# Opposition Brief — Texas Cities Coalition on Stormwater v. Environmental Protection Agency

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386001_1056%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2004
- **Citation:** 541 U.S. 1085

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S. “|

FILED
(3) MAY 7 - 2004

No. 03-1125 OFFICE OF THE CLERK
In the

Supreme Court of the Anited States

TEXAS CITIES COALITION ON STORMWATER,

Petitioner,
Vv.

UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION
AGENCY and NATURAL RESOURCES DEFENSE
COUNCIL, INC.

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION OF RESPONDENT
NATURAL RESOURCES DEFENSE
COUNCIL, INC.

ANDREW G. FRANK
Counsel of Record
GAINES GWATHMEY III
PAUL, WEISS, RIFKIND,
WHARTON & GARRISON LLP
1285 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10019-6064
(212) 373-3000
Attorneys for Respondent Natural
Resources Defense Council, Inc.

GUEST AVAILABLE COP

Y

NANCY K. STONER
NATURAL RESOURCES DEFENSE
COUNCIL, INC.
1200 New York Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 289-6868
Attorney for Respondent Natural
Resources Defense Council, Inc.

Road
ee

;
i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) promul-
gated the Phase II stormwater rule to regulate pollutant dis-
charges from certain small municipal separate storm sewer sys-
tems (MS4s). The rule gives the MS4 operator a choice between
two compliance options. Under one option, the MS4 has the
freedom to design its own pollution reduction program by se-
lecting control activities within six broad categories, but must
enact certain ordinances or other regulatory mechanisms. Un-
der the alternative, the MS4 may obtain an individual permit
that does not require the MS4 operator to regulate third parties.
In the past, EPA has offered such alternative permits to MS4s
under the authority of the same regulations that now serve as
the basis for the alternative compliance option under the
Phase II rule. |

The questions presented are:

1. Whether the court of appeals correctly found
that the Phase II rule does not violate the Tenth Amendment
because the rule does in fact provide MS4s with a compliance
alternative that does not require regulation of third parties.

r Whether the court of appeals correctly held that
the canon of construction requiring a clear statement of con-
gressional intent when statutory interpretations raise signifi-
cant federalism questions does not invalidate the Phase II rule,
because the canon does not apply when there is no serious con-
stitutional issue, and EPA’s inclusion of the alternative permit
option removes any doubt as to whether the rule violates the
Tenth Amendment.

LIST OF PARTIES

Petitioner is the Texas Cities Coalition on Stormwater
(Texas Cities). The Texas Counties Storm Water Coalition
(Texas Counties) also filed a petition for review of the Phase II
rule and filed joint briefs with the Texas Cities in the court of
appeals. For the purpose of the proceedings before this Court,
the Texas Counties wish to remain a party and have adopted
the position of the Texas Cities, but will not file separate pa-
pers. Respondents are EPA and the respondent-intervenor in
the court of appeals, the Natural Resources Defense Council,
Inc. (NRDC).

The Environmental Defense Center, the American For-
est & Paper Association and the National Association of Home
Builders filed petitions for review of the Phase II rule on issues
different from those presented in this petition for writ of certio-
rari. Those three entities did not intervene in the Texas Cities’
petition for review and are therefore not parties to these pro-
ceedings.

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 29.6, NRDC states that
it is a New York nonprofit corporation that has no parent cor-
poration. It further states that no publicly held company owns
any of its stock.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED wo ecscssccccseeseseeeeeeoce sliethteabeied i

Ree Ce PTI onsennrierssssncinininioeicenaemnanadactaie Ee ii

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT .eecccccccccessssosecc. ii

TABLE OF ALITEIOME IIIB os ccsscsccecesissrioussistestuntuadsen eur Vv

Se OIE cccscsrsiinicieenirnnasinhatial aaa 1
CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY AND

REGULATORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED.................... 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE, ...csscscssscsssecssteisovsssbossosesseeecssesese... 2

A. Stormwater Pollution and the Stormwater

Provision of the Clean Water Act -

an eT tek 2

Tie FET Re iiiscsictnhiinineicaaet eae 4

C. The Fifth Circuit's Decision in City of Abilene .............. 5

DD. Tie Pai UW ssssiisivisnnsismnnincmientrencee 7

E. The Court of Appeals’ Decision in This Case ............ 9

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION......................... 11

I.

THERE ARE NO GROUNDS FOR FURTHER

REVIEW OF THE COURT OF APPEALS’

FINDING THAT THE PHASE II RULE DOES

NOT VIOLATE THE TENTH AMENDMENT

BECAUSE THE RULE PROVIDESA

COMPLIANCE ALTERNATIVE THAT DOES

NOT REQUIRE MS4 OPERATORS TO

REGULATE THIRD PARTIESG............ccccccssscsossscsesseseosecsesees 12

THERE ARE NO GROUNDS FOR FURTHER

REVIEW OF THE COURT OF APPEALS’ :

HOLDING THAT THE PHASE II RULE IS
CONSISTENT WITH THE CLEAR STATEMENT
CANON OF CONSTRUCTION THAT GOVERNS
WHEN A STATUTORY INTERPRETATION

RAISES SERIOUS FEDERALISM QUESTIONG............... 15

A. The Court of Appeals Applied the Same
Authority - SWWANCC - that the Texas Cities
Assert This Court Should Apply and Correctly
Held That the Phase II Rule Is Fully Consistent
with the Clear Statement Canon............cccccseessesseseseeees 16

B. Because the Texas Cities Did Not Previously
Argue That EPA Had a Duty to Provide
Additional Information About the Alternative
Permit Option, This Argument Is Not
Property Debeie TH Cte. ac csssnscnsssecasnenssonessonnnnnssontone 20

CI AI i cisisesesennicceneoiumnnneniiiiniaenaemamanaamnaaiaeae 21

APPENDICES

4D CER. § 122 DOE) (UD) ouersoviccsnissnsnsicsncnsstnsncionisaes App. 1

40 C.F.R. § 122.33(b)(2) (excerpts) ..ssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssen App. 11

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES

Chevron, U.S.A., Inc. v. NRDC,

IP RI wtrsnstvsce rerhclbhabersdshsnarsonaces ced. 6, 10, 16
City of Abilene v. EPA,

325 F.3d 657 (5th Cir. i 5, 6, 7, 16, 17
College Savings Bank v. Florida Prepaid Postsecondary

Educ. Expense Bd.,527 US. 666 ID eecticinisaterienntianads 20
Environmental Defense Center v. EPA,

319 F.3d 398 (9th Cir. ny 2,9
Environmental Defense Center v. EPA,

344 F.3d 832 (9th Cir. i, _ NT TD passim
Garcia v. San Antonio Metropolitan Transit Authority,

469 US. S2B (1985) ......ssssersssesssssssrsnsssessttsecsesoeseccc. 19
NRDC v. Costle, 568 F.2d 1369 (DIC. Cit. 1977) ..sccsccccroesssncencee. 3
New York v. United States, 505 US. cl cg 6, 10, 18
Pennhurst St. Sch. & Hosp. v. Haldermann,

We i BE sittin norsctsicrnewigniubssieieccscccncc ona. 20

Pennsylvania Dep’t of Corrections v. Yeskey,
sashes ie ci: TE 20

Page

Solid Waste Agency of Northern Cook County v.
United States Army Corps of Engineers,

