# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bethlehem Steel Corp. v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_1216%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 423 U.S. 840

## Text

— Court, U. 8.

Lorain ¥ LED

SUPREME COURT, VU. &

JUN 26 1975

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1974

No. 744-1640

BETHLEHEM STEEL CORPORATION,
Petitioner,
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF CLAIMS

ALBERT R,. CONNELLY,
One Chase Manhattan Plaza,
New York, N. Y. 10005

Attorney for Petitioner
Of Counsel:

GEORGE VRADENBURG III,
One Chase Manhattan Plaza,
New York, N. Y. 10005

June 26, 1975

TABLE OF CONTENTS

NN I Sich eaves vakse ne tuaes

PONE 049s 0R See eS Chee eae k kkcks

Constitutional Provision, Statute and Regulations
NE SaiWaeychuiaxedsb ous peek EL ene

We IR 5g Ok heck ces CE boas

Regulations Applicable to Determining “Fair
ane Gentomanes Promt” 3 vk cc cic keas ads

RP SE 05s brands inated conver vad
Reasons for Granting the Writ .................

ROGGE | CuI Ceo is oe hes bc vs

1. The Government Must Conform to its Own
Regulations and, During the Pendency of
Litigation, May Not Apply, Ad Hoe and
Retroactively, More Onerous Administra-
tive Rules In Order to Improve Its Liti-
RE Fi Ss a kx ivi kas een is

2. The Department of Defense May Not Fi-
nally Determine Issues in Litigation Before
the ASBCA Upon Ex Parte Application of
a Military Department and Without Af-
fording the Contractor an Opportunity to
BD FUE CNP PU layer ne

Nee et eae ieee Lies

13
13

14

19
23

PRP LL ALR I ae ES a AR EE CD

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE

CASES:
Appeal of Newport News Shipbuilding and Dry

Dock Co., 71-1 BCA § 8705 (ASBCA 1971) .. 6,

Berends v. Butz, 357 F.Supp. 143 (D. Minn. 1973)
Gonzales v. United States, 348 U.S. 407 (1955) .

Greene v. United States, 376 U.S. 149 (1964) . Ad 15,
Gutknecht v. United States, 396 U.S. 295 (1970) cot

Lynch v. United States, 292 U. S. 571 (1934) ....
Morgan v. United States, 304 U.S. 1 (1938) .....
Newport News Shipbuilding & Dry Dock Co, v.

United States, 374 F.2d 516 (Ct. Cl. 1967) ..... 5,

S x E Contractors, Inc. vy. United States, 406 U.S. 1

DE ete nds ig rents ts tk iS Seka 16,
Service v. Dulles, 354 U.S. 363 (1957) 2... 2.000685

Union Pac Ry. v. Laramie Stock Yards Co., 231
ess ira y oa baw ean ane
United States ex rel. Accardi v. Shaughnessy, 347

OM RE ee ee win 14, 15, 16,

United States v. Anthony Grace & Sons. Inc., 384

Rap EE Hse 5 6 Gi EN aN cewek needs anes 16,

United States v. Heffner, 420 F.2d 809 (4th Cir.
ee PE ERED Se ee De nr Pe a

Vitarelli v. Seaton, 359 U.S. 535 (1959) .........

IVillner v. Committee on Character and Fitness, 373
eee ald ie a enn KYA VO NRA A ACOs

STATUTES:
ay eg 6 ee er
41 U.S.C. § 321-322 (The Wunderlich Act) .....

18

ID oy iw

PRs IM OTS AT

iii
OTHER:
Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals, Part
1—Charter, ASPR A Part 1 (4CCH Govern-
ment Contracts Reporter § 35,551) ..........

Armed Services Procurement Regulations, 32
Ra iO A GANG UAS ENR Aa Seb 6 bs Kagececes

DoD Instruction 5126.3, December 20, 1961 (1
CCH Government Contracts Reporter § 825) ...

PAGE

10

2-3, 6

10, 21

Ee

: —— Re

BILEED THR

In THE

Supreme Court of Che United States

October Term 1974

No. 74-

BETHLEHEM STEEL CORPORATION,
Petitioner,

Uv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF CLAIMS

Petitioner, Bethlehem Steel Corporation (“Bethle-
hem’’), respectfully prays that a Writ of Certiorari issue
to review the judgment of the United States Court of
Claims entered in this action on February 19, 1975. The
action involves a Wunderlich Act appeal from decisions
of the Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals.

Opinions Below

The opinion of the Court of Claims, dated February 19,
1975 (“Bethlehem IT’), is reported at 511 F.2d 529 (1975)
and is reproduced at App. 133*. The decisions and opin-

* References to “App.” are to pages of the concurrently-filed
separate Appendix. The Table of Contents to the Appendix lists the
page of the Appendix at which each separate opinion or order set
forth therein begins.

PSOE MS ROE EISELE SOG ON OVLEN PARTIR EE EIT

POOR COPY

WORE IE Ae ENON TE ELSON EH Sa I a sca

EM ACY

FP pm NOR f Maps

ions of the Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals
(“ASBCA”’) affirmed by the judgment of the Court of
Claims are reported at 71-1 BCA { 8640 and 73-1 BCA
{ 9898 and are at App. 21 and App. 42, respectively. An
earlier opinion of the Court of Claims in this case, dated
March 20, 1970, (“Bethlehem I’) and reported at 423
F.2d 300 (1970), is at App. 1 and an unreported Order of
the Court of Claims, dated July 1, 1971, is at App. 41.

Jurisdiction

The judgment of the Court of Claims was entered on
February 19, 1975 (App. 133). Bethlehem’s timely motion
for rehearing and reconsideration was denied on March 28,
1975 (App. 161). This Court has jurisdiction to issue the
prayed-for Writ under 28 U.S.C. § 1255(1).

Question Presented

Whether the Department of Defense, acting through an
administrative committee not authorized by contract or
regulation to hear or determine contract disputes, upon the
ex par ~ application of a military department then in dis-
putes clause litigation with a private contractor, hes the
power to require the Armed Services Board of Contract
Appeals to apply, ad hoc and retroactively, rules-of-decision
in that litigation favorable to the military department.

Constitutional Provision, Statute and
Regulations Involved

The decision below determined an appeal of decisions
of the ASBCA to the United States Court of Claims pur-
suant to the Wunderlich Act, 41 U.S.C. §§ 321-322. The
decision below raises issues under the Fifth Amendment
and concerns the application of certain provisions of the
Armed Services Procurement Regulations, 32 C.F.R.

t

THR OUGH

SAP NMIAS 06 ND Ce Thonn a el

3

§§ 3-808. The text of the Fifth Amendment, the Wunder-
lich Act and the relevant portions of the Armed Services
Procurement Regulations are set forth at the end of this
petition.
Statement of the Case

This case presents important questions concerning the
fair and impartial administration of contract disputes
procedures as to two contracts (NObs-3556 and NObs-
3648) between Bethlehem and the Navy for the construc-
tion of five destroyers.

The Contracts

The contracts are two of seven contracts awarded by
the Navy between December 15, 1952, and January 27,
1956, to four shipbuilding contractors* for the construc-
tion of a total of eighteen DD931-type destroyers. ( App.
51) The facts concerning the award of the contracts and
Bethlehem’s performance are not in issue and are set forth
in detail in the opinion of the ASBCA at App. 42.

Each of those contracts contained a provision which
required the contractor to exclude from its proposed price
any provision for anticipated inflation in labor and material
costs which could be expected to occur during the life of
the contract. In consideration for the reduced contract
price resulting from such exclusion, the Government
contracted to reimburse the contractor, according to an
agreed formula, for such increases in labor and material
costs. Such contract price “escalation” was to be an auto-
matic adjustment, subject only to Article 6(e) of the con-
tracts, which provided:

“(e) The Contracting Officer may deny, in whole
or in part, any upward adjustment in the contract
price required under this Article if the Contracting
Officer finds that such adjustment is not required, in

* Bath Iron Works, Bethlehem Steel Corporation, Ingalls Ship-
building and Puget Sound Bridge and Dredging Co.

ESeD

DpDrvrnaere - mee

PASAT AEE ENR SH TE

af

RE sete Ri OE WAR PREG RRR OR UNF eM

4

whole or in part, to enable the Contractor to earn a
fair and reasonable profit under this contract.”

The construction and delivery of the destroyers pur-
* suant to these contracts was completed by 1959. Bethle-
hem completed its deliveries to the Navy pursuant to its
contracts in a timely manner, delivering the last destroyer
in February 1958. There is no dispute that the destroyers
delivered by Bethlehem were of “very good quality.”
(App. 103)

As anticipated by the parties, Bethlehem and other
contractors in the DD931 program suffered significant
inflationary increases in costs of labor and material. As
a consequence, they submitted claims for escalation in con-
tract prices. In January 1960 Bethlehem submitted to the
Contracting Officer a claim for escalation in the contract
price to cover its inflationary increases in labor and material
costs. The amount of Bethlehem’s claim, determined pur-
suant to the escalation formula in the contract, was
$3,347,500 on NObs-3556 and $2,404,900 on NObs-3648.
With the full escalation sought by Bethlehem, contract profit
margins would have been 9.3 percent (NObs-3556) and
9.6 percent (NObs-3648).

In August 1964, four years later, the Contracting Officer
refused any reimbursement whatsoever of Bethlehem’s
cost increases on the grounds that no escalation in contract
price was required “to enable the Contractor to earn a fair
and reasonable profit” within the meaning of Article 6(e)
of the contracts. As matters then stood, Bethlehem would
have obtained a profit on the two contracts of 3 percent
(NObs-3556) and 2.3 percent (NObs-3648). In at least
three out of the other five contracts, other shipbuilding
contractors constructing DD93l-class destroyers received
escalation sufficient to recover profits of 15.2 percent, 15.32
percent and 10.1 percent. (App. 63)

pnrircogkcr

eee ELAS DE 0 HON Re RE NYE I EN RT

|

ee

THR OUGH

— . a

5

Regulations Applicable to Determining “Fair and Reason-
able Profit”

At the time the contract was awarded, there were no
published guidelines in the Armed Services Procurement
Regulations (“ASPR”) as to how procurement officials
were to determine what constituted a “fair and reasonable
profit”’.*

In July, 1957, published guidelines for determining the
fairness and reasonableness of profit levels were adopted
by the Department of Defense. Those guidelines consisted
of a number of factors which procurement officials were
directed to “consider” in evaluating the proper level of
profit in a Government contract. 22 F.R. 5930 (July 26,
1957). However, there was no direction or guide to Con-
tracting Officers as to how they were to arrive at an
appropriate dollar or percent-of-cost profit once they had
“considered” those factors. Accordingly, the 1957 guide-
lines (amended in 1960) have generally been referred to
as the “unweighted” guidelines.**

* However, as the Court of Claims stated in Bethlehem I (App.
9):
“.... Since Government officials are presumed to act properly,
it is reasonable to suppose that the Pentagon would not have prom-
ulgated clauses such as Article 6(e) unless contracting officers
could employ established techniques and guidelines, even if un-
published, and therefore would not act arbitrarily.”

** Those were the guidelines in effect at the time of the ASBCA
decision which was subsequently reviewed by the Court of Claims, in
Newport News Shipbuilding and Dry Dock Co. v. United States, 374
F.2d 516 (Ct. Cl. 1967) (“Newport News’). Newport News in-
volved a shipbuilding contract for the aircraft carrier USS Ranger
which contained an escalation clause identical to that in Bethlehem’s
contract. The ASBCA in its initial decision in Newport News in
1962 had failed to apply the unweighted guidelines. The Court of
Claims held, 374 F.2d at 530, the “failure to apply [profit] guidelines
prescribed by authority in a regulation [to] be an error of law”. Al-
though at the time of the Court of Claims decision in Newport News
in 1966, the unweighted guidelines at issue had been superseded by
the weighted guidelines, the Court noted that their discussion “of

course relates to the guidelines as they were [when the ASBCA
rendered its opinion]”. Jd.

eee ae eee

wo ee

6

By the time of the Contracting Officer’s decision in this
case (August, 196+), the unweighted regulations had been
superseded by more detailed, remedial guidelines. Adopted
in August 1903 {for immediate usc, these regulations di- |
rected procurement officials to weigh the factors previously
applicable according to certain standards set forth in detail
in the regulations. 28 F.R. 12546, amending 32 C.F.R.
Part 3, § 3-808; see “Notes and Filing Instructions”
quoted at App. 156. These “weighted” guidelines were
designed “to reduce the impact of subjective factors in the
mind of the administering official[s|”. (Bethlehem J App.
17: see also App. &9, 157) The Assistant Secretary of
Defense recommended the adoption of the weighted guide-
lines to the Secretary of Defense as a “quantifying of
existing policy” intended to force contracting officers *‘‘to
give discriminating and analytical attention” to the weight-
ing of the previous unweighted factors.* Jd.

Decisions Below
ASBCA

The ASBCA, in August 1906, ruled that Bethlehem was
restricted to a five percent profit under each of its contracts
as “fair and reasonable”, (App. 7) The ASBCA fixed on
five percent on the theory that that was the profit to which
the parties had agreed in the negotiation of the contracts.
The ASBCA did not apply or advert to the weighted guide-
lines, then in effect and published in 32 C.F.R. { 3-808, or
to the superseded unweighted guidelines.

