# Amicus Curiae Brief — United States ex rel. Eichenlaub v. Shaughnessy

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385610_0380%3A16

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1949
- **Citation:** 338 U.S. 883

## Text

eer

‘
~<
|

Office - Supreme Court,
» - aieaie a ~ ry

FEB 7 1949

Anited States Supreme

Ocroser Term, 1948

GERHARD EISLER,
Petitioner,

No, 255

agatnst

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEAL FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

BRIEF OF AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION,
AS AMICUS CURIAE

AMERICAN Civi, Lipertizs Union
. 6
Amicus Curiae.

, AntHur GARFIELD Hays,
Counsel.

Osmonp K. FRAENKEL,
EMANUEL Gorpon,

of the New York Bar,
of Counsel.

a

POOR COPY
BLEED THROUGH

INDEX

PAGE

Tue LNrerest ov rue American Civit Lisertizrs Unton
IE ccaxicccuistiatataapieinigniciateadaainepeinilibiasiiialithalasiesiiiaiiasaaaeia tess
a a
pO ER EEE cea oe? Mar ACS

Pornt I—The First Amendment prohibits Congress
from: compelling revelation of opinions whose
expression it may not restrain —.......02.22..22....-0----

A. Freedom to be silent ...

B. The resolution establishing the Committee
must be tested on its face ....

Pornt I11—The First Amendment is violated because

A. Thelterms of reference are too vague.

B. The \ mandate authorizes investigations on
|

matters beyond the powers of Congress to

I ar bat ellamads

=

Pony [11—Seection 192, as applied, violates the Fifth
FI sitenceniensiariainctacianblinitainianniasialiintnininiigs

ISSN eS BeY ide AES ESTs EBA We a aod

Table of Cases Cited
Adams v. United States, 250 U. S. 616, 630-631 (1919)

American Chicle Co. v. United States, 316 TS. 450

Carlson v. California, 310 U. S. 106, 111 (1940)........
Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire, 315 U. S. 568.200...

1

6
9

Douglas v. Comm’r, 322 U.S. 275 (1944) 000...
Hague vr. C.1.0., 307 U.S. 496, 516 (1939).
Herndon rv. Lowry, 301 U.S. 263 (1987)...
Kilbourn +. Thompson, 103 U.S. 168... faneidiedadaaal 13,19
Kraus & Bros. v. United States, 327 U.S. 614 (1946) 11
Lowell v. Griffin, 303 U.S. 444, 450 (1938) 8
PE 0, Ty GP Whe: ile OD ccectiicdnsiresdessinteristinisinneccs 18
Olmsted v. United States, 277 U. S. 438, 478 0 15
OU GS A SS 9

Schneider v. New Jersey, 308 U. S. 147, 163-165 (1929) 8
Stromberg v. California, 283 U. 8S. 359 (1981)............ 8

Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U. S. 88, 97, 105 (1940)... 8

United States rv. C.1.0., 68 S. Ct. 1349000000. 9

West Virginia State Bd. of Education +. Barnette,
aid U.. 8. G36 (1963) ................... 7

Winters o. New York, 333 U. & G07 ...................-....... 1

Statutes Cited

2 U.S.C. 6192 (1946) sakided cena a
ys fg eee aneivinticommbddtattnudinke 2

United States Constitution:

First Amendment ................................. coveeseevectly Oy & 13, 15
Fifth Amendment 0.00... seciiiieiaititn eae 18

POOR COPY

BLEED THROUGH

iii
Miscellaneous, Publications, etc., Cited

PAGE
H. R. 5, 80th Cong. 2
H. R. 26, 75th Cong., Ist Session. . 10
H. R. 65, 78th Cong., Ist Sess., 89th Cong., Ist Sess. 10
H. R. 90, 77th Cong., Ist Sess. _... 10
H. R. 282, 75th Cong. -................ 5 a ee
H. R. 321, 76th Suan. ERR PE NE ae mee 10
H. R. 420, oo kt MD | eee eee 10
83 Cong. Ree. 7567-7686 (1938) oo ee ccceceeee- ee 10, 11
84 Cong. Ree. 1098, 1128 (1939) ................................ 10, 11
86 Cong. Ree. 572, 605 (1940) eee. ...10, 11
87 Cong. Rec. 886, 899 (1941) ccs ceeccececcee nee. 10, 11
88 Cong. Rec. 2282, 2297 (1942) ce ccccececneeneesee 10, 11
89 Cong. Ree. 721-730, 795-810 (1943) oe 11
91 Cong. Ree. 10, 15 (1945) vam ....10, 11
92 Cong. Ree. 7720-7728 (1946) one

