# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kaiser v. Arizona

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386001_0783%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2004
- **Citation:** 540 U.S. 1162

## Text

A Suppress Oust, Ls.
yy, FILE®

03 833 DEC 5 2003

——PO PRICE —OF FE — EL

In The
Supreme Court of the Anited States

¢

GERALD KAISER,

Petitioner,

V.

STATE OF ARIZONA, CITY OF SCOTTSDALE, -

Respondent.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Court Of Appeals,
State Of Arizona, Division One

,
bd

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

+
ERWIN CHEMERINSKY CHRIS PETERSON
Counsel of Record PETERSON & PETERSON
UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN 1017 East Belmont Ave.
CALIFORNIA LAW SCHOOL Phoenix, Arizona 85020
699 Exposition Blvd. (602) 870-4841

Los Angeles, CA 90089-0071
(213) 740-2539

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a city ordinance making it a crime to “refuse to
obey a peace officer” is unconstitutionally vague and
overbroad.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Re I is intiticitnintinrantcreiinmmnnmanen ili
INE II ss nccinasciieeca tanistsatsicnen esieciradoligaiceomtaesaton anemia 1
Statement of Jurisdiction ..................cccecccssseceeeeeeeeees 1
Constitutional Provisions Involved......................20008 1
Statutory Provision Involved.................ccecssceeeeessevees 2
TE A TN ID ois nice ceesissknsnenscccsaneonmelsencnans 2
Reasons for Granting the WTit.................cccccssssssseeeee 3

THE SUPREME COURT SHOULD GRANT
REVIEW TO RESOLVE A CONFLICT WITH
PRIOR DECISIONS OF THIS COURT AND TO
DECIDE A QUESTION OF NATIONAL IMPOR-
TANCE AS TO WHETHER LAWS PROHIBITING
DISOBEYING A POLICE OFFICER ARE UN-
CONSTITUTIONALLY VAGUE AND OVER-

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601 (1978)... cece 11
_ City of Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. 451 (1987)............ 4,5,6,7
City of Chicago v. Morales, 527 U.S. 41 (1999) ........... 4,8,9
Coates v. City of Cincinnati, 402 U.S. 611 (1971)............. 10
Nolender v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352 (1988)................ 9,10, 11
Lewis v. City of New Orleans, 415 U.S. 130 (1974)......... 6,7
Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville, 405 U.S. 156
NT eid canis cakehinkecseteinesastnnenvceuinananicss sepeiaiataareneoiie 9
Polk v. State, 2003 WL 22674284, = A.2d_ (Md.
iia Ladntecccipbhsupedbantiinrercuskrbiinwinessseqesiinstuensssie 3
Shuttlesworth v. City of Birmingham, 382 U.S. 87
esas datsanhidicchunnsensnnpiaduniessakaeneysnbensseetbaes 4
State v. Hookstra, 10 Neb.App. 199 (2001)............. eee 3
Virginia v. Hicks, 123 S.Ct. 2191 (20038)... eeeteeees 11
STATUTES
cs caus ytievnnbacewsicnveasneislvennseshaasaveias 4
I CT coinsithscvrenascbninsiveriveteoessssvevces Sivncistamcibaleestia 4
a ga sdavaaposamniioavdaswaiouiin 4
a sieniidacannnennaiuneiiinctag 4

scotisdale City Code $19-13. ...............cccccccsscccsssscccccsssooees 2,3

1

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals, State of Arizona,
Division One, is published at 204 Ariz. 514, 65 P.3d 463
(2003). A copy of the opinion is included as Appendix A.
The Arizona Supreme Court denied review on September
9, 2003. The denial of review is included as Appendix B.

4

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Arizona Supreme Court denied review of the final
judgment of the Court of Appeals, State of Arizona, Divi-
sion One, on September 9, 2003. This Court has jurisdic-
tion under 28 U.S.C. §1257. —

¢

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

“Congress shall make no law respecting an establish-
ment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or
“abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the
right of the people to peaceably assemble, and to petition
the Government for redress of grievances.” U.S. Const.,
amend. I.

“No State shall make or enforce any law which shall
abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the
United States; nor shall any State deprive any person of
life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor
deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal protec-
tion of the laws.” U.S. Const., amend XIV.

4

2

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

Scottsdale City Code §19-13: “No person shall refuse
to obey a peace officer engaged in the discharge of his duty,
or any other person authorized to aid in quelling any riot,
rout, or affray.”

¢

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Dr. Gerald Kaiser was convicted of violating a city’s
ordinance that makes-it a crime for a person to “refuse to
~ obey” orders from a peace officer. Scottsdale City Code §19-
13. He was convicted of this despite being simultaneously
acquitted of charges of Resisting Arrest, A.R.S. §13-2508,
and of Threatening and Intimidating, A.R.S. §13-1202.

