# Amicus Curiae Brief — Anheuser-Busch, Inc. v. Teamsters Local No. 633

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_1321%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 423 U.S. 875

## Text

(i)
TABLE OF CONTENTS

STATEMENT OF INTEREST ...............
ARGUMENT:

I, National Labor Policy Recognizes that
Management Has and Must Retain the Right
to Establish and to Enforce Reasonable
Plant Rules Not Inconsistent with the Law
or the Collective Bargaining Agreement ...

II. The Decision of the Court of Appeals
Seriously Undermines the Holding of Boys
Markets v. Retail Clerks and Must Not
Ge AMowed to DOME oc cc cdasesnnss

CORMAA occa vndnaseeabeeaee awed oa

TABLE OF CITATIONS
Cases:

Boys Markets, Inc. v. Retail Clerks Union, 398 U.S.
235 G9) wee ee eee

Gateway Coal Co. v. United Mine Workers, 414 US.
SB (IGM) 6 cc Co ae eee

Local 174, Teamsters v. Lucas Flour Co., 369 US.
95.166 C9962) 0.654544 nee eee ee

H. K. Porter Co., Inc. v. NLRB, 397 U.S. 99 (1970)
Textiles Workers v. Lincoln Mills, 353 U.S. 448
(i967) .ccsnk eGR

United Steelworkers of America v. Warrior and
Gulf Navigation Company, 363 U.S. 574 (1960)

Avco Corp. v. Local 787, UAW 325 F. Supp. 588
(D. Pa. 1971) rev'd 459 F.2d 968 (3d Cir.
SDTED: o.0 0: 5-5'vi nip aca mcere pa nes

Ed Friedrick v. 1.U.E., __. F.2d ___, 89 LRRM
SAT (3h Ch, 1978) oo ai Slee eee

le we me fc oe ie

(ii)

Local 1098, Street, Elec. Ry. & Motor Coach
Employees v. Eastern Greyhound Lines, 48 CCH
LC 918,633 (D.D.C. 1963) ...........+---

Arbitrator’s Decisions:

Celotex Corp., 36 LA 517 (Dworken, Arb. 1961) .
City of Janesville, 64 LA 783, (Schurke, Arb. 1975)
Parkside Manor, 53 LA 411 (Belcher Arb. 1969) ..

Owens-Illinois, Inc. 702 CCH ARB 48606 (Stouf-
ee Se ee ere ee ee ee

Thompson Bros. Boat Mfg. Co., 55 LA 69, 72-73
(Moberly, Arb. 1970) .........---eeeees

Articles:

A. Cox, Law and the National Labor Policy, (1960)
Statutes & Miscellaneous:

Bureau of National Affairs, Basic Patterns in Union

CE Nei s nh wen een a sark a tes 0.0

Labor Management Relations Act, §8(d) 29 U.S.C.

.S thatuen « © Ya 6 ee Se a oe ee ee

2 D> @. 2

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1974
No. 74-1633

ANHEUSER-BUSCH, INC.,
Petitioner,

TEAMSTERS LOCAL NO. 633,
NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF BREWERY
AND SOFT DRINK WORKERS, SOCRATES MAKRIS,
STEVEN J. MCCULLOUGH, FRANK SEBAN,
Respondents.

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
UNITED STATES BREWERS ASSOCIATION, INC.
IN SUPPORT OF PETITION FOR
WRIT OF CERTIORARI

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE*

The United States Brewers Association, Inc., the
oldest incorporated trade association in North America,
is an association of brewer members whose production
represents over 90 percent of all malt beverages manu-
factured in the United States. The Association membership

*This brief is filed with the written consent of all parties
pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 42(1).

cides Nk ARATE SETA eS Dit EP Oe: SPS Pe PIRES a ERLE KE BN YER

2

also includes the major suppliers of the brewing industry,
such as bottle and can manufacturers, maltsters and
manufacturers of brewery equipment and machinery.

This brief amicus curiae supports the position of the
petitioner urging the Court to review the decision of
the Court of Appeals for the First Circuit. The interest
of the amicus is predicated upon the far-reaching
significance of this case which will profoundly affect
the continuing validity of the premise that “the basic
policy of national labor legislation (is) to promote the
arbitral process as a substitute for economic warfare.”
Local 174, Teamsters v. Lucas Flour Co., 369 U.S.
95.105 (1962). That precept will be dangerously eroded
if the Court permits the decision below to stand.
Boys Markets v. Retail Clerks Union, 398 U.S. 235
(1970), allows injunctive relief when a union engages in
concerted interference with operations in direct abroga-
tion of its no-strike commitment pending arbitration of
a contractually-authorized work rule.

