# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kidneigh v. UNUM Life Insurance Co. of America

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386001_0927%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2004
- **Citation:** 540 U.S. 1184

## Text

\Y rt i. 8 4)
No, 037987 DEC 29 2003

In The
Supreme Court of the Gnited States

@
-

JON F. KIDNEIGH
and
BARBARA KIDNEIGH,

Petitioners,

V.

UNUM LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

¢

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Tenth Circuit

¢

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

be
Vv

STEPHEN C. KAUFMAN

Counsel of Record for Petitioners
3801 East Florida Avenue, Suite 900
Denver, Colorado 80210

(303) 393-6666

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a state bad faith law coming within ERISA’s
saving clause, 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(a), is subject to
the doctrine of conflict preemption; and

2. Whether Colorado’s bad faith law satisfies the criteria,
newly established in Kentucky Ass’n of Health Plans,
Inc. v. Miller, 123 S. Ct. 1471 (2003), to come within
ERISA’s saving clause.

ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Cesenblated FOG ics iivsasscansinicisianiesniarennanein i
Tale oF At occ ecicsensieticcimeennserins iv
Celene UR aise cecceninasinciniesicticontaeiaupaehelanaantientaen 1
fe ne ETE Sidecar ania amaanioieaeases ib 1
Statutory Provisions Involved .................:cscceeceeseesees 1

- Seabement af Ge DAM ccc 2
Reasons this Petition Should Be Granted................. 5

I. Preemption of a State Law Bad Faith Claim
Does Not Make Sense in the Context of the
Rationale Supporting this Court’s Dicta for
Preemption of Such Laws under the Conflict
Preeamptiom DIOCRr IO sis cscsincscecsccesctasssasesewsssess 5

II. This Court’s Dicta in Support of Conflict
Preemption Has Harmed the Very Employees
ERISA Was Enacted to Protect ....................4 8

III. Application of Conflict Preemption to a State
Law Coming Within the Saving Clause Is
Inconsistent with Congress’s Intent............... 13

A. Conflict Preemption Conflicts with Rules
of Statutory Construction.....................06 13

B. Conflict Preemption Derives from Dis-
SDD TA scene sisieaesincnnetaininllesiisebinns 17

C. Congress Never Intended ERISA’s En-
forcement Scheme tc Preclude State
Regulation of Insurance Through Bad
PR SOW isenivicninieernnnasemnelvieds 18

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued
Page

IV. Colorado’s Bad Faith Law Satisfies the
Miller Test to Come Within ERISA’s Saving
i i alae hati 21

A. Colorado’s Bad Faith Law Is “Specifically
Directed Toward Entities Engaged in In-

IIIT so Cis ee aieicck Secure knaiiaaiarendaeuaibinnsinentes 22
B. Colorado’s Bad Faith Law “Substantially Af-
fect[s] the Risk Pooling Arrangement’ ......... 26
C. The Tenth Circuit Failed to Follow Miller...... 27
ve crus sccaunssvusenanccniennterkebusontobbnehavansdoe 29
Appendix
A. Opinion of the Tenth Circuit Court of Ap-
i iduscnckccsdeaiisasasnoncentesithnassvenpraskesdvebuenanannh App. 1
Be Re Se ID vis ieivesiccsccnssccnseieiocsasssoncss App. 36
C. Order on Petition for Rehearing.................... App. 42

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. v. Kornbluth, 471 P.2d

SO A I OUND aiatsincis casiawisnerieniecasasiann nici: 22
Amoco Oil Co. v. Ervin, 908 P.2d 493 (Colo. 1995)......26, 28
Andrews-Clarke v. Travelers Ins. Co., 984 F.Supp.

BT, Ns BN tistcicicitsawsiniantiatenicsersuaanioninn 8, 10, 19
Bank of Louisiana v. Aetna U.S. Healthcare, Inc.,

2003 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 12001 (E.D. La.)...................... 22
Bates v. United States, 522 U.S. 23 (1997)............ccccseceeees 14
Cathey v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 805 S.W.2d 387

RU IN cchsseckcipsiesseprne anisiasceksnoknasccheenuhdponsemuancaiiaensiaidianteea 8
Centennial Square, Ltd. v. Resolution Trust Co., 815

Fe Be I BI Ti tasnsccsincicasacniccnwinnsarteniacatvainis 25
Dale v. Guaranty National Insurance Company, 948

ee ee I: Si ia ciearntissacoutarthasiauicineaanninianaanssiniot 25
Decker v. Browning-Ferris Industries of Colorado,

Fine.,, SBA Fk GG CCGRO.. BBE) ia seccccccesecscssnscessuaronessasenes 25
Defelice v. Aetna U.S. Healthcare, 346 F.3d 442,

2003 U.S. App. LEXIS 20942 (3rd Cir.)................... 11, 12
Dishman v. Unum Life Ins. Co. of America, 1997

U.S. Dist. LEXIS 22676 (C.D. Cal. 1997) ........ ce eeceeeeee 9
Elliot v. Fortis Benefits Ins. Co., 337 F.3d 1138 (9th

Coe. NA as Rinses oanaenaameaaiasmanana 13
Farmers Group, Inc. v. Trimble, 691 P.2d 1138

DN NI ccsccissiciceashauaas chanspu onaen eeeulaceaaianaade Gained 23
Fink v. Dakotacare, 324 F.3d 685 (8th Cir. 2008).............. 13

Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101
CR teiiciiisleanicicien, pislelsscaitdeielte das eiaa ane dasuane 16, 17

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
FMC Corp. v. Holliday, 498 U.S. 52 (1990)............ cc ceeeeee 6, 7
Franchise Tax Board of Cal. v. Construction Labor-
ers Vacation Trust for Southern Cal., 463 U.S. 1
CRE cscisinvescnsinsessicasicandssinnsatcinanhineniinlaesnalaannaaaenaimabion 18
Kelley v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 882 F.2d 453 (10th
CR BO isi snnsiivccesnssiscccctotcnincvennaniecamenmnadabeaantaiaidaieeis 7
‘Kentucky Ass’n of Health Plans, Inc. v. Miller, 123 ;
FB RFT hs eticctesienscssssnsiaseiniacianniavionnioennaea passim
Kidneigh v. UNUM Life Ins. Co. of Am., 345 F.3d
RAGE CA Ce Bi cerciteenievsctrnicctintioeion saiatias 1
Leuthner v. Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North-
eastern Pennsylvania, 270 F.Supp. 2d 584
(BED F a. DOIG) vinsisviiniestsnrissniccseuiiaianmamnanmetian 22
Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471
TI, Te CI ccccscitisertcccctbinael Dxinseedloin 15, 20, 21
New York State Conference of Blue Cross & Blue
Shield Plans v. Travelers Ins. Co., 514 U.S. 645
(FI nis scntsscnsstinsssvarctmnssionmaialiiamamemmalion 15, 16
Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41 (1987).....passim
Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218
CBIR cn cccntnininriccnaiuaiscnssctoncsnerccinaemiatasinenaaanaa 15
Rogers v. Westerman Farm Co., 29 P.3d 887 (Colo.
BE kcisisectinmanen ayn vsitsuesesiinsiheshaiieiaaaeaniaeadanaa aaa 28
Rosenbaum v. UNUM Life Ins. Co. of Am., 2003
U.S. Diet. LEERES TRGGR GED. PGs) svisssierscsncescesxeaseevssacie 16
Rush Prudential HMO, Inc. v. Moran, 536 U.S. 355
CI ion onsnsnsnccassanentencesesavennsiidetebeaanianate 5, 13, 16, 22
Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85 (1983)....... 14, 18

2 POE DAFOE IY A BRET A PNA SEIU DOTA kA th RIN OI ‘ : - —

|

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Suggs v. Pan Am. Life Ins. Co., 847 F.Supp. 1324
CER: RO. BIG nccsricvvenenisessssssraterssaansceensaapuacaiansia 10
Taggart Corp. v. Life and Health Benefits Admin.,
Inc., 617 F.2d 1208 (Sth Cir. 1980)...........sscccscscsssssssseeess 19
Travelers Insurance Co. v. Savio, 706 P.2d 1258
CED BID a scencsnicsenonssoicneoconmeaeaene aan 23
UNUM Life Ins. Co. of Am. v. Ward, 526 U.S. 358
(BI aisncisersssinnysinencmisisciaanaaaaaaaaaamie 15
Vaughan v. McMinn, 945 P.2d 404 (Colo. 1997)................ 25
Wells Fargo Realty Advisors Funding, Inc. v. Uioli,
Inc. , 872 P.2d 1359 (Colo. App. 1994)...............sssccccssssees 28
STATUTES
SE TUBS. © LGBT) sissncissicnsciciennana 1
SEU SAS. § PRG initio ene eee 4
BD UB. 6 Bibi itsiaviinticncnmanaeanee 17
BE TTT S eB GE sv esiisiesiescistacticinininnmenaneanenaanme 17
BO TAS. 5 BG esinsiscicccscosiinttiacnaeanae 18
29 U.S.C. §§ 301-309 (repealed 1974)............ ccc eeeceeeeeeeees 20
BO TBC. § UW iiiinsininic ce aan 18
BP TEAS. © a iitikvctcieviicccscenisininnaamaaanalnn 18
SO TEC. 6 1IG0 wi sssssisicciocinericeneeeaeeeee 14
Be Oa. B EAR chic ncctontcciecmaienaemnee 2
I es OF AN nisinesivninicdaciihamtns auasltehmeansaneomeeaniaae nana 2
Be reels © Ti ie ciiasssinesstsssassattanceeeaetne males 1

SOU S.C. | LIGAND sisiicisincisrerinsssssvetenasncns 2, 13, 21, 29

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

89 TI S.C. B LIGNE) nccocerccsesscccessscoverscsniccovecnssssonevsescess 2
CT, BOB TEED eriecesascnsvccesssensvecenastnssernnenesnetendananeverivagn 24
‘C.R.S. 10-3-1104(1 KX DT)-CATV) ....0....0000ccccrorcrssrcreccsccsesecsees 24
CT, BE BB isiiccssncctecsopecciscsevconeesectanensssctnevsavensiepiniininns 23
CO, SIR ein ccsiscscsenicksonedncascnipennscnecornesdnscecinesionens 24
OTHER AUTHORITIES
Bogan, Protecting Patient Rights Despite ERISA:

Will the Supreme Court Allow States to Regulate

Managed Care? 74 Tul. L. Rev. 951

Ce sicisisicacnansnicnsteninintuhenentnuninticeatesinanciaias 9, 18, 19, 20, 21

wa Bids KO te db ttn rng oh ee Kenta tally’
‘

OPINIONS BELOW

The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeal’s opinion was
reported at 345 F.3d 1182 (2003), and is reprinted in
Appendix A, at App. 1. The May 1, 2002 Order of the
District Court for the District of Colorado is reprinted in
Appendix B, at App. 36. This Order was not reported.

¢

JURISDICTION

The Tenth Circuit entered judgment on October 3,
2003, and entered its Order denying the Kidneighs’ Peti-
tion for Rehearing En Banc on October 28, 2003. This
Order is reprinted in Appendix C, at App. 42. This Court
has jurisdiction to review the Tenth Circuit’s judgment on
a writ of certiorari pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

, %
v

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves the following statutory provisions
contained within the Employee Retirement Income Secu-
rity Act of 1974 (“ERISA”).

29 U.S.C. § 1144(a) - ERISA’s Preemption Clause

Except as provided in subsection (b) of this sec-
tion, the provisions of this title and title IV shall
supersede any and all State laws insofar as they
may now or hereafter relate to any employee
benefit plan described in section 4(a) of this title
and not exempt under section 4(b) of this title.
This section shall take effect on January 1, 1975.

2

29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(A) — ERISA’s Saving Clause

Except as provided in subparagraph (B), nothing
in this title shall be construed to exempt or re-
lieve any person from any law of any State which
regulates insurance, banking, or securities.

29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(B) — ERISA’s Deemer Clause

Neither an employee benefit plan described in
section 4(a), which is not exempt under section
4(b) (other than a plan established primarily for
the purpose of providing death benefits), nor any
trust established under such a plan, shall be
deemed to be an insurance company or other in-
surer, bank, trust company or investment com-
pany or to be engaged in the business of
insurance or banking for purposes of any law of
any State purporting to regulate insurance com-
panies, insurance contracts, banks, trust compa-
nies, or investment companies.

¢

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The facts as set forth in this Statement of the Case
are, unless otherwise noted, taken from the Tenth Circuit’s
opinion. App. 1-3.

Mr. Kidneigh was disabled from working as an attor-
ney and UNUM paid disability benefits through March 31,
1999 under an insurance policy governed by ERISA.
Thereafter, UNUM paid no benefits although Mr. Kidneigh
claimed continued disability to January 1, 2001. 1 Aplt.
App. at 10, 50. Mr. Kidneigh filed a complaint seeking
recovery as provided for by 29 U.S.C. §§ 1132(a)(1)(B) and
(g) of ERISA. He also asserted that UNUM, in not timely

3

making benefit payments and in denying benefits, had
acted in bad faith under Colorado law. Mrs. Kidneigh
claimed a loss of consortium due to UNUM’s bad faith
handling of her husband’s disability claim.

With respect to his bad faith claim, Mr. Kidneigh
contended that UNUM had terminated benefits, even
though he was indisputably disabled, because UNUM had
in place a comprehensive scheme to utilize ERISA to
unreasonably delay and deny disability benefits with
respect to its insureds nationwide, regardless of the merits
of any individual’s claim. 2 Aplt. App. at 455. In support,
Mr. Kidneigh referenced a company analysis which stated:

A task force has recently been established to
promote the identification of policies covered by
ERISA and to initiate active measures to get new
and existing policies covered by ERISA. The ad-
vantages of ERISA coverage in litigious situa-
tions are enormous: state law is preempted by
federal law, there are no jury trials, there are no
compensatory or punitive damages, relief is usu-
ally limited to the amount of benefit in question,
and claims administrators may receive a defer-

— ential standard of review. The economic impact
on Provident [UNUM’s sister company] from hav-
ing policies covered by ERISA could be signifi-
cant. As an example, Glenn Felton identified 12
claim situations where we settled for $7.8 million
in the aggregate. If these 12 cases had been cov-
ered by ERISA, our liability would have been be-
tween zero and $0.5 million.

