# Brief in Opposition to Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Hahn v. Ross Island Sand & Gravel Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385610_1159%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief in Opposition to Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1959
- **Citation:** 358 U.S. 272

## Text

awww 1958

re the Supreme Court

of the United States

so ame SZ

HARRY A. HAHN,
, etitioner,
m

ROSS ISLAND SAND & GRAVEL CO.,

1 corporation,

Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

H Trade Bldg.
/ Oregon
.s for Respondent

SUBJECT INDEX

Page
Question Presented 1
Statement of the Case 1
Argument 2

I This action does not involve special and im-
portant consideration and arises only because cf
unique Oregon statutes 2

II. The decision of the Oregon Supreme Court is
not in error

qn

Conclusion

TABLE OF CASES

Page
Davis vs. Department of Labor & -ndustries, 317 U.S.
249, 63 S. Ct. 225 5,6
Mark vs. Portland Gravel Co., 130 Ore. 11, 278 Pac.
986 (1929) 7
Martinson vs. State Industrial Accident Commission,
154 Ore. 423, 60 P.2d 972 (1936) 7
Parker vs. Motor Boat Sales, 314 U.S. 244, 62 S. Ct.
221 5
Penn R. R. Co. vs. O’Rourke, 34 U.S. 334, 73 S. Ct.
302 7

oo

Pope & Talbot vs. Hawn, 346 U.S. 406, 74 S. Ct. 202
Sanderson vs. Sause, 114 Fed. Supp. 849, 852 (1953)

Wilkerson vs. McCarthy, 336 U.S. 53, 69 S. Ct. 413,
419 2

oo

STATUTES
33 USCA Secs. 901-950
33 USCA Sec. 903 )
ORS 654.305 et seq. 8

MISCELLANEOUS
Gilmore and Black, The Law of Admiralty 6

— eee
a

In the Supreme Court

of the United States

No.

HARRY A. HAHN,
Petitioner,
Vv.

ROSS ISLAND SAND & GRAVEL CO.,
a corporation,
Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

QUESTION PRESENTED

The sole question presented in this Court, and the
Oregon Supreme Court, is whether the petitioner is
barred from maintaining a damage action on the grounds
that the sole and exclusive liability of the respondent to
the petitioner is that liability provided for under the
Longshoremen & Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act
(33 USCA Secs. 901-950).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In the Supreme Court of Oregon, the petitioner ar-
gued that the waters upon which the petitioner was
injured wer not “navigable waters of the United States”

2

within the meaning of the Longshoremen & Harbor
Workers’ Act (33 USCA Sec. 903). Petitioner does not
make that direct argument in his petition; however, pe-
titioner in his “Facts [Material to the Question Pre-
sented” (Petition, pp. 5-6) makes crroneous statements
of fact or states misleading conclusions, all dealing with
the use of the iagoon and supposedly bearing on the
question of navigability. The Supreme Court of Oregon
stated:

“It is contended first, on the part of the plaintiff,
that the injury did not occur upon ‘navigable wat..s
of the United States’, but as to this we think that
there can be little doubt.” (Peti on pp. 29-30)
(Emphasis supplied)

ARGUMENT

This action does not involve special and important con-
siderations and arises only because of unique Oregon statuies.

Petitioner seeks to attach great importance to this
action by contending that it will result in many employ-
ees being required to accept compensation benefits
rather than the net proceeds of state damage actions.

Various members of this Court have stated that such
a result is commendable rather than censorable. For
example, the concurring opinion in Wilkerson vs. Mc
Carthy, 336 U.S. 53, 69 S. Ct. 413, 419, stated:

“This cruel and wasteful mode of dealing with in-

dustrial injuries (negligence damage actions) has

long been displaced in industry generally by the in-

suranee*:principal that underlies workmen's com:
pensation laws.”

3

Petitioner pleads that the decision of the Oregon
Court places many thousands of “uncovered persons”
in the serious predicament of going for years without
any “redress, damages, or compensation’ (Petition p.
11).