531 U.S. 159 (2001) ........cccsssscssesssesseesereneeeees 5, 16, 17, 18
South Dakota v. Dole,
483 U.S. 203 (1987) ......cccecsssessseseseeeeteneresnessssnsseeceeseeeneens 20
Thomas Jefferson Univ. v. Shalala,
512 U.S. 504, 512 (1994) .....cecccceresesreeeseeneeensessseeensenens 15
STATUTES
Clean Water Act,
BS U.S.C. § 1342 ...ccresccccrrescsscerersrsecsecceccsseasscssnsoesensccsensenees 3
33 U.S.C. § 1342(p) .....cecccecssesseseneseeeseensnenersesssneneneeeneees a3
33 U.S.C. § 1342(p)(3).....cessccssseeseeeesseesenseseessseseseneneneneens 5
33 U.S.C. § 1342(p)(3)(B)(ii).......-.essesesesesesesseeseetesenenenens 18
33 U.S.C. § 1342(p)(3)(B) (iii) ..........-seseeseeeseeeeseseeeeeneecens 18
33 U.S.C. § 1342(p)(4).....ccscccceseseeesssseeneneneansnecsesesnsnenenenees 4
33 U.S.C. § 1342(p)(4)(A) ....secceceeesseeeeeeneneseeesnssnsnenenees 14
33 U.S.C. § 1342(p)(4)(B) ....-.cececsseeseeeeneseseensensnenenenens 14
33 U.S.C. § 1342(p)(6).......scccccesecsssecesesenenessesensnsssseseeees 4,7
33 U.S.C. §1362(14),......ccccccrscccscssscserscsssesncesesnsscnsnceesecees 3

vi

Congressional Review Act of 1996,

SUG, BORG nsccssesnccensnceciescececasseseeeenenssecs 19
I CI rset 19
i ae nT EEN A 19

Department of Veterans Affairs and Housing and Ur-
ban Development and Independent Agencies
Appropriation Act of 2000, Pub. L. 106-74

§ 431, 113 Stat. 1047 (1999) ......cccccccccsssccsseccscessssssssseee 19
REGULATIONS

ig Lt | See mE 2,4,14
40 C.F.R. § 122.26(d)(2)(iv)(B)(1) ......esccccccccssssssssssssssssssseseeeeccecece 4
40 C.F.R. § 122.26(d)(2)(Viii) ....sssesssssssssssssssssssssssssssssseesee 4,14,15
A ria iilarttrt ee 2
pe Bo. | ee 2, 8,15
ahi i. AD RPC OE SC RT 2
AO CFR. § 122. DA(D) (SRY) nanan nancccccsccccccenccrcorcenerseseeoeeeeecs .
40 C.F.R. § 122.34(b)(4)(ii)(A) ....ccsssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssseeeeeee s
40 C.F.R. § 122.34(b)(5)(ii)(B) ....sesesecccecccsccccccccccsssssssssssssssssssccseec .
ein ci ok, ME NARI LAURER ED SE 2

Vil

ADMINISTRATIVE PUBLICATIONS

National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit
Application Regulations for Stormwater Dis-
charges, 55 Fed. Reg. 47990 (Nov. 16, 1990).........s:s:ss000 4

National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System - Regu-
lations for Revision of the Water Pollution Control
Program Addressing Storm Water Discharges;
Final Rule, 64 Fed. Reg. 68722 (Dec. 8, 1999)...2, 3, 7, 13

Viii

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

TEXAS CITIES COALITION ON STORMWATER,

Petitioner,
Vv.

UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL
PROTECTION AGENCY and
NATURAL RESOURCES DEFENSE COUNCIL, INC.

Respondents.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

NRDC respectfully requests that the Court deny the pe-
tition for a writ of certiorari to review the September 15, 2003,
judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The final opinion below is Environmental Defense Center
v. EPA, 344 F.3d 832 (9th Cir. 2003). App. 1-92.1 In issuing the
final opinion, the Ninth Circuit vacated its initial opinion, re-

1 Citations to” App.” refer to the Appendix to the Texas Cities’ peti-
tion for writ of certiorari.

ported as Environmental Defense Center v. EPA, 319 F.3d 398 (9th
Cir. 2003).

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY AND
REGULATORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Tenth Amendment to the United States Constitu-
tion provides as follows: “The powers not delegated to the
United States by the Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the -

States, are reserved to the States respectively, or to the people.”
\

The relevant provision of the Clean Water Act (CWA),
section 402(p), 33 U.S.C. § 1342(p), is reproduced at App. 93-97.
The Phase II rule and its preamble were published at 64 Fed.
Reg. 68722-68852. App. 98-166 (excerpts). The rule itself is
codified at various sections of 40 C.F.R. parts 9, 122, 123 and
124. See App. 167-81 (setting forth certain provisions of the
rule, including 40 C.F.R. §§ 122.30, 122.34 and 122.36); NRDC
App. 11-12 (setting forth excerpts from 40 CFR.
§ 122.33(b)(2)(ii))?. Certain relevant provisions of EPA’s Phase I
stormwater rule are incorporated by reference in the Phase II
rule. See NRDC App. 1-11 (setting forth excerpts from 40
C.F.R. § 122.26(d)).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Stormwater Pollution and the Stormwater Provision
of the Clean Water Act - Section 402(p)

Urban stormwater discharges are a leading cause of wa-
ter pollution. Uncontrolled discharges of polluted stormwater

2 Citations to “NRDC App.” refer to the Appendix to this brief.

2

from MS4s convey metals, pathogens, toxins, sediment, nutri-
ents, trash and other pollutants to the waters of the United
States. National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System - Regula-
tions for Revision of the Water Pollution Control Program Address-
ing Storm Water Discharges; Final Rule, 64 Fed. Reg. 68722, 68744
(Dec. 8, 1999) (hereinafter Phase II Pream. & R.).

The cornerstone of the nation’s water pollution control
efforts is the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System
(NPDES) established under section 402 of the Clean Water Act,
33 U.S.C. § 1342. Under the NPDES regime, it is unlawful to
discharge pollutants to the waters of the United States from a
point source? without authorization to do so pursuant to a
permit that sets conditions on the discharges.

Since the enactment of the Clean Water Act in 1972,
most NPDES permits have relied on numeric effluent limits as
the conditions that must be met to render the discharges lawful.
Numeric effluent limits are quantitative “end of pipe” restric-
tions on the amounts or concentrations of pollutants that may
be discharged.

In 1977, the District of Columbia Circuit held that storm
sewers were point sources that EPA could not exempt from
NPDES permitting requirements. NRDC v. Costle, 568 F.2d
1369, 1377, 1379 (D.C. Cir. 1977). EPA subsequently attempted
to promulgate stormwater regulations in the 1970s and 1980s.

In 1987, Congress enacted section 402(p) of the Clean
Water Act, 33 U.S.C. § 1342(p), App. 93-97. Among other
things, that statute created a two-phase regulatory program for

3 The Clean Water Act defines a point source as “any discernible,
confined and discrete conveyance . . . from which pollutants are or may be
discharged.” 33 U.S.C. § 1362(14).

stormwater discharges. Section 402(p)(4) required that EPA
establish regulations setting forth permit application require-
ments for stormwater discharges from large and medium MS4s,
that is, MS4s serving populations of 100,000 persons or greater.
33 U.S.C. § 1342(p)(4), App. 95-96. Section 402(p)(6), in turn,
required EPA to designate additional sources of stormwater
pollution for regulation and to establish a comprehensive pollu-
tion control program for the designated sources. 33 U.S.C.
§ 1342(p)(6), App. 97.

