# Opposition Brief — Southwestern Bell Telephone Co. v. Lee

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385610_0199%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1940
- **Citation:** 311 U.S. 609

## Text

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES.

CUARLES ELWOat CROPLEY

CLERK

SOUTHWESTERN BELL TELEPHONE )

COMPANY, a Corporation,

Appellant,
v.

CARRIE C, LEE,

Appellee.

> No. 29 9.

APPELLANT’S BRIEF
IN OPPOSITION TO MOTION TO DISMISS AND
IN SUPPORT OF THE JURISDICTION
OF THIS COURT.

E, W, CLAUSEN,
BLAKE DOWNIE,
JOHN MOHLER,
\ EDW. B. DOWNIE,
Attorneys for Appellant.

Sareea RRneneae
Sr. Louis Law Putntine Co., 415 North Eighth Street. CE ntral 4477.

INDEX.
Page
I. The historical origin of this case..........+++++: 1
L The nature of this case.........eeeeeeeeeeeeeees 5
J. The constitutional questions in this case under an
adjudication of unreasonableness of the rule..... 8
1. The denial of due process in a legislative pro-
COCMING 6... cece cee ee eee eee eee eeeeeeeeeeees 8
9. The denial of due process in a judicial proceed-
IM ccc ccc ccc vecccecesceeeeeseeeeeseseseess 13
3. The denial of due process in penalizing under
one statute for conduct required by another.. 14
V. The basis of decision in this case is unreasonable-
ness of the’ rule........ceeeeeee eee ewer eeeereees 19
V. The constitutional questions in this case aside from
the adjudication of unreasonableness of the rule.. 21
1. The Court’s various interpretations of the pen-
alty statute render it unconstitutional in appli-
COUIOR cccccccccccevccccecevevecscccsorceres 21
(a) By withdrawing the need for compliance
with the rule........eeeeeeeeeeeeerrreee 21
(b) By penalizing appellant for acts of its cus-
UOUMOTD ccccccvccccccccceocsccvoerceress 23
(c) By requiring criminal conduct of appel-
amd .ccccoccccccvesesececsssccceesseees 25
VI. The federal questions were presented in due time. 25
Cases Cited.
Abbott v. Tacoma Bank of Commerce, 175 U. 8. 409.. 13
American Land Co. v. Zeiss, 219 os & Seer 13
14

Carlson v. Washington, 234 U. S. 103, 223 U. 8. 573...

ee ii

Cedar Rapids Gas Light Co. v. Cedar Rapids, 223 U. 8,

Pein pebeyesvccercnssuséesséencunsévebevainl l4
Chicago ete. R. Co. v. Minnesota, 134 U. 8. 418....... 13
City of Fort Smith v. Department of Public Utilities,

oF S 8: | kf. 5 eee 5, 19
eee G, Ge, TP Whe Wb Bi occ cececccccccectecas 14
Great Northern R. Co. v. Sunburst Oil & Refining Co.,

Se Wie GE SN ee Ver eevesUdduee seuseivavicevn 26
Herndon v. Georgia, 295 U. S. 441.................. 2%
Ohio Bell Teleph. Co. v. Comm., 301 U. S. 292....... 13
Prentis v. Atl. Coast Line Ry. Co., 211 U. S. 210...... 9
San Diego Land Co. v. National City, 174 U. S. 739.. 13
Saunders v. Shaw, 244 U.S. 317..................... 26
Southern Pac. R. Co. v. Schuyler, 227 U. S. 601....... 14
Southwestern Bell Telephone Company v. Oklahoma,

Fo cdckwsnd cede vis¥eece cvdedeneaad, 9
Southwestern Tel. & Tel. Co. v. Danaher, 102 Ark. 547,

I i kc i ee 16, 17, 18, 22, 23
Southwestern Tel. and Tel. Co. v. Danaher, 238 U. §.

Gl. ti cckebe bisnencodtadeuccks éenvadassbundoinne 16
Southwestern Tel. & Tel. Co. v. Sharp & White, 118

eS HO ON UG Wins kdcededeees cétvuccnicns 20, 21
Texas ete. R. Co. v. Abilene Cotton Oil Co., 240 U. §.

Se Me oendesubates ebudaonbkoodscceds 100 coder tian. 11
Twining v. New Jersey, 211 U. S. 78................ 13
Ward v. Krinsky, 260 U. &. S08. ..........cccccceces 23
West Ohio Gas Co. v. Comm., 294 U.S. 63........... 13

Statutes Cited.

Pope’s Digest of the Laws of Arkansas:

—

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES.

SOUTHWESTERN BELL TELEPHONE )
COMPANY, a Corporation,

Appellant,

v. i TR esc cewers

CARRIE C. LEE,

Appellee. |

APPELLANT’S BRIEF
IN OPPOSITION TO MOTION TO DISMISS AND
IN SUPPORT OF THE JURISDICTION
OF THIS COURT.

I. THE HISTORICAL ORIGIN OF THIS CASE.

In running its telephone business in Arkansas, the
appellant (which will hereafter often be called the com-
pany) makes its services available at all its exchanges for
the payment of a flat monthly charge. As in all other
pricing systems the appellant found need for defining the
quantity of service that would be provided for the flat
rate.

a

The amount of service that the appellant offers to give
for the flat price is defined (as the Arkansas Utilities Act
requires) by a rule and regulation filed with the Depart.
ment of Public Utilities, as the regulatory commission jg
there called. The particular rule that accomplishes this
essential purpose in this instance is known as paragraph
V-C of the section on ‘Rules and Regulations Applying
to All Subscribers’ Contracts”’ in the appellant's **General
Exchange Tariff’’ filed with the Department in obedience
to the statutory injunction. This paragraph reads;

“USE OF CUSTOMER SERVICE—Customer tele.
phone service, as distinguished from public and semi-
public telephone service, is furnished only for use by
the customer, his family, employees or business asso-
ciates, or persons residing in the customer’s house.
hold, except as the use of the service may be extended
to joint users. The Telephone Company has the right
to refuse to install customer service or to permit such
service to remain on premises of a public or semi-
public character when the instrument is so located
that the public in general or patrons of the customer
may make use of the service. At such locations, how-
ever, customer service may be installed, provided the
instrument is so located that it is not accessible for
public use.’’

