# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Nichols v. Paulucci

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_0702%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 516 U.S. 1046

## Text

meat

') BB Or 7081 260%

NOQFRIGE-OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

J.D. NICHOLS and NTS CoRPORATION,
Petitioners,
»,

JENO PAULUCCI and SILVER LAKEs I, INC.,
individually and d/b/a PR PARTNERS,
Respondents.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
District Court of Appeal of Florida
Fifth District

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

RICHARD F.. WALL

(Counsel of Record)
TopD K. NORMAN
HARTLEY & WALL
Suite 2810, Sun Bank Tower
200 S. Orange Avenue
Post Office Box 2168
Orlando, Florida 32802
(407) 422-7992

October 1995 Counsel for Petitioners

WILSON - EPzs PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON. D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether federal due process permits a state to exercise
general jurisdiction over a nonresident general partner of
one or more limited partnerships with substantial business
activities in the state where the claims against the non-
resident are wholly unrelated to the limited partnerships.

Whether the Florida courts’ application of Florida’s
general jurisdiction statute to nonresidents has diverged
from and conflicts with this Court’s decisions that federal
due process requires a nonresident defendant to have a de
facto place of business in the forum state for that state
to exercise general jurisdiction over the nonresident.

(i)

ii

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

Pursuant to Rule 29.6 of the Rules of this Court, peti-
tioners NTS Corporation and J.D. Nichols state that NTS
Corporation has no parent companies nor nonwholly
owned subsidiaries. The caption of the case in this Court
contains the names of all parties which were before the
District Court of Appeal of Florida, Fifth District.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
RULE 29.6 STATEMENT ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES iv
OPINIONS BELOW |
JURISDICTION 2
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-
SIONS INVOLVED 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION 4

l. A STATE’S EXERCISE OF GENERAL
JURISDICTION OVER A NONRESIDENT
GENERAL PARTNER OF ONE OR MORE
LIMITED PARTNERSHIPS BASED ON
THOSE PARTNERSHIPS’ ACTIVITIES IN
THE STATE IS A FAR-REACHING BUT UN-
RESOLVED ISSUE OF FEDERAL DUE
PROCESS 4

If. FLORIDA COURTS IN FINDING GENERAL
JURISDICTION UNDER THE STATE’S
LONG-ARM STATUTE HAVE DIVERGED
FROM AND CONFLICT WITH THIS COURT’S
DECISIONS THAT DUE PROCESS RE-
QUIRES A NONRESIDENT DEFENDANT
HAVE A DE FACTO PLACE OF BUSINESS

IN THE FORUM STATE ; 7
CONCLUSION ....... 13
RR ee Ta TT la

iad

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page
Applewhite v. Metra Aviation, Inc., 875 F.2d 491
SR ERE SETS TF 11,12
Gates Learjet Corp. v. Jensen, 743 F.2d 1825 (9th
+ | TCR eck aie ete ae 10
Green v. Chicago, Burlington, & Quincy Railway
Cahn ae ee Se CIE wccdenteean oa 13
Hanna v. Plumer, 380 U.S. 460 (1965) ...00.0 6
Helicopteros Nacionales De Colombia S.A. v. Hall,
Ee ie Se IE sacincivctrioctainndterindiciitmencn sd 8,9, 11,138
International Harvester Co. v. Kentucky, 234 U.S.
Lj | | eer Te er aa 9
International Shoe Co. v. State of Washington, 326
tS Rt | RR ae bk a eRe a *
Keeton v. Hustler Magazine, Inc., 465 U.S. 770
CGD sik cisseictndintecsblaseinttoitadviedaicttadidelcalededeedie 6, 7, 8
Kelly v. State of Florida, 597 So. 2d 900 (Fla. 3d
ee er ee ee ee 7
Layne & Bowler Corporation v. Western Well
Works, Inc., 261 U.S. 887 (1928) ......................... 5
Levinson v. Brosche, 578 So. 2d 477 (Fla. 4th
a Ef Pr ee SOU RNR ny veneer nee eS 7
Nichols v. G.D. Searle & Co., 991 F.2d 1195 (4th
Es III siaconictsccotactaniskacausciinambandicomieaaaiackaiiacniniiaanciaias 10
Perkins v. Benyuet Consolidated Mining Co., 342
SF NE GRUIIED vce hcncccesndniciosacksbsebnucsaceutuapaiiettinicetl 8,9
Prentice v. Prentice Colour, Inc., 779 F.Supp. 578
§ 3 ES | Gen cen erm ERR See 5
Provident National Bank v. California Federal Sav-
ings & Loan Association, 819 F.2d 434 (3rd Cir.
SOD icin tdacCiecetibicin ctdachek austin cletenile ncn abda atl 9
Rice v. Sioux City Memorial Park Cemetery, Inc.,
gk OP) ee PRR ESL eae 6
Rosenberg Bros. & Co. v. Curtis Brown Co., 260
Wy ee SE scceraccciccctaongeeia heron e 9
St. Louis Southwestern Railway Co. of Texas v.
Alexander, 227 U.S. 218 (1918) ........................... 9
Seymour v. Parke, Davis & Co., 423 F.2d 584 (1st
BURR a Ea, PRN Steen aed 10

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
United Electrical, Radio and Machine Workers of
America v. 163 Pleasant Street Corp., 960 F.2d
1080 (1st Cir. 1992)... 1!
Universal Carribean Establishment v. Bard, 543
So. 2d 447 (Fla. 4th DCA 1989) . Nie Dict 13
Wilson v. Belin, 20 F.3d 644 (5th Cir. 1994) 10
World-Wide Volkswagon Corp. v. Woodson, 444
See I IO ce Be 5, 6
Statute
§ 48.193, Florida Statutes (1991) ..... 2, 3,13
Miscellaneous

Timothy D. Wheeler, Partnership Returns, 1992,
Statistics of Income Bulletin, Fall 1994 at 75 5

In THE |
Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

No.

J.D. NICHOLS and NTS CorporaTION,
Petitioners,
V.
JENO PAULUCCI and SiLverR Lakes I, INC.,
individually and d/b/a PR PARTNERS,
Respondents.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
District Court of Appeal of Florida
Fifth District

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

NTS Corporation (“NTS”) and J.D. Nichols
(“NICHOLS”) respectfully petition for a writ of cer-
tiorari to review the judgment of the District Court of
Appeal of Florida, Fifth District, in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Opinion of the District Court of Appeal of Florida,
Fifth District (la-9a)* is reported at 652 So. 2d 389.
The decision of the Circuit Court of the Ninth Judicial
Circuit, in and for Seminole County, Florida (10a) is
unreported. The decision of the Supreme Court of
Florida (11a) has not yet been reported.

