# Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — Cirillo v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_0602%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 419 U.S. 1056

## Text

é.. Pe At Nii teat a 8
‘3

cs Fs. aoe. . - —_s

In THE ; Jum 6 S14
Supreme Court of the ‘Materoorc.s.|
one to L832

ALPHONSE CIRILLO and VINCENT MURPHY,
Petitioners,
v.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

HAROLD BORG
Attorney for Aiphonse Cirillo
123-60 83rd Avenue
Kew Gardens, N.Y. 11415
212-261-1200

ARNOLD E. WALLACH
Attorney for Vincent Murphy
253 Broadway
New York, N. Y.
212-227-0959

EE
Dick Bailey Printers © P.C. Box X, Staten Istand, N.Y. 10302 © Tel.: (212) 447-5358

—_ ; a

SAR AC eg alga BO TOS

«ane ath ie dy ama
cots

LEESON INGS BOP IR LOCI PN os Ges RS Rte —_—
“es neat hes She ace eee

1 SP EREE

LESLIE BONS 0 DELLS

Se th nl ne PI ©

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
The Opinion of the Court Below .................00000: 2
DN Aina nackaasGbnadcasronansesaendsnaesiants 2
Questions Involved PTV e TTT TUTTI TTT TTT LETTE 3

Constitutional and Principal Statutory Provisions Involved . 3
OREN GND nn cn ccc cccccccccesescccscenscss 7
Reason for Guateg SEN ck ctbandbwhewnneenscencane 14

he The first wire us order or warrant was defective in that it
failed to contain a direction to the authorities to minimize
the interception to be conducted thereunder and this
failure required the suppression of all products as well as
derivative evidence secured thereunder. .............. 14

B: The Court below should have directed that an evidentary
hearing be had in the trial court to determixe whether the
authorities minimized properly. ....................: 34

C: Wire tapping is unconstitutional and violative of the
’ fundamental right of privacy under the 4th, Sth, 9th and
14th Amendments to the Federal Constitution either as
applied to the facts of this case, or on the face of such

statutes. ......... TET SLT TTT TT CET OTE TT OTT ee 40
PEP re rrr Try Terr rr Tre TT TT ee Tey 45
Appendix A — Decision of Second Circuit ............... 47

Appendix B — Memorandum and Order of District Court . 99

Appendix C — Order of Appellate Division Granting
SROUIOIND o svc e nd ccnccccceenensnseseesseenass 87

Appendix D— Commitment (Cirillo) ................... 91
Appendix E— Commitment (Murphy) ..............--. 93
Cases Cited
Alderman v. United States, 394 U.S. eee 39
Application of the United States for Relief, 427 F.2d 639
GEG, PUPP MN MIIOED Sb cciceccceccsnvencsanse 16
Berger v. New York, 388 U.S. 41, (1967) ................ 41
Boyd v. United States, 116 U.S. 616,635 ................ 28
Gelbard v. United States, 408 U.S. 41 (1972) ............. 14
Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479(1965) ..... coenens 42
Hudson v. United States, 402 U.S. 965 .................. 40
In Re Lanza, 6 Misc. 2d 411, 163 N.Y.S. 2d, 576, at pages -
“RO eT 43
Jonnson v. United States, 333 U.S. 10, (1948) ............ 38
Kahn v..U.S., — U.S. —, (1974), 39 L. Ed., 2d 225 ....... 41
Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967) .............. 41
Osborne v. United States, 385 U.S. 323 .................41

People v. Glen, 20 N.Y. 2d 252, Cert. Denied sub nom
Baker v. New York, 409 U.S. 849 (1972) .............. 30

People v. Holder, 69 Misc. 2d 863, 331 N.Y.S. 24557 ..... 22

ee lll

pina ene ne

Page

People v. Kennedy, 75 Misc. 2d 10, 347 N.Y.S. 2d, 327 .... 22
People v. Pieri, 69 Misc. 2d 1085, 332 N.Y.S. 2d, 786, 789 . 21

People v. Solomon, 74 Misc. 2d 926, 346 N.Y.S. 2d 938
(Supreme Court, Kings County, 1973) ................ 26

People v. Varney, 32 A.D. 2d 181, 31 N.Y.S. 2d 330
(Supreme Court, App. Div. 2nd Dept. 1969) .......... 32

Roadin v. Kentucky, — U.S. — , 37 L. Ed., 2d 757 (1973) .19

Ree v. Wake, 490 U.S. 11S (ISD 2.22. ccccsvccccscccsess 42
Sgro v. United States, 287 U.S. 206,210 ................ 30
State v. Siegal, 13 M.D. App. 444, 28S A. 24671 ......... 20
State of New Jersey v. Sidoti, 116 N.J. supra, 70, 280 A. 2d
NOD eon ccnscnce ahacabebatcnsenevesonnes 21
United States v. Bynum, 475 F. 2d 832 (Cir.-2d, 1973) ..... 39

United States v. Cox, 462, F. 2d 1293 (Cir.-8th, 1972) 1300 . 19
United States v. Focarile, 340 F. Supp. 1033 (D.C., Dist.

Md., 1972) 1044, 1045, 1046, 1047, Subnom .......... 20
United States v. Giordano, May 13, 1974, No. 72-1057, 42

U.S. Law Week, 4042, 4049 ......0.....0.......005e 15
United States v. Huss, 482 F. 2d 38, (Cir.-2d. 1973) ....... 38

United States v. Kahn, — U.S. — 39 L. Ed., 225 at page
PUN AS casas cease sdapenssecayuales 15

U. S. Manfredi, cited on page 3307 of the Court's decision
and opinion below, 488 F. 2d 588, 598 (Cir. 2d-1973) ... 24

United States v. Rizzo, 492 F. 2d 443, (Cir.-2d 1974) ...... 24

United States v. Scott, 331 F. Supp. 233 (D.C., Dist. of Col.,
errr rrr rrr Trrrret re Terr Ty Tree 15

United States v. Thomas, 489 F. 2d 664 (Cir. 9th, 1973) .... 29
United States v. Tortorello, 480 F. 2d 764, (Cir. 2d 1973),

Cert. Demied, 414 U.S. 866 (1973) ............0.0 000s 20
United States v. Ventresca, 380 U.S. 102 (1965S) .......... 28
United States v. White, 401 U.S. 745, (1971) ............. 42
Weiss v. United States, 308 U.S. 321, 1939 .............. 26
Whitely v. Warden of Wyoming Penitentiary, 401 U.S. 560

Py erry Tyr rere eT Terr rere Ter ee 38

Other Authorities

Rule S (f) of the Rules of Civil Procedure for the District

i . cb ckbebeWe heehee Knshnpencnesbactereess 38
Section 700.30 of the Criminal Procedure Law of the State of

EN 825 GRE REKESEESEOA 05400 bed c ee RCO nae 21
11A McKinney's Consolidated Laws of New York, Criminal

Procedure Law, Section 700.30 .............eeeeeees 7
United States Constitution, Amendments V, IX, XIV ..... 3
47 U.S.C. 605 (Federal Communications Act) ............ 4
SUR cn bubeantarnantadetscadsccnensenacedes 5
SG anbcn cred seb cnbecenccvededercdcanere 5
Knee reads ceeded beacararaneceavenscees 6

en Ve Tmo Spare as —_

-

IN THE
UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT
OCTOBER TERM — 1973 |

NO.

ALPHONSE CIRILLO and VINCENT MURPHY,
Petitioners

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

The petitioners, Alphonse Cirillo and Vincent Murphy,
pray that a writ of certiorari issue to review a final judgment and
order of the’ United States Court of Appeals, Second Circuit.
entered May 7, 1974 (Exhibit A infra) which affirmed the

| judgment of the United States District Court, Eastern District of

New York (Honorable Orrin G. Judd), entered July 30, 1973, as

| to the petitioner Alphonse Cirillo and the judgment entered
September 10, 1973 as to the petitioner Vincent Murphy,
whereby the said petitioners were convicted as follows:

Both petitioners were found guilty of conspiracy to distribute
heroin in violation of 21 U.S.C. 846; both petitioners were
convicted of possession with intent to distribute one kilogram of
heroin (count 1); both petitioners were convicted of distribution
of the identical quantity of heroin involved in count 1 (cvunt 2);
both petitioners were convicted of attempting to distribute 1/2
kilogram of heroin (count 7).On July 30, 1973 the petitioner,
Alphonse Cirillo was sentenced to 14 years, 9 months im-
prisonment and 10 years special parole on counts 1 and 2; 10
years imprisonment to be served consecutively to the
aforementioned term, and 10 years special parole on counts 7
and 9. Cirillo was also fined the sum of $10,000 on count 1 and
$10,000 on count 9. On October 12, 1973 Murphy was sentenced
to concurrent terms of 10 years imprisonment and 7 years special
parole and a $5,000 fine on count 9.

