# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Polish American Congress v. Federal Communications Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_1854%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 424 U.S. 927

## Text

. 4 t - : meee penance aR ae
pn tiwa ent _ Supreme Court, U. $

tI PREME COURT, u. 6 ‘ee oe eR

OCT 20 1975
IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gui

OcTOBER TERM, 1975.

No. @5-598 {

A OVA \, t CLE
MICHAEL ROUAK JR, Cl PK

:
POLISH AMERICAN CONGRESS anpD

THADDEUS L. KOWALSKI, :
Petitioners, F
vs. ;
FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION anpD "
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondents,
AMERICAN BROADCASTING COMPANIES, INC.,

Intervenor.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

ee
— Se EER SRR ET OS Or Se :
Pe ee eee sa ee | Di eae Silas es esa RR ee NI PORES ON en eo) “eh
icy TAIT pee Chee st beeas Se fee Se Pah wi I aS IS Ci et eas at re -
wie AE (eal 7 RETO ELE aA RES clap Ne ii SRA I I am : ‘

EDMUND A. GODULA
DoMINIK, KNECHTEL, GODULA
& DEMEUR
20 North Wacker Drive
: Chicago, Illinois 60606
A 312/726-5344
: THADDEUS L. KOWALSKI
120 South LaSalle Street
Chicago, Illinois 60603
312/332-6182
Attorneys for Petitioner

EPPA AGL G SPIEL LEDS DOLE IIR NG AE ENIO LOL LALO LEE BEL DE LEED.

Gunthorp-Warren Printing Company, Chicago e Financial 6-6565

INDEX

PAGE

oF BVT TEP EEE TT Le Se LET 1
PMP ETT TEV ETT ETE TITTLE TTT 2
CORI an soon hn cco ck ncan es 4550se eens 3
Statute and Regulation Involved .................+.. 3
Pembaaamt GE GD CGD kk a oo eh cea tee ccedoeccacs oF
Reasons for Granting the Writ ............2-.020008- 5

I. The Jokes in and of Themselves Create the Con-

UN sv aiecs covets hsnetnvaccccnveccess 5

II. The Public Interest Obligation of the Statute
Further Requires That Petitioners Be Granted an

Opportunity to Respond ...............45. 7

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Case
Banzhoff v. FCC, 405 F.2d 1082 (1968) ............ 8
Brown et al. v. Board of Education of Topeka, 347 U.S.
eh ee eee ree Pe era ys Teor Tere ere Pere 8,9
Cigarette Advertising Case, 9 FCC 2d, 921 (1967) ..... 8
Red Lion Broadcasting Co., Inc. et al. v. FCC, 395 U.S.

PT ook 4b ba aS VAAN CON 26S HERE OS Saree w RO 4S 7
Tobacco Institute v. FCC, 396 U.S. 842 .............. 8
Statute
Title 47 USC § 315(a) ........ ee ee ee eee 3, 5
Regulation

Tits 47 CBR. § T3083 oa isk swe cswcasecensaseves 3

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1975.

POLISH AMERICAN CONGRESS AnD

THADDEUS L. KOWALSKI],
Petitioners,

vs.

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION AnD
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondents,

AMERICAN BROADCASTING COMPANIES, INC.,
Intervenor.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE ;
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners, Polish American Congress and Thaddeus L.
Kowalski, respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari issue to
review judgment entered on July 23, 1975 by the United States
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit in its Cause No. 74-
1412. :

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals is
reprinted in the appendix at pages Al-14. The opinion of }
the Commission’s Broadcast Bureau denied Petitioners’ com-

Oe en ee eee ee ee ee ee a

2

plaint as reprinted in the appendix at pages A15-18; and the
opinion following a full review by the Commission is reprinted
in the appendix at pages A19-21 and appears at 46 FCC 2d 124
(1974).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Seventh Cir-
cuit was made and entered on July 23, 1975. The jurisdiction
of this Court is invoked under 28 USC Sec. 1254(1).

QUESTIONS

1. Does not the mere recitation of “Polish jokes”, neces-
sarily result in assuming an unequivocal position which simul-
taneously creates a controversial issue, in view of the large
audience and in view of the constant characterizations which
identify “such jokes”?

2. Does an intention to amuse or a humorous context pre-
vent recourse to the Fairness Doctrine when the humor, with-
out exception, assumes a position that Poles are inferior,
moronic, non-hygienic and loathsome, and there is a contrary
position which should be presented in the public interest?

3. Does not the public interest aspect of the Fairness Doc-
- trine require presentations of contrary views for balanced pro-
gramming when Polish jokes are broadcast, and there is no
controversy that such Polish jokes uniformly attack a large
segment of the American population, in a unique and particu-
larly vile manner?

4. Does not the public interest require an opportunity to
present a contrary point of view in fairness to Polish American
children who are particularly susceptible to one sided views
which group them as vile members of our citizenry, a condem-
nation which far exceeds “poking fun at them”?

5. Can the personal attack corollary of the Fairness Doc-
trine be properly construed to view mere recitations of Polish

ae

3

jokes as the presentation of a controversial issue of public
importance?

6. Is it not reasonable to declare that the mere recitation of
Polish jokes constitutes a personal attack within the Fairness
Doctrine since, at least, significant numbers of the attacked
persons, which comprise a significant percentage of the popula-
tion, are expected to take a position contrary to the attacks,
thus inherently creating a controversial issue of public impor-
tance?

STATUTE AND REGULATION INVOLVED
Title 47 USC Sec. 315, reading in pertinent part:

“(a) If any licensee shall permit any person who is a
legally qualified candidate for any public office to use
a broadcasting station, he shall afford equal opportunities
to all other such candidates for that office in the use of
such broadcasting station. . .

Nothing in the foregoing sentence shall be construed as
relieving broadcasters, in connection with the presenta-
tion of newscasts, news interviews, news documentaries, |
and on-the-spot coverage of news events, from the obli- |
gation imposed upon them under this chapter to operate |

|

|

in the public interest and to afford reasonable opportunity
for the discussion of conflicting views on issues of public
importance.”

Title 47 C.F.R. Sec. 73.123 Personal Attacks: Political Edi-
torials, in pertinent part:

“(a) When, during the presentation of view on a con-
troversial issue of public importance, an attack is made
upon the honesty, character, integrity or like personal
qualities of an identified person or group, the licensee
shall, within a reasonable time and in no event later than
one week after the attack, transmit to the person or group
attacked (1) notification of the date, time and identifica-
tion of the broadcast; (2) a script or tape (or an accurate
summary if a script or tape is not available) of the attack;
and (3) an offer of a reasonable opportunity to respond

over the licensee’s facilities.”

oN PC Senna BY Meda RR RR A I, “vee

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners filed a complaint on June 28, 1973 before the
Commission alleging that ABC violated the Commission’s per-
sonal attack regulation during the August 10, 1972 broadcast
of the Dick Cavett Show by demeaning attacks against the
Polish American group.