This rule, it may be noted, in reality is comprised of two
rules. The first confines the use of the service to be fur-
nished for the flat rate to the customer, his family, his
employees and business associates; the second provides a
practical means by which the company may reasonably
assure itself that the use of the service is so confined. In
a sense the second part of the rule, permitting the com-
pany to locate the flat rate telephones in places inaccessi-
ble to the public generally, is superfluous, although it has
been found helpful by the company in dealings with its
customers. The restriction of the service to the specified

re EN

users is the true rule, and if the company is persuaded
that the customer will in fact observe the restriction, and
is constantly in position to prevent the unauthorized use
of the service, then no occasion would exist for requiring
an inaccessible location of the instrument. On the other
hand, a compliance with the company’s request for an in-
accessible location would in no sense constitute a compli-
ance with the essential rule of confinement of use. A cus-
tomer might well make an inaccessible installation of a
telephone in a back room and then flagrantly violate the
company’s tariff rule by a general invitation of the public
to feel free to make unlimited use of the concealed tele-
phone.

The need for this rule defining the amount of service
that will be given for the flat rate is adequately, though
perhaps not fully, explained in the report and order of the
Department of Public Utilities incorporated in this record
(Tr. Il, 19-32).

While the company recognizes, of course, that variations
of use will oceur between different customers, by the in-
evitable functioning of averages, the company rather cer-
tainly knows what it is selling for the flat rate when the
rule of paragraph V-C is applied. The variations are in-
herent in the flat rate system which up to now has been
found to be the most desirable for the appellant’s tele-
phone system throughout five states. The rule, however,
establishes a limit to the variations which in its absence
would be greater.

The flat rates in the telephone business are in the same
category as the pricing systems exemplified by ‘‘all you
ean eat for 50 cents,”’ or ‘‘all the lemonade you can drink
for a nickel.’’ In each case the ‘‘you’’ means one per-
son—not the whole world or any collective part of it. The
same would be true as to flat rates for water. Mr. Jones
contracts with ‘the water company for water supply at his
home at the fixed rate of $2.00 per month. With Mr. Jones’

Se eee Oe

Ane REN PUM ~

poe Oe

permission, his next-door neighbor, Mr. Brown, connects
his hose to Mr. Jones’ hydrant, and makes use of all the
water he wants. Of course, the water company would not
be expected to continue to supply at the flat rate of $2.00
per month all the water used by both. And so it is in the
telephone business—hence the rule.

Now the company has long known that some of its cus-
tomers in trade, such as the plaintiff, wanted to have a
telephone that their own customers or passersby might
use, and the company has also wanted to make some pro-
vision for the telephone needs of those who have no regu-
lar service and those who are on the streets. In order to
meet this demand, the company provides what it calls
semi-public service, the use of which is not affected by the
rule of confinement, V-C. The traditional semi-publie
service is the familiar coin-box service—measured service
—which is paid for as it is used—by the public or by the
customer, as the case may be, at a nickel a call. In
Fayetteville, however, where this case originated, an addi-
tional, and somewhat unusual, form of semi-public service
is offered. It is furnished at the filed tariff flat rate of
$7.00 a month ($10.50, at the time of the origin of this
case) as compared with the flat rate for customer service,
to which the rule applies, of $3.50 a month. This semi-
public flat rate has the effect of withdrawing the rule of
con.unement in return for the larger stipend. In that kind
of service the subscriber is at liberty to have his instru-
ment located anywhere, and to permit unlimited use of the
service by anyone who happens in. The desire for this
type of service seems to be based on some notion that it
possesses advertising value—that it fetches in trade or
potential trade.

The difficulties of enforcing this rule, with the infrac-
tions occurring on the customer’s premises, are obvious,
of course, and for some time the company was somewhat

seems
oo ‘aan

neglectful of its enforcement. Several years ago, however,
enforcement activities were renewed, and resistance was
encountered in some quarters owing, as the company be-
lieves, to a lack of understanding of the need for the rule.
This unpopularity eventually resulted in the passege of an
ordinance (under the dual form of regulation obtaining in
Arkansas) having the effect of doing away with the rule
at Fort Smith. This ordinance was taken by the company
before the Department of Public Utilities for review under
the statutory procedure, and after hearing the Department
ordered the company to reinstate the rule and to enforce
it vigorously throughout the state (Tr. II, 19-32). Upon
appeal ultimately to the Supreme Court of Arkansas, the
Department’s order was declared to have been validly
made within the Department’s statutory authority (City
of Fort Smith v. Department of Public Utilities, 195 Ark.
513, 113 S. W. [2d] 100).

The company’s efforts to enforce the rule at Fayette-
ville in obedience to the Department’s order resulted in
another ordinance—this time to the effect that service of
the semi-public character must be given at a flat rate,
rather than a measured rate, if the customer insisted upon
it. The company thereupon established a charge for this
type of service—flat rate semi-public service—and filed
its schedules containing the new rate with the Department,
as the statute requires.

So much for the history leading up to this case which
the appellant believes should contribute to a full under-
standing.

Il. THE NATURE OF THIS CASE.