* References to Petitioners’ Appendix are indicated in paren-
theses by the appropriate page number followed by a.

ia i ile |

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the District Court of Appeal of Flor-
ida, Fifth District, was issued on February 10, 1995.
Timely motions for rehearing, for rehearing en banc, and
for certification were denied on April 4, 1995. The Su-
preme Court of Florida denied discretionary review of the
district court’s judgment on July 31, 1995. The jurisdic-
tion of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Amendment XIV, Section 1, United States Constitu-
tion:

All persons born or naturalized in the United
States and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are
citizens of the United States and of the State where-
in they reside. No State shall make or enforce any
law which shall abridge the privileges or immunities
of citizens of the United States; nor shall any State
deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, with-
out due process of law; nor deny any person within
its jurisdiction the equal protection of laws.

Florida Statutes, § 48.193(2) (1991):

A defendant who is engaged in substantial and not
isolated activity within this state, whether such ac-
tivity is wholly interstate, intrastate, or otherwise, is
subject to the jurisdiction of the courts of this state,
whether or not the claim arises from that activity.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondents, JENO PAULUCCI and SILVER LAKES
I, INC., individually and d/b/a PR PARTNERS (collec- :
tively “PR PARTNERS”) sued NICHOLS, NTS, and
others for a variety of claims related to the development
of real property in Florida under a joint venture agree-
ment between Orlando Lake Forest, Inc., and PR PART-
NERS. (2a-3a) In the trial court, PR PARTNERS as-

3

serted specific and general long-arm jurisdiction over
NICHOLS and NTS as nonresidents under Sections
48.193(1) and (2), Florida Statutes (1991). (3a)
NICHOLS and NTS moved to challenge the assertion of
both specific and general jurisdiction over them as non-
residents denying any acts placing them within the scope
of Florida’s long-arm statute and affirmatively alleging
lack of contacts with Florida sufficient to satisfy federal
Due Process. (12a-14a) After an evidentiary hearing,
the trial court denied the motion challenging jurisdiction
without making any findings of fact or conclusions of
law. (la, 10a)

NICHOLS and NTS took a non-final appeal of the
trial court’s order to the district court pursuant to Florida
Rule of Appellate Procedure 9.130(a)(3)(C)(i).
(la, n.l1) On appeal PR PARTNERS conceded that
NICHOLS and NTS were not subject to specific personal
jurisdiction under Section 48.193(1) but urged gen-
eral jurisdiction under Section 48.193(2) based on
NICHOLS’s and NTS’s contacts with Florida. (3a, n.2)
The district court affirmed the trial court’s exercise of
general personal jurisdiction by construing the “continu-
ous and systematic general business contacts” requirement
of federal constitutional due process as coextensive with
the “substantial and not isolated” language of Section
48.193(2) and determinative of general jurisdiction over
NICHOLS and NTS. (3a-4a)

General jurisdiction over NICHOLS was based pri-
marily on the activities of several limited partnerships
which did business in the State of Florida of which
NICHOLS was a general partner. (4a-6a) His status as
a general partner of these limited partrerships and the
activities of those limited partnerships were unrelated to
PR PARTNERS’ claims against him. While the district
court rejected the assertion that NICHOLS could be sub-
ject to general jurisdiction solely on the basis of his status
as general partner, the district court attributed to him

Se ee ee ee

4

the activities of these limited partnerships. (5Sa-6a)
NICHOLS also spent two days per year in Florida on
business, executed a guarantee payable in Indiana for
the mortgage on the joint venture’s real property, and
had previously owned a vacation home in Florida which
he sold prior to the commencement of the lawsuit, all of
which the court conceded were insufficient to confer gen-
eral jurisdiction when taken alone. (6a)

General jurisdiction over NTS was based on services
NTS provided for affiliated companies in Florida, com-
mon officers and directors between NTS and some of
these affiliates, control which NTS exercised in overseeing
these affiliates, and NTS’s guarantee payable in Indiana
of the joint venture’s mortgage. (8a) All of the activities
NTS was attributed with by the district court were the
provision of assistance to affiliates in Florida. (8a)

The Supreme Court of Florida declined to review this
decision. (lla)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. A STATE’S EXERCISE OF GENERAL JURISDIC-
TION OVER A NONRESIDENT GENERAL PART-
NER OF ONE OR MORE LIMITED PARTNERSHIPS
BASED ON THOSE PARTNERSHIPS’ ACTIVITIES
IN THE STATE IS A FAR-REACHING BUT UNRE-
SOLVED ISSUE OF FEDERAL DUE PROCESS

The first issue is whether, solely on the basis of the
activities of one or more limited partnerships in a state,
a nonresident general partner of those partnerships is sub-
ject to general jurisdiction in that state for claims wholly
unrelated to the limited partnerships’ activities. The only
significant contact NICHOLS has with Florida is that he
is a general partner of limited partnerships which do busi-
ness in the state of Florida. The business of these limited
partnerships is entirely unrelated to the claims asserted
by PR PARTNERS against NICHOLS. Nevertheless, the
district court attributed the activities of those partnerships

5

to NICHOLS to support general jurisdiction over him for
these unrelated claims. This ruling subjects a nonresident
general partner, without more, to general personal juris-
diction in any state in which one or more of his limited
partnerships did sufficient business to subj.ct itself to per-
sonal jurisdiction.

The Court should review this issue as one of public
importance, not merely importance to the parties involved
in this litigation. Layne & Bowler Corporation v. West-
ern Well Works, Inc., 261 U.S. 387, 393 (1923). Lim-
ited partnerships are a common business form in today’s
economy with 270,748 limited partnerships comprised of
11,313,483 partners existing in the United States in 1992.
Timothy D. Wheeler, Partnership Returns, 1992, Statis-
tics of Income Bulletin, Fall 1994 at 75, 77. Where
general partners of these limited partnerships can be
haled into an out-of-state court to defend lawsuits unre-
lated to the business of the limited partnerships is a
matter which concerns a large segment of the business
population and affects the way business is structured
throughout the United States.