2 Aplt. App. at 512-514.

Furthermore, a memo from UNUM’s head of claims to
its CEO estimated that changing “from a claim payment to
a claim management approach” will save $30-60 million

Si en

4

each year. 2 Aplt. App. at 515. To this end, UNUM’s
performance objectives targeted an 84-90% net termina-
tion of disability claims. Jd. at 516-517.

In applying this comprehensive scheme to his case,
Mr. Kidneigh noted that UNUM had considered him
disabled prior to two unsuccessful back surgeries, but had
concluded that somehow he had miraculously recovered
after undergoing what UNUM admitted to be an unsuc-
cessful second surgery, which in turn necessitated a third
surgery, more than a year after benefits had stopped,
involving a fusion and cage insertion for a collapsed disc. 2
Aplt. App. at 454-455.

UNUM moved to dismiss Mr. Kidneigh’s bad faith
claim and Mrs. Kidneigh’s loss of consortium claim on
grounds they were preempted by ERISA. The district court
denied the motion with respect to Mr. Kidneigh, yet
granted it as to Mrs. Kidneigh. The district court certified
the issue for interlocutory appeal and the Tenth Circuit
took jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b). The court of
appeals ruled that regardless of whether Colorado’s bad
faith law came within ERISA’s saving clause, there was
preemption of both the bad faith and loss of consortium
claims under the doctrine of conflict preemption. By a 2 to
1 vote the court of appeal’s panel also held that Colorado’s
bad faith law did not come within ERISA’s saving clause to
avoid express preemption under ERISA’s preemption
clause. Accordingly, the court of appeals reversed the
district’s court’s decision as to Mr. Kidneigh and affirmed
as to Mrs. Kidneigh.

5

REASONS THIS PETITION
SHOULD BE GRANTED

This Court has never been called upon to decide
whether the doctrine of conflict preemption applies to
preempt a state bad faith law that actually fits within
ERISA’s saving clause. However, in dicta this Court has
offered that if a state law did come within the saving
clause, it would be subject to conflict preemption. Because
this result does not make sense in view of the rationale
this Court gave in justification for conflict preemption, and
because of the harm ERISA preemption has caused em-
ployee/insureds, it is submitted that there is a compelling
reason for the Court to grant this Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari. That the issues raised in this case impact
millions of employees whose insurance is governed by
ERISA, as well as call into question the extent to which
the states will be able to exercise their historic police
powers over insurance, further emphasize the compelling
necessity for the Court to hear this case.

I. Preemption of a State Law Bad Faith Claim
Does Not Make Sense in the Context of the
Rationale Supporting this Court’s Dicta for
Preemption of Such Laws under the Conflict
Preemption Doctrine

This Court has never held that a state bad faith law
coming within ERISA’s saving clause is subject to preemp-
tion under the conflict preemption doctrine because it
provides for an extra-ERISA remedy. Nevertheless, in
Rush Prudential HMO, Inc. v. Moran, 536 U.S. 355, 377
(2002), this Court stated in dicta:

Although we have yet to encounter a forced
choice between the congressional policies of

6

exclusively federal remedies and the “reservation
of the business of insurance to the States,” [cite
omitted] we have anticipated such a conflict,
with the state insurance regulation losing
ous. ...

The rationale the Court gave in support for this dicta
follows:

Any such provision patently violates ERISA’s pol-
icy of inducing employers to offer benefits by as-
suring a predictable set of liabilities, under
uniform standards of primary conduct and a uni-
form regime of ultimate remedial orders and
awards when a violation has occurred.

Id. at 379.

Applying conflict preemption under this rationale to
Colorado’s bad faith law would be illogical because Colo-
rado’s law has absolutely no effect on whether employers
will provide and maintain benefits for employees. This is
because employers cannot be liable in bad faith under
ERISA. This Court held in FMC Corp. v. Holliday, 498
U.S. 52 (1990), that while state laws regulating insurance
are saved and can be applied against insurers, they cannot
be applied to employers of self-funded plans since employ-
ers are not insurers pursuant to ERISA’s deemer clause.
Thus, this Court observed:

The saving clause returns to the States the
power to enforce those state laws that “regulate
insurance,” except as provided in the deemer
clause. Under the deemer clause, an employee
benefit plan governed by ERISA shall not be
“deemed” an insurance company, an insurer, or

7

engaged in the business of insurance for pur-
poses of state laws “purporting to regulate” in-
surance companies or insurance contracts.

Id. at 58.

Therefore, holding insurers liable for the bad
faith handling of employee claims under Colorado
law will in no way discourage employers from
purchasing an employee benefit, or cause them to
discontinue a plan or reduce a benefit. This is
because employers bear no risk of liability for
insurer bad faith and cannot be liable for acting in
bad faith in their own right.

Nor will insurers pass on bad faith costs to their
employer customers resulting in employer unwillingness
to provide benefit plans, or the purchase of reduced bene-
fits. First, any argument to the contrary defies nearly two
decades of case law uniformly holding that bad faith laws
do not spread risk. See, e.g., Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux,
481 U.S. 41, 50 (1987); Kelley v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 882
F.2d 453, 456 (10th Cir. 1989). Second, an insurer cannot
pass on bad faith costs because it is in competition with
other insurers, meaning employers would have the option
of purchasing benefits from carriers selling policies at
lower rates because they had not acted in bad faith. Third,
the market determines what benefits will be provided, so
that employers will provide benefits as needed to compete
for the employees they require to operate their businesses.

On the other hand, Colorado’s law actually furthers
ERISA’s purpose of encouraging employers to provide
benefits because employers will know their employees will
stand a better chance of receiving benefits when insurers
understand they risk being held liable for wrongfully

8

denying claims. Also, employers will not have to deal with
deflation of morale when their employees come to conclude
that because their insurer is willing to act in bad faith,
benefits are simply illusory.

II. This Court’s Dicta in Support of Conflict
Preemption Has Harmed the Very Employees
ERISA was Enacted to Protect

This idea that there exists a super preemption doc-
trine, that acts to preempt an otherwise saved law, comes
from Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41 (1987). In
Pilot Life, this Court had held that ERISA preempted
Mississippi’s bad faith law because it did not fit within the
saving clause. Despite this holding, this Court went on to
unnecessarily opine that Mississippi’s law would be
subject to conflict preemption even if it had come within
the saving clause since it allowed for an extra-ERISA
remedy. Id. at 52-57. The result has been a rampant,
unconscionable denial of employee benefits by insurers
over the succeeding 16 years. In fact, UNUM’s own con-
duct towards Mr. Kidneigh in furtherance of its national
plan to wrongfully deprive insureds of benefits is emblem-
atic of the bad faith acts an insurer will commit when it
knows it will not suffer economic consequences in the form
of bad faith liability.

Thus, it has been said that ERISA preemption serves
as “a shield of immunity which thwarts the legitimate
claims of the very people it was designed to protect.”
Andrews-Clarke v. Travelers Ins. Co., 984 F.Supp. 49, 56
(D. Mass. 1997). See also Cathey v. Metropolitan Life Ins.
Co., 805 S.W.2d 387, 392 (Tex. 1991) (Doggett, J., concur-
ring) (“a statutory addition to worker’s rights has been

9

converted into a statutory removal of those rights” ena-
bling “the companies targeted by Congress [to] employ
ERISA as an effective shield against responsibility for
wrongful processing of claims”); Bogan, Protecting Patient
Rights Despite ERISA: Will the Supreme Court Allow
States to Regulate Managed Care? 74 Tul. L. Rev. 951,
1002-1003 (2000) (“[t]he anticonsumer effects of the
preemption of state-law remedies ... cannot be over-
stated”).

Recognizing the damage wrought, courts have long
bemoaned the harshness of ERISA preemption and their
inability to do anything about it. See Bogan, Protecting
Patient Rights at 1018 (citing several cases at 1018 n.332).
An example of this can be found in Dishman v. Unum Life
Ins. Co. of America, 1997 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 22676 (C.D.
Cal.), where the court observed that the insurer’s “decision
to suspend payments was made on such clearly pre-textual
bases, that it is impossible to avoid the conclusion that it
[was] made in bad faith,” id. at *33, and added, at *29:

‘The facts of this case are so disturbing that
they call into question the merit of the expansive
scope of ERISA preemption. UNUM’s unscrupu-
lous conduct in this action may be closer to the
norm of insurance company practice than the
Court has previously suspected. This case reveals
that for benefit plans funded and administered
by insurance companies, there is no practical or
legal deterrent to unscrupulous claims practices.
Absent such deterrents, the bad faith denial of
large claims, as a strategy {or settling them for
substantially less than the \amount owed, may
well become a common practice of insurance
companies.

10

In Suggs v. Pan Am. Life Ins. Co., 847 F.Supp. 1324,
1355 (D. Miss. 1994), the court noted “that no where does
ERISA state an intent to protect” insurers and that “it is
incongruous to place so much emphasis on the intent of
Congress in regard to preemption, which is only one part
of ERISA and not to be equally concerned about Congress’
intent as to the overall purpose of the bill,” to protect
employees. So, the court observed, it had seen insurers
deny claims due to greed “simply because there was no
perceived exposure or downside to denying the claim
under their perception of ERISA and how it would be
interpreted by the Courts.” Id. at 1357.

The Suggs’ court then expressed its frustration:

The overriding purpose of the judiciary is to pro-
vide justice. When Congress passes legislation
and clearly sets out the purposes and intentions
of such legislation, “to protect ... the interests of
participants in private pension plans and their
beneficiaries,” and Courts acknowledge that ER-
ISA “is a comprehensive statute designed to
promote the interests of employees and their
beneficiaries,” and yet the Courts have to say...
ERISA’s preemption may leave a victim of fraud
or misrepresentation without a remedy, some-
thing is wrong.

Id.

Similarly, in Andrews-Clark v. Travelers Ins. Co., 984
F.Supp 49, 53 (D. Mass. 1997) (death from failure to pre-
approve obviously needed care), the court stated:

Enacted to safeguard the interests of employees
and their beneficiaries, ERISA has evolved into a
shield of immunity that protects health insurers,
utilization review providers, and other managed

11

care entities from potential liability for the
consequences of their wrongful denial of health
benefits.

Just recently, Judge Becker of the Third Circuit voiced
similar concerns in his concurring opinion in Defelice v.
Aetna U.S. Healthcare, 346 F.3d 442, 2003 U.S. App.
LEXIS 20942, **31-32, saying:

ERISA has evolved into a shield that insulates
HMOs from liability for even the most egregious
acts of dereliction committed against plan benefi-
ciaries, a state of affairs that I view as directly
contrary to the intent of Congress. Indeed, exist-
ing ERISA jurisprudence creates a monetary in-
centive for HMOs to mistreat those beneficiaries,
who are often in the throes of medical crises and
entirely unable to assert what meager rights
they possess.

In the following in depth analysis, Judge Becker
further dissected the problems associated with ERISA
preemption, which although provided in the context of an
HMO’s denial of medical care, applies equally well to a
disability carrier’s denial of benefits:

The unavailability of extracontractual damages
has effects that are perverse. First, as stated
above, contingency fees are rendered entirely
impractical — precious few lawyers would be will-
ing to undertake a horrendously complex case of
uncertain outcome when the greatest potential
reward is merely provision of the care that had
been contractually promised. * * * * ~

The second perverse effect is that, at the same
time as ERISA makes it inordinately difficult to
bring an injunction to enforce a participant’s
rights, it creates strong incentives for HMOs to

12

deny claims in bad faith or otherwise “stiff” par-
ticipants. ERISA preempts the state tort of bad-
faith claim denial, see Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 54-
56, so that if an HMO wrongly denies a partici-
pant’s claim even in bad faith, the greatest cost it
could face is being compelled to cover the proce-
dure, the very cost it would have faced had it
acted in good faith. Any rational HMO will rec-
ognize that if it acts in good faith, it will pay for
far more procedures than if it acts otherwise, and 4
punitive damages, which might otherwise guard
against such profiteering, are no obstacle at all.
Not only is there an incentive for an HMO to
deny any particular claim, but to the extent that
this practice becomes widespread, it creates a
“race to the bottom” in which, all else being
equal, the most profitable HMOs will be those
that deny claims most frequently.

In sum, ERISA’s remedial scheme gives HMOs
every incentive to act in their own and not in
their beneficiaries best interest while simultane-
ously making it incredibly difficult for plan par-
ticipants to pursue what meager remedies they
possess, a confounding result for a statute whose
original purpose was to protect employees.

Id., 2003 U.S. App. LEXIS 20942, **47-49.

So, although the contention that harm to employees
from state law bad faith claims, in the form of such claims
discouraging employers from purchasing benefit plans, has
been shown to be speculative and illogical, one thing is
certain and that is that when insurers are immunized
from accountability for bad faith acts, employees will not
receive the protection of their benefits which is ERISA’s
cornerstone. Accordingly, this Court has been presented
with a compelling reason to hear this case in order to

13

determine whether preemption of a state law bad faith
claim benefits employees, or whether, in truth, conflict
preemption has just the opposite effect of causing immense
harm to the very employees ERISA was enacted to protect.
In this regard, it must be noted that if this Court does not
decide this issue, the circuit courts will continue to hold
based on this Court’s Rush dicta, as the Tenth Circuit did
in this case, App. at 5-7, that state bad faith laws are
preempted under the conflict preemption doctrine regard-
less of whether they come within the protection of the
saving clause. See Elliot v. Fortis Benefits Ins. Co., 337
F.3d 1138, 1146-1148 (9th Cir. 2003); Fink v. Dakotacare,
324 F.3d 685, 688-689 (8th Cir. 2003).

Ill. Application of Conflict Preemption to a State
Law Coming Within the Saving Clause Is In-
consistent with Congress’s Intent

Because conflict preemption of state laws providing
for extra-ERISA remedies has undermined Congress’s
intent to protect employees, there is a compelling need for
this Court to re-evaluate its dicta favoring conflict pre-
emption in the context of basic rules of statutory construc-
tion, the development of this dicta through dependence
upon dissimilar legislation, and ERISA’s underpinnings as
a pension reform bill not an insurance regulation act.

