# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Jasinski v. International Ass'n of Machinists & Aerospace Workers

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_1796%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 424 U.S. 909

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

MATHEW S. JASINSKI, EDWARD BOROWIK, MAX R.
SHELTON, JOHN R. THOMAS, GEORGE WIMBERLY,
JOHN GOODLEFSKY, STEPHEN J. KRATZ, PHILLIP
BEAULIEU, M. E. URRA, J. STEWART HARRISON,
JOHN W. ROACH, JR., and CHARLES K. JOHNSON,
Petitioners,

VS.

INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF MACHINISTS
AND AEROSPACE WORKERS:
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

TOM CARTER,

Counsel for Petitioners

1726 Fulton National Bank Bldg.

Atlanta, Georgia 30303
404—688-7026

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES Pat |
I. OPINIONS BELOW witebibetieibelas ig ile ls a te 2
II. JURISDICTION __.. wok 2
III. QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW -___. 2
IV. STATUTES INVOLVED 3
(a) Section 2, Fourth of the Railway Labor Act,
45 USC Section 152, Fourth ae ae
(b) Section 2, Ninth, of the Railway Labor Act,
45 USC Section 152, Ninth 4
V. STATEMENT OF THE CASE _ 4
A. Summary of the Facts 4
B. Proceedings Below 7
VI. REASONS WHY CERTIORARI SHOULD BE
GRANTED ____ 7
A. What Petitioners Seek is Simply to Enjoy
Right of Craft Organization and Craft Repre-
sentation in Collective Bargaining as Sanc-
tioned by the Act and the Board’s Prior Cer-
tification __ 8
B. What Petitioners Do Not Seek is any In-
fringement of the Board’s Jurisdictional
Functions ___. _ 10

TABLE OF CONTENTS (Continued)
Page

C. The Board Itself has Expressly Denied Any
Jurisdiction to Adjudicate Petitioners’ Sub-
ject Claim (Appendix C) —-....------ 12

D. Court Jurisdiction of Petitioners’ Claim is
Strongly Suggested by Prior Decisions of this
Court Holding, that the Exclusive Jurisdic-
tion of the Railroad Adjustment Board under
the Act, did not Bar Court Jurisdiction to
Define Unfair Representation Cases Against

Unions and Employers Jointly - _ 15

VII. CONCLUSION -....- 18

CERTIFICATE _.. 19
APPENDICES—

APPENDIX A—Opinion of the District Court for
the Northern District of Georgia, Atlanta Di-
vision (No. C74-1780A), rendered on February
4, 1975 20

APPENDIX B—Final Judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit,
rendered July 29, 1975, reported at 517 F.2d 478. 31

APPENDIX C—National Mediation Board’s De-
termination dated July 15, 1974, File No. C4294... 32

II

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES: Page

Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen vs. Howard, 348
US, M8: DLR we TTT...

Conley vs. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 44, 41 LRRM 2089
| PG RA irene einen: |

Cunningham vs. Erle R.R. Co., 266 F.2d 411, 415-16
A a aS bdabhcisanks simulans Oe

Czosek vs. O’Mara, 397 U.S. 25, 73 LRRM 2481
PINs ui Salas tastttete htetcas-casdceidindataenaemmanetinienthabeaies 15, 17, 18

Gainey vs. Brotherhood of Railway & Steamship
Clerks, 313 F. 2d 318, 324, 52 LRRM 2196 (3d
BN ID hoch nccceepersscchssccnioreittnedolestielaarbbataisticelieniiantttiion 10

Glover vs. St. Louis-San Francisco Railway Company,
393 U.S. 323, 70 LRRM 2097 (1969) __ 15, 16, 18

Graham vs. Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen &
Enginemen, 388 U.S. 232, 25 LRRM 2033 _...... 10

Hayes vs. Union Pacific Railroad Company, 184 F. 2d
337, 26 LRRM 2566 (CA 9, 1950), cert. denied,
340 U.S. 492, 27 LRRM 2456 (1951) — 16, 17

Simberlund vs. Long Island Railroad Company, 421
F, 2d 1219, 73 LRRM 2451 (CA 2, 1970) —.. .. 10

Steele vs. Louisville & Nashville R. Co., 323 U.S. 192,
Se IE III hci cea cack elseshencnsincnrchaneticidiaseiaoincnnccamescbiek 10

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)
CASES: Page

Thompson vs. Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters,
316 F. 2d 191, 198-99, 52 LRRM 2880 (4th Cir.

1963) 10
Tunstall vs. Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen &

Enginemen, 823 U.S. 210, 15 LRRM 715 10
Vaca vs. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 190-93, 64 LRRM 2369

(1967) 10
STATUTES:
28 U.S.C. Seetion 1254 (1) 2
ae Sees ee Oe Oe a 7
Section 2, Ninth of the Railway Labor Act, as amended

45 U.S.C. Section 152 (Ninth) 3, 4, 7, 11
Section 2, Fourth of the Railway Labor Act, 45 USC.

Section 152, Fourth 3,8
45 U.S.C. Section 1831 7
Section 3 First (i) of the Railway Labor Act, 45 USC

Section 153, First (i) 15, 16
OTHER AUTHORITIES:
National Mediation Board's Determination dated July

15, 1974, File No. C4294 28

IV

ge eer ee tans suc He ts es erg et ON

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

Term, 19

No.

MATHEW 8S. JASINSKI, EDWARD BOROWIK, MAX R.
SHELTON, JOHN R. THOMAS, GEORGE WIMBERLY,
JOHN GOODLEFSKY, STEPHEN J. KRATZ, PHILLIP
BEAULIEU, M. E. URRA, J. STEWART HARRISON,
JOHN W. ROACH, JR., and CHARLES K. JOHNSON,
Petitioners,

VS.

INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF MACHINISTS
AND AEROSPACE WORKERS:

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners here were plaintiffs in the lower district
court, and were appellant in the Fifth Cireuit Court of
Appeals below. Petitioners pray that a Writ of Certiorari
issue to review the final judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit entered in the
above case on July 29, 1975.

eS 5 RT SODAS MR tice 5 FT?

a
id

Fis WII D a ebAi RO STON SAG ms

2

I. OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion in this case of the District Court for the
Northern District of Georgia, Atlanta Division, (No.C74-
1780A) was rendered on February 4, 1975, and a true and
correct copy of that court’s judgment and opinion is ap-
pended hereto as Appendix A.

