# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Union Trust Co. v. Eastern Air Lines, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385610_0817%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1955
- **Citation:** 350 U.S. 907

## Text

1 pe re

AUC 5
—— —————— : : ae HAROLD B. WALLEY, a
eT

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcroserR TERM, 1955

Union Trust CoMPANY, ET AL.,
Petitioners

Vv.

Eastern Arp Lives, Inc.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Davip G. Bress

SuHeitpon E. BEeRNsTEeIN
1001 - 15th Street, N. W.
Washington, D. C.

Attorneys for Petitioners

Of Coumsel :
. Anvin L. NEwMYER
Jo V. Morean, Jr.

. RE 7.6002 . WASHINGTON 1. OD. C

WILSON . Eres PRINTING CO

a ee eee) ee dle Se Tarkan " <= . .

INDEX

PAGE
SUBJECT MATTER

OPINIONS BELOW ........-----------c-ececcreetreete 1
JURISDICTION ..~-.----------------cnceeessnenseseneeneetecentenenses 2
QUESTIONS PRESENTED .........-.------c0-c--0-eeseeeoenoee 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE..........------------------ 3
A. In Gerneral -.........----------c-eeeneecenreeessnseeentetennntneneens 3
The Pertinent Evidence...............-.--------------- 5
1. Im General ............--.-------ccseecsrcsseeneeetenseees 5

» The Actual Tigner Testimony — Its
Lack of Credibility..............--.---.-------02++-+--+ 6

2 The Shaw Testimony—Its Probative
RR cc cacaseunsensnemeinnininisecnadeimtantvenie cee 7
4. The Evidence in Summary............-..--------- 11
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.......... 12

I. The Decision Below is a Shocking Inva-
sion of the Jury’s Function, a Gross
Impairment of the Right to Trial by
Jury and Contrary to Standards for
Judicial Review Long Established by
THis COUP -..---.-n--o--nccncececceescererenseveesecsenseneee 12

Il. The Court of Appeals Erroneously Con-
cluded That the Jury Must Accept the
Uncontradicted Testimony of a Witness
Whose Credibility Had Been Substan-
tially Assailed; That Decision Conflicts
With Decisions of This Court and Sev-
WB CRROTTIG occcececsesctesesnsvecnerecsessncansentscreersoes 21

CONCLUSION

ii INDEX (Continued)

PAGE
CITATIONS
Cases:
Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Ward, 140 U.S. 76,
88, 35 L. ed. 371, 876 (1890)... 13

RR ri eet Sted Pee 16
Ammons vy. King, 133 F, 2d 270, 272 (C.C.A, 8,
DON sehclasa titer cuisine n 23

rant Corp., 175 F. 2d. 77, 79-81 (C.C.A. 2, 1949) 24
Burcham vy. J. P. Stevens & Co., Ine, 209 F. 2d 35

OCDE hs ME 17
Dyer v. MacDougall, 201 F. 2d 265, 269 (C.C.A.
a | a iene eon 25

Elwood v. Western Union, 45 N. ¥. 549 (1871)... 22

ig RR ae Re tian 24
Gunning v. Cooiey, 281 U.S. 90, 74 L. ed. 720

be ee ae as ac at al ERIE Lice tte nl can one RD 14
Jacob v. City of New York, 315 U.S, 752, 86 L.

eat wi | SRR aoe 13
Lavender v. Kurn, 327 U.S. 645, 652-653, 90 L.

on. 916, Sees (te) 14

a, a Se el FN 15
N.L.R.B. v. Howell Chevrolet Co., 204 F. 2d 79,

Pe RR A eee 25
People v. Tuezkewitz, 149 N.Y, 240, 43 N.E. 548

Seg. ITT DE ah NO, ee EE NN 24
Quock Ting v. United States, 140 U.S. 417, 35 L.

ee US EE ee eae 22
Quon v. Niagara Fire Ins. Co, 190 F. 2d 257,

ke ee | ie 23
Rosenberg v. Baum, 153 F. 2d 10, 13, 14 (C.C.A.

ii, I irsidantncy Minanatenek en eee ee ee hart 23
Sartor v. Arkansas Natural Gas Corp., 321 U.S.

an het ba Se 23
Sonnentheil v, Christian Moerlein Brewing Co.,

172 U.S, 401, 408 (1898) 000. Oe ae eR A 2
Tennant v. Peoria & Pekin Union R. Co., 321

U.S. 29, 35, 88 L. ed. 525 (1948).......................... 13
The Indien, 71 F. 2d 752 (C.C.A, 9, 1984).............. 23

Te : Fee 7

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcrosBER TERM, 1955

Union Trust CoMPANy, ET AL.,
Petitioners

Vv.

Eastern Air Lives, Inc.

Petition For a Writ of Certiorari To the United States
Court of Appeals For the District of Columbia Circuit

The petitioners, Union Trust Company and Melville
W. Stuart as executors of the Estates of Ralph F. Miller
and Mildred E. Miller, his wife, pray that a writ of cer-
torari issue to review the judgments of the United States
Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Cireuit
in Nos. 11,991 and 11,992 below reversing judgments of
the United States District Court for the District of Co-
lumbia entered upon a jury verdict in petitioners’ favor.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at
991 F. 2d 62'. The opinion of the District Court in the

1 The modification of opinion and judgment described hereinafter
appears infra Appendix A 4a-5a. The opinion of the Court of
Appeals is also set out in Appendix A la-4la of the Government’s
petition for a writ of certiorari in the companion case entitled

Caer Sen bea ek bcaliaitbaas i

2

companion case against the United States is reported at
113 F. Supp. 80 (also I R. 36-46).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered
February 8, 1955 (U.S. 42a-44a). Petition for rehearing
in bane was denied on April 15, 1955 (App. A 2a-3a) and
for rehearing by original division on May 4, 1955 (App.
A 3a). On petitioners’ motion, by order of June 24,
1955, the judgment of February 8, 1955 was amended to
limit a retrial to the issue of liability (App. A 4a-5a).
Eastern’s motion for rehearing on the modification was
denied July 12, 1955 (Order, App. A 6a-79; Per curiam
memorandum App. A 5a-6a). By order of July 23, 1955
signed by Justice Black, the time for filing this petition
was extended to and including August 9, 1955. The juris-
diction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

In wrongful death actions against an air carrier
whose plane collided in mid air with another plane, a
verdict was returned in favor of the carrier’s passengers.
Analyzing the weight of the evidence and inferences
therefrom, and particularly the testimony of a control
tower operator on the question whether he had cleared
the planes to land as against other testimony tending to
indicate he did not clear the carrier’s plane, the court

United States of America, Petitioner v. Union Trust Company,
et al. That appendix and the record filed with the Government’s
petition will be used for purposes of this petition. Reference to
said Appendix A of the Government petition will typically read
“U.S. la” (i.e., page 1 of that appendix) whereas reference to the
appendices to this petition will read “App. A —” or “App. B —”.
Reference to the Joint Appendix below will read “I R. 1” (i.e.
Volume I page 1).

3

below concluded that the trial judge erred in submitting
that question to the jury and in not accepting the version
of the control tower operator as @& matter of law, and
therefore reversed and remanded for new trial on the
issue of liability. The questions thus presented are:

1. Whether the extensive appellate excursion into
relative credibility and probative weight of evidence
under the guise of a determination as to the legal suf-
ficiency of the evidence constitued an unwarranted in-
trusion into the jury’s exclusive province and a depriva-
tion of the constitutional right to a jury trial.

