# Amicus Curiae Brief — Federal Power Commission v. Consumer Federation of America

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_1379%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 423 U.S. 906

## Text

ee |

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1975
No. 75-227

FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION,
Petitioner,

CONSUMER FEDERATION OF AMERICA, et al,
Respondents.

AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF IN SUPPORT
OF PETITION FOR A WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

I.
INTRODUCTORY STATEMENT

A.Statement of Position and Interest of Amicus
Curiae

This brief amicus curiae is filed by the American Gas
Association (“A.G.A.”), pursuant to Rule 42(1) of the

2

Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States, in
support of Solicitor General’s Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District
of Columbia Decision in Consumer Federation of
America et al. v. Federal Power Commission, 515 F.2d
347, decided March 13, 1975. All parties to this action
have consented to the filing of this brief.

A.G.A. is a non-stock, non-profit corporation in-
corporated under the laws of the State of Delaware. It
is the national trade association for approximately 300
natural gas distribution and transmission companies
serving customers in all 50 states. These companies
serve nearly 90 percent of the natural gas customers in
this country. Natural gas provides about one-third of
our nation’s total energy requirements and, when
energy for transportation is excluded, more than 60
percent of the energy requirements for industry in the
United States. The 900,000-mile pipeline network is the
most efficient and economical energy delivery system
presently available or foreseeable. This national network
of pipes and mains, representing a total investment of
some 50 billion dollars, serves some 160 million of our
population.

Natural gas is the most efficient form of energy
available in the United States for appropriate residential
uses, according to the President’s Council on Environ-
mental Quality. It is also the least polluting fuel
available, a fact which places it in great demand by
industries concerned with achieving air quality stand-
ards; further, its burning characteristics make it
irreplaceable for many industrial processes. Finally it is,
and will continue to be one of our least expensive fuel
resources because of the capital efficiency of the gas
industry itself, as well as its transportation and

3

combustion efficiencies. It is, in short, a premium fuel
for which great demands exist.

The Federal Power Commission (FPC) itself, in the
instant proceeding, in a multitude of other cases prior
to this case, and in other proceedings and reports since
1973 has recognized the existence of the supply
deliverability problem, and the fact that the interstate
consumer in particular has been placed at a severe
disadvantage in competing for available gas supplies by
the lack of pricing restraints upon intrastate customers
in the producing states. It has adopted a variety of
measures to deal with this problem, ranging from
revision of pipeline tariffs to specify the rights and
priorities of pipelines and their customers in curtailed
supply situations, to the measures here at _ issue,
designed to permit interstate consumers to compete on
more equal footing for gas supplies available in the
intrastate market.

At the present time, it is clear that demand for
natural gas far exceeds the supplies dedicated to the
interstate pipelines. Failure to remedy this situation
could jeopardize the more than $30 billion of
unamortized assets of the industry, as well as ultimately
possibly rendering useless the multi-billion dollar
investment of consumers in gas appliances and equip-
ment. Since 1968, A.G.A. has been expressing publicly
a concern about declining supply. In 1970, interstate
pipelines for the first time were required to curtail
contracted-for deliveries, and these curtailments reached
a level of 13.58 percent in 1974.

The validity of FPC determinations of gas supply
shortages is not here at issue, but is well documented
by the findings and reports of other federal agencies of
which this Court may take judicial notice. For example,

:
a |

ee i tere Sunn tuarty

4

in 1974, according to the Federal Energy Administra-
tion, natural gas production declined for the first time,
to 21.2 trillion cubic feet (Tcf), or almost 6 percent
from the 1973 level of 22.5 Tcf. This is equivalent to
over 230 million barrels of crude oil. The greatest
impact will be on industry, especially fertilizer, food, glass,
fiberglass, electric components and electric equipment,
aluminum refractories and kilns, bearings, steel rolling
mills and plastics. Consumers will feel the impact of the
shortages in the form of higher prices charged them for
goods and_ services produced using more costly
petroleum fuels.

While the impact of the natural gas shortage will be
minimized by the availability of Alaska and outer
continental shelf reserves, the exploration, production,
and distribution problems inherent in developing those
reserves are substantial and will forestall delivery for a
significant period of time.

The Federal Energy Administration reports that the
nation’s network of interstate gas pipelines will be short
1.3 Tcf of the 9.0 Tcf of gas needed for the November
1975 to March 1976 winter heating season or a
shortage 30 percent greater than the nation endured last
winter. On an annual basis, it has also been predicted
that the nation will be short 2.9 Tcf of the
approximately 20 Tcf it will need. This constitutes a
cutback which is 45 percent worse than endured in
1974. See Federal Energy Administration, The Natural
Gas Shortage: A Preliminary Report, August 28, 1975,
at 3.

