# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Gonzalez v. International Longshoremen's Ass'n, Local No. 1581

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_0444%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 419 U.S. 1070

## Text

te

7s
pa
a Watt "2a
Bacio f oan caconiiieall

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1974

No. €4-507 |

RIGOBERTO GONZALEZ, ET AL.,
Petitioners,
versus

INTERNATIONAL LONGSHOREMEN’S
ASSOCIATION
LOCAL NO. 1581, AFL-CIO,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Kenneth L. Tilley

802 Texas Professional Tower
Houston, Texas 77002

(713) 222-9017

Attorney for Petitioners

INDEX

Page

PE CEO ica secs ccncnanneerecdseeccucess l
i an nec c ee Gy cakes Kons Chine 50k a9 2
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED .......... 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........... 3
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...................... 3
eee e Cig. chs seeks bene seb its sue eens 7
ee ccc crwceebaddes csancvessnnass 7
cr eines senuceechnki age eade& 13
Pe PNET WOU occas race ecacesicnccrscvens» 15
ee et eer ee ere ee 17
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE ..................... 17
ET Ske h GANGA REL SUKSS 4s KEK ROAD OOo bn RSs la
Ue edad eau cals ehsiees «4 4S eo banne 6 4a

ii

CITATIONS

Deaton Truck Line v. Local Union 612, 341 F.2d
ay es Ss SD vac sxe vanvdebbixsesanewcevus's 6,11

Genesco, Inc. v. Joint Council 13, United Shoe
Workers of America, 230 F.Supp. 923
(S.D.N.Y. 1964) aff'd 341 F.2d 482 (2nd Cir.

Ree ere rere Ea ee me? De eA an 6,10
Local 138, International Union of Operating

Engineers, AFL-CIO, 148 NLRB 679 ............. 11
N.L.R.B. v. Houston Maritime Ass’n of Texas,

418 F Be 160 Gs Cir. 16GB)... cccncaccssecsecces 13

N.L.R.B. v. Industrial Union of Marine & Ship-
building Workers of America, AFL-CIO, 148

NE oi Vic beak Ga he Rk ae Gda CONE RAAUA SA 11
N.L.R.B. v. International Longshore Ass’n,

Local No. 1581, 489 F.2d 635 (5th Cir. 1974). ...... 10
Rae v. United Parcei Service of Pa., E.D. Pa.

ee ee a OU ks one see voneeaeenane woes 6,10
Retail Clerks Inter. Ass’n v. Lion Dry Goods,

ae. SD UL. TF GE AE: GOED nnn ccs ccnssesscnsss 12
Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171 (87 S.Ct. 903) ........ 6,7,9

STATUTES

Section 301(a) LMRA, 29 U.S.C. § 185(a) ........... 2.3

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1974

No.

RIGOBERTO GONZALEZ, ET AL..
Petitioners,
versus

INTERNATIONAL LONGSHOREMEN’S
ASSOCIATION
LOCAL No. 1581, AFL-CIO,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

The Petitioners herein respectfully pray that a Writ of

Certiorari issue to review the decision and judgment of

ihe United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
rendered on August 1, 1974 which affirmed a judgment of

the United States Court for the Southern District of Texas

dismissing the complaint for want of jurisdiction.
OPINIONS BELOW

The Memorandum and Order of the District Court

2

rendered on December 22, 1972 is appended hereto as
Appendix “A.”

The Memorandum Opinion and Order of the District
Court rendered on December 28, 1973 is appended hereto
as Appendix “B.”

The opinion of the Court of Appeals rendered on August
1, 1974 is appended hereto as Appendix “C.”’

JURISDICTION

Jurisdiction is predicated on Section 301(a) of the Labor
Management Relations Act, 1947, 29 U.S.C.A. §185(a).
The District Court, in its Memorandum and Order of
December 22, 1972, held that “the Plaintiffs have suf-
ficiently pied a cause of action for breach of the duty of
fair representation within 29 U.S.C. §185(a) and have in-
voked the jurisdiction of this Court.” (App. “A,” p. 3a).
However, in its Memorandum and Order of December 28,
1973 the District Court reversed itself and dismissed the
complaint for want of jurisdiction. The Court of Appeals
placed the case on its Summary Calendar and affirmed
the District Court’s dismissal in a per curiam decision.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Section 301(a) of the Labor Management Relations Act,
1947, 29 U.S.C.A. §185(a) provides as follows:

Suits for violation of contrdtts between an

employer and a labor organization representing

employees in an industry affecting commerce as

defined in this chapter, or between any such
‘.

