# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Larkin v. Patterson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385609_0241%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 427 U.S. 657

## Text

JUL 28 1975

MICHAEL QODAG, JRCLE
In The =

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1975

a

75-155

JAMES V. LARKIN, DOMINICK VENTRE, FRANK
CHILLEMI, GERALD KATZ, ET AL.,

Petitioners,
VS.

JOHN R. PATTERSON, NEWSPAPER AND MAIL
DELIVERERS UNION OF NEW YORK AND VICINITY,
EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY COMMISSION,
NEW YORK DAILY NEWS, NEW YORK TIMES, ET AL..,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

HERMAN H. TARNOW
Attorney for Petitioners
663 Fifth Avenue
New York. New York 10022
(212) 355-3977

BLEED THROUGH

wer

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinions Below

Jurisdiction

Question Presented

Constitutional Provision Involved
Statutes Involved

Statement of the Case

Reasons for Granting the Writ

I. The Petition Presents An
Important Unresolved Issue

Concerning The Rights Of Non-
Minority Workers Affected By
An Affirmative Action Program

Under Title VII

II. The Legislative History of Title
VII Does Not Support The Con-
struction of the Court Below

III. The Petitioners Have Been

Denied Their Constitutional

Right of Equal Protection
Under the Law

Page

10

10

15

18

it
TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases Cited: Page

Albemarle Paper Company v. Moody,
-U.S.- (1975) 12

Franks v. Bowman Transportation

Company, Inc., 495 F.2d 398 (5th

Cir. 1974), cert. granted, 43

U.S.L.W. 3515 (March 24, 1975) ig, il, ia

Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401
U.S. 424 (1971) 13

Local 189, United Papermakers v.

United States, 416 F.2d 980 (5th

Cir. 1969), cert. denied, 397

U.S. 919 (1970) 13

McLaughlin v. Florida, 379 U.S.
184 (1964) 18

United States v. Bethlehem Steel
Corp., 446 F.2d 652 (2nd Cir. 1971) 13

United States v. Jacksonville

Terminal Co., 451 F.2d 418 (5th

Cir. 1971) cert. denied, 406 U.S.

906 (1972) 13

United States v. Roadway Express,
Inc., 457 F.2d 854 (6th Cir. 1972) 10, 11, 12

United States v. Sheet Metal
Workers, Local 36, 416 F.2d 123
(8th Cir. 1969) 13

4 -

BLEED THROUGH

-——

ttt

Cases Cited: Page
Waters v. Wisconsin Steel Works of

International Harvester Co., 502

F.2d 1309 (7th Cir. 1974), cert.

filed, February 21, 1975, O.T. 1974 No.

74-1064 ik. 16
United States Constitutton Cited:

U.S. Const. amend V. 3

Statutes Cited:

42 U.S.C. 2000e - 2(c) 4
42 U.S.C. 2000e - 2(3) 4

Legtslative Materials:
110 Cong. Rec. 6549 (1964) 17

110 Cong. Rec. 7213 (1964) (Clark-Case
Interpretative Memorandum) 16

110 Cong. Rec. 7218 (1964) 17

speipesORi8 EL2 p SPLES TRIES RRL LN I A

RAGE

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1975 - NO. 74

om RO Aanecseeesada cveesaoocoeaseeeesasocoscea x
JAMES V. LARKIN, DOMINICK VENTRE, FRANK
CHILLEMI, GERALD KATZ, ET AL.,

PETITIONERS,

-AGAINST-

JOHN R. PATTERSON, NEWSPAPER AND MAIL
DELIVERERS UNION OF NEW YORK AND
VICINITY, EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY
COMMISSION, NEW YORK DAILY NEWS, NEW YORK
TIMES, ET AL.,

RESPONDENTS.
>
=o,

JouNn R. Parrerson, et al.,
Plaintiff s-Appellecs,
—against—
Newsparer AND Mart Deuiverers’ UNion or New York Anp

Vicrnity, et al.,

Defendants- Appellees.

a>
a Ana

Equat EmMPLoyMEentT OpporTuNITY COMMISSION,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,
—against—

NEWSPAPER AND Mart DeELriverers’ Union oF New York AND
Viornity, et al.,

Defendants- Appellees.

= =
—vr

Dominick Ventre, Frank CuinLemMi, Geraup Karz, et al.,

Intervenors.

ee
James V. LaRKIN,
Intervenor-A ppellant.

)
j
i
]

\ BLEED THROUGH

~~

Before: “a

Feinperc, Mansriceipy and Oakks,

Circuit Judges.

+

= eats

9a

asserts, allow minorities to “leap-frog” non-minorities with
greater scniority. Ile also attacks the 25% goal.?