In the meantime, the shortage of natural gas will
cause plant closures and loss of jobs in affected parts of
the country and will generally contribute to adverse
economic conditions. Ten or twelve states face severe

—

A

5

curtailments this winter. These include the mid-Atlantic
states stretching from New York to South Carolina and
several midwestern states, such as Ohio, West Virginia
and Kentucky. Curtailments in these areas are primarily
due to cutbacks by five interstate pipelines.’ For
example, United Gas Pipeline Co., Texas Eastern and
TRANSCO incurred, respectively, 41.42 percent, 21.45
percent, and 27.70 percent curtailment of firm
requirements for the year April 1974 - March 1975 and
will incur a projected deficiency of 47.65 percent,
25.72 percent, and 40.53 percent, respectively, for the
year April 1975 - March 1976. See FPC Press Release
21454, June 6, 1975, at Schedule I. Further, it is
expected that these shortages will increase in the next
few years.

The legislative and executive branches as well as
cognizant administrative agencies, of states and the
federal government are groping for long term solutions
to the nation’s natural gas crisis. There is no single
answer. Regulatory innovation, such as at issue in
Consumer Federation, and indeed pragmatic experi-
mentation will be required to develop requisite curative
devices.

B. Statement of the Case

The present case arises from Federal Power Com-
mission Order No. 491, issued September 14, 1973,

' Representing, according to FEA statistics, nearly 80% of the
volume of projected curtailments are Columbia Gas Transmission
Corp., El Paso Natural Gas Co., Texas Eastern Transmission Co.,
United Gas Pipeline Co., and Transcontinental Gas Pipeline Corp.
(TRANSCO). FEA Preliminary Report, at 4.

ae ee hae tht hie ua ied

6

which attempted to deal with projected gas shortages
during the 1973-74 heating season. Order No. 491
extended from 60 to 180 days the exemption from the
certification requirement of Section 7 of the Natural
Gas Act of 1938 (the “Act’’) permitting short-term
emergency sales of natural gas at prices above FPC area
rates to pipelines experiencing or facing gas shortages or
curtailments of service. The Commission indicated,
however, that any such pipeline purchases would be
subject to review under Sections 4 and 5 of the Act.
After many procedural steps (set forth in the Solicitor
General’s petition), the order was finalized on November 2,
1973. Thereafter an appeal was taken to the Court of
Appeals, which set aside Order No. 491 after which the
instant Petition for Writ of Certiorari was filed. The
Court of Appeals concluded that the FPC lacked the
authority to promulgate Order No. 491 because the
Section 7(c) exemption in the Act was never intended
to include large, widespread deliveries of gas for up to
180 days without hearings and also because it violated
the just and reasonable rate standard of Sections 4 and
5 of the Act.

7
II.

THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF |
APPEALS SHOULD BE REVIEWED UNDER
A WRIT OF CERTIORARI FOR PURPOSES
OF DECIDING THE IMPORTANT
QUESTION OF THE AUTHORITY OF THE
FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION TO DEAL ;
WITH EMERGENCY SHORTAGES OF
INTERSTATE PIPELINE GAS SUPPLIES. i

§

A.G.A. believes that the Commission has_ the i
authority under Section 7(c) of the Act to exempt
pricing of emergency gas sales from the normal
certification requirements of Section 7, and that 180
days is not an unreasonable time for the FPC, in its
discretion, to select and, with the exception noted
below, the Commission properly exercised its discretion
in the instant proceeding. In a period of grave national
emergency, administrative agencies charged with
responsibility for an area of national concern should be
granted reasonable latitude to deal with the subjects of
their expertise. It is most urgent, in view of the
increasing shortages of natural gas since Order No. 491
was first promulgated, that this Court define this
emergency authority under Section 7(c) of the Act to
enable the FPC to deal with such matters.

On the other hand, it should be pointed out that one
consequence of Order No. 491 is to cause the pipelines
to assume the risk that the Commission in subsequent
Section 4 or 5 proceedings might consider the price
paid for these emergency purchases to be unjust or

unreasonable. A.G.A. believes that this consequence is
counterproductive, as a pipeline, even if faced with cur-

{ PRE IOS LT IIE RIES TS NIE SE TE MOT TE IN LG Ne EO EES A ET A Te ee CNEL SO OES ee |

faked. SIE Tea

*
&
> |
4
.
4

| RS Lt

8

tailments will not be likely to buy gas that may be avail-
able at a premium if it runs the risk that it will not be
able to recover its cost for such purchased gas.

Ii.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, A.G.A., on behalf of
its pipeline and distribution company members serving
the public, respectfully submits that the Petition for a
Writ of Certiorari to U.S. Court of Appeals for the

-° District of Columbia Circuit should be granted and that

the decision of the Court of Appeals should be
reviewed by this Court.

Respectfully submitted,

F. BOSLEY CROWTHER, III
1515 Wilson Boulevard
Room 1111

Arlington, Virginia 22209

Counsel for Amicus Curiae
American Gas Association
Of Counsel:

ALBERT J. FRANCESE

Dated: September 10, 1975

a
om
¥
I
a)

~ ‘

LIBRARY
IN THE | MICHAEL ROD: ane.
Supreme Court of the United States
OcTOBER TERM, 1975
No. 75-227

FEDERAL PowER CoMMISSION, Petitioner

Vv.