3

labor organizations, may be brought in any dis-
trict court of the United States having jurisdic-
tion of the parties, without regard to the
citizenship of the parties.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. The Court Of Appeals Has Decided A Federal
Question In A Way In Conflict With
Applicable Decisions Of This Court.

2. The Court Of Appeals Has So Far Departed
From The Accepted And Usual Course Of
Judicial Proceedings As To Call For An Ex-
ercise Of This Court's Power Of Supervision.

3. The Court Of Appeals Has Decided An Im-
portant Question Of Federal Labor Law And
Policy Which Has Not Been, But Should Be,
Settled By This Court.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

bargaining agreements with private employers, in-
cluding (but not limited to) Manchester Terminal Cor-
poration, Petty Terminal Corporation and Long Reach
Plant of Gulf Atlantic Warehouse Company.

In January, 1971 the Port of Houston Authority
Purchased Long Reach in mid-contract at which time it

4

agreed orally with Respondent to abide by the exclusive
hiring hall procedure pursuant to the agreements with
the private employers, and to pay the prevailing wages
and fringe benefits provided for in these privately
negotiated agreements. In October, 1971 Respondent
adopted a'seniority system based on total years worked
through the Respondent’s exclusive hiring hall, as
reflected by social security records. The assignments of
seniority thereunder were and are fair and equitable and,
as found by the District Court, “was generally a for-
malization of the informal system put into effect when the
Port took over Long Reach” (App. “B,” p. 8a).

A majority of the employees became dissatisfied
because they were not receiving as much work as the
Petitioners who, although in the minority, possessed
greater seniority. Consequently in June, 1972 the Respon-
dent acquiesced in a majority vote to reassign seniority
by departments. Aside from the fact that the June, 1972
seniority assignments cannot be authenticated, and are
otherwise arbitrary, the below comparisons reflect the
more glaring examples of the adverse effects on employ-
ment opportunities:

October June.
1971 1972

Frank V. Gonzalez 25 yrs. 7 yrs.
Manuel Villareal 35 yrs. 9 yrs.
Carlos Rivera 30 yrs. 3 yrs.
Ruben Perez 31 yrs. 3 yrs.
Sam Ramos 31 yrs. 10 yrs.
Guadalupe Ayala 35 yrs. 6 yrs.
Jose Perea 35 yrs. 10 yrs.
Ramon M. Castellon 25 yrs. 10 yrs.
Elogio L. Rivera 30 yrs. 2 vrs.

C. G. Murillo 25 yrs. 1 vr.

5

Petitioners filed charges with the National Labor
Relations Board and also filed the instant lawsuit.

After the charges with the NLRB were dismissed for
want of jurisdiction and all appeals exhausted, briefs
were filed with the District Court on the limited issue of
jurisdiction under §301. On December 22,1972 the District
Court issued its Memorandum and Order asserting
jurisdiction stating:

The “exciusivity” of this relationship, and the
alleged use of the private agreements to guide the
conduct of the Local and the Port Authority are
sufficient bases on which to irapose the duty of
fair representation upon the union. Since a “‘con-
tract” within the meaning of §301(a) includes
“any agreement significant to the maintenance
of labor peace,” Deaton Truck Line v. Local Un-
ton 612, 314 F.2d 418, 422 (5th Cir. 1962), the
Plaintiffs have sufficiently pled a cause of action
for breach of the duty of fair representation
within 29 U.S.C. §185(a) and have invoked the
jurisdiction of this Court (App. “A,” p. 3a).

Some six months later the case went to trial on its merits.
The District Court took the case under advisement and re-
quested briefs on all issues — including the issue of
jurisdiction under §301. In due course the District Court
issued its Memorandum Opinion and Order (App. “Bin
which it reversed its original decision, decided the case on
its merits (adverse to the Plaintiffs) and dismissed for
want of jurisdiction.

The Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit placed the
case on its Summary Calendar and, without passing on

6

the merits, affirmed the District Court’s dismissal for
want of jurisdiction. In its per curiara decision (App. “C’’)
the Court of Appeals held: (1) there was no collective
bargaining between Respondent and the Port of Houston
Authority; and (2) even if there was any such agreement it
would have been void as against the statutory policy of
the State of Texas. The only decisions cited by the Court
of Apyeals are set forth below together with the context in
whicn the cases were cited:

We think it is clear that there must be a collec-
tive bargaining agreement and a breach of that
agreement to confer jurisdiction on a federal dis-
trict court under Section 301 of the Act [footnote
omitted]. See Rae v. United Parcel Service of Pa.,
E.D. Pa. 197%, 356 F.Supp. 465, 468; Genesco, Inc.
v. Joint Council 13, United Shoe Workers of
America, 8.D. N.Y. 1964, 230 F.Supp. 923, 928-29,
2 Cir. 1965, 341 F.2d 482 (App. “C,” p. 18a).

Nor did the Court comment on the Fifth Circuit’s decision
in Deaton Truck Line v. Local Union 612 in which it was
held that a “contract” within the meaning of §301(a) in-
cludes ‘“‘any agreement significant to the maintenance of
labor peace.” Of greater significance the Couri did not
comment on this Court’s decision in Vaca v. Sipes' and
other Supreme Court decisions relating to jurisdiction un-
der §301.

We will comment on these decisions briefly in our argu-
ment.

1 314 F.2d 418, 422 (5th Cir. 1962)
2 WAU S. V7 STS Ct. 903).

eee 7

ARGUMENT
Point Number One

The Court of Appeals Has Decided A
Federal Question In A Way In Conflict With
Applicable Decisions Of This Court.

When wesay that the decision of the Court of Appeals is
in conflict with applicable decisions of this Honorable
Court, we do not intend to imply that the Court ignored
identical precedents on identical facts. We simply say
that there is sufficient Supreme Court enunciation of its
views so as to warrant an opposite conclusion.

Before discussing (and distinguishing) the two cases
relied on by the Court, let us examine the Supreme Court's
decisior in Vaca v. Sipes which deals in the mz in with the
duty of fair representation but, inferentially, with
jurisdiction under §301:

. . .the duty of fair representation has stood as a
bulkwark to prevent arbitrary union conduct
against individuals stripped of traditional
forms of redress by the provisions of federal labor
law. Were we to hold, as petitioners and the
Government urge, that the courts are foreclosed
by the NLRB’s Miranda Fuel decision from this
traditional supervisory jurisdiction, the in-
dividual employee injured by arbitrary or dis-
criminatcry union conduct could no longer be
assured of his complaint, since the Board's
General Counsel has unreviewable discretion to

8

refuse to institute an unfair labor practice com-
plaint. '

As pointed out to the Court of Appeals the above-quoted
related to whether the NLRB had pre-emptive jurisdic-
tion. This Court then amplified the issue of jurisdiction as
follows:

The existence of even a small group of cases in
which the Board would be unwilling [emphasis
supplied] or unable to remedy a union’s breach of
duty would frustrate the basic purposes underly-
ing the duty of fair representation doctrine. For.
these reasons we cannot assume from the
NLRB’s tardy assumption of jurisdiction in these
cases that Congress, when it enacted N.L.R.A.
§8(b) in 1947, intended to oust the courts of their
traditional jurisdiction to curb arbitrary conduct
by the individual employee’s statutory represen-
tative.'

And, although a literal reading of Section 301(a) might at
first blush contemplate only lawsuits between employers
and labor organizations, this Court made it clear that an
individual employee had standing, under Section 301, to
sue his employer, his bargaining representative or both:

The employee should have no difficulty recover-
ing these damages from the employer, who can-
not, as we have explained, hide behind the un-
ion’s wrongful failure to act; in fact the employer

3 Vaca at 366 US. 162 087 S.Ct. 913).

A Vaca at 386US 19787 S Ct G20,

9

may be (and probably should be) joined as a
defendant in the fair representation suit,. . . °

