# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Sterrett v. Taylor

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_0555%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 420 U.S. 983

## Text

LIBRAr? reyry

4 t- Tvti COURT, Us &
zis at : NOV 133 1974

In The
Supreme Court of The United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1974
No. _G4- 57 6 .

W.L. STERRETT, et al..

Petitioners,
V.

JOSEPH TAYLOR, et al.,

Respondents.

CLARENCE JONES, et al.,
Petitioners.
v.
JULIUS D. PERRY, et al.,
Respondents.

Petition fora Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

~

EARL LUNA & THOMAS V. MURTO III
1002 Dallas Federal Savings Bldg.
Dallas, Texas 75201

Attorneys for Petitioners

COMPTON PRINTING COMPANY — GARLAND. TEXAS — (214) 276-3223

\>

INDEX

Page
EPR TEE ET ECTTT CRTC TE ETE TTe ii
SR NT ic sks dewey isn cs ncccarscasessensersenns 2
aac de ankne nh en ebnceesbaeeees 2
Questions Presented for Review ...............0.e005 2,3
Constitutional Provisions and Statutes Involved.......... 3
RE OE TDs ov sac e dees scdnencanavcseses 3-9
Reasons for Granting the Writ ................... 9— 21
EP, CT TT eE TCT ETT TT eee eee 20 — 21
OEP ET UTE TT TEETER CELE CUL ETE TET 22
Appendix A — Opinion and Order of the
PGS Ga ARASHARA RAD NAN SR Ga SanneD A-1 — A-6
Appendix B — Opinion and Order of the
SEE RE Soc cncn acne ssaeseconacneens B-1 — B-29

Appendix C — Constitutional Provisions
| APSE CTT ECTECR TET TET ETe C-1 — C-7

ii List of Authorities

Cases Page
Battle v. Anderson, 376 F. Supp. 402, (E. D. Okla. 1974) ...... 18
Coleman v. District of Columbia Commissioners, 234

Fs Me WEc SUED b ca cvaconacccavevenceerexes 16
Coun ae, Ge ies RTE hc eka oeseveaeescadevons 15, 16
Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238 (1972) .........-.ee ee ee eens 17
Holt v. Sarver, 309 F.Supp. 362 (E.D. Ark. 1970) ............. 13

Morales v. Schmidt, 340 F. Supp. 544 (W.D. Wisc.
1972). revs'd and remanded, 489 F.2d 1335 (7th
Cir. 1973), opinion on rehearing en banc, 494 F.2d

IN oe Fcc ucauau care eteeniir eis on deste 17
Morris v. Travisono, 310 F.Supp. 857 (D.R.I. 1970) ........... 11
Pell v. Procunier, U.S. 94 S.Ct. 2800 (1974) ....... 17
Railroad Commission v. Pullman Company, 312 U.S.

MINEE S555 voceNeet rereeeeer crak ea ca es 19
Rhem v. Malcolm, 371 F. Supp. 594 (S.D. N.Y. 1974).......... 13
San Antonio School District v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 1 (1973) .13, 15
Simmons v. Jones, 478 F.2d 321 (5th Cir. 1973) ............... 19
Sinclair v. Henderson, 331 F.Supp. 1123 (E.D.La. 1971)....... 11
Theriault v. United States, 481 F.2d 1193 (5th Cir.

EE ert rr re TT Per sy ee ye Ts ee ee ee 12

Other Authorities
Louis N. Robinson, Penology in the United States,
ate G. VEN, SHEE: 6c a cvive dba scervsecncewecinns 9-10

National Advisory Commission on Criminal Justice
Standards and Goals, Report on Corrections,

(U.S. Government Printing Office 1973) ....... 10, 11, 15, 18
Task Force on Corrections, Task Force Report: Cor-
rections (U.S. Government Printing Office 1967) ......... 14

Texas Legislature Council, Statutory Standards and
Present Conditions in Texas Jails, Report to 63rd
Legislature, (Report No. 62-2, January, 1973)............ 19

U.S. Law Enforcement Assistance Administration,

National Jail Census 1970 (U.S. Government Print-

i gs Reerer rer yer eer rT ee re rrr es 31, 12, 13, 14
U. S. Law Enforcement Assistance Administration and

U.S. Bureau of the Census, Local Jails (U. S.
Government Printing Office 1973)..............00065 12, 13

In The

Supreme Court of The United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1974

No.

W. L. STERRETT, et al.,

Petitioners,
V.

JOSEPH TAYLOR, et al.,

Respondents.

CLARENCE JONES, et al.,
Petitioners,
V.

JULIUS D. PERRY, et al.,

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

Your Petitioners! respectfully pray that a writ of

1. The Petitioners consist of W. L. Sterrett, Mel Price, Joe Rich,
Jim Tyson and Roy Orr, members of the Commissioners Court
of Dallas County, Texas, (Joe Rich has succeeded John
Whittington and Roy Orr has succeeded Denver Seale on the
Commissioners Court); Clarence Jones, Sheriff of Dallas
County, Texas (succeeding James E. Decker); Allen Sweatt,
Chief Jailer (succeeding E. L. Holman); and J. N. Pickard,
County Health Officer; individually and in their official
capacities in Dallas County, Texas. The Respondents are
Joseph Taylor, James Douglas Thompson, Charles William
Bruce, John Henry Woods, Jr., Julius Dwain Perry, Sr., James
Edward Clayton, and George Byron Hamlet, individually and
on behalf of all others similarly situated.

certiorari issue to review the judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, entered in the above
entitled case on August 19, 1974.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals is
reported in 499 F.2d 367 (5th Cir. 1974), a copy of which is
attached hereto as Appendix A.

The opinion of the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Texas, which was affirmed in part and
vacated in part and remanded by the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, is repcrted at 344 F.Supp. 411
(N.D. Tex. 1972), a copy of which is attached hereto in
Appendix B.

GROUNDS FOR JURISDICTION

The judgment sought to be reviewed was entered by the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit on
August 19, 1974. Appendix A. The judgment affirmed in
part and vacated in part and remanded the judgment of the
United States District Court for the Northern District of
Texas entered June 5, 1972.

The statutory provisions believed to confer on the United
States Supreme Court jurisdiction to review the judgment in
question by writ of certiorari is 28 U.S.C. § 1254 (1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Should the district court have abstained from inter-
preting Article 5115 of the Texas Revised Civil Statutes or,

3

in the alternative, did the district court make, and the court
of appeals affirm, an erroneous interpretation?

2. What are the constitutional requirements proscribed
by the Eighth Amendment for conditions and facilities in ~
local jails?

3. Does a single judge district court have jurisdictional
authority to affirmatively enjoin state officials to provide
facilities for jails in excess of those designated by statute?

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND
STATUTES INVOLVED

The pertinent constitutional provisions are the Eighth and
Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitution.
The pertinent statutes are Article 5115, 5116 and 5117 of |
the Texas Revised Civil Statutes and Article 2.18 of the
Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. These constitutional
provisions and statutes are set out in Appendix C.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Respondents, inmates in the county jail of Dallas
County, Texas, initiated this class action suit in federal
district court seeking injunctive relief from conditions and
practices that allegedly violated the prohibitions against
cruel and unusual punishments of the Eighth Amendment to
the United States Constitution. Jurisdiction of the district
court was invoked through 28 U.S.C. § 1343 and 42 U.S.C. §
1983 on the basis that the civil rights of the inmates were
involved. The Respondents further urged the district court
to consider non-federal claims under its ancillary jurisdic-
tion.

Immediately prior to trial, the case of Perry v. Decker
was consolidated with Taylor v. Sterrett. The Perry
co..plaint focused upon the adequacy of medical services in
the jail, while the Taylor complaint covered a much wider
scope of conditions, practices and policies in the jail.

After a personal tour of the jail facilities and a trial on
the merits, the court made the following relevant findings of
fact.

The county jail is located in two buildings referred to as
the old jail and the new jail. The new jail is located in the
new County Government Center and was designed to
accommodate 1220 inmates. The quarters in use in both
buildings at the time of the trial, June, 1972, had a design
capacity of 1370 inmates. The number of inmates actually
held generally exceeded the design capacity. During the
first half of May, 1972, the average peak number of inmates
per day averaged 1589. During 1971 the average daily
number per month varied from 1446 to 1814. The women’s
section of the jail located on one floor of the new jail
consisted of 25 cells containing 198 bunks. On the day of the
trial there were 92 female inmates. Excess bunks in the
women’s section could not be used to house male inmates
due to design limitations not permitting segregation of male
and female inmates within that area.

Most of the inmates were assigned to cells each with 8 to
12 bunks which open into a ‘‘day room.’’ These entire
areas, which are referred to as “tanks,” vary in design
capacity from 24 to 36. In addition to ten tanks, there were
168 cells without a day room, opening into a corridor, each

containing several bunks. The tanks were overcrowded, at
the time of the trial, having approximately 15 more inmates
than bunks. Those inmates not assigned a bunk slept on
mattresses in the day room. The hospital ward for men was
also overcrowded. It has 48 beds and on the day of the
judge's visit had 62 inmates admitted. Persons without beds
slept on mattresses on the floor.

The jail also has a number of solitary cells. They have
dimensions of 4°3" x 5°11", 6°11" x 51", and 7'1" x 6’. Only
four had running water; none drinking fountains. The toilet
facilities in the solitary cells consisted of a hole in the floor
which could be flushed from the outside of the cell. Light
was provided 24 hours a day by an electric globe. There
were no bunks in the solitary cells, but prisoners were
given mattresses.

The jail medical facilities consisted of a hospital ward for
men with 48 beds and one for women with 18 beds. A nurse
was on duty 24 hours each day and a doctor was on call
throughout the day. Upon entrance, inmates were tested for
tuberculosis and venereal disease. At the time of trial,
dental care included both filling and tooth extraction.

Recreation for the inmates consisted of reading and
playing cards and dominos. There was no designated area
or program for exercise. However, the court made no
finding that calisthenics or in place exercises were prohib-
ited or insufficient. There was exposure to sunlight in the
new jail through translucent windows.

There was no general program of rehabilitation or
education at the jail. The jail performed exclusively a

custodial function. Some months before the trial a Chaplain
had begun a small pilot program of teaching selected
prisoners some rudimentary educational subjects.

At the time of the trial, the inmate population of (ne jail
consisted of arrestees, persons awaiting trial, persons
convicted of misdemeanors serving their sentence, and
convicted felons awaiting transfer to the Texas Department
of Corrections or a decision on appeal. At that time there
was no attempt to segregate the various classes of
prisoners; however, the Sheriff was beginning to institute a
classification system based upon maximum, medium and
minimum security risk. Pre-trial detainees were not permit-
ted to participate in the limited educational program nor
obtain a trusty iob within the jail.