A Federal Communications Commission staff decision of
September 26, 1973 stated that publishing “Polish jokes” is not
a controversial issue of public importance; and that such jokes
do not constitute a personal attack against the group because
the Commission Regulations require that a personal attack must
go to the integrity, character, honesty or like personal qualities.
The Commission adopted a memorandum, opinion and order
on March 28, 1974 which affirmed the Bureau’s ruling, follow-
ing a request for a full hearing by the Petitioners. Such full
Commission memorandum, opinion and order stated a Com-
mission cannot promulgate any regulation to interfere with the
freed.» of expression by broadcasting; that ABC was not
unreasonable in concluding that the broadcast of the jokes and
attendant remarks did not constitute a discussion of a contro-
versy of public importance; and that the personal attack rule
must be predicated upon an attack upon those personal qualities
bearing on the moral rectitude or personal credibility of a
named individual or group.

Petitioners appealed to the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals
under Title 28 USC § 2342, and on July 23, 1975 the Seventh
Circuit affirmed the memorandum, opinion and order of the
Commission. The decision of the Seventh Circuit said Peti-
tioners did not discharge the burden of showing that the recita-
tion of these Polish jokes constituted a presentation of views on
a controversial issue of public importance.

REASONS FGR GRANTING THE WRIT

L The Jokes in and of Themselves Create the Controversy

Section 315(a) of Title 47 imposes an obligation upon
broadcasters to operate in the public interest and to afford
reasonable opportunity for the discussion of conflicting views
On issues of public importance. This section of the statute
recites the basis for what has become to be known as the
“Fairness Doctrine”, and the Commission has adopted the per-
sonal attack corollary as set out in the appendix.

The Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals has denied Petitioners
an opportunity to present an opposing point of view by severely
and unreasonably contracting the meaning of the personal at-
tack rule and ignoring the “public interest” mandate of the
statute which should be reasonably construed to afford the re-
lief requested.

It is the position of Petitioners that the mere recitation of
Polish jokes by the broadcaster is a one-sided view of an issue
of public importance in each and every instance that the
Polish joke is broadcast. The mere recitation of these vile, de-
meaning stories creates a controversial issue by its very nature;
and the mere recitation further assumes a point of view.

The position of the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals is that
Petitioners are not entitled to an opportunity to respond unless
such an attack is made during a discussion of a controversial
issue which, the Court suggested, might be a discussion whether
Polish Americans are truly inferior, moronic, non-hygienic,
and the possessors of “like personal qualities”. Such a rigidly
structured position violates the remedial purpose pursued by
the statute and by the Commission’s own Regulations.

The mere recitation of a Polish joke is controversial, and to
deny same is to be totally unrealistic. The mere recitation of the
Polish joke is of public importance, and to deny same is like-

iliac

6

wise to be unrealistic. Neither the Commission nor the Seventh
Circuit Court of Appeals has denied or taken issue with Peti-
tioners’ basic argument that each and every Polish joke, without
a single exception, cites at least one of the following traits:

(1) vile manners, habits or customs
(2) abject stupidity

(3) animal or moronic traits

(4) vulgar actions and dress

See also the summary of the broadc: ° jokes in the appendix
at page A22.

Such uniform characterization of the Polish joke does not
permit respondents to hide behind a plea that they only in-
tended to amuse, or that no attack was intended. Dealing
such attacks behind a pretense of humor does nothing to blunt
the injury nor to belittle the attacked group before audiences.
The Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals said that Petitioners
failed to show that the attacks occurred during the discussion
of a controversial issue, but ignored Petitioners’ arguments
that reason, logic and experience compel the view that the mere
recitation of the Polish jokes is the presentation of one view on
a controversial subject which is of major importance. The
invariable attack of each and every Polish joke cannot be ignored,
and the fact that upwards of 10 million Polish Americans are
attacked by the presentation of each and every joke.

Can an attack occurring during the discussion of a con-
troversy of public importance occur only in a predetermined
context where participants must discuss whether Poles have
vile manners, are abjectly stupid, have animal or moronic
traits, or exhibit vulgar actions and expression? Petitioners
assert that there is no present situation in which a controversial
issue of public importance is presented. Neither the Commis-
sion nor the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals have denied that
the Polish joke is an attack. If so, why cannot this attack be
deemed controversial since the broadcaster publishes it, and

7

then an important segment objects to the characterization of
the published joke? Why cannot the mere recitation of this
joke be deemed an issue of public importance since up to
about 10% of the American population are characterized in
the most unequivocal and demeaning terms? The Polish joke
is unique and certain in each and every instance it is broad-
cast, therefore, Petitioners submit that it is correct and well
within the meaning of the statute that mere recitation of such
Polish jokes constitute an attack which is both controversial and
of public importance. As long as such occurs, it is mere for-
malism to demand that such occur in a particular sequence,
that is, first a serious discussion, then placing in issue the in-
telligence and personal habits of Poles, and finally attackiag the
Poles.

This Court has affirmed the personal attack regulation in
Red Lion Broadcasting Co., Inc. et al. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 380.
Petitioners now ask this Court to bring up the record so that
the substance of this statute and the regulation may be pro-
tected against attempts to debilitate them with formalistic dis-
tinctions.

II. The Public Interest Obligation of the Statute Further
Requires That Petitioners Be Granted an Opportunity to
Respond

Petitioners asked the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals to
afford them an opportunity to respond, irrespective of the per-
sonal attack corollary of the Fairness Doctrine. This request
was based on the Fairness Doctrine, that is, that balanced
programming imposes an obligation on the broadcaster to
present another view on a matter of public importance. Simply,
repeated broadcasting of Polish jokes, by their unique iden-
tification, comprise a one-sided representation that adversely
affects a substantial majority of the American population.

Neither Respondents nor Intervenor have ever attempted to

argue that broadcasting of Polish jokes is only an incidental or
rare occasion, consequently it is the Petitioners’ view that they
have been and are repeated activities, and such can be acknowl-
edged by this Court. Further, the record below will categorically
show a repeated dissemination of such jokes by broadcasters and
the widespread concern expressed by numerous citizens and
organizations, including those not associated with Polish culture
or organizational connections.

