# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Reilly v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_1686%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 423 U.S. 1051

## Text

TT EG: -
Re Mis COURT, U. ag 5 ~ 5 % 5 4 OCT 18 3975

;
)

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1975

No. T5-
WILLIAM REILLY,
Petitioner,
v.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
and
MATHIASEN’S TANKER INDUSTRIES, INC.,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT.

Rosert C. DANIELS,
FREEDMAN, BOROWSKY AND
Lorry,
hy Lafayette Building, 8th Floor,
Chestnut Street at 5th,
a4 Philadelphia, Penna. 19106
‘ Counsel for Petitioner.

4 International Printing Co., 711 So. 50th St., Phita., Pa. 19143 — Tel, (218) 727-8711
2
t

INDEX.

Page
Coresesness Gar wees Coowms Bw «www. ccc cece cccceccs 2
POD. 6cudwi veh nudkchawiacns cava tisenseeuantenke 3
SE SN, 0G 0 Snes navi eXkikka shad baCa hairs 4
LINNEY Scent ckcces nohanddeededanchadhens 5
tt I en ee eteaea auue chee 6
Reasons RELIED ON FOR ALLOWANCE OF THE WRIT .......... vi

I. The Reversal of the District Court’s Findings of Fact,
Conclusions of Law, Verdict and Judgment in Favor
of Petitioner by the United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit Undermines the Heretofore
Inviolate Province of a Trial Judge Sitting as a Fact
Finder and Rendering a Nonjury Verdict, Where
Serious Issues of Credibility and Conflicting Testi-
mony Are Involved, and Violates the Law of the
United States Under This Court’s Decisions in
Basham v. Pennsylvania, 372 U. S. 699, and Laven-

ar Wi. Tae, SIRE TE, Be I en's bs ccc na vcdxeaneass 7
Ss cnc pinhun hhbbn ceskuciduhnevenckbateckicas 12
APPENDIX A—Statutes Involved .................c0ccceeee la
APPENDIX B—Court of Appeals Opinion ................... 3a
AppenDix C—Court of Appeals Judgment ................. l5a

AppENDIx D—Court of Appeals Order Sur Petition for Re-
WE hi sine hd ca ccinnes ug thaphindcadenhataaeenioks 16a

APPENDIX E—District Court Findings of Fact, Conclusions of
OE UE NE, 86 Sie cda Racca wieatn beclecenci cee 18a

oO OTR IE PRS

TABLE OF CASES CITED.

Page

Basham v. Pennsylvania Railroad Co., 372 U. S. 699 (1963) 7
Brennan v. Midwestern United Life Insurance Company, 417

F. 2d 147 (7 Cir. 1969), cert. den. 397 U. S. 989 (1970) 10
Commercial Union Assurance Company, Ltd. v. Berry, 359

ee See ee CP GU MED A. Fo on os Coed cwndceneceases 10
Grove v. First National Bank of Herminie, 489 F. 2d 512

8 PPE er eee errr eee Pee ee errr ey 10, 11
Krasnov v. Dinan, 465 F. 2d 1298 (3 Cir. 1972) ........... 9
Lavender v. Kurn, 327 U. S. 645 (1946) ...............4.. 7,8
McAllister v. United States, 348 U. S. 19 (1954) ........... 9,11

Petition of United States, 367 F. 2d 505 (3d Cir. 1966),
cert. den. 386 U. S. 392, reh. den. 386 U. S. 1000 (1967) 6

STATUTES CITED.

Page
All Writs Statute, 98 U.S. C. A. § 1651 ..............0008 3
Public Vessels Act, 46 U. S. C. §§ 781-790 ..............0, 5,6
Suits in Admiralty Act, 46 U. S. C. § 741 et seq. ........ 5,6, 9, 11
i cs cv give vavceds 3

OER AE Al BES SLEEPS

CD OP DAD BAG:

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser TERM, 1975.

No. 75-

WILLIAM REILLY,
Petitioner,

vo.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
AND
MATHIASEN’S TANKER INDUSTRIES, INC.,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT.

To the Honorable, the Chief Justice and the Associate
Justices of the Supreme Court of the United States:

Petitioner, William Reilly, respectfully prays that a
Writ of Certiorari issue to review the Judgment Order
of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third
Circuit, entered in the above case on June 25, 1975, re-
versing the Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, Verdict
and Judgment of the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of Pennsylvania in favor of Petitioner and
against Respondent, United States of America.

bo

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

OPINIONS OF THE COURTS BELOW.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Third
Circuit filed an unreported Opinion [captioned “Not For
Publication”, infra (Appendix B, p. 3a) ] on June 25, 1975,
from which Circuit Judge Weis dissented and filed a dis-
senting Opinion, reversing the Findings of Fact, Conclu-
sions of Law, Verdict and Judgment in favor of Petitioner
and against Respondent, United States of America. Said
Opinion is printed, infra (Appendix B, pp. 3a-l4a). On
the same date a Judgment Order was entered reversing
the judgment of the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of Pennsylvania in favor of Petitioner and
against Respondent, United States of America. Said
Judgment Order is printed, infra (Appendix C, p. 15a).

The United States Court of Appeals for the Third
Circuit thereafter entered an Order denying Petition for
Rehearing on July 28, 1975; no hearing was granted and
no specific reason was given for the denial. Said Order
is printed, infra (Appendix D, pp. 16a-17a).

The Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, Verdict
and Judgment of the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of Pennsylvania in favor of Petitioner in
the amount of $79,425.07 and against Respondent, United
States of America, was entered on June 4, 1974 and is
unreported. Said Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law
and Judgment is printed, infra (Appendix E, pp. 18a-40a).

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 3

JURISDICTION.

The Judgment Order of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Third Circuit reversing the Judgment of
the United States District Court for the Eastern District
of Pennsylvania was entered on June 25, 1975 and is
printed, infra (Appendix C, p. 15a). The Order of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
denying Petition for Rehearing was entered on July 28,
1975 and is printed, infra (Appendix D, pp. 16a-17a).
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U. S.
C. A. § 1254(1) and the All Writs Statute, 28 U. S.C. A.

§ 1651.

SEAT IO 85 Sa 2 ee

4 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

QUESTION PRESENTED.

May the Court of Appeals substitute its findings and
judgment for the Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law,
Verdict and Judgment of a District Court Judge sitting
in a nonjury case and reverse said findings and judgment
of the Trial Judge, where conflicting testimony and serious
issues of credibility of witnesses are presented with respect
to the facts relating to liability, when there is substantial
evidence in the trial record to support the Findings of
Fact, Conclusior . «f Law, Verdict and Judgment of the
District Court Juage:'

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 5

STATUTES INVOLVED.

The Statutory provisions involved are 46 U. S. C.
§ 741-752 and 46 U. S. C. § 781-790. The specific statu-
tory provisions applicable in this matter, 46 U. S. C. § 742,
§ 743 and § 781 are printed, infra (Appendix A, pp. la-2a).

pee ERP EN CTT

a a apna ttc aS EP DANTE

6 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.

On July 24, 1970, Petitioner, a merchant seaman,
while employed by Mathiasen’s Tanker Industries, Inc., as
a member of the crew of the U. S. N. S. Suamico, a public
vessel owned by Respondent, United States of America,
was caused to sustain a serious and permanently disabling
intertrochanteric fracture of the right femur while reboard-
ing the vessel, which was berthed in open waters, from a
launch at approximately 1:00 o'clock A. M. Petitioner in-
stituted suit under the admiralty law as modified by the
Suits in Admiralty Act, 46 U. S. C. §§ 741-752, and the
Public Vessels Act, 46 U. S. C. §§ 781-790.

A nonjury trial was held before the United States Dis-
trict Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, in
which conflicting testimony was presented as to the man-
ner in which Petitioner's injuries were sustained. The
United States District Court for the Eastern District of
Pennsylvania resolved the factual conflicts on the issue of
liability in favor of Petitioner, found that the vessel was
unseaworthy and the owner and operator thereof negligent
and rendered a verdict and judgment in favor of Petitioner
in the amount of $79,425.07. (Said judgment was rendered
against Respondent, United States of America, alone, in
light of Petition of United States, 367 F. 2d 505 (3d Cir.
1966), cert. den. 386 U. S. 392, reh. den. 386 U. S. 1000
(1967) ).

Respondent, United States of America, appealed. The
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit, in a two-to-one
decision with Circuit Judge Weis writing a dissenting
opinion (Appendix B, pp. lla-14a), reversed the findings,
verdict and judgment of the District Court on the ground
that the “undisputed physical facts” made the District
Court’s factual findings clearly erroneous. A Petition for
Rehearing by the Court of Appeals in Banc was denied on
July 28, 1975.

. —

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 7

REASONS RELIED ON FOR ALLOWANCE
OF THE WRIT.

I. The Reversal of the District Court’s Findings of Fact,
Conclusions of Law, Verdict and Judgment in Favor
of Petitioner by the United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit Undermines the Heretofore
Inviclate Province of a Trial Judge Sitting as a Fact
Finder and Rendering a Nonjury Verdict, Where
Serious Issues of Credibility and Conflicting Testimony
Are Involved, and Violates the Law of the United
States Under this Court’s Decisions in Basham v.
Pennsylvania Railroad Co., 372 U. S. 699, and
Lavender v. Kurn, 327 U. S. 645.

