# Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — Wideman v. Mississippi Valley Gas Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_0904%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 422 U.S. 1008

## Text

end

ot phat phar phat shat Aha thas tha aha phe Ahh

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term 1974

wR @ er

DUDLEY WIDEMAN, Administrator
of the Estate of Claude Wideman,
Deceased, Petitioner,

Vv.

MISSISSIPPI VALLFY GAS COMPANY,
Respondent.

PFTITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPFALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

William S. Lawson
Main Street
P.O. Box 848

Tupelo, Mississippi 38801

Joe H. Daniel

Daniel ,Coker ,Horton,Bell

and Dukes
405 Tombigbee Street
P.O. Box 1084

Jackson, Mississippi 39205

COUNSEL FOR PFTITIONER

April 25, 1975

INDEX
Page
Opinion below . ...-++-+-«« « 2
Jurisdiction ... +++ +e © « e 2
Questions presented ...++«. « 3
Constitutional provisions
ANGORLVOG: > 4:36.95 2v-6 8 0 wo 0 4
Statement of the case ..... .- 4
Reasons for granting the writ. . 8

1. The decision below deprived
the petitioner of the right
to trial by jury guaranteed
by the 7th Amendment to the
Constitution of the United
States, and is contrary to
decisions of this Court. 8
2. The decision below deprived
the petitioner of due pro-
cess of law guaranteed by
the 5th Amendment to the
Constitution of the United
States ..-«.se-«es'ec ec « 8

Cene leet ao Aa 6 8 ee ee 18

Appendix "A" (Opinion and Judg-
ment of Court of Appeals) . App. 1

Appendix "B" (5th Amendment) . . App. 19

CITATIONS

, Cases:
Boeing Company v. Shipman, 411
F.2d Ses (Sth cir. 1969)

Giordenello v. United States,
3 U.S. 480, S.Ct.
1245, 2 L.Ed.2d 1503
(1958)

Green v. American Tobacco Com-
any, 375 F.2d 673 (5th
Cir. 1963, cert. denied
377 U.S. 943, 84 S.Ct.
1349, 1351, 12 L.Ed.2d
306 (1964)

ral

Hargrave v. Wellman, 276 F.2d_
948 (9th Cir. 1960)

Hutton v. United States, 501
F.2d 1055 (6th Cir. 1974)

av v. United States,, 303 U.S.
ee Le | 58 S.Ct. 468, 82 L.Ed.

607 (1938)

Laguna Royalty Co. v. Marsh,
350 F.2d 817 (5th Cir.

1965)

Lavender v. Kurn, 327 U.S. 645_

66 S.Ct. 740, 90,L.Ed.
916 (1946)

Mercelis v. Wilson, 235 U.S.
, 39 §.Ct. 150, 59
L.Ed. 370 (1915), ;

ii

9, 10,
11, 12,
18

16

14, 15

15

15

17, 18
15

10, 11

12, 18

15

Planters Manufacturing Co. v.
Protection Mutual Ins.
Co., 380 F.2d 869 (5th
Cir. 1967)

United States v. Atkinson, 297
0.8. L182, 56 8.Ct. 391,

80 L.Ed. 555 (1936)

Other Authorities:

Amendment 5, U.S. Constitution
Amendment 7, U.S. Constitution
9 Wright & Miller, Federal

Practice end Procedure,
sec. 2558 (1971)

iii

10,

15

14,

1l

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term 1974

DUDLEY WIDEMAN, Administrator
of the Estate of Claude Wideman,
Deceased, Petitioner,

Vv.

MISSISSIPPI VALLEY GAS COMPANY,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

The petitioner, Dudley Wideman,
respectfully prays that a writ of cer-
tiorari issue to review the suheoent and
Opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit entered

in this proceeding on January 30, 1975.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals
appears in 507 F.2d 658 (5th Cir. 1975)
and is attached hereto as Appendix A.