THE OPINION Or THE COURT BELOW:

The opinion and decision of the United States District
Court, Eastern District of New York, denying a motion made by
the petitioners to suppress the evidence on the grounds of illegal
wire tapping. is set forth below (Appendix B, infra). Such
opinion is not otherwise reported.

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals is also set
forth in Appendix A as aforesaid. Such opinion is not otherwise
reported as yet.

JURISDICTION:

The order and judgment of the United States Court of

SOOT ae y a

— eee eee acta ot

3

Appeals for the Second Circuit is dated May 7, 1974.
Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked, made and conferred under
28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

QUESTIONS INVOLVED:

(A) Were the Nev. York Staie wire tap warrants or orders
valid where the first of successive warrants failed to provide and
direct that the authorities minimize the electronic eavesdropping
to be conducted thereunder?

(B) Did the petitioners receive a fair hearing on a motion to
suppress the evidence where the trial court denied the motion
without affording the petitioners an evidentiary hearing as to the
issue of minimization?

(C) Was and is 18 U.S.C. 2510 et. seq. or Title III of the
Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Street Acts constitutional
under the ist. 4th, Sth, 9th and 14th Amendments to the Federal
Constitution also bringing for review the constitutionality of the
New York State statutes authorizing electronic surveillance.
such statutes being found in 11A McKinney's Consolidated Laws
of New York Annotated, Sections 700.0S of the Criminal
Procedure Law of the State of New York?

CONSTITUTIONAL AND PRINCIPAL
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Constitution of the United States, Amendment IV:
“Searches and Seizures: The rigi:t of the people to be
secure in their persons, houses. papers and effects. against

PAS Secige SP |

4

_unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated,
and no Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause,
supported by oath or affirmation and particularly
describing the place to be searched, and the persons or
things to be seized.”

AMENDMENT V:

‘“*..., nor be deprived of life, liberty or property without
due process of law; ...

AMENDMENT IX:

“The enumeration under the constitution of certain
rights, shall not be construed to deny or disparage others
retained by the people.”

tne

AMENDMENT XIV, SEC. I

‘...: mor shall any state deprive any person of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law; . . .”

47 U.S.C. 605 (Federal Communications Act)

Unauthorized publication of communications. — Except
as authorized by Chapter 119, Title 18, U.S.C. Code (18
U.S.C. Sections 2510-2520) no person receiving, assisting
or receiving transmitting or receiving and transmitting any
interstate . . . communication by wire . . . shall divulge or
publish the existence, contents, ... thereof, ...”

RRO

Me SA eee wae

18 U.S.C. 2515

“Prohibition of Use as Evidence of Intercepted Wire or
Oral Communications. — Whenever any wire or oral
communication has been intercepted, no part of the
contents of such communication and no evidence derived
therefrom may be received in evidence at any trial,
hearing, or other proceeding in or before any court, grand
jury, department, officer, agency, regulatory body,
legislative committee. or other authority of the United
States, a State or a political subdivision thereof, if the
disclosure of that information would be in violation of this
chapter .. .”

18 U.S.C. 2516

‘*(2) The principal prosecuting attorney of any state, or the
principal prosecuting attorney of any political subdivision
thereof, if such attorney is authorized by a statute of that
state to make application to a state court judge of com-
petent jurisdiction for an order authorizing or approving
the interception of wire or oral communications, may
apply to such judge for, and such judge may grant in
conformity with Section 2518 of this chapter and with the
applicable state statute an order authorizing, or approving
the interception of wire or oral communications .. .”

6
18 U.S.C. 2518(5)

**. .. Every order and extension thereof shall contain a
provision that the authorization to intercept shall be
executed as soon as practicable, shall be conducted in
such a way as to minimize the interception of com-
munications not otherwise subject to interception under
this chapter .. .” ,

(8)(A)

“Immediately upon the expiration of the period of the
order, or extensions thereof, such recordings shall be
made available to the judge issuing such order and sealed
under his directions. Custody of the recordings shall be
wherever the judge orders .. .”

(10)(A)

‘Any aggrieved person in any trial, hearing, or proceeding
in or before any court, department, officer, agency,
regulatory body or other authority of the United States, a
State. or a political subdivision thereof, may move to
suppress the contents of any intercepted wire or oral
communication, or evidence derived therefrom, on the
grounds that — (i) the communication was unlawfully
intercepted; (ii) the order of authorization or approval
under which it was intercepted is insufficient on its face;
or (iii) the interception was not made in conformity with
the order of authorization or approval.”

oe

11A McKINNEY’S CONSOLIDATED LAWS
OF NEW YORK, CRIMINAL PROCEDURE LAW,
SECTION 700.30:

‘An eavesdropping warrant must contain: (7) A provision
that the authorization to intercept shall be executed as
soon as practicable, shall be conducted in such a way as to
minimize the interception of communications not
otherwise subject to eavesdropping under this article,

STATEMENT OF THE CASE:

The origin of this case is found at a time when the New York
City police. the Kings County District Attorney and Federal
authorities applied on October 31, 1972 to a judge of the
Supreme Court of the State of New York, Appellate Division,
Second Department, for the issuance of a wire tap order or
warrant, subjecting Cirillo’s telephone to electronic surveillance
or wire tapping. The application was based on the affidavit of
the District Attorney of Kings County, City and State of New
York, who relied principally on an affidavit of a police officer
named Douglas LeVien, a New York City police officer. The
applicants were successful and the order was granted (the order
is found in Appendic C, infra).

After the time allotted in the order, for surveillance, the
authorities succeeded in procuring successive and renewal orders
trom diverse state Supreme Court judges. The original order of
October 31, 1972 was renewed November 29, 1972 and further
renewed for the following dates: December 27, 1972, December
29, 1972, January 25, 1973, February 27, 1973, and March 29.

a i ee PR A OS SRE at ew 2 RETIRE TE TS

i
: 8
| 1973 (16-300). *

The first order or warrant of October 31, 1972 while referring
to the crimes under investigation and authorizing the in-
terception of conversations relating to narcotics, did not contain
any direction to the authorities to minimize the interception (16-
5 19). The renewal warrants contained such direction (70, 111,
: 147, 173, 223, 248, 273).

3 As a result of the interceptions, conducted under the
4 respective orders or warrants, the petitioners were arrested
3 March 15, 1973. At the time of the arrest a search and seizure of
3 the heroin was had.

: Prior to trial, the petitioners made a motion (Murphy joined in
; the motion made by Cirillo) in the trial court for the suppression
| of the evidence (301-339).

:

Cirillo by his counsel with Murphy’s joinder, submitted an
extensive affidavit alleging the factual basis for the granting of
relief.

Sree en a mai aan) seed

It was only when the motion came on to be heard that the
United States Attorney first submitted affidavits in support of
the opposition to the petitioners’ application. The substance of
the government's opposition was to the effect that while the
initial warrant or order did not contain a direction to the
authorities to minimize the interception, in practice
minimization was conducted (340, 348, 352, 353).

n
:
*
%
¥
&
2
8
2
y

No evidentiary hearing was conducted by the Court that
ultimately denied the motion. As a matter of fact, the motion

*( +) This refers to tht pagination of the joint appendix filed in the Court below by
the petitioners.

T Te ee

| ee

was then and there denied in open Court, the Court adding that
a written decision would be filed subsequently. And so after the
denial the Court did render a written opinion or decision setting
forth the grounds of the denial (Appendix B, infra). The Court
in its decision acknowledged that the petitioners raised the issues
that the first order or warrant did not provide for a direction to
the authorities to minimize the interceptions.

The first warrant or order, the seminal warrant, designated
Cirillo as a suspect and his telephone number, 212-631-8570, as
being the suspect phone used (16, 17). To procure this warrant,
the authorities submitted the affidavit of the District Attorney of
Kings County, who adopted or ratified an affidavit by a police
officer named LeVien who was investigating the case (35-38, 39-
67). The police officer’s affidavit alleged that on October 6, 1972
a reliable informant related hearsay to Cirillo and his address.

The police officer further related that the informant told him
that on October 2, 1972 he met the petitioner Cirillo with a
person named Inciarrano and a “John Doe Murphy’. The in-
formant characterized Inciarrano as the petitioner’s ‘“‘con-
nection” and Murphy as his partner (41, 42). The day in
question, namely, October 6, 1972, the informant went to
Cirillo’s home where he noticed a telephone described as a
“country telephone” and an additional telphone in another part
of the house described as a ‘‘princess telephone”’ (42, 43).