2 Whether on disputed evidence, an appellate court
can take from the jury the power of determining whether
testimony “negative” in form is so in substance and what
probative weight is to be given such testimony as against
the opposing uncorroborated affirmative testimony of a
single witness, and direct the jury as a matter of law
to accept the version of that witness notwithstanding that
he had been severely impeached and contradicted.

8 Whether, assuming arguendo that there was no
opposing testimony, a court should instruct the jury as
a matter of law to accept the uncontradicted assertion
of an interested witness whose credibility has been sub-
stantially assailed and whose testimony on most other
critical points has been impeached and contradicted.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. In General

As with the companion cases against the United States,
these are test cases representative of extensive litigation
arising out of a mid-air crash of November 1, 1949 be-
tween a military type P-38 and an Eastern Air Lines
DC-4. fatal to the 51 passengers and 4 crew of the latter
plane.

Lata dowied at aE ll 4

4

In wrongful death actions against the operators of
both planes and against the United States of America,
as owner and operator of Washington National Airport
and its control tower (I R. 2-5, 7-10, 12-14), petitioners
claimed that Eastern was concurrently responsible for
the crash by reason of several acts of negligence by its
pilots including, inter alia, attempting to land without
clearance from the control tower (See pre-trial order,
I R. 21-26; see also jury charge at X R. 2107 et seq.).
After appropriate instructions (X R, 2091 et seq.) not
here in issue, the jury returned a verdict of $50,000 on
account of the death of Mr. Miller (I R. 55-56, X R.
2123-2124) and $15,000 on account of the death of Mrs.
Miller (I R. 56-57, X R. 2124) after returning answers
to special interrogatories with respect to negligence of
the private defendants and the situs* of the collision
(X R. 2125-2124). Motion for new trial was denied
(I R. 48A).

On appeal by Eastern, the court below reversed both
judgments and remanded for a new trial (U.S. 42a-44a)
on the ground that the “negative” testimony of the wit-
ness Shaw (the co-pilot of a commercial plane that was
approaching to land at Washington National at the
time of the crash) that Eastern was not given a clear-
ance to land coupled with claimed corroborating cireum-
stances did not rebut the otherwise uncontradicted state-
ment of the Washington tower controller, Tigner, that
he had cleared Eastern to land. The court below held
that it was error to have submitted this claimed act of
negligence to the jury and remanded for a new trial
hecause it said it could not determine whether the verdict
was predicated on this or other of the claimed acts of
negligence (U.S, 22a-23a). Subsequently, on petitioners’

* The importance of the situs problem, not in issue here, appears
in footnote 2 of the opinion below (U.S. 3a; also 221 F. 2d at 64).

5

motion, the court below amended its opinion and judg-
ment so as to remand for retrial of the issue of liability
only (Order of June 24, 1955, App. A 4a-5a), leaving
intact the jury’s determinations as to situs and damages
(see order and opinion of July 12, 1955, App. A 5a-7a,
denying Eastern’s motion for rehearing on modification).

B. The Pertinent Evidence
1. In General

This petition is largely grounded on the necessity of
this Court’s exercising its supervisory jurisdiction to
avoid emasculation of the constitutional right to jury
trial under the guise of appellate review as to the legal
sufficiency of the evidence where that review usurps the
jury’s sole prerogative of evaluating questions of credi-
bility and the relative weight and force of conflicting evi-
dence and inferences. In consequence, it unfortunately
hecomes necessary to refer to the evidence in some detail
so as to demonstrate the excesses below. Because of the
size of the record, that process would unduly tax this
petition and, accordingly, with the Court’s indulgence,
petitioners refer the Court to the factual recitals and
background set out in the opinion below (U.S. 3a-2la;
also 221 F. 2d 65-720) which petitioners request the
Court to consider as incorporated herein and to he read
at this juncture. While petitioners do not subscribe t.
all the detail and nuances thereof, as will be partially
indieated hereinafter, those recitals do furnish an ade-
quate overall picture of the factual situation involved.

Insofar as pertinent here, petitioners’ principal dif-
ference with the factual assertions in the opinion below
relates to the treatment of the testimony of the witnesses
Tigner (the key tower controller) and Shaw (the co-pilot
of the National Airlines plane), upon which the decision
helow turned, This testimony will be discussed in the

hd te Nga ad bas ibid a

6

light of the conclusion, upon which the decision below
was based, that Tigner’s repeated and unshaken positive
assertion that he cleared the Eastern plane to land is
unimpaired by the Shaw testimony which, because Shaw
was inattentive and not in a position to hear all radio
messages for a certainty, is purely “negative” in char-
acter.

2. The Actual Tigner Testimony—Its Lack of Credi-
bility

The court below assumed Tigner’s credibility (and
that the jury was required to believe him) in leading to
its finale that “ ... Tigner testified positively that he
cleared the DC-4 to land ... [and] he adhered to that
statement despite vigorous cross-examination” (U.S. 16a-
17a). In so doing, the court omitted any reference to the
plethora of evidence contradicting and impeaching Tigner
on almost every single phase of his testimony including
his story of the alleged clearance *. Again to avoid bur-
dening this petition but to support petitioners’ char-
acterization of the Tigner testimony there is attached
hereto as Appendix B a comparative chart of the testi-
mony of Tigner and others on various important points
in the case. Contrary to the impression given by the
opinion below of a reliable and unshaken Tigner testify-
ing he cleared Eastern to land, this comparative chart
plainly demonstrates that Tigner was impeached, self-
‘impeached and contradicted on the circumstances of the
alleged clearance and on all other aspects of his testi-

3’ There was not one scintilla of evidence corroborating Tigner’s
story that he cleared Eastern. None of the other men in the con-
trol tower could confirm Tigner as to the alleged clearance (VII
R. 1562, VIII R. 1575, 1549) although they were not very busy at
the time (VII R. 1394, 1409) and, strangely enough, claim to have
heard the other alleged transmissions between Tigner and the
P-38.

7

mony to the degree that not one shred of credence could
be given anything he said.‘

3. The Shaw Testimony—Its Probative Force

The opinion below similarly miscasts the Shaw testi-
mony, as well as other evidence tending to show that
Eastern was not cleared to land.’ To appreciate the
significance of Shaw’s testimony, it is necessary to un-
derstand the procedures for planes approaching Wash-
ington National Airport—which the court below either
ignored or did not fully grasp. It is undisputed that as
a commercial flight approaches from the north if is on
its own company radio frequency (on which it has re-
mained since leaving the last airport). That company
frequency (like any other frequency) is in effect a party
line and transmissions thereon can only be heard by
planes tuned to that party line. When the plane reaches
the Beltsville, Maryland area, it switches its radio trans-
mitter and receiver to Washington ATC (Air Traffic
Control), a separate and distinct frequency or party
line (120.3 megacyecles) for planes approaching the
Washington airport before they have come under con-
trol tower jurisdiction. The plane reports to Washington

‘ Even the trial judge disbelieved Tigner, as shown by his find-
ings in the companion cases involving the United States, e.g., that
Tigner cleared the P-38 to land (I R. 44, 51) which Tigner had
vigorously denied. And the jury obviously disbelieved him.