The court noted that the Sheriff testified that the lack of
adequé te supervisory personnel was a major restriction on
providing meaningful programs for the inmates. There were
a total ef 99 guards divided into three shifts. Each shift had
to supervise five floors of the new jail and the old jail,
housing a total of more than 1500 inmates. The role of the
guards was limited to housexeeping and security measures.

The court also made other findings not relevant to this
application regarding mail censorship, policies on books
and periodicals, and disciplinary procedures.

The court began its analysis of the applicable law by
holding that Article 5115 of the Texas Revised Civil Statutes
provided statutory design minimums which the Dallas
County jail did not meet. Article 5ii5 provides, among other
things, that solitary cells shall have a minimum of 40 square

feet and that larger cells must have a minimum of 18 square
feet per person. Sanitary facilities, consisting of a water
closet and combination lavatory and drinking fountain must
be provided in each solitary cell and in the larger cells for
each twelve inmates or fraction thereof. Bunks must be
provided for all prisoners. Tanks should be designed for a
maximum of twenty-four prisoners each, and thirty per cent
of all prisoners should be in single cells. Although the court
held that certain design features of the Dallas County jail
dic not conform to the provisions of Article 5115, it
con..dered overcrowding as the major factor in complaints
about the physical facilities.

After reviewing the charges of the inmates that the
conditions of the jail subjected them to a cruel and unusual
punishment, the court stated, ‘Rehabilitation must be the
overriding goal of our correctional institutions."’ The court
further held that the lack of any program of recreation or
exercise was an important deficiency, noting that other
courts had considered lack of exercise “in the context of
being cruel and unusual punishment.” The court did hold
that use of the solitary cells would be cruel and unusual
punishment. The court made other holdings with regard to
disciplinary procedures not significant here.

Although the new jail was only opened in 1966, the court
concluded that the county jail was in ‘‘desperate need of
upgrading and expansion."' The court therefore enjoined
the Commissioners Court from violating Article 5115 and
required that certain specific steps be taken immediately to
include the provision of sufficient cells with a design
capacity equal to the highest number of inmates in the jail

during any one day in 1972. The court also directed the
Commissioners Court to plan a new jail facility with
recreational, educational and chapel facilities, and in the
interim to provide recreational facilities for the present jail.
(A suggestion was made that the roof of the County
Government Center building be converted for interim
recreational facilities.) The court directed that the Sheriff
not place inmates in a cell of less than forty square feet, in a
solitary cell without the required sanitary facilities, or in a
cell already filled to its design capacity. The Commission-
ers Court was directed to hire additional jail guards. The
court also made other directions relating to access of
investigators to the inmates, mail censorship, periodical
policies, medical examinations of food handlers, and
discipline procedures not applicable to this application.

The Petitioners appealed to the Fifth Circuit. The Fifth
Circuit after an extensive delay, affirmed the district
court's orders concerning the building of a new jail facility
meeting the specifications of Article 5115, implementing
interim specified expansion of the present facilities, re-
quiring the provision of outdoor recreational, educational
and chapel facilities, restricting where the Sheriff can
place prisoners and requiring medical examinations of food
handlers, as enforcement of the applicable state law. The
Fifth Circuit also affirmed the district court's orders
regarding reading material policies and practices. The
circuit court vacated and remanded the trial court’s orders
on mail, disciplinary procedures, and the limitation on the
access of the district attorney's investigators to inmates.

9

The Fifth Circuit made no explicit ruling on the district
court's order that the Commissioners Court hire more
guards.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Court should grant a review on writ of certiorari of
the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Fifth Circuit because portions of the decision of that court
decide importaat questions of federal law which have not
been, but should be, settled by the Supreme Court.
Furthermore, portions of the Fifth Circuit’s decision con-
flict, at least in principle, with decisions of this Court and
prior decisions of the Fifth Circuit. Finally, the district
court's unprecedented interpretation of Texas law, af-
firmed by the Fifth Circuit, has a momentous impact on
Texas jails, condemning in essence all but five of over 247
county jails in Texas.

In the past few years prisoners in local community jail
facilities have been initiating extensive litigation attacking
the physical conditions and practices in jails for allegedly
violating the Eighth Amendment's prohibition against cruel
and unusual punishments. In light of the importance of jails
in the correctional system throughout the United States, it is
essential that there be a pronouncement by the Supreme
Court as to the requirements these facilities must meet to
comply with the Eighth Amendment.

The important position of the jail in the national correc-
tional picture has long been recognized.

“From many points of view, the jail is the most

important of all our institutions of imprisonment. The

10

enormous number of jails is alone sufficient ... to
make [one] realize that the jail is, after all, the typical
prison in the United States. ...From two-thirds to
three-fourths of all convicted criminals serve out their
sentence in jails. But this is not all. The jail is, with
small exception, the almost universal detention house
for untried prisoners. The great majority, therefore, of
penitentiary and reformatory prisoners have been kept
for a period varying from a few days to many months
within the confines of a county or municipal jail. Then,
too, there is the class, not at all unimportant in
number, of individuals, who, having finally established
their innocence, have been set free after spending
some time in the jail awaiting trial. Important witnes-
ses also are detained in jail, and it is used at times for
still other purposes, even serving occasionally as a
temporary asylum for the insane. The part, therefore,
which the jail plays in our scheme of punishment
cannot be overestimated. Whether for good or for evil,
nearly every criminal that has been apprehended is
subjected to its influence."” Louis V. Robinson, Penol-
ogy in the United States. 32 (John C. Winston, 1921).

In the fifty years that have passed since that assessment
was written, the significance of the jail has not lessened.
There are more jails than any other type of correctional
institution in the United States. The jail serves as the intake
point for the entire criminal justice system. Indeed, the
National Advisory Commission on Criminal Justice Stand-
ards and Goals predicts that a current trend toward the
decreased use of major state institutions for confinement
will increase the size and scope of the burden the jails bear.
National Advisory, Commission on Criminal Justice Stand-
ards and Goals, Report on Corrections, 274 (U.S. Govern-
ment Printing Office 1973) (hereafter cited as Advisory

Commission, Corrections).

11

A 1970 census disclosed that there were 4,037 jails in the
United States at that time. A jail being defined as any
individual facility for the detention of those persons
convicted or suspected of crimes operated by a local
government unit with detention authority for at least 48
hours. These institutions employed an equivalent of 28,911
full-time employees and had an inmate population of
160,863 on March 15, 1970. U.S. Law Enforcement Assist-
ance Administration, National Jail Census 1970 (U.S.
Government Printing Office 1971). The average number of
inmates in local jails approaches that in the major

correctional facilities of all fifty states, which was an
average number of 195,910 for approximately the same time

period. Advisory Comm'n, Corrections, at 344, Table 11.2.

In the instant case the district court held that the Eighth
Amendment required the local authorities responsible for
the jail of Dallas County, Texas, to provide inmates with
outdoor recreational facilities, educational facilities and a
chapel? The only authorities cited by the district court for
these requirements were Sinclair v. Henderson, 331 F.
Supp. 1123 (E.D.La. 1971) and Morris v. Travisono, 310
F.Supp. 857 (D.R.I. 1970), with regard to the issue of
recreational facilities. Neither of those cases directly
compares to the instant case. Both of those cases concerned
2. The Fifth Circuit mistakenly assumed that this portion of the
district court's order, paragraph 2, was specified by state
law. However, a reading of Article 5115, the Texas statute
covering design of jail facilities, fails to disclose any require-
ment for an outdoor exercise facility, educational facilities or

a chapel. Furthermore, the trial coust clearly recognized that

it was imposing additional requirements and, therefore, used
a separate paragraph in its order to require these facilities.

12

a major state correctional institution, which had exercise
facilities which were denied to a certain group of inmates.
The courts in those cases merely ordered that arrange-
ments be made for those groups of inmates to be given the
opportunity to use the same facilities already available. In
contrast, the Dallas County jail is located in the downtown
area of Dallas, a major metropolitan area, with no
recreational yard in existence nor with the possibility of
obtaining one without enormous expense.

In conflict with this holding of the court below is that in
Theriault v. United States, 481 F.2d 1193 (5th Cir. 1973)
where the conditions of the city jail of Mobile, Alabama,
were held not to violate the Eighth Amendment. Yet, the
1970 Jail Census discloses that the Mobile city jail has no
recreation or educational facilities. U.S. Law Enforcement
Assistance Administration and U. S. Bureau of the Census,
Local Jails, 162 (U. S. Government Printing Office, 1973).
Indeed the 1970 census of local jails disclosed that only
13.6% of local jails for cities and counties with more than
25,000 population have any recreational facilities. National
Jail Census 1970 at 18. In Texas, of 322 jails for cities and
counties with more than 25,000 population, only seven have
any recreational facilities. Significantly, five of those seven
facilities have an average daily inmate population of sixteen
or less inmates. The only two facilities providing recreation
that handle a sizable number of inmates are a specially
built rehabilitation center and a rehabilitation farm. Local
Jails, at 293-304. The assessment that these jails provide
recreational facilities was made by the local jail adminis-
trators. National Jail Census 1970. at 8. There is no

13

assurance that the institution’s assessment that it provides
recreational facilities will satisfy the requirements for
recreational facilities some lower courts place on local
jails. The Manhattan House of Detention for Men is one of
the 13.6% of the jails reporting that it has recreational
facilities. Local Jails, at 259. Its recreational facilities are
located on the roof of the building (similar to the suggestion
of the trial court in the instant case as a temporary solution
to its direction to provide an outdoor recreation area). The
Manhattan inmates spent 50 minutes a week on the roof (an
analysis of the roof-top exercise area proposed for the
Dallas County jail resulted in comparable times that Dallas
County jail inmates would be able to utilize a roof-top
exercise area). The trial court in Rhem v. Malcolm. 371
F.Supp 594 (S.D. N.Y. 1974) held that such limited outdoor
exercise periods constituted a cruel and unusual punish-
ment in violation of the Eighth Amendment. That district
court held that the difficulty of providing space for exercise
in central New York City was unacceptable as a justifica-
tion for not providing considerably more exercise time for
inmates. Hence it appears that possibly more than 90% of
all local jails in the United States could not meet this
criteria, if it is indeed a constitutional requirement.

In support of its educational facilities requirement, the
trial court in the instant case cited /Holt v. Sarver. 309
F.Supp. 362 (E.D. Ark. 1970). The direction of the court that
educational facilities be provided to inmates of the Dallas
County jail conflicts in principle with the holding of this
Court in San Antonio School District v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S.
1 (1973) that, although education is perhaps the most

14

important function of state and local governments, there is
no constitutional right to an education. It would be strange
indeed if convicted inmates of correctional institutions have
additional constitutional rights to state provided educa-
tional opportunities that school aged children do not have!
Furthermore, once again the holding that prisoners have a
constitutional right to educational facilities would have a
tremendous impact on American correctional facilities.
Only 10.8% of the jails for cities and counties with more
than 25,000 population report any educational facilities.
National Jail Census 1970, at 18. Also, there is the
additional question of how many of those jails that do have
some facilities actually have sufficient facilities to provide
meaningful educational opportunities to all inmates. The
ratios of one academic teacher to 1,333 inmates and one
vocational teacher to 1,031 inmates provided by a 1965
national survey indicates that the opportunities are severe-
ly limited. Task Force on Corrections, Task Force Report:
Correction, 75, Table 5 (U. S. Government Printing Office
1967).

