# Opposition Brief — Orr v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386001_1265%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2004
- **Citation:** 541 U.S. 1070

## Text

@

No. 03-1353
_— Court, U.S.
FILED
Jn The
_ | APR 22 2004
Supreme Court of the AnitedD States rca

rs
v

STEPHEN C. ORR,

Petitioner,

VS.

WAL-MART STORES, INC.,

Respondent.

4
~

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of
Appeals For The Eighth Circuit

¢

BRIEF OPPOSING PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

,
vw

CHRISTOPHER R. HEDICAN (#19744)

BAIRD, HOLM, MCEACHEN, PEDERSEN,
HAMANN & STRASHEIM LLP

1500 Woodmen Tower

Omaha, NE 68102-2068

402-344-0500

Attorney for Respondent

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals erred in
determining that Orr had never argued in the District
Court that he was substantially impaired in the major life
activity of eating, and therefore declining to consider the
argument on appeal.

2. Whether the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals erred in
affirming the District Court in finding that Orr was not
substantially impaired in any major life activity as a
matter of law.

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
QUES TROIS PRGPIOIT 6 OOP aeiscosssevsissnincnnsstanantxanneins i
SIRE OE CARIOUS OE e ins ncn sevisisasnosbinnloentonaniesnste il
Tas OP BAS Tee 8 Re vvnprncncovnnsrseicunionioisareaienn ili

B

C. Orr Closes the Pharmacy ............0ccccsccossssesse

D. Wal-Mart Terminates Orr’s Employment ......

E. Orr’s Alleged Disability Under The ADA.......
ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITY ........ 0. ee eee 11

I. THERE IS NO CONFLICT AMONG THE
CIRCUITS SUPPORTING CERTIORARI
BECAUSE THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT COURT
OF APPEALS, CONSISTENT WITH THE
OTHER CIRCUITS, SIMPLY REFUSED TO
CONSIDER AN ARGUMENT ON APPEAL
THAT ORR NEVER RAISED IN THE

EFEEFESRESR CAGLIEOE siccacscciimamnivmsntaaeniaia 11
II. ORR WAS NOT SUBSTANTIALLY IMPAIRED
IN ANY MAJOR LIFE ACTIVITY .................... 13

CARER AA FII EN «sic vecnneisisnnccamneatisley seman ncaaaeteieeaiaateaeeniaan 16

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES

Amir v. St. Louis University, 184 F.3d 1017 (8th Cir.
gl lls adab ba scbeendayasataneschsiererisenvsurnonaee 13
Bragdon v. Abbott, 524 U.S. 624 (1998)... eeeeeeee 12
Dothard v. Rawlinson, 433 U.S. 321 (1977)..............cce cee 12

Heaser v. The Toro Company, 247 F.3d 826 (8th Cir.
Naat trckarsinidndkdpaendosnisénndenevinmasancdshassstscbbevnss 11

Lawson v. CSX Transportations, Inc., 245 F.3d 916
aia ssh ies aa sicrsennennénceeertevisuererenenss 12, 14

Shelton v. Conti Group Cos., 285 F.3d 640 (8th Cir.
AA La dt oh haath nblcaineeanisinnsabicckpondeniunnndeiavernweees 11

Simple v. Midwest Property Management LP, 209
I Ie CD cccussananconcnsspisnncsasvessbasseensonsesve 12

Snow v. Ridgeview Medical Center, 128 F.3d 1201
I acrehisnsukcinanvninsssrseescoveKRQBiesovkeosesecesansierieesne 11

Stephen C. Orr v. Wal-Mart Stores, inv., 297 F.3d
PR CUES BIE assesccvesensessesssecsenseses 1, 11, “4, 14, 15, 16

Stephen C. Orr v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 7:99C. 020
hci in a cilcasicubensvans test nnvedivcadicehnicssuntsneevedens> 1

Sutton v. United Air Lines, Inc., 527 U.S. 471
SIAL TEMG Li hes on atbahasuucaoppediecaseedesuacenebsceeseodes 12, 14, 16

STATUTES

Ss UU PRR SUUED viccsnsssssscconscsenennsescsnesssssessresncnens 7

1

RESPONDENT WAL-MART STORES, INC.
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CITATIONS OF OPINIONS AND
ORDERS CITED BELOW

Stephen C. Orr v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 7:99CV5020
(United States District Court for the District of Nebraska)
(Appendix A to Petition at 1a); Stephen C. Orr v. Wal-Mart
Stores, Inc., 297 F.3d 720, rehearing and rehearing en banc
denied (8th Cir. 2002) (Appendix B to Petition at 1b).

