# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Moss v. Federal Power Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_0833%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 422 U.S. 1020

## Text

7 Meal 7

4

SUPREME COURT, % a

No 74-104.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OctToser Tenn, 1974

JOHN E. Moss, ET AL, PETITIONERS
v.
FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION, RESPONDENT

CONDITIONAL CROSS-PETITION FOR A WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

Morton L. Simons
Barbara M. Simons

1629 K Street, N. w.
Washington, D.C. 20006

Attorneys for Petitioners

February 20, 1975

IN THE
aue Mails a tha ith Sei

Octoser TERM, 1974

No.

JOHN E. Moss, ET AL, PETITIONERS
v.
FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION, RESPONDENT

CONDITIONAL CROSS-PETITION FOR A WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

Petitioners John E. Moss et al. petition
for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment
of the United States Court of Appeals for the
District of Columbia Circuit, entered August 15,
1974, said writ to issue only in the event the
Court should determine to grant a writ of certi-
orari in Federal Power Commission v. John E.
Moss et al., No. 74-883, filed January 17, 1975,
which seeks review of only one of the issues
decided by the court below.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals is
reported at 502 F.2d 461, and is reprinted as
Appendix A to the petition for certiorari in

2

No. 74-883 (hereinafter FPC Pet.). The order
of the Federal Power Commission (Order No.
455) is reported at 48 FPC 218 (FPC Pet. App.
D), and the Commission's order denying rehear-
ing (Order No. 455-A) is reported at 48 FPC 477
(FPC Pet. App. E).

The judgment of the court of appeals was
entered on August 15, 1974 FFC Pet. App. B).
and petitions for rehearing were denied on
September 19, 1975 (FFC Pet. App. C). On
December 12, 1974, this Court extended the
time for filing a petition for writ of certiorari
until January 17, 1975, and on Jamary 17 the
FPC filed its petition, FPC v. Moss, No. 74-
883.

Cross-petitioners Moss et al., while not
previously of the view that certiorari was
essential on the issues decided adversely to
them, believe that the issue raised by the
Commission's petition, assuming it is cert-
worthy, cannot meaningfully be considered in
isolation from the other issues decided contem-
poraneously by the court of appeals. Thus, the
necessity for the instant conditional cross-
petition did not arise until after the filing of
the Commission's petition on January 17, 1975,
and this cross-petition is being filed within 30
days of receipt of the Commission's petition.

The procedure followed by cross-petitioners
conforms to the procedure approved by this
Court in Ray v. Pierson, cert. granted, 384 U.S.
938. See also Texaco Inc. v. FPC, No. 1231, |

3

O. T. 1966 (renumbered No. 82, O.T. 1967);
Texaco Inc. v. FPC, No. 628, O.T. 1967.

Whether the Federal Power Commission
has power, under the Natural Gas Act, to
adopt an optional procedure" for new pro-
ducer sales that permits producers (1) to
charge rates in excess of the just and reason-
able area rate ceilings, (2) to collect, free
from refund obligation during the period prior
to Commission certification, cont~act rates
that ou certification are found to be excessive,
(3} to effectuate future rate increases free
from contemporaneous Commission review,
and (4) to abandon service at the end of the
contract term without the further Commission
approval required by Section 7(b) of the Act.

STATUTE INVOLVED

Sections 4, 5, and 7 of the Natural Gas
Act, as amended, 15 U.S.C. §§717c, 717d,
and 717f, are set out in FPC Pet. App. F.

STATEMENT

The facts of this case are fully and
accurately set forth in the Brief of Moss
et al, in Opposition filed February 20, 1975
in FPC v. Mosse, No. 74-883, .

The Commission's purpose in promul-
gating its "optional procedure" rule was to
establish a method outside the statutorily —
required regulatory scheme for permitting
the producers more than could be gtanted =

ther under regulation: higher pr regi este

4

freedom from refund obligation, freedom from
rate review, and freedom to abandon service at
the end of the contract term,

Since the purpose of the Commission's new
rule could not lawfully be achieved under a long
line of decisions of which F. P, C. v. Texaco Inc.,
417 U.S, 380, was merely the latest, the court
of appeals interpreted the substantive rate stand-
ard aad the rate increase procedure in a manner
that would render them lawful (while simultane-
ously and necessarily depriving them of their
intended effect). On the remaining two issues
the court of appeals apparently ws" anable to
arrive at an interpretation that wou i render
them lawful, and, in effect, compromised,
holding the no-refund provision lawful, and
the "pregranted abandonment" provision un-
lawful. While we believe the latter holding
was correct, we submit that the former was
not. : <4

* To permit the collection of 8 rates
free from refund obligation defeats the essen-
tial statutory purpose of assuring consumers
a complete, permanent and effective bond of

protection from excessive rates and charges, “

Atlantic 675 5 Co, v. Public Service Com-
mission, 360 U.S. 378 at 388 (1959); see also

United Improvement Co, v. Callery Prop-
30 1965};

ape e 362 U. 223 at 229- ;
Public Service Commission v. L. E. S., 329
F.2d 242 at 249 119880. cert, denied, 377 U.S.

