” Id. (quot
ing West v. American Tel. & Tel. Co., 311 U.S. 223, 237
(1940); final emphasis by the Bosch Court).°

Notwithstanding this clear direction, the Sixth Cir-
cuit’s decision in this case implicitly rejects the mandate
of Bosch and adopts the following alternative rule for a
federal court ruling on an issue of state law: When there
is no direct state supreme court precedent on an issue, the
federal court need not give any deference to the decisions
of lower courts interpreting the state’s law on the rele-
vant issue; nor must it pay any regard to the state's
general jurisprudential principles that govern the subject
matter of the dispute, even as set forth by the state
supreme court. In short, the Sixth Circuit has determined

© See also Hicks on Behalf of Feiock v. Feiock, 485 U.S. 624, 630
n.3 (1988) (quoting with approval West, 311 U.S. at 237-38)

16

that, in the absence of direct state supreme court prece-
dent, a federal court may pick and choose any decisional
law from around the nation, regardless of the particular
state law that it purports to apply. The nationalization of
insurance law may or may not be a laudable goal. None-
theless, the worthiness of this goal, and the manner in
which it is to be achieved, are not matters for the federal
courts to decide.

In this case, in supporting its ruling on the number-
of-occurrences issue, the Sixth Circuit did not rely upon a
single case from an Ohio court or upon a single decision
of another court applying Ohio law. The court summarily
(and erroneously) distinguished all of the decisions cited
by B&W that applied Ohio law to the number-of-occur-
rences issue, without making any attempt to apply the
principles of Ohio insurance law supporting those deci-
sions to the policy language at issue. The court also made
no effort to test its ultimate ruling — or the rulings of the
non-Ohio cases on which it relied — against the general
principles of Ohio insurance law that should govern this
case.” Instead, the court went through the entire body of
national case law “cafeteria-style,” supporting its ruling

7 Some of the Ohio insurance principles ignored by the
Sixth Circuit in ruling on the number-of-occurrences issue are
that: (i) ambiguities in policy language are to be construed in
favor of the insured, and (ii) any limitations or qualifications on
coverage are to be interpreted narrowly and with the presump-
tion that any risk that is not clearly excluded is covered. See, e.g.,
Faruque v. Provident Life & Accident Ins. Co., 508 N.E.2d 949, 952
(Ohio 1987); Moorman v. Prudential Ins. Co. of Am., 445 N.E.2d
1122, 1124-25 (Ohio 1983); Buckeye Union Ins. Co. v. Price, 313
N.E.2d 844, 846 (Ohio 1974).

17

with three decisions from non-Ohio federal courts — two
decisions from the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, and
one decision from the Western District of Virginia. See
App. 10-12.8

To have followed Bosch and accorded “proper
regard” to the Ohio rules of decision in resolving the
number-of-occurrences issue in this case, the Sixth Circuit
should have (i) considered the one Ohio lower-court deci-
sion on the same issue’ and determined that the analyti-
cal underpinning of that decision was squarely applicable
in this case; (ii) reviewed federal court decisions applying
Ohio law to this issue! to understand the Ohio insurance
law principles that guided those decisions; (iii) analyzed
the general principles of insurance law espoused by the
Ohio Supreme Court that were relevant to deciding the

8 Compounding its error, the Sixth Circuit misapplied the
teachings of the three cases upon which it relied. In each case,
the district court was construing policy language that it con-
cluded was ambiguous. See Norfolk & Western Ry. Co. v. Accident
& Casualty Ins. Co., 796 F. Supp. 929, 936 (W.D. Va. 1992), dis-
missed in relevant part as moot, 41 F.3d 928 (4th Cir. 1994); Pitts-
burgh Corning Corp. v. Travelers Indem. Co., No. Civ. A. 84-3985,
1988 WL 5302, at *2 (E.D. Pa. Jan. 21, 1988); Northern Shipping Co.
v. Arkwright-Boston Mfrs. Mut. Ins. Co., 617 F. Supp. 136, 138
(E.D. Pa.), aff'd, 774 F.2d 1152 (3d Cir. 1985). As such, under
controlling principles of Ohio law, see supra n.7, these decisions
actually support a ruling in favor of the policyholder.

9 See Morton Thiokol, Inc. v. Aetna Casualty & Sur. Co., No.
A-8603799, slip op. (Ohio Com. Pls. Dec. 28, 1988), reprinted in 3
Mealey’s Litig. Reps. — Ins. § B (Jan. 11, 1989).

10 See International Surplus Lines Ins. Co. v. Certain Underwri-
ters at Lloyd's of London, 868 F. Supp. 917 (S.D. Ohio 1994);
Owens-Illinois, Inc. v. Aetna Casualty & Sur. Co., 597 F. Supp. 1515
(D. D.C. 1984).

18

number-of-occurrences issue!!; and (iv) reviewed the
caselaw on the issue from around the nation that arises
from the same principles of insurance law as those found
in decisions of the Ohio Supreme Court, the overwhelm-
ing majority of which support B&W’s position.!? All of
the foregoing authority was provided to the Sixth Circuit
by B&W in its briefs, and all of it was seemingly ignored.

The Sixth Circuit’s practice of ignoring the dictates of
Bosch and disregarding relevant, lower state-court deci-
sional law is not a unique phenomenon among the Courts
of Appeals. For example, the Second Circuit has indicated
that “proper regard” under Bosch may require merely a
passing acknowledgement of lower state-court decisions
and that such decisions may be of no more value in
predicting how the state’s highest court would rule on an
issue than the federal court’s exercise of its own judg-
ment, Tyler v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 958 F.2d 1176, 1190-91

11 See supra n.7.

12 See, e.g., Champion Int'l Corp. v. Continental Casualty Co.,
546 F.2d 502, 505-06 (2d Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 819
(1977); Appalachian Ins. Co. v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 676 F.2d 56, 61
(3d Cir. 1982); Michigan Chem. Corp. v. American Home Assurance
Co., 728 F.2d 374, 379 (6th Cir. 1984); Chemstar, Inc. v. Liberty Mut.
Ins. Co., 41 F.3d 429, 432-33 (9th Cir. 1994), petition for cert. filed,
63 U.S.L.W. 3599 (1995); Associated Indem. Corp. v. Dow Chem.
Corp., 814 F. Supp. 613, 621 (E.D. Mich. 1993); Uniroyal, Inc. v.
Home Ins. Co., 707 F. Supp. 1368 (E.D.N.Y. 1988); Air Prods. &
Chems., Inc. v. Hartford Accident & Indem. Co., 707 F. Supp. 762,
773 (E.D. Pa. 1989), modified, No. Civ. A. 86-7501, 1989 WL 73656
(E.D. Pa. June 30, 1989), aff'd in part and vacated and remanded on
other grounds, 25 F.3d 177 (3d Cir. 1994); Stonewall Ins. Co. v.
National Gypsum Co., No. 86 Civ. 9671 (JSM), 1992 WL 123144, at
*13 (S.D.N.Y. May 27, 1992), appeal pending.

19

(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 82 (1992), or decisions
from other jurisdictions, Bank of New York v. Amoco Oil
Co., 35 F.3d 643, 650 (2d Cir. 1994). Similarly, the Court of
Appeals for the Ninth Circuit has evidenced a similar
disregard of this Court’s direction on the subject,!* sug-
gesting that lower state court decisions are “ ‘merely
data’” providing “guidance” to a federal court, Dimid-
owich v. Bell & Howell, 803 F.2d 1473, 1482 (9th Cir. 1986)
(quoting American Sheet Metal, Inc. v. Em-Kay Eng’g Co.,
478 F. Supp. 809, 813 (E.D. Cal. 1979)), modified in part on
other grounds, 810 F.2d 1517 (9th Cir. 1987), and that they
are entitled to no more weight than decisions from other
jurisdictions, see State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Davis,
937 F.2d 1415, 1418 (9th Cir. 1991); Dimidowich, 803 F.2d at
1482. In fact, the Ninth Circuit has gone so far as to state
that, ultimately, it need use only its own best judgment in
predicting state law. General Motors Corp. v. Doupnik, 1
F.3d 862, 865 (9th Cir. 1993); see Davis, 937 F.2d at 1418.

By contrast, the Third Circuit has remained faithful
to Bosch’s “proper regard” standard by requiring a federal
court to search thoroughly and give preeminence to
lower court decisions, “at least in the absence of convinc-
ing evidence [that] the state supreme court would not
follow them,” Packard v. Provident Nat'l Bank, 994 F.2d
1039, 1049 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 114 S. Ct. 440 (1993), and
by requiring that the federal court “be sensitive to the

'3 Indeed, the Ninth Circuit appears to believe, erro-
neously, that it “is open to some question” whether Bosch
requires that even decisions of intermediate appellate courts be
followed absent other persuasive contrary authority. Spinner
Corp. v. Princeville Dev. Corp., 849 F.2d 388, 390 n.2 (9th Cir.
1988). This belief is clearly incorrect. See Bosch, 387 U.S. at 465.

|

20

doctrinal trends of the state” and “the policies which
inform the prior adjudications by the state courts,” Becker
v. Interstate Properties, 569 F.2d 1203, 1206 (3d Cir. 1977),
cert. denied, 436 U.S. 906 (1978), abrogated on other grounds
by Robinson v. Jiffy Executive Limousine Co., 4 F.3d 237 (3d
Cir. 1993).

Other Circuit Courts of Appeals, including the First,
Fourth, Fifth and Eleventh, have joined the Third Circuit
in according proper deference to a state’s lower-court
decisions and relevant jurisprudential principles in the
absence of direct state supreme court precedent. See, e.g.,
CPC Int'l, Inc. v. Northbrook Excess & Surplus Ins. Co., 962
F.2d 77, 88-89 (1st Cir. 1992); United States v. Little, 52 F.3d
495, 498 (4th Cir. 1995); Sifers v. General Marine Catering
Co., 892 F.2d 386, 397 & n.46, modified in part on other
grounds, 897 F.2d 1288 (5th Cir. 1990); Provau v. State Farm
Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 772 F.2d 817, 820 (11th Cir. 1985);
Flintkote Co. v. Dravo Corp., 678 F.2d 942, 945 (11th Cir.
1982).