+

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner Stephen C. Orr (“Orr”) misstates many of
the facts in his statement of the case and omits altogether
many of the undisputed facts upon which the Court of
Appeals and District Court based its decision.

The facts recited below were set forth to the District
Court as the statement of undisputed facts. References to
“JA” refer to the “Joint Appendix”. References to “SA” refer
to the “Supplemental Appendix”.

A. The New Chadron Wal-Mart Store.

Wal-Mart opened a new store and phari acy in
Chadron, Nebraska on January 26, 1998. At the time of
the opening, there were two other pharmacies in town
which had been there for many years and remained open
for business during the lunch hours. (JA 186: 55:25-56:20;
129 and 130). Nebraska Law requires the store to post the
hours of operation and post a notice that the pharmacist
is gone and no prescriptions may be filled, when the

2

pharmacist is not present. (JA 48:15-20). 172 NAC
128.003.04Al1c. (AD) Thus, the posted pharmacy hours at
Wal-Mart were 9-7 Monday through Friday and 9-6 on
Saturday; these posted hours did not state that the phar-
macy would be closed from 12:00-12:30 p.m. (JA 68:4-14).
The Chadron pharmacy was not busy, averaging approxi-
mately 30 scripts per day (JA 71:16-21; 131 J 6).

Nebraska Law requires that the pharmacy not dispense

any medication if a licensed pharmacist is not on duty and |
the pharmacy must close. 172 NAC 128.003.04Alc. (AD)' |
Further, Nebraska law permits technicians to work with a |
pharmacist but they must be under the “direct supervi-
sion” of a pharmacist “on duty” and may not be working in
the pharmacy if the pharmacist is not present. 172 NAC
128.002.46 & 002.47 (AD) The technician may do every-
thing that the pharmacist does, but he may not take
prescriptions over the phone, verify prescriptions or
counsel patients. (JA 120:2-12). In addition to these state
law requirements, Wal-Mart’s rules precluded anyone from
being present in the pharmacy when the pharmacist was
not there, and the pharmacist was required to lock and
secure the pharmacy. (JA 68:15-25; 183:1-184:1). The
pharmacy manager’s principal duty was to serve the
customers. (JA 57:13-58:2).

Since before 1995, Wal-Mart’s stated policy has been
that pharmacists in the single pharmacist store must staff
the pharmacy during all business hours and must take all
meal breaks and other breaks in the pharmacy. (JA 66:21- |
67:1;129, 130 & 144). Only pharmacists in one-pharmacist |

* AD refers to “addendum”.

a
oe ee

3

pharmacies may keep food and drink in the pharmacy. The
other staff may not. (JA 67:2-6). However, in 2000, prob-
lems in retention and recruitment compelled Wal-Mart to
permit pharmacists in one-pharmacist stores to close after
the lunch hour from 1:30 to 2:00 and at no other time (JA
134; 136 and 137).

B. Wal-Mart Hires Orr.

Orr interviewed with Pharmacy District Manager
Rick Coleman (“Coleman”), who was the former District
Manager over the Chadron, Nebraska pharmacy. (JA
51:14-22). Orr informed Coleman that he was diabetic and
needed to eat meals and snacks to control his diabetes. (JA
52:14-24). Contrary to Orr’s assertion, Orr did not inform
Coleman that he needed to regularly monitor his blood
sugar or inject himself with insulin to properly control his
diabetes. Rather, Orr merely disclosed his diabetic condi-
tion. (JA 52:14-24). Coleman did not react adversely to
Orr’s disclosure of his diabetes; Coleman told Orr he could
eat meals and snacks and made a job offer to him thereaf-
ter. (JA 54:25-55:9). Importantly, Coleman never told Orr
that he could have an uninterrupted lunch break; thus,
Orr’s representation notwithstanding, there was simply no
agreement between Wal-Mart and Orr to allow him
uninterrupted lunch breaks. (JA 120:2-12; 121:7-9; 122:3-
20).