The final judgment and opinion of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, sustaining the
lower district court, was made and entered on July 29,
1975, and the same is reported at 517 F 2d 478; And, a
true and correct copy thereof is appended hereto as Ap-
pendix B. Said judgment of the Fifth Circuit Court of
Appeals issued as the court’s mandate on August 20, 1975.

Il. JURISDICTION

This petition for writ of certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, seeks to review
that court’s said final judgment of July 29, 1975 (appended
as Appendix B) which affirms the lower district court’s
judgment of dismissal (Appendix A) of petitioners’ Com-
plaint in the court. The jurisdiction of this court is in-
voked under 28 U.S.C. Section 1254 (1).

Ill. QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Did the lower courts correctly hold that the district court
lacked subject matter jurisdiction based upon the con-
clusion that exclusive jurisdiction of the subject matter
was in the National Mediation Board (herein the Board)
under the Railway Labor Act (herein, Act). notwithstand-
ing the Board’s prior express determination (see Appendix
C) that it lacked jurisdiction to adjudicate petitioners’ fol-
lowing claim:

3

That IAM, the respondent labor organization
(which had previously been certified by the Board
pursuant to provisions of the Act to represent
petitioners’ certified employmental collective bar-
gaining craft) violated its lawful duty of fair
representation owed petitioners; through IAM’s
manner and method of representing petitioners
said certified bargaining craft—not as a separate
certified bargaining craft, but merely as a small
part of a single and substantially larger un-
certified and heterogeneous collective bargaining
class of sundry employees of petitioners’ employer,
in a single process for all collective bargaining
purposes.

More specifically, did the lower court correctly hold that
petitioners’ said claim constitutes a “. . . dispute...
among a carrier’s employees as to who are the repre-
sentatives of such employees designated and authorized
in accordance with the requirements of . .. (the Act)”
within the meaning of Section 2, Ninth of the Railway
Labor Act as amended, 45 USC Section 152 (Ninth); so
as to be within the exclusive jurisdiction of the Board
to certify an appropriate collective bargaining craft or
class of employees and the representative to represent
them.

IV. STATUTES INVOLVED IN THIS CASE

(a) Section 2, Fourth of the Railway Labor Act, 45
USC Section 152, Fourth, provides in pertinent parts as
follows:

“Employees shall have the right to organize
and bargain collectively through representatives
of their own choosing. The majority of any craft

4

or class of employees shall have the right to de-
termine who shall be the representative of the
craft or class for the purpose of this Chapter. . .”

(b) Section 2, Ninth, of the Railway Labor Act, 45
USC Section 152, Ninth, provides in pertinent parts the
following:

“If any dispute shall arise among a carrier’s
employees as to who are representatives of such
employees designated and authorized in accord-
ance with requirements of this chapter, it shall
be the duty of the Mediation Board, upon re-
quest of either party to the dispute, to investigate
such dispute and to certify to both parties, in
writing, within thirty days after the receipt of
the invocation of its services, the name or names
of the individuals or organizations that have been
designated and authorized to represent the em-
ployees involved in the dispute, and certify the
same to the carrier . . . in the conduct of any
election for the purposes herein indicated the
Board shall designate who may participate in
the election and establish the rules to govern the
election... .”

V. STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Summary of the Facts

Petitioners are employees of Eastern Airlines (herein,
Eastern), an air carrier subject to the provisions of the
ACT. Petitioners are employed in a collective bargaining
unit or craft of Eastern employees; which craft, in prior
years, has been certified by the Board, pursuant to the
provisions of the Act, to include principally Eastern’s
highly skilled and lawfully licensed airline mechanics, such

5

as petitioners, and also including certain smaller fringe
groups of shop laborers, janitors, and ground service and
cleaning employees (herein called PETITIONERS’ CRAFT
OR UNIT).

However, the last formal certification of petitioners’
bargaining craft by the Board itself expressly EXCLUD-
ED therefrom Eastern’s numerous cargo and baggage
handling employees, and sundry other employees.

The Board itself has never issued a formal certification,
accompanied by a customary election among effected em-
ployees, for the inclusion of these aforesaid cargo and
baggage handling employees and sundry other employees
of Eastern into petitioners’ certified bargaining craft.

As is often the case in the airline industry, the airline
mechanics of Eastern were among the first ground em-
ployees to be organized and represented by IAM a num-
ber of years ago. And, historically the collective bargaining
contracts between IAM and Eastern covering petitioners’
bargaining craft, contain the usual unionshop provisions
conditioning employment upon timely acquisition of union
membership in IAM. Thus, any expansion of petitioners’
bargaining craft and contract coverage, which could be
achieved by IAM in bargaining with Eastern, would re-
sult in a corresponding increase in the union’s dues paying
membership among Eastern’s employees, via the contract
union shop provision.

During the years of IAM’s representation of petitioners’
bargaining craft, a growing number of Eastern’s aforesaid
cargo and baggage handlers and various other groups of
Kastern’s employees (having substantially lesser degrees
of skill and training requirements for their jobs) have

6

been grouped together with petitioners’ said bargaining
craft by IAM into a single process of collective bargaining
representation.

With the result, that petitioners’ original certified bar-
gaining craft has, become gradually absorbed into one big
communalized and heterogeneous bargaining class of East-
ern’s employees; which is represented by IAM, in sub-
stance and manner, as one whoie class or unit of em-
ployees for all purposes of collective bargaining; That
has been placed by IAM under a single collective bargain-
ing contract.

All employees in this said heterogeneous and communal-
ized single bargaining class are permitted by IAM in an
ongoing single collective bargaining process to vote on
pertinent matters, affecting petitioners’ employmental in-
terests and careers, such as: collective bargaining contract
ratification, the calling of strikes, the designation of bar-
gaining negotiators to conduct bargaining negotiations,
and the like.

IAM’s said grouping of petitioners’ original certified
bargaining craft into this said heterogeneous bargaining
class during recent years (without prior Board certifica-
tion therefor), has resulted in petitioners’ certified bar-
gaining craft having only a numerically minority voice
in all important employmental matters vitally affecting
their employmental interests and careers.