The trial court cited no authority for directing that a
chapel be provided for use by the inmates. The court's
decision to order that chapel facilities be provided is
unprecedented. Unlike prior cases dealing with a prisoner's
practice of his religion, there is no question involved here
about discriminatory practices toward persons of a partic-
ular religion. The court found that the inmates do not have
the privilege of attending religious services. Since the court
obviously felt that such might have some rehabilitating
effect on the inmates, it ordered the Petitioners to provide

15

chapel facilities in a new jail facility. Again the lack of
chapel facilities in the Dallas County jail is similar to the
vast majority of jails throughout the United States. {dvisurv
Comm’n, Corrections, at 276. While it may be constitu-
tionally permissible for a county, in its discretion, to
provide a chapel for jail inmates, it is a far different matter
for a court to hold that the county's decision not to provide a
chapel violates the inmates’ constitutional rights. Aritcle
5115 providing for “safe and suitable jails’’ makes no
provision for chapels. Therefore, the district court must
have relied upon a constitutional right of the inmates to
chapel facilities in order to direct the Commissioners’ Court
to provide such facilities. Such a holding is difficult to
reconcile with the holding in San Antonio School District v.
Rodriguez, supra. If a school age child has no constitutional
right to an education, although the Supreme Court recog-
nizes that “education is perhaps the most important
function of state and local governments,” /d.. at 29, it is
difficult to perceive how a jail inmate has a constitutional
right to chapel facilities, when the First Amendment
prohibits governmental establishment of religion. Indeed,
the lower court’s order conflicts in principle with prior
pronouncements from this Court and other lower courts. As
Jusiice Rehnquist has stated:

“Presumably prison officials are not obligated to
provide facilities for any particular denominational
service within a prison, although once they undertake
to provide them for some they must make only such
reasonable distinctions as may survive analysis under
the Equal Protection Clause.” Cruz v. Belo. 405 U.S.
319, 324 (1972) (Rehnquist, J., dissenting).

16

The lower court's order contrasts also with the holding in
Coleman v. District of Columbia Commissioners, 234 F.
Supp. 408 (E.D. Va. 1564), that prisoners were not entitled
to have a minister of their own choosing or have institution
officials provide them with free copies of religious books
and periodicals or medals. Once the Dallas County jail
starts providing facilities and religious material, however,
it will find itself in an enormous administrative problem
providing comparable service to inmates of differing re-
ligions.

The district court's opinion makes the basis of the above
requirements quite clear. ‘‘Rehabilitation must be the
overriding goal of our correctional institutions. Unless
society subordinates all of the correctional purposes to the
goal of rehabilitation, it faces the paradox of promoting the
production rather than the reduction of crime.’ (emphasis
added). There may be great wisdom in the district court's
philosophy, but the court lost sight of the fact that it was
sitting to enforce constitutional rights of all persons
including prisoners, but not to supervise prisons no matter
how well the court is qualified or capable of doing so. Cruz
v. Beto, supra, at 321. Several lower courts, including the
district court in the instant case, have utilized the Eighth
Amendment as a vehicle to impose their concepts of
correctional theory upon the persons charged with provid-
ing and operating correctional institutions. In doing so,
these courts have attempted to raise the goal of rehabilita-
tion, one of the goals in correctional theory, to a constitu-
tional level. One district court has even intimated that
imprisonment per se is unconstitutional because it is not

17

sufficiently rehabilitative. Morales v. Schmidt, 340 F.Supp.
544 (W.D. Wisc. 1972), revsd aiid remanded, 489 F.2d 1335
(7th Cir. 1973), opinion on rehearing en banc, 494 F.2d 85
(1974). This approach runs counter to the recognition by the
majority of the members of this Court in Furman v. Georgia,
408 U.S. 238 (1972), that other goals, including retribution,
are constitutionally permissible in the imposition of punish-
ment. Just recently the Court also recognized deterrence of
crime and quarantine of offenders as important functions of
the corrections systems. Even more significantly it stated
that ‘‘central to all other correctional goals is the institu-
tional consideration of internal security within the correc-
tions facilities themselves.” Pell v. Procunier. U.S. ‘
94 S.Ct. 2800, 2804 (1974). Indeed, it appears from the
separate opinions in Furman that a majority of the members
of this Court reject the idea that any treatment of convicted
persons must be supported by the goal of rehabilitation to
be constitutionally permissible, for the rehabilitative conse-
quences of the death penalty are nil. In seeking to
implement their own theories of penology, these courts have
stepped beyond the proper realm of constitutional interpre-
tation into the field of legislation and administration.

It is imperative that the Supreme Court define the
constitutional minimums required for local jail facilities by
the Eighth Amendment. If the trial court is correct in that
the Eighth Amendment requires that local jails have
adequate recreational, educational and chapel facilities,
then approximately ninety per cent of the jails in the United
States are unconstitutional. On the other hand, if the
Petitioners are correct in their contentions that the lack of

18

those facilities does not constitute cruel and unusual
punishment, several lower courts will impose, without the
constitutional right and authority, tremendous financial
and administrative burdens upon local governmental units
by demanding that the court's concepts of corrections be
followed. An indication of what a huge burden may be
placed upon local communities is that during the same time
frame, the Dallas County jail was required to house
approximately the same number of prisoners as those hele!
in the main penitentiary in Oklahoma: in fact, the number
was roughly sixty per cent of the average daily number of
persons incarcerated in the entire Oklahoma prison system.
See Battis vo Inderson, 376 F.Supp. 402 (E.D. Okla. 1974).
Furthermore, there are much fewer resources available to
provide facilities in a local jail than in a state-wide
penitentiary system. It has been long recognized that in
most instances the local area cannot bear the burden of
financing large and well staffed jails. Advisory Comm'n.
Corrections, at 274. Jail facilities must compete with other
important community demands, such as schools, hospitals,
police activities, fire departments, welfare, and road
maintenance to mention just _@ few items. The local
governmental entities are entitied to balance competing
demands and place priorities for meeting the needs in all
fields.

Another reason the court should grant the writ is that the
district court should have abstained from interpreting
whether Article 5115 of the Texas Revised Civil Statutes
provides general guidelines for jail construction or mini-
mum standards. In this suit the inmates were seeking to

19

have a federal court interpret a state statute and then
enforce the court's interpretation of that statute. However.
the role of the federal court is not one of enforcing state
statutes. Summons v. Jones, 478 F.2d 321 (5th Cir. 1973). The
statute itself specifically provides that the Texas State
Department of Health has charge of the enforcement of
Article 5115. Furthermore, the statute has internal ambigu-
ities. For example, the statute specifies that a cell for one
prisoner only should be at least 40 square feet, but all other
cells should have 18 square feet per inmate. Taken literally.
the statute permits cells for two inmates with only 36
square feet. Due to the lack of any Texas interpretation of
the statute, the court should have abstained from interpret-
ing it. See Railroad Commission v. Pullman Company, 312
U.S. 496 (1941). That the trial court's decision to proceed
with its own interpretation of Article 5115 and enforce its
interpretation was an error of judgment, is highlighted by a
subsequent report to the Texas Legislature. A 1973 report
by the Texas Legislative Council states that Article 5115
“establishing jail standards is completely unrealistic.’ The
report further notes that only five county jails of 247
inspected by the State Department of Health met the
provisions of Article 5115. Texas Legislative Council.
Statutory Standards and Present Conditions in) Texas Jails.
Report to 63rd Legislature, 34 {Report No. 62-2, January.
1973). Furthermore, by interpreting Article 5115 in the
manner it did, the district court posed an impossible
dilemma for the Sheriff. It ordered the Sheriff not to place
any more inmates in a cell than it was designed to hold (at
the same time requiring that cells designed to hold more

20

persons than specified as a maximum in Article 5115 not be
filled to designed capacity), but at the same time the Sheriff
is also required by statute to hold all state and federal

prisoners committed to him. Texas Revised Civil Statutes,

Articles 5116 and 5117, and Texas Code of Criminal
Procedure, Article 2.18. Thus the Sheriff is faced with
violating either the district court's order or the state
statutes.

Finally, the court should grant the writ to determine
whether the district court should have been a three-judge
court to enter the relief it did. The district court held that
Article 5115 estabished Statutory design requirements for
county jails. However, the court's positive injunction that
the Commissioners Court provide educational, recreational
and chapel facilities is not specified by Article 5115.
Therefore the court has in essence ordered the county to
build jails not in accordance with the state statute but with
the court's own more extensive design requirements. If
those more extensive requirements are constitutionally
required, Article 5115 is constitutionally defective and the
court has in reality enjoined implementation of Article 5115.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, a writ of certiorari should
issue to review the judgment and opinion of the Fifth
Circuit.

<- cecmmrem amend

21

a
THOMAS V. MURTO III
1002 Dallas Federal
Savings Building
Dallas, Texas 75201
214-747-1582

Attorneys for Petitioners

22

PROOF OF SERVICE
STATE OF TEXAS
COUNTY OF DALLAS

BEFORE ME, the undersigned Notary Public in and for
Dallas County, Texas, on this day personally appeared
EARL LUNA, who being by me duly sworn, upon oath
stated: I, EARL LUNA, am a member of the Bar of the
Supreme Court of the United States and am one of the
attorneys of record for petitioners herein.

I further state upon oath that upon the// Ry of November
1974, I served copies of the foregoing Petition for Writ of
Certiorari on the Respondents, Joseph Taylor, et al., by
depositing the same in the United States Mail, with first
class postage prepaid, addressed to the following counsel of
record in the courts below, at the address indicated, to-wit:

Mr. John F. Jordan, 2818 Maple, #103, Dallas, Texas;

Ms. Sylvia Demerest, Dallas Legal Services Founda-
tion, Ind., 912 Commerce Street, Dallas, Texas;

Mr. Robert L. Byrd, 201 E. Belknap, Ft. Worth, Texas;

Mr. Stanley A. Bass, 10 Columbus Circle, New. York,
New York 10019 (airmail).

COL~
EARELUNA

SUBSCRIBED — SWORN to before me by the said

A-1

APPENDIX A

Joseph TAYLOR et al., Plaintiffs-Appellees,
v.

W. L. STERRETT et al., Defendants-Appellants.
Julius Dwain PERRY, Sr., et al., Plaintiffs-Appellees,

Vv.

James E. (Bill) DECKER et al., Defendants-Appellants.
Joseph TAYLOR et al., Plaintiffs-Appellees,

Vv.

