# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Pohlman v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_1664%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 423 U.S. 1049

## Text

biLED
SEP 26 1975

ad

LIBRARY

PREME COURT, U. 3

Pre ant
—
2
4
—

|
a 2 “es i
~ AK
aa ~

~, 75-488 |

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1975

Berent je C. M. Pohlman,

Petitioner

Ve
United States of America,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT DF CERTIORARI TO THE
CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

Berent je C. M. Pohlman
Attorney per se

COUNSEL FOR RESPONDENT Enderl ao Dakota
27

Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D. C. 20530

Mr. Harold O. Bullis
United States Attorney
Federal Courts Building
Fargo, North Dakota 58102

IN DEX ~ Page 2

STATUTES Page

United States Constitution,
ARTICLE 3 «2. ee ececreee 2

U.S. GC. BiB soc uscvsaces 3

PART V, Rule 19 of the Supreme
Court Rules o . . J . e e o . o . e 3

United States Constitution,
Amendment 5 2 e a ° e os -_ . . e 5

86 UU. 3. Ge B&B TR sc ee ee ees 5

United States Constitution,
Amendment 6.2.2 cc2cececse 6

Federal Rules of Criminal
Procedure, Rule 51 ....2.2.24. 6

Federal Rules of Criminal
Procedute, Rule 52 ....24+22e2- 6

RL TERI TI * IG eng ARR SRI SIFY ERSTE E TTY TNA. ng NRO MET AG Ps

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1975

No.

Berent je C. M. Pohlman,
Petitioner,
Ve
United States of America,
Respondent.
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT
TO THE HONORABLE, THE CHIEF JUSTICE AND ASSOCIATE
JUSTICES OF THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED
STATES.

Berent je C. M. Pohlman, the petitioner herein,
prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review
the judgment of the Circuit Court of Appeals for
the Eighth Circuit entered in the above entitled
case on August 27, 1975.

OPINIONS 3ELOW

The opinion of the Three Panel Court of the

MF RSA IRL PS Oi

2
Circuit Court of Appeals, unreported, is printed in
Appendix A hereto, infra, pages 1 thru 9, and the
opinion of the Circuit Court of Appeals, en banc,
unreported, is printed in Appendix Bhereto, infra,
pages 1 thru 1}),. The judgment of the Three Panel
Court was entered on February 11, 1975, and the
judgment of the court en banc was entered on the
27th day of August, 1975. Any Journal Entry of
such judgments is not known to petitioner.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Three Panel Court was
entered on February 11, 1975. A timely petition
for rehearing was filed by respondent, and the
court en banc by opinion rendered on August 27,
1975 reversed the opinion of the Three Panel Court
and affirmed the judgment of the United States
District Court for the State of North Dakota, as
entered on September 30, 197h.

The jurisdiction of the United States Supreme

Court is invoked under the following:
1. UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION, ARTICLE 3,

3

& 2, Cl. 2, conferring upon the United States
Supreme Court "appellate jurisdiction, both as to
law and fact, with such exceptions, and under such
regulations as the Congress shall make."

2. 28 U.S.C. & 1254, providing "Cases in the
courts of appeal may be reviewed by the Supreme
Court by the following methods:

(1) By writ of certiorari granted upon
the petition of any party to any
civil or criminal case, before or
after rendition of judgment or de-
cree;"

3. PART V, Rule 19 of the Supreme Court Rules,
providing for review by writ of certiorari, sub-
section (b), which reads:

"(b) Where a court of appeals has ren-

dered a decision in conflict with the

decision of another court of appeals on

the same matter; or..."

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether, in the light of all circumstances,
noncustodial investigations are subject to protec-
tion under the Fifth Amendment guarantees relating

to self-incrimination?

pee ete Pear.

2. Was the trial court in error in the
failure to rule on defendant's objection to the
admission into evidence of documents alleged by
defendant to be only copies and without inquiry
as to possible existence of original documents?

3. Adequacy of trial court's jury instruc-
tion relating to meaning of "Willfulness" to
justify conviction under the provisions of 26
U.S.C. & 7203.

4. Whether references by U. S. Attorney
to alleged conversations between defendant and
the Internal Revenue Regional office without the
opportunity of confrontation was Plain Error under
Rule 52 (b) of the Federal Rules of Criminal Pro-
cedure and violative of accused's rights under the
Sixth Amendment?

5. Whether an accused is subject to convic-
tion of a criminal charge in the absence of evidence
presented by prosecution of any direct or overt act

or statements proving a mental attitude to commit

REFER ION GEIL ENE LEDER ORI: TAY

5

an illegal act during the time that such alleged

illegal act is alleged to have been committed?

l.

Qe

STATUTES INVOLVED

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION, AMENDMENT
S:

"Criminal actions--Provisions concerning
Due process of law and just compensation
clauses.--No person shall be held to
answer for a capital, or otherwise in-
famous crime, unless on a presentment or
indictment of a Grand Jury, except in
cases arising in the land or naval forces,
or in the Militia, when in actual ser-
vice in time of War or public danager;
nor shall any person be subject for the
same offence to be twice put in jeopardy
of life or limb; nor shall be compelled
in any criminal case to be a witness
against himself, nor be deprived of life,
liberty, or property, without due pro-
cess of law; nor shall private property
be taken, for public use, without just
compensation."

26 U.S.C. & 7203, Willful Failure to
File Return, Supply Information, or Pay
Tax:

"Any person required under this title to
pay any estimated tax or tax, or required
by this title or by regulations made under
authority thereof to make a return (other
than a return required under authority of
section 6015 or section 6016), keep any
records, or supply any information, who
willfully fails to pay such estimated tax
or tax, make such return, keep such re-
cords, or supply such information, at the
time or times required by law or regula-

ETERS SON en be PO LPP A eo F2

3.

tions, shall, in addition to other pen-
alties provided by law, be guilty of a
misdemeanor and, upon conviction there-
of, shall be fined not more than $10,000,
or imprisoned not more than 1 year, or
both, together with the costs of prosecu-
tion."

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION, AMENDMENT
6:

"Rights of the accused--In all criminal
presecutions, the accused shall enjoy

the right t~ a speedy and public trial,
by an impary « jury of the State and
district wherein the crime shall have
been committed, which district shall have
been previously ascertained by law, and
to be informed of the nature and cause of
the accusation; to be confronted with the
witnesses against him; to have compulsory
process for obtaining witnesses in his
favor, and to have the Assistance of Coun-
sel for his defense."

FEDERAL RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE,
RULE 51:

"Exceptions unnecessary.--Exceptions to
rulings or orders of the court are un-
necessary and for all purposes for which
an exception has heretofore been necess-
ary it is sufficient that a party, at

the time the ruling or order of the court
is made or sought, makes known to the
court the action which he desires the
court to take or his objection to the
action of the court and the grounds there-
for; but if a party has no opportunity to
object to a ruling or order, the absence
of an objection does not thereafter pre-
judice hin,"

RT TIES AIR ca oP ar 3s x pS OD RE ENS are apy AS NR

7

S. FEDERAL RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE, RULE 5?:
"Harmless error and plain error.--
(a) Harmless error.--Any error, defect,
irregularity or variance which does not
affect substantial rights shall be dis-
regarded.
(b) Plain error--Plain errors or defects
affecting substantial rights may be
noticed although they were not brought to
the attention of the court."

