# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp. v. Dixon

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385609_0118%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 426 U.S. 911

## Text

AS dA aoe

NO pL Ee EEE SIND LOE NE OE I RN IIS

Supreme Court, U. &

ae | MAR LL 1976
NE COURT, U, @
aD |. CLP
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OctToBER TERM, 1975

Brown & WILLIAMSON TOBACCO CORPORATION, et al.,
Petitioners,

Vv.

Pavut Ranp Dixon, AcTING CHAIRMAN,

FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION, et al.,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SECOND CIRCUIT AND APPLICATION FOR
STAY PENDING REVIEW BY THIS COURT

March, 1976

(Counsel Listed on Inside Cover)

Press or Byron S. ADAMS PRINTING, INC., WASHINGTON, D. C.

BiBrcreescre ce re eer ters cere

. FILED «:f

Ss |

ROLE IAL ALONE EAN LD POTEET RS TREAD EPO IE OIH o B as * ete DERE LEIS SRE PORN ASS

ERNEST PEPPLES
Brown & WILLIAMSON
Tosacco Corp.
Of Counsel

THOMAS F,. AHRENSFELD
ALEXANDER HOLTZMAN
PHILIP Morris INcoRPORATED
Of Counsel

MAX H. CROHN, JR.
R. J. REYNotps TosBacco CoMPANY
Of Counsel

ARTHUR STEVENS
LoRILLARD TOBACCO
Of Counsel

C. F. HETSKO
AMERICAN BRANDS, INC.
Of Counsel

JOSEPH GREER
Liccerr & MYERS INCORPORATED
Of Counsel

MARTIN LONDON
LEWIS A. KAPLAN
PavL, WEIss, RIFKIND, WHARTON
& GARRISON
345 Park Avenue
New York, New York 10022
Attorneys for
Brown § Williamson
Tobacco Corporation
ABE KRASH
JEROME I, CHAPMAN
ALBERT H. KRAMER
ARNOLD & PORTER
1229 Nineteenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
DONALD FRIED
ConsBoy, HEWITT, O’BRIEN &
BOARDMAN
20 Exchange Plaza
New York, New York 10005
Attorneys for
Philip Morris Incorporated
PAUL C. WARNKE
JOHN F. KOVIN
HAROLD D. MURRY, JR.
CLIFFORD, WARNKE, GLAss,
McILWAIN & FINNEY
815 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006

Davis, PoLK & WARDWELL
One Chase Manhattan Plaza
New York, New York 10005
Attorneys for
R. J. Reynolds Tobacco
Company
IRVING SCHER
STANLEY A. ROTHSTEIN
WEIL, GorsHAL & MANGES
767 Fifth Avenue
New York, New York 10022
Attorneys for
Loew’s Theatres, Inc.
DANIEL J. O’NEILL
CHARLES K. O’NEILL
CHADBOURNE, PARKE, WHITESIDE
& WoLFr
30 Rockefeller Plaza
New York, New York 10020
EUGENE R. ANDERSON
ANDERSON, RUSSELL, KILL
& Ouick, P.C.
630 Fifth Avenue
New York, New York 10020
Attorneys for
American Brands, Inc.
LAWRENCE G. MEYER
LINDA E. BUCK
Patron, Boccs & BLow
1200 Seventeenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
GRAINER R. BARRETT
75 Rockefeller Plaza
New York, New York 10020
Attorneys for
Liggett § Myers Incorporated

RALEED THF OU¢

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page :
a ee ae 2
FSR Ze ile Cetin aa rt ea eek Sa ae ks On oe eae 2 :

4
ON FN 55-5 Fk ween Cadi cxvsus 2 :
CoNSTITUTIONAL AND Statutory Provisions INVOLVED... 3
PRELIMINARY STATEMENT .............ccccccccccccec 3
I a ee i le ce 4
1. The Consent Orders and Petitioners’ Compliance 4
2. The Commission’s Determination .............. 5
Pe ere 7
©; Fae ee I vv on wm oc eo hbkn wks hee 9
5. Related Enforcement Litigation .............. 10
Reasons FoR GRANTING THE WRIT ...............00e. 11
I. The Decision of the Court Below is in Conflict
with the Decisions of this Court. .............. 12
II. The Decision of the Court Below is in Conflict
with the Decisions of Other Federal Courts. .... 19
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE STAY .............-..... 20
Be POTS PO RS ON BUCA RENE 22
Aprenvix A: Constitutional and Statutory Provisions 1a
Aprenpix B: Opinion of United States Court of Ap-
peals for the Seeond Cireuit .......... 3a
AprEeNbDIX C: Opinion of the United States District
Court for the Southern District of New
BW fc aot vas ieee ee 16a
ARENT IAS REDO RR Md DOR TN ORL

PODR COPY

ish a oe

PA 9 OPE PIED TL at AOL, OPTRA LEI MBN

li Table of Contents Continued
Page

Aprenpix D: Order of United States Court of Ap-
peals for the Second Circuit Denying
NE iv keen cackncecedusescavns 21a

Aprrenpix E: Federal Trade Commission letter of Au-
gust 1, 1975 to American Brands Ine. .. 22a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CAsEs:

Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136 (1967) .. 16

Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp. v. Engman, 1975-2
CCH Trade Reg. Rep. { 60,607 (S.D.N.Y. 1975) .. 10

Columbia Broadcasting System v. United States, 316

i a ai no OA vie ema eat, S 400 49 e's 209s 16
Continental Baking Co. v. Dixon, 283 F. Supp. 285 (D.

RES a eee ee ee ee 19
Fr parte Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1908) ...... 2, 11, 12, 13, 15,

16, 17, 18, 19, 22
Floersheim v. Engman, 494 F.2d 949 (D.C. Cir. 1973)

14, 15, 19
Ford Motor Co. v. Coleman, 402 F. Supp. 475 (D.D. C.
1975), direct appeal pending, No. 75-870 ....... 11, 15,
18, 19, 20
FTC v. Dean Foods, 384 U.S. 597 (1966) ............ 21
Holloway vy. Bristol-Myers Corp., 485 F.2d 986 (D.C.
ee Nadia neabas hemes eV esse Ka eee ¢ 16
National Automatic Laundry & Cleaning Council v.
Shultz, 443 F.2d 689 (D.C. Cir. 1971) .......... 16
Natural Gas Pipeline Co. v. Slattery, 302 U.S. 300
cen Gks cea bangeeeunness av sraeKecuxes 18
Oklahoma Operating Co. v. Love, 252 U.S. 331 (1920)
12, 15, 18
St. Louis I. M. & So. Ry. v. Williams, 251 U.S. 63
ks canine 12, 18
St. Regis Paper Co. v. United States, 365 U.S. 858
hs IRE aa rey ane Pee 22
St. Regis Paper Co. v. United States, 368 U.S. 208
rere eT eer 13, 17, 18, 22
United States v. Beatrice Foods Co., 322 F. Supp. 139
eS: | eeererererererr rer rrr rrr

RLEED THFC

Table of Authorities Continued lil

Page

United States v. ITT Continental Baking Co., 420 U.S.
RE gle lah a wate Wows bitte nig hot sain oe 14,17
United States v. J. B. Williams Company Inc., 498 F.2d
TT I Ns ga 7
United States vy. Morton Salt Co., 338 U.S. 632 (1950) 22
United States vy. Pacific Coast European Conference,

oe ee Bk Ae: ) Eee men 13
Wadley So. Ry. Co. v. Georgia, 235 U.S. 651 (1915)
12, 17,18
STATUTES:

a ds orn Sig as oy buen urd header 8, 20, 21
on sc ola ba luic bbb Gia biw dw owreaee 1,3, 7,8, 37
ee os, nk haw owns nee akeweuene 3, 6
ae! Be Se arene eee oaae 4
ee I a va nin vn Woes eum anaes sae bes oe 2
ck I renee nee 8
Oe he Or ks bay x Ga ea's eau ae cnekivcacs 8
re Rd. os ge ne oo a en hs nk ke 8, 21
I hk bg bens ccu s'x wk come Ke ok Ge Skok 8
ee Pr OIE se 6o.5 cas. bie ociavasewseb secede 8

Oruer AUTHORITIES:

Federal Trade Commission, Report to Congress Pur-
suant to the Public Health Cigarette Smoking Act,
INE OE oh isk oi ad ke Sn Chek ecesvunes 5

Federal Trade Commission, Report to Congress Pur-
suant to the Public Health Cigarette Smoking Act,
IE OR EE oo io on vc cu wnwessanauvis suas 5

Senate Judiciary Committee Print, Reprinted in Ad-
ininistrative Procedure Act, Legislative History,
(3th Cong., 2d Sess. 38 (1946) ................. 21

; ‘ CF ON Ot PPE FTL TION REST pF a OE
———— ah OP SHEA PR ERASE ATE PPS ,

}GH

PODR COPY

ge

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OctoBER TERM, 1975

No.

Brown & WILLIAMSON ToBACco CORPORATION, et al.,
Petitioners,
v.

PautL Ranp Drxon, AcTING CHAIRMAN,
FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION, et al.,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SECOND CIRCUIT AND APPLICATION FOR
STAY PENDING REVIEW BY THIS COURT

Petitioners’ pray that a writ of certiorari issue to
review the judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit entered in these con-
solidated cases on December 22, 1975. Petitioners also
respectfully request an order of this Court staying the
accumulation of civil penalties under 15 U.S.C. § 45(1)

1 Petitioners are the major American cigarette manufacturing
companies: Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp., Philip Morris Inc.,
R. J. Reynolds Tobacco Co., Loew’s Theatres, Ine. (of which
Lorillaid is a division), American Brands, Inc., and Liggett &
Myers, Ince.

—— iio ERE AES MERE OIR, EE ROREL ITAIR

‘'D THF OUGH

PODR COPY

2

(Supp. III, 1973), pending final judgment by this
Court in this proceeding.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (A. 3a) appears
at 1975-2 CCH Trade Reg. Rep. 160,649. The opinion
of the district court (A. 16a; App’l App. A294-301*)
appears at 1975-2 CCH Trade Reg. Rep. 160,473.
Neither opinion is yet officially reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on December 22, 1975. (A. 3a.) A timely petition for
rehearing filed by petitioner American Brands, Inc.,
was denied by order entered January 30, 1976. (A. 21a-
22a.) The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pur-
suant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

QUESTION PRESENTED

In an unbroken line of cases starting with Ex parte
Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1908), this Court has held that
persons adversely affected by final administrative ac-
tions are entitled, as a matter of due process, to an
opportunity safely to test the validity of the admin-
istrative determination in court, unencumbered by the
inhibitory effects of overhanging, continually accruing y
monetary penalties during the litigation. This prin-
ciple has been held to have particular force where, as
here, both courts below found ‘‘that [petitioners] have
doubtless posed serious questions’’ as to the correctness

2**Apnp’l App.’’ refers to the Appendix filed in the court of
appeals, copies of which have been lodged with the Clerk of this
Court.