No written opinion was rendered by the
District Court for the Northern Dis-

trict of Mississippi.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Ap-
peals for the Fifth Circuit was entered
on January 30, 1975. There was no peti-
tion for rehearing filed. This petition
for certiorari was filed within 90 days
of January 30, 1975. This Court's
jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

sec. 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether petitioner was denied
his 7th Amendment right to a trial by
jury by the action of the Court of Ap-
peals in affirming the District Court's
grant of a judgment n.o.v. to the defen-
dant gas company.

2. Whether petitioner was denied
due process of law when after trial and
jury verdict in nis favor, the District
Court granted the defendant gas company
a judgment n.o.v. adopting as its basis
therefor a different rule of law from
that under which the case was tried, no
objection at trial being made by the

defendant gas company to the rule of

law used at trial.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

1. U.S. Constitution Amendment 7:

In Suits at common law, where the
value in controversy shall exceed twenty
dollars, the right of trial by jury
Shall be preserved, and no fact tried
by a jury, shall be otherwise reexamined
in any Court off the United States, than
according to the rules of the common law.

2. U.S. Constitution Amendment 5:

[for complete text see Appendix "B";
pertinent provision is as follows: ]
No person. . .shall be. ..
deprived of life, liberty, or

property, without due process
of law;....

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Dudley Wideman, as administrator of

the estate of Claude Wideman, deceased,

brought suit in the District Court of
4

the Northern District of Mississippi
against Mississippi Valley Gas Company.
Federal jurisdiction was predicated upon
28 U.S.C. sec. 1332, commonly known as
diversity of citizenship, the plaintiff
and the defendant being citizens of dif-
ferent states. R. 405, 406. The case
began in the said District Court on
August 22, 1973, and was tried before a
six person jury (pursuant to said Court's
rules). R. 8, 10.

The complaint charged Mississippi
Valley Gas Company (hereinafter "the
gas company") with negligence in causing

the death of Claude Wideman. The jury

was so instructed. R. 402. The Court
charged the jury that the duty allegedly
breached by the gas company was that of
"ordinary care required of a reasonably
prudent operator of a gas transmission
line. . . ." R. 407. It was upon that
standard of care that the case was con-

5

‘

sidered by the jury. R. 426. The jury
retired, deliberated, and returned a ver-.
dict for the plaintiff, Dudley wideman,
in the amount of $100,000.00. R. 426, 427.
\ After the plaintiff rested his case
the gas company moved for a directed ver-
dict in its favor. R. 176, 186-188.
After the motion was made in chambers
the following occurred: |
“THE COURT: ' May I inquire what is
the defendant's standard? Is
the standard of care in gas

operation ordinary or of the.
highest?

t

MR. HOLLAND: (attorney for the gas
company, defendant) Ordinary.

THE COURT: Motion is overruled.

MR. HOLLAND: All right." R. 188,

The gas company presented its evidence

/

and rested. R. 315., The plaintiff pre-
sented some rebuttal evidence and tested.
R. 364. In chambers the gas company
again moved for a directed verdict. Re

366-368. The motion was Overruled. R.

6 ‘

368. In discussing the instructions
requested by the gas company the Court
told all counsel that he believed the
standard of ordinary care controlled in
this case. No objection was then made
by any counsel. R. 373, 374. The Court
charged the jury, R. 394-423, that the
standard of ate owed by the gas company
to the decedent was that of ordinary care.
Neither plaintiff nor defendant took
exception to the Court's charge. R. 423.
The gas company filed a motion for
a judgment n.o.v. or a new trial. The
hearing was held on September 12, 1973.
The Court there concluded that the cor-
rect standard or legal duty to be ap-
plied to this case was not the duty of
ordinary care, but only the duty owed
to a gratuitous licensee which is to
refrain from wanton or willful injury
to the licensee. (5th Cir.App. 2, 3, 6).
An appropriate order was entered sustain-