*The memorandum reflecting that recommendation was quoted in
the Appeal of Newport News Shipbuilding and Dry Dock Co., dated
February 9, 1971, 71-1 BCA § 8705. The ASBCA stated in that
appeal that the “weighted” guidelines were an implementation of \
historical Government profit objectives, stating:

“The ultimate policy objectives of the Department of Defense
with respect to profit, while not explicitly made public in the
1960 guidelines, were subsequently disclosed in 1963 in terms
which leave no doubt that they had been present all along.”
(71-1 BCA § 8705, at 40,455)

peers : ape RRTP REA TE RET —7E

BLEED TI

2 OUGH

7

Bethlehem I

Bethlehem brought this action in the Court below as-
serting as an error of law the ASBCA’s failure to apply the
weighted guidelines in effect in 1966 at the time of the
ASBCA’s decision. The Court, following the rationale of
Newport News, agreed with Bethlehem:

“. . Plaintiff [Bethlehem] desires to take its
chances under the ‘weighted guidelines method’ and
it has a legal right to do so.” Bethlehem I, App. 1, 17.

The Court saw “no injustice or anomaly in applying
profit limitation techniques, as the Pentagon may have
amended and prescribed them from time to time, up to the
date of the determination” (App. 17), and stated:

“| The involved regulations, however, when
made, appeared to be remedial, meant to safeguard
defense contractors against determinations as to a
reasonable profit level, arbitrary, perhaps biased, or
founded on ‘seat-of-the-pants intuition’, which con-
tracting officers might take without proper guidelines.
There is no reason to postulate an intent to withhold
such safeguards from parties to then existing con-
tracts, nothing to that effect appearing either in the
contracts or the regulation.” (App. 8-9)

The Navy did not argue that the weighted guidelines
should not be applied to contracts entered into prior to
their effective date, nor did it argue that the unweighted
guidelines should apply to Bethlehem’s contract.

Rather, the Navy argued that this case was an “excep-
tion” and fell “clean outside all published guidelines” be-
cause Bethlehem had not been the low bidder on NObs-3556
and NObs-3648. (App. 10-11) The Court rejected that
argument, noting:

“Tf defendant’s postulated exemption exists, it
must be a large one. The record shows that all of

ot

SRA TRIO

PEP A OIE IRS

8

plaintiff’s above named competitors in the shipbuilding
industry were awarded major contracts at one time or
another between World War II and 1954, when they
were not the low bidders, for reasons the same as those
which animated the award of NObs-3556 to plaintiff.
The situation recurs so commonly in our litigation
with other industries heavily dependent on defense
work, that we may take judicial notice of it: a rigid
adherence to procurement from the lowest bidder
only is viewed in the Pentagon as gradually freezing
out the competition and leading into single-source
procurement.” (App. 12)

Upon examination of the weighted guidelines, the
Court held that the “exception” sought by the Navy was
nowhere mentioned.

“ _.. To put it succinctly, the alleged exception
has every earmark of having originated in the active
mind of defense counsel herein, not in the perhaps
more rigid thinking of the Pentagon.” (App. 12)

The Navy also argued that the weighted guidelines
were not applicable because (i )the parties in the negotiation
of the contract had agreed that a 5 percent profit was “fair
and reasonable” and (ii) the “weighted” guidelines method
would produce a higher, unintended result and thus be
“so unfair that an exception to the method must be implied”.
(App. 13) The Court rejected that argument:

“ _. The contracts, however, reflect that plaintiff
[Bethlehem] agreed only upon a price ....” (App. 13)

For the second time, the Court directed strong language at

the lack of any factual or record basis for the Navy's argu-
ments:

“ |. The alleged agreement to a 5% level, in a

contract that viewed prospectively could have resulted

in anything from a loss to a windfall profit level,

BLEED Tr

9

according to its terms, must be regarded as located in
defendant’s counsel’s eyes alone.” (App. 14)

Having adjudicated Bethlehem’s “legal right’’ to the
application of the weighted guidelines, the Court went on
to say:

“Tf we have erred in thinking the ‘Weighted guide-
lines method’ is feasible to apply to the instant con-
tracts, the Pentagon even now could amend or supple-
ment its regulation, and the Board would be bound,
provided no impairment of vested rights was at-
tempted. Any amendment purporting to reaffirm the
position now claimed, that officials determining a rea-
sonable level of profit under clauses such as Article
6(c) are not subject to any published guidelines what-
ever in certain cases, at least would advisedly be made
in light of the recent statement of the Supreme Court:
“ * * 4 broad, roving authority, a type of adminis-
trative absolutism [is] not congenial to our law-mak- :
ing traditions.’ Gutknecht v. United States, 396 U.S.
295, 90 S.Ct. 506, 24 L.Ed.2d 532.” (App. 17-18)

ASPR Committee
Seizing upon the Court’s reference to the possibility that
the Pentagon might further “amend or supplement” its
regulation, attorneys for the Navy sought and obtained
ex parte* a declaration by an administrative committee in

wee

pt ae ats

* The ex parte proceedings were commenced by a memorandum ‘
originating in the Office of the General Counsel of the Navy. That
memorandum stated that it had been prompted by the Court of
Claims decision in Bethlehem I and that the instructions of the ASPR P
Committee sought by the Navy would be presented to the ASBCA
for use in contract disputes procedures with respect to Bethlehem’s
contract. It is clear that Navy attorneys initiated the ex parte pro-
ceedings and drafted the instructions (styled ‘“Minutes”) of the :
ASPR Committee; the Court below so found. Bethlehem II, App.
140. Indeed, the memorandum referred to above bears the initials of
Morris Amchan, the Navy attorney immediately responsible for the
conduct of the contract disputes proceedings for the Navy before the ,
ASBCA. Bethlehem has stated in its papers in the Court below, with-
out contravention by the Navy, that Mr. Amchan wrote the ex parte
application and drafted the ASPR Committee “Minutes”.

a

.OUGH

fl

POOR COPY

Rey AR AE BAP NG al TIT ERE NE TEL NN REBT ARR OE

10

the Pentagon called the Armed Services Procurement
Regulation Committee (the “ASPR Committee”) that the
weighted guidelines were not applicable to these contracts
because such application would result in an increase in the
profits of the contractor beyond that ‘considered by the
parties in the negotiation of the contract to be fair and
reasonable”. Navy attorneys did not advise the ASPR
Committee that they had made precisely that argument to
the Court of Claims in Bethlehem I and that the Court of
Claims had rejected it as having been “located in defend-
ant’s counsel’s eyes alone”. (App. 14) Although Navy
attorneys submitted to the ASPR Committee selected ex-
cerpts from the Court of Claims decision in Bethlehem: I,
they did not provide the Committee with a complete copy of
the decision.

“Minutes” of the ASPR Committee meeting embodying
its decision were drafted by Navy attorneys, were presented
to the Committee and were adopted substantially ver-
batim.* Those “Minutes” stated that the “weighted”

*The ASPR Committee is made up of two persons appointed by
the Assistant Secretary of Defense (Installations and Logistics) and
two persons (one a procurement policy representative and one a legal
representative) appointed by each of the military departments and
by the Defense Supply Agency. The Committee’s primary function
is to act in an advisory capacity to the above-named Assistant Secre-
tary on matters pertaining to the Armed Services Procurement Regu-
lations. DoD Instruction 5126.3, December 20, 1961 (1 CCH Gov-
ernment Contracts Reporter § 825).

The ASPR Committee has been delegated no authority to partici-
pate in contract disputes appeal procedures, either under DoD Regu-
lations or pursuant to the disputes clause. The Secretary of Defense
and the Secretaries of each of the military departments have designated
the ASBCA as the only “authorized representative” to hear appeals in
contract disputes proceedings ({ 1, Armed Services Board of Contract
Appeals, Part 1—Charter (4 CCH Government Contracts Reporter,
ASPR A Part 1, § 35, 551)) and the contract disputes clause only
authorizes disputed questions to be determined by such “authorized
representative”. DoD Instruction 5126.3, supra., establishing the
ASPR Committee, does not prescribe any rules of procedure and does
not by its terms provide for notice to be given to affected parties of
its proceedings, for affected parties to be given an opportunity to be
heard or for proceedings not to be conducted ex parte.

a - =
RAYA TONED BE EE SHOE LE PLEO SEITE ths

BLEED TH

EN een ee eee ee ee ee

11 q

Z

guidelines” effected a substantive change in the standards
existing at the time the contracts were entered into and
were intended for the development of a profit objective for
negotiation of future contracts”. (As the dissent below :

pointed out, “. . . there is no evidence in the record to sup-

port the ASPR committee’s statement that only prospective ;
application was intended” (App. 155); there is nothing in E
the majority opinion to the contrary.) ‘

The “Minutes” of the ASPR Committee directed a :

“deviation”, i.e., a non-standard procurement procedure, H
with respect to this contract clause, and instructed the
ASBCA that the superseded unweighted guidelines should
be applied in determining what level of profits was “fair
and reasonable” under Article 6(e) of Bethlehem’s contract.
Bethlehem was not given notice of the pendency of these
collateral proceedings or opportunity to be heard.

ASBCA

The ASBCA believed itself to be “bound” by the ASPR
Committee action (App. 38) and, as a result, did not pass
on such questions (raised by Bethlehem) as the authority
of ASPR under its charter to decide this issue absent
approval of higher Department of Defense officials ( App.
33) or the absence of any factual basis for the assertions
of the Navy attorneys and thus for the committee’s action
(App. 33).*

Applying the unweighted guidelines, the ASBCA deter-
mined that Bethlehem was entitled to full escalation on
NObs-3648 (resulting in a 9.6 percent profit) but restricted
Bethlehem’s escalation on NObs-3556 to a 6.3 percent profit
level. (App. 130-131). Believing itself aggrieved on
NObs-3556 by the failure of the ASBCA to apply the

* Bethlehem immediately appealed the ASBCA decision to the
Court of Claims asking that Court to clarify and reaffirm its earlier
opinion adjudicating Bethlehem’s “legal right” to the application of the

weighted guidelines. The Court of Claims declined to review the deci-
sion at that time. (App. 41)

REE ERRAND RR? A Oa HMEA PEPER ABER

¢ OUGH

12

appropriate weighted guidelines, Bethlehem sought further
review as to that contract in the Court of Claims.

Bethlehem II

In Bethlehem II (App. 133), the Court of Claims in
a sharply-divided opinion,* approved the retroactive appli-
cation of the ASPR Committee “Minutes” in Bethlehem’s
contract disputes proceedings. As with the ASBCA, the
majority below did not go behind the Navy’s assertions to
review the basis for the ASPR Committee instructions.

The Court held two factors as “favoring retroactive
application” of the ASPR Committee ‘‘decision”’: first, the
“long lapse of time” between the original contract award
and final disposition; second, the remedial effect of apply-
ing “a guideline regulation, any regulation” as opposed to
interpreting the contract without reference to any guide-
lines. (App. 137-8)

The Court condemned as “not . . . entirely cricket”, as
“deplor|able]”, and as ‘“‘outrageous” the ex parte conduct
of Navy attorneys but refused to provide Bethlehem with
a remedy in order not “to prolong this already inordinately
prolonged litigation, to the advantage of no one knows
whom’’.** (App. 142-3)

The dissent below pointed out that consistent with Beth-
lehem I the only question open to the Court was whether
application of the weighted guidelines was “feasible”, in
the sense of either “possible” or “reasonable” or “suitable”.

*The Court of Claims was divided four-to-three, Judge Nichols
writing the majority opinion for Judges Davis, Skelton and Kashiwa,
with Judge Bennett writing a strong dissent, in which Judges Durfee
and Kunzig concurred.

**It is clear to whose “advantage” the abrupt and arbitrary halt
in this litigation has accrued—the Navy. Condoned in the interests of
expediency are ex parte methods, agreed by all seven judges below to
have been “outrageous”, which are an anathema to notions of funda-
mental fair play and procedural due process. In its desire to stop this
lawsuit, the majority has permitted the Navy attorneys and the ASPR

Committee to engage in precisely that “administrative absolutism”
verbally condemned, but effectively condoned, by the Court.

BLEED

Pparcce enemas: ASAD a A PELE BG 1 NS + Fe AES RI TA aR? OC Cintas Ae
i

13

(App. 153) The dissent noted, first, that there “can be no
dispute” that it was possible to apply the weighted guide-
lines (App. 153)—the Navy had done so and had clearly
not liked the results. Second, the application of the
weighted guidelines would not be “unreasonable” when
“used appropriately” to take account of the fact that Beth-
lehem was not the lowest bidder. (App. 153-4). Finally,
the dissent dealt with each of the Navy’s arguments that
application of the weighted guidelines was “unsuitable”,
dismissing each as lacking support in the record and as
having been previously rejected in Bethlehem I. (App.
154-7)

Reasons for Granting the Writ

The judgment sought to be reviewed holds that the De-
partment of Defense, acting through the Armed Services
Procurement Regulation Committee, upon ex parte appli-
cation of a military department then in disputes clause
litigation and without notice to the private contractor in-
volved, has the power to require the ASBCA to apply, ad
hoc and retroactively, rules-of-decision in that litigation
favorable to the military department. In so holding, the
judgment (i) is inconsistent with decisions of this Court
which impose contractual and constitutional requirements
of procedural regularity and basic fair play on the Govern-
ment in its dealings with private parties and (ii) poses
important questions and raises substantial problems in the
impartial administration of disputes clause appeals before
the ASBCA.

Argument

The power of the ASPR Committee, under the deci-
sion below, is “a broad, roving authority, a type of adminis-
trative absolutism not congenial to our law-making tradi-
tions”. Gutknecht v. United States, 396 U.S. 295, 306
(1970). The power was invoked by the Navy here, not to

LTR EMR CRT AS LL RR OD RRS a

:
;

GAT 2A RR HOE GRACES UNDE RR RORIIRL ASE Re SS

HR OUGH

14.

facilitate ongoing procurement of goods or services, but to
depress the recovery of moneys earned by Bethlehem under
a contract which had been fully performed twelve years
earlier.