RPLEED THF OUGI

3

of the agency action. The question presented is whether
the court of appeals erred in holding that this prin-
ciple does not apply to requests for relief pendente lite
in any case challenging the validity of an administra-
tive determination that the affected parties had vio-
lated a Federal Trade Commission consent decree.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The pertinent provisions of the Fifth Amendment
to the Constitution of the United States, Section 16(a)
(1)of the Federal Trade Commission Act, 38 Stat. 717,
as added, 52 Stat. 11, as amended, 15 U.S.C. § 56(a) (1)
(Supp. IV, 1974), and Section 5(1) of the Federal
Trade Commission Act, 38 Stat. 719, as amended, 15
U.S.C. §45(7) (Supp. IIT, 1973), appear in the Ap-
pendix. (A. 1a.)

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

This case arises out of a Federal Trade Commission
determination that petitioners have violated certain
FTC consent orders. The determination exposes peti-
tioners to the threat of enormous, daily-mounting civil
penalties. Petitioners strenuously dispute this deter-
mination, and both courts below explicitly acknowl-
edged that petitioners have raised ‘‘serious questions
on the merits.’’ (A. 14a, 17a.)

The Commission’s determination confronts petition-
ers with a serious dilemma. They must either forgo
their constitutional right to judicial review of an
agency action they believe to be illegal—and as to
which they have raised substantial questions—or they
may pursue their judicial remedy, but only at the in-
hibiting risk of massive accumulating monetary pen-

PODR COPY

a

CIMA aargeetenceenel. 5 oars

tO eines

4

alties. To resolve precisely this sort of dilemma and
to protect the due process right of judicial review, this
Court has repeatedly held that the party challenging
the agency action is entitled to a stay of penalties pénd-
ing judicial consideration of the issues.

Contrary to the controlling decisions of this Court
and the decisions of other federal courts, the court of
appeals in this case refused to stay the accumulation
of penalties pendente lite. It did so on the basis of a
narrowly restrictive and, we submit, erroneous read-
ing of this Court’s precedents. The court below held
that the right to a stay of penalties pendente lite ob-
tains in cases challenging the validity of an agency
order, but not in cases challenging the validity of an
agency determination that a consent order has been
violated. If allowed to stand, the decision below will
severely infringe the due process rights of parties
who, like petitioners, raise substantial questions as to
the validity of an administrative action and who seek
the opportunity to challenge the agency action in court,
free from the chilling effect of a ticking penalty meter.

STATEMENT
1. The Consent Orders and Petitioners’ Compliance
Beginning about April 15, 1971, some cigarette man-
ufacturers voluntarily included in certain of their ad-
vertisements the caution notice which Congress had
prescribed for all cigarette packages.’ On March 30,

® The text of the caution notice—‘‘ Warning: The Surgeon Gen-
eral Has Determined That Cigarette Smoking is Dangerous To Your
Health’’—is prescribed by the Public Health Cigarette Smoking Act
of 1969, Pub. L. No. 91-222, § 2, 84 Stat. 86, 15 U.S.C. § 1333 (1970).
The statute mandates the use of the caution notice only on cigarette
packs and cartons. The consent orders at issue here provide for the
use of the caution notice in various advertising and promotional
materials.

RLEED THF OU

—

5

1972, after extensive negotiations with petitioners—
the six major domestic cigarette manufacturers-—the
Federal Trade Commission issued six identical con-
sent orders spelling out in minute detail the manner
in which the caution notice was to be displayed on vari-
ous specified forms of cigarette advertising and pro-
motional material. (App’] App. A24-35.) All six com-
panies prciaptly began compliance with the decree.

Each company was informed by the Commission in
December 1972, after submitting the compliance re-
port required by the decree, that ‘‘no compliance ac-
tion by the Commission is indicated at this time.’’
(App’] App. A483.) Thereafter, the Commission twice
publicly reported to Congress—at year-end 1972 and
year-end 1973—that ‘‘all cigarette advertisements ob-
served by the Commission Staff were being published
in accordance with the terms of these orders.’’* All of
the companies have relied on these Commission pro-
nouncements, and all of them believe that their ad-
vertising has been and is in compliance with the con-
sent orders.

2. The Commission's Determination

In the spring of 1974, the Commission’s Compliance
Division informed petitioners that an investigation had
been instituted into their compliance with the consent
orders. Petitioners cooperated in the staff’s investiga-
tion, and in March 1975, petitioners submitted a mem-
orandum to the Commission in support of their posi-
tion that they were in compliance with the orders.
(App’] App. A315-497.)

* Federal Trade Commission, Report to Congress Pursuant to the
Public Health Cigarette Smoking Act, December 31, 1972, p. 2. See
also Federal Trade Commission, Report to Congress Pursuant to
the Public Health Cigarette Smoking Act, December 31, 1973, p. 1.

RARE EET IRM ON OD POY SEE LE NPE FOLGE

POOR COPY

unnenne

SET x

6

By separate but similar letters dated August 1, 1975,
addressed to each company, the Commission notified
the companies that it “thas determined’’ that each com-
pany had violated its consent order.’ With few excep-
tions, the letters neither identified particular advertise-
ments which the Commission deemed violative of the
consent orders, nor indicated specifie measures the

; manufacturers should take to ‘‘remedy’’ the alleged
violations.
Rather, the Commission’s letters referred to six gen-

eralized categories of alleged violations. With respect
to two of the categories, the Commission stated that it
would ‘hold a civil penalty action in abeyance for 180
days.’’ If at the expiration of that period the com-
panies had not ‘‘remedied”’ the alleged violations in
accordance with the Commission’s unarticulated de-
4 mands, the Commission threatened to seek ‘‘civil pen-
’ alties and other relief’’ for the alleged violations. (A.
25a.)

Feith:

i

As to the remaining four categories of alleged vio-
; lations, the Commission stated that it would notify
the Attorney General of its ‘‘intention to commence an
action for civil penalties and other relief,’ and pur-
suant to the FTC Act, as amended,’ would tender the
eases to him for prosecution. (A. 23a.) There was no
assurance when the Attorney General would commence
: suit, or, if he determined not to bring suit and accord-

> A copy of the letter sent to one of the companies, illustrative of
the letter sent to each, appears in the Appendix. (A. 23a.) The
letters appear in App’l App. at A36-38; A58-61; A79-81; A101-03 ;
A164-66 ; and A185-87.

® Federal Trade Commission: s\ct, Section 16(a)(1), 15 U.S.C.
§ 56(a)(1) (Supp. IV, 1974).

Ck GT RENT IS ET RT oO eee ed — “

aan Lea weak eX Mantas ah

SO RREO A AEE ING

FLEED THF OUGH

7

ingly remanded the matter to the Commission, when
the Commission would bring its own suit. The only
points made certain by the Commission’s letters of
August 1, 1975 were that the Commission had deter-
mined that each of the companies had violated the con-
sent orders and that, at some indefinite future time,
the government would institute actions for civil pen-
alties with respect to these alleged violations.

3. The Present Litigation

The Commission’s determination presented peti-
tioners with a grave dilemma. They could either con-
tinue their existing practices at the peril of massive
mounting civil penalties or change their advertising
in an effort to meet whatever demands the Commission
might make. The first alternative did not allow an un-
deterred opportunity for judicial review, since it re-
quired the companies, as the cost of such review, to
stand by each day while potential penalties continued
to mount.’ The second alternative entailed the incur-
ring of substantial costs without any assurance that
the revisions in advertising and promotional materials
would satisfy the Commission’s demands. More impor-
tantly, it would have compelled the companies to forgo

? Paragraph 8 of the 1972 Consent Order Agreement (¢.g., App’l
App. A26) provides that each petitioner ‘‘may be liable for a civil
penalty of up to $5,000 for each violation of the order after it
becomes final.’’ The statute, Section 5(/) of the Federal Trade
Commission Act, as amended, 15 U.S.C. § 45(1) (Supp. IIT, 1973),
provides that ‘‘[e]ach separate violation of such an order shall be
a separate offense ... .’’ As the court of appeals observed, the Com-
mission has in the past taken the position that each advertisement
amounts to a separate violation (A. 9a, n. 7), a position that has
been sanctioned by the same court of appeals. United States v. J. B.
Williams Company, Inc., 498 F.2d 414, 435-38 (2d Cir. 1974). Under
this theory, which the government has adopted in this ease, the
potential liability of one company for one ad in one edition of the
Sunday New York Daily News, with a circulation of three million,
could be $30,000,000,000. (A. 9a, n. 7.)

PODR COPY

aes |

PP PE NY RPC Cr Sees ET

res

OP ROW ii SOU Ms EP te PE AO Oi! NA” 3 ead oe on + to= ae

8

their right to a judicial test of the validity of a Com-
mission determination they believe to be erroneous
and which both courts below agreed were subject to
serious question.

Faced with this Hobson’s choice, each petitioner
filed an action in the United States District Court for
the Southern District of New York on August 15,
1975—within days after receipt by each petitioner of
the Commission’s August 1 letter. The complaints
sought a declaratory judgment that the determinations
set forth in the FTC’s August 1 letter were inconsist-
ent with the consent orders and otherwise contrary to
law and that petitioners were not liable for civil pen-
alties.* Petitioners also requested a stay pendente lite
of the accumulation of penalties under Seetion 5(1).
They argued that the Constitution affords them the
right to contest judicially the validity of the FTC’s
determination without having to ineur the risk of
potentially massive penalties as the price of admission
to the courthouse.’

The government conceded in the district court that
the only basic difference between petitioners’ declara-
tory judgment action and the civil penalty action that
the government had determined to file was that the
former substantially advanced the time when a stay of
penalties could be sought. (App’] App. A257-58, A275-
76, A285-86.) It nonetheless argued that petitioners

* Named as defendants were the Federal Trade Commission, the
individual Commissioners, the United States, and the Attorney
General. Former Chairman Engman of the FTC was the lead de-
fendant. He has since resigned and, pursuant to Rule 48, petition-
ers have substituted Acting Chairman Dixon as the lead defendant.

*The jurisdiction of the district court was invoked under 28
U.S.C. §§ 1331, 1337, 28 U.S.C. §§ 2201-02, and 5 17.S.C. §§ 702-06.
In the court of appeals, see pp. 9-10, infra, petitioners also invoked
the All Writs Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1651, as an alternative basis of
jurisdiction to issue a stay of penalties. See 28 U.S.C. § 1653.