The Commission invoked this public interest provision in
the statute as applying to commercial announcements and ad-
vertisements in the Cigarette Advertising case, 9 FCC 2d 921
(1967), affirmed, Banzhoff v. FCC, 405 F.2d 1082 (1968),
cert. denied sub nom., Tobacco Institute v. FCC, 396 U.S.
842. The Commission recognized that cigarette smoking rep-
resented a unique situation and the Commission knew of no other
advertised product which would warrant a comparable ruling,
p. 943. The Commission and the Seventh Circuit Court of Ap-
peals, however, ignored the unique situation of the Polish joke
which always includes a characteristic attacking element. There
is nothing in the general field of humor, nor of ethnic humor,
which is comparable to the Polish joke that licensee ABC has
broadcasted. Can the Commission consistently find a unique situ-
ation in the Cigarette Advertising case to protect the health of
the public, but not find a unique situation in broadcasting Polish
jokes which adversely attack the mind and spirit of Polish
Americans? The record below will show evidence of such in-
jury, particularly to the Polish American children. A hearing
would have confirmed beyond any doubts that such a one sided
presentation results in an injury, but the Commission denied
such a hearing to Petitioners.

This Court properly rejected the formalism of the “separate
but equal” defense in the landmark case of Brown, ef al. v.
Board of Education of Topeka, Shawnee County, Kansas et al.,
347 U.S. 483 (1953):

9

“To separate them from others of similar age and qualifica-
tion solely because of their race generates a feeling of in-
feriority as to their status in the community that may affect
their hearts and minds in a way unlikely ever to be undone.”
(p. 494)

The public interest provision of the statute has been unrea-
sonably and incorrectly ignored by the Commission and the
Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals because both refuse to ac-
knowledge the truly unquestioned facts of injury to the most
vulnerable Polish American group, the children. If any doubt
as to such injury can be entertained, contrary to what Peti-
tioners showed in the record below and contrary to any modest
exercise of reasonableness, then such would be conclusively dis-
pelled by a hearing which the Commission refused to grant
Petitioners. This Court quoted approvingly the observations of

’
the Lower Kansas Court at p. 494 in the Brown et al. ;
case, supra:

“A sense of inferiority affects the motivation of the child ;
to learn.” é

The public interest provision of the statute should be correctly .
construed to allow Petitioners an opportunity to present a con- j
trary point of view to counter the one side presentation which,
unanswered, must lead to such a sense of inferiority. See also
the view of Dr. Robert A. Mendelsohn of The University of
Illinois School of Medicine in the appendix at pages A23-24.

radiata oi is tine aaa) a ”

CONCLUSION

The writ should issue to the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals
which unreasonably denied invocation of the personal attack
corollary of the Fairness Doctrine on the basis that mere re-
citation of the Polish joke is not a presentation of a controversial
view of public importance. Such writ should likewise issue be-
cause the public interest obligation of the statute was not served
by refusing Petitioners the opportunity to present a contrary

SEP R TES SPO

10

point of view in response to a continuing series of one sided
views which uniformly attack and grossly demean Polish Ameri-
cans. Such attacks should not be afforded a sanctuary of humor.

Respectfully submitted,

EDMUND A. GODULA
DoMINIK, KNECHTEL, GODULA
& DEMEUR

20 North Wacker Drive
Chicago, Illinois 60606
312/726-5344

THADDEvUs L. KOWALSKI
120 South LaSalle Street

Chicago, Illinois 60603
312/332-6182
Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDIX

PAGE
Opinion of Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals .......... Al
Opinion of Commission Broadcast Bureau ............ Al15
Opinion Oy Full Comimmionion ci. c i ccscccscvccess Al9
Polish Jokes Broadcast by ABC ...............0005. A22

Letter of Dr. Robert A. Mendelsohn ................. A23

Al

APPENDIX

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For the Seventh Circuit

No. 74-1412

PoLIsH AMERICAN CONGRESS and THADDEUS L. KOWALSKI,
Petitioners,
vs.

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION and
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondents,

AMERICAN BROADCASTING COMPANIES, INC.,
Intervenor.

On Petition to Review an Order of the Federal
Communications Commission

Argued February 27, 1975—Decided July 23, 1975

Before HastinGs, Senior Circuit Judge, CUMMINGS and
STEVENS, Circuit Judges.

CUMMINGS, Circuit Judge. This petition asks us to set aside
an order of the Federal Communications Commission denying
the complaint of petitioners that American Broadcasting Com-
panies, Inc., (“ABC”) violated the Federal Communications
Commission’s fairness doctrine and personal attack rule by
refusing petitioners air-time to respond to an August 10, 1972,
broadcast of the Dick Cavett Show containing Polish jokes.

A2

During the program in question, comedian Bob Einstein,
masquerading as Gil Drabowski, president of an imaginary
Polish Anti-Defamation League, told four “Polish jokes,” all
denigrating the intellectual or motor skills or personal hygiene
standards of Poles. The show was hosted by comedian Steven
Allen. The setting was an interview of Einstein by Allen regard-
ing a fictitious lawsuit against the three television networks
brought by Drabowski on behalf of his organization, demand-
ing a public apology for Polish jokes told on the networks and
endeavoring to make sure that there would be no more Polish
jokes broadcast by the networks. Thereafter, in jest, Drabowski
gave the four objectionable jokes assailed by petitioners, as
examples of those shown by the networks for which his organiza-
tion thought an apology was required.’ As a result of a protest
by petitioners and others, on the following evening, Steven Allen
explained that Einstein’s comedy sketch involving Polish jokes
was intended to amuse “just as the ‘All in the Family’ show, which
is the No. 1 show in the country, intends to amuse when it does
jokes about the Polish, Italians, and every group in the world.”
Allen then stated that he, Bob Einstein and ABC apologized to
those who were offended. Although Allen indicated that he had
invited a spokesman for a protesting Polish American organiza-
tion to “speak his piece” during the August 11th show, no
such spokesman appeared.

On October 4, 1972, petitioners wrote ABC requesting
“equal time” to reply “under Federal Communications Commis-
sion Regulations” to the August 10th telecast. ABC replied as
follows on October 31st:

“We are sorry that anything said or done by either Steve
Allen or Bob Einstein offended you. The following evening

Steve Allen apologized on behalf of himself, Mr. Einstein
and the ABC Television Network.

S ier “Billy,” a member of the ABC orchestra, and
Allen retold Einstein’s fourth joke by making it applicable to Ger-

mans and Poles. After the ensuing laughter, Einstein left the stage
and Allen “fired” Billy.

WA rt OE Dea

A3

“No harm or malice towards Polish-Americans was in-
tended and we are most sincerely regretful that you were
hurt or offended.

“For your information, ‘equal time’ under Section 315
of the Communications Act is limited in scope to candi-
dates for public office and, accordingly, we respectfully
decline your ‘equal time’ request.”

Eight months thereafter, petitioners filed a complaint with
the Commission, requesting it to rule under the personal attack
rule of the fairness doctrine and under the fairness doctrine

itself that petitioners were entitled to equal time or a reason-

able opportunity to respond free of charge on the ABC network

“to the personal attacks on the character, intelligence, hygiene

or appearance of members of the Polish American community,

| an identifiable group,” on the August 10th telecast. The com-

plaint contended that demeaning and defamatory attacks in

the guise of ethnic humor constituted a controversial issue of

| public importance “because such programming represents a

single, warped and negative point of view which has an
enormous influence on the viewing audience.”