Emerson and Helfeld ‘‘Loyalty a Government
Employees’’, 58 Yale Law Journal, 14

Presidential Proclamation 2526, dated pene 8,

POOR COPY
BLEED THROUGH

United States Supreme Court
Ocroper Term, 1948

GiekHARD Ers Ler,
2 ty .
Petitioner, No. 285
against

Uniren States or AMERICA,

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEAL FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

BRIEF OF AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION,
AS AMICUS CURIAE

The Interest of the American Civil Liberties Union

The American Civil Liberties Union is an organization
devoted to the protection and expansion of the guarantees
contained in the Bill of Rights. Beeause this proceeding
involves a member of the Communist Party, we believe
that it is pertinent to state our views regarding the
Communist Party. The American Civil Liberties Union
as a champion of civil liberties is opposed to any govern-
mental or economic system which denies fundamental civil
liberties and human rights. It is therefore opposed to any
form of the police state or to any single party state and
any movement in support of them, whether fascist,
Communist, or known by any other name. In opposing
these dictatorial or totalitarian systems, the Union takes

»
no position on their economic, social, or political practices
or policies not affecting civil liberties.

From the inception of the House Committee on
Un-American Activities, the American Civil Liberties
Union has consistently opposed it both because its very
existence in our view constitutes a threat to freedom of
expression and association by the nature of its mandate,
and also because its procedure has been so arbitrary and
guided largely by personal whim and political prejudice.

We take the opportunity to file this brief because the
ease at bar presents for the first time for decision the issue
of whether the exercise of the powers said to have been
conferred upon the Committee is consistent with the
Constitution. This is the only question with which this
brief is concerned.

Statement

Petitioner was indicted for violating 2 U.S.C. $192
(1946) in that, having been summoned to testify before
the Committee on Un-American Activities of the House of
Representatives (hereinafter called the ‘*Committee’’)
created pursuant to Publie Law 601, $121, 79th Congress,
and House Resolution 5 of the House of Representatives,
80th Congress, upon matters of inquiry committed to said
Committee, he wilfully defaulted in that he refused to be
sworn when so directed (R. 214-215). Petitioner was
found guilty, and sentenced to imprisomment for one vear
and fined one thousand dollars (R. 229). The Court of
Appeals for the District of Columbia sustained the convic-
tion (R. 233), Judge Prettyman, dissenting (R. 241). A
petition for a writ of certiorari was granted November 8,

1948 (R. 253).

POOR COPY
BLEED THROUGH

The Facts

Petitioner, a political refugee, came to this country in
June, 1941 as an alien in transit to Mexico (R. 95, 114).
He offered to prove that he was admitted to the
United States on August 6, 1941 (R. 114), that he never
applied for, nor received, a change in status (R. 95). Peti-
tioner made repeated efforts to leave this country (R.
116), and offered to prove that his numerous applications
were denied (R. 97). He was a national of Austria, and
had never registered as an enemy alien (R. 87, 117).

A process server for the Committee telephoned peti-
tioner at his home on January 24, 1947 and informed him
that he had a subpoena to serve on petitioner for the
Committee requiring petitioner’s presence on February 6,
1947; petitioner arranged to await the process server at
his home and to accept service (R. 24, 120). Thereafter,
petitioner arranged for his appearance before the
Committee by preparing a written statement to be read
after he was sworn (R. 111, 122, 131, 139), consulting coun-
sel (R. 122), purchasing railroad tickets to Washington
(R. 111, 122), and reserved hotel rooms in Washington
(R. 122).