STATEMENT

The jurisdiction of the United States Dis-
trict Court for the District of North Dakota was
conferred in this case under 26 U.S.C. & 7203.

The petitioner herein was indicted on a three
count charge of willfully failing to file her per-
sonal income tax returns for the years 1968, 1969
and 1970. Jury trial was held in said District
Court in September of 197) and defendant was con-
victed of the three counts. The defendant appealed
to the Circuit Court of Appeals for the Eighth Cir-
cuit and the matter was heard before a three judge
panel on December 11, 197). On February 11, 1975,

the three judge panel reversed the conviction and

PSUS

- - ech st a
‘i PE pie: aebtvaae shine igen A AS OIE
Sara ey AS 55 lee ipl At Bie ARDS ASAI ADELE ELENA EA je ae r

remanded the case for a new trial. The U. S. Attor-
ney thereafter petitioned for and was granted a re-
hearing en banc by the Circuit Court of Appeals. On
August 27, 1975 the Circuit Court of Appeals sitting
en banc reversed by a three to five decision the
early reversal and affirmed the conviction.

Appen-
dix B, pages 1 thru 1h.

Petitioner is a practicing attorney and tax
practitioner in Enderlin, North Dakota. The first
contact between petitioner and the Internal Revenue
service relating to her personal tax matters was on
October 3, 1972 when an agent of the District Office,
Fargo, North Dakota, called upon petitioner in her
law office in Enderlin, North Dakota. At the first
meeting the IRS agent requested a copy of her 1971
income tax return, which return was then supplied
by petitioner. Further, at this initial meeting
the agent informed petitioner that the tax practice
conducted from her office (with the assistance of
two other local women) was to be investigated by

the Irs. The agent then requested a copy of or list

9

of petitioner's legal clients. Petitioner did not
have such a list immediately abailable, and would
not give such a list to the agent. However, with
the full cooperation of the petitioner, the agent
was given free access to the tax practice files.
The agent, in conjunction with several other agents
out of the Fargo Internal Revenue Service office,
thereafter spent several weeks investigating the
tax files. Needless audits were conducted against
petitioner's tax clients, for the end result of the
investigation revealed no fraudulent practices or
evidence of incompetency by either the petitioner
or her two assistants.

The agent testified that the purpose of in-
vestigating the tax practice files was to obtain a
list of the petitioner's clientat! The petitioner
herein sets forth this point specifically to ese
tablish that the agent had not come to her office
for the purpose of auditing, but was there for the

purpose of obtaining evidence of criminal activity.

transcript, pages 36 and 37

10

The matter of petitioner's personal income tax
returns for the years 1968, 1969 and 1970 was not
discussed between the agent and petitioner until
several days after the initial contact. It was
petitioner's allegations during the trial, and re-
mains her position, that by reason of the agent's
conduct prior to this discussion she was gravely
apprehensive as to presence of the IRS, and for
that reason she told the agent she had not filed
the returns, whereas she later maintained that the
returns had been filed with IRS in April of 1971.

On October 11, 1972, petitioner delivered to
the agent copies of her personal returns for the
years in question.

It has been the contention of the IRS that the
only purpose of the initial visit to petitioner's
office was for the purpose of audit. Therefore, it
is contended by the prosecution that no warning as

to self-incrimination need be given to the person

being investigated. It is the contention of this

petitioner that she was under criminal investiga-

ERRORS FOR Oye

11

tion from the moment of first contact with the IRS
agent, and the files and records herein substantiate
that contention.

It is the contention of this petitioner that
the IRS agents involved in this matter commenced a
concentrated program whereby this petitioner was to
be entrapped into the commission of a felony and to
bring this case under jurisdiction of 26 U.S.C. &
7201". The matter of the tax practice conducted
through the petitioner's office seemed to be the
matter of earlier concern of the IRS. The files
disclose that the business was conducted prope-ly
and as a joint association between petitioner and
two other women.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THIS WRIT

AS TO QUESTION NO. 1

Merely classifying an IRS agent as merely an
auditing agent is not in itself sufficient to im-

mune his real purposes from constitutional guaran-

1.
Transcript pages 16) thru 166

‘EAB OP 4

teh igh TEE wes

I ple as nts Leas

Dieser ciate

12
tees. In the case at hand, the agent was not from
his initial contact merely seeking to audit returns.
His purpose was to obtain evidence to confirm some
alleged criminal conduct on the part of petitioner.
The fact that the petitioner's tax practice was
under investigation is ample evidence that petiti-
oner was under suspicion of illegal conduct. An
agent may so testify that his only purpose was to
conduct an audit, but his actions confirm that his
purpose was that of investigation. Under such cir-
cumstances, the absence of any warnings to the
suspect of the right to remain silent was proper
grounds for the trial court to sustain objection to
allowing the agent to testify as to any conversa-
tions between the agent and the suspect. This
petitioner was not given any constitutional rights
warning until April 18, 1973, and the disregard of
the court of this fact was prejudicial error.

AS TO QUESTION PRESENTED NO. 2

Where objection was raised under the Best

Evidence rule as to admission of copies, it was the

13
duty of the court to at least inquire as to the
possible existence of original documents. The
first witness presented by the prosecution in this
case was an employee of the Internal Revenue Ser-
vice's Service Center in Ogden, Utah, who testi-
fied that a search of the records at the center
revealed returns filed for the petitioner on the
llth day of October, 19721 On cross-examination
of the intelligence agent’ the petitioner was able
to ascertain that the returns did not leave the
Fargo office of the IRS until May of 1973. There-
fore, herein lies one of the most flagrant incon-
sistencies of record. The witness from the IRS
center in Ogden, Utah was not asked by the U. S.
Attorney to identify the returns attempted to be
later used in evidence. The petitioner contends
that she prepared original returns from the informa-
tion contained on the handwritten work copies that

were delivered by her to the agent, and that these

1
Transcript, page 11
2Transcript, page 165

1h

4

4 original typed returns were mailed by her to the

: then IRS office in Kansas City on April ?1, 1971!
Considerable emphasis was placed by the prosecu-
tion on the fact that petitioner did not prepare
the returns until after the agent contacted her.
The record verifies that the returns had been pre-
pared by the petitioner (with the assistance of the

2
two women in her office) in the spring of 1971.

BS sRiH hi LN le aa

It was during this part of the testimony that it

cease SSK DE:

was established that it was not until the spring

j
:
;
i
|

of 1971, after the returns had been prepared, that
petitioner was aware that she had any substantial
tax bill for the years in question.” Frem the

facts established (from what petitioner acknowledges

to be a somewhat confused record), the trial court

was in error in sustaining the prosecution's posi-
tion and not ruling on petitioner's objections that

the copies of the tax returns were not original

documents.

