# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Edwards v. Reed

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385609_0160%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 426 U.S. 934

## Text

4
”

a
Qa
?

—oe

cER :
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October 1975 Term cdsindea aaah

No.

DANIEL L. EDWARDS, JR., PETITIONER

THOMAS C. REED, SEC’TY OF THE AIR FORCE, ET AL.,

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTRIORARI TO
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
SIXTH CIRCUIT

WILLIAM J. DAVIS
COUNSEL FOR
PETITIONER

855 EAST LONG STREET
COLUMBUS, OHIO 43203
(614) 253-8503

AND

JOSIAH BLACKMORE
CAPITAL UNIVERSITY
LAW SCHOOL

2199 EAST MAIN STREET
COLUMBUS, OHIO 43209
(614) 236-6395

FLEE? THROUGH

INDEX
PAGE
Whe Mae a eee a 1-2
ie a i Warp odie aaa a A Wo Paces ee ek 2
oe Wc vhs wk ees Oe eee 2
no ree lg an OER + mahae de See 2
SI a es a ty a da aa ecu aoe w Roe _
Femmes for Girerting Writ 5 i ec wean 3-4
Ne a ek oe Unik n Gal warn wale mia ee eee 5
Appendix A
Order & Opinion of U.S. Court of Appeals
RP ieee On LE ane arte eae 6-7
Order & Opinion on Petition for Rehearing .......... 8
Judgment Entry of U.S. District Court .............. 9

Opinion & Judgment Order of U.S. District Court 10-14

Appendix B

am OS. TO wk Ft OD nas so ks ecco evan ns 15

TABLE OF CASES
Austin vs Reynolds Metal Co, 327 F Supp. 1145 .......... 4
Beckum vs Tennessee Hotel, 341 F Supp. 991,
SO Ne oo wh bare ead 4
Harris vs Walgreen's Distribution Center,
ee ar I NS Ss dc wa ex cua ek caw ear ES 4
-|

a
ogy —

| N DE X (Con't)

TABLE OF CASES PAGE

Houston vs General Motors Corp., 477 F 2d 1003

ee Gee Wan bdle e:6 #Gs 00.8 6 ad 4

McQueen vs E.M.C. Plastic Co., 302 F Supp. 881

ra eta ale bd a pla allel ekg # 4c0-4.4 6 9-829 006 89 4
Pace vs Super Value Store, Inc. 55F RD187............. 4

Prescod vs Ludwig Industries, 325 F Supp. 414,

NIRS a ha a ee a 4

i i - - Tex “
ee ae a eb ike wack WS. 6a es eee 5
STATUTES

ee I CU ee cc cee kee ease meaees dane 2

ee OE i es eas ook ee a se 15

Be Whee, ITD TP OE on in ee cic w eee 15

ey nk kana be bh a siteyebawaseaa 2

42 U.S.C. Section 2000 (e)- 16 (c) ................ 2,3, 4,5

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October 1975 Term

No.

DANIEL L. EDWARDS, JR., Petitioner,
V
THOMAS C. REED, SEC’TY OF THE AIR FORCE, ET AL.,

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

To the Honorable, the Chief Justice and Associate Justices of
the Supreme Court of the United States:
Daniel L. Edwards, Jr., the petitioner herein, prays that

a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals, Sixth Circuit of Ohio, entered in the
above-entitled case on November 25, 1975.

OPINION L

The Order and Opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals, Sixth Circuit is unreported and is set forth in
Appendix A, hereto, infra, pages 6 and 7. The Judgment of the
United States Court of Appeals, which is appealed from is set
forth in Appendix A hereto, infra, page 8. The Judgment and
Opinion of the United States District Court, Southern District
of Ohio, which was sustained by the Court of Appeals is set
forth in Appendix A hereto, infra, pages 9 through 13.

FLrPEO THROILIGH

JURISDICTI

The Judgment of the United States Court of Appeals,
Sixth Circuit, was entered on October 6, 1975. A timely
Petition for Rehearing was denied on November 25, 1975,
Appendix A, page 8. The Judgment of the Supreme Court of
the United States of America is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
Section 1254 (1), 42 U.S.C. Section 1984, and 42 USC.
Section 2000 (e)-16 (c).