The conflict and inconsistency among the federal Cir-
cuits in the application of the Bosch “proper regard”
standard has been well-documented and widely crit-
icized. One scholarly commentator, reviewing hundreds
of federal appellate opinions in diversity cases, reached
the “explicit and disquieting” conclusion that “the Erie
decision is being frequently ignored or avoided.” David
A. Thomas, The Erosion of Erie in the Federal Courts: Is State
Law Losing Ground?, 1977 B.Y.U. L. Rev. 1, 2 (noting that
nearly a quarter of all diversity cases in federal courts of
appeals may have contained a misapplication or non-
application of state law, in contravention of Erie). Many
other commentators have identified this same problem,

. eel

Pw Pe) ee

OT i. eee 6 ee ee ee ee Se ae

AERA *

ae

Re She S. %

ES A 6 vere 2 OP +

21

noting time and again the uncertainty surrounding fed-
eral courts’ determination of state law rules of decision.
See, e.g., Geri J. Yonover, A Kinder, Gentler Erie: Reining In
the Use of Certification, 47 Ark. L. Rev. 305, 307 (1994);
Richard D. Freer, Erie’s Mid-Life Crisis, 63 Tul. L. Rev.
1087, 1089, 1091 (1989); Geri J. Yonover, Ascertaining State
Law: The Continuing Erie Dilemma, 38 DePaul L. Rev. 1,
3-8, 40-42 (1989); Note, Deference to Federal Circuit Court
Interpretations of Unsettled State Law: Factors, Etc., Inc. v.
Pro Arts, Inc., 1982 Duke L.J. 704, 705.14

In addition, this Court’s own certiorari docket also
demonstrates that this problem is a recurring one. Ques-
tions about the procedure for ascertaining state law
under the Erie doctrine have been presented to the Court
at least thirty times since 1970.5

In short, this Court’s prior directive in Bosch, setting
forth the “proper regard” and presumptive weight to be
accorded other relevant state decisional law in the
absence of direct state supreme court precedent, is being
routinely ignored in several Circuit Courts of Appeals,
including the Sixth Circuit. Moreover, even those courts
that are purporting to follow Bosch are doing so in con-
flicting and inconsistent manners. As a result, disarray on

14 Cf. Paul L. Caron, The Role of State Court Decisions in
Federal Tax Litigation: Bosch, Erie, and Beyond, 71 Or. L. Rev. 781,
784 (1992) (reviewing over 900 tax cases and rulings citing Bosch
and finding “a quarter century of disarray caused by a misread-
ing of the Erie underpinnings of the ‘proper regard’ standard.”)

15 A non-exhaustive list of petitions for certiorari raising
questions about lower courts’ determinations of state law is set
forth in the Appendix. App. 70-72.

22

this issue among the Circuits has developed over the past
quarter-century. This Court should put an end to this
cacophonous din.

Frequent misapplications of the Bosch rule by federal
courts pose a serious threat to fundamental principles of
federalism, and risk undermining the entire Erie doctrine.
As a result of misconstruing the Bosch standard, federal
courts often are engaging in the type of ad hoc decision-
making that was prevalent under the Swift v. Tyson reg-
ime and that the Court in Erie so strongly criticized. Erie,
304 U.S. at 78 (quoting Baltimore & Ohio R.R. Co. v. Baugh,
149 U.S. 368, 401 (1893) (Field, J., dissenting)). Today,
however, instead of invoking “general law” to reach
desired results, many federal courts are making “predic-
tions” as to state law that are (explicitly or implicitly)
nothing more than a reflection of their own views as to
what a state’s law ought to be, divorced from the juris-
prudential traditions of the particular state. The natural
and inevitable outgrowth of such a freestyle judicial
inquiry is the “debilitating uncertainty in the planning of
everyday affairs,” see Hanna v. Plumer, 380 U.S. at 474
(Harlan, J., concurring), and the forum-shopping by fed-
eral litigants that Erie was intended to prevent.

Federal courts’ current freedom to fashion ad hoc
results, under the guise of predicting state law, also is
shifting the balance of power struck by Erie significantly
toward the federal courts and away from the states. Just
last Term, this Court reaffirmed the importance of our
federalist system of dual sovereignty, limiting Congress's
legislative power over purely local matters. See United
States v. Lopez, 115 S. Ct. 1624 (1995). This Court should
now take the opportunity to reaffirm that, under Erie,

—<

23

similar limitations are imposed on the federal judiciary
See Erie, 304 U.S. at 78-79.

Accordingly, the Court should grant certiorari on this
issue, to reject the type of ad hoc predictions of state law
that have been sanctioned by the Sixth, Second and Ninth
Circuits and to make clear its direction to federal courts
that the decisions of lower state courts are presumptively
correct, and should be disregarded only when there is
“persuasive evidence” that they do not accurately reflect
the way in which the state’s highest court would decide
the question. This Court should also reaffirm that any
prediction as to state law particularly one based on
rulings from courts outside the state - must be formu-
lated in the light of, and explicitly evaluated against, that
state’s relevant jurisprudential principles, whether
expressed by lower-court decisions on the issue, other
decisions applying that state’s law to the issue, or by
decisions of the state’s highest court on analogous ques-

tions on the same subject matter

S

24

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for writ of
certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Peter J. Kauis

JOHN M. SyLvesTeR
James E. SCHEUERMANN
Paut K. STOCKMAN
KIRKPATRICK &

LockHart LLP

1500 Oliver Building
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
(412) 355-6500

Davip S. Cupps
MatrTHew J. HATCHADORIAN
STEPHEN J. PeTRAS, JR.
Vorys, SATER, SEYMOUR
AND PEASE
Suite 2100
One Cleveland Center
Cleveland, OH 44114-1724
(216) 479-6100
Attorneys for Petitioner,
The Babcock & Wilcox Company

Rockne L. MOoseLey
Mose.ey & ASSOCIATES
866 Camp Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 523-5220

Attorneys for Joining Petitioner,
McDermott, Inc.

C. GorRDON STARLING, JR.
Gert, SULLIVAN, CAROLL & GIBBENS
430 Notre Dame Street
New Orleans, LA 70130-3610
(504) 524-9714

Attorneys for Joining Petitioner,
Creole Insurance Company, Ltd.

October 31, 1995

App. 1

RECOMMENDED FOR FULL-TEXT PUBLICATION
Pursuant to Sixth Circuit Rule 24
ELECTRONIC CITATION: 1995 FED App. 0151P (6th Cir.)
File Name: 95a0151p.06
Nos. 93-4149/4150

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

THe Bascock & Witcox Company, ) ON ApPEAt
fr :'
Plaintiff-Appellant/ ws ig
Cross-Appellee, _——
) District
v ) Court for the
ARKWRIGHT-BOSTON MANUFACTURING ) ee
MuTUAL INSURANCE Co.; St. Paut } a of
Mercury INSURANCE Co.; AMERICAN -
Home ASSURANCE Co.; AMERICAN
INTERNATIONAL MARINE AGENCY; ALLIANZ
INSURANCE Co.; INSURANCE Co. Of |
NortH AMERICA; CARYL VAUGHN GIBBS, ‘
individually and on behalf of certain |
underwriters of Lloyds of London;
INDEMNITY MARINE ASSURANCE Co., LTD.; |
ENGLISH AND AMERICAN INSURANCE CO.,
Lrp.; INSURANCE Co. oF NortH AMERICA
(UK), Lrv.; C.A. Parr,
Defendants-Appellees/
Cross-Appellants,
CREOLE INSURANCE Co., LTD., )
Defendant-Appellant/
Cross-Appellee,
)
McDermotrt, INc., )
Third-Party Defendant
)

Appellant/Cross-Appellee.

App. 2

Decided and Filed May 17, 1995

Before: KENNEDY and NORRIS, Circuit Judges; TAY-
LOR, District Judge.*

KENNEDY, Circuit Judge. Defendants, a group of
insurance companies, subscribed to an insurance policy
designed to provide excess liability insurance to plaintiff.
Plaintiff filed this declaratory judgment action against
defendants, seeking a judgment that its lower levels of
insurance had been exhausted and that defendants were
now liable under the excess insurance policy. The parties
filed cross-motions for summary judgment, and the Dis-
trict Court granted summary judgment in favor of defen-
dants. Plaintiff now appeals, and we affirm. Defendants
have also filed a cross-appeal, but we find it unnecessary
to reach that issue.

The Babcock & Wilcox Company (“Babcock”) has
manufactured boilers since the nineteenth century. Until
1972, Babcock approved the use of asbestos insulation, as
well as various components containing asbestos, in its
boilers. In 1972, Babcock ceased approving the use of
asbestos insulation, although the use of certain asbestos-
containing components continued until the mid 1980's.

* The Honorable Anna Diggs Taylor, United States District
Judge for the Eastern District of Michigan, sitting by designa-
tion.

App. 3

In 1978, J. Ray McDermott & Company (“McDer-
mott”) acquired Babcock. Beginning in 1979, McDermott
and Babcock jointly purchased excess umbrella liability
insurance coverage. McDermott, with the help of its long-
time broker Adams & Porter, drafted an insurance policy
to satisfy McDermott’s needs. After the two parties final-
ized the language and contents of the policy, Adams &
Porter lined up several insurance companies to “sub-
scribe” to the policy. These insurance companies (collec-
tively, the “Subscribers”) are defendants in the present
action.

The relevant portions of the policy provide as fol-
lows:

1. COVERAGE

Underwriters hereby agree, subject to the limita-
tions, terms and conditions hereinafter men-
tioned, to pay on behalf of the Assured all sums
which the Assured shall be obligated to pay by
reason of their liability imposed upon the
Assured by Federal, State, and Municipal or
other qualified authority or in respect of lia-
bilities assumed by the Assured under contract
or agreement, for “property damage” and “per-
sonal injuries” as defined herein resulting from
an “occurrence” as defined herein.

