# Petition for A Writ of Certiorarim — Pennsylvania v. McCutchen

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_1840%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for A Writ of Certiorarim
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 424 U.S. 934

## Text

ie © 5 r siae ns piece subatacd hates ae

INDEX

PAGE
Opinion BelOW..ccccccccoseseece 1
JULTISGICCION. ..ccccccccccceccces 2
Question Presented. ..cccccccccces 2

Constitutional Provisions Involved 3
Statement of the CaSe....cccccees 4-10
Reasons for Granting the Writ 11-12

zs The Pennsylvania Supreme
Court Has Misconstrued
The Federal Constitution
And Misinterpreted Deci-
sions of this Court... 12-22

Ri. The Decision Below Is In
Conflict With Decisions of
Numerous Federal Courts
and Other State Supreme
COULEB sc ccccccesecscese 22-25

III. The Decision Below Poses
Serious Problems to the

Orderly Administration of

| FUBELOOe dc cctcevaasduness 25-27

1975)

| COMGIUBIOR cn kos CSE Ske be kek 28
| Appendix A: Opinion of the Court Below 30-32
| Appendix B: Unreported Opinion,
| Commonwealth v. Chaney, Pa.

A.2a (entered November 26, 33-36
:

renee scene ttt

TABLE OF CITATIONS
FEDERAL COURT CASES

Cotton v. United States, 446 F.2d
107 (8th Cir. 1971)

Culombe v. Connecticut, 367 U.S.
568 (1961) 14,18,

Gallegos v. Colorado, 370 U.S.

49 (1962) 2,12,14,18,

Glinsey v. Parker, 491 F.2d 337
(6th Cir. 1974), cert. denied,
417 U.S. 921

Haley v. Ohio, 332 U.S. 596

(1948) 2,14,18,

In Re Gault, 387 U.S. l

(1967) 2,12,18,

Michaud v. Robbins, 424 F.2d
971 (lst Cir. 1970)

Mikarewicz v. Scafati, 438 F.2d
474 (lst Cir. 1971), cert.
denied, 402 U.S. 980

Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S.

436 (1966) 2,11,14,19,

Schneckloth v. Bustamonte,
412 U.S. 218 (1973)

United States v. Miller,
453 P.2d 634 (4th Cir. 1972),
cert. denied, 406 U.S. 923.

United States ex rel. Brown v.
Rundle, 450 F.2d 517
(3d Cir. 1971)

Page

22

20,23

20,23

22

20,23

20,21

23

23

20,23

18,19

22

24

Table of Citations - Continued

Page
United States ex rel. Burgos
v. Follette, 448 F.2d 130
(2a Cir. 1971), cert. denied,
406 U.S. 950 (1972) 23
United States ex rel. Hayward v.
Johnson, 508 F.2d 322 (3d Cir.
1975), cert. denied, U.s.
(June 16, 1975) 22
United States ex rel. Loray v.
Yeager, 446 F.2d 1360
(3d Cir. 1971) 24
United States ex rel. McMath v.
Pate, 435 F.2d 174 (7th Cir.
1970) 24
United States ex rel. Richardson
v. Vitek, 395 F.2d 478 (7th Cir.
1968) 24
West v. United States, 399 F.2d
467 (5th Cir. 1968), cert.
denied, 393 U.S. 1102 (1969) 22
STATE COURT CASES
Commonwealth v. Chaney, Pa. ’
A.2d__ (Nov. 26,
1975) 17,18,25

Commonwealth v. McCutchen,
Pa. , 343 A.2d 669 (1975) 1,4,11

Commonwealth v. Moses, 446 Pa. 350,
287 A.2d 131 (1971) 25

ee I I EE FE ae ET ED, OD EOE ey EO Pa Oe OA Pe ee - > = -

Table of Citations - Continued

Page
Commonwealth v. Riggs, Pa. ’

A.2d (Oct. 30, 1975) 15,16,17,25

Commonwealth v. Roane, Pa. ;
329 A.2d 286 (1974) 11,12,13,20

Commonwealth v. Starkes,
Pa. , 335 A.2d 698
(1975) 11,13,14,15,23

Commonwealth v. Webster,
Pa. , A.2d

(Oct. 3, 1975) 15
McLeod v. State, 229 So.2d 577,
(Miss. 1969) 23

People v. Lara, 62 Cal.Rptr. 586,
432 P.2d 202 (1967) 23

People v. Stephen J.B., 23 N.Y.2d
611, 246 N.E. 2d 344 (1969) 23

State v. Dawson, 278 N.C. 351,
180 S.E.2d 140 (1971) 23

State v. Hogan, 297 Minn.430,
212 N.W.2d 664 (1973) 23

State v. Rone, 515 S.W.2d 438

(Mo. 1974) 23
State v. Sylvester, 298 So.2d 807

(La. 1974) 23
Theriault v. State, 66 Wis.2d 33,

223 N.W.2d 850 (1974) 23

Vaughn v. State, 3 Tenn.Ct.App.
54, 456 S.W.2d 879 (1970) 23

a ate ae ee
ON ne ey DU SRR pe

Ria ee ore an

In The
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCOTOBER TERM, 1975

No.

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
Petitioner,
Vv.

FREDDY McCUTCHEN,
Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

The Petitioner, Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania respectfully prays that
a writ of certiorari issue to review
the judgment and opinion of the Penn-
sylvania Supreme Court entered in the
above-entitled case on July 7, 1975.