W. L. STERRETT et al., Defendants-Appellants.
Nos. 72-2443, 72-3689.

United States Court of Appeals,
Fifth Circuit.
Aug. 19, 1974.
Appeals from the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Texas.

Before COLEMAN and SIMPSON, Circuit Judges, and
RUBIN, District Judge.

COLEMAN, Circuit Judge.

This litigation concerns conditions in the Dallas County,
Texas, jail. The opinion of the District Court is reported,
Taylor v. Sterrett, 344 F.Supp. 411 (1972). We affirm and
remand in part; we also vacate and remand in part for the
further consideration of the District Court in light of
intervening Supreme Court decisions and the ongoing
circumstances of the case.

A-2

The District Court properly declined to apply the doctrine
of abstention to this case, Procunier v. Martinez, — U.S.
—, 94 S.Ct. 1800, 40 L.Ed.2d 224.

In the exercise of its pendent jurisdiction, associated with
the federal constitutional claims hereinafter mentioned, the
Court ordered steps to insure compliance with the laws of
Texas with reference to local prison facilities. The ex-
ercise of pendent jurisdiction in this area was correct,
Hagans v. Lavine, — U.S. — , 94 S.Ct. 1372, 39 L.Ed.2d
577 (1974): Mobil Oil Corporation v. Kelley, 5 Cir., 1974, 493
F.2d 784.

As to the enforcement of state laws applicable to this jail
{Paragraphs 1, 2, 11 and 12 of the District Court order, 344
F.Supp. 422-423], we have recently vacated a stay original-
ly entered here pending appeal. It was specified that this
action was without prejudice to the rights of the appellants
to seek any justifiable modification in the District Court. It
could hardly be expected that a United States District
Court, in the exercise of appropriate pendent jurisdiction,
would decline the enforcement of laws which the state, of
its own volition, had enacted for the improvement of prison
conditions within its jurisdiction. The decree of the District
Court on these topics is affirmed. The case is nevertheless
remanded to enable the Court to enter such modifications, if
any, as ought to be had in the light of the ongoing
circumstances.

Equity never seeks the impossible nor orders the unrea-
sonable — its orders are adapted to the exigencies of the
case. The criticisms which appellants level against the

A-3

decree with reference to state requirements at this jail are
acordingly left to the sound judicial discretion of the trial
court, with full power to assay the merits of these criticisms
and decree accordingly.

Paragraphs 5 and 6 of the District Court order prohibiting
the unnecessary destruction of prisoner reading matter,
etc., is affirmed as a reasonable provision for the protec-
tion of First Amendment rights.

As to Paragraph 7 of the District Court order, relating to
rules of conduct of inmates, we are informed by the briefs,
and there is no suggestion of dispute about it, that the
Sheriff has, in fact, filed such rules with the District Court.
We therefore consider this issue as substantially moot, but
the District Court will be free to enter any modifications or
amendments as may appear appropriate within the teach-
ings of Wolff v. McDonnell, post, or any other applicable
decision of this or of the Supreme Court.

This brings us to Paragraph 8 of the District Court order,
which reads as follows:

“The Sheriff is directed not to allow persons to see
prisoners except with the consent or request of the inmates.
This has particular reference to ‘copout’ men, who have
had free access to the jail.”

As a general proposition we agree that prisoners should
be left free of unwanted visitors, contacts, or importunities.
Yet. we are of the view that the provisions of Paragraph 8
are too restrictive, especially since the primary jurisdiction
of the federal courts in this area is limited to the vindication
of rights guaranteed by the federal constitution. Conceiva-

A-4

bly, the order would eliminate visits from official investiga-
tors engaged in efforts to solve crimes or to perform other
legitimate duties. As to prisoners who choose not to be
represenied by counsel or who, as indigents, are charged
with such misdemeanors as not to require counsel, this
order could block efforts to bring their cases to a speedy
resolution, Santobello v. New York, 404 1.5. 257, 92 S.Ct.
495, 30 L.Ed.2d 427. Upon remand we suggest that an effort
be made specifically to limit this requirement to the evil it is
intended to extirpate, if that evil does, in fact, rise to
constitutional dimensions.

With reference to Paragraph 9 of the District Court,
order, concerning classifications as to pretrial detainees
and convicted inmates, we are similarly advised that since
the decision of the court below the State of Texas has
enacted appropriate legislation by which those convicted of
felonies are now held within the state prisons pending
appea!. Upon remand, the District Court will reconsider
this portion of its order in light of the realities of the case.

Paragraph 10 of the District Court order reads as
follows:

‘The Sheriff is enjoined from using inmates as corridor
bosses to enforce rules and preserve discipline.”’

We note the key language, *‘to enforce rules and preserve
discipline’’. We construe this to mean that the use of
unarmed trusty prisoners for other functions is left undis-
turbed.

Since there are guards who could see to enforcing rules
and preserving discipline, leaving unarmed trusties to

A-5

perform duties affording no real opportunity to mistreat
and abuse their fellow prisoners in violation of their
constitutional rights, we do not regard this provision as an
abuse of equity discretion within the four corners of this
case.

Being aware, as we were, that some of the problems
raised by this appeal, such as abstention on the state law
issues, were pending on writs of certiorari in the Supreme
Court of the United States, (and in keeping with our usual
practice) we deferred decision in order that we might
thereafter act with the guidance of that Court. One
important issue below involved the censorship and opening
of prisoner mail, Paragraph 4 of the District Court order,
344 F.Supp. 422. This portion of the District Court order is
vacated and remanded for further consideration in light of
the decisions of the Supreme Court in Wolff v. McDonnell,
— U.S. — ,94S.Ct. 2693, 41 L.Ed.2d — , and Procunier v.
Martinez, supra.

Massive precedent in the matter of state prison operation
reflects the long maintained attitude of this Court to avoid
unnecessary intervention in and interference with the
internal administration of state penal institutions, subject
to one paramount principle, the Court never hesitates to
vindicate the federally guaranteed constitutional rights of
those imprisoned therein. We have sought to consider and
decide this case within those guidelines.

In the respects indicated, the judgment of the District
Court is affirmed and remanded. In others, as set forth, the
judgment is vacated and remanded for further proceedings
not inconsistent herewith.

A-6

With these provisos, the entire cause will now be
remanded to the District Court for the exercise of a retained
jurisdiction.

A-7

Anited States Court of Appeals

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

OCTOBER TERM, 1972

No. 72-3689

D. C. Docket No. CA 3-5220

JOSEPH TAYLOR, et al.,
Plaintiffs-A ppellees,
versus

W. L. STERRETT, et al.,
Defendants-A ppellants.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Texas
Before COLEMAN and SIMPSON, Circuit Judges, and
RUBIN, Districi Judge.
JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of the
record from ‘the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Texas, and was argued by counsel;

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here ordered
and adjudged by this Court that the order of the District
Court appealed from, in this cause be, and the same is
hereby, affirmed in part and vacated in part; and that this
cause be, and the same is hereby remanded to the said
District Court in accordance with the opinion of this Court.

August 19, 1974
Issued as Mandate: SEPTEMBER 10, 1974

|

B-1

Ar eit SE BQ 2

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
_ DALLAS DIVISION

Abend

CIVIL ACTION 3-5220-B
JOSEPH TAYLOR, et al.,
Plaintiffs,
vs

W. L. STERRETT, et al.,
Defendants.

CIVIL ACTION 3-4138-C

JULIUS DWAIN PERRY, SR.., et al.,
Plaintiffs,
vs
JAMES E. (BILL) DECKER, et al.,
Defendants.

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND JUDGMENT

This civil rights suit considers conditions of life experi-
enced by prisoners at the Dallas County jail. The plaintiffs,
Joseph Taylor, James Douglas Thompson and John Henry
Woods, Jr., are inmates at the Dallas County jail. They have
brought this action for themselves and as representatives of

‘+ a Class comprising all the inmates of the jail.

The defendants are Dallas County officials charged with
responsibility for the maintenance and supervision of the

B-2

jail: W. L. Sterrett, County Judge; Mel Price, John Whitting-
ton, Jim Tyson, and Roy Orr, members of the Commissioners
Court; Clarence Jones, Sheriff; Carl Rowland, Chief Jailer;
and J. N. Pickard, M.D., Dallas County Health Officer. The
Court acquired jurisdiction over this action pursuant to 28
U.S.C. 1343 which authorizes a federal district court to
hear actions under 42 U.S.C. 1983 to redress any depriva-
tion, under color of state law, of any right, privilege or
immunity secured by the Constitution. The plaintiffs seek
declaratory and injunctive relief under 28 U.S.C. 2201
against certain acts, practices, policies and conditions at
the Dallas County jail.

Prior to the hearing on the merits of the complaint, this
Court issued a permanent injunction concerning the prac-
tice of censorship of the mail by jail officials. The Court
ordered the Sheriff to cease opening or censoring mail
transmitted between inmates of the jail and the following
persons; courts, prosecuting attorneys, probation and
parole officers, governmental agencies, lawyers and the
press.

Also during the pendency of this suit, the Court entered a
preliminary injunction against the jail officials enjoining
them from destroying certain reading materials to which
the prisoners attached importance and which they do not
wish to surrender, provided that the prisoners maintain the
material in good condition and do not create a fire or health
hazard. These materials included law books, legal materi-
als, legal documents, books, magazines and newspaper
clippings.

B-3

Before the trial on the merits, the Court visited the
facilities of the Dallas County jail with the chief jailer and
counsel for the plaintiffs and defendants. During these
visits the Court became acquainted with the areas which
are the subject of this suit. The Court's familiarity with the
physical condition of the jail permits it to take judicial
notice of certain matters presented during the trial.

Immediately prior to trial the case of Perry v. Decker,
C.A.3-4138-C was consolidated with Taylor v. Sterrett. The
Perry case complained of inadequacy of medical services
and was brought by Julius Duane Perry an inmate of jail, for
himself and as representative of the class of inmates
similarly situated.

The plaintiffs have alleged in their complaint a long list of
deprivations which they contend constitute individually and
collectively a violation of their rights protected by the first,
eighth and fourteenth amendments of the Constitution. In
addition, the plaintiffs declare that the defendants have
failed to comply with State law regarding the operation and
supervision of the county jail. The constitutional questions
raised by the complaint are substantial and require the
intervention of the Court to assess the charges and to
redress any infringement on the rights of the class. The
Court takes cognizance of the strong pressures on it to
abstain from reviewing matters involving prison adminis-
tration and policy. “It is a rule grounded in necessity and
common sense, as well as authority, that the maintenance
of discipline in a prison is an executive function with which
the judicial branch, ordinarily will not interfere."’ Sewell v.
Pegelow, 291 F.2d 196, 197 (4th Cir-1961). Although the

_—>

B-4

federal courts are reluctant to interfere with the internal
operation of jails, the claims made by the plaintiffs in the
present case do not involve mere matters of preference or
convenience concerning administrative practices. The alle-
gations raise basic questions of constitutionally protected
rights.