Similar to the power of the Selective Service under its
delinquency regulations, at issue in Gutknecht, such power
has no statutory standard or even guidelines. The power
of the ASPR Committee is exercised entirely at its own
discretion — stimulated no doubt by the ex parte approaches
of the military departments with pending contract disputes.

The decision below resolves the question presented here
in a manner which is fundamentally inconsistent with deci-
sions of this Court which are designed to protect private
contractors in litigation with the Government from the
retroactive application of unilateral, litigation-oriented
changes in Government regulations.

1. The Government Must Conform to its Own Regulations
and, During the Pendency of Litigation, May Not Apply,
Ad Hoc and Retroactively, More Onerous Administrative
Rules Designed To Improve Its Litigating Posture.

This Court has held in a number of decisions through
the years that due process requires that the Government
conform to its established regulations and procedures and
not deviate therefrom on an ad hoc basis when it believes
its interests so dictate. Greene v. United States, 376 U.S.
149 (1964); Vitarelli v. Seaton, 359 U.S. 535 (1959);
Service v. Dulles, 354 U.S. 363 (1957); United States ex
rel. Accardi v. Shaughnessy, 347 U.S. 260 (1954) ; see also
United States v. Heffner, 420 F.2d 809, 811-13 (4th Cir.
1970) ; Berends v. Butz, 357 F.Supp. 143, 151 (D. Minn.
1973).

The Department of Defense has failed in this case to
conform to its own regulations in two different ways. In
the first place, the Department of Defense, acting through
the ASPR Committee, has deviated on an ad hoc basis in
a pending contract disputes litigation from its published

PALE RY SLI EIVIL LF EE IO LILI OT TED RIE: ASAE TN LIE SE ELST ROE

Bi EE]

Pe POS RS Fe a I OS NT RRA NE AA ORIOL ATLL I OS EGR

15

weighted guidelines method of evaluating the fairness and
reasonableness of profit levels in negotiated contracts. In
the second place, the Department of Defense, by acting
through the ASPR Committee in determining the issue of
what guidelines are applicable in making determinations
under Article 6(e) of Bethlehem’s contract, has failed to
conform to its own regulations designating the ASBCA
as the “authorized representative” in hearing and deter-
mining appeals in contract disputes cases “as fully and as
finally” as might the Secretaries of Defense and of the
military departments.

The Greene case is instructive on the first point. In that
case Greene’s employment was terminated in 1953 based on
the administrative revocation of his security clearance by
the Department of the Navy. Following this Court's deter-
mination that Greene’s security clearance revocation had
been improper, Greene sought to recover compensation for
the Government’s unauthorized action based on a regulation
adopted in 1955. In 1960, while Greene’s claim was pending,
the Department of Defense ‘‘amended” its 1955 regulation
so as to subject Greene’s recovery to administrative discre-
tion and to other impediments not present in the 1955 regu-
lation. This Court held that Greene could not be forced to
proceed under the amended, 1960 regulation, citing Union
Pac. Ry. v. Laramie Stock Yards Co., 231 U.S. 190, 199
(1913), to the effect that:

“

. ‘a retrospective operation will not be given to a
statute which interferes with antecedent rights . . .
unless such be the “unequivocal and inflexible import
of the terms, and the manifest intention of the legis-
lature”’ ”,

The Accardi case is instructive on the second point. There
the Attorney General had included Accardi on a confidential
list of “unsavory characters” whom he wished to deport,
prior to the decision of a Board of Immigration Appeals

rey Stig Oa Re LTE SR LITLE LCL SLOPE LIAL EEE © COLELLO NAIA LY IELEREDI IEE ARP aS apap pt ia

THROUGH

16

on Accardi’s application for suspension of deportation pro-
ceedings. Applicable regulations then in effect delegated
to the Board of Immigration Appeals such discretionary
authority “as is appropriate and necessary for the disposi-
tion of the case”, 8 C.F.R., 1949, § 90.3(c), cited at United
States ex rel. Accardi v. Shaughnessy, supra., 347 U.S. at
266. Accardi sought to block his deportation and offered to
prove that the Board of Immigration Appeals’ later denial
of Accardi’s application was the result of the Attorney
General’s instructions, but the District Court refused to
accept Accardi’s offer of proof. This Court reversed, hold-
ing that had the decision of the Board of Immigration
Appeals resulted from the Attorney General’s instruction,
it would have been in error:

“In short, as long as the regulations remain opera-
tive, the Attorney General denies himself the right to
side-step the Board or dictate its decision in any man-

”

ner”. United States ex rel. Accardi v. Shaughnessy,
supra., 347 U.S. at 267.

This Court then noted:

“It is important to emphasize that we are not here
reviewing and reversing the manner in which dis-
cretion was exercised. If such were the case we would
be discussing the evidence in the record supporting or
undermining the alien’s claim to discretionary relief.
Rather we object to the Board's alleged failure to
exercise its own discretion, contrary to existing valid
regulations.” /d., at 268 (Emphasis in original.)

See also, S & E Contractors, Inc. v. United States, 406
U.S. 1 (1972); United States v. Anthony Grace & Sons,
Inc., 384 U.S. 424 (1966).

The decision below is inconsistent with both Greene and
Accardi, Under the decisions of the Court of Claims in
Newport News and Bethlehem I, Bethlehem was entitled to

pmirrern

Ct ae SAREE SANE LITT UR Sd FO ORR AN IRR NRO CN UAE tae Tinea Rac Ritkbe edie ate Recent

"HR OUGH

17

the application by the ASBCA of published DoD profit
guidelines in effect at the time of ASBCA’s decision in
1966, i.e., the weighted guidelines, Immediately after
Bethlehem I, and prompted by that decision, the Depart-
ment of Defense, through the ASPR Committee issued an
administrative instruction, considered binding by the
ASBCA, that the subjective and superseded unweighted
guidelines which had been discarded nine years earlier by
the Department of Defense would be applied in this case
in lieu of the more objective and remedial weighted guide-
lines, That administrative decision, issued by the ASPR
Committee, was a “deviation” from published regulations
of the Department of Defense, favorable to the military
department—the Navy—in this litigation. And that admin-
istrative decision, on an issue in a disputes appeal pending
before the ASBCA, was rendered by a committee not au-
thorized by Department of Defense regulations to determine
disputed questions in contract disputes appeals.

The change in the rules-of-decision was not effected by
statute or by a general change in the overall administrative
scheme. Here, the change in the rules-of-decision was a
“deviation” from standard procurement practices prompted
by, and intended to effect the outcome of, pending litigation.
The “deviation” itself was not a more precise explication of
ambiguous terminology ; the “deviation” was not the exten-
sion of the regulatory scheme to areas of application not
anticipated when the regulation was adopted. The “devia-
tion” was the ad hoc repeal of an entire body of remedial
guidelines in favor of subjective superseded guidelines.

Unlike Accardi there is no question that the administra-
tive “deviation” was made to effect the outcome of this liti-
gation. The Navy stated that it had been prompted to start
the ex parte proceedings by the Court of Claims decision in
Bethlehem I; the Navy claimed that the Court of Claims
had invited the ASPR Committee to determine the applica-
bility of the weighted guidelines to Bethlehem’s contracts ;

ee

A
¥
tl

er a ee Be eeete

18

the Navy asserted that a higher profit would result from
application of the weighted rather than unweighted guide-
lines; the Navy asked that the ASPR Committee instruc-
tions apply to the contract clause whose applicability was at
issue only in this litigation with Bethlehem; and the Navy
stated explicitly that it intended to present the ASPR Com-
mittee instructions to the ASBCA panel hearing Bethle-
hem’s appeal.

It is clear that the Navy sought to do what it did be-
cause it believed that it had a better chance at depressing
Bethlehem’s recovery under the discretionary and unpre-
dictable unweighted guidelines than it did under the objec-
tive and predictable weighted guidelines. Although applica-
tion of the unweighted guidelines consistent with historical
DoD profit policies should have produced the same result
as application of the weighted guidelines, see supra, at 6n*,
as indeed it did in Newport News, 71-1 BCA § 8705 and
with respect to Contract NObs-3648 below, App. 129-30,
the greater subjectivity in the application of the unweighted
guidelines gave the Navy the leverage of greater adminis-
trative discretion than if the weighted guidelines were
applied. The Navy was successful in its strategy to the
extent of $1,595,009 as to the contract still at issue in this
case. Bethlehem submits that the Government cannot be
permitted to manipulate published guidelines in such a
manner as to achieve an improved litigating posture.

And Bethlehem submits further that protection from
such arbitrary manipulation by administrative officials is
precisely the objective that the weighted guidelines were
designed to achieve and precisely this Court’s objective in
such cases as United States ex rel Accardi v. Shaughnessy,
supra., and Greene vy. United States, supra. The Govern-
ment simply cannot be permitted to manipulate “the law”
in ways that serve its interest and quash the rights of con-

tractors.

. 4 o OP eet TO ak aromas
= - — Peeeene ny aloe SRT TT MEE, VIROL D ASSET NN Oe AALS nk WR RE aad
TG sie YAN NE MS IST CAE ANAS IPANEMA IIARS SRS BE RAN At ¥

19

2. The Department of Defense May Not Finally Determine
Issues in Litigation Before the ASBCA Upon Ex Parte
Application of a Military Department and Without Afford-
ing the Contractor an Opportunity to Be Heard.

The “deviation” from standard procedure mandated by
the ASPR Committee was obtained through an ex parte
application of the attorneys for the Navy in this litigation.
The decision of the ASPR Committee was taken by the
ASBCA as “binding”, not advisory, As a consequence, the
Navy has not yet been forced to prove its assertions con-
cerning the merits of the guideline substitution in an ad-
versary hearing in which Bethlehem has had notice and an
opportunity to be heard and to present its evidence.

With respect to the decision of the ASPR Committee,
the Court of Claims held that such an ex parte approach
Was not improper because the ASPR Committee was a
“rule-making” body to whom ex parte procedures were
“normal”, App. 144

In the context of this case, that holding is fundament-
ally at odds with this Court’s repeated condemnations of
ex parte procedures as inconsistent with “underlying con-
cepts of procedural regularity and basic fair play”. Gon-
sales Vv. United States, 348 U.S. 407, 412 (1955); see also
Willner v. Committee on Character and Fitness, 373 U.S.
96 (1963) ; Morgan v. United States, 304 U.S. 1 (1938).

The “deviation” sought and obtained by Navy attorneys
in the ASPR Committee proceedings was not a “rule-mak-
ing” in any sense of that word. The ASPR Committee de-
cision did nov involve any particular expertise or legislative
or political judgment. The ASPR Committee had to draw
on no particular management or procurement background
or sources in deciding that question. There was no complex
“business” decision required. There was no “amendment”
to existing regulations, in the sense of a clarifying, simply-
ing or elaborating construct on existing regulations in-

0 SP MORANAATA AERA EAE ROAD EY NEN AN

——————— a PN + ERE EY EE —" ne le Lee AERIS ae ty —_ + Og Se

20

tended to be widely applied. The “deviation” from standard
procedures was not the product of dissatisfaction with the
existing regulations arising out of experience with the
weighted guidelines.

The proposal submitted to the ASPR Committee by the
Navy requested a determination that the weighted guide-
lines not be applied retroactively to Bethlehem’s contract
because the effect of application “would be to increase the
profit of the contractor beyond that considered by the parties
in the negotiation of the contract, to be fair and reasonable.”
That question is the kind of question regularly and routinely
adjudicated by quasi-judicial bodies or by courts themselves.
And the “deviation” that was adopted by the ASPR Com-
mittee was no more than a decision of the question of
whether the requested guidelines would be applied retro-
actively in this case. Indeed, the ASPR Committee deter-
mined one of the precise issues which was then pending
before the ASBCA.

Under these circumstances the ex parte action of the
ASPR Committee would appear to be wholly improper and
the ASPR Committee action a nullity. But if any effect
be ascribed to that action, the ASBCA must be given the
opportunity to redetermine the issue independently, 1.e.,
completely de novo. Here, the ASBCA felt itself “bound”
by the ASPR Committee action and consequently did not
itself inquire into the adequacy of the basis for the ASPR
Committee action.

Bethlehem was entitled to participate, to offer evidence
and to be heard on the merits of its position before the de-
cision to change the guidelines had been administratively
determined. That right derives in the first instance from
its contract with the Navy wherein it is agreed that:

—————

“Tn connection with any appeal proceeding under
this Article, the Contractor shall be afforded an op-

—iOCSE

Pet OS ree OES he wae gy Ce EY Meh wre BO

21

portunity to be heard and to offer evidence in support
of its final appeal.” (Article 33. DISPUTES.)

Bethlehem contracted for the right to be heard and to
offer evidence in support of its appeals with respect to all
disputed questions of fact and incidental questions of law i
heard before the ASBCA, S & E Contractors, Inc. v. 1
United States, supra., 406 U.S. at 9 n. 6; Armed Services
Board of Contract Appeals, Part 1—Charter 1 5 (4 CCH
Government Contract Reporter § 35,551) (“When an
appeal is taken pursuant to a disputes clause in a contract
which limits appeals to disputes concerning questions of
fact, the Board may nevertheless in its discretion hear,
consider, and decide all questions of law necessary for the
complete adjudication of the issue.””), and Bethlehem was
entitled to have the benefit of the administrative procedures
it had bargained for. United States v. Anthony Grace &
Sons, Inc., supra., 384 U.S. at 429.