OPINION BFLOW

The opinion below of the Penn-
sylvania Supreme Court is unoffi-
cially reported as of 343 A.2d 669
(1975), and is set out as Appendix
A. (The official report of this
case has not yet been published.)

* ono rear ne

JURISDICTION

The order of the Pennsylvania
Supreme Court was entered on July 7,
1975. A timely petition for rehearing
was filed by petitioner and was denied
on September 16, 1975. This petition
for certiorari was filed within ninety
days of that denial. This Court's
jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§1254(1).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Do the holdings of this Court
in Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436
(1966); In Re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967);
Haley v. Ohio, 332 U.S. 596 (1948);
and Gallegos v. Colorado, 370 U.S.
49 (1962), mandate a per se rule ex-
cluding from evidence any confession
given by a juvenile suspect whenever
that suspect has waived his Consti-
tutional rights, absent consultation
with a parent or other interested adult
who himself has first been advised
of the juvenile's rights; or, is such
a prophylactic rule mandated by the
fifth and/or fourteenth amendments
to the United States Constitution?

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

pao Onl

United States Constitution,
Amendment Fourteen, Section One.

All persons born or naturalized
in the United States, and subject to
the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens
of the United States and of the State
wherein they reside. No State shall
make or enforce any law which shall
abridge the privilege or immunities
of citizens of the United States; nor
shall any State deprive any person
of life, liberty, or property, without
due process of law; nor deny to any
person within its jurisdiction the
equal pretection of the laws.

United States Constitution,
Amendment Five - Capital Crimes;
Double Jeopardy; Self-Incrimina-
tion; Due Process; Just Compensa-
tion for Property

: No person shall be held to answer
‘for a capital, or otherwise infamous
crime, unless on a presentment or in-
dictment of a Grand Jury, except in
cases arising in the land or naval
forces, or in the Militia, when in
actual service in time of War or public
danger; nor shall any person be subject
of the same offense to be twice put
in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall
be compelled in any criminal case to
be a witness against himself, nor be
deprived of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law; nor shall
private property be taken for public
use, without just compensation.

|

i bla RS

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Procedural History

Respondent, Freddy McCutchen,
was indicted on charges of murder and
sodomy at No. 159-160, July Term, 1971,
Court of Common Pleas of Philadelphia
County. Prior to trial, by his at-
torney, he orally moved to suppress
his confession to the crimes, and a
hearing was held before the Honorable
Victor J. DiNubile on June 6 and 7,
1972. At the conclusion of the hear-
ing, McCutchen's motion was denied.
The case was then called for trial
before the Honorable James T.
McDermott and a jury on October 2,
1972, and verdicts of quilty of murder
in the first degree and sodomy were
returned on October 6. Thereafter,
post trial motions were heard, and
denied by the trial court on September
17, 1973. Consecutive sentences of
imprisonment for life and ten to twenty
years were imposed on October 3, 1973.

A direct appeal was taken to the
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, which
reversed the conviction in an opinion
issued on July 7, 1975. Commonwealth
v. McCutchen, Pa. , 343 A.2d 669

(1975). (Appendix A). Two justices
dissented and the Chief Justice did 3
not participate in the decision. A

petition for reargument was filed

by the Commonwealth on July 14, 1975.

This petition was denied on September

16, 1975.

oN Aol AN Nat As hee: eld,

Facts

McCutchen's conviction arose out
of the wanton killing of six year old
boy, Wilfredo Martinez. The body was
found by Philadelphia police at 10:30
p.m. June 7, 1971, alongside a railroad
siding at the top of an embankment
behind a factory (N.T. Trial 301) .1
The body was still warm, and was
covered with moist blood (N.T. Trial
311). An autopsy was conducted by
Dr. Robert L. Catherman; the cause
of death was “massive destruction"
to the head and brain resulting from
a beating with a blunt instrument,
which caused many compound and simple
fractures of the skull, extensive
lacerations, bruising, hemorrhaging
and damage to the brain tissues. The
right side of the face from the temple
to the jaw, the left side of the face
around the eye, the mouth and the area
above the right ear were most severly
injured; the facial and skull bones
in those areas were literally frag-
mented, and many teeth were dislodged.
In addition, internal injuries to the
abdomen and the organs in that area
had occurred, and the knees were
scratched and bruised. The doctor
also found that Wilfredo had been
buggered: lacerations and bruises

lrestimony presented at trial will be
cited herein as N.T. Trial. Testi-
mony at the Suppression Hearing will
be cited N.T. Supp. Hrg.

OP AT ranetarg: SVE SPN FRE IR RE RFR OF IR REL LET amr pO gym tts eras _ pemeyren

NR YG SARL YNE PEN NID PT NS RS 01 ORR OY TIP ROR

were found in the rectum and anus,

and sperm was found to be present (N.
T. Trial 340-366). When McCutchen was
questioned the following evening, June
8, 1971, he confessed to the crime.

He said that he had encountered the
little boy crying on the street and
began walking with him. He took him

up to the tracks, spread out his (Mc-
Cutchen's) jacket on the ground, told
him to take down his pants, and buggered
him. The little boy began screaming,
so McCutchen hit him with a branch from
a tree several times to make him stop.
Later, he threw away his jacket because
it was dirty (N.T. Trial 524-38).
McCutchen's confession was verified

by the recovery of his blood and semen
stained jacket (which he identified)
(J.T. Trial 443-45), and the blood
stained branch (N.T. Trial 445-47),

and by the discovery of his comb near
the body (N.T. Trial 369). In addition,
it was testified that McCutchen had
been seen on the street with Wilfredo
before his death (N.T. Trial 385-86).