The importance or the intrinsic significance of the
work rule that gave rise to the dispute is not an issue in
this litigation. The Court of Appeals’ droll comment
that ‘“(t)his tempest has been brewed in a very small
teapot” is a facile but misleading characterization of the
real issue submitted to it for decision. The present case
will determine whether, pending the outcome of the
arbitration process, management will retain the right to
effectively direct the manner in which production will
be carried out in its plant. In fact, the Court of
Appeals’ opinion has turned the “teapot” into a
“Pandora’s box” which has the potential of severely
disrupting the constructive evolution of the nation’s
labor relations policy.

For this reason the case is a critical one warranting a
presentation of our Association’s view.

3

I. National Labor Policy Recognizes that
Management Has and Must Retain the Right
to Establish and to Enforce Reasonable Plant
Rules Not Inconsistent with the Law or the
Collective Bargaining Agreement.

Management has the fundamental responsibility of
running its business efficiently and profitably. The
consequences of unprofitable and inefficient operations
are fatal to the economic interest of both management
and labor. The right to manage includes the corollary
prerogative to establish reasonable plant rules not
inconsistent with law or the collective bargaining
agreement. In United Steelworkers of America vy.
Warrior and Gulf Navigation Company, 363 U.S. 574
(1960), the Court expressed the moder view of
management’s rights with respect to the collective
bargaining agreement:

“Collective bargaining agreements regulate or

restrict the exercise of management functions; they

do not oust management from the performance of
them. Management hires and fires, pays and
promotes, supervises and plans. /d. at 583; Cf.

Local 1098, Street, Elec. Ry. & Motor Coach

Employees v. Easiern Greyhound Lines, 48 CCH

LC 918,633 (D.D.C. 1963).

Similarly, arbitrators have consistently held that
Management retains all named rights of management
not given direct or ceded by the terms of the Collective
Bargaining Agreement. Owens-Illinois Inc., 70-2 CCH -
ARB 48606 (Stouffer, Arb. 1970). If managements
right to manage is unenforceable, then that right may as
well not exist.

4

All collective bargaining agreements of our brewer
members contain broad “no strike” clauses and equally
broad “grievance-arbitration” procedures similar to
those at issue in this case. That is, the employer is
obligated to arbitrate in return for union’s promise not
to strike or otherwise disrupt production. Local 1/74,
Teamsters v. Lucas Flour Co., supra. These provisions
are intended to ensure that production continues even
when an employee is given an order he feels is unfair,
discriminatory, or in violation of the agreement. The
employee may challenge the employer’s order through
the grievance procedure established by the collective
bargaining agreement, but not through self-help. By
agreement, it is the arbitrator, not the employee, who is
to determine the contractual validity of the employer’s
order or rule. Pending arbitration, the employee must
obey the order or rule unless it presents an objective
threat to his health or safety.' Cf. Gateway Coal v.
United Mine Workers, 414 U.S. 368 (1974).

The continuing application of this principle has
recently been illustrated in circumstances similar to
those presently before the Court. An employer
unilaterally posted a work rule requiring employees to
wear white tee shirts under their uniform shirts during
the summer, and the employees responded by refusing
to obey rather than by filing a grievance. The arbitrator
upheld disciplinary suspensions, saying:

'The pleadings and court decisions in this controversy have
shown no such threat to an employee’s health or safety.

5

“The grievant’s self-help response to the work rule
was not justified by any threat to his health or
safety, and cannot be condoned. While the work
rule must itself fail as being unreasonably
overbroad, the insubordination of the grievant
prevents his recovery of the wages lost.” City of
Janesville, 64 LA 783, 787 (Schurke, Arbitrator)
Arbitration in the brewing industry, as in others, is
hardly immediate. It is not uncommon for three
months or more to elapse between the time a grievance
is filed and the arbitrator’s final decision. If an
employee is permitted to ignore an order or rule
pending arbitration, management’s right to direct its
enterprise will be frustrated for several months. The
prejudicial effects of the delay in implementing a work
rule may be compounded by the fact that the
employer’s need for the work rule may have passed by
the time its right to implement it has been approved by
an arbitrator. For example, disputes often arise over the
question of whether an employer has the right under
the collective bargaining agreement to require his
employees to work overtime. Under the reasoning of
the Court of Appeals’ decision, the employees could
refuse to accept overtime assignments pending arbitra-
tion of the dispute. However, if the employer’s
interpretation ultimately prevails, he will have lost
many days of production to which he was entitled
under the contract.