B. The Phase I Rule

In 1990, EPA promulgated regulations under section
402(p)(4) for large and medium MS4s. Those regulations be-
came known as the Phase I rule.4 Consistent with the statute,
the Phase I rule sets out permit application requirements for
those MS4s. 40 C.F.R. § 122.26(d). Among the information that
the Phase I rule requires in those permit applications is descrip-
tion of “a program. .. to implement and enforce an ordinance,
orders or similar means to prevent illicit discharges to the
[MS4].” 40 C.F.R. § 122.26(d)(2)(iv)(B)(1), NRDC App. 7. How-
ever, the rule also provides that the permitting authority can
excuse an MS4 from certain of the application requirements,
including the requirement that the MS4 describe its program to
implement and enforce an illicit discharge ordinance, if the re-
quirement is not “practicable” or “applicable.” 40 C.F.R.
§ 122.26(d)(2)(viii), NRDC App. 10.

4 National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit Application
Regulations for Stormwater Discharges, 55 Fed. Reg. 47,990 (Nov. 16, 1990) (codi-
fied at various sections of 40 C.F.R. pts. 122-124).

4

C. The Fifth Circuit’s Decision in City of Abilene

Since promulgation of the Phase I rule, EPA and other
permitting authorities have issued Phase I permits to large and
medium MS4s. In City of Abilene v. EPA, 325 F.3d 657 (5th Cir.
2003), reh’g en banc denied, 71 Fed. Appx. 443 (5th Cir. 2003), a
unanimous panel of the Fifth Circuit upheld EPA-issued
Phase I MS4 permits against two as-applied challenges. The
first challenge was based on the canon of construction requiring
a clear statement of congressional intent when a statutory in-
terpretation raises serious federalism questions, as set out in
Solid Waste Agency of Northern Cook County v. United States Army
Corps of Engineers, 531 U.S. 159 (2001) (hereinafter SWANCC).
The second challenge was based on the Tenth Amendment.

In City of Abilene, EPA had offered the plaintiffs, two
Texas cities, a choice between (1) permits that would have re-
quired the cities to implement and enforce ordinances or other
programs to prevent the discharge of pollutants into their
MS4s, and (2) permits containing numeric effluent limits. Id. at
660. The cities chose permits of the first type rather than nu-
meric effluent limit permits. Upon issuance of the permits, the
cities sought administrative ana judicial review. The cities con-
tended that the Clean Water Act did not provide sufficiently
clear authority to allow EPA to require an MS4 operator to
regulate third parties, and that such regulation of third parties
“invoke[d] the outer limits of [federal] power,” so that the per-
mits violated the SWANCC clear statement canon of construc-
tion. Id. :

In denying that challenge, the Fifth Circuit quoted sec-
tion 402(p)(3) of the Clean Waiter Act, 33 U.S.C. § 1342(p)(3),
which requires that MS4 permits include “a requirement to ef-
féctively prohibit non-stormwater discharges into the storm
sewers’ and “controls to reduce the discharge of pollutants to
the maximum extent practicable, including management prac-

5

tices, control techniques and system, design and engineering
methods, and such other provisions as the Administrator or the
State [permitting authority] determines appropriate for the control of
such pollutants.” Id. at 660-61 (emphasis in original). Based on
this statutory language, the Fifth Circuit concluded that “even
if Chevron deference is not warranted, the challenged permit
conditions are within EPA’s discretion.” Id. at 661 (referencing
Chevron, U.S.A., Inc. v. NRDC, 467 U.S. 837 (1984)).

The Fifth Circuit also rejected the argument that the
permits violated the Tenth Amendment because they required
the cities to regulate third parties. Id. at 661-63. Following New
York v. United States, 505 U.S. 144 (1992), the court stated that
the federal government could encourage states and municipali-
ties to implement a federal regulatory program so long as the
choice to do so or not remained with the state or municipal
government. City of Abilene, 325 F.3d at 662. As a result, the
cities could not “establish a Tenth Amendment violation with-
out demonstrating that they had no other option but to regulate
[third parties] according to federal standards.” Id. The Fifth
Circuit concluded that EPA’s offer of a numeric effluent limit
permit gave the cities that other option:

Like [the statute at issue in Reno v. Condon, 528 U.S. 141
(2000)], the proposed numeric end-of-pipe permits
would not have required the Cities to regulate their
own residents but instead, by requiring the Cities to
meet effluent limitations, would have regulated them in
the same manner as other dischargers of pollutants. Be-
cause the record shows that the Cities voluntarily chose
the management permits over permits that did not re-
quire the Cities to regulate according to federal stan-
dards, the Cities have not been compelled to implement
a federal regulatory scheme. Accordingly, their Tenth
Amendment challenge fails.

6
2

Id. at 663.
D. The Phase II Rule

In 1999, EPA promulgated regulations under Clean Wa-
ter Act section 402(p)(6), 33 U.S.C. § 1342(p)(6). Phase II Pream.
&R., 64 Fed. Reg. 68722-852. Those regulations became known
as the Phase II rule. Consistent with the statute, the Phase II
rule designated certain stormwater dischargers for regulation
— including certain small MS4s — and established a compre-
hensive permitting program to regulate them. The preamble to
the rule listed approximately 5,700 cities or counties in “urban-
ized areas” that would be actually or potentially subject to the
rule. Phase II Pream. & R.,-64 Fed. Reg. at 68812-37. Certain
federal facilities are also regulated under the Phase II rule’s
MS4 provisions. Id. at 68749.

The Phase II rule provides two compliance options.
One option gives MS4 operators the freedom to design their
own regulatory program by selecting pollution control activi-
ties from six broad wategories referred to as the minimum
measures.° App. 108 (“each 7 >rrnittee will determine appropri-
ate [management practices] to satisfy each of the six minimum
control measures”). EPA. designed the rule in this way to pro-
vide “maximum flexibility in MS4 permitting” because “MS4s
need . . . flexibility to optimize reductions in storm water pol-
lutants on a location-by-location basis.” App. 107. The six
minimum measure categories are: (1) public education and
outreach on stormwater impacts; (2) public involve-
ment/ participation; (3) illicit discharge detection and elimina-

> In ruling ona separate petition for review of the Phase II rule, the
Ninth Circuit held that the MS4 operators’ choice of pollution control meas-
ures must be reviewed by the permitting authority to ensure that the MS4
pollution control programs meet relevant Statutory standards. App. 37-38.
That issue is not before this Court.

tion; (4) construction site stormwater runoff control; (5) post-
construction stormwater management in new development and
redevelopment; and (6) pollution prevention/ good housekeep-
ing for municipal operations. App. 109-42.

Though the minimum measures approach provides
flexibility, the MS4’s minimum measure pollution control pro-
gram must include certain features. For the illicit discharge,
construction site, and new development and redevelopment
minimum measures, the pollution control program must in-
clude certain ordinances or other regulatory mechanisms.
40C.F.R. §§ 122.34(b)(3)(ii)(B), 122.34(b)(4)(ii)(A) &
122.34(b)(5)(ii)(B), App. 171, 172 & 174.