McCutchen was first contacted iL ”
police about 6:30 p.m., June 8. He
immediately confirmed what the police
had been informed, that he had dis-
covered the body, and agreed to help
in the investigation by going to the
Police Administration Building. Before
being driven there, he was given Miranda
warnings and unequivocally stated that
he understood them and was willing
to talk to police without an attorney.

re ¢

Oe thao, Dae eb eter Reet

en

as Sic a Ret ea A I I ng Lt PO BONY inn Pe

When he arrived at the Police Admin-
istration Building about 7:15 p.m.,
these warnings were reiterated, and
McCutchen was interviewed over a two
hour period until 9:25 p.m., during
which he related that he had found

the body after purportedly seeing an
older man fleeing from the spot. Not
all this period was devoted to question-
ing, because police were checking the
information McCutchen was giving them
(N.T. Supp. Hrg. 133). Eventually
McCutchen suggested taking a polygraph
test concerning his story; he told

the police he had taken one on a pre-
vious occasion when he was apparently
questioned in connection with a dif-
ferent homicide (N.T. Supp. Hrg. 5l,
132-36). The test was arranged, and

he was taken to the polygraph unit

at 10:00 p.m. Beginning at about 10:30
p.m., the examiner conducted a pre-test
interview concerning McCutchen's per-
sonal history and physical condition,
formulated the questions to be asked
and explained the test procedure.

The test itself was conducted at about
11:45 p.m. (N.T. Supp. Hrg. 107); when
it was completed the examiner told
McCutchen the results (N.T. Supp. Hrg.
117), whereupon he changed his story
and admitted killing Wilfredo (N.T.
Supp. Hrg. 12). A detective again
warned McCutchen of his rights at

11:55 p.m., and wrote out his confession
in longhand (N.T. Supp. Hrg. 142);

this was completed and the statement
signed by McCutchen at 1:10 a.m. (N.T.
Supp. Hrg. 148-149).

Earlier, prior to the polygraph
test, or any admission, at about 11:30
p.m., a detective had gone to McCut-
chen's home to find his mother, after
an earlier unsuccessful attempt to
contact her by phone (N.T. Supp. Hrg.
52-54); at no time had McCutchen re-
quested that anyone be contacted, but
police determined that this should
be done because of his age: He had
told them that he was sixteen (N.T.
Supp. Hrg. 46).2 His mother arrived
at about 1:00 a.m. (N.T. Supp. Hrg.
58); shortly thereafter, she was fully
apprised of the situation by police
and taken to see her son (N.T. Supp.
Hrg. 151-52). Subsequently, beginning
at 2:10 a.m. in the presence of his
mother, McCutchen was again warned
of his rights and repeated his con-
fession, which was recorded in type-
written form, and then signed by him
and his mother. The mother sat in the
doorway to the room where she could
see and hear. Apparently, when ap-
pellant admitted to her that he had
committed the crime, she was extremely
angered at him; he had been a trouble-
some son in the past (N.T. Supp. Hrg.
368-69). After she had talked to
respondent, she told police she did
not wish to remain, but they persuaded

ee Sina nc Re hb AOD AER OT

2mMcCut chen gave his date of birth as
February 2, 1955. Later, police
learned from his mother that he was
15%

;
”
a
3
4
%
¥
a
3
3
3
a

her to do so; however she insisted

on remaining outside the open doorway
(N.T. Supp. Hrg. 208-09, 375-77).

She testified that from previous ex-
perience she knew appellant had a
right to an attorney at this point,
but apparently she had no concern that
he have one (N.T. Supp. Hrg. 387-90).

Later, after the mother had re-
turned to her home, police contacted
her by phone and received her consent
to take a supplemental statement from
McCutchen for the purpose of identifying
certain items (N.T. Supp. Hrg. 216-24);
however, neither these items nor the
supplemental statement was ever utilized
as evidence.

While McCutchen was but fifteen
at the time, he was extensively ex-
perienced with the criminal law. He
had been arrested sixteen times pre-
viously (N.T. Supp. Hrg. 100). He
himself testified that he had been
questioned by police on many previous
occasions, one as recently as a week
before, that he had served time at
Glen Mills, that he had been represented
by appointed attorneys, and that he
was thoroughly aware of his rights
from previous experiences (N.T. Supp.
Hrg. 292-99, 314). His mother was
Similarly aware of his rights (N.T.
Supp. Hrg. 387-88). In fact, as men-
tioned above, McCutchen had previously
been questioned in connection with

re eg ask

SERB aS, pine volte iti Ae A eats ban Beg SE

é

10

a homicide, for which he was apparent-
ly exculpated, and had taken a poly-
graph test on that occasion. Coupled
with the scrupulous warnings of rights
he was given in this case, these factors
leave no doubt that McCutchen was
meaningfully aware of his rights.
Furthermore, in view of his experi-
ence, it is clear that this particu-
lar suspect would not likely be over-
whelmed by being questioned by police
officers, despite his age, especially
Since the questioning was not initially
directed to establishing his guilt
but rather to his pretended role as

an important witness. He was not
questioned at length or treated with
hostility and he willingly cooperated
with police. Indeed, the polygraph
test which ultimately prompted Mc-
Cutchen's confession was his own idea.

In his defense, McCutchen testified
that he had not killed the little boy,
although he admitted he had been with
him earlier (N.T. Trial 564-65); he
said that he had "found" the body lying
near the railroad tracks, that his
jacket got bloody when he touched it,
and that he had thrown the jacket away
for this reason (N.T. Trial 566-67).