963; T Oil Co v EPC, 442 F.2d 489
at 492, 225 aS. Cir. 1971

—

9

The more important question raised by the
approach of the court of appeals, however, is
whether its legitimization-by-interpretation of
the basic, rate-determination standard under the
optional procedure was appropriate in light of
the fact that "optional procedure" (like the
small-producer exemption condemned in Ler-
aco, and like the essentially standardless emer-

gency and limited-term sales now under attack

in other court proceedings) was intended to pro-
vide producers with a higher than just-and-
reasonable price, i. e., a price made unlawful

by the basic organic statute under which the 2
Commission operates. As this Court noted

last Term under parallel circumstances:

IT he Act makes unlawful all rates
‘which are not just and reasonable,
and does not say a little unlawfulness
is permitted.“ F.P.C. v. Texaco Ince,
417 U.S. 380 at 399.

And, asa practical matter, the pernicious
consequences of permitting formalized extra-
legal procedures to remain in effect pending a

determination of their legality cannot be ignored.

The new procedures--of which optional pricing

is the most important--were promulgated shortly
after the Commission had fixed the just and rea-
sonable ceiling for the major producing areas at
26¢ per Mef. Given the choice of e their

* The Commission's action--FPC Opinion No.
598, 46 FPC 86 (1971)--was affirmed by this
Court only last June, oiuc v.

. — —— — WW — 2 — |

6

new sales at the 26 ceiling or me 40¢-50¢
allowed under the alternative procedures,
which subordinated or ignored just-and-
| reasonable standards, the producers chcse
) the above-ceiling prices, see FPC Release
No. 21087, Feb. 3, 1975, pp. 24-26; and while
the 40¢-50¢ above-ceiling level totally sup-
planted the 26¢ ceiling price for new supplies,
the volume of new supplies did not increase.

The Commission's response to this devel-
opment, however, was to raise the just-and-
reasonable ceiling to the 40¢-50¢ level permit-
ted by its extraordinary procedures, FPC
Opinion No. 699 (June 21, 107. While origi-
nally indicating that it would limit future use
of emergency and limited-term certificates,
the Commission subsequently reinstated these
procedures, essentially on the industry's repre-
sentation that even the new 50¢ level would not
assure adequate supplies, Opinion No. 699-B

(Sept. 9, 1974).

The latest turn of the wheel is provided

598 was itself 30-40% above prior ceilings,
and was adopted upon produce: representa-
tions that it would provide the requisite incen-
tive for exploration and dedication of new
reserves to the interstate market.

* On rehearing, the level was raised to 50¢-
60¢ per Mcf, Opinion No. 699-H (Dec. 4, 1974).
Appeals from Opinion No, 699 and 699-H are
presently pending in five circuits, with ultimate
venue not yet determined.

7

by a recent FPC notice of a proposed sale
from the offshore Louisiana area under the

optional procedure at $1.44 per Mcf, Coleve,

a Joint Venture, C1I75-438, notice issued

February 14, 1975.

Thus, the basic practical difficulty with
loopholes like the optional procedure is that,
by offering a price in excess of the just and
reasonable ceiling, they undercut the ceiling
rate and continually force it upward to what-
ever the market will bear. The basic legal
difficulty is that Congress, by enacting the
Natural Gas Act, intended to assure that
natural gas prices would not be based on a
standard of what the market will bear.

No basis exists for permitting such a
gross departure from the statutory plan.
Since the only purpose of the optional pro-
cedure is to provide an unwarranted excep-
tion to Commission-determ ined just-and-
reasonable ceilings, the appropriate solu-
tion to the optional procedure is not reform
through interpretation but outright reversal.

8
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, it is respect-
fully submitted that in the event the Court
should grant the petition for a writ of certio-

rari in No, 74-883, this petition for a writ
of certiorari should likewise be granted.

Respectfully submitted,
Morton L. Simons
Barbara M. Simons

1629 K Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006

Attorneys for Petitioners

February 20, 1975

*
*

6—

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_0833%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