CONSUMER FEDERATION OF AMERICA, ET AL.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit

BRIEF OF TEXAS GAS TRANSMISSION CORPORATION
AND

TRANSCONTINENTAL GAS PIPE LINE CORPORATION

IN CONDITIONAL SUPPORT

Of Counsel:

ROBERT O. KOCH, Ezecutive Vice
President and General Counsel

STEVE H. FINCH, Assistant
General Counsel
TEXAS GAS TRANSMISSION
CORPORATION
P. O. Box 1160
Owensboro, Kentucky 42301

BRIAN E. O’NEILL, Vice
President and General Counsel

WILLIAM N. BONNER,
Senior Attorney
TRANSCONTINENTAL GAS PIPE LINE
CORPORATION
P. O. Box 1396 .
Houston, Texas 77001

ROBERT G. HARDY

FRANK X. KELLY
GALLAGHER, CONNOR AND BOLAND
821 Fifteenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D. C, 20005

CHRISTOPHER T. BOLAND

THOMAS F. RYAN, JR.
GALLAGHER, CONNOR AND BOLAND
821 Fifteenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D. C. 20005
Telephone: (202) 347-8866

Attorneys for Texas Gas
Transmission Corporation
and Transcontinental Gas.
Pipe Line Corporation

Press oF Byron S. ADAMS PRINTING, INC., WASHINGTON, D. C.

a , ge acler2: 7

INDEX

Page
a 2
ee 2
ee nda cack bb hdsbadinbsgeaacceans 3
AE er 3
B. Proceedings Before the Commission ........ 5
ch SO ches sac ceccccscecnuas 6

D. Commission Action Subsequent to Order
eine Seek G4 sik 6 V6 kn 6's Ses we «0 7
Tue Position or Texas Gas aNp TRANSCO .......... 9
Ee te 10

A. The Commission Has the Legal Power to Ex-
empt Short-Term Interstate Sales of Natural
Gas From Rate and Certificate Regulation
During Periods of Emergency ............ 10

B. The Prevailing Market Price Provides an Ap-
propriate Standard That Fully Satisfies the
Dictates of the Natural Gas Act ......,..... 11

C. Contrary to This Court’s Decision in Texaco,
Order No. 491 Provided Absolutely No Stand-
ards to Guide Pipelines in Making Emergency
I once te es wa bs ch RRA Oa cse a cas 13

Pe 17

CITATIONS
CASES:

Atlantic Refining Co. v. Public Service Commission of
the State of New York, 360 U.S. 378 (1959) ....12, 13

FPC vy. Texaco Inc., 417 U.S. 380 (1974) ....3,7,9, 11, 12,
13, 14, 15,17

Permian Basin Area Rate Cases, 390 U.S. 747 (1968).. 11

SPAN AL EPR MELLEL EI ALA SE OL LS ENE ALS EET BT

li Index Continued
Page
STATUTES:

Natural Gas Act, 52 Stat. 821, et seq., as amended, 15
U.S.C. 717, et seq.

EE BOGE: Scan os io subd atCMRESeeMe wes 2,8
NN SENS iaevkns cdoascancaees 2, 3, 5, 6, 10, 11, 12
PE MP ea aca eheancdsacasteurbashes Coa ke 2
MISCELLANEOUS:
FPC Staff Report: ‘‘A Realistic View of U.S. Natural
Gas Supply,’’ December, 1974 .................. 13
Order No. 431, 45 FPC 570 (1971) .................. 4
Order No. 533, — FPC — (1975) .................. 8

xy setae

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1975
No. 75-227

FEDERAL PowWER Commission, Petitioner
Vs

CONSUMER FEDERATION OF AMERICA, ET AL.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit

BRIEF OF TEXAS GAS TRANSMISSION CORPORATION
AND
TRANSCONTINENTAL GAS PIPE LINE CORPORATION
IN CONDITIONAL SUPPORT

Texas Gas Transmission Corporation (Texas Gas)
and Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corporation
(Transco), parties to the proceedings in the court
below, hereby submit this brief in conditional support
of Petitioner.

as paths

ay rat re a ee ee

Pa MCR oe

4

2
TEXAS GAS AND TRANSCO

Texas Gas is a corporation organized and existing
under the laws of the State of Delaware. It is a natu-
ral gas company as defined in Section 1(b) of the Nat-
ural Gas Act and, as such, is engaged in the business
of transporting and selling natural gas in interstate
commerce under authorizations granted by the Com-
mission. The facilities operated by Texas Gas, as a
natural gas company, consist primarily of a pipeline
system located in Texas, onshore and offshore Louisi-
ana, Arkansas, Mississippi, Tennessee, Kentucky, In-
diana, Illinois and Ohio.

Transco is a corporation organized and existing
under the laws of the State of Delaware. It is a natu-
ral gas company as defined in Section 1(b) of the Nat-
ural Gas Act and, as such, is engaged in the transpor-
tation aud sale of natural gas in interstate commerce
by means of its natural gas transmission system ex-
tending from its sources of gas supply in Texas, Loui-
siana and Mississippi through the States of Alabama,
Georgia, South Carolina, Virginia, Maryland, Penn-
sylvania and New Jersey to its termini in the Metro-
politan New York area.