Thereafter, petitioner was arrested on a presidential
warrant as an enemy alien by two Security Officers under
Presidential Proclamation 2526, dated December 8, 1941
as ‘‘dangerous to public peace and s”-ty of the public
peace’’ (R. 82, 89, 91, 123).

It is petitioner’s claim th. his arrest was solely to
effectuate his appearance before the Committee (R. 89,
100, 213).

At the hearing petitioner offered to prove that the Com-
mittee brought him before it to harass and punish him for

4

his political beliefs and not to interrogate him upon any
matter relevant to the inquiry committed to the Committee
by Congress (R. 101-102, 119, 134, 135). The proffer was
rejected. He also offered to prove that the Committee
practice was to permit counsel to confer with his client
but not to permit the attorney to speak (R. 107).

When called upon to be sworn, petitioner stated that he
desired to make a three minute statement before taking the
oath (R. 43-45). The transcript of the record before the
Committee reveals that petitioner said at first ‘‘l am not
going to take the stand’* (R. 43). However he claimed that
he was interrupted and intended to complete the statement
by adding ‘‘before | make a few remarks’’ (R. 129).
Although the claim of interruption was disputed by the
Committee's investigator (R. 151), the latter failed to
indicate how he could determine whether petitioner had
completed his answer. At any rate, within the succeeding
few seconds, petitioner stated no less than five times that
he would take the oath upon making his three minute
statement (R, 43-47).

Petitioner offered to prove that he was advised by
counsel to make his objections to being sworn before he
took the oath (R. 149-150). The Chairman of the Com-
mittee testified that this was the proper procedure (R. 49).
Petitioner had made some notes on his alleged illegal
arrest and the improper action of the Committee (R, 112,
127). He had these notes in his hand and intended to use
them to object to the legality of his being sworn (R. 137-
138). Petitioner offered to prove that his objections to
the legality of his being sworn were based upon his un-
lawful arrest, detention and transportation to Washington
for a purpose not within the scope of the inquiry which
the Committee was authorized to conduct, that he had

POOR COPY
BLEED THROUGH

5)

insufficient opportunity to consult counsel and desired an
adjournment to do so, and that the Committee had sub-
poenaed petitioner to harass and punish him for his politi-
cal beliefs and to prevent his departure from this country
(R. 73, 134-135).

The Chairman of the Committee did not know what peti-
tioner was going to state in his three minute statement and
did not inquire (R. 50). Petitioner intended only to state
his objections to being sworn (R. 133), and offered to
prove the content of his objections for the purpose of
proving his intent to be sworn and to testify after stating
his objections (R. 72, 133, 135).

The Issue

The sole issue with which this brief #s concerned is the
constitutionality of the mandate of the House Committee
on Un-American Activities. It is our contention that the
broad powers given to the Committee to inquire in.o
opinions, beliefs, and associations are precisely those the
framers of the Constitution intended to prohibit by the
First Amendment. Furthermore, the terms of reference
are so vague and meaningless as to require condemnation
on those general principles which have heretofore com-
pelled the courts to strike down dragnet statutes.

a

for)

POINT |

The First Amendment prohibits Congress from com-
pelling revelation of opinions whose expression it may
not restrain.

Before reaching the discussion of the attack upon the
mandate of the Committee on its face, we wish to note
that we are not raising the question of the standing of
the petitioner to raise this issue, nor whether the peti-
tioner was called to punish and harass him for his political
beliefs. It is our view that the existence of the power to
inquire into opinions gives standing to challenge the
Committee by anyone called before it.

A. Freedom to be silent.

The freedom of speech protected by the First Amend-
ment is more than an abstract right to speak how and
when the spirit moves. [It is a function of the philosophy
which knows no absolute standard for what is right and
wrong, and which relies in the search for wisdom upon
the ability of an idea to obtain acceptance after competi-
tion with others in the marketplace of public opinion.
(Holmes, J., dissenting in Abrams v. United States, 250
U. S. 616, 630-631 (1919)). The First Amendment there-
fore establishes procedural rules consistent with this
philosophy for the moulding of publie opinion and of
legislation itself. Those rules protect expressions of
opinion on matters of public concern from governmental
interference in the absence of an immediate likelihood
that these expressions will themselves produce serious
substantive evils.

