# Opposition Brief — F. H. Vahlsing, Inc. v. Maine

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385610_0636%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1953
- **Citation:** 346 U.S. 890

## Text

ere
Os
tax
the

to

led
the
@X-

rt
ere
lf,

ler

the
the

ley a Rd nabs:

OCT

[HAROLD 8. Witt

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1953

No. 391

F. H. VAHLSING, INC.
Us.

STATE OF MAINE,
Appellee

APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT OF THE STATE OF
MAINE

STATEMENT IN OPPOSITION TO APPELLANT'S
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION AND MOTION TO
DISMISS OR AFFIRM

* ALExANDER A. LaF evr,
Attorney-General
of the State of Maine,
Counsel for Appellee.
Boyp L. Batuey,
Rocer A. Putnam,
Assistant Attorneys-General,
Of Counsel.

= ARON OE Se A FA CEI NE EC ANON OEP 1

INDEX
Suspsect Lnpex
Page
Statement opposing jurisdiction 1
The Issues : . 1
The Potato Tax Law 3

Appellant’s Contention That the ‘Potato Tax”’
Burdens Interstate Commerce Presents No
Substantial Federal Question 4

Appellant’s Contention That the ‘* Potato Tax”’

Is Offensive to the Provisions of the Four-
teenth Amendment Presents No Substantial

Federal Question s
The Tax is Not Discriminatory or Class Leg-

islation s

The Tax is for a Public Purpose i)
Appellant is not Deprived of Property with-

out Due Process of Law 13
Appellant Cannot Claim Constitutional Im-

munity from Double Taxation 13

Appellant's Citation of Cases 14

Conclusion and Motion to Dismiss or Affirm 15
Appendix **A’’—Laws of Maine Imposing a Tax on

Potatoes 17

TasLe or Cases Crrep
American Manufacturing Co. vy. St. Louis, 250 US.

549, 63 L. Ed. 1084, 39 8S. Ct. 522 7
Armour Packing Co. v. Lacy, 200 U.S. 226, 234, 50 L.
Ed. 451, 26 S. Ct. 232 0,9
Baker v. Druesedow, 263 U.S. 137, 140, 68 L. Ed. 212,
448. Ct. 40 14
Bowman v. Continental OC ompany, 256 U.S. 642, 65
L. Ed. 1139, 41 S. Ct. 606 Y
C, us Floyd Fruit Co. v. Florida Citrus C ommission,
128 Fla. 565, 175 So. 248, 112 A.L.R. 562 5
Carmichael vy. Southern Coal Company, 301 U.S. 495,
514, 81 L. Ed. 1245, 57 S. Ct. 868 13
Chassaniol v. City of Greenwood, 291 U. S. 584, 78 L.
Ed. 1004, 54S. Ct. 541 “} ; 6

—1286

PF RET RIMES SPY BEIM LP SERRE

TT PGR Nae e

- ~ . on i—
ee mes =- |

ii INDEX

Connolly v. Union Sewer Pipe Co., 184 U.S. 540, 562,

46 L. Ed. 679, 22S, Ct. 431 8
Davidson v. New Orleans, 96 U.S. 97, 104, 105, 106, 24
L. Ed. 616 13, 14
Equitable Life Assurance Soc. vy. Brown, 187 U.S, 308,
311, 47 L. Ed. 190, 23.8. Ct, 128 15
Jones v. City of Portland, 245 U.S, 217, 221, 62 L. ; >
252, 388. Ct. 112 12
Kehrer v. Stewart, 197 U.S. 60, 69-70, 49 L. Ed. 663,
25 S. Ct. 403 ? a , 5
Loan Asso. v. Topeka, 20 Wall. 655, 664, 22 L. Ed.
455 2
Milheim vy. Moffat Tunnel District, 262 U.S. 710, 717,
67 L. Ed. 1194, 48 8S. Ct. 694 1]
Miller vy. Michigan State Apple Commission, 296
Mich. 248, 296 N. W. 245 6
Patton v. Brady, Executrix, 184 U.S. 608, 46 L. Ed.
713, 22'S. Ct. 493 4
Sligh v. Kirkwood, 237 U.S. 52, 61, 59 L. Ed. 835, 35
S. Ct. 501 11
State v. Enking, 59 Idaho 321, 82 P. (2d) 649 Wein 6
State v. F. H. Vakilsing, Inc., 149 Me. 38, 98 Atl. (2d)
559 9
State v. F. WH. Vahlsing, Inc., 147 Me. 417, 88 Atl. (2d)
144 3
Swiss Oil C orporation v. Shanks, 273 U.S, 407, 413,
71 L. Ed, 709, 47'S. Ct. 898 14
Utah Power and Light Co. v. Pfost, 286 U.S. 165, 76
L. Ed. 1038, 52S. Ct. 548 6
Western Live Stock v. Bureau of Revenue, 303 U.S.
250, 82 L. Ed. 823, 58 S. Ct. 546, 115 A.L.R. 944 7
Wick v. Chelane Elec. Co., 280 U.S. 108, 74 L. Ed. 212,
50S. Ct. 41 Me 15