FLEED THF OUGI

9

should be required to await the enforcement suit. In
an affidavit, the government further conceded that
‘‘One purpose of these August 1, 1975 letters (espe-
cially that part of them that granted [petitioners] a
six-month grace period to cure some of their violations)
was to give [petitioners] an opportunity then to come
forward with a reasonable settlement proposal... .”’
(App’] App. A228.) In this way, the Commission ac-
knowledged its intentions to take advantage of the
dilemma its determination created for petitioners by
bringing pressure on them to forgo a court challenge
to the Commission’s action.

4 The Decisions Below

On August 28, 1975, the district court (Tenney, J.)
denied the stay pendente lite. Judge Tenney assumed
that the companies had ‘‘at least raised serious ques-
tions going to the merits.’’ (A. 17a.) He held that a
stay was not required because the penalty provisions
of the FTC Act only fixed the upper limits of the com-
panies’ liability for each violation, the amount of the
penalties ultimately to be assessed being within the
trial court’s discretion. (A. 19a.)

Following an expedited hearing, the court of appeals
affirmed Judge Tenney’s ruling. That court agreed that
the companies had ‘‘doubtless posed a serious question
on the merits.’’ (A. 14a.) Further, the court acknowl-
edged the general right under the due process clause of
the Fifth Amendment to test the validity of adminis-
trative action without facing substantial mounting
penalties as a consequence. But the court ruled that this
safeguard was not applicable here on the ground that
the companies sought to test not the ‘‘validity’’ of the
underlying orders, but the FTC’s ‘‘interpretation”’ of
those orders at the compliance stage. (A. 10a-1la.)
While noting that the ‘‘cumulative aspect of [the civil]

POOR COPY

SGT TRS EIS RD

STEAK ETD INTE FI EIEIO RE EOP OLE 16 ¥ RR ~ Deen”

10

... penalties is severe’”’ (A. 11a), the court concluded
that this deterrent to judicial review was neverthe-
less valid, because the penalties would ultimately be
‘‘subject to the limitation of judicial discretion.’’ " (A.
12a.)

It is this ruling denying a stay pendente lite which
petitioners now seek to have this Court review.

5. Related Enforcement Litigation

The government conceded before Judge Tenney that
it could bring its civil penalty actions as compulsory
counterclaims in the petitioners’ suits in New York.
Instead, however, the government moved to dismiss
the complaints, and on October 17, 1975—two and a
half months after the determination letters—it filed an
enforcement action against each petitioner in the
United States District Court for the District of Co-
lumbia.”

On November 5, 1975, Judge Tenney, while ‘‘not pre-
pared to... hold’’ that petitioners’ dilemma did not
present a case of ‘exceptional need and unfairness,”’ *
nonetheless granted the government’s motion to dis-
miss. The district judge recognized that there was a

1° Petitioners also sought a stay of penalties pending the de-
termination of the appeal. The court of appeals never explicitly
acted on petitioners’ motion.

11The complaint against each petitioner covers only the four
categories of alleged violations as to which the Commission’s Au-
gust 1 letters had stated its intention immediately to institute suit.
See p. 6, supra. The remaining two categories of alleged violations,
as to which the Commission stated it would hold civil actions in
abeyance for 180 days, are not involved in the enforcement pro-
ceedings. By contrast, all aspects of the Commission’s determina-
tion are involved in the instant proceeding.

12 Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corporation, et al. v. Engman,
1975-2 CCH Trade Reg. Rep. {| 60,607 at 67,674.

rene

FLEED THFOL

aes

11

jurisdictional basis for petitioners’ actions, but he de-
clined to exercise jurisdiction, as a matter of discre-
tion, in light of the pendency of the enforcement ac-
tions which had by that time been instituted in another
court.”®

On January 20, 1976, the United States District
Court for the District of Columbia (Bryant, J.)
granted the petitioners’ motions to transfer the gov-
ernment’s enforcement actions from that district to
the Southern District of New York. Noting that the
enforcement suits charged petitioners ‘‘with technical
violations of the Consent Decree, for which civil pen-
alties may be assessed,’’ the court ruled that transfer
of the proceedings to New York would best serve ‘‘the
convenience of the parties and witnesses and the in-
terests of justice... .”’

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case raises an important and recurring ques-
tion relating to judicial review of administrative or-
ders. The right to effective judicial review is severely
inhibited if parties are subject to the risk of ongoing
civil penalties for alleged violations of an agency order
during the pendency of judicial proceedings. The novel
decision of the court of appeals improperly constricts
the scope of the procedural due process doctrine long
established by this Court in Ex parte Young, 209 U.S.
123 (1908), and the many cases which followed it. In
addition, the decision of the court below conflicts with
those of other federal courts, including the recent deci-
sion of the three-judge court in Ford Motor Co. v. Cole-

13 Petitioners’ appeals from Judge Tenney’s dismissal order are
currently pending in the United States Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit.

PODR COPY

Pisa. Shh Ne

(Eas

..

12

man, 402 F. Supp. 475 (D.D.C. 1975), direct appeal
pending No. 75-870. The decision below deprives peti-
tioners of their right to an uninhibited judicial review
of the serious questions they have posed as to the valid-
ity of the FTC’s determination, and it casts serious
doubt upon the applicability of this Court’s established
due process doctrine in the expanding area of adminis-
trative enforcement proceedings. The writ should be
granted to clarify this important question of federal
constitutional and administrative law.

L The Decision of the Court Below is in Conflict with the
Decisions of This Court.

1. Ever since Ex parte Young, it has been the
accepted rule that whatever the genesis of an admin-
istrative order,

‘‘the right to a judicial review must be substan-
tial, adequate and safely available—but that right
is merely nominal and illusory if the party to be
affected can appeal to the courts only at the risk
of having to pay penalties so great that it is bet-
ter to yield to orders of uncertain legality rather
than to ask for the protection of the law.’’ Wadley
So. Ry. Co. v. Georgia, 235 U.S. 651, 661 (1915).

This right must be available ‘“‘before any liability for
penalties attaches.”’ St. Louis ILM. & So. Ry. v. Wil-
liams, 251 U.S. 63, 65 (1919). Where necessary to pre-
serve this right,

‘‘a permanent injunction should . . . issue to re-

strain enforcement of penalties accrued pendente

lite, provided that it also be found that the plain-

tiff had reasonable ground to contest [the admin-

istrative order in question].’’ Oklahoma Operating

v. Love, 252 U.S. 331, 338 (1920) (Brandeis,
“pe

FPLEED THFOL

a
_—_ a Sos

13

To the same effect is this Court’s decision in St.
Regis Paper Co. v. United States, 368 U.S. 208, 225-27
(1961), aff’g 285 F.2d 607 (2d Cir. 1960). See also
United States v. Pacific Coast European Conference,
451 F.2d 721 (9th Cir. 1971).

The court below recognized the continuing validity
of these decisions. But it erred when it found them
inapplicable on the theory that the present proceeding
deals with an agency’s ‘‘interpretation’’ of orders at
the compliance stage and not the validity of the orders
themselves. Petitioners respectfully submit that this
distinction is without a constitutional difference.

It is irrelevant for constitutional purposes whether
the issue in dispute is the validity of agency orders or,
as here, the validity of a final agency determination
that those orders have been violated. The crucial fac-
tors under the Ex parte Young line of cases are (i)
that the agency has taken adverse action and (ii) that
the affected party cannot obtain a bona fide judicial
test of the validity of that action except at the risk
of mounting, massive penalties. Both factors are pres-
ent in this case.

Petitioners’ right to a stay of penalties pendente lite
is buttressed by the substantiality of the questions they
have raised as to the correctness of the FTC’s deter-
mination. Both the district court and the court of ap-
peals recognized that ‘‘serious questions’’ on the merits
were raised. The threat of penalties is designed to force
petitioners to abandon their present lawful conduct and
to aequiesce in an interpretation of the decree that they
regard as erroneous. This is precisely the result that
Ex parte Young and related cases intended to foreclose.

BELGE LE SOG EL SILER EEE Np SE EO TOE Lg EF arene

PODR COPY

* Snes

as |

i ere See eee ee ee

14

The three cases cited by the court below to support
its novel constitutional rule “ are inapposite. None of
them involve the situation, presented here, in which
parties could not challenge adverse agency action ex-
cept at the risk of accumulating penalties.

In ITT Continental Baking Co., a suit for penalties
for alleged violations of an FTC consent decree, the
government did not question the right of the respond-
ent to litigate the validity of the FTC’s determination
that it had violated the consent decree without facing
the risk of additional penalties. Unlike the Commis-
sion’s claims in the present case, penalties were sought
only from the date of the alleged violation ‘‘to the date
of filing of the complaint ....’’ 420 U.S. at 229. Sim-
ilarly, in Beatrice Foods Co., the government sought
penalties only to the date of the filing of its complaint
and no controversy existed as to the accumulation of
penalties from that date forward. Finally, Floersheim
involved a situation where the respondent had merely
been informed that a particular course of action ‘‘may
subject’? him to civil penalties.” 494 F.2d at 952-53.

14 United States v. ITT Continental Baking Co., 420 U.S. 223
(1974); Floersheim v. Engman, 494 F.2d 949 (D.C. Cir. 1973);
United States v. Beatrice Foods Co., 322 F. Supp. 139 (D. Minn.
1971).

15 In Floersheim the court declined to intervene in a dispute over
the FTC’s rejection of Floersheim’s report of compliance with a
litigated cease and desist order, which had been affirmed by the
court of appeals for another circuit. The court rejected Floer-
sheim’s contention that he was forced either to face prospective civil
penalties or acquiesce in an unlawful order. The court noted that
Floersheim’s remedy was first to take up the dispute with the Com-
mission. If no accommodation could be reached, then Floersheim
could have sought a clarification of mandate from the Ninth Cireuit
Court of Appeals, which had already reviewed the cease and desist
order at issue.

BLEED THF’

ot A

JGH

~

15

Indeed, the opinion in Floersheim is inconsistent
with the holding of the court below that the Lx parte
Young principle is inapplicable to cases involving an
agency’s “‘interpretation”’ of its orders. The court of
appeals stated in Floersheim:

‘¢ | . a person may have relief in equity to avoid
invalid official action where the risk of penalties,
if he is remitted to defense of enforcement actions,
is so coercive as to be a denial of due process. Ex
parte Young, 209 U.S. 123, 28 S.Ct. 441, 52 L.Ed.
714 (1908). Equitable doctrine has . . . been ex-
tended, with certain limitations, to an agency ac-
tion that constitutes a general interpretation on
the highest level, presenting a controversy fully
ripe for review. National Automatic Laundry &
Cleaning Council v. Schultz, 143 U.S. App. D.C.
974, 443 F.2d 689 (1971).” Floersheim v. Engman,
supra, 494 F.2d at 954 (emphasis supplied).