7

ing the gas company's motion for a judg-
ment n.o.v. (5th Cir.App. 187). From
that order Dudley Wideman appealed to the
United States Court of Appeals for the
Fifth Circuit. That Court's opinion and
judgment, affirming the District Court's
granting of a judgment n.o.v. to the gas
company is found in Appendix A to this
petition. From that judgment, Dudley
Wideman petitioned this Court to review
the Fifth Circuit's judgment by writ of

certiorari, timely filed.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THE DECISION BELOW IS BASED UPON

THE IMPORTANT FEDERAL QUESTION OF
WHETHER IN DIVERSITY CASES, FEDERAL
COURTS SHOULD APPLY A FEDERAL RATHER
THAN A STATE TEST FOR THE SUFFICI-
ENCY OF EVIDENCE NECESSARY TO CREATE
A JURY QUESTION, AND WHAT THE PROPER
TEST IS, IN RELATION THERFTO, IN
CONNECTION WITH MOTIONS FOR A
DIRECTED VERDICT AND FOR JUDGMENT
N.O.V.. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT COURT OF

APPEALS HAS DECIDED THOSE ISSUES IN
A WAY THAT CONFLICTS WITH APPLI-
CABLE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT, AND
IN A WAY WHICH CONFLICTS WITH DE-
CISIONS OF OTHER COURTS OF APPEALS
RELATING TO THESE SAME ISSUES.

The decision below is grounded upon
the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals' de-

cision in the case of Boeing Company v.

Shipman, 411 F.2d 365 (5th Cir. 1969).
Sitting En Banc that Court stated that

it was well settled in the Fifth Circuit
that in diversity cases federal courts
apply a federal rather than a state test
for the sufficiency of evidence to create
a jury question. It noted that the Cir-
cuits are divided on that question, i.e.,
federal v. state test in determining the ©
sufficiency of the evidence for sub-
mission to the jury. 411 F.2d at p. 368.
The Court further decided that the stan-
dard to be applied in diversity cases,

to determine whether there is sufficient

9

evidence to submit the case to the jury
on motions for directed verdicts and for
judgment notwithstanding the verdict, is
not the same in all diversity cases.

The standard differs in FELA (45 U.S.C.
sec. 51 et seq.) and Jones Act (46 U.S.C.
sec. 688) cases, and all other diversity
cases which are not based on statute.

In fact the Court said as to these two
classes of cases: ". . .the formulation
of the test of sufficiency of evidence

is substantially different." 411 F.2d

at p. 373. (emphasis supplied).
The original opinion in the Boeing
case, supra (411 F.2d 365) was based

upon the case of Planters Manufacturing

Co. v. Protection Mutual Ins. Co., 380

F.2d 869 (5th Cir. 1967). The Planters’
rationale on the sufficiency of evidence
test was based upon the language of this

Court in the case of Lavender v. Kurn,

327 U.S. 645, 66 S.Ct. 740, 90 L.Ed. 916

10

(1946). The Fifth Circuit, in rejecting
the principles enunciated in the Plant-
ers’ case, supra (380 F.2d 869), on this
question, also rejected this Court's

reasoning and conclusions in Lavender v.

Kurn, 327 U.S. 645 (1946). The Court
was explicit, saying that we now reject
the Planters principle and hold that the
FELA test is peculiar to that kind of
case as a consequence of the statute it-
self and is accordingly not applicable
in non-FELA jury trials. 411 F.2d at

p. 372.

The Court then proceeded to adopt
"the" standard to be used in determining
whether there is sufficient evidence to
submit a case to the jury in connection
with motions for directed verdicts and
for judgment notwithstanding the verdict
in federal diversity cases which are not
based on statute, e.g., non-FELA federal

cases. 411 F.2d at p. 373-375. The

11

question of sufficiency of the evidence
to require submission of a case to the
jury presents a constitutional problem.
411 F.2d at p. 377. As Circuit Judge
Rives noted, when the majority of the
Court repudiates for diversity cases the

FELA standard and particularly the for-

mula adopted in Lavender v. Kurn, 327
U.S. 645 (1946), it commits an Seies of
constitutional proportions. 411 F.2d
at p. 377, 378.