The plaintiff asked the appellant to furnish her with
telephone service at her eating house on the campus of
Arkansas University at Fayetteville. She wanted to pay
the usual flat rate for customer service, but she advised

— §—

the company, upon its inquiry, that she would permit, and
would not refuse, the use of her service by her patrons and
other visitors at her place of business (Tr. Il, 4a, 5, 7),
She refused, in other words, to comply with the appel-
lant’s rule applying to customer service, and in doing so
the effect of her request was for semi-public service, to
which the rule does not apply, at the lower rate for cus-
tomer service. The company refused this request, and the
plaintiff went without telephone service when she rejected
the offers of other types of service at the established
tariff rates.

The plaintiff then brought this lawsuit to recover the
penalties provided by section 14261 of Pope’s Digest of the
laws of Arkansas, reading:

‘*DISCRIMINATION—PENALTY. Every telephone
company doing business in this State and engaged in
a general telephone business shall supply all appli-
cants for telephone connection and facilities, without
discrimination or partiality, within ten days after
written demand therefor; provided, such applicants
comply or offer to comply with the reasonable regu-
lations of the company, and no such company shall
impose any condition or restriction upon any such
applicant that are (is) not imposed impartially upon
all persons or companies in like situations; nor shall
such company discriminate against any individual or
company engaged in lawful business by requiring as
condition for furnishing such facilities that they shall
not be used in the business of the applicant, or other-
wise, under penalty of one hundred dollars and five
dollars per day for each day from the expiration of
such notice until said demand is complied with or suit
is instituted for failure to comply with such demand,
for such discrimination, after compliance or offer to
comply with the reasonable regulations and time to
furnish the same has elapsed, to be recovered by the
applicant whose application is so neglected or re-
fused ° ° 9,

ce Bee

The plaintiff contended that a discrimination was prac-
ticed against her by the company’s refusal to give her the
service she wanted, at the rate she wanted to pay, because
other customers of the company were receiving such a
service at such a rate. Her contention, of course, was the
equivalent of a contention that she should not be held to
a compliance with the rule because she could produce some
other customers of the appellant who were violating the
rule, and who were, ipso facto, violating their contracts
with the company.

The penalties of the statute were assessed against the
appellant for its refusal to meet the plaintiff’s demand,
although the appellant was actually obliged by law to do
as it did. In common with all other regulatory acts that
the appellant knows anything about, the Arkansas Utili-
ties Act requires all rates, and all rules and regulations
affecting the rates, to be filed with the Department of
Public Utilities, and under the pains of the penalities else-
where provided in the act, requires that the rates so filed
shall not be departed from. The appellant, accordingly,
had no alternative but to charge the $10.50 flat rate which
it had on file with the Department in its tariff for the
semi-public service which the plaintiff was demanding.
Furthermore, under the provisions of the Utilities Act the
appellant was not at liberty to disregard the order of the
Department requiring it to enforce its rule confining the
use of customer service.

All through the case, at every stage, the plaintiff readily
acknowledged that the reasonableness of the rule was not
under attack, and with a welcomed frankness her counsel
repeat this acknowledgment in their statement opposing
the jurisdiction of this court (p. 4). It is not surprising,
therefore, that no evidence concerning the reasonableness
of the rule was presented at the trial. The plaintiff ap-
parently agreed, in the appellant’s opinion, that under the

statutes, of Arkenaes, the rearnahlanasn Yi. the rile -was
not subject to collateral attack.

But in spite of the absence of any issue respecting the
subject between the parties, and in spite of the absence
of any evidence, the supreme court gave its attention to
the rule and declared it unreasonable and unenforceable,
and by a divided court affirmed a judgment for penalties
for that very reason. Such an unprecedented action is so
much at odds with the accepted notions of fair play that
it is hound to be offensive to the Fourteenth Amendment
to the federal Constitution—and this result comes about
in the ways we shall now undertake to demonstrate.

Ill. THE CONSTITUTIONAL QUESTIONS IN THIs
CASE UNDER AN ADJUDICATION OF UNREA.
SONABLENESS OF THE RULE.

1. The Denial of Due Process in a Legislative
Proceeding.

From beginning to end the opinion and decision of the
Arkansas court operate to take the appellant's property
and to deny due process of law to the appellant. Indeed,
even the court’s approach to the problem so operates con-
trary to the Constitution; and this subject is as good a
one as any to begin with, even though it may not furnish
the most shocking example of the unconstitutional hard-
ships imposed upon the appellant. Briefly, the court ap-
proached a solution of the case by way of performing a
legislative act, not a judicial act—by declaring the appel-
lant’s rule unreasonable—and by thus issuing an order
establishing a future rate for a public utility service,
Under the circumstances of this case, and upon a consid-
eration of the statutes of Arkansas, this action of the
court denies the appellant due process of law.

The regulation of the rates of public utilities is a legis-

‘atirve frnction.,even. when. nerformed by the courts (South-
western Bell Telephone Company v. Oklahoma, 303 U. S.
206; Prentis v. Atl. Coast Line Ry. Co., 211 U. S. 210).
The court’s decision that the appellant’s rule, V-C, defin-
ing the amount of service to be provided for the estab-
lished rate, was unreasonable (and therefore unenforce-
able) necessarily constituted a rate order. Every rule
affecting a rate would appear inevitably to be a part of
the rate, and surely the rule here concerned was a part
of the rate. The rule designated the class of persons—the
customer, his family, and business associates—who were
entitled to receive the customer service for the applicable
customer rate. In declaring the rule unreasonable, the
court enlarged to infinity the class of persons who might
employ the service, and thus increased the amount of
service which must be given for the same rate. The en-
largement of the service that must be provided for any
given rate is the precise equivalent of the reduction of the
rate for any given service. Furthermore, by rubbing out
the application of the rule to customer service, the court
automatically reduces the appellant’s flat rate for semi-
publie service down to the lower customer rate. The ap-
plicability of the rule to the customer service and not to
the semi-public service is the only distinction between the
two classes of service.

The Arkansas statute, in its definition of a ‘‘rate’’ also
recognizes that a rule affecting a rate is a part of the rate.

