# Appellants Brief — King v. Priest

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385610_0257%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appellants Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1948
- **Citation:** 333 U.S. 852

## Text

F=3 26 1948

SRAALIS ILOORE GROPLEY
OLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES.

OCTOBER TERM, 1947.

DANIEL KING, ROBERT GOLDSMITH, )
ALBERT DALLAS, JOHN R. JUDGE,
TOBIN ANDERSON, JULIUS HOFF,
CHESTER WALK, JOHN ROONEY
and FRANK DEMPSEY, for and on
Behalf of Themselves and All Other
Patrolmen, Sergeants and Turnkeys
of the Metropolitan Police Force of
the City of St. Louis, Similarly
Situated, Appellants,

VS.

H. SAM PRIEST, THOMAS H. COBBS,
FRANCIS L. GEORGE, BEN L.
LIBERMAN and ALOYS P. KAUF-
MANN, Constituting the Board of
Police Commissioners of the City of
St. Louis, Appellees. )

Appeal from the Supreme Court of the State of Missouri.

APPELLANTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
DISMISSAL OF APPEAL.

/ S. D, FLANAGAN,

E. D, FRANEY,
506 Olive Street,
St. Louis 1, Missouri,
Attorneys for Appellants.

v

Sr. Louis Law Parintine Co., 415 North Eighth Street. CHE antral 4477.

coccesevddsaeeecvecerossetssresree™

Argument ......---seccrreeeerereseceersereseeeree®
(a) Rule 23, Section 342 of the Police Manual is a
‘‘Statute of a State’’ within the meaning of Sec.
237 (a) of the Judicial Cede. .ccccccccccsveces
(b) The appeal does involve a substantial federal
question as to the validity of Rule 23, Section
349 of the Police Manual......----++++++++++:

Cases Cited.

Brownwell v. Russell, 76 Vt. 326, 57 A. 108.....-000-

C. J. Hendry Co. v. Sematovich, 316 U. S. 643, 86 L. Ed.
1728, 62 S. Ct. 10381. .... 0. eee eeeeeeeccsectrssees
Carter v. Thompson, 1935, 164 Va. 312, 180 S. E. 410..
City of Jackson v. McLeod, 199 Miss. 676, 24 So. (2d)
319, certiorari denied 399 U. §. 863, 90 L. Ed. 1633,
66S. Ct. 1368 ....cec cece ee eeeeececeeercesserers

City of Springfield v. Clouse, 206 S. W. (2d) 539... .4,5,9

Congress of Industrial Organizations v. City of Dallas,
198 S. W. (2d) 148.....-- eee ee ere eeerreeeeeeeees
Ex Parte Curtis, 106 U. S. 371, 97 L. Ed. 232, 1 S. Ct.
GON _ .ccccccccssccescesoccesccaseossosonsvoveose
Fraternal Order of Police v. Harris, 306 Mich. 68, 10
N. W. (2d) 310, cert. den. 321 U. S. 68, 88 L. Ed.
1076, 64 S. Ct. TL... . ee cee eeeeerereeeerteresees

Frederick v. Owens, 1915, 35 Ohio Cir. Ct. R. 538... 10
Hutchinson v. Magee, 1923, 278 Pa. 119, 122 A. 34... 10

John P. King Mfg. Company v. City Council of Au-
gusta, 277 U. S. 100, 72 L. Ed. 801, 48 S. Ct. 197....

ii

McAuliffe v. Mayor of City of New Bediord, 155 Mass.