The Due Process Clause limits a state’s ability to force
a nonresident defendant to defend a lawsuit and ensures
that the different states recognize each others’ status as
coequal sovereigns in the federal system. Wor/d-Wide
Volkswagon Corp. v. Woodson, 444 U.S. 286, 291-292
(1980). Even though this is an important Constitutional
principle, in the view of at least one federal court there
is no established, systematic method to determine the
extent to which a state can exercise general jurisdiction
over nonresidents. Prentice v. Prentice Colour, Inc., 779
F. Supp. 578, 583 (M.D. Fla. 1991) Moreover, no
decision of this Court or any other court appears to
decide whether the activities of one or more limited part-
nerships, sufficient to subject those partnerships to general
jurisdiction, can also be used to subject their nonresident
general partners to general jurisdiction for lawsuits unre-

6

lated to the limited partnerships. This combination of an
important Constitutional right of a large segment of the
business population and the lack of a systematic due
process analysis takes this problem “beyorid the academic
or episodic.” Rice v. Sioux City Memoriai Park Ceme-
tery, Inc., 349 U.S. 70, 74 (1955). Rather, this is a
problem which affects a significant business population
and will create unnecessary, repetitive litigation until a
systematic method of analysis is formulated.

This Court’s resolution also will insure uniformity of
federal and state civil procedure in consonance with con-
stitutional parameters. Hanna v. Plumer, 380 U.S. 460.
463 (1965). Without direction from this Court, federal
and state courts will be left to their own divergent due
process rules.

The district court in this case fashioned just such a
rule. It determined that a nonresident general partner
could be attributed the contacts of one or more limited
partnerships for purposes of general jurisdiction. This
Court should determine if such attribution of contacts
satisfies the due process rights of nonresident general
partners.

The need for this Court’s intervention into this im-
portant issue is further necessitated by the district court’s
break from the essential requirements of general jurisdic-
tion in creating this due process rule of attribution of part-
nership activities. This Court has limited personal juris-
diction to a forum in which a party “should reasonably
anticipate being haled into court.” World-Wide Volks-
wagen Corp., 444 U.S. at 297. It is established that a
party’s acts in a forum which cause it to reasonably antic-
ipate being haled into that forum’s court based on spe-
cific jurisdiction do not necessarily mean that the same
nonresident should reasonably anticipate being haled into
court in that forum under general jurisdiction. Keeton vy.
Hustler Magazine, Inc., 465 U.S. 770, 779-781 (1984),

7

The district court found general jurisdiction over
NICHOLS by relying on decisions involving specific ju-
risdiction over general partners. See Kelly v. State of
Florida, 597 So. 2d 900, 902 (Fla. 3d DCA 1992)
(court holds that “because appellants [partners] were per-
sonally liable for the partnership’s debts, appellants
should have reasonably anticipated being haled into court
in Florida”, thus finding specific jurisdiction); Levinson
v. Brosche, 578 So. 2d 477 (Fla. 4th DCA 1991) (court
finds minimum contacts for general partner because lim-
ited partnership has minimum contacts). This removes
any real distinction between specific and general juris-
diction and violates the principles announced in Keeton.
It allows general jurisdiction over a nonresident simply
because he may be liable for the acts of a limited partner-
ship and could be subject to specific jurisdiction for those
acts. It permits a state to exercise jurisdiction over a non-
resident for any lawsuit as if he was an actual resident.
It obliterates the jurisdictional meaning of residency.

This is an important issue of federal Constitutional law
and civil procedure which requires this Court’s attention
to create uniformity of due process rights for a significant
segment of the business community. The Florida district
court attempted to resolve this issue, but in doing so
substantially departed from reasonable due process re-
quirements for general jurisdiction.

II. FLORIDA COURTS IN FINDING GENERAL JURIS-
DICTION UNDER THE STATE’S LONG-ARM STAT-
UTE HAVE DIVERGED FROM AND CONFLICT
WITH THIS COURT’S DECISIONS THAT DUE
PROCESS REQUIRES A NONRESIDENT DEFEND-
ANT HAVE A DE FACTO PLACE OF BUSINESS
IN THE FORUM STATE

The district court found general jurisdiction over NTS
based primarily on its contacts with affiliates located in
Florida. It found general jurisdiction over NICHOLS
primarily by attributing to NICHOLS the activities in

8

Florida of several limited partnerships fot which he was
a general partner. These contacts do not amount to the
“presence” in Florida required by this Court's applica-
tions of due process to the general jurisdiction problem.

This Court has insisted that a nonresident maintain a
“presence” in a forum to be subject to personal juris-
diction in that forum. Jnternational Shoe Co. v. State of
Washington, 326 U.S. 310, 315-317 (1945). The level
of contacts required for that “presence” increases with
the unrelatedness of those contacts to the cause of action.
Id. Where, as here, activities of a nonresident defendant
unrelated to the current cause of action are urged to
establish a presence sufficient to support general jurisdic-
tion, this Court has required “continuous corporate opera-
tions within a state [which] were thought so substantial
and of such a nature as to justify a suit against it on
causes of action arising from dealings entirely distinct
from those activities.’ Jd. at 318. This has been reduced
to the shorthand statement that the nonresident have
“continuous and systematic general business contacts”
within the forum state. Helicopteros Nacionales De Co-
lombia S.A. v. Hall, 466 U.S. 408, 416 (1984).

The parameters of this presence can best be under- ;
stood by reading the leading case in which this Court
found that the due process requirements for general ju-
risdiction were met. In Perkins v. Benguet Consolidated
Mining Co., 342 U.S. 437 (1952), the corporate defend-
ant had been forced to shut down its operations in the
Philippines and began Conducting the corporation’s ac-
tivities from an office in the forum state. Id. at 447-448.
From the office in the forum state the president and gen-
eral manager of the defendant corporation made key de-
cisions, kept the office files, handled payroll, maintained
corporate bank accounts, and held directors’ meetings.
Id. In short, in Perkins the corporate defendant had
established its de facto principal place of business in the
forum state. Keeton, 465 U.S. at 779 n. 11 (1984). In

9

such an instance “continuous and systematic” presence of
the nonresident in the forum state was found. Perkins,
342 US. at 448.