The events which led to Dr. Kaiser’s conviction oc-
curred on April 29, 2000, when two Scottsdale police
officers stopped a car after an officer suspected that the
driver, Kaiser’s wife, was intoxicated. Tr at 26, 51. Dr.
Kaiser was a passenger. When his wife got out of the car to
talk with one officer, Dr. Kaiser yelled at his wife to not
answer any questions or perform any field-sobriety tests.
Tr. at 30, 31, 53, 54, 120-121.

The other officer ordered Dr. Kaiser to remain in the
vehicle. Tr. at 28, 30, 53, 119. Dr. Kaiser refused and
continued speaking to his wife about how she should
handle the situation. Tr. at 31, 54, 97, 141-142. The officer
told Kaiser that he was hindering a police investigation
and that he could be arrested for this. Tr. at 91, 122. The
officers repeatedly told Kaiser to get in the car and, at one
point, attempted to physically place him in the vehicle. Tr.
at 47, 92, 123-124. Kaiser refused and exited the vehicle

for the purpose of speaking with his wife. Tr. at 32, 34, 47,
58, 92, 129. A heated verbal exchange between Kaiser and
the officers ensued. Ty. 129, at 177. At one point, an officer
struck Dr. Kaiser.in his chest. 7r 176-177. After this
occurred, Dr. Kaiser made derogatory comments about the
officer, including using profanities. Tr. 142-145. At no time,
did Kaiser physically touch the officers or do anything
other than refuse their order to remain in the car.

The officers arrested Dr. Kaiser and he was charged
with Resisting Arrest, A.R.S. §13-2508; Threatening and
Intimidating, A.R.S. §13-1202; and Refusing to Obey a
Peace Officer, Scottsdale City Code §19-13.

Dr. Kaiser was acquitted of the first two charges in a
bench trial in Scottsdale City Court, but was convicted of
Refusing to Obey a Peace Officer. He was sentenced on
April 13, 2001 and, pursuant to Arizona law, he appealed
his conviction to the Maricopa County Superior Court. The
Superior Court denied his appeal and Dr. Kaiser then
appealed to the Arizona Court of Appeals, Division One,
which affirmed his conviction and rejected his argument
that Scottsdale City Code §19-13 is unconstitutionally
vague or overbroad. Dr. Kaiser then sought review in the
Arizona Supreme Court, which denied review on Septem-
ber 9, 2003.

4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Throughout the country, individuals are being con-
victed solely for disobeying orders from a police officer.
See, e.g., Polk v. State, 2003 WL 22674284, — A.2d __
(Md. App. 2003); State v. Hookstra, 10 Neb.App. 199
(2001). Laws making it a crime to refuse to comply with

4

orders from a peace officer exist in cities and states across
the country. See, e.g., Ala. Code, §32-5A-4; Fla.Stat.,
§843.02; Iowa Code, §372.14; Mass. G.L. c. 90, §25. Such
statutes and ordinances are inconsistent with this Court’s
invalidation of similar laws, such as those that make it a
crime to interrupt a police officer in the performance of
duties, City of Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. 451 (1987), or to
fail to disperse when ordered to do so by a police officer.
_City of Chicago v. Morales, 527 U.S. 41 (1999). Alaw which
makes it a crime to “refuse to obey” a peace officer is
inherently vague and overbroad because it criminalizes
lawful, constitutionally protected behavior. An individual,
for example, could be convicted under this law for disobey-
ing a police order to be silent when there is a right to
speak or to disperse from a place where the person is
constitutionally entitled to be present.

Thus, this Court should grant review to resolve the
important issue, affecting state and local governments
across the country and countless individuals, as to
whether a law which makes it a crime to “refuse to obey” a
peace officer is unduly vague and overbroad. In Shut-
tlesworth v. City of Birmingham, 382 U.S. 87, 91 (1965),
this Court indicated that a statute which made it unlawful
for any person to “refuse or fail to comply with any lawful
order, signal or direction from a police officer” raised
“constitutional doubts of the utmost gravity.” Dr. Kaiser’s
conviction requires that this Court address the issue that
was not resolved in Shuttlesworth and decide whether
laws that exist throughout the country which make it a
crime to disobey any order from a police officer, at any
time, are impermissibly vague and overbroad.

5

THE SUPREME COURT SHOULD GRANT REVIEW
TO RESOLVE A CONFLICT WITH PRIOR DECISIONS
OF THIS COURT AND TO DECIDE A QUESTION OF
NATIONAL IMPORTANCE AS TO WHETHER LAWS
PROHIBITING DISOBEYING A POLICE OFFICER
ARE UNCONSTITUTIONALLY VAGUE AND OVER-
BROAD

In many cases, this Court has declared unconstitu-
tional state and local laws which accord police officers
unfettered discretion to arrest individuals for constitu-
tionally protected behavior. This Court has stressed that
such laws are impermissibly vague and overbroad in
violation of the First and Fourteenth Amendments.