Neither Coleman nor Orr’s subsequent supervisor,
John Foss (“Foss”), told Orr that he could close the phar-
macy to eat lunch (JA 120:2-12; 121:7-9; 122:3-20) and Orr
never received a document stating that he could close the
pharmacy. (JA 54:6-16). Orr never told Coleman that he
needed to close the pharmacy and eat lunch outside of the

4

pharmacy, but rather just assumed that he could. (JA
53:17-20; 103:12-17). Orr admits no one told him he could
not eat meal breaks in the pharmacy or take snack breaks.
(JA 54:17-24). Orr acknowledged that Foss never told Orr
that he could not have a lunch break or snack break at all.
(JA 74:5-8).

When Coleman hired him, Orr knew that he would be
the only pharmacist in the store. He also knew the hours
were 9-7 and indicated in his application that he could
work those hours. (JA 49:14-50:7; 139). Orr also signed a
matrix of essential job functions in which he stated that
“he had the ability to perform all of the functions high-
lighted above.” (JA 63:5-22; 154). Although asked, Orr did
not indicate on that form that he needed an accommoda-
tion to perform any of the functions. (JA 64:19-25).

C. Orr Closes the Pharmacy.

Foss first learned that Orr was closing the pharmacy
at noon for lunch sometime in mid-February 1998. Foss
told Orr that he could not do that under the Policy. (JA
73:2-10; 129 J 8). Orr did not say that he needed to close
the pharmacy to control his diabetes at that time. (JA 74:
5-8). As indicated below, contrary to Orr’s unsupported
assertion, there is absolutely no evidence that Foss told
Orr that he would have to stay in the pharmacy the entire
time he was working, overseeing the pharmacy techs, and
that Orr could only eat in between serving customers.

Orr continued to close the pharmacy in late February
1998 despite Foss’s discussion with him. After Foss
learned that Orr was closing the pharmacy, he gave Orr a
“performance coaching” known as a “decision making day.”
Foss issued the discipline because Orr was violating the

ee ee

5

Wal-Mart Lunch Policy by closing the pharmacy. (JA
75:19-76:1; 133, 7 8; 142 & 143) handwritten and type-
written copy of performance coaching). Orr’s contention
notwithstanding, his performance coaching was not
because he took a lunch break, but because he closed the
pharmacy to do so. Orr even admits that Foss gave him
the performance coaching because he closed the pharmacy
and not because he was diabetic. (JA 78:3-7). Further,
during the performance coaching, Orr never told Foss that
he had to have uninterrupted lunch breaks to control his
diabetes or mentioned his diabetes at all. (JA 78:20-25).

Orr acknowledged that- when he closed the Wal-Mart
pharmacy to take lunch outside of the pharmacy, he
violated Wal-Mart’s policy for one-pharmacist stores
concerning work hours. (JA 79:9-14). Orr also admits that
when he closed the pharmacy for lunch, no one could take
phone prescriptions or fill or dispense prescriptions. (JA

78:8-19).

Orr wrote a letter to Foss on March 12, 1998 com-
plaining about the write up, but did not allege that his
diabetes was out of control or impaired. (JA 93:5-94:9;
160). Thus, Orr’s statement that he “tried to comply with
[Wal-Mart’s] request but was unable to do so because of his
diabetes” is simply not supported in the record. (See
Plaintiff’s Petition for Writ of Certiorari, p. 3). Orr wrote a
subsequent letter complaining about the Lunch Policy. (JA
94:10-18; 161). At no time during his employment with
Wal-Mart did Orr submit medical records such as his blood
sugar tests or a note from his doctor to Foss or anyone else
indicating that he had to close the pharmacy to have an
uninterrupted lunch break. (JA 95:13-23; 100:2-15). Orr
has never been told by a doctor that there was a specific
. amount of time over which he should consume his meals

6

each day to maintain control of his diabetes. (JA 41:10-15).
Rather, Orr admits that he only should try to eat at the
same time each day to maintain control and he just felt
that he had a medical need to eat at noon each day. (JA
40:10-19; 41:16-23; 42:2-8). Thus, Orr’s assertion that “his
consultation with his doctor, his prior experience and
training have led to this regimen of control for his diabe-
tes” (see Plaintiff’s Petition for Writ of Certiorari, p. 4) has
no basis in the record. More importantly, Orr never testi-
fied nor offered evidence that he required a “nutritionally
complete meal” as he suggests in his Petition.