The informant’s hearsay further related that the purpose of
the meeting was the “transcribing” of about 200 kilograms of
heroin (44). The “connection” was designated by the informant
as a “Cuban Jew’’ who was mentioned by Cirillo. The reliable
and confidential informant would further have it that Cirillo told
him that he received large amounts of heroin from the “Cuban
Jew” four (4) times a year and that the “Cuban Jew" was in

Ue CWS DUNES Re Ut. a Batt

TNs waka

10

Florida. Cirilio guaranteed about 20 kilograms of heroin to
Inciarrano at $25,000 a kilo (29). The informant’s hearsay
further continued to the effect that Cirillo told him that a
shipment would occur after November 1, 1972 and that it would
be received at a motel in New York (45). According to the in-
formant he actually saw a quarter of an ounce of heroin in the
premises used for “‘snorting”’. The informant also saw Cirillo use
a telephone and talk about the sale of heroin over it. Murphy
also used the telephone for the same purpose (45, 46).

On October 19, 1972 the informant and Inciarrano went to
Cirillo’s house where they discussed 200 kilograms of heroin,
Cirillo telling them that the “Cuban Jew’ went to Florida to
arrange for a shipment (S3, 54). It developed however that the
informant also stated that at the time of this conversation the
“Cuban Jew” was allegedly staying in Cirillo’s house but that in
the future he was going to Florida to arrange for the shipment
(S4). The informant would further have it that a call from
Florida was expected by Cirillo as to the time the shipment
would be made (54, 55). Cirillo was said also to have told the
reliable and confidential informant that he kept 20 kilos of

heroin in his garage. On October 19, 1972 the informant stated

he used Cirillo’s phone to discuss the sale of narcotics (56). On
October 25, 1972 the informant called Inciarrano and discussed
cocaine that Cirillo might be interested in. This call emanated
from the office of the District Attorney of Kings County; thus,
the informant asked Inciarrano as to whether he could call
Cirillo and Inciarrano consented. Consequently the informant
called Cirillo. That conversation was recorded by the authorities
and was set forth in the police officer’s affidavit (S7-62). The
police officer interpreted the conversation as relating to the
petitioner's use of cocaine and also referring to the shipment of
heroin from Florida (62-64). Parenthetically it is confusing as to
why the police officer had to interpret such a conversation when

Na ne ~—p sek? ——eae pages Aare 5 OS SLEDS SECC 7

ONT PA Bee MPR

YL PEN ye

waren re

hE HN

mr Rae.

i ats sk ea

(Ae a EE RED

11
all he had to do was ask the informant.

Through the product of eavesdropping under the first
warrant, which did not contain a direction to minimize. the
authorities procured successive warrants (68-70, 109-111, 145-
147, 170-173, 221-223, 245-248, 271-273). The authorities in
seeking the successive warrants, set forth some of the intercepted
conversations procured and seized under each prior warrant, in
their respective affidavits submitted in support of each respective
application to procure such warrants (74-88, 90-104, 116-136,
153-155, 157-163, 179-192, 195-213, 228-238, 254-264, 279-
292). In investigating this case, and conducting electronic
surveillance, the authorities finally on December 5, 1972 saw a
person they knew as Walter Sorrenson enter a movie on a street
in Brooklyn, go to a bar and thereafter leave by automobile.
They followed Sorrenson and saw him enter a building at
another location in Brooklyn and emerge from that building. It
now developed that Walter Sorrenson was designated by the
police as the “Cuban Jew’’. The observations as to Sorrenson
further disclosed that he left the building with a woman and
went to another location in Brooklyn. The authorities claimed
that Sorrenson was listed with the State and Federal authorities
and was also known as Benjamin Casal, having a telephone
number in Florida, namely 305-864-7124. Prior to these ob-
servations of Sorrenson, the police also saw him meet Cirillo in a
diner and speak to him. However, the substance of the con-
versation was unknown to the police (138-141).

In opposing the motion, the government submitted three
affidavits verified June 11, 1973, the day before the motion came
on to be heard. These were served the day the motion came on to
be heard (4, 366-368). The substance of these affidavits were
that the Assistant District Attorney of Kings County and the
particular United States Attorney knew all about minimization

aottinet

ee eee ashe Bebb est? tS - » —" Re.

12

and directed the authorities to minimize the interceptions under
the warrants (343). As part of the opposition a United States
Agent named Dovetko submitted his affidavit describing that he
was cooperating with the state authorities investigating this case,
and that prior to the application for the first wire tap order or
warrant the government attorney called his attention to
minimization; that the agent thereafter visited the ‘plant’ and
saw the police actually minimize the surveillance (345-346).

An analysis of the minimization will be hereinafter set forth by
counsel for the petitioners. At trial, a police officer named
Garcia testified. He stated that he had occasion to listen to all
the tapes in this case (388). He considered himself an expert on
interpreting conversations electronically overheard, in regard to
narcotic investigations (390). However, when asked whether he
was familiar with the term ‘‘argot’’ in relation to narcotics he
didn’t know the meaning of the word “argot”’.

Garcia testified that there were 899 wire tap orders executed
by the District Attorney's office before. He admitted that he
heard conversations of Mrs. Cirillo over the subject telephone
and also the conversations engaged in by Cirillo’s children (390,
391). These were partial conversations (391).

Garcia further explained that while auditioning he would
attach a secondary meaning to common expressions depending
upon the context of which such expressions would be used (391,
392). Thus he was asked whether a conversation relating to
children going to school could relate to narcotics. He couldn't
recall whether Cirillo’s children spoke about going to school
however (392). Garcia listened for roughly 150 to 200 hours
(392).Garcia admitted that this was more than the average time
in regard to auditioning (392, 393).

eS

2S Sa PERSO ata eS

13

Garcia did state that he did listen to the children when they
spoke. But then he added it was only calls that he felt were
important that he listened to (393).

However, because Garcia suspected the petitioner Cirillo of
dealing in narcotics he placed more importance to what Cirillo
said.

Thus, when asked whether he would attach a sinister meaning
if he heard Cirillo talking about sending his children to school,
the police officer stated that in this case he would attach such a
sinister meaning (393, 396). Garcia stated that he didn't listen to
the children of Cirillo when he spoke (393).

This witness further admitted that he overheard Cirillo talking
over the telephone in regard to the size of clothing his children
wore (397). He overheard a co-defendant’s wife a Mrs.
Sorrentino on the telephone on numerous occasions as well as
her children (397, 398). He actually overheard Mrs. Sorrentino
say over the telephone that she wore torn clothes (398). However
this police officer admitted if her husband, Mr. Sorrentino,
spoke about that subject, he would attribute a criminal meaning
to those words (398).

In regard to Cirillo’s wife, he overheard her speak twenty-five
(25) times (399). In regard to Cirillo’s children he overheard
them talk over ten (10) times. Then Garcia admitted it was
probably twenty (20) times and could have been thirty-five (35)
to forty (40) times (399, 400).

In regard to Mrs. Sorrentino who was a co-defendant’s wife,
this police officer overheard her talk over the telephone twenty-
five (25) times (399, 400).

14

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT:

A. The first wire tap order or warrant was defective in that it
failed to contain a direction to the authorities to minimize the
interception to be conducted thereunder and this failure
required the suppression of all products as well as derivative
evidence secured thereunder.

In Geibard v. United States, 408 U.S. 41 (1972) it was stated
on page 446 that:

“In Title III, Congress enacted a comprehensive scheme
for the regulation of wire tapping and electronic sur-
veillance ... Title II] authorizes the interception of
private wire and oral communications, but only when law
enforcement officials are investigating specific serious
crimes and receive prior judicial approval, an approval
that may not be given except on compliance with stringent
conditions ... If a wire or oral communication is in-
tercepted in accordance with the provision of Title III, the
contents of the communication may be disclosed and used
under certain circumstances ... Except as expressly
authorized in Title II], however, all interceptions or wire
and oral communications are flatly prohibited .. .”’

Concededly, the first order or warrant did not follow the
legislative command found in 18 U.S.C. 2518 (S) that such order
or warrant contain a direction to minimize. It is suggested, that
to validate such an order because the authorities could refer to
such limitation elsewhere, is to rationalize what Congress stated
must be expressly provided for in the order. For it is further
provided in 18 U.S.C. 2518(10)(A)(ii). that the evidence must be
suppressed where the order authorizing interception is in-
sufficient on its face.

. - 7
agueneetieead POE A NS RTE AER i ~ SOMES PRLBAD EA COO ek ORR OND PRE Be
send + me een Ene 2 ae! AR >

RSE o? ee ee

LO re eee

A

RSLS or eer er

LO RE eee

15

The order in this case \ insufficient on its face and therefore
void. It could not be used at all. ,

In U.S. v. Giordano, May 13, 1974, No. 72-1057, 42 U.S. Law
Week, 4642, 4649, it was stated by this Court in part that:

“. .. The words ‘unlawfully intercepted’ are themselves
not limited to constitutional violations, and we think
Congress intended to require suppression where there is
failure to satisfy any of those statutory requirements that
directly and substantially implement the congressional
intention to limit the use of intercept procedures to those
situations clearly calling for the employment of this ex-
traordinary investigative device. .. .”

