# Reply Brief of Petitioner — Bentsen v. Blackwell

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385610_0663%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief of Petitioner
- **Published:** January 1, 1954
- **Citation:** 347 U.S. 925

## Text

1

Supreme Court of The United States
OcToBEeR TERM, 1953
No. 423

LiLoyD M. BENTSEN;SR., et al.,
Petitioners,

EMERY C. BLACKWELL, et al.,
Respondents.

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

To THE HONORABLE, THE CHIEF JUSTICE OF THE
UNITED STATES, AND TO THE ASSOCIATE JUSTICES
OF THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES:

Come now the respondents, Emery C. Blackwell,
Boyd Construction Company, Claude E. Blackwell,
Clyde W. Weatherly, Arie K. Smith, Dudley Smith,
W. H. Ham, Herbert Clark and Frank L. Danner,
and respectfully present their brief in opposition to
the petition for writ of certiorari.

The trial court sustained petitioners motion to
dismiss for lack of jurisdiction on two points. First,
that respondents failed to plead the sale of an “in-
vestment contract” as defined by the Securities Act
of 1933; and Second, that no use of the mails was
made sufficient to constitute a violation of Sec.
12(2) of the Act, 15 U.S.C.A. 771(2).

On appeal, the Fifth Circuit reversed and remand-
ed on both points. No evidence has been received,
and both the appeal and the petition for certiorari
are based solely on the pleadings.

icant iy og gr thy or

SBOP S AOR Ug ea RRC eae

4

the United States Mails) and increasing the size of
their investments. All of these facts will be fully
developed on the trial of this case. We do not believe
that this Court should be required to decide a ques-
tion of the importance involved, without having a
full development of the facts.

It is true that some of these facts are alleged in a
general manner, but the petitioners are fully on no-
tice of what they will need to meet on the trial, and
we say that this manner of pleading is contemplated
by the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. In any
event, a full presentation of the facts involved will
result in the point being decided fairly to all con-
cerned.

2. Petitioners stress in their argument that the
present case is local in nature. While it is true that
the respondents all reside within the State of Texas,
the local nature of this transaction does not involve
next door neighbors as petitioners would have this
Court believe. Four of the purchasers live approxi-
mately 900 miles from their investment, two of them
approximately 600 miles, one was an engineer from
Wisconsin who moved to Texas after the purchase,
with the nearest purchaser residing at least 400
miles from the scene of this operation.*

2 Judge Allred referred (R. 57) to five similar cases filed
against the same principal Defendants and stated that they
were grounded on practically the same allegations of con-
spiracy and fraud. In fact, the cases did not involve the
Securities Act of 1933, but were based on the common law
and statute of the State of Texas. It is worthy of note as
to the extensive nature of the operations of the principal
defendants that the 5 plaintiffs in the five consolidated
cases were from 5 different states, California, lowa, Ohio,
Indiana and Minnesota.

Alarm is expressed by petitioners, that if the de-
cision below is allowed to stand that the overworked
Federal District Courts will be flooded by local land
fraud suits. We agree that all of our District
Judges are greatly overworked and evidence of this
is the fact that the present suit was filed in June,
1951 and the memorandum opinion of the trial court
was not filed until April of 1952, some 10 months

later. However, there is no basis for the argument
that the Federal Courts will be flooded by local land

fraud suits. The decision of this Court in S.E.C. v.
W. J. Howey Company, 328 U. S. 293, has been on
the books seven years, and the decision in Schil!ner
v. H. Vaughan Clarke & Co., 134 F. 2d 875 (C. A. 2,
1943) for 10 years, and the predicted flood of suits
has not as yet developed. It is equally open to specu-
lation that the correct decision stopped the fraudu-
lent operators rather than started a flood of lita-
gation.

3. Petitioners point out that the purpose of the
Securities Act was to remedy the ineffective reliet
available to purchasers of securities who were being
fleeced by unscrupulous operators. Congress, in the
Securities Act of 1933. enacted a very comprehensive
statute providing for both civil and criminal liabili-
ty. The section involved here covers civil liability
and is section 12 (2). The comparable section in-
volving criminal liability is 17 (a). The court rul-
ings involving the jurisdictional language under 17
(a) have not required that the misrepresentations

or half-truths be transmitted through the mails.*

Therefore, if sec. 12 (2) is restricted to the narrow
view of Kemper v. Lohnes 173 F (2) 44, then it is
possible that a sale might be in violation of the
criminal section and yet the purchaser would have
no civil remedy under sec. 12 (2). Sec. 12 (2) is un-
questionably a remedial provision and, as such, is
entitled to liberal construction. This was recognized
by the Court in Schillner v. H. Vaughan Clarke &
Co., 134 F. (2) 875 at 877:

“We do not think that this is the inevitable, or
even the most natural, meaning of the statutory
language. Liability to repay the consideration re-
ceived is imposed upon any person who ‘sells a se-
curity ***** by the use of any means or instruments
of transportation or communication in interstate
commerce or of the mails, by means of a prospectus
or oral communication’ of the untrue or misleading
character described in the section. To accept ap-
pellant’s constructioi: would render the phrase ‘oral
communication’ of most limited application because
the section would then reach only interstate tele-
phone calls or conversations where the parties might

3 The following are examples of mailings which have
been held sufficient:

Mailings by wren ey to the Defendants con-

taining reports of the success of meetings held to obtain

from victims, ard remitting cash statements and

drafts, U. S. vs. Monjar, 47 Federal Supplement 421
Aff’d, 147 Federal 2nd, (C. A. 3, 1944) cert.

Delivery by Mail of a stock certificate after the contract
of Sale was concluded orally and the stock paid for. S.E.C.
vs. Wimer 75 Federal Supplement 955.

Mailings of Warranty between Defendants, and to
the County Clerk for recording and subsequent delivery
to the investors. Mansfield vs. U. S. 155 Federal 2nd 952
(C. A. 5, 1946) cert. denied, 329 U. S. 792, 1946.

7

be talking across a state line. It would seem much
more likely that Congress intended to make the
statute applicable if one sells a security by use of the
mails, even though the seller’s untrue or misleading
statement is communicated orally and intrastate.”

We have alleged, and will show on the trial that
the plan and scheme involved in the sale of the cit-
rus groves and management contracts, was depend-
ent on the use of the United States Mails, and that
without the facilities provided by the mails, none of
the sales could have been completed. The manage-
ment contracts were completed and delivered to the
purchasers through the mails after they returned
to their homes in distant parts of Texas. The Man-
agement Contracts are an integral part of the in-
vestment, and the sales were not completed in face
to face negotiations as stated by petitioners. The
instant transactions are the type transactions at
which Congress was aiming, and the opinion of the
Circuit Court below is in keeping with the intention
of Congress.

For the above reasons, the Petition should be
denied.

Respectfully submitted,

GARLAND F. SMITH
E. H. McILHERAN
516 Texas Blvd.
Weslaco, Texas
Attorneys for Petitioners.
4 Petitioners further argue that the Federal Court should
not take jurisdiction of this case because the local courts
are | able to grant relief, and that Sec. 22 (a) prohibits
removal of such actions to the Federal Courts. We respect-
fully submit that unless there has been a use of the mails

cient to constitute a violation of Sec. 12 (2), the local
courts would have no more jurisdiction than the Federal

FPR open ae ee ee FTL ANE MLE NAOT AM VEEN TEMES A LINES TP

IN THE

Hupreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1953

No. 423

Luovp M. Bentsen, Sa., er av., Petitioners,
v.

Emery C. Biackwe.t, et a., Respondents.

PETITIONERS REPLY BRIEF IN SUPPORT
OF PETITION

1. The SEC in its memorandum has clearly conceded
both the conflict between the Circuits in the present case
and the importance of this question.

2. Respondents likewise have conceded that ‘‘the point
involved in this suit is of great importance .. .’’ (Opposi-
tion Memo, zp. 3).

3. The only point made by respondents in opposition is
that the question presented is of such importance that it
should not be decided on the pleadings but only after trial.
But no trial is necessary, the issue of law being clearly
presented on the face of the complaint. That issue is
whether a civil action under the Securities Act of 1933 may

2

be brought where a sale is completed without use of the
mails or interstate commerce, but the securities are deliv-
ered by mail after the sale. The Securities and Exchange
Commission made no suggestion that additional evidence
would be necessary to clarify the question. Nor did the
Court of Appeals. The issue is the same admittedly decided
to the contrary by the Seventh Circuit in Kemper v. Lohnes,
173 F. 2d 44. (Opposition Memo, p. 6.)

4. The argument that certain facts developed on deposi-
tion might alter the Court’s conclusion is without founda-
tion. Those facts appear from the complaint itself.

5. The fact that the mails were used to collect subsequent
payments for care of the trees also appears in the complaint.
The court below apparently regarded it as too remote in
time to have any connection with the sale of the alleged
investment contract. But if these mailings have any rele-
vance they are fully alleged in the complaint and can be
availed of in this Court. No testimony is necessary to
determine the legal question. @

6. Since the legal issue is clear from the complaint and
no testimony whatsoever is necessary to clarify it, it is
an unconscionable suggestion that the District Court should
be required to go through an extensive trial. The trial
would be devoted primarily to the question of fact concern-
ing whether certain representations were made and whether
they were true or false. Such a trial would be unnecessary

1 For example, the fact that dates inserted in management con-
tracts were subsequent to the dates of the deeds to the property
appears clearly in the complaint. This, of course, resulted from
th» cireumstance that care for the trees was not needed until the
trees were planted. The facts are that all the arrangements for
the sale of the property, for the planting of the trees and for their
eare were made in face-‘o-face conversations in the State of Texas
and that mere mechanical and ministerial acts took place thereafter,
such as the recording of the deeds, the filing in of the blanks in
the management contracts, and the mailing of both documents to
the purchasers. This, both the District Court and the Court of
Appeals understood in arriving at their respective conclusions.

