# Brief for the Respondent in Opposition — Karp v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_0797%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief for the Respondent in Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 422 U.S. 1007

## Text

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States
OcToBeR TERM, 1974

No. 74-1192
LEON KARP, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA |

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1-4) is
reported at 508 F.2d 1122.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
December 4, 1974, On February 28, 1975, the court of ap-
peals denied petitioner’s motion to file an untimely
petition for rehearing. The petition for a writ of certio-
rari was filed on March 19, 1975, and is therefore substan-
tially out of time under Rule 22(2) of the Rules of this Court.
| The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
: 1254(1).

(1)

2

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether United States v. McCormick, 502 F.2d
281 (C.A. 9), which applied Fourth Amendment warrant
requirements to seizures of property subject to forfeiture,
should be given retroactive application by the Ninth Cir-
cuit.

2. Whether the court below properly construed its prior
decision in United States v. McCormick, supra.

3. Whether Carroll v. United States, 267 U.S. 132, or
Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443, prohibits the
warrantless seizure, with probable cause, of a vehicle for
forfeiture to the United States.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND STATUTES INVOLVED

The Fourth Amendment to the United States Consti-
tution and 49 U.S.C. 781 and 782 are set out in Pet. App.
15-16.

STATEMENT

Following a jury trial in the United States District
Court for the Central District of California, petitioner was
convicted on both counts of an indictment charging the
possession of counterfeit Federal Reserve notes and plates
suitable for printing counterfeit notes, in violation of 18
U.S.C. 472 and 474. He was sentenced to a term of three
years’ imprisonment.

1. On July 24, 1973, petitioner entered a sporting goods
store and made a small purchase, giving the store clerk a

$20 bill (Tr. 105, 114-115).' Noticing that the bill was
counterfeit, the clerk detailed another employee to follow

Tr.” refers to the reporter’s official transcript of petitioner's
trial. “R.A.” refers to the record lodged with the court of appeals.

3

petitioner from the store (Tr. 115-116). The employee
observed petitioner getting into a gold colored Cadillac
and took down the vehicle’s license number (Tr. 102-103,
110). This information was given to the Secret Service,
which found that the Cadillac was registered to petitioner
(Tr. 72).

On July 26 Secret Service agents drove to petitioner's
place of business, observed petitioner’s 1968 gold Cadillac
parked nearby (Tr. 71-72) and placed the vehicle under
surveillance. Approximately 25 minutes later, a man
matching the description of the person who had passed
the counterfeit note emerged from the building, entered
the Cadillac, and started the engine (Tr. 73, 239). The
agents arrested petitioner and seized his vehicle pursuant
to the forfeiture statute, 49 U.S.C. 782 (Tr. 73-74; R.A. 15).
There was probable cause to believe the vehicle was sub-
ject to forfeiture because of its use in petitioner’s counter-
feiting activities; there was not, however, probable cause
to believe that, at the moment of its seizure, it was being
so used (see Pet. App. 2).

A Secret Service agent impounded the Cadillac. While
making an inventory of the vehicle’s contents he discov-
ered a wallet in the glove compartment (Tr. 74). The
wallet contained 56 counterfeit Federal Reserve notes, 34
of which were similar to the note passed at the sporting
goods store (Tr. 74-75; R.A. 15-16). During a more thor-
ough search of the car, a number of negatives used in
the printing of counterfeit notes were discovered in a box
in the back seat (Tr. 76-77; R.A. 16). Both the counter-
feit notes and the printing paraphernalia were admitted
into evidence at petitioner’s trial.

4

2. On July 17, 1974, the Ninth Circuit decided United
States v. McCormick, 502 F.2d 281 (Pet. App. 5-14). Over-
ruling prior Ninth Circuit precedent, the court of appeals
in McCormick held that the Fourth Amendment requires
officers to obtain a warrant prior to seizing a vehicle for
forfeiture to the United States. The court below declined
to apply McCormick retroactively to petitioner’s case
(Pet. App. 2-4).

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner argues that the rule enunciated in McCor-
mick should be applied retroactively. This question is
relevant only within the Ninth Circuit. Ordinarily it is for
the court of appeals to determine the meaning and appli-
cability of its own precedents. There is, therefore, no ques-
tion of general applicability requiring review by this Court.
In any event, the decision of the court of appeals is
correct.

The decision of a court usually should be accorded
prospective application if the court has announced “a
new principle of law * * * [which] overrulf[es] clear past
precedent on which litigants may have relied” (Chevron
Oil Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97, 106).2 Under this test
the decision below is correct; the court expressly discarded
prior cases, concluding that “they no longer state good
law” (McCormick, supra, 502 F.2d at 285).