Certiorari is essential to prevent grave injustice to Peti-
tioner, a merchant seaman and a ward of this admiralty
court, and to preserve the law of the United States in con-
sonance with heretofore recognized principles concerning
the scope of appellate review, as enunciated by this Court
in Basham v. Pennsylvania Railroad Co., 372 U. S. 699
(1963) and Lavender v. Kurn, 327 U. S. 645 (1946).

In Basham v. Pennsylvania Railroad Co., supra, this
Court reversed the judgment of the New York Court of
Appeals, which had affirmed the trial judge in setting aside
a jury verdict in favor of petitioner. In that FELA action
a jury verdict had been returned in favor of petitioner, a
repairman employed by Pennsylvania Railroad, on the
ground that the railroad was negligent. The railroad had
introduced evidence demonstrating that it was physically
impossible for the accident to have happened in the manner
alleged. It was on this basis that the trial judge set aside
the jury’s verdict. In reversing, this Court concluded that
“jt was error for the New York trial and appellate courts to
reevaluate the conflicting evidence and mandate a result

4 Petition for Writ of Certoran

opposite from that reached hy the jery falinen Fhere
was an evidentiary basis for | the jury's) verdiet © (9720S
TOO,. This Court coneludert. therefore that “the otute
courts improperly invaded the fonetion and provinces of
the jury in setting the verdict aside” (9720 S$ 701,
Similarly, in Lanender «5 Karn. oepra, mother RELA
action, this Court reversed the judgment of the Supreme
Court of Missouri, whieh had reversed a jury's verdict ond
judgment entered thereon in favor of petitioner whnce
decedent was a switch-tender who was killed in the ouwiteh-
yard at Grand Central Station in Meraphis Tennessee
There, petitioner's case was presented to the jury based
wholly upon cirenmstantial evidence there heing ao evye-
witnesses to the accident. Respondents produced evidence
tending to show that it was physically and mathematically
impossible for the accident to have occurred in the manner
alleged by petitioner. Nonetheless, 4 jury verdiet in favor
of petitioner was returned.

This Court reversed the Supreme Court of Vissonri
in setting aside snch jury verdict. on the ground that there
was a reasonable basis in the trial record to sunnort the
jury s verdict, even though such verdict was based anon
an interence. [n support of such conclusion, this Court
stated:

“The jury having made that inference the respondents
were not free to relitigate the factual disnute in a re-
viewing court. Under these circumstances it vonid
be an undue invasion of the jury s historic function for
in appellate court to weigh the contlicting evidence
vuudge the credibility of witnesses and arrive at a con-
clusion opposite from the one reached bv the jurv ”
327 U. S. 652, 653).

In expiaining the legai rationale for its decision. this Court
stated:

;
aN mte: nae HITT gE A oh

Petition for Welt of Corttorart i)

“Whenever fete are tn liepiite: re the evtllenee be enedy
Nat Forty orativedeed severe srnny eles lffeorent iniferenene 9
Menarire Of epertbaticnn aned eesipertire de reegeilreed erry
Hie prot of theres ovhieven Hiity i he ter wettles the Hieprerte
Viv elvevvetonge ovbint cesesnene toy threcrey fey Bree fe rrieyah prone ery
ble fiferenee Only wher there tea eerttipyletes by
aetiee OF prebative Faete ter ernpyperrt the cen deeien
teacher dome a reverettile eprer appenr Bart ovbere
#9 bere, there te an evidlertary bee ferr the jury's
vereliet, the fury te Free ter dices eve iebvediowe ovhbort
ever Prete are Ineenetetent with ite ceomeducieny (4x7
8 Am)

ae fitwlinngs c# face
antl inferences drawn therefor are entitled te the carne
welght ae the verliot ofa jury ty reviewing a judlgrrert
Of a trial eomrt, citing witht a jury ins acherrizalty. the
Court of Appeals mnay net set acide the juclgrnent belers
vnless Hie clearly errenenis” MeAllietor 1 Undted States.
VMAU 8 19, 2001954). ' gee alors Keaonem Dinan, MF
FO 1208 09 Cir 1972) and Nissenting enyitrion of Joclge
Weis in the Court below, infra (Appendix B. p ia,

As was observed by Judlye Weis in bis HNisenting
opinion in the Court belerw.

“The district court's comelusions that the defendane
was negligent and that an uineawerthry cromedition
1. In the McAllister case, supra, the District Crees neting
without a jury, entered judgment in favor of petitiemer a merchant
seaman, and against the United States onder the Suite Admuraity
Act, 46.0.8. ©. $741 et seq. As it: the instant appeal. the Com
of Appeals reversed the findings and podgment of the Dictrict
Court, on the ground that no promitnate camse was shows “pr ween
the negligence of the United States and petitioners inmries, This
Court reversed the rye A the Com & Appeais and -n-
stated the Findings of Pact and Jud & the District Court
on the ground that the District Court's Pind were Sased inon
reasonable inferences from the facts proved sccordingiy were
not clearly erroneous.

10 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

existed were supported by reasonable inferences
drawn from the testimony. The findings of fact were
not ‘clearly erroneous, and therefore I would affirm
the district court’s findings on liability.” Infra (Ap-
pendix B, p. 14a).

In light of that observation, the function of the appellate
Court below was exhausted, it being immaterial that that
Court might draw a contrary inference or feel that another
conclusion was more reasonable. Commercial Union
Assurance Company, Ltd. v. Berry, 359 F. 2d 510, 516
(8 Cir. 1966). As was stated in Brennan v. Midwestern
United Life Insurance Company, 417 F. 2d 147, 149 (7
Cir. 1969), cert. den. 397 U. S. 989 (1970).

. an appellate tribunal may not retry the case
or substitute [its] judgment for that of the trial judge.
It is he, who after judging the credibility of the
witnesses, weighing the evidence, and drawing infer-
ences, makes factual determinations. Our function
is to ascertain, after considering the record in its
entirety, whether the inferences drawn by the trial
judge have a sufficient evidentiary basis so that it
can be said they are reasonable, that is, could have
been arrived at by logical deduction. In performing
that function, we may not resolve testimonial con-
flicts or attempt to judge the credibility of witnesses”.
(417 F. 2d 149—Emphasis Added).

See also Grove v. First National Bank of Herminie, 489
F. 2d 512 (3 Cir. 1973).
The majority of the Panel of the Court below ? failed
to observe the tenets as enunciated by this Court and to
2. The decision of the Panel of the Court below reversing the

Findings of Fact and Judgment of the District Court was a two-
to-one decision, with Circuit Judge Weis dissenting.

DERI ASiN eI OP AEN

Petition for Writ of Certiorari ll

follow its own pronouncements in the Grove case, supra,
defining the scope of appellate review of findings of fact
of a district court judge sitting in a nonjury case. In so
doing the Court below has undermined the historic fact-
finding function of a district court judge sitting in a non-
jury case and has violated Petitioner's basic right to “an
appropriate nonjury proceeding in personam . . . against
the United States” which “shall be heard and determined
according to the principles of law and to the rules of
practice obtaining in like cases between private parties”,
as is guaranteed to him under the Suits in Admiralty Act,
46 U. S. C. § 742 and § 743.

In attempting to justify its reversal of the district
court’s findings and the substitution of its findings and
conclusions for those of the trial judge, the Court below
seizes upon an “undisputed physical facts” or “undisputed
physical evidence” concept, which, as Circuit Judge Weis
points out in his dissenting opinion, has no application in
this case.* Moreover, the very facts and inferences which
were found by the Court below to be “undisputed physical
facts” were not undisputed physical facts at all, but chal-
lenged testimony that was susceptible of varying inter-
pretations, the credibility of which was solely for the
determination of the trial judge sitting without a jury, as
were any inferences to be drawn therefrom.‘ See
McAllister v. United States, supra.

3. In his dissenting opinion in the Court below, Circuit Judge
Weis states:

“This is not a case for the application of the undisputed physi-

cal evidence rule because so many of the critical facts de-

pended upon estimates and were not susceptible to precise

measurements.” Infra (Appendix B, p. 13a)

4. Circuit Judge Weis, in his dissenting opinion, demonstrates
wherein the district court judge properly exercised his historic
fact-finding function in stating:

“The trial judge's findings here indicate an awareness that he

was dealing with the testimony of witnesses whose estimates

were nothing more than that and far from being exact engi-

12 Petition for Writ of Certiorari
CONCLUSION.

The decision below undermines the heretofore invio-
late province and exclusive function of a Trial Judge sit-
ting as a fact finder and rendering a verdict in a nonjury
case, where serious issues of credibility and conflicting
testimony are involved. It is directly contrary to
prior decisions of this Court. For that reason alone,
certiorari is absolutely essential to review this decision in
order that justice be done. Moreover, to allow the deci-
sion below to stand will open a pandora’s box to appeals
to the Courts of Appeals of the United States for de novo
review, in cases where the sole issue on appeal relates
to the credibility of testimony of witnesses at the trial
and the evidentiary sufficiency of the trial court record
to support the findings and verdict of the Trial Judge.
Such is contrary to the present policy and needs of the
courts of the United States in their attempt to limit the
number of appeals to and workload of the Court of Ap-
peals. Accordingly, certiorari should be granted, and the
decision below reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

Rosert C. DANIELS,
FREEDMAN, BoROWSKY AND LorRY,
Counsel for Petitioner.