‘“The term ‘rate’ when used in this Act, means and
ineludes every compensation, charge, fare, toll, rental
and classification or any of them, demanded, observed,
charged or collected by any public utility for any
service, products, or commodity offered by it as such
publie utility to the public, and any rules, regulations,
practices or contracts affecting any such compensa-
tion, charge, fare, toll, rental, or classification’’
[Pope’s Digest, section 2064 (e)).

=

The legislative regulatory power nowadays is custom-
arily delegated to administrative commissions with pro-
vision for judicial review of the lawfulness of their orders
by direct proceedings in the courts. This is the procedure
established by the Arkansas Utilities Act (Pope’s Digest,
section 2064 et seq.). The legislative power is delegated
to the Department of Public Utilities, and the courts are
invested with jurisdiction in a direct proceeding to deter-
mine whether the Department ‘‘has regularly pursued its
authority’’ [section 2097 (d)]. The statute (clearly
enough, it would seem) does not delegate any legislative
authority to the courts, but confines their jurisdiction to a
simple yea or nay answer to the question of the Depart-
ment’s order having been reached in accordance with its
statutory authority.

As we have said earlier, the jurisdiction of the Depart-
ment legislatively to determine the reasonableness of the
appellant’s rule was invoked some two years before the
ease at bar was brought, and, after hearing, the Depart-
ment confirmed its reasonableness and ordered the rule
enforced. Upon appeal, eventually reaching the Supreme
Court of Arkansas, that court sustained the order of the
Department as validly made in its legislative capacity.
City of Fort Smith case, supra. The court in that case,
however, was not concerned with the reasonableness of
the rule. The appellant there contended only that the
Department had no authority whatever in the premises to
issue any order, and did not contend that the order which
was issued was unreasonable and therefore beyond the
Department’s statutory authority, which is limited to the
prescription of such rules only as are reasonable.

Under the circumstances, in the case at bar, the action
of the Supreme Court of Arkansas in adjudging the ap-
pellant’s rule to be unreasonable effects a deprivation of
appellant’s property without due process of law contrary
to the Fourteenth Amendment in each of two ways:

—E_

—

(1) There is no statute in Arkansas empowering the
court to act legislatively, as we have demonstrated the
court did act. The Assembly has never aelegated any
such authority to the court; and indeed it would appear
to have been prevented from doing so by Article IV, sec-
tion 1 of the Constitution of Arkansas, pertaining to the
separation of powers. Despite, then, the want of any dele-
gation of legislative authority, the court vssays a legisla-
tive act, dubs it a judgment, and employs its judicial
power of execution of its judgments to enforce its spurious
legislative order. This procedure 80 offends the tradi-
tional concepts of the orderly processes of law as to con-
stitute a taking without due process. Due process of law,
in its simplest meaning, cannot embrace the unexpected
promulgation of a legislative order by a judicial tribunal
without delegated authority, followed by the judicial exe-
cution of the legislative order against the property of the
appellant.

(2) If it be assumed that the Supreme Court of Arkan-
sas, by some undiscoverable statute, does possess legisla-
tive power to regulate ultility rates, then the manner of
the exercise of that power by the court in this case also
denies the appellant due process of law. The appellant
was afforded no notice of attack, even the forbidden col-
lateral attack (Texas etc. R. Co. v. Abilene Cotton Oil Co.,
240 U. S. 426), on the reasonableness of its rule, and was
afforded no hearing thereon. The Arkansas court in its
own opinion (140 S. W. [2d] 134 1. ¢.) conceded that the
issue of reasonableness had not been tendered at the trial.

The court said:

‘*We are by no means forgetful that appellant has
argued the issues upon this appeal solely upon mat-
ters or questions of fact, asserting and assuming as
they apparently have a right so to do, under the
record in this case, that because the reasonableness

—x,

of the foregoing rule was not questioned by appellee,
it may not properly be so considered in this litigation,
This is so contended on account of the fact that both
in the Lee case and in the Hanna case, counsel for the
appellees have argued that the cases may be settled
upon questions of fact duly presented without a con-
sideration or determination on the part of this court
of the reasonableness of the rule offered as a part of
appellant’s defense.

‘*Ordinarily we would feel ourselves bound by such
limitations as the plaintiffs themselves may have felt
impelled to recognize in the decision of any rights
they may have asserted in any matter wherein those
rights were purely personal or individual.

‘*In this matter, however, there are more than
individual rights involved. The telephone company is
a public service utility, having a monopoly of the
service it renders in Fayetteville, where these suits
originated, and whatever rules it may announce must
be considered not as an all-controlling force, or to
possess the nature of a statutory enactment, but as
regulatory, merely, of the business of the corporation,
and that such regulation must be considered as cou-
pled inseparably, always, with the public interest.
Therefore, if rules are not reasonable they may not
be regarded as enforcible or as affecting the rights
of those who deal with the telephone company.”’

=

The plaintiff also, with consistent frankness, even
through her motion to dismiss here, has concurred in the
appellant’s charge that the issue of reasonableness was
never raised.

Consequently, of course, no evidence of the reasonable-
ness of the rule was ever offered, and none was before the
court when it surprisingly concluded that the rule was
unreasonable and that more service ought to be given for
the rate that was established to apply to a restricted
service.

The Supreme Court of Arkansas, accordingly, without

—

notice, without hearing, and without evidence, annulled
the appellant’s rule, which had been held reasonable and
ordered enforced by the valid order of the regulatory
Department. If any statute had ever authorized such an
action, that statute would be void as in contravention of
the Fourteenth Amendment, and a fortiori such an action
without the support of delegated authority possesses the
same vice in an aggravated degree.
Due process requires notice, and hearing, and evidence
in the legislative, regulatory process.
Chicago etc. R. Co. v. Minnesota, 134 U. S. 418;
San Diego Land Co. v. National City, 174 U. S. 739;
West Ohio Gas Co. v. Comm., 294 U. S. 63;
Ohio Bell Teleph. Co. v. Comm., 301 U. 8S. 292.