Both Texas Gas and Transco fully participated as
intervenors in the proceedings before the court of ap-
peals.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Commission possesses the legal power
under Sections 7(c) and 16 of the Natural Gas
Act, 15 U.S.C. 717f(¢), 7170, to exempt, from rate
and certificate regulation, short-term emergency
sales of natural gas that would otherwise be sold
in the intrastate market in order to forestall the

3

rapidly decreasing supplies of natural gas avail-
able to the interstate market and the concomitant
increase in interstate pipeline curtailments of
high-priority markets ?

bo

If not, may the Commission exempt such sales
from rate and certificate regulation by indirectly
regulating such rates in rate proceedings of the
purchasing pipelines: (a) when the pipelines ‘‘are
given no guidance whatsoever as to what the
standards may be’’ (F PC v. Texaco Inc.) and (b)
when the exemption will be counter-productive
since neither the pipeline nor the producer will
enter into such transactions under these cireum-
stances?

STATEMENT
A. Background

Section 7(c) of the Natural Gas Act, as amended,
provides that the Commission ‘‘may by regulation ex-
empt from the requirements of this section temporary
acts or operations for which the issuance of a certifi-
cate will not be required in the public interest.’ Pur-
suant to that enabling provision, the Commission’s
Regulations have, for many years, provided for ex-
emption of temporary acts and operations by natural
gas companies from certain certification requirements
of the Act. The term ‘‘temporary acts or operations”’
was consistently interpreted as including sales in inter-
State commerce by producers to pipelines for resale.
Prior to the issuance of Order No. 491, et seq. (FPC
Pet., pp. 33a-109a), however, such exemptions were
available only where the acts or operations were lim-
ited to a period of not more than 60 days. Order No.

4
caret

a iS RENEE FOB) 48 OM rt V Vie?

4

491 extended the period during which the emergency
sections could be invoked to 180 days.

Recently, the exemption provisions have been in-
creasingly utilized on a widespread basis due to the
nationwide natural gas shortage. Pipelines experi-
encing gas supply emergencies have made ‘‘spot’’
purchases for the 60 or 180 day exemption period in
order to supplement dwindling reserves. Under Sec-
tion 2.68 of the Commission’s Regulations, distribution
companies have also engaged in exempt 60 day sales
among themselves. In addition, pipelines have con-
tracted for ‘‘limited-term’’ purchases pursuant to Or-
der No. 431, 45 FPC 570 (1971), by which producers
apply for limited-term certificates (generally for 1 to 2
year periods), with pre-granted abandonment, for sales
at rates in excess of the ‘‘just and reasonable”’ ceiling
then applicable to long-term sales in the Commission
pricing area in question. Although these prices were
higher than the appropriate ‘‘just and reasonable”’
rates, these rates became legal rates which the pipe-
lines were authorized to pay without exposure to later
disallowance of any portion of such expenses from their
costs of service.

The severe shortage of natural gas has intensified
the competition for available long-term and short-term
supplies. Pipelines are attempting to attract gas away
from the unregulated intrastate market. It is common
knowledge, however, that prices in the intrastate mar-
ket are at least two or three times the price set by the
Commission for interstate sales. In order to secure
gas that would otherwise be sold in the unregulated
intrastate market at prices in excess of federally-
controlled rates, the Commission, through its exemp-
tion regulations, relieved producers from the constraint
of area rate ceilings in the hope that interstate pipe-

tI FS OPE CS ae REEL LIE CS LEPINE SEE LOLA ILLS ALLE LCP OLE I

<r 2 ROL RRA LRA DRI EA STEP ME aby LC LEI tel LNT OE 6 AA ie
SO AF EES Sel Dit Lo ie CIO 2 “

~

a

5

lines would thereby be able to compete effectively with
intrastate purchasers for such scarce supplies. It is in
this context, then, that the Order No. 491 series must
be considered.

B. Proceedings Before the Commission

On September 14, 1973, the Commission issued Or-
der No. 491 (FPC Pet., pp. 33a-41a) which extended
from 60 days to 180 days the period of time that a pipe-
line experiencing a system shortage could make
emergency purchases of natural gas absent Commis-
sion certification under Section 7(c) of the Act. The
order was designed to avert significant economic and
social dislocations that would result from the severe
supply deficiency projected for the 1973-1974 winter
season. The amendments were to expire at the con-
clusion of the winter season on March 15, 1974.