Thus, when the majority of the Fifth
Circuit promulgated what it considered
to be the standard for determining the
sufficiency of evidence necessary to
require the submission of a case to ‘the
jury, it acted beyond its authority.

It expressly overruled this Court's

sufficiency test set out in Lavender v.

Kurn, 327 U.S. at p. 653. The standard

So adopted in the Boeing case, supra

(411 F.2d 365) was applied in the case
12

ianeaieteneeemeeene re

1

sub judice. It is submitted that the

7th Amendment speaks of no double stan- |
dard as to the sufficiency of evidence
necessary to take a‘case to a jury. It
is further submitted that, the time is
ripe for. this Honorable Court té so
declare. A decision by this Court clear-
ly defining the sufficiency of evidence

required to make a jury issue in all -

federal diversity cases, statutory and

non-statutory, would be of great impor-

tance and assistance to all’ the lower
federal courts and would lend itself
greatly to a uniform application of a .
constitutional right of utmost importance
to every citizen of these United States.

In the case sub judice the Fifth

Circuit's judgment, affirming the grant-
ing of a judgment n.o.v: by the District

Court in — oF the gas company, was

based etnit

(1) the only duty’ owed the

deceased by the gas company was to re-

13

frain from willfully and wantonly injur-
ing him, and (2) on the record before it,
based on the duty in (1) above, reason-
able men could not differ about the fact
that there was no showing the gas com-
pany breached the duty it owed the de-
cedent. App. 3. In reaching conclusion
(2) above the Court invaded the province
of the jury, contrary to the 7th Amend-
ment. In applying the duty in (1)
above, the Court denied Dudley Wideman
due process of law under the 5th Amend-
ment. The District Court also did so.
Many decisions say that an inscruc-
tion not objected to becomes the law of
the case. This may be merely one way of
phrasing the general principle that
failure to object ordinarily bars later

challenge to an instruction. 9 Wright

sec. 2558 p. 670, 671 (1971); Green v.
14

& Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure,

American Tobacco Company, 325 F.2d 673,

676 (5th Cir. 1963), cert. denied 377
U.S. 943, 84 S.Ct. 1349, 1351, 12 L.Ed.

2d 306 (1964); United States v. Atkinson,

297 U.S. 157, 56 S.Ct. 391, 80 L.Ed. 555
(1936). Further, however, a party who
requests an instruction has invited any
error in it and cannot complain if the
instruction, or one substantially like it
is given. 9 Wriqht & Miller, Federal

Practice and Procedure, sec. 2558, p. 675

(1971); Hargrave v. Wellman, 276 F.2d 948,

950, 951 (9th Cir. 1960); Mercelis v.

Wilson, 235 U.S. 579, 35 S.Ct. 150, 59
L.Ed. 370 (1915). In such a case there
is deemed to be no error. In addition
the general rule is that an appellate
court will not entertain an argument
based upon a theory not litigated below.

Hutton v. United States, 501 F.2d 1055,

1062 (6th Cir. 1974); Laguna Royalty Co.

v. Marsh, 350 F.2d 817, 825, 826 (5th Cir.
15

1965); Giordenello v. United States, 357

U.S. 480, 78 S.Ct. 1245, 2 L.Ed.2d 1503
(1958).

In the case sub judice the defendant

gas company told the District Court what
Standard of care applied to this case, R.
188, at the close of the plaintiff's case,
and again at the close of all the evi-
dence. R. 366, 367. The Court charged
the jury on the standard of Ordinary care,
R. 394-423. No exceptions to the charge
were voiced by the defendant, gas company.
R. 423. The jury returned a verdict for
the plaintiff in the amount of $100,000.00.
R. 426, 427. Thus, the law of the case
was established, i.e., ordinary care, and
there are many factual issues creating a
jury issue on the breach of that duty in
this record. The District Court and the
Court of Appeals acknowledged that fact.
App. 2, 5, 6. The disturbance of those

facts resolved in plaintiff's favor by

16

the jury, by the District Court and the
Court of Appeals was a gross invasion of
the province of the jury. This is a vio-
lation of the 7th Amendment to the Con-
stitution. There was no error of law to
be considered. The gas company in effect
invited error by not pleading the stan-
dard of care urged by 1¢ on its motion
for judgment n.o.v.