Ste Be Oia Te MIE Anode duececdeccceveeuedcseeses 10
Perez v. Board of Police Commissioners, City of Los
Maan, TH FOO. CBE). Gai scccccccvccccvcsescess 9

Seattle High School, Chapter No. 200, v. Sharples,
1930, 159 Wash. 424, 293 P. 994, 72 A. L. R. 1215. ..9, 10
State ex rel. Kennedy v. Remmers, 340 Mo. 126, 101

| SAS nee r aren 3
United Public Workers v. Mitchell, 330 U. S. 75, 91
Ss f 8 2g ee eee 7
United States v. Wurzbach, 280 U. S. 396, 74 L. Ed.
SS Ae Ms Da tin bnbebuseceeddescescencccey: 8
Statutes Cited.
Constitution of the United States, First and Fourteenth
DEE HnndDih dadctencaecesaeesteeessececed 6
Judicial Code, Sec. 237 (a) (c)..........eccceeees 2, 3,10
Se EE CED A EE ccc ecttcoccucecctcéccvadsce

ELEED THROUGH ~— POOR COPY

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES.

OCTOBER TERM, 1947.

DANIEL KING, ROBERT GOLDSMITH, )
ALBERT DALLAS, JOHN R. JUDGE,
TOBIN ANDERSON, JULIUS HOFF,
CHESTER WALK, JOHN ROONEY
and FRANK DEMPSEY, for and on
Behalf of Themselves and All Other
Patrolmen, Sergeants and Turnkeys
of the Metropolitan Police Force of

the City of St. Louis, Similarly | No
Situated, Appellants, { ‘© °°"
vs.

H. SAM PRIEST, THOMAS H. COBBS,
FRANCIS L. GEORGE, BEN L.
LIBERMAN and ALOYS P. KAUF-
MANN, Constituting the Board of
Police Commissioners of the City of
St. Louis, Appellees. |

Appeal from the Supreme Court of the State of Missouri.

APPELLANTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
DISMISSAL OF APPEAL.

OPINIONS BELOW.

The opinions of the Supreme Court of the State of
Missouri in this cause are reported in 206 S. W. (2d) 547.

Since appellees in their statement of suggestions making
against the jurisdiction of this court are in effect asking
for a dismissal of the appeal heretofore allowed herein, ap-
pellants are filing this brief in opposition to such dismissal.
Inasmuch as in our statement as to the jurisdiction of
this court, particularly sections (e) and (f) thereof, we
have fully stated why we believe this court has jurisdic-
tion, we shall not repeat the arguments there set forth,
but shall endeavor to confine ourselves to replying to the
contentions of appellees in their statement.

(a)

Rule 23, Section 342 of the Police Manual, Is a ‘‘Statute
of a State’ Within the Meaning of Sec. 237 (a)
of the Judicial Code.

Appellees in their statement contend that since Rule 23,
Section 342 of the Police Manual, prohibiting members of
the Metropolitan Police Force from belonging to a union,
applies only to members of the force, and is not of general
application, it is not a ‘‘statute of a state’’ within the
meaning of Sec. 237 (a) of the Judicial Code. However,
we find nothing in the decisions of this court which would
thus restrict its jurisdiction. One of the leading cases de-
fining the term ‘‘statute of a state’’ is John P. King Mfg.
Company v. City Council of Augusta, 277 U. S. 100, 72
L. Ed. 801, 48 S. Ct. 197, where this court said:

‘*Any enactment from whatever source originating,
to which a state gives the force of law, is a statute of
the state, within the meaning of the clause cited re-
lating to the jurisdiction of this court.’

Appellees admit that municipal ordinances have been
considered ‘‘statutes of a state’’ by this court, since they

ELEED THROUGH — POOR COPY

a

are enacted by the municipal legislative bodies under au-
thority of power delegated to them by state legislatures.
A rule adopted by the Board of Police Commissioners of
the City of St. Louis under authority delegated to it by
Sec. 7695, R. S. Mo. 1939, was likened to an ordinance of
a municipality by the Supreme Court of Missouri in the
ease of State ex rel. Kennedy v. Remmers, 340 Mo. 126,
101 S. W. (2d) 70, 72. Consequently, a decision of the
Supreme Court of Missouri sustaining the validity of
such a rule should be reviewable by this court as in the
case of an ordinance of a municipality.

