# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — United States v. Bloom

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385610_0511%3A07

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1951
- **Citation:** 342 U.S. 864

## Text

Page
TTI niin: ib cients ee hiswinndinmmemiomnamentinieteeitas 1
RENEE RAR ee ll LAS IAAE A S85 ail 1
Es tclatecadninene comanquabedmmadmmmienma ean 2
Statutes | rtd tiédcia nisaecchendnaididendavedduedbanes 2
nnn uinbtbdaihandetan sem ocink baudnbusamana esas 2
Reasons for granting the writ. pit nh son nutgpareigid atieeardidiawicaiee ui 3
SS baila co dadi ake hars abe owehedaiabtoume ste 12
Ei diatabdunamhweveetesousasesevehactwtehindesans 13
CITATIONS
Cases:
American Iron Co. v. Seaboard Air Line, 233 U. 8. 261___. 11
Capital Foundry Corp., In re, 83 F. Supp. 413_.._-______- 6
Case v. Los Angeles Lumber Co., 308 U. 8S. 106___________ s
Consolidated Rock Co. v. Du Bois, 312 U. 8. 510_________. 8
Deep Rock Oil Corporation, In re, 113 F. 2d 266, certiorari
Tee. Wx Slo ings ore aréencttaqiataistinanw wate rue whe 9
Lezingion Homes, In re, 94 F. Supp. 482__._...________. 5
Massachusetts v. Thompson, 190 F. 2d 10_.._.__________. 4,6
New York v. Saper, 336 U. 8. 328........._..._- _ 3,7, 8,9, 12
Northern Pacific Ry. v. Boyd, 228 U. 8. 482_.....-______. s
Securities Commission v. U. 8. Realty Co., 310 U. S. 434... 8
United States v. Bloom, No. i00____.......__________. J ae
United States v. General Engineering & Mfg. Co., 188 F. 2d
ata benscmnnerduduncdutab iwiewlesdeibe tidctebiodn ie 34, 6
Statutes:

Bankruptey Act, c. 541, 30 Stat. 544, as amended by the
Act of June 22, 1938 (Chandler Act), c. 575, 52 Stat. 840:

- 101 (11 'U.
102 (11 U.
106 (11 U.
146 (11 'U.
- 174 11 U.
199 (11 U.
200 (11 'U.
221 (11 'U.
266 (11 'U.
271 (11 'U:~

PPPS RTT R TT

nanananana
é
g

965827 —51——-1

ERTS EE TE

Statutes—Continued Page
Internal Revenue Code:
Sec. 1420 (26 U. 8. C. 1946 ed., Sec. 1420)... ...---. 3, 13
Sec. 1605 (26 U. 8. C. 1946 ed., Sec. 1605). ..-.....- 3,13
Sec. 1627 (26 U. 8. C. 1946 ed., Sec. 1627)......-.-- 3, 13
Miscellaneous:
6 Collier on Bankruptcy (14 ed., 1947). ...-----.-------- 7,9,10
H. Rep. No. 1409, 75th Cong., Ist Sess., pp. 55-56......- 10
Letter from Charles Oliphant, Chief Counsel, Bureau of
Internal Revenue, to Assistant Attorney General Caudle,
dated August 90, 1061... .22.2-sccssccccccsccccccsce 5
50 Vale Law Found 1b .cccccccoccccrcaccsccsseccesss 9

Ynthe Supreme Gourt of the Wnited States

OctToseR TERM, 1951

No. 299

Unirep States or AMERICA, PETITIONER
v.
N. WALSER Epens anp W. H. Corry, as TRUSTEES

or CAROLINA Miits, INnc., aA CORPORATION OF
SoutH CAROLINA, DEBTOR

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT
The Solicitor General, on behalf of the United
States, prays that a writ of certiorari issue to
review the judgment of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, entered in
this case on June 6, 1951.