: _ The alternative to the minimum measures approach un-
der the Phase II rule allows regulated small MS4s to obtain in-
dividual permits under the Phase I rule’s permit application
requirements for large and medium MS4s. App. 152-53. EPA
stated that those individual Phase II permits would “more spe-
cifically focus[ ] on the pollutants” discharged from the regu-
lated MS4s, App. 157, and expressly noted that the permits
could be based on numeric effluent limits. App. 158; see also
App. 158-59 (explaining how appropriate effluent limits might
be determined). EPA indicated that MS4 operators seeking
permission to discharge under the alternative permit option did
not need to submit details about future stormwater program
requirements unless the MS4 operator intended that those fu-
ture program components be considered when developing the
permit conditions. App. 159; see also 40 C.F.R. § 122.33(b)(2)(ii),
NRDC App. 11-12.

EPA added the alternative compliance option in re-
sponse to comments suggesting that the minimum measures
approach might violate the Tenth Amendment by requiring the
operators of MS4s to regulate third parties. App. 153-54. EPA
explained that the minimum measures approach, standing

alone, did not excessively interfere with the functioning of mu-
nicipal governments, and therefore did not violate the Tenth
Amendment. App. 155-57. EPA further noted that, in any
event, providing the alternative permit option resolved any
Tenth Amendment concerns:

Even if the minimum measures approach was constitu-
tionally suspect, a requirement that standing alone
would violate constitutional principles of federalism
does not raise concerns if the entity subject to the re-
quirement may opt for an alternative action that does
not raise a federalism issue.

App. 157.
E. The Court of Appeals’ Decision in This Case

In its September 15, 2003 revised opinion, a unanimous
panel of the Ninth Circuit rejected the Texas Cities’ clear state-
ment and Tenth Amendment challenges to the rule. App. 14-
a2.

° The court of appeals issued its original opinion, in which the entire
panel rejected the clear statement challenge and a majority of the panel re-
jected the Tenth Amendment challenge, on January 14, 2003. Environmental
Defense Center v. EPA, 319 F.3d 398 (9th Cir. 2003). Judge Richard C. Tallman
dissented on the Tenth Amendment point, and on certain other points not
relevant to this petition for writ of certiorari. The Texas Cities and Texas
Counties filed a petition for panel and en banc rehearing on the clear state-
ment and Tenth Amendment issues. On September 15, 2003, the court of ap-
peals denied the Texas Cities’ and Texas Counties’ petition for panel and en
banc rehearing, but issued a revised opinion. While continuing to uphold the
rule against the clear statement and Tenth Amendment challenges, the court
amended its opinion on those two points in the wake of the Fifth Circuit's
City of Abilene decision, which had been issued after the Ninth Circuit's origi-
nal decision in this action. Judge Tallman joined in the revised opinion on the
Tenth Amendment point, making the revised opinion unanimous on both the

9

ee

On the clear statement issue, as set out in more detail in
section II.A below, the court of appeals ruled that EPA’s statu-
tory interpretations passed muster under the test for adminis-
trative deference set out in Chevron, U.S.A., Inc. v. NRDC, 467
U.S. 837 (1984) as well as under SWANCC.

As for the constitutional issue, the Ninth Circuit, like the
Fifth Circuit in City of Abilene, held that there is no Tenth
Amendment violation when EPA offers MS4s at least one com-
pliance alternative that does not require the state or municipal-
ity to regulate third parties. App. 19 (citing New York v. United
States, 505 U.S. 144, 168 (1992)). Since under the Phase II rule
MS4s may choose either the minimum measures approach or
the alternative permit, the Ninth Circuit concluded that the rule
would not violate the Tenth Amendment so long as the alterna-
tive permit option standing alone did not violate the Tenth
Amendment's federalism guarantees. App. 20.

The court found that the alternative permit option did
not offend Tenth Amendment principles because it did not
compel MS4s to regulate third parties. The court recognized
that the Phase I rule application requirements, which served as
the application requirements under the alternative permit op-
tion, did require an MS4 to provide information concerning
proposed ordinances or other regulatory measures. App. 20.
But the court found that those application requirements did not
“specif[y] the contents of the permit that will result from the
application process.” App. 20. Thus, “nothing in [the Phase I
permit application requirements] will compel the operator of a
small MS4 to implement a federal regulatory program or regu-
late third parties.” App. 21. In further support for its conclu-

clear statement and Tenth Amendment issues. Judge Tallman continued to
dissent on other issues. INo judge of the court of appeals requested a vote on
the petition for en banc rehearing.

sion on this point, the Ninth Circuit noted that EPA had in fact
already offered the Phase I cities at issue in City of Abilene “an
option for obtaining permits that would not have involved...
regulating third parties.” App. 21. The court of appeals con-
cluded that “by presenting the option of seeking a permit under
[the Phase I permit application requirements], the Phase II rule
avoids any unconstitutional coercion.” App. 21-22.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

The Texas Cities contend that the Phase II rule violates
the Tenth Amendment because the alternative permit option
requires MS4 operators to regulate third parties. The decision
of the court of appeals creates no conflict of authority or impor-
tant, unresolved question of law on this point, however. Both
the Ninth Circuit, in this case, and the Fifth Circuit, in the City
of Abilene case, have held that there is no Tenth Amendment
violation when EPA provides MS4s with a compliance alterna-
tive that does not require MS4s to regulate third parties. The
Texas Cities do not dispute this principle. Instead, the Texas
Cities simply disagree with the court's finding that the Phase II
rule provides MS4s with such an alternative. However, the
Texas Cities invoke no interpretive principles in support of
their reading of the regulation, and the plain language of the
regulation is contrary to their position.

The Texas Cities also contend that the Phase II rule vio-
lates the clear statement canon of construction that governs
when a statutory interpretation raises serious constitutional
questions concerning the balance of authority between the fed-
eral and state governments. There is, however, no conflict of
authority or important, unresolved question of federal law on
this point either. The court of appeals applied the same deci-
sion of this Court - SWANCC - that the Texas Cities argue that

11 ie

this Court should apply. Because the availability of the alterna-
tive permit option eliminates any purported Tenth Amendment
concern, the court of appeals correctly decided that there was
no serious constitutional question and thus that no clear state-
ment was necessary. Moreover, the canon provides that stat-
utes should be interpreted to avoid constitutional problems.
The court of appeals’ decision to uphold EPA’s interpretation,
which avoids any Tenth Amendment concerns by providing a
compliance alternative that does not require MS4s to regulate
third parties, is thus fully consistent with the canon.

In addition, the Texas Cities now argue, for the first
time in this petition for writ of certiorari, that decisions of this
Court obliged EPA to provide additional information about the
compliance alternatives available to MS4s under the Phase II
rule so that MS4 operators could “voluntarily and knowingly”
choose between the alternatives. Because the Texas Cities never
raised this argument in the proceedings in the court of appeals,
the argument is not properly before this Court. |

I.

THERE ARE NO GROUNDS FOR FURTHER REVIEW OF
THE COURT OF APPEALS’ FINDING THAT THE
PHASE II RULE DOES NOT VIOLATE THE TENTH
AMENDMENT BECAUSE THE RULE PROVIDES A
COMPLIANCE ALTERNATIVE THAT DOES NOT
REQUIRE MS4 OPERATORS TO
REGULATE THIRD PARTIES

In a careful application of this Court's jurisprudence, the
Ninth Circuit agreed with the Fifth Circuit in holding that there
is no Tenth Amendment violation if EPA offers MS4s a compli-
ance alternative that does not require them to regulate third
parties. No court has held otherwise, and the Texas Cities do
not challenge that holding in this petition.