He claimed he signed his confession
because he was beaten by police, and
that he had not been warned of his
rights (N.T. Trial 575-78). Obviously,
the jury did not accept this version
of events.

1l

REASONS FOR ALLOWING THE WRIT

INTRODUCTION

Preliminarily, it should be noted
that the opinion below, standing alone,
can best be characterized as obscure.
Neither the Constitutional underpinnings
of the holding nor the exact scope
and nature of the holding can be dis-
cerned from examination of the McCutchen
text. However, reading the opinion
in the context of the earlier cases
upon which the McCutchen majority relies
and the cases following in McCutchen's
wake, three things become clear: the
holding in McCutchen is squarely ground-
ed on the United States Constitution;
the holding establishes a per se
rule excluding all confessions by
juveniles unless a parent is present
and has himself been given Miranda
warnings; and the holding will be
retroactively applied to all cases
coming before the Pennsylvania Supreme
Court on direct review, regardless
of the date of the confession or of
the trial. This holding is an erroneous
application of federal Constitutional
principles and decisions of this Court,
and is in conflict with interpretation
of the same principles and decisions
by other courts of parallel jurisdiction.
Moreover, the application of this pro-
phylactic exclusionary rule to all

3Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966)

Ria ease

a eee a Te

12

cases coming before that court on direct
review will have serious adverse effects
on the orderly administration of jus-
tice.

I. THE PENNSYLVANIA SUPREME
COURT HAS MISCONSTRUED THE
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION
AND MISINTERPRETED DECISIONS
OF THIS COURT.

The holding below is as follows:

{I]t is clear that prior

to appellant [sic] giving
his first confession, which
was in essence the same as
his later formal confession,
appellant, age fifteen, was
not given the opportunity
to consult his mother be-
fore he waived his rights,
an opportunity, in our
opinion, mandated by our
Roane decision.

343 A.2a at 670.4

The court also relies upon its
prior holding in Commonwealth v.
Starkes, Pa. _, 335 A.2d 698 (1975).
Examination of Starkes and Roane5
makes clear the Constitutional under-
pinnings of the rule.

4where, as here, the official report
has not yet been published, all cita-
tions will be to the Atlantic Reporter.

>Commonwealth v. Roane, _=Pa. __, 329

A.2d 286 (1974).

ribo ST OSL IEA ER NORD E A AAD

my

ty

13

In Roane, a sixteen year old murder
suspect was arrested at his home. His
mother informed police at the time
that she would follow them to the
station. Approximately one hour after
her arrival, she requested to speak
with her son, which request was denied.
In the meantime, Roane had been given
his Miranda warnings, acknowledged
his understanding of them, and agreed
to speak with police. He orally con-
fessed to the murder. Approximately
one hour after the first request, Mrs.
Roane again asked to see her son, and
this time was allowed to do so. After
they had spoken for a short time, an
officer entered the room and began
reiterating Miranda warnings in pre-
paration for the taking of a formal
written statement. At this time, the
mother told the officers that she
intended to obtain an attorney and
she did not want any statement taken.
Nonetheless, Roane again waived his
rights and gave and signed the formal
statement. Mrs. Roane refused to sign
as a witness.

The court reversed Roane's murder
conviction, relying on In Re Gault,

387 U.S. 1 (1967) and Gallegos v.
Colorado, 370 U.S. 49 (1962) Al-
though tacitly clinging to a totality

of the circumstances rule in determining
whether the waiver of rights was vol-

untary and intelligent, the court held:

In order to support a
finding that Daryl's
waiver of his rights was
knowing and intelligent,
we believe that the record
must indicate that Mrs.
Roane had an opportunity
to give Daryl the kind of
helpful advice discussed

in Gallegos, supra.
329 A.2d at 289.

In Starkes, a fourteen year old
was arrested at his home for murder.
His mother refused the offer of the
police that she accompany her son to
the Police Administration Building.
Upon arrival there, Starkes was given
Miranda warnings, acknowledged his
understanding of his rights, and agreed
to give a statement. He denied all
knowledge or involvement in the crime.
Later, his mother arrived and was taken
to Starkes, where the two remained
alone for a “pretty good while." Dur-
ing this period, the mother encouraged
her son to tell the truth. After his
conference, police again began to
question Starkes and he confessed to
the murder. In his mother's presence,
he was again given Miranda warnings,
and gave a formal typewritten state-
ment.

as

14

Se AST EN RPT SBE SEL ie

a SARNIA BASS

Relying on Culombe v. Connecticut,
367 U.S. 568 (1961); Gallegos v. Colo-
rado, supra; Haley v. Ohio, 332 U.S. 596
(1948); and Miranda v. Arizona, supra,

the Pennsylvania Supreme Court reversed,
holding:

Where a parent is present
we must at least require
that parent to be advised
of the rights possessed
by the minor suspect be-
for that parent may be per-
mitted to influence the
decision which the minor
must make. Whether the
pressure to respond to
police questioning flows
from the overzealousness
of the police or the un-
advised entreaties of a
well-intentioned parent,
the result is equally
offensive to our concept
of due process and
frustrates the protec-
tion sought to be pro-
vided by our Constitu-
tion.

* * * * *

[T]he Commonwealth has
failed to establish that
the decision of the appel-
lant to respond to police

et AL OES OEE ie Be NEE eS SEE Se te ESS. Eee re aie

16

( questioning was not
substantially influ-
enced by the unin-

: formed entreaties of
the mother. In view
of her lack of aware-
ness as to appellant's
rights, it cannot be
said that the choice
was a knowing and

' intelligent one.