Thé Court recognizes that the plaintiffs are prisoners
held either for conviction of a crime or under charge of a
crime. Although the courts have acknowledged that pri-
soners have obvious limitations placed on their privileges
and rights, ‘‘it is well established that prisoners do not lose
all their constitutional rights and that the Due Process and
Equal Protection Clauses of the Fourteenth Amendment
follow them into prison and protect them there from uncon-
stitutional action on the part of prison authorities carried
out under color of State law.’ Washington v. Lee, 263 F.
Supp. 327. 331 (N.D. Ala.), aff'd sub nom., 389 U.S. 967
(1967). Furthermore, when the rights of those prisoners
who are held as pretrial detainees are in question the
courts have subjected the cases to even closer scrutiny.
Anderson v. Nosser, 438 F.2d 183 (5th Cir. 1971).

PHYSICAL FEATURES — CROWDING

The Dallas County jail is located in two buildings referred
to as the old jail and the new jail. The new jail is located in
the new County Government Center. It was designated to
accomodate 1220 inmates at capacity. The quarters now in
use in the two buildings has a total capacity for 1370
inmates. During the first fourteen days of May 1972, the

—-

* nd

B-5

peak number per day varied from 1491 on May 6th to 1693
on May 4th. The average peak number for the fourteen days
was 1589. During 1971 the average daily number housed
during three months of the year was more than 1700 and
one month was more than 1800. The women’s section
located on one floor of the new jail consists oi 25 cells
containing 198 bunks. On the day of the trial there were 92
female inmates, leaving more than 100 bunks unoccupied.
The failure to use all the bunks on this floor results from
design problems which do not provide adequate segregation
of male and female prisoners. The vacancies on the
women’s floor increases the crowding of the cells reserved
for men.

Most of the inmates are lodged in cells each with 8 to 12
bunks which open into a ‘‘day room.” The entire area is
referred to as a “tank”, the capacity of a tank varying from
approximately 24 to 36. In addition to ten tanks there are
168 cells without a day room each containing several bunks.
These open into a corridor.

All tanks for men are overcrowded having approximately
15 more inmates than the number of bunks. Those not
assigned to bunks sleep on mattresses in the day room. The
hospital ward for men is likewise overcrowded and it is
common for men to sleep on mattresses in place of beds. Its
capacity is 48. On the day of the Court's visit there were 62
persons who had been admitted.

At the time the new jail was built in 1966 the old jail was
abandoned and became unusable for the detention of
prisoners. It soon became apparent that the new jail was

B-6

inadequate, but no steps were taken to repair or remodel
the facilities in the old jail until 1971. Early in 1972 a part of
the old jail was opened and some prisoners transferred to
it. Presently 150 inmates are lodged there. By remodeling
and removing stored items an additional 550 men could be
housed. In addition to the possibility of use of all quarters in
the old jail the Sheriff reported that the 100 extra bunks in
the women’s section could be used for men by changing the
floor plan.

In addition to the tanks and cells without day rooms the
jail has a number of solitary cells, which are completely
inadequate, used for punitive segregation and insane
prisoners. Six have dimensions of 4°3" x 5'1". The rest
measure 611" x 5'1"’ and 7°1"’ x 6’. Only four have running
water. None have drinking fountains. The only facility for
excrement is a hole in the floor which is rarely flushed.
There is no outside light, the inside electric globe burning
24 hours a day. Mattresses are used in place of bunks. The
only place to sit is on the floor or mattresses. Insane
persons are placed in the solitary cells without the benefit
of padding on the walls or a Hammock for sleeping.

MEDICAL FACILITIES

The medical care facilities consist of an infirmary for
men with 48 beds and one for women with 18 beds. There is
provision for a nurse to be on duty 24 hours each day. In
addition there is a doctor on call throughout the day.
Previous requests by inmates for the nurse have been
ignored, but recently a policy has been inaugurated of
sending a note, termed a “kite’’, to the nurse immediately.
Until recently the only dental care has been tooth extrac-

Sie:

B-7

tion. The program has now been expanded to include filling.
Examination of inmates is not adequate — when admitted
they are tested only for tuberculosis and for venereal
disease if suspected. Food handlers receive no examina-
tion.

PRACTICES, POLICIES and PROCEDURES

Censorship

Prior to the filing of this suit, the chief jailer enforced a
policy of opening and reading each item of mail which was
transmitted between prisoners and the outside. The stated
purpose of this procedure was to insure security and to
prevent the transmission of contraband. The jailer in -
charge of this procedure would read all of the inmate mail
and had authority to refuse to send those letters which he
found unacceptable for outside mailing. If there was matter
in the letters which did not meet his approval, the jailer
returned the letter to the inmate for rewriting. All letters
had to be submitted to the jailer unsealed.

The first action taken in the present case was the enjoin
the Sheriff from continuing this procedure as it applies to .
certain categories of mail. The inspection of the mail
between the inmates and the persons or agencies set out in
the order is now limited to superficial examination for
possible contraband.

The testimony of Chief Rowland revealed that since the
first of the year his department has stopped the censorship
of all mail and has limited its inspection to merely discovery

B-8

of money or contraband which could be transmitted. In his
opinion, the practice of censorship of the mail has little
impact on the security of the jail.

Reading Matter

The inmates of the jail have access to periodicals and
books by purchasing them off the commissary cart and
through mail subscriptions. The reading matter sold from
the cart is limited to a list of items approved by the Sheriff.
The alleged criteria for the periodicals are (1) that they
contain no pictures of nude persons and (2) that there be no
pictures of weapons. The Sheriff or the chief jailer has the
sole authority to decide what books or periodicals are
admitted to the jail.

The plaintiffs presented at trial evidence of magazines
which are sold from the cart, yet do not conform to the
stated policy of the jail. There were several with pictures of
nude women and guns and stories of crime. Furthermore,
inmates have been refused permission to have magazines
which do not violate the two criteria.

Jail Rules and Discipline

Previously there have been no written rules relating to
conduct in the jail and inmates were not advised of any
unwritten rules. Infraction of rules was punished by a
supervisor on complaint of a guard or of a corridor boss
who is merely an inmate chosen by the supervisor. It was
not required that the inmate be advised of the charge and
he could be placed in solitary, without a hearing, for an
indefinite time. There was no provision for review.

B-9

The Sheriff testified that new rules have been promul-
gated and will be posted in each tank and in the corridors.
New prisoners will likewise be given a copy. As of the date
of the trial the rules had not been posted and even the Chief
Jailer was unaware of their existence.

The Sheriff has likewise proposed a formal procedure for
handling infractions of the rules. Under this procedure the
guard or other jail personnel who witnesses the infraction
must submit a written statement of the offense which is
directed to a supervisor who reviews the report and then
assesses the punishment. The prisoner is presented with a
copy of the charge and the disposition made by the
supervisor. On the back of the report the Sheriff has listed
an appeals procedure which the prisoner may initiate after
the supervisor has acted. There is no provision for notice of
.the charge prior to action by the supervisor and one
member of the Appeals Board is the Jail Supervisor taking
the punitive action. As of the trial this new procedure had
not been put into effect.

Recreation & Exercise .

There is no area or program for exercise and recreation
for inmates in the jail. The prisoners are confined to their
cells for the duration of their sentences or until their trial.
While a prisoner is waiting on post conviction appeals, he
remains in the jail and it is not uncommon for prisoners to
be in jail for several years while the appeal is being
considered.

When a person is placed in jail he is forced to remain in a
cell with no opportunity to engage in recreational activities

B-10

other than reading and playing cards and dominos. The
prisoners have no exposure to either sunlight or fresh air.
In the new jail, the only outside light is transmitted through
translucent windows. Artificial light is so poor that reading
presents difficulties. The overcrowded cells, poor ventila-
tion, poor lighting and lack of exercise all contribute to the
physical deterioration of the inmates and these factors also
tend to heighten their frustrations and anxieties. There is
no opportunity to burn off surplus energy other than by
mischievous conduct.

Rehabilitation and Counseling

Prior to the filing of this suit, there was no program of
rehabilitation or education at the jail. There is no effort to
influence the lives of the inmates in any positive manner.
The county performs an exclusively custodial function of
placing the accused and the convicted into crowded cells
and letting them vegetate until their release. The county
officials have completely ignored the rehabilitative role the
jail should play in the criminal justice system.

In the past months the Chaplain has begun a small pilot
program of teaching selected prisoners some rudimentary
educational subjects. There is, however, no established
program of evaluating the needs of the inmates and then
providing them with education, vocational training or
counseling.

There are no trained counselors for the inmates other
than the voluntary work done by the chaplains. Men do not
have the privilege of attending religious services. The only
religious service available is for the chaplain to come into

te ndeaenaans eb A a Bee 1
NY
’
‘
‘

B-11

the tank and speak. The practice of the jail is totally devoid
of any constructive measures which might act on an
individual prisoner to influence him to become a contri-
buting member of society. The inmates are relegated to the
dehumanizing existence of idle isolation in a cage. The
fundamental objective of correctional institutions, that of
rehabilitation, has been subordinated to the limited goal
of punishment and security.

Classification and Segregation of Prisoners

The inmate population of the Dallas County jail consists of
arrestees, persons convicted of misdemeanors serving their
sentence, convicted felons awaiting either a decision on
appeal or transfer to the Texas Department of Corrections,
and federal prisoners awaiting trial. The jail officials,
however, have not made any attempt to segregate the
various classes of prisoners in any meaningful way. The
Sheriff testified that he was instituting a system of classi-
fication based on a maximum, medium, and minimum
security risk standard. At the present time, however, this
program has not been implemented. The inmates of the jail
are assigned to cells on the basis of their name, that is, by
alphabetical order.

The pretrial detainees in most instances experience
treatment similar to that accorded convicted criminals, but
in some respects they are in a worse position. They are not
permitted to engage in the limited educational program at
the jail, and they are not allowed to work in the relative
freedom of the trusty job. Ironically, when one compares
the opportunities for education, recreation, and training at

B-12

the Texas Department of Corrections to the total lack of any

programs at the Dallas jail, the obvious conclusion is that

these technically innocent individuals suffer worse punish-_
ment in the jail than the convicted in the penitentiary.

Ostensibly, the chief purpose of placing the arrestee in jail

is to guarantee his appearance at trial. His incarceration

is, in most instances, because he cannot afford to pay a

bondsman. The result is that pretrial detainees are sub-

jected to the demanding confinement in the jail without trial

solely because they lack money.

The plaintiffs have alleged that the jail officials enforce a
policy of racial segregation of the prisoners. The Sheriff
denies that there is a policy of racial segregation, but he
admitted that there are a number of tanks which are all
black or all white. In the visit of the Court to the jail, there
was almost complete segregation of blacks and whites.