In analyzing the legislative history of Title II], it was further
stated by this Court that:

*. .. but the report also states that the section provides
for the suppression, of evidence directly or indirectly
obtained ‘in violation of the chapter’ and that the
provision ‘serves to guarantee’ that the standards of the
new chapter will sharply curtail the unlawful interception
of oral and wire communications. . . ."’, at page 4649.

That minimization is a substantial issue, may be inferred by
the fact that this very Court specifically noted that it was not an
issue in its opinion found in U.S. v. Kahn, U.S. 39
L.Ed., 22S, at page 234, 94S. Ct. . 1974.

Statutes allowing wire tapping it is submitted must be strictly
construed and kept within the controls or confines that Congress
imposed.

16

As was stated in Application of the United States for Relief,
427 F.2d 639 (Cir.—h, 1970) at page 643:

ae The government's entire case rests upon what it
believes may be implied from the act, and upon other
general principles summarized above.”

“Title Ill of the act is rather extensive, containing ten
sections, some quite lengthy. It purports to constitute a
comprehensive legislative treatment of the entire problem
of wire tapping and electronic surveillance, complete with
the extensive introductory congressional findings. The
provisions contained in Title III state, in precise terms,
what wire tapping and electronic surveillance is prohibited
and what is permissible. As to the latter, meticulous
provision is made with respect to the necessity and manner
of obtaining prior or subsequent judicial approval, the use
which may be made of intercepted information, the way in
which aggrieved persons may test the validity of the in-
terception, and the collection and transmission to
congress each year of information concerning such ac-
tivity.”

Nor do we find any provisions in the Act or in the history
of its enactment which points in the direction of applied
authority. Quite the contrary, consideration of the con-
stitutional significance of the legislation, the relevant
provisions of the Act, and the legislative history tend to the
opposite direction.”

“... ithe Act is to survive a constitutional challenge, a
question which we do not here reach, it can only do so by
_ giving the Act as limited a construction as is warranted by

ee Oe a ee et ee ee

17

the language. The construction which the government
would give Title II1, however, whereby an important
judicial power is not expressly provided for, would be
implied, manifest not unlimited but an expansive reading
of the act.”

On page 644 it was further stated that:

“*. . . the congressional findings set forth in Section 801 of
the Act, at the head of Title III, intent to define with
utmost particularity the circumstances and conditions
which an interception may be effectuated. This intent is
also manifested in the Senate Report referred to
above...”

“Congress thus acted advisedly when it formulated and
enacted the legislation incorporated in Title III. It was
fully aware of the physical problems involved in making
investigative wire taps, but it was nevertheless determined
to enact a carefully circumscribed act...”

In U.S. v. Scott, 331 F. Supp. 233 (D.C., Dist. of Col., 1971)

it was stated on page 246 that:

“Contrary to the contention of the defendants the statute
does not require the Order to state how the agents are to
minimize receipt of communications ‘not otherwise
subject to interception’; nor does the Fourth Amendment
prescribe such a requirement. It is sufficient for the Order
to state the requirement and direct the officer to carry out
the mandate of that order. Whether the surveilling agents
in this case actually did conduct the intercept ‘in such a
way as to minimize the interception of communications
that are (not) otherwise subject to interception’ is a:
separate question which will be discussed in another

en ee

(De cats tecnica ites ms otras oye

18

section of this memorandum.”

“A basic requirement of 18 U.S.C. 2518 is that a neutral
detached authority be interposed between the police
department . . . The order of January 24, 1970 in its final
paragraph allows for continued judicia! supervision and
control by that ‘neutral anc detached authority’ during
the execution of the order...”

In U.S. vy. Scott, supra, at page 247 there was an
acknowledgement by the Government as phrased by the Court.
This was as follows:

‘As the government has contended ‘Title III . . .” was an
attempt among other things to structure a limited system
of wire surveillance and electronic eavesdropping . . . One
of the limiting provisions of the statute is found in U.S.C.
2518(S) .. .”

“This mandate was clearly set forth in the . . . order. It
was the opinion of this court that these limiting provisions
satisfied the requirements of 4(c) and (S) and thus made
the order valid.”

Consequently this was a clear holding that the converse,
namely that a warrant which does not contain a direction for
minimization is void. ;

Because of the sensitivity involved in wire tapping, and the
extreme intrusiveness, all without prior notice of purpose and
authority, it would seem that the usual standards applying to
search warrants are inapplicable to eavesdrop warrants. It is
submitted that the subject matter of the search and seizure

POL ee RR OR ete Pw lw a em ee bere ee * Pot 20 eer x
. - ~ - eR ae

~ fo Rm ence serena

ese? SATE

RD eee 2 Beh Slee ee RD

19

determined the respective standards applicable to the discreet
searches and seizures. In other words, the more intrusive the
search the more is required of the authorities. As was stated in
Roadin v. Kentucky, U.S. , 37 L.Ed., 2d 757 (1973) at
page 763:

the Fourth Amendment proscription against
‘unreasonable seizures’, applicable to the states . . ., must
not be read in a vacuum. A seizure reasonable as to one
type of material in one setting may be unreasonable in a
different setting or with respect to another kind of
material...”

Then on page 764 of 37 L. Ed. 2d it was stated that:

“. . . Seizing a film, then, being exhibited to the general
public, presents essentially the same restraints on ex-
pression as to the seizure of all books in a book store. Such
precipitious action by a police officer, without the
authority of a constitutionally sufficient warrant, is plainly
a form of prior restraint and is in those circumstances
unreasonable. . . ."" (Emphasis supplied).

Therefore, the first wire tap order in this case was and is void
because it was not ‘constitutionally sufficient’.

__ Since the warrant was, it is submitted, completely void on its

face, all the wire tap warrants in this case which sprang from it
were void because the exclusionary rule infected such successive
warrants. In other words the investigation by means of electronic
surveillance in this case was void abinitio.

As was held in U.S. v. Cox, 462 F.2d 1293 (Cir.-8th, 1972)
1300: ;

Tauebccs

4
3
;
4
4

“The touchstone for deciding the minimization issue ts
that it rests on a statutory command and therefore turns
on the intent of Congress in issuing that directive. The
constitutional question of the discreteness, required of a
wire tap is a separate question . . . Also the fact that the
wire tap warrant included a command to ‘minimize’ is
directly attributable to the statutory requirement that the
order so specify .. .””

See U.S. v. Tortorello, 480 F. 2d 764 (Cir. 2d 1973), Cert.
Denied, 414 U.S. 866 (1973), where this Court specifically
noticed that the warrants under consideration included a
direction in compliance with Section 2518(S) of 18 U.S.C., the
statutory mandate for a specific direction in the warrant as to
minimization.

See also U.S. v. Focarile, 340 F. Supp. 1033 (D.C., Dist. Md.,
1972) 1044, 1045, 1046, 1047, Sub nom U.S. v. Giordano, 469
F.2d 522, U.S. v. Giordano, supra. See also State v. Siegal, 13
M.D. App. 444, 285 A. 2d 671 (Court of Special Appeals,
Maryland, 1971), at pages 633, 634 where it was stated that:

“We think it is also mandatory that an interception order
‘contain a provision that the authorization to intercept
shall be executed as soon as practicable,’ and a provision
that the interception ‘shall be conducted in such a way as
to minimize the interception of communications not
otherwise subject to interceptions’ under the Act. The
order. . . contains neither of these provisions . . . Even if
this statement by the issuing judge is deemed in com-
pliance with the statutory mandate, the actions of the
required provision in the order of 6 October tainted the
order of 13 October and 5 November because they each

fell on the first order . . . The invalidity of the order of 6
October would render invalid the two renewal orders.

Congress in enacting legislation authorizing electronic sur-
veillance also granted authority to the states to do so, 18 U.S.C.
2516(2). However, while the state statutory system may be more
restrictive than the federal, the State Statutes cannot be less
restrictive than the federal. See Section 605 of the Federal
Communications Act. See, in this respect, State of New Jersey v.
Sidoti, 116 N.J. supra, 70, 280 A. 2d 864, at it page 868 where it
was stated in part that:

“... the Omnibus Act imposed minimum standards
upon states with respect to the use of electronic sur-
veillance ... It was explained by the Senate Judiciary
Committee that under the Federal Law ‘states would be
free to adopt more restrictive legislation, or no legislation
at all, but not less restrictive legislation.’ S. Rep. No.
1097, 90th Cong. 2nd Sess. 98 (1968), U.S. Code Cong. &
Admin. News p. 2187...”