The challenged rule was adopted under authority of the
State of Missouri, and has the force of law just as if a stat-
ute to the same effect had been adopted by the legislature
of Missouri, for the rule must ‘‘be obeyed by the police
force on pain of dismissal or such lighter punishment * * *
as the board may adjudge.’’ Sec. 7695, R. S. Mo. 1939.
If a statute had been adopted by the Missouri legislature
embodying the substance of the rule, certainly this court
would have jurisdiction to review a decision of the Su-
preme Court of Missouri upholding it, and we are unable
to perceive how the fact that the rule was adopted by ap-
pellees’ predecessors in office, pursuant to authority dele-
gated to them by the legislature, can deprive this court
of such jurisdiction.

If, however, this court feels that an appeal does not lie
in this case, we respectfully pray that the papers on which
the appeal was allowed be regarded and acted on as a
petition for certiorari, and that certiorari be granted.
Sec. 237 (c) of the Judicial Code, as amended. 28 U.S. C. A.
344 (c). C. J. Hendry Co. v. Sematovich, 316 U. S. 643, 86
L. Ed. 1728, 62 S. Ct. 1031.

var Fu

(b)

The Appeal Does Involve a Substantial Federal Question
as to the Validity of Rule 23, Section 342
of the Police Manual.

Appellees contend that since a number of state courts
have upheld rules similar to Rule 23, Section 342 of the
Police Manual, and the decision of the Supreme Court
of Missouri was unanimous in sustaining the rule, this
appeal does not raise any substantial federal question. Ap-
pellees also cite decisions of this court in which restric-
tions on the right of civil service employees engaging in
political activities have been sustained. The question as
to whether a state or a municipality may prohibit its offi-
cers or employees from belonging to a labor union without
violating their rights under the Constitution of the United
States, however, has never been decided by the Supreme
Court of the United States, and we respectfully submit
that it should be in view of the numerous cases arising
and which are likely to arise in which the right to join
unions is or will be asserted by such officers or employees
under their rights of freedom of speech, assembly and
petition guaranteed to all persons by the First and Four-
teenth Amendments to the Constitution of the United
States. After all, the final determination of the rights of
such state and municipal employees under the federal con-
stitution is a matter for this court, and the sooner this
court authoritatively determines the same, the better for
all persons concerned.

The Missouri Supreme Court, en Banc, in the case of
City of Springfield v. Clouse, 206 S. W. (2d) 539, decided
concurrently with the case at bar, while holding that public
officers and employees do not have the right of collective
bargaining with their employers, nevertheless does recog-
nize that public officers and employees generally do have

rreen he wien: . npomnnrano eo

— we

the same rights as other citizens to organize and bring
their problems to the attention of public officers and legis-
lative bodies. We quote from the decision of the court
(1. ¢. 542):

‘This ruling does not mean, as defendants’ counsel
seem to fear, that public employees have no right to
organize. All citizens have the right, preserved by
the First Amendment to the United States Constitu-
tion and Sections 8 and 9 of Article 1 of the 1945
Missouri Constitution, Sections 14 and 29, Art. 2, Con-
stitution of 1875, to peaceably assemble and organize
for any proper purpose, to speak freely and to pre-
sent their views and desires to any public officer or
legislative body. Employees had these rights before
Section 29, Article 1, 1945 Constitution, was adopted.
See Allen-Bradley Local No. 1111, United Electrical,
Radio & Machine Workers of America v. Wisconsin
Employment Relations Board, 237 Wis. 164, 295 N. W.
791, affirmed 315 U. S. 740, 62 S. Ct. 820, 86 L. Ed.
1154; Amalgamated Utility Workers v. Consolidated
Edison Co., 309 U. S. 261, 60 S. Ct. 561, 84 L. Ed. 738.
Organization by citizens is a method of the demo-
cratic way of life and most helpful to the proper
functioning of our representative form of government.
It should be safeguarded and encouraged as a means
for citizens to discuss their problems together and to
bring them to the attention of public officers and
legislative bodies. Organizations are likewise help-
ful to bring public officers and employees together to
survey their work and suggest improvements in the
public service as well as in their own working condi-
tions. Our General Assembly has even provided by
statute for an organization of all trial and appellate
judges of this state to consider and discuss the work
of the courts and make recommendations for legisla-
tion. See Judicial Conference Act of 1943, Laws 1943,