The Perkins decision is typical of the very few federal
cases in which general jurisdiction has been upheld.
Generally, these cases involve the operation of a signifi-
cant part of the nonresident’s business by agents of the
nonresident in the forum state on a daily basis. Jnterna-
tional Harvester Co. v. Kentucky, 234 U.S. 579, 585-
586 (1914) (court finds general jurisdiction where
agents of nonresident carried out a “continuous course
of business” in forum state); St. Louis Southwestern Rail-
way Co. of Texas v. Alexander, 227 U.S. 218, 228
(1913) (court finds general jurisdiction where agent of
nonresident negotiated and settled claims for it out of
office of nonresident in forum state); Provident National
Bank v. California Federal Savings & Loan Association,
819 F.2d 434, 438 (3rd Cir. 1987) (court finds gen-
eral jurisdiction where “every business day” the nonresi-
dent performed activity “central to the conduct of its
business” in the forum state). The presence this Court
requires can best be described as a de facto place of
business of the nonresident in the forum state to Carry
on the nonresident’s daily business.

This Court has not found presence, for general juris-
diction purposes, in cases where the Court was presented
with numerous contacts, but the nonresident did not run
a daily business in the forum. See Helicopteros, 466 U.S.
at 416-418 (large volume of corporate purchases, train-
ing of corporate employees, and negotiation of corporate
contracts in forum not sufficient to create continuous and
systematic business contacts); Rosenberg Bros. & Co. v.
Curtis Brown Co., 260 U.S. 516, 518 (1923) (no gen-
eral jurisdiction even though there are numerous pur-
chases and visits to forum but no daily business activities).

These decisions have been applied by the lower federal
courts to look for “a community into whose business life

ne

10

the defendant had significantly entered as determined by
the quality, substantiality, continuity, and systematic na-
ture of its activities.” Seymour v. Parke, Davis & Co.,
423 F.2d 584, 587 (Ast Cir. 1970). Federal courts have
uniformly required that these contacts be part of a con-
tinuous chain of activity rather than isolated events.
Wilson vy. Belin, 20 F.3d 644, 650-651 (5th Cir. 1994)
(court holds that numerous “unrelated contacts” were not
sufficient for general jurisdiction because they were spo-
radic); Gates Learjet Corp. v. Jensen, 743 F.2d 1325,
1331 (9th Cir. 1984) (court holds general jurisdiction
does not apply because contacts were “occasional” and
“infrequent”). Even if these contacts are a regular series
of events they must also be substantia’ > warrant the
exercise of general jurisdiction. Nichols ». G.D. Searle
& Co. 991 F.2d 195, 1199 (4th Cir. 1993). Equally
important, in each case in which general jurisdiction was
found the nature of the nonresident’s presence in the
forum involved the business purposes of the entity whose
activities in the forum gave rise to general jurisdiction.

More than just conflicting with this Court’s decisions,
this case shows how far Florida courts have diverged from
the due process principles enunciated by this Court for
general jurisdiction over nonresidents, as followed by other
federal courts. Here all of the activities of NTS used to
support general jurisdiction were the provision of assist-
ance to its Florida affiliates. This assistance included loan
guarantees to nonresident lenders, the operation of cen-
tral accounting for its affiliates, provision of management
and design personnel and services by a subsidiary of NTS,
central payment of expenses, billing affiliates for these
services and expenses, certain common officers and direc-
tors, and monitoring of affiliates. Most of these activities
were actually carried on outside the forum state for affil-
iates within the forum state. The district court held this
was sufficient for general jurisdiction.

Lower federal courts, in applying the due process re-
quirements announced by this Court, routinely require

11

a much higher standard for general jurisdiction when
considering similar activities between affiliated com-
panies. For instance, in United Electrical, Radio and
Machine Workers of America v. 163 Pleasant Street
Corp., 60 F.2d 1080 (ist Cir. 1992), the court was
faced with an assertion of general jurisdiction over a
parent company whose contacts with its subsidiary in the
forum state were very similar to the contacts in the case
below. There the parent negotiated agreements on be-
half of the subsidiary, appointed its directors to the sub-
sidiary’s board of directors, paid the salary of some of the
directors of both entities, oversaw and directed the affil-
iate’s financial affairs, provided financial statements to the
subsidiary’s creditors, and provided the subsidiary with
$8,000,000 in cash, goods and services. /d. at 1083-
1084. The court of appeals found these contacts “mani-
festly insufficient” for general jurisdiction under the
standard this Court defined in Helicopteros. United Elec-
trical, 960 F.2d at 1088. In the case below NTS under-
took similar activities; such as, assurances to creditors,
common board members, and monitoring.

Similarly, in Applewhite v. Metro Aviation, Inc., 875
F.2d 491 (Sth Cir. 1989), the court of appeals took a
fact situation nearly identical to this case and found that
it did not meet the constitutional requirements of gen-
eral jurisdiction. Applewhite involved a holding company
and several affiliates which were all electric companies.
Id. at 496. The issue was one of general jurisdiction over
a nonresident affiliate of the holding company. The con-
tacts with the forum state in that case included the trans-
mission of electricity into the forum state, a centralized
billing system run by the holding company, the sale of
electricity in the forum state, a committee formed by the
affiliates for joint decision making, participation in joint
projects in the forum state, and loaning employees to
affiliates in the forum state. /d. at 496-497. While these
contacts were numerous, the court found that they were
neither of a “continuous and systematic” nature nor

12

showed “purposeful availment” that this Court’s decisions
have required for general jurisdiction. Jd. at 498. As a
result, due process was not satisfied and there was no
general jurisdiction over the nonresident affiliate. /d.
The case below contains many of the same activities by
NTS; that is, common billings of affiliates, loaned em-
ployees, and centralized decision making. Nevertheless,
the district court reached the opposite outcome.

Comparing the activities of NTS against those of the
parent corporation and of the affiliate in the above opin-
ions from the courts of appeals shows that the Florida
state courts apply a due process standard for general ju-
risdiction far below and inconsistent with the standards of
this Court followed by the lower federal courts.

The same considerations apply to NICHOLS. With-
Out attribution of the activities in Florida of the limited
partnerships for which he is a general partner, Florida’s
assertion of general jurisdiction over NICHOLS rests on
his physical presence two days a year in Florida, his guar-
antee executed outside of Florida to an out-of-state
lender, and his former ownership of a Florida vacation
home. These facts are clearly not enough to show that
NICHOLS has a de facto place of business in Florida.
Even with attribution of the limited partnership activities,
the due process requirements for general jurisdiction are
not satisfied. The claims asserted against NICHOLS are
in no way related to the business purposes of the limited
partnerships’ presence in Florida and the actual involve-
ment of NICHOLS in the affairs of those limited partner-
ships is so limited that it cannot meet the test of substan-
tiality and continuity to show that NICHOLS maintains a
de facto place of business in Florida.