This Court’s decision in City of Houston v. Hill is
exactly on point. The issue was whether “a municipal
ordinance that makes it. unlawful to interrupt a police
officer in the performance of his or her duties is unconsti-
tutionally overbroad under the First Amendment.” 482
U.S. at 452. Indeed, the facts of Hill are remarkably
similar to this case. Hill observed a friend intentionally
stopping traffic on a busy street, evidently to enable a
vehicle to enter traffic. Two Houston police officers ap-
proached Hill’s friend and began speaking with him.
Shortly thereafter, Hill began shouting at the officers in an
admitted attempt to divert. the officers’ attention. Id. Hill
shouted: “Why don’t you pick on somebody your own size?”
After Officer Kelley responded: “[A]re you interrupting me
in my official capacity as a Houston police officer?” Hill
then shouted: “Yes, why don’t you pick on somebody my
size?” Id. Hill was arrested under Houston Code of Ordi-
nances §34-1l(a), for “wilfully or intentionally inter-
rupt[ing] a city policeman ... by verbal challenge during
an investigation.”

6

This Court found the Houston ordinance unconstitu-
tionally overbroad because it allowed individuals to be
punished solely for speech to police officers that is pro-
tected by the First Amendment. The Court stressed that
the ordinance “is not narrowly tailored to prohibit only
disorderly conduct or fighting words.” Id. at 463. This
Court thus concluded: “Houston’s ordinance criminalizes a
substantial amount of constitutionally protected speech,
and accords the police unconstitutional discretion in
enforcement. ... Far from providing the ‘breathing space’
that ‘First Amendment freedoms need ... to survive,’ the
ordinance is susceptible of regular application to protected
expression. We conclude that the ordinance is substan-
tially overbroad, and that the Court of Appeals did not err
in holding it facially invalid.” Jd. at 465 (citations omitted).

Similarly, in Lewis v. City of New Orleans, 415 U.S.
130, 131 (1974), this Court invalidated as unconstitution-
ally vague and overbroad a city ordinance which made it
“unlawful and a breach of the peace for any person wan-
tonly to curse or revile or to use obscene or opprobrious
language toward or with reference to any member of the
city police while in the actual performance of his duty.”
Lewis, too, had facts very similar to this case. Lewis yelled
obscenities and threats at an officer who had asked her
husband to produce his driver’s license. This Court over-
turned the conviction stressing the broad discretion
accorded police under the law. As Justice Powell explained
in a concurring opinion, “[t]his ordinance, as construed by
the Louisiana Supreme Court, confers on police a virtually
unrestrained power to arrest and charge persons with a
violation. Many arrests are made in ‘one-on-one’ situations
where the only witnesses are the arresting officer and the
person charged.” Jd. at 134 (Powell, J., concurring).

DRS cer ES Rt SA SEE St SEE OSS SO RS ES SI a IND
enor ene
7

There is an obvious conflict between the Arizona
Court of Appeal’s decision in this case and this Court’s
rulings in cases such as City of Houston v. Hill and Lewis
v. City of New Orleans. In Hill and Lewis, the Court
declared unconstitutional- as impermissibly vague and
overbroad laws that made it a crime to interfere with a
police officer or to use profanities in speaking to a police
officer. Yet, that is exactly what the ordinance in this case
does: Dr. Kaiser was arrested solely for interfering with
police officers and for using profanities in talking with
them.

In fact, the ordinance here is even broader than those
invalidated in Hill and Lewis. Unlike the Houston ordi-
nance considered in Hill, Scottsdale’s law dues not require
that an individual interfere with a police officer. Rather,
disobeying any order from a police officer, however unrea-
sonable or unconstitutional and even if it in no way
interferes with the officers’ duties, is a crime. Disobeying
an officer’s order to refrain from constitutionally protected
speech or assembly is made a crime by this law, showing
its obvious overbreadth and its conflict with earlier deci-
sions of this Court.

If ordinances such as Scottsdale’s are constitutional,
then this Court’s rulings in cases like Hill, Lewis, and
countless other cases are rendered meaningless. City
ordinances, such as that invalidated in Hill, making it a
crime to interfere with a police officer would be unneces-
sary; cities could just prohibit disobeying an officer and
any interference could be punished under those laws.
Ordinances, such as in Lewis, which make it a crime to use
obscene or opprobrious language will be replaced by laws
prohibiting disobeying a police officer; a police order to

8

stop swearing would be the basis for an arrest and a
conviction.

Indeed, numerous laws which this Court has found
impermissibly vague and overbroad are narrower than
statutes and ordinances prohibiting “disobeying a police
officer.” For example, in City of Chicago v. Morales, 527
U.S. 41 (1999), the Court invalidated a Gang Congregation
Ordinance, which prohibits “criminal street gang mem-
bers” from “loitering” with one another or with other
persons in any public place. The ordinance made it a crime
for individuals to refuse to comply with a police order to
disperse from an area if a police officer reasonably be-
lieved that at least one of two or more persons present in a
public place was a member of a “criminal street gang” and
that the persons were loitering by remaining in a place
“with no apparent purpose.”