4. (Cont'd. )

neering measurements. The fact that this accident occurred
under poor lighting conditions at night cannot be ignored.
The district court’s findings do not accept, ipsissimis verbis,
the testimony that the LCM ‘smashed’ into plaintiff Reilly or
that the boat rose 3 to 4 feet on a wave or swell. Taking a
more dispassionate view, the trial judge simply determined
that there was an ‘impact’ between the plaintiff and the LCM,
causing him to be thrown against either the ship’s hull or the
gangway. The cause of the injury was found to have been
either the impact or the twisting which accompanied it.”
Infra (Appendix B, pp. 12a-13a, footnotes omitted).

BERYL 2 EE Oe

APPENDIX A.

46 U. S. C. 742.
§ 742. Libel in personam.

In cases where if such vessel were privately owned
or operated, or if such cargo were private owned or pos-
sessed, or if a private person or property were involved,
a proceeding in admiralty could be maintained, any ap-
propriate nonjury proceeding in personam may be brought
against the United States or against any corporation men-
tioned in section 741 of this title. Such suits shall be
brought in the district court of the United States for the
district in which the parties so suing, or any of them, re-
side or have their principal place of business in the United
States, or in which the vessel or cargo charged with
liability is found. The libelant shall forthwith serve a
copy of his libel on the United States attorney for such
district and mail a copy thereof by registered mail to the
Attorney General of the United States, and shall file a
sworn return of such service and mailing. Such service
and mailing shall constitute valid service on the United
States and such corporation. In case the United States
or such corporation shall file a libel in rem or in personam
in any district, a cross libel in personam may be filed or
a set-off claimed against the United States or such corpora-
tion with the same force and effect as if the libel had been
filed by a private party. Upon application of either party
the cause may, in the discretion of the court, be transferred
to any other district court of the United States.

Mar. 9, 1920, c. 95, § 2, 41 Stat. 525; Sept. 13, 1960, Pub.
L. 86-770, § 3, 74 Stat. 912.

| 46 U. S. C. 743.
§ 743. Procedure in cases of libel in personam.

Such suits shall proceed and shall be heard and deter-
mined according to the principles of law and to the rules

[1a]

P i sas Ri ii ji8 Sa AEE IN ETC REED RIE ABS ot
ak ee oe Ease aC Rea OF PERI Be ,

Qa Appendix A

of practice obtaining in like cases between private parties.
A decree against the United States or a corporation men-
tioned in section 741 of this title may include costs of
suit, and when the decree is for a money judgment, inter-
est at the rate of 4 per centum per annum until satisfied,
or at any higher rate which shall be stipulated in any con-
tract upon which such decree shall be based. Interest
shall run as ordered by the court. Decrees shall be subject
to appeal and revision as provided in other cases of ad-
miralty and maritime jurisdiction. If the libelant so elects
in his libel, the suit may proceed in accordance with the
principles of libels in rem wherever it shall appear that
had the vessel or cargo been privately owned and pos-
sessed a libel in rem might have been maintained.
Election so to proceed shall not preclude the libelant in
any proper case from seeking relief in personam in the
same suit. Neither the United States nor such corpora-
tion shall be required to give any bond or admiralty stipu-
lation on any proceeding brought hereunder.

Mar. 9, 1920, c. 95, § 3, 41 Stat. 526.

46 U.S. C. 781.

§ 781. Libel in admiralty against or impleader of United
States.

A libel in personam in admiralty may be brought
against the United States, or a petition impleading the
United States, for damages caused by a public vessel of
the United States, and for compensation for towage and
salvage services, including contract salvage, rendered to
a public vessel of the United States: Provided, That the
cause of action arose after the 6th day of April, 1920.

Mar. 3, 1925, c. 428, $1, 43 Stat. 1112.

Appendix B 3a

APPENDIX B.

NOT FOR PUBLICATION.
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 74-1896.

WILLIAM REILLY
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA anp
MATHIASEN’S TANKER INDUSTRIES, INC.,
United States of America, Appellant.

D. C. Civil Action No. 70-3450.

AppEAL FrRoM THE UNrTep States District Court
FOR THE EASTERN DistTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA.

Argued March 4, 1975.

Before ApAMs, RosENN and Weis, Circuit Judges.
WituiaM G. Downey, EsQuire,
Nicuo.as A. LEONARD, EsQuimre,
Clark, Ladner, Fortenbaugh
& Young,
Attorneys for Appellant,

Rosert C. DANIELS, EsQuIrE,
Freedman, Borowsky and Lorry,
Attorney for Appellee.

thi TE Niwa Sel Neat! ite tage aa

LAR UR te ce tai et

ae yao |

,
y sa - ia aie ap
Ciel nie cepetaie Reh Teed eck LRM Awan So ot

4a Appendix B

OPINION OF THE COURT.

(Filed June 25, 1975.)
RosEnn, Circuit Judge:

The United States appeals from a judgment entered
in the United States District Court for the Eastern District
of Pennsylvania on a non-jury verdict in favor of the plain-
tiff, William Reilly, a merchant seaman, for injuries sus-
tained while boarding ship. Reilly was employed as a
saloon messman aboard the U. S. N. S. Suamico, an oil
tanker owned by the United States and operated by
Mathiasen’s Tanker Industries, Inc.

On July 23, 1970, the Suamico was anchored at Ter-
rington Basin, Goose Bay, Labrador, waiting to unload its
cargo of aviation gas for the United States Air Force base.
At about 7:00 P. M., Reilly and a number of his fellow
crewmen went ashore aboard an LCM (landing craft
mechanized ). While on shore, Reilly and his friends visited
a U. S. O. Club. It is unclear whether they drank only
beer or also more potent liquor.

The LCM was operated by the Canadian Department
of Transport under contract with the United States to pro-
vide crewmen with ship-to-shore transportation. Orig-
inally designed to transport troops and equipment to beach-
heads during times of war, the LCM had a flat-bottomed
hull and a high squared-off bow. It was approximately 56
feet long, 14 feet in beam, and weighed about 28 tons.

The events occurring upon Reilly's return to the
Suamico at about 1:00 A. M. the next day are the subject
of the instant controversy. Reilly's version of the events,
confirmed by depositions of two fellow crewmen, was that
when the LCM came abreast of the SuamMico gangway, an
available boat line was not used to secure the LCM.
Rather, the LCM captain tried to maintain his position by

Fe a a ee ee

Appendix B 5a

using his controls and engines which resulted in the LCM’s
bobbing to and fro in the water. Also, the bottom of the
gangway, which had been even with the gunwale of the
LCM during disembarkation earlier that evening, was now
four feet above the gunwale.' No gangway watchman or
deck officer was present to lower the gangway.

Reilly testified that in attempting to board the
Suamico, he was forced to grab hold of the gangway’s
chain bridle with his right hand, step up with his left leg
onto the bottom of the gangway,” and then pull his right
leg even with his left. Before Reilly could pull his right
leg onto the gangway, the bow of the LCM either rose up
and threw him against the SuaMmico’s side or gangway, or
dropped away, leaving him suspended, and then returned
to throw him against the ship or gangway. After striking
Reilly, the LCM immediately pulled back, at which time
one of his fellow crewmen reached out and prevented him
from falling into the water. As a result of the blow, Reilly
suffered an intertrochanteric fracture of his right hip and a
compression fracture of his first lumbar vertebra. At the
time of the accident, Reilly was 64 years of age, six feet
one inch tall, and weighed about 130 pounds.

The United States’ version of the fall, as recounted by
the engineer of the LCM, was that a man fitting Reilly's
description fell three or four steps up the gangway. The
engineer described the fall as “queer” because the upper
body of the man twisted so that his face could be seen by
those in the LCM. The engineer did not believe that the
man had hit anything hard enough io hurt himself.

1. Plaintiff, at deposition, testified that the distance between

the gunwale and the platform of the gangway “could be five to
six feet.”

2. There is a dispute as to whether the gangway had a plat-
form. Reilly testified at trial to the absence of one. He also testi-
fied, however, that he had no recollection of his d ition testi-
mony concerning the presence of the gangway platform.

6a Appendix B

The district court accepted Reilly’s version of the fall
and found the Suamico to have been unseaworthy at the
time plaintiff attempted to board because the LCM was not
secured by the available boatline and because no member
of its crew was present to see that the bottom of the ship's
gangway was evenly positioned with the gunwale of the
LCM. The court found the United States to have been
negligent for the same reasons and also for the failure of
the crew of the LCM to have aided or assisted Reilly in his
disembarkation. Damages of $79,425.07 were awarded
against the United States," which appeals, asserting that
the district court erred in its findings of fact and computa-
tion of damages. We are convinced that the findings of
fact are clearly erroneous and reverse the judgment of the
district court.

The role of an appellate court in reviewing the factual
findings of a district court is limited of course to determin-
ing whether the findings are clearly erroneous. Fed. R.
Civ. P. 52(a). Krasnov v. Dinan, 465 F. 2d 1298, 1302
(3d Cir. 1972). Our role is subject to the same limitation
in reviewing the judgment of the district court, sitting with-
out a jury, in admiralty. We realize that the trier of fact
has the primary responsibility of weighing the evidence,
selecting from the conflicting inferences those he considers
most reasonable, and determining the credibility of the
parties. Nonetheless, the “clearly erroneous” standard of
review requires that a finding of fact must be based on
proof, not intuition or speculation; the probative facts must
be capable of supporting with reason the conclusions ex-
pressed in the verdict. In re Leichter, 197 F. 2d 955, 957

3. The parties agreed at the beginning of the trial to the dis-
missal of Mathiasen Tanker Industries, Inc., as a main defendant
in light of this court’s decision in Petition of the United States, 367
F. 2d 505 (3d Cir. 1966), cert. denied, 386 U. S$. 932 (1967).