As was noted by the lower district court in its Opinion
(see Appendix A, Page 28), petitioners’ earlier presenta-
tion to the NMB of their subject claim had resulted in the
NMB’s determination that it lacked jurisdiction to decide
this controversy (Appendix C).

7

B. Proceedings Below

The subject complaint was filed by petitioners in Sep-
tember of 1974. On October 23, 1974, IAM filed its motion
to dismiss alleging as ground one therein that: “. . . the
Court does not have jurisdiction over the subject matter
of the complaint.” On February 4, 1975, the lower district
court issued his ruling sustaining IAM’s said jurisdictional
ground for dismissal (Appendix A). The lower court ex-
pressly based its ruling upon its legal conclusion that the
Board had exclusive jurisdiction over petitioners’ claim,
under Section 2, Ninth, of the Act, 45 USC Section 152
(Ninth).

In due course, petitioners perfected their appeal from
the lower court’s judgment of dismissal to the Fifth Cir-
cuit; which rendered its per curiam judgment of “af-
firmed” on July 29, 1975 (Appendix B). It is from this
judgment of affirmance by the Fifth Circuit that peti-
tioners seek this court’s issuance of a writ of certiorari.

JURISDICTION IN THE LOWER DISTRICT COURT
was based upon the allegation in the complaint that the
subject matter of the controversy arises under the Act,
45 US Code, Section 151 et seq.; along with the allegation
that the matter in controversy exceeds the sum or value
of $10,000.00, exclusive of interests and costs. Thus, orig-
inal jurisdiction in the district court was based upon Sec-
tion 1331 of Title 28 of the United States Code, as
amended.

VI. REASONS WHY CERTIORARI SHOULD
BE GRANTED
The Fifth Circuit has decided an important question of
federal law in a way that would potentially and wrong-
fully deny tens of thousands of airline industry employees

Rowe ays

8

access to the Federal Courts to correct violations of a
lawful duty of fair representation owed them under the
Federal Act by their respective collective bargaining rep-
resentatives; and in a way which conflicts with an ap-
plicable analogous principle of law previously laid down
by decisions of this court.

The lower court's ruling, that it lacked subject matter
jurisdiction because petitioners’ claim was found by the
court to be within the exclusive jurisdiction of the Board
under the Act, must be considered in the light of peti-
tioners’ basie claim set forth in their complaint, and stated
below.

A. What Petitioners Seek Is Simply to Enjoy Right of
Craft Organization and Craft Representation in Col-
lective Bargaining as Sanctioned by the Act and the
Board’s Prior Certification

Petitioners claim that they, as well as the other em-
ployees in their Board certified bargaining craft are being
denied by IAM their statutory rights that are conceptually
stated in Section 2, Fourth, of the Act, 45 USC Section
152, Fourth, providing in pertinent parts as follows:

“Employees shall have the right to organize
and bargain collectively through representatives
of their own choosing. The majority of any craft
or class of employees shall have the right to de-
termine who shall be the representative of the
craft or class... .”

This denial of petitioners’ said statutory craft organiza-
tional and craft representational rights stems from IAM’s
manner and method of collectively representing petitioners’
Board certified bargaining craft, as but a minority part

9

of an overall heterogeneous single bargaining class of
sundry Eastern employees (WITHOUT PRIOR BOARD
CERTIFICATION OF SUCH A SINGLE HETERO-
GENEOUS CLASS) (see the Summary of Facts in the
Statement of the Case, supra).

IAM’s complained of manner of representing petition-
ers’ certified bargaining craft, in effect ab.ogates the
statutory concept of CRAFT organization and CRAFT
collective bargaining. It also emasculates the Board’s prior
certification of petitioners’ homogeneous bargaining craft
consisting primarily of highly skilled and highly craft
motivated employees such as petitioners, who are lawfully
licensed career airline mechanics.

The plight of petitioners’ certified bargaining craft may
be compared to that of a mighty ship that is desirous and
capable of charting its own course to its own more distant
port of call; but instead is commandeered into a single
large convoy of other smaller vessels, which is sailing
perhaps to another port.

Petitioners find frustrating and humiliating irony in
the circumstance that their own collective bargaining rep-
resentative, LAM, would deny them their craft aspirations
and status; notwithstanding that petitioners’ bargaining
craft is sanctioned by the Act, as well as by the Board's
prior certification. While at the same time, the craft
aspirations and the craft organizational and bargaining
rights, of the laborers, the ironworkers, the electricians,
the plumbers, the heavy equipment operators, ete., who
build and maintain the hangers and airports in which
petitioners perform their very highly skilled tasks, are
preserved intact.

i

10

Petitioners claim essentially that IAM’s complained of
manner and method of representing them in collective
bargaining in the context presented constitutes a violation
of IAM’s lawful duty for fair representation owed to
petitioners, as their statutory collective bargaining repre-
sentative under the Act. Steele vs. Louisville & Nashville
R. Co., 323 U.S. 192, 15 LRRM 708; Tunstall vs. Brother-
hood of Locomotive Firemen & Enginemen, 323 U.S. 210,
15 LRRM 715; Graham vs. Brotherhood of Locomotive
Firemen & Enginemen, 338 U.S. 232, 25 LRRM 2033;
Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen vs. Howard, 343 U. S.
768, 30 LRRM 2258; Vaca ws. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 190-93,
64 LRRM 2369 (1967); Thompson vs. Brotherhood of
Sleeping Car Porters, 316 F, 2d 191, 198-99, 52 LRRM
2880 (4th Cir. 1963); Gainey vs. Brotherhood of Railway
& Steamship Clerks, 313 F 2d 318, 324, 52 LRRM 2196
(3d Cir. 1963) ; Cunningham vs. Erle R.R. Co., 266 F. 2d
411, 415-16, 44 LRRM 2093 (2d Cir. 1959) ; Simberlund
vs. Long Island Rail Road Company, 421 F. 2d, 1219, 73
LRRM 2451 (CA 2, 1970).