12

~ moxtiguemnnenanmnes . nen AN se EN

Instead, the Texas Cities contend that the Phase II rule
violates the Tenth Amendment because the alternative permit
option in fact requires MS4s to regulate third parties. Pet. at 27-
30. According to the Texas Cities, because certain parts of the
relevant regulations for the alternative permit option require
that the MS4 provide information about proposed ordinances
or other regulatory mechanisms in the permit application, the
permits themselves must include ordinances or other similar
regulatory mechanisms. Id. The court of appeals found to the
contrary, and for several reasons this issue does not merit re-
view by this Court.”

First, there is no conflict in authority or important, unre-
solved issue of law on this point. The Texas Cities’ position is
simply an argument that certain regulations mean something
other than what their plain language states and what the
agency charged with their interpretation says they mean. The
Texas Cities admit that what they seek is correction of a pur-
ported “mistake,” Pet. at 27, and simple correction of a mistake
is not a sufficient ground for certiorari. The Texas Cities invoke
no interpretive principles and cite only two cases - neither of
which is a decision of this Court, and one of which is discussed
solely for the purpose of arguing that it does not govern here.8
Pet. at 27-30.

7 The Texas Cities state that the rule ” potentially affects more than
50,000 State and local governmental entities in the nation.” Pet. at 27; see also
Pet. at 14. However, the Texas Cities do not cite any source for this 50,000
figure. The rule itself identifies a Pproximately 5,700 cities or counties actually
or potentially subject to the rule. Phase II Pream. & R., 64 Fed. Reg. at 68812-
37.

8 The Texas Cities do suggest that EPA’s interpretation caused the
court of appeals to “misapply” SWANCC because both the minimum meas-
ures option and the alternative permit option allegedly require MS4s to regu-
late third parties, so that the rule raises “significant federalism issues.” Pet. at

13

Second, the Texas Cities’ position on the merits is not
correct. The plain language of the relevant statute indicates
that the Phase I rule provisions were to establish “regulations
setting forth the permit application requirements” for large and
medium MS4s. 33 U.S.C. § 1342(p)(4)(A) & (B), App. 95-96
The Phase I rule does exactly that: establish permit application
requirements. See, e.g.,40 C.F.R. 122.26(d), NRDC App. 1 (cap-
tioned “Application requirements for large and medium mu-
nicipal storm sewer systems”). The court of appeals found that
these regulations, which now also serve as the application re-
quirements for the alternative permit option under the Phase II
rule, did not “specif[y] the contents of the permit that will re-
sult from the application process.” App. 20. As a result,
“nothing in [the permit application requirements] will compel
the operator of a small MS4 to implement a federal regulatory
program or regulate third parties.” App. 21. Citing City of Abi-
lene, the court of appeals also noted that EPA has in fact already
offered permits to MS4s that do not require the MS4s to regu-
late third parties. EPA did so, of course, under the Phase |
permit application requirements that now apply to Phase II
MS4s under the alternate permit option.

Additional support for finding of the court of appeals is
found in the text of the regulations. The regulations give the
permitting authority the power to excuse an MS4 from certain
application requirements - including the requirement to de-
scribe the illicit discharge ordinance - if those requirements are
not applicable or practicable, as they would not be for an alter-
native permit based on numeric effluent limits. 40 C.F.R.
§ 122.26(d)(2)(viii), NRDC App. 10. Moreover, the Phase II rule

30. As noted in section II.A below, however, the interpretation upheld by the
court of appeals does not create a federalism issue, but in fact eliminates any
alleged federalism issue, since the alternative permit option allows MS4s to
avoid regulating third parties.

14

expressly provides that an MS4 applying for an alternative
permit need not demonstrate its legal authority to enact such
ordinances. 40 C.F.R. § 122.33(b)(2)(ii), NRDC App. 11-12.

The exceptions to the application requirements found in
40 C.F.R §§ 122.26(d)(2)(viii) and 122.33(b)(2)(ii) are consistent
with EPA’s statement, in the preamble to the Phase II rule, that
MS4 operators seeking alternative permits do not need to pro-
- vide information concerning such program requirements if they
seek an alternative permit. App. 159. That agency interpreta-
tion of its own regulations is entitled to deference. Thomas Jef-
ferson Univ. v. Shalala, 512 U.S. 504, 512 (1994) (administrative
interpretation is of “controlling weight unless it is plainly erro-
neous or inconsistent with the regulation”). These exceptions
are also, of course, consistent with the fact that the alternative
permit option does not require MS4s to regulate third parties.

Il.

THERE ARE NO GROUNDS FOR FURTHER REVIEW OF
THE COURT OF APPEALS’ HOLDING THAT THE
PHASE II RULE IS CONSISTENT WITH THE CLEAR
STATEMENT CANON OF CONSTRUCTION THAT
GOVERNS WHEN A STATUTORY INTERPRETATION
RAISES SERIOUS FEDERALISM QUESTIONS

The Texas Cities argue that the Phase II rule is inconsis-
tent with the canon of construction that requires a clear state-
ment of congressional intent for statutory interpretations that
raise serious constitutional issues regarding the balance of fed-
eral and state authority. Pet. at 16-17. Though the Texas Cities
contend that the court of appeals’ rejection of their clear state-
ment challenge presents an issue of “immense importance” and
constitutes a “radical departure from settled law,” Pet. at 13, the
court of appeals w:s able to resolve the challenge easily
through a simple and correct application of the decision of this

15

Court - SWANCC - upon which the Texas Cities themselves
rely.

A. The Court of Appeals Applied the Same Authority -
SWANCC - that the Texas Cities Assert This Court
Should Apply and Correctly Held That the Phase II
Rule Is Fully Consistent with the Clear Statement
Canon

The Texas Cities contend that EPA lacked statutory au-
thority under SWANCC. SWANCC stands for the proposition
that statutes should be interpreted to avoid significant constitu-
tional problems unless such an interpretation is plainly con-
trary to the intent of Congress. 531 U.S. at 173, 174.

The court of appeals held the rule to be a valid exercise
of EPA’s statutory authority under Chevron, U.S.A., Inc. v.
NRDC, 467 U.S. 837 (1984). App. 16n.18. However, to address
the Texas Cities’ argument that SWANCC governed, the Ninth
Circuit also examined whether SWANCC invalidated the rule.
Id. Similarly, in City of Abilene, the Fifth Circuit determined
whether SWANCC invalidated the MS4 permits at issue in that
case. 325 F.3d at 660-61. Both courts concluded that SWANCC
did not invalidate EPA’s actions. Given that the only two
courts to examine this issue applied the same legal authority
that the Texas Cities contend that this Court should apply and
reached the same conclusion, the Texas Cities have no grounds
to assert the existence of a conflict in authority or an unresolved
question of law as a basis for certiorari.

Because there is no conflict of authority or unresolved
question of law, the Texas Cities’ position is simply that the
court of appeals misapplied SWWANCC. But the Ninth Circuit's
holding that the Phase II rule did not violate the clear statement
canon was correct. The court of appeals found that the Phase II
rule did not present any serious constitutional problems be-

16

cause the existence of the alternative permit option eliminated
any purported Tenth Amendment concerns. App. 16,n.18. As
noted above, the Fifth Circuit agrees that there is no Tenth
Amendment problem when EPA provides a compliance alter-
native that does not require MS4s to regulate third parties, and
no court has disagreed.