PHN NTP AE POR Toe RIT PUNO Theat)

Appendix B ae

(3d Cir., cert. denied, 344 U. S. 914 (1952). Moreover,
when the undisputed physical facts make the credibility of
the oral testimony very doubtful, the findings of the trial
court, although based on the credibility of the witnesses,
may be held to be erroneous. Oliver J. Olsen & Co, v.
Luckenbach S. S. Co., 279 F. 2d 662, 668 (9th Cir.), cert.
denied, 364 U. S. 881 (1960). Thus, a finding is clearly
erroneous “when although there is evidence to support it,
the reviewing court on the entire evidence is left with the
definite and firm conviction that a mistake has been com-
mitted.” United States v. Oregon Medical Society, 343
U. S. 326, 339 (1952); McAllister v. United States, 348
U.S. 19, 20 (1954); O'Neill v. United States, 450 F. 2d 1012
(3d Cir, 1971), After a careful review of the record, we
are convinced that the undisputed physical evidence con-
flicts with Reilly's version of the accident and supports the
version of the United States.

The district court found that the LCM threw Reilly
against the Suamico’s side or gangway as he attempted
to mount the gangway from the LCM. Reilly and one
crewman testified that the LCM “smashed” into Reilly
as he had the left foot on board the gangway and his
right leg suspended in the air. Reilly testified that the
LCM struck him in the right hip or upper right leg area;
the crewman could not see what part of the body was
hit. The other crewman testified that the side of the
LCM hit Reilly in the right hip and upper leg area. An
examination, however, of the right hip and upper right
leg by Air Force doctors the next morning revealed no
echymosis or bruising. Moreover, Reilly's medical expert
testified that the type of fracture incurred “is not from a
direct blow, it is from a twisting of the hip.” Reilly
offers no explanation of how a 28-ton boat could smash
him into the Svamico, not leave a bruise, not cause a

Si spe io SE ALANA LOCA =

Shia hip Ee AP te aa

BM eee ee

8a Appendix B

fracture, and still be the instrumentality responsible for
his condition.‘

The district court found that Reilly was struck by
the bow of the LCM. Although the two crewmen testi-
fied that they disembarked from the bow, the description
of the LCM in evidence reveals that it would have been
hardly possible to leave the LCM from the closed bow
in view of its height and the grating above. Disembarka-
tion would have been extremely difficult from anywhere
forward of an opening located near the cabin, about 50
feet aft of the bow, because of a deep well running from
the bow to the cabin, Reilly testified that, to the best
of his recollection, he disembarked at a point near the
pilot's cabin which he placed about midship, The engi-
neer confirmed Reilly’s account. We find it inconceivable
that the LCM could have jumped back some forty to
fifty feet and stricken Reilly with its bow in the time it
would have taken him to board the gangway.

Had Reilly been struck by that part of the LCM
from which he disembarked, it is still highly unlikely for
the accident to have occurred as he described. Reilly
testified that the bottom of the Suamico gangway was
four feet above the gunwale of the LCM. One crewman
placed the gangway bottom three to four feet above the
gunwale; the other stated that the distance was great
enough so that one could not step up easily. Reilly, with
his left foot on the ship’s gangway and right hand on the
chain bridle, claimed he was in the process of swinging
his right leg over the gangway when struck by the LCM
in the right hip or upper right leg area. Reilly’s right
hip must have been at least level with the bottom of the

4. The medical evidence could be consistent with a fall occa-
sioned by Reilly's losing his balance due to the bobbing of, or being

azed by, the LCM. The testimony of the witnesses, however,
oes not support these versions of the accident.

St aie kaha a A a

Appendix B 9a

gangway because he testified that he was struck while
bringing his “right leg over to put it beside [his] left on
the gangway.” One crewman confirmed that the right
leg was in the air; the other testified that the LCM pulled
back leaving Reilly's right leg in the air before smashing
him into the Suamico, The LCM, then, must have risen
at least three to four feet" in the water in the short time
necessary for Reilly to swing his right leg onto the
gangway.

One explanation offered by Reilly for this dramatic
upheaval of the 28-ton LCM was that the sea was choppy
and rough. The testimony of the eyewitnesses to the
accident was contradictory, the crewmen testifying that
there were two-to-three-foot waves, while the LOM
engineer testified that he had never seen two-to-three-foot
waves in Terrington Basin, absent a wind of 30 to 40
miles per hour. The chief meteorologist of the Philadel-
phia station of the United States Weather Service calcu-
lated, however, from the topography of Terrington Basin
that the approximately ten-knot wind prevailing the night
of the accident would have had no “significant effect on
the water surface” other than to produce a “light chop.”

The other explanation offered, credited by the dis-
trict court, was that the running of the LCM’s engines
to keep it abreast of the gangway caused the craft to
bob back and forth and up and down. This explanation
was offered by an expert testifying on behalf of Reilly,
but his testimony was unclear as to whether the wash
generated by running the engines in a calm sea could
have caused the greater than three-foot rise required to
support Reilly’s version of the accident. On the other

5. It is probable that the LCM would have had to rise more
than three to four feet because to the extent that Reilly, six feet,
one inch tall, had straightened his left leg, his right hip would have
been elevated that much more above the bottom of the gangway.

—_— 7

ge 2 FSP Se

tte

10a Appendix B

hand, the engineer testified that an LCM traveling from
ship to shore creates waves of only six inches, and very
little turbulence would be created when the propellors
were turning slowly. We believe it incredible that the
use of the engines necessary to keep the LCM abreast
of the ship's gangway would have caused a 28-ton vessel
on a calm sea to rise and fall distances in excess of three
feet.®
A final difficulty with Reilly’s version of the accident

is his explanation of why the ship’s gangway was rigged
so that the bottom end hung three to four feet above the
gunwale of the LCM. Reilly and the two crewmen testi-
fied that the bottom of the gangway had been level with
the gunwale when they had left the Suamico earlier in the
evening. One crewman testified that the ensuing three-
to-four-foot gap was caused by a rise in the tides. A more
plausible explanation offered was that the discharge from
the Suvamico of the cargo aviation gas caused the rise.
The United States showed, however, that a malfunction
in hose coupling delayed the commencement of gas dis-
charged until nearly 12:00 midnight. Assuming that the
ship discharged the maximum amount possible per hour,"
the ship could have risen no more than 13 inches by the
time of Reilly’s accident at about 1:30 A. M. Another
possible explanation was that the gangway was raised by
a member of the crew. No reason is given, however, why
the gangway would have been raised. The LCM’s ap-
parently were the exclusive means by which crew mem-

6. It might be argued that the LCM was bobbing in the water
as a result of swells caused by its approach . the Suamico.
Reilly was preceded up the gangway, however, at least two
other crewmen. Any turbulence caused by the teat S approach
to the ship would have subsided by the time Reilly started up
the gangway.

7. It is unlikely that discharge of the maximum amount was

possible since testimony indicated that the ship did not pump any-
where near capacity at the commencement of discharge.

Appendix B lla

bers traveled ship to shore that night. Even if other
launches were used, and no evidence indicates that they
were, the launches were smaller vessels than the LCM’s,
and the gangway would have had to have been lowered,
not raised, to reach the gunwales of the launches.

In sum, the absence of any signs of a bruise the next
morning, evidence that the fracture was caused by a
twisting rather than a direct blow, the implausibility of
the wash from the LCM’s propellers raising the 28-ton
craft in excess of three feet in a calm sea, and the lack of
any explanation why the bottom of the gangway, level
with the gunwale at the time of departure, had risen at
least three feet above the gunwale at the time of the al-
leged accident, convinces us that Reilly’s injury was not
attributable to a blow from the LCM. No other explana-
tion for the injury was offered by Reilly. He had the
burden of proving that unseaworthiness or negligence
caused his injuries. Ramos v. Matson Navigation Co.,
316 F. 2d 128, 131 (9th Cir. 1963). We conclude, there-
fore, that the weight of the physical evidence supports
the engineer’s version of the accident and that the findings
of fact of the district court were clearly erroneous. The
evidence is insufficient from which to find that Reilly's
injuries, either in whole or in part, were caused by any
unseaworthiness of the Suamico or negligence of the
United States. In the absence of such evidence, we may
not impose liability on the United States.

In view of our disposition of the liability question,
we do not consider the remaining issues raised by the
United States.

The judgment of the district court will be reversed.

Wes, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

Like most accidents which underlie negligence cases,
this one happened very quickly and unexpectedly. The

€
4
EI
5
#

,
§
“
3
*
3

nsalsias e

pa aes

£
:
:
‘
iS

12a Appendix B

impressions of witnesses to such occurrences understand-
ably vary, and the ability to perceive what actually oc-
curred depends upon such crucial factors as sensory con-
centration, the presence of warnings which alert persons
to the impending mishap, and limitations on observation
at critical times caused by physical obstructions or light-
ing conditions. In addition, a witness’ memory, bias, or
background may hamper an accurate articulation of pos-
sibly imperfect perceptions. For these reasons, courts ex-
tend great deference to the findings of juries in negligence
cases. A jury is not bound to accept the version of either
party to a dispute but is free to conclude that the truth
falls somewhere between the extremes espoused by the
adverse parties.

The findings of a judge have not been given as much
weight as those of a jury,’ but his factual determinations
must be accepted by an appellate court unless they are
clearly erroneous, Krasnov v. Dinan, 465 F. 2d 1298 (3d
Cir. 1972). The trial judge, just like jurors, is expected
to sift back from hyperbole and distinguish reality from
revisionism in weighing the testimony.