The Commission, in Order No. 491-A (FPC Pet.,
pp. 42a-75a) dated September 25, 1973, denied motions
for stay of Order No. 491 and reiterated the necessity
of extending the emergency regulations in order to
augment the available gas supply for the interstate
market during the critical heating season. However,
the Commission also indicated for the first time that
“(t]he rate at which these emergency volumes are
committed to interstate pipelines will be examined in
our pipeline regulatory review under Sections 4 and 5
of the Act, in the same manner as purchases are re-
viewed under the prior emergency procedures.’’*
(FPC Pet., p. 52a)

? While the Commission’s statement implies that emergency pur-
chases had previously been reviewed by the Commission in the
same manner as here proposed, neither Texas Gas nor Transco had
any prior knowledge of any such review of emergency purchases
or, for that matter, any prior hint that such ‘‘indirect’’ review was
ever contemplated or intended by the Commission.

a

+
E
4
fl
A

re he Lee tT

6

In response to written comments filed by various
parties, the Commission issued Order No. 491-B (FPC
Pet., pp. 76a-104a) on November 2, 1973, and again
reaffirmed its policy of permitting 180 day emergency
sales. The Commission amplified its position with
respect to ‘‘indirect’’ review of emergency sales in the
following manner:

‘*As we indicated in Order No. 491-A (mimeo at
8), we will scrutinize the rates of all emergency
purchases in the review of purchased gas costs in
pipeline rate proceedings, including purchased gas
[footnote omitted] adjustment clause increases.
We will permit the pipeline to pass on to the con-
sumer the rates of emergency purchases only when
such rates can be shown to have been required by
the public interest.”’ (Emphasis in original.)
(FPC Pet., p. 91a)
* * *

‘‘Should we determine in a pipeline rate case that
any emergency purchase was improvidently con-
summated at a rate which was more than neces-
sary to secure the gas for the interstate market,

we will not require refunds by the producer.’’
(FPC Pet., p. 92a)

The Commission denied rehearing and stay on No-
vember 21, 1973, in Order No. 491-C (FPC Pet., pp.
105a-109a). Pursuant to applications for stay filed by
interested parties, the court of appeals granted a stay
of the Commission’s orders on December 10, 1973.
The stay, however, was later vacated by this Court on
December 20, 1973 (414 U.S. 1117).

C. The Decision Below

The court of appeals determined that the action
taken by the Commission was outside the scope of its
authority under Section 7(c) of the Act and, thus, set

7

aside the orders (FPC Pet., pp. 1la-30a). In analyz-
ing the legislative history and the purpose of Section
7, the court concluded that the exemption proviso con-
tained therein did not enable the Commission to ex-
clude the short-term emergency sales authorized in
Order No. 491 from the certification process.

Citing FPC v. Texaco Inc., 417 U.S. 380 (1974), the
court below held that the Commission’s orders did not
constitute a valid means of indirect regulation because
there was no assurance that the rates ‘“‘paid by pipe-
lines”? (FPC Pet., p. 22a) to producers would be just
and reasonable. The court also indicated that the
standard for indirect regulation did not guarantee, as
required by its reading of Texaco, that ‘“‘the rates
‘ultimately borne by the consumer are just and rea-
sonable.’ ’? (FPC Pet. p. 25a)

The indirect regulatory scheme was further deemed
inadequate for its failure to articulate standards to
guide pipelines in contracting for emergency pur-
chases. As the court noted:

‘“‘In Texaco the Court was concerned with the
squeeze on the pipelines which stemmed from
making payments that would be both disallowed
and nonrefundable, and made it clear that any
such program would require ‘guidance’ for those
that might be affected. [footnote omitted] The
warning in Order 491 against ‘improvident’ con-
tracts does not provide adequate guidance to pro-
tect the pipelines.’”’ (Emphasis added.) (FPC
Pet., p. 26a)

D. Commission Action Subsequent to Order No. 491

Because of the uncertainty surrounding the validity
of the 180 day exemption, the Commission terminated
the program on March 15, 1974. However, the Com-

EN REAP ALE DE PLIES LAL EAS

mission has continued to recognize the need for at-
tracting intrastate supplies into the interstate market.
First, it sought and obtained an expedited decision in
this case from the court below in a vain effort thus far
to reinstitute the 180 day exemption. Second, the
Commission recently (August 28, 1975) promulgated
Order No. 533 which announced the Commission’s will-
ingness to certificate transportation arrangements by
interstate pipelines on behalf of their high-priority
industrial customers. The purpose of such policy is
to allow industrial users to purchase gas directly from
producers at prevailing market prices and, therefore,
to ‘‘compete with the producer’s intrastate customers
for gas supplies not otherwise available to the inter-
state market.’’ The Commission’s rate jurisdiction
would not attach to such direct sales because Section
1(b) of the Act only authorizes the Commission to re-
gulate sales for resale.

On June 17, 1975, the Commission issued the first of
a series of orders (see, e.g., Texas Gas Transmission
Corporation, Docket No. RP74-25, et al.) concerning
the 180 day purchases made by interstate pipelines pur-
suant to Order No. 491. The various orders set pro-
cedural schedules for the convening of public hearings
so that the producer and the pipeline could justify the
justness and reasonableness of the rates for all emer-
gency sales consummated in excess of the 51-cent na-
tionwide rate. Despite the fact that the Commission
did not list any meaningful standards in Order No.
491 to guide pipelines in contracting for emergency
purchases, these later orders compelled the submission
of evidence pertaining to, inter alia, the producer’s
individual costs, the pipeline’s need for the gas and the
availability of other gas supplies (see p. 15, infra).

eee SPM YP AGRT AY a 21 PRES ye Ee CEASE SGPT IN ITT ar? OU AEY
EIT CO SPE LEAT LEER IS TE :

9

THE POSITION OF TEXAS GAS AND TRANSCO

Texas Gas and Transco are fully in accord with
the Commission’s announced intention of securing ad-
ditional gas for the interstate market by means of its
emergency regulations. However, it is unnecessary
and, in fact, unlawful to uphold the validity of the
emergency provisions on the basis of indirectly regulat-
ing the producer prices at the pipeline level. We
support the Commission’s petition for a writ of cer-
tiorari but only to the extent that the emergency ex-
emption is permissible without a subsequent rate re-
view at the pipeline level.