* * *

The employee’s suit against the employer,
however, remains a §301 suit, and the jurisdic-
tion of the courts is no more destroyed by the fact
that the employee, as part and parcel of his §301
action, finds it necessary to prove an unfair labor
practice by the union, than it is by the fact that
the suit may involve an unfair labor practice by
the employer himself. The court is free to deter-
mine whether the employee is barred by the ac-
tions of his union representative, and, if nut, to
proceed with the case. And if, to facilitete his
case, the employee joins the union as a defend-
ant, the situation is not substantially changed.
The action is still a §301 suit, and the jurisdiction
of the courts is not pre-ernpted under the Garmon
principle’

The foregoing of course relates to a breach of the contract
by the emplover involved, rather than a breach by the un-
ion.

We can see no reason, however, why a breach of the con-
tract by a union should not be remedied by a §301 lawsuit
against the union alone. First the individual employee
has derivative §rights based upon a union’s implied con-
tractual obligation to represent him fairly. Secondly
were, as in the instant case, the union has acquired by
agreement or by arrogation the exclusive right to hire—a
5 Vaca at 386 US. 197 (87 S.Ct. 920)

6 Vaca at 386 US. IS6-IST XT SCH G55)

10

right peculiarly that of the employer — the union’s mis-
behavior in connection therewith would constitute a two-
fold breach. Surely had an employer made such
reassignments the bargaining agent would have had a
duty to sue, if necessary, under §301.

The Court of Appeals could have concluded that such
assignments were not arbitrary, and there was no breach
of the duty of fair representation. But we submit that the
court erred by concluding that it and the trial court were
without jurisdiction under §301 to decide the dispute.

Turing to the two cases cited by the Court of Appeals
we note that the first, Rae v. United Parcel Service of Pa.,’
was a czese wherein the union itself had terminated the
contract. The second, Genesco, Inc. v. Joint Council 13,
United Shue Workers of America,” involved an attempt to
invoke a no-strike clause under a terminated contract and
before a new contract had been agreed upon. Clearly the
contract between the Defendant and Long Reach did not
“terminate” when the Port Authority purchased Long
Reach, for the contract was specifically adopted respec-
ting wages, fringe benefits and particularly the Union's
exclusive hiring hall procedure. Let us set forth an
analogy urged to the Court of Appeals of the Fifth Circuit
involving this same defendant.

In N.L.R.B. v. International Longshore Ass’n, Local
No. 15819 the court below upheld a finding of discrimina-
tion against one Elias Guerra based on his lack of
citizenship. The charge was filed against the union alone
although the discrimination occurred in the employment
7 356 F.Supp. 465 (E.D. Pa. 1973).

8 230 F Supp. 923 (S.D. N.Y. 1964); aff'd 341 F.2d 482 (2nd Cir. 1965)
9 469 F.2d 635 (Sth Cir. 1974)

11

of another employer with whom the union had a contract,
Manchester Terminal Corporation. Suppose that the Port
of Houston Authority had purchased Manchester Ter-
minal in mid-contract, as it did Long Reach in the instant
case. Would Guerra’s charge against the union have been
dismissed because the Port Authority is exempt from the
Act? Would Guerra’s backpay have been tolled as of the
date of purchase? Would the union then be free to dis-
cipline Guerra for having filed the charge, or would the
Board assert jurisdiction to protect its processes?!” As
Guerra’s complaint to the Board was also a breach of the
union’s duty to represent him properly, could he have
successfully maintained a suit under §301(a) in the U.S.
District Court? Or would the Court say, as the Court
below in effect said here, that the rights Guerra had ac-
quired under the privately negotiated contracts were ex-
tinguished, and that the Court had no jurisdiction to en-
force them? .