a

p. 514, Mo. R. S. A. 2039.1-2039-8. Organizations of
other state, county and municipal officers are well
known and have long been recognized as serving a
useful purpose. Nevertheless, the organization and
activity in organizations of public officers and em-
ployees is subject to some regulation for the public
welfare. See United Public Workers v. Mitchell, 330
U. S. 75, 67 S. Ct. 556, 91 L. Ed. ...; Oklahoma v.
United States Civil Service Commission, 330 U. S.
127, 67 S. Ct. 544, 91 L. Ed. ...; King v. Priest, Mo.
Sup., 206 S. W. 2d 547, and cases therein cited. This
is because a public officer or employee, as a condition
of the terms of his public service, voluntarily gives
up such part of his rights as may be essential to the
public welfare or be required for the discipline of a
military or police organization.

‘Therefore, we start with the proposition that
there is nothing improper in the organization of
municipal employees into labor unions; and that no
new constitutional provisions were necessary to au-
thorize them.’’

The Missouri Supreme Court, however, in the case at
bar, has denied appellants the right to organize, which it
says is the right of public officers and employees generally,
on the grounds that such denial in the case of policemen
is necessary for the public welfare. We have referred
in section (f) of our statement as to the jurisdiction of
this court to the decisions of this court which hold that
the rights of freedom of speech, assembly and petition
guaranteed by the First and Fourteenth Amendments are
susceptible of restriction only to prevent grave and imme-
diate danger to interests which the state may lawfully
protect. The opinion of the Missouri Supreme Court in
the case at bar fails to point out what grave and imme-
diate danger to interests which the state may lawfully

ELEED THROUGH — POOR COPY

=

protect arises from membership of appellants in a union
such as the one involved in this case. The record discloses
that Local No. 549 does not have the right to strike, and
Article III of its Constitution, which can never be
amended, provides that the duties of members of the
union as members of the Police Force shall come first and
be superior to any obligation to the local, the American
Federation of State, County or Municipal Employees or
to any other organization, and that all members are
obliged at all times to perform their duties as members
of the police foree diligently « A faithfully and without

partiality or prejudice It soparent, therefore, that this
union does net , of an ordinary
labor unior ganization
of member ciatence #0
fhat its ° sranteed
to ther eace
ably a 0 heir
views «A «?
wh anewe
thes
Sur 4 o "
this i
and
prot ‘
of pul
right w
kind of
this purpos ; pur
pose could not hy the union
which appellants hav

As we have stated, this court has never passed on the

constitutional questions involved in this case. Appellees
contend that the cases of United Publie Workers v. Miteh-
ell, 330 U. §. 75, 91 L. Ed. 509, 67 8. Ct. 556; Ex Parte

Curtis, 106 U. S. 371, 27 L. Ed. 232, 1 S. Ct. 381, and
United States v. Wurzbach, 280 U. S. 396, 74 L. Ed. 508,
50 S. Ct. 167, in which this court has upheld restrictions
on political activities of federal officers and employees, are
authority for lack of jurisdiction of this appeal. We sub-
mit, however, that these cases do not decide the questions
involved in the case at bar so that this court should de-
cline to take jurisdiction for lack of a substantial federal
question.