DL RPE I ET ROE SIRI

335 A.2d at 703.

As noted above, the court below

clung for a time to the fiction that
it had announced no per se rule but
was simply applying a totality of the
circumstances test to determine whether
a Miranda waiver was voluntary and
intelligent. See, e.g., Commonwealth
v. Webster, Pa. , Aséa
(October 3, 1975), and the dissenting
opinion cf Mr. Justice Pomeroy. None-
theless, a rapid succession of juvenile
confession cases has finally eroded even
lipservice to the former standard.
In Commonwealth v. Riggs, __ Pa. _,

A.2d (October 30, 1975), the
(majority of the) court issued an o-
pinion which read, in its entirety:

PER CURIAM 10-30-75

Appellant was con-
victed of murder in the
first degree, aggravated

i
Pe
4

STR TL AOSE AA ESB EEE LCI TRE SEN BR RED SNES POLS na AS a

robbery and burglary
stemming from the
robbery and death by
beating of one Isa-
dore Selez on May 6,
1970. He was sen-
tenced to life im-
prisonment on the
murder charge and a
concurrent 5 to 15
year term of im-
prisonment for
aggravated robbery.
Sentence was sus-
pended on the burg-
lary conviction.

At the time of the
offense and his arrest
appellant was 15
years of age. He
made no oral confes-
sion to the police
before being granted
the benefit of coun-
sel or parental or
informed interested-
adult guidance. A
motion tO suppress
the statement was made
pre-trial and was
denied; the statement
was admitted into
evidence at trial.

We held recently in
Commonwealth v. Mc-

Cutchen, Pa. »
A.2d (1975) that

a waiver of Miranda

PLB EMEBLROB ALDH em OOS RAPE E ILE BREE SE ARR G Sera TR

17

Q
EE REE GIO LTS LSE DE LEE LO O IGE LE IU ELLEN TELE N LOE VLE IR BONIS OLE PINE IT

«©
4
¥
%

PETAL, LE ST

rights obtained under
such circumstances is
involuntary. It follows
that appellant's con-
viction must be reversed.

Judgments of sentence
reversed and new trial
is ordered.

In Commonwealth v. Chaney, Pa. ’
_A.2d November 26, 1975), (set out
as Appendix B) the court held:

[SJince the taking of
appellant's appeal in
this case, this court
has in Commonwealth v.
McCutchen, i
A.2d (1975),
Commonwealth v. Starkes,

J, RE, 2d
(1975) and Commonwealth
¥; Roane, Pa.

A.za... (i875), nela that
absent a showing that a
juvenile had an opportunity
to consult with an inter-
ested and informed parent

or adult or counsel before
he waived his Miranda rights,
his waiver will be inef-
fectual.

At p. 34 herein.

ae: “Screen

19

Or, as Mr. Justice Pomeroy notes in
dissent,

As the majority opin-
ion notes, this Court
has recently created
a per se rule requiring
reversal whenever a ju-
venile has waived his
constitutional rights,
see Miranda v. Arizona,
384 U.S. 436, 16 L. Ed.
2d 694 (1966), without
the opportunity to con-
sult with a parent or
other interested adult,
who himself has first
been advised of the
juvenile's constitution-
al rights.

At p. 35 herein.

It is clear beyond question that
this Court's decisions in Miranda,
Gallegos, Haley, Culombe, and Gault
do not mandate any such per se
exclusionary rule. In Schneckloth
v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S. 218 (1973),
this Court commented upon such cases
as Haley, Gallegos, and Culombe, noting:

The significant fact
about all of these de-
cisions is that none of

20

them turned on the
presence or absence
of a single control-
ling criterion; each
reflected a careful
scrutiny of all the
surrounding circum-
stances.

Id. at 226. (Citations omitted).

While Miranda did, indeed, set down
prophylactic requirements, it is uncon-
tested that those mandates were fully
complied with by the police in the in-
stant case. McCutchen was given
Miranda warnings prior to any question-
ing. He acknowledged his understanding
of his rights and exhibited a willing-
ness to cooperate with the police in
their investigation. He then gave a
fabricated statement in which he
claimed to have found the body after
seeing an older man running from the
scene. After police efforts to identify
this man failed to turn up any corrobor-
ation for the existence of such a
person, McCutchen suggested to police
that they give him a polygraph test.
After he failed the test, he confessed
to the murder. McCutchen was treated
well by the police, given warnings which
he apparently fully understood, and
spoke to the police freely. He was
thoroughly conversant with police pro-
cedures, having been arrested sixteen

times before, and once before questioned
concerning a homicide. Indeed, he felt
so sure of himself as to suggest proce-
dures to the police. Under all these
circumstances, his confession was clear-
ly voluntary under Gallegos, Hale

and Columbe, and his waiver of rights
valid under the guidelines of Miranda.

In Re Gault, the remaining case
relied upon by the court below, is simp-
ly inapposite. Therein, this Court ex-
plicitly stated:

We do not in this opin-
ion, consider the impact
of these constitutional
provisions upon the
totality of the rela-
tionship of the juvenile
and the state. . .[WJe
are not here concerned
with the procedures or
constitutional rights
applicable to the pre-
judicial stages of the
juvenile process.

387 U.S. at 13.

Even the dicta from Gault cited by
the court below in Roane, supra, falls
far short of sustaining the r se re-
versal rule effectuated by the court be-
low. This Court simply stated that ju-
veniles have the same constitutional
privilege against self-incrimination as
adults and that:

21

If counsel was not
present for some per-
missible reason when

an admission was ob-
tained, the greatest
care must be taken to
assure that the admis-
sion was voluntary, in
the sense not only that
it was not coerced or
suggested, but also that
it was not the product
of ignorance of rights
or of adolescent fan-
tasy, fright or despair.