DEFINITIONS

4. OCCURRENCE

The term “Occurrence,” whenever used herein,
shall mean any happening or series of happen-
ings, arising out of or due to one event taking

App. 4

place during the term of this contract in respect
to all the Assured’s operations.

The dispute in the District Court centered around the
definition of an “occurrence”. This definition is the center
of controversy due to the “buffer layer” established in the
policy. All parties acknowledge that the Subscribers’ pol-
icy does not come into play until the damages for each
occurrence exceed a specified minimum amount.! The
dispute, therefore, centers around how many “occur-
rences” have arisen under the 1979-80 policy.

The policy defines “occurrence”, in part, as a “hap-
pening” that arises out of an “event.” Babcock’s primary
argument before the District Court was that the relevant
“event” is Babcock’s decision to use asbestos in its
boilers, and the “happening” or “series of happenings”
are the injuries suffered by people exposed to the boilers.
While the Subscribers do not take issue with Babcock’s
definition of “happening,” they do strenuously argue that
the “event” is not the decision to use asbestos-containing
components, but rather is each person’s exposure to the
asbestos components.

The District Court did not resolve the “number of
occurrences” issue. Instead, the lower court assumed that
Babcock’s definition of “event” was correct and focused

1 At some points, the parties state that this specified
amount is $2 million, while at other times they indicate that the
amount is $2.5 million. We need not resolve this dispute. If we
find in favor of Babcock, the record clearly indicates they have
paid more than $2.5 million. If we find in favor of Subscribers,
the record contains no evidence suggesting that the damages for
any one “occurrence” (as the Subscribers define it) have
amounted to $2 million.

App. 5

on the last clause of the policy’s definition of an “occur-
rence.” That last clause states “arising out of or due to
one event taking place during the term of this con-
tract....” After reviewing the record, the District Court
concluded that Babcock had not carried its burden of
showing that it made any pertinent decision during the
term of the policy. Accordingly, the District Court granted
summary judgment in favor of the Subscribers. Babcock
now appeals.

II.
A. Trigger of Coverage

Babcock strenuously argues that the District Court
erred in deciding the trigger of coverage issue, as it was
not raised below and was not fully briefed. We disagree.
We have reviewed the material submitted to the District
Court in relation to the cross-motions for summary judg-
ment, and the Subscribers clearly made this argument to
the District Court. The argument was foreshadowed in
early pleadings, and it explicitly appeared in the pleading
entitled “Defendant Subscribers’ Reply Memorandum in
Opposition to Summary Judgment Motions of Babcock &
Wilcox and McDermott.” This pleading was filed with the
District Court on March 5, 1993. A review of the lower
court’s docket sheet shows that Babcock filed at least one
other relevant pleading after that date. On March 12,
1993, Babcock filed its “Reply by Plaintiff Babcock &
Wilcox Co. in Opposition to Defendants’ Cross Motion for
Summary Judgment on Occurrence Issue and in Further
Support of Plaintiffs’ Partial Summary Judgment
Motion.” Thus, the Subscribers clearly placed the trigger
of coverage issue before the District Court, and Babcock

App. 6

had at least one opportunity to respond to that argument.
Accordingly, the District Court did not err in resting its
decision on that ground.

Turning to a review of the merits of this issue, we
start our examination, as did the District Court, with the
assumption that Babcock’s definition of “event” is correct
~ that Babcock’s decision to use asbestos in its boilers is
the relevant cause of the injuries. Babcock argues that this
assumption should essentially end our inquiry, as the
Subscribers have conceded that injuries did occur during
the policy year. Babcock’s argument misses two key
points. First, it totally ignores the dispute over what must
occur during the policy term — the injuries or the event.
Second, it lifts the Subscribers’ alleged “concession” com-
pletely out of context. As we noted above, both parties
agree on the definition of “happening” — the dispute is
over the definition of “event.” The Subscribers’ “conces-
sion” was made in conjunction with their contention that
the relevant “event” was the exposure to asbestos.

We turn then to what must occur during the policy
terms under Babcock’s definition of event. The relevant
portion of the policy states: “The term ‘Occurrence’
whenever used herein, shall mean any happening or
series of happenings, arising out of or due to one event
taking place during the term of this contract in respect to
all the Assured’s operations.” The dispute revolves
around the phrase “taking place during the term of this
contract” and whether the phrase modifies “happening”
or “event.” Babcock argues that the policy requires the
“happening or series of happenings” to occur during the
policy term, as opposed to the “event.”

App. 7

The District Court correctly rejected this interpreta-
tion, and we adopt that portion of his opinion:

Such an interpretation requires the court to
ignore the plain import of the sentence; it would
have this court apply a phrase at the end of the
sentence to a phrase at the beginning of the
sentence without regard to any of the material
which lies between. Given the fact that the tem-
poral restriction follows the term ‘event’ and is
contained in an independent phrase separated
from the description of happening by a comma,
the plain meaning of the sentence is that the
event, not the happening, must occur during the
term of the contract.

During the oral argument on the motions,
plaintiff argued that “there appears to be a
comma missing”... . With regard to the missing
comma theory, the court must confine itself to
the content of the document. This court can no
more decide this case based on phantom punc-
tuation than it could decide this case based on
words and phrases not incorporated in the con-
tract.

At various points in this appeal, Babcock has argued
that the terms of the policy are ambiguous, and, there-
fore, this court should construe the language against the
Subscribers. The Subscribers rebut this argument by
pointing out that Babcock and its insurance broker
selected the terms of the policy. We need not resolve this
dispute. In Ohio, as in most states, a court reviewing an
insurance policy must give all the words and phrases in
the contract “ ‘their natural and commonly accepted
meaning.’ ” Tomlinson v. Skolnik, 540 N.E.2d 716, 718
(Ohio 1989) (quoting Golmolka v. State Auto. Mut. Ins. Co.,

App. 8

436 N.E.2d 1347, 1348 (Ohio 1982). The doctrine of con-
struing the language against the insurance company does
not come into play unless a clause is ambiguous. King v.
Nationwide Ins. Co., 519 N.E.2d 1380, 1384 (Ohio 1988). As
the District Court correctly concluded, the clause at issue
in this case is not ambiguous. Once the “phantom
comma” argument is rejected, the policy clearly requires
that the “event” must take place during the policy term.
That is the only reasonable reading of the clause.

After concluding that the relevant “event” must
occur during the policy term, the District Court held that
Babcock had not made the decision to use asbestos dur-
ing that term. Anticipating that we might uphold the
District Court on the first issue, Babcock contends that
the District Court also erred with respect to the latter
conclusion. This brings us back to the definition of
“event.” For purposes of this issue, we are assuming that
the relevant event is Babcock’s decision to use asbestos in
its boilers. Accordingly, we now turn to the issue of
whether a “decision” occurred during the term of the

policy.

The most obvious use of “decision” would be to
describe an explicit decision by Babcock’s executive offi-
cers or board of directors to continue using asbestos in
the boilers. Babcock, however, has presented no evidence
to show that it formally reconsidered its stance on
asbestos during the term of the policy and decided to
continue using it. Instead, Babcock has offered a number
of theories as to what might constitute the relevant deci-
sion. The first is a “continuing decision” theory; that is,
every time Babcock made or offered to make a boiler with

ee

App. 9

the asbestos components, it remade the “decision”. Bab-
cock has also proffered a “continuing exposure” theory;
that is, during the policy year, thousands of Babcock
boilers containing asbestos were out in the marketplace.
Babcock’s decision to manufacture these boilers put
workers in a situation where, during the policy year, they
were exposed to asbestos. We agree with the District
Court that these theories are not sufficient to establish
that a decision took place during the policy term. In
addition to being strained interpretations of a “decision,”
both of these arguments move away from Babcock’s “one
occurrence” scenario and start to sound remarkably like
the Subscribers’ ”
manufacture of a boiler or each exposure of a worker are

multiple occurrence” theory — each

separate “events” under the policy.

Finally, Babcock contends that even if they have not
shown as a matter of law that a decision was made
during the policy year, they have introduced sufficient
evidence to create a triable issue of fact. We find no merit
to this contention.

B. Number of Occurrences

Although the District Court did not decide the
number of occurrences issue, it was fully briefed below.
We apply de novo review to a grant of summary judgment
and may affirm a grant of summary judgment on grounds
other than those used by the lower court. See, e.g., Baggs
v. Eagle-Picher Indus. Inc., 957 F.2d 268, 273 (6th Cir.), cert.
denied, 113 S. Ct. 466 (1992). Consequently we have cho-
sen to address the “number of occurrences” issue.

App. 10

To reiterate, the policy defines “occurrence” as “any
happening or series of happenings, arising out of or due
to one event taking place during the term of this con-
tract... . ” The parties essentially agree that, in the
present context, the “happening or series of happenings”
mentioned in the policy refers to the actual injury or
disease suffered by a person exposed to the asbestos in
Babcock’s boilers. The parties, however, differ drastically
in their definition of “event.” According to Babcock, the
“event” is Babcock’s decision to use asbestos in its
boilers. According to the Subscribers, the relevant
“event” is each worker’s exposure to the asbestos in the
boilers. Thus, Babcock’s definition of “event” would
result in a finding of one occurrence. The Subscribers’
definition, however, would result in many occurrences
under the policy. Disputes over insurance policies are
fundamentally contract disputes. As we discussed above,
Ohio law requires that we look first to the language of the
contract in trying to resolve the parties’ dispute. We can
go behind the face of the policy only if we determine that
the controverted language is unclear or ambiguous.