Moreover, McCormick represented a departure from
principles long accepted by other courts of appeals. This
Court has recognized the special legal status of property
subject to forfeiture (United States v. Stowell, 133 U.S. 1,
16-17) and has distinguished between seizures for the pur-
pose of forfeiture and seizures for gathering evidence

2Petitioner contends (Pet. 7) that the definition of a “new rule”
contained in United States v. Bowen, 500 F.2d 960, 975 (C.A. 9),
certiorari granted, 419 U.S. 824 (“the decision must either (1) over-
rule clear past precedent or (2) disrupt a practice long accepted and
widely relied upon”), conflicts with the definition in Chevron Oil Co.,
supra. But the court below did not allude to or rely upon the Bowen
definition, and by either definition it could properly conclude that
McCormick announced a new rule.

5

(Boyd v. United States, 116 U.S. 616, 623). All other
courts of appeals to consider the matter have held that
no warrant is required to seize a vehicle for forfeiture.
United States v. Troiano, 365 F.2d 416, 418-419 (C.A. 3),
certiorari denied, 385 U.S. 958; United States v. Trotta,
401 F.2d 514, 516 (C.A. 4), certiorari denied sub nom.
Genovese v. United States, 394 U.S. 908; United States
v. McKinnon, 426 F.2d 845, 849-850 (C.A. 5), certiorari
denied, 400 U.S. 868; United States v. White, 488 F.2d
563, 564-566 (C.A. 6); O'Reilly v. United States, 486
F.2d 208, 210-211 (C.A. 8), certiorari denied, 414 U.S.
1043; United States v. Stout, 434 F.2d 1264, 1266-1267
(C.A. 10). The holding in McCormick therefore was “a
clear break with the past” (Desist v. United States, 394
U.S. 244, 248) that “effected a decisional change
in attitude” from one that had long prevailed (Gosa v.
Mayden, 413 U.S. 665, 673).

This Court has consistently recognized that the Fourth
Amendment would not be served by retroactive applica-
tion of the exclusionary rule, which is a “procedural weapon
that has no bearing on guilt” (Linkletter v. Walker, 381
U.S. 618, 638). The McCormick rule “is calculated to pre-
vent, not to repair. Its purpose is to deter [future conduct]
* * * by removing the incentive to disregard” the constitu-
tional guarantee (United States v. Calandra, 414 U.S.
338, 347 (quoting Elkins v. United States, 364 U.S. 206,
217)). The prophylactic rule created by McCormick could
not affect conduct that had occurred prior to its announce-
ment, and consequently should be applied prospectively
only. Linkletter v. Walker, supra, 381 U.S. at 637.

2. Petitioner also contends that the court below failed
properly to interpret its earlier decision in McCormick
This is a matter to be resolved within the court of appeals,
and presents no conflict among the circuits requiring
consideration by this Court.

6

3. Petitioner finally contends that the Ninth Circuit’s
decision in McCormick was compelled by this Court’s
prior decisions in Carroll v. United States, 267 U.S. 132,
and Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443, so that
the proper date for “retroactivity” analysis was the date of
decision of Coolidge. But the plurality opinion in Coolidge
does not support such an argument; Coolidge involved a
search of a car for the purpose of gathering evidence, and
the car was, at the time of its search, in the driveway
of the defendant’s home. Here, by contrast, the Secret
Service agents seized petitioner’s car from a public place
for forfeiture to the United States. Under 49 U.S.C. 782,
when a car has been used for certain purposes its title
vests in the United States, and the Secret Service agents
therefore were seizing property which, they had probable
cause to believe, was the property of the United States.’
If they were incorrect, and were interfering with a legit-
imate proprietary interest of petitioner, that interference
could be rectified in subsequent judicial proceedings. In
Coolidge, however, the interference was with defendant’s
privacy interest, and rectification at a later date would
be difficult if not impossible. This Court has never in-
validated a probable cause seizure of a vehicle from a
public place, and it therefore is not accurate to contend
that Coolidge either compelled or foreshadowed the result
in McCormick. Cf. Cardwell v. Lewis, 417 U.S. 583; Cady
v. Dombrowski, 413 U.S. 433, 446-447; Chambers v.
Maroney, 399 U.S. 42, 51-52.

3Once the agents had properly seized the vehicle for forfeiture, they
were entitled to conduct an inventory search and to make use of
any contraband or evidence discovered. Cooper v. California, 386 U.S.
58.

7 =
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons it is therefore respectfully

submitted that the petition for a writ of certiorari should
be denied.

RoserT H. Bork,
Solicitor General.

JOHN C. KEENEY,
Acting Assistant Attorney General.

JEROME M. Feit,
RoBerRT J. ERICKSON, |
Attorneys.

JuNE 1975.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_0797%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