5 For example, the opinion omits any reference to the unrebutted
testimony of a field mechanic, Kirby, that the Eastern DC-4 did
not actually follow the landing pattern, but instead cut right across
the field and the concourse of the terminal building (II R. 280)
which not only reflects on Tigner’s credibility and the opinion’s
assertions that the DC-4 entered the pattern around the field, but
which is one of the many separate strands of circumstances upon
which the jury could have fairly concluded that Eastern was at-
tempting to land post haste without clearance. The evidence that
Eastern was late, so cavalierly disposed of below (U.S. 15a-16a)
is of similar import and corroborative of Shaw’s testimony that
no clearance to Eastern was transmitted by the tower.

BOUIN Re Cane

et tens

8

ATC (not to be confused with the contro] tower which
is physically a separate entity with separate duties and
activities) and ATC then directs the plane to switch over
to the control tower, whereupon the plane again rotates
its radio selector switch in order to cut in on the sepa-
rate and distinct radio channel or party line for com-
munication with the control tower (119.1 megacyles).
Thereafter, the plane remains on the control tower fre-
quency until it has landed and on that frequency, and
only that frequency, receives messages authorizing clear-
ance into the pattern, clearance to land, concerning con-
ditions for landing (weather, wind, runway, etc.), other
traffic in the pattern, ete.

Understanding this approach and communications
sequence, the Shaw testimony is impressively different
from that purportedly summarized in the opinion below.
Shaw repeatedly testified: (1) that as his plane ap-
proached Beltsville, his pilot (Porter) switched from
company to ATC frequency and he (Shaw) immediately
heard the Eastern plane reporting itself to ATC and
being advised to contact the tower (both he and Porter
wore head set receivers throughout, see fn. 6 and text
infra); (2) that the Shaw plane immediately went
through the same procedure on the ATC frequency; (3)
that as the Shaw plane immediately switched to the
tower frequency, Shaw heard Eastern reporting to the
tower and being instructed to enter the left traffic pattern
for landing on Runway 3; (4) that immediately upon the
completion of that transmission, the Shaw plane went
through the same procedure with the tower and was simi-
larly cleared into the pattern. That sequence and the
fact that the messages and responses were almost in-
stantaneous, one after the other, was repeated several
times in the Shaw testimony (See, e.g.. T R. 82, 84, 111,
115).

Shaw’s testimony continued to show wunequivoeably:
(1) that from the time the Eastern DC-4 and his plane

9

first switched to the tower frequency, Shaw’s plane con-
tinued to be tuned to that frequency (I RB. 85, 90, 92, 99,
117, 140); (2) that he mever took his radio earphones off,”
(3) that during this entire period, the tower frequency
(119.1) was very quiet, with only three users, Shaw’s
plane, the Eastern plane and the tower (1 R. 90); (4) that
Shaw was very attentive to transmissions over this fre-
quency, shown first by his effort to locate the Eastern
DC-4 when he heard it over the radio (I R. 84) and
second, by his attempt to locate the P-38 when he heard
the tower mention it (1 R. 90); (5) that there was noth-
ing to distract Shaw’s attentiveness to radio messages
(such as log entries to make (I R. 124)); (6) that from
the time Eastern and his plane reported to the tower
from Beltsville in quick and immediate succession until
after the accident, there were no transmissions over the
tower frequency by anyone (i.e., Eastern, Shaw’s plane
or the tower) except two—the first to the effect “Eastern,
traffic a P-38....” which he (Shaw) heard when his
plane was in the vicinity of the Armory (I R. 90), and
the second and last “Look out for the P-38” which he
heard about one minute later as his plane approached
Haines Point (I R. 99).

Based on its misconstructions of and omissions from
the Shaw testimony, the court below reached the wholly
unsupported and protagonist-like conclusion that “It is
an unquestioned and unquestionable fact that Shaw was
not in a position to hear messages from the tower during
all the eritical nine-minute period” (U.S. 18a). However,
as already shown: (a) Shaw was tuned to the tower

6 In footnote 5 (U.S. 16a) the opinion unfairly states that Shaw
“qualified” his testimony about keeping on his earphones, quoting
a portion of his cross-examination. In the context of his entire
testimony and absent his voice inflection when he so testified, this
is entirely unwarranted. It ignores repeated earlier testimony that
he had his earphones on during the entire critical period (I R. 92)
and that this was required (I R. 76).

RO AD A ke

LORD Dp es tbe th

beast“ ne AC gw Pa ie) Nae aR ARE ik ARTE RS RRS al

10

frequency (and remained thereon) almost instantaneously
after Eastern tuned to that frequency, whatever time
that may have been, so that Shaw could have heard any
message between the tower and Eastern, and; (b) from
the time Eastern and Shaw’s plane were cleared into the
pattern, in immediate succession during the very first
few seconds both tuned to the tower frequency, Shaw’s
plane never again called the tower until after the crash
(see I R. 90 where Shaw states there were no transmis-
sions on the frequency other than as above stated).’

This leads to the last important but erroneous factual
assertion below about Shaw: that since Shaw could not
have heard Eastern cleared into the pattern, he appar-
ently heard it cleared to land and confused the two
(U.S. 19a-20a). That this is sheer fantasy is evident
in part from the fact that no such hypothesis was ad-
vanced by Eastern. From the earlier discussion of
approach and communication procedures and the Shaw
testimony, it is clear that Shaw’s plane was on the tower
frequency almost from the moment Eastern was. (By
almost we mean that though not at the same precise

* The court below supported its argument largely on the basis
of time discrepancies. However, Shaw’s assertions of times were
only approximate and based on memory (I R. 113, 119). More
important, the only factor showing possible error in that regard
is the pre-trial stipulation between counsel that Eastern was
cleared into the pattern at 11:37 whereas Shaw indicated it was
about 11:41-11:43. On the basis of this stipulation, the court says
“Shaw did not hear . . . the tower clear Eastern to enter the
traffic pattern.” (U.S. 19a). This is utterly unsound and beyond
the appellate province. First, what basis is there in the record for
telling Shaw, a trained, intelligent and honest pilot, what he
heard or could have heard where routine commercial aeronautical
experience is involved? Second, is Shaw not to be believed because
counsel may have blundered in making a pre-trial stipulation prior
to a full exploration of the facts? Third, even if Shaw made a
mistake as to the exact times (or if clocks or watches did not ex-
actly coincide), it certainly does not follow that he did not hear
what he said he heard.

EMAIL

11

moment, there was still not enough of an interval for a
message to get through.) Thus it was impossible for
Eastern to have had any earlier communications with
the tower because Eastern had previously been on the
ATC frequency and before that on its own company
frequency. Therefore, that first communication which
Shaw heard between the tower and Eastern necessarily
was a clearance to enter the pattern not a clearance to
land which sequentially is not given until the approach-
ing plane is in the immediate vicinity of the field.