The Chicago ordinance was quite narrow compared to
the Scottsdale ordinance in this case: it applied only when
police suspected a person of being a gang member; only
when people were present with no apparent purpose; and
it authorized arrest and conviction only for failing to obey
a police order to disperse. In contrast, the Scottsdale
ordinance at issue here allows arrest and conviction of
anyone for failing to follow any police order at any time.
Despite the relative narrowness of the Chicago ordinance,
this Court found it impermissibly vague. As The Court
explained: “The broad sweep of the ordinance also violates
the requirement that a legislature establish minimal
guidelines to govern law enforcement.” Jd. at 59. Justice
Breyer elaborated: “I believe the ordinance violates the
Constitution because it delegates too much discretion to a
police officer to decide whom to order to move on, and in
what circumstances. And I see no way to distinguish in the

9

ordinance’s terms between one application of that discre-
tion and another. The ordinance is unconstitutional, not
because a policeman applied this discretion wisely or
poorly in a particular case, but rather because the police-
man enjoys too much discretion in every case. And if every
application of the ordinance represents an exercise of
unlimited discretion, then the ordinance is invalid in all
its applications.” Jd. at 70 (Breyer, J., concurring).

But if the Scottsdale ordinance is constitutional, then
Chicago can simply replace its unconstitutional anti-gang
ordinance with one making it a crime to disobey a police
officer. Police officers could arrest loitering gang members
for not complying with orders to disperse under this ever
broader and more vague ordinance. Surely, if it unconsti-
tutional for a city to make it a crime for loitering suspected
gang members to comply with a police order to disperse,
then it is impermissible for a city to make it a crime to
disobey any police order.

Likewise, ordinances making it a crime to disobey a
police officer conflict with this Court’s decisions invalidat-
ing loitering laws. See, e.g., Papachristou v. City of Jack-
sonville, 405 U.S. 156 (1971) (invalidating a loitering law
on vagueness grounds). For instance, in Kolender v.
Lawson, 461 U.S. 352 (1983), this Court declared unconsti-
tutional a criminal statute that requires persons who
loiter or wander on the streets to provide a “credible and
reliable” identification and to account for their presence.
The Court concluded that the law “is unconstitutionally
vague on its face because it encourages arbitrary enforce-
ment by failing to describe with sufficient particularity
what a suspect must do in order to satisfy the statute.” Id.
at 360. Yet, if ordinances like Scottsdale’s are upheld, then
a state can replace its unconstitutional loitering law with

10

use of a statute prohibiting disobeying a police officer.
Officers could order anyone to disperse, or as in Kolender
to provide identification, and the failure to do so would be
a crime.

Thus, this Court should grant review to resolve the
obvious conflict between the Arizona Court of Appeals
decision upholding a law making it a crime to disobey a
police officer and the many decisions of this Court invali-
dating similar, and even much narrower laws, on vague-
ness and overbreadth grounds. This case presents
important issues concerning both the vagueness and the
overbreadth doctrines.

The Scottsdale ordinance is unduly vague because it
fails to provide any guidance as to when disobeying a
police officer can be the basis for criminal punishment. In
Coates v. City of Cincinnati, 402 U.S. 611 (1971), this
Court found unconstitutionally vague a city law that
prohibited individuals from assembling on a sidewalk and
conducting themselves in a manner annoying to persons
passing by. The Court invalidated this law and explained:
“It is said that the ordinance is broad enough to encom-
pass many types of conduct clearly within the city’s consti-
tutional power to prohibit. And so, indeed, it is. The city is
free to prevent people from blocking sidewalks, obstructing
traffic, littering streets, committing assaults, or engaging
in countless other forms of antisocial conduct. It can do so
through the enactment and enforcement of ordinances
directed with reasonable specificity toward the conduct to
be prohibited. It cannot constitutionally do so through the
enactment and enforcement of an ordinance whose viola-
tion may entirely depend upon whether or not a policeman
is annoyed.” Jd. at 614 (citations omitted). Yet, ordinances
like Scottsdale’s allow a police officer who is “annoyed” to

11

arrest a person for disobeying any police order, no matter
how trivial.

Vague laws, such as Scottsdale’s ordinance, give police
unfettered discretion. As this Court explained: “The more
important aspect of the vagueness doctrine is not actual
notice, but the other principle element of the doctrine —
the requirement that a legislature establish minimal
standards to govern law enforcement. Where the legisla-
ture fails to provide such minimal guidelines, a criminal
statute may permit a standardless sweep that allows
policemen, prosecutors and juries to pursue their personal .
predilections.” Kolender v. Lawson, 461 U.S. at 358 (cita-
tions omitted). Laws, like Scottsdale’s, which make it a
crime to disobey a police officer give police unlimited
discretion to arrest people by deciding when disobedience
to an order, however unreasonable, warrants arrest. In
fact, police wanting to arrest a person, for whatever
reason, can do so by giving an unreasonable order and
then arresting the individual for failure to comply.