Dudley Wideman was denied due pro-
cess of law as well. In effect the gas
company on its motion for judgment n.o.v.
urged a new defense to the suit. At that
point in time the plaintiff was precluded
from offering any evidence to rebut «he
new defense. In this instance the defen-
dant must be bound by the theories under
which the case was tried. To allow the
gas company to urge a new theory, after
trial, upon the Court, certainly cannot

be condoned or permitted. Kay v. United

States, 303 U.S. 1, 58 S.Ct. 468, 82 L.Ed.

17

607 (1938).

h

CONCLUSION

The basis of the Fifth Circuit Court

of Appeals' review of the case sub judice

under its decision in the case of Boeing

Company v. Shipman, 411 F.2d 365, 373-377

(Sth Cir. 1969) is unconstitutional. It
is diametrically opposed to this Court's

decision in the case of Lavender v. Kurn

327 U.S. 645, 66 S.Ct. 740, 90 L.Fd. 916
(1946). Both lower Courts invaded the
province of the jury--a violation of the
7th Amendment. The defendant gas company
invited any alleged error, and thus on
appeal there was no error. The question
of the sufficiency of evidence to make a
jury issue in all federal diversity cases,
Statutory and non-statutory, has not been
answered by this Court. This case pre-

sents the Court with the opportunity to

18

do so. For these reasons a writ of
certiorari should issue to review the
judgment and opinion of the Fifth Circuit

Court of Appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM S. LAWSON

Main Street

P.O. Box 848

Tupelo, Mississippi 38801

JOE H. DANIEL

Daniel ,Coker ,Horton,Bell
and Dukes

405 Tombighee Street

P.O. Box 1084

Jackson, Mississippi 39205

19

‘APPENDIX "A"

Dudley WIDFMAN, Administrator
of the Estate of Claude Wideman,
Deceased, Plaintiff-Appellant
Vv.

MISSISSIPPI VALLEY GAS COMPANY,
Defendant-Appellee.

.No. 73-3574 eee

United States Court Of Appeals,
Fifth Circuit.

' Jan. 30, 1975. ;

Appeal from the United States Dis-
trict Court for the Northern District
of Mississippi. |
Before COLEMAN, CLARK and RONEY,
Circuit Judges. : 7

RONEY, Circuit Judge: |

Claude Wideman was killed in an
explosion and fire resulting when a
small road grader he was operating on a
private residential lot hit an under-

ground gas line. . The outcome of this

App. l ; ;

=eeuememnens

appeal turns on a determination of the
standard of care owed to Wideman by the
defendant gas company under Mississippi
law. The jury, instructed that the gas
company owed a duty of ordinary care,
apparently decided that the gas line
easement was not adequately marked and
the line itself was not a sufficient
depth below the ground. Wideman's es-
tate was awarded the sum of $100,000.
Notwithstanding this jury verdict, the
trial court entered a judgment for
defendant on the ground that the jury
had been incorrectly instructed as to
the standard of care. The court held
that the gas company owed no higher
duty under the circumstances than to
refrain from wanton or willful injury
to decedent, and that the evidence was
not sufficient for jury consideration

under such correct standard. We affirm.

App. 2

[1] Essentially, we decide two
points: first, a gas company with gas
lines buried within the boundaries of a
legal easement owes to a person making
an unforeseeable extraordinary use of
the surface no duty higher than to re-
frain from willful and wanton injury,
unless and until it has notice of that
proposed use; and second, on the record
before us, the trial court was correct
in the determination that the evidence
was such that reasonable men could not
differ on the facts that the gas company
had received no notice of the extra-
ordinary use and that it had not
breached its duty to refrain from will-
ful or wanton conduct.