Section 700.30 of the Criminal Procedure Law of the State of
New York, 11A McKinney's Consolidated Laws of New York,
mandates that the warrant or order contain the provisions as to
minimization.

New York courts have construed the state statute favorably to
the petitioners’ position.

In People v. Pieri, 69 Misc. 2d 1085, 332 N.Y.S. 2d 786, 789
that:

. In the opinion of this Court, the eavesdropping

+ Chernon arson»

warrant was invalid because of its failure to include the
provisions regarding termination required by Section
- 700.30 subdivision (7)... .”

In People v. Holder, 69 Misc. 2d 863, 331 N.Y.S. 2d 557, the
defendants claimed that the wire tap order was void because it
failed to contain a direction that the authorities in executing
such order, minimize the interception of communications. On
page 566 of 331 N.Y.S. 2d it was held that:

‘For the reasons hereinafter set forth, the Court concludes
that the eavesdropping warrant under discussion is invalid
and violative of (the then state statute governing the
requirement as to minimization) . . .”

In Holder the Court in setting forth the reasons for its holding,
stated on page 568 of 331 N.Y.S. 2d:

“The Court concludes that this provision, which the New
York statute states ‘must’ be contained in the order is not
merely directory but is mandatory .. .”

In People v. Kennedy, 75 Misc. 2d 10, 347 N.Y.S. 2d, 327, the
authorities procured successive wire tap orders. The warrant
under consideration in that case, failed to contain the direction
to minimize. It was stated on page 332 of 347 N.Y.S. 2d that:

“The case before this Court differs from Focarile in that
the order in Focarile contained a provision for
minimization. The order here does not. Further, this
Court is unwilling to subscribe to the principle that the

ek RS Oe Sreewem Ce

Ne

ook Rk a A ACR OE

affidavit shows probable cause to believe that a conspiracy
is in progress, minimization should be ignored.”

It was further stated on page 333 of 347 N.Y.S. 2d that:

“At the outset here the wire tap order did not comply with
either the requirements of the New York State statute or
the Federal statute in that it failed to provide for
minimization. No evidence was presented to this Court
that this failure was the result of inadvertance. Such a
failure must result in a suppression of the evidence since
this requirement is essential to the protection of the in-
dividual in avoiding the general warrant nature of an
eavesdropping warrant. The statute was written to avoid
the general warrant prescription in Berger v. New York,
388 U.S. 41..."

“The New York statute which was written in accordance
with the opinion clearly sets forth that the warrant ‘must’
contain. . . We disagree with the People’s contention that
the word ‘must’ is not a mandate.”

The Court below in U.S. v. Tortorello, 480 F.2d 764 (1973),
Cert. Denied 414 U.S. 866 (1973), stated at page 783:

“All the Todd Associates orders included a provision in
compliance with this section. (18 U.S.C. 2518(5)). The
question raised here is whether the executing officers took
reasonable measures to minimize the interception of the
irrelevant communications.”

It is therefore submitted that that case is not relevant to the
concrete issue presented in this case.

CD RABE AE iO te

<2 tains OM an A te ie,

2

In a contrasting situation, found in U.S. v. Manfredi, cited on
page 3307 of the Court’s decision and opinion below, 488 F.2d
588, 598 (Cir. 2d-1973), it was held that while the warrants
under consideration, neither the original or renewal warrant
orders, however, contained any directive to this effect. This was
not fatal because the affidavits submitted by the authorities to
procure the warrants contained “‘an agreement” to minimize.
Then the Court added:

adel eae

te kT

“... In this case we feel free to analogize from U.S.
v.Tortorello, 480 F.2d at 781, which, while it apparently i
did not consider the matter as controlled by state law, held
that a New York State judge’s authorization order was
sufficient to establish probable cause on the basis of the

facts alleged in the affidavits. We feel it proper to read

both the orders themselves and the minimization language

of the supporting affidavits in a ‘common sense and

realistic fashion’ .. .”

It is respectfully submitted that “agreements” by the officials
as to what they will do, is not a substitute -for a legislative
direction that a warrant before it can be executed and indeed
even granted by a judge, must contain the directive to minimize.
It is not the authorities who seek the warrant that decide the ex
parte application but a judge.

Similarly, a deficient state warrant was validated in U.S. v.
Rizzo, 492 F.2d 443 (Cir.-2d 1974), cited in the opinion below at
page 3309. On page 446 the Court below stated:

*A related claim is that the warrants were invalid on their
face because it did not explicitly call for minimization.
Such a failure, however, we have stated in U.S. v.

ore

rot.

PE ne a Te Ee OO AE Ra RTS nt RE

Manfredi, 488 F.2d 588 ... at 590, 597-599, is not
necessarily fatal . . . Here each affidavit stated that the
interception would be ‘executed in such a manner as to
minimize the possibility of intercepting privileged or non-
pertinent conversations.” Moreover, the warrants
themselves contain language that nothing shall be con-
strued as authorizing overhearing or interception of any
communication ‘which appears privileged or unrelated to
the aforementioned crimes.’ In light of such language the

warrant fulfills the requirements of New York law... .’’ .

Thus, the holding of Manfredi, supports a holding in a later
case involving a New York State warrant that the ‘‘agreement”’
on the part of the police or the District Attorney to minimize,
satisfies the requirement that the order itself contain a direction
to the authorities to minimize.

The order under consideration in this application found on
pages 16-19-34 of the appendix submitted in the Court below. It
recites that there was probable cause that the communications
concerning the particular crime would be obtained by the in-
terception of messages. It also stated that there was probable
cause to believe that the subject instruments would be used in
connection with the commission of drug offenses. Then the
warrant or order ordered that the authorities could intercept and
described the methods of interception. In so doing the state -
court stated that the authorities were to so eavesdrop over the
telephone instrument in regard to the commission of the narcotic
offenses.

It is respectfully submitted that the language of the order
under consideration nowhere directed the authorities to
minimize. The order was merely a recital of what the Court

RD Rh ES Sh OUT APN Chia ha py ue

Fee ee he

ie ee ee aussie —

found to be probable cause in regard to the telephone in-
struments that were allegedly used in the commission of narcotic
offenses. There wasn’t even a direction to the authorities that
privilege communications were not to be intercepted. Nor was
there any claim on the part of the government that there was
“any agreement” on the part of the authorities that they would
in fact minimize.

The Court below relied on a solitary New York holding in-
volving this issue and reported in People v. Solomon, 74 Misc. 2d
926, 346 N.Y.S. 2d 938 (Supreme Court, Kings County, 1973).
The rationale of the state court in that case was primarily based
on the holdings in U.S. v. Tortorello, supra, 480 F.2d 764 and
U.S. v. Poeta, 45S F.2d 117 (Cir. 2d, 1972;.

As a matter of fact, the holding of the Court below adopted
the reasoning in People v. Solomon. Consequently, People v.
Solomon absorbed the holdings of the 2nd Circuit, and the 2nd
Circuit absorbed the holdings of the State court.

Apparently, adopting the reasoning in People v. Solomon, the
Court below held that the requirement as to the direction to.
minimize in the warrant was at most “‘talismanic’’. However, in
view of the fact that Congress specifically stated that suppression
would follow where the order was insufficient on its face can
hardly be called a platitude or a ‘‘talisman”.

Congress had the full jurisdiction to legislate in this field.
Despite the fact that the exclusionary rule may have been
fashioned by the Courts rather than by the legislature, never-
theless Congress also had the full power to legislate in this field,
and Congress did by enacting a simply worded rule for excluding
evidence illegally procured from wire tapping and electronic

:

NT CNY GRE EMRE ELS nee

ae ese

LZ ee en ee ee ee eee

4

I LT TD CLE: VRE me oe me

PEE EI IETS ORT EY RUN ee a Ae eave

Je

217

surveillance. It is submitted, this was fully recognized in U.S. v.
Giordano, supra. See also Weiss v. U.S.. 308 U.S. 321, 1939.

The holding in that case was that Section 605 as it then
existed, of the Federal Communications Act, was so inclusive
and complete that the ban on illegal wire tapping extended not
only to telephone calls that were interstate but also intrastate.

Consequently, the issue is not what the Courts have done in
regard to technical oversights in procuring conventional search
warrants, but what Congress has decided.