In the present case, there has been final agency ac-
tion at the highest level, by way of a formal ‘‘deter-
mination,” affecting an entire industry. The realistic
practical effect, if not the stated purpose of the admin-
istrative action at issue here—whether labeled an ‘‘in-
terpretation” or a ‘‘determination’’—is to put peti-
tioners to the choice either of complying with an agency
directive of dubious legality or of incurring the risk of
substantial penalties as the cost of a good faith judicial
test of that action.

Due process prohibits the threat of coercive penal-
ties that undermine the opportunity for ‘‘substantial,
adequate, and safely available’’ judicial review of
questionable regulatory conduct. See Oklahoma Op-
erating Co. v. Love, supra, 252 U.S. at 336; Ford Motor
Co. v. Coleman, supra, 402 F. Supp. at 502-03 (Hart,

POOR COPV

_ _—

»

16

J., dissenting). Labeling that conduct as an “‘interpre-
tation’’ does not alter this basie principle."

2. The principle of Ex parte Young also cannot be
avoided on the ground, emphasized by the court below,
that by entering into the consent decrees, petitioners
“‘waived the right further to challenge [the decrees’ ]
validity.’’ (A. 10a.) Petitioners did not waive their
right to challenge, without running the risk of over-
whelming penalties, the validity of any interpretations
the Commission might choose to place on the decrees.
Petitioners are entitled to an independent review of
this final agency action, and to the attendant due proc-
ess safeguards, apart from any review of the validity
of the underlying order. Cf. Abbott Laboratories v.
Gardner, 387 U.S. 136 (1967); National Automatic
Laundry & Cleaning Council v. Shultz, 443 F.2d 689
(D.C. Cir. 1971).

If this right is deemed waived by entering into a
consent decree, there will be a serious impairment of
the utility of consent decrees in the administration of
the Federal Trade Commission Act, a result at odds
with the purposes of the Act. The plan of regulation
inherent in the FTC Act, as the government argued
below, places primary reliance on the voluntary settle-
ment of trade regulation disputes between the Com-
mission and the business community. See //olloway v.
Bristol-Myers Corp., 485 F.2d 986, 998 (D.C. Cir.
1973). But if a respondent to an FTC complaint knows
that due process will afford no relief from the threat
of penalties pendente lite even where, as here, serious
questions are raised regarding the correctness of a

16 See Columbia Broadcasting System vy. United States, 316 U.S.
407, 416 (1942) (‘‘it is the substance’’ of agency action ‘“‘which is
decisive,’’ not the ‘‘particular label placed upon it’’).

RLEED THF

SoS ALA RPTL

2U GH

17

subsequent Commission interpretation, the incentive to
enter into a consent decree is significantly reduced.
Moreover, the chilling effect on litigation contesting
the agency’s ‘‘interpretation’’, fostered by the decision
below, increases the danger that the Commission could
with impunity effect a ‘ ‘substantial modification of
the original decree’... . disguised as construction,”
United States v. ITT Continental Baking Co., supra,
420 U.S. at 236, n. 9 (citations omitted, emphasis in
original), a practice which this Court sharply criti-
cized.

3. The attempt of the courts below to distinguish
this case from this Court’s controlling precedents on
the ground that the trial court has discretion under
Section 5(/7) as to the ultimate magnitude of any pen-
alties that might be imposed here must also be re-
jected.” Whether the penaity involved is ‘t*manda-
tory,” asin St. Regis Paper Co. v. United States, supra,
or ‘‘diseretionary’’ is irrelevant under the Ex parte
Young line of cases.

In terms of the objective of preserving a ‘‘substan-
tial, adequate, and safely available’’ right of review,
some ‘‘mandatory’’ penalties may be far less inhibit-
ing than ‘‘discretionary”’’ penalties that expose a liti-
gant to far greater risk. In St. Regis Paper Co., supra,
the penalty for noncompliance was $100 per day. By
contrast, in Wadley So. Ry. Co. v. Georgia, supra, non-
compliance with the order exposed the company to pen-
alties of up to $5,000 for each offense. It cannot be
realistically asserted that the greater ‘‘discretionary”’
penalties obtainable in Wadley had less of a chilling

17 This was the sole basis for the district court’s refusal to adopt
petitioners’ due process arguments. (A. 18a-19a.) The court of ap-
peals also referred to this purported distinction, but with less
emphasis. (A. 12a.)

eae es OR NEAR ELLSEA ITEMS SEERA AM OTIS

POOR COPY

ee

MESA a A Re AAR

18

effect than the smaller ‘‘mandatory”’’ penalties in St.
Regis.**

Moreover, prospective litigants must assess their po-
tential exposure to liability at the outset of suit, when
they are deciding whether to insist on their right to a
court test or to acquiesce in the agency demand. The
possibility that a trial or appellate court may someday
exercise leniency hardly cures the oppressive effect of
potentially massive, ever-mounting penalties. Indeed,
the very uncertainty which is alleged here to be the
saving virtue of ‘‘discretionary’’ penalties serves, as a
practical matter, only to strengthen the inhibitory ef-
fect on the right to seek full judicial review.

Finally, the court below overlooked the daily nature
of the penalty, which necessarily entails that the party
seeking judicial review must undergo a steadily mount-
ing exposure simply by litigating. In Ford Motor Co.
v. Coleman, supra, the court indicated that where pen-
alties are ‘‘a direct impost inflating ... because of the
time required for the very exercise of the right of
judicial review,” they would run afoul of Fz parte
Young and Wadley So. Ry. Co. v. Georgia. 402 F. Supp.
at 485 (footnote omitted). This principle is fully ap-
plicable here.

In both Wadley and St. Regis, the litigant failed to follow
available review procedures during the pendency of which the
penalty provisions could have been stayed. Compare Oklahoma
Operating Co. v. Love, supra, where the remedies were properly
pursued and a stay of a discretionary penalty was held to be
mandated by the Constitution, See also Natural Gas Pipeline Co. v.
Slattery, 302 U.S. 300, 310 (1987) and St. Lowis, 1. M. & So. Ry.
Co. v. Williams, supra (penalties would be stayed during challenge
to statutory scheme setting minimum and maximum monetary
penalties).

RLEED THF

RMR eee |
=
%

19

Il. The Decision of the Court Below is in Conflict with the
Decisions of Other Federal Courts.

We know of no ease which has held, as did the court
below, that the Ex parte Young line of cases is not
applicable to agency ‘‘interpretations”’ that its orders
have been violated. See the dicussion of Floersheim v.
Engman at p. 15, supra. On the contrary, the district
court in Continental Baking Co. v. Dizon, 283 F. Supp.
285 (D. Del. 1968), clearly stated that it would grant
a stay of penalties under Ex parte Young in the situa-
tion where the FTC had determined that a respondent
was in violation of a Commission cease and desist
order.

That such an agency determination should give rise
to a stay of penalties is illustrated by the recent deci-
sion in Ford Motor Co. v. Coleman, supra. An auto-
mobile manufacturer was directed to recall and repair
certain automobiles after the Administrator of the
National Highway and Traffic Safety Administration
had made a ‘‘determination’’ that they had a safety
related defect. The applicable statute provided that the
manufacturer could contest the agency action in a
judicial trial de novo where all due process rights may
be exercised, but that the manufacturer would be sub-
ject to penalties if he sought judicial relief.

A divided three-judge court upheld the constitution-
ality of the statute. The majority reasoned that the con-
stitutional right to a ‘‘substantial, adequate, and safely
available”? right of judicial review would be satisfied
if the statute allowed the manufacturer ‘‘who has
a substantial, nonfrivolous challenge to the validity of
the Administrator’s determination to obtain a prelim-
inary injunction”’ staying the accrual of penalties until

1U GH

PODR COPY

|

20

Lv a Co

the validity of the determination is litigated in a judi-
cial forum. 402 F. Supp. at 482-83. The dissenting
judge strongly supported the principle that due proe-
ess requires an opportunity to challenge any adverse
administrative action without incurring substantial
penalties, but he concluded that the statute at issue did
not adequately protect this due process right.

Here, as in Ford, the petitioners’ conduct has been
the subject of an agency ‘‘determination,”’ with no op-
portunity for fair hearing before the agency on the
question of compliance ; here, as in Ford, the companies
can escape penalties only by acquiescing in the ‘‘deter-
mination” and forgoing their right to judicial review.
But the court of appeals has held, contrary to both the
majority and the dissenting opinions in Ford, that the
petitioners here cannot obtain a stay pending judicial
review of the agency ‘‘determination’’—even though
both courts below recognized that the companies’
claims raise serious questions going to the merits of
the FTC’s determination. (A. 14a, 17a.) That judgment
eannot stand consistent with the mandates of due
process.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE STAY

The considerations noted above which warrant re-
view of the decision of the court of appeals also war-
rant granting a stay of the accrual of penalties pend-
ing final action by this Court.

This conclusion is underscored by the language and
history of Section 10(d) of the Administrative Pro-

RLEED THF OU:

21
cedure Act, 60 Stat. 243 (1946), 5 U.S.C. § 705 (1970).
That section provides that

‘*On such conditions as may be required, and to the
extent necessary to prevent irreparable injury, the
reviewing court, including the court to which a
case may be taken .. . on application for certiorari
. .. May issue all necessary and appropriate proc-
ess to postpone the effective date of an agency
action or to preserve status or rights pending con-
clusion of the review proceedings.’’

In an ‘‘explanation”’ of this section, the Senate Judi-
ciary Committee stated that the sentence quoted above

‘‘authorizes courts to postpone the effective dates
of administrative judgments or rules in eases in
which, as by subjection to criminal penalties, par-
ties could otherwise have no real opportunity to
seek judicial review except at their peril. There
is no reason why such a rule should not be recog-
nized as to administrative agencies, since it is ap-
plied in the case of legislation of Congress itself.
[Citing, among other cases, Ex parte Young,
supra, Wadley So. Ry. v. Georgia, supra, St. Louis
I. M. & So. Ry. v. Williams, supra, and Oklahoma
Operating Co. v. Love, supra.]’’ Senate Judiciary
Committee Print, Reprinted in Administrative
Procedure Act, Legislative History, 79th Cong.,
2d Sess. 38 (1946).

Petitioners have specifically invoked 5 U.S.C. § 705
and relied upon the iine of cases cited above through-
out this litigation.” Moreover, in seeking a stay pen-

1® Petitioners also rely on the All Writs Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1651,
and this court’s decision in FTC v. Dean Foods Co., 384 U.S. 597
(1966). Since the federal courts ultimately have jurisdiction to
review the merits of the FTC’s ‘‘determination’’, the All Writs
Act and Dean Foods require the conclusion that they are em-
powered to stay the accumulation of penalties to ensure that peti-
tioners’ right to seek that review is not rendered meaningless by an
onerous and unconstitutional penalty scheme.

ioe goers ay har ne pee Set ee dels a a ie Se 4
aad GD Se a eat Ge EL EAE Ree hse ee CTS ES

PODR COPY

|

Mellin ERO FS

SAR TROP OE ES Re

dente lite under these cases, petitioners are complying
with the procedures which this Court sanctioned in
St. Regis Paper Co., supra, as the appropriate vehicle
for seeking the constitutional protection aceorded by
Ex parte Young and its progeny.”