1. Transcript, pages 175 thru 188; pages 200-201
2. Transcript, page 97
36 Transcript, page 201

xr ao) he De Rs ee a eS

15

AS TO QUESTIONS PRESENTED NO. 3

The essential issue in this case is the mean-
ing of the word "Willfullness" as used in 26 U.S.C.
& 7203. The lower courts having a lack of unifor-
mity in their interpretations of the meaning and
intent of the word "Willfullness" as so used, there
exists the necessity of obtaining the interpreta-
tion of the Supreme Court in order to have uni-
formity among the lower courts.

It is the content‘ on of petitioner that to be
guilty of violation of 26 U.S.C. & 7203, the ac-
cused must be possessed of a state of mine and pur-
pose to intentional violate the law at the time
of the alleged crime, and that the accused acted
with an evil motive and bad intent.

The trial court's instruction to the jury in
this case on the subject of willfullness reads:

"The specific intent of willfulness is
an essential element of the crime of failure to
file an income tax return. The word "willfully"
used in connection with this offense means delib-

erately, and intentionally, and without justifi-
able excuse, or with the wrongful purpose of

Ne ke ee eS ee ee ee ee

16

deliberately intending not to file a return which
defendant knew she should have filed, in order to
prevent the Government from knowing the extent of,
and knowing the facts material to, the determina-
tion of her tax liability.

Defendant's conduct is not "willful" if she
acted through negligence, inadvertence, or mis-
take, or due to her good faith misunderstanding
of the requirements of the law. It should be
pointed out, however, that disagreement with the
law is not a defense. It is the duty of all

citizens to obey the law whether they agree with
it or not."

Petitioner had requested the following in-

struction:

"2, Willfulness is an essential element of
the crime of which defendant is charged in the
indictment. An act is done "willfully" if done
purposely with the specific intent to disregard
the law, or to do that which the law forbids,
and further means an act done with a bad purpose,
the existence of specific wrongful intent, and
evil motive at the time the crime charged was
committed; mere laxity, careless disregard of
duty imposed by law, or even gross negligence,
unattended by "evil motive," is not probative of
willfulness."

Petitioner entered specific objection to the

court's proposed instruction. The trial court de-
clined to consider or give petitioner's requested

above set forth instruction.

Pen

17

Petitioner freely admitted that her act in
failing to file the returns on time had been one
of carelessness on her part; however, the essen-
tial element of the crime would be the mental
attitude and conduct of the accused at the time
of the alleged crimes, not the attitude and con-
duct several years later. At the time of this
trial the petitioner had endured nearly two years
of harassment from the IRS, and after an ordeal
of such nature she may have displayed qualities
of hostility to the service.

The decisions of the Supreme Court on the
subject of "Willfullness" support the petitioner's

contentions. In United States v. Murdock, 290 U.S.

389, the court in considering the context of the
misdemeanor section concluded that willful as an
element of the offense connoted "bad faith or evil
intent", and stated:

"Here we are concerned with a statute

which denounces a willful failure to do various
things thought to be requisite to a proper ad-

tia st

dey

eT
iecbis ROMER SAI SL LEASE PEERED LN GRRL ASOT

epee.

18

ministration of the income tax law, and the
Government, in the trial below, we think
correctly, assumed that it carried the burden
of showing more than a mere voluntary failure
to supply information, with intent, in good
faith, to exercise a privilege granted the
witness by the Constitution. The respondent's
refusal to answer was intentional and without
legal justification, but the jury might never-
theless find that it was not prompted by bad
faith or evil intent, which the statute makes
an element of the offense. (Emphasis supplied)

In the more recent case of United States v.

Bishop, hl? U. S. 346 (1973), the court said:

"Until Congress speaks otherwise, we
therefore shall continue to require, in both
tax felonies and tax misdemeanors that must be
done "willfully," the bad purpose or evil mo-
tive described in Murdock, supra."

In Spies v. United States, 317 U. S. 92, the

court stated that "willfullness" for the purposes
of both the misdemeanor and felony of "willfully"
attempting to evade taxes includes " "some ele-
ment of evil motive and want of justification in

view of the financial circumstances of the tax-

payer." '

In the case at hand, the lower courts have

read into this matter their own conjectures.

19

The majority opinion of the Circuit Court of
Appeals en banc states that the issue involved was
that petitioner had failed to file her tax returns
in protest against single taxpayer prejudice. As
far as petitioner's defense was concerned, she had
never raised this issue, but the issue was used by
the prosecution to incur jury prejudice’.

"Bad purpose and evil motive to disobey the
law" is essential to the existence of criminal in-
tent, and the failure of the trial court to so ine
struct. the jury in petitioner's case, or in any
case, will result in prejudicial reasoning by a
jury charged, and did result in prejudicial rea-
soning by the jury.

AS TO QUESTION PRESENTED NO.

During the course of petitioner's testimony
she stated that she had been unable to elicit any
information from the investigating agents as to why

or as to what she was being charged, and that she

1-Transcript, page 105

a
Ki
5
‘i
-—
4
4
4
a
%
Re
x
a
|
4
4
Z
4
2
2
a
i
¥
%
A
}
4
<
%
e
4
4
4
$
%
4
3
|
9
4
Md
:
|
:
4
;
4%
‘
:

20

had visited the Regional Office of the IRS in St.
Paul, Minnesota in August of 1973 in an attempt to
ascertain the facts of the investigation.

Herein again lies a facet of the trial pro-
ceedings highly prejudicial to the petitioner. The
U. Se Attorney seised upon the fact that petition-
er had finally been advised to a degree of charges
she faced after visiting the St. Paul Regional
office. In particular, the record Ai ecloses that
the U. S. Attorney in his argument to the jury made
references to petitioner's visit to St. Paul wherein
she is alleged to have said that her defense would
be - -"financial problems and also that they could-
n't prove willfulness and so forth." These issues
were not discussed during the cross-examination of
petitioner by the U. S. Attorney concerning her
visit to St. Paul, and such references were purely
hearsay, violative of the accused's rights under

the Sixth Amendment relating to the right of con-

1.
Transcript, page 203
2.franscript, page 226

|.

22
frontation of witnesses against him, and constitut-
ed Plain Error under Rule 5? (b) of the Federal
Rules of Criminal Procedure.

AS TO QUESTION PRESENTED NO. 5

In his argument to the jury the U.S. Attorney
told the jury that the matter of criminal intent on
the part of petitioner could not be proved by any
direct evidence. but that the defendant should be
convicted on circumstantial evidence. That peti-
tioner was evasive with the investigating agents
is not denied, but in the light of facts of record
wherein these agents were attempting to entrap the
petitioner into the commission of a felony, it is
argued that petitioner had ample reason to be wary.
The fact that petitioner was not financially able
to cope with the demands made upon her for business,
personal and tax reasons should not be grounds for
labeling her as a criminal. Where there is a fact-

ual situation wherein the accused is maintaining a

luxurious standard of living, participating in some
1.