Inasmuch as there were no standards prescribed in
Order No. 491 to guide pipelines in making emergency
purchases, it seems clear under Texaco, supra, that the
same defects are present in Order No. 491 as in that
ease. A contrary conclusion would entail the retro-
active imposition of ex post facto Commission guide-
lines. The court below, as did this Court in Tezaco,
perceptively took cognizance of the unlawful
‘*squeeze’’ on the pipelines resulting from the lack of
adequate standards (FPC Pet., p. 26a).

The major thrust of our participation in the instant
case, however, is directed to the legal parameters which
must cireumscribe future Commission actions involv-
ing emergency interstate sales. If properly enacted,
such future regulations will provide a viable means for
interstate pipelines to alleviate their serious supply de-
ficiences. We believe that the Commission possesses
the requisite authority under the Natural Gas Act to
exempt short-term emergency sales to curtailing in-
terstate pipeline companies from rate and certificate
jurisdiction.

“oot ey Peay arid ale ea

wich

AS

10

We submit that the prevailing (‘‘in line’’) market
price provides the only appropriate test to be used in
satisfying the requirements of the Natural Gas Act in
making the 180-day exemption a viable vehicle for the
acquisition of additional interstate gas. It must be
remembered that the emergency provisions were
adopted by the Commission to procure gas not other-
wise available to the interstate market. If a producer
has the option of selling its gas in the unregulated in-
trastate market, the only relevant consideration should
be, as far as the Commission is concerned, the deter-
mination of the price required to entice the producer
to sell his gas in the interstate market. The choice for
interstate pipelines, and the interstate market in gen-
eral, is not between gas priced at one level vs. gas
priced at a different level but rather gas priced at the
prevailing market level vs. no gas at all. Emergency
provisions not attuned to this fact of life will only
ensure that essentially all onshore gas will continue to
be sold in the intrastate market.

ARGUMENT

A. The Commission Has the Legal Power To Exempt Short-
Term Interstate Sales of Natural Gas from Rate and Cer-
tificate Regulation During Periods of Emergency.

The exemptive authority contained in Section 7(¢)
of the Act affords a proper legal foundation for Com-
mission suspension of rate and certificate jurisdiction
with respect to short-term emergency sales of natural
gas. Confronted with an acute shortage of new sup-
plies and rapidly escalating curtailments of high-
priority markets by interstate pipelines, the Commis-
sion has resorted to extraordinary, and yet necessary,
measures to cope with this crisis. The powers of the
Commission in this area, therefore, must be generously

11

eonstrued to enable the Commission to fulfill its press-
ing responsibilities under the Act. Permian Basin
Area Rate Cases, 390 U.S. 747, 776 (1968).

In order to attempt to maintain adequate service
to existing interstate consumers, the Commission is
certainly justified in exempting emergency sales on a
temporary basis. Unlike Texaco, which involved the
permanent certification of small producer sales, the
emergency provisions contemplate transactions of a
short-term nature only and, hence, fall within the con-
fines of the exemption proviso in Section 7(¢).

B. The Prevailing Market Price Provides an Appropriate
Standard that Fully Satisfies the Dictates of the Natural
Gas Act.

As conceived by the Commission, the principal pur-
pose of Order No. 491, and presumably of any future
emergency regulation, was to secure, for the interstate
market, gas that would not otherwise be available to
interstate consumers. In pursuit of this laudatory
goal, the Commission authorized and, indeed, en-
couraged interstate pipelines to compete with prospec-
tive intrastate purchasers for reserves that would or-
dinarily be sold in the intrastate market. We cannot
overemphasize the very basic maxim that, unless inter-
state pipelines are able and willing to offer a price
competitive with the existing rate in the intrastate
market, the gas will not be obtained. Indeed, the
whole point in the Commission’s issuance of Order
491 was to free the pipelines from the price constraints
of existing area ceilings. Otherwise, there would have
been no purpose in the issuance of such an order. This
fact was recognized by the court below:

‘‘The entire point of Order 491 is to free ‘pipelines
facing emergencies’ from price constraints to ‘en-

cong

12

able them to secure substantial gas supplies which
might otherwise be lost to the intrastate market
or interstate pipelines not facing an emergency.’ ”’
(Footnote omitted.) (FPC Pet., p. 25a)

Given this simple fact of life and coupled with an
interstate gas shortage of enormous proportions, we
submit that a rate that is first, ‘‘in-line’’ (CATCO,
infra) with prevailing market prices, and second, able
to elicit the additional supplies, satisfies the require-
ments of the Act for short-term emergency purchases.
To hold otherwise would be to engage in the naive no-
tion that the Commission must establish a rate for
short-term onshore sales at a level beneath the pre-
vailing market price. The Commission would then be
establishing a rate at which not one additional cubic
foot of gas would be sold in the interstate market. It
is inconceivable that regulation of this type produces
any benefits whatsoever for high-priority interstate
customers desperate for new sources of natural gas.