The trial judge’s findings here indicate an awareness
that he was dealing with the testimony of witnesses whose

1, Judge Jerome Frank took note of this anomaly in Orvis v.

Higgins, 180 F. 2d 537, 540 n. 7 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 340 U. S.
810 (1950), as follows:

“A wag might say that a verdict is entitled to high respect
because the jurors are inexperienced in finding facts, an
administrative finding is given high respect because the
administrative officers are specialists (guided by experts )
in finding a particular class of facts, but, paradoxically, a
trial judge’s finding has far less respect because he is
blessed neither with jurors’ inexperience nor administra-
tive officers’ expertness.”
Interestingly enough, the biographical data of the trial judge reveal
that he was an officer in the United States Navy during World
War II, and he stated on the record of this proceeding that he was
familiar with the LCM.

Pe CREST ASS

Appendix B 13a

estimates were nothing more than that and far from being
exact engineering measurements. The fact that this acci-
dent occurred under poor lighting conditions at night can-
not be ignored. The district court’s findings do not ac-
cept, ipsissimis verbis, the testimony that the LCM
“smashed” into plaintiff Reilly or that the boat rose 3 to 4
feet on a wave or swell.?, Taking a more dispassionate
view, the trial judge simply determined that there was an
“impact” between the plaintiff and the LCM, causing
him to be thrown against either the ship’s hull or the gang-
way. The cause of the injury was found to have been
either the impact or the twisting which accompanied it.
Mathematics may cast some doubt upon the accuracy of
plaintiff's estimates of size, distance and time, but lack of
precision does not prove that Reilly's general description
of what occurred is incredible. Similarly, an absence of
bruises on the plaintiff's hip—if that be accepted as fact—
does not preclude a fracture caused by a twisting motion.

The plaintiff did not have the burden of explaining
why the gangway was at a greater height above the water
when he returned to the ship than it was at the time of his
departure earlier in the day. It was enough to show that
the condition existed and that the defendant had failed
to correct it. It is, therefore, immaterial that the plain-
tiffs theories on why the condition existed may be some-
what weak.

This is not a case for the application of the undisputed
physical evidence rule because so many of the critical facts
depended upon estimates and were not susceptible to pre-
cise measurements.

2. With a landlubber’s background, I must confess that I am
unable to conclude that it was “incredible” that the flat-bottom
landing craft would bob up and down to some degree under the
conditions existing at the time the accident took place. I also note
that the district court, rather than locating the gangway at a
specific height, found simply that it “was some distance above the
gunwale of the L.C. M.. . .”

ews eh ge een

LOTTO Te oe

eRe Te ere ee

Pek ee

Sch ONLI heel TAY AS PRA DDAE

14a Appendix B

The district court’s conclusions that the defendant
was negligent and that an unseaworthy condition existed
were supported by reasonable inferences drawn from the
testimony. The findings of fact were not “clearly erro-
neous,” and therefore I would affirm the district court’s
findings on liability. Since the majority’s decision makes
it unnecessary to discuss the question of damages, I like-
wise refrain from doing so, other than to indicate that my
position on liability is not an approval of all of the trial
court’s rulings of law on damages.

NRRCE Ie

Appendix C 15a
APPENDIX C.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For THE TuHirRD Circuit

No. 74-1896.

WILLIAM REILLY
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA anp
MATHIASEN’S TANKER INDUSTRIES, INC.,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Appellan:.
(D.C. Civil Action No. 70-3450 )
On APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES Districr Court
FOR THE EASTERN DisTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Present: ADAMs, RosENN and Wels, Circuit Judges.

JUDGMENT.

This cause came on to be heard on the record from the
United States District Court for the Eastern District of
Pennsylvania and was argued by counsel.

On consideration whereof, it is now here ordered and
adjudged by this Court that the judgment of the said Dis-
trict Court, entered June 6, 1974, be, and the same is hereby
reversed. Costs taxed against appellee.

ATTEST:
Tuomas P. Quinn,
Clerk.

June 25, 1975.

—

ee hte

ee

AE SBA a RDPB CAE REA TAOEE

ET MALIK

NSE ik AL ih le AE PRB

16a Appendix D

APPENDIX D.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For THE Tuirp Circuit

No. 74-1896.

WILLIAM REILLY
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellant,
AND

MATHIASEN’S TANKER INDUSTRIES, INC.,

ORDER
SUR PETITION FOR REHEARING.

Present: Srrtz, Chief Judge, VAN DusEN, ALDISERT, ADAMS,
Grppons, RosENN, HunTER, WEIs and
Garth, Circuit Judges.

The petition for rehearing filed by William Reilly, ap-
pellee, in the above entitled case having been submitted
to the judges who participated in the decision of this court
and to all the other available circuit judges of the circuit in
regular active service, and no judge who concurred in the
decision having asked for rehearing, and a majority of the
circuit judges of the circuit in regular active service not

Ne ceases meer tn nae NS gree 5

i ee Was

Appendix D 17a

having voted for rehearing by the court in banc, the peti-
tion for rehearing is denied.

By THE COURT,
Max RoseEnn,

Judge.
Dated: July 28, 1975.

epee RONES

: 18a Appendix E

ee

he iee
Sard

APPENDIX E.

IN THE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
For THE EASTERN District OF PENNSYLVANIA

Civiz Action No. 70-3450.

WILLIAM REILLY
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
AND

MATHIASEN’S TANKER INDUSTRIES, INC.

RR ad nn ea Binnie TOE GSS LORIE Os

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS
: OF LAW.
3 (AS AMENDED )
NEWCOMER, J. June 4, 1974

FINDINGS OF FACT.

1. Plaintiff, William Reilly, was born on January 31,
1906 in New York City, New York.

2. Plaintiff is presently 68 years old and has a life ex-
pectancy of 11.4 years.

3. Since 1930, plaintiff's primary employment has
been as a merchant seaman, although from time to time
he has engaged in other employment shoreside.

4. Between 1962 and July 24, 1970, plaintiff's sole
employment was as a merchant seaman, with continuous

unbroken sea service during this nine (9) year period of
time.

LS ERNE ISR BNE eR fla NA BES

Appendix E 19a

5. As of July 24, 1970, plaintiff was a member in good
standing of the National Maritime Union and had earned
nine (9) years of the fifteen (15) years of service credit
required in order to qualify for the minimum National
Maritime Union retirement pension of $150.00 per month,
after fifteen (15) years of continuous service as a merchant
seaman.

6. Plaintiff joined the USNS Suamico, a public vessel
owned and operated at all times material hereto by de-
fendant, United States of America, on June 25, 1970, as a
member of the crew of that vessel, in the capacity of a
saloon messman.

7. During the period of his service aboard the USNS
Suamico, between June 25 and July 25, 1970, plaintiff well
and truly performed all of his duties and was obedient to
all lawful commands of the Master and the other officers
of the vessel.

8. Between June 25 and July 23, 1970, plaintiff per-
formed all work required of him as a saloon messman
aboard the USNS Suamico without any physical inca-
pacities or disabilities.

9. Prior to plaintiff's joining the USNS Suamico on
June 25, 1970, he, at defendant’s request, underwent a
pre-sign-on physical examination by Dr. Joseph J. Tritico,
a physician selected by defendant.

10. Following said pre-sign-on examination by Dr.
Tritico, plaintiff was certified as being physically fit to per-
form all duties required of him as a saloon messman
aboard the USNS Suamico and was found not to have any
impairments or disabilities with respect to any portions of
his body, including his right hip and both lower extrem-
ities.

= >

20a Appendix E

11. At the time that plaintiff joined the USNS Suam-
ico and during the period of his service aboard that ves-
sel between June 25 and July 23, 1970, plaintiff was phy-
sically fit and capable of performing each and every duty
and function required of him in his employment capacity

as a merchant seaman and, more specifically, as a saloon
messman.

Sh SAD FARR

ry

_—. '

pig DIR CEA PREBLE SLE ER: eh ities AIEEE Sc OR NEES LLL ALDI To

12. On the evening of July 23, 1970, plaintiff, prop-
erly and lawfully, took shore leave from the USNS Suam-
1co, along with a number of other crewmen aboard the

vessel, while the vessel was moored in waters off of Goose
Bay, Labrador, Canada.

13. In order to gain egress from the USNS Suamico
to shore and return, while the vessel was moored in the
waters as aforesaid, plaintiff was required to utilize the
transportation provided for him and his fellow crew mem-

bers by defendant.

14. This transportation consisted of an L. C. M. (Land-
ing Craft Mechanized) vessel, which was approximately
56 feet long and 14 feet in beam. This vessel was flat bot-
tomed and squared off at the forward end, without the
traditional pointed bow present on most motor launches
used in the transport to and from shore of merchant sea-
men from a vessel moored in waters.

15. The L. C. M. was operated by the Canadian De-
partment of Transport, and was contracted for and pro-
vided by defendant as transportation for the members of
the crew of the USNS Suamico to gain access to shore and
access to the vessel from the shore.

sh Sar stor

16. This L. C. M. was not the traditional type of
motor vessel or motor launch used to transport merchant
seamen from a vessel moored in waters to and from shore,

PSSA tc inate enya an SH

Appendix E 2la

but had been traditionally used for purpose of the trans-
portation of troops, vehicles, equipment and supplies dur-
ing time of hostilities when it was necessary to land on
beachheads. Due to the size, shape and configuration of
the L. C. M., as described above, it was not as manuver-
able a type of craft as was the traditional motor vessel or
motor launch used to transport seamen from a vessel
moored in waters to and from shore.