On September 26, 1973, the Commision’s Broadcast Bureau
denied petitioners’ complaint, noting at the outset that Section
326 of the Federal Communications Act (47 U.S.C. § 326)
prohibits the Commission from censoring broadcast material.?
Under the fairness doctrine, the Broadcast Bureau acknowledged
that if a station presents one side of a controversial issue of
public importance, it is required to afford reasonable opportun-
ity for the presentation of contrasting views. The Bureau’s
ruling further stated:

2. Section 326 of the Federal Communications Act provides:

“Nothing in this chapter shall be understood or construed to
give the Commission the power of censorship over the radio
communications or signals transmitted by any radio station,
and no regulation or condition shall be promulgated or fixed
by the Commission which shall interfere with the right of free
speech by means of radio communication.”

Ss GORGE Aina ant occ eae

A4

“It is the responsibility of the broadcast licensee to deter-
mine whether a controversial issue of public importance
has been presented and, if so, how best to present con-
trasting views on the issue. The Commission will review
complaints to determine whether the licensee can be said
to have acted reasonably and in good faith.

“In support of your contention that the broadcast of
Polish jokes constitutes a controversial issue of public
importance, you state that the jokes ‘belittle a large seg-
ment of the population’ by perpetuating a ‘dumb Polack
image.’ However, you have not shown that there is any
controversy in this country concerning the intelligence
or other qualities of Polish Americans. [Footnote omitted.]
Accordingly, we are unable to find from the evidence
presently before us that ABC was unreasonable in con-
cluding that the broadcast of the jokes and attendant
remarks did not constitute the discussion of a controversy
of public importance.

* * * * *

“Since we have determined that the network was not
unreasonable in concluding that no controversial issue of
public importance was involved, the broadcast of the Polish
jokes could not constitute, under the Commission’s rules,
a personal attack. In order for the personal attack rule
to be applicable, the attack must occur during the discus-
sion of a controversial issue of public importance. Section
73.123(a) of the Commission’s Rules and Regulations.
Even had a controversial issue of public importance been
involved here, it does not appear that these jokes and
attendant remarks could have constituted a personal attack
under the Commission’s rules. The statement of a particular
view, however strongly or forcefully made, does not neces-
sarily constitute a personal attack. The Port of New York
Authority, 25 FCC 2d 417 (1970). To qualify under
the Commission’s rule, the attack must reflect upon the
‘honesty, character, integrity or like personal qualities’
of a person or group and not merely reflect upon ability,
knowledge or like intellectual or motor skills.”

Subsequently, the petitioners applied to the full Commission
for a review of the Broadcast Bureau’s ruling. The application

AS

‘ was denied. 46 F.C.C.2d 124 (1974). Again the Commission

| reminded petitioners that Section 326 of the Act prohibits it
from interfering with broadcasters’ rights of free speech. After
expressing its approval of the Broadcast Bureau’s ruling that
no controversial issue of public importance had been shown,
the Commission echoed the Bureau’s alternate rationale that
the personal attack rule only applies where an attack is made
“upon the honesty, character, integrity or like personal qualities
of an identified person or group.” Even assuming that a con-
troversial issue of public importance had been involved, the
Commission held that the personal attack rule does not apply
to these jokes because there was no “attack on those personal
qualities bearing on the moral rectitude or personal credibility
of the named individual or group,” citing Rome Hospital and
Murphy Memorial Hospital, 40 F.C.C. 2d 452, 453 (1973).
This petition for review followed.

Fairness Doctrine and Personal Attack Rule

The fairness doctrine evolved by the Commission requires
a broadcaster to devote a reasonable percentage of broadcasts
to the coverage of public issues, and that coverage must provide
an opportunity for the presentation of contrasting points of
view. See In Re the Handling of Public Issues Under the
Fairness Doctrine and the Public Interest Standards of the
Communications Act, 48 F.C.C.2d 1, 7 (1974). In 19: the
fairness doctrine was recognized in an amendment to 47 U 3.C.
§ 315(a).* As stated by the Supreme Court, under the fairness

3. Section 315(a) of the Act provides in part:
“Nothing in the foregoing sentence [dealing with equal oppor-
tunity for appearances by legally qualified candidates for pub-

\ lic office on broadcasting stations] shall be construed as reliev-
ing broadcasters, in connection with the presentation of news-
| casts, news interviews, news documentaries, and on-the-spot

coverage of news events, from the obligation imposed upon
them under this chapter to operate in the public interest and
to afford reasonable opportunity for the discussion of con-
flicting views on issues of public importance” (47 U.S.C.
§ 315(a)). See Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. Federal Com-
munications Commission, 395 U.S. 367, 380-383.

A

A6

doctrine “The broadcaster must give adequate coverage to
public issues [citation omitted] and coverage must be fair in
that it accurately reflects the opposing views.” Red Lion Broad-
casting Co. Vv. Federal Communications Commission, 395 U.S.
367, 377; see also Columbia Broadcasting System v. Demo-
cratic National Committee, 412 U.S. 94, 111; Democratic Na-
tional Committee v. Federal Communications Commission, 460
F.2d 891, 899 (D.C, Cir. 1972), certiorari denied, 409 U.S.
843; In Re Obligations of Broadcast Licensees Under the Fair-
ness Doctrine, 23 F.C.C.2d 27, 28 (1970).

The rule on personal attacks, like that on political editorials,
is a Commission rule setting out an aspect of the fairness doc-
trine. See Red Lion, supra, at 383-386. The personal attack
rule’s application is specifically confined to a situation where the
attack occurs “during the presentation of views on a controver-
sial issue of public importance.”* The confinement of the rule’s
application to “controversial issues of public importance” par-
allels an identical limitation on the application of the more
general fairness doctrine. See Columbia Broadcasting System,

4. The personal attack facet of the fairness doctrine was in-
corporated into a rule in 1967 and provides in pertinent part:

“(a) When, during the presentation of views on a con-
troversial issue of public importance, an attack is made upon
the honesty, character, integrity or like personal qualities of an
identified person or group, the licensee shall, within a reason-
able time and in no event later than one week after the attack,
transmit to the person or group attacked (1) notification of the
date, time and identification of the broadcast; (2) a script or
tape (or an accurate summary if a script or tape is not avail-
able) of the attack; and (3) an offer of a reasonable opportun-
ity to respond over the licensee’s facilities.” 47 C.F.R. § 73.679
(1974). See 47 C.F.R. §§ 73.123, 73.300 and 73.598 (all
identical to § 73.679).