B. What Petitioners Do Not Seek is any Infringement of
the Board’s Jurisdictional Functions

In no way do petitioners seek to intrude into the exclu-
sive jurisdictional domain of the Board to determine and
certify bargaining crafts or classes along with the unions
to represent them. For here the Board has already spoken
by certifying petitioners’ said bargaining craft, and IAM
to represent petitioners’ certified craft.

Neither do petitioners dispute the status of IAM as the
certified statutory collective bargaining representative for
petitioners’ craft.

Neither do petitioners question the legality of IAM’s

11

lawful right to separately represent any of Eastern’s cargo
and baggage handlers or other sundry groups of Eastern’s
employees; who were not included by the Board in its
certification of petitioners’ bargaining craft; but who have
been grouped by IAM along with petitioners’ certified
craft into a single overall heterogeneous bargaining class
for all purposes of collective bargaining representation, as
complained of by petitioners.

Indeed, it is petitioners who seek to give vitality and
meaning to the Board’s certification; by requiring IAM
to honor the Board’s prior certification of petitioners’
bargaining representation of petitioners’ bargaining craft,
by simply recognizing and conducting it’s collective bar-
gaining representation by petitioners’ bargaining craft
in a manner and method consistent with, and called for
by, the Board’s certification; At least, UNTIL SUCH
TIME AS THE BOARD ITSELF MIGHT THROUGH
LAWFUL PROCESSES DECIDE TO MODIFY ITS
CERTIFICATION OF PETITIONERS’ BARGAINING
CRAFT.

For the courts to fail to adjudicate petitioners subject
claim is to hold that the statutory collective bargaining
representative—and not the Board, has power to determine
which employees may appropriately be included in a statu-
tory collective bargaining craft or class for purposes of
collective bargaining representation. But, such a conclu-
sion is in direct contradiction to the plain provisions of
the Act that the Board—and not the union, is to determine
and certify the bargaining craft or class, found in Section
2, Ninth, of the Act, 45 USC Section 152 (Ninth).,

In affirming without comment the lower district’s court
judgment and opinion, the Fifth Circuit presumeably acted
on the same apparent basic misapprehension of the factual
and legal issue presented in this case, as did the district

12

court. For, the district court in its opinion (see Appendix
A, page 27), indicated that plaintiff's claim is based:

“. . . Solely on the ground that the NMB has
‘communalized’ into one bargaining unit the em-
ployees who rightfully should be part of another
bargaining unit. This is the principal legal ques-
tion the court is called upon to decide, and, as
noted above, it is precisely this question of ‘who
represents whom’ which is vested in the unreview-
able discretion of the National Mediation Board.”

But, as is pointed out herein, and as petitioners sought
to point out to the lower courts, petitioners’ claim makes
no attack upon any action by the Board. Rather, petition-
ers’ claim attacks only the manner and method utilized by
IAM in representing, or misrepresenting, petitioners’
Board certified bargaining crafé.

Petitioners’ claim seeks to acknowledge, honor, and ad-
here to the Board’s prior certification of their bargaining
craft; whereas, IAM has, through its complained of
manner and method of collective bargaining representa-
tion of petitioners’ bargaining craft, disregarded and
undermined the Board’s prior certification of petitioners’
craft, usurping unto itself the Board’s statutory jurisdic-
tion and discretion in determining which employees should
be included in a bargaining craft. And, in so doing, IAM
has at the same time denied petitioners their statutory
right of craft organization and craft collective bargaining
representation under the Act.

C. The Board Itself Has Expressly Denied Any Jurisdic-
tion to Adjudicate Petitioners’ Subject Claim (Ap-
pendix C)

13

The lower district court in its opinion quoted the fol-
lowing language from the determination by the Board
that it (the Board) did not have jurisdiction over peti-
tioners’ subject claim:

“In reviewing your application for the Board’s
services, it does not appear that there is an alle-
gation of the existence of a representation dis-
pute as described in Section 2, Ninth, of the Rail-
way Labor Act. Additionally, there is no allega-
tion that the certified representative and the
carrier are at a bargaining impasse concerning
the matters contained in your application, and
thus an invocation for the Board’s mediatory
services is not appropriate.

_ “ ‘The National Mediation Board does not have
jurisdiction to determine the manner in which a
carrier and a union, certified for one or more
crafts or classes, bargain, and thus the questions
which you raise are not properly resolved by the
National Mediation Board, but may be more
effectively resolved by direct conferences between
the affected parties.

“Since there is no jurisdictional basis for the
processing of your application in its present con-
text, that is, failure to allege and demonstrate
the existence of a representation dispute, the ap-
plication is dismissed.’” (See District Court’s
opinion, Appendix A, Page 28).

The Board, unlike the lower district court and the Fifth
Circuit, recognized and acknowledged its own inadequacy
as a forum to adjudicate petitioners’ basic claim of unfair

Cae yO te ee ee a) ee ee Se

¥
:
s
4
4
%
*
4
4
:
i
4
:
:

14

representation by IAM. To illustrate, let it be postulated
that the Board had concluded that it did have jurisdiction
of this claim (as held by the lower courts); and further,
that it did agree with petitioners’ basic complaint that IAM
has unfairly represented petitioners; and further that
IAM shall likely continue its said unfair representation
of petitioners’ certified bargaining craft. WHAT COULD
THE BOARD DO ABOUT IT? FIRST of all, we know
of no method by which the Board could award any com-
pensatory or other damages for IAM’s past unfair repre-
sentation. SECOND, neither could the Board enjoin IAM
from continuing such unfair representation of petitioners.
AND THIRD, all the Board could do pursuant to its ex-
clusive statutory jurisdiction, is to determine that petition-
ers’ bargaining craft is appropriate and then certify peti-
tioners’ bargaining craft along with IAM as its statutory
collective bargaining representative; But this would
amount to only a redundant echo of what the Board has
already done.

On the other hand, what would be the case if the lower
court had asserted jurisdiction to adjudicate petitioners’
said claim of unfair representation by IAM. FIRST, the
court would not be called upon to determine either the ap-
propriateness of petitioners’ bargaining craft as an appro-
priate unit, or IAM’s status as the craft representative,
since the Board has already done this. SECOND, if the
court determined that petitioners’ claim was meritorious,
then the court could award appropriate damages to cover
any of petitioners’ properly proven losses. AND THIRD,
the court could insure that IAM would desist from its
subject course of unfair representation of petitioners’
bargaining craft, through exercise of the court’s injunctive
powers. Each of these said possible remedies by the court
would have the effect of upholding and requiring adherence

15

to—and not departure from, what the Board had previous-
ly provided through its said certification of petitioners’
bargaining craft and IAM as: its representative.