In 1930 Mississippi Valley Gas
Company's predecessor-in-interest ac-
guired a valid gas line right-of-way
across some property in northern Mis-

sissippi which is presently owned by

App. 3

Tommy D. Beasley. The recorded ease-
ment conveyed a "right of way to lay,
construct, maintain and operate a pipe-
line" across lands containing seventeen
acres described in quarter section terms.
The exact path of the easement was not
described. The owner reserved the "use
and enjoyment of said premises except
for the purposes herein conveyed to
purchaser." The document further pro-
vided that the pipeline was to be laid
below plow depth (agreed by the parties
to this litigation to be below six
inches), with the following paragraph:
It is understood and agreed
that purchaser (the gas company)
shall bury said pipe line below
plow depth wherever it crosses
any land that may be cleared
and in cultivation, and shall
also bury said pipe line below

plow depth across any land that

App. 4

may be in future cleared and put

in cultivation. _—
In compliance with the depth require-
ment, the gas line was originally laid
about 36 inches below the surface. It
has continued in use from its installa-
tion until the time of the occurrence
of the accident involved in this case.
During that period the character of the
land changed from wilderness to resi-
dential, and a house was constructed
thereon in 1946. The evidence was such
that the jury could have inferred that
the surface of the land had changed to
the point that the pipe line may have
been only five or six inches deep at the
time of the accident. The area was
grown over and had been undisturbed for
some time. Mississippi Valley made —
periodic foot patrols along the gas

line to determine potential problems

App. 5

a

from erosion, construction, and the like,
but there were no signs marking the

path of the line except where it crossed
a public highway some distance from the
point of the accident. —

On April 17, 1971, Claude Wideman
was operating a road grader on the
Beasley property in response to
Beasley's request for county assistance
in alleviating a drainage problem
created by water running off the city-
maintained road immediately in front
of his property. While Beasley was
aware of the general location of the
pipe line on his property, neither he
nor decedent contacted Mississippi
Valley to ascertain the exact location
of the line. Mississippi Valley was
not otherwise made aware of the fact
that decedent intended to Operate the
road grader over the gas line. After

making a few passes with the grader,

App. 6

stiaaiahcatanianiamenianentatenseiniaanenieadinddmaaiaiaeemmtiemmattiinentinneiaemedl

decedent struck the gas line with the
grader blade and the line ruptured,
causing an explosion and fire which
resulted in decedent's unfortunate
death a short time later.

[2] We agree with District Judge
William C. Keady that under the cir-
cumstances of the above accident, the
defendant was entitled to judgment as
a matter of law. Absent willful or
wanton misconduct, the defendant could
not be charged with fault of inaction
until it had notice of the “hazard about
to be experienced.” Although there is
little Mississippi law on the subject,
the Supreme Court of Mississippi appears
to recognize that in the operation of
a gas line, some accidents and injuries
are too remote and unforeseeable for a
defendant to be held legally liable
therefor. As said in a recent case
involving a pipe line accident:

App. 7

“f \

"The rule is firmly estab-
lished in this state, as in
nearly all the common law states,
that in ordér that a person who ©
diséie a particular act which re-
sults in injury to another shall
be liable therefor, the act must
be of such character and done in
such a situation, that the person
doing it should reasonably have
anticipated that some injury to
another will probably result
therefrom, D'Antoni v. Albritton,
156 Miss. 758, 766, 126 So. 836;
Williams v. Lumpkin, 169 Miss.
146, 152, 152 So. 842; but that
the actor is not bound to a pre-
vision or anticipation which

would include an unusual, im-'

probable, or extraordinary

occurrence, although such hap-.

pening is within the range of

App. 8

*

possibilities. Illinois Cent. R.
Co. v. Bloodworth, 166 Miss. 602,
617, 145 So. 333;. . ."
Larco Drilling & Fxploration Corp. v.
Brown, 267 So.2d 308, 310 (Miss. 1972),
guoting Mauney v. Gulf Refining Co.,
193 Miss. 421, 9 So.2d 780 (1942)
(emphasis added).