Sratrutes aNp Orner AutTHorities Crrep
Chapter 14, Revised Statutes of Maine, Sees. -” 217,

er Ne ast ee we Mie: 2
Hartman, State Taxation of Interstate Commerce 2
Revised Rules of the Supreme Court of the United

States, Rule 12, par. 1 Rehan ten doe eee 15

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1953

No. 391

F. H. VAHLSING, INC.
vs.

STATE OF MAINE,
Appellee

APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT OF THE STATE OF
MAINE

STATEMENT IN OPPOSITION TO APPELLANT'S
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION AND MOTION TO
DISMISS OR AFFIRM

The State of Maine, appellee in the above-entitled cause,
for its statement in opposition to appellant’s Statement as
to Jurisdiction, and in support of appellee’s motion to dis-
iiss or affirm, respectfully shows:

The Issues

Appellant, defendant and judgment-debtor below in an
action brought by the State of Maine for the collection of
its so-called potato tax, here attempts to challenge the con-

GLEN O LY EP POONER REN ENTREE ETE CE ERIM

+) I See

FO TC) OY 8 net ew ee PE ee ee ee ——

stitutionality of the taxing statute under the Interstate
Commerce Clause and the Fourteenth Amendment. The
State, appellee, represents that the issues raised are insub-
stantial. They have already been heard twice by the Su-
preme Judicial Court of Maine and determined each time
adversely to appellant; they concern a tax disputed by no
other taxpayer during the 16 years the statute has been
part of the revenue structure of the State; the statute is
substantially identical with revenue legislation of long
standing in other states; its constitutional merits have been
approved in many opinions of the Supreme Court of the
United States concerning analogous enactments.
Appellant was and continues to be a grower and shipper
of potatoes on an extensive scale in Aroostook County,
Maine. Between July 1, 1950, and January 1, 1953, it
shipped 699,348 barrels of potatoes, all Maine-raised. As
required by the statute here in question (Sections 206-217,
incl., Chapter 14, Revised Statutes of Maine, a copy of which
is hereto annexed for convenience), the State Tax Assessor
assessed a tax against appellant ‘‘at the rate of 1¢ per bar-
rel on all potatoes raised in this state.’’ (See. 208, id.) The
amount of the assessment was, of course, $6,993.48.

The assessment being unpaid, the State brought an action
for collection in the state Superior Court. Appellant de-
fended upon the sole ground that the taxing statute vio-
lated its constitutional rights. The Superior Court gave
judgment for the State. Exceptions were taken to and over-
ruled by the Supreme Judicial Court, Maine’s court of last
resort, in an opinion reported as State v. F. I. Vahlsing,
Tne., 1953 149 Me, 38, 98 Atl. (2d) 559. (Appellant’s State-
ment, Appendix ‘*B’’.) The opinion is short. Counsel for
the taxpayer had filed no brief. The opinion therefore relies
heavily upon the previous opinion of the same court involv-
ing the same parties and legal issues (but different pota-

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

” —

3

toes), reported as State v. F. H. Vahlsing, Inc., 1952, 147
Me. 417, 88 Atl. (2d) 144. (Appellant’s Statement, Appen-
dix ‘‘A’’.)

While the 1953 judgment is the one appealed from, the
1952 opinion is of immediate and chief interest since it
contains a full discussion.

Appellant assigns as error, and appellee accepts these
issues as duly raised, that the potato tax offends:

The Interstate Commerce Clause; and

The Fourteenth Amendment in that it (a) deprives
appellant of its property without due process, (b) de-
prives appellant of equal protection of the laws, (ce)
constitutes class legislation, (d) amounts to double
taxation and (e) is for a private rather than a public
purpose,

The Potato Tax Law

We disagree with appellant’s statement of what is taxed:

‘*The Maine Revised Statutes 1944, Chapter 14, See-
tions 206 to 217 and Acts Amendatory thereof, provide
for a tax on potatoes grown, sold and shipped in Maine

.”’ (Appellant’s Statement, p. 1.)

What is taxed, in our opinion, is ‘‘ potatoes raised in this
state.’’ (See, 208.) The due date and ascertainment of tax
are postponed until the shipper, as distinguished from the
grower, has ‘received, sold or shipped.’’ (See. 212.) While
appellant’s statement is fair, being made in argument, and
while the distinction is fine, the refinement has a bearing
on our contention that the incidence of tax is clearly prior
and unrelated to interstate commerce.