Transcript, page 228

22

questionable business or anti-social activities,
or is advocating defiance of the law, the Govern-
ment may be justified in its use of the Internal
Revenue Service to keep civil order. However, the
record in this case substantiates that petitioner
was not in any manner involved in any fraudulent
activities, that her activities as a tax practit-
ioner were free of any questionable practices, and
there was no showing of any unethical or question-
able activities in the conduct of her legal work.
Notwithstanding that the IRS investigation revealed
nothing more than that petitioner had been sub ject-
ed for many years to difficult financial demands
and had devoted a substantial amount of her time
and energies to public service, a jury is told by
the prosecution that she should be convicted by
what he, the prosecutor says. The prosecution had
unlimited means, both in form of finances and in
form of personnel, to produce witnesses against the
petitioner and to produce direct evidence, had the

same existed. The or.ly witnesses produced by the

23

prosecution were people who verified that the peti-
tioner had earned a certain gross income, and that
from time to time the petitioner had borrowed money.
None of these activities should be construed to
constitute a criminal intent.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons this petition for

a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

hg” ; ‘ )
. Loup Ce Jods 4 Jubhovrarn
Beren « M. Pohiman
Attorney per se
Enderlin, North Dakota 58027

FOR THE APPELEE AND RESPONDENT:

Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D. C. 20530

Mr. Harold O. Bullis
United States Attorney
Federal Courts Building
Fargo, North Dakota 58102

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 74-1759

———

United States of America, :
*
Appellee, $

* Appeal from the United States

v * District Court for the
* District of North Dakota.

a
Berentjye C. M. Pohlman, i
*
Appellant. ss

Submitted: December 11, 1974.

Filed: February 11, 1975.

Refore LAY and BRIGHT, Circuit Judges, and TALBOT SMITH,
Senior District Judge.*

LAY, Circuit Judge.

Berentje C. M. Pohlman, a practicing attorney in Enderlin,
North Dakota, was convicted by a jury of willfully failing to
file her individual income tax returns for the years 1968, 1969
and 1970 in violation of 26 U.S.C. § 7203. Ms. Pohlman's basic
defense was that she served as City Attorney of Enderlin in
1969 and as Mayor in 1970, and that she was so involved and busy
in these positions, as well as with certain personal problems,
that she did not realize until late in 1970 that she had earned

TALBOT SMITH, Senior District Judge, Eastern District
of Michigan, sitting by designation.

APPENDIX A 1

income sufficient to require filing. She maintained all her
files and records and when visited by a field auditor of the
Internal Revenue Service in early October 1972, she prepared
returns for each of the years in question and filed them. On
appeal she appears pro se, as she did in the trial court,
raising several errors. We need only discuss her attack on
the instruction given by the trial court concerning the element
of willfulness. We find this to have been reversible error
and vacate the judgment of conviction and remand for a new
trial.

2 when a

Title 26 U.S.C. § 7203 makes it a misdemeanor
person “willfully fails . . . to make such return [as required
by law] . . . at the time or times required by law . . ." (empha-

Sis added). The court declined to give defendant's requested

1. Ms. Pohlman contends the trial court erred in per-
mitting Agent Engelmann to relate the conversation which occurred
in her office on October 3, 1972, during which she admitted not
having filed the returns since she was not informed of her con-
stitutional right to remain silent prior to the conversation.

She was not in custody, however, at the time of the conversa-
tion and we have frequently held that no warning need be given
during a noncustodial investigation. See United States v.
MacLeod, 436 F.2d 947, 950 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 402 U.S.

307, rehearin denied, 402 U.S. 990 (1971); United States v.
Brevik, 422 F.2d 449, 450 (8th Cir. ), cert. denied, 398 U.S.
943 T1970) ; United States v. Ping, 407 F.2d 15? (8th Cir.
1969); Muse v. United States, ioe F.2d 40, 41 (8th Cir. 1968),
cert. denied, 393 U.S. 111? (1969); Cohen v. United States, 405

F.2d 34, 35-40 eth Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 394 U.S. 943
(1969). See also cases cited at 405 F.2d 3? n.7.

2. The defendant was fined a total of $1500.00 and placed
on probation for two years.

instruction on the meaning of willfulness? and, over her
specific objection, gave the following:

The specific intent of willfulness is an essen-
tial element of the crime of failure to file an in-
come tax return. The word “willfully” used in
connection with this offense means deliberately, and
intentionally, and without justifiable excuse, or
with the wrongful purpose of deliberately intending
not to file a return which defendant knew she should
have filed, in order to prevent the Government from
knowing the extent of, and knowing the facts material
to, the determination of her tax liability.

Defendant's conduct is not "willful" if she
acted through negligence, inadvertence, or mistake,
or due to her good faith misunderstanding of the
requirements of the law. It should be pointed out,
however, that disagreement with the law is not a
defense. It is the duty of all citizens to obey
the law whether they agree with it or not.

She contends that the court's instruction did not adequately
define “willfully” as that word is used in § 7203. We agree.
The controlling authorities are United States v. Bishop, 412 U.S.
346 (1973), and United States v. Murdock, 290 U.S. 389 (1933).

3. The requested instruction was:

2. Willfulness is an essential element of the
crime of which defendant is charged in the indict-
ment. An act is done “willfully” if done purposely
with the specific intent to disregard the law, or to
do that which the law forbids, and further means an
act done with a bad purpose, the existence of specific
wrongful intent, and evil motive at the time the crime
charged was committed; mere laxity, careless disre-
gard of duty imposed by law, or even gross negligence,
unattended by "evil motive," is not probative of
willfulness.

4. This instruction is taken, with minor changes, from 2
Devitt & Blackmar, Federal Jury Practice and Instruction § 52.31
(1970).

APPENDIX A -3-

EER RS IRE

In Murdock, the defendant had refused to supply information
to the Internal Revenue Service concerning deductions claimed
in his 1927 and 1928 income tax returns. He insisted that
the Fifth Amendment permitted him to refuse the information since
it would incriminate him under state law. He was charged with
and convicted of willfully failing to supply the information.
In upholding the reversal of his conviction, the Court discussed
the meaning to be given the word "willfully" in tax crime
statutes:

The word often denotes an act which is inten-
tional, or knowing, or voluntary, as distinguished
from accidental. But when used in a criminal statute
it generally means an act done with a bad purpose ....
290 U.S. at 394.

Here we are concerned with a statute which de-
nounces a willful failure to do various things
thought to be requisite to a proper administration
of the income tax law, and the Government, in the
trial below, we think correctly, assumed that it
carried the burden of showing more than a mere
voluntary failure to supply information, with intent,
in good faith, to exercise a privilege granted the
witness by the Constitution. The respondent's re-
fusal to answer was intentional and without legal
justification, but the jury might nevertheless find
that it was not prompted by bad faith or evil intent,
which the statute makes an element of the offense.
Id. at 397-98 (emphasis added) .