QUESTI P

I. Whether the District Court lacked jurisdiction in the
subject matter under 42 U.S.C. Section 2000 (e)-16 (c).

2. Whether the action was time-barred by delay in filing
under 42 U.S.C. Section 2000 (e)-16 (c).

STATUTES

42 U.S.C. 2000 (e)-16 (c), Civil Action by Party
Aaggrieved,

Within thirty days of receipt of notice of final action
taken by a department, agency, or unit referred to in
subsection 717 (a) (subsec. (a) of this section), or by the
Civil Service Commission upon an appeal from a
decision or order of such department, agency, or unit on
a complaint of discrimination based on race, color,
religion, sex or national origin, brought pursuant to
subsection (a) of this section, Executive Order 11478,
or any succeeding Executive orders, or after one
hundred and eighty days from the filing of the initial
charge with the department, agency, or unit until such
time as final action may be taken by a department,
agency or unit, an employee or applicant for
employment, if aggrieved by the final disposition of his
complaint, or by the failure to take final action on his
complaint, may file a civil action as provided in Section
706 (42 USC 2000e-5), in which civil action the head of
the department, agency, or unit, as appropriate, shall be
the defendant.

PLEE™ THROUGH

STATEMENT OF TH

This case arose by reason of an appeal of the petitioner
of his removal from a permanent civil service position with the
United States Government. On May 17, 1973, the petitioner
received a letter from the Civil Service Commission informing
him of a Decision adverse to him and advising him of a
Statutory right to file a civil action within the 30 day period.
The petitioner who did not have funds at that time to hire an
attorney, wrote a letter to the Clerk of United States District
Court, Southern District of Ohio, dated June 14, 1973,
requesting that his case be filed and that he be appointed
counsel and that Court fees be waived as provided by statute.
The Clerk assigned a case number upon receipt of the
petitioner's letter and on July 13, 1973 the Court denied the
petitioner’s request to proceed in forma pauperis. The Order of
denial contained the assigned case number. Thereafter the
petitioner, using the charity of his relatives, hired his present
attorney who filed a formal complaint under the previously
assigned case number on Sept. 20, 1973. The United States
District Court dismissed petitioner's complaint on the grounds
that it lacked jurisdiction over the suit under their doctrine of
sovereign immunity and also on the grounds that the action was
time - barred under 42 U.S.C. Section 2000 (e).

REASON FOR GRANTING WRIT

The problems peculiar to this case will arise in many
instances where the petitioner, who was formerly a GS-12, loses
his job and is in such heavy debt that he could not obtain an
attorney within thirty days after the time he had exhausted his
administrative appeal. There is an inherent conflict between
Title VII's thirty day stautory limit for filing a civil action after
receiving notice of a right to sue and its provision giving a

complainant the statutory right to request a Court appointed

attorney and the waiver of fees. See Houston vs General Motors
Corp., 477 F 2d 1003 (8th Cir 1973); Harris vs Walgreen's
Distribution Center, 456 F 2d 588 (6th Cir 1972); Prescod vs
Ludwig Industries, 325 F Supp. 414 (ND II! 1971); Beckum vs
Tennessee Hotel, 341 F Supp. 991 (WD Tenn 1971 , Austin vs
Reynolds Metal Co., 327 F Supp. 1145 (ED vs 1970); McQueen
vs E.M.C. Plastic Co., 302 F Supp 881 (DC Tex 1969); Pace vs
Super Value Stores, Inc, 55 FRD 187 (1972), Reyes vs
Missouri - Kansas - Texas RR Co., 53 FRD 293 (1971). In this
instance the petitioner wrote a letter to the Clerk of the District
Court within thirty days of receipt of the Civil Service
Commission's Decision.

It is the Petitioner's contention that this Court ought to
clearly set forth that any alleged indigent who takes action
under 42 U.S.C. 2000 (e)-16 (c) has satisfied the thirty day
statutory limit for filing a civil action under Title VII and
especially where the Court’s Order assigning counsel and
waiving fees, or denying for the alleged indigent, as in this case
indicates a file number assigned to the letter of complaint.
Alleged indigents ought not to be required to file formal
pleadings if they make a request to the Court as did the
petitioner within the thirty day period. The petitioner can find
no case in this Court clearly delineating the rights of alleged
indigents proceeding under 42 U S C 2000 (e).

CONCLUSI

For the foregoing reasons, this petition for writ of
certiorari should be granted.
Respectfully submitted,

William J. Davis
Counsel for Petitioner
855 East Long Street
Columbus, Ohio 43203
(614) 253-8503
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

| certify that a copy of the foregoing document was served by
U. S. mail postage prepaid, this 23rd day of February 1976
upon Robert Bork, Solicitor General, Department of Justice,
Room 5612, Washington D.C. 20530.