=—

2. The Denial of Due Process in a Judicial
Proceeding.

Even if the action of the Arkansas court in declaring
the rule unreasonable could in some way be regarded as a
judicial, rather than a legislative act, the denial of due
process is simply converted from a legislative denial to
the equally forbidden judicial denial. The rights guar-
anteed by the Constitution are as much protected against
a taking by an erratic judicial process as by a legislative
process. (See Abbott v. Tacoma Bank of Commerce, 175
U. 8. 409, in which it is said, “Tt is true * * * thata
state may not by any of its agencies, legislative, judicial,
or executive, disregard the prohibitions of that amend-
ment’’—and the cases hereafter cited.)

Notice and hearing, which were here lacking on the
issue of reasonableness of the rule, are as essential in the
judicial process as in the delegated legislative process
which we have discussed above. (See American Land Co.
y. Zeiss, 219 U.S. 47; Twining v. New Jersey, 211 U.S. 78).
Evidence, also, to support the conclusion reached is

——y

both wholly essential and wholly lacking (Carlson y.
Washington, 234 U. S. 103, 223 U. S. 573; Cedar Rapids
Gas Light Co. v. Cedar Rapids, 223 U. S. 655; Southern
Pac. R. Co. v. Schuyler, 227 U. S. 601; Fiske v. Kansas,
274 U. S. 380).

3. The Denial of Due Process in Penalizing Under One
Statute for Conduct Required by Another.

Perhaps the most shockingly unconstitutional result of
the declaration of unreasonableness of the rule is the im-
position of penalties against the appellant under one stat-
ute because of the compliance with another.

The very conduct of the appellant which the court,
through declaring the rule unreasonable, has used as the
excuse for inflicting penalties upon the appellant was actu-
ally twice enjoined upon the appellant by the Utilities
Act—and in no uncertain terms.

As we have said in our preliminary explanation of this
case, the appellant had incorporated its rate of $10.50 for
flat rate semi-public service in its tariffs for Fayetteville
which were filed with the Department of Public Utilities,
as the statute requires, and which were received in evi-
dence in this case. When the plaintiff declined to confine
the use of the service she was requesting in accordance
with the rule applying to customer service, her demand
was necessarily converted into one for the semi-public
class of service to which the rule does not apply. Under
the Utilities Act the appellant, in these circumstances, was
not at liberty to do anything other than it did; namely, to
refuse the demand for semi-publie service at the $3.50 rate
for, customer service, and to offer the service at the ap-
plicable semi-public rate of $10.50 contained in the filed
tariff, which was in turn refused by the plaintiff.

The section of the Utilities Act requiring this behavior
of the appellant reads:

— 14

‘‘No public utility shall directly or indirectly, by
any device whatsoever, charge, demand, collect or
receive, from any person, a greater or less compensa-
tion for any service rendered, or to be rendered by
such public utility, than that prescribed in the sched-
ules of such public utility, applicable thereto then
filed in the manner provided in this Act, nor shall any
person receive or accept any service from a public
utlity for a compensation greater or less than that
prescribed in such schedules’’ (Pope’s Digest, section
2075).

~—

Furthermore, as we have also said before, the appellant
was obliged to apply its rule by an existing formal order
of the Department which the Arkansas Court in the Fort
Smith case had already held to have been validly promul-
gated within the Department’s proper authority. This
order has never been set aside to this day, and it probably
never will be if the court ever gives its attention to the
evidence justifying the rule which may some day be be-
fore it, but which was not in this case.

The consequences, then, of a compliance by the appel-
lant with the plaintiff’s demand for service would have
been a two-fold violation of Utilities Act—a violation of
the statute forbidding any departure from the filed tariff
rates, and a violation of the Department’s order which the
appellant was bound to obey. Both of these violations
would have subjected the appellant to the criminal penal-
ties of the Utilities Act which are imposed by Pope’s Di-
gest, section 2121, as follows:

‘‘(b) Any person or corporation which violates any
provision of this Act or fails to comply with every
lawful order, decision, direction, rule or regulation
made or prescribed by the Department, or any part
or provision thereof, shall be deemed guilty of a mis-
demeanor and upon conviction, subject to a penalty

a= 16

of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 for
such offense.’’

The due process clause, of course, with its more ex:
meaning of fundamental justice and its simpler mea
of fair play, can never tolerate a situation where pena
are imposed under one statute because of conduct requ
by another. That is the appellant’s anomalous and i
tricable situation in this case. It elected to comply
the Utilities Act, and for doing so, it was thereupon
ished under the penalty statute. If it had elected to a
the latter result, it would have become immediately
ject to the punishments of the Utilities Act.

This case is more incongruous, more aggravated,
far harsher in result (largely owing to the presence
of the Utilities Act) than the earlier case under the Ar
sas penalty statute which this court reversed for unco
tutionality by a unanimous decision. Otherwise the
cases are virtually dead parallels. In Southwe
Tel. and Tel. Co. v. Danaher, 238 U. S. 482, appellant
enforcing a rule that applicants for new service sh
pay for service rendered in the past before the new se
was connected. In a suit for penalties under the p:
cessor of Pope’s Digest, Sec. 14261, arising out of
enforcement of this rule by the telephone company,
rule was held unreasonable by the Arkansas Court (8
western Tel. & Tel. Co. v. Danaher, 102 Ark. 547, 144 §
925), and penalties were allowed against the telep
company. The telephone company thereupon appeale
the United States Supreme Court on the ground th
Federal question was involved, since the constru
placed upon the penalty statute by the Arkansas «¢
was in conflict with the due process clause of the I
teenth Amendment to the Constitution of the U1
States, because the company was penalized for enfo1
a rule which it had every reason to think was reason

for each

e exalted
meaning
penalties
required
and inex.
ply with
pon pun-
to avoid
tely sub-

ted, and
nee now
» Arkan-
inconsti-
the two
western
lant was
+ should
' service
» prede-
of the
ny, the
(South-
48. W.
lephone
‘aled to
that a
ruction
s court
+ Four-
United
forcing
onable.