3

if this Court should rule that as a matter of law no juris-
diction exists in the federal court.

7. The issue is clear now. It is ripe for decision and the
decision is concededly important. Delay is unnecessary
and would result in lengthy and expensive litigation which
might otherwise be avoided.

8. As to the merits, we have set forth in our petition
the reasons why the Congress did not intend to exercise the
full limit of its constitutional power. Both respondent
and the SEC urge that it is inconceivable that the civil
remedy provisions should be placed on a more limited
jurisdictional base than the criminal provisions of the
Act. But there is good reason for such a difference.
Criminal provisions are applied only when government
officials, the SEC, and the Attorney General decide that
recourse to the federal courts is appropriate in the pvhlic
interest. In such cases broadening the area of such dis-
cretion cannot be expected to flood the federal courts with
purely local matters. On the other hand, a civil action
may be commenced by anybody who feels himself aggrieved.
For example, the ordinary bond and mortgage, like the
ordinary promissory note, is a security under the Securities
Act, Section 2(1), 15 USC § 77b(1). Bonds and mortgages
are normally recorded and thereafter delivered by mail.
Under the decision below, private individuals who might
prefer the federal courts could bring disputes involving
real estate mortgages into the federal courts under the
Securities Act. Surely no such intention should be attrib-
uted to the Congress when the language it used plainly
indicates the contrary.

4

CONCLUSION

On the basis of all the memoranda, it is clear that the
issue is important; that it involves conflict between two
circuits; that it is ripe for decision now; and that the
question presented is substantial. The petition should
be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Pavut A. Porter,

Mizton V. Freeman,
1229 19th Street, N.W.,
Washington 6, D. C.

Jackson LITTLETON,
Swwvey L. Farr,
Woodroof Building,
Edinburg, Texas,
Attorneys for Petitioners.

ArnoLp, Fortas & Porter,
1229 19th Street, N. W.,
Washington 6, D. C.

Kewiey, Loonty, McLean & Littieton,
Woodroof Building,
Edinburg, Texas,
Of Counsel.

December, 1953.

2 ;

Fi ve iLaD
/ FEB 1 7@ 1954
ee , Clerk

Supreme Court of the Anited States

Octoser Term, 1953

No. 423

Lioyp M. Bentsen, Sr., et al., Petitioners,
Vv.

Emery C. BLackwe.L, et al., Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court
of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

BRIEF FOR PETITIONER

Pau A. Porter

Mitton V. Freeman
1229 19th Street, N.W.
Washington 6, D. C.

Jackson LITTLETON
Siwvey L. Farr
Woodroof Building
Edinburg, Texas
Attorneys for Petitioners
ARNOLD, Fortras & Porter
1229 19th Street, N.W.
Washington 6, D. C.

Ketuey, Looney, McLean & Littteton
Woodroof Building
Edinburg, Texas
Of Counsel

February, 1954

Press or Byron S. Apams, Wasurincton, D.C.

INDEX

ND SUITE 6dr 5 0 cn a Hoan Sacveseqescesecgerawns

EP PEO, POETS EEE Pe ye tine bl

i COE danse bicevaresws ehewevenshe seus
a dee ieee thneenes
Or ee! i oe ele nnaedals

ee ED i GS dss do cneaaawsecasvauas

EY GE BOE no c.n.vccedisncbe ieevesdcece sa

OIE 5 ib 6 ne ee rn 0 ok 6065008800 ceenensees due

I. The Statutory Language Cannot Apply to the

io OR Re Pe ee

(1) The securities were not sold ‘‘by the use of
the matie’’ £6 FORWITOD .....ccccecccsesvens

(2) The securities were not sold ‘‘by the use of
the mails, by means of a prospectus or oral
communication’’ as required ...............

II. Investors Will Be Adequately Protected Under

the Petitioner’s Construction of the Statute .....

Ill. To Sustain the Ruling Below Will Extend Fed-

IV.

en ee eee eoatebatedavendrtents

eral Jurisdiction to a Hust of Cases Having No
Relation to the Objective of the Securities Act ..

The Congressional Purpose Is Not Served by the
Construction Adopted by the Court Below ......