The question of what is a “fair and reasonable profit”
under Article 6(e) is a disputed fact, and the issue of what
guidelines are applicable in determining that disputed fact ‘
is a question involving both fact and law, but in any event
a matter coming within the jurisdiction of the ASBCA.

This implies, at the very least, that Bethlehem was

Tt PR

PE OIL LIEN ME

Capt

Bote em re

ee

entitled “to be heard and to offer evidence” in an ASBCA i
proceeding in which the Navy was required to prove de novo 5
its assertions that the “weighted” guidelines were not in- ;

tended to be applied to existing contracts.

Bethlehem was entitled to a hearing as well because
of the strictures of the Due Process Clause of the Fifth
Amendment. Bethlehem has, in effect, been deprived of
an important contractual right without essential due

process requirements of notice and opportunity to be heard.
See Lynch v. United States, 292 U.S. 571, 579 (1934).

:

a a

22

(“Valid contracts are property, whether the obligor be a
private individual, a municipality, a State or the United
States. Rights against the United States arising out of a
contract with it are protected by the Fifth Amendment.” )

Thus, where the Navy, in litigation with a private con-
tractor, initiates and participates in ASPR Committee
proceedings in order to obtain ad hoc instructions binding
on the ASBCA on the particular legal and factual ques-
tions then pending before the ASBCA, the contractor must
be given notice of those proceedings and an opportsnity to
respond to the Navy’s contentions and, if any effect be
given to such ASPR Committee action in later ASBCA
proceedings, the issues resolved by the ASPR Committee
must be redetermined de novo by the ASBCA.

The end result of the chain of procedural horrors dis-
cussed above is that Bethlehem has had what the Court in
Bethlehem I characterized as a “legal right” dissolved with-
out any administrative or judicial body deciding the merits
of its side of the story.

The practice approved below is not a one-time injustice.
The ASPR Committee is a continuing body whose military
department members have an on-going interest in the out-
come of contract disputes before the ASBCA. There is no
reason to suppose the ASPR Committee and its military
department members will voluntarily renounce the broad,
roving authority granted by the Court below to the ASPR
Committee to issue “deviations” from standard procure-
ment procedures in pending contract disputes proceedings.

In order to preserve the orderly and impartial ad-
ministration of contract disputes under the quasi-judicial
structure fostered by this Court, the decision below must
be reversed.

ES ia TRS a IE REE, POP RE DEG EE . a+ pre tgp etions + t= , aa

—_—<—“— . . 4

23

Conclusion

For the reasons stated above, petitioner Bethlehem
Steel Corporation prays that a Writ of Certiorari issue to
the United States Court of Claims to review its decision of
February 19, 1975.

Respectfully submitted,

ALBERT R. CONNELLY,
One Chase Manhattan Plaza,
New York, N. Y. 10005

Attorney for Petitioner

Of Counsel:

GEORGE VRADENBURG III,
One Chase Manhattan Plaza,
New York, N. Y. 10005

£5 SEE TGR IER EE SAREB SE HAIL OEE SE ARE MA WE Pe

la

Constitutional Provision, Statute and
Regulations Involved

1. The Fifth Amendment to the Constitution provides:

“No person shall be held to answer for a capital,
or otherwise infamous crime, unless on a present-
ment or indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases
arising in the land or naval forces, or in the Militia,
when in actual service in time of War or public
danger ; nor shall any person be subject for the same
offense to be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb;
nor shall be compelled in any criminal case to be a
witness against himself, nor be deprived of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor
shall private property be taken for public use, with-
out just compensation.” (U. S. Const. Amend. V)

2. The Act of May 11, 1954, 68 Stat. 81 (The Wunder-
lich Act), 41 U.S.C. §§321-322, provides :

“§321. Limitation on pleading contract-provisions
relating to finality; standards of review

“No provision of any contract entered into by the
United States, relating to the finality or conclusive-
ness of any decision of the head of any department or
agency or his duly authorized representative or board
in a dispute involving a question arising under such
contract, shall be pleaded in any suit now filed or to
be filed as limiting judicial review of any such deci-
sion to cases where fraud by such official or his said
representative or board is alleged: Provided, how-
ever, That any such decision shall be final and
conclusive unless the same is fradulent [sic] or
capricious or arbitrary or so grossly erroneous as
necessarily to imply bad faith, or is not supported by
substantial evidence.

a Read ie le he.

Rei

Pare

YR:

2a

“§322. Contract-provisions making decisions final
on questions of law

“No Government contract shall contain a provi-
sion making final on a question of law the decision
of any administrative official, representative, or
board.”

3. Relevant provisions of the Armed Services Procure-
ment Regulations, Title 32 (Cum. Supp. as of January 1,
1960) (the “unweighted” guidelines) provide:

“$3.808-1 General.

“A fair and reasonable provision for profit or fee
cannot be made by simply applying a certain pre-
determined percentage to the cost estimate or selling
price of a product. Rather, the profit or fee should
be first established as a dollar amount, after con-
sidering the factors set forth in this section. There-
fore, where a fee is involved and it is necessary to
determine the percentage relationship between the
fee and the estimated cost of the contract in order
to comply with administrative and statutory limita-
tions on fees for cost-reimbursement type contracts,
the percentage shall be determined only after the
dollar amount of the fee has been established for
negotiation purposes. [Amdt. 49, 24 F.R. 10631,
Dec. 24, 1959]

“§3.808-2 Factors for Determining Fee or Profit.

“The factors set forth in subparagraphs (a)
through (i) below should be considered in determin-
ing profit or fee in all contracts, whether for supplies
or services; for construction work; or for experi-
mental, developmental, or research work; and
whether of the fixed-price type or of the cost-reim-
bursement type unless otherwise specified in the par-
ticular factor. All of the following factors, as set

BLEED "

{ROUGH

3a

forth in paragraphs (a) through (i) of this section
should be evaluated in the light of the basic policy
set forth in §3.801-1 which provides that supplies
and services shall be procured from responsible
sources at fair and reasonable prices calculated to
result in the lowest overall cost to the Government:

(a) Effect of Competition. Where competi-
tion is adequate and effective and proposals are
on a firm fixed-price basis, the contracting officer
normally need not consider in detail the amount
of estimated profit included in a price. Where ef-
fective competition is lacking, the estimate for
profit for the proposed fixed fee should be ana-
lyzed in the same manner as all other elements
of price, applying the factors set forth in this
section.

(b) Degree of Risk. (1) The degree of risk
assumed by the contractor should influence the
amount of profit or fee a contractor is entitled to
anticipate. For example, where a portion of the
risk has been shifted to the Government through
cost-reimbursement or price redetermination pro-
visions, unusual contingency provisions, or other
risk-reducing measures, the amount of profit or
fee should be less than where the contractor as-
sumes all risk.

(2) Some cost-plus-a-fixed-fee contracts and
task orders for research and development call for
the delivery of prototypes of other “hardware.”
Other such contracts or task orders require only
that the contractor exert its “best efforts” to de-
liver the required end item. Frequently this is
because the contractor is not willing to assume

rRrrar er ee

CREPE EOE DRI NTS | MiB PLE LILI I IAA CCR BRE ALMA ELIORIE AED aS OR ELS LEN ie ASN Tale

4a

the additional burden of incuring substantial cost
overruns without additional fee in order to com-
plete performance. When the contract calls for
delivery of developed models in accordance with
well-defined performance or design characteris-
tics or a predetermined delivery schedule, or both,
in contrast to an obligation only to exert its
“best efforts” to develop and deliver such models,
payment of the fee should be conditioned on per-
formance in accordance with the contractor’s ob-
ligation to deliver, and in such cases the contrac-
tor may be entitled to a larger fee both because
of the risk inherent in its commitment and be-
cause of the successful completion of the work.

(c) Nature of Work to Be Performed. A
major consideration in the determination of the
amount of profit or fee, particularly in connec-
tion with experimental, developmental, or re-
search work, is the difficulty or complexity of the
work to be performed and any unusual demands
of the contract, such as whether the project in-
volves a new approach unrelated to existing
equipment or only refinements on existing equip-
ment, whether the caliber or class of engineer
involved is that of an “‘idea-man,” or whether the
contractor is to be required by the contract to
assign to the work unusually skilled talent.

(d) Extent of Government Assistance. The
Department of Defense encourages its contrac-
tors to perform their contracts with the mini-
mum of financial, facilities, or other assistance
from the Government. Where extraordinary fi-
nancial, facilities, or other assistance must be
furnished to a contractor by the Government,

Tes i |

PEPE LING OO OI LL LIE EY ot , SPP ESE POP ‘ al me PAT

no ocr = L

5a

such extraordinary assistance should have a
modifying effect in determining what constitutes
a fair and reasonable profit or fee. (See also

§3.404-3(d).)

(e) Extent of the Contractor’s Investment.
The extent of a contractor’s total investment
(i.e., both equity and borrowed capital) in the
performance of the contract will be taken into
consideration in determining the amount of the
fee or profit.

(f) Character of Contractor’s Business.
Recognition must be given to the type of busi-
ness normally carried on by the contractor, the
complexity of manufacturing techniques, the rate
of capital turnover, and the effect to each individ-
ual procurement upon such business. For ex-
ample, where a contractor is engaged in an indus-
try where the turnover of working capital is low,
generally the profit objective on individual con-
tracts is higher than in those industries where
the turnover is more rapid.

(g) Contractor's Performance. In addition
to the factors set forth in §3.101, the contrac-
tor’s past and present performance should be
evaluated in such areas as quality of product,
quality control, scrap and spoilage, efficiency in
cost control (including need for and reasonable-
ness of cost incurred), meeting delivery sched-
ules, timely compliance with contractual provi-
sions, creative ability in product development
giving consideration to commercial potential of
product), engineering (including inventive, de-
sign simplification, and development contribu-
tions), management of subcontract programs,

FRPP LIL LOPLI IEE PT :

BRD A Ps

6a

and any unusual services furnished by the con-
tractor. Where a contractor has consistently
achieved excellent results in the foregoing areas
in comparison with other contractors in similar
circumstances, such performance merits a pro-
portionately greater opportunity for profit or
fee. Conversely, a poor record in this regard
should be reflected in determining what consti-
tutes a fair and reasonable profit or fee.

(h) Subcontracting. In negotiating the profit
or fee, the nature and extent of any subcontract-
ing should be considered, particularly as it bears
on the contractor’s performance, administrative
responsibility, financial investment, and degree
of risk as outlined above. The degree and nature
of subcontract programs vary on a broad spec-
trum. While it is not possible to define precisely
the exact profit or fee treatment to be accorded
each situation, the general guidelines which fol-
low will be taken into consideration. The evalua-
tion of a contractor’s subcontracting program
should not consist merely of applying arbitrary
percentages of profit to subcontract prices in
negotiating the prime contract price. A relatively
large amount of subcontracting need not make
for negotiation of a lesser profit or fee—the
character and circumstances of the subcontract-
ing and the effect on the prime contractor’s costs
must be taken into account. Although purchased
material and subcontracted work are usually
properly included in the base upon which profit
is computed, instances may arise in which a sig-
nificant portion or portions of a contract are sub-
contracted in such a way that only a minimum

PRED SERRE SR SSN ACR TIROENNE A: LOW IRN LO SUMMON

rVi i721

7a

amount of responsibility or risk remains with
the prime contractor. In such a case, the amount
of fee or profit should be less than where the
contractor assumes substantial risk. Of primary
importance is the degree to which the subcon-
tracting provides a better product and lower
costs, with timely delivery, and in which the
contractor assumes heavy managerial effort, re-
sponsibility and risk. In this connection, consid-
eration should be given to the contractor’s past
and present effectiveness in offering to qualified
small business concerns and to firms in labor
surplus areas an opportunity to compete for sub-
contracts (see for example §1.707-3) and to the
contractor’s furnishing assistance to such con-
cerns as they require or as the Government may
specifically request. A contractor’s effectiveness
in furnishing such opportunity or assistance to
an unusual or exceptional degree, should be given
favorable consideration in determining the
amount of fee or profit.

(i) Unrealistic Estimates. If records reveal
that a contractor’s actual costs are consistently
lower than his estimated costs (indicating a prac-
tice of excessive estimates), and if the contractor
refuses to’ provide what seems to be reasonable
estimate of costs, a lower profit or fee should be
considered.” [ Amdt. 49, 24 F.R. 10632, Dec. 24,
1959]

ok * *

4° Relevant portions of the Armed Services Procure-
ment Regulations, Title 32 (Cum. Supp. as of January 1,
1966) (the “weighted” guidelines) provide:

“§3.808 Profit, including fees under cost-reim-

bursement type contracts.

a connate wrteece mere weresmeadl

POR WL 02 ANID OT TARR ABLE SRI IES DYN SBIR PPM ae

8a

(28 F.R. 12555, Nov. 23, 1963]
“§3.808-1 Policy.