POOR COPY
BLEED THROUGH

Ye

7

The compulsory enunciation of orthodox views is pro-
scribed as a complete negation of free speech, which is a
mechanism for obtaining the expression and comparison
of conflicting opinions. West Virginia State Bd. of Edu-
cation Vv. Barnette, 319 U. S. 624 (1943). Not only previous
censorship, but subsequent punishment is prohibited, where
the speech in question relates to matters of public concern,
for punishment and the threat of punishment operate to
restrain the free expression of views. By the same prin-
ciples, the revelation under governmental compulsion of
opinions and ideas concerning publie policies violates the
First Amendment.

Much wisdom has emanated from brave leaders, but the
world’s wisdom and the nation’s progress owe something
to the timid too. Where public matters are in issue, the
transitory majority provides no insurance of ultimate
truth, and final acceptance has often been achieved by
ideas hesitantly advanced, initially ridiculed or even
brutally suppressed. The world of ideas would be im-
poverished indeed if dissenters could not limit their voices
to their immediate circle of friends, their own organization
or whatever group they select for audience; if the unpopu-
lar could be required to account publicly for their private
views, or to express themselves before a wider and hostile
audience. For these reasons, forced confession burdens
and restrains freedom of expression, and the free cireula-
tion of ideas.

The rights protected by the First Amendment run
against the Federal Government and all of its organs.
A Committee of the Congress is a governmental hody,
its action is that of the government, and its activity is
subject to the limitations of the First Amendment as is
that of any other Federal body. Cf. West Virginia State
Board of Education v. Barnette, supra.

B. The resolution establishing the Committee must be
tested on its face.

There are no doubt certain limited areas within which
the Federal Government may constitutionally restrain
speech falling within the scope of the First Amendment.
Congress may not, however, enact legislation which in-
cludes, but goes beyond, the constitutionally permissible
restraints. And when Congress has ig so, by statute,
a party affected thereby may challenge the statute on its
face, and is not required to demonstrate that Congress
could not, by a statute more narrowly drawn, impose the
same restraint complained of in the particular cireum-
stances of his case. Thornhill vy. Alabama, 310 U. 8. 88,
97, 105 (1940); Carlson v. California, 310 U. S. 106, 111
(1940); Schneider v. New Jersey, 308 U. S. 147, 163-165—,
(1939) ; Hague v. C.I.0., 307 U. 8. 496, 516 (1939); Lowell
v. Griffin, 303 U. S. 444, 450 (1938); Herndon v. Lowry,
301 U. S. 263 (1937); Stromberg v. California, 283 U. 8.
359 (1931). The reasons of policy which operate to free
persons complaining of the violation of their rights under
the First Amendment from the procedural limitations of
their own cases are as applicable to the Resolution con-
stituting the Committee as in any of the cases in which
the doctrine has been enunciated and applied.

The reasoning of the cases just cited derives from the
fact that restrictive legislation, carrying criminal penal-
ties, has a power to coerce compliance by its very presence
on the books. Legislation purporting to restrict speech
which cannot constitutionally be restrained may be an
efficient muffler, though unconstitutional. It is a funetion
of our natural desire to be let alone that not all of us
are anxious or willing to be test cases. Unless statutes

POOR COPY
BLEED THROUGH

9

imposing excessive restraints are declared invalid irre-
spective of their application in particular cases, the legis-
lature has little reason to limit restraining laws to con-
stitutionally permissible perimeters.