The parties have directed our attention to a number
of cases to assist us in construing the relevant language.
Many of the cases cited by Babcock would superficially
appear to support their position that only one occurrence
exists. A closer look, however, reveals that the resolution
of these cases turned on a definition of “occurrence”
different from the one in the policy at issue. Of the cases
cited by the parties, only three interpret definitions that
are significantly similar to the one at bar. These are
Norfolk & Western Ry. Co. v. Accident & Casualty Ins. Co.,
796 F. Supp. 929 (W.D. Va. 1992), aff'd. in part and dismissed

App. 11

in part as moot, 41 F.3d 928 (4th Cir. 1994); Pittsburgh
Corning Corp. v. Travelers Indemnity Co., No. 84-3985, 1988
WL 5302 (E.D. Penn. Jan. 21, 1988); and Northern Shipping
Co. v. Arkwright Boston Mfg. Mut. Ins. Co., 617 F. Supp. 136
(E.D. Penn.), aff'd., 774 F.2d 1152 (3d Cir. 1985).

Only one of these cases, Pittsburgh Corning, involved
asbestos. Pittsburgh Corning manufactured a product
known as Unibestos. The insurance policy defined
“occurrence” as “one happening or a series of happenings
arising out of or resulting from one event taking place
during the term of this policy.” Travelers argued that the
cause of all injuries was Pittsburgh Corning’s manufac-
ture and sale of asbestos. The court rejected that argu-
ment, stating

Pittsburgh Corning is being sued by thousands
of claimants alleging exposure to Unibestos on
hundreds of job sites, on thousands of different
dates, and under a variety of conditions over a
period of six years. Not everyone exposed to
asbestos is affected and not all claimants were
exposed under the same circumstances or to the
same lot of asbestos. I hold that the ‘cause’ of
the injuries in question is the exposure of each
individual to asbestos. That exposure thus con-
stitutes an occurrence for the purposes of deter-
mining the number of occurrences.

1988 WL 5302 at *2.

In Norfolk & Western Railway, the railroad brought an
action against its excess insurer seeking to force the
insurer to pay for claims arising out of noise-induced
hearing loss. Again, the policy’s definition of an “occur-
rence” is substantially the same as the definition in the

App. 12

policy at issue in this case. The railroad attempted to
argue that only one “event” existed under the policy — the
railroad’s failure to protect its employees from excessive
noise. The court rejected this argument, declaring:

The difficulty that the court has with this argu-
ment is that it leads to a result which would
defy common sense. The typical single occur-
rence giving rise to multiple claims is the auto-
mobile accident which gives rise to a chain of
events which results in injury to several par-
ties... . In this case, a wide variety of machines
in a number of different locations created a vari-
ety of sounds over the course of a number of
years. Railroad employees working near these
machines suffered injury to their hearing as a
result of exposure to these sounds. . . . While the
railroad’s negligence may indeed have been a
cause of the injuries, calling that negligence the
single occurrence out of which the claims arose
is nonsensical.

The railroad’s argument allows the cause
test to sweep too broadly and arrives at a result
which defies common sense. . . .

796 F. Supp. at 937. The court in Northern Shipping
reached a similar conclusion, holding that the immediate
cause of the injury was the relevant “event” for purposes
of the policy, rather than a more remote cause. 617 F.
Supp. at 138-39.

We find the reasoning of these three courts persua-
sive and agree with their result. Consequently, we reject
Babcock’s definition of “event.” As Babcock relies exclu-
sively on its proffered definition to support its theory for

App. 13

recovery, the District Court correctly granted summary
judgment in favor of the Subscribers.2

C. Failure to Warn

Creole Insurance Company, which provides an inter-
mediate layer of excess insurance, was joined as an indis-
pensable party to this action. After the District Court
granted summary judgment in favor of the Subscribers,
Creole filed a motion to alter or amend the judgment. In
that motion, Creole argued that a relevant “event” had
indeed occurred during the policy term, and that the
event was Babcock’s failure to warn its customers about
the dangers of asbestos. The District Court denied Cre-
ole’s motion, and Creole now appeals.

We need not address either the procedural posture or
the merits of Creole’s motion. Even if Creole is right, that
only affects our holding on the “trigger of coverage”
issue. It leaves undisturbed our primary holding that the
relevant “event” is exposure to asbestos, not a more
remote cause such as Babcock’s decision to use asbestos
or its failure to warn. Consequently, Creole’s argument
would not change the outcome of this suit, and we there-
fore decline to address it.

Babcock also argues that the District Court’s conclusion
leads to an absurd result because it creates a gap in coverage
between the primary and excess layers of insurance. That result,
however, is the logical one based on the language of the policy.
The District Court did not “create” a gap. Rather, it simply
recognized that the parties had drafted contract language that
led to such a gap.

App. 14

D. Choice of Law

In the event we reversed the District Court, the Sub-
scribers cross-appealed the District Court’s choice of law
decision. As we have affirmed the lower court, we need
not reach this issue.

For the foregoing reasons, we AFFIRM the judgment
of the District Court.

iit ce i te

App. 15

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO
EASTERN DIVISION

THE BABCOCK & WILCOX CO., ) CASE NO.
Plninnit ) 5:91CV0987
: )
: ; Judge
ia ) Sam H. Bell
ARKWRIGHT-BOSTON ) pie
MANUFACTURING MUTUAL ) pn a
INSURANCE CO., et al. ; (Filed
Defendants. ) Aug. 19, 1993)
)

As this court has previously stated, it has before it a
plethora of motions to dispose of this cause in one man-
ner or another. It is neither necessary nor beneficial to
discuss any of these in this order because they address
issues analytically distant from the primary question to
be resolved. In reaching the conclusions stated below, the
court relied on voluminous evidentiary supplements and
detailed briefs, and, as well, the well-organized and artic-
ulate presentations of counsel made during hearings on
the first set of motions. The cross motions for summary
judgment on the occurrence issue are, however, imme-
diately relevant.

All parties appear to agree that this matter is prop-
erly resolvable at this stage. Counsel for plaintiff explic-
itly advised the court to “rule based on the policy itself.”
(Hearing Transcript at 87.) Likewise, counsel for the
defendants, summarizing the posture of the case,
explained: “[T]here appears to be unanimous consent

App. 16

there are no material fact disputes. The parties’ disagree-
ments in this case . . . boil down to the legal standard by
which the policies should be interpreted, the manner in
which it should be interpreted.” (T. at 33.)

BACKGROUND
I. Adams & Porter Policy Number 8658.

Defendants in this action are subscribers to a policy
of quota share excess umbrella insurance written by
Adams & Porter (hereinafter, “the Policy”). The Policy
generally provides excess liability insurance for J. Ray
McDermott & Co., Inc. and its subsidiaries and affiliates.
McDermott is the owner of plaintiff Babcock & Wilcox
Company. The Policy which is the subject of this suit was
effective between April 1, 1979 and April 1, 1980 (“the
Policy term”).

According to the terms of the Policy, the Underwri-
ters agreed:

to pay on behalf of the Assured all sums which
the Assured shall be obligated to pay by reason
of their liability imposed upon the Assured by
Federal, State, and Municipal or other qualified
authority or in respect of such liabilities
assumed by the Assured under contract or
agreement, for “property damage” and “per-
sonal injuries” as defined herein resulting from

an “occurrence” as defined herein.

A limit of liability provision renders the Underwriters
liable only when the claims arising from a single occur-
rence exceed $2.5 million. This limit functions in many
respects in the manner of a deductible feature. The

App. 17

Underwriters are not liable for more than $20 million for
claims arising from a single occurrence.

The term “personal injury” is broadly defined to
mean “bodily injury (including death at any time result-
ing therefrom), . . . sickness, [or] disease.”

The critical term on which the parties focus is “occur-
rence” defined by the Policy as follows:

The term ‘occurrence’, whenever used herein,
shall mean any happening or series of happen-
ings, arising out of or due to one event taking
place during the term of this contract in respect
to all the Assured’s operations.”

II. Babcock & Wilcox’ History.

Plaintiff has been in the business of manufacturing
and servicing boilers since the mid-1800s.! An 1884 con-
tract contains the first reference to asbestos use by plain-
tiff. By 1895, contracts provide evidence that plaintiff was
specifying the use of asbestos-containing gaskets. (Dilling
depo. at 23.) According to plaintiff, the word ‘specifica-
tion’ as used here, means that customers were informed
that if they selected asbestos as a product material, B&W
would agree to and approve the use of asbestos. While at
an earlier time asbestos was commonly used as an insu-
lating material in boiler assemblies, the choice dictating
the use of that material was first and foremost the choice

! Plaintiff produced Marcia J. Dilling for purposes of testi-
fying on plaintiff’s historic use of asbestos. Ms. Dilling is a
product technical representative for plaintiff and reviewed
numerous contracts and other documents in preparation for her
deposition.

App. 18

of the client. But there is no question that B&W did, in
fact, furnish asbestos-protected boiler units conjunctive
with the role of installer of its boiler units. (Dilling at
26-30.)

After a boiler product is designed, utilizing standard
documents which contain plaintiff's specifications, the
boiler is fabricated. Fabrication may be done by plaintiff's
employees, an outside contractor, or a combination of
both. The fabricated components are then sent to the
boiler site, be that a building, factory, power plant, or
shipyard, and there installed. The insulation is usually
installed at the boiler site as well. The installation may be
executed by plaintiff or by third parties who receive the
plaintiff’s specifications and the fabricated components.
(Dilling at 43-44.)

In 1972, according to plaintiff’s witness, plaintiff
stopped recommending the use of asbestos as an insula-
tor. (Dilling at 38.) This decision is apparently reflected in
what the witness refers to as “standard documents.” (Dil-
ling at 38.) These documents “specify what B&W
approves.” (Dilling at 46.) Customers could still seek to
substitute a different component if they so chose. For
example, while plaintiff stopped generally specifying
asbestos-containing gaskets-in 1983, one division contin-
ued to specify such gaskets until 1987. Indeed, that par-
ticular division continued to utilize asbestos-containing
gaskets as a replacement part until 1992 for one customer
who continued to request them. (Dilling at 56.) Plaintiff
stopped specifying asbestos braid in the early 1980s. (Dil-
ling at 58.)