It is not merely that the decision in this case is errone-
ous when measured against the due process principles
established by this Court that provides the reason for
reviewing the district court’s decision. More to the point,
this case is typical of the decision of Florida courts which

iim a

13

have interpreted § 48.193(2) beyond the permissible
parameters of general jurisdiction under the Due Process
Clause. Compare Universal Caribbean Establishment vy.
Bard, 543 So. 2d 447 (Fla. 4th DCA 1989) (court
allows general jurisdiction based on solicitation of tours
by defendant’s agent in the forum State) with Green vy.
Chicago, Burlington, & Quincy Railway Co., 205 USS.
530 (1907) (solicitation by an agent of the defendant in
the forum state is not sufficient for personal jurisdiction).

The district court in this case has followed the pattern
of Florida case law, allowing general jurisdiction under a
much lower threshold than that required by the rulings
of this Court. It is this lack of uniformity in the applica-
tion of due process rights which requires correction by
this Court. As the Court has not addressed the due
process requirements for general jurisdiction in the decade
since deciding Helicopteros, it is appropriate to revisit the
issue in the context of this case.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of
certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD F., WALL
(Counsel of Record)
Topp K. NORMAN
HARTLEY & WALL
Suite 2810, Sun Bank Tower
200 S. Orange Avenue
Post Office Box 2168
Orlando, Florida 32802
(407) 422-7992
October 1995 Counsel for Petitioners

ia lt =

APPENDICES

la
APPENDIX A

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL
OF THE STATE OF FLORIDA
FIFTH DISTRICT
JANUARY TERM 1995

Case No. 93-2609

J. D. NICHOLS and NTS CorporaTION,

Appellants,
v.

JENO PAULUccI and SiLveR Lakes, I, INC., a Florida
corporation, individually and d/b/a PR PARTNERS, a
Florida general partnership,

Appellees.

Opinion filed February 10, 1995

Non-Final Appeal from the Circuit Court
for Seminole County,
Robert B. McGregor, Judge.

DIAMANTIS, J.

J. D. Nichols (Nichols) and NTS Corporation (NTS)
appeal the trial court’s non-final order denying their mo-
tion to dismiss for lack of personal jurisdiction.’ After
conducting an evidentiary hearing in accordance with
Venetian Salami Co. v. Parthenais, 554 So. 2d 499 (Fla.
1989), the trial court concluded that it possessed per-
sonal jurisdiction over both Nichols and NTS. We agree
and, thus, affirm the order under review.

1 Appellate review of this order is proper pursuant to rule
9.180 (a) (8) (C) (i) of the Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure.

2a

In August 1992, the appellees, Jeno Paulucci and
Silver Lakes I, Inc., individually and d/b/a PR Partners,
filed a complaint for damages and declaratory relief
against Nichols, NTS, NTS/Florida Residential Proper-
ties, Inc., Orlando Lake Forest, Inc., and Banc One
Mortgage Corporation. The complaint asserted that the
court had personal jurisdiction over all. named defendants
pursuant to Florida’s long-arm statute, section 48.193,
Florida Statutes (1991).

The complaint stated that PR Partners and NTS/
Florida Residential Properties, Inc. (NTS/Residential), a
Florida corporation, entered into a joint venture agree-
ment for the purpose of holding and developing real
property in Seminole County. Pursuant to an amend-
ment to the joint venture agreement, NTS/Residential as-
signed its interest in the joint venture to defendant
Orlando Lake Forest, Inc. (OLF, Inc.), also a Florida
corporation, and the joint venture became known as the
OLF joint venture. The complaint alleged that OLF,
Inc., was the alter ego of NTS, a Kentucky corporation.
Banc One held a mortgage on the OLF joint venture’s
real property, and Paulucci and Nichols both executed
personal guaranties relative thereto in favor of Banc One.
In May 1991, NTS, OLF, Inc., and NTS/Residential sent
a letter to PR Partners offering to purchase its interest
in the OLF joint venture. The complaint alleged that,
once fully executed by all relevant parties, the May 1991
letter became a binding sale contract for PR Partners’
interest in the OLF joint venture.

The complaint asserted counts for an accounting of
the OLF joint venture’s financial affairs (Count Il) and
for dissolution of the OLF joint venture (Count III).
Against NTS, NTS/Residential and OLF, Inc., the com-
plaint asserted a count for breach of the sale contract
(Count I). Against Nichols, NTS/Residential, and OLF,
Inc., the complaint asserted counts for fraudulent mis-
representation (Count IV), for breach of fiduciary duty

3a

(Count V), and for breach of the joint venture agreement
(Count VI). Against Nichols, NTS, and OLF, Inc., the
complaint asserted a count for breach of the loan agree-
ment or subrogation, and/or foreclosure (Count VIII).
Against Banc One, the complaint asserted a count for
breach of guaranty and loan documents (Count VII).
Finally, the complaint asserted a count for declaratory
judgment against all named defendants (Count IX).

In the trial court, the appellees relied upon sections
48.193(1) and (2), Florida Statutes (1991), to support
their contention that the trial court possessed jurisdiction
over Nichols and NTS. On appeal, however, the ap-
pellees rely only upon section 48.193(2).2 In August
1992, when the appellees filed this action, section
48.193(2) provided:

A defendant who is engaged in substantial and not
isolated activity within this state, whether such ac-
tivity is wholly interstate, intrastate, or otherwise, is
subject to the jurisdiction of the courts of this state,
whether or not the claim arises from that activity.

§ 48.193(2), Fla. Stat. (1991).

In construing the requirement of “substantial and not
isolated activity,” Florida courts have harmonized this
language with the constitutional due process requirements
enunciated in Helicopteros Nacionales de Colombia S.A.
v. Hall, 466 U.S. 408, 104 S. Ct. 1868, 80 L. Ed. 2d 404
(1984). See American Overseas Marine Corp. v. Patter-
son, 632 So. 2d 1124, 1128 (Fla. Ist DCA), rev. denied,
641 So. 2d 1346 (Fla. 1994). In Helicopteros, the Su-
preme Court held that “continuous and systematic gen-
eral business contacts” were required before a forum
could exercise general jurisdiction over a nonresident de-
fendant. Helicopteros, 466 U.S. at 416. The Court ex-

? The appellees apparently concede that Nichols and NTS are not
subject to the trial court’s jurisdiction under any of the provisions
of section 48.193(1).