D. Court Jurisdiction of Petitioners’ Claim is Strongly
Suggested By Prior Decisions of this Court Holding,
that the Exclusive Jurisdiction of the Railroad Ad-
justment Board under the Act, did not Bar Court
Jurisdiction to Decide Unfair Representation Cases
Against Unions and Employers Jointly

The lower courts’ denial of jurisdiction, to adjudicate
petitioners’ claim of unfair representation by IAM, runs
counter to the analogous rationale of the Supreme Court
announced in the following cases: Conley vs. Gibson, 355
U.S. 41, 44, LRRM 2089 (1957) ; Glover vs. St. Louis-San
Francisco Railway Company, 393 U.S. 323, 70 LRRM 2097
(1969); Czosek vs. O’Mara, 397 U. S. 25, 73 LRRM 2481
(1970).

In the Conley case, supra, this court reversed the lower
court’s conclusion that exclusive jurisdiction lay in the
Adjustment Board under Section 3 First (i) of the Rail-
way Labor Act, 45 USC Section 153, First (i). The
complaint there, as here, charged that the defendant statu-
tory collective bargaining representative had unfairly rep-
resented plaintiffs. In this regard the court stated:

“We hold that it was error for the courts below
to dismiss the complaint for lack of jurisdiction.
They took the position that Section 3 First (i) of
the Railway Labor Act conferred exclusive juris-
diction on the Adjustment Board because the case,
in their view, involved the interpretation and
application of the collective bargaining agree-
ment. But Section 3 First (i) by its own terms

Naess Pate sats Ot ah wea

ORE ESS

SED TM SEL

B58
is
i
x
5
we
%
a
é
3
*

P
4
5
3
e
a

16

applies only to ‘disputes between an employee or
group of employees and a carrier or carriers,’
This case involves no dispute between an em-
ployee and employer but to the contrary is a suit
by employees against the bargaining agent to en-
force their statutory right not to be unfairly
discriminated against by it in bargaining. The
Adjustment Board has no power under Section 8
First (i) or any other provision of the Act
to protect them from such discrimination. .... a
Moreover, notwithstanding the general rule that the Act
places exclusive jurisdiction in the Railroad Adjustment
Board, under Section 3 First (i) of the Act, to interpret
the terms of a collective bargaining agreement; and not-
withstanding that this Said Section 3 First (i) of the
Act by its terms applies to “. . . disputes between an
employee or group of employees and a carrier or car-
riers. . .”; nevertheless, employees may also JOIN THE
CARRIER in a suit involving the terms of a collective
bargaining contract, brought against their statutory col-
lective bargaining representative for breach of its duty
of fair representation. See the Glover case, supra, wherein
the court said:

“, . . In the present case . . . the plaintiffs
sought relief not only against their union but
also against the railroad, . . . it might at one
time have been thought that the jurisdiction of
the Railroad Adjustment Board remains exclusive
in a fair representation case, to the extent that
relief is sought against the railroad for alleged dis-
criminatory performance of an agreement validly
entered into and lawful in its terms. (See, e.g.
Hayes vs. Union Pacific Railroad Company, 184

17

F 2d 337, 26 LRRM 2566 (CA 9, 1950), cert.
denied, 340 U.S. 492, 27 LRRM 2456 (1951).
This view however, was squarely rejected in the
Conley case, where we said ‘for the reasons set
forth in the text, we believe (Hayes, supra) was
decided incorrectly.’ 855 U.S., at 44, N.4.....
Moreover, although the employer is made a party
to insure complete and meaningful relief, it still
remains true that in essence the ‘dispute’ is one
between some employees on the one hand and
the union and management together on the other,
not one ‘between an employee or a group of em-
ployees and a carrier or carriers.’ FINALLY,
THE RAILROAD ADJUSTMENT BOARD
HAS NO POWER TO ORDER THE KIND
OF RELIEF NECESSARY EVEN WITH RE-
SPECT TO THE RAILROAD ALONE, IN
ORDER TO END ENTIRELY ABUSES OF
THE SORT ALLEGED HERE (emphasis
added). The Federal Courts may therefore prop-
erly exercise jurisdiction over both the union and
the railroad. (Citations omitted) .”

In Czosek, this court said in an unfair representation
case that:

“. . . Surely it is beyond cavil that a suit
against the union for breach of its duty for fair
representation is not within the jurisdiction of
the National Railroad Adjustment Board nor sub-
ject to the ordinary rule that administrative
remedy should be exhausted before resort to the
courts. (Citations omitted). The claim against the
union defendants for the breach of their duty of
fair representation is a discreet claim quite apart

je 2

:

18

from the right of individual employees expressly
extended to them under the Railway Labor Act
to pursue their employer before the Adjustment
Board.”

This court's rejection of the exclusive jurisdictional
argument advanced in the Czosek, Glover, and Conley
cases, is analogous and applicable to the lower court's dis-
missal in this case based upon their conclusion that ex-
clusive jurisdiction over petitioners’ subject unfair repre-
sentation claim against IAM was within the exclusive
jurisdiction of the National Mediation Board.

VII. CONCLUSION

On the basis of the arguments advanced herein, and the
authorities cited in support thereof, petitioners, respect-
fully submit that the petition for writ of certiorari should
be granted. Upon issuance of the writ, the decision of the
Fifth Cireuit Court of Appeals should be reversed and re-
manded with instructions to reverse the lower district
court's dismissal of petitioners’ complaint, and to send the
proceeding back to the lower district court for further
proceedings.

TOM CARTER,

Counsel for Petitioners
1726 Fulton National Bank Building
Atlanta, Georgia 30303

(404) 688-7026

19

CERTIFICATE

1, TOM CARTER, Counsel for Petitioners in this Court,
do hereby certify that I have this day mailed, postage
prepaid, a true and correct copy of the foregoing Writ of
Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for the
Fifth Cireuit to the following persons:

Mr. J. R. Goldthwaite, Jr.