App. 19

The decision to curtail specification of asbestos as an
insulator and as asbestos-containing cement appears to
have been motivated by two forces. First, in 1970,
asbestos was put on a toxic substance list. Second, an
increasing number of plaintiff’s clients requested a
replacement for asbestos. Thus, concern about toxicity
and response to market preferences (which may them-
selves have been dictated by concern about toxicity) led
to the change in specification in the early 70s. (Dilling at
61.)

Ill. The 1979-1980 Asbestos Claims.

The parties have entered into a number of stipula-
tions which effectively define the nature of the claims for
which plaintiff now seeks indemnification from the sub-
scribers to the Policy. First, the asbestos-related bodily
injury claims submitted “arise from liabilities imposed
upon B&W by various federal, state, and/or municipal
courts, and/or under settlement agreements entered into
by B&W.” (Docket #246 at 9.) Second, the asbestos-
related claims submitted under the Policy are personal
injury claims as defined in the Policy.

Third, the claims are described as “claims for per-
sonal injuries, which are alleged to have occurred in part
or in whole, during the Policy period of April 1, 1979 to
April 1, 1980 (the ‘Policy Period’).” Id. at 9-10.2 From

* The term “occurrence” has a highly specific meaning
within the context of this cause. The parties have not argued
that “occurred” is used in the stipulation as a term uniquely
defined by the Policy. Rather, it appears that “occurred” is
utilized in the stipulation in its generic, everyday sense.

App. 20

Plaintiff's briefing, it appears that the claims were made
by third parties who, during the Policy Period, were
exposed to asbestos-containing products manufactured
by plaintiff. None of the individual asbestos-related
bodily injury claims filed against B&W exceed $2.5 mil-
lion. The aggregate total of the asbestos-related bodily-
injury claims based on exposure to asbestos-containing
boilers during the Policy Period does exceed $2.5 million.

STANDARD OF REVIEW

In reviewing a motion for summary judgment, a
court must consider the pleadings, related documents,
evidence, and all reasonable inferences in a manner most
favorable to the non-moving party. Adickes v. S. H. Kress &
Co., 398 U.S. 144, 90 S.Ct. 1598, 86 L.Ed.2d 142 (1970);
Smith v. Hudson, 600 F.2d 60 (6th Cir. 1979). Rule 56
provides, in relevant part, as follows:

|

The judgment sought shall be rendered forth-
with if the pleadings, depositions, answers to
interrogatories, and admissions on file, together
with affidavits, if any, show that there is no
genuine issue as to any material fact and that
the moving party is entitled to judgment as a
matter of law.

) ea

When a motion for summary judgment is made
and supported as provided in this rule, an
adverse party may not rest upon the mere alle-
gations or denials of the adverse party’s plead-
ing, but the adverse party’s response, by

we «i tha he hi PSA Mit te CANN TB NE 8 ee Saat teat tate Nl anil Nieik tts lis Mal tine

Dee ie Oe ne a Oe eee ae cee

App. 21

affidavits or as otherwise provided in this rule,

must set forth specific facts showing that there
is a genuine issue for trial.

Three Supreme Court cases have provided guidance
as to the nature of the respective burdens allocated under
Rule 56. See Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 106 S.Ct.
2548, 91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986); Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,
477 U.S. 242, 106 S.Ct. 2502, 91 L.Ed.2d 202 (1986); Mat-
sushita Electric Industrial Co., Ltd. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475
U.S. 574, 106 S.Ct. 1348, 89 L.Ed.2d 538 (1986). The ulti-
mate burden lies with the non-moving party to show the
existence of a genuine issue of material fact. “When the
moving party has carried its burden under Rule 56(c), its
opponent must do more than simply show that there is
some metaphysical doubt as to the material facts . . . In
the language of the Rule, the non-moving party must
come forward with ‘specific facts showing that there is a
genuine issue for trial.’ Fed. Rule Civ. Proc. 56(e).” Mat-
sushita, 475 U.S. at 586-587 (emphasis supplied). “In our
view, the plain language of Rule 56(c) mandates the entry
of summary judgment, after adequate time for discovery
and upon motion, against a party who fails to make a
showing sufficient to establish the existence of an element
essential to that party’s case, and on which that party will
bear the burden of proof at trial.” Celotex, 477 U.S. at 322.
The court in Anderson held that “the plaintiff must pre-
sent affirmative evidence in order to defeat a properly
supported motion for summary judgment. This is true
even where the evidence is likely to be within the posses-
sion of the defendant, as long as the plaintiff had a full

opportunity to conduct discovery.” Anderson, 477 US. at
257.

App. 22

On the other hand, the moving party’s burden under
Rule 56 is lighter.

Of course, a party seeking summary judgment
always bears the initial responsibility of inform-
ing the district court of the basis for its motion,
and identifying those portions of the “plead-
ings, depositions, answers to interrogatories,
and admissions on file, together with the affi-
davits, if any,” which it believes demonstrate the
absence of a genuine issue of material fact. But
unlike the Court of Appeals, we find no express
or implied requirement in Rule 56 that the mov-
ing party support its motion with affidavits or
other similar materials negating the opponent's
claim. On the contrary, Rule 56(c) . . . suggests
the absence of such a requirement.

Celotex, supra, at 323 (emphasis supplied).

The Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals, in Street v. J. C.
Bradford and Co., 886 F.2d 1472 (6th Cir. 1989) recently
reviewed court decisions and commentary regarding the
impact of Anderson, Celotex, and Matsushita on summary
judgment practice. The court concluded that a “new era”
in summary judgment practice has opened in the court
system as a result of these opinions.

Scholars and courts are in agreement that a
“new era” in summary judgments dawned by
virtue of the Court’s opinions in these cases

. . On the whole, these decisions reflect a
salutary return to the original purpose of sum-
mary judgments. Over the years, decisions
requiring denial of summary judgment if there
was even a suggestion of an issue of fact and

App. 23

tended to emasculate summary judgment as an
effective procedural device.

Street, supra, at 1476.

The court enunciated the following “new era” princi-
ples, among others: as on federal directed verdict
motions, the “scintilla” rule applies, i.e., the respondent
must adduce more than a scintilla of evidence to over-
come the motion; the respondent cannot rely on the hope
that the trier of fact will disbelieve the movant’s denial of
a disputed fact, but must “present affirmative evidence in
order to defeat a properly supported motion for summary
judgment”; the trial court no longer has the duty to
search the entire record to establish that it is bereft of a
genuine issue of material fact. Id. at 1479-1480 (footnotes
and citations omitted).

LAW AND ANALYSIS

This cause is governed by Ohio law. Under Ohio law,
an insurance policy is a contract governed by general
rules of contract law. Hybud Equip. Corp. v. Sphere Drake
Ins. Co., 64 Ohio St. 3d 657, 665 (1992), cert. denied 113 S.
Ct. 1585 (1993). The cardinal rule of construction is that if
an insurance contract is clear and unambiguous, the con-
tract must be interpreted in accordance with its plain
meaning. Hybud Equip., 64 Ohio St. 3d at 665. This long-
followed rule is designed to prevent a court from rewrit-
ing an insurance policy otherwise susceptible to only one
reasonable interpretation. National Life Ins. Co. v. Ray, 117
Ohio St. 13, 22 (1927) (“Insurance policies, like other
written contracts, mean what they say and all they say.
They are written for the protection of both parties

App. 24

thereto, and all others interested in the policies. If such
policies are not to be enforced as written, they might as
well not be written at all.”) The intention of the parties
must be derived from the whole contract, not by focuss-
ing [sic] on any one part. Tomlinson v. Skolnick, 44 Ohio St.
3d 11, 13 (1989).

I. Plaintiff's Construction and Application of the Policy.

In the instant cause, plaintiff claims that the third-
party asbestos-related personal injuries collectively con-
stitute one series of happenings arising out of one event
and therefore, collectively constitute one occurrence.
Such a construction of the Policy could trigger coverage
under the Policy because, while no single asbestos-related
injury claim against plaintiff exceeds $2.5 million, the
aggregate of asbestos-related injury claims does far
exceed the “deductible.”

Plaintiff reaches its interpretation by applying certain
meanings to the terms which define “occurrence”. First,
plaintiff claims that “happening or series of happenings”
is synonymous with the harm for which plaintiff is
indemnified — personal and bodily injures. Second, plain-
tiff claims that “event” means the tortious act which
ultimately caused the personal injury. Third, plaintiff
claims that the phrase “series of happenings” specifically
indicates that multiple injuries sharing a common cause
should be aggregated as a single occurrence. Finally,

3 Defendant subscribers have also moved for summary
judgment based on a series of affirmative defenses. It is unnec-
essary to analyze the merits of those motions.

Nesl Rinne ti on

pean }

App. 25

plaintiff asserts that only the personal injury must occur
during the Policy term.

Applied to this case, plaintiff argues that the
asbestos-related diseases for which claimants filed
actions against plaintiff are a series of happenings. Plain-
tiff defines the one event out of which these injuries arose
as plaintiff’s decision to specify asbestos-continuing com-
ponents in the design, fabrication, assembly and servic-
ing of boilers. Plaintiff claims that because part of the
injury to the claimants occurred during the Policy term,
the claims satisfy the temporal requirements of the Policy.

After noting that a chief source in interpreting policy
language is case law, plaintiff offers a variety of cases to
support its interpretation and application of the Policy.
According to plaintiff, this court should follow the
instruction that “the Court’s inquiry is whether there was
one proximate, uninterrupted and continuing cause
which resulted in all the injuries and damages.” Owens-
Illinois, Inc. v. Aetna Casualty and Sur. Co., 597 F. Supp.
1515, 1527 (D.D.C.) (applying Ohio law). Plaintiff cites an
Ohio opinion which concluded: “[A manufacturer’s] deci-
sion to manufacture and distribute asbestos-containing
brake components constitutes the single-occurrence out
of which the ‘asbestos claims’ arose.” Morton Thiokol, Inc.
v. Aetna Casualty and Sur. Co., No. A-8603799, slip op.
(Hamilton Cty. C.P. Dec. 28, 1988). Finally, plaintiff cites a
variety of opinions and annotations which demonstrate
that other courts have held that a single occurrence arises
from the continuing manufacture and sale of asbestos-
containing products. See e.g., Air Prods. & Chem. v. Hart-
ford Accident and Indem. Co., 707 F. Supp. 762, 777 (E.D. Pa.
1988).