Guards

The Sheriff testified in the trial that one of the major
restrictions on providing any meaningful programs for the
inmates is the lack of adequate supervisory personnel.
There are 99 guards divided into three shifts. While the
guards are on duty, they supervise the five floors of the new
jail and the old jail which together house rmore than 1500
persons. On account of the high ratio of prisoners to guard
the role of the guard is limited to housekeeping and to
security measures such as controlling inmate conduct and
preventing escapes. According to the Sheriff, the small
staff has resulted in restrictions being placed on the
privileges of inmates to use telephones and on coordinating

eer ke tad

B-13

visiting sessions and has likewise prevented and develop-
ment and coordination of recreational, educational, and
vocational training programs.

The Cop-out System

During the trial of this action, the plaintiffs raised a
constitutional question regardimg the practice of admitting
investigators into the jail to interview the inmates concern-
ing their plea on the charges for which they are held. The
investigators, called cop-out men, are individuals hired by
the District Attorney and assigned to particular State
courts. Their chief role is to work out an agreeable
recommendation for punishment to be presented by the
District Attorney if the inmate pleads guilty. As a matter of
policy, the investigators will not discuss a plea or punish-
ment with an inmate who has a lawyer ualess the lawyer
is present. If the inmate has no lawyer, the cop-out man
interviews him, regardless of whether the inmate has
requested the interview. Although the investigators are not
part of the Sheriff's staff, they are given relatively free
access to the jail and the inmates. The plaintiffs have asked
that the Sheriff be enjoined to restrict the access of cop-out
men to the prisoners except when the prisoner makes a
specific request for an interview.

APPLICABLE LAW

This action is primarily a class action. While there was
testimony relating to individual grievances this memoran-
dum opinion and judgment relates only to the abuses and
deprivations common to all inmates.

B-14

Texas Statutory Requirements

The Texas legislature has provided for certain miminum
standards for county jail facilities.’

In the statutes, the legislature has charged the Commis-
sioners Court with the ultimate responsibility for providing
“safe and suitable jails... The laws also state that the
sheriff is to be the keeper of the jail, with the right to
delegate the responsibility to a jailer who will be under his
supervision and control.

The statute requires that the jail provide for adequate
segregation for the prisoners. The county must separate
“first offenders awaiting trial, from all classifications of
convicted prisoners.” As heretofore stated there is no
segregation of pretrial detainees from other inmates in the
Dallas jail. Although there is some segregation of those
suspected of insanity from other inmates, the facilities for
housing do not comply with the statute.

Article 5115 sets down the minimum standards on the
dimensions and capacities of the cells in county jails.
Solitary cells are to have a minimum of 40 square feet, and
larger cells must have a minimum of 18 square feet per
prisoner. The law. prescribes that 24 is the maximum
number of prisoners which may be placed in a “tank.”

The sanitation and health requirements for jails include
the provision of at least one water closet and combination
lavatory and drinking fountain for each 12 prisoners or
fraction thereof. In addition, the law requires that there be
a shower for each 12 prisoners and another water closet

B-15

and fountain for each day room. Each inmate must be
provided a bunk.

The defendants have been quite candid in their admission
that the county does not provide facilities which conform to
article 5115. Furthermore, they do not contest the pendent

_ jurisdiction of this Court to adjudicate the State law

question. The failure to provide’ the necessary space to
house the prisoner population is one of the chief Causes of
the deprivations which the inmates experience. Living in
the overcrowded cells with less than minimal sanitary
facilities has a dehumanizing effect on the persons subject
to these conditions. Already this year the Dallas jail has
witnessed a riot of inmates protesting the substandard and

' inhumane conditions.

The charges of inadequate medical treatment and the use
of the solitary cells arise in large part from the deficiencies
in the physical facilities. The overcrowding of the infirmary
prevents the treatment of many who should be admitted and
the lack of space makes the proper care impossible. The use
of the solitary cells is one of the significant challenges of the
plaintiffs. The plaintiffs have charged that confinement in
the small cells with no Sanitary facilities or running water

. constitutes cruel and unusual punishment and a violation of

due process. By the defendants’ own admission, the cells do
not meet the minimum requirements of the State statute.
The Court therefore, is not compelled to apply subjective
criteria such as “unnecessary cruelty,"2 “standards of
fairness and justice,”3 and “evolving standards of de-
cency’’4 to decide the question of cruel and unusual punish-
ment. The statute provides an objective basis. for judging

B-16

the jail facilities, and the Dallas jail does not withstand the
test of the local law.

The County Health Officer testified that the inmates
working in the kitchen did not have health certificates.
Article 705d of the Texas Penal Code requires that food
handlers have an examination by a licensed physician to
detect the presence of communicable diseases.

Eighth Amendment

In addition to violating State statutes, the plaintiffs
contend that the county officials subject them to cruel and
unusual punishment prohibited by the eighth amendment
because of the imposition of the following conditions:
overcrowded cells and tanks necessitating sleeping in day
rooms and corridors; the use of inadequate and unsanitary
solitary cells; unclassified assignment to tanks and cells;
lack of physical exercise and of a rehabilitation program;
supervision of inmates by other inmates called corridor
bosses; inadequate medical facilities; the lack of rules of
conduct and rules for discipline procedures.

In the past the courts limited tneir review under the
eighth amendment to isolated incidents involving physical
brutality.5 The focus has been on a particular practice and
not on a broad view of the system as the cause of the
punishment. Rucently the courts have expanded their
examination of the charges of cruel and unusual punish-
ment giving consideration to the effect of a “‘combination of
circumstances’ upon the contested act, practice or
system.6

B-17

They have placed emphasis on the role of the eighth
amendment as it applies to overall prison conditions which
have been found detrimental to the mental and moral well
being of inmates as well as being physically debilitating.”
As early as 1910 the Supreme Court in Weems v. United
States, 217 U.S. 349, held that the eighth amendment “. . .
is not fastened to the obsolete but may acquire meaning as
public opinion becomes enlightened by a humane justice.”
Id 378. The Court declared further that it was the intent of
the drafters of the amendment that it cover “*. . . exercises
of cruelty by laws other than those which inflicted bodily
pain or mutilation.” Id 372. In Robinson v. California, 370
U.S. 660 (1962) the Court concluded that the eighth
amendment applies to the states.

The emphasis on nonphysical concepts of cruel and
unusual punishment gained impetus in the courts as it is
applied in a correctional context in the case of Jackson v.
Bishop, 404 F.2d 571 (8th Cir. 1968). Although this case
considered the use of physical punishment on inmates, the
Court condemned such punishment because of its lack of
rehabilitative potential.

“Corporal punishment generates hate toward the
keepers who punish and toward the system which
permits it. . . It frustrates correctional and rehabilita-
tive goals ... Whipping creates other penological
problems and makes adjustment to society more
difficult." Id. at 580.

The trend toward examining programs for rehabilitation in
conjunction with physical abuses and inhumane treatment
has been articulated in the decisiun of Holt v. Sarver, 309 F.

B-18

Supp. 362 (E.D. Ark. 1970). which declared the entire
Arkansas prison system violative of the eighth amendment
constituting cruel and unusual punishment.

The Arkansas prison system displayed shocking prac-
tices of brutality and injustices perpetrated on prisoners.
The Court was confronted with numerous practices which
even in isolated use would have constituted cruel and
unusual punishment. In spite of the obvious cruelty in the
practices, the Court also placed emphasis on them in the
context of the system's failure to offer any program of
rehabilitation and to prepare inmates for release. In this
connection it stated:

“The absence of an affirmative program of training
and rehabilitation may have constitutional significance
where in the absence of such a program conditions and
practices exist which actually militate against reform
and rehabilitation . . . The absence of rehabilitation
services and facilities ... remains a factor in the
overall constitutional equation . . .”” 309 F. Supp. 379.

Holt v. Sarver is a recognition of one of the most widely
regarded theories of penology that restraint and retribution
have a tendency to produce recidivism in the inmates upon
their release. The report of the President’s Commission on
Law Enforcement and Administration of Justice; The
Challenge of Crime in a Free Society (1967) had this to say
with reference to our penal institutions:

“Life in many institutions is at best barren and futle,
at worst unspeakably brutal and degrading. To be
sure, the offenders in such institutions are incapaci-
tated from committing further crimes while serving

ates

B-19

their sentences, but the conditions in which they live
are the poorest possible preparation for their success-
ful reentry into society, and often merely reinforces
in them a pattern of manipulation or destructiveness.”
Id. 159.

Rehabilitation must be the overriding goal of our correc-
tional institutions. Unless society subordinates all of the
correctional purposes of the goal of rehabilitaton, it faces
the paradox of promoting the production rather than the
reduction of crime.

Another important deficiency in the Dallas jail program is
the lack of any program for recreation or exercise. The
Chief Justice of the Supreme Court. Warren E. Burger, has
stated that recreation is a necessary concommitant with
education in our prisons. He recognized that one of the
more pervasive evils in our correctional institutions is
idleness and gave this admonition concerning the lack of
programs in our jails:

“Playing cards, watching television or an occasional
movie (the Dallas jail has no video recreation), with
nothing more, is building up to an expensive accounting
when these men are released — if not before. Such
crude recreation may keep quiet for the time, but it is a
quiet that is ominous for the society they will try to
reenter.''8

The lack of physical exercise has been considered by the
Courts in the context of being cruel and unusual punish-
ment. In Sinclair v. Henderson, 341 F. Supp. 1123 (E.D.
La. 1971), the Court reviewed the charge that the failure to
afford inmates confined on Death Row an opportunity for
exercise was a violation of the eighth amendment. It noted

B-20

the decision in Morris v. Travisono, 310 F. Supp. 857 (D.R.1.
1970), which required the State to provide outdoor exercise
to prisoners and concluded that ‘‘[c]onfinement for long
periods of time without the opportunity for regular outdoor
exercise does, as a matter of law, constitute cruel and
unusual punishment. . .”’ 331 F. Supp. at 1131.

The plaintiffs have challenged the use of the punitive
segregation cells as a violation of the eighth amendment. As
heretofore stated in the discussion of the State law, most of
the cells do not conform to the standards provided in the
statute. In Novak v. Beto, 452 F.2d 661 (5th Cir. 1971)
rehearing denied en banc, No. 31116 (5th Cir., Mar. 8,
1972), the Court considered the propriety of the use of
solitary confinement at the Texas Department of Correc-
tions. In that case the facility in queston conformed to the
physical requirements of the statute. In upholding the use of
the solitary cells, the majority placed great weight on the
fact that the cells were sanitary and there was no
“deprivation of the basic elements of hygiene.” Id. at 665.
The Novak case is clearly distinguishable from the situation
at the Dallas jail. Here there are no sanitary facilities, the
cells are smaller than the statutory requirement and there
has been in the recent past the practice of placing the
inmate in the cell nude and on bread and water diet. The
use of the substandard facilities at the Dallas jail for
punitive segregation or any other purpose would constitute
cruel and unusual punishment.