A. Conflict Preemption Conflicts with Rules
of Statutory Construction

ERISA’s saving clause mandates that “nothing in this
title shall be construed to exempt or relieve any person
from any law of any State which regulates insurance.” 29
U.S.C. 1144(b)(2)(A) (emphasis added). The saving clause

14

immediately follows ERISA’s preemption clause, meaning
that Congress was well aware of the preemption clause
and ERISA’s remedial scheme, 29 U.S.C. § 1132, when it
inserted a saving clause purporting to reserve absolute
power to the states to regulate insurance. Being so aware,
had Congress truly intended for ERISA’s remedies to be
comprehensive and exclusive, Congress would have
written an express exception into the saving clause ex-
empting from saving clause protection state laws provid-
ing for extra-ERISA remedies. Instead, Congress did just
the opposite and wrote an express exception into ERISA’s
preemption clause stating that ERISA shall preempt all
state laws “[e]xcept as provided in subsection (b),” mean-
ing ERISA shall preempt all state laws except for those
state laws coming within the saving clause.

This Court has observed that effect must be given to a
statute’s plain language. Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463
U.S. 85, 97 (1983). Here, the plain language of the saving
clause says “nothing” shall override “any law of any state”
regulating insurance. “Nothing” means “nothing.” It does
not mean “nothing, except that ERISA’s preemption clause
can override State law.” “Any law” means “any law,” not
“any law except for a State law that allows for remedies
beyond those remedies provided for by ERISA.” Thus,
implementation of this Court’s dicta in support of conflict
preemption so as to find that ERISA preempts a state’s
bad faith law, even though it fits within the saving clause,
amounts to this Court inserting its own terms into the
statute. The effect would be to so contravene and diminish
this statute’s plain language as to usurp Congress’s right
to have the legislation it enacts enforced. Bates v. United
States, 522 U.S. 23, 29 (1997) (Court should “resist reading

15

words or elements into a statute that do not appear on its
face”).

This Court has also recognized that the breadth of the
saving clause is as extensive as the preemption provision,
UNUM Life Ins. Co. of Am. v. Ward, 526 U.S. 358, 363
(1999), and has said it “makes scant sense” to argue a law
is preempted even though it fits within the saving clause.
Id. at 375. These observations are consistent with Metro-
politan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S. 724, 741
(1985) (no preemption of state law requiring minimum
mental health coverage in policies), where this Court
declared: “The presumption is against pre-emption, and
we are not inclined to read limitations into federal stat-
utes in order to enlarge their pre-emptive scope.”

Similarly, this Court has stated:

We have never assumed lightly that Congress
has derogated state regulation, but instead have
addressed claims of pre-emption with the start-
ing presumption that Congress does not intend to
supplant state law. Indeed, in cases ... where
federal law is said to bar state action in fields of
traditional state regulation, we have worked on
the “assumption that the historic police powers of
the States were not to be superseded by the Fed-
eral Act unless that was the clear and manifest
purpose of Congress.”

New York State Conference of Blue Cross & Blue Shield
Plans v. Travelers Ins. Co., 514 U.S. 645, 655 (1995)
(quoting Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218, 230
(1947).

The problem with this Court's dicta favoring conflict
preemption is that it elevates a preemptive plan that can

16

at best be implied into ERISA over the saving clause’s
express language and extensive scope, even though there
is an express exception in the preemption clause in favor
of the saving clause. This is the case despite the presump-
tion against preemption and the lack of any clear indica-
tion from Congress that such a preemptive scheme was
intended to supersede the saving clause’s plain language.
For these reasons Judge Newcomer declined to follow this
court’s dicta in Rosenbaum v. UNUM Life Ins. Co. of Am.,
2003 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 15652, *23 (E.D. Pa.), stating:

The Pilot Life and Rush holdings present an im-
plied Congressional intent which flatly contra-
dicts this express intent. Rather than allowing
any state law which “regulates insurance” to
survive ERISA preemption, this implied intent
adds an additional requirement, that is, the law
must not offer a remedy which is not listed under
§ 502(a). The problem with such a requirement is
that the Courts have taken an implied intent,
which was derived by questionable means, and
have interpreted that implied intent to overrule
Congress’ express intent, as reflected in the sav-
ing clause.

Finally, this Court must look “to the objectives of the
ERISA statute as a guide to the scope of the state law that
Congress understood would survive.” New York State
Conference of Blue Cross & Blue Shield Plans, 514 U.S. at
656. See also Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489
U.S. 101, 113-114 (1989) (Court rejects “reading of ERISA
[that] would afford less protection to employees and their
beneficiaries than they enjoyed before ERISA”). Because
conflict preemption encourages insurers to run roughshod
over the employees ERISA was meant to protect, it runs
counter to ERISA’s purpose and so provides employees

ASA SUR REN LAER Sos nan eh or eee AGS Ta

17

with significantly less protection than they had before
ERISA. On the other hand, Colorado’s bad faith law is in
perfect step with Congress’s desire to safeguard employ-
ees, and nothing in the statute’s language, the purposes
underlying ERISA, or its legislative history supports a
contrary conclusion. Accordingly, there is no’ basis for
construing ERISA so that a saved law is subject to conflict
preemption.

B. Conflict Preemption Derives from Dis-
similar Legislation

That this Court arrived at its dicta in support of
conflict preemption by “questionable means” is demon-
strated by the Pilot Life Court’s heavy reliance on the
Labor Management Relations Act, 1947, 29 U.S.C. § 185
(hereinafter LMRA), wherein the Court noted that ERISA
preemption was “modeled on the exclusive remedy pro-
vided by § 301” of the LMRA. Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 52.
However, it is difficult to envision how this citation to the
LMRA can have any bearing on a law that falls within the
saving clause. The LMRA has no saving clause and thus is
not comparable legislation when addressing a law that fits
within ERISA’s saving clause. Cf. Firestone Tire & Rubber
Co., 489 U.S. at 109-110 (““LMRA principles offer no
support for the adoption of the arbitrary and capricious
standard [of review of fiduciary’s decision] insofar as
[ERISA] is concerned” because unlike ERISA, employee
may not bring suit against fiduciary under LMRA).

Moreover, while the LMRA comprehensively regulates
the field of labor relations, ERISA contains virtually no
regulation of insurance. Indeed, this Court has said:

ee

18

The phrasing of § 502 [ERISA’s remedial provi-
sion] is instructive. It does not purport to reach
every question relating to plans covered by ER-
ISA ... Furthermore, § 514(b)(2)(A) of ERISA
[the saving clause] makes clear that Congress
did not intend to preempt entirely every state
cause of action relating to such plans. With im-
portant, but express limitations, it states that
“nothing in this subchapter shall be construed to '
exempt or relieve any person from any law of any :
State which regulates insurance, banking, or se-
curities.” In contrast, § 301(a) of the LMRA ap-
plies to all “suits for violation of contracts
between an employer and a labor organization
representing employees in an industry effecting
commerce... or between any such organization.”

Franchise Tax Board of Cal. v. Construction Laborers
Vacation Trust for Southern Cal., 463 U.S. 1, 25 (1983).

C. Congress Never Intended ERISA’s En-
forcement Scheme to Preclude State
Regulation of Insurance Through Bad
Faith Law

ERISA was enacted as a pension reform bill intended
to protect worker retirement benefits. Shaw v. Delta Air
Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 90 (1983); 29 U.S.C. § 1001a; 29
U.S.C. § 1001b. With this in mind, there is an illuminating
law review article by Donald T. Bogan, Protecting Patient
Rights Despite ERISA: Will the Supreme Court Allow
States To Regulate Managed Care? 74 Tul. L. Rev. 951
(2000) (hereinafter, Bogan, Protecting Patient Rights),
demonstrating that ERISA was never intended to compre-
hensively regulate nonpension employee benefits in any
way, including by way of remedies, and that this explains

19

why the saving clause was enacted to leave the full gamut
of state laws regulating insurance free from preemption.

Professor Bogan observed that legislative history
reveals that abuses in the pension industry led to ERISA’s
enactment “to comprehensively reform the private pension
industry.” Id. at 964, 967 n.7. See also Taggart Corp. v. Life
and Health Benefits Admin., Inc., 617 F.2d 1208, 1211 (5th
Cir. 1980); Andrews-Clarke v. Travelers Ins. Co., 984
F. Supp. 49, 56 n.29 (D. Mass. 1997). Consequently, ER-
ISA’s major substantive provisions - e.g., provisions
dealing with funding, protection against insolvency,
vesting, and protection of workers in cases of insolvency —
apply only to pension plans. Bogan, Protecting Patient
Rights at 974-975. On the other hand, Professor Bogan
demonstrates that “ERISA’s legislative history provides no
evidence that Congress seriously investigated, studied, or
debated any issues or concerns with nonpension employee
benefit plans.” Id. at 972.

There is no documentation anywhere in ERISA’s
legislative history of any study or investigation of
the history or growth of nonpension employee
benefit plans, or of any specific concern with the
management of nonpension plan assets. Further,
ERISA’s legislative history fails to disclose any
concerted investigation of any complaints about
nonpension benefits, such as inadequate health
care, accident, death, or disability coverage, or
problems with health, life or disability benefits
claims. In short, Congress just was not dealing
with nonpension benefit plans when it enacted
ERISA.

Id. at 976-977. Thus, Professor Bogan notes that “[w]Jhile it
is true that portions of ERISA apply to nonpension benefit
plans, the statute certainly does not provide a complete

20

and coordinated network of rules to govern nonpension
employee benefits.” Id. at 973. See also id. at 956, 958.

However, state law does provide substantial regula-
tion of insurance, where ERISA does not. Citing Metropoli-
tan Life, 471 U.S. at 727-32, Professor Bogan noted that
“unlike prevailing state law that commonly dictates the
terms of insurance policies, regulates insurance company
claims practices, and provides regulatory protections
against insurance company insolvency,” there was no
ERISA regulation at all relating to these insurance mat-
ters. Bogan, Protecting Patient Rights at 990. Thus, it
should be of no surprise that there exists no

legislative history addressing Conference Com-
mittee action indicating. any intent to displace
state laws regulating the predominant nonpen-
sion employee benefits such as health care and
disability.

Id. at 982 n.139.

In fact, Professor Bogan maintains that the only
reason ERISA regulates nonpension plans at all is because
it was introduced as a bill to amend the Welfare and
Pension Plan Disclosure Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 301-309 (re-
pealed 1974), whose disclosure requirements applied to all
employee benefit plans. Id. at 977 n.124. So, Professor
Bogan reasons that if courts were to accept

[t]his new ERISA super-preemption doctrine [it
would] create[] a glaring void in the field of wel-
fare plan regulation because ERISA, with its de-
tailed focus on pension issues, does not replace
preempted state laws in the field of welfare bene-
fit plans with any substantive federal regulation.

21

Id. at 986. As such, conflict preemption would be “inconsis-
tent with the scope of ERISA’s substantive regulations,
which pertain only to pension plans, and with the statute’s
comparatively modest objective of protecting workers’
rights to their pension benefits.” Id. at 955.

In view of this, Professor Bogan concludes that in
enacting the saving clause, Congress intended to confine
preemption to pension plans “because ERISA provides a
pervasive and coordinated regulatory scheme to govern
pension plans and because the field of pension regulation
does not have strong state-law roots.” Id. at 957. This
conclusion, considered in the context of a dearth of ERISA
substantive regulation of insurance, is consistent with this
Court’s observation that the saving clause was made part
of ERISA to preserve and continue the long held right the
McCarran-Ferguson Act gave to the states to regulate the
business of insurance in all respects. Metropolitan Life,
471 U.S. at 744 n.21.

IV. Colorado’s Bad Faith Law Satisfies the Miller
Test to Come Within ERISA’s Saving Clause

In Kentucky Ass’n of Health Plans, Inc. v. Miller, 123
S. Ct. 1471, 1479 (2003), this Court eliminated the McCar-
ran-Ferguson factors from consideration on the issue of
whether a state law comes within ERISA’s savings clause,
stating:

Today we make a clean break from the McCar-
ran-Ferguson factors and hold that for a state
law to be deemed a “law ... which regulates
insurance” under §1144(b)(2)(A), it must satisfy
two requirements. First, the state law must be
specifically directed toward entities engaged in
insurance. See Pilot Life, supra, at 50, UNUM,

‘am

22

supra, at 368, Rush Prudential, supra, at 366.
Second, as explained above, the state law must
substantially affect the risk pooling arrangement
between the insurer and the insured.

Analysis demonstrates that Colorado’s bad faith law
meets the two Miller requirements to come within ERISA’s
saving clause, and so avoid preemption. Yet, the Tenth
Circuit’s panel majority insisted upon utilizing the McCar-
ran-Ferguson factors in finding that Colorado's law did not
satisfy the saving clause. Because the Tenth Circuit is not
alone in this regard, see Leuthner v. Blue Cross and Blue
Shield of Northeastern Pennsylvania, 270 F. Supp. 2d 584,
593-594 (M.D.Pa. 2003); Bank of Louisiana v. Aetna U.S.
Healthcare, Inc., 2003 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 12001, *8 (E.D.
La.), there is a compelling reason for this Court to hear
this case to clarify the extent to which the McCarran-
Ferguson factors should be employed to determine
whether a state law comes within the saving clause.

A. Colorado’s Bad Faith Law Is “Specifically
Directed Toward Entities Engaged in In-
surance”

Colorado’s bad faith law meets the first Miller prong
requiring that it “be specifically directed toward entities
engaged in insurance.”

Colorado first recognized the tort of bad faith in 1970,
in Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. v. Kornbluth, 471 P.2d 609
(Colo. App.), in allowing an insured to sue his insurer for
not settling a claim within policy limits where this failure
to so settle resulted in an excess judgment against the
insured.

23

In 1984, the tort of bad faith was extended in Farmers
Group, Inc. v. Trimble, 691 P.2d 1138, 1141 (Colo.), so that
an insurer could be liable for the manner in which it
handles a claim against its insured, with the court saying:

By obtaining insurance, an insured seeks to ob-
tain some measure of financial security and pro-
tection against calamity, rather than to secure
commercial advantage. [Citations omitted] The
refusal of the insurer to pay valid claims without
justification, however, defeats the expectations of
the insured and the purpose of the insurance
contract. It is, therefore, necessary to impose a
legal duty upon the insurer to deal with its in-
sured in good faith. [Citations omitted]

In Travelers Insurance Co. v. Savio, 706 P.2d 1258
(Colo. 1985), bad faith was broadened to cover an insured
bringing a first-party action against an insurer for its
denial of benefits. The court recognized that the insured
had an interest in the insurer dealing fairly and in good
faith in order to be protected from economic calamity due
to injury, id. at 1273-1274, and so that the insured would
not be coerced into accepting an unfair settlement due to
economic pressures. Id. at 1273.