Inasmuch as Teraco dealt with small producer sales
of permanent duration, this Court’s admonition that
‘fall gas rates [must] be just and reasonable’’ would
not appear to be applicable to the temporary emer-
gency sales discussed herein.? In Atlantic Refining Co.
v. Public Service Commission of the State of New
York (CATCO), 360 U.S. 378 (1959), for instance, this
Court stated that the Act does not compel a determina-
tion of just and reasonable rates for initial sales made
pursuant to a certificate issued under Section 7(c).

*Even if the rates for emergency sales have to be ‘‘just and
reasonable’’, the prevailing market price standard would still be
applicable because it is the only standard that will elicit any on-
shore supplies away from the unregulated intrastate market and,
therefore, under such circumstances, the ‘‘ prevailing market price’’
must be considered as the ‘‘ just and reasonable’’ rate.

13

Thus, the rates paid by pipelines for emergency pur-
chases should be adjudged excessive only in the event
that such rates are ‘‘out of line’’ with prevailing
prices in the area. See CATCO, 360 U.S. at 391.° Only
the ‘‘in-line’’ prevailing market price standard will
ensure compliance with the appropriate statutory re-
quirement and, at the same time, provide a means of
acquiring the sorely needed gas supplies for the inter-
state market. Therefore, we urge this Court to ap-
prove utilization of such standard in the Commission’s
determination of the propriety of the rates agreed to
by interstate pipelines and producers in connection
with emergency sales.

C. Contrary to This Court’s Decision in Texaco, Order No. 491
Provided Absolutely No Standards To Guide Pipelines in
Making Emergency Purchases.

The court of appeals rightly concluded, pursuant to
the doctrine espoused in Texaco, that Order No. 491
unlawfully neglected to establish standards by which
pipelines could be guided in the consummation of em-

31t is interesting to note that while the court below placed con-
siderable emphasis on CATCO in reversing Order No. 491, certain
significant factors upon which the 1959 decision was premised
are no longer valid today: (1) the pipeline had not demonstrated
a need for the gas; (2) the producers had not shown the avail-
ability of the intrastate market as an outlet for their gas; and, (3)
the sales would only have been profitable in the interstate market
where 90% of all gas was then being sold. 360 U.S. at 393-394.
In contrast, in 1973 production for interstate use represented less
than 63% of total production in the lower 48 states. More im-
portantly, in the most recent four years for which data are avail-
able (1970-1973), interstate pipelines have acquired only about

“% of national reserve additions, including offshore reserves,
which demonstrates vividly the inability of interstate pipelines
to compete for market priced intrastate suppiies. Source: FPC
Staff Report: ‘‘A Realistic View of U.S. Natural Gas Supply,’’
December, 1974.

14

ergency sales contracts. As the court below aptly re-
marked:

‘‘A related shortcoming is the Commission’s
failure to provide pipelines with standards to
guide them in latitude contemplated in contract-
ing for emergency purchases. Under Order 491,
if pipelines pay too much for gas supplies, they
may incur expenses that are nonrefundable. In
Texaco the Court was concerned with the squeeze
on the pipelines which stemmed from making pay-
ments that would be both disallowed and nonre-
fundable, and made it clear that any such program
would require ‘guidance’ for those that might be
affected. The warning in Order 491 against ‘im-
provident’ contracts does not provide adequate
guidance to protect the pipelines. The Commis-
sion attempts to avoid this problem by stating that
the procedures are ‘purely optional’ and that the
order does not ‘coerce a pipeline into making such
purchases.’ But a commission seeking to defend
an exemption order cannot in this way ignore its
responsibility to give guidance to pipelines that
accept the Commission’s open-door invitation to
obtain needed supplies through Order 491 pur-
chases.’’ (Footnotes omitted.) (Emphasis added.)
(FPC Pet., p. 26a)

Since the requisite standards are missing, the Com-
mission should be precluded from denying in a pipe-
line’s cost of service any amounts paid to producers
with respect to emergency sales which are required to
obtain the gas for the interstate market. Otherwise,
interstate pipelines will be held accountable, unjustifi-
ably, for emergency purchases on the basis of retro-
actively applied standards.

Although Order No. 491 terminated on March 15,
1974, it was not until June 17, 1975, in Texas Gas

15

Transmission Corporation, Docket No. RP74-25, et
al., that the Commission first suggested criteria that
would be used to evaluate the prices paid for emer-
gency gas. The injection of such ex post facto stand-
ards into pipeli.. rate proceedings involving Order
No. 491 transactions is patently at odds with the most
basic due process considerations. Because these,stand-
ards might be employed in the future, however, it is
appropriate to set forth the Commission’s statement
regarding the evidence that must be furnished in these
proceedings. In Tezras Gas Transmission Corpora-
tion, for example, the Commission ordered the follow-
ing data to be submitted :

“‘Cost evidence relating to the producer sales
under Order No. 491 can clearly provide the basis
for ‘just and reasonable’ rate findings. F.P.C. v.
Texaco Inc., 417 U.S. 380 (1974). It follows then,
that the producer should introduce relevant evi-
dence of the cost involved in its sale. Such evi-
dence shall be considered together with all other
material evidence which would support a finding
of a just and reasonable rate in excess of the na-
tional rate [51 cents per Mcf].