Discussion

The scope of our review of a district court’s approval
of a settlement agreement is limited. “[{T]he appellate
court should intervene only on a clear showing that the
trial judge was guilty of an abuse of discretion,” State
of West Virginia v. Chas. Pfizer & Co., 440 F.2d 1079
(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 871 (1971). While the
publie objectives embodied in Title VI] warrant a eare-
ful review of the provisions of the settlement in light
of those policies, see Rios v. Enterprise Assn. Stceamfil-
ters, Local 638, DOL F.2d 622, 628 n.4 (2d Cir. 1974),
the clear policy in favor of encouraging settlements must
also be taken into account, see Florida Trailer & Equip-
ment Co. vy. Deal, 284 F.2d 567, 571 (5th Cir. 1960), par-
ticularly in an area where voluntary compliance by the
parties over an extended period will contribute signili-
cantly toward ultimate achievement of statutory goals. Nor
should we substitute our ideas of fairness for those of
the district judge in the absence of evidence that he acted
arbitrarily or failed to satisfy himself that the settle-
ment agreement was equitable to all persons concerned
and in the public interest, cf. United States v. Wood, Wire
& Metal Lathers Intl. Union, Local No. 46, 471 F.2d 408,
416 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 412 U.S. 939 (1973), especially
in a case like the present one where the settlement was
approved after a four-week trial of the merits, and two
hearings with respect to the fairness and adequacy of

2 Intervenor in addition suggests procedural infirmities in the court's
approval of a plan to which he objected. It is difficult to think of a
way in which appellant was denied procedural rights, however, since
Judge Pierce afforded him a hearing and thoroughly considered his
objections.

BLEED THROUGH

Fe

‘

4
)

10a

the proposed agreement. Furthermore, unlike appeals from
decrees of the district court entered after trial on the
basis of findings and conclusions where we may modify
the terms of the decree, see, e.g., United States v. Bethle-
hem Steel Corp., supra, we are powerless to rewrite the
provisions of the settlement agreement. Our only alter-
native, if we concluded that Judge Pierce had abused his
discretion, would be to set aside his approval of the set-
tlement and remand the case for completion of the trial.
United States v. Automobile Manufacturers Assn., 307 F.
Supp. 617 (C.D. Calif.), affd. per curiam sub nom. City
of New York v. United States, 397 U.S. 248 (1970).

Although Larkin objects to the use of a 25% goal and
to Judge Pierce’s conclusion that the minority make-up
of the relevant part of the labor force is 30%, he does
not suggest any alternative or more reliable figures as
to the labor force; he merely calis the court’s figures “con-
trived.” In contrast to his failure to provide any eviden-
tiary support for his objection, the record reveals that, in
concluding that the 25% goal was appropriate, Judge
Pierce relied on population figures in the Department of
Commerce’s publications General Population Characteris-
tics—1970 Census of Population and General Social and
Economic Characteristics, 1970 Census of Population, and
took into account the relevent geographic area and demo-
graphic characteristics of those making up the news de-
livery work force. Thus his conclusion, which followed
closely the guidelines laid down in Rios v. Enterprise Assn.
Steamfitters, Local 638, 501 F.2d 622 (2d Cir. 1974), was
adequately based.’

3 Intervenor also suggests that his rights under 42 U.S.C. §2000¢e-2(j)
have been violated. That section provides in pertinent part:

“Nothing contained in this subchapter shall be interpreted to re-
quire any employer, employment agency, labor organization, or joint
labor-management committee subject to this subchapter to grant
preferential treatment to any individual or to any group because

ra
‘

~~ gern

BLEED THROUGH

lla

Larkin’s argument that he is entitled to the same bene-
fits as the minority workers must also be rejected. This
case arises under a statute which by its terms is limited
to protection against employment discrimination based on
an individuals “race, color, religion, sex, or national
origin.” 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a)(1). Larkin does not allege
discrimination against him based on any of these factors.
He argues only that the industry’s past practices discrim-
inated against all Group III members, minority and non-
minority, and that while the settlement agreement remedies
the discrimination against minority persons it fails to
afford any relief for the harm caused to non-minority per-
sons. Worse still, he asserts, the relief to minority persons
is at the expense of the white Group ITI workers.

At first glance this argument has much appeal. As the
district court recognized, Group IIT workers were the vic-
tims of some practices that were harmful to all Group III
members, regardless of race. Minority members, on the
other hand, were the targets of racial discrimination on
the part of the virtually all-white Union. In this Title VIT
action we are limited to consideration of the fairness of re-

of race, the color, religion, or national origin of such individual
or group on aceount of an imbalance which may exist with respect
to the total number or percentage of persons of any race, color,
religion, sex, or national origin employed by any employer, referred
or classified for employment by any employment agency or labor
organization, admitted to membership or classified by any labor
organization, or admitted to, or employed in, any apprenticeship
or other training program, in comparison with the total number or
pereentage of persons of such race, color, religion, sex, or nations]
origin in any community, State, section, or other rea, or in the
available work foree in any community, State, section, or other
area.”