The clear statement canon of construction only governs,
however, when there is a serious constitutional issue. Accord-
ingly, in the absence of a serious constitutional issue, the court
of appeals correctly determined that the canon did not apply,
and there was no need for a special clear statement authorizing
the Phase II rule’s choice of compliance alternatives. App. 16
n.18.

In particular, the canon applies in situations where the
statutory interpretation at issue alters the traditional balance of
federal and state authority. SVWWANCC, 531 U.S. at 173. The
court of appeals found, however, that the Phase II Rule main-
tained, rather than altered, the existing balance of federal-state
authority, given that (1) EPA’s authority to regulate MS4s was
established over a quarter of a century ago, and (2) EPA prom-
ulgated the Phase I rule over a decade ago. App. 16, n.18.

The court also noted that, “even if a clear statement of
congressional intent were necessary, § 402(p) of the Clean Wa-
ter Act is replete with clear statements that Congress intended
EPA to require MS4s either to obtain . . . permits or to stop dis-
charging stormwater.”? Id.

9 Applying SWANCC, the Fifth Circuit found that the Clean Water
Act provided clear statements granting EPA discretion to ixpose permit con-
ditions similar to those in the minimum measures. City of Abilene, 325 F.3d at
661. The Fifth Circuit cited Clean Water Act sections 402(p)(3)(B)(ii) and (iii),
which provide that MS4 permits include “a requirement to effectively pro-
hibit nonstormwater discharges into the storm sewers” and “controls to re-

17

Indeed, the court of appeals’ decision to uphold the rule
is fully consistent with the clear statement canon. As this Court
has stated, the clear statement canon provides that statutes
should be interpreted to avoid significant constitutional prob-
lems unless such an interpretation is plainly contrary to the in-
tent of Congress., SWANCC, 531 U.S. at 173, 174.

In New York v. United States, 505 U.S. 144 (1992), this
Court applied this affirmative aspect of the canon in a Tenth
Amendment context. In that case, the Court confronted two
interpretations of a provision of the Low-Level Radioactive
Waste Policy Amendments Act of 1985 (“LLRWPA”). Under
one interpretation, the statutory provision was a mandate re-
quiring states to enact and enforce <a federal regulatory program
in violation of the Tenth Amendment. Under the other inter-
pretation, the statute provided a series of compliance alterna-
tives. Applying the clear statement canon, the Court held that
the latter interpretation was correct because the former was
constitutionally problematic.’ Id. at 170.

The court of appeals’ decision here is fully consistent
with New York. The court of appeals confronted two interpreta-
tions of the Phase II rule. Under the Texas Cities’ interpreta-
tion, the Phase II rule is an unconstitutional reading of EPA’s

duce the discharge of pollutants to the maximum extent practicable, including
management practices, control techniques . . . and such other provisions as
the Administrator . . . determines appropriate for the control of such pollut-
ants.” 33 U.S.C. § 1342(p)(3)(B)(ii) & (iii), App. 94.

10 In New York, the Court ultimately found, of course, that the final
alternative under the LLRWPA, the “take title” provision, did not provide a
constitutional alternative. 505 U.S. at 176. Unlike the “take title” provision
of the LLRWPA, however, the alternative permit option under the Phase II
rule is not unconstitutional standing alone, because it allows MS4s to control
pollutant discharges without requiring them to regulate third parties.

18

statutory authority, because, according to the Texas Cities, both
the minimum measures option and the alternative permit op-
tion require MS4 operators to regulate third parties in violation
of the Tenth Amendment. On the other hand, under EPA’s in-
terpretation, the rule is a constitutional reading of the statutory
authority because the alternative permit option does not re-
quire MS4 operators to regulate third parties, and thus the rule
offers a choice that does not violate the Tenth Amendment. The
clear statement canon of construction requires that the court
choose the interpretation that is least constitutionally problem-
atic - EPA’s interpretation - and the court of appeals did so. A
decision by this Court to reverse the court of appeals’ decision
and reject EPA’s interpretation would be directly contrary to
the canon of construction, and thus there is no reason to grant
the petition for writ of certiorari on this point."

1 Citing Garcia v. San Antonio Metropolitan Transit Authority, 469 U.S.
528 (1985), the Texas Cities suggest that the court of appeals’ decision “ failed
to ensure the efficacy of the procedural political safeguards” that protect state
and municipal interests. Pet. at 22. The Texas Cities appear to be arguing
that the court of appeals somehow ran roughshod over Congress’ views on
EPA’s authority under the relevant statutes. Id. at 22-23.

The Texas Cities’ invocation of Garcia makes no sense, however.
Congress, like the court of appeals, declined to invalidate the Phase II rule.
Prior to promulgation of the rule, at the behest of a Senator from Texas, Con-
gress directed EPA to report on the proposed rule. Department of Veterans
Affairs & Housing and Urban Dev. & Indep. Agencies Approp. Act of 2000,
Pub. L. 106-74 § 431, 113 Stat. 1047 (1999) (enacting Hutchison Amend., 145
Cong. Rec. S11445 (Sept. 24, 1999)). Congress received that report when the
EPA administrator signed the rule in October 1999 and would have received a
copy of the rule itself pursuant to the Congressional Review Act of 1996, 5
U.S.C. § 801(a)(1)(A) (the “Review Act”). Nonetheless, Congress did not use
its Review Act authority to invalidate the rule. 5 U.S.C. §§ 801(b)(1) & 802.
NRDC respectfully suggests that this Court should not grant certiorari to va-
cate the rule on a clear statement challenge when Congress itself declined to
vacate the rule.

19

B. Because the Texas Cities Did Net Previously Argue
That EPA Had a Duty to Provide Additional Informa-
tion About the Alternative Permit Option, This Ar-
gument Is Not Properly Before This Court

The Texas Cities now contend, for the first time, that the
Phase II rule is invalid because EPA had a legal duty to provide
additional information concerning the alternative permit option
so that MS4 operators could “voluntarily and knowingly”
choose between the two compliance options. Pet. at 25 (citing
College Savings Bank v. Florida Prepaid Postsecondary Educ. Ex-
pense Bd., 527 U.S. 666, 680-84 (1999); South Dakota v. Dole, 483
U.S. 203, 207 (1987); Pennhurst St. Sch. & Hosp. v. Haldermann,
451 U.S. 1, 17-18 (1981)). The Texas Cities did not make this ar-
gument before the court of appeals. Thus, it is not properly be-
fore the Court. See, e.g., Pennsylvania Dep’t of Corrections v. Yes-
key, 524 U.S. 206, 212-13 (1998).

Besides, even if the Texas Cities had made this argu-
ment before the court of appeals, the three decisions they cite
do not concern the Tenth Amendment, so in any event there
could be no direct conflict between the holdings in those cases
and the Ninth Circuit's decision. See College Savings Bank, 527
U.S. at 680-84 (sovereign immunity); South Dakota, 483 U.S. at
207 (spending clause); Pennhurst St. Sch. & Hosp., 451 US. at 17-
18 (spending clause). Moreover, the rule and preamble do give
MS4 operators sufficient information to make an informed
choice between the minimum measures option and the alterna-
tive permit option.!2 See generally App. 100-160.

12 In addition to the information EPA provided in the preamble to
the rule, there is in general great familiarity with numeric effluent limit per-
mits, which are available to MS4s under the alternative permitting option,
since permitting authorities have been using numeric effluent limit permits
for decades in a wide variety of contexts.