Likewise, this case raises an important issue in terms
of the overbreadth doctrine. This Court, of course, has
been clear that “substantial overbreadth” is required to
invalidate a law under the First Amendment. Virginia v.
Hicks, 123 S.Ct. 2191, 2196 (2003); Broadrick v. Okla-
homa, 413 U.S. 601, 615 (1973). A law is unconstitution-
ally overbroad if it punishes a “substantial” amount of
protected free speech “judged in relation to the statute’s
plainly legitimate sweep.” Virginia v. Hicks, 123 S.Ct. at
2196. The Scottsdale ordinance is enormously overbroad. A
police officer could tell any person engaged in constitu-
tionally protected speech to be silent and the refusal to
comply is illegal. Any person engaged in constitutionally
protected assembly could be ordered to disperse and the

12

failure to comply is illegal. This Court should grant review
to clarify this important issue of law that affects people on
a daily basis throughout the country.

¢

CONCLUSION

Gerald Kaiser respectfully requests that this Court
grant his Petition for a Writ of Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

ERWIN CHEMERINSKY

Counsel of Record

UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN
CALIFORNIA LAW SCHOOL

699 Exposition Blvd.

Los Angeles, CA 90089-0071

(213) 740-2539

CHRIS PETERSON
PETERSON & PETERSON
1017 East Belmont Ave.
Phoenix, Arizona 85020
(602) 870-4841

App. 1

65 P.3d 463

Court of Appeals of Arizona,
Division 1, Department D

STATE of Arizona, Appellee,
v.
Gerald KAISER, Appellant

No. 1 CA-CR-02-0448.

April 1, 2003 .
Review Denied Sept. 9, 2003.

David A. Pennartz, Scottsdale City Attorney by James

Neugebauer, Assistant City Prosecutor, Scottsdale, Attor-
neys for Appellee.

~

Peterson & Peterson by Chris Peterson, Phoenix,
Attorneys for Appellant.

OPINION
EHRLICH, Presiding Judge.

{ 1 Gerald Kaiser appeals his conviction for refusing
to obey a peace officer,’ a class 1 misdemeanor violation of
Scottsdale City Code section (“Code § ”) 19-13. He contends
that the regulation is unconstitutional because it is both
vague and overbroad, thereby denying him due process in
violation of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United

' A “peace officer” is “any person vested by law with a duty to
maintain public order and make arrests.” Ariz.Rev.Stat. § 13-105(25)
(2001).

App. 2

States Constitution.’ For reasons that follow, we hold that
the ordinance is constitutional.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

{ 2 Two Scottsdale peace officers stopped a car after
an officer suspected that the driver, Kaiser’s wife, was
intoxicated. Kaiser was a passenger. When his wife got out
of the car to talk with one officer, Kaiser yelled at his wife
to not answer any questions or perform any field-sobriety
tests. Then, despite being told by the other officer to
remain in the car, Kaiser got out and attempted to ap-
proach his wife and the investigating officer. The officers
repeatedly instructed Kaiser not to interfere with the
investigation and to get back in the vehicle, and, when he
failed to comply, they told him to return to the car or he
would be arrested. Kaiser persisted, repeatedly defying
their orders. Eventually, he was arrested for failing to
return to and remain in the car when told to do so and for
interfering with the investigation. Throughout the inci-
dent, Kaiser appeared to the officers to be angry, disrup-
tive, aggressive and profane, making comments that the
officers interpreted as threats.

* The Due Process Clause of the Arizona Constitution is construed
similarly to the same clause in the United States Constitution. Simat
Corp. v. Ariz. Health Care Cost Containment Sys., 203 Ariz. 454, 464
q 47, 56 P.3d 28, 38 (2002) (Berch, J., dissenting); State v. Bible, 175
Ariz. 549, 594, 858 P.2d 1152, 1197 (1993), cert. denied, 511 U.S. 1046,
114 S.Ct. 1578, 128 L.Ed.2d 221 (1994). See S.G. Feldman & D.L.
Abney, The Double Security of Federalism: Protecting Individual Liberty
Under the Arizona Constitution, 20 ARIZ. ST. L.J. 115 (Spring 1988).