387 U.S. at 55.

The circumstances of the instant
confession could hardly be further
from the product of “adolescent fanta-
sy, fright or despair."

For the foregoing reasons, it is
respectfully submitted that the Penn-
sylvania Supreme Court erred in conclud-
ing that the per se exclusionary rule
invoked below was required by the United
States Constitution and the cited de-
cisions of this Court.

II. THE DECISION BELOW IS
IN CONFLICT WITH NUM-
EROUS FEDERAL AND STATE
SUPREME COURTS.

While the precise issue addressed
below -- the notion of requiring the
presence of a Miranda-warned adult for

22

—«

23

all juvenile waivers -- has seldom been
adverted to in the appellate courts of
other jurisdictions, numerous other
courts have held juvenile Miranda waiv-
ers effective where no parent was pre-
sent.

For instance, in Cotton v. United
States, 446 F.2d 107 (8th Cir. 1971),
the Miranda waiver of a fifteen year old
was upheld even though no parents were
present during questioning. In that
case, the defendant had had only four
years of schooling (he entered the first
grade at the age of ten) and misspelled
the word "true." The following cases
are in accord, that is, waivers by teen-
agers without the advice of an informed
adult have been upheld: United States
ex rel. Hayward v. Johnson, 508 F.2d
322 (3d Cir. 1975), cert. denied, __ U.
S. _ (June 16, 1975) (1? years old; no
parent present); United States v. Mil-
ler, 453 F.2d 634 (4th Cir. 1972),
cert. denied, 496 U.S. 923
(14 years old; no parent present);

West v. United States, 399 F.2d 467

(Sth Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 393 U.S.
1102 (1969) (16 years old; no parent
present); Glinsey v. Parker, 491] F.2d
337 (6th Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 417
U.S. 921 (17 year old; no parent pre-
sent; confession upheld, but convic-
tion reversed on other grounds).

In the following cases, other state
supreme courts have upheld Miranda waiv-
ers by juveniles without the advice of
a parent: Theriault v. State, 66 Wis.
2d 33, 223 N.W. 2d 850 (1974) ; People
v. Lara, 62 Cal. Rptr. 586, 432 P.2d

202 (1967); People v. Stephen J.B.,

23 N.Y. 2d 611, 246 N.E. 5a 344 (1969 )p5
State v. Rone, 515 S.W. 2d 438 (Mo.
1974); McLeod v. State, 229 So. 2d

577 (Miss. (1969); State v. Hogan,

297 Minn. 430, 212 N.W. 2d 664 (1973);
State v. Sylvester, 298 So. 2d 807

(La. 1974); State v. Dawson, 278 N.C.
351, 180 S.E. 24 140 (1971); Vaughn

v. State, 3 Tenn. Cr. App. 54, 456
S.W.2d 879 (1979) (review denied by
Tennessee Supreme Court, July 6, 1970.)

Since the court below grounds its
per se rule on the due process clause
as well as on Miranda (see Starkes,
supra, at 703), relying on Gallegos,
Haley, and Culombe, the holding below
is also in conflict with many pre-
Miranda cases finding juvenile con-
fessions voluntary. The following
federal cases have upheld pre-Miranda
confessions by juveniles where no
parent was present: Mikarewicz v.
Scafati, 438 F.2d 474 (Ist Cir. 1971),
cert. denied, 402 U.S. 980 (15 year
Old); Michaud v. Robbins, 424 F.2d 971
(lst Cir. 1970) (15 year old illiterate
with mental age of 12); United States
ex rel. Burgos v. Follette, 448 F.2d
130 (2d Cir. 1971), cert. denied, :
406 U.S. 950 (1972) (16 year old); |

g
:
SS

Se Oe eee OE ee ee

25

United States ex rel. Loray v. Yeager,
446 F.2d 1360 (3d Cir. OTT) (I6 year
old); United States ex rel. Brown v.
Rundle, 450 F. 5 Cir.

(l6 yeard old); United States ex rel.
Richardson v. Vitek, 395 F.2d 478 (7th
Cir. 1968) (15 year old); United States
ex rel. McMath v. Pate, 435 F.2d 174 (7th
Cir. 1970) (16 year old).

In all of the above-cited jurisdic-
tions, the age of the defendant and the
presence or absence of a parent are al-
ways factors to be weighed in determin-
ing the voluntariness of a confession
and the validity of a Miranda waiver.
Yet all stand in conflict with the per
se exlusionary rule adopted by the court
below.

iii. THE DECISION BELOW POSES
SERIOUS PROBLEMS TO THE
ORDERLY ADMINISTRATION
OF JUSTICE.

In Commonwealth v. Chaney, supra,
set out at Appendix B, the court below
held the per se reversal rule invoked
below applicable to any case coming
before that court on direct review.

This includes cases such as Commonwealth
v. Webster, supra. Webster was con-

victed of murder in 1969. He took no
appeal. In 1973 he filed a post-con-
viction petition requesting the right
to file a direct appeal nunc pro tunc.
This right was granted. On "direct"

26

appeal on October 3, 1975, the court
below reversed under McCutchen. (It
is noteworthy that the opinion of the
court below on the timely appeal of
Chaney's co-defendant was, until
McCutchen, the leading Pennsylvania
case on juvenile confessions. There,
the court relied on the totality of
the circumstances test and upheld
the confession. See Commonwealth

v. Moses, 446 Pa. 350, 287 A.2d 131
(1971).)