Adair, Goldthwaite, Stanford & Daniel

600 Rhodes Haverty Building

Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Attorney of record for Respondent in this
Court, who was the Appellee in the Fifth
Cireuit Court of Appeals, and defendant
in the Lower District Court.

This day of October, 1975.

TOM CARTER,
Counsel for Petitioners

EE ak, SRF I os. OD

NENA A OPN NN ret TRC EN

20

APPENDIX “A”
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

Civil Action File No. C?4-1780A

MATHEW S. JASINSKI, EDWARD BOROWIK, MAX

R. SHELTON, JOHN R. THOMAS, GEORGE WIM-

BERLY, JOHN GOODLEFSKY, STEPHEN J. KRATZ,

PHILLIP BEAULIEU, M. E. URRA, J. STEWART

HARRISON, JOHN W. ROACH, JR. and CHARLES K.
JOHNSON

VS

INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF MACHINISTS
AND AEROSPACE WORKERS

JUDGMENT

This action came on for consideration before the Court,
Honorable Richard C. Freeman, United States District
Judge, presiding, and the issues having been duly con-
sidered and a decision having been duly rendered, GRANT-
ING deft’s Motion to Dismiss for lack of subject matter
jurisdiction.

21

It is Ordered and Adjudged that the plaintiffs take
nothing, that the action be dismissed, and that the de-
fendant, INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF MA-
CHINISTS AND AEROSPACE WORKERS recover of
the plaintiffs, MATHEW S. JASINSKI, EDWARD
BOROWIK, MAX R. SHELTON, JOHN R. THOMAS,
GEORGE WIMBERLY, JOHN GOODLEFSKY, STE-
PHEN J. KRATZ, PHILLIP BEAULIEU, M. E. URRA,
J. STEWART HARRISON, JOHN W. ROACH, JR. and
CHARLES K. JOHNSON, their costs of action.

Dated at Atlanta, Georgia, this 4th day of February,
1975.

BEN H. CARTER
Clerk of Court
By: Mary E. Hall

Filed and entered in Clerk’s Office February 4th, 1975
BEN H. CARTER, Clerk
By: Mary E. Hall

Deputy Clerk

22

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA
ATLANTA DIVISION

Filed in clerk’s office Feb. 4, 1975.
BEN H. CARTER, Clerk
By: Hary E. Hall, Deputy Clerk

C74-1780A

MATHEW S. JASINSKI, EDWARD BOROWIK, MAX

R. SHELTON, JOHN R. THOMAS, GEORGE WIM-

BERLY, JOHN GOODLEFSKY, STEPHEN J. KRATZ,

PHILLIP BEAULIEU, M. E. URRA, J. STEWARD

HARRISON, JOHN W. ROACH, JR., and CHARLES K.
JONHSON

Vv.

INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF MACHINISTS
& AEROSPACE WORKERS

ORDER

Plaintiff airline mechanics bring this action against
the defendant labor union under 28 U.S.C. $1331 for
violations of the Federal Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C.
$151, et seg. The plaintiffs allege that defendant In-
ternational Association of Machinists and Aerospace
Workers [IAM], in conjunction with plaintiffs’ employer,
Eastern Airlines, Inc. [Eastern], has wrongfully ignored
plaintiffs’ craft and unit status as a separate bargaining
unit, consisting of only airline mechanics and specialists

23

and their helpers and apprentices, to the plaintiffs’ detri-
ment. The plaintiffs alleged damages of $15,000 to each
plaintiff and ask for injunctive relief, attorneys’ fees
of $25,000 and exemplary damages of $1 million. The
case is presently before the Court on defendant's motion
to dismiss for lack of subject matter jurisdiction and for
failure to state a claim upon which relief may be granted.

Specifically, the planitiffs allege injury by the de-
fendant’s actions in

“. . . unilaterally unlawfully absorbing for all
collective bargaining purposes plaintiffs’ said
certified craft and unit into one big communal-
ized and heterogeneous class and uncertified bar-
gaining unit of employees; including not only
plaintiffs’ said unit, but the separate bargain-
ing unit of Eastern’s stock (store) clerks, and
the separate bargaining unit of Eastern’s print
shop employees, and the separate bargaining unit
of Eastern’s employees performing mostly cargo
and baggage handling work and other various

and sundry employees.”

The plaintiffs show that the National Mediation Board
[NMB] is the administrative agency empowered by state
to certify a craft or class of employees as an ppro-
priate collective bargaining unit and to certify a duly
selected labor organization as the exclusive collective bar-
gaining representative of that craft. Plaintiffs’ claim that
their bargaining unit was determined and certfied by the
NMB in a Board proceeding styled Case No. R-3639 to
include the following: (1) airline mechanics, specialists,
their helpers and apprentices previously certified by the
Board in Case Nos. R-407 and R-576; (2) a “fringe
group” of Eastern’s employees who performed ground
service and cleaning functions a preponderance of their

24

time; and (3) a “fringe group” of shop laborers and
janitors added by the Board in Case No. R-1976.

Plaintiffs’ claim the Board in Case No. 3639 expressly
excluded from plaintiffs’ bargaining unit the following
groups of Eastern’s employees: (1) cargo and baggage
handlers, (2) stock (store) personnel, and (3) print shop
employees.

It is the inclusion without Board certification of these
latter three groups which plaintiffs allege put them in
a minority position in their “own” union, and deprives
them of a meaningful and effective voice and the right to
organize and bargain collectively in their union and has
caused them monetary damages and economic losses _be-
cause they have lost the majority and lack a fair voice
in bargaining with Eastern about wages, hours, terms and
conditions of employment.