It is well settled in this Circuit that this seetion does not preclude the
use of racial hiring quotas to remedy the effects of past discrimination.
Rios v. Enterprise Assn. Steamfitters, Local 688, supra, 501 F.2d at
630-31; Vulcan Society v. Civil Serv. Comm., 490 F.2d 387 (24 Cir.
1973); United States v. Wood, Wire 4 Metal Lathers, supra.

BLEED THROUGH

&. + ee

l2a

lief directed only to the latter. The objective of Title VII
is to “attack the scourge of racial discrimination” which
has “caused manifold cconomic injuries, including dras-
tically higher rates of unemployment and privation among
racial minority groups.” United States v. Wood, Wire &
Metal Lathers lutl. Union, 341 F. Supp. 694, 699 (S.D.N_Y.
1972), affd., 471 F.2d 408 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 412 U.S.
939 (1973). It ereates no rights or benefiis in favor of
non-minority persons or groups. Any past denial of pro-
motion rights to Larkin is clearly not remediable under
Title VII. Indeed, Group TI] white workers have unsue-
cessfully sought relief for themselves under other statutes.
It is thus apparent that Larkin has no right to any of the
affirmative relief afforded to the minority groups, inelud-
ing the back pay provisions.‘ Our review, therefore, must
be limited to the question of whether the settlement agree-
ment, in remedying minority discrimination, treats the in-
tervenors fairly. See State of West Virginia v. Chas.
Pfizer € Co., 440 F.2d 1079 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 404 US.
871 (1971).

The affirmative-action provisions of the agreement under
review affect Group ITI workers in the industry, and par-
ticularly Daily News workers, in two ways. First, the pro-
visions for immediate transfer of incumbent minorities at
major employers to Group I and for the filling of Greup I
openings by alternately promoting one minority worker
and then one non-minority worker from Group III to Group
I mean that a white Group TIT worker will advance to
Group I less rapidly than would be possible if straight shop

+ United States v. Roadway Express, Inc., 457 F.2d 854 (6th Cir. 1972),
relied on by the intervenor, does not suggest otherwise. There the
court was faced with a settlement agreement in which the union had
agreed to give some benefits to white as well as minority non-union
workers. When white union members objected, the court refuewd to
invalidate the agreement. The case docs not require that a settlement
give equivalent benefits to minority and non-minority workers.

BLEED THROUGH

+e
~~ =e «

13a

seniority were the basis of promotion. Indeed, a time will
shortly come when minority )ersons not employed in the
industry at all on the date when the agreement went into
effect may achieve Group 1 status before many Group Il
whites with seniority. Although this feature of the agree
ment is vet as beneficial te Larkin as would be promotion
on the basis of straight seniority regardless of race, the
agreement nevertheless benefits Larkin. Lt presents him
with an opportunity he never had before: the chance to
move up to Group I, and eventually to a Regular Situation.
Before, there was in effect no seniority system with respect
to promotion into Group L. Thus any plan for advancement
of Group III members to Group I could only be beneficial
to Larkin. Approval of the plan can hardly be labelled an
abuse of discretion because it does not advance Larkin as
rapidly as minority persons with less seniority. A reason-
able preference in favor of minority persons in order to
remedy past discriminatory injustices is permissible. See
Rios v. Enterprise Assn. Steamfitters, 501 F.2d 622 (2d
Cir. 1974).

Second, the agreement affects daily work priorities. Its
provision that all present incumbent Group III minority
workers shall move at once into Group I immediately drops
Group III whites in daily priority by whatever number of
minority workers of lesser seniority are added to the higher
priority Group 1. Furthermore, the one-to-one ratio for
promotion thereafter of workers from Group IIL inte Group
I as openings in Group I become available means that an
average non-minority Group II] worker will not advance
as quickly up the daily priority ladder within Group III
as he would under straight raceless seniority. This results
from the fact that, whenever two openings in Group T be-
come available, one will be filled by a white worker senior to
him and one by a minority worker of lesser seniority. Thus
he moves up only one step for every two Group T openings.

t BLEED THROUGH

l4a

The situation is even less favorable at the Daily News
where for an initial period, as each Group T opening
(rather than two openings) becomes available, the em-
ployer will add one minority and one non-minority em-
ployee to Group I. The effect of this expansion of Group |
to take in minority members of lesser seniority is likely
to slow down the rate of advancement of non-minority
persons within Group IIT more than under a one-for-one
arrangement limited to an equal number of vacancies in
Group I. Of course, in all cases once a Group IIT white
employee reaches Group I, he will move up in daily work
priority (and priority for a Regular Situation) on the
same basis as existed before the agreement.