A full copy of the tax statute, which is short, is hereto
annexed, An authoritative summary is stated in the 1952
opinion of the Supreme Judicial Court. (147 Me. at pp. 421-

POPS oR Ra aoe Ta? 0 eee ner

4

424.) (Appellant’s Statement, Appendix ‘‘A’’, pp. 11-13.)
Hlere we wish to emphasize only:

Sec. 208: A tax is levied of one cent a barrel ‘on all
potatoes raised in this state,’’ excepting potatoes re.
tained by the grower for his own use.

See, 211: The shipper, upon buying potatoes, is re.
quired to collect the tax from the grower.

Sec, 212: The shipper is required to remit the tax to
the state.

Sec. 215: The tax revenues are required to be spent
for specifie purposes, as later set forth herein under
“The Tax is for a Public Purpose.”

Appellant’s Contention That the “Potato Tax” Burdens
Interstate Commerce Presents No Substantial Federal
Question

The potato tax is an excise.

‘‘The potato tax is not a tax assessed on an ad
valorem basis on the value of potatoes owned, but like
the gasoline tax, the use fuel tax, the cigarette tax, and
the oleomargarine tax, on the amount of business done
in the particular commodity within the state. It is an
excise tax and not a property tax and is clearly imposed
as an excise tax.’’ (1952 Opinion, 147 Me. at 420, Ap-
pellant’s Statement, Appendix ‘‘A’’, p. 10.)

Patton v. Brady, Executrir, 1901, 184 U.S. 608, 46 L. Ed.
715, 22S. Ct. 493. The Court held the following to be an
excise: **That there shall . . . be levied and collected a
tax of 12¢ per pound upon all tobacco and snuff, however
prepared, manufactured and sold, for consumption or sale.”
This, of course, is very similar to the potato tax. The Court
discussed the nature of excises at length and quoted the
following definition with apparent approval:

**Cooley in his work on Taxation, page 3, defines it
as ‘an inland impost levied upon articles of manufae-

5

ture or sale, and also upon licenses to pursue certain
trades, or to deal in certain commodities’.’’ (184 U.S.
at 617.)

The incidence of the tax is thus stated:

‘*Sec, 208 imposes the tax at the rate of 1¢ a barrel
on all potatoes raised in the state, except such as are
retained by the grower to be used for home consump-
tion and for seed purposes.’’ (1952 Opinion, 147 Me.
at 421.) (Appellant’s Statement, Exhibit **A’’, p. 11.)

Thus, what is taxed is potatoes raised in Maine, a purely
intra-state matter,

‘*The determination of the incidence and scope of the
exaction—-what is taxed—is a function for the state
court, and that question will not be reviewed by the
Supreme Court of the United States.’’ (Hartman,
State Taxation of Interstate Commerce, 1953, p. 119.)
Armour Packing Co. v. Lacy, 1906, 200 U.S. 226, 234,

50 L. Ed, 451, 26 8. Ct. 232;

Kehrer v. Stewart, 1905, 197 U.S. 60, 69-70, 49 L. Ed.

665, 25 S. Ct. 4038.

The amount of the tax is determined and the tax becomes
due when the potatoes—not all potatoes, but only those
raised in Maine—are ‘‘received, sold or shipped’’ (See.
212). Thus the tax does not in fact create a burden on inter-
state commerce, for the obvious reason that the tax is levied
not on the potatoes sold but on the *‘ potatoes raised’? within
the State of Maine. Statutes of similar import, as construed
by the courts of final jurisdiction in the respective States,
have unanimously been held not to burden interstate com-
meree, for the reason that the products taxed have not as
yet entered the stream of commerce.

(.V. Floyd Fruit Co. v. Florida Citrus Commission,
19.37, 128 Fla. 565; 175 So. 248; 112 A. L. R. 562;

—— VOrH s vaegy Ca Piece a le coer i ie a i

—

Ty

6

Miller v. Michigan State Apple Commission, 1941, 296
Mich, 248; 296 N. W. 245;
State v. Enking, 1938, 59 Idaho 321; 82 P. 2d. 649.

C. V. Floyd Fruit Co. v. Florida Citrus Commission,
supra, involved ‘‘an excise tax of one cent on each standard.
packed box of oranges grown in the State of Florida.’’ The
tax ‘‘shall be due and payable and shall be paid when the
oranges covered by this law are first handled in the primary
channel of trade.”’ (128 Fla. at 570.) The Michigan tax was
on apples ‘‘grown and produced in Michigan’? and was
payable ‘‘when shipped.’’ (296 Mich. at 251.) The Idaho
case involved a tax on ‘‘apples, prunes, potatoes, and onions
shipped from or within the State of Idaho.’’ (59 Id. at 330.)
The three cases are on all fours with the one at bar.