ox 17

In a unanimous opinion reversing the judgment of the
Arkansas Court, this Court said:

‘‘Of course, it is not open to us to revise the con-
struction placed upon the statute by the state court,
but it is open to us to determine whether the applica-
tion made of the statute in that instance was so arbi-
trary as to contravene the fundamental principles of
justice which the constitutional guaranty of due
process of law is intended to preserve. What, then,
are the circumstances in the light of which this ques-
tion must be determined?

‘*Regulations like that which the telephone com-
pany applied to the plaintiff were not declared unrea-
sonable by the statute. It left that matter entirely
open and to be determined according to general prin-
ciples of law. The state court did not hold otherwise.
The regulation, according to the rejected proof, was
adopted in good faith, had been uniformly and im-
partially enforced for many years, and was imparti-
ally applied in this instance. There had been no de-
cision in the state holding or indicating that it was
unreasonable. Like regulations often had been pro-
nounced reasonable and valid in other jurisdictions
and while some differences of opinion upon the subject
were disclosed in reported decisions, the weight of
authority was on that side. * * *

‘*If it be assumed that the state legislature could
have declared such a regulation unreasonable, the fact
remains that it did not do so, but left the matter
where the company was well justified in regarding
the regulation as reasonable and in acting on that
belief. And if it be assumed that the company should
have known that the Supreme Court of the state, in
the exercise of its judicial power, might hold the regu-
Jation unreasonable, even though the prevailing view
elsewhere was otherwise, the question remains
whether, in the circumstances, penalties aggregating
$6,300, could be imposed without departing from the
fundamental principles of justice embraced in the
recognized conception of due process of law. In our

x —

opinion the question must be answered in the >
tive. There was no intentional wrongdoing, no de-
parture from any prescribed or known standard of
action, and no reckless conduct. Some regulation
established a mode of inducing prompt payment of
the monthly rentals was necessary. It is not as if the
company had been free to act or not, as it chose. It
was engaged in a public service which could not be
neglected. The protection of its own revenues and
justice to its paying patrons required that something
be done. It acted by adopting the regulation and then
impartially enforcing it. There was no mode of
judicially testing the regulation’s reasonableness in
advance of acting under it, and, as we have seen, it
had the support of repeated adjudications in other
jurisdictions. In these circumstances to inflict upon
the company penalties aggregating $6,300 was so
plainly arbitrary and oppressive as to be nothing
short of a taking of its property without due process
of law’’ (citing cases).

Thus, according to the unequivocal language of this
court, it is obvious that in the instant case the Arkansas
Court, in penalizing appellant for acting pursuant to a
rule thought to be reasonable, has deprived appellant of
its property without due process of law, and that, in order
to do so, the Court employed that same line of faulty and
injudicious reasoning which was so severely criticized in
the Danaher case.

Realizing, no doubt, that the Danaher case is almost a
dead parallel for the instant case, and that its doctrine
disposes of the question of jurisdiction herein, appellee
attempts to distinguish the two on the ground that when
the Danaher case arose the predecessor of Section 14261,
supra, provided for penalties of $100.00 per day instead
of $5.00 per day as now provided. Appellant is unaware
of any distinction, so far as this Court’s jurisdiction is
concerned, between taking its property without due proc-

——
a= 19

ess of law at the rate of $100.00 per day and at the rate
of $5.00 per day. Certainly, the Constitution itself does
not say that while $100.00 worth of property may not be
taken, $5.00 worth may be.

IV. THE BASIS OF DECISION IN THIS CASE IS
UNREASONABLENESS OF THE RULE.

While, as will appear hereafter, federal questions under
the Fourteenth Amendment, reviewable by this court, will
remain in this case even if the ground of the decision by
the Arkansas Court was not the unreasonableness of the
rule, the appellee’s assertion, in an effort to avoid the
plain implications of the Danaher case, that such was not
the rationale of the decision, but was mere, dictum, is
hardly allowable, as the following quotations from the
Court’s opinion will demonstrate:

‘This is not the first time that we have seen this
rule, but it is the first occasion on which the require-
ments of the rule and the reasonableness thereof have
been presented for our consideration. City of Fort
Smith v. Department of Public Utilities, 195 Ark. 513,
518, 113 S. W. (2d) 100”’ (Tr. I, 17).

“The agents for the telephone company by their
evidence argued that the standard type service, when
installed is for the sole use of the subscriber, whom
they call a customer, and the members of his family
and his employees, or members of the business organ-
ization. They argue also that if such customer per-
mits someone else to use the telephone he violates a
contract made for the installation of the instrument.
Such is the contention of the appellant company and
because that condition was not upheld by the trial
court, the appeal in these two cases is for the purpose
of setting aside and overturning the judgments of the

a

trial court. If under all the circumstances the con-
tention is reasonable, based on a fair and natural
classification of those who subscribed for and used
telephones, we think it becomes our duty to uphold
such contention as an established rule of the company,
but, if, on the other hand, the distinction or so-called
classification is artificial, arbitrary and without any
sound basis in fact, the law will not support it’’ (Tr,
I, 24, 25).

‘*e * © Therefore we think that the contention of
the telephone company and its local agents that each
telephone is located for the sole and exclusive use of
the subscriber, the members of his family, and his
employees, unreasonable, inasmuch as it fails to give
consideration to the physical properties or mechanics
of the telephone as well as the usual and ordinary
controlling purposes of those who install such instru-
ments in their places of business’’ (Tr. I, 25).