20

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the petition for a writ of certiorari
should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

ANDREW G. FRANK
Counsel of Record

GAINES GWATHMEY III
PAUL, WEISS, RIFKIND,

WHARTON & GARRISON LLP
1285 Avenue of the Americas
New York, New York 10019-6064
(212) 373-3000

NANCY K. STONER

NATURAL RESOURCES DEFENSE
COUNCIL, INC.

1200 New York Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 289-6868

Attorneys for Respondent Natural
Resources Defense Council, Inc.

21

40 C.F.R. § 122.26(d) (excerpts)

(d) Application requirements for large and medium municipal
separate storm sewer discharges. ... Permit applications for
discharges from large and medium municipal storm sewers
Or municipal storm sewers designated under paragraph
(a)(1)(v) of this section shall include;

* * *

(2) Part 2. Part 2 of the application shall consist of:

(i) Adequate legal authority. A demonstration that the
applicant can operate pursuant to legal authority established
by statute, ordinance or series of contracts which authorizes
or enables the applicant at a minimum to:

(A) Control through ordinance, permit, contract, order or
similar means, the contribution of pollutants to the municipal
storm sewer by storm water discharges associated with
industrial activity and the quality of storm water discharged
from sites of industrial activity; _

(B) Prohibit through ordinance, order or similar means, illicit
discharges to the municipal separate storm sewer;

(C) Control through ordinance, order or similar means the
discharge to a municipal separate storm sewer of spills,
dumping or disposal of materials other than storm water;

(D) Control through interagency agreements among
coapplicants the contribution of pollutants from one portion
of the municipal system to another portion of the municipal
system;

(E) Require compliance with conditions in ordinances,
permits, contracts or orders; and

App. 1

(F) Carry out all inspection, surveillance and monitoring
procedures necessary to determine compliance and
noncompliance with permit conditions including the
prohibition on illicit discharges to the municipal separate
storm sewer.

(ii) Source identification. The location of any major outfall
that discharges to waters of the United States that was not
reported under paragraph (d)(1)(iii)(B)(1) of this section.
Provide an inventory, organized by watershed of the name
and address, and a description (such as SIC codes) which
best reflects the principal products or services provided by
each facility which may discharge, to the municipal separate
storm sewer, storm water associated with industrial activity;

(iii) Characterization data. When "quantitative data" for a
pollutant are required under paragraph (d)(2)(iii)(A)(3) of
this section, the applicant must collect a sample of effluent in
accordance with 40 CFR § 122.21(g)(7) and analyze it for the
pollutant in accordance with analytical methods approved
under part 136 of this chapter. When no analytical method is
approved the applicant may use any suitable method but
must provide a description of the method. The applicant
must provide information characterizing the quality and
quantity of discharges covered in the permit application,
including:

(A) Quantitative data from representative outfalls
designated by the Director (based on information received in
part 1 of the application, the Director shall designate between
five and ten outfalls or field screening points as
representative of the commercial, residential and industrial
land use activities of the drainage area contributing to the
system or, where there are less than five outfalls covered in
the application, the Director shall designate all outfalls)
developed as follows:

App. 2

(1) For each outfall or field screening point designated under
this subparagraph, samples shall be collected of storm water
discharges from three storm events occurring at least one
month apart in accordance with the requirements at
§ 122.21(g)(7) (the Director may allow exemptions to
sampling three storm events when climatic conditions create
good cause for such exemptions);

(2) A narrative description shall be provided of the date and

duration of the storm event(s) sampled, rainfall estimates of
the storm event which generated the sampled discharge and
the duration between the storm event sampled and the end
of the previous measurable (greater than 0.1 inch rainfall)
storm event;

(3) For samples collected and described under paragraphs
(d)(2)(iii)(A)(1) and (A)(2) of this section, quantitative data
shall be provided for: the organic pollutants listed in Table
II; the pollutants listed in Table III (toxic metals, cyanide,
and total phenols) of appendix D of 40 CFR part 122, and for
the following pollutants:

Total suspended solids (TSS)
Total dissolved solids (TDS)
COD

BODs

Oil and grease

Fecal coliform

Fecal streptococcus

pH

Total Kjeldahl nitrogen
Nitrate plus nitrite
Dissolved phosphorus

Total ammonia plus organic nitrogen
Total phosphorus

App. 3

4

(4) Additional limited quantitative data required by the
Director for determining permit conditions (the Director may
require that quantitative data shall be provided for
additional parameters, and may establish sampling
conditions such as the location, season of sample collection,
form of precipitation (snow melt, rainfall) and other
parameters necessary to insure representativeness);

(B) Estimates of the annual pollutant load of the cumulative
discharges to waters of the United States from all identified
municipal outfalls and the event mean concentration of the
cumulative discharges to waters of the United States from all
identified municipal outfalls during a storm event (as
described under § 122.21(c)(7)) for BODs, COD, TSS,
dissolved solids, total nitrogen, total ammonia plus organic
nitrogen, total phosphorus, dissolved phosphorus, cadmium,
copper, lead, and zinc. Estimates shall be accompanied by a
description of the procedures for estimating constituent loads
and concentrations, including any modelling, data analysis,
and calculation methods;

(C) A proposed schedule to provide estimates for each major

outfall identified in either paragraph (d)(2)(ii) or
(d)(1)(iii)(B)(1) of this section of the seasonal pollutant load
and of the event mean concentration of a representative
storm for any constituent detected in any sample required
under paragraph (d)(2)(iii)(A) of this section; and

(D) A proposed monitoring program for representative data

collection for the term of the permit that describes the
location of outfalls or field screening points to be sampled (or
the location of instream stations), why the location is
representative, the frequency of sampling, parameters to be
sampled, and a description of sampling equipment.

App. 4

(iv) Proposed management program. A proposed management

program covers the duration of the permit. It shall include a
comprehensive planning process which involves public
participation and where necessary intergovernmental
coordination, to reduce the discharge of pollutants to the
maximum extent practicable using management practices,
control techniques and system, design and engineering
methods, and such other provisions which are appropriate.
The program shall also include a description of staff and
equipment available to implement the program. Separate
proposed programs may be submitted by each coapplicant.
Proposed programs may impose controls on a systemwide
basis, a watershed basis, a jurisdiction basis, or on individual
outfalls. Proposed programs will be considered by the
Director when developing permit conditions to reduce
pollutants in discharges to the maximum extent practicable.
Proposed management programs shall describe priorities for
implementing controls. Such programs shall be based on:

(A) A description of structural and source control measures
to reduce pollutants from runoff from commercial and
residential areas that are discharged from the municipal
storm sewer system that are to be implemented during the
life of the permit, accompanied with an estimate of the
expected reduction of pollutant loads and a proposed
schedule for implementing such controls. At a minimum, the
description shall include:

(1) A_ description of maintenance activities and a
maintenance schedule for structural controls to reduce
pollutants (including floatables) in discharges from
municipal separate storm sewers;

(2) A description of planning procedures including a
comprehensive master plan to develop, implement and
enforce controls to reduce the discharge of pollutants from

oS
es

App. 5

municipal separate storm sewers which receive discharges
from areas of new development and _ significant
redevelopment. Such plan shall address controls to reduce
pollutants in discharges from municipal separate storm
sewers after construction is completed. (Controls to reduce
pollutants in discharges from municipal separate storm
sewers containing construction site runoff are addressed in
paragraph (d)(2)(iv)(D) of this section;

(3) A description of practices for operating and maintaining

public streets, roads and highways and procedures for
reducing the impact on receiving waters of discharges from
municipal storm sewer systems, including’ pollutants
discharged as a result of deicing activities;

(4) A description of procedures to assure that flood
management projects assess the impacts on the water quality
of receiving water bodies and that existing structural flood
control devices have been evaluated to determine if
retrofitting the device to provide additional pollutant
removal from storm water is feasible;

(5) A description of a program to monitor pollutants in
runoff from operating or closed municipal landfills or other
treatment, storage or disposal facilities for municipal waste,
which shall identify priorities and procedures for inspections
and establishing and implementing control measures for
such discharges (this program can be coordinated with the
program developed under paragraph (d)(2)(iv)(C) of this
section); and

(6) A description of a program to reduce to the maximum
extent practicable, pollutants in discharges from municipal
separate storm sewers associated with the application of
pesticides, herbicides and fertilizer which will include, as
appropriate, controls such as educational activities, permits,

App. 6

certifications and other measures for commercial applicators
and distributors, and controls for application in public right-
of-ways and at municipal facilities.