Unless the Court now grants a stay pending disposi- FE
tion of this petition for certiorari, petitioners will be
denied judicial review which meets the standards both
Congress and the Constitution have mandated. The
Court recognized this in St. Regis Paper Co., where it
did grant a stay of the accrual of penalties pending
disposition of the petition for certiorari. 365 U.S. 858
(1961). Similar relief is warranted here.

vt Snel

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ
of certiorari should be granted, and an order should
be entered staying the accumulation of civil penalties
pending final action by this Court.

Respectfully submitted,

*° In St. Regis Paper Co., 368 U.S. at 226, the Court, in holding
that the petitioner was liable for penalties, stated that the peti-
tioner should have sought pre-enforeement review immediately
upon entry of the notices of default which started the acerual of
penalties rather than waiting for the Government to institute suit.
Citing United States v. Morton Salt Co., 338 U.S. 632, 654 (1950),
the Court stated,

“* “we are not prepared to say that courts would be powerless’

to act where such orders appear suspect and ruinous penalties

would be sustained pending a good faith test of their validity.”’

RLEED THF OUGI

ERNEST PEPPLES
Brown & WILLIAMSON
Topacco CorP.
Of Counsel

THOMAS F. AHRENSFELD
ALEXANDER HOLTZMAN
PuHILie Morris INCORPORATED
Of Counsel

MAX H. CROHN, JR.
R. J. REYNoLDs Topacco COMPANY

Of Counsel

ARTHUR STEVENS
LORILLARD TOBACCO
Of Counsel

Cc. F. HETSKO
AMERICAN BRANDS, INC.
Of Counsel

JOSEPH GREER
Liecetr & MYERS INCORPORATED

Of Counsel

March, 1976

A ie BE IPO.

ES RO TP DS 0 FED ene

345 Park Avenue
New York, New York 10022
Attorneys for
Brown & Williamson
Tobacco Corporation
ABE KRASH
JEROME I, CHAPMAN
ALBERT H. KRAMER
ARNOLD & PORTER
1229 Nineteenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
DONALD FRIED
Conpoy, Hewitt, O'BRIEN &
BoaRDMAN
20 Exchange Plaza
New York, New York 10005
Attorneys for
Philip Morris Incorporated
PAUL C. WARNKE
JOHN F. KOVIN
HAROLD D. MURRY, JR.
CLIFFORD, WARNKE, GLASS,
McILwain & FINNEY
815 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006

Davis, PoLK & WARDWELL
One Chase Manhattan Plaza
New York, New York 10005
Attorneys for
R. J. Reynolds Tobacco
Company
IRVING SCHER
STANLEY A. ROTHSTEIN
Weil, GorsHAL & MANGES
767 Fifth Avenue
New York, New York 10022
Attorneys for
Loew’s Theatres, Inc.
DANIEL J. O’NEILL
CHARLES K. O’NEILL
CHADBOURNE, PARKE, WHITESIDE
& WOLFF
30 Rockefeller Plaza
New York, New York 10020
EUGENE R. ANDERSON
ANDERSON, RUSSELL, KILL
& Ovick, P.C.
630 Fifth Avenue
New York, New York 10020
Attorneys for
American Brands, Inc.
LAWRENCE G. MEYER
LINDA E. BUCK
Patron, Boces & BLow
1200 Seventeenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
GRAINER R. BARRETT
75 Rockefeller Plaza
New York, New York 10020

Attorneys for
Liggett § Myers Incorporated

NA GTR, ep aor TE YD 9, «

ek MA a Lad ee

Po een

ey ese-;

OORT RTS REI MEU LID EKO

a

APPENDIX

RLEED THF

la
APPENDIX A

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved

The Fifth Amendment to the Constitution of the United
States provides in pertinent part that

‘‘No person shall . . . be deprived of life, liberty, or
property, without due process of law. ..’’

Section 16(a)(1) of the Federal Trade Commission Act,
38 Stat. 714, as added, 52 Stat. 11, as amended 15 U.S.C.
§ 56(a)(1) (Supp. IV, 1974), 88 Stat. 2199 (Jan. 4, 1975),
provides in pertinent part that:

‘*(A) before commencing, defending or intervening
in, any civil action involving this chapter ( including an
action to collect a civil penalty) which the Commission,
or the Attorney General on behalf the Commission, is
authorized to commerce, defend, or intervene in, the
Commission give written notification and undertakes
to consult with the Attorney General with respect to
such action; and

‘*(B) the Attorney General fails within 45 days af.
ter receipt of such notification to commence, defend,
or intervene in, such action;

the Commission may commence, defend, or intervene
in and supervise the litigation of, such action and any
appeal of such action in its own name by any of its
attorneys designated by it for such purpose.”’

Section 5(/) of the Federal Trade Commission Act, 38
Stat. 719, as amended, 15 U.S.C. 45(1) (Supp. III, 1973)
provides that

‘*Any person, partnership, or corporation who vio-
lates an order of the Commission after it has become
final, and while such order is in effect, shall forfeit and
pay to the United States a civil penalty of not more

Ravens iPS OER LGR IRARSD RAED GS SNS LF RAE ER ARABI RNP OES TR EG

PODR COPY
UGH

than $10,000 for each violation ... . Each separate vio-
lation of such an order shall be a separate offense, ex-
cept that in the case of a violation through continuing
failure to obey or neglect to obey a final order of the
Commission, each day of continuance of such failure
or neglect shall be deemed a separate offense. In such
actions, the United States district courts are empow-
ered to grant mandatory injunctions and such other
and further equitable relief as they deem appropriate
in the enforcement of such final orders of the Com-

'
2a |
|
|
|

mission.’’

RALEED THRO

GH

3a
APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Nos. 398-403—September Term, 1975
(Argued October 29,1970 Decided: December 22, 1975)
Docket Nos. 75-6081, -6084-85, -6087-88, -6090

Brown & Wiuiamson Tosacco Corp. et au., Appellants,
v.

Lewis A. Eneman, CHarrMan, Fepera, Trape Commission,
et al., Appellees.

Before Mutuican, Oakes and Mesxu1, Circuit Judges.

Oakes, Circuit Judge:

This appeal is from the denial of appellants’ motion for
a stay of penalties under Section 5(l) of the Federal Trade
Commission Act, 15 U.S.C. § 45(l) (1975 Supp.). The mo-
tion for a stay was sought by the six appellants who col-
lectively produce about 99 per cent of the cigarettes manu-
factured in the United States. The have instituted declar-
atory judgment actions to obtain review of the Federal
Trade Commission’s interpretation of six cease and de-
sist consent orders previously entered against them. Ap-
pellants have sought review prior to any enforcement pro-
ceedings brought by the FTC. The United States District
Court for the Southern District of New York, Charles H.
Tenney, Judge, denied the motion for a stay. He concluded
that appellants were not entitled to a stay as a matter of
law and that they had failed to show that without the stay

PODR COPY

$
*
Ss
ze

i ae i le

Rh ACORN MRS RNY! BE Are © ow

4a

they will suffer irreparable injury or that the balance of
the equities tipped decidedly in their favor. We affirm.’

The consent orders here involved were formally issued
by the FTC on March 30, 1972. Essentially they require, in
very detailed terms as to size of print, location, color and
shape, that appellants include in their newspaper, maga-
zine and other periodical advertising the now famous Sur-
geon General’s warning reading ‘‘ Warning: The Surgeon
General has determined that cigarette smoking is danger-
ous to your health.’? The history underlying the consent
orders is not particularly relevant for present purposes,
so that it is set out only in the margin.’ Suffice it to say

1In the appellants’ reply brief it was brought to our attention
that the Government filed civil enforcement actions in the United
States District Court for the District of Columbia on October 17,
1975. We understand by correspondence from the parties that there
are motions by the appellants here and defendants therein to have
the civil enforcement action dismissed for lack of jurisdiction and
for improper venue, or to have the action transferred to the South-
ern District of New York. We also are aware that by order dated
November 5, 1975, Judge Tenney dismissed the complaints under-
lying the present appeal, on the basis that he would decline to
exercise jurisdiction in the light of the enforcement action in the
District of Columbia. Appellants have filed a notice of appeal there-
from and by letter have sought to consolidate that appeal with the
instant one. Consolidation is opposed by the Government.

We have considered whether Judge Tenney’s order dismissing
the action has rendered the present appeal moot. We have con-
cluded, however, that affirmance of the dismissal will not necessarily
make this appeal moot because still at issue is the question whether
penalties that possibly accrued prior to the commencement of the
District of Columbia action or the dismissal of the underlying
complaint here should be stayed. As to consolidation, since the
appeal herein has already been argued, the more orderly procedure
appears to be to consider the issue of pre-enforeement stay of
penalties separately as it has arisen.

2 As taken essentially from the affidavit of Eric M. Rubin, an
FTC staff attorney, the history was as follows: In June, 1964, after
the Surgeon General released the Report of his Advisory Com-

RALEED TH

ps

5a

that the orders were entered into after negotiations re-
sulting from the FTC’s serving appellants with proposed
complaints charging them with deceptive practices under
15 U.S.C. § 45(a) for the failure to disclose in their adver-
tising the hazards of using cigarettes. The important thing
for our purpose is that in the consent order each of the
appellants waived ‘‘any further procedural steps’’ and ‘‘all
rights to seek judicial review or otherwise to challenge or
contest the validity of the order entered pursuant to this
agreement.’’ It should also be mentioned that the consent
orders required the submission of compliance reports.
These reports were filed in September 1972, with the result
that the FTC reported to Congress in December 1972 and
January 1974 that industry practice was in substantial

mittee on Smoking and Health, the FTC issued a proposed rule
requiring the inclusion of a health warning in all cigarette labeling
and advertising. Congress, however, adopted the Cigarette Labeling
and Advertising Act of 1965, Pub. lL. No. 89-92, 79 Stat. 282,
requiring a health warning on all cigarette packages, but barring
until July 1, 1969, the FTC from requiring such a warning in
cigarette advertising. 1965 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 2350, 2351.
When that time expired the FTC again announced its intention to
promulgate a trade regulation rule requiring a warning to be
included in all cigarette advertising. Congress again intervened to
enact the Public Health Cigarette Smoking Act of 1969, 15 U.S.C.
§§ 1331 et seq. This act prohibited radio and television advertising
of cigarette and little cigars after January 1, 1971, 15 U.S.C, § 1335,
and foreclosed any action by the FTC ‘‘with respect to its pending
trade regulation rule proceeding’’ before July 1, 1971, 15 U.S.C.
§ 1336(a). The Act also required that if the FTC planned to take
any action in this area after July 1, 1971, the Commission had to
give six months’ notification to Congress of its determination to
do so. But Congress specifically left untouched the FTC’s authority
with respect to unfair or deceptive cigarette advertising acts or
practices, 15 U.S.C, § 1336(b). On July 1, 1971, the FTC served
on each of the appellants individual complaints charging them with
failure to disclose the Surgeon General’s warning. Agreements
containing consent orders agreeing to such disclosure were negoti-
ated in January of 1972 and in March of 1972 the orders were
finally issued and thereafter served.