App. 26

Defendants concur in interpreting the happening as
the injury or damage for which coverage is sought.
Defendants interpret the event to be the accident or fortu-
itous incident that gives rise to or causes the injury or
damage. Defendant also argues that the ‘event’ must take
place during the Policy period. This interpretation, in
conjunction with certain contentions arising from the
facts, lead defendants to a different conclusion.

First, defendants contend that the use of asbestos by
plaintiff can not be characterized as an event taking place
during the Policy period. Second, defendants contend
that even if the use of asbestos is an event within the
Policy period, it would not be an insurable event since the
injuries were not fortuitous — by 1979, plaintiff knew of
the harms from asbestos-exposure. In light of these con-
tentions, defendants believe that the only plausible inter-
pretation of the Policy is that the event is the exposure of
an individual to asbestos and that the happening is the
injury sustained by the individual due to the exposure.

II. Interpretation of ‘Occurrence’ Definition.

As presented, plaintiff’s interpretation of the defini-
tion of ‘occurrence’ is problematic. Such an interpretation
is predicated on a strained reading of the temporal
restriction in the Policy. Plaintiff claims that the definition
of ‘occurrence’ does not require that the event which is
the cause of the personal injury occur during the Policy
term and further claims that the Policy requires that the
happening, that is the injury, occur during the Policy

App. 27

term. It is believed that such an interpretation is inconsis-
tent with the plain meaning of the definition and is also
inconsistent with apparently accepted practice in the
insurance industry.

Broken into its components, the definition of occur-
rence has four relevant parts: “[1] any happening or
series of happenings, [2] arising out of or due to [3] one
event [4] taking place during the term of this contract.”
Plaintiff’s analysis focusses primarily upon the first and
third portions of the definition.

Such an interpretation requires the court to ignore
the plain import of the sentence; it would have this court
apply a phrase at the end of the sentence to a phrase at
the beginning of the sentence without regard to any of
the material which lies between. Given the fact that the
temporal restriction follows the term ‘event’ and is con-
tained in an independent phrase separated from the
description of happening by a comma, the plain meaning
of the sentence is that the event, not the happening, must
occur during the term of the contract.

During the oral argument on the motions, plaintiff
argued that “there appears to be a comma missing” and
that “[t]his definition was written by the insurance indus-
try and they could have drafted a clearer definition.” (T.
at 9-10.) With regard to the missing comma theory, the
court must confine itself to the content of the document.
This court can no more decide this case based on phan-
tom punctuation than it could decide this case based on
words and phrases not incorporated in the contract.

As for the clarity of this provision, it should be noted
that plaintiff initially argued that the provision is clearly

App. 28

and unambiguously in its favor. (Docket #267 at 13
(“[T]he Subscriber policy is not ambiguous.”)) But the
same party also argues that if the passage is not inter-
preted in its favor, the passage must be ambiguous and
unclear. (T. at 9.) As a substantive matter, the court is of
the opinion that the provision is clear and unambiguous.
Plaintiff's own arguments reinforce this conclusion.

Beyond the plain grammar, plaintiff strenuously
argues that the Policy is what is called an occurrence
policy, as distinguished from a claims-made policy or an
accident policy. (Hearing Trans. at 8.) This construction of
the Policy is consistent with the interpretation by another
court in regard to a policy with a substantially similar
occurrence definition. Pacific Resources, Inc. v. American
Bureau of Shipping, 1984 WL 928 (S.D.N.Y. 1984). The
Pacific Resources court explained the difference between
an occurrence policy and a claims-made policy:

The Bumbershoot policy is an ‘occurrence’ as
opposed to a ‘claims made’ policy; it protects
the policy holder from liability for any act done
while the policy is in effect, whereas a ‘claims
made’ policy protects the holder against claims
made during the life of the policy. St. Paul Fire &
Marine Ins. Co. v. Barry, 438 U.S. 531, 535 n.3
(1978). Thus, a shipowner/operator who oper-
ated for only one year, say in 1975, would only
need one 1975 ‘occurrence’ policy, but would
require several years of ‘claims made’ policies to
protect itself from claims arising out of acts in
1975. See St. Paul Fire, 555 F.2d 3, 5 n.1 (1st Cir.
1977).

Pacific Shipping at 4. See also Kaiser v. Wood, 1992 WL 2538
*3 (Ohio App. 1992) (distinguishing claims made policy);

App. 29

Chicago Insur. Co. v. Mills, 1989 WL 50668 *2 (Ohio App.
1989) (noting that- an occurrence policy is “one which
covers only acts which occurred during the policy’s
term.”); Mitchell v. Continental Casualty Co., 1981 WL 2945
*3 (Ohio App. 1981) (“in an ‘occurrence’ policy the cover-
age is effective if the negligent or omitted act occurred
during the period of the policy, whatever the date of
discovery.”)

Under plaintiff’s interpretation, the Policy only pro-
tects the assured in the event an injury occurs during the
policy year. However, if, for example, an assured manu-
factured a defective boiler in 1979 and it did not explode
until 1982, because the injury did not occur during the
term of the contract, the injury would not be insured. In
effect, under this interpretation, an assured is required to
secure a series of policies to adequately indemnify itself.
Such a practice is directly inconsistent with the usual
interpretation and intent of an occurrence policy.

On the other hand, by interpreting the contract to
require that the event, that is the causative act, occur
during the term of the contract, the policy is consistent
with the usual meaning and import of an occurrence
policy. In sum, plaintiff’s interpretation is both contrary
to plain meaning and, on its face, not reasonable consid-
ering the policy as a whole. To prevail, plaintiff must
show that the claims for which it seeks payment from the
Subscribers are for injuries which arose from a common
event which took place during the Policy term.

Through the extensive course of briefing, defendants
articulated a variety of arguments in opposition to plain-
tiff’s claim. Eventually, defendants’ argument evolved to

App. 30

the position that, first, the court must rule that the com-
mon event had to occur during the Policy period. Second,
defendants argued, even if this court accepts the general
meaning of the other terms propounded by plaintiff, the
instant cause must be dismissed because plaintiff can not
show that the claims arose from a common event which
arose during the Policy term. This argument has the
attractive quality of simplicity. Rather than analyze the
depth of defendants’ substantive objections to plaintiff's
general interpretation of the Policy, this court, having
accepted defendants’ specific objection to plaintiff’s inter-
pretation of the temporal requirement, shall focus its
analysis on the question of the common event. If no
common event occurred during the Policy period, plain-
tiff’s claim must necessarily fail.

Ill. Decisional Continuum as Causative “Event”.

Plaintiff argues that all asbestos-related bodily injury
claims were necessarily caused by the decision to specify
and use asbestos in manufacturing and repairing boilers
and boiler components.* Accordingly, the court is asked
to accept that asbestos-related personal injuries arise
from or are due to that decision. In effect, the decision is
the “event”. However, no evidence linking the injuries to

* [T]he event is the continuing decision to use or per-
mit the use of asbestos in the boilers; the happenings
or the series of happenings are the injuries.

But even if you do find that the event has to occur
in the policy year, in this case the event is a continu-
ing decision and it also occurred during the policy
year.

(Tr. at 10.)

App. 31

a decision made during the Policy term was presented.
Rather, the injuries are linked to the decision to use and
specify asbestos in general, not to any decision to use or
specify the use of asbestos specifically made during the
Policy term.

Plaintiff has argued that the Policy is an occurrence
policy. The court concurs. As an occurrence policy, it is
irrelevant when an injury occurs. To the contrary, an
occurrence policy is explicitly designed to insure when-
ever an injury occurred. Otherwise, as previously noted,
the assured would have to secure a series of policies into
an indefinite future to secure adequate insurance.

Applying this theory to a more conventional product
liability context, if an assured decided to use a defective
valve in a boiler in 1940 and continued to specify that
valve in boilers until 1980, the insurer for 1975 would -be
liable for an explosion in 1975 of a 1945 boiler even
though the decisions relating to the exploded boiler were
made thirty-five years before the policy was written. On
the other hand, once the assured ceases to specify the
defective valve, no insurer is liable for subsequent explo-
sions of the defective boilers. Thus, it can be seen that
this theory works the opposite of an occurrence policy. In
an occurrence policy, no matter when an injury occurs,
the claim is referred back to the policy in force at the time
the injury was caused. Under plaintiff’s theory, an injury
is referred forward to the policy in effect when the injury
occurs regardless of when the injury was caused. As
previously noted, plaintiff’s counsel argued that the Pol-
icy is an occurrence policy, not some kind of hybrid
“injury-occurred” policy. This court concurs with that
construction.

App. 32

Under the terms of the Policy, when an injury is
inflicted is irrelevant to the occurrence definition. The
timing of the cause of the injury is relevant. The court
must reject plaintiff’s argument that an individual injured
by asbestos during the Policy term because of a decision
to specify asbestos before the Policy term has an injury
arising from an event during the Policy term. Plaintiff
must demonstrate that the injuries were caused by an
event in 1979-1980. To hold otherwise would substantially
rewrite a critical passage of the contract.

A number of opinions were cited in the briefs and at
the hearing. Of these, only two definitely deal with how
Ohio courts would interpret the contested provisions. The
remaining cases are cited to support less controversial
issues.

Owens-Illinois is attacked by defendants because it
has come under sharp criticism in subsequent opinions.
See Norfolk & Western Rwy. Co. v. Accident & Cas. Ins. Co.,
796 F. Supp. 929 (W.D. Va. 1992), appeal pending. It is not
necessary to resolve the continued vitality of Owens-Illi-
nois because the case addresses a fundamentally different
legal issue from that posed herein.