Appellant characterizes these effects as “leapfrogging”
or “bumping” of incumbent white workers, see [/nited
States v. Bethlehem Stcel Corporation, supra, 446 F.2d
at 659, and argues that we have rejected other affirmative
action programs having such an effect. It is true that
we have suggested that court ordered relief involving mi-
nority employment goals be confined to entry level posi-
tions. Thus in Bridgeport Guardians, Inc. v. Bridgeport
Civil Serv. Comm., 482 F.2d 1333 (2d Cir. 1973), we up-
held the imposition of racial hiring quotas at the patrol-
man’s level, the entry level of the police force, but rejected
the use of such quotas for promotion to higher ranks. In
United States v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 446 F.2d 652 (2d
Cir. 1971), we simply noted that minority transferees
under the court’s order would be transferred into job
vacancies created in the normal course of business and
that no incumbent employee would be “bumped” out of
his job. Id. at 664. In neither case did we specifically
pass on the propriety or fairness of “bumping” an in-
cumbent.

These cases do not support rejection of the agreement
that has been reached in this case. The Bridgeport

\

BLEED THROUGH

ee —

15a

Guardians decision was based upon the failure to estab-
lish any discrimination within the promotional system,

' the proof being limited to discrimination at the point of
entry into the police force, i.e., in qualifying for the rank
of patrolman. See 482 F.2d at 1338-41. In the present
case, on the other hand, there has been racial discrimina-
tion throughout the industry. Furthermore, even assum-
ing the desirability of confining use of quotas to entry
level positions, the effective point of entry into employ-
ment in the industry has been at Group I, not Group III.
Judge Pierce found that “Group III workers do not have
full-time employment, nor do many of them have great
expectations or intentions of working full-time while they
shape from the Group III list.” It is true, as appellant
points out, that both Group I and Group III workers
must shape regularly and neither has assurance of regu-
lar work. But the fact remains that traditionally a worker
who reached Group I was on the road to a Regular Situa-
tion, whereas one who was in Group ITT would not progress
above that level.

Even assuming that “bumping” of incumbents from their
present jobs is inadvisable in an affirmative hiring scheme,
it is inaccurate to characterize Group ITT workers as having
been “bumped.” They have retained their positions; they
have not been delisted in favor of minorities. Moreover,
we are not dealing with workers who have been steadily
employed under conditions where seniority is synonymous
with an assured job but with a fluctuating group of shapers
competing for a limited amount of work that varies widely
from day to day. Although some may have declined some-
what in their daily work priority, as Judge Pierce pointed

out, the actual effect of this decline is difficult to gauge
} since the availability of work at a given shape “depends
on the stability of the total number of jobs available from
shift to shift and whether or not the new person chooses

\ BLEED THROUGH

SBT POI RIG LIN ES LAD LIEBE ONL CEE TELLIN A ee

l6a

to shape the same shift. In other words, assessing a
shaper’s expectation is a highly speculative exercise.” In
addition, the number of minority workers promoted to
Group I on the date the agreement became effective, which
solely accounts for any decline in daily work priority, is
quite small. Only 13 of 178 Group III members at the
News were minority persons, 6 of 34 at the Times.

The impact of any dilution of daily work opportunities
resulting from the settlement agreement is, furthermore,
softened by the fact that all current Group III members
will be elevated to Group I within a fairly short time.
The News estimates that within a month after implementa-
tion of the plan all non-minority workers above 47 on the
Group III list will be elevated to Group I and that there-
after about 27 non-minority persons per year will be pro-
moted from Group III to Group I. This suggests that any
decline in daily work priority attributable to the promo-
tion of presently incumbent minority workers to Group |
will be offset for most workers by a rise in priority within
Group III resulting from the expeditious upward move-
ment of Group III whites, also made possible by the
program. Finally, should some Group III workers have
difficulty finding work, the agreement empowers the ad-
ministrator to assure that any existing work opportunities
in the industry be made available to those unable to get at
least 45 shifts of work in a calendar quarter.

Aside from the foregoing, there was evidence from whicli
it could be inferred that, if there had been no racial dis-
crimination in the industry, more minority persons would
have heen able to enter Group ITL and to gain seniority
over many whites within Group IIT. Thus, although Larkin
has been the victim of a system which excluded Group III
members, minority and white, from promotion to Group I,
he may well have been the modest beneficiary, vis-a-vis the

BLEED THROUGH

17a

minority work force, of a policy that discouraged minority
persons from entering Group ILI. ‘i'o the extent that the
settlement may cause a temporary decline in Group III
white worker’s rate of promotion and daily work priority,
it merely compensates for past discrimination by allowing
a reasonable number of minority persons to be promoted
to the “rightful place” on the seniority ladder, which they
would have occupied but for industry-wide racial discrimi-
nation.