Fourteenth Amendment

The plaintiffs have asserted that the practices and
policies of the jail in relation to discipline for infraction of

herr SP Sohail

B-21

the rules, particularly with reference to pretrial detainees
infringes on their civil rights protected by the fourteenth
amendment. There are several recent cases bearing on this
subject.

In Landman v. Royster, 333 F. Supp. 621 (E.D. Va. 1971)
inmates of a Virginian prison complained of the manner in
which punishment was inflicted. The Court held that
inadjudicatory proceedings ‘‘certain due process rights are
both necessary and will not unduly impede legitimate prison
functions."’ Id. 653. Two of these requirements the Court
declared were: ‘First, the decision must be made by an
impartial tribunal — Second, there shall be hearing." Id.
653.

Sinclair v. Henderson, 341 F. Supp. 1123 (E.D. La. 1971)
was a Case involving discipline of prisoners on death row in
a Louisiana prison. The Court held (1) there must be rules
officially promulgated and communicated to the prisoner (2)
the prisoner must be given official written notice of the
specific charge against him (3) before serious punishment.
such as punitive segregation, can be imposed, the prisoner
must be given a hearing at which he shall have an opportu-
nity to be heard (4) the imposition of punishment should be
made by one other than the accusing guard.

These two cases deal with convicted felons confined in
prison. The inmates of the Dallas jail in addition to those
serving sentences for misdemeanors includes pretrial de-
tainees and men whose sentences are on appeal. All are
entitled to due process in the assessment of punishment.

B-22

It is, however, not necessary that the procedure for
inmates in all institutions to receive exactly the same
treatment in order for their rights to be protected. There is
no question in this case or in Landman and Sinclair of the
power of the person in charge to discipline the inmates. The
proper operation of the institution requires order. It is
recognized that when rules are violated there is need to act
quickly and in a way that will not disrupt the security of the
jail and the safety of the other inmates. It seems reasonable
to place inmates in solitary for short periods of time without
a hearing in case of certain violations and such action
would not be a violation of rights under certain circum-
stances.

The procedure rules for discipline promulgated by the
Sheriff appear to be reasonable except that an inmate who
is confined in a solitary cell for more than three days should
have a hearing and if an appeal is taken the person
charging the inmate should not be on the Board. The Sheriff
is likewise to be complimented for limiting the maximum
time in solitary to fifteen days when heretofore it has been
unlimited.

The recent en banc decision of Anderson v. Nosser, .......
ae (5th Cir. 1972) holds that confinement of
arrestees under the conditions existing in a Mississippi
prison were a violation of due process. Here conditions are
not similar and we do not hold that the mere confinement of
the inmates in the Dallas County jail is a failure of due
process.

B-23

CONCLUSION

The correctional programs and facilities of the Dallas
County jail are in desperate need of upgrading and
expansion. The county does not provide the minimum
facilities required by law. The policy of the county has been
to confine the accused and the convicted as inexpensively
as possible thereby preventing their circulation in society.
Punishment results from the inadequate facilities and
unpleasant experience. The present jail system serves no
other purpose.

The local jail performs the unique role of being a misde-
meanant institution, that is, an institution for persons
charged with petty crimes with short sentences. The local
jail is the only correctional institution to which the
misdemeanant is associated, but the term correctional is a
euphumism. Dallas County has shown complete _indif-
ference to its responsibility to attempt rehabilitation of
those offenders charged to its care.

The Sheriff and chief jailer in recent months made an
effort to change some of the deficient conditions at the jail.
For these efforts they are to be commended. The county has
begun renovating the old jail: medical and dental programs
have been upgraded: censorship of mail has been limited:
punitive segregation has been limited to 15 days: the dis-
ciplined prisoner is not deprived of his clothing: a pilot
remedial education program is underway: and the inmates
have increased telephone and visitation privileges.

The Sheriff has stated that he is prepared to initiate more
programs and to improve the jail, but he is handicapped by

B-24 .

a smal! staff and small budget. There is no quantitative
statement of the costs which the necessary improvements
will require. This Court recognizes that enlarging the jail
will be costly, but “inadequate resources can never be an
adequate justification for depriving any person of his
constitutional rights."’ Hamilton v. Love, 328 F.Supp. 1182
(E.D. Ark. 1971).

.

The injunctive order provided herein is, of course, only
the minimal action which is required. The Court is
encouraged by the apparent good faith and interest of the
Sheriff's Department in providing a ‘safe and suitable jail."’
Although this Court does not invite judicial review of jail
administration, it is hoped that public attention to jail
conditions which this action has produced will stimulate
interest in the community to do something about our jails.
The recent events at Attica. New York and the disturbance
at the Dallas jail should be warnings of the need to
re-examine and upgrede correctional programs. The costs

for making the changes may be substantial. But the

consequences of inaction are greater.

In view of the foregoing conditions at the Dallas County
jail. it is the Judgirent of this Court:

1. The Commissioners Court is enjoined from further
violating the provisions of Article 5115 of the Texas Revised
Civil Statutes and is directed to provide immediately as

follows:

a. Sufficient cells and tanks to accommodate a number of
inmates equal to the largest number in the Dallas County
jail during 1972 in any one day.

oe

we Sn ee)

B-25

b. Solitary cells of not less than 40 sq. feet, provided with
a bunk, water closet and a combination drinking fountain
and lavatory.

c. The capacity of the hospital ward for men shall be
increased and bunks provided for all patients confined
therein.

d. Padded cells with hammocks for insane persons.

It is suggested in this connection that the old jail be
renovated and the women’s floor in the new jail be
redesigned to accommodate both male and female inmates.
A reasonable time for the completion of these improvements
in the opinion of the Court is six months. Even with such
remodeling and repairs the provisions of Article 5115 will
not be wholly complied with. The Court directs that the
Commissioners Court make immediate plans for full compli-
ance within a reasonable time. A Regional Jail is a possible
answer to the complete fulfillment of these requirements
but plans for a Regional Jail are not sufficient reason for the
failure to implement all the statutory provisions for a ‘‘safe
and suitable” jail as required by Article 5115.

2. The Commissioners Court is directed to provide an
outdoor area for exercise and a rehabilitative program of
recreation. As a temporary arrangement it is suggested
that the roof of the jail be remodeled to provide for such
facilities, the possibility for which was suggested by the
Sheriff. In a permanent plan for new facilities, quarters
should be provided for chapel services and educational
programs.

B-26

3. The Commissioners Court is directed to provide jail
guards sufficient for security for jail facilities without the
use of inmate assistance.

4. The permanent injunction heretofore issued relating
to censorship of mail is affirmed and carried forward in this
judgment. The Sheriff is directed not to open or censor mail
transmitted between inmates of the jail and the following
persons: courts, prosecuting attorneys, probation and
parole officers, governmental agencies, lawyers end the
press.

5. The preliminary injunction, heretofore issued relating
to the destruction of rvading matter belonging to inmates is
made a permanent injunction and the Sheriff and other jail
officials are enjoined from destroying law books, legal
materials, legal documents, books, magazines and news-
paper clippings provided such material is maintained in
good condition and does not create a fire or health hazard.

6. While this Court will not interfere in the standards set
up by the Sheriff for inmates receiving magazines or books,
it appears that the policy has not been adhered to and the
Sheriff is directed to see that greater care is exercised in
determining the books\and magazines made available to in-
mates so as to permit inmates to have reading material not
prohibited and to re&trict the receipt by inmates of
prohibited material.

7. The Sheriff is directed to make effective the new
policy relating to rules of conduct of inmates. These rules
must be communicated to the inmates apprising them of
what conduct can subject them to discipline, the penalty for

B-27

infraction and the procedure bby which such a determina-
tion will be made. Before any jpunishment for confinement
of more than 3 days in solitary is inflicted hearings should
be held. In case of the appeal of any sentence the officer
charging or sentencing the inmate should not be a member
of the Board of Appeals.

8. The Sheriff is directed mot to allow persons to see
prisoners except with the consent or request of the inmates.
This has particular reference tto ‘cop-out’ men, who have
had free access to the jail.

9. The Sheriff is directed to inaugurate a classification
system taking into consideration security, integration and
status of inmates as to whether they are pretrial detainees
or convicted inmates.

10. The Sheriff is enjoined from using inmates as
corridor bosses to enforce rules and preserve discipline.

11. The Sheriff is directed not to use any cell of less than
40 square feet, not to place more inmates in cells and tanks
than those such facilities are designed to accommodate, nor
to place anyone in solitary celll unless it is provided with
a bunk, water closet and a combination fountain and
lavatory.

12. The Sheriff is directed to have employees and
inmates handling food examined by a licensed physician to
detect the presence of communicable diseases as required
by Article 705d of the Texas Penal Code.

Attorneys fees are denied. Costs are taxed against
Defendants.

B-28

While this opinion closes this case it may be reopened
within a reasonable time on application of the plaintiffs

contending that Defendants are not making a diligent, good ,

faith effort to comply with the order of this Court.

SARAH T. HUGHES
United States District Judge

1. Article 5115 of the Texas Revised Civil Statutes Annotated
provides in pertinent part as follows:

The Commissioners Court shall provide safe and suitable jails
for their respective counties, and shall cause the same to be
maintained in good sanitary condition at all times, properly
ventilated, heated, and lighted . . .

SUITABLE SEGREGATION
The term “‘safe and suitable jails,” . . . shall be construed to
mean jails which provide adequate segregation facilities .. .
separating . . . first offenders, awaiting trial, from all classifica-

tions of convicted prisoners. . .

[Flor ... temporary holding of each person suspected of
insanity, or who has been legally adjudged insane, there shall be

provided a special enclosure or room, not less than forty (40) .

square feet .. . Furthermore, the floor and the walls of such
enclosure shall be provided with a soft covering designed to
protect a violent person, temporarily held a, from self-
injury or destruction .

SUITABLE SECURITY AND SAFETY
For the purpose of this Act, the term “safe and suitable jails” is

further defined to mean jails which provide adequate security .

and safety facilities by having separate cells or compartments,
dormitories and day rooms, of varying dimensions and capacities
for prisoners confined therein, except that, if practicable, no one
such cell or compartment shall be designed for confining two (2)
prisoners only. Cells or compartments: shall be designed, to
accommodate from one (1) to eight (8) prisoners each, and
furthermore, such dormitories and day rooms shall be designed
to accommodate not more than twenty-four (24) prisoners each

. All cells, compartments and dormitories for sleeping

B-29

purposes, where each such cell, compartment or dormitory is
designed to accommodate three (3) or more prisoners, shall be
accessible to a day room to which prisoners may be given access
during the day. Cells for one (1) prisoner only shall have a
minimum floor area of forty (40) square feet and all other cells,
compartments, dormitories and day rooms ... shall have
minimum floor area equal to eighteen (18) square feet for each
prisoner to be confined therein.