6

The District Court recognized that Anheuser-Busch’s
fundamental right to manage was being threatened by
the concerted employee disregard of a company work
rules pending arbitration, and enjoined this conduct. As
the Court noted in Boys Markets v. Retail Clerks
Union, supra, an injunction was necessary because no
other remedy would suffice:

“Any incentive for employers to enter into such
an arrangement is necessarily dissipated if the
principal and most expeditious method by which
the nostrike obligation can be enforced is
eliminated. While it is of course true, as
respondent contends, that other avenues of redress,
such as an action for damages, would remain open
to an aggrieved employer, an award of damages
after a dispute has been settled is no substitute for
an immediate halt to an illegal strike. Furthermore,
an action for damages prosecuted during or after a
labor dispute would only tend to aggravate
industrial strife and delay an early resolution of the
difficulties between employer and union.” /d. at
248 (footnote omitted).

If the Court of Appeals’ decision is permitted to stand,
management will be deprived of the right, which it has
not bargained away, to effectively direct the manner in
which production will be carried out in its plant.

The decision of the Court of Appeals violates the
basic national labor policy that substantive terms and
conditions of employment shall be left to private
negotiations by effectively incorporating in every
collective bargaining agreement a provision that the
employer must receive the union’s consent before
changing a company work rule. Our nation’s evolving
labor relations law has provided a framework for
collective bargaining. The National Labor Relations

7

Board, under the Taft-Hartley Act, enforces the
fundamental right to organize and the duty to bargain.
This process has created a body of decisional law which
requires employers to negotiate upon mandatory
subjects and regulates the manner in which negotiations
are conducted. But the NLRB and the courts have
continually refused to dictate the substantive provisions
of the collective bargaining agreement. See generally, A.
Cox, Law and the National Labor Policy (1960). In
1947, Congress recognized the temptation for the
NLRB to “seek to control more and more of the terms
of collective bargaining agreements,” and so amended
Section 8(d) to provide:

“For the purposes of this section, to bargain
collectively is the performance of the mutual
obligation of the employer and the representative
of the employees to meet at reasonable times and
confer in good faith with respect to wages, hours,
and other terms and conditions of employment, or
the negotiation of an agreement, or any question
arising thereunder, and the execution of a written
contract incorporating any agreement reached if
requested by either party, but such obligation does
not compel either party to agree to a proposal or
require the making of a concession,” 29 U.S.C.
158(d). (Emphasis Added) See H.R. Rep. No. 245,
80th Cong., Ist Sess., 20 (1947)

Recently the Court reaffirmed the vitality of this
provision in H.K. Porter Co., Inc. v. National Labor
Relations Board, 397 U.S. 99 (1969):

“. [Wle hold that while the Board does have
power under the National Labor Relations Act, 61
Stat. 136, as amended, to require employers and
employees to negotiate, it is without power to
compel a company or a union to agree to any

Bern GOTRKIO EDIE ERIN IB DLA LE CLIC OTE ES A FE AR, PL OM

8

substantive contractual provision of a collective

bargaining agreement.” Jd. at 102.

And yet, the Court of Appeals has in effect imposed
upon the employer an obligation to refrain from
making and enforcing any work rules pending arbitra-
tion in virtually every situation. The vast majority of
Brewers and other unionized employers proceed from
the assumption that the employer has the reserved right
to unilaterally implement changes in the company’s
work rules. By contract, the union has the right to
challenge the reasonableness of the rule or its
application ‘through the grievance and arbitration
procedure. A rrovision requiring the employer to obtain
the union’s consent before changing a company work
rule, commonly known as a “status quo” clause, is
found in a small minority of collective bargaining
agreements. A study by the Bureau of National Affairs
disclosed that approximately 2 percent of the contracts
surveyed contained provisions that mention changes in
the company work rules and required the union’s prior
consent. Bureau of National Affairs, Basic Patterns in
Union Contracts, 1975, p. 95:7.

Indeed, in the contract underlying the dispute at
issue in this case, the employer and unicn have agreed
to a limited “status quo” clause rzlating to the
discipli..c of shop stewards. See, Collective Bargaining
Agreement, Article 5, Section 2. Obviously, this is a
subject either party may broach in collective bargaining.
If a union seeks the right to require its approval of
management’s rules before implementation, it should
bargain for this right. It should be emphasized that by
including a limited “status quo” clause relating to
steward discipline, the union recognized a particular

9

need and through the bargaining process limited
management’s rights to unilaterally impose discipline
with regard to stewards. The effect of the Court of
Appeals’ decision is to modify the party’s agreement by
expanding the “‘status quo” clause from the narrow area
of steward discipline to cover virtually all changes in
working conditions. This is clearly contrary to the proper
role of the judiciary in the collective bargaining process.