In 1987, Colorado’s legislature enacted C.R.S. 10-3-
1113, mandating that a jury in a bad faith case be in-
structed as follows:

(1) In any civil action for damages founded
upon contract, or tort, or both against an insur-
ance company, the trier of fact may be in-
structed that the insurer owes its insured the
duty of good faith and fair dealing, which duty is
breached if the insurer delays or denies pay-
ment without a reasonable basis for its delay or
denial.

24

(2) Under a policy of liability insurance, the
determination of whether the insurer’s delay or
denial was reasonable shall be based on whether
the insurer’s delay or denial was negligent.

(3) Under a policy of first-party insurance, the
determination of whether the insurer’s delay or
denial was reasonable shall be based on whether
the insurer knew that its delay or denial was
unreasonable or whether the insurer recklessly
disregarded the fact that its delay or denial was
unreasonable.

(4) In determining whether an insurer's delay
or denial was reasonable, the jury may be in-
structed that willful conduct of the kind set forth
in section 10-3-1104(1)(h)(I) to (1)(h)(XIV) is pro-
hibited and may be considered if the delay or de-
nial and the claimed injury, damage, or loss was
caused by or contributed to by such prohibited
conduct.

(Emphasis added). Thus, this statute indicates that the
tort of bad faith in Colorado applies only to an insurer’s
treatment of its insured.

This statute’s subsection (4) says that an insurer’s
willful conduct as set forth in C.R.S. 10-3-1164(1)(h)(D-
(XIV) is evidence of bad faith and, in looking at these
subsections, they clearly focus only on insurance. Section
(1) begins in saying: “The following are defined as unfair
methods of competition and unfair or deceptive acts or
practices in the business of insurance: ... .” (Emphasis
added). The subsections then indicate that this includes
“Unfair claims settlement practices,” such as an insurer:
misrepresenting facts or policy provisions; failing to
respond promptly to communications concerning insur-
ance claims; failing to have reasonable standards for

25

claims investigation and failing to pay claims without
conducting a reasonable investigation; failing to say
within a reasonable time whether there is coverage; not
attempting to settle in good faith when liability is rea-
sonably clear; compelling insureds to litigate claims by
offering substantially less than what is ultimately recov-
ered; attempting to settle for less than what a reasonable
person would feel entitled to; attempting to settle claims
based upon an altered application; not telling insureds
under what coverage a claim is being paid; making known
a policy of appealing arbitration awards unless the insured
will settle for less than the award; requiring insureds to
submit multiple claim forms containing the same informa-
tion; not settling under one portion of a policy to influence
settlement under another portion; and failing to explain
the basis for a claim denial or compromise offer.

As the court stated in Dale v. Guaranty National
Insurance Company, 948 P.2d 545, 552 (Colo. 1997), an
insurer’s duty to act in good faith “permeates all of the
dealings between the parties.” This is because of the
special relationship between insured and insurer, and the
insured’s dependence upon the insurer to provide the
security bargained for at a time the insured is most in
need. Vaughan v. McMinn, 945 P.2d 404, 406 (Colo. 1997).

Yet, because the parties to non-insurance contracts do
not have the same relationship as exists between insured
and insurer, Colorado’s courts have refused to extend the
bad faith tort beyond the insurance context. Centennial
Square, Ltd. v. Resolution Trust Co., 815 P.2d 1002 (Colo.
App. 1991) (no cause of action in bad faith for breach of
non-insurance contract); Decker v. Browning-Ferris Indus-
tries of Colorado, Inc., 931 P.2d 436 (Colo. 1997) (no bad
faith cause of action in employment arena). Thus, while it

ccc i

26

is true that the duty to act in good faith is implied as a
term in every contract in Colorado, Amoco Oil Co. v. Ervin,
908 P.2d 493, 498 (Colo. 1995), a bad faith cause of action
exists only for an insurer’s bad faith breach of an insur-
ance contract, such that Colorado’s law is “specifically
directed toward entities engaged in insurance.”

B. Colorado’s Bad Faith Law “Substantially
Affect[s] the Risk Pooling Arrangement”

Under Miller, Colorado’s bad faith law must also
“substantially affect the risk pooling arrangement between
the insurer and the insured.” The Court noted that this
“requires only that the state law substantially affect the
risk pooling arrangement between the insurer and in-
sured; it does not require that the state law actually
spread risk.” Miller, 123 S.Ct. 1477 n.3 (emphasis in
original). So while the Court recognized that the Ninth
Circuit had held that California’s notice-prejudice rule did
not spread risk, the Court observed that the rule

governs whether or not an insurance company :
must cover claims submitted late, which dictates :
to the insurance company the conditions under
which it must pay for the risk that it has as-
sumed. This certainly qualifies as a substantial
effect on the risk pooling arrangement between
the insurer and insured.

Id.

By telling insurers, for example, that they must
attempt to settle when liability becomes reasonably clear
and they cannot offer less than what a reasonable person
would feel entitled to, Colorado’s bad faith law is “dic-
tat[ing] to the insurance company the conditions under

27

which it must pay for the risk it has assumed.” Therefore,
Colorado’s bad faith law has the same impact as the
notice-prejudice rule, and so meets the second prong of the
Miller test.

C. The Tenth Circuit Failed to Follow Miller

Despite the clear pronouncement of this Court in
Miller that it was making a “clean break from the McCar-
ran-Ferguson factors,” the Tenth Circuit's panel majority
applied those factors anyway in determining that Colo-
rado’s bad faith law did not come within ERISA’s saving
clause. As the dissent recognized, had Colorado’s law been
correctly reviewed under the new Miller criteria, it would
have been protected from express preemption by the
saving clause. App. 20-35.

The persistence of the panel majority in applying the
McCarran-Ferguson factors can be seen in the way Colo-
rado’s law was evaluated to determine whether it was
“specifically directed towards entities engaged in insur-
ance.” In this regard, the majority based the outcome on
whether the law was limited to entities engaged in insur-
ance, i.e., the third McCarran-Ferguson factor. App. 8. Not
only was this error considering the Court’s “clean break”
decree, but it ignored the Miller Court's express holding
that Kentucky’s “Any Willing Provider” statute came
within the saving clause although its effect was not
limited to insurers. Id., 123 S. Ct. at 1475-76, 1476 n.1.

The majority also cited Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux,
481 U.S. 41 (1987), in holding that Colorado’s law was not
saved because its roots were firmly planted in general
principles of Colorado’s tort and contract law. App. 8-9. Yet,
Miller said nothing about a law coming within the saving

28

clause being conditioned upon how that law had devel-
oped. Thus, the majority impermissibly added a third
requirement to the Miller test. Even so, as shown above,
‘Colorado’s law is limited to entities engaged in insurance
and does not have roots firmly planted in general princi-
ples of Colorado’s tort and contract law. The majority
misconstrued Colorado case law in ruling that Colorado
recognizes a bad faith cause of action outside the insur-
ance context. So, it has been said: “Colorado has also
recognized a separate cause of action sounding in tort for
bad faith breach of insurance contract. However, no such
tort claim has been recognized in other contract ac-
tions.... ” Wells Fargo Realty Advisors Funding, Inc. v.
Uioli, Inc., 872 P.2d 1359, 1362 (Colo. App. 1994) (empha-
sis in original) (breach of implied duty of good faith and
fair dealing by “acts of deception, concealment, and chi-
canery” gives rise to “merely a breach of contract [action]
with standard remedies,” but not bad faith claim for
relief).

In fact, far from being an actual cause of action, the
duty to act in good faith and to deal fairly is no more than
a rule of construction to determine if there has been a
breach where a contract gives one party discretion in the
performance of a term. See Id. at 1363; Amoco Oil Co. v.
Ervin, 908 P.2d 493, 498 (Colo. 1995) (failure to exercise
discretion in good faith in setting rent amounts to breach
of contract entitling party to contract damages only, 1.e.,
the amount of overpayment); Rogers v. Westerman Farm
Co., 29 P.3d 887, 908-910 (Colo. 2001) (where contract
gives seller discretion to set price,. price determined based
on “what a fair sale price would have been had the lessee
acted in good faith”).

29

The panel majority also applied obsolete precedent,
making use of McCarran-Ferguson factors one and two, in
holding that Colorado’s law did not “substantially affect
the risk pooling arrangement” because it did not spread
risk and that it was not integral to the policy relationship
since it did not affect the contract’s substantive terms.
App. 9-11. In so holding, the majority inexplicably disre-
garded Miller’s ruling that this prong did not equate with
spreading of risk, 123 S.Ct. at 1477 n.3, and ignored this
Court’s rejection of the idea that the law must affect a
substantive term of the policy. So, this Court stated: “We
have never held that state laws must alter or control the
actual terms of insurance policies to be deemed ‘laws...
which regulate insurance’ under § 1144(b)(2)(A); it suffices
that they substantially affect the risk pooling arrangement
between insurer and insured.” Id. at 1477.

Therefore, in applying the discarded McCarran-
Ferguson factors, the panel majority not only disregarded
Miller’s “clean break” edict, but as appreciated by the
dissent, “help[ed] dismantle the protective system devised
by Colorado’s legislature and courts for Colorado’s citi-
zens.” App. 35.

,
v

CONCLUSION

Since 1987 insurers have been immune from bad faith
liability through application of ERISA’s preemption clause.
This has allowed insurers to mock justice by trampling
upon the rights of disabled employees in pursuit of un-
earned profits. This Court, through review of the instant
case upon the granting of this petition, can restore justice
to its rightful place so that millions of employees will

er a

finally receive the protection Congress intended in enact-

ing ERISA.

30

Respectfully submitted,

STEPHEN C, KAUFMAN

Counsel of Record for Petitioners
3801 E. Florida Avenue, Suite 900
Denver, Colorado 80210

(303) 393-6666

————————————

App. l

APPENDIX A
Jon F. KIDNEIGH, Plaintiff/Cross-Appellee,
and

Barbara Kidneigh, Plaintiff-Appellant/Cross-
Appellee,

Vv.

UNUM LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY OF AMERICA,
a Maine Corporation, Defendant-Appellee/Cross-
Appellant.

Colorado Trial Lawyers Association,
Amicus Curiae.

Nos. 02-1277, 02-1282.

United States Court of Appeals,
Tenth Circuit.

Filed Oct. 3, 2003.
Stephen C. Kaufman, Denver, CO, for Plaintiffs-
Appellants/Cross-Appellees.

Michael S. Beaver, Holland & Hart, L.L.P., Greenwood
Village, CO, (Marcy G. Glenn and Jack M. Englert, Jr.,
Holland & Hart, L.L.P., Denver, CO, with him on the
briefs), for Defendant-Appellee/Cross-Appellant.

Michael J. Rosenberg and Bradley A. Levin, Roberts,
Levin & Patterson, P.C., Denver, CO, for Amicus Curiae
Colorado Trial Lawyers Association.

Before KELLY, HENRY, and HARTZ, Circuit Judges.
KELLY, Circuit Judge.

Plaintiff/Cross-Appellee Jon Kidneigh and Plaintiff-
Appellant/Cross-Appellee Barbara Kidneigh brought suit

App. 2

seeking disability benefits pursuant to 29 U.S.C.
§§ 1132(aX 1B) and (g), the Employment Retirement Income
Security Act of 1974 (“ERISA”), along with state law claims for
bad faith and loss of consortium. We have jurisdiction under
28 U.S.C. § 1292(b), and we affirm in part and reverse in part.

Background

Plaintiff Jon Kidneigh brought a claim against UNUM

Life Insurance Co. (“UNUM”) seeking disability benefits

pursuant to §§ 1132(aX1\B) and (g) of the Employment Re-

tirement Income Security Act of 1974 (“ERISA”). UNUM is the

claims administrator of a long-term disability plan covering

employees of the law firm of Kidneigh & Kaufman, P.C. Though

UNUM paid disability benefits to Mr. Kidneigh after a series of

back and hernia surgeries, UNUM stopped paying benefits on

' March 31, 1999, after determining that Mr. Kidneigh was
physically capable of performing his job as an attorney.

Mr. Kidneigh also brought a state law claim for bad
faith along with the direct ERISA claim seeking continued
benefits, and his wife brought a state law claim for loss of
consortium. UNUM moved to dismiss Mr. Kidneigh’s bad
faith claim and Mrs. Kidneigh’s loss of consortium claim
on the grounds that both are preempted by ERISA. The
district court denied the motion with respect to Mr. Kid-
neigh but granted the motion with respect to Mrs. Kid-
neigh. The district court granted an unopposed motion for
interlocutory appeal brought pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P.
52(b), finding that the issue “involves a controlling ques-
tion of law as to which there is substantial ground for
difference of opinion and that an immediate appeal from
the order may materially advance the ultimate termina-
tion of the litigation.” 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b). Both Mrs.

ae

App. 3

Kidneigh and UNUM appeal from the district court’s
order; Mrs. Kidneigh appeals from the dismissal of her
loss of consortium claim, and UNUM appeals from the
denial of the motion to dismiss Mr. Kidneigh’s bad faith
claim.

Discussion

Because the scope of ERISA preemption is a question
of law, the district court’s decision is subject to de novo
review. Conover v. Aetna U.S. Health Care, Inc., 320 F.3d
1076, 1077 (10th Cir.2003).

“fAjny court forced to enter the ERISA preemption
thicket sets out on a treacherous path.” Gonzales uv.
Prudential Ins. Co., 901 F.2d 446, 451-52 (5th Cir.1990). In
this case we must resolve whether a Colorado state law
bad faith claim against an employment disability insur-
ance provider is preempted by ERISA. A secondary issue is
whether a spouse’s derivative loss of consortium claim is
also preempted by ERISA.

The issue here is one that frequently confronts the
federal courts due to ERISA’s “statutory complexity.”
Metro. Life Ins. Co. v. Mass., 471 U.S. 724, 740, 105 S.Ct.
2380, 85 L.Ed.2d 728 (1985). ERISA’s preemption clause
broadly states that “[e]xcept as provided in subsection (b)
of this section, the provisions of this subchapter and
subchapter III of this chapter shall supersede any and all
State laws insofar as they may now or hereafter relate to
any employee benefit plan.” 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a). What
Congress took away with one hand, however, it gave back
with the other as contained in ERISA’s saving clause:
“Except as provided in subparagraph (B), nothing in this
subchapter shall be construed to exempt or relieve any

App. 4

person from any law of any State which regulates insur-
ance, banking, or securities.” Id. § 1144(b)(2)(A). Subpara-
graph (B) (the deemer clause), in turn, provides:

Neither an employee benefit plan ... nor any
trust established under such a plan, shall be
deemed to be an insurance company or other in-
surer, bank, trust company, or investment com-
pany or to be engaged in the business of
insurance or banking for purposes of any law of
any State purporting to regulate insurance com-
panies, insurance contracts, banks, trust compa-
nies, or investment companies.