The definition of “occurrence” interpreted in Owens-
Illinois provided:

“occurrence” means an accident, including inju-
rious exposure to conditions, which results, while
this policy is in force, in personal injury, property
damage or advertising offense which is neither
expected nor intended from the standpoint of
the insured.

a es

Sg hate

App. 33

Owens-Illinois, 597 F. Supp. at 1529 (emphasis added). In
contrast to the Policy here, the Owens-Illinois policy is
triggered by a result, that is an injury, occurring during
the policy term. It is irrelevant when the injury was
caused under the Owens-Illinois policy. Whether or not
the D.C. District correctly applied Ohio law in Owens-
Illinois is largely irrelevant since, even if its interpretation
were appropriate in that case, it is not appropriate in the
instant case which involves a policy with a substantially
different definition.

Morton Thiokol v. Aetna is also unhelpful. Morton
Thiokol sought partial summary judgment against Aetna
as to Asbestos Claims Premiums. The Court of Common
Pleas, after listing the documents it read in conjunction
with the motion, declared that there were no issues of
material fact. Beyond that, the court merely held: “Mor-
ton Thiokol’s corporate decision to manufacture and dis-
tribute asbestos-containing brake components constitutes
the single occurrence out of which the ‘asbestos claims’
arose.” Morton Thiokol, slip op. at 1. The record does not
contain any reference to when the corporate decision was
made or how corporate product design occurred.

An Ohio Court of Appeals reversed the court of
Common Pleas in a related case involving this same
policy. The Court of Appeals ruled that the trial court
erred in applying Ohio law. Motion Int'l, Inc. v. Aetna Cas.
& Sur. Co., 1991 WL 201651, 6 (Ohio App. 1991). In that
opinion, the appellate court noted that the policy defined
an-“occurrence” as “an accident, including continuous or
repeated exposure to conditions, which results in bodily
injury or property damage neither expected nor intended
from the standpoint of the insured.” Id. at 3. The policy

App. 34

language which forms the foundation for any interpreta-
tion was again substantially different from the Policy
involved in the instant suit. Likewise, given the cryptic
order of the trial court upon which plaintiff relies, it is
impossible to determine whether the decision is based on
an underlying factual predicate which is at all analogous
to the instant cause.

An Ohio appellate court has applied a “continuous
event” theory of causation to at least one case involving
an occurrence policy of excess liability insurance. See
Phoenix Phase I Assoc. v. Ginsberg, Guren & Merritt, 23 Ohio
App. 3d 1 (1985). Phoenix involved malpractice by a law
firm involved in a real estate deal. The court held that the
liability should be apportioned between a 1972-73 and a
1973-74 insurance policy because, while the decision to
endorse the deal occurred during the first policy, all
investors were also harmed by the firm’s equally negli-
gent failure to explain certain remedies available to upset
investors during the second policy. Id. at 3. The case is
noteworthy because the Ohio court did not merely rely
on the fact that the firm did not change its initial negli-
gent decision but rather the court emphasized an inde-
pendent negligent act which took place during the second
policy period.

As a matter of law, it is apparent that given the
specific language of the Policy and the general approach
to this area of excess insurance, an Ohio court would
require plaintiff to point to some act taking place during
the Policy period as a contractual predicate to Subscriber
liability.

App. 35

CONCLUSION

In interpreting the Policy, this court is constrained by
the terms to which the parties agreed. When those words
have a single, plain meaning, this court must apply that
meaning. The definition of occurrence contained in the
Policy plainly requires that an occurrence is all injuries
caused by an event which took place during the term of
the contract. Even accepting, arguendo, any definition of a
decision as the causative event, the evidence in this case
does not relate the claims to any specific decision made
during any identifiable period, let alone to a decision
made during the Policy term. As such, the claims can not
be said to implicate the liability of the Subscribers. Defen-
dants’ motion for summary judgment (docket #271) is
hereby GRANTED.

IT IS SO ORDERED.
/s/ Sam H. Bell

SAM H. BELL
U. S. DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 36

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO
EASTERN DIVISION

THE BABCOCK & WILCOX CO., ) CASE NO.

Plaintiff, 5:91CV0987
; : Judge

" ) Sam H. Bell
ARKWRIGHT-BOSTON ) pea

MANUFACTURING MUTUAL ?
INSURANCE CO., et al. ; (Filed
Defendants. ) Aug. 19, 1993)

This Court having filed its order of decision of the
matters in this action, therefore, pursuant to Fed. R. Civ.
P. 58, IT IS ORDERED that this action is hereby termi-
nated.

Further, the court instructs the parties to make provi-
sion with the Clerk’s Office to effect prompt removal of
the affidavits filed under seal with the Clerk.

/s/ Sam H. Bell
SAM H. BELL
U. S. DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 37

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO
EASTERN DIVISION

THE BABCOCK & WILCOX CO., ) CASE NO.
Plaintiff, 5:91C V0987
<7
. . Judge
ie ) Sam H. Bell
ARKWRIGHT-BOSTON ) oa
MANUFACTURING MUTUAL ? ER
INSURANCE CO., et al. (Filed
Defendants. ) April 9, 1993)

Pending before the court are a variety of motions and
cross-motions for partial and complete summary judg-
ment. These motions are accompanied by a voluminous
factual record. It is immediately apparent that these
motions and the accompanying exhibits raise substantial
factual and legal questions. It is not, however, imme-
diately clear that the factual questions are material ques-
tions of fact which should be reserved for a jury’s
consideration. To the contrary, at various points in the
briefs of both sides, the parties argue that the instant
cause is ripe for resolution based on the motions.

The current posture of this case presents a variety of
legal, factual, and practical difficulties for the court. Now
before the court is an array of motions for summary
judgment, partial summary judgment cross-motions for
summary and partial summary judgment and interlock-
ing reply/responses. Accompanying this torrent of legal
argument and authority is an ocean of evidence filed in
the form of appendices. These latter volumes include
extensive deposition excepts, sample contracts, actual

App. 38

contracts, drafting history, correspondence, notes, unre-
ported cases and even a decades old thesis on excess
liability insurance. The record now contains approx-
imately 1,500 pages of supplemental material which the
court is expected to consider and comprehend.

Considering the entirety of this material is both time
consuming and frustrating given the desireability [sic] of
reaching a prompt resolution of this matter. But because
of the literal mass of the material submitted, we have
only now come to the point at which any oral presenta-
tion might be profitably made and understood.

The first motion before the court is third party defen-
dant McDermott, Inc.’s motion for partial summary judg-
ment filed on January 25, 1993. That motion seeks three
things. First, “judgment that McDermott has satisfied all
conditions and/or warranties regarding the maintenance
of proper underlying insurance and the ‘buffer layer’ ”.
Docket #265 at 1. Second, McDermott urges, “that this
Court declare that all third-party asbestos related bodily
injury claims against B&W are the result of one occur-
rence.” Id. Finally, McDermott urges that the defendant/
third party plaintiff subscribers “are not entitled to re-
scind or reform the policy.” Id. at 1-2. McDermott’s sup-
porting memorandum also seeks permission to
supplement the memorandum with additional facts in the
event the subscribers’ motion to amend the pleadings is
granted.

The second motion, also filed January 25, is Babcock
& Wilcox’s motion for partial summary judgment. Like
McDermott, Babcock & Wilcox “requests that the Court
enter judgment that third party asbestos-related bodily

App. 39

injury claims are the result of one occurrence.” Docket
#267 at 1.

Defendant subscribers joined the paper fray with two
motions of their own filed simultaneously with the pre-
ceding motions on January 25. The first motion is styled,
“Defendant Subscriber’s Motion for Summary Judgment
of Dismissal or, Alternatively, for Summary Judgment on
Their Third Party Complaint.” This motion primarily
rests on one argument: “The Court should rule that the
claim of each asbestos bodily injury claimant is a separate
‘occurrence’ within the meaning of the Subscriber and
Creole policies.” Docket #271 at 23. This motion also
advances the argument that, if the Subscribers are liable
to Babcock & Wilcox, they deserve to be indemnified by
McDermott for failing to satisfy all of the warranties and
conditions of the Subscriber policy. In effect, this motion
is a cross motion addressing substantially the same issues
addressed in the previously noted motions of Babcock &
Wilcox and McDermott.

The other motion by Subscribers seeks summary
judgment on another alternative theory. It is styled,
“Motion for Summary Judgment on Certain Defendants’
Reformation, Uberrimae Fidei and Rescission Defenses.”
Docket #272 at 1. This motion asserts affirmative defenses
upon which Subscribers base their claim for dismissal.

The second wave consists of Babcock & Wilcox’s
motion for summary judgment on the rescission and ref-
ormation issues as well as the applicability of the doc-
trine of uberrimae fidei. This motion was filed on March 5,
and is obviously a cross motion opposing the second of

App. 40

Subscribers’ two motions. Plaintiff also filed a memoran-
dum and exhibits opposing subscribers’ first motion for
summary judgment and supporting plaintiff's motion for
partial summary judgment on the occurrence issue.

The sixth motion for summary judgment was also
filed on March 5, by third-party defendant McDermott
for dismissal of the third party complaint. This motion is
also styled to serve as McDermott’s opposition to sub-
scribers’ motion for summary judgment on the third
party complaint.

In addition to the memoranda accompanying the
actual motions, the parties have filed numerous other
response and reply briefs including supplemental appen-
dices and exhibits. The briefing has reached the surreply
stage now where parties are filing briefs initially protest-
ing that their opponent has filed an unpermitted brief
and then seeking this court’s leave to do the same.

The effect of this course of briefing is to bifurcate the
legal issues raised by this cause. One set of cross-motions
generally deals with defining a single occurrence under
the policy. The second set generally deals with sub-
scribers’ affirmative defenses. Disentangling the corpus
of motions and briefs beyond this rough division is not
currently practicable.

Counsel for the defendants has suggested that this
court’s deliberations might be better guided if the parties
are given an opportunity to argue the motions before the
court. That suggestion is well taken. Therefore, this court
now orders that the parties appear for a hearing on May
14, 1993, at 9 a.m. At that hearing, each side shall be

App. 41

allotted 90 minutes in which to make a presentation and
answer the inquiries of the court.