Had the Court of Appeals followed its own decision in
Deaton Truck Line, Inc. v. Local Union 612, Etc.''! we sub-
mit that it would have conferred jurisdiction under §301.
In Deaton the issue was whether independent contractors
— 1.e., technically not “employees” — could proceed to ar-
bitration under §301. The facts show that the union had
entered into a separate commercial agreement with an
employer on behalf of these “individuals.” The Court
found that such an agreement was significant to the
maintenance of labor peace and asserted jurisdiction un-
der §301 notwithstanding their status as “individuals.”
As pointed out to the Court below, NLRB’s General

10) NLRB. v. Industrial Unwn of Marine & Shipbuilding Workers of
America, AFL-CIO, 391 U.S. 418 (8% S.Ct. 1717). See also Local 138. Inter
national Union of Operating Engineers. AFL-CIO, ‘4% NLRB 67°

Ilo 314 Fld ais «CA 5 1962)

12

Counsel refused to assert jurisdiction because, in his
view, the Plaintiffs herein were “individuals” rather than
“employees.” This strained distinction is not in harmony
with the views expressed by this Honorabie Court. In
Retail Clerks Inter. Ass’n v. Lion Dry Goods, Inc.'? this
Court held that jurisdiction existed under §301 upon a
mere contract, and that such contract did not have to bea
“collective bargaining agreement.” While the Port
Authority is prohibited by state law from entering into
“collective bargaining” agreements it is not prohibited
from entering into any and all agreements or contracts.
The District Court specifically found:

At the very most we have an informal, unwritten
agreement between the Local and the Port that
the Port will hire those employees sent to it by the
local and pay them the same wage and provide
the same benefits as the other employers at the
Port. (App. “B,” p. 10a-11a).

We do not construe the fact that the agreement is
“unwritten” prevents it from being a “contract” under
this Court’s decision in Retail Clerks (supra). thus the
decision of the Court of Appeals “that there must be a
collective bargaining agreement and a breach of that
agreement to confer jurisdiction on a federal district court
under Section 301” is clearly at odds with decisions of the
U.S. Supreme Court.

Finally we do not believe the dismissal is aided by the
District Court’s finding that the agreement was not
violated “because seniority is not an element of that
agreement” (App. “B,” p. lla). Seniority is not an ele-
ment of the agreements with the private employers. Both

12 369 US. 17 182 S.Ct. 54d.

13

the Port Authority and the private employers, by agree-
ing to the Defendant’s exclusive hiring hall, have
delegated to the Defendant the matter of seniority. While
an argument could be made that the private employers at
least are still responsible for the manner in which the Un-
ion operates the hiring hall, the Court of Appeals for the
Fifth Circuit has rejected this view.'' It would be a mark-
ed irony to hold that the Union’s breach of its obligation
to administer the hiring hall fairly cannot be remedied by
a lawsuit against the Union under §301.

We therefore submit that the per curiam decision of the
Court of Appeals is contrary to decisions and views
enunciated by the Supreme Court.

Point Number Two

The Court Of Appeals Has So Far Departed
From The Accepted And Usual Course Of
Judicial Proceedings As To Call For An Ex-
ercise Of This Court’s Power Of Supervi-
sion.

Petitioners’ second point is addressed to the Ceurt’s ac-
tion in peremptorily placing the case on its Summary
Calendar and summarily disposing of the case without
fairly setting forth the facts and treating with the issues
presented.

We recognize that Local Rule 18'* of the Court of
Appeals has the laudable objective of expediting cases by

130 N/ARB« Houston Maritime Ass'nof Texas, 418 F.2d 140th Cir., 1969)

140 Local Rule 18 provides in pertinent part
(a! Whenever the Court, sua sponte or on suggestion of a party, con-
cludes that a case is of such character as not to justify oral argument.
the case may be placed on the summary calendar

14

reducing oral argument. However we do not infer that the
Summary Calendar is merely a prelude to disposing of a
case in a manner suggesting that an appeal is utterly
frivolous. We would hope that the Court is simply
satisfied that the briefs alone provide a basis for it to
render a decision setting forth all pertinent facts, ad-
dressing itself to the cases cited and articulating its
reasons for its conclusions. Here the Court held that there
was no collective bargaining agreement between the
Respondent and the Port of Houston Authority. A more
factual statement would be that there was no written
agreement.

The parties stipulated that there was an oral agreement
that the Port Authority would abide by the Union’s ex-
clusive hiring procedure and pay the prevailing wages
and fringe benefits as set forth in the agreements with the
private employers. Similarly the Court stated that the
Port Authority looked to the Union as “a source of labor,”
while the record is clear that it did so as its exclusive
source of labor. The duty of a union in administering an
exclusive hiring hall is manifestly higher than that
where it merely serves as a source of labor. The Court’s
per curiam decision failed to note the dismissal of the
charges before the National Labor Relations Board —
generally a prerequisite for obtaining jurisdiction
elsewhere. And the Court did not note that most of the
seniority was acquired under privately negotiated con-
tracts.