Thus the holding below will
operate to overturn virtually all con-
victions involving juvenile confes-
sions® in cases tried prior to
McCutchen, where a direct appeal has
not yet been decided. In cases where
the confession was given prior to
McCutchen but the case tried after
McCutchen, the confession will have
been or have to be suppressed. More-
over, because of the obscurity of the
opinion below, there will undoubted-
ly be post-McCutchen interrogations
and trials which fail to comply with
the per se rule. (Only after
Commonwealth v. Riggs, supra, and
Commonwealth v. Chaney, supra, was
the prophylactic nature of the rule
made clear).

Svwhile in some percentage of cases
parents have consulted with juvenile
suspects, police have almost never given
Miranda warnings to those parents.

TPR ee eae es ew *

27

It is difficult to give any accu-
rate estimate of how many cases will
thus be affected, but some glimmering
of the magnitude can be had by refer-
ence to some readily available statistics.
Considering only homicide cases in
Philadelphia County for the years 1973
and 1974, official records indicate the
following: In 1973, 70 juveniles were
charged with murder; 53 gave statements.
In 1974, 71 juveniles were charged with
murder; 57 gave statements. Of these
110 cases where there were confessions,
only two have been finally decided on
appeal. Of the other 108 all convic-
tions are subject to automatic rever-
sal and untried cases subject to sup-
pression under McCutchen. Adding to
these, the 1975 cases, all pre-1973
cases where no appeal has been finally
decided, all cases involving crimes
other than homicide, and all cases
arising in the other 66 counties in
Pennsylvania, the mind reels at the
prospect of discovering how many
hundreds of cases comprise the total.
Suffice it to say that the adverse
effect of McCutchen's per se reversal

rule on the administration Of justice
in Pennsylvania is overwhelming, and
that this case is of the utmost im-
portance to the Commonwealth.

28

CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons,
the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania re-
spectfully requests that a writ of
certiorari issue to review the de-
cision below.

Respectfully submitted,

BONNIE BRIGANCE LEADBETTER
Assistant District Attorney
STEVEN H. GOLDBLATT

Assistant District Attorney
Chief, Appeals Division

ABRAHAM J. GAFNI

Deputy District Attorney for Law
F. EMMETT FITZPATRICK

District Attorney

APPENDICES

Appendix A: Opinion of the Court Below

Appendix B: Unreported Opinion,
Commonwealth v. Chaney, Pa. ’

A.2da (entered November 26,
(1975)

30

COMMONWEALTH of Pennsylvania
Vv.
Freddy McCUTCHEN, Appellant.

Supreme Court of Pennsylvania.
July 7, 1975.
Rehearing Denied Sept. 16, 1975.

OPINION OF THE COURT
O'BRIEN, Justice.

Appellant, Freddy McCutchen, was tried
by a judge and jury and found guilty of
murder in the first degree and sodomy.
Post-trial motions were denied and appel-
lant was given a life sentence, with a ten-
to-twenty-year sentence on the sodomy
charge to run consecutively with his life
sentence. This appeal followed.

Appellant, age fifteen at the time of
his arrest, argues that his confession
should have been suppressed based on our
decisions of Commonwealth v. Starkes, j

Pa. , 335 A.2d 698 (1975) and Common-
wealth v. Roane, Pa. , 329 A.2d 286

(1974), because he was not given the bene- {
fit of parental or interested-adult guid-
ance prior to giving his confession. We
agree.

The facts surrounding appellant's con-
fession are as follows. On June 8, 1972,
at or about 6:30 p.m., appellant was
approached by two officers of the Phila- t
delphia Police and asked if he would f
accompany them to police headquarters in F
order that he could be interviewed con- 4

APPENDIX A

cerning the death of Wilfredo Martinez.
Appellant consented to go with the police
and arrived at police headquarters at or
about 7:00 p.m., where he was given his
Miranda warnings and questioned from 7:15
p.m. until 9:25 p.m. During this time,
appellant denied any involvement in the
homicide, but gave the police a statement
in which he said that he saw an elderly
man run from the area in which the vic-
tim's body was found. From 9:25 p.m. un-
til 10:30 p.m., appellant was left alone
and then, with his consent, was taken to

a polygraph room where a pretest inter-
view was conducted from 10:30 p.m. until
11:45 p.m. After the polygraph tests were
administered, appellant was told that he
was lying and at about 11:55 p.m., appel-
lant gave an incriminating statement which
was recorded in longhand and signed by
appellant at 1:10 a.m. After this first
confession was ended, the police took ap-
pellant's mother to police headquarters;
upon her arrival she was told that her son
had confessed to the homicide. She then
spoke with her son, and another formal
typewritten confession was taken, con-
cluding at 4:20 a.m. At no time prior to
appellant's first confession was he af-
forded the opportunity to consult with his
mother or an interested adult.

The Commonwealth, in an effort to dis-
tinguish the instant case from our deci-
sions of Roane and Starkes, supra, argues
that appellant's confession was voluntary
because he did not ask to have his mother
present, and that because of his prior ex-
perience with the police, he was aware of
the consequences of his confession and did
not need guidance in deciding whether to
confess. We are of the opinion that these

APPENDIX A

-
NTIS

SSR AL NRA AN A NE RS

1 EN

Ment GA DP ANGI

arguments do not take this case out of our
Roane and Starkes rationale. In Roane,
supra, we stated:

", . . In order to support a finding
that Daryl's waiver of his rights was
knowing and intelligent, we believe
that the record must indicate that
Mrs. Roane had an opportunity to give
Daryl the kind of helpful advice dis-
cussed in Gallegos, supra. The
instant case reveals no such opportu-
nity." At page, 329 A.2d at page
289.