Foss responded by letter informing him that he could.
eat in the pharmacy and close the pharmacy to get food
and come back. Foss provided the names of persons Orr
could contact if he did not agree with the result. (JA 96:19-
97:7; 162). Orr understood this letter (JA 162) to indicate
that Foss thought Orr could adequately perform his job
and that his diabetes did not impair his performance. (JA
98:17-20; 99:8-12).

On May 7, 1998, Orr sent a letter to Foss telling him
that he was going to begin closing the pharmacy again at
noon for lunch. (JA 162; 100:18-25). When Orr sent the
letter, he knew he was informing his boss that he inten-
tionally would be violating the Lunch Policy, the decision
making day and Foss’s direction. (JA 101:1-102:7). He also
knew that the customers would not get any service when
he closed the pharmacy. (JA 101:8-13).

Orr contends that the only effective accommodation at
Wal-Mart would have been for him to close the pharmacy
at noon each day to take an uninterrupted lunch break.
(JA 92:1-7;108:3-109:21; 91:25-92:7). He proposed no other

accommodation to anyone at Wal-Mart. (JA 91:10-24; JA 4,
q 14). .

D. Wal-Mart Terminates Orr’s Employment.

Orr continued to close the pharmacy again until he
was terminated on May 12, 1998 for “failing to perform job
duties” by closing the pharmacy and violating the decision
making day. (JA 141; 141 Ex. 10, 130, J 13; 104:22-25; 4,
q12). Orr admits that “he has no evidence that Foss
terminated him for any reason other than his violation of
the policy and violation of his decision making day.” (JA
117:7-11). Orr cannot identify any pharmacist at Wal-Mart
that willfully violated the lunch policy and closed the
pharmacy and violated a decision making day who was not
terminated. (JA 113:5-10). Similarly, Orr is unaware of any
pharmacist in a single pharmacist store that was not
required to eat in the pharmacy. (JA 112:7-19).

Orr subsequently filed a charge of disability discrimi-
nation which was rejected by the NEOC and dismissed
pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 48-1119(4). (JA 165). Orr
filed suit on October 19, 1999. (JA 1). The District Court
granted summary judgment to Wal-Mart, determining
that Orr did not qualify as an individual with a disability.
within the meaning of the ADA. The Court found it unnec-
essary to reach the other arguments of Wal-Mart. (JA 127).

E. Orr’s Alleged Disability Under The ADA.

Orr contends that his diabetes is a physical condition
that substantially impairs the major life activity of work-
ing in his position without an uninterrupted lunch break.
(JA 4, { 10). During the time he worked at Wal-Mart, Orr

8

claims that the only major life activity that his diabetes
impaired was his ability to work at Wal-Mart when he had ’
to eat in the pharmacy and allegedly experienced low |
blood sugar as a result. (JA 118:23-119:12).

However, Orr has never filed for disability benefits or
social security benefits, nor has Orr’s doctor ever placed
him on a work restriction because of his diabetes. (JA
27:22-28:3; 44:22-24). Orr has never missed work because
of high blood sugar. (JA 32:11-13). Orr has never missed
work because of low blood sugar that did not result in |
unconsciousness. (JA 34:16-19). Orr has never lost con-
sciousness from a hypoglycemic episode while working. (JA
30:4-9).