In Bishop, the Court was faced with the question of whether
the word "willfully," as used in those several statutes defining
misdemeanor tax crimes, had the same stringent meaning it had
been accorded when used in the definition of a felony tax crime.
The Court not only found that it did but went on to emphasize

the necessity for determining the "bad purpose"

articulated
in Murdock:

- » The Court's consistent interpretation
of the word “willfully” to require an element of
mens rea implements the pervasive intent of Congress
to construct penalties that separate the purposeful
tax violator from the well-meaning, but easily
confused, mass of taxpayers.

Until Congress speaks otherwise, we therefore
shall continue to require, in both tax felonies
and tax misdemeanors that must be done “willfully,”

the bad purpose or evil motive described in Murdock,
supra.

412 U.S. at 361.

Defendant's basic contention is that the court's instruc-
tion failed to sufficiently describe the requirement of wrongful

intent and evil motive required under the law. Several cases

have held both before and after Bishop that the specific words
“bad purpose" or “evil motive” need not be used by the courts
in defining the element of willfulness. See cases collected in
Cooley v. United States, 501 F.2d 1249 (9th Cir. 1974), and
United States v. Hawk, 497 F.2d 365 (9th Cir.), cert.
95 S.Ct. 67 (1974).

denied,
What is required, however, is that the
instruction convey “the proper notion of specific intent in
understandable terms."

United States v. Hawk, supra at 369.
As the Seventh Circuit observed in United States v
421 F.2d 410,

. Matosky,
412 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 398 U.S. 904 (1970),
"the only bad purpose or bad motive necessary for the government

to prove is a deliberate intention not to file returns which the

defendant knew ought to be filed." This court approved such

an instruction under § 7203 in Lumetta v. United States, 362

" a, fs SV PORES POET ES Re
VP eine Pe Sot iain ented) :

—

F.2d 644 (8th Cir. 1966).>

The basic question in the present case is whether the
trial court sufficiently and accurately defined the specific
intent required. Concededly there is no mention of “bad
purpose” as used in Lumetta and other cases decided previously
by this court. See also United States v. MacLeod, 436 F.2d
947, 950 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 402 U.S. 907 (1971).

The art of instructing a jury in plain and understandable
terms requires, on the part of the trial judge, an acute aware-
ness of the extraordinary demands made upon him in the skill of

communication. In many trial courts the practice varies as to
whether or not the jury charge goes to the jury room, ° but where
under either procedure there lurk shortcomings or dangers in
effectively communicating to the jury, the charge should always
seek out explicit and clear language in layman's terms.
Unfortunately, as has often been said, the trial court writes
instructions in terms more for the benefit of the appellate
court than for the lay jury.

The questioned instruction does attempt to imply that "bad
purpose” may be an element of the crime by excluding from the

—_—

7 The full instruction in Lumetta, however, was later
disapproved in a post-Bishop case since it erroneously embodied
Murdock language which allowed a definition of willfulness to
include "careless or reckless disregard." See United States v.
Bengimina, 499 F.2d 117 (8th Cir. 1974).

6. In this circuit, we have recently held that furnish-
ing written instructions to the jury lies within the discretion
of the trial court. See, United States v. Johnson, 466 F.2d 537
(8th Cir. 1972), cert. denied, 409 U.S. Lill (1973).

meaning of “willful” “negligence, inadvertence or mistake

Or . . . good faith misunderstanding of the requirements of
the law." The instruction mentions that willful does include
the wrongful purpose of deliberately intending not to file a
return when the defendant knew she should file. However, the
court prefaces this meaning by saying that “willfully” also
means doing something “deliberately and intentionally, and

without justifiable excuse." Yet early in Murdock the Supreme

Court observed that one who acts deliberately and intentionally
and without legal justification must still be found not guilty
if he did not possess, in addition, a state of mind which

manifested a bad purpose or evil motive to violate the law.
Murdock at 397-98.

Here the defendant attempted to justify her failure to
file her returns because of the pressing demands of her public
and private life. There is no doubt that she did not have a
legal justification for failing to comply with the law. The
jury was told that if it found the defendant did not have a
justifiable excuse for failing to file this alone would be
sufficient to convict her. Herein lies the prejudice. Under
the charge the jury could have believed the reason Ms. Pohlman
gave for failing to file, a reason which negates mens rea if
believed, and yet have found her guilty. Their verdict could
have resulted from a belief that, although this was the reason,
it was not justifiable under the law. As discussed, more is
required to be culpable under the statute. The jury must find
that her failure to file arose from a bad motive and evil intent

to commit an illegal act, fully aware of her legal obligation
to do otherwise.

7 In setting this meaning off from the rest of the
instruction the court uses the disjunctive “or".

APPENDIX A -7-

a

Since bad purpose and evil motive are essential elements
of willfulness under § 7203, we see no reason that the jury
should be afforded the ambiguity of an instruction which possi-
bly denotes otherwise. If these are essential elements of the
misdemeanor the jury should be told so in plain and unambiguous
terms. As this court reaffirmed in United States v. Achtenberg,
459 F.2d 91 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 932 (1972):

“Obviously, if the jury is to function effect-
ively, it must be given a clear statement of each
element which the Government must prove. The ele-
ments, as expressed in the statute, are hardly set
forth with sufficient clarity to permit the jury to
perform its duty intelligently. . ri

Id. at 97, quoting from Jackson v. United States, 348 F.2d 772,
774 (D.C. Cir. 1965).8

8. A much preferable instruction is found in another recent
Ninth Circuit case, United States v. Klee, 494 F.2d 394 (9th
Cir. 1974):

The term willfully used in the statute which
I have read to you, that is, referring to one who
willfully fails to make such a return, means volun-
tary, purposeful, deliberate and intentionally [sic],
as distinguished from accidental, inadvertent, or
negligent.

Mere negligence, even gross negligence, is not
sufficient to constitute willfulness under the
criminal law.

The failure to make a timely return is willful
if the defendant's failure to act was voluntary and
purposeful, and with the specific intent to fail to
do what he knew the law requires to be done; that is
to say, with a bad purpose or evil motive to disobey
or disregard the law which requires to (sic) file a
timely return which discloses to the government
facts material to the determination of his tax
liability.

Judgment reversed and remanded for a new trial.”

A true copy.
Attest:

CLERK, U.S. COURT OF APPEALS, EIGHTH CIRCUIT.

8. (continued)

There is no necessity that the government prove
that the defendant had an intention to defraud it,
or to evade the payment of any taxes, for the de-
fendant's failure to file to be willful under this
provision of the law.

On the other hand, the defendant's conduct is
not willful if you find that he failed to file a
return because of negligence, inadvertence, acci-
dent or reckless disregard for the requirements of
. the law, or due to his good faith misunderstanding
of the requirements of the law.
494 F.2d at 395.