This quoted statement is followed by the Court’s reasons
therefor, which purport to show that such a rule is un-
fair, impractical and unreasonable, due to the nature of
the telephone business. The Court sums up as follows:

‘‘So it must appear, we think, that the classification
intended to be made by the telephone company, or its
agents, is without a sound basis in fact or reason”
(Tr. I, 27).

If there could be any doubt left that the decision herein
rests solely on the ground that the rule sought to be en-
forced was unreasonable, that doubt is removed and the
Court, in its discussion, at pages 921-2, supra, of South-
western Tel. & Tel. So. v. Sharp & White, 118 Ark. 541,
177 8. W. 25, makes itself absolutely clear that such hold-
ing is the basis of its decision, where it stated that the
Sharp & White case holds:

‘** * * the telephone company has the right to
make all reasonable rules and regulations for the oper-

enema

= =

ation and control of its business, and those who deal
with it must comply with such reasonable rules and
regulations, but this announcement may not be taken
as an unlimited authority on the part of the telephone
company to announce a rule, the effect of which would
result in reducing, impairing, or rendering an inferior
service with the same appliances and facilities used
in rendering the standard or regular service, and
thereby defeat the effect of regulatory statutes’’ (Tr.
I, 27-28). (Emphasis ours.)

Thus it is clear that the only manner in which the Court
even attempts to distinguish the Sharp & White case from
the instant case is that the rule in the Sharp & White case
was reasonable, whereas the rule sought to be enforced in
the instant case was held by the court to be unreasonable.

V. THE CONSTITUTIONAL QUESTIONS IN THIS
CASE ASIDE FROM THE ADJUDICATION OF
UNREASONABLENESS OF THE RULE.

1. The Court’s Various Interpretations of the Penalty
Statute Render It Unconstitutional in Application.

(a) By withdrawing the need for compliance with the
rule.

If the basis of the decision of the Arkansas Court had
not been that the rule was unreasonable, whatever other
basis which might have been adopted would have led
similarly to unconstitutional results, and the federal ques-
tions would have remained present in the case.

For example, if it could be said (as the appellee does)
that the court did not declare the rule unreasonable and
decide the case from that point of view, then it must be
said that the court so construed and applied the penalty
statute as to place the appellant in the same offensive
predicament, as earlier described, of suffering under one

————_y

statute for complying with another. If the court leaves
the rule (as it could scarely be said to do) with the find.
ing of reasonableness by the Department of Public Utili-
ties, the court in affirming the plaintiff’s judgment neces.
sarily so interprets the penalty statute as to read out of it
the plain requirement that the plaintiff, in order to main.
tain her case, must have offered to compiy with the rule;
because it has never been contended that she offered to
comply with the basic rule limiting the use of her de-
manded flat rate customer service to herself, her family,
and her business associates. While it was found, under
disputed facts here precluded, that the plaintiff offered to
comply with the subordinate rule respecting location of
the instrument, it was never suggested that she offered to
comply with the primary rule of restriction of her service,
In her own testimony she said both that she wanted the
service for use by “‘everybody’’ (Tr. II, 5) and that she
would deny the use to nobody who might ask for it
(Tr. II, 5).

With the statute se interpreted as to wipe ont the re-
quirement of compliance with the rule which we are now
assuming was not declared unreasonable, we are retarned
to the doctrine of the Danaher case. The oppressive, un-
just hardship imposed against the appellant by the appli-
cation of the statute as then interpreted—an interpreta-
tion that allows of the infliction of penalties for conduct
required by another statute—brings this case as surely
within the principles of the Danaher case as the unex-
pected declaration of the unreasonableness of the rule.

The appellant, of course, does not contend that the
penalty statute is unconstitutional per se, or in every ap-
plication; but the appellant would so contend if the statute
did not contain the requirement for compliance with the
rules which the court is now interpreting out of it. As
the section is now written, it would be easily reconcilable

with the Utilities Act so that the unconstitutional effect
here complained of would be avoided simply by interpret-
ing the ‘‘reasonable rules’? with which compliance is re-
quired as the rules on file with the Department as required
by the regulatory law. But the court’s interpretation is
quite otherwise, if it interpreted the section at all, and it
is this interpretation, and the application as interpreted,
that is repugnant to the restrictions of the federal con-
stitution.

This court, of course, takes jurisdiction to determine
the constitutional questions as readily when the complaint
relates to construction and application of a statute as
when it relates to an unalterable invalidity of a statute
under all circumstances. For authority on this proposi-
tion, Ward v. Krinsky, 259 U. S. 503, may be added to the
Danaher case.

(b) By penalizing appellant for acts of its customers.

Following on, if we continue to assume that the rule
was not declared unreasonable (as we can’t), and if we
further assume (as again we can’t) that the court would
not have needed to interpret the penalty statute in the
way of reading out the necessity for compliance with the
rule, the decision would even so continue to work a denial
of due process.

At the trial the plaintiff produced several witnesses who
testified that they permitted anybody to use their tele-
phone service which was furnished at the customer flat
rate. No evidence was ever produced that the appellant
ever knew of this practice of the witnesses who were put
on in an attempt to prove that the appellant had dis-
criminated in their favor against the plaintiff. All that
their evidence proved, of course, was that without the
knowledge of the company they were violating the rule in
repudiation of their contracts with the company which

— 244—

bound them to the observance of all the rules. All of the
presumptions of law are in favor of compliance with the
law and of performance rather than violation of compacts,
The appellant was entitled to rely upon its customers to
perform their contracts, and to observe the rules; and to
interpret the penalty statute as warranting the infliction
of penalties for the unanown violations of the rule by the
appellant’s customers, which necessarily occurred on the
customers’ own premises, is simply to add to the other
denials of due process. Under this interpretation it would
be impossible for appellant to avoid penalties by reason of
the derelictions of its customers except by forsaking its
constitutional right in the management of its business to
establish reasonable classifications, reasonable rules and
regulations, and reasonable rates.