The defendant’s first ground for dismissal in its motion
is that this Court lacks subject matter jurisdiction to
hear a dispute concerning representation of employee bar-
gaining units subject to the Railway Labor Act—a matter
vested in the exclusive jurisdiction of the National Media-
tion Board. Switchmen’s Union v. N.M.B., 320 U. S. 297
(1943); Brotherhood of Railway and Steamship Clerks,
etc. v. United Transportation Service, etc., 320 U.S. 715
(1943); General Committee of Adjustment, etc. v. Mis-
souri-Kansas-Texas R. R. Co., 320 U. S. 323 (1943) ; Rose,
et al. v. Brotherhood of Railway and Steamship Clerks, etc.,
181 F.2d 944 (4th Cir. 1950), cert. den., 340 U.S. 851
(1950); UNA Chapter, Flight Engineers’ Int. Assoc. v.
N.M.B., 294 F.2d 905 (D.C. Cir. 1961); Brotherhood of
Railway and Steamship Clerks, etc. v. N.M.B., 374 F.2d
269 (D.C. Cir. 1966) ; Aeronautical Radio, Inc. v. N.M.B.,

25

380 F.2d 624 (D.C. Cir. 1967), cert. den., 289 U.S. 912
(1967); Reynolds, et al. v. Int. Assoc. of Machinists, ete.,
.... F. Supp. —., 87 LRRM 2133 (MD N.C. 1973),
aff'd., 498 F.2d 1397 (4th Cir. 1974).

Section 2, Ninth of the Railway Labor Act. 45 U.S.C.,
$151-163, 181-188, provides:

“If any dispute shall arise among a carrier’s em-
ployees as to who are the representatives of such
employees designated and authorized in accord-
ance with the requirements of this Act, it shall
be the duty of the Mediation Board, upon re-
quest of either party to the dispute, to investi-
gate such dispute and to certify to both parties,
in writing, within thirty days . . . the name or
names of the individuals or organizations that
have been designated and authorized to represent
the employees involved in the dispute and certify
the same to the carrier. Upon receipt of such cer-
tification the carrier shall treat with the repre-
sentative so certified as the representative of the
craft or class for the purposes of the Act... .”

It is clear from the case law that disputes concerning
the representation of employees in bargaining units are
exclusively within the jurisdiction of the National Media-
tion Board and therefore not reviewable by the courts.
Switchmen’s Union v. N.M.B., supra, and other cases cited
above.

As the Court of Appeals stated in the Rose case, supra:

“In the light of the decisions of the Supreme
Court, there can be no doubt that the effect of
this statute was to vest in the Mediation Board
exclusive jurisdiction over the certification of
bargaining. And it is equally clear that the ex-
ercise of discretion by the board with respect to
such matters is not subject to review by the

rrr =

| cs

26

courts. Switchmen’s Union of North America v.
National Mediation Board, 320 U.S. 297, 64 S.Ct.
95, 88 L.Ed. 61; General Committee, ete. v.
M-K-T R. Co., 320 U.S. 323, 64 S.Ct. 146, 88
L.Ed. 76; Brotherhood of Railway Clerks ete. v.
United Transport Service Employees, 320 U.S.
715, 64 S.Ct. 260, 88 L.Ed. 420; Order of Rail-
way Conductors of America, ete. v. Penn. R. Co.,
323 U.S. 166, 65 S.Ct. 222, 89 L.Ed. 154; Steele
v. L. & N. R. Co., 323 U.S. 192, 205 65 S.Ct.
226, 89 L.Ed. 173. And see Slocum v. D. L. &
W. R. Co., 339 U.S. 239, 70 S.Ct. 577.” 181
F.2d at 946.

The legislative history of Section 2, Ninth, of the Rail-
way Labor Act bears out this construction of the Act, as
the Court in General Committee, etc. v. Missouri-Kansas-
Texas R.R. Co., supra, noted:

“It is clear from the legislative history of $2,
Ninth, that it was designed not only to help free
the unions from the influence, coercion and con-
trol of the carriers but also to resolve a wide
range of jurisdictional disputes between unions
or between groups of employees . . . However
wide may be the range of jurisdictional disputes
embraced within $2, Ninth, Congress did not
select the courts to resolve them. To the contrary,
it fashioned an administrative remedy and left
that group of disputes to the National Mediation
Board. If the present dispute falls within §2,
Ninth, the administrative remedy is exclusive.”
14 LRRM at 632, 633 (footnotes omitted).

The gravamen of plaintiffs’ claim is that they are being
unfairly represented by the IAM because other crafts and
classes of employees have been wrongfully included with
them in a single bargaining unit. For this lack of fair
representation, they seek monetary and exemplary dam-

ages. Plaintiffs allege that a federal question is presented
by their claim of unfair representation under the Railway
Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. § 151, et seg. Steele v. Louisville &
Nashville Railway Co., 323 U.S. 192 (1944); Czosek ve.
O'Mara, 397 U.S. 25 (1970); Glover v, St. Louis-San Fran-
cisco Railway Co., 393 U.S. 323 (1969); Thompson v.
Sleeping Car Porters, 316 F.2d 191 (4 Cir. 1963), and that
the courts federal question jurisdiction is properly invoked
under 28 U.S.C. § 1331.

This Court disagrees. Plaintiffs’ claim of unfair repre-
sentation is based solely on the ground that the NMB has
“communalized” into one bargaining unit employees who
rightfully should be part of another bargaining unit.
This is the principal legal question the Court is called
upon to decide, and, as noted above, it is precisely this
question of “who represents whom” which is vested in
the unreviewable discretion of the National Mediation
Board.

The cases cited by plaintiffs where the Court assumed
jurisdiction are inapposite to the instant case because they
are distinguishable on their facts. The Steele case, supra,
did not invoke the question of which crafts or classes should
be included in a single bargaining unit. Steele concerned
blatant racial discrimination by white firemen in the
Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen and Enginemen
against negro firemen—members of the same “craft.” The
Court in the Czosek case, supra, allowed a suit by plain-
tiffs against their union for the union’s “arbitary and
capricious” refusal to process the claims of the plaintiffs
who had been discharged after the merger of the Erie and
Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroads. Czosek in-
volved no claim of an improper grouping of employees by
the NMB into a single bargaining unit. The Clover «. St.

oe

BSc saa Sheik aaa AR RINE RADIA DID Bo CIRCE K Da le Si SRE A SAE SO

28

Louis-San Francisco Railway case, supra, involved a claim
by 13 employees, eight black and five white, against their
railroad and union, for failure to promote them to the
position of carmen allegedly in order to keep blacks out
of that position. As in Steele, the cause of action con-
cerned racial discrimination, not the misgrouping of dis-
tinct crafts into a single bargaining unit. The Thompson
case, supra, allowed a claim of unfair representation
against the union. But Thompson was grounded on alleged
ingidious nonracial discrimination against the plaintiff
and did not concern misgrouping of employees by the
NMB, as in the instant case.