OPINIONS BELOW

The memorandum opinion of the referee in
bankruptcy (R. 1-4) is unreported. The opinion
of the District Court (R. 4-8) is reported in 97
F. Supp. 793. The opinion of the Court of Ap-
peals (R. 9-12) is reported in 189 F. 2d 876.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was
entered on June 6, 1951. (R. 12.) The juris-
(1)

SR PR We DS ed OR Se RS Sate

2

diction of this Court is invoked under the pro-
visions of 28 U.S. C., Section 1254.

Whether, in a corporate reorganization pro-
ceeding under Chapter X of the Bankruptcy Act,
the United States is entitled to interest on unpaid
taxes for the period following the date of the
filing of the petition for reorganization.

STATUTES INVILVED
The pertinent statutory provisions are printed
in the Appendix, infra, pp. 13-19.

STATEMENT

On November 11, 1948, the debtor, Carolina
Mills, Ine., a South Carolina corporation, filed
a petition for reorganization under Chapter X
of the Bankruptey Act. (R. 4.) In that pro-
ceeding, the United States filed claims for
unemployment taxes, federal insurance contribu-
tions taxes, and income taxes collected by with-
holding. No question is raised as to the principal
amount of these taxes nor as to _ interest
up to the date of the filing of the reorganization
petition. (R. 4.) The referee allowed the full
amount of the taxes with interest at the rate of
6% to November 11, 1948. (R. 4.)

The sole question presented is whether the tax
claims bear interest subsequent to November 11,
1948, the date of the filing of the reorganization
petition. (R. 1.) After a hearing, the bank-

— atl

3

ruptey referee denied post-petition interest
(R. 4), and the District Court adopted and con-
firmed the referee’s decision (R. 8). Upon
appeal by the United States, the court below
affirmed the order of the Distriet Court, holding
that the United States is entitled to interest on
its tax claims only to date of the filing of the
petition in reorganization. (R. 12.)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. The sole issue in this case is whether the
United States is entitled to interest on unpaid
taxes in a corporate reorganization proceeding
under Chapter X of the Bankruptey Act for the
period following the date of the filing of the peti-
tion and until the taxes are paid or otherwise
satisfied. The Internal Revenue Code provides
that when taxes are not paid when due there shall
be added as part of the tax interest ‘‘at the rate
of 6 per centum per annum from the date the tax
became due until paid’? (26 U. 8. C. 1946 ed.
1420, 1605 and 1627, Appendix, ixfra, pp. 13-14).
However, this Court held in New York v. Saper, 336
U. 8. 328, that in the case of straight bankruptey,
the Government’s right to interest stops at the date
of filing of the petition. The question here is
whether the same limitation applies in Chapter X
proceedings.

The United States is filing, concurrently with
this petition, a petition for a writ of certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals for the

4

Eighth Circuit to review its decision in United
States v. General Engineering & Mfg. Co., 188
F. 2d 80. That case involves the application of
the rule of the Saper case to a proceeding for
arrangement under Chapter XI of the Bank-
ruptey Act, and the issue is closely related to the
issue here involved.’

Still a third related case is now pending before
this Court on a petition for certiorari. United
States v. Bloom, No. 100, this Term. That case
involves the question of whether interest on fed-
eral taxes continues to run, in a state proceeding,
after the date of an assignment for the benefit
of creditors.

These cases as a group cover the major types
of insolvency proceedings apart from straight
bankruptcy. The question of whether interest
on taxes should be permitted to run during these
different proceedings involves related problems
of statutory interpretation and policy. The al-
lowance of the petition in this case and in the
related cases would afford the Court the oppor-
tunity to review the problem in its entirety.

2. Even taken by itself, the instant case pre-
sents an important question of continuing im-
portance to the administration of the tax laws
and the functioning of corporate reorganization

We have been informed that the Commonwealth of
Massachusetts intends to file a petition for certiorari to the
First Circuit in another Chapter XI case involving the
same issue. Massachusetts v. Thompson, 190 F. 2d 10.