The Court must not allow the Court of Appeals
decision to circumvent the collective bargaining process
and deprive management of its fundamental right to
establish reasonable plant rules not inconsistent with the
law or the collective bargaining agreement.

II.The Decision of the Court of Appeals
Seriously Undermines the Holding of Boys
Markets v. Retail Clerks and Must Not be
Allowed to Stand.

The Court, in a series of decisions starting with Textile
Workers v. Lincoln Mills, 353 US. 448
(1957), through Boys Markets v. Retail Clerks Union,
supra, and Gateway Coal Co. v. United Mine Workers,
supra, has achieved and maintained a delicate balance
between the interests of management and labor by
modifying the type and use of economic weapons
available to parties in a labor dispute. The Court in
Boys Markets recognized that the only practical way to
carry out a promise not to strike is not to strike, and
the only practica way to enforce the promise is
through an injunction. The no-strike clause encompasses

- eee eee SS SL.aQQIEINeaeaeeeeen— LEE

10

not only formal work stoppages, but also concerted
interference with normal operations. The decision of
the Court of Appeals circumscribes the Court’s holding
in Boys Markets v. Retail Clerks Union, supra, by
restricting use of a court injunction to concerted
activity constituting a formal strike — a restriction
inconsistent with the Court’s opinion in Boys Markets:

““... the very purpose of arbitration procedures is

to provide a mechanism for the expeditious

settlement of industrial disputes without resort to
strikes, lockouts, or other self-help measures. This
basic purpose is obviously largely undercut if there

is no immediate, effective remedy for those very

tactics that arbitration is designed to obviate.” /d.

at 249. (Emphasis Added)

There is a serious question whether under the
applicable collective bargaining agreement the employer
is permitted io initiate a grievance proceeding. Cf. Ed
Friedrick v. I.U.E., F.2d , 89 LRRM 2847
(Sth Cir., 1975). But assuming arguendo that an
employer may have the right to file a grievance over
employee disobedience of a work rule, the necessity for
an injunction in cases where employees engage in a
concerted refusal to obey a work rule remains. In fact,
in Boys Markets, supra, access to arbitration procedures
was equally available to both sides. Jd. at 239. It is not
clear in that case if the employer took formal steps to
initiate grievance proceedings; however, the Court’s
opinion did not hold or intimate that the availability of
the grievance procedure to the employer would be a reason
for withholding an injunction.? There is no relation

2Indeed, some courts considered mutuality of access to the
grievance procedure a prerequisite to a Boys Market injunction.
Avco Corp. v. Local 787, UAW, 325 F. Supp. 588 (M.D. Pa.
1971) rev'd 459 F.2d 968 (3d Cir. 1972).

CPE RELO NNER?

— PEREIRA IE BR Gin ARETE ENE DRL ITE Me MT TL ITED Ot

1]

between employer access to the grievance procedure
and the propriety of an injunction prohibiting self-help
pending arbitration. Even if the employer could and did
initiate grievance proceedings, the underlying issue in
this case would not be resolved: whether the employees
may engage in concerted disobedience of a work rule
pending arbitration.

The First Circuit was of the opinion that the closing
of the plant was self-inflicted. In fact, the employer had
no practical alternative to the course of action it
adopted short of suspending the work rule. Arbitrators
have held that disciplinary demotions, transfers, with-
holding of benefits, and forcing public apologies are
improper forms of discipline. See, e.g., Thompson Bros.
Boat Mfg. Co., 55 LA 69, 72-73 (Moberly, Arb., 1970);
Parkside Manor, 53 LA 411 (Belcher, Arb., 1969);
Celotex Corp., 36 LA 517 (Dworkin, Arb., 1961). As
the record in this case indicates, warnings proved
ineffective and discharge would have been even more
severe. Additionally, imposition of the discipline under
these circumstances cannot be construed as a lockout.
Indeed, the record below is devoid of any contention
that management had engaged in a lockout.

It is the position of the United States Brewers
Association that the Court of Appeals decision
encourages precisely what the Court sought to avoid in
Boys Markets. If the Court of Appeals decision is
permitted to stand, it will subvert the balance created
in Boys Markets, by rewarding inventive, but equally
disruptive, alternatives to a formal strike, and will
frustrate the peaceful settlement of labor disputes so
carefully pursued by the Court.

aE eo AIRS

12
CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated herein, as well as for those
stated by petitioner, the United States Brewers
Association prays the Court to grant the Petition for a
Writ of Certiorari and to reverse the decision of the
Court below.

Respectfully submitted,

ALLAN A. RUBIN

MICHAEL B. ALLDERDICE
1750 K Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

— RIE LI ERLE SORE ST LOOSE BOOLIAN ORR Ei EM PBN ERIE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_1321%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