The obligations upon the broadcaster under the personal attack
rule differ from those imposed by the general fairness doctrine in
that under the former “the broadcaster does not have the option of
presenting the attacked party’s side himself or choosing a third
party to present that side.” Red Lion, supra, at 378. The attacked
party himself must be given an opportunity to respond. See Demo-
cratic National Committee, supra, at 902.

A7

‘ supra, at 111-112; Healey v. Federal Communications Commis-
sion, 460 F.2d 917, 920, 922 (D.C. Cir. 1972); Democratic
National Committee, supra, at 900-901; Green v. Federal Com-
munications Commission, 447 F.2d 323, 327, 329 (D.C. Cir.
1971); Obligations of Broadcast Licensees, supra, at 28;
Loevinger, “Free Speech, Fairness and Fiduciary Duty in
Broadcasting,” 34 Law and Contemp. Prob. 278, 285 (1969).
Therefore, in order for petitioners to establish the right to a reply
under either the general fairness doctrine or the particular
personal attack rule, they must show that views on a contro-
versial issue of public importance were set forth in the assailed
broadcast.

This Court cannot make a de novo determination whether
one side of a controversial issue of public importance was
presented by the skit on the August 10th Dick Cavett Show.
The licensee, in applying the fairness doctrine, is required to
make reasonable judgments in good faith on the facts before it.
Thus while petitioners are of course correct about the poor taste
of the jokes in question, under the fairness doctrine and the
personal attack rule, the Commission's order must be upheld if
the Commission properly determined that ABC’s conclusion that
the broadcast did not involve a controversial issue of public
importance was not unreasonable nor in bad faith. See Columbia
Broadcasting Systems, supra, at 118-119, 124, 127, 131; Demo-
cratic National Committee, supra, at 900-903; Larus & Brother
Co. Vv. Federal Communications Commission, 447 F.2d 876, 879
(4th Cir. 1971); Green v, Federal Communications Commis-
sion, supra, at 329-330; Neckritz v. Federal Communications
Commission, 446 F.2d 501, 502 (9th Cir. 1971); In Re Appili-
cability of the Fairness Doctrine in the Handling of Controversial
Issues of Public Importance, 40 F.C.C. 598, 599 ( 1964).

Had petitioners successfully established before the Commission
that the challenged segment of the broadcast constituted the pres-
entation of views on a controversial issue of public importance,
they would then be required to demonstrate that ABC’s overall

A8

approach to the subject was unbalanced. See, e¢.g., Democratic
National Committee, supra, at 902-903. Since the Commission
upheld ABC’s determination that no statement on a controversial
issue of public importance occurred, our inquiry is limited to
whether petitioners have made the necessary threshold showing
that ABC’s determination that the August 10th program did not
involve a discussion of a controversial issue of public importance
was either unreasonable or in bad faith. We hold they have not.°

The Commission's Determination that ABC Acted

Reasonably and in Good Faith

In the present case, ABC decided that the Polish joke material
contained in the August 10th Dick Cavett Show did not present
a controversial issue of public importance. Thus in its opposition
to the application for review before the full Commission, ABC
formally contended that the comedy skit on the August 10th
show did not represent a discussion of a controversial issue of
public importance. The Commission concluded that ABC acted
reasonably and in good faith in making this determination
because petitioners had not shown there was any controversy in
this country concerning the intelligence or other qualities of
Polish Americans. Even petitioners recognize “that broadcasters
have discretion in deciding whether a controversial issue of
public importance exists and their latitude may be wide” (Reply
Br. at 6). Neither the Commission nor we should encroach upon
this determination by ABC in the absence of an abuse of its
discretion. Democratic National Committee, supra, at 906.

Petitioners do not assert that ABC lacked good faith. Thus the
thrust of their argument is that the network’s determination
that there was no discussion of a controversial issue of public
importance in the August 10th Polish joke skit was unreasonable.

5. Because of this holding, we need not review the Commission’s
alternate ruling under the personal attack rule that the jokes did not
constitute an attack “upon the honesty, character, integrity or like

rsonal qualities of an identified person or group” within the mean-
ing of that rule.

A9

In order to invoke the fairness doctrine, a petitioner must
first define the issue which it maintains is a controversial one of
public importance. Green v. Federal Communications Commis-
sion, supra, at 329. In the complaint and application for review
before the Commission, in the briefs here, and at oral argument
we searched in vain for petitioners’ statement of the issue.
We have found no clear statement of a question that could serve
as an issue around which an important public controversy could
form. In petitioners’ letter to ABC, they simply requested “equal
time” to reply to the August 10th show wherein Steve Allen and
Bob Einstein allegedly “defamed Polish Americans.” In the
July 2, 1973, complaint to the Commission, the attempts to state
the issue were as follows:

“Under the Fairness Doctrine, the broadcasting of personal
attacks, the depiction of Polish persons or culture in a
demeaning manner, the broadcasting of ethnic ‘humor’ that
is insulting to the intelligence, character, hygiene, or appear-
ance of these persons is a controversial issue of public
importance because such programming represents a single
warped and negative point of view which has an enormous
influence on the viewing audience. The televising of so-
called ‘Polack jokes’ is per se a controversial issue of public
importance, harmful and insulting to a considerable segment
of the American population.
* * + * *

“The Federal Communications Commission is therefore
requested to rule that the ‘Polack jokes’ on the Dick Cavett
Show, hosted by Steve Allen, on August 10 and 11, 1972
constitute a controversial issue of public importance because
such jokes in and of themselves belittle a large segment of
the population, both young and adult.”

After the Bureau’s ruling that there was no discussion of a
controversial issue of public importance on the August 10th
show, the application for review before the full Commission was
filed, containing these statements about the issue:

“The Staff action supported the view of the licensee that
promulgating such humor [Polish jokes] is not a contro-

SN eee

A10

versial issue of public importance, and that complainants
did not present evidence that the issue in such a controversy
of public importance.

* * * * *
“The group attacked is large, in excess of ten million Polish
Americans. The issue is one of public importance as a
result of mere numbers alone. It is controversial because the
unanswered ‘Polack joke’ does, tends to, or is likely to
belittle the Polish American in our society.”

Reading the pleadings before the Commission leniently, two
possible issues are suggested by these excerpts: (1) whether
Poles or Polish Americans are inferior to other human beings in
terms of intelligence, personal hygiene, etc.; or (2) whether
“promulgating” Polish jokes by broadcasting them (if promul-
gation can be inferred from mere broadcasting) is desirable.
Nowhere in the complaint or application for review before the
Commission is there a clear statement of the issue which is
alleged to be both controversial and of public importance.
It would be improper to require the licensee and the Commission
to ferret out the critical issue, since petitioners bear the burden
of putting the issue forward in a manner that makes it possible
for the exercise of discretion as to whether the fairness doctrine
or personal attack rule has been properly invoked. Nevertheless,
we need not rely on petitioners’ failure to state the issue clearly,
because the Commission was correct in ruling that ABC did not
overstep its discretion in failing to find a controversial issue of
public importance, even if we regard the above two issues as
properly suggested in the complaint and application for review.