SUITABLE SANITATION AND HEALTH

The term ‘safe and suitable jails” is further defined to mean
jails which provide adequate facilities for maintaining, proper
standards in sanitation and health. Each cell designed for one (1)
prisoner only shall be provided with a water closet and a
combination lavatory and drinking fountain, table and seat. Each
cell, compartment or dormitory designed for three (3) or more
prisoners, shall be provided with one (1) water closet and one (1)
combination lavatory and drinking fountain for each twelve (12)
prisoners or fraction thereof to be confined therein. Further-
more, all such cells, compartments and dormitories shall be
provided with one (1) bunk, not less two (2) feet, three (3) inches
wide and six (6) feet, three (3) inches long, for each prisoner to
be confined therein. Furthermore, each day room for the confine-
ment of three (3) or more prisoners shall be provided with one (1)
water closet, one (1) combination lavatory and drinking fountain
and one (1) shower bath for each twelve (12) prisoners, or
fraction thereof, to be confined therein. Furthermore, each day
room shall be otherwise suitably furnished.

2. Wilberson v. Utah, 99 U.S. 130, 136 (1878).

3. Louisiana ex rel. Francis v. Resweber, 329 U.S. 470 (1947)
(Frankfurter, J, concurring).

4. Trop v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86, 101 (1958).

5. See, e.g., Wiltsie v. California Dep't of Corrections, 406 F .2d

515 (9th Cir. 1968); Jordan v. Fitzharris, 257 F. Supp. 674 (N.D.
Cal. 1966); Talley v. Stephens, 247 F. Supp. 683 (ED Ark 1965)

6. See Novak v. Beto, 453 F.2d 661, 675 (5th Cir. 1971) (Tuttle, J..
concurring in part and dissenting in part).

7. See, e.g., Jackson v. Bishop, 401 F.2d 571 (8th Cir. 1968); Holt
v. Sarver, 309 F. Supp. 362 (E.D. Ark 1969), aff'd. 442 F.2d 304
(8th Cir. 1971).

8. Address by Chief Justice Warren E. Burger, National Con-
ference on Corrections, Dec. 7, 1971.

C-1
APPENDIX C
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES
CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES

EIGHTH AMENDMENT

Excessive bail shall not be required, nor excessive fines
imposed, nor cruel and unusual punishments inflicted.

FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the United
States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens
of the United States and of the State wherein they reside.
No State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge
the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States;
nor shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or
property, without due process of law; nor deny to any
person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the
laws.

TEXAS STATUTES

TEXAS REVISED CIVIL STATUTFS
Art. 5115 Jails provided

The Commissioners Court shall provide safe and suitable
jails for their respective counties, and shall cause the same
to be maintained in good sanitary condition at all times,
properly ventilated, heated and lighted; structurally sound,
fire resistant and kept in good repair. Furthermore, they

C-2

shall cause the jails in their respective counties to be kept in
a clean and healthy condition, provided with water of safe
quality and ample quantity and sewer disposal facilities in
accordance with good sanitary standards, and provided
with clean, comfortable mattresses and blankets, sufficient
for the comfort of the prisoners, and that food is prepared
and served in a palatable and sanitary manner and
according to good dietary practices and of a quality to
maintain good health.

SUITABLE SEGREGATION

The term ‘‘safe and suitable jails,’ as used in this Act,
shall be construed to mean jails which provide adequate
segregation facilities by having separate enclosures,
formed by solid masonry or solid metal walls, or solid walls
of other comparable material, separating witnesses from
all classifications of prisoners; and males from females;
and juveniles from adults; and first offenders, awaiting
trial, from all classifications of convicted prisoners; and
prisoners with communicable or contagious diseases from
all other classifications of prisoners. Furthermore, the term
“safe and suitable”’ jails shall be construed to mean jails
either now or hereafter constructed, except that, in lieu of
maintaining its own jail, any county whose population is not
large enough to justify building a new jail or remodeling its
old jail shall be exempt from the provisions of this Act by
contracting with the nearest available county whose jail
meets the requirements set forth in this Act for the
incarceration of its prisoners at a daily per capita rate
equal to the cost of maintaining prisoners in said jail, or at a
daily rate mutually agreed to by the contracting counties.

C-3

No person suspected of insanity, or who has been legally
adjudged insane, shall be housed or held in a jail, except
that such a person who demonstrates homicidal tendencies,
and who must be restrained from committing acts of
violence against other persons, may be held in a jail for a
period of time not to exceed a total of seven (7) days.
Furthermore, for such temporary holding of each person
suspected of insanity, or who has been legally adjudged
insane, there shall be provided a special enclosure or room,
not less than forty (40) square feet and having a ceiling
height of not less than eight (8) feet above the floor.
Furthermore, the floor and the walls of such enclosure shall
be provided with a soft covering designed to protect a
violent person, temporarily held therein, from self-injury or
destruction. One hammock, not less than two (2) feet, three
(3) inches wide and six (6) feet, three (3) inches long, made
of elastic or fibrous material shall be provided in each such
special enclosure.

SUITABLE SECURITY AND SAFETY

For the purpose of this Act, the term ‘‘safe and suitable
jails is further defined to mean jails which provide
adequate security and safety facilities by having separate
cells or compartments, dormitories, and day rooms, of
varying dimensions and capacities for prisoners confined
therein, except that, if practicable, no one such cell or
compartment shall be designed for confining two (2)
prisoners only. Cells or compartments shall be designed to
accommodate from one (1) to eight (8) prisoners each, and
furthermore, such dormitories and day rooms shall be
designed to accommodate not more than twenty-four (24)

4 Lae Le '
7

C-4

prisoners each. Furthermore, in each such jail there shall
be provided individual one-man or one-woman cells to
accommodate not less than thirty per cent (30%) of the total
designated prisoner capacity of the jail and dormitory-type
space may be provided to accommodate not more than forty
per cent (40%) of the total designated prisoner capacity of
the jail. All cells, compartments and dormitories for
sleeping purposes, where each such cell, compartments or
dormitory is designed to accommodate three (3) or more
prisoners, shall be accessible to a day room to which
prisoners may be given access during the day. Cells for one
(1) prisoner only shall have a minimum floor area of forty
(40) square feet and all other cells, compartments, dormi-
tories and day rooms (including safety vestibule area) shall
have a minimum floor area equal to eighteen (18) square
feet for each prisoner to be confined therein. The ceiling
height above finished floor shall be not less than eight (8)
feet for any cell, compartment, dormitory or day room
where prisoners are confined.

The term ‘safe and suitable jails,"’ as used in this Act, is
further defined to mean that, for reasons of safety to
officers and security, the entrance and/or exit to each
group of enclosures forming a cell block or group of cells
and/or compartments used for the confinement of three (3)
or more prisoners shall be through a safety vestibule having
one (1) or more interior doors in addition to the main outside
entrance door to such cell block, all arranged to be locked.
unlocked, opened or closed by control means located
outside of any such enclosure or cell block. Furthermore,
that all such enclosures or cell blocks, for the confinement

C-5

of prisoners, shall be separated from the building wall on at
least one (1) side, by a corridor not less than three (3) feet
wide and so designed that no prisoners in confinement
areas shall have direct access to windows in the walls of
the building.

SUITABLE SANITATION AND HEALTH

The term “safe and suitable jails” is further defined to
mean jails which provide adequate facilities for maintain-
ing proper standards in sanitation and health. Each cell
designed for one (1) prisoner only shall be provided with a
water closet and a combination lavatory and drinking
fountain, table and seat. Each cell, compartment or
dormitory designed for three (3) or more prisoners, shall be
provided with one (1) water closet and one (1) combination
lavatory and drinking fountain for each twelve (12) pri-
soners or fraction thereof to be confined therein. Further-
more, all such cells, compartments and dormitories shall be
provided with one (1) bunk, not less in size than two (2) feet,
three (3) inches wide and six (6) feet, three (3) inches long,
for each prisoner to be confined therein. Furthermore, each
day room for the confinement of three (3) or more prisoners
shall be provided with one (1) water closet, one (1)
combination lavatory and drinking fountain and one (1)
shower bath for each twelve (12) prisoners, or fraction
thereof, to be confined therein. Furthermore, each day
room shall be otherwise suitably furnished.

The provision of this Act shall become applicable to all
jails hereafter constructed, upon its effective date, and to
existing jails within four (4) years from its effective date.

Sy DeglY Ge REAR AS By:

AR ae

C-6

The Texas State Department of Health shall have general
charge and supervision of the enforcement of the provisions
of this Act, and it is hereby made the duty of the Texas State
Department of Health or any Inspector or Agent of the
Texas State Department of Health to make periodic inspec-
tion of the aforesaid jails and issue an advisory manual
setting forth the principles of safe and healthful provisions,
which shall be distributed to Commissioners Courts and/or
custodians of jails and, furthermore, to officially notify
County Commissioners Courts, in writing to comply fully
with the provisions of this Act.

Act July 22, 1876, p. 52; G.L. vol. 8, p. 888. Amended by
Acts 1957, 55th Leg., p. 637, ch. 277, § 1.

Art. 5116 Sheriff and jailer

(a) Each sheriff is the keeper of the jail of his county. He
shall safely keep therein all prisoners committed thereto by
lawful authority, subject to the order of the proper court,
and shall be responsible for the safe keeping of such
prisoners.

(b) The sheriff may appoint a jailer to take charge of the
jail, and supply the wants of those therein confined; but in
all cases the sheriff shall exercise a supervision and control
over the jail.

(c) The commissioners court of Bexar County, Texas may
appoint a jail administrator who shall exercise all authori-
ty. supervision, and control over the jail, as well as all other
statutory duties of the sheriff with respect to the jail.

Amended by Acts 1973, 63rd Leg.. p. 520, ch. 224, § 1, eff.
June 11, 1973.

C-7
Art. 5117. Marshal may use jail

Sheriffs and jailers shall receive into their jails such
prisoners as may be delivered or tendered to them by any
United States Marshal or his deputy for any district of
Texas, and shall safely keep such prisoners until they are
demanded by such marshal or deputy, or are discharged by
due course of law. The marshal by whose authority such
prisoners are received and kept shall be directly and
personally liable to the sheriff or jailer for the jail fees and
all other expenses of the keeping of such prisoners, such
fees and expenses to be estimated according to the laws
regulating the same in other cases.

Act May 12, 1846, p. 268; G.L. vol. 2, p. 1574; Act August
26, 1856, p. 88; G.L. vol. 4, p. 506.

TEXAS CODE OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE

Art. 2.18 Custody of prisoners

When a prisoner is committed to jail by warrant from a
magistrate or court, he shall be placed in jail by the sheriff.
It is a violation of duty on the part of any sheriff to permit a
defendant so committed to remain out of jail, except that he
may, when a defendant is committed for want of bail, or
when he arrests in a bailable case, give the person arrested
a reasonable time to procure bail; but he shall so guard the
accused as to prevent escape. Acts 1965, 59th Leg., vol. 2,
p. 317. ch. 722.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_0555%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