Orr claims that he had low blood sugar when he
worked at Wal-Mart because he could not close the phar-
macy, but the only days he can identify on which this
occurred are the days contained in his diary, Exhibit 24.
(JA 127:8-24; 115:7-14). Generally, when Orr has low blood
sugar, it does not prevent him from physically doing
anything he wants to do at work or otherwise. It may
simply slow or impede his performance but he is able to
get done what he wants to get done physically if he has
enough time. (JA 33:12-24). Orr claimed it only impaired
his ability to fill prescriptions. (JA 115:2-6). When Orr
experienced low blood sugar at Wal-Mart, he corrected it
by eating something. (JA 80:15-85:24). Orr’s body responds
fairly rapidly to the food or snacks and it stabilizes his low
blood sugar noticeably within 3-5 minutes. (JA 38:24-
39:23). Importantly, there never was a time when Orr
worked at Wal-Mart where he was not able to eat lunch at |
all or was unable to correct the low blood sugar. (JA 88:12-
18; 157-159). Orr admits that no one told him that he
could not direct his subordinates to answer the phone and

altace

9

wait on customers while he ate, and if he had done so he
should have been able to control his blood sugar. (JA
228:depo. p. 221:13-22; JA 227:depo. p. 219:10; 220-24).
Orr never called a doctor any of the times he had low blood
sugar at Wal-Mart, since he was always able to correct it.
(JA 86:21-87:3). Orr never visited or contacted his doctor
while he worked at Wal-Mart to help him control his blood
sugar. (JA 88:19-89:16).

Orr never missed work at Wal-Mart because of his
diabetes, and never was unable to drive to or from Wal-
Mart because of it. (JA 43:6-14). He is unaware that he
ever committed an error because of his diabetes or that
anyone has complained that he made an error at work. (JA
34:8-15; 45:19-22). Orr was able to complete his shift at
Wal-Mart each time he had low blood sugar and perform
the functions of his pharmacy position although it might
have taken longer when it was low. (JA 85:4-9).

Orr conceded that he had the ability to perform all of
the physical requirements set forth in Exhibit 23 (JA 154)
before and while he worked at Wal-Mart. (JA 64:19-25).
Orr has never applied for nor sought a job that he was not
able to perform because of his diabetes. (JA 114:6-9).
Likewise, there was no job he claims he was unable to
retain because of diabetes, except for Wal-Mart. (JA
114:24-115:6). Indeed, Orr has been employed as a phar-
macist continuously since he became diabetic and was so
employed following his termination at Wal-Mart. (JA
116:8-18; 167-168; 110:15-111:24).

Orr used a glucometer while employed at Wal-Mart to
measure the amount of glucose in his blood, but there is no
evidence in the record that he ever had to administer

10

insulin while at Wal-Mart. Thus Orr’s statement indicat-
ing otherwise is misleading, at best. Further, to clarify
Orr’s statement that “Shortly after being employed by
Wal-Mart, Mr. Orr began using an insulin pump which is
attached to his body 24 hours a day to maintain a normal
insulin regimen” (Plaintiff’s Petition for Writ of Certiorari,
p. 4), Orr did not use an insulin pump at all during his
employment with Wal-Mart, but rather only after he was
terminated (JA 189: depo. p. 67:19-68:12).

Finally, Orr contends that “Some of the ways that Mr.
Orr’s diabetes impacted his life, in addition to monitoring
his blood level and injecting himself with insulin and
eating regularly scheduled nutritionally complete meals,
are deteriorating vision, slurred speech, frequent urina-
tion, lack of concentration, lack of physical strength, lack
of coordination, troubles walking, and the loss of con-
scieceness [sic].” (Plaintiff’s Petition for Writ of Certiorari,
pp. 4-5). However, Orr concedes that when he has prob-
lems with coordination, it simply may slow his typing but
does not prevent him from doing so. (JA 194:depo. p. 85:22-
86:5). When Orr’s vision is impaired, he has to concentrate
more to read, but it does not prevent him from reading.
(JA 194:depo. p. 86:6-13). When Orr’s speech is slurred, he
is still able to communicate. (JA 194:depo. p. 86:19; 87:4).

¢

11

ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITY

I. THERE IS NO CONFLICT AMONG THE CIR-
CUITS SUPPORTING CERTIORARI BECAUSE
THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS,
CONSISTENT WITH THE OTHER CIRCUITS,
SIMPLY REFUSED TO CONSIDER AN ARGU-
MENT ON APPEAL THAT ORR NEVER
RAISED IN THE DISTRICT COURT.