Of course, testing a statute on its face merely means
that its constitutionality must be determined by its possible
applications and not necessarily its application to the
facts of the case in which the constitutional issue is
raised. The statute must still be interpreted, and it is
the wording of the statute as interpreted by the Court
which is tested on its face. Chaplinsky vy. New Hampshire,
315 U. S. 568. In the case of a Federal statute, the
United States Supreme Court not only makes the final
determination as to constitutionality, but also as to inter-
pretation. And the Court has strained to interpret
Federal statutes so as to render them constitutional to
the extent of disregarding statements on the floor of the
Senate made by the Committee Chairman who was in
charge of the bill and a co-author of it, United States v.
C1.0., 68 8S. Ct. 1349, although such extrinsic aids are
deemed to constitute authoritative guides to Congressional
intent when a constitutional issue is not involved. Riggs
v. Del Drago, 317 U. S. 95; American Chicle Co. v. United
States, 316 U.S. 450.

The authoritativeness of such extrinsic aids as state-
ments by the Chairman of the Committee reporting a
bill and by the person in charge of a bill on the floor rest
upon the assumed reliance by members of Congress upon
those statements in voting upon the bill. No doubt, a
certain amount of fiction and convention enters into that
assumption, but it appears to be a reasonable one, and
one better calculated to arrive at the intent of the indi-
vidual members of the legislature who voted for the bill

10

than the subjective predilections of the judges interpreting
it without such an aid. When a constitutional issue is
raised, however, comity between the branches of govern-
ment has led the Court to prefer the fiction that Congress
intended the statute to be constitutional to the semi-fietion
that the members of Congress relied upon the explanation
of the Committee Chairman and floor leader.

But how far can this Court carry such fictions as the
former in the interests of comity? In the instant case the
House Resolution authorizing the inquiry did so in broad,
undefined terms which permitted the Committee to roam
at will in the field of social, religious and political beliefs,
and the Committee did so. The Committee's abuses did not
go unnoticed, but, on the contrary, were subjected to wide
publie debate, to scholarly inquiry and to many debates
on the floor of Congress during the course of reenactment
of the Resolutions. Yet, the resolutions were reenacted
without change. That Congress actually approved the
Committee’s interpretation as evidenced by its conduct is
not a fiction. It is the reality which arises from years of
struggle, and it cannot be tossed aside as a fiction in favor
of a more compelling fiction. The Resolution and _ its
history will now be detailed briefly.

The Special Committee on Un-American Activities (here-
inafter referred to as the ‘‘Committee’’) was established
by House Resolution 282, 75th Cong., 83 Cong. Ree, 7568"
for the purpose of conducting an investigation of

* This Resolution has heen re-enacted without change as H.R. 26,
76th Cong., Ist Sess., 84 Cong. Rec. 1098, 1128 (1939); H.R. 321,
76th Cong., 3rd Sess., 86 Cong. Rec. 572, 605 (1940) ; H.R. 90, 77th
Cong., Ist Sess. ; 87 Cong. Rec. 886, 899 (1941) ; H.R. 420, 77th Cong.
2nd Sess., 88 Cong. Rec. 2282, 2297 (1942); H.R. 65, 78th Cong.
Ist Sess., 89 Cong. Ist Sess., 91 Cong. Rec. 10,15 (1945), These are
hereinafter referred to as the “Resolution”.

POOR COPY

a ak al oe Bie at Le eo eee

ll

“(1) the extent, character. and objects of an-
American propaganda activities in the United States,
(2) the diffusion within the United States of sub-
versive and un-American propaganda that is insti-
gated from foreign countries or of a domestic origin
and attacks the principle of the form of government
as guaranteed by our Constitution.”’

A refusal to answer any question or produce any paper
relevant to the inquiry is rendered a criminal offense by
the statute under which the petitioner was convicted. See
Kraus & Bros. v. United States, 327 U.S. 614 (1946).