App. 3

{ 3 Charged with refusing to obey a peace officer,
Kaiser was convicted in Scottsdale City Court for having
violated Code § 19-13, which provides in pertinent part
that “[nJo person shall refuse to obey a peace officer
engaged in the discharge of his duty.” He appealed his
conviction to the Maricopa County Superior Court,
ARIZ.REV.STAT. (“A.R.S.”) § 22-371 (2002), insisting that
the law is vague and overbroad. The court rejected his
argument and affirmed his conviction, finding that the
ordinance was not vague and that Kaiser had no standing
to complain that the ordinance is overbroad. Kaiser
brought the same challenge to this court. A.R.S. § 22-
375(A) (2002).

DISCUSSION

{ 4 Because this matter originated in municipal court,
our jurisdiction is limited to a review of the facial validity
of the ordinance. State v. Alawy, 198 Ariz. 363, 364 7 3, 9
P.3d 1102, 1103 (App. 2000); State v. Singer, 190 Ariz. 48,
50, 945 P2d 359, 361 (App. 1997). Accordingly, if the
regulation is facially valid, we do not proceed to analyze
how it was applied to the individual defendant. Alawy, 198
Ariz. at 364 { 3, 9 P.3d at 1103.

{ 5 Before we determine whether an ordinance is
facially valid, however, we must first address whether a
defendant has standing to challenge the constitutionality
of the ordinance. Jd. at 364 7 6, 9 P3d at 1103. “Even if an
ordinance or statute is vague in some particulars, a person
‘to whose conduct a statute clearly applies may not success-
fully challenge it for vagueness.’” Id. (quoting State v.
Trachtman, 190 Ariz. 331, 334, 947 P.2d 905, 908 (App. 1997)
(quoting Parker v. Levy, 417 U.S. 733, 756, 94 S.Ct. 2547, 41

App. 4

L.Ed.2d 439 (1974))). See State v. McLamb, 188 Ariz. 1, 6,
932 P.2d 266, 271 (App. 1996), cert. denied, 522 U.S. 814, 118
S.Ct. 60, 1389 L.Ed.2d 23 (1997). Even so, “[uJnder some
circumstances, litigants whose own activities are constitu-
tionally unprotected can nonetheless challenge a statute as
overbroad if the law ‘substantially abridges the First Amend-
ment rights of other parties not before the court.’” State v.
Musser, 194 Ariz. 31, 32 | 5, 977 P2d 1381, 182 (1999)
(quoting Village of Schaumburg v. Citizens for a Better Envt,
444 U.S. 620, 634, 100 S.Ct. 826, 63 L.Ed.2d 73 (1980)).

{6 Peace officers may “take such steps as [are]
reasonably necessary to protect their personal safety and
to maintain the status quo” during an investigatory stop.
United States v. Hensley, 469 U.S. 221, 235, 105 S.Ct. 675,
83 L.Ed.2d 604 (1985). Kaiser does not contest the validity
of the traffic stop or that the officers could properly inves-
tigate whether his wife was driving under the influence of
alcohol. He does not contest that the officers were engaged
in the discharge of their duties. He does not deny that he
got out of his car several times and attempted to approach
his wife and the investigating officer despite being told
repeatedly to return to and remain in his vehicle and not
interfere with the investigation. He complains only that
the ordinance he violated is itself a violation of his consti-
tutional right to due process.

{ 7 Kaiser’s conduct falls within the activity regulated
by Code § 19-13 such that it cannot be said that the
ordinance is facially vague or overbroad regardless of any
theoretical unconstitutional application of the ordinance to
others not before the court. Nevertheless, we may consider
Kaiser to have standing and so we address the constitu-
tionality of the ordinance.

App. 5

{ 8 The constitutionality of a statute is reviewed de
novo. Ariz. Dep’t of Pub. Safety v. Superior Court (Falcone),
190 Ariz. 490, 494, 949 P.2d 983, 987 (App. 1997). When an
ordinance is challenged as being vague or overbroad, there
is a strong presumption that it is constitutional, Singer,
190 Ariz. at 50, 945 P.2d at 361, and we will, if possible,
interpret the regulation in such a way as to render it
constitutional. Alawy, 198 Ariz. at 364 7 5, 9 P.3d at 1103;
McLamb, 188 Ariz. at 5, 932 P.2d at 270. In this regard, we
give the language its plain and ordinary meaning. Alawy,
198 Ariz. at 365 7 8, 9 P3d at 1104. See A.R.S. § 1-213
(“Words and phrases shall be construed according to the
common and approved use of the language.”). It is the
person challenging the enactment who bears the burden of
establishing the contrary proposition. Id. at 364 7 5, 9 P.3d
at 1103; Singer, 190 Ariz. at 50, 945 P.2d at 361; McLamb,
188 Ariz. at 5, 932 P.2d at 270.