The cornerstone of Orr’s request for Certiorari is that
the Eighth Circuit erred in refusing to decide whether he
presented a fact issue that he was substantially impaired
in the major life activity of eating. But the court of appeals
never reached the merits of that argument. Rather, it
declined to address the assertion on the long-standing
principal that the Court of Appeals “will not address an
argument raised for the first time on appeal.” Orr, 297
F.3d 725 citing Shelton v. Conti Group Cos., 285 F.3d 640,
643 (8th Cir. 2002).’

Contrary to Orr’s assertion, the Court of Appeal’s
opinion does not conflict with any other circuit as it is a
uniform rule among the circuit courts that they will not
address arguments not raised in the lower court. For
example, the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals has held
that a plaintiff cannot raise new major life activities on

* The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals has regularly applied this
doctrine in ADA cases. E.g., Snow v. Ridgeview Medical Center, 128
F.3d 120, 1206 n. 2 (8th Cir. 1997) (Court refused to permit appellant to
argue for the first time on appeal of a summary judgment order that
she was perceived as disabled or had a record of a disability when she
only argued her actual disability to the district court); Heaser v. The
Toro Company, 247 F.3d 826, 832 (8th Cir. 2001) (Court will not
consider “interactive process” argument not raised in district court).

12

appeal that were not identified in opposing summary
judgment in the District Court, Simple v. Midwest Prop-
erty Management LP, 209 F.3d 678, 684 (7th Cir. 2000).
Moreover, the Eighth Circuit’s decision is fully consistent
with Supreme Court precedent. Indeed, this Court refused
to consider other major life activities that a physical
condition might affect that were not asserted by the
plaintiff in the district court, on appeal or in the Rule
14(1)(a) statement of issue. Bragdon v. Abbott, 524 US.
624, 638 (1998); see also Dothard v. Rawlinson, 433 U.S.
321, 323 n. 1 (1977) (“Not having been raised in the
District Court, that issue is not before us.”).

Because the Court of Appeals never reached the
merits of his eating disability argument, there could be no
conflict with Lawson v. CSX Transportations, Inc., 245
F.3d 916 (7th Cir. 2001) as Orr contends.’ (Orr Petition at

* The Majority Panel further held that even if it were to consider
Orr’s argument that he was substantially impaired in eating, it did not
create a material issue of fact.

Even if the limitations on Orr’s ability to eat can be tied
to his ability to work, they cannot salvage his claim under
the ADA. “When the major life activity under consideration
is that of working, the statutory phrase ‘substantially limits’
requires, at a minimum, that plaintiffs allege they are un-
able to work in a broad range of jobs.” Sutton v. United Air
Lines, Inc., 527 U.S. £71, 491 (1999). See also 29 C.F.R pt.
1630.2(j)(3)i), App. § 1630.2(j) (2000). The record reveals
only that Orr’s diabetic condition occasionally produced
symptoms which moderately impaired his performance as |
a pharmacist in a single-pharmacist-on-duty retail store.
In contrast to the diabetic plaintiff in Lawson, Orr consis-
tently performed the essential functions of a pharmacist
before, during, and after his employment with Wal-Mart.
Because Orr’s diabetes, as portrayed by the record in this
case, at most, only moderately limits his ability to perform

(Continued on following page)

ereeenieeneniieaaneeiaiiiiniaaiaiiiiiiniuaiael

13

8) In any event, the Eighth Circuit does not dispute that
eating is a major life activity. Amir v. St. Louis University,
184 F.3d 1017, 1027 (8th Cir. 1999) (eating was substan-
tially impaired where plaintiff could not eat without
vomiting). Accordingly, Orr’s Petition does not offer the
“compelling reasons” for the Supreme Court to review the
decision as there not only is no conflict in the decision with
any of the circuits but it is fully consistent with the prece-
dent of the other circuits and the Supreme Court. Rule
10(a) & (c). In the end, Orr simply seeks to quarrel with
the Majority Panel and other justices of the entire Eighth
Circuit Court of Appeals who refused to hear en banc an
argument he never raised in his complaint, deposition
testimony or the district court.‘ Orr, 297 F.3d at 725.