The motions present a number of discrete legal issues
which have been, and may properly continue to be,
treated independently. While the underlying facts are the
same, the legal analysis required to resolve these issues is
different. To best utilize the oral argument process, the
May 14 hearing is to be dedicated only to consideration
of the cross-motions for summary judgment regarding
interpretation of the insurance policy, specifically, the
meaning and interpretation of the operative provisions of
the occurrence definition. Consideration of third-party
issues involving McDermott Inc. and affirmative defenses
such as reformation and rescission will be deferred to a
future hearing which shall be scheduled as needed.

/s/ Sam H. Bell
SAM H. BELL
U. S. DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 42

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO
EASTERN DIVISION
CASE NO. 91-CV-987
Judge Sam H. Bell
ORDER
(Filed Aug. 3, 1992)

THE BABCOCK & WILCOX
COMPANY

Plaintiff

- VS -

ARKWRIGHT-BOSTON
MANUFACTURING MUTUAL
INSURANCE COMPANY, et

al.

Defendant

ee

Presently before the court in the above-captioned
cause is a motion in limine by plaintiff, The Babcock &
Wilcox Company (B&W), for a determination of which
state law, in the absence of a choice of law by the parties,
is to be applied in construing a disputed term of B&W’s
liability insurance contract with defendant insurers.
Plaintiff contends that, under the “more significant rela-
tionship” analysis adopted by Ohio courts, Ohio law
should be applied. Defendants have filed a brief in oppo-
sition in which they contend that, under the same analy-
sis, Louisiana law should be applied.

BACKGROUND

The present action involves a dispute over liability
insurance coverage for asbestos-related claims arising
from B&W’s design, manufacture, sale, and service of
boilers. Sales of the B&W boilers relevant to the present
litigation were made on a nationwide and worldwide

App. 43

scale. Claims against B&W for exposure to asbestos dur-
ing the relevant time period of 1979-80 were likewise
filed throughout the United States and the world.

B&W is a corporation organized under the laws of
Delaware. While at the time of contracting certain of its
corporate offices had been relocated from New York to
Louisiana, B&W’s principal place of business was and
remains Ohio, where the majority of its management,
manufacture, and design operations are conducted,
where the major portion of its employees reside, and
where the bulk of its assets are located.

None of the defendant insurers has its place of incor-
poration or its principal place of business in either Louisi-
ana or Ohio. Most of the defendant insurers, however,
have obtained certificates of compliance with the insur-
ance laws of Ohio and are licensed to conduct insurance
business in the state.

In 1978, B&W became a subsidiary of J. Ray McDer-
mott & Company (McDermott), a Louisiana-based corpo-
ration. While its nominal headquarters became located in
Louisiana, B&W retained its separate corporate identity,
and continued its major operations in Ohio. The respon-
sibility for securing B&W’s 1979-80 liability insurance
coverage shifted to McDermott. Through its authorized
Texas-based insurance broker, Adams & Porter Associates
Inc., McDermott secured a multiple-layer comprehensive
liability insurance policy for 1979-80 with defendant
insurers on behalf of all its subsidiaries. However, speci-
fic and separate terms of coverage for B&W were individ-
ually considered and provided for in the otherwise

App. 44

general insurance contract. The contract did not include
any choice of law provision.

Subject to McDermott’s approval, Adams & Porter
negotiated the terms of the insurance contract with defen-
dant insurers. Negotiations took place primarily in Texas,
New York, and England. The defendant insurers ulti-
mately executed the insurance policy at their respective
offices, none of which was located in Louisiana or Ohio.
The executed policy was assembled by Adams & Porter at
its Texas office and delivered to McDermott at its New
Orleans, Louisiana, office. Premiums on the policy were
paid out of McDermott’s office to Adams & Porter in
Texas, which then distributed the proportionate shares of
the premiums to the defendant insurers at their respec-
tive offices.

While B&W’s parent corporation, through its autho-
rized agent, obtained this secondary excess liability
insurance coverage for B&W in the amount of 17.5 mil-
lion dollars, B&W retained its own separate primary com-
prehensive general liability policy with Travelers
Insurance Company in the amount of two million dollars,
and a first layer of excess coverage with Creole Insurance
Company Limited in the amount of $500,000. There is no
dispute over the fact that the primary coverage with
Travelers has been exhausted; B&W and Creole agree that
the Creole first-layer excess coverage has likewise been
exhausted and paid out in full. Defendants contend, how-
ever, that the first layer of excess coverage with Creole
has not been exhausted, and that they are therefore not
obligated to reimburse B&W for any claims paid.

App. 45

The central point of dispute between the parties is
the construction of the term “occurrence” as it is used in
the secondary excess liability insurance contract with
defendant insurers, and in the primary excess liability
insurance contract between B&W and Creole. Although
neither party offers any analysis of the respective con-
structions of this term under the laws of Ohio and Louisi-
ana, the parties are in apparent agreement that the legal
construction of this term would differ significantly
depending upon whicn state’s law is applied, and that the
choice of the applicable law would be virtually disposi-
tive of the respective rights of the parties under the
contract.

The scope of coverage of the insurance contract with
defendant insurers is as follows:

Underwriters hereby agree, subject to the limita-
tions, terms and conditions hereinafter men-
tioned, to pay on behalf of the Assured all sums
which the Assured shall be obligated to pay by
reason of their liability imposed upon the
Assured by Federal, State, and Municipal or
other qualified authority or in respect of such
liabilities assumed by the Assured under con-
tract or agreement, for “property damage” and
“personal injuries”, as defined herein resulting
from an “occurrence” as defined herein.

The definition of the term “occurrence” is the same in
both the contract with defendant insurers and the con-
tract with Creole:

The term “Occurrence”, whenever used herein,
shall mean any happening or series of happen-
ings, arising out of or due to one event taking

App. 46

place during the term of this contract in respect
to all the Assured’s operations.

Generally, there are three varying approaches taken
by courts in construing the term “occurrence” under such
a liability insurance policy. See Annotation, What Consti-
tutes Single Accident or Occurrence Within Liability Policy
Limiting Insurer’s Liability to a Specified Amount per Acci-
dent or Occurrence, 64 ALR 4th 668 (1988). Of relevance
herein are two of these approaches, which respectively
look to either the cause or to the effect of injury to
determine the number of occurrences for purposes of
liability coverage.

B&W urges a construction of “occurrence” that
defines it in terms of the underlying cause of the multiple
asbestos-related injuries and resulting claims. Thus, as
there was but one occurrence that caused the asbestos-
related claims against B&W - the design and manufacture
of asbestos-containing boilers - the total amount of
money paid out in disposing of the numerous resulting
claims is aggregated to determine whether the policy
limits of the Creole primary excess liability coverage have
been exhausted, and the threshhold of defendant
insurers’ secondary excess liability coverage has been
reached. This approach to construing “occurrence” is
taken by the vast majority of courts. Id.; Michigan Chemi-
cal Corp. v. American Home Assurance Co., 728 F.2d 374, 379
(6th Cir. 1984). For present purposes the court will pre-
sume, in the absence of any analysis of this issue by the
parties, and in view of B&W’s stance on the issue pres-
ently before the court, that Ohio law is in keeping with
this majority approach.

App. 47

Defendant insurers, on the other hand, espouse the
minority view that “occurrence” is to be construed in
terms of the ultimate effect, thus rendering each individ-
ual injury or claim a separate occurrence. Under this
construction, defendant insurers’ obligation to pay on
any one of these claims is not triggered until liability for
that claim exceeds the $500,000 policy limits of the Creole
policy. Because the typical asbestos-related claim is
allegedly disposed of for about $10,000, this would mean
that defendant insurers would not be obligated to pay on
any of the claims. For the reasons stated above, the court
will presume that Louisiana law supports defendant
insurers’ construction of “occurrence”. The court would
note, however, that Louisiana courts are apparently in
~ conflict over which approach to take. See 64 ALR 4th at
674, 680-81.

CHOICE OF LAW PRINCIPLES

In a diversity action, the district court is obliged to
apply the choice of law rules of the state in which it sits.
Klaxon v. Stenton Electric Mfg. Co., 313 U.S. 487, 491, 61
S.Ct. 1020, 85 L.Ed. 1477 (1941); Boyd v. LaMaster, 927 F.2d
237 (6th Cir. 1991). This court must therefore apply Ohio
choice of law rules.

For the present action, the determinative Ohio choice
of law rules are set forth in Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. v.
Ferrin, 21 Ohio St. 3d 43, 487 N.E.2d 568 (1986), and Gries
Sports Enterprises, Inc. v. Modell, 15 Ohio St. 3d 284, 473
N.E.2d 807 (1984), cert. denied 473 U.S. 906 (1985). Ohio
choice of law rules mandate that the law of the state with
the more significant relationship to the contract should

App. 48

govern disputes arising from it. N«tional Union Fire Ins. v.
Watts, 963 F.2d 148 (6th Cir. 1992). To determine which
state has the more significant relationship to the contract,
Ohio law has adopted the test set forth in the Restatement
(Second) of Conflict of Laws, Section 188. Miucurdy v.
Sikov & Love, P.A., 894 F.2d 818, 822 (6th Cir. 1990); Ferrin,
supra; Modell, supra.

Section 188 states, in relevant part:

(2) In the absence of .an effective choice of law
by the parties, * * * the contacts to be taken into
account in applying the principles of [Section] 6
to determine the law applicable to an issue
include:

(a) the place of contracting,
(b) the place of negotiation of the contract,
(c) the place of performance,

(d) the location of the subject matter of the
contract, and

(e) the domicile, residence, nationality,
place of incorporation and place of business
of the parties.

These contacts are to be evaluated according to
their relative importance with respect to the par-
ticular issue.

The plain language of Restatement (Second) of Conflict of
Laws Section 188, as adopted by Ohio case law, requires
the court to consider the Section 188 factors in applying
the general principles enunciated in Restatement (Sec-
ond) of Conflict of Laws Section 6 to determine the law
applicable to an issue. Watts, supra. Section 6 sets fo

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_0730%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