1. The Law Was Intended Primarily to Deal With
the Area of Interstate Commerce Beyond the
Power of the States to Control ..............

2. The Purpose and Effect of the Partial Reliance
Oe Tie POO FOG. veccnsevecinecesveseses

ii Index Continued

TaBLe oF AUTHORITIES

CasEs: Page
Deckert v. Independence Shares Corporation, 311 U.S.

DN. etnvensddd denn cecescnedebous es teeatocebas 17
Federal Trade Commission y. Bunte Bros., Inc., 312

WN SE sa doves dadedewdadedediccencéosuabates 19
Hall v. Geiger-J ones, 242 U.S. 539 .... 0... cee eee ees 21
Hollywood State Bank v. Wilde, 70 Cal. App. 2d 103,

Be os UIE evicnddvesexcesonsvecceeseee
Kann v. United States, 323 U.S. 88 ...........0..6-- 15
Kemper v. Lohnes, 173 F. 2d 44 (CA 7 1949) ...... 6, 12, 14
Kirschbaum v. Walling, 316 U.S. 517 ..........00005 i9
Llanos v. United States, 206 F. 2d 852 (CA 91953) .... 16
Murphy v. Cady, 30 F. Supp. 466 (D. Me. 1939) ...... 14
Paul v. Virginia, 8 Wall. 168 ............. cc eceeeees 23
Schillner v. H. Vaughan Clarke & Co., 134 F. 2d 875

25 lope Pr er re 12, 14, 19
Securities and Exchange Commission v. W. J. Howey

i TEE dS dé pence etes caveeesesescacidci 4, 6
Securities and Exchange Commission v. Payne, 35 F.

Bee CES SOOO co cverccevcevcesoncececes 16
Stevens v. Liberty Packing Corp., 111 N.J. Eq. 61, 161

EE ED 6x 6dver ves encesvabsdanrectesetds 16
MISCELLANEOUS:

Annual Report of Director of Administrative Office of
the Federal Courts to the Judicial Conference of

the United States, September 1953 .............. 17
Loss, Securities Regulation

PREM soneb sswsetedcdccconseusvéousdecdeens 21

Pi PE civades sacvensisrevetwneeveeneseper 15

i EG didn d dine txesubecess qeseesvernen 16

ET. 24 bene Junesesedesessovceganvneséntna 18

The Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C. § 77 ...... 15, 16, 17,

20, 24

i nD ovcocctyeesdeesseaves 3, 10, 27

eS eer errr errr rs 11, 12

§ 3(10), 15 U.S.C. § T7B(10) .... 2... ce cceceecee 14, 15, 27

$ 3(a)(11), 15 U.S.C. § 77e(a)(11) ................ 23

Se Sco ite cenehds cvecdecous owes 3, 11, 26

§ 5(a)(2), 15 U.S.C. § 77e(a) (2) ....- 2. cece eee eees 11

Index Continued

Page

§ 5(b)(2), 15 U.S.C. § 77e(b) (2) .... cee eee eee ee ees 11

§ 12(2), 15 U.S.C. § 771(2) ........ 2, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14,

15, 16, 18, 24

616 15 UB.O. § TTp . cece ccvcccvcccccccccceccess 21

$17(a), 15 U.S.C. § Tiq(a) ....cccccccccccsevcees 14

OTR, BS OBS. OTEF 6 cc cccccctecconccccvsseneses 21

§20(b), 15 U.B.C. § T7t(b) .. 0. cc cccccccccccccess 18

§ 22(a), 15 U.S.C. § 77v(a) ..... cece eee reece eeeeee 3, 26
§ 26, 15 U.B.C. § 77S 2... ccc ccccccccccccerveceses

The Securities Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. § 78 § 10(b), 15
UBC. § TBD) .. ccccccccccccccccccccvccceccees

2B U.L.C. § ISBT) . cc cccccccesccccccccveescececes 1

Texas Revised Statutes:
GERn GC UUR) . cccccccccesevescedevccescesencepes 15
DEES ccvccccvcccicsonesexcceseeteceesesns 15

Hearings Before the Committee on Interstate and
Foreign Commerce, House of Representatives,
73rd Cong., First Sess., on H. R. 4314, p.10......

Hearings Before Senate Committee on Banking and
Currency, 73rd Cong., First Sess., p. 214-215 .... 22

H. Rep. 85, 73d Cong., Ist Sess. ............- 19, 20, 23, 24
S. Rep. 47, 73d Cong., Ist Sess. ........--eeeeeeeeeee 23
77 Cong. Ree.

a a ee
Pe ee ee ee

ee ee
eee eee sree seers eeeseereseeereseeseees
eee eee eee eee eee eer eee eer eeeeeeeee
Pe ee ee
a a ee ee
Pe ee ee

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385610_0663%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