There are hints, both in the court’s opinion and in the
appellee's statement, that the appellant might have known
of these violations of its rule because the telephones had
been in service in some instances for several years; but
the patent fact is that because the appellant installed and
maintained a telephone at any particular location is no
reason to believe that the company knew what use was
being made of it, or what use of it was being permitted
by the customer. In this connection it ought to be ob-
served that the company has many rules which it depends
upon its customers to comply with, but whose violations
occur on the customers’ premises and are seldom appre-
hended. A single example of this (out of many possible
illustrations) is the rule against the use of profanity and
kindred language on the telephone. Under the interpreta-
tion of the penalty statute in the decision in this case, the
appellant would suffer penalties for refusing telephone
service to an applicant who advised that he wanted it
almost exclusiveiy for the purpose of expressing himself
in obscenities, blasphemies, and profanities, if he could

cs epamamen

_—

produce someone else who would testify that unknown to
the company he had sometimes engaged in little cussing
on the telephone. It would appear to be perfectly plain
that that analogous case could not stand the test of the
Fourteenth Amendment. And neither can this one.

(c) By requiring criminal conduct of appellant.

Finally, even if (contrary to the record), the appellant
had deliberately violated the Utilities Act in consciously
permitting some customers to receive service at less than
tariff rates, and in consciously permitting them, in dis-
obedience to the Department’s order, to employ their
service in disregard of the rule, the appellant would be
prevented by the decision herein from reforming its
criminal behavior and complying with the Act thenceforth.
It would be forced to continue to violate the Act in order
to avoid the consequences of the penalty statute. It would
be forced to engage in a crime for the plaintiff’s gain be-
cause it had engaged in a crime for the benefit of someone
else. It would be compelled to multiply its criminal
offenses under the Utilities Act. It has probably never
hitherto been suspected that a statute could stand the test
of the Fourteenth Amendment when its application would
require the commission of criminal offenses because similar
criminal offenses had been committed earlier.

VI. THE FEDERAL QUESTIONS WERE PRESENTED
IN DUE TIME.

Since there was no decision in this case, the effect of
which would be to deny to appellant the equal protection
of the law and to take its property without due process
of law until the Supreme Court of Arkansas rendered its
opinion holding Rule V-C unreasonable, and since there
was no way in which appellant could anticipate such a

a oe

holding by said court, the federal questions were first pre-
sented in appellant’s petition for rehearing. A brief in
support thereof was also filed, calling the Court’s atten.
tion to the violation of the Fourteenth Amendment to the
Constitution of the United States. It is well settled that
a federal question raised at the first opportunity presented
in trial of the case through the various stages comes in
due time.

The raising of a federal question in a petition for re.
hearing does not come too late where the state court’s
ruling could not have been anticipated, and petition for
rehearing presented the first opportunity for raising the
federal question.

Herndon v. Georgia, 295 U. S. 441.

The federal question raised in a petition for rehearing
does not come too late where the grounds of the original
decision below supply a new and unexpected basis for the
claim, by the defeated party, of the denial of a federal
right.

Great Northern R. Co. v. Sunburst Oil & Refining
Co., 287 U. S. 358.

The raising of the federal question by assignment of
error, even after the denial of a petition for rehearing in
the highest court of the State, was permitted in Saunders
v. Shaw, 244 U. S. 317, under a situation somewhat analo-
gous to that in which appellant found itself in the in-
stant case. This Court stated as follows:

“The question remains whether the writ of error
can be maintained. The record discloses the facts but
does not disclose the claim of right under the 14th
Amendment until the assignment of errors filed the
day before the chief justice of the state granted
this writ. Of course, ordinarily that would not be

a

enough. But when the act complained of is the act of
the Supreme Court, done unexpectedly at the end of
the proceeding, when the plaintiff in error no longer
had any right to add to the record, it would leave a
serious gap in the remedy for infraction of constitu-
tional rights if the party aggrieved in such a way
could not come here. The defendant was not bound
to contemplate a decision of the case before his evi-
dence was heard, and therefore was not bound to ask
a ruling or to take other precautions in advance. The
denial of rights given by the 14th Amendment need
not be by legislation. Home Teleph. & Teleg. Co. v.
Los Angeles, 227 U. S. 278, 57 L. ed. 510, 33 Sup. Ct.
Rep. 312. It appears that shortly after the supreme
court had declined to entertain the petition for re-
hearing the plaintiff in error brought the claim of
constitutional right to the attention of the chief jus-
tice of the state by his assignment of errors. We do
not see what more he could have done.’’

Inasmuch as the appellant perceives the sole basis of
the decision in this case to be the unreasonableness of the
rule, this discussion has probably been unnecessarily pro-
longed; but this is owing to the appellant’s anxiety to
point to the federal questions present under every con-
ceivable basis for decision. If this court should entertain
any doubt respecting the basis of the decision, it is ex-
pected that there will then be present a situation analo-
gous to that encountered in Minnesota v. National Tea
Co., decided by this court March 25, 1940 (84 L. ed. [Adv.
Ops.] 571), and that the case will be remanded to the
state court for clarification of its basis of decision.

We conclude that federal questions conferring jurisdic-
tion in this court are present under any theory of this

NT I CeO

a

case, and we urge that jurisdiction be noted and that the
cause be heard for the purpose of resolving the aforesaid
federal questions.

onlin

Respectfully submitted,

E. W. CLAUSEN,

BLAKE DOWNIE,

JOHN MOHLER,

EDW. B. DOWNIE,
Attorneys for Appellant.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385610_0199%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