In the course of debate on re-enactment, the Committee's
investigation was criticized as having been excessively
broad, and attempts were made to limit the breadth of the
resolution.* The re-enactments without change must
therefore be deemed to constitute an approval of, and
ratification by, the Congress of the Committee’s interpre-
tation of the permissible scope of its investigations.
Douglas v. Comm’ r, 322 U.S. 275 (1944). The Committee’s
work has already been subject to scholarly serutiny, and it
stffices to quote from one of these studies to obtain light
on the seope of the investigation authorized :

The work of the Committee, in its nine vears of
existence, offers very little indication that the Com-
mittee itself had any clear idea about the seope of
its authority. Its reports have commented on the
meaning of ‘Americanism’, but the meanings sug-
gested have varied greatly, and they were never put
forth as standards controlling its inquiries. The

*83 Cong. Rec. 7567-7686 (1938); 84 Cong. Rec. 1098-1128
(1939): 86 Cong. Rec. 572-605 (1940); 87 Cong. Rec. 886-900
(1941); 88 Cong. Ree, 2282-2297 (1942); 89 Cong. Rec, 721-730,
795-810 (1943) ; 91 Cong. Rec. 10-14 (1945) ; 92 Cong. Rec. 7720-
7728 (1946).

12

first emphasis was on ‘Americanism’ as the recog-
nition of ‘the existence of a God and the all-
important fact that the rights of man are derived
from God * * *.’ The next report concentrated on
groups which ‘seek to change the policies and form
of Government of the United States in accordance
with the wishes of * * * foreign governments.’
(Note, 47 Columbia Law Rev. 418).

**A later report said that the Committee’s en-
deavor was ‘to determine whether the persons under
investigation have the interest of the United States
Government at heart * * *.’ Other criteria which
the Committee or its agents have from time to time
suggested as indicative of activity within the scope
of its inquiries are: opposition to ‘the American
system of checks and balances,’ opposition to the
protection of property rights, belief in dictatorship,
opposition to the Franco government of Spain,
opposition to General MacArthur, advocacy of a
world state, advocacy of the dissolution of the
British Empire, criticism of members of Congress,
and criticism of the Committee on Un-American
Activities.’’ (Id. pp. 422, 423).

Thus the Congress has authorized the Committee to re-
quire the disclosure on pain of criminal punishment, of
opinions on such diverse matters as the existence of God,
protection of property rights, the Franco government of
Spain, General MacArthur, the British Empire, and of
members of Congress. Free expression and exchange of
ideas with respect to all of them is guaranteed by the First
Amendment.

As we have said, compulsory revelation of opinion be-
fore the Committee, particularly where the opinions are
unpopular, burdens the free expression of such opinions,
and statutes restricting constitutionally protected speech,
though invalid, exercise coercive powers by their appear-

POOR COPY

pas ere e ~{. Ss ses eee ree

13

ance of authority. To the extent that the Resolution pur-
ports to authorize a compulsory revelation of political
opinion having no relation to clear and present danger of
substantive evils such as would warrant restrictions on
their expression, it restrains and burdens the expression
of such opinions outside the Committee room in violation
of the First Amendment. Moreover, since the Resolution
does not define the investigation in terms of expressed
powers of Congress, and since the witness may refuse
to answer if the matter is not pertinent to an inquiry Con-
gress may lawfully authorize in aid of one or another of
its legislative powers, Kilbourn v. Thompson, 103 U. S.
168, the witness is put te the task of determining, whether
the evidence demanded is pertinent to any possible exer-
cise of Congressional power. The witness is thus required
to assume the burden of mental review of all of those
powers, and to assume the risk of contempt, if the evi-
dence demanded is, in one sense or other, pertinent to any
one of them. Because this is so, the witness, rather than
risk prosecution may disclose information which the Com-
mittee has no right to exact. Since such compulsory dis-
closure is threatened by the Resolution itself, the Resolu-
tion in this way, too, operates to burden speech. For as
we have said, the dissenter who may be called to account
before a hostile audience may prefer silence altogether.
A nation which relies in its search for truth upon the free
circulation of ideas cannot afford to put the price of dis-
sent so high.

14

POINT Il

The First Amendment is violated because the reso-
lution provides improper standards.

A. The terms of reference are too vague.

At the outset the terms of reference under which the
Committee has been directed to operate are so vague as to
authorize any action which prejudice may inspire. What
is ‘* Un-American”’ and ‘‘subversive’’ is so debatable that
no fixed meaning can be ascribed to those words. We do
not think we need to quote the multitude of articles
appearing in many magazines and law journals which give
color to our views. Certainly from the variety of investi-
gations undertaken by the Committee as noted on page

, supra, it is quite clear that Congress itself could
fix no area for such variable terms.