II. ORR WAS NOT SUBSTANTIALLY IMPAIRED
IN ANY MAJOR LIFE ACTIVITY.

Similarly, Orr’s second issue does not compel review
by the Supreme Court as he again misstates the facts and
the issue. As the majority panel noted, the “[Supreme]
Court concluded that a diabetic is not per se disabled but
must demonstrate his condition substantially limits one or

a particular specialized job or a narrow range of retail
pharmacist jobs, his diabetic condition does not place sub-
stantial limitations on his ability to work.

Orr, 297 F.3d at 725 n. 6.

* Indeed, Orr’s Brief Opposing Summary Judgment in the District
Court never suggested that he was substantially impaired in eating.
(SA9 & 10).

14

more major life activities.” (Orr, 297 F.2d at 724, citing
Sutton v. United Air Lines, Inc., 527 U.S. 471, 483 (1999)).
Further, if medication and other measures eliminate the

limitations, there is no present substantial impairment.
Id.

Following Sutton, the majority panel held that Orr did
not have a substantial impairment of a major life activity
because he simply identified substantially limiting im-
pairments that “might, could, or would” exist if he failed to
control his diabetes through insulin and diet. Orr, 297 F.3d
at 724 citing Sutton, 527 U.S. at 482. Indeed, citing sev-
eral opinions from the Eighth Circuit, the majority panel
held that “Orr failed to present evidence explaining either
how diabetes substantially affects his major life activities
or the duration and frequency of any limitations.” Orr, 297
F.3d at 724-25 (citations omitted).’

Orr, however, admitted that he had never received
disability benefits, had never been unable to work as a
pharmacist because of his diabetes, could stabilize his
blood sugar with food in three to five minutes and even
with low blood sugar could physically do what he wanted
to do, it just took more time. Moreover, Orr never missed
work at Wal-Mart because of his diabetes, and never was

* The majority panel also observed that Orr’s condition is simply
not comparable to the diabetic in Lawson. “In contrast to the diabetic
plaintiff in Lawson, Orr consistently performed the essential functions
of a pharmacist before, during, and after his employment with Wal-
Mart.” Orr, 297 F.3d at 725 n. 6. Specifically, the record in Lawson
demonstrated that he experienced “severe” difficulty in controlling his
diabetes with either insulin or diet resulting in his inability to work for
over 14 years and his receipt of social security disability benefits.
Lawson, 245 F.3d at 919-20.

15

unable to drive to or from Wal-Mart because of it. Orr
admitted he did not commit an error at Wal-Mart because
of his diabetes, or that anyone complained that he did so.
He was able to complete his shift at Wal-Mart each time
he had low blood sugar and perform the functions of his
pharmacy position, although it might have taken longer
when it was low. Orr conceded that he had the ability to
perform all of the physical and mental requirements set
forth in his job description before and while he worked at
Wal-Mart.

Contrary to Orr and the dissent’s assertion, Orr’s
deposition testimony and alleged medical record do not
support present limitations. Orr has not experienced
meaningful impairments from his diabetes since the
eighties, and there were no medical reports in the record
at all as contended by the dissent. Orr, 297 F.3d at 726-27.

Although Orr dramatically declares in his Petition for
Certiorari that Wal-Mart refused to allow him to mitigate
his diabetes, this simply is not what the record showed
and is, at best, a disingenuous statement of the facts. Orr
cannot accuse Wal-Mart of refusing to permit him to
mitigate his diabetes when he could not meet his obliga-
tion to present any evidence that he actually experienced
any substantial limitation from his diabetes while em-
ployed with Wal-Mart.

16

CONCLUSION

In the end, Orr is an unremarkable case in which the
Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals, properly applied the
precedent of the Supreme Court in Sutton and concluded
that Orr was not substantially impaired in any major life
activity on the record before the Court. Wal-Mart Stores,
Inc. respectfully requests that the Supreme Court deny
Orr’s Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.,
Respondent

CHRISTOPHER R. HEDICAN (#19744)

BAIRD, HOLM, MCEACHEN, PEDERSEN,
HAMANN & STRASHEIM LLP

1500 Woodmen Tower

Omaha, NE 68102-2068

(402) 344-0500

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386001_1265%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