= eae:

POOL IE OE Maes

5

proceedings under Chapter X of the Bankruptey
Act, ¢. 541, 30 Stat. 544, Section 101, et seq., as
amended by the Act of June 22, 1938 (Chandler
Act), ¢. 575, 52 Stat. 840, See. 1 (11 U. S. ©.
1946 ed., Sec. 501 et seq.). The issue arises in
every case in which the United States asserts a
claim for taxes in a Chapter X proceeding. The
Chief Counsel, Bureau of Internal Revenue, hes
reported that there are currently pending 199 —
reorganization cases under Chapter X involving
federal tax claims, upon which the estimated
interest arising subsequent to the dates of the
filing of the petitions exceeds $4,000,000.2 Obvi-
ously, the right of the Government to recover
this substantial amount from the assets of the
debtors is of importance not only te the Govern-
ment and the debtors, but also to all other credi-
tors and all parties to the reorganization
proceedings.

3. While there is no existing conflict among
the cireuits on the issue here presented, there is
a sufficient diversity of judicial opinion to indi-
cate that the matter is hardly free from doubt.
The District Court for the District of New Jersey
has reached a conclusion opposed to that of the
court below (Jn re Lexington Homes, 94 F. Supp.

* Letter from Charles Oliphant, Chief Counsel, Bureau of
Internal Revenue, to Assistant Attorney General Caudie,
dated August 20, 1951. It is also stated in this letter that
both the number of proceedings and the amounts of interest

involved appear to be substantially constant from year to
year.

Pre.

482), while a position in accord with that of the
court below has led to the denial of post-petition
interest by the District Court for the Eastern
District of New York (In re Capital Foundry
Corp., 83 F. Supp. 413). In the related field of
post-petition interest on tax claims under Chapter
XI of the Bankruptey Act, both the First Cir-
cuit (Massachusetts v. Thompson, supra) and the
Eighth (United States v. General Engineering &
Mfg. Co., supra) have joined the court below in
refusing to allow the Government interest. How-
ever, the Court of Appeals for the First Circuit
has divided on the issue.

Given this contrariety of judicial opinion, it is
the Government’s view that this Court should
answer the question here presented now. For
not only is the question involved in a large num-
ber of cases, but the fact is that while only small
amounts of money may be involved in any indi-
vidual case, the aggregate is large. If there are
added together the 199 cases involving $4,000,000
arising under Chapter X; the 771 cases involving
$1,000,000 under Chapter XI (See petition in
United States vy. General Engineering and Mfg.
Co., No. 300, this Term, p. 6); the 810 cases
involving $430,000 in assignment proceedings (See
petition in United States v. Bloom, No. 100, this
Term, p. 9); and the 985 cases involving $7,000,-
000 in receiverships (ibid., p. 9),-the totals are
2,705 cases involving $12,430,000. Until the issue
is finally determined by this Court, the parties

Peewee nme —_

7

are faced with the alternative of letting adverse
initial rulings pass without contest because the
amount involved is small, or of repeated appeals in
order to attempt to preserve the issue until it can be
decided by this Court. Neither alternative to
immediate review by this Court would be conducive
to the economic, fair, and efficient administration of
justice.

4. The court below denied the Government’s
claim to post-petition intere-t on the assumption
that Chapter X proceedings are a kind of bank-
ruptey in whic creditors have the same rights
as in straight bankruptey.. The Government
challenges both the assumption and the conelu-
sion. It believes that differences in the purposes
and effects of the two types of proceeding are
so fundamental] that the reasoning underlying the
Saper case itself would require that interest con-
tinue to accrue in Chapter X cases rather than
that it be cut off.