In any event it must be recognized that rights of the
kind Group III workers here assert “are not indefeasibly
vested rights but mere expectations derived from a bar-
gaining agreement and subject to modification.” United
States v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., supra, 446 F.2d at 663.
Here appellant has applauded those modifications of the
collective bargaining agreement that are favorable to him,
such as the removal of the provision limiting Group I to
former Regular Situation holders. Under the peculiar cir-
cumstances that have governed employment in this in-
dustry it does not strike us as unfair to impose certain
modifications on the manner in which promotions or qual-
ifications for daily work are determined. Job seniority
need not be the only standard for determining promotions.
Orders requiring that job vacancies be filled by means
other than normal routes of internal promotion have been
upheld as necessary to remedy past discrimination, Gates
v. Georgia-Pacific Corp., 492 F.2d 292 (9th Cir. 1974) ; cf.
Allen v. City of Mobile, 331 F. Supp. 1134, 1142-43 (S.D.
Ala. 1971), affd. per curiam, 466 F.2d 122 (5th Cir. 1972),
cert. denied, 412 U.S. 909 (1973) (§1983 action), and, in-
deed, affirmative relief displacing whites with greater se-
niority has been granted, see United States v. Sheet Metals
Workers International Assn., Local 36, 416 F.2d 123, 133-
34 (8th Cir. 1969).

BLEED THROUGH

eee

18a
£7

The provisions of the settlement agreement affecting
Larkin thus cannot be characterized as illegal or unfair.
} Whatever disadvantages he may temporarily suffer in
terms of daily work priority are offset by the substantial
improvement in his long range prospects arising from the
opportunity that has been created, for the first time, for
him to reach Group I and, eventually, Regular Situation
status. Judge Pierce therefore did not abuse his discre-
tion in finding the settlement agreement to be fair to
Larkin. The order is affirmed.

Cre

FErnBerG, Circuit Judge (concurring) :

I concur in the result.

This case involves the difficult issue whether a hiring
quota based upon race can be legally imposed under the
Civil Rights Act of 1964 or the United States Constitution.
In the past few years, this court has twice held that such
quotas may be utilized to correct past discriminatory prac-
tices in public employment. Vulcan Society v. Civil Service
Comm'n, 490 F.2d 387 (2d Cir. 1973) (firemen) ; Bridgeport
Guardians, Inc. v. Civil Service Comm'n, 482 F.2d 1333 (2d
Cir. 1973), petition for cert. filed, 43 U.S.L.W. 3282 (U.S.
Nov. 11, 1974) (policemen). We have also permitted such
remedial quotas in two cases in which the employment was
in the private sector of the economy. Rios v. Enterprise
Ass’n Steamfitters, Local 638, 501 F.2d 622 (2d Cir. 1974):
United States v. Wood, Wire & Metal Lathers, Local 46,
471 F.2d 408 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 412 U.S. 939 (1973).

Nevertheless, I believe a strong note of caution is called
for and should be stated. In Rios, Judge Hays wrote a
powerful dissent, arguing that section 703(j) of the Civil
Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(j), bars the use of court-

BLEED THROUGH

19a

ordered racial hiring quotas.' He distinguished our deci-
sions in Vulcan Society and Bridgeport Guardians on vari-
ous grounds, the most persuasive of which was that “there
was no other means of affording relief that did not interfere
with essential public services” provided by firemen and
policemen. 501 F.2d at 638. In both cases, hiring had to
continue while new, non-discrimninatory employment lists
were drawn up. Judge Hays also distinguished Wood, Wire
€& Metal Lathers because the union there, in accepting a
settlement, waived the benefit of section 703(j). A close
analysis of the cases in our circuit thus suggests that Rios
is the only decision squarely holding that a court may
impose a racial quota in a private employment case in the
absence of a settlement.

Emphasizing the status of the authority in this circuit
on the issue is worthwhile because, as we have earlier
pointed out, quotas should be approached “somewhat gin-
gerly.” Bridgeport Guardians, supra, 482 F.2d at 1340.
The reason for this is clear. A racial quota is inherently
obnoxious, no matter what the beneficent purpose. Such a
quota is demeaning and divisive. At best it is a lesser evil.
It is not to be encouraged.

1 Section 703(j) provides:
Nothing contained in this subchapter shal] be interpreted to require
any employer, employment agency, labor organization, or joint
labor-management committee subject to this subchapter to grant
preferential treatment to any individual or to any group because
of the race, color, religion, sex, or national origin of such individual
or group on account of an imbalance which may exist with respect
to the total number or percentage of peraons of any race, color,
religion, sex, or national origin employed by any employer, referred
or classified for employment by any employment agency or labor
organization, admitted to membership or classified by any labor
organization, or admitted to, or employed in, any apprenticeship
or other training program, in comparison with the total number or
percentage of persons of such --obagg: bene color, religion, sex, or national
pe actnece Aa ears pein , or other area, or in the
available work foree Mh any enmity. wrnag ton section, or other area.