Petitioners allege nothing that would support a contention that
there is a controversy over the issue whether Poles or Polish
Americans are less intelligent, less clean, less coordinated, etc.
than other people. If some people do seriously assert the in-
feriority of Poles and Polish Americans, it was unreasonable
for ABC to decide that they have not generated enough support
for their position to raise a controversial issue of public im-

All

portance. Even if such a debate existed, we could not say that a
determination by ABC that the broadcast of the skit in question
did not constitute a discussion of this issue was unreasonable.
In any event, the record satisfied us that petitioners did not seek
to convince the Commission that the skit presented views on
such a question.

Assuming that petitioners asserted the question whether broad-
casting Polish jokes is desirable, they still failed to demonstrate
that there is a controversy of public importance over that issue.
In an attempt to show that a controversial issue of public im-
portance was aired on August 10th, petitioners cite the news
coverage afforded the filing of the complaint in this case. Many
newspapers across the country carried a wire service story
describing the action filed with the Commission. All newsworthy
events do not constitute controversial issues of public importance.
Healey v. Federal Communications Commission, supra, at 922.
Moreover, the newsworthy event covered by the papers was not
the Polish joke skit, but a filing of a complaint by petitioners
before the Commission. The complaint was filed almost eleven
months after the broadcast. To the extent that news stories might
reflect on the existence of a controversial issue of public im-
portance, the “fairness doctrine requires a current judgment,” so H
that the passage of the eleven months from the broadcast might :
well have caused the Commission to discount the relevance of the
news stories. Larus & Brother Co., supra, at 881, 883.

In assailing the licensee’s decision, petitioners also rely on
the denunciation of Polish jokes by various individuals and
groups, including resolutions by the city government of
Hartford, Connecticut, and the United States House of Repre-
sentatives. Such condemnations do not cause a skit containing
Polish jokes to become a discussion of a controversial issue of
public importance. No contrary resolutions or other disagree-
ments with the essence of the resolutions are cited from which
the Commission or ABC might deduce that a controversy
existed over the desirability of broadcasting Polish jokes. Even

aii las ae Coe ae

Al2

if we assume that the skit constituted a statement favoring the
broadcasting of Polish jokes, it was reasonable to conclude that
such an endorsement does not create a public issue requiring
a response, where nothing suggests that such an issue existed
before the broadcast.

Petitioners cite an informal survey of children in the sixth
grade responding to the question “What does Poland or Polish
mean to me?” Although some the responses reflect a negative
view of Poles, they say nothing about a public controversy over
the desirability of broadcasting Polish jokes. Assuming that the
survey demonstrates that Polish jokes may have an unhealthy
influence on the attitudes of the young toward Polish people,
the survey fails to suggest in any way that a public controversy
existed at the time of the broadcast over any issue which may
reasonably be said to be raised by the pleadings before
the Commission.

Finally, we reject petitioners’ contention that ABC’s action
in requiring Steve Allen, on the August 11th show, to apologize
to those who were offended by the previous night’s skit demon-
strates that there was a controversial issue of public importance
discussed. Television networks are rightfully concerned about
the ethnic sensibilities of their audiences. Good public relations
in issuing an apology to those who took offense at a segment
of a broadcast is not the same as acknowledging that a con-
troversial public issue was discussed. Concern for ethnic sensi-
bilities on the part of the networks is laudable, but the Com-
mission has not been empowered to turn ethnic sensibilities
into law.®

6. See Wall Street Journal editorial, ‘Polish Jokes,” of July 27,
1973.

aN ete i alla Rare

Al3

It should also be noted that Steve Allen made it clear on
both the August 10th and 11th broadcasts that the skit was
intended to amuse. ABC has also so stated. While petitioners
do not approve of such attempts at humor, they do not contend
that the skit was intended as other than comedy. Certainly,
humorous intent should not be an absolute insulator from the
fairness doctrine or personal attack rules, for a presentation of
views on a controversial issue of public importance might be
very effectively couched in a humorous or satirical setting.
Nevertheless, the intent of the broadcast may be relevant to the
determination whether one side of a controversial issue of public
importance has been presented.

This Court’s conclusion that petitioners have failed to show
that the August 10th skit presented a controversial issue of
public importance should not be read to preclude the future
success of a similar petition. The licensee and the Commission
must make the determination whether such a controversy exists
with reference to the time of the broadcast. Larus & Brother Co.,
supra, at 881, 883. Thus it is conceivable that an important
public controversy could arise over the desirability of broadcast-
ing Polish jokes at some time after the telecast relevant to this
suit. Of course, if a telecast that is challenged in the future
consists of the mere recitation of Polish jokes, rather than a
serious discussion of an issue, petitioners would be required to
prove that merely relating such jokes constituted a presentation
of views on, or a discussion of, a controversial issue of public
importance.

Al4

Since we cannot agree with petitioners that the broadcast of
these jokes constituted a presentation of views on a controversial
issue of public importance, the Commission’s order is affirmed.’

A true Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.

7. National Broadcasting Co. v. Federal Communications Com-
mission, ........ Peale pauses (D.C. Cir. 9/27/74, No. 73-2256), in-
volves the fairness doctrine in a situation where the Commission
rejected the licensee’s determination that an opportunity to reply
was not required. A majority of the panel thought the Commission
erred and reversed. Rehearing en banc was first granted (December
13, 1974) and then the Court en banc remanded the case to the
original panel, reinstating their opinion, for consideration of moot-
ness (March 18, 1975). Judge Bazelon filed a lengthy dissent from
the en banc order remanding the case. In an order released July 11,
1975, the panel on remand vacated their original judgment revers-
ing the Commission and remanded the case to it for dismissal of the
fairness complaint. The Commission had requested this action after
determining that the passage by Congress of certain legislation had
removed the need for a response to the challenged broadcast. Much
of the disagreement among the judges of the District of Columbia
Circuit in National Broadcasting Co. stemmed from the Commis-
sion’s reversal of the licensee’s decision. Such a reversal did not
occur in the instant case. Thus, while we have examined the opinions
of the various judges, it has not been necessary for us to refer to
them in disposing of this case.

Al5

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION
Washington, D. C. 20554

Sep. 26, 1973

In Reply Refer to:
8330-R
C7-184
Thaddeus L. Kowalski, Esq.
Polish-American Congress, Inc.
1200 North Ashland Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60622

Dear Mr. Kowalski:

This is in response to your June 28, 1973 complaint against
television programs broadcast by ABC.