We also call the Court’s attention to a recent article
which points up the dangers inherent in governmental
activity in the field of opinion and association where the
terms of reference are vague and indefinite. Emerson and
Helfeld, ‘‘Loyalty Among Government Employees’’, 58
Yale Law Journal, 1.

B. The mandate authorizes investigations on matters
beyond the powers of Congress to investigate.

The resolution of the very basic problem posed by this
case will depend on an accommodation of conflicting societal
interests, both very real and very pressing. We assert, on
the one hand, ‘‘the right to be let alone—the most compre-
hensive of rights and the right most valued by civilized

POOR COPY
BLEED THROUGH

Es)

men.’ (Brandeis, J. dissenting, Olmstead v. United States,
277 +U. S. 438, 478). The Government will assert the
importance of the right of Congress freely to ascertain any
and all facts relevant to its legislative function. Both sides
may concede the importance of the right asserted by the
other, but both will deny it countervailing weight. We have
asserted that if there is conflict between the two, the rights
of the individual must prevail within the area of opinion.
Beyond this, we believe that a determination in this case
that the Constitution does not permit petitioner’s convie-
tion to stand will safeguard the constitutional rights of
individuals without impairing in any significant respect
the legitimate power of Congress to educate itself to the
nation’s needs, |

We may assume arguendo that the right of silence differs
in some degree from the right to speak as guaranteed by the
First Amendment, and that the restraint imposed on speech
hy compelling speech may be justified as an incident of
the inquisitional power when the information sought is
desired in connection with a legitimate Congressional
inquiry. But if this Court should so hold, it could do so
only after striking a balance of competing considerations-
the legislature's need for information on the one side, and
the interest in having speech free from restraint, direct, or
indirect, on the other. We submit that in making that
judgment in this case, the failure of the Resolution to
limit the scope of the inquiry to such matters as might be
relevant to Congress’ power to legislate requires the bal-
ance to be struck in favor of freedom, and not in favor of
authority. We maintain, in other words, that if the justi-
fication for burdening speech is to be found in Congress’
power to inquire in aid of legislation, then that justification

fails where not even minimum precautions have been taken
to insure that the inquiry is indeed conducted for that
purpose.

The Resolution carves out an area of human activity—
and specifically the area of speaking, writing, and public
assembly on political issues—and launches a general inves-
tigation in that area. The area is one in which Congress’
competence to legislate is highly limited, and in which the
opportunities and temptations for inquisitorial abuses are
many (as the Committee’s history shows). The Resolu-
tion does not direct the investigators to assemble such
facts as might be relevant to some or any legislative
power. It does not direct the Committee to determine
whether there exists a political movement for violent over-
throw of the Government, or whether the morale in the
armed forces is being undermined. On the contrary, the
Resolution, in terms and effect, authorizes an investigation
into a large segment of American life without any attempt
to limit the investigators to paths of inquiry consistent
with the limited powers of Congress in the area under
scrutiny.

It will be said that we must presume that the House
authorized the inquiry for the purpose of collecting infor-
mation it desired in aid of its legislative function. We
may assume this to have been the purpose without con-
ceding that the Resolution as drafted limits the Committee
to the effectuation of that purpose. Need we presume
also that the Committee, in execution of its authority
under the Resolution, limits its investigation to the dis-
covery of such information as might be helpful in legis-
lation? We think not, not merely because that would be
contrary to fact, but rather because the Resolution directs
the Committee to undertake a general investigation with-
out imposing any such limitation.