4a

plained that a state exercises “general”, as opposed to
“specific”, jurisdiction over a defendant when the cause
of action does not arise out of, and is not related to, the
defendant’s contacts with the state. Helicopteros, 466
U.S. at 414 n.9. See also White v. Pepsico, Inc., 568
So. 2d 886, 888 n.3 (Fla. 1990). The due process stand-
ard of Helicopteros applies in this case because section
48.193(2) requires no causal connection between a plain-
tiff's claim and the defendant’s contacts with the state.
See American Overseas Marine Corp. v. Patterson, 632
So. 2d at 1127-28.

We shall discuss separately the provisions of section
48.193(2) as applied to Nichols and NTS.

Personal Jurisdiction over Nichols

The record evidence supports the trial court’s ruling
that Nichols’ activities within the state of Florida were
sufficient to subject him to the trial court’s jurisdiction
under section 48.193(2). The undisputed evidence re-
flected that Nichols was a general partner of several
Florida limited partnerships, some of which currently or
formerly did business in the state of Florida. Specifically,
two of the Florida partnerships, NTS/Sabal Office Limited
Partnership and Sabal Point Country Club, Ltd., owned,
respectively, an office building and a country club in
Seminole County. Nichols also was a general partner of
NTS-Properties Plus Associates, Ltd., a Kentucky limited
partnership which was registered to do business in Florida
and which, in turn, was a general partner of NTS-
Properties Plus Ltd., a Florida limited partnership which
owned, developed, and leased commercial properties in
Florida. Additionally, Nichols was a general partner of
NTS-Properties Associates V, Ltd., a Kentucky limited
partnership which, in turn, was a general partner of NTS-
Properties V, a Maryland limited partnership. NTS-
_ Properties V also was registered to do business in Florida,
‘and it owned, developed, and leased commercial proper-
ties in Florida. Finally, Nichols was a general partner of

:
:
§

SST in ss el eit AAMAS ae aR

Sa

NTS-Properties Associates IV, Ltd., a Kentucky limited
partnership which owned an interest in an apartment
complex in Seminole County.

At the hearing conducted on the motion to dismiss,
Nichols testified that he was not actively involved in the
operation or management of the partnerships. According
to Nichols, his involvement was limited to signing docu-
ments. Despite Nichols’ efforts to distance himself from
his partnerships’ activities within the state of Florida, it
was proper for the trial court to consider these activities
in determining that Nichols had continuous and systematic
general business contacts in Florida. Florida courts have
recognized that, because a limited partnership gains its
identity from its general partners, the limited partnership’s
contacts with a particular forum may be attributed to the
general partners. Kelly v. Department of Insurance, 597
So. 2d 900 (Fla. 3d DCA 1992); Levinson v. Brosche,
578 So. 2d 477 (Fla. 4th DCA 1991).° See also Vespe
Contracting Co. v. Anvan Corp., 433 F. Supp. 1226
(E.D. Pa. 1977) (recognizing that same principle applies
where defendant is general partner of limited partnership

% Although we conclude that a limited partnership’s contacts may
be considered in determining whether a nonresident general partner
has engaged in substantial activities within the state, we reject
the appellees’ suggestion that a nonresident’s mere status as a
general partner in a Florida limited partnership necessarily subjects
the nonresident to the general jurisdiction of the courts of this state
under section 48.193(2). In contrast, where the cause of action
arises out of the limited partnership’s active conduct of business in
Florida, the nonresident genera! partner will be subject to the spe-
cific jurisdiction of Florida’s courts under section 48.193(1). See
In re Estate of Vernon, 609 So. 2d 128 (Fla. 4th DCA 1992) ;
Renda v. Peoples Federal Savings & Loan Ass’n, 588 So. 2d 860
(Fla. Int DCA 1988), rev. denied, 542 So. 2d 1834 (Fla. 1989).
This rule does not apply to a limited partner, whose interest in
the limited partnership is more analogous to that of a stockholder
in a corporation, id. at 868, or that of a corporate officer and direc-
tor. Klein v. Mega Trading, Ltd., ex rel. Hochman, 416 So. 2d 866
(Fla. 3d DCA 1982).

6a

which, in turn, is general partner of limited partnership
with contacts with state).

In addition to these partnership activities, Nichols ac-
knowledged at the hearing that he spent an average of
two days per year in Florida in connection with the part-
nerships’ business. Finally, with regard to the subject
matter of this lawsuit, Nichols acknowledged that he
signed a personal guaranty in favor of Banc One relative
to the mortgage which the bank held on the OLF joint
venture’s real property.*

We recognize that, standing alone, any one of Nichols’
contacts with the state of Florida might not constitute
substantial activity within the meaning of section 48.193
(2).° When viewed in its entirety, however, the evidence
presented in this case supports the trial court’s ruling that
it possessed personal jurisdiction over Nichols.*

* Although the evidence at the hearing focused on Nichols’ busi-
ness contacts with the state of Florida, Nichols’ pre-hearing affidavit
also revealed that he formerly owned a vacation home in Palm
Beach County which he occasionally visited and which he sold in
March 1992.

* By itself, ownership of property is insufficient to subject a
nonresident defendant to the jurisdiction of the courts of this state,
unless the cause of action arose out of such ownership. See
48.193(1) (c), Fla. Stat. (1991). Further, the mere execution of
a guaranty generally is insufficient to subject a nonresident defend-
ant to the jurisdiction of a Florida court. See Holton v. Prosperity
Bank, 602 So. 2d 659, 662-68 (Fla. 5th DCA 1992). See also Pleuss-
Staufer Industries v. Rollason Engineering & Manufacturing, Inc.,
635 So. 2d 1070, 1073 n.10 (Fla. 5th DCA 1994). Cf. Hamilton v.
Business Assistance Consortium, Inc., 602 So. 2d 619 (Fla. 83d DCA
1992).

In reaching this conclusion, we did not consider any activities
Nichols performed as an officer or director of the different NTS
corporations, including NTS, NTS/Residential, and OLF, Inc. See
Doe v. Thompson, 620 So. 2d 1004 (Fla. 1998) ( recognizing distinc-
tion between corporate officer acting on behalf of himself and
corporate officer acting on behalf cf his corporation). Accord Eller
v. Allen, 623 So. 2d 545 (Fla. 5th DCA 19938), rev. denied, 634
So. 2d 622 (Fla. 1994).

