# Appendix — MacKethan v. Virginia

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_0815%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appendix
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 422 U.S. 1045

## Text

EXHIBIT A

In The
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
For The Eastern District Of Virginia
; Richmond Division

Civil Action
No. 74-0013-R

Edwin R. MacKethan, Receiver
Norfolk Savings & Loan Corp.

Vv.

Commonwealth Of Virginia, et al

MEMORANDUM
Filed July 24 1974

This matter is before the Court on the motion of the
defendant, the Commonwealth of Virginia [hereinafter re-
ferred to as the State], to dismiss the complaint filed herein
as to it. Similar motions by other of the defendants which are
now pending, and some of which are still awaiting plaintiff's
response, will not be considered herein.

Plaintiff, Edwin R. MacKethan, is the Receiver of the
Norfolk Savings and Loan Corporation, having been so
appointed by the Law and Chancery Court of the City of
Norfolk, Virginia, in a suit there pending between the
Commonwealth of Virginia at the relation of the State
Corporation Commission of that State and the Norfolk

App. 2

Savings and Loan Corporation. As Receiver, plaintiff is the
possessor of all claims of that corporation, its depositors,
creditors and owners, and seeks here a judgment for damages
against the various defendants in the amount of eleven
million dollars.

As relates to its claim against the State, the piaintiff
alleges generally that the State, through agents of its State
Corporation Commission, negligently and/oz fraudulently:
one, breached its regulatory duties with respect to the
activities of the now closed Norfolk Savings and Loan
Corporation; and two, participated in the dissemination of
false or misleading information to investors in said corpora-
tion by failing to disclose relevant information in its posses-
sion.

Jurisdiction is sought to be invoked pursuant to 15 U.S.C.
§ 78aa.

Prior to the filing of this action, the instant plaintiff had
filed a related action in this Court naming the State as the
sole defendant. MacK ethan v. Commonwealth of Virginia,
Civil Action No. 73-547-R. Subsequent to the filing of the
present action, wherein additional defendants were joined,
the Court dismissed the previous action on jurisdictional
grounds. The Court there held that jurisdiction was lacking
by reason of the State’s sovereign immunity, inherent in the
State and preserved to it by the Eleventh Amendment to the
Constitution of the United States. See MacK ethan v. Com-
monwealth of Virginia, C.A. No. 73-547-R, mem. decis.
Jan. 16, 1974 (E.D.Va.)

The defendant’s motion in this action likewise raises the
bar of sovereign immunity as grounds for dismissal.

As to the first count in plaintiff's present complaint, it is
obvious to the Court that said count must be dismissed for
the reasons stated in the memorandum accompanying the

ee

App. 3

order dismissing the plaintiff's previous related action against
the State. MacKethan v. Commonwealth of Virginia, C.A.
No. 73-547-R, mem. decis., Jan. 16, 1974 (E.D.Va.). That
is because the first count in the present complaint simply
incorporates by reference all of the allegations contained in
the complaint filed in the previous action referred to.

The additional allegations in Counts II and IV of the
present complaint relate essentially to claims brought against
defendants other than the State in this action, and are there-
fore irrelevant to the motion presently before the Court.

As to the third count in the present complaint, which does
attempt to raise a claim against the State, the plaintiff con-
tends that same is a “new claim” and that the reasoning
behind the decision in the previous action does not apply
with respect to this “new claim.” The plaintiff asserts that
the “new claim” in Count III, unlike the claim previously
asserted, fails within an exception to the bar of sovereign
immunity.

1.
: RES JUDICATA

To be more specific, the plaintiff contends that the claim
raised in the previous action and incorporated into Count I
of this action, was premised on a theory that the State had
breached its state statutory duty of supervising the afore-
mentioned savings and loan corporation’s securities trans-
actions and was therefore liable for the resultant damages to
depositors, creditors and owners. The plaintiff argues, how-
ever, that the claim raised in Count III of the instant com-
plaint is based on the state’s alleged complicity in the dis-
semination of false or misleading information to investors in
the aforementioned savings and loan corporation, in clear
violation of federal securities laws.

~

App. 4

The Court would begin by pointing out that it did not
construe the plaintiff's previous action as having been so
narrowly drawn as plaintiff now suggests.’ In its memoran-
dum dismissing the complaint therein the Court stated at
one point:

... Indeed plaintiff alleges that “the Commonwealth
and the Board of Directors conspired to prevent the
public from realizing the insolvent condition” of the
corporation.

It is these alleged acts of the defendant upon which
plaintiff premises his claim under the Securities Act of
1933 and...the Securities Exchange Act of 1934...

C.A. No. 73-547-R, mem. decis., jan. 16, 1974, at p. 2 (E.D.
Va.).