Id. § 1144(b)(2)(B). As summarized by the Supreme Court:

If a state law “relate[s] to ... employee benefit
plan{s],” it is pre-empted. The saving clause ex-
cepts from the pre-emption clause laws that
“regulat[e] insurance.” The deemer clause makes
clear that a state law that “purport[s] to regulate
insurance” cannot deem an employee benefit
plan to be an insurance company.

Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41, 45, 107 S.Ct.
1549, 95 L.Ed.2d 39 (1987) (citations omitted). The Su-
preme Court has further noted that “[t]he pre-emption
clause is conspicuous for its breadth,” FMC Corp. uv.
Holliday, 498 U.S. 52, 58, 111 S.Ct. 403, 112 L.Ed.2d 356
(1990), and that “the express pre-emption provisions of
ERISA are deliberately expansive, and designed to ‘estab-
lish pension plan regulation as exclusively a federal
concern.’” Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 45-46, 107 S.Ct. 1549.

In addition to Congress’s power to “define explicitly
the extent to which its enactments pre-empt state law,” a
state law can also be preempted “to the extent that it
actually conflicts with federal law.” English v. Gen. Elec.

App. 5

Co., 496 U.S. 72, 78-79, 110 S.Ct. 2270, 110 L.Ed.2d 65
(1990). Where a state law “stands as an obstacle to the
accomplishment and execution of the full purposes and
objectives of Congress,” then the state law is preempted.
Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52, 67, 61 S.Ct. 399, 85
L.Ed. 581 (1941). State law causes of action, then, are
preempted under ERISA both when they are expressly
preempted by the terms of the statute as well as when the
state law provides remedies beyond those contained in
ERISA itself. See Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498
U.S. 133, 143-44, 111 S.Ct. 478, 112 L.Ed.2d 474 (1990);
Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 54, 107 S.Ct. 1549 (“The deliberate
care with which ERISA’s civil enforcement remedies were
drafted and the balancing of policies embodied in its choice
of remedies argue strongly for the conclusion that ERISA’s
civil enforcement remedies were intended to be exclu-
give.”). The Supreme Court has noted that a distinction
can be drawn between cases involving an “additional claim
or remedy,” such as Pilot Life, and cases “bear[ing] a
resemblance to the claims-procedure rule” sustained in
UNUM Life Ins. Co. of Am. v. Ward, 526 U.S. 358, 368, 119
S.Ct. 1380, 143 L.Ed.2d 462 (1999). Rush Prudential
HMO, Inc. v. Moran, 536 U.S. 355, 380, 122 S.Ct. 2151,
153 L.Ed.2d 375 (2002). Cases on the former side of the
distinction fall within “Pilot Life's categorical preemption.”
Id.

We hold that Colorado bad faith claims are preempted
by ERISA because they conflict with ERISA’s remedial
scheme. State law bad faith claims such as the Colorado
claim in this case — insofar as they provide an “additional
claim” to plaintiffs — clearly fall on the former side of the
distinction drawn in Rush Prudential and “fit within the

App. 6

category of state laws Pilot Life had held to be incompati-
ble with ERISA’s enforcement scheme” by “provid[ing] a
form of ultimate relief in a judicial forum that add[s] to
the judicial remedies provided by ERISA.” Jd. at 379, 122
S.Ct. 2151.

As this court explained recently, “Nowhere does
[ERISA] allow consequential or punitive damages. Dam-
ages are limited to the recovery of ‘benefits due ... under
the terms of the plan.’” Conover, 320 F.3d at 1080 (altera-
tion in original). The Oklahoma bad faith claim in Conover,
like the Colorado bad faith claim here, “allows plan par-
ticipants to obtain ‘consequential and, in a proper case,
punitive, damages’ for breach of good faith and fair dealing
by an insurer.” Jd. Where such damages are available,
they “provide[ ] a cause of action excluded from [ERISA’s]
civil enforcement scheme and would therefore ‘pose an
obstacle to the purposes and objectives of Congress.’” Id.
(quoting Gaylor v. John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co., 112
F.3d 460, 466 (10th Cir.1997)); see also Moffett v. Hallibur-
ton Energy Servs., Inc., 291 F.3d 1227, 1237 (10th
Cir.2002).

The Supreme Court has strongly indicated in dicta
that a state law falling within ERISA’s savings clause
(“nothing in this subchapter shall be construed to exempt
or relieve any person from any law of any State which
regulates insurance,” 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(A)) would still
be preempted merely by providing remedies beyond those
prescribed in ERISA. See Rush Prudential, 536 U.S. at
377, 122 S.Ct. 2151 (2002) (“Although we have yet to
encounter a forced choice between the congressional
policies of exclusively federal remedies and the ‘reserva-
tion of the business of insurance to the States,’ we have
anticipated such a conflict, with the state insurance

App. 7

regulation losing out if it allows plan participants ‘to
obtain remedies ... that Congress rejected in ERISA.’”)
(citations omitted). In addition to being preempted due to
conflict with ERISA’s remedial scheme, we are persuaded
that — in the alternative — the Colorado bad faith claim in
this case does not fall within ERISA’s savings clause, and

as such is expressly preempted.

It is undisputed that the Kidneighs’ claims “relate” to
an employee benefit plan, and so our inquiry on this aspect
of preemption moves to the second phase of determining
whether Colorado bad faith law “regulates insurance.” In
light of the case law in this area, our conclusion is that it
does not. The Supreme Court’s recent decision in Kentucky
Ass’n of Health Plans, Inc. v. Miller, __ U.S. __, 123 S.Ct.
1471, 155 L.Ed.2d 468 (2003) (holding Kentucky’s “Any
Willing Provider” statute not preempted by ERISA),
substantially clarified the test for determining when a
state law is not preempted by ERISA because it “regulates
insurance” under § 1144(b)(2)(A): “First, the state law
must be specifically directed toward entities engaged in

insurance,” and “[sJecond ... the state law must substan-
tially affect the risk pooling arrangement between the
insurer and the insured.” ___ U.S. at __, 123 S.Ct. at
1479.

Tested against these two factors, we hold, as noted
above, that a Colorado state law bad faith cause of action
against an ERISA provider is expressly preempted. In
order to be characterized as a state law “regulating insur-
ance,” the law must not “just have an impact on the
insurance industry” but must be “specifically directed
toward that industry.” Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 50, 107 S.Ct.
1549. Stated otherwise, the state law must “home[] in on

App. 8

the insurance industry.” Ward, 526 U.S. at 368, 119 S.Ct.
1380.

The Colorado courts do appear to have largely (but,
importantly, not exclusively) confined bad faith causes of
action to the insurance setting. See Dale v. Guar. Nat'l Ins.
Co., 948 P.2d 545, 552 (Colo.1997); Vaughan v. McMinn,
945 P.2d 404, 406 (Colo.1997). But see Rogers v. Westerman
Farm Co., 29 P.3d 887, 908 (Colo.2001) (bad faith claim
applied to oil and gas leases); Amoco Oil Co. v. Ervin, 908
P.2d 493, 498 (Colo.1995) (“Colorado, like the majority of
jurisdictions, recognizes that every contract contains an
implied duty of good faith and fair dealing. ... The good
faith performance doctrine is generally used to effectuate
the intentions of the parties or to honor their reasonable
expectations.”) (emphasis added). Even if the Colorado
state courts had limited bad faith claims to the insurance
context, however, that fact alone would not save Colorado
bad faith claims from ERISA preemption. The Supreme
Court’s Pilot Life decision, in which Mississippi’s bad faith
cause of action was held to be preempted by ERISA, dealt
with a state bad faith law apparently confined by a state
supreme court to insurance contracts. “Even though the
Mississippi Supreme Court has identified its law of bad
faith with the insurance industry, the roots of this law are
firmly planted in the general principles of Mississippi tort
and contract law,” and so the Court held that the Missis-
sippi law did not “regulate insurance.” 481 U.S. at 50, 107
S.Ct. 1549; see also Gaylor v. John Hancock Mut. Life Ins.
Co., 112 F.3d 460, 466 (10th Cir.1997) (“[A]lthough Okla-
homa’s bad faith law is specifically directed at the insur-
ance industry, we note that, like the bad faith law in Pilot
Life, its origins are from general principles of tort and
contract law.”); Halprin v. Equitable Life Assurance Soc.,

App. 9

267 FSupp.2d 1030, 1038 (D.Colo.2003)’ (following Kelley
v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 882 F.2d 453 (10th Cir.1989), and
holding Colorado’s bad faith law preempted; subsequent
Colorado case law developments merely described, but did
not change, the development of bad faith).

As to the second factor in ERISA express preemption
analysis, Pilot Life and other ERISA preemption cases
show that state bad faith claims do not “substantially
affect the risk pooling arrangement” between insurers and
their insureds, which is the hallmark of insurance con-
tracts. See SEC v. Variable Annuity Life Ins. Co. of Am.,
359 U.S. 65, 73, 79 S.Ct. 618, 3 L.Ed.2d 640 (1959). State
law bad faith claims are not integral to the risk pooling
arrangement for the reasons summarized in Pilot Life:

In contrast to the mandated-benefits law in Met-
ropolitan Life, the common law of bad faith does
not define the terms of the relationship between
the insurer and the insured; it declares only that,
whatever terms have been agreed upon in the in-
surance contract, a breach of that contract may
in certain circumstances allow the policyholder to
obtain punitive damages. The state common law
of bad faith is therefore no more “integral” to the
insurer-insured relationship than any State's
general contract law is integral to a contract
made in that State.

481 U.S. at 51, 107 S.Ct. 1549.

‘ Thus, we reject Colligan v. UNUM Life Ins. Co. of Am., 2001 WL
533742 (D.Colo. April 23, 2001), which held that Colorado’s bad faith
law was not preempted without citation or discussion of Kelley.

Ke —O

App. 10
\

Any-willing provider statutes, notice-prejudice rules,
and independent review provisions all “substantially
affect[ ] the type of risk pooling arrangements that insur-
ers may offer.” Miller, 123 S.Ct. 1471, 1477-78. By con-
trast, bad faith claims, whether common law or statutory,
merely provide an additional remedy for policyholders. See
Gaylor, 112 F.3d at 466 (“[Oklahoma bad faith law] does
not effect a change in the risk borne by insurers and the
insured, because it does not affect the substantive terms of
the insurance contract. On the other hand, a law mandat-
ing that a certain disease be covered under health insur-
ance contracts would effect a spread of risk, both from
insureds to insurers, and among the insureds them-
selves.”); Nguyen v. Healthguard of Lancaster, )
F.Supp.2d __, 2003 WL 22100157, at *8 (E.D.Pa. Aug.14,
2003) (Pennsylvania bad faith statute by providing an
additional remedy for insureds if contract is breached,
“bears no relation to the risk insured against, ... even
though [it] may raise the premiums insureds must pay for
their coverage.”). As the Colorado federal district court in
Denette v. Life of Ind. Ins. Co., 693 F.Supp. 959
(D.Colo.1988), noted with regard to Colorado’s bad faith
law, “[T]here is no indication that the statutes ... have
any effect of transferring or spreading policy holder
risk.... [T]hese statutes do not purport to regulate the
substantive terms or content of insurance policies by
mandating certain benefits.”. Jd. at 966.

An examination of Tenth Circuit case law on the
preemption of state law bad faith claims under ERISA
underscores our conclusion that bad faith claims will
rarely, if ever, be saved from preemption. In Kelley v.
Sears, Roebuck & Co., 882 F.2d 453 (10th Cir.1989), this
court held that ERISA preempted a Colorado bad faith

App. 11

claim, finding that Colorado’s law is “‘very similar in
substance’ to the Mississippi law at issue in Pilot Life.” Id.
at 456 (quoting Denette, 693 F.Supp. at 966). Tracking the
language of Pilot Life, the court held in Kelley that (1)
“Colorado’s common law of bad faith does not regulate
insurance,” insofar as (2) “[i]t neither spreads policyholder
risk nor controls the substantive terms of the insurance
contract,” (3) “[aJlthough associated with the insurance
industry, [Colorado bad faith law] developed from the
general principles of tort and contract law,” and (4) “Colo-
rado’s common law of bad faith conflicts with ERISA’s civil
enforcement remedies.” Id.

The Kidneighs fail to overcome Kelley’s precedential
value in this case. According to the Kidneighs, the Su-
preme Court’s decisions in Ward and Miller worked a
wholesale reconsideration of ERISA preemption analysis,
and pre-Ward Tenth Circuit case law (and, by implication,
pre-Ward Supreme Court cases such as Pilot Life) is not
controlling here. This argument, however, is hard to
square with the continued citation to Pilot Life in recent
Supreme Court cases and citations to Kelley in recent
Tenth Circuit cases. See Moffett, 291 F.3d at 1236-37 (10th
Cir.2002) (“[Wle conclude that Wyoming’s law does not
regulate insurance such that it falls within ERISA’s saving
clause. Wyoming’s bad faith law does not have the effect of
transferring or spreading policyholder risk.”) (citing Kelley,
882 F.2d at 456). Recent Supreme Court and Tenth Circuit
cases indicate that, while the precise formulation of the
test for analyzing ERISA preemption cases has evolved,
the holdings of prior cases are still valid as to the preemp-
tion of bad faith claims.