Whether or not Shaw was mistaken as to exact times
(see fn. 7, supra), one thing is certain—that is, when
Shaw tuned into the tower frequency immediately after
Eastern had, he heard Eastern cleared to enter the pat-
tern, whether it was 11:38 or 11:42, unless Shaw was
lying. And whether he was lying was for the jury—
not the court below—to determine.*

4. The Evidence in Summary

As indicated, the function and limits of this petition
and the length of the record will not permit of an ex-
haustive treatment of the evidence or of its tortured
treatment below. However, the foregoing highlighted
analysis reflects that as opposed to the Court of Appeals
portrayal of an unimpeached and unshaken Tigner story
that he cleared Eastern to land with purely “negative”
and inconclusive testimony by Shaw that such a mes-
sage may not have been transmitted, there is on the

®Implying that Shaw’s trial testimony on the clearance message
was of recent fabrication, the opinion refers to a statement by
Shaw during the C.A.B. investigation (more than 3 years earlier)
where Shaw was reported as saying he heard Eastern given a
landing clearance (U.S. 20a). The court below fails to mention
that Shaw testified that this statement was corrected within a few
days, saying that “.. . if you will check my [C.A.B.] hearing, I
corrected that before Mr. Jones. There was misuse of the words
‘landing clearance’” (I R. 118).

12

record, the fact that the Tigner story came from the
mouth of one who was interested, biased and who lied
while the Shaw testimony was forceful and convincing
that such a clearance had not issued. At the least, where
the only question for the Court of Appeals was as to
the legal sufficiency of the evidence, there was more than
ample basis for submission of the question to the jury.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Decision Below Is a Shocking Invasion of the Jury’s
Function, a Gross Impairment of the Right to Trial
By Jury and Contrary To Standards For Judicial
Review Long Established By This Court.

Wholly apart from its limiting and far-reaching effects
on the rights and fortunes of the surviving families of
the many killed in this air disaster, the decision below
again requires the exercise of this Court’s supervisory
jurisdiction to prevent the alarming departure from the
historical and constitutional dichotomy of functions be-
tween judges and juries.

Time was when the time honored and time tested ap-
pellate rule for ascertaining the sufficiency of the evi-
dence to support a verdict was based not on the weight |
of the entire evidence as independently evaluated by the |
reviewing judges, but rather on the existenee of any sub-
stantial evidence on which a jury of reasonable men
might have decided as they did. In correcting appellate
invasions of the jurv’s province, that rule has been re-
peatedly emphasized by this Court because

“The right of jury trial in civil cases at common
law is a basic and fundamental feature of our system
of federal jurisprudence which is protected by the
Seventh Amendment, a right so fundamental and
sacred to the citizen . . . should be jealously guarded
by the courts.”

%

ee em es FRG IEP ELE IPL SELON ee

rw meee bP nt weer waren dny

13

Opening lines of opinion in Jacob v. City of New York,
915 U. S. 752, 86 L. ed. 1166, 1168 (1942), reversing cir-
cuit court of appeals’ affirmance of district court’s dis-
inissal of negligence action ‘‘at the close of the plaintiff’s
case upon the ground that he had failed to prove facts
sufficient to justify submitting to the jury the issue of
the defendant’s negligenve.’’ ®

The scope of the jury function inviolate from judicial
tampering is well described in Aetna Life Insurance Co.
v. Ward, 140 U. S. 76, 88, 35 L. ed. 371, 376 (1890):

“The jury were the judges of the credibility of the
witnesses... and in weighing their testimony had
the right to determine how much dependence was to
be placed upon it. There are many things sometimes
in the conduct of a witness upon the stand, and
sometimes in the mode in which his answers are
drawn from him through the questioning of counsel,
by which a jury are to be guided in determining the
weight and credibility of his testimony. That part
of every case .. . belongs to the jury, who are pre-
sumed to be fitted for it by their natural intelligence
and their practical knowledge of men and the ways
of men: and so long as we have jury trials they
should not be disturbed in their possession of it, ex-
cept in a case of manifest and extreme abuse of their

function.”

Thus, in Tennant v. Peoria € Pekin Union R. Co., 321
U. S. 29, 35, 88 L. ed. 525 (1943), this Court, finding
“No reason... Why we should abdicate our duty to
protect and guard that right [to jury trial]” where a
verdict for plaintiff was upset by the cireuit court be-
eause of alleged insufficiency of evidence of defendant's
negligence, granted certiorari and reversed because:

“Courts are not free to reweigh the evidence and set
aside the jury verdict merely because the jury could

® Quotation from per curiam opinion of Second Circuit in same
case. 119 F. 2d 800, 801 (1941).

14

have drawn different references or conclusions or be-
cause judges feel that other results are more reason-
able.”

To similar effect see Gunning v. Cooley, 281 U. S. 90, 74
L. ed. 720 (1930).

In many ways parallel to the issue on this petition is
the decision in Lavender v. Kurn, 327 U. S. 645, 652-653,
90 L. ed. 916, 922-923 (1945) where, in a wrongful death
case, the critical question was whether the decedent was
murdered or killed by a mail hook protruding and swing-
ing from defendant’s train. On certiorari, reversing the :
Supreme Court of Missouri which had reversed a trial
judgment in a jury action, this Court stated:

‘‘We hold, however, that there was sufficient evidence

of negligence on the part of both the Frisco trustees

and the Illinois Central to justify the submission of
the case to the jury and to require appellate courts

to abide by the verdict rendered by the jury.

‘It is true that there is evidence tending to show
that it was physically and mathematically impossible
for the hook to strike Haney. And there are facts from
which it might reasonably be inferred that Haney
was murdered. But such evidence has become irrele-
vant upon appeal, there being a reasonable basis in
the record for inferring that the hook struck Haney.
The jury having made that inference, the respondents
were not free to relitigate the factual dispute in a
reviewing court. Under these circumstances it would
be an undue invasion of the jury’s historic function
for an appellate court to weigh the conflicting evi-
dence, judge the credibility of witnesses and arrive
at a conclusion opposite from the one reached by the

men may draw different inferences, a measure of
y speculation and conjecture is required on the part of
$ those whose duty it is to settle the dispute by choosing

j
& a
a ne . _ en —— scemcesnensesmea wth neat ROSE ae eT

: jury.

b ° . . . .

4 “Tt ix no answer to say that the jury’s verdict in-
3 volved speculation and conjecture. Whenever facts
: are in dispute or the evidence is such that fair-minded
*

OA Aa Cs ie ss ek. Bek.

=

15

what seems to them to be the most reasonable infer-
ence. Only when there is a complete absence of pro-
bative facts to support the conclusion reached does
a reversible error appear. But where, as here, there
is an evidentiary basis for the jury’s verdict, the jury
is free to discard or disbelieve whatever facts are in-
consistent with its conclusion. And_ the appellate
court’s function is exhausted when that evidentiary
basis becomes apparent, it being immaterial that the
court might draw a contrary inference or feel that
another conclusion is more reasonable.”’ (Emphasis
supplied.)

For a similar decision on certiorari, also involving
circumstantial proof as to how death was occasioned,
where this Court granted certiorari and reversed a cir-
euit court judgment setting aside a jury verdict, see
Myers v. Pittsburgh Coal Co., 233 U. S. 184, 58 L. ed. 906
(1914).

Inexplicably ignoring these long standing guides for
appellate review, the opinion below wanders through the
cold record, selecting at random that which the court
chooses to believe or rely upon, thus denying the right—
the exclusive right—of the jury to weigh relative proba-
tive force and eredibility of the various pertinent items
of evidence.