Indeed, had the Court viewed the previous claim as
having been based solely on the defendant’s alleged breach
of its state statutory duties, it would never have reached
the issue of sovereign immunity. Absent the element of
an alleged federal securities violation, the plaintiff's claim
would simply have amounted to a state claim. Under that
circumstance, regardless of the state’s alleged waiver of
sovereign immunity, the Court would have been totally
lacking subject matter jurisdiction, which is the first prere-

1 Courts, of course, decide cases on the basis of facts presented. While
it is hoped that the litigants will aid the Court by drawing attention to
the relevant principles of law, courts do not limit their inquiry, with
BE ee dees adios cal ec
the litigants

coctaiellly accuse Wiens setueaitay ua cer uabeaee ok given
in short, one does the best he can with what he has. ox

i

App. 5

quisite to maintaining an action in federal court. See Mans-
field, Coldwater @ Lake Ry. v. Swan, 111 U.S. 379 (1884) ;
Minnesota v. Northern Securities Co., 194 U.S. 48, 62-63
(1904).

Beyond that, the Court would further note that the only
apparent difference between the plaintiff's “old claim” and
his “new claim” is in the theories on which they are
premised. The factual allegations do not appear to differ
materially. While a new hair-do may create a new woman,
as certain advertisements suggest, a new legal theory does
not make a new cause of action. Moreno v. Marbil Produc-
tions, Inc., 296 F.2d 362 (5th Cir. 1961) ; Norman Tobacco
& Candy Co. v. Gillette Safety Razor Co., 295 F. 2d 362
(5th Cir. 1961). The doctrine of res judicata applies to
jurisdictional issues, as well as to substantive matters. See
Stoll v. Gottlieb, 305 U.S. 165, 172 (1938); Baldwin v.
Iowa State Traveling Men’s Ass’n., 283 U.S. 522 (1931).
Therefore, even assuming the Court had not given the
previous complaint the full breadth of consideration justi-
fied by the allegations set forth therein, the present action
would still be barred by the doctrine of res judicata. See, id.
The plaintiffs only relief would be by way of appeal.

Finally, there is no doubt that the present action arises
out of the same series of occurrences that was subject to con-
troversy in the previous action. Assuming further that the
plaintiff had come forward in the present complaint with
new factual allegations bearing on the sovereign immunity
question, the new action wouid still be barred under the
doctrine of res judicata. This is because a plaintiff may not
litigate his claim piecemeal. See Heiser v. Woodruff, 327
U.S. 726, 735 (1946), and cases cited therein. Repetition,
whether in presenting new theory or pleading additional
facts, is not to be tolerated. See Lester v. National Broad-

App. 6

casting Co., 217 F. 2d 399 (9th Cir. 1955), cert. denied, 348
U.S. 954 (1955), rehearing denied, 349 U.S. 917 (1955).
See also, Kriesel v. Berkshire Associates, Inc., 452 F.2d 491
(4th Cir. 1971) (deciding the issue under Virginia law).

Il.
SOVEREIGN IMMUNITY

The essence: of plaintiffs contention in this regard,
throughout this: and the previous litigation, has been that the
state had expressly or impliedly waived its sovereign im-
munity.

In the memorandum dismissing the previous complaint,
the Court concluded that it could find no Congressional
intent to pre-condition the State’s entry into the field of
securities regulation on the State’s consent to be sued for
claims arising out of that activity. MacKethan v. Common-
wealth of Virginia, C.A. No. 73-547-R mem. decis. Jan. 16,
1974 (E.D. Va.). Cf., Parden v. Terminal R. Co. of Ala-
bama, 377 U.S. 184, 187-191 (1964) with Employees v.
Missouri Public Health Dept., 411 U.S. 279, 287 (1973).
Accordingly, no implied waiver was found.

The only theory not previously addressed is plaintiff's ap-
parent contention that, by participating in the dissemination
of false or mislleading information, incidental to its regula-
tory action, the State agency involved left the sphere of
legitimate governmental activities, and thereby became a
mere “lawbreaker.” The plaintiff argues that the State
thereby “waived” iis immunity for actions arising under the
federal securities legislation.

This contention, in the Court’s view, misconceives the
doctrine of sowereign immunity. There is no issue but that
action which violates superior federal law is outside the scope

a ee a ae

_ App. 7

of legitimate state activity, regardless of the state authority
relied upon. Ex parte Young, 209 U.S. 123, 159-160, 163,
166-68 (1908). The state functionary involved is, in a sense,
a law breaker. The theory is that although the state func-
tionary may be acting under color of state law, his actions
are not the official actions of the state. Id. It is basic that the
simple act of violating superior federal law does not establish
a waiver of sovereign immunity merely because the state,
through its functionaries, has thereby left its legitimate
sphere of activities.? See Hans v. Louisiana, 134 U.S. 1, 10
(1889) ; Smith v. Reeves, 178 U.S. 436, 446-49 (1900).