7a

Personal Jurisdiction over NTS

In Qualley v. International Air Service Co., 595 So. 2d
194 (Fla. 3d DCA), cause dismissed, 605 So. 2d 1265
(Fla. 1992), the court discussed when a nonresident par-

ent corporation is subject to personal jurisdiction in
Florida:

[T]he presence of a subsidiary corporation within
Florida is not enough, without more, to subject a
non-Florida parent corporation to long-arm jurisdic-
tion within this state... . The rule is otherwise
where, for example, the alter ego test can be met... .
or where the non-Florida parent company independ-
ently satisfies the test for jurisdiction under Florida’s
long-arm statutes; . . .

Qualley, 595 So. 2d at 196 (citations omitted).

The evidence in this case fails to support the theory
that NTS is the alter ego of defendants NTS/Residential
or OLF, Inc.,’ because, although the appellees asserted
this theory in their complaint, they failed to claim at the
evidentiary hearing or on appeal that NTS, NTS/Resi-
dential, or OLF, Inc., was formed for an improper pur-
pose. Cf. Woods v. Jorgensen, 522 So. 2d 935, 937 (Fla.
Ist DCA 1988).

Based on the record evidence, however, we conclude
that the trial court properly ruled that it had acquired
personal jurisdiction over NTS under section 48.193(2).
Even if NTS technically was not the parent corporation
of defendants NTS/Residetial or OLF, Inc., through any
ownership interest therein, NTS is subject to the personal
jurisdiction of the courts of this state because of the ex-
tent of NTS’s contacts with the OLF joint venture, as well
as the degree of control NTS exercised over NTS/Resi-
dential and OLF, Inc. See Universal Caribbean Establish-

™See Dania Jai-Alai Palace, Inc. v. Sykes, 450 So. 2d 1114,
1120-21 (Fla. 1984).

iii

8a

ment v. Bard, 543 So. 2d 447 (Fla. 4th DCA 1989).
See also Richard Bertram & Co. v. American Marine,
Ltd., 258 So. 2d 335 (Fla. 3d DCA 1972).

The evidence showed that NTS was engaged in the
following activities in Florida: NTS was a guarantor on
the OLF joint venture’s $13 million load held by Banc
One; NTS’s consolidated accounting system performed
accounting services for defendants NTS/Residential and
OLF, Inc.; under this system. NTS issued checks to cover
expenses related to the OLF joint venture, including travel
expenses and legal fees; NTS then billed the OLF joint
venture for legal fees paid on its behalf; NTS also billed
the OLF joint venture and OLF, Inc., for management
services provided by NTS; NTS’s decorator/architect trav-
eled to Florida and performed services for the OLF joint
venture (for which NTS later billed the joint venture),
as well as for other Florida partnerships; NTS issued in-
voices and purchases orders relative to the OLF joint
venture; NTS was listed as the customer on the Florida
Power & Light account for the OLF joint venture; cor-
respondence relative to the OLF joint venture was ad-
dressed to Paulucci on NTS letterhead; NTS also issued
checks on behalf of Nichols’ partnerships in Florida, and
NTS charged the partnerships for expenses and services
incurred on their behalf; some NTS officers and directors
also were officers and director of NTS/Residential and
OLF, Inc.; NTS’s president and chief operating officer
monitored the developments and projects of OLF, Inc.,
from his office in Louisville on almost a daily basis, and
he visited NTS entities in Florida on a monthly basis;
and Nichols visited NTS entities in Florida on an annual
basis, and he exercised ultimate control over the NTS
entities.

Accordingly, the trial court properly ruled that it had
acquired personal jurisdiction over NTS based on NTS’s

PPLE Sa + Ay te plelvnl shibiat Sabb a

9a

substantial activities within the state of Florida. See
Universal Caribbean, 543 So. 2d at 448. Cf. Qualley v.
International Air Service Co., 595 So. 2d 194 (Fla. 3d
DCA) (California parent company’s mere performance
of accounting and payroll functions for subsidiary doing
business in Miami was insufficient activity to subject par-
ent company to jurisdiction under section 48.193), cause
dismissed, 605 So. 2d 1265 (Fla. 1992).

AFFIRMED.
PETERSON and GRIFFIN, JJ., concur.

® We reject the contention that the trial court erred in conduct-
ing a full Venetian Salami evidentiary hearing at which the court
permitted the appellees to present evidence on the broad jurisdic-
tionai issue of whether NTS’s and Nichols’ activities within the
state of Florida were sufficient to subject them to the trial court’s
jurisdicticn. Nichols and NTS argue that this was error because
the triai court earlier had entered an order limiting the hearing’s
jurisdictional issue to that of whether a general partner who reg-
istered to do business in Florida thereby subjected himself to the
personal jurisdiction of the courts of this state. We conclude that,
by failing to move for a continuance at the hearing, NTS and
Nichols waived the right to claim that they were prejudiced by the
trial court’s ruling admitting the additional evidence. See Batista
v. Waler & Bernstein, P.A., 378 So. 2d 1321 (Fla. 83d DCA 1980).
See also Leviton v. Philly Steak-out, Inc., 583 So. 2d 905 (Fla. 3d
DCA 1988). We also note that NTS’s and Nichols’ claim of proce-
dural prejudice is weakened by their decision on appeal to request
an outright reversal of the trial court’s ruling rather than a remand
for a new evidentiary hearing at which they might present addi-
tional evidence relevant to the dispositive issues in this case.

10a

APPENDIX B

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT
OF THE NINTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR SEMINOLE COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No. 92-2231-CA-16-K

JENO PAULUCCI, and SitveR Lakes I, INc., a Florida
corporation, individually and d/b/a PR PARTNERS, a
Florida general Partnership,

ray Plaintiffs,

J.D. NicHoLs, NTS CorporaTION, a Kentucky corpora-
tion, NTS/FLORIDA RESIDENTIAL PROPERTIES, INC., a
Florida corporation, ORLANDO LAKE ForEsT, INC., a
Florida corporation and BANC ONE MoriGaGE Cor-
PORATION, a foreign corporation,

Defendants.