Illustrative is the initial error of the opinion wherein
the court states that the Eastern plane was struck ‘‘from
above and behind’’, whereas under the evidence the jury
may have properly concluded, and probably did conclude,
that the DC-4 eut in front of and nosed up into the P-38,
which conclusion was amply supported by the technical
evidence.” While that error does not directly bear on

10 There was some evidence supporting the court’s statement.
On the other hand the statement omits the established fact that
except for the last seconds (at the most 15 seconds since the DC-4
was on “final” for only 144 to % mile at 120 m.p.h.), the P-38 was
on a straight in approach and the DC-4 swung in a wide arc to

Bb Ge IE” Say RAPE RATS pene

%
}
e
9
4

WS et

Cie a

lac

ee

alt RP +

Weta! be Da tig, hoa at Lda narts

16

the sole issue upon which the decision below turned (i.e.,
Whether Eastern was cleared to land), nevertheless it
does reflect an unaccountable and improper appellate
disposition to recast the facts on appellate visceral reac-
tion as to whether to accept or reject the truth of bits
of testimony. That new disposition must necessarily un-
dermine the jury system. The emphasis would shift from
a criterion whether reasonable men could differ to whether
the appellate court thinks the jury’s verdict was correct
in the light of what the particular division" of the ap-
pellate court thinks the verdict should have been had it
sat as a jury of three.

The opinion below suggests a predisposition against
the jury system—rumblings of which have been heard
in other quarters—for no matter what the sugar coating
or the trappings of verbiage, in fact, the appellate court
has pre-empted the jury’s exclusive prerogative of evalu-
ating credibility of witnesses, weighing the probative force
of conflicting testimony and determining which of con-
flicting inferences is to he controlling.

Beyond ruling that the so-called ‘‘negative’’ testimony
of Shaw could not he given any probative value by the
jury, the court has in effect ruled as a matter of law that

cut in front of the P-38 (See e.g., Plaintiffs’ Exhibits 1 and 8,
XI R. 2125, 2129; ef. trial court’s charge at X R. 2113, as to
which Eastern has not claimed error). More important, the state-
ment overlooks the testimony of a C.A.B. expert (Pahl) who,
from his examination of the wreckage, concluded that at impact
there was little difference in the attitudes or the horizontal speeds
of the top planes and that the impact could have been caused by
the movement of either plane or “by one coming up a little bit
and one coming down a little bit” (V R. 1017-1018).

"In Alexandria, Barcroft & Washington Transit Co. v. Coz,
No. 12345, decided March 3, 1955, Judge Miller who wrote the
opinion below in the instant case again favored upsetting a jury
verdict rendered as conflicting evidence, but his view did not pre-
vail because the other two judges who constituted the panel for
that case (Bazelon and Washington) voted in a per curiam opinion
not to upset.

,

7 aii
hi

tele

17

Tigner told the truth when he testified that he cleared
Eastern to land and that the jury was required to accept
that statement as truth. Yet both judge (see fn. 4 supra)
and jury obviously disbelieved Tigner in which they were
amply justified (See Appendix B).”

We have not been able to find a single case comparable
to that at bar where the function of resolving credibility
and selecting between conflicting evidence and inferences
was taken from the jury and its exclusive and traditional
province thus invaded by an appellate court. And rightly
so, because it hehooves judges to resist ‘*. .. the seductive
argument [often] made that a conclusion of fact which
appears to the court to be reasonable is so clear that
reasonable men could reach no other’’." Indeed were
that practice condoned, the tendency would be to reduce
the jury to a mere formal appendage.

The same gross departure from constitutional tradition
is apparent in the treatment of Shaw’s ‘‘negative’’ testi-
mony. The court below notwithstanding, the record shows
beyond peradventure of doubt: (1) that Shaw was tuned
to the tower frequency all of the critical time that East-
ern was; (2) that Eastern could not have been tuned to
the tower earlier; (3) that Shaw could not have confused
a message clearing Eastern into the pattern with a clear-
ance to land and that the initial message he heard had
to he the former; (4) that after this initial message, fol-
lowed immediately and almost instantaneously by a simi-

12 As noted in our original brief below (p. 11), this is not a
case of minor inconsistencies in the two versions of the accident,
but rather one where the two versions wholly and irreconcilably
conflict to such a degree that one must necessarily conclude either
Tigner or Bridoux (the P-38 pilot) was a liar. See App. B infra.
Towards the end of the trial, the judge remarked fat the bench]
that “I don’t think anybody questioned Bridoux’ veracity at all.”
(X R. 2048).

18 From opinion of Chief Judge Parker in Burcham V. J. P. Ste-
vens & Co., Inc., 209 F. 2d 35 (C.C.A. 4, 1954).

wees,

Poems

parent

18

lar clearance into the pattern for Shaw’s plane and
until after the accident, Shaw’s plane was not transmit-
ting so as to create the possibility of blocking incoming
transmissions; (5) that Shaw was paying attention to
the messages on the frequency, looking for the Eastern
plane and the P-38 when they were mentioned on the
frequency, and; (6) that the tower frequency was then
not busy, being used only by the tower, Fastern and
Shaw’s plane,

With all this—shown by the record but overlooked,
ignored or misunderstood in the court’s statement of the
facts—-Shaw’s testimony rises far above the conventional
understanding of ‘‘negative’’ testimony. Shaw was an
impressive witness with an excellent aeronautical back-
ground, civil and military, and of obvious ability and in-
tegritv, And though these factors, judged face to face,
must necessarily play an important part in determining
the weight to be given Shaw’s testimony, an appellate
court here states that as a matter of law he must have
heen mistaken, We submit that a careful re-reading of
his testimony in the light of each assertion in the opinion
helow must convince this Court of the injustice resulting
from the tisinterpretation of the Court of Appeals.

As a matter of fact, Shaw actually testified affirmatively
that Eastern was not cleared (I R. 92)—a record fact
which the court also overlooked in its opinion. He -ob-
viously and sensibly based this categorical statement on
the fact that if any clearance to land had issued to East-
ern, he was in a position to and would have heard it and
remembered it.* This testimony was affirmative, positive

‘* Again, the court incorrectly questions Shaw’s attentiveness
when it asserts (U.S. 20a-2la) that he testified with respect to
the tower message “Eastern, traffic, a P-38 .. .” that the di-
rection did not “register”. Shaw testified that when he used the
word “register” he meant that whatever the direction given was

he had no recollection of it [3 years later] at the trial (I R. 91-
92).

19

and not objected to; it was sufficient without more to
create an issue against Tigner’s sole uneorroborated testi-
mony that he cid clear Eastern. Obviously, as an intelli-
gent pilot at the controls and wearing earphones coming
into a busy airport, Shaw was very much concerned with
messages being broadcast on his radio frequency con-
cerning landings. His being at the controls of the plane
hardly detracts from his concern, interest and care to
note all broadcasts that might affect his handling of the
controls. He would be particularly concerned with a clear-
ance broadeast to the Eastern plane, which he already
knew had been cleared into the pattern immediately before
he was so cleared, the movements of which would vitally
affect and determine his own actions. He made this evi-
dent by his testimony that when he heard Eastern re-
porting and cleared into the pattern, he immediately
looked around to locate it (1 R. 84).