“(a) General. It is the policy of the Department
of Defense to utilize profit to stimulate efficient con-
tract performance. Profit generally is the basic mo-
tive of business enterprise. The Government and
defense contractors should be concerned with har-
nessing this motive to work for more effective and
economical contract performance. Negotiation of
very low profits, the use of historical averages, or
the automatic application of a predetermined per-
centage to the total estimated cost of a product, does
not provide the motivation to accomplish such per-
formance. Furthermore, low average profit rates on
defense contracts overall are detrimental to the pub-
lic interest. Effective national defense in a free enter-
prise economy requires that the best industrial
capabilities be attracted to defense contracts. These
capabilities will be driven away from the defense
market if defense contracts are characterized by low
profit opportunities. Consequently, negotiations
aimed merely at reducing prices by reducing profits,
with no realization of the function of profit cannot
be condoned. For each contract in which profit is
negotiated as a separate element of the contract
price, the aim of negotiation should be to employ the
profit motive so as to impel effective contract per-
formance by which overall costs are economically
controlled. To this end, the profit objective must be
fitted to the circumstances of the particular procure-
ment, giving due weight to each of the performance,
risk, and other factors set forth in §§3.808-3.808-6.
This will result in a wider range of profits which
in many cases, will be significantly higher than pre-
vious norms.

SOLE EL LO RL Pe, RL MI Man EMA OBE LTE OND HELIN GE I ETN

BLEED

9a

(b) Contracts priced on the basis of cost analy-
sis. When cost analysis is performed pursuant to
§3.807-2, profit considerations shall be in accordance
with the objectives set forth below. As an induce-
ment for broad reduction in defense costs, the Gov-
ernment should establish a profit objective for con-
tract negotiations which will:

(1) Reward the contractor who undertakes
more difficult work requiring higher skills;

(2) Allow the contractor an opportunity to
earn profits commensurate with the extent of the
cost risk he is willing to assume—the greater the
risk assumption, the greater the profit objective
established ;

(3) Reward those contractors who have an
excellent record of past performance and con-
versely penalize those contractors whose _per-
formance has been poor ; and

(4) Reward contractors who provide their
own facilities and financing or who have estab-
lished their competence through prior develop-
ment work undertaken at their own risk.

The weighted guidelines method set forth in §3.808-
2 for establishing profi’ objectives is designed to
provide reasonably precise guidance in applying
these principles. This method, properly applied, will
tailor profits to the circumstances of each contract in
such a way that long range cost reduction objectives
will be fostered, and a wider spread of profits will be
achieved.

(c) Contracts priced without cost analysis. On
many contracts and subcontracts, good pricing does

i... BPE LR IE LE LOLEL LIER LA GLA TIER AED NE SR IEEEE AAD IS I ms

THROUGH

10a

not require an examination into costs and profits.
Where adequate price competition exists and in other
situations where cost analysis is not required (see
§3.807), fixed-price type contracts will be awarded
to the lowest responsible offerors without regard to
the amount of their profits. Under these circum-
stances, the profit which is anticipated, or in fact
earned, should not be of concern to the Government.
In such cases, if a low offeror earns a large profit,
it should be considered the normal reward of effici-
ency in a competitive system and efforts should not
be made to reduce such profits.

[30 F.R. 5981, Apr. 29, 1965 |
“§3,808-2 Weighted guidelines method.

“(a) General. (1) The weighted guidelines
method provides contracting officers with (i) a tech-
nique that will insure consideration of the relative
value of the appropriate profit factors described in
§3.808-4 in the establishment of a profit objective
and the conduct of negotiations ; and (ii) a basis for
documentation of this objective, including an ex-
planation of any significant departure from this ob-
jective in reaching a final agreement. The contracting
officer’s analysis of these profit factors is based on
information available to him prior to negotiations.
Such information is furnished in proposals, audit
data, performance reports, pre-award surveys and
the like. No more data on or analysis of costs should
be required in the establishment of a profit objective
than is required to determine if costs are reasonable.
The weighted guidelines method shall be used in all
contracts where cost analysis is performed except as
set forth in paragraph (b) of this section.

i Re BMY ROMS ROLLE SNES TANNA RES PRIS PMI

lla

(2) The contractor’s proposal will include cost
information for evaluation and a total profit figure.
Contractors shall not be required to submit the de-
tails of their profit objectives but they shall not be
prohibited from doing so if they desire. Elaborate
and voluminous presentations are neither required
nor desired and may indicate a low index of cost
effectiveness, which fact itself should be taken into
consideration by the contracting officer in the ap-
propriate section of the weighted guidelines.

(3) The negotiation process does not contem-
plate or require agreement on either estimated cost
elements or profit elements, although the details of
analysis and evaluation may be discussed in the fact-
finding phase of the negotiation. If the difference
between the contractor’s profit objective and the
contracting officer’s profit objective is relatively
small, no discussion of individual factors may be
necessary. If the negotiating parties’ objectives are
relatively far apart, a disclosure of weightings and
rationale by both parties may be made concerning
the total assigned to Input to Total Performance,
Assumption of Cost Risk, Performance, Selected
Factors and Special Profit Consideration. By thus
developing a mutual understanding of the logic of
the respective positions, an orderly progression to
final agreement should result. Simultaneous, not se-
quential, agreement will be reached on cost, any
incentive profit-sharing formulas, or limitation on
profits, and price. The profit objective is a part of an
overall negotiation objective which, as a going-in
objective, bears a distinct relationship to the target
cost objective and any proposed sharing arrange-
ment. Since the profit is merely one of several inter-

:
$5 IRE STILE GES ELIOT ot

ee tata thee St

wee om NASON ORE RDO AE IONE ATI LARS SLEDS LF NTO 8 are

12a

related variables, the Government negotiator shall
not complete the profit negotiation without simul-
taneously agreeing on the other variables. Specific
agreement on the exact weights or values of the in-
dividual factors is not required and should not be
attempted.

(b) Exceptions. (1) Under the following cir-
cumstances, other methods for establishing profit
objectives may be used. Generally, it is expected that
such methods will accomplish the two features of the
weighted guidelines methods set forth in paragraph

(a) (1) of this section. These circumstances are:
(i) Architect-engineering contracts ;

(ii) Personal or professional service con-
tracts;

(iii) Management contracts, ¢8-, for main-
tenance or operation of Government facilities ;

(iv) Contracts with non-profit organizations
where fees are involved ;

(v) Termination settlements ;

(vi) Engineering services, labor-hour, time-
and-material, and overhaul contracts providing
for payment on a man-hour, man-day or man-
month basis, and where the contribution by the
contractor constitutes the furnishing of person-
nel rather than the output of an integrated re-
search, engineering, or manufacturing organiza-
tion; and

(vii) Cost-reimbursement construction con-
tracts.

GTC PIE SAAT I a ac
P F SER was RECA SASL OLE! LT r “2 #

BLEED THI

* > %
PRD

13a

(2) Other exceptions may be made in the nego-
tiation of contracts presenting unusual pricing situa-
tions when specifically authorized by the head of a
procuring activity. Such exceptions shall be justified
in writing and authorized only in situations where
the weighted guidelines method is determined to be
unsuitable.

(c) Limitation. In the event this or any other
method would result in establishing a fee objective
in violation of limitations established by statute or
this subchapter, the maximum fee objective shall be
the percentage allowed pursuant to such limitations.
(See §3.405.) No local administrative ceilings on
profit shall be permitted.

[30 F.R. 5981, Apr. 29, 1965]
“§3.808-3 Profit objective.

“(a) A profit objective is that part of the esti-
mated contract price objective or value which, in the
judgment of the contracting officer, is appropriate
for the procurement being considered, covering the
profit or fee element of the price objective. This
objective should realistically reflect the total overall
task to be performed and the requirements placed
on the contractor. Prior to the negotiation of a con-
tract, change order, or contract modification, where
cost analysis is undertaken, the negotiator shall de-
velop a profit objective. The weighted guidelines
method, if applicable, shall be used for developing
this profit objective. If a change or modification is
of a relatively small dollar amount and is basically
the same type of work as required in the basic con-
tract, the application of the weighted guidelines
method will generally result in a profit objective

mt isn

rer

ALTOS LEL CLINE LL ED LLL OE LIES EL LO

Lemna yt

;
SOP NI NIT LIANE IE CNM, ace: |

14a

similar to the profit objective in the basic contract,
and therefore this basic rate may be applied to the
contract change or modification. However, in cases
where the change or modification calls for substan-
tially different work, then the basic contract profit
and the contractor’s input to total performance may
be radically changed and a detailed analysis is neces-
sary. Also, if the dollar amount of the change or
contract modification is very significant in compari-
son to the contract dollar amount, a detailed analysis
should be made.

(b) Development of a profit objective should not
begin until after a thorough (1) review of proposed
contract work; (2) review of all available knowledge
regarding the contractor, pursuant to Subpart I,
Part 1 of this chapter, including performance, capa-
bility reports, audit data, pre-award survey reports
and financial statements, as appropriate; and (3)
analysis of the contractor’s cost estimate and com-
parison with the Government’s estimate or projec-
tion of cost.

[30 F.R. 5982, Apr. 29, 1965]
“§3.808-4 Profit factors.

“(a) The factors set forth below shall be con-
sidered in all cases in which profit is to be specifically
negotiated. The weight ranges listed after each fac-
tor shall be used in all instances where the weighted
guidelines method is used.

pa
t
ITNT STUER TERESA HAT ae ma eee LE EOE

BLEED TH

So ERTL, A Re LTE AO NSE Tie a

15a

Weight

ranges
Profit factors (percent)

Centractor’s input to total performance—
Direct materials:

oe: 1 to4
Subcontracted items ............ lto 5
NT NN Si oa ov kc cc lto4
Engineering labor ................ 9 to 15
Engineering overhead ............. 6 to9
Manufacturing labor ............. 5 to9
Manufacturing overhead ........., 4to7

General and administrative expenses . 6 to 8
Contractor’s assumption of contract cost
eg ED NRCS TON Oto7
Type of contract.
Reasonableness of cost estimate.
Difficulty of contract task.
Record of contractor’s performance —2 to +2
Management.
Cost Efficiency.
Reliability of cost estimates.
Cost reduction program accom-
plishments.
Value engineering accomplish-
ments.
Timely deliveries.
Quality of product.
Inventive and developmental con-
tributions.
Small business and labor surplus
area participation,
Ee eS —2to +2
Source of resources.
Government or contractor source
of financial and material
resources.
Special achievement.
Other.

Se aM - . — CELE EERE I LOTOP ESTELLA BV eH

OUGH

RARITY

CDR CEME mi | APT ERA IER NO Te BI es BS CIEE A eh Ce hy BH 22 write PRE IE DE yo Ons ito ao
*

16a

(b) Under the weighted guidelines method, the
contracting officer shall first measure the “Contrac-
tor’s Input to Total Performance” by the assign-
ment of a profit percentage within the designated
weight ranges to each element of contract cost recog-
nized by the contracting officer. Such costs are multi-
plied by the specific percentages, which have been
selected in accordance with §3.808-5(b), to arrive
at specific dollar profits.

(c) The suggested categories under the Contrac-
tor’s Input to Total Performance are similar to those
on the Cost and Price Analysis Form (DD Form
633). Often, individual proposals will be in a differ-
ent format; but, since these categories are broad and
basic, they provide sufficient guidance to evaluate all
other items of cost.

(d) Although certain classifications of accept-
able cost, including travel, subsistence, facilities, test
equipment, special tooling, federal manufacturers
excise taxes, and royalty expenses, may have been
historically excluded from the base upon which profit
has been computed, they shall not be excluded when
using the weighted guidelines method.

(e) After the contracting officer has computed a
total dollar profit for the Contractor’s Input to Total
Performance, he shall divide this amount by the total
recognized costs to determine the composite profit
percentage for this factor. To this composite per-
centage, he shall then add the specific percentages
assigned for cost risk, performance, and the other
selected factors, to arrive at a total profit percentage.
He shall then multiply the total recognized contract
costs by this total profit percentage to determine the
profit objective. A cardinal principle of the weighted

44
LEAL STIL EELS at ; ae LETTER ELE EES ES Seatac iileeesibcie au

_—= . = — o_, =e i

RY Vag SNE os AAEM VAL ROARS NUTT SPN oe

~

17a

guidelines method is that the specific percentages
assigned for cost risk, performance, and other fac- ;
tors are applied to total recognized costs in establish- :
ing the profit objective.

[30 F.R. 5982, Apr. 29, 1965]
“§$3.808-5 Assignment of values to specific factors.

PAMELA EES,

“(a) General. In making his judgment of the
value of each factor, the contracting officer should
be governed by the definition, description, and pur-
pose of the factors together with considerations for
evaluating them as set forth herein.

(b) Contractor’s input to total performance.
This factor is a measure of how much the contractor
himself is expected to contribute to the overall effort
necessary to meet the contract performance require-
ments in an efficient manner. This factor, which is
apart from the contractor’s responsibility for con-
tract performance, takes into account what resources
are necessary and what the contractor himself must
do to accomplish a conversion of ideas and materials
into the final product called for in the contract. This
is a recognition that within a given performance out-
put, or within a given sales dollar figure, necessary
efforts on the part of individual contractors can vary
widely in both value and quantity, and that the profit
objective should reflect the extent and nature of the
contractor’s contribution to total performance. The
evaluation of this factor requires an analysis of the
cost content of the proposed contract as follows:

(1) Direct materials (purchased parts, sub-
contracted items and other material).

* ok x

(2) Engineering labor and manufacturing

labor.
x x *

Shine cemeecomeomnmiuemennen oo a Re er A a a a i eee |

OLIQH

18a

(3) Engineering overhead, manufacturing
overhead, and general and administrative ex-
penses.

* * *

(c) Contractor's assumption of contract cost
risk. (1) This factor reflects the policy of the De-
partment of Defense to shift the risk of contract
costs to the fullest extent practicable to contractors
and to compensate them for the assumption of this
risk. Evaluation of this risk requires a determina-
tion of (i) the degree of cost responsibility the con-
tractor assumes, (ii) the reliability of the cost
estimates in relation to the task assumed, and (iii)
the chances of the contractor’s success or failure.
This factor is specifically limited to the risk of con-
tract costs. Thus, such risks on the part of the
contractor as reputation, losing a commercial mar-
ket, risk of losing potential profits in other fields,
or any risk on the part of the purchasing activity,
such as the risk of not acquiring an effective
weapon, are not within the scope of this factor.