That these state cases, cited because they involve taxes
almost identical with the Maine potato tax, are well based,
hardly needs citation of federal authority. However, it can
be pointed out that the Supreme Court of the United States
has sustained privilege taxes whose incidence precedes
movement in interstate commerce in the following cases
among others:

Chassaniol v. City of Greenwood, 1934, 291 U.S. 584,
78 L. Ed. 1004, 54 S. Ct. 541. (Occupation tax on
buying and selling cotton locally produced, processed
and warehoused. )

Utah Power and Light Co. v. Pfost, 1932, 286 U.S. 165;
76 L. Ed. 10388, 52 8S. Ct. 548. (License tax on pro-
duction of electricity.)

The method of collection of the tax, Section 211, Chapter
14, Revised Statutes of Maine, 1944, does not create a bur-
den on interstate commerce. Though the tax is levied on
‘*potatoes raised’’, the payment and measure of the tax are
deferred until the first sale. The purpose of deferring the
payment is administratively sound: (1) the specific exemp-

-—se me were Au i od l—lala “nt alei“~s'As

—

7

tions become self-operating, (2) the potatoes have been
graded and sized into the unit volume, i.e., barrels, and (3)
they have been transferred to a few dealers, allowing for
more economical policing and collection. To postpone the
ascertainment and payment of a proper state tax until the
goods or services are brought into the market does not make
the tax a burden on interstate commerce.

American Manufacturing Co. vy, St. Louis, 1919, 250
U.S. 459; 63 L. Ed. 1084; 39S, Ct. 522. (License tax
in nature of gross receipts tax on goods manufactured
within the taxing city; tax was measured by actual
sales, )

Western Live Stock v Bureau of Revenue, 1938, 303
U.S, 250; 82 L. Ed. 823; 58 S. Ct. 546; 115 A. L. R.
944. (Privilege tax on sale of advertising space in
periodicals circulated interstate.)

In the Western Live Stock ease, the Court said (303 U.S.
at 257):

‘‘In the present case the tax is, in form and sub-
stance, an excise conditioned on the carrying on of a
local business, that of providing and selling advertising
space in a published journal, which is sold to and paid
for by subseribers, some of whom receive it in inter-
state commerce, The price at which the advertising is
sold is made the measure of the tax. This Court has
sustained a similar tax said to be on the privilege of
manufacturing, measured by the gross receipts from
sales of the manufactured goods both interstate and
intrastate. American Manufacturing Co, v. St. Louis,
supra, 462. The actual sales prices which measured the
tax were taken to be no more than the measure of the
value of the goods manufactured, and so an appropriate
measure of the value of the privilege, the taxation of
which was deferred until the goods were sold.”’

=e > oe

The potato tax statute fits so closely into the taxing pat-
tern above deseribed, being ‘‘an excise conditioned on the

EE SMR SEES N ERATE SRE |

8

carrying on of a local business’’ the product of which ‘‘is
‘ald to and paid for by’’ shippers ‘‘some of whom receive
it in interstate commerce’’ that it inexorably follows that
since the adjudicated tax was held not to burden interstate
commerce, the same result ought to obtain respecting the
potato tax.

The Maine ‘‘ Potato Tax’’ imposes no burden on inter-
state commerce.

Appellant’s Contention That the “Potato Tax” Is Offensive
To the Provisions of the Fourteenth Amendment Pre.
sents No Substantial Federal Question

In its Statement as to Jurisdiction, appellant claims vio-
lation of the Fifth Amendment. To that we submit it is
unnecessary to reply, since that Amendment was not in-
tended to limit the power of states.

The Tax Is Not Discriminatory or Class Legislation

Appellant states that the tax ‘‘is discriminatory since it
applies only to the potato industry.’’ (Statement as to «
Jurisdiction, p. 6.)

We take it that appellant contests the State’s right to tax
**notatoes raised’? while not also taxing ‘* beans raised’’ and
other products.

So sweeping an objection cannot be sustained. Notori-
ously, in the states, there are specialized sales taxes on
cigarettes, gasoline, ete. Not all sales need be taxed. The
Federal Government has a similarly selective excise tax
pattern,

‘*It would be an intolerable burden if a State could
not tax any property or calling unless, at the same
time, it taxed all property or all callings.’’ Connolly
v. Union Sewer Pipe Co., 1902, 184 U.S. 540, 562, 16
L. Ed. 679, 22 S. Ct. 431,

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

—--- A A tet ee MEN ie i AREAL AGE ET LP OLE IO CLR BAA NEN SEEM DOLL POL TTR AOE AE

In Bowman v. Continental Oil Company, 1920, 256 U.S.