The Kidneighs similarly overstate the effect of Miller
on this case when they claim in their Supplemental Brief

App. 12

that “[plrior case law from the Supreme Court and this
Circuit holding that state bad faith laws are preempted
based upon a McCarran-Ferguson analysis are now
without precedential value” and that “t]he Supreme Court
has thus eviscerated the precedential value of Pilot Life.”
Aplt. Supp. Br. at 1-2. On the contrary, the Court in Miller
notes that the now-discarded McCarran-Ferguson factors
used in Pilot Life were, in the earlier opinion, “mere
‘considerations [to be] weighed’ in determining whether a
state law falls under the savings clause,” __ US. at __.
123 S.Ct. at 1479 (quoting Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 49, 107
S.Ct. 1549), and that in none of the Court's ERISA pre-
emption decisions were “the McCarran-Ferguson factors
an essential component of the [preemption] analysis,” id.
(discussing Metro. Life, 471 U.S. at 742-43, 105 S.Ct. 2380,
and Ward, 526 U.S. at 374, 119 S.Ct. 1380). Had the
Supreme Court intended Miller to overrule Pilot Life or, in
the Kidneighs’ words, eviscerate its precedential value, the
Court could have said as much; the fact that Pilot Life is
still cited in Miller with approval suggests otherwise. See
also Leuthner v. Blue Cross and Blue Shield, 270
F.Supp.2d 584, 592-94 (M.D.Pa.2003) (applying Miller and
relying upon reasons in Pilot Life to conclude that Penn-
svlvania bad faith statute did not affect risk pooling
arrangement); McGuigan v. Reliance Standard Life Ins.
Co., 256 FSupp.2d 345, 348 (E.D.Pa.2003) (same).

Nor is the Kidneighs’ argument availing that Colorado
law governing bad faith claims has evolved to the point
where a case from 1989 (Kelley) is no longer applicable in
2003. The statute on insurance unfair competition and
deceptive practices in Colorado cited by the Kidneighs —
enacted before Kelley — merely provides remedies for and
prevents unfairness in the insurance industry and states

App. 13

that juries in civil cases against insurance companies may
be instructed that “the insurer owes its insured the duty of
good faith and fair dealing.” Colo.Rev.Stat. Ann. § 10-3-
1113(1) (West 2003). Colorado is hardly the only state to
attempt to so distinguish generic contract bad faith and
insurance bad faith; several states have similar insurance
bad faith statutory provisions, and they are routinely held
to be expressly preempted by ERISA. See, e.g., Gilbert v.
Alta Health & Life Ins. Co., 276 F.3d 1292, 1297-99 (11th
Cir.2001) (Alabama insurance bad faith statute preempted
by ERISA); Gaylor, 112 F.3d at 466 (Oklahoma insurance
bad faith statute preempted by ERISA); Swerhun uv.
Guardian Life Ins. Co. of Am., 979 F.2d 195, 199 (11th
Cir.1992) (Florida insurance bad faith statute preempted
by ERISA).

As to Mrs. Kidneigh’s loss of consortium claim, the
Kidneighs concede that preemption of Mr. Kidneigh’s bad
faith claim would entail preemption of Mrs. Kidneigh’s
loss of consortium claim:

[A]s a derivative claim, a claim for loss of consor-
tium is only as valid as the claim from which it
derives. In essence it is no more than an element
of damages that comes with the principal
claim. ...

[A] loss of consortium claim is not preempted if
the claim it derives from is not preempted, but it
is preempted if ERISA preempts the principal
claim.

Aplt. Br. at 11-12 (citing Pacificare of Okla., Inc. v. Bur-
rage, 59 F.3d 151 (10th Cir.1995)). This result is true
whether the loss of consortium claim is understood to
derive from the bad faith claim (as the Kidneighs contend)
or from the ERISA claim (as UNUM contends). If the

App. 14

former, then the Kidneighs’ concession above controls. If
the loss of consortium claim is derived from the ERISA
claim, then the loss of consortium claim is best character-
ized as a state law claim preempted by ERISA. See Bast v.
Prudential Ins. Co. of Am., 150 F.3d 1003, 1009-10 (9th
Cir.1998); Burrage, 59 F.3d at 155 (“A loss of consortium
claim against an [insurer] alleging negligent or fraudulent
administration of the plan is preempted by ERISA.”). The
plain language of ERISA and prevailing Supreme Court
and Tenth Circuit authority lead, then, to the conclusion
that Mr. Kidneigh’s Colorado state law bad faith claim is
preempted by ERISA and that his wife’s loss of consortium
is similarly preempted.

We are unpersuaded that Elliot v. Fortis Benefits Ins.
Co., 337 F.3d 1138 (9th Cir.2003), suggests a different
result. That case held that a state-law unfair trade prac-
tices act claim was preempted under ERISA’s civil en-
forcement provision, 29 U.S.C. § 1132, relying upon Pilot
Life. Elliot, 337 F.3d at 1147. The court found that the
state act “provides damages above and beyond those
provided in ERISA, including punitive damages,” and was
therefore preempted by § 1132. Id. Though the opinion
contains an interesting discussion concerning the evolu-
tion of § 1144 preemption, the court did not reach whether
(1) the state act was specifically directed toward entities
engaged in insurance and (2) whether it substantially
affects the risk pooling arrangement between the insurer
and the insured. Elliot, 337 F.3d at 1146. Notwithstanding
the dissent and its reliance on Elliot, we remain persuaded
that neither factor is present here.

The district court’s decision is AFFIRMED in part (as
to Mrs. Kidneigh’s loss of consortium claim) and RE-
VERSED in part (as to Mr. Kidneigh’s bad faith claim).

App. 15

HENRY, J., concurring in part and dissenting in part.

I concur in the majority’s holding that Mr. Kidneigh’s
Colorado bad faith claim is foreclosed by ERISA conflict
preemption. See Maj. Op. at 1184-1186. Because I agree
that “preemption of Mr. Kidneigh’s bad faith claim ...
entail[s] preemption of Mrs. Kidneigh’s loss of consortium
claim,” id. at 1189, I therefore also concur in the ultimate
holding that the Kidneighs’ claims are “preempted by
ERISA.” Id. at 1189. My agreement with the majority,
however, ends there.

Two aspects of the majority's reasoning concern me.
First, the majority's ERISA direct preemption analysis, see
id. at 1186-1189, is unnecessary to our ultimate holding.
Second, the majority’s conclusion following that analysis,
that Mr. Kidneigh’s Colorado insurance bad faith claim is
foreclosed by ERISA direct preemption, is problematic.

A. The Majority’s Direct Preemption Analysis is
Unnecessary

Justice Breyer has warned of the need in certain
situations for “judicial caution and humility.” This is one
of those situations: we should be very careful in invalidat-
ing state legislatures’ actions under federal law. To decide
this case, we did not need to go any further than the
majority's concise and correct application of the ERISA
conflict preemption rules from Rush Prudential HMO, Inc.
v. Moran, 536 U.S. 355, 375, 122 S.Ct. 2151, 153 L.Ed.2d

Stephen Breyer, Our Democratic Constitution, 77 N.Y.U. L.Rev.
245, 261 (2002).

} Pa ere

App. 16

375 (2002), and Conover v. Aetna U.S. Health Care, Inc.,
320 F.3d 1076 (10th Cir.2003), to the remedies sought by
the plaintiffs. See Maj. Op. at 1184-1186.

“This court considers itself bound by Supreme Court
dicta almost as firmly as by the Court’s outright holdings,
particularly when the dicta is recent and not enfeebled by
later statements.” Gaylor v. United States, 74 F.3d 214,
217 (10th Cir.1996) (emphasis supplied). As the majority
explains, see Maj. Op. at 1184-1186, a state law regulating
insurance is foreclosed by ERISA conflict preemption if it
allows plan participants to obtain remedies not available
under ERISA. And as the majority concedes, see id. at
1186, the Supreme Court has made clear that if a state
law claim is foreclosed by ERISA conflict preemption, that
claim is foreclosed regardless of whether the law on which
the claim is based is, or is not, foreclosed by the doctrine of
direct preemption. See Rush, 536 U.S. at 377, 122 S.Ct.
2151 (“Although we have yet to encounter a forced choice
between the congressional policies of exclusively federal
remedies and the reservation of the business of insurance
to the States, we have anticipated such a conflict, with the
state insurance regulation losing out if it allows plan
participants to obtain remedies that Congress rejected in
ERISA”) (internal citations and quotation marks omitted)
(emphasis supplied); Boggs v. Boggs, 520 U.S. 833, 841,
117 S.Ct. 1754, 138 L.Ed.2d 45 (1997) (“We can begin, and
in this case end, the analysis by simply asking if state law
conflicts with the provisions of ERISA or operates to
frustrate its objects. We hold that there is a conflict, which
suffices to resolve the case. We need not inquire whether
the statutory phrase ‘relate to’ provides further and
additional support for the pre-emption claim.”) (emphasis
supplied); cf. Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 US.

App. 17

133, 142, 111 S.Ct. 478, 112 L.Ed.2d 474 (1990) (“Even if
there were no express pre-emption in this case, the Texas
cause of action would be pre-empted because it conflicts
directly with an ERISA cause of action.”) (emphasis
supplied).

Indeed, on several occasions, the Supreme Court has
addressed conflict preemption as a basis independent of
direct preemption for holding that ERISA superseded the
common law tort claim in a given case. See Pilot Life Ins.
Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41, 51-57, 107 S.Ct. 1549, 95
L.Ed.2d 39 (1987); Ingersoll-Rand, 498 U.S. at 142-45, 111
S.Ct. 478. Significantly, in its recent ERISA preemption
cases the Court has assumed that ERISA conflict preemp-
tion could foreclose a state claim even if the state law in
question fell within ERISA’s insurance savings clause. See,
e.g., Rush, 536 U.S. at 374-87, 122 S.Ct. 2151 (performing
ERISA conflict preemption after rejecting an ERISA direct
preemption claim); UNUM Life Ins. Co. of Am. v. Ward,
526 U.S. 358, 375-77, 119 S.Ct. 1380, 143 L.Ed.2d 462
(1999) (same).

The necessary logical predicate of these cases is that
ERISA direct preemption and ERISA conflict preemption
operate independently from each other. Put another way, a
state statute is preempted, and a claim based on that
statute foreclosed, when the party asserting ERISA
preemption satisfies the applicable standard for either of
the two main flavors of ERISA preemption, direct or
conflict. When one of those two types of ERISA preemption
is demonstrated, it is wholly unnecessary for a court to
engage in analysis of whether the other ERISA preemption
doctrine applies. The majority does not attempt to dispute
this principle.

App. 18

Nonetheless, the majority, having correctly deter-
mined that the claims are barred by ERISA conflict pre-
emption, ventures unnecessarily and at length further
down that “treacherous path,” as it accurately terms
- ERISA preemption analysis, Op. at 1184, by engaging in
ERISA direct preemption analysis. The majority makes an
ERISA direct preemption holding “in the alternative,” Maj.
Op. at 1186, reaching to interpret as a matter of first
impression the test recently announced in Kentucky Ass’n
of Health Plans, Inc. v. Miller, __ U.S. __, 123 S.Ct. 1471,
155 L.Ed.2d 468 (2003). Although such certainty and
courage may in some contexts warrant admiration, I am
concerned that the majority misapplies Miller. I therefore
address also the majoritys ERISA direct preemption
analysis.

B. Colorado’s Insurance Bad Faith Law is Not
Foreclosed by ERISA Direct Preemption

1. ERISA’s Direct Preemption and Insurance
Savings Clauses

ERISA “comprehensively regulates employee pension
and welfare plans.” Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Massa-
chusetts, 471 U.S. 724, 732, 105 S.Ct. 2380, 85 L.Ed.2d 728
(1985). Benefit providers may either self-insure or pur-
chase insurance for their beneficiaries. See id. Plans such
as the Kidneighs’ that purchase insurance “are directly
affected by state laws that regulate the insurance indus-
try.” Id. The question in such cases becomes whether the
state law at issue is preempted by ERISA. ERISA contains
an express, or direct, preemption provision, which states
that ERISA “shall supersede any and all State laws
insofar as they may now or hereafter relate to any

App. 19

employee benefit plan.” 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a); see also
Conover, 320 F.3d at 1079.

In a legislative act that the Supreme Court has
described politely as “perhaps . . . not a model of legislative
drafting,” Metropolitan Life, 471 U.S. at 739, 105 S.Ct.
2380, Congress, despite the breadth of ERISA’s direct
preemption clause, followed that clause with an insurance
savings clause, which “saves from preemption state laws
‘regulat[ing] insurance.’” Conover, 320 F.3d at 1078 (quot-
ing 29 U.S.C. §1144(b)(2)(A)). The insurance savings
clause “reclaims a substantial amount of ground with its
provision that ‘nothing in this subchapter shall be con-
strued to exempt or relieve any person from any law of any
State which regulates insurance.’” Rush, 536 U.S. at 364,
122 S.Ct. 2151 (quoting 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(A)).

Thus, “employee benefit plans that are insured are
subject to indirect state insurance regulation.” FMC Corp.
v. Holliday, 498 U.S. 52, 61, 111 S.Ct. 403, 112 L.Ed.2d 356
(1990). “An insurance company that insures a plan re-
mains an insurer for purposes of state laws purporting to
regulate insurance.” Jd. (internal quotation marks omit-
ted). “The insurance company is therefore not relieved
from state insurance regulation.” Jd. (emphasis supplied).
The Supreme Court has noted that this distinction reflects
“the presumption the: “‘ongress does not intend to pre-
empt areas of traditional state regulation.... Congress
provided that the ‘business of insurance, and every person
engaged therein, shall be subject to the laws of the several
States which relate to the regulation or taxation of such
business.’” Jd. at 62, 111 S.Ct. 403 (quoting 15 U.S.C.
§ 1012(a)) (emphasis supplied).

App. 20

It is undisputed that the Kidneighs’ claims “relate” to
an employee benefit plan. Thus, resolution in this case of
whether ERISA direct preemption applies turns on
whether Colorado’s insurance bad faith law “escape(s]
preemption under the saving clause.” Ward, 526 U.S. at
367, 119 S.Ct. 1380 (citing 29 U.S.C. § 514(b)(2)(A)). “To
determine whether [Colorado’s laws] are saved from
preemption, we must ascertain whether they are ‘laws...
which regulate insurance’ under § 1144(b)(2)(A).” Miller,
__ US. at ___, 123 S.Ct. at 1475.