(2) The first and basic determination of the
degree of cost responsibility assumed by the con-
tractor is related to the sharing of total risk of
contract cost by the Government and the contractor
through the selection of contract type. The extremes
are a cost-plus-fixed-fee contract requiring only that
the contractor use his best efforts to perform a task,
and a firm fixed-price contract for a complex item.
Such cost-plus-fixed-fee contract would reflect a
minimum assumption of cost responsibility, whereas
such firm fixed-price contract would reflect a com-
plete assumption of cost responsibility. Therefore, in
the first step of determining what value is to be

sens ELAINE RIIRL LCL BING ZY scliaiietilenieliiaiiandameadauaalll

is li tet Re iS

a , : S aetenanaainbecaaratiemeate

Siete bie.

19a

given for the contractor’s assumption of contract
cost risk, a zero rating shall be given to a proposed
cost-plus-fixed-fee best efforts contract, and a 7-per-
cent rating shall be given to a closely priced firm
fixed-price contract for a new, complex item.

(3) The second determination is that of the
reliability of the cost estimates. Sound price negotia-
tion requires well-defined contract objectives and
reliable cost estimates. Prior production experience
assists the contractor in preparing reliable cost esti-
mates on new procurements for similar equipment
and does not in any way reduce his cost responsibility
in a firm fixed-price contract. An excessive cost
estimate reduces the possibility that the cost of per-
formance will exceed the contract price, thereby
reducing the contractor’s assumption of contract
cost risk.

(4) The third determination is that of the dif-
ficulty of the contractor’s task. T he contractor’s
task can be difficult or easy, regardless of the type
of contract.

(5) Contractors are likely to assume greater
cost risks only if contracting officers objectively
analyze the risk incident to proposed contracts and
are willing to compensate contractors for it. Gen-
erally, a cost-plus-fixed-fee contract would not
justify a reward for risk in excess of | percent, nor
would a firm fixed-price contract justify a reward
of less than 5 percent. Where proper contract type
selection has been made the reward for risk by con-
tract type would usually fall into the following per-
centage ranges:

EEE ARF LN LD ELLE IE ILS RS LOLI BELL ES INIT

20a

Percentage
Type of contract ranges
Cost-plus-fixed-fee .........2..scs000. Otol
Cost-plus-incentive-fee including cost
NE NE se cha eke adie sas 1to2
Cost-plus-incentive-fee including cost,
performance, and delivery incentives .. 1% to3
Fixed-price-incentive including cost
COENEN ka ssacetss sasca nae sas 2 to 4
Fixed-price-incentive including cost,
performance, and delivery incentives .. 3to5
Prospective price redetermination ...... 4to5
RE PNUD cs wat he etiet wad seeds 5to7
* x *

(d) Record of contract performance. (1) The
purpose of this factor is to motivate contractors to
improve their performance by rewarding them for
excellent past performance and penalizing them for
poor performance. Effective use of this factor re-
quires that (i) reports on the various aspects of
past performance be obtained and evaluated; and
(ii) this information be used in such a way as to
motivate contractors to improve their performance.

* * *

(6) The following factors are to be considered

in evaluating a contractor’s performance record:

(i) Management.
x * *
(ii) Cost efficiency.

* * *

(iii) Reliability of cost estimates.
*

* *

> SPRL

2la

(iv) Cost reduction program accomplish-
ments.
* * *
(v) Value engineering accomplishments.
* x *
(vi) Timely deliveries.

2k * *

(vii) Quality of product.
* * *
(viii) Inventive and developmental contribu-
tions.
* * *
(ix) Small Business and Labor Surplus
Area Participation.

2k * *

(e) Selected factors. The purpose of these fac-
tors, which may enter into a particular procurement
situation, is to discourage reliance upon Government
resources, and to encourage contractors to outstand-
ing performance. Therefore, in assigning a com-
posite profit percentage within the range of —2 to
+2 for these Selected Factors, the Source of Re-
sources factor will always be rated from 0 to -2
percent and the Special Achievement factor will
always be rated from 0 to +2 percent. The Other
factor may be rated with either a plus or a minus.
These factors will rarely be of equal weight in a
specific procurement. They should be assigned a
weight as a group, in accordance with the following
criteria:

(1) Source of resources (Government or pri-
vate). Application of this factor calls for an

ATV aN ED RAEME ST IS ABTA ELIOT LEE RONEN it GA PILAR i. PNP A ANE ic BAN SLE LARUE at ONL ARAB

22a

analysis of the contractor’s dependence on Gov-
ernment financial assistance or material assistance
in the form of facilities. Contractor reliance upon
Government resources shall be discouraged by pro-
viding for less favorable profit consideration. Com-
mercial facilities to be rented by the contractor will
be evaluated as contractor furnished. Customary
progress payments and guaranteed loans with
normal guarantees (90 percent or less) shall not be
weighted in this evaluation. However, other forms
of financial assistance such as extraordinary prog-
ress payments, guaranteed loans with abnormal
guarantees, or advanced payments shall be con-
sidered a minus factor. Similarly, the reliance on
any other type of Government assistance, including
facilities shall be evaluated as a minus from zero.
The contractor who uses new Government resources
for the performance of a contract will be penalized
to a greater degree than the contractor who uses
existing Government resources.

(2) Special achievement, if any, required in the
contract. This factor indicates the need for extra
profit consideration when outstanding performance
is required. Such achievement may be in the form
of a special technical requirement, such as produc-
tion of some remarkable first, or achievements
involving non-technical objectives, such as an ex-
traordinarily fast delivery schedule.

(3) Other. Particular procurement situations
may give rise to the desirability of using a profit
factor other than those in subparagraphs (1) and
(2) of this paragraph. Such factor shall be identi-

CEST aa eis lt Le al

oe os + . ae en are
PR IRS FL CREO EE RID NS OT ES
pest nidbortee

23a

fied; and the reason for its use shall be documented
in accordance with § 3.811.

[30 F.R. 5982, Apr. 29, 1965, as amended at 30 F.R.
14086, Nov. 9, 1965]

“§ 3.808—6 Special profit consideration.

“Contractors who develop military items without
Government assistance are entitled to special profit
consideration on those items. This consideration
shall be in addition to the profit objective arrived at
through the weighted guidelines method. One to
four percent of recognized cost is established as the
normal range of value for this profit factor. The
criteria for selection of the specific percentage shall
be the importance of the development in furthering
defense purposes, the demonstrable initiative in de-
termining the need and application of the develop-
ment, the extent of the contractor’s cost risk, and
whether the development cost was recovered directly
or indirectly from Government sources.”

[30 F.R. 5985, Apr. 29, 1965 |

Ea REEL A AN TCE OTE IE: LEI OPO: WCITIES AE OTE CT
a 4 ve ‘

T4-10°%

LiskARYT | MICHAE t
UPREME COURT, U: & In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OctToBEerR TERM, 1974

a

JUN 26 1975 |

No. 74-

BETHLEHEM STEEL CORPORATION,

Petitioner,
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

APPENDIX TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF CLAIMS

ALBERT R. CONNELLY,
One Chase Manhattan Plaza,
New York, N. Y. 10005

Attorney for Petitioner
Of Counsel:

GEORGE VRADENBURG III,
One Chase Manhattan Plaza,
New York, New York 10005

June 26, 1975

APPENDIX

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Bethlehem Steel Corporation
v. United States, 423 F.2d.
300 (Ct. Cl. 1970) eeeeereser.e eeeee 1

Appeals of Bethlehem Corporation
oration, ASBCA Nos. 10316 and
10317 (Reinstated),
Decision on Government's
Motion for an Order Establi-
shing that the ASPR Non-
Weighted Profit Guidelines
Are Applicable to Determining

Contract Price, dated January
Ree SETA PeASh ORs E se eesneeene 21

Order of the United States of Court
of Claims dated July 1, 1971,
denying Bethlehem's Motion for
an Order Terminating Stay and
For Other Relief ........... 41

Appeals of Bethlehem Steel
Corporation, ASBCA Nos. 10316

and 10317 (Reinstated), dated

January 22, 1973 ..--..--. eeccee 42

Bethlehem Steel Corporation Vv.
United States, 5ll F.2d. 529

cet. Ci. 1975) ceeceveerereeree eee eee 133

Order of the United States Court
of Claims, dated March 28,
1975, denying Bethlehem Steel
Corporation's Motion for
Rehearing and Reconsideration 161

MCLEE LINE IS SIS POLY EMER IEE

PON REI en |

2 ARR IRE

BETHLEHEM STEEL CORPORATION

Vv.

UNITED STATES

No. 44-68.
United States Court of Claims

March 20, 1970.

Albert R. Connelly, New York City,
for plaintiff, James Cc. Hansen, New York
City, of counsel.

James F. Merow, Washington, D.C.,
with whom was Asst. Atty. Gen. William D.
Ruckelshaus, for defendant.

Before COWEN, Chief Judge, and
LARAMORE, DURFEE, DAVIS, COLLINS,
SKELTON and NICHOLS, Judges.

ON PLAINTIFF'S MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT
AND DEFENDANT'S CROSS-MOTION FOR SUMMARY
JUDGMENT

PEL OSE TE INE IY OER LEH EIA NB LOO I SST Oe

NICHOLS, Judge:

This is an action to recover amounts

Claimed to be due the Plaintiff under
labor and material escalation clauses in
Contracts Nobs-3556 and Nobs-3648, under
which plaintiff built five destroyers for
the United States Navy at the shipyard

it then owned at Quincy, Massachusetts.

The contracting officer denied all escala-

the two contracts in the amounts of
$1,064,151 ana $876,028, respectively,
which it computed as an allowance of 5%
profit on costs after restoring certain
cost disallowances the contracting offi-
cer had made, not here in issue. This
being less than Plaintiff's Claims, it
seeks review here under Wunderlich Act
Standards, 41 U.S.c. §§ 321 and 322. The
Parties have filed cross motions for sum-
mary judgment. We deny both motions and
Suspend further Proceedings in this

court to enable the Parties to apply to
the ASBCA for further findings of fact,
pursuant to the opinion that follows.

The contracts were awarded by
negotiation and included standard provi-
sions requiring the contractor to exclude
from its cost estimates all contingency
allowances for increases in labor and
material costs from the levels then

obtaining, but on the other hand, allowing

price increases according to an agreed
formula reflecting labor and material
cost increases experienced in the con-
tract period by Shipbuilders agreed upon
as representative. There is no dispute
that such cost increases did occur, nor
as to the contract price increases that
would result, except for Article 6(e),

HAG a

SR Rt Fe

WD TITRE A

~~

which reads as follows:

(e) The Contracting Officer may
deny, in whole or in part, any upward
adjustment in the contract price re-
quired under this Article if the Con-
tracting Officer finds that such ad-
justment is not required, in whole or
in part, to enable the Contractor to
earn a fair and reasonable profit
under this contract.

This contract language came before us for
interpretation three years ago in Newport
News Shipbuilding & Dry Dock Co. v. United

States, 179 Ct.Cl. 97, 374 F.2d 516 (1967).

The nub of the controversy here is how to
apply the rulings then made to the some-
what different facts and regulation before
us now. These facts are stipulated, so
far as they go, the Board having taken no
testimony. The refusal of any escalation
clause increases by the contracting offi-
cer, and the refusal of portions of the
amounts otherwise accrued, by the ASBCA,
resulted from their beliefs that the
amounts they denied were not required to
enable plaintiff to earn fair and reason-
able profits under the contracts. Both
decisions were, however, rendered before
ours in Newport News. Plaintiff would
remand for further Board proceedings in
light of Newport News, but defendant says
Newport News is not applicable and the
Board decision is entitled to finality.

The Navy decided to build three

destroyers (DD 936-938) in a private yard.
On or before January 25, 1954, it received
proposals for major east coast concerns as

follows, per ship:

RRS TT REN SOL RUAN REIT PPD SERS RATE SEER ENON IID Ha

~4-

Bath Iron Works Tete weeeeeeees $15,492,000
Newport News wrtceeeeeseeeeeee 16,800,000
Quincy (plaintiff) teeeeeseees 18,674,000
New York Ship Tete eeececeeeees 19,234,000

As usual in negotiated procurement, all
Submitted cost estimates which showed that
they anticipated Profits of 9.3% of cost,
in the case of One, to 9.4% for another,
and 10% in the cases Of Quincy and the
fourth. Defendant, however, desired to
award the vessels to Quincy because

down the yard, which was one of the largest
and best equipped in the world. Moreover,
Plaintiff maintained at Quincy the design
and engineering staff for all its several
other shipbuilding and repair yards on
both coasts. The anticipated closure,
therefore, would have effected a material
reduction in the Capacity of the shipbuild-

out of potentially disastrous slumps in
their business by awarding them shipbuild-
ing contracts when they were not the
lowest bidders. They were Painfully
dependent on the Navy, for all other cus-

out or obsoletion of the vast tonnages
delivered in World War II. All four yards
were, therefore, Operating at a minor
fraction of Capacity. The three other
than Quincy, did have enough orders to
keep them busy at the then level of activ-
ity for a year or two to come, so it was
Only Quincy that was in immediate danger

-5- k

of shutdown. The Navy, accordingly, decided
to negotiate with Quincy.