In the instant case, the Commonwealth
admits that appellant's mother was not
present when he gave his first informal
confession but was only taken in to see
appellant when his final confession was
taken. Under these facts, it is clear
that prior to appellant giving his first
confession, which was in essence the same
as his later formal confession, appellant,
age fifteen, was not given the opportunity
to consult his mother before he waived his
rights, an opportunity, in our opinion,
mandated by our Roane decision.

Judgments of sentence reversed and case

remanded for proceedings consistent here-
with.

JONES, C.J., took no part in the con-
sideration or decision of this case.

EAGEN AND POMERY, JJ., dissent.

32

rf, snort RK MRL DEP AMRIT 5k oT on Pe
. , tira .
— SANT OT EERE c CROP IES EN, +e AN

[3140]
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA
Eastern District

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

Vv.
MICHAEL, CHANEY, Appellant

Nos. 120 and 122 January Term, 1974

Appeal from the Judgment of Sentence of
the Court of Common Pleas, Criminal Trial
Division, of Philadelphia, at Nos. 81 and
82 October Sessions, 1972.

OPINION OF THE COURT ;
11/26/75 4

O'BRIEN, J.

Appellant, Michael Chaney, was
tried by a judge and jury and found guilty
of murder in the first degree and aggrava-
ted robbery. Post-trial motions were :
denied and appellant was sentenced to life
imprisonment. Appellant filed this appeal k
and we reverse his judgment of sentence.

Appellant argues that the court
erred in failing to suppress his confes-
sion. Chaney, age sixteen, was arrested
September 8, 1972, at approximately 11:25
a.m. and transported to police head-
quarters, where he arrived at 11:45 a.m.
He was warned of his rights at 12:05 p.m.
and thereafter gave his first oral admis-
sion at 1:05 p.m. He was then questioned,
given a polygraph examination and finally
gave a final written statement at 7:54 p.m.
At his suppression hearing and in post-
trial motions, appellant argued that based
on our decision in Commonwealth v. Harmon,
440 Pa. 195, 269 A.2d 744 (1970), his con-

' APPENDIX B yi

EATEN RI AT Menara ne Nechhara

}

fession should have been suppressed be-
cause he was a juvenile and because he did
not voluntarily give the confession. How-
ever, since the taking of appellant's
appeal in this case, this court has in

Commonwealth v. McCutchen, Pa. ’
A.2d (1975), Commonwealth v.
SenExess Pa. ’ A.2da uiebe

and Commonwealth v. Roane,
A.2d (1975), held that seat a

Showing that a juvenile had an opportunity
to consult with an interested and informed
parent or adult or counsel before he
waived his Miranda rights, his waiver will
be ineffectual. In the instant case, no
such consultation was conducted prior to
appellant's waiver and, in fact, his
mother did not see him until 2:30 p.m.,
some three hours after his arrest; his
confession must, therefore, be suppressed
under our McCutchen rationale. While ap-
pellant's arrest, confession and trial

ock place before our decisions concern-
ing a juvenile's waiver of his Miranda
rights, he is nevertheless entitled to the
benefit of those decisions since he was on
jirect appeal at the time of our
McCutchen decisions. See Commonwealth v.
Little, 432 Pa. 256, 248 A.2d 32 (1968).

Judgment of sentence reversed and
‘ase remanded for a new trial consistent
with this opinion.

Mr. Justice Pomeroy filed a
Dissenting Opinion in which Mr. Chief
Justice Jones and Mr. Justice Eagen
joined.

> Reka keh ban a a) — 7

34

PRY ee

35

[J.140]

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA
Eastern District

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
Vv.
MICHAEL CHANEY, Appellant
Nos. 120 and 122 January Term, 1974

Appeal from the Judgment of Sentence of
the Court of Common Pleas, Criminal Trial
Division, of Philadelphia, at Nos. 81 and
82 October Sessions, 1972.

DISSENTING OPINION
11-26-75

POMEROY, J.,

As the majority opinion notes,
this Court has recently created a per se
rule requiring reversal whenever a
juvenile has waived his constitutional
rights, see Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S.
436, 16 L.Ed.2d 694 (1966), without the

pportunity to consult with a parent or
other interested adult, who himself has
first been advised of the juvenile's con-
stitutional rights. See Commonwealth v.
Riggs, Pa. P i” (1975);

Commonwealth v. Webster, Pa. ’

A. 2d (1975); Commonwealth v.
McCutchen, Pa. ’ A.2d (1975);
Commonwealth v, Starkes, Pa. ’

A.2d (1975); Commonwealth v. Roane,

Pa. , 329 A.2d 286 (1974. T have
consistently expressed my disagreement
with this rule. See the dissenting
opinion of Mr. Justice EAGEN in Common-

APPENDIX B

ek ne a ee

wealth v. Roane, supra, joined by Mr. Chief
Justice JONES and s writer, and Part I
of the dissenting opinion of this writer in
Commonwealth v. Webster, supra. I continue
Eo adhere to the views expressed in those
opinions that the rule is unwise,

unnecessary and unwarranted. Hence this
dissent.

MR. CHIEF JUSTICE JONES AND
MR. JUSTICE EAGEN join in this dissent

APPENDIX B

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_1840%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