17. While on shore, plaintiff and some fellow crew
members visited a USO club. It is unclear whether they
drank only beer or more potent liquor as well.

18. Some time between 0000 hours and 0100 hours on
July 24, 1970, plaintiff returned from shore in Goose Bay,
Labrador to the USNS Suamico aboard the L. C. M. de-
scribed above.

19. The L. C. M. in question had a crew consisting of
three men, a Captain, a deck man and an engineer.

20. When the L. C. M. arrived alongside of the USNS
Suamico, the L. C. M. was not in any way moored, se-
cured or tied up to the USNS Suamaco or its gangway,
although there was a boat-line available, attached to and
hanging down from the vessel’s gangway, the use or func-
tion of which was to moor and secure crafts, such as the
L. C. M. in question, coming alongside of the vessel to
the vessel or its gangway.

21. The Captain of the L. C. M., rather than mooring
or tying up the L. C. M. to the USNS Svamico or its
gangway, at the time that the crew members were de-
barking the L. C. M. and boarding the USNS Suamico, by
use of the boat-line, attempted to keep the L. C. M. close
to the vessel's gangway by jockeying the L. C. M. back
and forth in the water.

be een |

Ree ea

Sela PR ROR RSE

2p gS a AEE ES ie

es Pee

csigah area RoHS

teh eee iia

22a Appendix E

22. As plaintiff was about to debark the L. C. M. and
step onto the bottom of the gangway of the USNS SuaM-
ico, none of the three personnel that comprised the crew
of the L. C. M. in any way assisted or aided plaintiff in his

stepping off of the L. C. M. and up onto the bottom of the
vessel's gangway.

23. When the L. C. M. arrived alongside of the
USNS Suamico there was no gangway watchman or deck

officer present at the head of the gangway of the USNS
_SUAMICO.

24. At the time that plaintiff and his fellow crew mem-
bers were debarking the L. C. M. and ascending the ves-
sel’s gangway there was still no gangway watchman or
deck officer at the head of the gangway to see that the
gangway was safe for boarding or to assist plaintiff onto
and up the vessel’s gangway.

25. At the time that plaintiff was debarking the
L. C. M., the height of the bottom of the gangway of the
USNS Suamico was some distance above the gunwale of
the L. C. M., by reason of the fact that there was no gang-
way watchman or deck officer present at the head of the
ganway at the time to adjust the height of the gangway

by lowering it to a position even with the gunwale of the
L. C. M.

26. If there had been a gangway watchman or deck
officer present at the head of the gangway of the USNS
Suamico at the time of the arrival of the L. C. M. along-
side of the vessel, the height of the vessel’s gangway could
have been easily adjusted downward and the bottom of
the gangway could have been made level with the gun-
wale of the L. C. M. by simply having one man lower the
gangway.

EE PEM SEE ART IP RAT LL NTAL FSS te90

Appendix E 23a

27. Because the height of the bottom of the gang-
way of the USNS Suamico was some distance above the
gunwale of the L. C. M., plaintiff, in his attempt to
debark the L. C. M. and step up onto the bottom of
vessel's gangway, had to grab hold of the gang-
way’s chain bridle with his right hand, step up with his
left foot onto the bottom of the gangway and then pull
his right leg and foot and himself up onto the bottom of
the gangway.

28. There is conflicting testimony among plaintiff's
witnesses about what happened to plaintiff as he attempted
to climb onto the gangway from the L. C. M. It appears
that plaintiff had secured hold of the chain bridle and had
already stepped up to the bottom of the gangway with his
left foot, when the bow of the L. C. M. either rose up and
threw him against the ship’s side or gangway, or dropped
away, leaving plaintiff suspended, and then returned to
throw him against the ship or gangway.

29. It appears that the motion of th L. C. M. that re-
sulted in plaintiff's being thrown against the ship’s side or
gangway was caused by the L. C. M. operator’s attempt to
stay close to the vessel’s gangway by use of its controls and
motors.

30. Immediately after the L. C. M. struck plaintiff, the
L. C. M. pulled back, at which time one of plaintiff's fellow
crew members reached out and grabbed hold of plaintiff,
in order to prevent plaintiff from falling into the water.

31. At the time that plaintiff was struck by the
L. C. M., plaintiff felt an excruciating pain all over his

body.

32. As a result of his impact with the ship or gangway
which resulted from the impact with the L. C. M., or
merely from the twisting that accompanied these impacts,

24a Appendix E

plaintiff suffered an intertrochanteric fracture of his right
hip and a compression fracture of his first lumbar vertebra.

33. Following this incident, plaintiff was unable to
walk and was carried up the gangway of the USNS
Suamico and placed on the main deck of the vessel in a
prone position on his back. While so situated, plaintiff was
in a semi-conscious state and felt pain throughout his
entire body during his conscious moments.

34. Plaintiff was then carried, by a number of his
fellow crew members aboard the USNS Suamico, down to
his foc’sle, where he remained in bed, throughout the night
and until the following morning, in a semi-conscious state.

35. During the night, whenever plaintiff had conscious
moments he was in a great deal of pain, which required
injections of codeine and administering of phenobarbital
by the Chief Mate for purposes of alleviation of the same.

36. Some time between 0700 hours and 0900 hours on
July 24, 1970, plaintiff was removed on a stretcher from the
USNS Svamico and was transported to the United States
Air Force Hospital in Goose Bay, where a diagnosis of
“{ntertrochanteric fracture right femur” was made shortly
following his admission to that hospital at 0930 hours.

37. Plaintiff was repatriated to the United States from
the United States Air Force Hospital in Goose Bay aboard
a United States Air Force cargo plant.

38. Shortly following his arrival back in the United
States on July 25, 1970, plaintiff was admitted as an in-
patient to the United States Public Health Service Hospital
in Staten Island, New York, where he remained confined
until September 25, 1970.

39. On July 27, 1970, while hospitalized at the Staten
Island Public Health Service Hospital, plaintiff was op-

“nya Mahi gars —

Appendix E 25a

erated on in order to repair the trochanteric fracture of his
right hip.

40. This operation involved making an incision 9%”
long along the shaft of his right femur, cutting through the
various layers of skin down to the femur in the greater
trochanteric area, aligning the fracture and placing a
guide-wire into the femoral head and then tapping a 4%”
Jewett nail into place, following which five screws were
screwed down tightly in order to secure the position of the
Jewett nail.

41. Following this operative procedure for the reduc-
tion of the intertrochanteric fracture of plaintiff's right hip
by the internal fixation of the Jewett nail, plaintiff con-
tinued on bed rest and traction and then started on physical
therapy with crutch walking during the remainder of his
stay at the Staten Island Public Health Service Hospital
until September 24, 1970, on which date he was dis-
charged as an inpatient.

42. During the period of plaintiff's inpatient hospitali-
zation from July 25 to September 24, 1970, he experienced
significant physical pain, discomfort and suffering, for the
alleviation of which he was administered demerol and
codeine several times a day.

43. Plaintiff was readmitted as an inpatient to the
United States Public Health Service Hospital in Staten
Island, New York on October 17, 1970, where he remained
confined until January 29, 1971, for the purpose of re-
ceiving physical therapy treatments in an effort to alleviate
his limited range and restriction of motion of his right hip.

44, Between January 29 and July 2, 1971, while plain-
tiff continued under the care of the United States Public
Health Service Clinic in Staten Island, New York, on an

ee

Bie oo aac a anaes mace ee er eS .

26a Appendix E

outpatient basis, he began to experience stiffness in and
flexion contracture of his right knee, with limitation of
knee extension, as a result of which he developed a limp.
This flexion contracture was caused, at least in part, by
plaintiff's lengthy immobilization due to his hospitaliza-
tions for treatment of his hip fracture.

45. By September, 1971, it had been determined by
all orthopedic medical specialists who had had any oppor-
tunity to treat or examine plaintiff for his right hip condi-
tion and his right knee flexion contracture that plaintiff had
been in the past and was going to be in the future totally
disabled from and unable to ever return to his former
employment as a merchant seaman.

46. Plaintiff remained on a “not fit for duty status” ac-
cording to the certification of the United States Public
Health Service in Staten Island, New York, from July 24,
1970 through May 25, 1972 and for a projected period of
three months thereafter.

47. Between July 29, 1971 and June 27, 1972, during
the period of plaintiff's outpatient treatment at the United
States Public Health Service clinic in Staten Island, New
York, various therapeutic and rehabilitative suggestions and
procedures were initiated and prescribed, such as exercising
and the wearing of a spring loaded knee brace, in order to
attempt to improve, alleviate and benefit plaintiff's physical
condition, insofar as his right hip disability and limitation
and right knee flexion contracture was concerned.

48. In June, 1972, a spring loaded knee brace was
prescribed, fitted and worn by plaintiff, which involved a
considerable amount of physical pain, annoyance and dis-
comfort to him.

49. On July 16, 1972, plaintiff suffered a cerebral
vascular accident (stroke) while walking along the street.

Appendix E 27a

He was immediately admitted to St. Luke’s Hospital
Center in New York City, New York.

50. Although at the time of his admission to the St.
Luke’s Hospital plaintiff was totally paralyzed, with an
inability to move any of his upper or lower extremities
and an inability to speak, by the time of his discharge
from the hospital on October 17, 1972, the only residual
deficit from the stroke was that of “minimal residual weak-
ness R leg, increasing ability to walk & physiotherapy.”
(Discharge note of October 17, 1972 in the St. Luke’s Hos-
pital records ).