OU GH

POLE MRL I OL INT LOE FAME IS GMM MELSON PT eh NM ?"

POOR COPY

|

AORTA Crete PTE OIA 8D. SEN Sas PW RTA Soe AONE ML

6a

compliance with the orders. Subsequently, however, the
FTC claimed that prior to and since September 1972 ap-
pellants had engaged in practices which did not comply
with the consent orders’ detailed requirements. Accord-
ingly the Commission initiated a compliance investigation.
From November 1974 through January 1975 attempts ap-
parently were made to settle the F'TC’s claims of viola-
tions of the orders, but the settlement negotiations broke
down. The companies claim that the FTC demanded too
high a sum as a penalty for past violations and the FTC
counters that such a sum was not a condition to further
negotiation, and that appellants had refused to accept the
staff’s interpretation of the consent orders. On March 17,
1975, appellants asked the FTC Commissioners to reject
the staff’s interpretation. On August 1, 1975, the Commis-
sion, by letters to the companies, formally indicated that
the Commissioners supported the staff’s interpretation and
that pursuant to the provisions of 15 U.S.C. § 56(a)® it
would notify the Attorney General of its intention to com-
mence an action for civil penalties and for other relief on
the basis of these violations. The letters of August 1 stated,
however, that for certain of the alleged violations of the
orders the Commission would hold the civil penalty action
in abeyance for 180 days.‘ Appellants thereafter, on Au-

815 U.S.C. § 56 provides in pertinent part :

Whenever the Federal Trade Commission has reason to
believe that any person, partnership, or corporation is liable
to a penalty under section 54 of this title or under subsection
(L) of section 45 of this title, it shall—

(a) certify the facts to the Attorney General, whose duty
it shall be to cause appropriate proceedings to be brought for
the enforcement of the provisions of such section or subsection

‘The alleged violations for which immediate notification of the
Department of Justice was to be made included omission of the
warnings in vending machine display panels; omission or under-
sizing in promotional materials such as counter racks and calendars ;

ERVIN IONE RT LLG ROLLERS PDO IT RI TE STE I TOE

RLEED TH

OU GH

7a

gust 14, 1975, commenced actions for a judgment declaring
that the ‘‘determinations’’ in the Commission’s letters of
August 1 are inconsistent with the provisions of the orders
and that the appellants are not liable for civil penalties.
They also sought an order staying pending final judgment
the accumulation of penalties for alleged violations of the
orders under Section 5 of the Act, 15 U.S.C. § 45.° The six
complaints were consolidated, since they contain identical
questions of law, and after a hearing the court denied the

undersizing or mispositioning of the warning in newspaper, maga-
zine and other periodical advertising; and, in connection with
foreign language advertising, mistranslation of the warning or
use of a different language therein.

515 U.S.C. § 45(a)(1) declares unfair or deceptive acts in com-
merce unlawful. The statute empowers and directs the Com-
mission to prevent such acts, 15 U.S.C. § 45(a) (6). It authorizes
the issuance of cease and desist complaints, provides for agency
hearings thereon and affords review of FTC orders in the court
of appeals. 15 U.S.C. § 45(b)-(d). The penalties for violation of
orders are set forth in 15 U.S.C. § 45(7) as follows:

Any person, partnership, or corporation who violates an
order of the Commission after it has become final, and while
such order is in effect, shall forfeit and pay to the United
States a civil penalty of not more than $10,000 for each viola-
tion, which shall acerue to the United States and may be
recovered in a civil action brought by the Attorney General
of the United States. Each separate violation of such an order
shall be a separate offense, except that in the case of a violation
through continuing failure to obey or neglect to obey a final
order of the Commission, each day of continuance of such fail-
ure or neglect shall be deemed a separate offense. In such
actions, the United States district courts are empowered to
grant mandatory injunctions and such other and further equi-
table relief as they deem appropriate in the enforcement of
such final orders of the Commission.

For a general discussion of the penalty mechanism, see United
States v. J. B. Williams Co., 498 F.2d 414 (2d Cir. 1974), noted in
41 Brooklyn L. Rev. 792 (1975), 43 Geo. Wash. LL. Rev. 307 (1975),
88 Harv. L. Rev. 1035 (1975).

POOR COPY

CERT SAR PN LA CLO) OU BML OR Fee MpeND yaa N

—s |

8a ;

motion for a stay of penalties, treating it essentially as an
application for a preliminary injunction.

Appellants principally argue that they are entitled to a
stay of the accrual of civil penalties as a matter of law.
They do so on the basis of a series of Supreme Court de-
cisions which commenced with Ex parte Young, 209 U.S.
123 (1908), and include Wadley Southern Railway Co. v.
Georgia, 235 U.S. 651 (1915); Oklahoma Operating Co. v.
Love, 252 U.S. 331 (1920); and St. Regis Paper Co. v.
United States, 368 U.S. 208 (1961).° The argument is that
a party whose conduct is made subject to administrative
action must be given the opportunity to obtain a judicial
test of the validity of such action and, further, as a matter
of due process of law, cannot be subjected to the risk that
substantial penalties will accumulate during the course of
the judicial proceeding. This line of cases is based on the

* Ex parte Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1908), held that state statutes
establishing maximum rail rates and providing large penalties (in-
cluding imprisonment) for violation thereof were constitutionally
invalid since the parties had been given no opportunity to contest
validity of the rates and were effectively denied judicial review of
the rates by the magnitude of the penalties. Jd. at 147-48. Wadley
Southern Ry. v. Georgia, 235 U.S. 651, 669 (1915), held that where
a state railroad commission joint rate order was made after hearing
and where the carrier did not avail itself of a ‘‘safe, adequate, and
available’’ statutory judicial review to test the validity of the
order, the statute authorizing a $5,000 a day penalty for violation
was not invalid. Oklahoma Operating Co. v. Love, 252 U.S. 331
(1920), followed Young where there was no opportunity for judi-
cial review of a state agency order. St. Regis Paper Co. v. United
States, 368 U.S. 208 (1961), held that fixed statutory forfeitures
of $100 per day for failure to file special reports in compliance
with FTC orders were not invalid where ‘‘petitioner did not try
to obtain judicial review prior to the commencement’’ of the
Government's penalty action, and where the petitioner did not
‘‘seek a stay once the litigation had begun.’’ Jd. at 225. The Court
seemed to indicate that a declaratory judgment action would have
lain to contest the validity of the orders and pointed out that even
after the Government commenced the enforcement action a stay
of penalties could have been but was not sought. Jd. at 225-27.

-RLEED THF OUGH

9a

reasoning that, regardless of the ultimate determination
on the merits, due process requires that some real oppor-
tunity to challenge administrative action be afforded, and
that such opportunity cannot exist where penalties are so
great that noncompliance and a judicial challenge cannot
be risked. The argument is the more compelling, the appel-
lants suggest, in connection with FTC statutory penalties
due to recent decisions, including our own United States v.
J. B. Williams Co., 498 F.2d 414, 435-36 (2d Cir. 1974),
note 5 supra, which hold that penalties imposed for non-
compliance with the Commission’s cease and desist order
may be computed on the basis of a separate violation for
each day and for each advertisement.’ Appellants thus
claim that the district court’s endorsement of the Govern-
ment’s position in this case is directly contrary to definitive
Supreme Court decisions which embody the rule that a stay
of penalties is required during a good faith judicial chal-
lenge to an agency determination.

Young, Wadley, Love and St. Regis, however, do not go
as far as appellants suggest. Rather, they establish that
one has a due process right to contest the validity of a leg-
islative or administrative order affecting his affairs with-
out necessarily having to face ruinous penalties if the suit
is lost. The constitutional requirement is satisfied by a
statutory scheme which provides an opportunity for test-
ing the validity of statutes or administrative orders with-
out incurring the prospect of debilitating or confiscatory
penalties. As stated in St. Louis, Iron Mountain & South-
ern Railway Co. v. Williams, 251 U.S. 63, 65 (1919),

* Appellants argue that in the complaints filed in the District of
Columbia enforcement action the FTC claims that each copy of
every advertisement constitutes a separate violation of the consent
order. On this basis, appellants urge that the potential liability for
an advertisement in the Sunday New York Daily News with a
circulation of 3 million is $30 billion. Their point that substantial
penalties may be involved is made even though we need not accept
their characterization of the FTC complaint.

OP en

er eer

Oe RR ieee

OPI ER Tat

‘

POOR COPY

10a

where such an opportunity [to contest the validity] is
afforded and the [statute or administrative order] is
adjudged valid, or the carrier fails to avail itself of the
opportunity [to contest the validity], it then is admis-
sible, so far as due process of law is concerned, for
the State to enforce adherence to the rate by imposing
substantial penalties for deviations from it.

See St. Regis, supra, 368 U.S. at 226-27; Wadley, supra,
235 U.S. at 667-69. See also Ford Motor Co. v. Coleman,
Civil No. 75-1340 (D.D.C. Sept. 22, 1975), slip op. at 8-10.

Here the penalties which the appellants seek to have
stayed did not attach prior to their opportunity to contest
the validity of the orders. Rather, the risk of penalties
began to accrue only after the appellants entered into con-
sent decrees which acknowledged the validity of the decrees
and waived the right further to challenge their validity.
The statutory scheme of the Federal Trade Commission
Act contemplates ample opportunity to the company ac-
cused of a deceptive practice to test the initial validity of
the order. It can do so by seeking a review in the United
States Court of Appeals. 15 U.S.C. § 45(c); note 5 supra;
see United States v. J. B. Williams Co., supra, 498 F.2d at
419 (majority opinion) and at 441 (dissenting opinion). In
the instant case, however, it is not the validity of the con-
sent orders that appellants contest; rather it is their inter-
pretation by the FTC. The question whether one is entitled
to a stay of penalties as a matter of law in a suit involving
the enforcement of an admittedly valid administrative
order is not concluded by the Young line of cases. Appel-
lants have pointed to no cases which support their propo-
sition that at the compliance or enforcement stage they are
still entitled to a stay. The only cases in which the argu-
ment has been made have not accepted it, although they
hardly have the weight here that the Commission would
attribute to them. See Floersheim v. Weinberger, 346 F.
Supp. 950, 956 (D.D.C. 1972), modified on other grounds

RFLEED THFOUGC

lla

and aff’d sub nom. Floersheim v. Engman, 494 F.2d 949
(D.C. Cir. 1973); United States v. Beatrice Foods Co., 322
F. Supp. 139, 141 n.1 (D. Minn. 1971).