POOR COPY
ELEED THROUGH

7

It may be argued that Resolution is not too broad, and
that the House could have determined that any and all
information within the scope of the investigation author-
ized would or might be relevant to some one of its powers
to legislate. We have already indicated that we do not
helieve this to be so, but making allowance for possible
error, we will concede this point too for the moment. But
in that view, hardly any aspect of life within the
United States, however private, would he without some
hearing, however slight, on some power of Congress. It
may well be, therefore, that there is nothing so sacred
or so private as to he beyond Congress’ power to inquire.
The difficulty here would then lie not in any lack of rele-
vance in the subject-matter of the inquiry to some possible
exercise of legislative power, but in the failure to provide
standards which would provide some measure of insur-
ance that the inquiry into that subject matter is being
conducted for a legitimate purpose.

No Congressional investigation can or will ever dis-
cover and catalogue all of the minutiae of American life.
Congressional investigations are, or should he, the work
of practical men, seeking solution to practical problems,
not adventures in curiosity into the merely interesting or
remotely relevant. Investigation is necessarily a selective
process, and selection necessarily implies criteria. The
general course which the investigators will take, even the
specific questions they address to witnesses, will be deter-
mined in large part by the standards of selection provided.
If those standards are not rooted in some more or less
specifie power to legislate, especially where that power
is highly limited in the area of the investigation, and that
area is as broad as in this case, the investigators must
needs proceed along the lines indicated by their ecommis-
sions. without reference to the deficiencies of power. And

Is

that, we may remark, is precisely what this Committee has
done.

We have already stated that the Committee, in requiring
witnesses to profess their political affiliations and beliefs,
burdens the free expression of political ideas. If the First
Amendment permits this when the burden is a practical
concomitant of the legislative process, we do not believe
that it does so when no such relationship exists. And, we
submit, inasmuch as the Resolution does not direct the
investigation to proceed in terms of the limited competence
of Congress in the area of investigation, no constitutional
justification exists for the burden imposed on the rights
of free speech, press and public assembly.

POINT Ill

Section 192, as applied, violates the Fifth Amend-
ment.

The statute petitioners were convicted of violating
makes it a crime to refuse to produce evidence before a
Congressional Committee ‘‘upon any matter pertinent to
the inquiry.’’ The matter under inquiry before the Com-
mittee was defined only by the Resolution. We submit
that the vagueness of the language used in the Resolution
to define the scope of the inquiry make it next to impos-
sible for the witness to determine whether matter de-
manded is or is not pertinent to the inquiry. To the
extent that Section 192 incorporates the terms of the Reso-
lution, as it must, it provides no reasonably ascertainable
standard of guilt, and conviction thereunder constitutes
a violation of the due process clause of the Fifth Amend-
ment. Musser v. Utah, 333 U.S. 95; Winters v. New York,
333 U.S. 507.

In addition to the problem of determining whether par-
ticular matter is pertinent to the inquiry as defined by the

POOR COPY
BLEED THROUGH

19

Resolution, the witness, from the Government’s point of
view, has the additional task, already remarked upon, of
determining whether the matter demanded is pertinent to
any inquiry Congress might constitutionally authorize.
The witness may lawfully refuse to answer if the matter
is not pertinent to an inquiry Congress may lawfully
authorize in aid of one or another of its legislative powers,
Nilbourn v. Thompson, 103 U. S. 168. In making his deei-
sion to answer or to refuse to do so from this viewpoint,
the witness finds no help in the Resolution, which refers
lim to no specific power in Congress as the basis for the
investigation. Evidence within the scope of the investi-
gation as defined by the Resolution may or may not be
pertinent as regards any or all of those powers, but the
witness is made liable to fine and imprisonment if his
mental search fails to detect the pertinency of the matter
demanded of him to one of any number of undisclosed
powers of Congress. In this respect too, Section 192, as
applied, does not provide standards of guilt sufficient to
satisfy due process.

CONCLUSION

We respectfully urge that this Court declare uncon-
stitutional the mandate of the House Un-American
Activities Committee.

Respectfully submitted,

American Civi, Linerties Union,
Amicus Curiae.

Artuur Garrietp Hays,
Counsel.
Osmonp K. FRAeNKEL,
EMANUEL Gorpox,
of the New York Bar,

of Counsel.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385610_0380%3A16. Public record. Not legal advice.