The Court’s citation of cases of terminated contracts is
another example of judicial lethargy. Not only was the in-
stant contract with Long Reach not “terminated” nor
repudiated by the Port Authority, the Port Authority

15

specifically agreed to honor it in all pertinen’ respects.
And, as pointed out above, even if the cotiisacce was ter-
minated the seniority thereunder continued as a viable
part of the expired agreement. The more troublesome
feature of the decision is that it failed to deal with cited
precedent both in the Fifth Circuit and the Supreme
Court. Tnese decisions have been discussed above. But
they were also cited to the Court of Appeals and. we
believe, were deserving of comment. We agree that the
frivolous appeals shou!d be dealt with summarily, with or
without oral argument.

But we do not believe that an appeal should be dealt
with summarily merely because the briefs and record set
forth the facts and precedent to warrant placing the case
on the Summary Calendar so as to dispense with oral
argument.

Point Number Three

The Court Of Appeals Has Decided An Im-
portant Question Of Federal Labor Law
And Policy Which Has Not Been, But Should
Be, Settled By This Court.

Petitioners also respectfully submit that there is a
broader issue involving employees’ rights in general and
federal labor policy that should be followed where collec-
tive bargaining agreements are attained by exercising
those rights.

The right of employees to organize and engage in ac-
tivities designed to foster the process of collective
bargaining has been the federal labor policy for years.

16

Bargaining collectively is merely he beginning,
however, not an end in itself. The end to be achieved is the
consummation of collective bargaining agreements so as
to minimize industrial strife among employers,
employees and labor organizations. An employee’s right
to so organize and obtain such an agreement would be
hollow indeed if the fruits of the contract could be taken
away by the very labor organization possessing the duty
and the power to represent him. Respondent admittedly
had the duty. ‘That it also had the power is the fact that,
even after the Port Authority took over Long Reach,
Respondent utilized seniority accumulated under the
private agreements to furnish the Port Authority with its
exclusive source of warehousemen. This is not a case
where the political subdivision has taken over a facility
and simultaneously rendered the bargaining agent impo-
tent to continue in its representative capacity. Where, as
here, the bargaining agent continues in its representative
capacity, Petitioners submit that it is obligated to do soin
a manner that is free of arbitrary and discriminatory
classification and considerations.

Thus, in a broad sense, where Section 301 rights have
survived the collective bargaining agreement, we urge
that as a matter of federal labor policy any breach of
those rights should be remedied through a lawsuit under
Section 301.

17

CONCLUSIONS

For these reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue to
review the decision of the Fifth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Kenneth L. Tilley

Attorney for Petitioners

802 Texas Professional Tower
Houston, Texas 77002

(713) 222-9017

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned certifies that three (3) copies of the
foregoing Petition For A Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit were served
on the Counsel for Respondent, International
Longshoremen’s Association, Local No. 1581, AFL-CIO,
Mr. Gerald J. Goodwin, Brock and Williams, Suite 250,
The Main Building, 1212 Main Street, Houston, Texas
77002, by Certified Mail on this the ___ day of October,
1974.

Kenneth L. Tilley

la

APPENDIX “A”

) IN THE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
HOUSTON DIVISION

FRANK V. GONZALEZ, ET AL,
Plaintiffs,
versus

INTERNATIONAL LONGSHOREMEN’S
ASSOCIATION,
LOCAL NO. 1581, AFL-CIO,
Defendant,

Kenneth Tilley, Houston, Texas
Attorney for the Plaintiffs

Warner Brock, Houston, Texas
Attorney for the Defendant

December 22, 1972
MEMORANDUM AND ORDER:

This is a suit by several members of the Defendant
Longshoremen’s Union Local 1581 against their Local
seeking relief from alleged discrimination in the assign-
ment of seniority on which the Local bases its referrals-
for-work to private warehouses and the Port of Houston
Authority. The Plaintiffs claim that, because of a change
made by the union majority in the computation of seniori-
ty, they have been deprived of work with the Port Authori-
ty to which their seniority would otherwise entitle them.