Coneceding, arguendo, the hypothesis helow that nega-
tive testimony is not entitled to the same probative weight
as positive affirmative testimony (the springboard for the
ultimate conclusion that Shaw’s testimony did not rebut
Tigner’s on the clearance issue), there remains no excuse
for the action below. Its logic, or rather illogie, are the
false companion assumptions: (1) that testimony is either
black or white, positive or negative, and (2) that whether
testimony is truly negative, i.e. whether the witness was
attentive and in a position to see or hear, is for judges
to determine rather than for the jury. Here is the gist
of the appellate court’s invasion of the jury function.
Whether Shaw's testimony wrs negative in forn, it was
the sole function of the jury to determine wheiber that
testimony was substantively negative and the weight to
he given it. Tn this ease, the jury reasonably could (aod
undoubtedly did) conelud: that the probative weight ov
the Shaw testimony was substantial hecanse he was, in
fact, in a position to hear and was attentive. Since, at
the least, reasonable men could have differed on this, ju-

ete

on

20

dicial authority does not extend to dictating to the jury
what their conclusion should be as to whether a witness
was attentive and in a position to have observed. The
sole judicial intervention, if any, in the making of such
a determination should properly be limited to trial court
instructions, if requested (which Eastern did not), calling
the jury’s attention to the qualitative difference between
positive and negative testimony to be considered by the
jury in arriving at the probative weight assigned each.

In summary, the opinion below parallels a jury argu-
ment, culling the testimony and inferences, and selecting
those which impress the proponent—a far ery from the
appellate function. Indeed, the departure becomes more
evident in the attempted disposition of those cireum-
stances, which petitioner urged corroborated Shaw’s no
clearance testimony. Apart from the error in the an-
alysis or omissions of pertinent evidence in this regard
(see fn. 5 supra), petitioners question the opinion’s tech-
nique in isolating each of these corroborative cireum-
stances and then concluding as to each thus separately
considered that it is without substantial weight as evi-
dence of lack of clearance. One can never see a forest
by confining the sight to a single tree or a series of
single trees. Apart from the direct denial of clearance
as discussed above, we have not argued and do not argue
that any one of the circumstances considered separately
in a vacuum would be sufficient to prove Eastern was
not cleared. We do urge that their combined effect coupled
with the forceful and substantial Shaw testimony unques-
tionably raised a substantial issue for the exclusive fact
finder—the jury—as to whether an impeached and con-
tradicted Tigner was to be believed in his uneorroborated
word that he had cleared Eastern to land.

With respect to Eastern heing late, we never suggested
it was any more than circumstantial evidence to be con-
sidered by the jury with other evidence on the clearance
issue, just as in automobile negligence cases it has al-

21

ways been considered relevant and probative that the
person charged with speeding was late for an appoint-
ment, Thus Eastern’s lateness was a circumstance which,
though not of itself proof of lack of clearance, was one
of the ‘‘separate strands of circumstances’? which when
added to others gathered probative force.

Of similar probative value and effect—though, as noted,
completely overlooked by the court below—was the Kirby
testimony (see fn. 5 supra) and the fact that not one of
the other seven controllers in the tower (including the
three—Union, Davis and Rydstrom—who testified) cor-
roborated Tigner’s alleged clearance to land, Yet those
who testified did allegedly hear and testified in minute
detail with respect to all of the other of Tigner’s alleged
communications during the critical period.

II.

The Court of Appeals Erroneously Concluded That the
Jury Musi Accept the Uncontradicted Testimony of A
Witness Whose Credibility Had Been Substantially
Assailed; That Decision Conflicts With Decisions
of This Court and Several Circuits.

After having improperly discarded all opposing testi-
mony, the court below held that the jury was bound to
accept Tigner’s word, that a jury is required to believe
the uncontradicted assertion of an interested witness
whose credibility has been substantially assailed. How-
ever, opinions of this Court, and the Cirenits and state
courts demonstrate that where, as here, a witness has
an obvious interest in the outcome of the case and his
general credibility has heen seriously and substantially
opened to question heeanse of impeachment, contradiction
and self contradiction on other material facets of his
testinony—then any and all of his testimony, whether
or not directly contradicted, is necessarily to be passed
upon by the jury.

si

er
EN EPO, EL

ROE Dee

22

The settled rule that the cre ibility of witnesses is for
the jury applies even to uncon‘ radicted testimer. Thus,
in Quock Ting v. United Stai s. 140 U. S. 417, 35 L. ed,
501 (1891), a deportation ce-2, where the ‘rial court dis-
believed the uncontradicted testimony of the petitioner
and his father who swore that the petitioner was born in
the United States, this Court said:

“Undoubtedly, as a pa rule, positive testimony
as to a particular fact, uncontradicted by anyone,
should control the decision of the court; but that
rule admits of many exceptions. There may be such
an inherent improbability in the statements of a
witness to induce the court or jury to disregard his
evidence, even in the absence of any direct conflict-
ing testimony. He may be contradicted by the facts
he states as completely as by direct adverse testi-
mony; and there may be so many omissions in his
account of particular transactions, or of his own
conduct, as to discredit his whole story. His manner,
too, of testifying may give rise to doubts of his sin-
cerity, and create the impression that he is giving
a wrong coloring to material facts. All these things
may properly be considered in determining the
weight which should be given to his statements,
although there be no adverse verbal testimony ad-
duced. (Emphasis added.)*

Similarly in Sonnentheil v. Christian Moerlein Brew-
ing Co., 172 U. S. 401, 408 (1898), where, in an attach-

8 Citing Eiwood v. Western Union, 45 N. Y. 549 (1871) where,
2s to the uncontradicted testimony of an employee of a party, the
court said:

“The witnesses, though unimpeached, may have such an in-
terest in the question at issue as to affect their credibility .. . .
And furthermore, it is often a difficult question to decide
when a witness is, in a lega! sense, uncontradicted. In such
cases, courts and juries are not bound to refrain from exer-
cising their judgment and to blindly adopt the statements of
the witness, for the simple reason that no other witness has
denied them, and that the character of the witness is not
impeached .. . . Without imputing a want of truthfulness to
these witnesses, we think that their relation to the subject

23

ment suit, there was uncontradicted testimony by the
assignees of a prior effective assignment of the goods
sought to be attached, the trial court’s submission of
this issue to the jury was upheld by the Court which
stated:

« _ while the jury has no right to arbitrarily dis-
regard the positive testimony of unimpeached and
uncontradicted witnesses, the very courts that lay
down this rule qualify it by saying the mere fact that
the witness is interested in the result of the sutt ts
deemed sufficient to require the credibility of his
testimony to be submitted to the jury as a question
of fact.” (Emphasis added.)

Reaffirmed in Sartor v. Arkansas Natural Gas Corp.,
391 U. S. 620, 88 L. ed. 967 (1944). See also The Indien,
71 F. 2d 752 (C.C.A. 9, 1934) ; Ammons v. King, 133 F. 2d
970, 272 (C.C.A. 8, 1943) ; Rosenberg v. Baum, 153 F. 2d
10, 13, 14 (C.C.A. 10, 1946) ; Quon v. Niagra Fire Ins. Co.,
190 F. 2d 257, 259 (C.C.A. 9, 1951).