9. Although the defendant represented herself at the
trial and in this court and was successful here, we strongly
urge her to retain independent counsel in the event this
matter is to be retried. The degree of personal involvement
by a defendant-lawyer in a criminal proceeding makes it extremely
difficult for that person to fairly and objectively evaluate
the facts and legal issues. We are confident from the record
presented that the defendant's attempt to represent herself
before the jury materially prejudiced her case. The written
briefs and oral presentation made by the defendant in the
present case were disorganized, confusing and difficult for
this court to follow. In the event the defendant is without
funds, she should investigate with the trial court the possible
appointment of counsel under the Criminal Justice Act.

United States Court of Appeals APPENDIX B
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 74-1759

United States of America,

Appeal from the United
States District Court
for the District of
North Dakota

Appellee,

Berentje C. M. Pohlman,

ee ee ee ee

Appellant.

Submitted: June ll, 1975

Filed: august 27, 1975

Before GIBSON, Chief Judge, LAY, HEANEY, BRIGHT, ROSS,
STEPHENSON, WEBSTER, and HENLEY, Circuit Judges, en banc.

GIBSON, Chief Judge.

Defendant Berentje C. M. Pohlman was convicted by a jury
of willfully failing to file her tax returns for 1968, 1969
and 1970 in violation of 26 U.S.C. § 7203 (1970). On appeal
a panel of this court found that the jury had not been properly
instructed on the issue of willfulness and reversed her con-
viction. Thereafter a majority of the judges in active service
on this court voted to rehear the case en banc, which action
vacated the panel opinion. After full consideration by the
court en banc, we find none of the issues raised by appellant
merit reversal and affirm the conviction.

Pohlman, a practicing attorney in Enderlin, North Dakota,
according to her testimony at trial had prepared thousands of
tax returns and was fully aware of the Internal Revenue Code
provisions requiring the filing of tax returns. She, however,
did not file her personal returns for the years in question
until October, 1972, after a visit by an IRS field auditor.

The reasons given at trial were that she was involved in her
positions as City Attorney and Mayor of Enderlin in 1969 and
1970 and had some personal problems so that she did not realize
until after the filing deadlines that she had income sufficient
to require filing. The returns introduced into evidence at
trial indicated that in 1968 she had a gross income from her
profession of $22,785 and a taxable income of $7,988; for 1969
she had a gross income of $18,452 and taxable income of $3,269;
and for 1970 a gross income of $28,896 and $8,278 taxable income.

Error is asserted in the trial court's refusal to give
Pohlman's requested instruction on willfulness.! The follow-
ing instruction, substantially identical to that in 2 E.
Devitt & C. Blackmar, Federal Jury Practice and Instructions

lobe fendant's requested instruction read:

2. Willfulness is an essential element of
the crime of which defendant is charged in the
indictment. An act is done "willfully" if done
purposely with the specific intent to disregard
the law, or to do that which the law forbids,
and further means an act done with a bad purpose,
the existence of specific wrongful intent, and
evil motive at the time the crime charged was
committed; mere laxity, careless disregard of
duty imposed by law, or even gross negligence,
unattended by “evil motive,” is not probative
of willfulness.

§ 52.31 (1970), was given over Pohlman's specific objection:

The specific intent of willfulness is an
essential element of the crime of failure to
file an income tax return. The word "will-
fully” used in connection with this offense
means deliberately, and intentionally, and
without justifiable excuse, or with the wrong-
ful purpose of deliberately intending not to
file a return which defendant knew she should
have filed, in order to prevent the Government
from knowing the extent of, and knowing the
facts material to, the determination of her
tax liability.

Defendant's conduct is not "willful" if
she acted through negligence, inadvertance,
Or mistake, or due to her good faith mis-
understanding of the requirements of the law.
It should be pointed out, however, that dis-
agreement with the law is not a defense. It
is the duty of all citizens to obey the law
whether they agree with it or not.

The panel decision, in agreeing with Pohlman that the
trial court's charge did not adequately describe the concept
of willfulness, would require the Government to prove not only
that the act was done deliberately, intentionally and without
justifiable excuse, but additionally that the defendant had
a state of mind which manifested a bad purpose or evil motive
to violate the law. It thus would allow a defendant to argue
that his motive in refusing to file was good, i.e., it was his
manner of protest against wasteful governmental expenditures,
expenditures that go for inappropriate or evil purposes, or
the higher taxation of single taxpayers as was an issue in
the present case. We do not think this additional burden is
required.

It is undisputed that the words "evil motive or bad pur-
pose" have been used to convey the concept of willfulness

APPENDIX B -3-

PORTANT RR

embodied in § 7203. United States v. Bishop, 412 U.S. 346,

360 (1973); United States v. Murdock, 290 U.S. 389, 398 (1933);
United States v. McCorkle, 511 F.2d 482, 485 (7th Cir. 1975)
(en banc), petition for cert. filed, 17 Cr.L.Rep. 4082 (U.S.
May 1, 1975) (No. 74-1371). The Supreme Court in Murdock v.
United States, supra at 397-98, did state that:

The respondent's refusal to answer was inten-
tional and without legal justification, but

the jury might nevertheless find that it was
not prompted by bad faith or evil intent, which
the statute makes an element of the offense.

Additionally, in Bishop v. United States, 412 U.S. 346 (1973),
the Court stated that it would "continue to require, in both

tax felonies and tax misdemeanors that must be done ‘will-
fully,' the bad purpose or evil motive described in Murdock,

supra."

We do not read this, however, to indicate that the Court
was engrafting onto the statute a requirement that the Govern-
ment prove anything beyond establishing that defendant's action
was deliberate, intentional and without justifiable excuse, or
otherwise stated, a voluntary, intentional violation of a known
legal duty. In the same discussion in Bishop, the latest

2the claim that the trial court's instruction does not
adequately define willfulness is premised on the use of
"without justifiable excuse” when the Supreme Court indicated
in Murdock that it was not enough for the Government to prove
that an action was "without legal justification." We believe
that these two concepts are different and that “without justi-
fiable excuse” includes the concept intended by the Court's
“bad purpose" or “evil motive” language. An act might well
be without legal justification (i.e., the refusal to disclose
sources of income in reliance on a nonexistent Fifth Amendment
privilege, as in Murdock) but could be done with justifiable
excuse (i.e., a good-faith reliance on the Fifth Amendment

inion

Supreme Court case in this area, the Court stated:

The Court, in fact, has recognized that the
word "willfully" in these statutes generally con-
notes a voluntary, intentional violation of a
known legal duty. It has formulated the require-
ment of willfulness as “bad faith or evil intent,"
Murdock, 290 U.S., at 398, or “evil motive and
want Of justification in view of all the financial
circumstances of the taxpayer,” Spies, 317 U.S.,
at 498, or knowledge that the taxpayer “should
have reported more income than he did." Sansone,
380 U.S., at 353.

Bishop v. United States, Supra at 360.

2 continued

privilege, as in Murdock). We think the Supreme Court was

concerned in Murdock that the Government have to prove that
an act was done without justifiable excuse, that is, with a
bad purpose or evil motive, and could not rely upon showing
the lack of a legal justification to establish willfulness.