William J. Davis

FLEE? THROUGH

No. 75-1160
FILED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS OCT6-1975
JOHN P. HEHMAN, Clerk

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

DANIEL L. EDWARDS, JR.,

Plaintiff-Appellant,
vs.

ROBERT SEAMANS, Secretary of
The Air Force,
Defendant-Appellee.

Before: EDWARDS, CELEBREZZE and LIVELY, Circuit
Judges.

)
)
)
ORDER
)
)
)
)

On receipt and consideration of an appeal in the
above-styled case, and

Noting from the briefs, records and oral argument that
the District Court dismissed this cause of action on pleadings on
the grounds 1) that the court lacked jurisdiction and 2) that the
action was time - barred by delay in the filing of same; and

Noting further that plaintiff was discharged on April 23,
1962; that he was rehired and again discharged in December of
1971; and

Further noting that his Civil Service complaints were
finally denied on May 4, 1973, and that on that date he was
notified that he had a right to file a complaint in the United
States District Court within thirty days; and

“APPENDIX A”

PLEE 2 THROUGH

JOHN P. HEHMAN, Clerk

POS: A A RI LET Et

Further noting that his complaint was actually filed
September 20, 1973, four and one-half months after final
administrative denial and a year and a half after the effective
date of the 1972 amendments to the Equal Employment
Opportunity Act (March 24, 1972),

Now, therefore, the judgment of the District Court is
affirmed for the second of the two reasons relied upon by the
District Judge. See 42 U.S.C. 2000e - 16 (c).

Entered by order of the Court

Clerk

“APPENDIX A”

PLEE® THROUGH

No. 75-1160

FILED
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS NOV 25 - 1975

FOR THE SIXTHCIRCCUIT jou p. HEMMAN, Clerk |

DANIEL L. EDWARDS,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

” ORDER

ROBERT SEAMANS, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.

— ee ee ee eee eee ee ee Se

BEFORE: EDWARDS, CELEBREZZE and LIVELY, Circuit
Judges.

On receipt and consideration of a petition for rehearing
in the above - styled case; and

Noting all petitioner’s arguments concerning the facts in
the case and preceiving no fact which would serve to toll the
statutory limitation beyond a point of 30 days after July 12,
1973,

Now, therefore, said petition for rehearing is hereby

denied.

Entered by order of the Court

Clerk

“APPENDIX A”

“APPENDIX 1”

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT i
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO FILED
WESTERN DIVISION

OCT 30 - 1974

DANIEL L. EDWARDS, JOHN D. LYTER, Clerk ©

,

Plaintiff,
V. Ms
ROBERT SEAMANS, et al., Civil No. 4475

Defendants.

JUDGMENT

This action came on before the Court, the Honorable
Car! B. Rubin, United States District Judge, presiding, upon the
motion of Defendants for dismissal under Rule 12(b), Fed. R.
Civ. P., by asserting that the Court has no subject matter
jurisdiction over this action, and a decision by the Court
thereon having been filed on July 22, 1974, now therefore, in
accordance therewith,

IT 1S ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that the plaintiff
herein take nothing, that this action is DISMISSED and that the

defendants, Robert Seamans, et al., recover of the plaintiff,
Daniel L. Edwards, their costs of action.

Done at Dayton, Ohio July 22, 1974

JOHN D. LYTER, CLERK

Rebecca J. Ellis

“APPENDIX A”

FPLEE? THROUGH

“APPENDIX Il"

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO WESTERN DIVISION

FILED
DANIEL L. EOWARDS, OCT 30 - 1974
JOHN d. LYTER, Clerk
Plaintiff,
v. Civil No. 4475

ROBERT SEAMANS, et al.,

Defendants

OPINION AND
JUDGMENT ORDER

This is a civil action in which plaintiff, Daniel L.
Edwards, seeks declaratory and injunctive relief against the
Secretary of the Air Force Equal Employment Opportunity
Counselor, and other Air Force Officers.

Edwards, a Caucasian, claims that in the course of his
civilian employment at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, he was
discriminated against on the basis of race and religion,
culminating in his dismissal from two separate jobs. He also
alleges that the procedure followed in processing his intra -
agency discrimination complaints violated his First, Fifth, and
Ninth Amendment rights entitling him to reinstatement to his
former position, back pay, and attendant retirement benefits.
Jurisdiction is invoked under the First, Fifth, and Ninth
Amendments to the United States Constitution, 5 U.S.C.
702-706, 28 U.S.C. 1331, 1343 (4), 1391 (e) and 2201 et seq.,
as well as 42 U.S.C. 2000e.