The fundamental basis for the holding in the
Saper case was that, in straight bankruptey, in-
terest ceases to run on debts other than taxes

*The court below, in thus assimilating Chapter X to
straight bankruptcy proceedings, placed reliance on Section
200 of the Act (11 U.S. C. 600, Appendix, infra, pp. 17-18)
(R. 10). This indicates a misconception of the purpose of
Section 200 which is intended to relate to such matters as
the rights to possession and payment before and after the
approval of a petition. It has no relevance to the issue here

involved. See 6 Collier on Bankruptcy (14th ed., 1947), pp.
2869-2870.

965827—51--2

oO eee ey

atta oon

ae

from the date the petition is filed, and that Con-
gress had, in amendments to the Bankruptcy Aet,
evinced an intention to assimilate federal tax
claims to other debts. See New York vy. Saper,
336 U.S. 328, at 332. However, there is no gen-
eral rule cutting off interest on debts generally
in reorganization cases under Chapter X as of
the date of filing and, on the contrary, it appears
that interest to the date of consummation of a
plan or reorganization is recognized as one of the
fundamental rights which must be recognized in
order that a plan can be found “fair and equi-
table” as required by Sections 174 and 221 (2)
of the Aet. (Appendix, infra, pp. 16 and 18.)
To be ‘‘fair and equitable,’’ a plan must be the
product of the ‘‘absolute priority’’ rule announced
in Northern Pacifie Ry. v. Boyd, 228 U. 8. 482,
and reapplied in Case v. Los Angeles Lumber Co.,
308 U. S. 106, 115-119, and Securities Commis-
sion v. U. S. Realty Co., 310 U. 8S. 434, 452. It
is a part of this strict priority rule, as this Court
stated, in Consolidated Rock Co. vy. Du Bois, 312
U. S. 510, 527, in dealing with interest which
had acerued during a Section 77B proceeding
(the predecessor of Chapter X), that interest
until date of payment is required. Thus this
Court found the plan there involved defective,
in that:

no provision is made for the accrued in-

terest on the bonds. This interest is en-

titled to the same priority as the principal.

9

Similarly, the Court of Appeals for the Tenth
Circuit, in another Section 77B case, stated:
Where in the administration of the af-
fairs of an insolvent corporation there are
claims of different rank, the holders of
prior claims are entitled to interest to the
time of payment, even though the payment
thereof may deprive the holders of sub-
sequent claims of any participation in the
funds of the bankrupt. [Italies added.]
[In re Deep Rock Oil Corporation, 113 F.
2d 266, 269 (C. A. 10), certiorari denied, 311
U.S. 699.]
In 6 Collier on Bankruptey (14th ed., 1947), 2817,
it is stated, ‘It is settled, therefore, that in cor-
porate reorganizations, as a general rule, interest
on all claims, whether fixed by contract or by
the applicable local law, accrues until the date of
the consummation of the plan and must be ae-
corded the same priority as the principal of the
claim.’’ Many eases to this effect are collected
in footnote 15 on page 2817 of that work. See
also 50 Yale Law Journal 144.

These cases are not bottomed on the exception
to the rule referred to in the Saper case (336
U. 8S. 328, 330, fn. 7) relating to secured obliga-
tions, the security for which produces more than
sufficient interest to meet the interest accruing
on the debt. Rather, they appear to rest on the
fact that the purpose of Chapter X is the re-
habilitation of distressed corporations, not their

Mer re 2 ioe *
iAP Lat tees cea a AWN ees

& ee OL

10

liquidation; the estate is administered as a going
concern in order to reaiize the greatest recovery
for the benefit of all parties to the proceeding
(See 6 Collier on Bankruptcy, 14th ed. (1947)
103). In this context, it would be strange if as-
sets were permitted to be retained by a debtor
or trustee, and used to continue the business dur-
ing reorganization rather than used to pay prior-
ity debts without continuing to acerue interest.
The estate which enjoys the use of the asset
which it owes to another should pay interest for
the privilege of its use.