Moreover, the plaintiff's argument fails to distinguish this
case from Employees, supra, 411 U.S. 279. There was no
question in Employees that the state employer was covered
by the substantive provisions of the Act there in question.
411 U.S. 282. On a motion to dismiss, the state employer in
Employees was presumed to have been in violation of the ©
standards set forth in that legislation. Employees, therefore,
also involved a clear violation of superior federal law ; but no
waiver of sovereign immunity was found. —

As to the question of Congressional intent, upon which the
issue of an implied waiver of sovereign immunity ultimately
turns, the Court recognizes that Section 2 of the Securities
Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C. § 77(b) (2), defines a “person” to
include “a government or political subdivision thereof ;” and
that Section 17 of the Act, 15 U.S.C. §77(q), makes it
unlawful for any “person” to fraudulently participate in the
dissemination of false or misleading information with regard
to the sale of securities. Even assuming arguendo that this

2 Assuming, however, that the state functionaries involved had not

been acting in good faith, it may be that they would be liable, in their
individual capacities, for their participa the alleged federal

tion in
securities violation. Cf. Pierson v. Ray, 386 U.S. 547, at 555-557
(1967) ; Montoe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167 (1961).

App. 8 |

statutory scheme might properly be interpreted as estab-
lishing a Congressional intent to precondition direct parti-
. cipation by the various states in the marketing of securities
on a waiver of sovereign immunity as to any violations of the
Act that might occur in the process, see Parden v. Terminal
R. Co., supra, 377 U.S. 184, 187-191 ;* plaintiff must still fail,
for he has not alleged facts sufficient to establish direct state
involvement, either as principal or agent, in the marketing of
securities. The relevant state legislation provides for the
regulation of: savings and loan company activities, which
may include supervision over the marketing of securities by
such organizations. See Va. Code § 6.1-237, et seq., Code of
Virginia 1950. That legislation does not, however, contem-
plate active participation by the state in the process of
marketing the securities. Any indirect involvement by the
state in such activities would be merely incidental to the
state’s performance of its regulatory function. Under any
interpretation of the federal securities legislation in question,
the Court cannot conceive that Congress intended to pre-
condition the state’s engaging in a regulatory function, such
as that here present, on a waiver of sovereign immunity as to
any securities violations that might occur with regard to the
activities of the regulated organizations:

To reiterate, the state’s function here was regulatory,
which is a purely governmental function. The implications of
Congressional intent with regard to the coverage of the
Securities Act of 1933 might be quite the opposite had the
state here been a principal or participant in a proprietary

® The Court does not, however, here determine that such i

Amendment to exclude private damages actions. See Employers v.
Missouri Public Health Dept., supra, 411 U.S. 279, 285-86.

a eee) eee RED EEE ae a

App. 9

function which necessitated also its active participation in
the public sale of securities to finance the venture.‘ Cf.
Parden v. Terminal R. Co., supra, 2/7 U.S. 184, with
Employees v. Public Health Dept., supra, 411 U.S. 279.

It may be, as alleged, that certain state functionaries
participated directly with others in the dissemination of
information which ultimately proved to be false or mislead-
ing. Were that participation in the public information
activities of the savings and loan company officially sanc-
tioned by the regulatory legislation under which the state
functionaries had been acting, the argument for an implied
waiver would unquestionably be stronger. In such a situation
the official state involvement in the securities marketing
activities would have to be viewed as more direct. However,
the legislation here in question does not, on its face, contem-
plate even good faith participation by state functionaries
in the dissemination of corporate financial information to
the investing public. See Va. Code, § 6.1-237, et seq. There-
fore, any such participation which may in fact have occurred
would have been ultra vires in its inception, and cannot be
viewed as a waiver, by the state, of its sovereign immunity.

Finally, the Court takes note of the plaintiff's objection
that the issue of sovereign immunity is not ripe for deter-
mination on a motion to dismiss. Suffice it to point out that,
regardless of what the evidence may show as to the unofficial
activities of the state functionaries involved in this matter, no
proof of facts can change the purely regulatory nature of the
legislation under which they were acting. In the absence of
more, no implied waiver of sovereign immunity can be
found ; and no express waiver is apparent.

* It is not uncommon for municipal corporations and other govern-
mental subdivisions to join with private enterprise in the marketing of
securities to finance, for example, industrial parks.

App. 10

For the reasons stated, the state’s motion to dismiss will be
granted, and the action will be dismissed as to the state.
An appropriate order shall issue.

/s/ Rost. R. Meruice, Jr.
United States District Judge

Date: JUL 24 1974

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_0815%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