The holding in Solomon in regard to the requirement of the
minimization direction, does not seem to have been followed in
other cases in New York. However, that same case later reported
in 7S Misc. 2d 847, 348. N.Y.S. 2d, 673 dealt with the question as
to whether the authorities in executing the warrant minimized
the interception. The defendants contended that the authorities
failed to minimize certain conversations and that therefore all
the products of the eavesdropping should be suppressed. In-
stead, the Court in Solomon held to the contrary stating on page
648 of 348 N.Y.S. 2d that:

“It is the conclusion of this Court that the failure to
minimize the interception of the telephonic com-
munications does not require total suppression of all
intercepted conversations. All intercepted conversations
which are material and relevant to the approximately 130
which have been the subject of this hearing are admissible.
Those conversations which are irrelevant and not-
pertinent are suppressed. This ruling shall apply to all
intercepted conversations to be offered into evidence on

the trial.”

ee ee ee . ;
NA rhs Calin ginh SY —e

Thus it can be seen that failure to include the minimization
provision is excusable. Then when the authorities actually do not
minimize the court performs surgery and segregates the ex-
cessive eavesdropping from the original scope of the in-
vestigation. One defect leads to another.

As was stated in Boyd v. U.S., 116 U.S. 616, 635:

“It may be that it is the obnoxious thing in its mildest and
least repulsive form; but illegitimate and unconstitutional
practices get their first footing in that way, namely, by
silent approaches and slight deviations from legal modes
of procedure.”

The twin holdings in Solomon, lead to consideration of 18
U.S.C. 2518(10)(a) which provide:

(iii) the interception was not made in conformity with the
order of authorization or approval.”

Thus Congress clearly provided for suppression in regard to
the execution of the warrant. But according to the cases cited by
the Court below, (ii) of that Section is held to be talismanic. The
State Court then relaxes the strict requirements of (iii) of that

Section.

Nor is U.S. v. Ventresca, 380 U.S. 102 (1965) cited by the
Court below in point. That case dealt with discrepant affidavits
the authorities submitted to procure the conventional search
warrant. It was held that the affidavits were sufficient despite
certain errors contained therein. The Court explained that due
to the necessities entailed in procuring search warrants affidavits
would be considered in a realistic and non-technical manner

aie ee Le

— a

Pe IE IONE

Pe er RN ererarnrte +

ee

29
thereby encouraging the authorities to procure search warrants.
However, in this case, it cannot be said that a judge’s order was
prepared hastily and must be considered in a “‘common-sense”’
fashion. In a ‘“‘common-sense” manner and viewed realistically,
Congress and the New York State legislation drew the order and
warrant leaving the issue of probable cause and the other
requirements for the objective consideration by a judge. But it is
athe warrant issuing judge who grants relief and the relief
authorizing electronic surveillance, must be confined to the
attendant conditions in the case which include an express
direction to minimize. See also 41 U.S.C. 605 providing that
there be no wire tapping except as authorized by Congress. The
order, because it omitted this vital direction, was void and the
authorities actually wire tapped without an order.

Additionally, courts which are more proximate to the
numerous problems arising from searches and seizures have
become somewhat sensitive to discrepancies in the affidavits
underlying the warrants. See U.S. v. Thomas, 489 F.2d 664
(Cir.-Sth, 1973), where it was held that if the police officer
makes a material misrepresentation in an affidavit submitted to
procure a search warrant, or the misrepresentation is in-
tentional, the warrant will be deemed void. See page 668 of that
opinion. In other words, it was held that the purposes of the
exclusionary rule, have to be referred to in determining
misrepresentations and factual deficiencies in applications for
search ‘warrants.

More so, it is urged, where the legislature has enacted a rule of
suppression as in the case of electronic surveillance.

The Court below buttressed its holding that discrepancies will
not vitiate a successful search and seizure relied on the holding

_f
’
;
:
t
;

7.

a ee oe rs . ian
‘

of this Court in Smith v. United States, 360 U.S. 1, (1959). That

- case dealt with the propriety of prosecuting a serious crime by
way of a prosecutor’s information rather than an indictment
which the defendants in that case waived. In holding that the
waiver was ineffectual, this Court stated on page 9 that while 1 |
convictions are not' to be reversed because of “technical :
deficiencies which did not prejudice the accused’’, nevertheless

1 held that:

Cee:

»
SOD ie ha tee Bin eed

*. . . but the substantial safeguards to those charged with
serious crimes cannot be eradicated under the guise of
technical departures from the rules. .. .”

In this case the seriousness of the charges and the coun-
7 sequential terms of imprisonment, certainly demand strict
compliance by the prosecution with the legislative enactment in
question. '

; As held in Sgro v. United states, 287 U.S. 206, 210, search
warrants are “drastic’’. ;

Nor is the holding of the New York State Court of Appeals,
People v. Glen, 20 N.Y. 2d 252, Cert. Denied sub nom Baker v. i
New York, 409 U.S. 849 (1972) supporting authority for the
decision below, see pages 3308-3309 of the slip opinion, ap-
pendix A herein. That case dealt with the propriety of a state |
court issuing the search warrant to seize property that may not
have been in existence or at the locale subject to the warrant at
the time of the issuance of the search warrant. The Court of :
Appeals’ of the State of New York held that the warrant could
‘only be executed within a ten-day limitation; that the property to

‘ be seized was seized within the limitations.

ee

ee

—

———E——————

31

It was further held in that opinion that technical defects of a
warrant does not undo a search. However, the full holding in
that respect found on pages 261 and 262 of the opinion states:

“A subordinate issue merely alluded to by the parties is
whether the possibility that the warrants by their terms
could have been executed prematurely ... renders the
warrants invalid on their face. Certainly, the better
practice would have been for the issuing judge to require
that the search have been reasonably contemporaneous
with the delivery of the package of suitcase. Nevertheless,
the fact that the warrant would on its face authorize an
improper search does not undo it for all purposes. The
defect is a technical one and may be disregarded since the
warrants were executed at the only time practicable under
the facts as set forth in the affidavits, and within the ten
days provided by statute and directed by the warrant on its
face. Thus, that only a technical irregularity is involved is
suggested by cases holding that the fact that a warrant
improperly authorized a night time search did not make
illegal a day time search (People v. Varney, 32 A.D. 2d
i, ed's

However, the search in that case was a limited one and the
warrant served a statutory purpose of being executed within a
ten day limitation provided by the legislature for such execution.

In this case, the failure to direct minimization related to an
order or warrant that allowed eavesdropping unannounced,
secret and pervasive, for a period in excess of ten days.
Noteworthy, is the fact that the subject telephonic instruments
were located in a domicile or a residence. —

Fe ot ag? oP Tong op antes eon

een et Cee ee Ts

bie hate ate

aa 1A Eos A ARR er a A NO I Oe iret BY A Bia we Sea eget
a in np AT NO MN me oe

Again People v. Varney. 32 A.D. 2d 181, 301 N.Y.S. 2d 330
(Supreme Court. App. Div. 2nd Dept. 1969), cited in the slip
opinion of the Court below at page 339 it cannot be support for
the position of the Court below. In that case a search warrant
granted by a New York State Court, was deemed to be in
violation of the State statutes requiring probable cause justifying
a night time search. The search pursuant to the warrant was
actually conducted in the day time. The Court held that the
warrant may have been technically deficient but that the search

itself was valid.

Again, that case dealt with a search warrant that could only be
executed once, and was not as pervasive in its execution as wire
tapping is. Furthermore, the warrant was facially correct.

However, it is submitted, that while these cases may be looked
at atomistically, and thereby having limited holdings, the
aggregate of these cases constitute inroads into the fundamental
right of privacy, and the warrant requirements of the 4th
Amendment to the Federal Constitution. Thus, the reasoning

adopted by some of the courts is that a search warrant may be ©

technically deficient, but the search is thereby valid. Then that
case serves as a holding for another case validating a search and
seizure, where there are other “technical” deficiencies.

It is respectfully submitted that this Court’s recent holding in
Giordano invalidates the approach to searches and seizures that

the Court below adopted.

Electronic surveillance deals with utterances, talk, speech and
communication. The requirement that a warrant direct
minimization, would seem to be in keeping with the 4th
Amendment demand that if privacy is to be punctured, the

EEE,

ee

Teer RRR

EIN Nec cape

a ON ee

intrusion be limited. But since communication is involved, the
ist Amendment's freedom relating to speech also is a value to be
considered. The congressional direction as to minimization is a
furtherance of a Ist Amendment interest. Directives and
regulations are necessary when speech is involved. Whatever
government interest lies in impinging on speech, there must be
narrow regulations. Consequently, these regulations are not
mere talismans or platitudes. See Procunier etc., v. Martinez.
U.S. Supreme Court, April 29, 1974, No. 72-1465, 42 U.S. Law
Week, 4206, 4611, 4612.