Since interest is not cut off on claims generally
in Chapter X reorganization proceedings, it is
submitted that there is no basis for treating fed-
eral claims for unpaid taxes as inferior. As a
matter of fact, federal tax claims, secured or un-
secured, are in effect given priority by Section
199 (11 U. S. C. 599, Appendix, infra, p. 17),
which requires that plans which do not provide
for payment of federal taxes in full, except when
a lesser amount has been accepted by the Secre-
tary of the Treasury, shall not be confirmed.

*The House Committee, which recommended Chapter X,
explained the purpose of Sections 199 and 271 (Appendix,
infra, pp. 17, 19) as follows (TT. Rep. No. 1409, 75th Cong.,
Ist Sess., pp. 55-56) :

“The committee believes these new tax provisions will
strike a balance between the necessity of safeguarding the
Government’s tax interests in a debtor corporation, or the
new corporation resulting from the reorganization proceed-
ings, and the necessity of sealing down the indebtedness of
the debtor corporation in order to make the plan successful.

SLT ARIE IS AFR SANIT EGR eu eet " —
BOM Ge Sea Me RN ae

11

Thus, under the reasoning of the Saper case,
that Congress intended to assimilate federal tax
claims to other debts, there can be no doubt that
interest on such claims should be permitted to
run in Chapter X proceedings.

The allowance of interest is very strongly in-
dicated when a plan can be worked out under
which stockholders of the debtor are permitted to
participate in the reorganization, an eventuality
clearly contemplated by Chapter X. Under such
a plan the situation is comparable to that in
which the debtor in a straight bankruptey pro-
ceeding is found not to be in fact insolvent.
American Iron Co. v. Seaboard Air Line, 233 U.S.
261, 266-267. However, the payment of interest
should not be made dependent on whether stock-
holders are permitted to participate, since re-
habilitation of a debtor corporation may be
worked out by turning the control over to bond-
holders with the same result of maintaining the
enterprise rather than dismembering it. So far
as priority claimants are concerned, the result
would be the same.

The court below stated that “It could hardly
have been contemplated that a tax claim filed
in a Chapter X proceeding should be entitled to
It is felt that any leniency of this kind on the part of the
Government, when its interests are properly safeguarded,
will contribute to the success of the plan of reorganization
and to the general objective of preserving a business enter-

prise so that it may not only continue to be economically
productive but also productive of future normal taxes.”

TOTES fw

12

post bankruptcy interest upon a reorganization
of the debtor but not if reorganization should
fail and an adjudication of straight bankruptcy
should follow.’”’ (R. 10.) But this seems no
more difficult than the admitted exception to the
rule in the case of straight bankruptcy, where
interest is permitted if the debtor proves solvent.’
See New York v. Saper, 336 U. 8. 328, fn. 7, p.
330. All that is required is that if the case is
transformed into a straight bankruptcy case,
taxes, like other debts, be refused post-petition
interest; if a plan can be worked out, then taxes,
like other claims, should be allowed interest.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this petition for
a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Puitie B. PERLMAN,
Solicitor General.

SEPTEMBER 1951.

‘If a reorganization petition is filed in the course of a
straight bankruptcy proceeding, the interest which a claim
bore during bankruptey, but which would not have been

allowed, will be regarded as part of the claim for the
purpose of the reorganization. 6 Collier, supra, 2819.

APPENDIX

INTERNAL REVENUE CODE:

Sec. 1420. CoLLECTION AND PAYMENT OF
TAXES.

* * * * *

(b) Addition to Tax in Case of Delin-
quency.—If the tax is not paid when due,
there shall be added as part of the tax
interest (except in the case of adjustments
made in aecordance with the provisions of
sections 1401 (¢) and 1411 at the rate of
6 per centum per annum from the date the
tax became due until paid.

* * *~ * *

(26 U.S. C. 1946 ed., See. 1420.)
Sec. 1605. PAYMENT OF TAXES.

* * * * *

(b) Addition to Tax in Case of Delin-
quency.—If the tax is not paid when due,
there shall be added as part of the tax
interest at the rate of 6 per centum per
annum from the date the tax became due
until paid.