2, 65 L. Ed. 1139, 41 8S. Ct. 606, the constitutionality of a
gasoline tax of 2¢ a gallon was questioned, particularly
under the Fourteenth Amendment. At 256 U.S. 649, the
Court said:

—_— ss 'P

lh al

“The tax imposed by the act under consideration
upon the ‘sale or use of all gasoline sold or used in this
State’ is not property taxation, but in effect, as in
name, an exeise tax. We see no reason to doubt the
power of the State to select this commodity, as dis-
tinguished from others, in order to impose an excise
tax upon its sale and use... .

“There is no substance in the objection that the
excise tax, as applied to domestic sales and domestic
use of gasoline, infringes plaintiff’s rights under the
due process and equal protection clauses of the Four-
teenth Amendment.’? Armour Packing Co. v. Lacy,
1905, 200 U.S, 226, 235, 50 L. Ed. 451, 26 S. C+. 232. b

Fey ee,

1 Ae ie

That potato raisers were not selected by any arbitrary or
diseriminatory process is evident from the declarations of
the legislature and the Supreme Judicial Court, next dis-
cussed. The choice of ‘‘ potatoes raised’’ as an incidence of
tax was amply within legislative power.

The Tax is for a Public Purpose

The tax revenues are allocated by See. 215 for enforce-
ment of the tax law, for determining better methods of
production and merchandising of potatoes and potato by-
products and for merehandising and advertising Maine
potatoes. Expenditures are controlled by agencies of State
Government, Maine Agricultural Experiment Station and
Maine Development Commission.

Both the legislature and the Supreme Judicial Court
have declared the tax to be for a publie purpose.

“The production of potatoes is one of the most im-
portant agricultural industries of this state and Sec-

;
—_—_— ws oi _|

—

10

tions 206 to 217, inclusive, were enacted into law to
conserve and promote the prosperity and welfare of
this state and of the potato industry of this state for
fostering and promoting better methods of production,
merchandising, and advertising the said potato indus.
try of this state.’’ (See, 206, Potato Tax Law)

In its 1952 Opinion, the Supreme Judicial Court of Maine
said:

‘*In other words, these funds are to be used for
agricultural research and education in the State of
Maine, and for advertising Maine potatoes, a distine.
tive and substantial Maine product. True the subject
matter of this research is specialized and confined to
a single crop. That crop, however, is of such magni-
tude that there cannot be any doubt that it affords a
proper field for specialized research and education,
The allocation of a portion of the funds raised by the
tax to advertising the product is but a method of as-
suring to those taking advantage of the research a
market for the product.”’ (147 Me, at p. 423; Appel-
lant’s Statement, Appendix ‘*A*’, p. 13)

Our Court also said:

**In other words, so far as used for advertising,
these funds are to be used for advertising the State of
Maine by advertising the Maine potato, a typical and
distinetive product of this State, the raising of which
constitutes one of our basic industries.’’ (147 Me. at p.
424; Appellant's Statement, Appendix ‘*A’’, p, 14)

The Court also said:

‘This potato tax was imposed for a publie purpose,
and because in the opinion of the legislature the public
exigencies required it; at least we must so hold where
the industry for the benefit of which the tax is levied
is as important and as basic as is the potato industry
to the State of Maine which imposes the tax.’ (147
Me, at p. 429; Appellant's Statement, Appendix ‘‘A”,
p. 18)

11

Further, we request the Supreme Court of the United
States to take judicial notice that potato raising is a basic
Maine industry. Sligh v. Kirkwood, 1915, 237 U. 8. 52,
61, 50 L. Kd. 835, 35 S. Ct. 501. To assist the Court we
call attention to the following figures (not in evidence) sup-
plied by U. S. Bureau of Agricultural Economies.

Maine cash farm income from potatoes was

$110,256,000 in 1948; total farm income being $216,874,000
71,365,000 in 1949; total farm income being 172,820,000
53,969,000 in 1950; total farm income being 160,911,000
49,077,000 in 1951; total farm income being 180,079,000
80,468,000 in 1952; total farm income being 217,400,000

The declarations of the Supreme Judicial Court and the
legislature, while not controlling, are strongly persuasive—

‘The nature of a use, whether public or private, is
ultimately a judicial question. However, the deter-
mination of this question is influenced by local condi-
tions; and this Court, while enforcing the Fourteenth
Amendment, should keep in view the diversity of such
conditions and regard with great respect the judgments
of state courts upon what should be deemed public
uses in any State... . And like respect should be ae-
corded to the declaration of the legislative body of the
State.’ Milheim vy. Moffat Tunnel District, 1922, 262
U.S. 710, 717, 67 L. Ed. 1194, 43S. Ct. 694.