The defendants have moved for dismissal under Rule
12(b), Fed. R. Civ. P., by asserting that the Court has no subject
matter jurisdiction over this action. A consideration of the
history of this dispute is necessary for the disposition of the
Government's motion.

“APPENDIX A”

-10-

PLEESD THROUGH

From 1942 until 1961, plaintiff apparently performed
his duties as a GS-12 satisfactorily and without strife with his
superiors. In June and September of 1961, plaintiff claims that
his military supervisors asked him to donate money to church
fund drives. Because of retaliations which flowed from his
refusal to donate, and the denial of a requested hearing to
investigate discrimination against black job applicants, plaintiff
filed several complaints with the Air Force Logistics Command
Inspector General. He was denied hearings on these complaints,
and was discharged in April of 1962. Subsequently, he secured a
lesser position at the Base but was again discharged in 1971.
Plaintiff continued to file complaints with the Chief Equal
Employment Opportunity Counselor concerning the misdeeds
committed against him up until 1973. All of these complaints
were dismissed without hearing. Plaintiff took three separate
appeals to the Civil Service Commission Board of Appeals and
Review. Their final decision upheld the Equal Employment
Opportunity Officer’s rejection of plaintiff's last complaint
under the authority of 5 CFR 713.215 and 713.231 (b) and
advised the plaintiff of his right to file a civil action under 42
U.S.C. 2000e-16 within thirty days of receipt of their opinion.

s 713.215 states in part as follows:

The head of the agency or his designee may reject a
complaint which was not timely filed and shall reject those
allegations in a complaint which. . .set forth identical matters as
contained in a previous complaint filed by the same
complainant which. . .has been decided by the agency.

s 713.215 (b) states in pertinent part:
A complainant may not appeal to the Commission when
the issue of discrimination giving rise to the complaint is being

considered, or has been considered, in connection with any
other appeal by the complainant to the Commission.

“APPENDIX A”

et.

FLEE? THROUGH

DebALR Gtk nh a

A copy of the final decision of the Board, dated May 4, 3
1973 accompanied a request by plaintiff filed June 15, 1973 to i
proceed in forma pauperis in this action (the request was denied f
July 12, 1973); the complaint initiating this suit was filed ,
September 20, 1973. i

We need not and do not reach the merits of the |
plaintiff's charges, for it is clear from the facts of his complaint
that this Court lacks subject matter jurisdiction over this suit
under the doctrine of sovereign immunity. A basic axiom of
federal judicial review is that the United States, either as a party
or through its officers, cannot be sued unless it has consented to

be sued. Larson v. Domestic & Foreign Commerce Corp., 337
U.S. 682 (1949). A suit is against the sovereign if:

. . .'the judgment sought would expend itself on the
public treasury or domain, or interfere with the public
administration’. . .or if the effect of the judgment would
be ‘to restrain the Government from acting, or to
compel it to act.’

Dugan v. Rank, 372 U.S. 609, 620 (1963).

Such is the case here where Plaintiff seeks declaratory and
injunctive relief including a money judgment.

The enabling provisions contained in the Equal
Employment Opportunity Act of 1972 do allow for the relief
sought against the Air Force, but plaintiff has not met the
statute’s mandates. The language of 42 U.S.C. s 2000 (e) - 16
clearly provides that:

within thirty days of receipt of notice of final action
taken by a department agency, or unit. . .or by the Civil
Service Commission upon an appeal from a decision or
order of such department, agency, or unit. . .an
employee . . .may file a civil action. . .

Interpreting identical time limits contained elsewhere in the
Act, the Sixth Circuit has held that:

The permissive word ‘may’ refers to the option of the
aggrieved party to bring a lawsuit, not to a discretion in

“APPENDIX A”

. 92.

SPE IS. ALOE LS EGLO EE ARES PTI REE IE EEE SS ET NET eS

PLEE? THROUGH

RR ROS OANA NT, Aen RTE 1s a pe Dense

the Court to receive the case following expiration of the
30 days.

Goodman v. City Pr t rporation nF i
Div., 425 F. 2d 702, 703 (6th Cit. 1970).