BS

To avoid making a bad situation worse,
the Navy asked plaintiff to reduce its
bid and it took $1,000,000 off the price
of each ship, and the award was made at 3
$17,674,000 per unit, which was still con- e
siderably over the bids of Bath Iron Works
and Newport News. The revised cost esti- g
mates remained unchanged, but showed that
plaintiff was now estimating a profit of :
$698,000 instead of $1,698,000. There was,
however, no contract provision that plain-
tiff's profit would be any particular figure.

WET ATCT sa

Booey

One asks next why plaintiff esti-
mated its costs so much above competitors
who were, by its account, no more efficient,
and had no better plant. The answer is
that the three destroyers would have util-
ized only 5% of Quincy's capacity. In
estimating its costs, Quincy calculated
it would have no other business and the
contract for the destroyers would have
had to carry the overhead of that vast
establishment. Evidently the Navy had
to contribute towards this overhead if
it was to persuade plaintiff not to close
the plant down. Bath, being smaller and
busier, was far more favorably situated
with respect to overhead. We conclude
that in the events that materialized,
that is, Quincy's receiving other orders,
the allocable overhead would have been
less, and therefore the costs.

The circumstances of this award are
given because, as will appear, they afford
the basis for defendant's argument that
Newport News is not applicable as a pre-
cedent. The facts stated above were either

FED THR OLIGH

-6-

found by the Board, or else appear as
testified in the printed transcript of a
hearing conducted by a subcommittee of
the House Armed Services Committee in
February and March, 1954, to inquire
into the award of Nobs-3556 and the re-
jection of the low bids. The parties
here attached it to their stipulation as
Exhibit 6, without restriction as to
relevarce or use, so we use it as uncon-
tradicted evidence.

The other contract in this litiga-
tion, Nobs-3648, was awarded Plaintiff
later the same year and called for con-
struction of two additional destroyers,

DD 943 and 944, at a negotiated price of
$16,250,000 per ship, including an esti-
mated profit of $698,000. There was,
therefore, a cost Saving estimated. It

had the same limited escalation as Nobs-
3556. There were other awards not involved
in this litigation while the five destroyers
were under construction, notably a nuclear
powered cruiser and three guided missile
frigates. Plaintiff delivered the first
destroyer on November 30, 1956, three more
in 1957, and the last on February 26, 1958.
There were, as usual, change orders and
equitable adjustments therefor, not now in
dispute. The costs, except for those
extras and escalatable labor and material,
were lower than estimated, plaintiff says
due to cost Savings all along the line.

here at this time, especially since the
case may come before us again. To pose
the legal problem it suffices to Say that
labor and material escalation before any

-7-

Article 6(e) exclusion, totalled $3,347,500
and $2,404,900 under the two contracts,
respectively. The profit before anv esca-
lation, but reflecting the Board's decision
as to allowable costs, would be $1,597,000
under Nobs-3556 and $775,000 under Nobs-
3648, making 3% and 2.3% of cost respec-
tively. The profit with partial escalation
allowed by the Board as stated above would
be 5% of cost under both contracts. The
profit with full escalation would be
$4,990,000 under Nobs-3556 and $3,180,000
under Nobs-3648, being 9.3% and 9.6% of
cost respectively. That the profit with
full escalation is so much over the con-
tract estimate is due, as said above, to
savings in non-escalatable costs, but the
Board did not perform any analysis to
determine how these savings were accom-
plished. The Board also considered profits
as a percentage of price, but we need not
go into that here.

Our Newport News decision interprets
the Article 6(e) language together with a
Department of Defense regulation in effect
when the administrative decision was made,
22 F.R. 5927, 32 C.F.R. §§ 3.808 and ff.
The former we viewed as requiring an
administrative determination as to what
a fair and reasonable profit would be under
the contract incorporating the clause in
light of the performance history and
financial results. Such a determination
would be a finding of fact, final in this
court if supported by substantial evidence
and made in accordance with law. The
latter, the regulation, we found to con-
tain language telling how such a deter-
mination was to be made, whether related
to initial pricing or any sort of con-
tract repricing. There was nothing to

SELES OF EOE LIES RISA IOP SOI Sigs BO AED P SSMS Reyne te oR ta

corms =" LI ol ive i

© PR PDP IIS “Re ame ty eegneam ree

-g8-

Show that in making the findings there
involved, the Board had employed or
intended to employ the technique the regu-

That case has Stood on the books for
three years now without any sort of chal-
lenge on defendant's Part, not even a
motion for reconsideration. Since our

Prise would not have lacked dignity. As
things are, this is the first chance we
have had to learn defendant's views.

large extent, and appears in general will-
ing for Newport News to be followed in

cases that reproduce its facts. That Carries
important implication.

except in redeterminations, any technique

of determining a level of reasonable profits
for a defense contractor. The involved regu-
lations, however, when made, appeared to be
remedial, meant to Safeguard defense con-
tractors against determinations as to a
reasonable profit level, arbitrary, perhaps
biased, or founded on "seal-of-the-pants
intuition", which contracting officers might

- ont ait i Sl a
RY CE ee en, NT eye Ee .

| Fee
;

-9-

make without proper guidelines. There is
no reason to postulate an intent to with-
hold such safeguards from parties to then
existing contracts, nothing to that effect
appearing either in the contracts or the
regulation. Defendant refers, properly we
think, to Thorpe v. Housing Authority, 393
U.S. 268, 89 S.Ct. 518, 21 L.Ed.2d 474
(1969), as being in agreement with our
position. Since Government officials are
presumed to act properly, it is reasonable
to suppose that the Pentagon would not
have promulgated clauses such as Article
6(e) unless contracting officers could
employ established techniques and guide-
lines, even if unpublished and therefore
would not act arbitrarily. If any con-
tractor supposed he had rights vested under
a contract which were substantially sub-
verted by a regulation later adopted as

to how to determine reasonable levels of
profits, he might come into court and show
it. See Thorpe, supra, at p. 283, 89
S.Ct. 518. In the absence of such a show-
ing we cannot assume it would occur.

Defendant passes over in silence
the fact noticed by the dissenting judges
in Newport News, that plaintiff there
had done nothing to alert the Board to
the fact it was not following the Depart-
ment of Defense's regulations. That is
equally true of the instant case. It is
indeed, generally, a salutary rule that a
party cannot assign an error here that
he has not given the administrative
tribunal a chance to correct. But the
points plaintiff did make below were of
a nature that should have alerted the Board
to test what it was doing against applica-
ble regulations. We think an exception
in such a case must be made in the interests

vig

mutual ignoring of a whole body of appli-
cable agency regulations. Agency officials
have considerable practical power to steer
the choice of issues to ground of their
Selection, in Proceedings before their
agencies. If attention is totally diverted
from applicable regulations the responsi-
bility for this error is not equal. Agency

officials have the means and the duty to be

mistake wholly on the Party least respons-
ible for causing it. We Say this not
meaning to impugn the good faith of the
Pentagon officials, who apparently quite
sincerely believed that a clause such as
Article 6(e) was scmehow something other
than the kind of Pricing and repricing power
the guidelines were meant to cover. The
arguments made to us by both sides in
Newport News reflected a state of great
confusion on both sides as to what Article
6(e) was meant to do. The requirement for
exhaustion of administrative remedies is
not inflexible in some exceptional circum-
stances. E.g., Mallow v. United States,
161 Ct.cl.~ 207, 212 (1963).

between this case and Newport News. It is
not that the regulations involved are new,
though they are, as set forth below.
Defendant says that this case falls clean

: : aaa = SS j
SARIN OIEN PDAS PE SARIS Sad oatieaianala . .
penacaneeesene SSE UN RIER DO

-ll-

holding in Newport News and it does not, yet
it likewise does not require defendant to
argue, as indeed it could not, that the
Board here paid any attention to guidelines
or techniques for determining a reasonable
profit level, as published by the Depart- \
ment of Defense or anyone else, and in :
effect at the time the Board decided. No
such publication is ever alluded to in the
Board decision. It does indeed use guide-
lines, but they are "do-it-yourself" guide- =
lines constructed by the Board itself out
of arguments and suggestions of counsel.
As already pointed out, counsel on neither
side suggested to the Board that it should
follow the published guidelines, and that
is the obvious reason why it did not do so.

OA oe eee

A Department of Defense regulation
that was in effect at the time of the
instant Board decision, and also that of the
contracting officer, was published in 1963,
28 F.R. 12546, 12555, amending 32 C.F.R.
Part 3, §§ §§ 3.808 and ff. It supersedes the
one we construed in Newport News. It states
and describes, with copious illustrations,
the "Weighted guidelines method" of deter-
mining reasonable levels of contractor
profits. Defendant does not now deny that
it would govern most decisions limiting or
refusing otherwise justified labor and
material escalation under Article 6(e),
and there is nothing in it that suggests
an intent to narrow the former scope. But,
defendant says, this case is an exception.
However, the regulation itself in § 3.808-2(b),
enumerates the recognized exceptions to it,
and the situation here involved is not on the
list. Any other exception must be authorized
by the head of the procuring agency, and no
such authorization is asserted here. On
the other hand, the statute defendant says

CORY PELE OR IG EEE EN SEEN PL I TO EE BI

-12<

authorized this type of procurement to
keep a contractor in business. The Armed
Services Procurement Act of 1947 § 2(c)
(16), now revised and codified as 10 U.S.C.
§ 2304(a) (16) (1964), does not speak in
terms of any exemption from profit guide-
lines ordinarily applicable.

If defendant's postulated exemption
exists, it must be a large one. The
record shows that all of plaintiff's ubove
named competitors in the shipbuilding
industry were awarded major contracts at
one time or another between World War II
and 1954, when they were not the low
bidders, for reasons the same as those
which animated the award of Nobs-3556 to
plaintiff. The situation recurs so commonly
in our litigation with other industries
heavily dependent on defense work, that
we may take judicial notice of it; a rigid
adherence to procurement from the lowest
bidder only is viewed in the Pentagon as
gradually freezing out the competition and
leading into single-source procurement. The
subcommittee recognized the validity of
this view in its hearing on the instant
award, as did the whole Congress, of
course, in enacting 10 U.S.C. § 2304(a) (16).
It would be strange if so large an excep-
tion to the use of the "Weighted guidelines
method" went unmentioned in the enumeration
of exceptions in the regulation itself.
The new regulation requires use of the
guidelines if cost analysis is required.
§ 3.808-l1(b). Cost analysis is required
with respect to negotiated fixed price con-
tracts with escalation, all of which these
are. § 3.807-3(a) (2). To put it succinctly,
the alleged exception has every earmark of
having originated in the active mind of
defense counsel herein, not in the perhaps
more rigid thinking of the Pentagon.

-13-

Defendant says that plaintiff agreed
to accept a profit of around 5% in consid-
eration of being awarded the contract,
though not the low bidder, and therefore
use of the "Weighted guidelines method"
to produce a higher profit would be so
unfair that an exception to the method
must be implied. The contracts, however,
reflect that plaintiff agreed only upon a
price. The alleged agreement upon a profit
came in the revised cost estimates, which
showed estimated costs only $698,000 per
unit below the agreed price. Both parties
must have been aware that this estimated
cost was a figure plucked from the atmos-
phere. Mr. Strohmeier, plaintiff's vice
president, testified at the Congressional
hearing, without contradiction, that the
entire excess of his company's cost esti-
mates over Bath's was due to the higher
allocation of overhead, and this difference,
in turn, resulted from the hypothesis,
that the Quincy yard would be operating at
but 5% of capacity, having no other work
than the three destroyers. Even so, on
that hypothesis, the estimated allocation
he thought was insufficient. If his com-
pany built the three destroyers and had no
other construction at the Quincy yard, he
expected it to suffer a loss. On the
other hand, if it received enough other
business so it could operate at a "normal"
level, its contract costs would fall to
approximately Bath's estimates. In that
event, which was surely always possible,
and wholly apart from any savings due to
efficient manufacture, there would have
been a large windfall profit under Nobs-
3556, for whose recapture the contract
made no provision if one disregards the
statutory renegotiation article. Defend-
ant does not and could not regard that

|

PLAS ILL PID

rego

ee ee

PERIL IEG

-14<-

article as contributing in any way to its
argument that plaintiff agreed to a profit
level of exactly 5%. The alleged agreement
to a 5% level, in a contract that viewed
prospectively could have resulted in
anything from a loss to a windfall profit
level, according to its terms, must be
regarded as located in defendant's coun-
sel's eyes alone.

As already noted, Plaintiff in pre-
Paring its cost estimates was required to
assume there would be no increases in
labor and material costs, and in analyzing
the possibilities of profit in the con-
tract, we have up to this point done so
likewise. In the more probable event
there were such increases, the escalation
Clause became operative and in general
its effect would be, absent Article 6(e),
to stabilize the profit or loss at a fixed
dollar (not percentage) figure against any
degree of labor and material cost infla-
tion. There might be some small profit
or loss resulting from the escalation
Clause itself, as the Plaintiff's own
experienced labor and material costs might
be more or less than the general industry
experience used to fix the escalation
indices. There was nothing in the escala-
tion clause before Article 6(e), agreeing
to-a5% profit. In article 6(e) there was
certainly a Possibility that the profit
would be cut, but 5% is not mentioned.

We have now examined every pertinent
Part of the contract and nowhere find
agreement to a 5% profit level, while we
do find provisions that enable a profit
much exceeding 5%, whether or not esca-
lation was required, depending on con-
ditions which were perfectly foreseeable

tReet

-15-

and which plaintiff would certainly exert :
itself to bring about, i.e., a normal util- ‘
ization of the yard. On the other hand, é
the $698,000 profit estimate contemplated §
a state of inadequate utilization which
could hardly have been expected or allowed
to be other than temporary.