Judge Jerome Frank, whose public writings and opin-
ions certainly do not reflect any strong attachment to
the jury system in civil cases, said of the so-called un-
contradicted testimony rule (in an opinion in which
Judges Hand joined):

“Whether the so-called ‘uncontradicted testimony’
rule (the rule that such testimony is binding) has
been adopted by the Supreme Court we are not at
all sure. Sponsors of that rule point to Chesapeake
€ Ohio Ry. Co. v. Martin, 283 U. S. 209, 75 L. ed.
983. But there the Court was at pains to explain
that the testimony of the witness . . . was ‘so com-
pletely corroborated by the undisputed facts .. . as
to put it beyond the reach of a fair doubt.’ The
rule, absent such qualifications, has been rejected in

matter in controversy was of itself sufficient to take from
the court the right to dispose ox the case upon their [de-
fendant’s employee’s] evidence and to require that the jury
should pass upon evidence and to require that the jury should
pass upon the weight to be given to their statement.”

Gh Sa eth

“Re Rens Hen lal a Fe Ben

ork

ra

* alten

24

several states, and has little to commend it ration-
ally. For the demeanor of an orally-testifying wit-
ness is ‘always assumed to be in evidence... .
The liar’s story may seem uncontradicted to one
who merely reads it, yet it may be ‘contradicted’ in
the trial court by his manner, his intonations, his
grimaces, his gestures and the like—all matters
which ‘cold print does not preserve’ and which con-
stitute ‘lost evidence’ so far as an upper court is
concerned. For such a court, it has been said, even
if it were called a ‘rehearing court,’ is not a ‘resee-
ing court’... ‘The best and most accurate record is
like a dehydrated peach; it has neither the substance
nor the flavor of the fruit before it was dried.’ It
resembles a pressed flower. The witness’ demeanor,
not apparent in the record, may alone have ‘im-
peached’ him. The alleged ‘rule’, if taken literally,
would return us to the practice of ‘trial by deposi-
tion’, which common-law procedure rejected and
which, in recent years, has been rejected in federal
non-common law trials as well.”

“. .. Demeanor, to be sure, is no infallible guide,
to reliability of testimony; yet, as matters now
stand, it is one of the best guides available.”’

“. .. assume, arguendo, that the rule prevails in
the federal courts . . . among the exceptions to the
rule is this: It is inapposite if the witness has an
‘interest’.” **

The peculiar and exclusive advantage of the trier of
fact to observe and consider the demeanor of the wit-
ness in weighing the probative value of his testimony was
also recognized in Elzig v. Gudwangen, 91 F. 2d 434, 440
(C.C.A. 8, 1937) holding that the defendant’s uncontra-
dicted testimony as to the position of the wheel of his
truck with relation to the shoulder of the road should
go to the jury in a negligence action.

See also People v. Tuczskewiiz, 149 N. Y. 240, 48 N. FE.
548 (1896) stating:

*® Broadcast Music, Inc. v. Havana Madrid Restaurant Corp., 175

F. 2d. 77, 79-81 (C.C.A. 2, 1949).

25

“A witness may be discredited even when not con-
tradicted . . . . His manner upon the witness stand,
his halting and quibbling in answering questions,
may satisfy both the court and the jury that he is
swearing falsely and yet no witness may be in exist-
ence that could contradict his testimony. He may
have told a probable story, and yet it may have been
false and rendered incredible by reason of his char-
acter and manner.”

To the same effect is M.L.R.B. v. Howell Chevrolet Co.,

204

F. 2d 79, 86. (C.C.A. 9, 1953) stating:

“[Respondent] says: ‘It is well settled law that
where a witness’ testimony is not contradicted, a
trier has no right to refuse to accept it.” This is an
ancient fallacy which somehow persists despite the
courts’ numerous rulings to the contrary. It over-
looks the significance of the carriage, behavior, bear-
ing, manner and appearance of a witness,—his de-
meanor,—when his testimony is given orally in the
presence of the trier of facts.”

In Dyer v. MacDougall, 201 F. 2d 260, 269 (C.C.A. 2,

1952) this thought was expressed by Judge Learned

Hand as follows:

“The words used are by no means all that we rely
on in making up our minds about the truth of a
question that arises in our ordinary affairs, and it
is abundantly settled that a jury is as little confined
to them as we are. They may, and indeed they
should, take into consideration the whole nexus of
sense impressions which they get from a witness.
This we have again and again declared, and has

rested our affirmance of findings of fact of a judge,
or of a jury, on the hypothesis that this part of the
evidence may have turned the scale. Moreover, such
evidence may satisfy the tribunal, not only that the
witness’ testimony is not true, but that the truth is
the opposite of his story; for the denial of one, who
has a motive to deny, may be uttered with such hesi-
tation, discomfort, arrogance or defiance, as to give
assurance that he is fabricating, and that, if he is,

TSE TSP RUTH IR RES CSE hor 4

lattes — weet ge ees
-_ « Spade

tN att TL edb of 1 Hi

26

there is no alternative but to assume the truth of
what he denies.”

lf ever there were a case where record and non recoré

factors potentially bore on the credibility of testimony,
this is that case. Tigners’ interest and defense align-
ment were obvious. His job and air controller certificate
may well have depended on his giving an acceptable
account of his part in the accident. If he were to retain
his job, he had to continue to work with the regular com-
mercial airlines (including Eastern) using the field. If
Bridoux had died—which, shortly after the accident when
Tigner’s story was framed, was undoubtedly anticipated—
the easiest way out for Tigner was to put the whole
blame on Bridoux and exculpate Eastern. And even if
Bridoux survived, Tigner undoubtedly thought his word
would be accepted over that of a foreign pilot. More-
over, as an employee of the other defendant, the United
States, Tigner was required to explain why he did not
divert the Eastern plane earlier if he had not cleared it
to land. Finally, when the C.A.B. investigation began,
Tigner may well have erroneously stated that he cleared
Eastern to land and thereafter feared to change that
statement because of his concern whether he would then
be believed in anything and whether he would lose his
job.

But beyond the matter of his evident interest, Tigner’s
demeanor and manner of testifying was of vital impor-
tanee. Can any reviewing court say that the jury could
not have considered his total inability to explain all of
the details surrounding the alleged clearance message and
his numerous self-contradictory statements as to where
the Eastern plane then was? From the cold record can
any reviewing court describe Tigner’s gestures or facial
expressions when he stated he cleared Eastern? (an it
know whether he fidgeted or can it describe his intona-
tion?

nb NE syrup

27

Disregarding those decisions of this Court and lesser
courts noting that adherence to the jury system requires
that even uncontradicted testimony pass jury scrutiny
where serious questions of credibility have been raised,
the court below has further departed from its function
and invaded those of the jury.

CONCLUSION

The decision below is grounded upon an apparent in-
difference to the jury’s exclusive function and right to
judge credibility of witnesses and to weigh the probative
force of conflicting evidence and inferences. It represents
a gross and alarming departure from our constitutional
jury tradition which should be checked here before it
gets out of bounds. If the many families affected are to
be protected, if more than lip service to the jury system
is to be compelled, if appellate review of the legal suf-
ficiency of evidence to support a jury verdict is to be
kept in historically proper channels and if the fate of
litigants is not to be determined by a retrial before an
appellate jury of three—then the action of the Court of
Appeals must be reviewed and reversed here. Accord-
ingly, in the exercise of its supervisory jurisdiction, this
Court should grant the petition for a writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

Davin G. Bress

Suei_pon E. BERNSTEIN
1001 - 15th Street, N. W.
Washington, D. C.