However, it must be recognized that clar ty and unam-
biguity are the hallmarks of a good jury instruction. In
light of the similarity in language between the two concepts
discussed above we think it would be preferable that future
instructions on willfulness not embody the language of “with-
out justifiable excuse." We would suggest that the first
paragraph of the instruction given by the trial court herein
be modified to provide that:

Willfulness is an essential element of
the crime of failure to file an income tax
return. The word "willfully" used in connec-
tion with this offense means a voluntary,
intentional violation of a known legal duty,
or otherwise stated, with the wrongful pur-
pose of deliberately intending not to file a
return which defendant knew she should have
filed, in order to prevent the Government
from knowing the extent of, and knowing the
facts material to, the determination of her
tax liability.

APPENDIX Bg

Thus, rather than indicating that "bad purpose or evil
motive" is a requirement to be proved in addition to the
voluntary, intentional violation of a known legal duty, the
Court's statement indicates that “bad purpose or evil motive"
is merely another way to convey the concept of willfulness.

See United States v. McCorkle, 5ll F.2d 482 (7th Cir. 1975)

(en banc) .?

Cases decided both before and after Bishop have been in
agreement that “willfully” as used in § 7203 requires only

that the Government prove a voluntary, intentional violation

of a known legal duty. United States v. McCorkle, 5ll F.2d

3rhe court stated therein:

Contrary to the defendant's contentions, we
believe that the Court employed the terms
“bad purpose” and "evil motive" as a con-
venient method of referring to the longer
definition of “willfully” as a “voluntary,
intentional violation of a known legal duty,”
and not as engrafting an intent to defraud
requirement or other similar evil purpose

on that definition.

United States v. McCorkle, 511 F.2d 482, 485 (7th Cir. 1975)

(en banc); accord, United States v. Hawk, 497 F.2d 365, 368
(9th Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 838 (1974).

482 (7th Cir. 1975) (en banc); United States v. Bengimina,
499 F.2d 117 (8th Cir. 1974); United States v. Hawk, 497
F.2d 365 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 838 (1974);
United States v. Klee, 494 F.2d 394 (9th Cir.), cert. denied,
419 U.S. 835 (1974); United States v. Matosky, 421 F.2d 410
(7th Cir.), cert. denied, 398 U.S. 904 (1970); cf. Boardman
v. United States, 419 F.2d 110 (lst Cir. 1969), cert. denied,
397 U.S. 991 (1970).

The trial court's instruction on willfulness in this
case fairly and adequately charged the jury as to what the
Government had to establish to support a conviction. There
was clearly sufficient evidence for the jury to find that
Pohlman's failure to file was a voluntary, intentional
violation of a known legal duty.

In addition to the alleged error in instructions, the
appellant contends that the court erred in the admission
into evidence of conversations with Internal Revenue agents,
receiving into evidence photocopies of her 1968, 1969 and
1970 returns, and use of hearsay evidence in the cross-
examination of appellant.

Agent Engelmann testified to conversations occurring in
Pohlman's office on or about October 3, 1972, without inform-
ing her of her constitutional right to remain silent. In that
conversation she admitted to not having filed the returns.
Noncustodial investigation of this type does not require a
Miranda warning. United States v. MacLeod, 436 F.2d 947, 950
(8th Cir.), cert. denied, 402 U.S. 907 (1971); United States
v. Brevik, 422 F.2d 449, 450 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 398
U.S. 943 (1970); Muse v. United States, 405 F.2d 40, 41 (8th
Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 393 U.S. 1117 (1969); Cohen v.
United States, 405 F.2d 34, 35-40 (8th Cir. 1968), cert.
denied, 394 U.S. 943 (1969).

APPENDIX B -7-

The appellant's objection to admission of photocopies of
her 1968, 1969 and 1970 returns is not well taken. Mr. Engel-
mann, the IRS Field Audit Agent, testified that these photo-
copies were the returns which Pohlman signed in his presence
October 11, 1972. Although Pohlman had contended that they
were merely photocopies of returns she had previously filed,
the record establishes that they were adequately identified
as being the original returns filed with Engelmann October 11,
1972.

The questioning of Pohlman concerning her prior state-
ments to Internal Revenue agents as to her failure to file
returns was not error. The questioning sought testimony as
to Pohlman's prior inconsistent statements. As Pohlman was
a party-defendant, her hearsay statements could properly be
used against her as admissions. United States v. Pistante,
453 F.2d 412 (9th Cir. 1971). See generally McCormick on
Evidence 4 239 (1954).

The judgment of conviction is affirmed.
LAY, HEANEY and BRIGHT, Circuit Judges, Dissenting.

We respectfully dissent. The defendant is entitled to
a new trial based on the trial court's erroneous instruction.

We sense there exists no fundamental disagreement
between the majority and dissenting views herein on the law
governing the definition of willfulness under § 7203. At
issue here is the adequacy of the district court's instructions;
in other words whether the district court properly conveyed
to the jury the necessary elements of the offense under § 7203.

APPENDIX B a,

ENC ER Hct d 2) ON Nae w emangataenmnds Carp De eae Ce a PAR DEAE EERE PEL NT ORIN DT ep LRM

“

The majority concedes lack of clarity in the district court's
instruction and suggests modification of the instruction.
However, in doing so, it finds no prejudicial error.

In view of the Supreme Court opinion in United States v.
Bishop, 412 U.S. 346 (1973), there should exist no major
dispute as to what the term willful means under § 7203.
Bishop emphasized that an essential element of willfulness is
a specific intent to evade the law. The Supreme Court in
Bishop observed:

The Court's consistent interpretation of the word
"willfully" to require an element of mens rea
implements the pervasive intent of Congress to
construct penalties that separate the purposeful
tax violator from the well-meaning, but easily
confused, mass of taxpayers.

Id. at 361.

This court in United States v. Bengimina, 499 F.2d 117
(8th Cir. 1974), recognized that the term willful is
consistent with the rule in Bishop. Judge Gibson in announc-

ing the court's decision at that time wrote:

This requirement of willfulness has been formulated as:

"(Blad faith or evil intent,” Murdock, 290 U.S.
at , or "evil motive and want of justification
in view of all the financial circumstances of the
taxpayer," Spies, 317 U.S., at 498, or knowledge
that the taxpayer “should have reported more in-
come than he did." Sansone, 380 U.S., at 353.
Id. at 119 (emphasis added).

Our earlier panel opinion recognized that it is not
essential to include the terms “bad purpose or evil motive"
in the definition of willfulness as long as the trial court
makes clear that willfulness is a “voluntary, intentional
violation of a known legal duty." The panel also recognized

APPENDIX B -9-

ARM

that the decisions of United States v. Hawk, 497 F.2d 365
(9th Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 838 (1974), United States
v. Klee, 494 F.2d 394 (9th Cir.) cert. denied, 419 U.S. 835
(1974) and United States v. McCorkle, 511 F.2d 482 (7th Cir.
1975) (en banc), petition for cert. filed, 17 Cr.L. 4082
(U.S. May 1, 1975) (No. 74-1371) all hold that the statute
does not require proof of intent to defraud.