It is respectfully submitted that this plea is a patent
attempt to mislead the Court. Petitioner's position really
is that petitioner chose initially not to accept the bene-
fits payable under the Longshoremen & Harbor Work-
ers’ Compensation Act. Rather, the petitioner decided
to attempt to exchange immediate monthly compensa-
tion payments for the chance of a later, larger lump sum
jury verdict. Petitioner, by this petition, is asking this
Court to make his attempt at this exchange pay off.
When petitioner fails, petitioner will immediately re-
ceive the three years’ benefits he was initially entitled
to under the Longshoremen & Harbor Workers’ Com-
pensation Act and then he will receive the current bene-
fits to which he is entitled. Petitioner has one year from
the final determination of this litigation to file a claim
for benefits under the Longshoremen & Harbor Work-
ers’ Act (Longshoremen & Harbor Workers’ Act, Sec-
tion 913(a)(d) ).

This Court is usually requested to grant life or free-
dom. ‘itis petitioner is requesting that he be granted a
doubtful financial advantage; an advantage denied most
of his fellow injured employees and one which can possi-

bly be gained only because of the peculiarities of Oregon
law.

The Oregon compensation lews are certainly peculiar,

4

if not completely unique. A State Industrial Accident
Fund exists for the payment of compensation benefits.
Employers electing to contribute to this State Fund are
rewarded by being rendered immune from damage ac-
tions by injured employees. Employers not electing to
contribute to the State Fund, but rather carrying private
insurance coverage to pay workmen's compensation
benefits or by being self-insured, are dissuaded from
such a practice by being not immunized from damage
actions by injured employees. The statute does not x-
quire employers electing not to contribute to the State
Fund to carry workmen’s compensation insurance cov-
erage or to be self-insured. However, the long accept:
ance of the workmen’s compensation principle, the
force of organized labor, and the economics of the mat-
ter, have resulted in all Oregon employers of hazardous
occupations carrying either state, private or se!f-insured
coverage for workmen’s compensation benefits. The pe-
titioner was not an “uncovered” employee, nor are
others in hazardous occupations “uncovered” employees
in Oregon.

Actually, the petitioner here had three initial choices
of possible remedies. He could have received compensa-
tion payable under the Longshoremen & Harbor Work-
ers’ Compersation Act; this he chose to temporarily
reject. He could have claimed compensation benefits
according to the schedule set by Oregon law from fe-
spondent’s private insurance carrier (these benefits for
most cases are less than those payable under the Fed-
eral act. just as are benefits payable from the State
Fund). Of course, it is not known what response the in-

5

surance carrier would have made to such request. Peti-
tioner instead chose the third method, a damage action,
available to petitioner only because this respondent
elected not to contribute to the State Industrial Acci-
dent Fund, but rather to carry private insurance cover-
age for workmen's compensation benefits.

This case, as well as all others in this general field,
is an extremely interesting exercise in legal gymnastics.
The parties, of course, consider it exceedingly important
to them. This case, however, does not involve the solu-
tion of any important industrial or legal problem.

Il.
The decision of the Oregon Supreme Court is not in error.

The opinion of the Oregon Supreme Court was based
upon two premises; if the physical facts of the case
placed the case in the “twilight zone,” the “twilight
zone’ concept was not intended to apply here where the
alternatives were a damage action on one hand and
compensation under the Longshoremen & Harbor Work-
ers’ Act on the other. The second proposition of the
Oregon Supreme Court was that the case was not within
the twilight zone, but was “‘a case to which the Long-
shoremen & Harbor Workers’ Act clearly applies” (Peti-
tion p. 46).

The Oregon Court did not believe that this Court
intended to extend Davis vs. Department of Labor &
Industries, 317 U.S. 249, 63 S. Ct. 225, to grant a prefer-
ence to an employee of one remedy over another. Parker
vs. Motor Boat Sales, 314 U.S. 244, 62 S. Ct. 221, and

6

Davis vs. Department of Labor, supra, granted an in-
jured employee or the representative of a deceased em-
ployee a remedy and a remedy for which the employer
had coverage. A contrary decision would have either de-
nied the rernedy, as a matter of finances, or would have
subjectea the employer to a financial responsibility he
had not foreseen. In Davis, it could have subjected him
to fine or imprisonment.