51. Plaintiff was transferred from St. Luke’s to St.
Barnabas’ Hospital for Chronic Diseases in Bronx, New
York, on October 18, 1972 following his stroke.

52. During the period of plaintiff's hospitalization at
St. Barnabas Hospital, he was noted to lack about 40°
full right knee extension and, therefore, had a much more
pronounced right knee flexion contracture than he had had
in the several months prior to his stroke.

53. During November and December, 1972, while
he was hospitalized at the St. Barnabas Hospital, plain-
tiff consulted and was examined by several orthopedic
and surgical specialists who suggested surgical procedure
(hamstring tenotemy and post capsulotomy ) for the alle-
viation of plaintiff's right knee flexion contracture.

54. During the period of plaintiff's hospitalization
at the St. Barnabas Hospital, he experienced and was sub-
jected to considerable physical pain and discomfort in
connection with the exercise and physical therapy that he
was subjected and exposed to for purposes of stretching
the right knee flexion contracture.

55. At the time of plaintiff's discharge from the St.
Barnabas Hospital on December 14, 1972, he had a sig-

* m PR i on beet ol c

28a Appendix E

nificant right knee flexion contracture, but had no disabil-
ity, neurological deficit, restriction or limitation of motion

or any contracture of his left lower extremity, which was
totally fit and sound.

56. Plaintiff was admitted as an inpatient to the
United States Public Health Service Hospital in Staten
Island, New York on March 22, 1973 because of his in-
aiblity to walk due to flexion contractions in both knees.
He had had to confine himself to bed approximately three
weeks prior to his admission to the hospital and upon
beginning such bed rest a limited range of motion devel-

oped in his left knee and got progressively worse until the
time of his admission.

57. Plaintiffs left knee flexion contracture was sec-
ondary to his right knee flexion contracture, which had
caused plaintiff to confine himself to bed with a resultant

disuse of the left lower extremity and the left knee and
knee joint.

58. During plaintiff's confinement as an inpatient at
the United States Public Health Service Hospital in Staten
Island, New York, from March 22 to June 21, 1973, he
underwent a regimen of progressive bi-lateral knee stretch-
ing exercises and was at one point placed in knee splints,
which he could not tolerate due to the severe pain that he
experienced when wearing the same.

59. On June 21, 1973, plaintiff was discharged as an
inpatient from the United States Public Health Service
Hospital in Staten Island, New York and was certified as
“permanently not fit for duty” by his treating physicians
at that facility. Since then, plaintiff has been “perma-
nently not fit for duty” and will remain so for the re-

mainder of his life.

Appendix E 29a

60. Plaintiff was hospitalized at the Bellevue Hospital
in New York City, New York from September 28, 1973 to
February 2, 1974, inclusive, during which time he under-
went intensive and extensive physical and rehabilitative
therapy, the purpose of which was to alleviate and im-
prove his now bi-lateral knee flexion contractures. The
course of therapy received by plaintiff during his inpatient
hospitalization at the Bellevue Hospital consisted of exer-
cises, ambulation with the aid of parallel bars and ambula-
tion with the aid of a walker and crutches.

61. Despite the course of rehabilitative and physical
therapy received by plaintiff while he was hospitalized as
an inpatient at Bellevue Hospital, he still continued to
have bi-lateral knee flexion contractures at the time of his
discharge from the hospital on February 2, 1974 and was
able to walk only with the use of a walker or a standing
cane.

62. Plaintiff has continued to experience physical
pain, discomfort and annoyance at and over the operative
site of where the Jewett nail was internally fixed and still
continues to remain since the time of the internal fixation
of the Jewett nail on July 27, 1970 and up to and includ-
ing the present time and will continue to experience such
pain, discomfort and annoyance for the remainder of his
life, as the Jewett nail will permanently remain inside

his body for the remainder of his life.

63. At the time of plaintiff's accident and injuries of
July 24, 1970, he then being 64 years of age, had a work-
life expectancy, according to the Life Expectancy Tables
of the United States Department of Health, Education and
Welfare, of 5.5 years and required another 6 years of addi-
tional continuous sea service in order to qualify for the

30a Appendix E

minimum monthly National Maritime Union retirement
pension of $150.00 per month, payable to a merchant sea-
man after 15 years of continuous sea service.

64. Had plaintiff not been disabled, due to the in-
juries he sustained while attempting to board defendant's
ship, and the complications which resulted therefrom,
plaintiff would have continued in his employment as a
merchant seaman for the remainder of his work life ex-
pectancy.

NV MAS SAPO et OE LA NLL BO CIE TEE ne |

SPINY iat

65. We cannot find as a fact that plaintiff would have
continued working the six additional years necessary to
become eligible for his minimum National Maritime Union
pension of $150.00 per month.

PACT ERE WS

“ites }

Wy

66. Plaintiff is entitled to receive the value of his con-
tributions to his welfare and pension under the applicable
National Maritime Union contracts.

soe

67. During the period from July 25, 1970 through
June 15, 1974, under 4 separate National Maritime Union
contract years (all of which were based upon eight (8)
months work years), the following wage rates have pre-

vailed for messmen, such as plaintiff, serving aboard
United States flag tanker vessels:

Base Wel-
Dates Wage Overtime Vacation fure Pension Monthly

* 7/25/70-

6/15/71 .. $386.44 $302.66 $167.44 $48.00 $343.67 $1,248.21 $ 9,985.68
6/16/71-

6/15/72 .. 409.63 340.20 17749 48.00 400.50 1,375.82 11,006.56

aU FS EGES PEON ALLIES ES

Annual

Ratios:

~6/15/73 .. 430.11 355.31 207.73 66.60 410.70 1,470.45 11,763.60
6/15/74 .. 451.62 371.17 22477 66.60 42685 1,541.01 12,328.08

Appendix E 3la

68. Accordingly, plaintiff's total past loss of earnings
as a result of his inability to sail as a merchant seaman,
i.e. a saloon messman, aboard United States flag tanker
vessels between July 25, 1970 and June 15, 1974, four full
National Maritime Union contract years, is in the amount
of $45,083.92.

69. Plaintiff, as of June 15, 1974, has a remaining
work-life expectancy of 19 months.

70. Under the applicable and projected National
Maritime Union contract agreements for two years in the
future, plaintiff would have earned the following amounts:

Base Wel-
Dates Wage Overtime Vacation fare Pension Monthly Annual
6/16/74-
6/16/75 $474.20 $387.82 $242.31 $66.60 $433.50 $1,604.43 $12,835.44
6/16/75-
1/16/75 497.91 407.21 253.38 66.60 433.50 1,658.60 7,740.25
(7 months )

71. When plaintiff's loss for future impairment of his
earning capacity is reducted to its present value at the rate
of 6% interest, it is computed as follows:

6/16/74-6/16/75 — $12,065.32
6/16/75-6/16/76 — 7,275.83

$19,341.15

72. Plaintiff's present medical condition, insofar as his
right hip and the limitation of motion and the use thereof
and his bi-lateral knee contractures, will never improve
but may become progressively worse. Plaintiff is presently
unable to bear any weight whatsoever on his right leg due
to the deteriorated condition of his right hip and the per-
manent flexion contracture of his right knee, but is able to

Stan,
CPE . ' a . meee psacry Se a eee

32a Appendix E

bear some weight on his left leg even with the left knee
flexion contracture, and such conditions are permanent in
nature.

73. Plaintiff's life expectancy, according to the Life
Expectancy Tables of the United States Department of
Health, Education and Welfare, is presently 11.4 years.

74. Plaintiff is awarded the sum of Ten Thousand
($10,000) Dollars to compensate him for all of the physi-
cal pain, suffering, and discomfort which he has suffered
in the past and for all of the physical pain, suffering and
discomfort which he may endure in the future as a result
of being struck by the L. C. M. on July 24, 1970.

75. Plaintiff is awarded the sum of Five Thousand
($5,000) Dollars to compensate him for the permanent
physical injuries and damage that will endure for the re-
mainder of his life and cause him permanent limitation of
motion and inability of use of his right hip, permanent
right knee flexion contracture and permanent inability to
walk or ambulate by himself without the use of a walker
or a standing cane.

76. Plaintiff is awarded damages in the total amount
of Seventy Nine Thousand Four Hundred Twenty Five
Dollars and Seven Cents ($79,425.07) to compensate him
for the following items of damages:

(a) Past loss of earnings: $45,083.92
(b) Future impairment
of earning capacity: 19,341.15

(c) Past, present and
future pain and

suffering: 10,000.00
(d) Permanent physical
injuries: $5,000.00

Appendix E 33a

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW.

1. Jurisdiction over this case is based on 28 U. S. C.
§ 1333.

2. On July 24, 1970, at the time and place that plain-
tiff, William Reilly, was injured, the USNS Suamico,
together with its appliances, gear and appurtenant equip-
ment (including the L. C. M. involved herein) was unsea-
worthy by reason of the presence of the following unsafe
and dangerous conditions:

(a) an L. C. M. that was jockeying in the waters
adjacent to and abreast of the gangway of the vessel
in an attempt to remain close to the gangway during
the time that plaintiff was debarking the L. C. M. and
stepping up onto the vessel’s gangway;

(b) an L. C. M. that was not in any way moored,
seured or tied up to the USNS Suamico or its gang-
way by use of the available boat-line, during the time
that plaintiff was debarking the L. C. M.;

(c) the absence of a gangway watchman or deck
officer at the head of the gangway of the USNS Sv-
amico, from the time that plaintiff and his fellow
crew members arrived back along-side of the vessel
in the L. C. M. up until the time that plaintiff was
disembarking the L. C. M.; and

(d) a gangway, which plaintiff was required to
pull himself up onto and then ascend after dis-
embarking the L. C. M. in question, that was rigged
and positioned in such a manner so that the height of
its bottom was some distance above the gunwale of
the L. C. M. from which plaintiff had to step up in
order to gain access to the bottom of the gangway.