You allege that ABC violated the Commission’s personal
attack rule during the August 10, 1972 broadcast of the Dick
Cavett Show by attacking “the character, intelligence, hygiene or
appearance of members of the Polish American community.”
You state that the controversial issue of public importance in-
volved was the “demeaning and defamatory attacks in the guise
of ethnic ‘humor’.” Additionally, you contend that ABC failed to
notify you of the alleged attack or to provide a copy of the
script within seven days, or to offer you a reasonable opportunity
to respond, pursuant to the Commission’s personal attack rule.
You state that a so-called “apology” made by Steve Allen on the
Dick Cavett Show of August 11, 1972 was actually “the basis
for more demeaning humor.”

You also claim that ABC has violated the fairness doctrine
by failing to present in its overall programming “opposing views
on the issue of defamation of Polish Americans.” You state that
“the ‘Polack jokes’ on the Dick Cavett Show, hosted by Steve
Allen, on August 10 and 11, 1972 constitute a controversial

Al6

issue of public importance because such jokes in and of them-
selves belittle a large segment of the population.” Specifically,
you contend that the jokes disseminate the “dumb polack image,
i.e., lack of intelligence, lack of personal hygiene, comic apparel
and obnoxious features.” Further, you state that humor is an
“important propaganda tool” and does not lessen the public
importance of the issue, and you cite a resolution introduced in
Congress, calling for the cessation of “television programs that
defame, stereotype, ridicule, demean or degrade any ethnic or
religious group.”

In its October 31, 1972 letter to you, ABC denied that any
“harm or malice toward Polish-Americans was intended.” ABC
stated that Steve Allen apologized for any offense the following
night, August 11, 1972, and it declined your “equal time” request.

The selection and presentation of specific program material
are responsibilities of the station licensee, and under the pro-
visions of Section 326 of the Communications Act the Commis-
sion is specifically prohibited from censoring broadcast material.
However, if a station presents one side of a controversial issue of
public importance, it is required to afford reasonable opportunity
for the presentation of contrasting views. This policy, known as
the fairness doctrine, requires a broadcast licensee to encourage
and implement the broadcast of contrasting views in its overall
programming which, of course, includes statements or actions
reported on news programs. Thus, both sides need not be given
in a single broadcast or series of broadcasts, and no particular
person or group is entitled to appear on the station, since it is
the right of the public to be informed which the fairness doctrine
is designed to assure rather than the right of any individual to
broadcast his views. It is the responsibility of the broadcast
licensee to determine whether a controversial issue of public
importance has been presented and, if so, how best to present
contrasting views on the issue. The Commission will review
complaints to determine whether the licensee can be said to have
acted reasonably and in good faith.

a + TED A Bt BOE MOREA a hs BAB a ice leit atte nian aan Nae

Al7

In support of your contention that the broadcast of Polish
jokes constitutes a controversial issue of public importance, you
state that the jokes “belittle a large segment of the population”
by perpetuating a “dumb Polack image.” However, you have not
shown that there is any controversy in this country concerning
the intelligence or other qualities of Polish Americans.! Accord-
ingly, we are unable to find from the evidence presently before
us that ABC was unreasonable in concluding that the broadcast
of the jokes and attendant remarks did not constitute the
discussion of a controversy of public importance.

However, we believe an additional comment is appropriate
here. Programs containing criticism, ridicule or humor concern-
ing the religious beliefs, race or national background of persons
or groups are sometimes the subjects of complaints received by
the Commission.? Such broadcast matter, however offensive it
may sometimes be, also enjoys the protection of the Constitu-
tional guarantees of free speech. As the Commission stated, in
part, in its Memorandum Opinion and Order of January 22,
1964, concerning the license renewal of the Pacifica Foundation
Stations (36 FCC 147, 149):

We recognize that as shown by the complaints here, such
provocative programming as here involved may offend some
listeners. But this does not mean that those offended have
the right, through the Commission’s licensing power, to
rule such programming off the airwaves. Were this the
case, only the wholly inoffensive, the bland, could gain
access to the radio microphone or TV camera. No such
drastic curtailment can be countenanced under the Consti-
tution, the Communications Act, or the Commission’s
policy, which has consistently sought to insure “the main-

1. You submit the solicited statements of some 80 sixth-grade
students purporting to show anti-Polish bias. However, a number of
these letters expressed the writers’ disapproval of the image pro-
jected by the Polish jokes.

2. In fiscal year 1973, the Commission received some 333 com-
plaints which charged racial or ethnic criticism, ridicule or deg-
radations in the television field.

Al18

tenance of radio and television as a medium of freedom of
speech and freedom of expression for the people of the
Nation as a whole” (Editorializing Report, 13 FCC 1246,
1248). In saying this, we do not mean to indicate that
those who have complained about the foregoing programs
are in the wrong as to the worth of these programs and
should listen to them. This is a matter solely for deter-
mination by the individual listeners. Our function, we
stress, is not to pass on the merits of the program—to
commend or to frown.

Since we have determined that the network was not un-
reasonable in concluding that no controversial issue of public
importance was involved, the broadcast of the Polish jokes
could not constitute, under the Commission’s rules, a personal
attack. In order for the personal attack rule to be applicable,
the attack must occur during the discussion of a controversial
issue of public importance. Section 73.123(a) of the Commis-
sion’s Rules and Regulations. Even had a controversial issue of
public importance been involved here, it does not appear that
these jokes and attendant remarks could have constituted
a personal attack under the Commission’s rules. The statement
of a particular view, however strongly or forcefully made, does
not necessarily constitute a personal attack. The Port of New
York Authority, 25 FCC 2d 417 (1970). To qualify under the
Commission’s rule, the attack must reflect upon the “honesty,
character, integrity or like personal qualities” of a person or
group, and not merely reflect upon ability, knowledge or like
intellectual or motor skills.

Prade attas ag

Al9

Before the
FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION
Washington, D. C. 20554

In re complaint of 7

THADDEUs L. Kowa skI, Esa.
and ANTI-DEFAMATION

COMMISSION OF THE POLISH FCC 74-314
AMERICAN CONGRESS, INC. -r =: 10735
against

AMERICAN BROADCASTING COMPANIES, INC. |

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER
Adopted: March 28, 1974; Released: April 3, 1974
By the Commission: Chairman Wiley abstaining from voting.

1. The Commission has before it an Application for Review
of the Broadcast Bureau’s ruling of September 26, 1973, filed
October 29, 1973 by Thaddeus L. Kowalski, in his individual
capacity, and on behalf of the Anti-Defamation Commission
of the Polish American Congress, Inc. (hereinafter Petitioners).
Also before the Commission are an Opposition to the Application
for Review filed on November 14, 1973 by American Broad-
casting Companies, Inc. (ABC); and Petitioner’s reply to said
oppposition, filed December 3, 1973.