See also VIII Suffolk University Law Review 60 (1973)

“Notes Minimization: In Search of Standards:”

In pages 78 and 79 thereof, in considering the rule as to
suppression where this is a facially deficient wire tap order, it is
stated in part as follows:

“. . . Such a defect could be, for example, an insufficient
degree of particularity. As previously noted, this would
preclude effective ‘minimization’ by the monitoring office
because of the lack of effective guidelines as to what may
be lawfully intercepted. Such a surveillance would con-
stitute, in effect a ‘general search’ and therefore, being
unlawful abonitio would require suppression of all in-
tcrceptions made pursuant to the order.”

In U.S. v. Kahn, U.S. . 39 L. Ed. 2d 225 (1974), the
opinion of the Court held that anyone's voice over the tapped
telephone is subject to seizure and interception. That the order
or warrant need not name the subjects. Since this is not the law,

weve ze AS te PRATT CMON RES CEeng ES —— . -
EPMA oe Dt Fa EPP SPT > T jie ot Cad et RE CO ir ae: eee PET ORT PRR UTE fe. eee s

POP LEO

RAE Y CA SIE LGD NER 50 Cts >

34

it is suggested that the order for authorization be precise and be
promulgated in exact conformity to the enabling legislation of
Congress and of this case the State legislature.

B. The Court below should have directed that an evidentiary
hearing be had in the trial court to determine whether the
authorities minimized properly:

The Trial Court made the decision that the authorities
minimize. But the finding was made upon a consideration of the
affidavits submitted by the prosecution. There was no eviden-
tiary hearing conducted.

Initially, petitioners’ counsel made an application to suppress
the evidence by the serving and filing of a Notice of Motion and
an affidavit underlying the Notice of Motion (302-336). Three

opposing affidavits were submitted by the government. They

were verified June 11, 1973, which was the day before the motion
came on to be heard, and were served the day the motion came
on to be heard (366-368).

The first affidavit was executed by the United States Attorney
Guy L. Heineman and was verified June 11, 1973. That affidavit
was to the effect that he was concerned with this investigation
(340, 341). One Martin H. Hershey, an Assistant District At-
torney of Kings County “alleged in his affidavit that before the
granting of the first wire ‘tap warrant and thereafter, he
cautioned the police to minimize. all telephone conversations not
pertinent to the crime under investigation (342, 343). Hershey
further alleged that a police sergeant named Olesk told him that
he explained the procedure of minimization to “all police of-
ficers concerned” Hershey “periodically” checked with Olesk
and was told by him that minimization was carried out (343).

rr

PL ene Ae “LT OP DRAINS I RE tee POLO Kee? pe yeunt yore

Hershey concluded that the reasons he gave the directions as to
the minimization was that he was aware that the law required it
(343).

A U.S. agent, one Alexander Dovetko, alleged in his affidavit
that he was cooperating with the state authorities who were
investigating this case (344, 34S). Prior to applying for the first
wire tap order or warrant, the U.S. attorney called this agent's
attention to minimization (345). The agent visited the ‘plant’
daily inclading weekends and saw the authorities actually
minimize the surveillance (345, 346).

Dovetko further averred that he reviewed the logs and
summarized them as follows: 496 calls were received; of these
120 were completed calls. Then 237 calls were listened to
completely. 93 were listened to “initially’’ and then turned off.
The logs indicated frequent occasions when non-relevant
conversations were not “intercepted’’. Thus, calls of Cirillo’s
children were not monitored unless they were receiving messages
for Cirillo (346).

Continuing further in his affidavit, Dovetko alleged that two
agents reviewed the logs as to Cirillo and calls to a co-defendant
named Sorrentino. Their analysis showed that 1,496 calls were
made over Cirillo’s telephone. 297 were incomplete leaving a
balance of 1,199 conversations. Then 688 were listened to
completely, the agents “believing” that they were pertinent; 511
calls initially were listened to to determine whether they were
relevant or not. In some instances, some of these were re-listened
to to determine whether the conversations “continued to be non-
pertinent” (347).

In regard to a co-defendant Sorrentino, 2,180 telephone calls

IEEE TE gh ge RAI EET AO Bet ig ay Lo galitg pi seg,

SR a a en eee MOTE T Crier Tet eee

TON ee Te eT

b
.

:
a

were made. Of these 599 were incomplete leaving a balance of
1.505 calls; of these 838 were listened to completely “‘because

they were believed to be pertinent at the time” (347). 747 were

initially listened to but the listening was discontinued (348).
18 U.S.C. 2518(A)(8) provides in part that:

“. .. The recording of the contents of any wire or oral
communication under this subsection shall be done in
such a way as it will protect the recording from editing or
other alterations. Immediately upon the expiration of the
period of the order of extensions thereof, such recordings
shall be made available to the judge issuing such order
and sealed under his direction. Custody of the recordings
shall be wherever the judge orders . . .”

In this case, petitioners made a timely claim that this direction
was not adhered to but the Court below found it was not
mandatory (351, 352). Therefore the execution of these warrants
for the period of time involved was in effect unsupervised by any
judicial authority.

The aforementioned affidavits submitted in opposition claim
minimization was actually conducted. But it is submitted these
are the conclusions of two prosecutors and the federal agent.
While a quantitative breakdown was attempted in the agent’s
affidavit as aforesaid, at pages 346-347 of the Appendix sub-
mitted in the Court below, these allegations are not clear and the
explanation of minimization is ambiguous. Thus the agent
alleged that:

“The logs themselves indicate frequent instances where
non-pertinent conversations were not intercepted...”
(346)

37

Just what percentage of these calls were deemed by the agent
(there was no judicial finding) to be frequent was not stated by
the agent. Here again, there is no judicial supervision and in-
stead the privacy of persons subjected to the interception is left
to a police officer.

Thus, it was shown above and it is found on pages 347 of the
appendix filed in the Court below, that the agent claimed that of
1199 calls 688 were intercepted but that such interception may
not have been within the scope of the statute. Petitioners can't
say within the scope of the warrant because there was no
direction to minimize. The agent did not state that these calls
were within the permissible scope because the agent alleged that
of the 688 calls that were listened to completely the agents and
officers *‘having believed at the time that the conversations were
pertinent”.

However the time of the interception was not the time of the
hearing. What was believed at the time of the hearing was not
stated in the agent's affidavit. As a matter of fact the agent's
statement is an admission which supports an inference and a
very strong inference that the agents may have been mistaken
when they initially listened to the subject conversations in regard
to whether they were relevant or not.

There is a further admission by the agents that in some in-
stances they relistened to conversations periodically to determine
that the conversations continued to be non-pertinent.

Obviously petitioners or their counsel were in no position to
rebut the conclusions alleged in the opposing affidavits sub-

mitted by two prosecutors and a federal agent. An evidentary

and adversary hearing would have enabled this Court to have the

<: “ ne ee ie Oe TE BS ag TE
Er | LL eT cee we CP LE A Cmte Ale OP WS oatere - ae a

complete record of just how the minimization was conducted.
Obviously petitioners can not make a factual showing because of
the secrecy of the investigation and hence they could not raise an
issue purely by affidavit. Even in a civil action where monetary
damages are at stake in distinction to a criminal action where
liberty is at stake, a motion for summary judgment need not be
granted where the opposing affidavit can not allege facts
showing that there is a triable issue; see Rule 56(f) of the Rules of
Civil Procedure for the District Courts.

Furthermore, it would seem that the warrant stands or falls as
it exists and can not be corrected by state officials submitting
affidavits executed subsequent to the issuance of the warrant
and after it was executed. See Whitely v. Warden of Wyoming
Penitentary, 401 U.S. 560 (1971) footnote 8 at page 56S. As was
stated in Johnson v. United States, 333 U.S. 10, (1948), at page
14:

“. .. It’s protection consists in requiring that these in-
ferences be drawn by a neutral and detached magistrate
instead of being judged by the officer engaged in the often
competitive enteprise of ferreting out crime...”

As was stated in U.S. v. Huss, 482 F. 2d 38, (Cir.-2d, 1973), at
page SO:

“. . . but wecan not rely solely on the government’s ‘good
faith’ representation on such a critically contested issue.
Indeed, the government’s good faith did not present a
legal wire tapping here, nor did the government’s good
faith prevent it from searching illegally, or from the rating
and account of the circumstances of that search which the
court found to be incredible . . .”

“. .. Speculation at this point only weights against the
government's plea that its claim be taken at face value.
This ‘trust us to do the right thing’ argument was roundly
rejected by the Supreme Court in U.S. v. U.S. Court,

supra....

“The teaching of the Supreme Court in Alderman v.
United States, can not be avoided. We are instructed that
when illegal electronic surveillance has come to light it is
the adversary system, not representations by the govern-
ment and not in camera decisions by the Court, which
must be relied upon to determine whether overheard
matter is ‘relevant’ to the taint hearing. Here, the logs
represent a monitor’s summary of the intercepted con-
versation. .. .”