* * * * *
(26 U.S. C. 1946 ed., Sec. 1605.)

Sec. 1627 [as added by the Current Tax
Payment Act of 1943, ¢. 120, 57 Stat. 126,
Sec. 2]. OTHER LAWS APPLICABLE.

(13)

aS

EPP SPL I NDS ELD A Lem

¥

le eae? a ee

A a Re TA TS OC RE a AT OA We en Bt cl,

14

All provisions of law, including penal-
ties, applicable with respect to the tax im-
posed by section 1400 shall, insofar as
applicable and not inconsistent with the
provisions of this subchapter, be applicable
with respect to the tax under this sub-
chapter.

(26 U. S. C. 1946 ed., Sec. 1627.)

pee tn ee

Bankruptcy Act, ¢. 541, 30 Stat. 544 [as
amended by the Act of June 22, 1938, ¢. 575, 52
Stat. 840, See. 1]:

RR RRA ead st

es Sele PT Soe 5

Ae ane? WOON Lm wr Bi Set F

CHAPTER X—CORPORATE
REORGANIZATIONS

* * * * *
Sec. 101. The provisions of this chapter

shall apply exclusively to proceedings under
this chapter.

(11 U.S. C. 1946 ed., See. 501.)

Sec. 102. The provisions of chapters I
to VII, inclusive, of this Act shall, insofar
as they are not inconsistent or in conflict
with the provisions of this chapter, apply
in preceedings under this chapter: Pro-
vided, however, That section 23, subdi-
visions h and n of section 57, section 64, and
subdivision f of seetion 70, shall not apply
in such proceedings unless an order shall
be entered directing that bankruptey be
proceeded with pursuant to the provisions
of chapters I to VII, inclusive. For the
purposes of such application, provisions
relating to ‘‘bankrupts’’ shall be deemed
to relate also to ‘‘debtors’’, and ‘‘bank-

15

ruptey proceedings’’ or ‘“‘proceedings in
bankruptcy”’’ shall be deemed to include
proceedings under this chapter. For the
purposes of such application the date of
the filing of the petition in bankruptcy
shall be taken to be the date of the filing
of an original petition under section 128
of this Act, and the date of adjudication
shall be taken to be the date of approval
of a petition filed under section 127 or 128
of this Act except where an adjudication
had previously been entered.

(11 U.S. C. 1946 ed., See. 502.)

Sec. 106. For the purposes of this chap-
ter, unless inconsistent with the context—

(1) ‘‘elaims”’ shall inelude all claims
of whatever character against a debtor or
its property, except stock, whether or not
such claims are provable under section 63
of this Act and whether secured or un-
secured, liquidated or unliquidated, fixed
or contingent;

* * * * *

(3) ‘‘corporation”’ shall mean a corpo-
ration, as defined in this Act, which could
be adjudged a bankrupt under this Act,
and any railroad corporation excepting a
railroad corporation authorized to file a
petition under section 77 of this Act;

* * * * *

(11 U.S. C. 1946 ed., See. 506.)

Sec. 146. Without limiting the general-
ity of the meaning of the term ‘‘good

ST RECEDES TNE NINN ARES FNS SE Aes — ‘
ol owen ae.

DB tense SAT

bets i aac eee ae tet st

Bete ae, ies

16

faith’’, a petition shall be deemed not to
be filed in good faith if— ;

(1) the petitioning creditors have ac-
quired their claims for the purpose of
filing the petition; or

(2) adequate relief would be obtainable
by a debtor’s petition under the provisions
of chapter XI of this Act; or

(3) it is unreasonable to expect that a
plan of reorganization can be effected; or

(4) a prior proceeding is pending in
any court and it appears that the interests
of creditors and stockholders would be best
subserved in such prior proceeding.

(11 U.S. C. 1946 ed., See. 546.)