BLEED THROUGH j

20a

However, this case is not an appropriate one for re-ex-
amination of the subject. The past discrimination against
minority workers here was made quite clear after a four-
week trial to the court. Minorities are conspicuously absent
from the ranks of Group | and Regular Situation holders
even though there are no special skills required to fill the
jobs involved. The intervenor asks us to upset a settlement
agreement that provides benefits for whites as well as for
minorities. The quota the principal parties have agreed
upon is intended to be of short duration. 384 F. Supp. at
590-91. And finally, the intervenor does not direct his main
attack against the idea of a hiring quota; he objects to its
size and the effect on him and others already in the industry
in Group III status.

Under all of these circumstances, I concur in the result.

EE ah oe eS AN MEAL IEEE 8 ETRY EKER BOLLE DNF GEE LE DONE ETD DNS POLE EE IEE
4 :

; BLEED THROUGH
f

2la

NITED STATYS DISTRICT COUF®
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YC :K

JOHN R. PATTERSON, et al.,
Plaintiffs,

NEWSPAPER AND MAIL DELIVERERS' UNION
OF NOW YORK AND VICINITY, et al.,

Defendants.

effect, because after the icv

minorities who have eny tenure in the shop are moved to Group

I, the employer will be required to move minorities with no

tenure at ail ahead of some present Group III non-minorities.
Tie facts selected by the intervenors in support

of their objections are so. And, at first glance their frus-

tration and anger with this Settlement Agreement is understand-

able, and tiueir solution is appealing. These intervenors fro.a

Group III, as individuals, have also suffered the effects of

. the Union's nepotism; they have also attacked the present

practices and abuses in other forums, under different scatutes.

Certainly tiis Court de.- not accept the argument that these

particular tien have benefited from a discriminatory systen. |
But, on deeper examination of the Settlement Agree-

ment and the intervenors' objections, there are a number cf

- reasons why this Court does noc, and indeed can not, vicw the

inte=venors es raising countervailing considerations of such

a substantial nature as to preclude approval of the plan.

| First and dispositive of all the issues raised

by the intecvenors, the Settlemegt Agreement simply does

not trample on their employment opportunities. In the long

run, it must be acknowledged by all concerned that the effect

of this Agreement, if it operates as predicted, will be to

ers a IOS OEE RST Iv:

POOR COPY

i BLEED THROUGH

36a

achieve Regular Situation «: Group I status for all members
of Group II{, minority and non-minority alike, within a
relatively short time-span. Without this Settlement, Group
III workers had little if any hope of ever achieving either
status under the present system. The intervenors do not
contend otherwise. Instead, their objections deal in the
main with interim measures which do, in fact, move some
minorities faster than some non-minorities. But it must be
noted that snce a Group III non-minority is elevated to
Group I, his daily shaping opportunities will be no less
than they presently are and indeed they may be greater.

The News projections submicted to this Court indicate that
within a menth after implementation of the plan, the non-
minority who is number 47 on the Group IIi list, and all
non-minorities above him, will have been elevated to Group I.
The progression thereafter is expected to be approximately
27 anieenanetiny ov to Group I each year. Also the
Settlement Agreement provides other benefits to Group III
non-minorities, not the least of which is the appointment of
an administrator who is empowered to assure that existing
work opportunities in the industry shall be made évailable
to any Grceun III person unable to get at least 45 shifts of

work in any calendar quarter.

nee ah RIS ORNS ROS LIIE TALE LEELA REPEL RII EO snisencninenianinamattian

, BLEED THROUGH

37a

further, even it the Settlement Agreement did noc
provide noi-minorities with thes¢ benefits, the intervenors'
position is not factually or legally sound. Their premise
is that the Settlement Agreement will oust them from what they
perceive as vested seniority rights in their Group LII order.
If, in fact, this Settlement Agreement affected firm and
realistic seniority rights end expectations of innocent non-
minority workers, there could be endiee as to the validity
of the relief afforded. See, e.g., United States v. Bethlehem

446 F.2d
Steel Corp., supra,/at 661. But, in this case, regardless

of the priority structure of the present contract, and the
language which may be used in it, the fact remains that
Group III workers do not have full-time employment, nor do
many of then have any great expectations or intention of
working full-time while they shape from the Group III lise.
They are shzpers. And, to the extent that the present
contract stcucture, in theory, gives them certain priorities,
by tenure on Group III, to achieve Regular Situations, the
facts have demonstrated that they could not have any realis-
tic expectation of such movement actually occurring. As
noted above, no Group III worker has moved up the list to

a Regular Situation since 1963.