“The attitude of this court toward state legislation
purporting to be passed in the publie interest, and so
declared to be by the decisions of the court of last
resort in the State passing the act, has often been
declared. While the ultimate authority to determine
the validity of legislation under the Fourteenth Amend-
ment is vested in this court, local conditions are of
such varying character that what is or is not a publie
use in a particular State is manifestly a matter re-
specting which local authority, legislative and judicial,
has peculiar facilities for securing adequate informa-
tion. In that view the judgment of the highest court

ee TNA AT ARDENT I 7 RI

a

12

of the State upon what should be deemed a public
use in a particular State is entitled to the highest
respect.’’ Jones v. City of Portland, 1917, 245 U. §,
217, 221, 62 L. Ed. 25, 38 S. Ct. 11.

The potato tax has noi only been declared by the legisla.
ture and the Supreme Judicial Court to be for a public
purpose; it has been aceepted by the public for 16 years,
(Appellant's Statement, Appendix ‘‘A’’, p. 13) Its alloca.
tion of funds fits into a pattern accepted for 70 years,
(Id., p. 17)

While we have endeavored not to duplicate the well con-
sidered opinion of the Supreme Judicial Court of 1952 we
ean find no better closing of this branch of the argument
than the following quotation used by that Court, from Loan
Asso. v. Topeka, 1874, 20 Wall. 655, 664; 22 L. Ed. 455;

‘It is undoubtedly the duty of the legislature which
imposes or authorizes municipalities to impose a tax
to see that it is not going to be used for purposes of
private interest instead of a public use, and the courts
can only be justified in interposing when a violation
of this principle is clear and the reason for inter-
ference cogent. And in deciding whether, in the given
case, the object for which the taxes are assessed falls
upon the one side or the other of this line, they must
be governed mainly by the course and usage of the
government, the objects for which taxes have been eus-
tomarily and by long course of legislation levied, what
objects or purposes have been considered necessary
to the support or for the proper use of the government,
whether state or municipal. Whatever lawfully per-
tains to this and is sanctioned by time and the acquies-
ence of the people may well be held to belong to the
public use, and proper for the maintenance of good
government, though this may not be the only eriterion
of rightful taxation.”’

—

13

Appellant is not Deprived of Property without Due
Process of Law

This point overlaps to a degree the one just previous.

‘It is not denied that since the adoption of the
Fourteenth Amendment state taxing power can be ex-
erted only to effect a public purpose and does not em-
brace the raising of revenue for private purposes.”’
Carmichael v. Southern Coal Company, 1936, 301 U. 8.
495, 514, 81 L. Ed. 1245, 57 8. Ct. 868.

S

However, we know of no exception to the general prin-
ciple :

‘‘That whenever by the laws of a State, or by State
authority, a tax, assessment, servitude, or other bur-
den is imposed upon property for the public use,
whether it be for the whole State or of some more
limited portion of the community, and these laws pro-
vide for a mode of confirming or contesting the charge
thus imposed, in the ordinary courts of justice, with
such notice to the person or such proceedings in regard
to the property as is appropriate to the nature of the
case, the judgment in such proceedings cannot be said
| to deprive the owner of his property without due proe-
ess of law, however obnoxious it may be to other ob-
jections."’ Davidson v. New Orleans, 1877, 96 U. S.
97, 104, 24 L. Ed. 616.

SE OY FY ORS IE EAP D, PEGE SOL

© et aD

> oer ce

, ¢
We respectfully call to the Court’s attention that the :
potato tax is enforced solely by ‘‘the ordinary courts of
| justice.”’ (Potato Tax Law, See. 214)

Appellant Cannot Claim Constitutional Immunity from

Double Taxation

It is elementary that the Federal Constitution does not
prohibit double taxation.

“Tt is said that the plaintiff’s property had pre- r
viously been assessed for the same purpose, and the

|
|
|

—_ ect a WA a

14

assessment paid. If this be meant to deny the right of
the State to tax or assess property twice for the same
purpose, we know of no provision in the Federal Con.
stitution which forbids this, or which forbids unequal
taxation by the States.’’ Davidson v. New Orleans,
1877, 96 U.S. 97, 106, 24 L. Ed. 616.