2. Applying Miller

The Supreme Court’s most recent interpretation of
§ 1144’s “regulate insurance” language came in Miller, __
U.S. __, 123 S.Ct. 1471, 155 L.Ed.2d 468, a unanimous
decision handed down in April of this year. The majority
states that Miller effected merely a change in the “precise
formulation of the test for analyzing ERISA preemption
cases.” Maj. Op. at 1188. However, as recognized by the
only circuit decision to interpret Miller, Miller announced
a “change in the law involving § 1144.” Elliot v. Fortis
Benefits Ins. Co., 337 F.3d 1138, 1145 (9th Cir.2003)
(noting that under the new risk standard, state laws
might be found to regulate insurance “under a much wider
variety of statutes” than earlier Supreme Court caselaw
suggested) (emphasis supplied). See also Rosenbaum v.
Unum Life Ins. Co. of Am., 2003 WL 22078557 (E.D.Pa.
Sept.8, 2003); 2 Guide to Employment Law and Regulation
§ 19:39 (June 2003) (noting that “[t]he rationale utilized by
the Supreme Court [in Miller] is contrary to its previous
decisions that set forth a test for determining whether
laws regulate insurance within the meaning of ERISA.”).

App. 21

Indeed, prior to Miller, courts were required to follow
the test set forth in Metropolitan Life: (1) asking whether,
from a “common-sense view of the matter,” a state law
“regulates insurance,” and (2) testing that result against
the factors interpreting the “business of insurance” anti-
trust exemption in the McCarran-Ferguson Act. Metropoli-
tan Life, £71 U.S. at 743, 105 S.Ct. 2380; Conover, 220 F.3d
at 1078. The Court in Miller explained that its “prior
decisions construing § 1144(b)(2)(A) have relied, to varying
degrees, on our cases interpreting §§ 2(a) and 2(b) of the
McCarran-Ferguson Act.” __ U.S. at __, 123 S.Ct. at
1478 (emphasis supplied). “In determining whether
certain practices constitute ‘the business of insurance’
under the McCarran-Ferguson Act,” noted the Court, “our
cases have looked to three factors: first, whether the
practice has the effect of transferring or spreading a
policyholder’s risk; second, whether the practice is an
integral part of the policy relationship between the insurer
and the insured; and third, whether the practice is limited
to entities within the insurance industry.” Jd. (internal
quotation marks omitted) (emphasis deleted).

The Court then indicated its dissatisfaction with the
pre-Miller doctrine:

our use of the McCarran-Ferguson case law in
the ERISA context has misdirected attention,
failed to provide clear guidance to lower federal
courts, and, as this case demonstrates, added lit-
tle to the relevant analysis. That is unsurprising,
since the statutory language of § 1144(b)(2)(A)
differs substantially from that of the McCarran-
Ferguson Act.

Id.

App. 22

The Court then made new Jaw and announced a two-
part test:

Today we make a clean break from the McCar-
ran-Ferguson factors and hold that for a state
law to be deemed a “law ... which regulates in-
surance” under § 1144(b)(2)(A), it must satisfy
two requirements. First, the state law must be
specifically directed toward entities engaged in
insurance. Second, as explained above, the state
law must substantially affect the risk pooling ar-
rangement between the insurer and the insured.

Id. at 1479 (internal quotation marks and select internal
citations omitted) (emphasis supplied).

Thus, under Miller, we analyze whether Colorado’s
insurance bad faith law “regulates insurance,” and there-
fore falls within ERISA’s insurance savings clause. 29
U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(A). In this context, we examine both
Colorado’s decisional and statutory law. See Winchester v.
Prudential Life Ins. Co. of Am., 975 F.2d 1479, 1484 n. 5
(10th Cir.1992). As the majority acknowledges, see Maj.
Op. at 1188, we thus ask whether Colorado’s insurance
bad faith law is (1) “specifically directed toward entities
engaged in insurance,” Miller, __ U.S. at ___, 123 S.Ct. at
1479; and (2) “substantially affect[s] the risk pooling
arrangement between the insurer and the insured.” Id.
However, the majority's cramped interpretation of Miller
infects its analysis on both Miller prongs.

a. Specifically directed towards entities
engaged in the insurance industry

The majority concludes that Colorado’s insurance bad
faith law is not specifically directed at entities engaged in

App. 23

the insurance industry, reasoning that Colorado courts
have “not exclusively [] confined bad faith causes of action
to the insurance setting.” Maj. Op. at 1186. In doing so, the
majority erroneously conflates two separate causes of
action that happen to include the words “bad faith,” but
are quite distinct under well-settled Colorado law.

The first such cause of action is a bad faith claim that
sounds in contract and arises from an alleged breach of the
implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing that
Colorado imports into every contract. See, e.g., Maj. Op. at
1186 (citing Rogers v. Westerman Farm Co., 29 P.3d 887,
908 (Colo.2001) (claim against oil company for breach of
implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing), and
Amoco Oil Co. v. Ervin, 908 P.2d 493, 498 (Colo.1995)
(same)). The second is an insurance bad faith claim that
sounds in tort and exists solely due to the unique relation-
ship of a surety — insured such as that present in the cases
cited by the majority. See Maj. Op. at 1186 (citing Dale v.
Guar. Nat'l Ins. Co., 948 P.2d 545, 552 (Colo.1997) (analyz-
ing “the tort of bad faith breach of insurance contract”),
and Vaughan v. McMinn, 945 P.2d 404, 406 (Colo.1997) (“A
breach of the covenant of good faith and fair dealing by an
insurer may give rise to tort liability. The basis for this
liability is the special nature of the insurance contract
relative to other types of contracts.”)).

Contrary to the majority’s insistence, in Colorado,
“(cjlaims for bad faith breach ... of an insurance contract
sound in tort... . [and] exist independently of the liability
imposed by an insurance contract.” Pham v. State Farm
Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 70 P.3d 567, 571 (Colo.Ct.App.2003)
(emphasis supplied) (citing Daugherty v. Allstate Ins. Co.,
55 P.3d 224 (Colo.Ct.App.2002), and Flickinger v. Ninth
Dist. Prod. Credit Ass’n, 824 P.2d 19 (Colo.Ct.App.1991)).

App. 24

Accordingly, Colorado courts have analyzed bad faith
claims brought against insurers not in terms of general
“bad faith” claims, but specifically as “insurance bad faith
claim[s].” Dale, 948 P.2d at 551 (emphasis supplied); see
also Herod v. Colo. Farm Bur. Mut. Ins. Co., 928 P.2d 834,
835 (Colo.Ct.App.1996) (stating that in “cases in which the
insured brings an action against the insurer, the insurer's
denial of a valid claim will constitute bad faith if the
insurer’s conduct is unreasonable and it knows that the
conduct is unreasonable or recklessly disregards the fact
that the conduct is unreasonable”). Indeed, earlier this
year, the Colorado Supreme Court reaffirmed that “[t]he
basis for liability in tort for the breach of an insurer’s
implied duty of good faith and fair dealing is grounded
upon the special nature of the insurance contract and the
relationship which exists between the insurer and the
insured.” Cary v. United of Omaha Life Ins. Co., 68 P.3d
462, 467 (Colo.2003) (quoting Travelers Ins. Co. v. Savio,
706 P.2d 1258, 1272 (Colo.1985) (emphasis supplied)).

That there is a distinct body of insurance bad faith
law pertaining to the insurance industry is no mere
tautology. Insurance-specific policy considerations underlie
Colorado’s insurance bad faith tort cause of action. As the
Colorado Supreme Court has explained, the doctrine
reflects that “[t]he motivation of the insured when enter-
ing into an insurance contract differs from that of parties
entering into an ordinary commercial contract.” Cary, 68
P.3d at 467 (internal quotation marks and citation omit-
ted). “[A]n insurer in contractual privity with an insured, |
has a financial incentive to use its leverage to limit
claims,” id., the Colorado Supreme Court has noted,
because “once a calamity has befallen an employee covered
by workers compensation or an insured covered under a

App. 25

private insurance contract, the injured party is particu-
larly vulnerable because of the injury or loss.” Jd. (internal
quotations and citation omitted) (emphasis supplied).

The concern expressed by the Colorado Supreme
Court is that large-scale “[iJnsurers, backed by sufficient
financial resources, are encouraged to delay payment of
claims to their insureds with an eye toward settling for a
lesser amount than due under the policy.” Jd. (internal
quotation marks omitted). Regarding claims for disability
coverage, the Colorado Supreme Court has noted that
“(t]he inequity of this situation becomes particularly
apparent in the area of disability insurance in which the
insured [is] often pursued by creditors and devoid of
bargaining power.” Jd. (internal quotation marks omitted).

The Coiorado iegislature has similarly carved out a
distinct set of laws applicable to insurance companies’ bad
faith behavior. The majority's conclusion that Colorado’s
insurance bad faith law is not specifically directed towards
entities engaged in insurance lies in contrast with the
following. In 1987, the Colorado legislature amended the
Chapter 65 of its civil code, the chapter addressing “The
Regulation of Insurance Companies.” In an Act titled,
“Concerning Remedies for Persons Injured by Acts of
Insurance Companies Which Constitute Unfair Settlement
Practices,” 1987 Colo. Leg. Sess., Vol. I at 423, the Colo-
rado legislature enacted § 10-3-1113 to supplement the
state’s common law insurance bad faith tort law. See id. at
423-424 (codifying the enactment of Colo. Stat. §§ 10-3-
1113 and 10-3-1114). See also Col.Rev.Stat. § 10-3-1114
(“Nothing in this part ... shall be construed to ... abro-
gate any common law contract or tort cause of action.”).
The statute provides a standard applicable only to bad
faith claims against insurance providers; it mandates jury

App. 26

instructions that shall apply in a bad faith claim “ijn any
civil action for damages founded upon contract, or tort, or
both against an insurance company,” and states that “the
trier of fact may be instructed that the insurer owes its
insured the duty of good faith and fair dealing, which duty
is breached if the insurer delays or denies payment with-
out a reasonable basis for its delay or denial.”
Col.Rev.Stat. § 10-3-1113.

Section 10-3-1113(4) states that “[iJn determining
whether an insurer’s delay or denial was reasonable, the
jury may be instructed that willful conduct of the kind set
forth in sections 10-3-1104(1)(h)(I) to (1)(h)(XIV) is prohib-
ited and may be considered if the delay or denial and the
claimed injury, damage, or loss was caused by or contrib-
uted to by such prohibited conduct.” Those provisions
define “as unfair methods of competition and unfair or
deceptive acts or practices in the business of insurance”
(emphasis supplied), numerous and unmistakable refer-
ences to the conduct of insurance companies, including

Failing to acknowledge and act reasonably
promptly upon communications with respect to
claims arising under insurance policies; or

Failing to adopt and implement reasonable stan-
dards for the prompt investigation of claims aris-
ing under insurance policies; or

Refusing to pay claims without conducting a rea-
sonable investigation based upon all available in-
formation; or

Failing to affirm or deny coverage of claims
within a reasonable time after proof of loss
statements have been completed; or

App. 27

Not attempting in good faith to effectuate prompt,
fair, and equitable settlements of claims in which
liability has become reasonably clear; or

Compelling insureds to institute litigation to re-
cover amounts due under an insurance policy by
offering substantially less than the amounts ul-
timately recovered in actions brought by such in-
sureds; or

Attempting to settle a claim for less than the
amount to which a reasonable man would have
believed he was entitled by reference to written
or printed advertising material accompanying or
made part of an application;

CoL.REV.STAT. § 10-3-1104(1)(h)(I) (VID) (emphasis sup-
plied).

Both this statute’s insurance-specific standard for any
suit alleging a bad faith tort claim brought by an insured
against a direct insurance provider such as UNUM, and
the Colorado common law governing insurance bad faith
torts under standards specific to the insurance setting, are
thus distinct in a meaningful way from the contract law

‘bad faith cause of action the majority repeatedly invokes.

Further evidence of this distinction is that the type of
bad faith claim at issue here has, contrary to the major-
ity’s assertion, see Maj. Op. at 1186, been cabined exclu-
sively to the insurance setting. Unlike the laws of certain
jurisdictions cited by the majority, see Maj. Op. at 1185
and 1188, the statutory and common law rules governing
insurance bad faith tort law in Colorado have not been
extended to other situations where special circumstances
create unique duties. Compare, e.g., Moffett v. Halliburton
Energy Servs., Inc., 291 F.3d 1227, 1236 (10th Cir.2002) (in

App. 28

holding that Wyoming’s bad faith law did not regulate
insurance, emphasizing that “the tort of bad faith breach
as developed in Wyoming is not unique to the insurance
industry; rather, it is unique to those settings in which a
‘special relationship’ exists, including the insurance and
employment contexts”) with Decker v. Browning-Ferris
Indus. of Colo., Inc., 931 P.2d 436, 446 (Colo.1997) (noting
that “the torts of wrongful discharge in violation of public
policy and bad faith breach of the implied covenant of good
faith and fair dealing inherent in insurance contracts are
based on administrative or legislative declarations of
public policy,” and concluding that “there is no appropriate
basis upon which to ground a tort of breach of an express
covenant of good faith and fair dealing in employment
contracts”) (emphasis supplied). Unlike the claim under
Mississippi law for “tortious breach of contract” held to be
preempted by ERISA in Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 48, 107
S.Ct. 1549, insurance bad faith tort law in Colorado, in
both common law and statute form, is entirely reflective
of, and focused on, the insurance industry. Accord Elliot,
337 F3d at 1145 (in analyzing a state law under Miller,
asserting that the state law satisfies Miller’s first prong
because the state law “by its very terms is directed at
insurance, and contains provisions applicable only to
insurance companies.”); Colligan v. UNUM Life Ins. Co. of
Am., 2001 WL 533742, at *3 (D.Colo. April 23, 2001) (in
denying an insurer’s motion to dismiss on ERISA preemp-
tion grounds a Colorado insurance bad faith claim, con-
cluding that “Colorado’s bad faith cause of action is clearly
distinguishable from the Mississippi cause of action at
issue in Pilot Life”).