Src. 174. After the hearing, as provided
in section 169 or section 170 of this Act,
and, if a plan has been submitted to the
Securities and Exchange Commission, as
provided in section 172 of this Act, then
after the filing of the report or notice that
it will not be filed, or after the expiration
of the time for its filing, whichever first
occurs, the judge shall enter an order ap-
proving the plan or plans which in his
opinion comply with the provisions of
section 216 of this Act, and which are fair
and equitable, and feasible, and shall fix
a time within which the creditors and
stockholders affected thereby may accept
the same.

(11 U.S. C. 1946 ed., See. 574.)

* * * * *

17

Sec. 199. If the United States is a se-
cured or unsecured creditor or stockholder
of a debtor, the claims or stock thereof
shall be deemed to be affected by a plan
under this chapter, and the Secretary of
the Treasury is hereby authorized to accept
or reject a plan in respect of the claims
or stock of the United States. If, in any
proceeding under this chapter, the United
States is a secured or unsecured creditor
on claims for taxes or customs duties
(whether or not the United States has any
other interest in, or claim against the
debtor, as secured or unsecured creditor or
stockholder), no plan which does not pro-
vide for the payment thereof shall be con-
firmed by the judge except upon the accept-
ance of a lesser amount by the Secretary
of the Treasury certified to the court: Pro-
vided, That if the Secretary of the Treas-
ury shall fail to accept or reject a plan
for more than ninety days after receipt
of written notice so to do from the court
to which the plan has been proposed, ac-
companied by a certified copy of the plan,
his consent shall be conclusively presumed.

(11 U.S. C. 1946 ed., See. 599.)

Sec. 200. Where not inconsistent with
the provisions of this chapter, the rights,
duties, and liabilities of creditors and of
all other persons with respect to the prop-
erty of the debtor shall be the same, before
the approval of the petition, as in a bank-
ruptey proceeding before adjudication and,

18

upon the approval of the petition, as in
a bankruptey proceeding upon adjudication.

(11 U.S. C. 1946 ed., See. 600.)

Sec. 221. The judge shall confirm a plan
if satisfied that—

(1) The provisions of article VII, see-
tion 199, and article X of this chapter have
been complied with;

(2) the plan is fair and equitable, and
feasible ;

* * * * *

(11 U.S. C. 1946 ed., See. 621.)

Sec. 266. In addition to the notices else-
where expressly provided, the clerk and,
in the ease of a reference, the referee, after
such reference, shall forthwith transmit to
the Secretary of the Treasury copies of all
petitions, answers, orders, and applica-
tions, as more specifically enumerated in
section 265 of this Act, and copies of such
other papers filed in the proceedings as the
Secretary of the Treasury may request or
which the court may direct be transmitted
to him. Copies of the opinions or reports,
if any, of the judge, referee, or special
master, with respect to the matters so enu-
merated, shall also be transmitted to the
Secretary of the Treasury. And order fix-
ing the time for confirming a plan which
affects claims or stock of the United States
shall include a notice to the Secretary of
the Treasury of not less than thirty days.

(11 U.S. C. 1946 ed., See. 666.)

19

Sec, 271. Any provision in this chapter
to the contrary notwithstanding, all taxes
which may be found to be owing to the
United States or any State from a debtor
within one year from the date of the filing
of a petition under this chapter and have
not been assessed prior to the date of the
confirmation of a plan under this chapter,
and all taxes which may become owing to
the United States or any State from a re-
ceiver or trustee of a debtor or from a
debtor in possession, shall be assessed
against, may be collected from and shall
be paid by the debtor or the corporation
organized or made use of for effectuating
a plan under this chapter: Provided, how-
ever, That the United States or any State
may in writing accept the provisions of
any plan dealing with the assumption,
settlement, or payment of any such tax.

(11 U.S. C. 1946 ed., See. 671.)

U. S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE. 1951

‘
4
2
m
&
«
a
2

CERES HE ete

ec toners. cores rete es NENG

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385610_0511%3A07. Public record. Not legal advice.