While we say plaintiff did not agree
to 5%, we do consider that a high bidder
given a contract award purely to keep him
in business, might expect this fact to be
considered as unfavorable to him under any
rational system of profit limitation.
Defendant's view that the "Weighted guide-
lines method" would fa:.1 to give weight to
this apparently is basic to its argument
that the method is so unsuited to the
instant procurement that the exception of
it from the regulation must be implied.

We do not read the regulation that way.
The plaintiff's overhead allocated to
Contract Nobs-3556, was by the evidence
in the record entirely out of line with
that which the lower bidders would have
allocated. A Board applying the method
would be required by § 3.808-5(b) (3) to
analyze the overhead items of cost and
determine "how much they contribute to
contract performance." A range of 4-7%
is assigned to "manufacturing overhead"
and a range of 6-8% to general and ad-
ministrative expenses. We think the
Board would be within its charter in deny-
ing a return on that part of the overhead
which exceeded the allocation of other
Shipbuilders. Moreover, under § 3.808-5
(e) (1) tae Board is to make an analysis
"of the contractor's dependence on Gov-
ernment financial assistance * * *,"

If the dependence is great, it is a minus
factor in determining the allowable profit.

-16-

While the point may be débatable, we think
that the addition of a bonus to a contract
price to enable the contractor to maintain
uneconomically large facilities in being
is in reality a form of Government finan-
cial assistance and should be treated as
such,

On the other hand, the guidelines
attach favorable consideration in § 3.808-
S(e) to "Contractor's assumption of con-
tract cost risk." The guidelines here
look with least favor on a cost plus fixed
fee contract with full cost reimbursement,
and most favorably, at the other end of ot
the scale, ona "closely priced firm fixed.
price contract" for a complex item, which
"would reflect a complete assumption of
cost responsibility." We have here a
firm fixed price contract for a complex
item, with only limited escalation, and
according to Mr. Strohmeier, a real pos-
sibility of loss prospectively considered,
if other business was not obtained. It
would appear Contract Nobs-3556 at least
is, on this factor, closer to the favor-
able than the unfavorable end of the
scale. (Of course, we do not know from
the record to what extent the loss would
have been an actual cash drain and to
what extent a paper write-off.) The
guidelines appear to be the Pentagon's
best thinking on the subject of the proper
administration of profit limitation
clauses, and this favorable consideration
of close pricing and assumption of risk
stands in stark contrast to the Board's
unfavorable consideration of what is
apparently the same thing: plaintiff's
willingness to accept a price shaved
close above the estimated cost.

It would, of course, be improper

-17-

for us to make a determination ourselves
under the "Weighted guidelines method" for
the reasons explained in Newport News and
for the further reason that the record is
inadequate. To use the method one needs
to be well informed. The Board will no
doubt supplement the stipulation with
further evidence. We do not know whether,
by proper application of the method,
plaintiff will fare better or worse than
5%. Plaintiff desires to take its chances
under the "Weighted guidelines method" and
it has a legal right to do so.

As we have said, we see no injus-
tice or anomaly in applying profit limit-
ation techniques, as the Pentagon may
have amended and prescribed them from
time to time, up to the date of the deter-
mination. We would presume that changes
were intended to clarify and simplify, as
well as to reduce the impact of subjec-
tive factors in the mind of the adminis-
tering official. To some extent amend-
ments may reflect earlier departures in
actual practice, toa large extent no
doubt they are the product of experience.
If anything has been slipped in which
would impair vested rights unless limited
to prospective application only, let it
be pointed out. If we have erred in
thinking the "Weighted guidelines method"
is feasible to apply to the instant con-
tracts, the Pentagon even now could
amend or supplement its regulation, and
the Board would be bound, provided no
impairment of vested rights was attempted.
Any amendment purporting to reaffirm the
position now claimed, that officials
determining a reasonable level of profit
under clauses such as Article 6(e) are
not subject to any published guidelines

PTA DANG, te A

-18-

whatever in certain cases, at least would
advisedly be made in light of the recent
statement of the Supreme Court: "* * * a
broad, roving authority, a type of admin-
istrative absolutism [is] not congenial
to our law-making traditions."

Gutknecht v. United States, 396 U.S. 295,
90 C.Ct. 506, 24 L.Ed.2a ey

CONCLUSION

Plaintiff's motion for summary judg-
ment and defendant's cross motion for sum-
mary judgment are denied. Further proceed-
ings are stayed pursuant to Rule 167 for a
period of six months to enable the parties
to obtain further fact findings in accord-
ance with this opinion under the applicable
guidelines in published regulations. Plain-
tiff shall advise the commissioner of the
Status of the case before the Armed Services
Board of Contract Appeals at intervals of
not less than 60 days beginning with the
date of this order, as prescribed in Rule
167(e) and (f).

DAVIS, Judge (concurring) :

Newport News, which I consider now
binding on me, settled the issue of whether
the ASPR guidelines were required to be
followed even though neither party invoked
them before the Board. That being so, I
agree with the court, for the reasons it
gives, that those regulations apply in
this case as well, and on that basis I
join in the disposition requiring them
to be applied here.

SKELTON, Judge (dissenting) :

I respectfully dissent. In my Opinion,

a AES EI BOE, EEA SPOOL, PIPE lin

-19-

Newport News Shipbuilding & Dry Dock Co.
v. United States, 179 Ct.Cl. 97, 374 F.24
516 (1967), does not control this case
and it should not be sent back to the
board (ASBCA) in order to allow it to use
the guidelines of the Department of
Defense regulation published in 1963

(28 Fed. Reg. 12546, 12555, amending 32
C.F.R. §§ 3.808 and ff. (part 3)), to
determine the profit of the plaintiff in
this case, for the following reasons:

(1) This regulation was not in
existence at the time the contracts
involved here were executed and could
not have been contemplated by the parties.
Although the same situation existed in
Newport News, the facts in the two cases
are completely different. There the
court held that the regulation must be
applied to the original competitive
prices as well as to escalated prices,
but that cannot be done in the instant
case because the bids here were not com-
petitive. It is improper to apply the
regulation retroactively under these cir-
cumstances in our case. In fact, it is
impossible to apply the decision in
Newport News to the original prices here.

(2) The contracts before us were
negotiated between the parties and were
not the result of competitive bids. In
fact, they amounted to a subsidy by the
government, and without them the plain-
tiff would have had to have closed its
doors and gone out of business. Plain-
tiff was not the lowest bidder, as two
other companies submitted lower bids.
The government gave it the contracts
after negotiation to reep it in opera-
tion. As a result, the plaintiff has

— Re: fe eBoy AR asitinsinitintint tats
CT a MORAY RE RTE IRT —
SO BSN eat Pea OR CT eet
ETT a DON Sete A tN

=-20-

been subsidized to the extent of a five
percent profit on the undertaking, but
instead of being grateful for this gener-
Osity, now sues for more, It is imprac-
tical, if not impossible, to apply the
regulation to the prices thus negotiated
between the parties.

(3) The parties Submitted guide-
lines to the Board that they wished it
to consider. The Board did consider them
fully, as indicated in its opinion. The
Plaintiff did not ask the Board to con-
sider any additional guidelines and did
not mention those set forth in the regu-
lation which was in force at the time of
the Board's decision. No request was
made that the guidelines in the regula-
tion be considered. It is too late, in
my opinion, for the Plaintiff to make
such a request, and it is error for us
to allow it to do so.

(4) The Board found as a fact
that the parties agreed that plaintiff's
profit would be five percent, and plain-
tiff has not challenged this finding.

I would grant defendant's cross-
motion for summary judgment, deny plain-
tiff's motion, and dismiss Plaintiff's
petition.

a i al a ae eet Ss

NEOTEL LO ITO EBS

a tie ak cadet cain ea alee

o2la

ARMED SERVICES BOARD OF CONTRACT APPEALS

Appeals of -- )
) ASBCA Nos.
Bethlehem Steel Corporation ) 10316 and
) 10317
Under Contract Nos. NObs~-3556) ‘Reinstated)
and NObs-3648)

APPEARANCES FOR THE GOVERNMENT:
Samuel Pinn, Jr., Esq.
Counsel, Naval Ship Systems Command
Morris Amchan, Esq.
Associate Counsel

APPEARANCES FOR THE APPELLANT:
E. J. O'Brien, Esq.
Bethlehem Steel Corporation
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania

DECISION ON GOVERNMENT'S MOTION FOR AN
ORDER ESTABLISHING THAT THE ASPR
NON-WEIGHTED PROFIT GUIDELINES ARE
APPLICABLE TO DETERMINING CONTRACT

PRICE

STATEMENT OF FACTS

These appeals are here on remand
from the Court of Claims pursuant to the
order of the Court in Bethlehem Steel
Corporation v. United States, Ct. Cl. No.
44-68 (Decided March 20, 1970). The
appeals were previously decided by this
Board in an opinion dated 16 June 1966
reported in 66-1 BCA par. 5639.

The facts giving rise to this dis-
pute will not be repeated here since they
are set forth in the earlier Board

ESOL EPR LE SLO LOL GONE RIE TET HCN BEE TG MRO Rs ES

~22

decision and in the opinion of the Court of
Claims. As the Board stated previously,
"The crucial proviso about which the dis-
pute arose is Article 6 of both contracts
entitled Price Adjustments and commonly
referred to as an escalation Clause,

which in pertinent part reads:

"(e) The Contracting Officer may deny,
in whole or in part, any upward
adjustment in the contract price
required under this Article if the
Contracting Officer finds that such
adjustment is not required, in

whole or in part, to enable the
Contractor to earn a fair and rea-
sonable profit under this con-
tract" .,*

The two contracts Called for a total of
five destroyers. After they had been
performed appellant made a claim for
price escalation Pursuant to Article 6
which was denied by the contracting
officer as not required to enable appel-
lant to earn a fair and reasonable
profit under either contract. In decid-
ing the appeals Subsequently taken from
the final decisions of the contracting
officer, this Board sustained appel-
lant's position in part, and allowed
escalation to the extent that appellant
would realize a 5% profit on costs.
Appellant had claimed escalation suffi-
cient to enable it to earn a profit of
9.3% on Contract NObs~-3556 and 9.6% on
NObs~-3648.,

Appellant then filed suit in the
Court of Claims endeavoring to recover
a greater amount of escalation than had
been allowed by the Board. The Court

RPELE GOLLN OTL CARE ELAM EE

~23=

reached a result similar to its decision
in Newport News Shipbuilding and Dr

Dock Company v. The United tates. £79
Ps 55 119677 i.e., that the Board
had erred in not determining fair and
reasonable profit in accordance with what
the Court regarded as the applicable
guidelines for establishing profit
objectives set forth in the Armed Serv-
ices Procurement Regulations (ASPR) at
the time the Board rendered its decision.
For the purpose of determining the
Bethlehem appeals, the Court said that
the Board should have applied the so-
called "weighted guidelines" as set
forth in ASPR Part 3-803, effective 15
August 1963. In its Newport News
opinion the Court said that the Board,
in deciding the Newport News appeals
should have applied the so-called "non-
weighted guidelines" set forth in ASPR
3-808 effective January 1960. The
Board had decided the Newport News
appeals in 1962. The "non-weighted
guidelines" were superseded by the
"weighted guidelines" in 1963. The
"weighted guidelines" appear in the
presently effective ASPR 3-808.

In reaching its decision in the
Bethlehem case, the Court discussed the
type of analysis which it thought the
Board might undertake in applying the
"weighted guidelines" to determine fair
and reasonable profit on the basis of
relevant facts. However, the Court did
not purport to determine the amount of
profit to which appellant might be
entitled through application of the
weighted guidelines. In the language
most relevant to resolving the inter-
locutory question now before us, the

a 2io

Court said:

"It would, of course, be
improper for us to make a determina-
tion ourselves under the 'Weighted
guidelines method' for the reasons
explained in Newport News and for
further reason that the record is
inadequate. To use the method one
needs to be well informed. The
Board will no doubt supplement the
stipulation with further evidence.
We do not know whether, by proper
application of the method, plain-
tiff will fare better or worse than
5%. Plaintiff desires to take its
chances under the “Weighted guide-
lines method' and it has a legal
right to do so.

"As we have said, we see no in-
justice or anomaly in applying profit
limitation techniques, as the
Pentagon may have amended and pre-
scribed them from time to time, up
to the date of the determination.
We would presume that changes were
intended to clarify and simplify,
as well as to reduce the impact of
subjective factors in the mind of
the administering official. To
some extent amendments may reflect
earlier departures in actual prac-
tice, to a large extent no doubt
they are the product of experience.
If anything has been slipped in
which would impair vested rights
unless limited to prospective
application only, let it be pointed
out. If we have erred in thinking
the ‘Weighted guidelines method' is
feasible to apply to the instant

BLE

D THROUGH

=2?5-

contracts, the Pentagon even now
could amend or supplement its regu-
lation, and the Board would be
bound, provided no impairment of
vested rights was attempted. Any
amendment purporting to reaffirm
the position now claimed, that offi-
cials determining a reasonable level
of profit under clauses such as
Article 6(e) are not subject to any
published guidelines whatever in
certain cases, at least, would
advisedly be made in light of the
recent statement of the Supreme
Court: ‘'* * * a broad, roving
authority, a type of administrative
absolution [is] not congenial to
our law-making traditions."
Gutknecht v. U

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_1216%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