(B) A description of a program, including a schedule, to
detect and remove (or require the discharger to the
municipal separate storm sewer to obtain a separate NPDES
permit for) illicit discharges and improper disposal into the
storm sewer. The proposed program shall include:

(1) A description of a program, including inspections, to
implement and enforce an ordinance, orders or similar
means to prevent illicit discharges to the municipal separate
storm sewer system; this program description shall address
all types of illicit discharges, however the following category
of non-storm water discharges or flows shall be addressed
where such discharges are identified by the municipality as
sources of pollutants to waters of the United States: water
line flushing, landscape irrigation, diverted stream flows,
rising ground waters, uncontaminated ground water
infiltration (as defined at 40 CFR 35.2005(20)) to separate
storm sewers, uncontaminated pumped ground water,
discharges from potable water sources, foundation drains, air
. conditioning condensation, irrigation water, springs, water
from crawl space pumps, footing drains, lawn watering,
individual residential car washing, flows from riparian
habitats and wetlands, dechlorinated swimming pool
discharges, and street wash water (program descriptions
shall address discharges or flows from fire fighting only
where such discharges or flows are identified as significant
sources of pollutants to waters of the United States);

(2) A description of procedures to conduct on-going field

screening activities during the life of the permit, including
areas or locations that will be evaluated by such field screens;

App. 7

(3) A description of procedures to be followed to investigate

portions of the separate storm sewer system that, based on
the results of the field screen, or other appropriate
information, indicate a reasonable potential of containing
illicit discharges or other sources of non-storm water (such
procedures may _ include: sampling procedures for
constituents such as fecal coliform, fecal streptococcus,
surfactants (MBAS), residual chlorine, fluorides and
potassium; testing with fluorometric dyes; or conducting in
storm sewer inspections where safety and _ other
considerations allow. Such description shall include the
location of storm sewers that have been identified for such
evaluation);

(4) A description of procedures to prevent, contain, and
respond to spills that may discharge into the municipal
separate storm sewer; y

(5) A description of a program to promote, publicize, and
facilitate public reporting of the presence of illicit discharges
or water quality impacts associated with discharges from
municipal separate storm sewers;

(6) A description of educational activities, public
information activities, and other appropriate activities to
facilitate the proper management and disposal of used oil
and toxic materials; and

(7) A description of controls to limit infiltration of seepage
from municipal sanitary sewers to municipal separate storm
sewer systems where necessary;

(C) A description of a program to monitor and control
pollutants in storm water discharges to municipal systems
from municipal landfills, hazardous waste. treatment,
disposal and recovery facilities, industrial facilities that are

App. 8

subject to section 313 of title III of the Superfund
Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 (SARA), and
industrial facilities that the municipal permit applicant
determines are contributing a substantial pollutant loading to
the municipal storm sewer system. The program shall:

(1) Identify priorities and procedures for inspections and
establishing and implementing control measures for such
discharges;

(2) Describe a monitoring program for storm water
discharges associated with the industrial facilities identified
in paragraph (d)(2)(iv)(C) of this section, to be implemented
during the term of the permit, including the submission of
quantitative data on the following constituents: any
pollutants limited in effluent guidelines subcategories, where
applicable; any pollutant listed in an existing NPDES permit
for a facility; oil and grease, COD, pH, BODs, TSS, total
phosphorus, total Kjeldahl nitrogen, nitrate plus nitrite
nitrogen, and any information on discharges required under
§ 122.21(g)(7)(vi) and (vii).

(D) A description of a program to implement and maintain
structural and non-structural best management practices to
reduce pollutants in storm water runoff from construction
sites to the municipal storm sewer system, which shall
include:

(1) A description of procedures for site planning which
incorporate consideration of potential water quality impacts;

(2) A description of requirements for nonstructural and
structural best management practices;

App. 9

(3) A description of procedures for identifying priorities for
inspecting sites and enforcing control measures which
consider the nature of the construction activity, topography,
and the characteristics of soils and receiving water quality;
and

(4) A description of appropriate educational and hemes
measures for construction site operators.

(v) Assessment of controls. Estimated reductions in loadings of
pollutants from discharges of municipal storm sewer
constituents from municipal storm sewer systems expected
as the result of the municipal storm water quality
management program. The assessment shall also identify
known impacts of storm water controls on ground water.

(vi) Fiscal analysis. For each fiscal year to be covered by the
permit, a fiscal analysis of the necessary capital and
operation and maintenance expenditures necessary to
accomplish the activities of the programs under paragraphs
(d)(2) (iii) and (iv) of this section. Such analysis shall include
a description of the source of funds that are proposed to meet
the necessary expenditures, including legal restrictions on
the use of such funds.

(vii) Where more than one legal entity submits an
application, the application shall contain a description of the
roles and responsibilities of each legal entity and procedures
to ensure effective coordination.

(viii) Where requirements under paragraph (d)(1)(iv)(E),
(d)(2)(ii), (d)(2)(iii)(B) and (d)(2)(iv) of this section are not
practicable or are not applicable, the Director may exclude
any operator of a discharge from a municipal separate storm
sewer which is designated under paragraph (a)(1)(v),
(b)(4)(ii) or (b)(7)(ii) of this section from such requirements.

App. 10

The Director shall not exclude the operator of a discharge
from a municipal separate storm sewer identified in
appendix F, G, H or I of part 122, from any of the permit
application requirements under this paragraph except where
authorized under this section.

* * *

40 C.F.R. § 122.33(b)(2) (excerpts)

§ 122.33 If I am an operator of a regulated small MS4, how
do I apply for an NPDES permit and when do I have

to apply?

(2)(i) If you are seeking authorization to discharge under an
individual permit and wish to implement a program under
§ 122.34, you must submit an application to your NPDES
permitting authority that includes the information required
under §§ 122.21(f) and 122.34(d), an estimate of square
mileage served by your small MS4, and any additional
information that your NPDES permitting authority requests.
A storm sewer map that satisfies the requirements of
§ 122.34(b)(3)(i) will satisfy the map requirements in
§ 122.21(f)(7).

(ii) If you are seeking authorization to discharge under an
individual permit and wish to implement a program that is
different from the program under § 122.34, you will need to
comply with the permit application requirements of
§ 122.26(d)(1) and (2) by March 10, 2003. You do not need to
submit the information required by §§ 122.26(d)(1)(ii) and
(d)(2) regarding your legal authority, unless you intend for

App. 11

the permit writer to take such information into account when
developing your other permit conditions.

* * *

App. 12

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386001_1056%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