In Larco Drilling, the Supreme

Court held that a county employee opera-
ting a bulldozer which struck the defen-
dart's gas line, thus causing the oper-
ator's injuries was a mere licensee and
reversed a verdict in his favor and
rendered judgment for the owner of the
gas line. The county employee was
attempting to fight a forest fire at the
time but his presence was unknown to the
gas line owner.

Unless the likelihood of some acci-
dent or injury of the type which occurred

in this case was reasonably foreseeable

App. 9

by Mississippi Valley, it was under no
duty to take action to avoid such an
accident. Mississippi Valley had duly
recorded its easement on the county
land records, thus giving full legal
notice of the presence of the pipe line
on the Beasley property. It could
reasonably be expected that anyone
planning use of the property would be
aware of the pipe line's existence, if
not its location. It could not be
foreseeable by defendant that one know-
ing of the pipe line would excavate the
property without inquiring of Missis-
Sippi Valley of the exact pipe line
location.

There can be little doubt that had
Beasley or decedent inquired about the
location of the gas line or in any other
way conveyed to Mississippi Valley any
information from which it could have

concluded that the easement was to be

App. 10

graded, Mississippi Valley would have
been under a duty to take some action--
for example, warning of the danger in-
volved, marking the location of the
line, or relocating it at a greater
depth--to prevent an accident such as
the one which did occur.

See Young v. Herrington, 312 S.W.

2d 685, 687 (Tex.Civ.App. 1958). But

the record is clear that no one did any-

thing to place Mississippi Valley on
actual or constructive notice of the
possibility of this particular road
grader activity. Without such notice,
a duty for defendant to take action
could arise only if this type of acci-
dent and injury could have been reason-
ably anticipated. No duty would arise
as to any “unusual, improbable, extra-
ordinary and freakish accident” that,
even though possible, a reasonable man
would not have considered probable.

App. 11

Larco Drilling, supra, 267 So.2d at 310.

Other than Larco Drilling, there is

little authority from the Mississippi
courts from which to evaluate what they
would consider as meeting this threshold
test of foreseeability in a case of this
type. The courts of Texas, which have
handled a large number of oil and gas
transmission line cases, have had greater
opportunity to develop the scope of fore-
seeability in this unique area.

[3] Texas views the issue of reason-
able foreseeability in pipe line cases as
centering on whether the use being made
of the surface of the right-of-way is one
that is ordinary, or one that is extra-
ordinary, considering the character and
location of the land. The operator has
a duty to maintain the pipe line so that
it will be safe for those making an
ordinary use of the land, but anyone
making an extraordinary use of the sur-

App. 12

face has the initial burden of either
avoiding the pipe line or notifying the
operator, who must then take steps to
prevent contact. Phillips Pipe Line Co.
v. Razo, 420 S.W.2d 691 (Tex. 1967);
Pioneer Natural Gas Co. v. K & M Paving
Co., 374 S.W.2d 214 (Tex. 1963). The
language used by the Texas Supreme Court
is very similar to that used by the
Supreme Court of Mississippi in Larco
Drilling, suggesting the two courts
substantively view the issue in identical
terms. The initial question becomes
then, whether the explosion in the in-
stant case was caused by an ordinary use
of the surface.

We are not here confronted with'a
road grader performing routine mainten-
ance along a public thoroughfare, compare
Concho Construction Co. Inc. v. Oklahoma
Natural Gas Co., 201 F.2d 673 (10th Cir.

1953), but with a scraper operating some

App. 13

distance from and not parallel to the

road. See generally, Annot., 30 A.L.R.

3d 685 (1970). Plaintiff asserts that
the use of county graders to alleviate
drainage problems on private property

is not uncommon in northeast Mississippi,
but this does not make the use of con-
struction equipment “ordinary” in the
sense that it should be anticipated by
the defendant without special notice.