It was thus noted by that Court especially in footnote 8, that
Alderman v. United States, 394 U.S. 16S required an adversary
proceeding or a full evidentary hearing so that a Court can .
determine factual issues especially where the factual issues are
complex.

It is respectfully submitted furthermore, .that the logs fur-
nished to petitioners’ counsel would serve as a basis for the cross
examination of the government agent and other authorities if an
adversary hearing were afforded the petitioners. That would be
chief sanction of the furnishing. This was frustrated because the
Court had no evidentiary hearing.

In U.S. Bynum, 47S F. 2d 832, (Cir.-2d, 1973), counsel for the
defendants there made no application for an evidentary hearing
to test whether the authorities minimized the execution of wire
tap orders. Nevertheless the Court below remanded the matter

IEEE LSE it GI ta PO NI AE neh AEE AMEE DBE AMA rn 6 ELBE A GE RGAE A we old a Neto

40

for an evidentary hearing. There was an indication in that
opinion, therefore, that counsel for the defendants there did less
than counsel for the petitioners here. Yet, the Court below
decided this issue adversely to the petitioners.

Furthermore, it is very difficult to see just why if the
authorities knew of the mandatory direction that the warrant or
order contained a minimization provision, the authorities did
not see to it that the order under review contained such
provision. Even if the order did not contain such provision,
originally, certainly it would have been of no moment for the
authorities to call the attention of the Court that granted such
order and have the direction supplied.

C. Wire tapping is unconstitutional and violative of the
fundamental right of privacy under the 4th, Sth, 9th and 14th
Amendments to the Federal Constitution either as applied to the
facts of this case, or on the face of such statutes:

As Mr. Justice Douglas stated in his dissent, found in Hudson
v. United States, 02 U.S. 96S:

“I dissent from the doctrine that an individual begins to
lose his constitutional rights the minute he answers the
telephone.”

As Mr. Justice Douglas further said in his concurring opinion
in Gelbard v. U.S., 408 U.S. 41, (1972) at page 62:

“I would hold that Title III of the Omnibus Crime Control
and Safe Streets Act of 1968 offends the Fourth Amend-
ment. as does all wire tapping and bugging, for reasons
which I have often expressed elsewhere . . .””

41

Furthermore, in the opinion of Mr. Justice Brennan in that
case, at page 45 footnote 5S, it was specifically noted that the
petitioners there did not raise the constitutionality of the statute.

In Kahn v. U.S.,— U.S. —, (1974), 39 L. Ed., 2d 225,
the prevailing opinion held that anyones voice over the tapped
telephone is subject of interception. But that opinion specifically
noted that the constitutionality of the wire tapping statutes was
not presented to the Court, at page 234.

However, it was also noted on page 234 that:

“, . . to be sure, Congress was concerned with protecting
individual privacy when it enacted this statute. But it is
also clear that Congress intended to authorize electronic
surveillance as a crime against the operations of organized
crime. There is, of course, some tension between these two
stated Congressional objectives . . .””

The Court below in its holdings found in U.S. v. Tortorello,
480 F. 2d 765, (Cir.-2d, 1973), recognized at pages 774-775 that
there was possible tension between wire tapping as practiced
under the statutes, and this Court’s holding in Osborne v.
United States, 385 U.S. 323.

While it must be recognized that the wire tap legislation under
consideration, was a legislative (both federal and state) response
to the demands this Court articulated in Berger v. New York,
388 U.S. 41, (1967); Katz v. United States. 389 U.S. 347 (1967);
Osborne v. United States, 385 U.S. 323, (1966). it is respectfully
submitted that in practice these demands cannot be met. This
perhaps is in the nature of this type of surveillance and in-
vestigation. It is intangible, it does not require prior notice of

Fa

Raia a tare

42

purpose and authority, it permits the seizure of words which are
symbolic of ideas, it may have a “chilling” effect on people who
are not criminals, but nevertheless desire to have the privacy of
their conversation and communication of ideas or anything else
people may want to communicate, untrammeled.

Thus, while a search warrant is primarily directed to the

search and seizure of tangible property, search warrants also are -
limited to one execution within a given period, usually ten days. |

Wire tap warrants can extend for thirty day periods, twenty- -
four hours a day and can apply to all who use the telephone. See -
U.S. v. Kahn, supra. Moreover, what is usually spoken over the

telephone is subject to a “interpretation” by the police who claim
that the words have a secondary meaning relating to the crime
under investigation.

That wire tapping reaches the right of privacy in regard to free
expression and even assembly, see U.S. v. White, 401 U.S. 745,
(1971), dissenting opinion of Mr. Justice Douglas, at page 736,
762, 763, 764-766.

This Court held that the 9th Amendment to the Federal
Constitution is grounded on privacy, Griswold v. Connecticut.
381 U.S. 479, (1965), page 484. See also concurring opinion of
Mr. Justice Goldberg. with whom the Chief Justice and Mr.
Justice Brennan joined, at page 488, 489.

See also Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113, (153). While that case
considered the due process clause of the 14th Amenement to the
Federal Constitution as involving the right of privacy, it is
submitted that such right can either be found in the due process
provisions of the Bill of Rights or in the 9th Amendment to the
Federal Constitution.

PP LONE LE LG DIL IIT ye SABO pape OA TF. PA TLAP REPT Gm pee Ee -
2 PRLS SPE ee ae we SION ee Pe

43

It is respectfully submitted that the 9th Amendment to the
Federal Constitution is not just a catch-all provision, but has a
definite meaning fixed in history.

“Under the Ninth Amendment What Rights Are the
‘Others Retained By The people?’ 29 Federal Bar Journal,
Summer 1970, No. 3, pages 219, et seq.

It is respectfully submitted that the rights retained by the
People as articulated in the 9h Amendment is the right of
privacy and the right to be free from eavesdropping. See “Under
the Ninth Amendment, . . . , 14 South Dakota Law Review, 80
et seq., (Winter 1969).” On page 86 of that article it is noted that
the 9h Amendment has been argued as being relevant to wire
tapping or electronic surveillance. On pages 89-90, it is noted
that the 9h Amendment envisaged certain basic rights whether
the same are enumerated or otherwise. It is submitted these
include the basic rights at common law.

At common law, eavesdropping was considered a nuisance. It
was actionable. As was stated in In Re Lanza, 6 Misc. 2d 411,
163 N.Y.S. 2d, 576, at pages 579-S80 where it was stated:

“If we are to enjoy the benefits of a free society, we must
have guaranteed to us the right of freedom of thought and
speech. Freedom of speech, of necessity includes the right
to be free from unwarranted secret listening of in-
terference by others. The privacy of all free citizens is a
fundamental and basic right. Without resorting to an-
tiquity, we find in the Magna Carta a guarantee of security
to all the men in that famous clause (39) that ‘no freeman
shall be taken, or imprisoned or disseised, or outlawed or
banished, or anyways molested, nor will we pass upon

EE LE, DOR EIR oS. - ~ — .
IEEE AOA SEG OT SELLA TAS IH TGR areca

imide ee

him, nor will we send upon him, unless the lawful
judgment of his peers, or by the law of the land.’
Blackstone in his Commentarys . . . defining the offense
of eavesdropping, says: ‘eaves-droppers, or such as listen
under walls or windows or the eaves of a house to harken
after discourse, and thereupon to frame slanderous and
mischievous tales, are a common nuisance.’ Corpus Juris
Secundum says that in English Criminal Law

- eavesdropping was ‘the offense of listening in on the walls
or windows, or the eaves of a house, to harken after
discourse, and thereupon to frame slanderous and
mischievous tales.’ . . . Bishop says that eavesdropping
‘consists of a nuisance of hanging about the dwelling
house of another, hearing tattle, and : cae it, to the
disturbance of the neighborhood. .

Velatee XIV, Words and Phrases, Eavesdropping. p. 111,

defines an eavesdropper as ‘one who is secretly a lisi*ner to

conversations between others, and would include a person

who merely overheard communications or conversiutions

between a husband and wife’ . . . Eavesdropping was an
indictable offense in common ‘law . . .”

See also In Re Lanza, 4 A.D. 2d 252, 164 N.Y.S. 2d 534.

45
CONCLUSION:

It is respectfully submitted that the petition for the writ of
certiorari be granted. ,

Respectfully submitted,

; HAROLD BORG
Attorney for Alphonse Cirillo
A Member of the Bar of the
Supreme Court of the
United States

ARNOLD E. WALLACH
Attorney for Vincent Murphy
A Member of the Bar of the
Supreme Court of the

United States

Dated: New York, New York
June 4, 1974

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_0602%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