79 “A legislative enactment is unconstitutionally
vague if it does not give persons of ordinary intelligence a
reasonable opportunity to learn what it prohibits and does
not provide explicit standards for those who will apply it.”
McLamb, 188 Ariz. at 5, 932 P.2d at 270 (quoting State »v.
Takacs, 169 Ariz. 392, 394, 819 P.2d 978, 980 (App.1991)).
See Singer, 190 Ariz. at 50, 945 P.2d at 361 (citing Kolen-
der v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352, 357, 103 S.Ct. 1855, 75
L.Ed.2d 903 (1983)). However, the requirement of a “fair
and definite warning” does not necessitate “perfect notice or
absolute precision” of language. Singer, 190 Ariz. at 50, 945
P.2d at 361 (quoting State v. Phillips, 178 Ariz. 368, 370, 873
P.2d 706, 708 (App.1994)). See Grayned v. City of Rockford,
408 U.S. 104, 110, 92 S.Ct. 2294, 33 L.Ed.2d 222 (1972).

The Constitution only requires that language con-
vey a sufficiently definite warning as to proscribed

App. 6

conduct when measured by common understand-
ing and practices. That there will be marginal
cases in which it is difficult to determine the side
of the line on which a particular fact situation
falls is no sufficient reason to hold the language
too ambiguous to define a criminal offense.

McLamb, 188 Ariz. at 5, 932 P.2d at 270 (quoting State v.
Cota, 99 Ariz. 233, 236, 408 P.2d 23, 26 (1965)).

q 10 Kaiser argues that Code § 19-13 is vague because
no mens rea is required. He adds that, under the ordi-
nance, “every contact between the police and the public
provides the potential of an arrest for declining to obey
whatever a policeman may decide he wants” resulting in
arrest and conviction at the “whim” of the officer whether
the failure to comply is intentional or not.

{11 First, the ordinance does contain a mens rea
requirement: It requires that a person “refuse” to obey an
order. To refuse an order is an affirmative act of rejection,
not a bare failure to obey but a knowing and deliberate
decision to not obey.’ Absent a refusal to obey, as opposed
to a mere failure to obey, there can be no violation of the
ordinance.

{ 12 Second, as Code § 19-13 provides, the order must
be one of “a peace officer engaged in the discharge of his
duty.” While the Scottsdale City Code does not define

* “Refuse” means “[t]o deny, decline, reject.”. BLACKS LAW
DICTIONARY 1282 (6th ed.1990). The act of refusal is one of will; in
contrast, “fail” may be an act of inevitable necessity. Maestas v. Am.
Metal Co. of N.M., 37 N.M. 203, 20 P.2d 924, 925 (1933) (citing Taylor v.
Mason, 22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 325, 344, 6 L.Ed. 101 (1824)).

PRON AD inne eee

App. 7

“peace offtcer” or “discharge of duty,” the Arizona legisla-
ture has defined a “peace officer” to be “any person vested
by law with a duty to maintain public order and make
arrests,” A.R.S. § 13-105(25), and this duty can only be
accomplished through the lawful enforcement of state and
local laws. In other words, there is no violation of Code
§ 19-13 if the order that is refused is not one made in
connectien with the discharge of the duties of the peace
officer. A legislative enactment “is not void for vagueness
‘simply because it may be difficult to determine how far
one can go before the statute is violated.’” McLamb, 188
Ariz. at 5, 932 P.2d at 270 (quoting Phillips, 178 Ariz. at
370, 873 P.2d at 708) (quoting Berenter v. Gallinger, 173
Ariz. 75, 81, 839 P.2d 1120, 1126 (App. 1992)).

{13 Kaiser relies heavily on City of Chicago uv.
Morales, 527 U.S. 41, 119 S.Ct. 1849, 144 L.Ed.2d 67
(1999), in which the Supreme Court found facially invalid an
ordinance that provided that, if a police officer reasonably
believed that at least one of two or more persons present in a
public place was a member of a “criminal street gang” and
that the persons were loitering by remaining in a place “with
no apparent purpose,” the officer must order all the persons
to disperse “from the area.” However, the analysis is fully
distinguishable from that pertinent to this case.

{ 14 In Morales, the Court first noted that “the free-
dom to loiter for innocent purposes is part of the ‘liberty’
protected by the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment,” id. at 53, 119 S.Ct. 1849, and that “[i]t is
difficult to imagine how any citizen of the city of Chicago
standing in a public place with a group of people would
know if he or she had an ‘apparent purpose.” Jd. at 56-57,
119 S.Ct. 1849. Additionally, the ordinance provided no
advance notice to any “putative loiterer” to protect him

App. 8

from being ordered to disperse, and it provided no guid-
ance as to how long a loiterer must remain away, how far
away he must move or when he could regroup with the
other loiterers before being asked to disperse once more
without being subject to arrest. Jd. at 59, 119 S.Ct. 1849.
In other words, the ordinance failed to give adequate
notice of what was forbidden and what was permitted. Jd.
at 60, 119 S.Ct. 1849.