The trial court instructed the jury that the defendant
could be convicted if she intended not to file a return when
she knew she should file. However the court also instructed
the jury that the defendant could be guilty under § 7203 if
she simply failed to file "deliberately, intentionally and
without justifiable excuse." i. If we correctly understand
the reasoning of the majority opinion it is urged that
“without justifiable excuse" supplies the missing element
of mens rea, that is the bad purpose and evil motive not to
comply with a known legal duty. The majority reasons that
in the future it would be better to abandon the phrase
“without: justifiable excuse" and instruct specifically
that there must be a voluntary and intentional violation of
a known legal duty. 2. We agree as to the need for new

i. In setting this meaning of willfulness off from the
rest of the instruction the trial court uses the disjunctive
“or.”

2- we fail to understand why the language of the majority
opinion strains so hard to avoid use of the very language the
Supreme Court approved in Murdock and Bishop. "Bad purpose
and evil motive to disobey the law” is clearly an element of
the offense and are words easily phrased and understood. A
much preferred instruction to the abbreviated version suggested
by the majority is approved by the 9th Circuit in United States

APPENDIX B -10-

phraseology, but we respectfully submit the ambiguity result-
ing from the district court's instruction failed to clearly
set forth the necessary requirement of mens rea and resulted
in prejudicial error to the defendant.

, (continued)

v. Klee, supra. The instruction reads:

The term willfully used in the statute which
I have read to you, that is, referring to one who
willfully fails to make such a return, means volun-
tary, purposeful, deliberate and intentionally, [sic]
as distinguished from accidental, inadvertent, or
negligent.

Mere negligence, even gross negligence, is
not sufficient to constitute willfulness under the
criminal law.

The failure to make a timely retirn is willful
if the defendant's failure to act was voluntary and
purposeful, and with the specific intent to fail to
do what he knew the law requires to be done; that is
to say, with a bad purpose or evil motive to disobey
or disregard the law which requires to (sic) file a
timely return which discloses to the government facts
material to the determination of his tax liability.

There is no necessity that the government prove
that the defendant had an intention to defraud it,
or to evade the payment of any taxes, for the de-
fendant's failure to file to be willful under this
provision of the law.

On the other hand, the defendant's conduct is
not willful if you find that he failed to file a
return because of negligence, inadvertence, acci-
dent or reckless disregard for the requirements of
the law, or due to his good faith misunderstanding
of the requirements of the law.
494 F.2d at 395 n. l.

Devitt and Blackmar have recently recommended use of the
9th Circuit instruction. See E. Devitt and C. Blackmar,
Federal Jury Practice and Instructions § 52.31 (Supp. 1975).

APPENDIX B “a”

SNE IR Ode A

The majority reasons that the term “without justifiable
excuse” is simply another way of saying that the jury must
find a wrongful purpose to disobey the law. In so doing,
the majority distinguishes between "without justifiable
excuse” and "without legal justification," asserting that
the former is a subjective standard and includes the necessary
element of mens rea: bad purpose and evil intent. While
distinguishing this from the objective standard of “without
legal justification" is instructive at this point, no such
distinction was drawn for the jury and they may have
confused the two standards. 3

Herein lies the prejudice. The jury could have believed
the reason Ms. Pohlman gave for failing to file, a reason
which negates mens rea, and yet have found her guilty. Their
verdict could have resulted from a belief that, although
the defendant's excuse was the reason, it was not justifiable
under the law. The statute plainly requires more. The jury
must find that her failure to file arose from a bad motive
and evil intent not to file a timely return, fully aware of
her obligation to do otherwise. 4.

3 The term “without justifiable excuse" encompasses at

least the term “without legal justification." Even if it also
encompasses the requisite bad purpose and evil motive, as the
majority argues, there is no way of knowing whether the jury
found the bad purpose required by Murdock and Bishop.

4. The second paragraph of the challenged instruction

does not cure the deficiency created by the ambiguity of the
term “without justifiable excuse.” It is true that the
defendant’s conduct is not “willful” under the statute, "if
she acted through negligence, inadvertance, or mistake, or
due to her good faith misunderstanding of the requirements
of the law." However, these criteria are stated as defenses,

APPENDIX BO~12-

_—

In United States v. McCorkle, supra, the defendant urged
that the trial court failed to instruct that the defendant
could not be convicted of willfulness under § 7203 if he
possessed a “justifiable excuse." The 7th Circuit disagreed
by saying:

Since the instructions required the jury to find an
intentional violation of a known legal duty, it
would have been essential for the jury to conclude
that McCorkle's conduct was unjustified.

51l F.2d at 486.

findings that the defendant's reason was unjustifiable

that it was also an intentional violation of a known legal
duty. An unjustifiable excuse for failure to file does not
necessarily inform a layman that it must necessarily be an
intentional violation of the law and thus the instruction was
deficient.

|
|
However, in this case it was not implicit in the jury's |
|

4. (continued)

and do not specifically define the government's burden to

show that the defendant must have possessed a wrongful

purpose in failing to file. It is imperative for the
instruction to clearly convey that the government must bear

the burden of proving beyond a reasonable doubt that the
defendant had the requisite bad purpose and evil motive to
evade the law's requirements. Thus, the second paragraph

of the instruction is insufficient to cure the ambiguity of the
preceding paragraph.

The first paragraph could have been cured by replacing
the “or" with “and.” If this were done, the jury would have
had to find that the offense was done "deliberately, and
intentionally, and without justifiable excuse," (even if
considered to mean without legal justification) and “with
the wrongful purpose of deliberately intending not to file
a return which defendant knew she should have filed... ."
This would have clearly set out the requirement of bad purpose
and evil motive.

APPENDIX B =-13-

In United States v. Achtenberg, 459 F.2d 91 (8th Cir.)
cert. denied, 409 U.S. 932 (1972) this court emphasized that
prejudicial error occurs when the jury is not. clearly informed
as to the elements of an offense. Our court stated:

“Obviously, if the jury is to function effectively,

it must be given a clear statement of each element

which the Government must prove. The elements,

as expressed in the statute, are hardly set forth

with sufficient clarity to permit the jury to per-

form its duty intelligently ...
Id. at 97, quoting from Jackson v. United States, 348 F.2d 772,
774 (D.C. Cir. 1965).

It is axiomatic where the instruction is equivocal in
a criminal trial the defendant must be given tre benefit of
doubt as to existing prejudice. See Bollenbach v. United States,
326 U.S. 607, 613 (1946).

Here the jury was given the alternative of convicting if
they found the defendant possessed a wrongful purpose to
disobey the law or even if she did not, as long as they
found there did not exist a justifiable excuse for her failure
to file. This was clear error and Ms. Pohlman is entitled to

a new trial.
A true copy.
Attest:

CLERK, U. S. COURT OF APPEALS, EIGHTH CIRCUIT.

APPENDIX B “ae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_1664%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