In a contest over an assessment of an ad valorem prop.
erty tax on a railroad, in part measured by its intangibles,
the Supreme Court held:

‘*The contention that the statute violates the Four-
teenth Amendment is wholly without merit. It has long
been settled . .. that the legal protection clause is not
violated by preseribing different rules of taxation for
railroad companies than for concerns engaged in other
lines of business; and that the Federal Constitution
does not afford protection against double taxation by —
a State.’’ Baker v. Druesedow, 1923, 263 U. S. 137,
140, 68 L. Ed. 212, 44S. Ct. 40.

The Supreme Court has also said that ‘‘The Fourteenth
Amendment does not require uniformity of taxation, David-
son v. New Orleans, 1877, 96 U. 8S. 97, 105, 24 L. Ed. 616,
nor forbid double taxation.’’ Swiss Oil Corporation y.
Shanks, 1926, 273 U. S. 407, 413, 71 L. Ed. 709, 47 S. Ct.
393.

The State of Maine does not concede that the potato tax
involves double taxation.

Appellant’s Citation of Cases

The Statement as to Jurisdiction, p. 2, cites five cases
for the proposition that appellant is entitled to file a peti-
tion for leave to appeal. Since appellee does not dispute
this proposition, it should not, and does not, take the Court’s
time disputing whether the citations perform their intended
office.

15

Conclusion and Motion

Appellant has the burden of showing substantiality.
Wick v. Chelane Elec. Co., 1929 280 U. S. 108, 74 L.
ied. 212, 50S. Ct. 41
Equitable Life Assurance Soc. v. Brown, 1902 187 U.S.
308, 311, 47 L. Ed. 190, 23'S. Ct. 123
Revised Rules of the Supreme Ct. of the U. S., Rule 12,
par. 1

That burden it has not sustained,

We respectfully submit that the questions of constitu-
tional law here presented have long ago been adjudicated
in analogous cases, leaving no substantial question en-
titling appellant to invoke the jurisdiction of the Supreme
Court of the United States.

|

Wuererore, appellee respectfully moves that the within
appeal be dismissed or that the judgment of the Supreme
Judicial Court of Maine be affirmed.

ey

Acexanper A, LaF evr,
Attorney-General of the State of Maine, 2
Counsel for Appellee.
Boyp L. BatLey, F
Rocer A. Putnam,
Assistant Attorneys-General,
Of Counsel.

APPENDIX “A” 1 v4

Laws of Maine

Imposing a
Tax on Potatoes

BUREAU OF TAXATION
AUGUSTA, MAINE

“rw? F

18

POTATO TAX

Sections 206 to 217, inclusive, of Chapter
of the Revised Statutes 1944,
as amended by Public Laws of 1945

Sec. 206. Purpose. The production of
toes is one of the most important agri
industries of this state and sections 206 ty
inclusive, were enacted into law to conserve
promote the prosperity and welfare of
state and of the potato industry of this ¢
by fostering and promoting better method
production, merchandising, and advertising
said potato industry of this state,

Sec. 207. Terms defined. The term:
in sections 206 to 217, inclusive, shall be
strued as follows:

“Potatoes” shall mean and inchude all
toes of the grades as recommended by the
reau of agricultural economics of the U
States department of agriculture, and
other grades as may from time to time be
mulgated by the department of agriculture
the state of Maine. The records of the
ment of agriculture of the state of Main
the grades recommended by said burea
agricultural economics of the United
department of agriculture shal! be prima
evidence of such grades>

“Barrel” shall mean 165 pounds of

“Shipper” shall mean any person,
ship, associatien, firm, or corporation
in the shipping of potatoes or transporting
own potatoes, whether as owner, agent, |
otherwise,

19

‘ghipment” shall be deemed to take place
ten the potatoes are located within the state
the car, boat, truck, or other conveyance in
sich the potatoes are to be transported.

Sec. 208. Tax of le per barrel on potatoes.
tax is levied and imposed at the rate of 1c
r barrel on all potatoes raised in this state,
that no tax shall be imposed upon any
< which are retained by the grower to
used by him for seed purposes or for home
umption.

sec. 209. Time tax is due. The tax im-
«ed by section 208 shall be due upon any par-
lar lot or quantity of potatoes under the
ovisions of section 212.

Sec. 210. Shippers to file applications with
tax assessor; contents of applications;
not to ship until certificate is issued.
¢. 30,81. Every shipper of potatoes, as
in section 207, shall file an application
the -tate tax a» essor, on forms pre-
{and furnished by the state tax assessor
ich sha!’ contain the name under which such
ipper i+ transacting business within the
. the place or places of business and lo-
tion of loading and shipping places and
sof the shipper; the names and addresses
the several persons constituting a firm or
nership and, if a corporation, the corporate
an the names and addresses of its prin-
officers and agents within the state. The
tax assessor will then issue a certificate
the shipper and no shipper shall sell or ship
y potatoes, as defined in section 207, until
certificate is furnished as required by this
ion.