Attorneys for Petitioners

Of Counsel:
Arvin L. NEWMYER
Jo V. Morean, Jr.

De A oe a Se AE

AP pe ESTE tail
Ow ronm TPO. ao

la
APPENDIX A

For Opinion and Judgment of United States Circuit
Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit
see Appendix A, la-41a and 42a-44a of Government Peti-
tion For a Writ of Certiorari entitled United States of
America, Petitioner v. Union Trust Company, et al.

Filed Feb 28 1955 Joseph W. Stewart, Clerk

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
for the District of Columbia Circuit

January Term, 1955

No. 11,991
Eastern Air Lines, Inc., Appellant,
v.

Union Trust Company, et al., Appellees

No. 11,992
Eastern Air Lines, Inc., Appellant,
v.
Union Trust Company, et al., Appellees
Before: Edgerton, Wilbur K. Miller and Fahy, Circuit
Judges, in Chambers.
Order

Upon consideration of appellees’ motion for enlarge-
ment of time to March 25, 1955 to file a petition for re-
hearing in bane or by the division which heard the cases,
to file a motion to clarify or modify judgments in the
event rehearing is denied, and to stay the mandate of
this Court, it is

ne een

8 Bs iden seGds< |

in bane or by the original divisio
cases, it is

2a

ORDERED by the Court that the time within which
a petition for rehearing in bane, or a petition for rehear-
ing, and the time for filing a motion to clarify or modify

the judgment be, and it is hereby, extended to March 24,
1955.

It is FURTHER ORDERED by the Court that the
issuance of the mandate of this Court be, and it is hereby,
stayed to and including March 24, 1955.

Per Curiam.
Dated: February 28 1955

Filed Apr 15 1955 Joseph W. Stewart, Clerk

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
for the District of Columbia Circuit

April Term, 1955
No. 11,991
Kastern Air Lines, Inc., Appellant,
v.
Union Trust Company, et al., Appellees

No. 11,992
Eastern Air Lines, Ine., Appellant,
v.

Union Trust Company, et al., Appellees

Before: Edgerton, Prettyman, Wilbur K. Miller, Baze-

lon, Fahy, Washington, Danaher and Bastian, Circuit
Judges, in Chambers.

Order

Upon consideration of appellees’ petition for a rehearing

n in the above entitled

3a

ORDERED by the Court that insofar as petition is
made for a rehearing in banc, the aforesaid petition be,
and it is hereby, denied.

Per Curiam.

Dated: April 15 1955
Chief Judge Stephens and Circuit Judge Bazelon did
not participate in the foregoing order.
Filed May 4 1955 Joseph W. Stewart, Clerk

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
for the District of Columbia Circuit

April Term, 1955

No. 11,991
Easter: Air Lines, Incorporated, Appellant,
v.

Union Trust Company, et al., Appellees

No. 11,992
Eastern Air Lines, Inc., Appellant,
v.
Union Trust Company, et al., Appellees
Before: Edgerton, Acting Chief Judge, Wilbur K. Mil-
ler and Fahy, Cireuit Judges, in Chambers.
Order

Upon consideration of appellees’ petition for rehearing
by the division which heard the above-entitled cases, it is

ORDERED by the Court that said petition for rehear-
ing be, and it is hereby, denied.

Per Curiam.
Dated: May 4 1955

4a

Filed Jun 24 1955 Joseph W. Stewart, Clerk

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
for the District of Columbia Circuit

April Term, 1955

No. 11,991
Eastern Air Lines, Inc., Appellant,
v.
Union Trust Company, et al., Appellees

No. 11,992
Eastern Air Lines, Inc., Appellant,
v.

Union Trust Company, et al., Appellees

Before: Edgerton, Wilbur K. Miller and Fahy, Circuit
Judges, in Chambers.

Order

Upon consideration of appellees’ motion for leave to
file a motion to clarify or modify judgments in the above
entitled cases, and it appearing that said motion to clarify
or modify judgments has been lodged with the Clerk, it is

ORDERED by the Court that the Clerk be, and he is
hereby, directed to file forthwith appellees’ motion to
clarify or modify judgments; and upon consideration of
appellees’ motion to clarify or modify judgments, and of
appellant’s reply and opposition thereto, it is

ORDERED by the Court that the opinion of this Court
entered herein February 8, 1955 be, and it is hereby,
amended by adding on Page 36 after the words ‘‘are re-
manded for a new trial” the following words, ‘‘restricted

ate

5a

to the issue of liability’’, so that the sentence as amended
will read:

“The judgments in Nos, 11,991 and 11,992 are reversed
and the cases are remanded for a new trial restricted to
the issue of liability’’.

It is FURTHER ORDERED by the Court that the
judgment entered herein February 8, 1955 be, and it is
hereby, amended by adding in Paragraph 4, in the fifth
line, after the word ‘‘trial’’, but before the semicolon,
the words, ‘‘restricted to the issue of liability’’, so that
said line as amended will read:

‘to the said District Court with directions to award a
new trial restricted to the issue of liability; and’’
Per Curiam.
Dated: June 24 1955

Filed Jul 12 1955 Joseph W. Stewart, Clerk

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
for the District of Columbia Circuit

Nos. 11,991 and 11,992
Eastern Air Lines, Inc., Appellant,
v.
Union Trust Company, et al., Appellees
Memorandum on Motion filed July 1, 1955, for Rehearing
on Appellees’ Motion to Clarify or to Modify Judgments.

Before Edgerton, Wilbur K. Miller and Fahy, Circuit
Judges.

Per Curtram: Pursuant to appellees’ motion to clarify
or to modify the judgments of reversal heretofore en-
tered in these cases, we entered an order June 24, 1955,
restricting the retrial in the United States District Court
to the issue of liability.

fae

6a

The appellant has moved that we reconsider that order
and amend it to permit the retrial of the issue as to the
situs of the collision, as well as the issue of liability. The
appellant argues that in our opinion of February 4, 1955,
we expressly refrained from either reviewing or deciding
the situs point. Eastern misconstrues our opinion in that
regard. We simply said we thought it unnecessary to dis-
cuss the issue concerning the situs of the collision and
the other grounds for reversal advanced by Eastern. We
had considered Eastern’s contention that the planes col-
lided in Virginia, instead of in the District of Columbia
as found by the jury, and had determined the jury’s find-
ing was sufficiently sustained by the evidence. We ad-
here to that view. Consequently the appellant’s motion
for rehearing concerning our order of June 24, 1955, is
denied.

Dated: July 12 1955

Filed Jul 12 1955 Joseph W. Stewart, Clerk

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
for the District of Columbia Circuit

April Term, 1955

No. 11,991-2
Eastern Air Lines, Inc., Appellant,
Vv.
Union Trust Company, et al., Appellees
Before: Edgerton, Chief Judge, Wilbur K. Miller and
Fahy, Cireuit Judges, in Chambers.
Order

Upon consideration of appellant’s motion for rehearing
on appellees’ motion to clarify and to modify judgments
in the above-entitled case, it is

igi.

7a

ORDERED by the Court that the aforesaid motion for
rehearing on appellees’ motion to clarify and modify
judgments be, and it is hereby, denied for the reasons
set forth in the memorandum of this Court filed herein
this day.

Per Curiam.

Dated: July 12 1955

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385610_0817%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