Cf. Phillips Pipe Line, supra.

"Ordinary" connotes a use that is

"usual," “regular,” and “normal,” some-

thing of a continuing nature so that a

person should be familiar with it. A
basement may be dug when a house is built
but a house is not built on any particu-
lar lot with sufficient frequency to say
that the digging of the basement is an
“ordinary use” of that lot. Since Mis-
sissippi Valley's liability must be de-
fined by its conduct with respect to the

App. 14

Beasley property, the issue is what might

be an ordinary use of the property.

What could ordinarily be expected

ina semi-rural area might be the opera-

tion of automobiles on a dirt driveway

over the pipe line, or someone planting '

a garden. We do not consider the exca-

vation made of the surface here, however,

as Pee that the defendant should be

aimvent with protecting’ dgetizin'e it in —

; Operation and maintenance of its’ pipe

line. To hold it accountable in this

circumstance would impose too heavy a.

responsibility for an occurrence that was

only remotely and sliahtly probable under

Larco Drilling. !

Additional support for this view is

found in that line of cases involving ;

the operation and maintenance of unin-

Sulated electric transmission lines. In ~ ,

these cases the courts appear to focus

on the location of the accident and the

_App. 15

forseeability, in that location, cf the
conduct of the injured party from which

the injury arises. See generally Mis-

Sissippi Power & Light Company v.
Shepard, 285 So.2d 725 (Miss. 1973).
Affirmed.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPFALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 73-3574

D. C. Docket No. CA~-71-147K

DUDLEY WIDFPMAN, Administrator
of the Estate of CLAUDE

WIDEMAN, Deceased, Plaintiff-
Appellant,

versus

MISSISSIPPI VALLEY GAS
COMPANY, Defendant-
Appellee.

App. 16

Appeal from the United States
District Court for the
Northern District of Mississippi

Before
COLEMAN, CLARK and RONEY, Circuit
Judges.
JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on
the transcript of the record from the
United States District Court for the
Northern District of Mississippi, and
was argued by counsel;

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is
now here ordered and adjudged by this ©
Court that the judgment of the said
District Court in this cause be, and
the same is hereby, affirmed;

It is further ordered that plain- ;
tiff-appellant pay to defendant-appellee,
the costs on appeal to be taxed by the
Clerk of this Court. ,

January 30, 1975

Issued as Mandate: February 21, 1975

App. 17

Northern District of Mississippi
Piled

Feb 26 1975
Norman L. Gillespie, Clerk
By _/s/ S. Lumpkin

Deputy

A true copy
Test: EDWARD W. WADSWORTH
Clerk, U. S. Court of Appeals, Fifth
Circuit

By /s/ Louise Wolf
Deputy Feb 21 1975

New Orleans, Louisiana

APPENDIX "B"

No person shall be held to answer

for a capital, or otherwise infamous
crime, unless on a presentment or in-
dictment of a Grand Jury, except in
cases arising in the land or naval
forces, or in the Militia, when in
actual service in time of War or public
danger; nor shall any person be subject
for the same offence to be twice put in
jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be
compelled in any criminal case to be a
witness against himself, nor be de-
prived of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law; nor shall
private property be taken for public

use, without just compensation.
U.S. Constitution, Amendment 5

App. 19

CALAIS RPO IE TREO

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICF

I hereby certify that on this the
25th day of April, 1975, three copies of
the Petition for Writ of Certiorari were
mailed, postage prepaid, to Ralph Holland,
Esq., a member of the firm of Lumpkin,
‘Holland and Ray, 112 North Broadway
Street, P.O. Drawer 409, Tupelo, Mis-
Sissippi, 38801, attorney of record for
the respondent. I further certify that
all parties required to be served have

been served.

405 Tombigbee Street
P.O. Box 1084
. Jackson, Mississippi 39205

COUNSEL FOR PETITIONER

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_0904%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