{ 15 Also, as found by the Court in Morales, there
were no guidelines for enforcement. Id. The police were
given “absolute discretion” to determine what constituted
loitering in violation of the ordinance. Jd. at 61, 119 S.Ct.
1849. “Presumably an officer would have discretion to
treat some purposes — perhaps a purpose to engage in idle
conversation or simply to enjoy a cool breeze on a warm
evening — as too frivolous to be apparent if he suspected a
different ulterior motive.” Jd. at 62, 119 S.Ct. 1849.

{ 16 The ordinance in Morales is in no way compara-
ble to the Scottsdale ordinance. A person of ordinary
intelligence will understand what the Scottsdale ordinance
prohibits and in what context that conduct may be prohib-
ited. Further, Code § 19-13 provides sufficient objective
standards for one charged with its enforcement to know
what conduct is unlawful. Finally, the ordinance does not
encourage arbitrary enforcement. It is not unconstitution-
ally vague.

{ 17 Kaiser also complains that Code § 19-13 is void
for overbreadth. “An overbroad statute is one designed to
burden or punish activities which are not constitutionally
protected, but... includes within its scope activities which
are protected by the First Amendment.” McLamb, 188
Ariz. at 9, 932 P.2d at 274 (quoting State v. Baldwin, 184

App. 9

Ariz. 267, 269, 908 P.2d 483, 485 (1995)) (quoting State v.
Jones, 177 Ariz. 94, 99, 865 P.2d 138, 143 (App.1993))
(internal quotations omitted) (alteration original). But, as
noted by the Court in Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S.
601, 615, 93 S.Ct. 2908, 37 L.Ed.2d 830 (1973), “where
conduct and not merely speech is involved ... the over-
breadth of a statute must not only be real, but substantial
as well, judged in relation to the statute’s plainly legiti-
mate sweep.” See McLamb, 188 Ariz. at 9, 9382 P.2d at 274.
“There must be a realistic danger that the statute will
significantly jeopardize recognized first amendment
protections of individuals not before the court.” McLamb,
188 Ariz. at 10, 932 P.2d at 275 (quoting State v. Steiger,
162 Ariz. 138, 144, 781 P.2d 616, 622 (App.1989) (citation
omitted) (emphasis original)).

{ 18 We discern no realistic danger that Code § 19-13
will significantly put at risk the First Amendment rights
of those persons not before the court. The refusal to obey a
legitimate order of a sworn peace officer does not implicate
the constitutional rights of a person. Certainly the mere
possibility that some impermissible application can be
conceived is not sufficient to render a statute overbroad. Id.

q 19 Kaiser also relies on Shuttlesworth v. City of
Birmingham, 382 U.S. 87, 86 S.Ct. 211, 15 L.Ed.2d 176
(1965), in which the Court needed to address the issue of
the overbreadth of a city regulation in only a passing
manner. The ordinance provided that “[i]t shall be unlaw-
ful for any person to refuse or fail to comply with any
lawful order, signal or direction of a police officer.” The
Court found that “the literal terms of this ordinance are so
broad as to evoke constitutional doubts of the utmost
gravity” but noted that the lower court had confined the
ordinance to a relatively narrow scope. Jd. at 93, 86 S.Ct.

App. 10

211. This was the extent of the court’s discussion of over-
breadth with regard to this ordinance, and, significantly,
the Court did not determine that the ordinance was
unconstitutional. Rather, it disposed of the matter on the
basis that there was no evidence to support the conviction
because the officer was not engaged in the direction of
vehicular traffic, a prerequisite for the enforcement of that
ordinance. Jd. at 95, 86 S.Ct. 211. Unlike the present case,
there was no evidence that the defendant had refused or
failed to comply with a lawful order.

CONCLUSION

q{ 20 “There are areas of human conduct where, by the
nature of the problems presented, legislatures simply
cannot establish standards with great precision.” Smith v.
Goguen, 415 U.S. 566, 581, 94 S.Ct. 1242, 39 L.Ed.2d 605
(1974). As was true in many of the cases discussed and
cited above, this is such a case. The Scottsdale City Code
Section 19-13 is constitutional as it is neither vague nor
overbroad.

CONCURRING: SHELDON H. WEISBERG, Judge,
and EILEEN S. WILLETT, Judge Pro Tempore.*

* The Honorable Eileen Willett, a judge of the Maricopa County
Superior Court, was authorized to participate as a Judge Pro Tempore
of the Court of Appeals by order of the Chief Justice of the Arizona
Supreme Court pursuant to article 6, sec''on 31 of the Arizona Consti-
tution and Arizona Revised Statutes section 12-145 et seg. (1992 &
Supp.2002). |

App. 11

MINUTES
Arizona Supreme Court
Tuesday September 09, 2003
CR-03-0144-PR STATE OF ARIZONA 1CA-CR02-0448
(17) v GERALD KAISER

Court of Appeals Division
One

ORDERED: Petition for
Review = DENIED

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386001_0783%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