We agree, of course, with the principle enunciated by
the Supreme Court in Wadley Southern Railway Co. v.
Georgia, supra, 235 U.S. at 661, that a right of judicial
review is merely ‘‘nominal and illusory’’ if it must be
exercised ‘‘only at the risk of having to pay penalties so
great that it is better to yield to orders of uncertain legal-
ity rather than to ask for the protection of the law.’’ But
the legality of the orders here is entirely certain. The pen-
alties are accruing in this ease, if at all, only by virtue of
noncompliance with perfectly valid administrative orders.
At this stage the right of the government to impose fines
and penalties for violation of the laws appears equally in-
disputable. As Wadley states, ‘‘there is no room to doubt
the power of the State to impose a punishment heavy
enough to seeure obedience to such orders after they have
been found to be lawful; nor to impose a penalty for acts
of disobedience, committed after the carrier had ample
opportunity to test the validity of administrative orders
and failed so to do.”’ 235 U.S. at 667. Cf. Calero-Toledo v.
Pierson Yacht Leasing Co., 416 U.S. 663, 684-85 n.24
(1974).

Appellants argue, of course, that it is the risk of huge
accumulating penalties during the course of the enforce-
ment proceedings in this ease which calls into play the
Supreme Court cases and requires the granting of the tem-
porary relief sought. But while the cumulative aspect of
Section 45(1) penalties is severe, see United States v. J. B.
Williams Co., supra, 498 F.2d at 435-36, it very plainly was
the view of Congress that such cumulative penalties might
be the only way to enforce FTC orders in the face of prof-
itable, repeated or continuing violations. See 96 Cong. Rec.
2974 (1950) (remarks of Congressman Cooley); id. at
2981 (remarks of Congressman Poage) ; id. at 3018-19 (re-

POOR COPY

x
4
»
¢

hae SRE

MITES TT eke,

12a

marks of Senator George) ; id., at 3025 (remarks of Sena-
tor Aiken). The legislative history of the Act, according to
United States v. ITT Continental Baking Co., 420 U.S. 223,
231 (1975),

makes clear that Congress was concerned with avoid-
ing a situation in which the statutory penalty would be
regarded by potential violators of FTC orders as noth-
ing more than an acceptable cost of violation, rather
than as a deterrence to violation. For example, Sen-
ator Aiken, chief proponent of the 1950 amendment,
said that if daily penalties for certain violations of the
Federal Trade Commission Act were not permitted,
‘the fine would amount to a license in the amount of
$5,000 for misrepresentation, which would be a very
cheap fine, indeed.’’

The cumulative penalty sections of Section 45(/) were held
to be fair in ITT Continental Baking Co. because they were
reasonably related to deterring cumulative violations of
FTC orders in two situations: first, where detriment to the
public and the advantage to the violator increases with
delay of enforcement, and, second, where there exists a con-
tinuing ability on the part of the violator to eliminate the
effects of his violation if so motivated. 420 U.S. at 232-33.
We are satisfied, therefore, that § 45(1) cumulative penal-
ties are not violative of due process under the circum-
stances of this case and that appellants are not entitled to
a stay of penalties as a matter of law. We may point out
in passing that while § 45 penalties are cumulative, they
are also subject to the limitation of judicial discretion upon
the penalties imposed.* Moreover, our own decision in

8 Indicative of this are the following statements from the floor
which attended passage of the 1950 Amendment to 15 U.S.C.
§ 45(L):

[I]t is inconceivable to me that any Federal court would im-
pose penalties under this section which are not reasonably

RLEED THF OU:

pee Ot ON

13a

United States v. J. B. Williams Co., supra, held that in any
penalty action there is a right to jury trial on contested is-
sues of fact.

Appellants also argue that even under the district court’s
approach of treating the motion for a stay as an applica-
tion for preliminary injunction they are entitled to relief.
We need not again set forth our settled rule that to obtain
such relief the litigant must either demonstrate a combi-
nation of probable success on the merits and the possibility
of irreparable injury or, in the alternative, that he has
raised serious questions going to the merits and that the
balance of hardships tips ‘‘decidedly’’ in his favor. San
Filippo v. United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joimers
of America, No. 75-7394 (2d Cir. Oct. 28, 1975), slip op.
6387, 6392; Stamicarbon, N.V. v. American Cyanamid Co.,
506 F.2d 532, 536 (2d Cir. 1974). Ultimately those motions
are addressed to the discretion of the district court and its
decision should not be disturbed unless an abuse of discre-
tion is shown. In this regard, and particularly in this type

related both to the seriousness of the offense charged and the
size and resources of the defendant.

96 Cong. Rec. 2974, 3026 (1950) (letter from W. T. Kelley, General
Counsel FTC, to Senator Fulbright).
In no event would the court sanction any unreasonable penalty,
or any such total penalty as would be destructive of legitimate
business. So, therefore, I do not think there is any real danger
here to legitimate business.

96 Cong. Ree. 3019 (1950) (remarks of Senator George).

The courts have recognized the limitation inherent in this section.
See United States v. ITT Continental Baking Co., 420 U.S. 223,
229 n.6 (1975) (‘‘. .. the statutes prescribe no minimum penalty,
and the District Court has discretion to determine the amount of
the penalty for each violation whether the transactions are construed
as single or as continuing violations’’). See also United States v.
J.B. Williams Co., 498 F.2d 414, 488 (2d Cir. 1974) ; Floersheim v.
Engman, 494 F.2d 949, 952-54 (D.C. Cir. 1973) ; Ford Motor Co. v.
Coleman, Civil No. 75-1340 (D.D.C. Sept. 22, 1975), slip op. at
17 n. 44.

PODR COPY

ORS LO INLET, AY PILES TIS I oN ag (ro ome RN RANI oyna

hal ed >

ee ee eee ee ee ee 6 Vile Tat whe en . oe

l4a

of case, we must recall that courts of equity may go much
further both to give or to withhold relief in furtherance of
the public interest than where only private interests are
involved. See Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner, 387 U.S.
136, 156 (1967); Yakus v. United States, 321 U.S. 414, 441
(1944); Gulf & Western Industries, Inc. v. Great Atlantic
€ Pacific Tea Co., 476 F.2d 687, 699 (2d Cir. 1973).

We agree with Judge Tenney below that appellants have
doubtless posed a serious question on the merits. However,
the limitations on the imposition of Section 45(1) penalties
which we have discussed above, see, e.g., Floersheim v.
Engman, 494 F.2d 949, 953 (D.C. Cir. 1973) (‘‘There is
room for leniency by the court, if petitioner’s view of the
meaning of the order is plausible and not defiant’’), cou-
pled with the strong public interest militating against the
stay, preclude any finding that appellants have met their
burden of showing that the equities tipped decidedly in
their favor. We agree with the court in Floersheim v. Eng-
man, supra, that the ‘‘equitable limitations inherent in the
Government’s remedies are a substantial protection for
respondent with a reasonable and bona fide claim.’’ See
note 8 supra. We also are of the view that if appellants’
interpretation of the consent orders is incorrect, granting
the stay would infringe the public interest in receiving
adequate warnings on the hazards of cigarette smoking.
We put no stock in the intimation in the appellants’ brief
that the public interest is not involved because Congress
has specifically required warnings on cigarette packages
but not on advertising. See note 2 supra. Nowhere has Con-
gress suggested that the FTC should not continue to handle
the matter of cigarette advertising, and deceptive adver-
tising practices in general, within the confines of its existing
complaint procedures under Section 45. See note 2 supra.
It may be, as appellants claim, that the Commission’s views
on noncompliance relate to alleged ‘‘minuscule variations
in type size and type style’’ and ‘‘to technical aspects”’’ of

RE noe ne So te a RNS

15a

the consent orders, but the Surgeon General’s warning is a
serious message which substantially affects the public in-
terest. Noncompliance with the Commission’s order is not
a matter lightly to be endured.

Judgment affirmed.

eh Kar cigeees

PTO, Mea ae tae .
eS Bi ba ts FSI SaaS BareN, Hey me FE EE ETE FEE NE RT ENE PONE Me CNET ORR ITA SPN EEN plea Yep pee 4

POOR COPY

16a
APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

75 Civ. 4047 (CHT)
75 Civ. 4048 (KTD)
75 Civ. 4049 (KTD)
75 Civ. 4050 (CBM)
75 Civ. 4051 (CLB)
75 Civ. 4052 (CLB)

Brown & WiiuiaMson Topacco Corporation, et al.,
Plaintiff

—against—

Lewis A. Eneman, Chairman, Federal Trade Commission,
et al., Defendants.

MEMORANDUM
TENNEY, J.

Plaintiffs, the six major producers of cigarettes in this
country,’ have moved by order to show cause for an Order
of this Court granting them preliminary injunctive relief
staying, pending final judgment, the accumulation of civil
penalties for alleged violations of the identical consent or-
ders entered into by each of the companies with the Federal

Trade Commission in March of 1972. For the reasons stated
below, the request for a preliminary injunction is denied.
The purpose of a preliminary injunction is to preserve

the status quo pending a determination on the merits.

1Mr. Weisberg, the Assistant United States Attorney, made a
motion on the record in open court on August 25, 1975 for consoli-
dation of the six cases filed in this Court. The motion was granted
and the Assistant United States Attorney was directed to submit
an order to that effect.

a NE REA SIIEE EE REBLI ES LRES EE LONE ENED TELIA LEA SEPP ANS REELED ITE

RLEED THFC

IGH

17a

Checker Motors Corp. v. Chrysler Corp., 405 F.2d 319, 323
(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 394 U.S. 999 (1969) ; Hamilton Watch
Co. v. Benrus Watch Co., 206 F.2d 738, 742 (2d Cir. 1953).
Such an injunction may never be obtained as a matter of
right, but is clearly addressed to the diseretion of the dis-
trict court. Yakus v. United States, 321 U.S. 414 (1944);
Checker Motors Corp. v. Chrysler Corp., supra, 405 F.2d
at 323.