Appellants have cited a number of cases in which vari-
ous appellate courts have upheld restrictions on the right
of police, firemen and other public employees to become
members of labor unions. Many of these cases, however,
do not consider or pass on the constitutional questions
raised by appellants in this case. Thus, in Fraternal
Order of Police v. Harris, 306 Mich. 68, 10 N. W. (2d) 310,
no federal questions were raised so far as appears from
the opinion of the court. This was sufficient reason for
this court to deny certiorari. 321 U. S. 68, 88 L. Ed. 1076,
64 S. Ct. 781. Furthermore, the resolution of the Board
of Police Commissioners complained of in the Michigan
ease did not prohibit patrolmen from joining the plaintiff
organization, but only prohibited the taking in of asso-
ciate members who were not police, but members of the
general public, and required that membership in the union
be limited to members of the police department below
' the rank of sergeant.

Likewise in City of Jackson v. McLeod, 199 Miss. 676,
24 So. (2d) 319, certiorari denied 322 U. S. 863, 90 L. Ed.
1633, 66 S. Ct. 1368, the majority opinion of the court did
not discuss the constitutional questions raised in the case
at bar, and it appears that this court was justified in
denying certiorari, since no federal questions were passed
upon. Furthermore, there was a strong dissentine orinion
filed in this case by McGehee, J. The Jackson case is not

eT ees Eee ek | nomnnn nny

_—

in point on the facts either, as the court there laid great
stress on the pledge taken by members of the union in-
volved, whereby they pledged themselves ‘‘at all times to
bear true and faithful allegiance to the American Federa-
tion of State, County and Municipal Employees and to the
labor movement in general.’’ This pledge does not exist
in the case at bar. Members of Local 549, on the other
hand, are bound by Article III of the Constitution of the
local to place their duties as members of the police force
first, and their obligation as such members of the force
is superior to any obligation to the union or any other
organization.

The cases of Perez v. Board of Police Commissioners,
City of Los Angeles, 178 Pac. (2d) 537, and Congress of
Industrial Organizations v. City of Dallas, 198 S. W. (2d)
143, decided respectively by the District Court of Appeals,
Second District, Division 1, of California, and by the Court
of Civil Appeals of Texas, being decisions of intermediate
appellate courts of those states, are certainly not such
authorities as should foreclose this court from inquiring
into the federal questions raised herein by appellants.
Furthermore, the Dallas case is directly in conflict with
the decision of the Missouri Supreme Court in the case of
City of Springfield v. Clouse, supra, as the Court of Civil
Appeals of Texas in the Dallas case upheld an ordinance
which prohibited all officers and employees of the City of
Dallas from belonging to any labor union, whether affili-
ated with an outside organization or not, and thus denied
all such officers and employees their fundamental right to
organize which the Missouri Court said all citizens have,
including public officers and employees, subject to some
regulation for the public welfare.

Appellees in their statement of suggestions making
against the jurisdiction of this court cite Seattle High

School, Chapter No, 200, v. Sharples, 1930, 159 Wash. 424,
293 P, 994, 72 A, L, R, 1215; Frederick v. Owens, 1915, 35
Ohio Cir, Ct. R, 538; Hutchinson v. Magee, 1923, 278 Pa.
119, 122 A, 234; Carter v. Thompson, 1935, 164 Va. 312,
180 S, E. 410; McAuliffe v. Mayor of City of New Bedford,
155 Mass. 216, 29 N, E, 517, and Brownwell v. Russell, 76
Vt. 326, 57 A. 103. We are familiar with all these cases
and have read them carefully. In none of them were the
same constitutional questions raised and passed on as in
the case at bar. Consequently they are not such authori-
ties as should be even persuasive on the substantiality of
the federal questions raised in this appeal.

Appellants respectfully submit that Rule 23, Section
342 of the Police Manual, is ‘‘a statute of a state’’ within
the meaning of Sec. 237 (a) of the Judicial Code so that
this Court has jurisdiction to review the judgment of the
Supreme Court of Missouri upholding it; that the federal
questions raised are substantial, and that this Court should
accordingly take jurisdiction of this appeal.

Respectfully submitted,

S. D. FLANAGAN,
EK. D. FRANEY,
506 Olive Street,
St. Louis 1, Missouri,
Attorneys for Appellants,

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385610_0257%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