20
Sec. 211. Shipper entitled to deduct ;
from selling price. Each shipper purehas
potatoes and paying, or becomin« \\able to
the tax imposed by section 205 «hall
and collect from the seller a tay at the rate
le per barrel, to be deducted fro... the purd
price of ali potatoes subject to thy 1aX, 50
chased by such shipper.

Sec. 212. Report of shipments to be
on 15th of each month for preceding
tax to be paid on or before Ist day of
succeeding filing of report, 1915, © %,§
Every shipper shal! keep as a part of his
manent records a record of all purchases, gg!
and shipments of potatoes, which said
shall be open for inspection at all times
hereinafter provided, and every shipper ¢
on or before the 15th day of each mor
render a report to the state tax assessor
ing the quantity of potatoes received, soi,
shipped by him during the preceding j
month, on forms to be furnished by said
assessor, and said report shall contain
further information pertinent thereto as
state tax assessor shall prescribe. On or}
fore the 1st day of the calendar month
ing the filing of said report, each shipper #
pay to the state tax assessor a tax at the
of le per barrel upon all potatoes so
as purchased, sold, or shipped, as
by the state tax assessor. The state tax
sessor shall pay over all receipts from such
to the treasurer of state daily.

Sec. 213. State tax assessor or his agent
have authority to inspect. 1945, ¢. 3, §
The state tax assessor or his duly
agent shall have authority to enter any p

4

_
21

jusiness of any shipper, or any ear, boat,
xk, or other conveyance in which potatoes
to be transported, and to inspect any books
cords of any shipper for the purpose of
wrmining what potatoes are taxable under
provisions of sections 206 to 217. inclusive,
for the purpose of determining the truth or
sity of any statement or return made by any
oper, and he shall have authority to deie-
» such power to the commissioner of agri-
-yre, his deputies, agents, servants, or em-

yes,

ec, 214. Penalty for false return or vio-
ion of provisions; tax may be collected by
i action; jurisdiction. Any shipper of pota-
<, as defined in section 207, who shall make
¢ false or fraudulent report or return re-
red by sectiong206 to 217, inelusive, or who
| evade or violate any of the provisions of
i sections, shall be punished by a fine of not
re than $500. Whenever any shipper shall
ito pay any tax due under the provisions of
4 sections, within the time limited herein,
, attorney-general shall enforce payment of
+h tax by civil action against such shipper
‘the amount of such tax, either in the su-
ior court or municipal court in and for the
nty in which such shipper has his residence
established place of business.

sec, 215. Appropriation of moneys received.
meys received through the provisions of sec-
ns 206 to 217, inclusive, by the treasurer of
shall be appropriated and used for the
owing purposes:
For the collection of the tax provided for
y section 208 and the enforcement of all

5

22
the provisions of sections 206 to 217
clusive.

Il. A sum which shall equal at least |
of the money collected shal! be used
applied for the purpose of investi

determining better methods of produg
shipment, and merchandising of potg
and for the manufacture and merchandj
of potate by-products by the Maine ,
cultural experiment station under the su
vision of the Maine development commis

Iti. A sum whieh shall equal at least:
of the money collected shall be used for
general purpose of merchandising and ad
tising Maine potatoes for food and for.
purposes under the direction of the ¥
development commission.

IV. The funds remaining over and q
the expenses of carrying out the provi:
of sections 206 to 217, inclusive, jnely
the expenditures authorized under the
visions of subsections II and III of this
tion, may be expended by the commissip
carry out the purposes outlined in said
sections as it may determine.

Sec. 216. Maine potato tax committee,
Maine potato tax committee, as herets
established, shal) consist of 5 members t
appointed by the commissioner of agricul
from representatives of the potato industr
this state. Four of these members shal
residents of Aroostook county and one a:
dent of central Maine, so called. Each r
ber shall be appointed for a term of 2 y:
or until his successor is duly appointed
qualified. In case of a vacancy cause

6

23

th, resignation, OF otherwise, the vacancy
) be filled by the commissioner for the un-
ired period of the term. The said commit-
shall work with the Maine development
mission in an advisory capacity to assist
commission in the carrying out of the pro-
ons of sections 206 to 217, inclusive. The
nbers of the committee shall serve without
pensation, but shall be reimbursed for ex-
ses incurred in the performance of their
ies.

ec, 217. Tax in addition to other taxes.
‘taxes imposed and collected under the pro-
ons of sections 206 to 217, inclusive, shall
in addition to any other taxes legally im-
ed or collected under any other provision
the law of the state now or hereafter in

ce.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385610_0636%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