2. In their June 28, 1973 complaint, Petitioners alleged that
ABC violated the Commission’s personal attack rule during
the August 10, 1972 broadcast of the Dick Cavett Show by
attacking “the character, intelligence, hygiene or appearance of
members of the Polish American community” by means of
so-called “Polack jokes.” Petitioners further alleged that the
controversial issue of public importance involved was the

A20

“demeaning and defamatory attacks in the guise of ethnic
‘humor’.” Petitioners also claimed that ABC violated the
fairness doctrine by failing to present in its overall programming
“opposing views on the issue of defamation of Polish Amer-
icans.” Specifically, Petitioners contended that the “Polack
jokes” broadcast on the Dick Cavett Show disseminate the
“dumb polack image, i.e., lack of intelligence, lack of personal
hygiene, comic apparel and obnoxious features.”

3. We have examined the pleadings herein and believe that
the Bureau’s ruling was correct for the reasons stated therein.
However, we believe that certain matters raised in the instant
case merit some comment.

4. No matter how much it may disagree with a certain
matter, the Commission is prohibited, under Section 326 of the
Communications Act from censoring broadcast material or from
promulgating any regulation which would interfere with freedom
of expression by broadcasting. With the exception of appear-
ances by legally qualified candidates for public office and other
matters specifically covered by statute, the Commission does
not interfere in the selection of particular program material,
nor may it either prohibit or compel the broadcast of any
particular program. National Citizens Committee for Broadcast-
ing, 42 FCC 2d 1060 (1973). As the Commission has stated:

It is the judgment of the Commission, as it has been the
judgment of those who drafted our Constitution and of the
overwhelming majority of our legislators and judges over
the years, that the public interest is best served by per-
mitting the expression of any views that do not involve
“a clear and present danger of serious substantive evil
that rises far above public inconvenience, annoyance or
unrest.” Terminiello v. Chicago, 337 U. S. 1, 4 (1949);
Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire, 315 U. S. 568 (1942);
Ashton v. Kentucky, [384 U. S. 195], 34 L. W. 4398
(1966). This most assuredly does not mean that those who
uphold this principle approve of the opinions that are
expressed under its protection. On the contrary, this prin-
ciple insures that the most diverse and opposing opinions

9A = a Na a a a Ri SNS

lca il NO RB sir LO Nat

nah A RIM FINAN oe

A21

will be expressed, many of which may be even highly
offensive to those officials who thus protect the rights of
others to free speech. If there is to be free speech, it must
be free for speech that we abhor and hate as well as for
speech that we find tolerable or congenial. Anti-Defama-
tion League of B'nai B’rith, 4 FCC 2d 190, 191-2 (1966).

5. We agree with the Bureau’s ruling that ABC was not
unreasonable in concluding that the broadcast of the jokes
herein and attendant remarks did not constitute the discussion
of a controversy of public importance. Consequently, neither the
fairness doctrine nor the personal attack rule may be applied
in the instant case. Regarding the personal attack rule, it applies
only where an attack is made upon the honesty, character,
integrity or like personal qualities of an identified person or
group during the presentation of views on a controversial issue
of public importance. 47 C.F.R. § 73.679. See Fairness Primer,
29 Fed. Reg. 10415, 10420 (1964). Even if a controversial
issue of public importance was involved in the matter about
which petitioners complained, the personal attack rule would
not apply to the language here cited. The text and prior applica-
tion of the personal attack rule clearly indicate that the oper-
ation of the rule was to be predicated upon an attack on those
personal qualities bearing on the moral rectitude or personal
credibility of a named individual or group. Rome Hospital and
Murphy Memorial Hospital, 40 FCC 2d 452, 453 (1973).

6. For the foregoing reasons, pursuant to Section 1.115(i)
of the Commission’s Rules and Regulations, the Application for
Review IS DENIED.

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION
/s/ VINCENT J. MULLINS
Vincent J. Mullins
Secretary

awit akhanes

«rer SI

A22

APPENDIX

Personal Attacks Broadcast August 10, 1972 by Guest Host
Steve Allen on the Dick Cavett Show.

“Why does it take one hundred Polacks to paint a house?”
And then he said “one to hold the brush and ninety-nine
to turn the house.” (Laughter)

The woman said, “How can you tell a Polack from an
ape?” And the answer was “the ape peels the banana
before he eats it.”

“How did a Polack get fifty-five holes in his head?” And
then he said, “learning to eat with a fork.” (Laughter)

What happened when the Polish traveling salesman spent
the night in the farmer’s barn?” And the man with him
said, “I don’t know.” And he said, “the [pig] got up and
went to the house”. (Laughter)

“Why does it take one hundred Germans to paint a house?”
“One German to hold the brush and ninety-nine Polacks
to turn the house.—”

i el Sr Ne ee

A23

MICHAEL REESE HOSPITAL AND MEDICAL CENTER

Babette and Emanuel Mandel Clinic
29th Street and Ellis Avenue @ Chicago, Illinois 60616

Telephone:
Area Code (312) 791-1234

December 4, 1973
Eugene L. Slotkowski, M.D.
5330 West Devon Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60646

Dear Gene:

Thank you very much for your letter of September 24. I
cannot tell you how strongly I agree with your statements
about “Polack” jokes.

From a professional standpoint, I am convinced that there
is nO question but that television and other media beamed at
children does produce an effect. As a matter of fact, if this
were not the case, I doubt whether any manufacturer would ever
buy advertising time. The effect of derogatory statements about
ethnic groups can only serve to produce a negative image
where none previously existed or to reinforce such feelings
that may have already been harbored by other family members.
In short, I believe that no pediatrician would condone the kind
of slurs that you and I so strongly « »ndemn.

Aside from strictly professional considerations, there is also
the question of violation of elementary human ethical standards.
After all, the material incorporated through the eyes and reach-
ing the central nervous system must be analogous to the food
that passes through the mouth and into the digestive system.
In other words, we are not only what we eat, but what we see.
At this particular time of growing natonal disunity, it seems to
me that continued dissemination of books and other statements

a — = — casaeeneno tery Se yO RPO Sg Me
Sa ‘ PEERS LCE LT RELIG OI CLE ADELE REE LOGE IS LNG EN ask Me Swe
s PCO ARP DDT kee eea es oon yas AS OR AERY OPM TS EP RP

A24

prejudicial to minority groups represents a major threat to
our immediate stability as a people as well as to our long range
concerns for international peace.

Please feel free to use this letter as you see fit. In response to
your final question, I would be willing to testify in person
before the FCC and to meet with your attorney, Mr. Kowalski,
if he feels I can be of further assistance in this very significant
issue.

Sincerely,

/s/ ROBERT S. MENDELSOHN, M.D.
Robert S. Mendelsohn, M.D.
Associate Professor, Department

of Preventive Medicine and
Community Health University
of Illinois School of Medicine

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_1854%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