r
oT
t

oti cen TEE ows

38a

Their expectatio:.s with respect to daily shape
pric.cities iust be viewed in a somewhat different light.
When an addtional person is _— in front of a shaper,
theorcticaliy his chances of working any particular shift
are decreased by a factor of one job. This, of course,
depends on the stability of the total number of jobs
available from shift to shift and whether or not the new
person chooses to shape the same shift, In other words,
assessing a shaper's expectation is a highly speculative
exercise. ‘he Court does not mean to minimize a Group IIL
member's vested emotional interest in his position at a.
shape, but it cannot be equated with the worker who-might
be "bumped" from a steady and seemingly secure position by
an outside winority with less seniority than him. Further,
it must be pointed out that even if these shaping priorities
were viewed as providing firm expectations, "[such] seniority
advantages are not indefeasibly vested rights but mere expec-
tations derived from a bargaining agreement subject to

modification." United States v. Bethlehem Steel Corp.,

supra, 446 F.2d at 663. Indeed, the intervenors themselves
recognize tiis principle when they approve of many changes
made in the collective bargaining agreement by the proposed

Settlement.

“ ore PT te ree iy a 1 GOI AERA LY
a PT SH EARL AG Os LIEBE SARE ELLIE EPIL TOE. RE EEE POLIS HY TOR Ep

4

t BLEED THROUGH

39a

Also, it must bc said that the relicf the intervenors
suggest, which would observe strict tenure of the Group III
list, would most likely noc provide the relief mandated by
Title VII for minorities. Given the fact that the active
work force at the News numbers 900 and includes only 24
minority persons, it would clearly take a far longer period
of time to reach a goal of 25% minority cmployment. Because
ais minority percentage is so low, the same objection holds .
true if, as the intervenors have suggested, the Group I and
Group III lists were dovetailed by shop tenure.

Finally, it must not be forgotten that this is
a Title VII case. Such cases, as Judge Frankel has.«said
in Wood, Wire are "launched by statutory commands, rooted
in deep constitutional purposes, to attack the scourge of -
racial discrimination in employment. . . . [a]nd we know
that, in addition to the spiritual wounds it inflicts, such
discrimination has caused manifold economic injuries, incluc-

ing drastically higher rates of unemployment and privation

among racial minority groups." United States v. Wood, Wire

and Metal. lathers International Union, Local Union 46, 341

F.Supp. 694, 699 (S.D.N.¥. 1972). Title VII is an expression
of a commituent to correct minority employment discriminat:ion

and, hopefully, the vast social consequences that flow from

\ BLEED THROUGH

40a

it . id afflict the whole o” the nation. The statute does
not ili Scie to correct all forms of employment discrimina-
tion. Thus, to the extent that what the intervenors seek here
is relief equal to that afforded minorities, it has no legal
foundation, in this case. Under the law, relief here mst

be limited to victims of the kind of discrimination prohibited

by Title VII. United States v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., sunra,

446 F.2d at 665. There is no evidence and no assertion that

the intervenors have been discriminated against on account of
his, vebteten, color, sex, national origin, or because they

have made charges, testified, assisted or participated in any
enforcement proceedings under Title VII.

The 25% Minority Employment Goal

There remains the requirement of Rios v. Entcrprise

Association Steamfitters Local 638, supra, at 4387, for

reliable factual support for the 25% goal. All of the
parties hav: agreed to the figure. The EEOC has based its
conclusion on relevant labor force statistics contained in
the tables published by the United States Department of

Commerce in a publication entitled General Social and Economic

Characteristics, 1970 Census of Population, for the relevant

geographic areas of the Union's jurisdiction. Using what

this Court agrees is the most reliable pz 2file possible of

— 2 cE ERG NY IRC REE EYP ARENT EI
z SOR PIES pay EEE IS PLCS a BSE ,

!

; BLEED THROUGH

4la

the candidate for delivere:s* work, the EEOC has extracted
figures for Black males over 16 years of age with a high
school diploma or less. With considerably ingenuity, the
agency has also extrapolated comparable figures for minorities
other than Black. Added together they indicate that the
relevant labor force is 30% minority. Although the private
plaintiffs and the intervenors have submitted other calcuia-
tions end bases with respect to minority representation in
the relevan= labor force, in this Court's view the EEOC
analysis is the soundest and provides ample support for the
25% minority goal included in the Settlement Agreement.
Conclusion bet

Tnis Court has found that the affirmative relief

provided in the Settlement Agreement is justified by the

. facts of this case. It has found that the 25% minority goal

is supported >»y reliable statistics. It has found that the

affirmative relief provides members of the plaintiffs‘ class

- and other minorities with an adequate, fair and reasonable

route to their "rightful place" in this industry, and that
the Settlement Agreement is enforceable, iegal and in the
public interest. The Court has also found that the Settlement
Agreement does nut so interfere with the rights of the inter-

venors as tc require disapproval.