ORDER DENYING DEFENDANT-NICHOLS’ AND
DEFENDANT-NTS CORPORATION’s MOTION
TO DISMISS FOR LACK OF JURISDICTION

THIS CAUSE came on for consideration for an evi-
dentiary hearing in accordance with the procedure as set
forth in Venetian Salami v. J. S. Parthenais, 554 So.2d
499 (Fla. 1989), and the Court having heard the argu-
ment of counsel, it is therefore

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that Defendants’ Mo-
tion to Dismiss for Lack of Personal Jurisdiction is hereby
DENIED.

DONE and ORDERED in Sanford, Seminole County,
Florida, this 4th day of October, 1993.

/s/ Robert B. McGregor
ROBERT B. MCGREGOR
Circuit Judge

lla

APPENDIX C
MONDAY, JULY 31, 1995
SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

Case No. 85,663

District Court of Appeal,
Sth District—No. 93-2609

J.D. NICHOLS, et al.,

Petitioners,
Vv.

JENO PAULUCCI, ef al.,
Respondents.

This cause having heretofore been submitted to the
Court on jurisdictional briefs and portions of the record
deemed necessary to reflect jurisdiction under Article V.
Section 3(b), Florida Constitution (1980), and the court
having determined that it should decline to accept juris-
diction, it is ordered that the Petition for Review is denied.

No Motion for Rehearing will be entered by the court.
See Fla. R. App. P. 9.330(d).

GRIMES, C.J.., OVERTON, SHAW, KOGAN and
ANSTEAD, JJ., concur

|

12a

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT
OF THE EIGHTEENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR SEMINOLE COUNTY, FLORIDA

Case No. 92-2231-CA16K

JENO PaULuccl, and SiLveR Lakes I, INC., a Florida
corporation, individually and d/b/a PR PARTNERS, a
Florida general Partnership,

Plaintiffs,
vs.

J. D. NicHois, NTS CORPORATION, a Kentucky corpora- ;
tion, NTS/FLoripa RESIDENTIAL PROPERTIES, INC., a
Florida corporation, ORLANDO LAKE ForEsT, INC., a
Florida corporation and BANC ONE MORTGAGE Cor-
PORATION, a foreign corporation,

Defendants.

NICHOLS’S AND NTS’S MOTION TO DISMISS
ACTION, TO QUASH PROCESS, AND TO
QUASH SERVICE OF PROCESS

Defendants, J.D. NICHOLS ( “NICHOLS”) and NTS
CORPORATION (“NTS”), move for entry of an Order
dismissing the captioned action against them, quashing
the process issued against them, and quashing service of
Process on them as the Court lacks personal jurisdiction
over them and as grounds therefor would show:

1. Florida Rule of Civil Procedure 1.070(i) requires
at a minimum that a plaintiff must plead the language
of the statute when service of process is to be made under
Statutes authorizing service of process on non-residents.
NICHOLS and NTS are citizens of Kentucky. Plaintiffs
have sought long-arm jurisdiction over them under vari-
ous provisions of Florida Statutes § 48.193(1) without

iii scniaiciciiaiaiiailiie

l3a

pleading that the causes of action asserted against
NICHOLS and NTS arise out of NICHOLS and NTS
doing any of the enumerated acts.

2. There must be personal injury or property damage
to support long-arm jurisdiction under Florida Statutes
§ 48.193(1)(f). Aetna Life & Casualty Company v.
Therm-O-Disc, Inc., 511 So.2d 992 (Fla. 1987). As
Plaintiffs have failed to allege anything other than eco-
nomic loss, this Court lacks long-arm jurisdiction over
NICHOLS and NTS under the authority of that statute.

3. Service of process issued against NICHOLS was
made on Gregory A. Compton as registered agent for
NICHOLS. This is not an authorized means of obtaining
personal service on an individual under Florida law nor
was Mr. Compton authorized to accept service on behalf
of NICHOLS. Florida Statutes §§ 48.031 and 48.194.

4. NICHOLS does not individually operate, conduct,
engage in or carry on a business or business venture in
Florida and does not individually have an office or an
agency in Florida. NICHOLS has not committed any
tortious acts in Florida, either in an individual or repre-
sentative capacity. NICHOLS does not individually own,
use, Or possess any real property within Florida.
NICHOLS has not caused any injury, not to mention
personal injury or property damage, to Plaintiffs in Flor-
ida by any acts or omissions outside Florida. NICHOLS
has never engaged in solicitation or service activities in
Florida and has never processed, serviced, or manufac-
tured products, materials, or things used or consumed in
Florida in the ordinary course of commerce, trade, or use.
NICHOLS was not engaged in substantial and not iso-
lated activity in Florida. There is no basis under Flarida
Statutes § 48.193(1)(a), (b), (c), and (f) and (2)
to establish long-arm jurisdiction over NICHOLS.
NICHOLS does not have the requisite minimum contacts
with Florida required by the Due Process Clause. Vene-
tian Salami Company v. Parthenais, 554 So.2d 499 (Fla.
1989).

l4a

5. NTS is a Kentucky holding company with its only
office in Louisville, Kentucky. NTS does not operate,
conduct, engage in or carry on a business or business
venture in Florida and does not have an office or agency
in Florida. NTS has not committed any tortious acts in
Florida. It does not own, use, or possess any real prop-
erty in Florida. It has not caused any injury, not to men-
tion personal injury or property damage, to Plaintiffs in
Florida by any acts or omissions outside Florida. NTS
has never processed, serviced, or manufactured products,
materials, or things used or consumed in Florida in the
ordinary course of commerce, trade, or use. NTS has not
engaged in substantial and not isolated activity in Florida.
There is no basis under Florida Statutes § 48.193(1)(a),
(b), (c), and (f) and (2) to establish long-arm jurisdic-
tion over NTS. NTS does not have the requisite mini-
mum contacts with Florida required by the Due Process
Clause. Venetian Salami Company v. Parthenais, supra.

I HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct copy of
the foregoing has been furnished by Hand Delivery on
this 17th day of September, 1992 to DAVID H. SIM-
MONS, ESQ., 120 S. Orange Avenue, Orlando, Florida
32802.

/s/ Richard F. Wall
RICHARD F. WALL, Eso.
Fla. Bar No. 349518
HARTLEY & WALL
Suite 2810, Sun Bank Tower
200 S. Orange Avenue
Post Office Box 2168
Orlando, Florida 32802
407/422-7992

Counsel for Nichols and NTS

- ee ee ee

a nel ee el

a ey

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386002_0702%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