The cost evidence submitted by the producer
should include, inter alia, the direct and indirect
costs, including the cost of all capital funds rea-
sonably allocated to its sale. In addition, the prod-
ucer should indicate the price for which the sub-
ject gas is now being sold, whether in intrastate
or interstate commerce.

The pipeline should submit evidence as to (1)
its need for the gas, (2) the availability of other
gas supplies, (3) the amount of gas purchased
from the producer involved under the emergency
provisions of Order No. 491, as amended, (4) the
rates of other producer sales under Order No. 491

“EATERY

16

approved for flow through, and (5) the prevailing
prices in the area for both interstate and intra-
state sales of gas.”’

The above-mentioned ‘‘guidelines’’ are hopelessly
vague; there is no indication as to the relative weight
to be accorded to the various pieces of evidence. Given
these imprecise guidelines, the risk of possible Com-
mission disallowance of prudently incurred purchased
gas costs is too severe and will undoubtedly deter the
pipeline and the producer from executing a contract
for the scarce supplies.

It is evident that the criteria suggested in Texas Gas
Transmission Corporation, supra, are eounter-produc-
tive. They will discourage producers as well as pipe-
lines from entering into emergency sales agreements.
Moreover, the Commission has given no indication of
whether, in the event that excess charges are deter-
mined, the producer will be required to make refunds
or the pipeline will be required to absorb costs already
incurred. In either event, under today’s conditions,
no substantial amounts of emergency gas would be
made available. Either the producers will refuse to
sell the gas because of the risk of refunds and the
ability to sell the gas intrastate with no risk, or the
pipeline will refuse to buy the gas because of the po-
tentially enormous risk of cost absorption to its stock-
holders.

The Texas Gas case provides ample support for our
contention that emergency regulations eannot properly
be administered pursuant to the guidelines announced
therein. In such proceeding, six producers were re-
quired to submit voluminous cost data to justify emer-
gency rates in excess of the 51-cent nationwide ceiling.

17

The total amount of money in question was $21,263;
in fact, two of the producers collected revenues of only
$462 and $527 above the revenues for comparable vol-
umes priced at the national rate and, yet, were still
expected to file the evidence, come to Washington,
D. C. for the hearing, and furnish supporting wit-
nesses. To forestall such unnecessary expense and
obvious waste of time, Texas Gas reluctantly expressed
its willingness to absorb the $21,263 in its rates and,
therefore, moved to terminate the proceeding.

A decision by this Court authorizing emergency
provisions to operate in the manner suggested by the
Commission would result in the classic example of a
Pyrrhiec victory. The Commission would then issue
new emergency regulations encompassing the Texas
Gas standards—standards under which neither pro-
ducers nor pipelines would be willing to participate.

CONCLUSION

It is unfortunate that the Commission has not faced
the reality that only competitive market prices will
elicit emergency supplies for the interstate market and
then only if the purchasing pipelines are assured of
passing on these prices to their customers. Given the
posture in which the Commission presents its petition,
ie., that the prices will be “just and reasonable’”’ un-
der the vague criteria suggested by the Commission,
the grant of certiorari and reversal of the court below
would not only be clearly contrary to this Court’s deci-
sion in Texaco, supra, but, in addition, would accom-
plish little, if anything, toward the acquisition of addi-
tional gas for the interstate market. However, if the
Court is inclined to consider not only the question of
Commission power to exempt for 180 day emergencies

%
ete ela eee eter |

18

but also the question of authority to permit sales and
purchases of such gas at market price levels, Texas Gas
and Transco would support the grant of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,
Of Counsel: CHRISTOPHER T. BOLAND
ROBERT 0. KOCH, Executive Vice an sak a ee
SORES one Sanita Teens 821 Fifteenth Street, N.W.
STEVE H. FINCH, Assistant Washington, D. C. 20005
General Counsel Telephone: (202) 347-8866
Texas Gas TRANSMISSION Attorneys for Texas Gas
Pp Rey a” Transmission Corporation
oe , a a poe and Transcontinental Gas
wensboro, Kentucky 42301 Pipe Line Corporation

BRIAN E. O’NEILL, Vice
President and General Counsel

WILLIAM N. BONNER,
Senior Attorney
TRANSCONTINENTAL GAs PIPE LINE
CorPORATION
P. O. Box 1396
Houston, Texas 77001

ROBERT G. HARDY

FRANK X. KELLY
GALLAGHER, CONNOR AND BOLAND
821 Fifteenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D. C. 20005

—————— Sse zn ‘ef’ EE EEE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_1379%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