The plaintiffs argue that this controversy lies wholly
outside the jurisdiction of the National Mediation Board
and the NMB has already expressly held so regarding this
specific case. The plaintiffs applied to the NMB on
February 28, 1974, to have this controversy decide by the
Board. The defendant union and Eastern Airlines sub-
mitted their response. On July 15, 1974, the National
Mediation Board rendered its decision in the proceeding
designated “File C-4294.” The Board denied that it had
jurisdiction to adjudicate the controversy. The Board
stated the following:

“In reviewing your application for the Board’s
services, it does not appear that there is an alle-
gation of the existence of a representation dis-
pute as described in Section 2, Ninth of the
Railway Labor Act. Additionally, there is no al-
legation that the certified representative and the
Carrier are at a bargaining impasse concerning
the matters contained in your application, and
thus an invocation for the Board’s mediatory
services is not appropriate.

“The National Mediation Board does not have

29

jurisdiction to determine the manner in which a
carrier and a union, certified for one or more
crafts or classes, bargain, and thus the ques-
tions which you raise are not prop:'!y resolved
by the National Mediation Board, vut may be
more effectively resolved by direct conferences
between the affected parties.

Since there is no jurisdictiona’ basis for the
processing of your application in its present con-
text, that is, failure to allege and demonstrate the
existence of a representation dispute, the applica-
tion is dismissed.”

The Board characterized this dispute as one concern-
ing “the manner in which a carrier and a union, certified
for one or more crafts or classes, bargin . . .” This Court
does not characterize this case as involving a dispute be-
tween the union and carrier. This is a dispute between
the union and its employees over the propriety of includ-
ing various crafts and classes of employees in one bargain-
ing unit. Such a determination lies within the exclusive
jurisdiction of the National Mediation Board, as the Court
has noted above. The failure of the National Mediation
Board to characterize this case as the plaintiff urges, and
as this Court holds, is a matter to be pressed upon the
Board by the plaintiffs in subsequent proceedings. In any
event, this Court is barried by statute and case law from
determining who should be included in plaintiffs’ bargain-
ing unit. Therefore the Court lacks the jurisdiction to
award a monetary judgment to plaintiffs on the basis of
a proven wrongful grouping of employees, since such an
award would have to be bottomed on a resolution of the
underlying legal question which the Court lacks the sub-
ject matter jurisdiction to resolve.

Inasmuch as this issue is dispositive of the entire case

30

the Court declines to address itself to defendant’s other
ground for dismissal.

Accordingly, the Court ORDERS the defendant’s motion
to dismiss GRANTED for lack of subject matter jurisdic-
tion.

SO ORDERED, this 4 day of February, 1975.

RICHARD C. FREEMAN
UNITED STATES
DISTRICT JUDGE

ais Sia Pango SORAE AAR SSL aig RRO aE salah sss cia ik oe ANQe Ur te KA NS hea AS ORE itd Baa SAR ean ck Ree ae Seek

31

APPENDIX “B”

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 75-1978
Summary Calendar*

MATHEW S&S. JASINSKI, ET AL.,
Plaintiffs-Appellants,

versus
INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF MACHINISTS

AND AEROSPACE WORKERS,
Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Georgia

(July 29, 1975)

Before COLEMAN, AINSWORTH and SIMPSON,
Circuit Judges.
PER CURIAM:

AFFIRMED. See Local Rule 21."

*Rule 18, 5 Cir.; See Isbell Enterprises, Inc. v. Citizens Casualty
Company of New York, et al., 5 Cir. 1970, 431 F.2d 409, Part I.

1See NLRB v. Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America, 5 Cir.
1970, 430 F.2d 966.

a

ae

32

APPENDIX “C”
NATIONAL MEDIATION BOARD

Washington, D.C. 20572
July 15, 1974

File No. C-4294
Mr. Thomas Linton Carter, Jr.
Suite 1726
Fulton National Bank Building
55 Marietta Street, N. W.
Atlanta, GA 30303

Dear Mr. Carter:

This has reference to the exchange of correspondence
generated by your letter of February 28, 1974, attaching
an application to invoke the services of the National Medi-
ation Board which you captioned as involving “Dispute-
Violation of Eastern and IAM of the collective bargaining
craft and unit of Eastern’s airline mechanics and related
employees; and deprivation of the statutory organizational
and craft rights of Applicants and their fellow employees
under the Railway Labor Act, as amended. The National
Mediation Board has circulated your application to the
Union and Carrier involved soliciting their comments.

Comments of the Carrier were received on March 18,
1974, and transmitted to you on April 5, 1974. The IAM,
on April 12, 1974, indicated that it agreed with the Car-
rier’s position in this matter and that the application
should be dismissed for the same reasons expressed by the
Carrier. Unfortunately, the letter of the IAM dated April
12, 1974, was not sent to you before this date (copy now
enclosed).

In revewing your application for the Board’s services,

33

it does not appear that there is an allegation of the ex-
istence of a representation dispute as described in Sec-
tion 2, Ninth of the Railway Labor Act. Additionally,
there is no allegation that the certified representative and
the Carrier are at a bargaining impasse concerning the
matters contained in your application, and thus an in-
vocation for the Board’s mediatory services is not appro-
priate.

The National Mediation Board does not have jurisdiction
to determine the manner in which a carrier and a union,
certified for one or more crafts or classes, bargain, and
thus the questions which you raise are not properly re-
solved by the National Mediation Board, but may be
more effectively resolved by direct conferences between
the affected parties.

Since there is no jurisdictional basis for the processing
of your application in its present context, that is, failure
to allege and demonstrate the existence of a representation
dispute, the application is dismissed.

Very truly yours,
Rowland K. Quinn, Jr.
Executive Secretary
ce-to: Mr. John P. Mead
Staff Vice President-Industrial Relations
Eastern Airlines, Inc.
Miami International Airport
Miami, FL 333148
Mr. Floyd E. Smith, Int’] President
International Association of Machinists
& Aerospace Workers, AFL-CIO
1300 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20036

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_1796%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