1 ae

34a Appendix E

3. Defendant, United States of America, was negli-
gent, through its agents, servants, officers, crew members
and employees (including the crew members and person-
nel of the L. C. M. involved herein), and breached its
non-delegable duty and obligation to provide plaintiff
with a reasonably safe place within which to work and
with a reasonably safe means of ingress to the USNS

Suamico by reason of its failure to exercise due care as
follows:

=
&
oa
*
e
@
4
3
=
i
re)
x
a
3
&
4
4
e
z
.
BS
;
a

cy ak

(a) the jockeying of the L. C. M. back and forth
in the waters in an attempt to keep the L. C. M. close
to the gangway of the USNS Suamico during the time
that plaintiff was in the process of debarking the
L. C. M. and stepping up onto the bottom of the
vessel's gangway;

(b) the failure to moor, secure or tie up the

L. C. M. to the USNS Suamico or its gangway by use
of the available boat-line;

te fa oe ety sgt DP
bee SiR NASER EN AOR (6h gb RELA HERE ELE EF Pe

(c) the failure of the three members of the crew
of the L. C. M. to in any way aid or assist plaintiff in
disembarking the L. C. M. and stepping up onto the
bottom of the gangway of the USNS Suamico;

(d) the absence of a gangway watchman or deck
officer at the head of the gangway of the USNS
Suamico at the time that plaintiff and his fellow crew

members arrived back alongside of the vessel in the
L. C. M.;

Oy bi aos a mor

epelve PG

4
4
3
:

(e) the presence of a gangway, which plaintiff
was required to pull himself up onto and then ascend
after disembarking the L. C. M. in question, that was
rigged and positioned in such a manner so that the
height of its bottom was some distance above the
gunwale of the L. C. M. from which plaintiff had to

Appendix E 35a

step up in order to gain access to the bottom of the
gangway; and

(f) the absence of a gangway watchman or deck
officer at the head of the gangway of the USNS Suam-
ico at the time that plaintiff was disembarking the
L. C. M., whose duty it was to see that the gangway
was safe for boarding and who, if present, could have
easily adjusted the height of the gangway downward
by lowering it so that the bottom of the gangway
would have been level with the gunwale of the
L. C. M.

4. The injuries and conditions with which plaintiff has
been and continues to be afflicted, including the inter-
trochanteric fracture of his right hip and the permanent
limitation of motion and disability of the same, the now
permanent flexion contracture of his right knee and the
compression fracture of his first lumbar vertebra, with all
of the attendant physical pain, suffering, discomfort, limi-
tation of motion and mental anguish which plaintiff has
suffered in the past and which he may endure in the future,
were directly and proximately caused by the unseaworthi-
ness of the USNS Suamico, the negligence of the de-
fendant and the failure of the defendant to provide
plaintiff with a reasonably safe place within which to work
and a reasonably safe means of ingress to its vessel on
July 24, 1970, when plaintiff was struck by the L. C. M.
while in the process of disembarking the same and stepping
up onto the bottom of the gangway of the USNS Svamico.

5. The progressive worsening and deterioration of the
condition of plaintiffs right lower extremity and in par-
ticular his right knee flexion contracture subsequent to
December 14, 1972—with plaintiffs consequent inability to
walk or ambulate by himself, without the use of a walker or

36a Appendix E

a standing cane—was caused, at least in part, by the negli-
gence of the defendant and its failure to provide plaintiff
with a reasonably safe place within which to work and a
reasonably safe means of ingress to its vessel on July 24,
1970, when plaintiff was struck by the L. C. M. while in
the process of disembarking the same and stepping up onto
the bottom of the gangway of the USNS Suamico.

6. Plaintiff has suffered permanent physical injuries
and damage that will endure for the remainder of his life
and cause him permanent limitation of motion and in-
ability of use of his right hip, permanent right knee flexion
contracture and permanent inability to walk or ambulate
by himself without the use of a walker or a standing cane,
all of which permanent injuries have been caused, at least
in part, by the negligence of the defendant and its failure
to provide reasonably safe means of ingress to its vessel on
July 24, 1970, when plaintiff was struck by the L. C. M.
while in the process of disembarking the same and stepping
up onto the bottom of the gangway of the USNS Suamico.

7. A verdict is entered in favor of plaintiff, William
Reilly, and against defendant, United States of America, in
the total amount of Seventy Nine Thousand Four Hundred
Twenty Five Dollars and Seven Cents ($79,425.07).

MAINTENANCE AND CURE.

1. Plaintiff, William R. Reilly, served aboard the
USNS Svamico in the capacity of saloon messman from
June 25 to July 25, 1970.

2. Defendant, United States of America, owned, op-
erated, managed, possessed and controlled the USNS
Suamico and for purposes of the within action is respon-
sible to plaintiff for any contractual responsibilities of an
employer to a merchant seaman working aboard its vessel.

Appendix E 37a

3. On July 24, 1970, plaintiff was injured while return-
ing to the USNS Suamico from shore.

4. The National Maritime Union contract applicable
provides for the payment of maintenance and cure benefits
to a seaman who is injured or becomes ill while employed
aboard a vessel at the rate of eight dollars ($8.00) per day.

5. Between July 25, 1970 and March 5, 1972, plaintiff
was paid maintenance and cure benefits by defendant for
all periods of time during which he was appropriately en-
titled to maintenance and cure payments under the ap-
plicable National Maritime Union contract.

6. Defendant terminated maintenance and cure pay-
ments to plaintiff on March 5, 1972, on which date plaintiff
was still “not fit for duty” according to the medical certifica-
tion of the United States Public Health Service Hospital in
Staten Island, New York.

7. Plaintiff continued on a “not fit for duty” status,
according to the United States Public Health Service Hos-
pital in Staten Island, New York, from March 5, 1972
through June 21, 1973.

8. Dr. Beller testified that, as of September 23, 1971
plaintiff had reached a plateau of medical care for recovery.
At that time plaintiff was having only follow-up visits at
three month intervals with the Public Health Service and
was not undergoing active treatment or therapy, but merely
observation. On May 30, 1973, plaintiff was re-examined
by Dr. Beller, whose findings were essentially the same as
those of September, 1971. Plaintiff still had a right knee
contracture of 20°. Dr. Beller testified that his findings on
May 30, 1973 confirmed and reinforced his prior opinion
that plaintiff had reached a point of maximum cure in
September, 1971. Dr. Beller also concluded on May 30,
1972 that plaintiff would not benefit from further treatment.

£ et £ARAIEEASG«

Nite te ee 288

38a Appendix E

On May 25, 1972, the orthopedic examination sug-
gested that “perhaps a spring loaded knee brace would
help.” Accordingly, he was fitted with a knee brace on
June 27, 1972. Three weeks later, plaintiff had a stroke on
July 16, 1972. At trial, Dr. Beller testified that, in his
opinion, plaintiff's condition would not improve, even with
a spring loaded knee brace, as a knee brace would not aid
significantly in stretching a two year old contracture on a
66 year old man, and in any event, would require 6 weeks
to 3 months of continued use before any improvement is
possible in a likely candidate. Dr. Klinghoffer admitted
that, in the three week period from the time of receiving
the brace on June 27, 1972 to the day of his stroke on July
16, 1972, plaintiff would have achieved little, if any, ben-
efit or improvement in plaintiff's right knee, even if plaintiff
had used the knee brace for the full period, which plaintiff
did not do. It is obvious therefore that the knee brace could
not have aided plaintiff in this period as he discarded its
use within 19 days of receipt.

We find therefore that plaintiff had reached a state of
maximum possible cure by September 21, 1971 when plain-
tiff was found to have a 20° right knee flexion contracture.
Plaintiff's condition would not, and in fact did not, improve
after that time. However, as plaintiff continued to receive
maintenance and cure until March 6, 1972, and since plain-
tiff had reached the point of maximum cure before that
date, plaintiff is not entitled to recover any additional sums
in this action for unpaid maintenance and cure.

hy ne

Appendix E 39a

CONCLUSIONS OF LAw.

1. As a result of plaintiff's service aboard the USNS
SuaMico and as a result of his being injured while attached
to and employed upon such vessel, he is entitled to main-

tenance and cure payments at the rate of eight dollars
($8.00) per day.

2. Plaintiff reached maximum cure before March 5,
1972, the date on which defendant terminated his main-
tenance and cure payments.

PELE BE LADEN CIES DE TOES

= Be a ee
a Ree ER GEERT OEE

Appendix E

ORDER.

And Now, to wit, this 4th day of June, 1974, it is
hereby Ordered that judgment be entered in favor of plain-
tiff and against defendant in the sum of Seventy Nine

Thousand Four Hundred Twenty Five Dollars and Seven
Cents ($79,425.07).

AND It Is So Orpverep.

CLARENCE C. NEWCoMER
Clarence C. Newcomer, J.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_1686%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