Even accepting the averments of the complaint as true
plaintiff's claims must be rejected. Such allegations are
primarily directed at events which transpired in 1962 and the
relief sought would involve reinstatement to the GS-12 position
which plaintiff held at that time. Under the authority of Place
v. Weinberger, 42 U.S.L.W. 2595 (6th Cir. 1974), 42 USC.
2000 (e)-16 is only prospective in nature, having no application
to activities occurring before its passage.

It being apparent that this suit is barred under 42 U.S.C.
2000 (e), plaintiff's complaint as it now stands leaves him
without a remedy against the Government. Assuming arguendo
that plaintiff's allegations of constitutional! deprivation under
the First, Fifth, and Ninth Amendments are not wholly
insubstantial, this Court has no jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.
1331 or 28 U.S.C. 1343 (4) to grant the requested relief. These
jurisdictional statutes do not create actionable rights. They
merely vest in the Federal courts the power to adjudicate viable
causes of action. Since neither section manifests a waiver by the
United States of its sovereign immunity, neither section grants

authority to decide these claims. Anderson v. i tates
229 F. 2d 675 (5th Cir. 1956); Cotter Corporation v. Seaborg,

370 F. 2d 686 (10th Cir. 1966); Commonwealth of Kentucky
Ex. Rel. Hancock v. Ruckelshaus, 362 F. Supp. 360 (W.D.Ky.
1973); Smallwood v. ULS., 358 F. Supp. 398 (E.D.Mo. 1973),
aff'd. 486 F. 2d 1407 (8th Cir. 1973). Jurisdiction cannot be
founded on 5 U.S.C. 702 - 706 for the same reasons. As was
stated in Sierra Club v. Hickel, 467 F. 2d 1048 (6th Cir. 1972),
cert. den. 411 U.S. 920, the Administrative Procedure Act does
not waive sovereign immunity in an action involving officers of
the Executive Branch. See also, Bramblett v. Desobry, 490 F.
2d 405 (6th Cir. 1974); Commonwealth of Kentucky Ex. Rel.
Hancock v. Ruckelshaus, supra, Nor does the Declaratory
Judgment Act afford jurisdiction in this matter. The rationale
of a comparable case is dispositive:

“APPENDIX A”

oe.

FLEE? THROUGH

HP MS By OODi ga

nt APS OP 072 RO, 2 ROR ———, __.

.. .by virture of Plaintiff's theory of the case a decision
by this Court concerning the validity of the discharge
necessarily involves an adjudication of the claim for
back wages. . .That the complaint is cast in terms of a
declaratory judgment action cannot alter the fact that

what in substance is sought is a money judgment against P
the United States for back pay in excess of $10,000.
Carter v. Seamans, 411 F. 2d 767, 771 (5th Cir. 1969), 7
cert. den, 397 U.S. 941. .

Plaintiff's other jurisdictional invocations under the
First, Fifth and Ninth Amendments and 28 U.S.C. 1391 (e),
merit little discussion. It is well settled that constitutional
amendments do not confer jurisdiction, nor does a statute
governing venue. Weaver _v. Kelton, 357 F Supp. 1106 (E.D.
Texas 1973).

For the reasons stated above, the Government’s motion
is GRANTED, and the complaint is therefore DISMISSED

without prejudice.

Let Judgment Enter In Accordance With The Foregoing.

Carl B. Rubin
United States District Judge

“APPENDIX _ A”

OR REPRE OES NEEL PT Ped REIT . x -
AE a LE Lr a a kee Sa Nines Gites: See Re ED

1343

(4)

1391

Civil Rights and Elective Franchise - The District Courts

shall have original jurisdiction of any civil action
authorized by law to be commenced by any person;

To recover damages or to secure equitable or other relief
under any Act of Congress providing for the protection
of civil rights, including the right to vote.

- (e) A civil action in which each
defendant is an officer or employee of the United States
or any agency thereof acting in his official capacity or
under color of legal authority, or an agency of the
United States, may, except as otherwise provided by
law, be brought in any judicial district in which: (1) a
defendent in the action resides, or (2) the cause of
action arose or (3) any real property involved in the
action is situated or (4) the plaintiff resides if no real
property is involved in the action.

“APPENDIX B”

ee.

C peo ae

CADE AWE NR Ys

LACE IN Ty Dire

LA ate ram

AE EE EE LS ELLEN RAE OOS LTE LE NIN LS TLIO GIG EL EATS ANI CR a

PLEED THROUGH

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385609_0160%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