ERE ESS Te ene Ce OE

a SR IRE I RSET CR RE = pS ee
;

;
4

42a

Therefore, the -otion of the parties for approval
of the Settlement Agreement is hereby granted. Settle Order,
upon the consent of the parties, endorsed thereon by their
attorneys, accordingly.

SO ORDERED.

Dated: New York, New York
September 19, 1974

/8/ LF Ries vw). PLERCE

LAWRENCE W. PIERCE
U. S. D. J.

Pein racers opener rere ea IRCA LE ALT LIT SE CN

t BLEED THROUGH

43a
FCOTNOTES
l. "Minority" as it is used in this Settlement

AZreement refers to the definition of thac word
ty the Equal Employment Opportunities Commission,
end means people who are Black, Spanish-surnamed,
Criental and American Indian.

2. . Group II is not counted here because Group IZ
is constituted of persons who also hold Regular
Situations or Group I positions in the industry.
They are permitted by the contract to shape in
aay shop other than their own, in addition to
their regular jobs. si

3. See pp. 23-24.

4. The parties have defined "employment" as encompas-
sing Regular Situations end Group I positions.
Their view is that a place in either of these two
groups represents a steady, secure job in the
industry. The Court agrees, at this time. The
csfiniticn is subject to revision by terms of the
Settlement Agreement.

‘aa PROMEEC RRITO INS O RA TRIE PEEP ATI GE OSD

4

|

BLEED THROUGH

'
’
,

' 44a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

SECOND CIRCUIT

At a Stated Term of the United States
Court of Appeals, in and for the Second Cir-
cuit, held at the United States Court House,
in the City of New York, on the twenty-ninth
day of April, one thousand nine hundred and

seventy-five.

Present:
HON. WILFRED FEINBERG,
HON. JAMES L. OAKES,
HON. WALTER R. MANSFIELD,

Circuit Judges.

JOHN R. PATTERSON, et al.,
Plaintiff,
Ve

NEWSPAPER & MAIL DELIVERS UNION OF NEW
YORK & VICINITY, et al.,

Defendants.

BLEED THROUGH

45a
SL ee ee Ee ee ee SS Ee ee ee Oe ee ee Se ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee x

EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY COMMISSION,
Plaintiff,
Vv.
NEWSPAPER & MAIL DELIVERERS' UNION, etc.
Defendants,
JAMES V. LARKIN,

Intervenor-Appellant.

A petition for a rehearing having been
filed herein by counsel for the intervenor-
appellant, JAMES V. LARKIN,

Upon consideration thereof, it is

Ordered that said petition be and hereby

is denied.

A. DANIEL FUSARO
Clerk

Prronecnnrcercsercnsneron PROPIA TPG LES LS ANN IIRL, MEL NEGTAE IPE LEON RM a

\ BLEED THROUGH

46a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated term of the United States
Court of Appeals, in and for the Second Cir-
cuit, held at the United States Court House,
in the City of New York, on the twenty-ninth

day of April, one thousand nine hundred and

seventy-five.
ied iaicieb te taba elias ait ena eine aalpimen ein den enienteiimenntutit x
JOHN R. PATTERSON, et al.,
Plaintiffs,
Vv.
NEWSPAPER & MAIL DELIVERERS' UNION OF NEW
YORK, et al.,
Defendants.
EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY COMMISSION,
Plaintiff,
Vv. Docket No.
74-2548

NEWSPAPER & MAIL DELIVERERS' UNION OF NEW
} YORK, et al.,

Defendant.

Sienna TR ORM LINENS OREN ELITES SAIL NE STIR GEL LIA AEE -

4

t

i

BLEED THROUGH

ROEM tet oo onan eae REN RE EOL LT OCC
47a

DOMINICK VENTRE, FRANK SCHILLEMI, GERALD
KATZ,

Intervenors,

Intervenor-Appellant.

weer rw em Km Ke em ee er er er er ee er nr ne eee ean ae ne nr nae ae ae ee ee Ke Ke -—xX

A petition for rehearing containing a
suggestion that the action be reheard in banc
having been filed herein by counsel for the
intervenor-appellant, JAMES V. LARKIN, and no
active judge or judge who was a member of the
panel having requested that a vote be taken

on said suggestion,
Upon consideration thereof, it is

Ordered that said petition be and it here-
by is denied.

IRVING R. KAUFMAN, Chief Judge

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385609_0241%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