Historically this remedy has been viewed as drastic or
extraordinary in nature and, absent a clear showing that
movant has carried the burden of persuasion, the relief
will be denied. Dopp v. Franklin National Bank, 461 F.2d
873, 878 (2d Cir. 1972) ; Checker Motors Corp. v. Chrysler
Corp., supra, 405 F.2d at 323. That burden consists of show-
ing either a reasonable probability of success on the merits
and irreparable injury or that movants have raised serious
questions going to the merits and that the balancing of the
equities tips decidedly in their favor. Robert W. Stark,
Jr., Inc. v. New York Stock Exchange, Inc., 466 F.2d 743,
744 (2d Cir. 1972) ; Checker Motors Corp. v. Chrysler Corp.,
supra, 405 F.2d at 323; Crimmins v. American Stock Ex-
change, Inc., 346 F. Supp. 1256, 1258-59 (S.D.N.Y. 1972).
An additional factor of relevance to be considered is the
public interest. American Motorists Ins. Co. v. City Wide
Transportation Co., 308 F. Supp. 1080, 1084 (S.D.N.Y.
1969) ; 7 J. Moore, Federal Practice { 65.04[1], at 47 (2d ed.
1948).

Since the issues of irreparable harm, the balancing of
the equities, and the public interest will be dispositive of
the motion, the Court will move directly to a consideration
of those issues. Assuming, for the moment, that plaintiffs
have at least raised serious questions going to the merits,
they must then demonsrate that, on balance, the equities
in the present situation tip decidedly in their favor. In the
alternative, assuming that plaintiffs have demonstrated a
reasonable probability of success on the merits, then they

any Marg AOR n Rie Rane obese ERT EC OP POR eae ea ete See ee ea ae nae eee a
— SPIEL ERG EES FE SIS Re PIES

POOR COPY

a |

18a

must further demonstrate irreparable injury in the ab-
sence of the relief requested.

On the question of irreparable injury, plaintiffs allege
that they face a denial of due process should the stay be
denied. In the absence of this relief, plaintiffs feel that they
are placed in an impossible predicament, 1.e., they are faced
with a choice of acquiesing in the findings of the Federal
Trade Commission (regarding violations of the 1972 con-
sent order) which they consider to be erroneous, or of
awaiting the Commission’s enforcement proceeding in the
face of ever-mounting civil penalties. This dilemma, plain-
tiffs contend, would, in effect, deny them a forum in which
to protest the ruling and, in doing so, deny them due proc-
ess. In support of this argument they cite St. Regis Paper
Co. v. United States, 368 U.S. 208 (1961).

The St. Regis case, however, is distinguishable from the
instant case. The penalty provision applicable in St. Regis
was mandatory in nature. The penalty provision applicable
in the instant case, 15 U.S.C. § 45(1), reads as follows:

‘*(1) Any person, partnership, or corporation who
violates an order of the Commission after it has be-
come final, and while such order is in effect, shall for-
feit and pay to the United States a civil penalty of not
more than $10,000 for each violation, which shall ac-
crue to the United States and may be recovered in a
civil action brought by the Attorney General of the
United States. Each separate violation of such an or-
der shall be a separate offense, except that in the case
of a violation through continuing failure to obey or
neglect to obey a final order of the Commission, each
day of continuance of such failure or neglect shall be
deemed a separate offense. In such actions, the United
States district courts are empowered to grant manda-
tory injunctions and such other and further equitable
relief as they deem appropriate in the enforcement of

BLEED THR

UU GH

19a

such final orders of the Commission.’’ (Supp. 1975)
(emphasis added).

As can clearly be seen, the penalty provision of § 45(1)
merely fixes the upper limit of the penalty and any pen-
alties to be ultimately assessed are discretionary with the
court. United States v. J. B. Williams Company, Inc., 498
F.2d 414, 438 (2d Cir. 1974); Wnited States v. Beatrice
Foods Co., 322 F. Supp. 139, 141 (D. Minn. 1971).

In reaching its decision as to the imposition of penalties,
the Court may consider, inter alia, the ability of the violator
to pay, the good or bad faith of the violator, the degree of
due care exercised, the injury to the public, and the delay on
the part of the Federal Trade Commission in initiating the
enforcement suit. United States v. J. B. Williams Company,
Inc., supra, 498 F.2d at 438; United States v. Ancorp Na-
tional Services, Inc., 367 F. Supp. 1221, 1224 (S.D.N.Y.
1973) ; United States v. Beatrice Foods Company, 351 F.
Supp. 969, 971 (D. Minn. 1972), aff’d, 493 F.2d 1259 (8th
Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 43 U.S.L.W. 3474 (U.S. March 4,
1975) ; United States v. H. M. Prince Textiles, Inc., 262 F.
Supp. 383, 388-89 (S.D.N.Y. 1966). Thus, penalties to be
assessed, if any, will be tempered by these considerations.

In addressing this question as well as the question of the
public interest involved in the request for a stay of an
assessment of penalties under § 45(1), the United States
District Court for the District of Columbia (per Parker, J.)
stated:

‘‘The strong public interest in this area requires that
possible penalties not be stayed pending such litigation
in order to avoid encouraging frivolous suits for pur-
poses of delay. Of course court administrative delays
and the plaintiff’s good faith on the one hand, and, as
in this case, the unreasonableness or frivolousness of
plaintiff’s grounds for review on the other hand, are
factors which a court may consider in assessing pen-

POOR COPY

Apo POPE Mere

SPP NT Te

ETERS Oi et RD

db | i

SY Re ea a

20a

alties. United States v. H. M. Prince Textiles, Inc., 262
F. Supp. 383 (S.D.N.Y. 1966).’’ Floersheim v. Weim-
burger, 346 F. Supp. 950, 956 (D.D.C. 1972).

This Court is in agreement with the views expressed by
Judge Parker in Floersheim and must conclude that plain-
tiffs have failed in their burden of showing either irrep-
arable injury or that the balancing of the equities tips de-
cidedly in their favor. Far from being subjected to a de-
nial of due process, plaintiffs’ risks here are no greater
than the risks attendant in any litigation. In the face of
these findings and in light of the remarks made by Judge
Parker in Floersheim, it seems unnecessary to comment
further on the quesion of the public interest.

Accordingly, plaintiffs’ motion for a preliminary injunc-
tion is denied.

So ordered.

Dated: New York, New York
August 28, 1975

/s/ Cuartes H. Tenney
Charles H. Tenney
U.S.D.J.

—_— SEAL

2la
APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
SECOND CIRCUIT

At a Stated Term of the United States Court of Appeals,
in and for the Second Circuit, held at the United States
Court House, in the City of New York, on the twenty-ninth
day of January, one thousand nine hundred and seventy-six.

Present: Hon. Wim.1am H. Mutiican 75-6081
Hon. James L. Oaxes 75-6084-5
Hon. Tuomas J. Mesxru 75-6087-8

Circuit Judges 75-6090

Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corporation, et al., Plain-
tiff-Appellant, v. Lewis A. Engman, etc., et al., Defendants-
Appellees.

(Firep January 29, 1976)

A petition for a rehearing having been filed herein by
counsel for the appellant American Brands, Inc.

Upon consideration thereof, it is
Ordered that said petition be and hereby is denied.

/s/ A. Dante. Fusaro
A. Daniel Fusaro
Clerk

ra) Niet AF Sk EE Fi RY

Ae axa

FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION
WASHINGTON, D.c. 20580

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
August 1, 1975
American Brands, Inc.
245 Park Avenue
New York, New York 10017

Attention: Cyril Hetsko, Esquire
General Counsel

Re: American Brands, Ine.
Docket No. C-2182

Dear Mr. Hetsko:

The Federal Trade Commission has determined that
American Brands has violated the above-captioned order
by failing in certain cigarette advertisements to disclose
the required health warning and by failing in other ciga-
rette advertisements to disclose the health warning in the
clear and conspicuous manner that is required by the order.

The Commission will, therefore, pursuant to the provi-
sions of 15 U.S.C. 56(a)(1), notify the Attorney General
of its intention to commence for these violations an action
for civil penalties and other relief. For certain other viola-
tions of the order, the Commission will hold a civil penalty
action in abeyance for 180 days. If, however, at the expira-
tion of that period, American Brands has not corrected
these other violations, the Commission will seek civil pen-
alties and other relief for them as well.

The Commission will immediately notify the Department
of Justice of its intention to file a complaint for the follow-
ing violations of the order:

1) The advertisement of cigarettes on display panels
inserted since July 1972 into vending machines

FLEED THF OUG

te te le

2)

3)

4)

which fail to disclose the required health warning
in violation of Section I-E of the order.

The advertisement of cigarettes on other promo-
tional materials exhibited to the public since July,
1972, such as counter racks and shopping bags
which fail to disclose the health warning or which
disclose the health warning in a type size smaller
than that required for the entire advertising dis-
play area in violation of Sections I-E or I-F of the
order.

The advertisement of cigarettes in newspapers,
magazines or other periodicals published and dis-
tributed in the United States since July, 1972, which
appeared to the public with a disclosure of the
health warning in a type style or type size smaller
than that required for the advertisement’s trim
size, in violation of Section I-C of the order.

Foreign language cigarette advertisements pub-
lished and distributed, or otherwise exhibited to
the public, since November 13, 1973, which violate
the order by disclosing the health warning in a
language different from that principally used by the
advertisement or in an inaccurate translation of
the statement prescribed by Congress in Section 4
of the Public Health Cigarette Smoking Act of
1969.

The Commission has also determined that American
Brands has failed to disclose the health warning on bill-
board and transit card advertisements clearly and con-
spicuously as required by the order. Section I-D of the
order specifies minimum type sizes for different sizes of
billboards and transit cards. Compliance with that provi-
sion, however, does not satisfy the overriding requirement
established by the order that in these media the disclosure
must be clear and conspicuous. Disclosures which conform

ee ee

SETTER I ARN Pe SST LVM AOL DIOL IPCI RT RE SR Poh Fait

PTE, ME RT 29 as opine,»

\.

POOR COPY

24a

to the minimum size provisions of Section I-D but which
nonetheless are not of sufficient size for the warning to be
read by those who view the advertisement cannot be deemed
to comply with the order.

Moreover, the Commission has also determined that the
typographic composition of the health warning utilized by
your company violates Sections I-C-2 and I-C-4 of the or-
der by measuring the requisite leading and spacing dis-
tances from the type faces and not from the type shoulders.

The Commission will not, however, immediately initiate
a civil penalty action regarding violations pertaining to
the size of the warning on billboards and trensit cards or
pertaining to the typographic requirements for the leading
and spacing of the warning if those violations are remedied
within 180 days from receipt of this order.

The Commission received and carefully considered your
company’s Statement of Position prior to making its de-
termination in this matter.

By direction of the Commission.

/s/ Cuartes A. Tosrn
Charles A. Tobin
Secretary

ec: H. THomas Avustern, Esquire
c/o Covincton & BuRLING
888 - 16th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006

Horace R. Kornecay, Esquire
c/o Tue Tosacco Institute, Inc.
1776 K Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006

norirccn Teer

POOR COPY

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385609_0118%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