App. 29

Moreover, contrary to the exclusivity standard posited
by the majority, even if there existed de minimus excep-
tions to Colorado’s exclusive application of insurance bad
faith tort law to the insurance context, such exceptions
would not preclude the Colorado law from falling within
ERISA’s savings clause. The Court noted in Miller noted
[sic] that “Petitioners maintain that the application to
noninsuring HMOs forfeits the laws’ status as ‘law(s] ...
which regulat[e] insurance.’ § 1144(b)(2)(A).” __ U.S. at
__n. 1, 123 S.Ct. at 1476 n. 1 The court responded: “We
disagree .... petitioners’ argument is foreclosed by Rush
[] where we noted that Illinois’ independent-review laws
contained ‘sore overbreadth in the application of [the
Illinois statute at issue] beyond orthodox HMOs,’ yet held
that ‘there is no reason to think Congress would have
meant such minimal application to noninsurers to remove
a state law entirely from the category of insurance regula-
tion saved from preemption.’” Id. (quoting Rush, 536 U.S.
at 372, 122 S.Ct. 2151) (emphasis supplied) (internal
citation omitted). For these reasons, it is clear that Colo-
rado’s insurance bad faith law is “specifically directed
toward entities engaged in insurance.” Miller, __ U.S. at
__, 123 S.Ct. at 1479.

b. “Substantially affect the risk pooling
arrangement between the insurer and
the insured”

The majority also concludes that Colorado's insurance
bad faith law fails Miller’s second prong, which requires
that for a state law to qualify as regulating insurance, it
must “substantially affect the risk pooling arrangement
between the insurer and the insured.” Jd. To arrive at this
conclusion, the majority relies heavily on Pilot Life, Kelley

App. 30

v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 882 F2d 453 (10th Cir.1989),
(“The Kidneighs fail to overcome Kelley’s precedential
value in this case.”), and a number of other circuit court
cases applying Pilot Life.

. However, notwithstanding the majority's assertions
that because Pilot Life has not been completely overruled
and that Pilot Life and its progeny in this circuit are
therefore binding, those authorities’ precedential value on
the precise issue of the “substantially affect” prong has
been seriously eroded, if not eviscerated, by Miller. On this
issue, the Court in Miller decidedly did not favorably cite
to Pilot Life. Indeed, as another circuit court recently put
it in assessing Pilot Life’s conclusions regarding risk,
“subsequent case law puts the validity of ... these Pilot
Life conclusions into some doubt.” Elliot, 337 F.3d at 1144.

A comparison between the rule from Pilot Life and the
new standards suggested by recent Supreme Court cases
and expressly adopted in Miller shows how Pilot Life’s risk
allocation analytical framework has been displaced by
subsequent Supreme Court decisions. The Court in Pilot
Life concluded that a claim brought under Mississippi
common law for tortious breach of an insurance contract
was “not saved by §514(b)(2)(A),” and was therefore
foreclosed by ERISA direct preemption. 481 U.S. at 57, 107
S.Ct. 1549. In so holding, the Court emphasized that the
Mississippi common law claim at issue was “firmly planted
in the general principles of Mississippi tort and contract
law,” id. at 50, 107 S.Ct. 1549, reasoning that “the common
law of bad faith does not define the terms of the relation-
ship between the insurer and the insured; it declares only
that, whatever terms have been agreed upon in the insur-
ance contract, a breach of that contract may in certain
circumstances allow the policyholder to obtain punitive

ac

App. 31

damages,” id. at 51, 107 S.Ct. 1549, and stressing that
“the Mississippi common law of bad faith does not effect a
spreading of shareholder risk.” Jd. at 50, 107 S.Ct. 1549.

Miller, in contrast, specifically disavowed the McCar-
ran-Ferguson factors, including the test of “whether the
practice has the effect of transferring or spreading a
policyholder’s risk,” the test relied on in Pilot Life, 481
U.S. at 48, 107 S.Ct. 1549, and in Kelley, 882 F.2d at 456
(“Colorado’s common law of bad faith does not regulate
insurance. It neither spreads policyholder risk nor controls
the substantive terms of the insurance contract. See Pilot
Life.”). The Court in Miller stated: “[O]ur test requires
only that the state law substantially affect the risk pooling
arrangement between the insurer and the insured; it does
not require that the state law actually spread risk.” __
U.S. at ___ n. 3, 123 S.Ct. at 1477 n. 3 (all but second
emphasis supplied). Perhaps animated by federalism
concerns, Miller expanded the scope in ERISA direct
preemption analysis as to what affects risks. The Court’s
use of the word “only” to describe the new test shows that
“(slubstantially affect{ing] the risk pooling arrangement
between the insurer and the insured” is likely an easier
hoop to jump through. See Elliot, 337 F.3d at 1145 (stating
that Ward and Miller “leave open the possibility that risk
spreading might be found in a much wider variety of
statutes than Pilot Life suggested”) (emphasis supplied).
Miller is the culmination, so far, of a clear trend by the
Supreme Court to rein in ERISA direct preemption. Ward
and Rush, the two ERISA direct preemption cases decided
immediately prior to Miller, each concluded that the risk
analysis did not justify ERISA direct preemption, as did
Miller itself.

App. 32

In Ward, 526 U.S. 358, 119 S.Ct. 1380, 143 L.Ed.2d
462, decided in 1999, the Court held that California’s
notice-prejudice rule, under which an insurer could not
deny benefits due to an insured’s late notice without
showing that the insurer suffered prejudice, fell within
ERISA’s savings clause. In so holding, the Court reasoned
that “the rule controls the terms of the insurance relation-
ship” and is directed at the insurance industry. Id. at 368,
119 S.Ct. 1380.

In Rush, 536 U.S. 355, 122 S.Ct. 2151, 153 L.Ed.2d
375, decided in 2002, the Court held that an Illinois law
mandating a binding review by an independent physician
following an insurer’s refusal to pay for surgery fell within
the savings clause. The Court in Rush reasoned that “this
effect of eliminating an insurer’s autonomy to guarantee
terms congenial to its own interests is the stuff of garden
variety insurance regulation through the imposition of
standard policy terms.” Jd. at 387, 122 S.Ct. 2151.

Miller, decided unanimously earlier this year, ana-
lyzed whether Kentucky's “Any Willing Provider” (“AWP”)
statutes fell within ERISA’s savings clause. The AWP
statutes required health insurance plans to provide access
to the plans’ network to all health care providers in the
plans’ geographic coverage region willing to meet insurer’s
participation requirements. See Miller, __ U.S. at __-__.,
123 S.Ct. at 1473-74 (summarizing Ky.Rev.Stat. Ann.
§ 304.17A-270). Miller was the Court’s first-ever applica-
tion of the “substantially affects” version of the risk prong.
Holding that the AWP statutes satisfied the risk prong, the
Court stated that the “rule [that] governs whether or not
an insurance company must cover claims submitted late,
which dictates to the insurance company the conditions
under which it must pay for the risk that it has assumed

App. 33

.... certainly qualifies as a substantial effect on the risk
pooling arrangement between the insurer and insured.”
Id. at 1478 n. 3.

If, contrary to the Supreme Court’s teachings dis-
cussed earlier, it was necessary to address this matter, I
would hold that Colorado’s insurance bad faith law fits
within this unbroken line of recent Supreme Court cases
as sufficiently affecting the pooling of risk to qualify as a
regulation of insurance. As amended in 1987,’ Colorado
statutory law requires that insurers attempt to settle
when liability becomes reasonably clear, and forbidding
insurers from offering less than what a reasonable person
would feel entitled to, Colorado’s insurance bad faith law
“substantially affects the risk-pooling arrangement.” Even
without the additional remedies foreclosed by ERISA
conflict preemption, it tends to make it less likely that
insureds will suffer from delayed settlement.

Colorado’s law effects this alteration of risk by making
clear that such behavior may yield liability against the
insurer, presumably altering the insurer’s incentives to
play the “delay game” and drive down settlement amounts.
By mandating that insurers attempt to settle when liabil-
ity becomes reasonably clear and barring insurers from

* The fact that the Colorado legislature passed the amendment at
issue in this case in 1987 is an additional reason that Kelley, contrary to
the majority's assertions, does not control. Though decided by this court
in 1989, Kelley involved a claim brought under the Colorado bad faith
statute as it stood prior to the important amendments enacted in 1987
to Colorado’s insurance bad faith statutory law. See Kelley, 882 F.2d at
455 (“[Kelley] ... asserted causes of action under Colorado’s common
law of bad faith insurance practices and Colo.Rev.Stat. § 10-3-1104
(1973)”).

App. 34

offering less than what a reasonable person would feel
entitled to, Colorado’s insurance bad faith law “dictates to
the insurance company the conditions under which it must
pay for the risk it has assumed.” Miller, __ U.S. at ___ n.
3, 123 S.Ct. at 1477 n. 3. Accord Elliot, 337 F.3d at 1145
(noting that Supreme Court decisions subsequent to Pilot
Life “call[] into question Pilot Life’s conclusion that a
claim processing law does not affect risk allocation”). The
greater likelihood of the imposition of liability for bad faith
behavior makes bad behavior more costly. As the cost of
bad behavior rises, behavior tends to change. The statute
thus changes the conditions under which an insurer will
“pay for the risk that it has assumed,” Miller, __ U.S. at
__n. 8, 123 S.Ct. at 1478 n. 3, by making the law deci-
sively clear that the risk of nonperformance in settlement
negotiations lies with the insurer.

Colorado’s insurance bad faith law thus substantially
affects the risk-pooling arrangement by giving insureds
clear protection they did not previously possess in their
settlement negotiation practices with insurers. Because
this law satisfies both of the requisite elements to qualify
as “regulating insurance,” it thus falls with ERISA’s
savings clause.

CONCLUSION

ERISA was enacted as a balanced statute, offering
certain protection to insurers while securing protection for
insured patients who are at their most vulnerable when
they suffer medical harm. Through the insurance savings
clause, Congress specifically authorized the states to
continue regulating the business practices of insurance
companies. State regulation of insurance is an undeniably

App. 35

proper state function that permits states to respond to the
specific aspects of their policy problems better than the
one-size-fits-all approach the majoritys reading empha-
sizes. The majority's approach helps dismantle the protec-
tive system devised by Colorado’s legislature and courts
for Colorado’s citizens.

Because, under binding precedent of the Supreme
Court and this court, Mr. Kidneigh’s claim is foreclosed by
ERISA conflict preemption, I respectfully concur in the
majority's disposition of this case. However, I do not join
the majority ERISA direct preemption analysis because,
for the reasons detailed above, it is both unnecessary and
probably incorrect as a matter of law.

App. 36

APPENDIX B

[1] IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

Civil Action No. 02-Z-210

JON F. KIDNEIGH and BARBARA KIDNEIGH,
Plaintiffs,

Vs.

UNUM LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY OF AMERICA,
Defendant.

REPORTER’S TRANSCRIPT
(Hearing on Motion to Dismiss)

(Filed Jun. 19, 2002)

Proceedings before the HONORABLE ZITA L. WEIN-
SHIENK, Judge, United States District Court for the
District of Colorado, commencing at 2:44 p.m., on the [sic]
May 1, 2002, in Courtroom C-400, United States Court-
house, Denver, Colorado.

APPEARANCES

STEPHEN C. KAUFMAN, Attorney at Law, 3801
East Florida Avenue, Suite 900, Denver, Colorado, 80120,
and NEVIN A. SEGER, Attorney at Law, 1080 Kalamath
Street, Denver, Colorado 80104, appearing for the plain-
tiffs.

JACK M. ENGLERT, JR., Attorney at Law, 555 17th
Street, Suite 3200, Denver, Colorado, 80202, appearing for
the defendant. :

App. 37

* * *

[24] insurance policies in California; therefore, it regulated
insurance.

In Colorado, in this case, the existence of a bad faith
claim has no effect on the terms and conditions of the
policy. It does not alter the way the policy operates. But if
the policy is found to have been breached, given the right
circumstances, it may increase the damages. But that
doesn’t have any effect on the terms.

I agree with Ward. I don’t think Ward changes the
law. And I think that under Ward and all the other Su-
preme Court precedent, our decision — our analysis is the
correct one, your Honor.

THE COURT: It would be very helpful if we had
some better law from the circuit on some of these points.

MR. ENGLERT: I agree. Thank you.
THE COURT: Thank you.

RULING

THE COURT: Well, I think reading the deci-
sions of the various judges other than myself has been
helpful. And certainly, there is certainly a strong argu-
ment, as made by, for example, Judge Matsch in his
decision, that this claim, this bad faith claim, is not
preempted.

I wish we had some better directive, circuit law,
telling us whether this type of claim falls under Pilot Light
[sic] or falls under Ward, and unfortunately, we don’t.

App. 38

[25] My conclusion after hearing the arguments is
that the motion to dismiss the bad faith claim will be
denied based on the indication which appears to be —
which appears to apply — it may not, but it appears to
apply in the Ward case and the decisions of several of us
who sit on this bench — my decision, Judge Kane’s, Judge
Matsch’s, Judge Daniel’s, which all have allowed bad faith
claims to proceed despite ERISA.

I wish some of these had been appealed. I wish we had
some clear direction from the Tenth Circuit. Unfortu-
nately, we don’t. These colleagues of mine are scholarly
people. And as recently as January of 2002, Judge Wiley
Daniel found no preemption.

So the court’s decision on this motion to dismiss will
be that it should be denied, and the bad faith claim should
go forward, will not be dismissed.

Now, I still have problems with the consortium claim
because I’m not at all sure that the consortium claim can
be lumped in with the bad faith claim when we do have a
Tenth Circuit decision, which I handed to somebody — do
you still have it there?

MR. KAUFMAN: Ihave it.

THE COURT: [I'll have Jeannette bring it back
up to me — where we have the Tenth Circuit indicating in
Pacificare of Oklahoma, which is cited as 59 F.3d 151,
1995, Tenth Circuit. And it’s Judge Anderson, who speaks
for himself, and [26] Judges Brorby and Henry and who
pretty well says a loss of consortium claim against an
HMO alleging negligent or fraudulent administration of
the plan is preempted and then goes on to talk about the
vicarious liability for wrongful death.

App. 39

It appears to me that this case falls within that type of
claim, which is, indeed, preempted; and I see no reason to
lump together the bad faith and consortium and say that
they both have to be decided the same way.

Based on the case, Pacificare, and the fact that I think
it probably does apply to the allegations here, the Court
will grant the motion to dismiss the consortium claim; and
this case will go forward to trial, or at least to the point of
motions for summary judgment, on the first claim and the
second claim, but the third claim is dismissed.

Now, we don’t have a trial date on this yet. And even
though the case that was argued before the Tenth Circuit
was in March, it would seem to me that there might be
some chance that when the Tenth Circuit comes down
with their opinion they could give some help to us on this
case, even though that was Wyoming law and this is
Colorado law.

So when you folks set your trial — or have you a trial
date?

MR. KAUFMAN: No, your Honor.

THE COURT: You don’t have it yet. Well, may I
ask [27] this: If either side hears something from the
Tenth Circuit, would you be kind enough to let me know
through my staff, either Beth Appleton, my law clerk, or
Jeannette Gallardo, my courtroom deputy, what has been

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386001_0927%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