In the latest known work on this subject, the au-
thors, Gilmore and Black, in The Law of Admiralty,
page 357, state, after tracing the history of cases in this
twilight area:

“The Court has not yet articulated its reason
for refusing to extend the twilight zone to cover
workers wl. dse choice of rermedy is between a com-
pensation proceeding and an action under FELA,
the Jones Act or maritime law. Nevertheless, there
is a substantial reason for the refusal. Where the
choice of remedy is between two compensation acts,
the employer’s liability is not seriously affected by
the rule that allows claims to be brought indiffer-
ently on either side: he is liable without fault mn
either case but only for the administratively deter-
mined award. Where, however, the choice is be-
tween a compensation proceeding and a court at-
tion with right of trial by jury there is a vast differ-
ence in what the employer may be ultimately held
liable for. Twilight zone theory where the choice
between two compensation acts protects the class
of workers without prejudicing their employers.
The same theory, where the choice is between com-
pensation and a jury trial, would protect other
classes of workers, but at a substantial cost to em:
ployers. That far the court has not been willing to
gO.

7

lf this case is held to be in the “twilight zone,” it is
difficult to conceive of any set of facts which will not
be in the “twilight zone.” A holding that this set of
facts falls within the twilight zone will mean that no
employee of an Oregon employer carrying private cover-
age or self-insured will initially accept benefits under
the Longshoremen & Harbor Workers’ Act. The pressure
will certainly be present to first try his luck at a damage
action and only if he fails in this will he accept Long-
shoremen & Harbor Workers’ compensation benefits.

The petitioner's work was always on navigable water.
True, the former ‘‘maritime-but-local” doctrine caused
the Oregon Supreme Court to hold that a plaintiff who
was working on a dredge in the river scooping up sand
was confined to the state compensation law for his
remedy. Mark vs. Portland Gravel Co., 130 Ore. 11, 278
Pac. 986 (1929). On the other hand, during this same
“maritime-but-local” time, the Oregon Supreme Court
held that assisting in the loading of a vessel, as the peti-
tioner was doing in this case, was maritime and not a
= matter of purely local concern. Martinson vs. State In-
| dustrial Accident Commission, 154 Ore. 423, 60 P.2d
972 (1936). The respondent was certainly an employer
that “has any employees engaged in maritime service’’
(Sec. 902(4) ). This fact was thought to be important
by this Court in Penn R. R. Co. vs. O'Rourke, 34 US.
334, 73 S. Ct. 302. This employee, the petitioner, and
this employer, the respondent, had a constant and di-

rect relation with interstate cominaerce on navigable
water.

8

This action was brougi:t under a statute known as
the Oregon Employers’ Liability Act, Oregon Revised
Statute 654.305, et seq. This law places a substantially
higher standard of responsibility on the employer, and
in other substantial ways changes th: usual duties owed
by the employer and employee. This Court has heid
that a damage action for injuries incurred on navigable
waters is governed by Federal maritime law. Pope @
Talbot vs. Hawn, 346 U.S. 406, 74 S. Ct. 202. A reversal
of the Oregon Supreme Court decision would necessarily
involve the application of the Oregon employers’ iia-
bility law to a maritime tort. This would destroy any
semblance of uniformity in maritime law. One of the

Federal judges in the District of Oregon wrote:

“In my view, the application or the Oregon Em-
ployers’ Liability Act with the higher standards re-
quired of it in connection with the use of machinery
and equipment would destroy the uniformity of
the maritime law and is, therefore, not applicable
to a situation in which a workman is killed on navi-
gable waters within the territorial limits of Oregon.”
Sanderson vs. Sause, 114 Fed. Supp. 849, 852
(1953).

CONCLUSION

Petitioner’s contention that this decision involves ai
important legal principle affecting many persons is
without substance. Petitioner has sought a remedy
thought to be more advantageous than that normally
available to an injured employee and a remedy that 1s
only possibly available by reason of the peculiarity of
the Oregon Workmen’s Compensation Act. The Long:

9

shoremen & Harbor Workers’ Act provides an adequate
and petitioner's sole remedy.

Petition for a writ of certiorari to the Supreme Court
of the State of Oregon shculd be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT T. MAvuTZ,
ARNO H. DENECKE,

1001 Board of Trade Building,
Portland 4, Oregon,

Attorneys for Respondent.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385610_1159%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