2a

Jurisdiction is asserted under §301(a) of the Natior.al
Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. §185(a), for violation of the
duty of “fair representation.” See, Ford Motor Co. v. Huff-
man, 345 U.S. 330 (1953). However the only collective
bargaining contracts in existence are those between
Local 1581 and the private warehouses. No such agree-
ment exists between Local 1581 and the Port Authority.
Indeed, as all acknowledge, the Port Authority cannot
enter into collective bargaining contracts with a labor
organization. V.A.T.S. Art. 5154c §1. Consequently.
Local 1581 has moved to dismiss this action for lack of
jurisdiction since there is no contract between the Local
and the Port Authority. See, Adams v. Budd Co., 349 F.2d
368 (2 Cir. 1965) and Beausoleil v. United Furniture
Workers, 244 F.Supp. 719 (D.N.H. 1965).

The “duty of fair representation” is predicated upon the
unicn’s position as the exclusive bargaining agent of its
members. Ford Motor Co. v. Huffman, supra, and see,
Morris, The Developing Labor Law, p. 726-731 (1971).
There is no collective bargaining agreement here, but the
Plaintiffs allege and the Defendant denies that the Local
and the Port Authority have an understanding or oral
agreement whereby the Port Authority complies with the
collective agreements in force in the port area. The
Defendant admits that the Port Authority generally com-
plies with such agreements, but insists that this is a un-
ilateral undertaking by the Port Authority. The Plaintiffs
allege and the Defendant admits that the Local has main-
tained an exclusive hiring procedure with the Port of
Houston Authority whereby the Local refers members to
the Port Authority for acceptance or rejection as
employees.

3a

The “exclusivity” of this relationship, and the alleged
use of the private agreements to guide the conduct of the
Local and the Port Authority are a sufficient bases on
which to impose the duty of fair representation upon the
union. Since a “contract” within the meaning of §301(a)
includes “any agreement significant to the maintenance
of labor peace,” Deaton Truck Line v. Local Union 612,
314 F.2d 418, 422 (5th Cir. 1962), the Plaintiffs have suf-
ficiently plead a cause of action for breach of the duty of
fair representation within 29 U.S.C. §185(a) and have in-
voked the jurisdiction of this Court.

The Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss for Lack of
Jurisdiction is denied.

Clerk will enter this Memorandum and Order and
provide counsel with true copies.

Done at Houston, Texas this 22nd day of December,
1972.

/s/ WOODROW SEAL
United States District Judge

4a

APPENDIX “B”

IN THE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
HOUSTON DIVISION

RIGOBERTO GONZALEZ, FRANK V. GONZALEZ,
JESE O. GARCIA, MANUEL VILLAREAL, VICTOR
RODRIGUEZ. CARLOS RIVERA, RUBEN PEREZ,
SAM RAMOS, GUADALUPE AYALA, MARTIN 0.
CANTU, JOSE PEREA, JUAN F.GARCIA, RAMON M.
CASTELLON, ELOGIO L. RIVERA, JUSTINO LOPEZ,
CARLOS T. JASS, C. B. MURILLO, FIDEL PEREZ,
ARNULFO CASTILLA and ISMAEL RODRIGUEZ,
Plaintiffs,
versus CA No. 72-H-765

INTERNATIONAL LONGSHOREMEN’S

ASSOCIATION LOCAL NO. 1581, AFL-CIO.
Defendant.

Kenneth L. Tilley, Houston, Texas
Attorney for the Plaintiffs

Brock & Williams (Gerald J. Goodwin)
Houston, Texas
Attorneys for the Defendant

MEMORANDUM OPINION:
This is a civil action brought pursuant to§ 301(a) of the

National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 185(a), for
violation of the duty of fair representation. The Plaintiffs

5a

are twenty individual members of Defendant
Longshoremen’s Union Local 1581. They seek relief from
alleged discrimination in the assignment of seniority on
which the Local bases its referrals-for-work to the Port of
Houston Authority. The Plaintiffs claim that because of a
change made by the union majority in the computation of
seniority they have been deprived of work with the Port
Authority to which their seniority would otherwise entitle
them. As relief Plaintiffs ask the Court to order Defend-
ant to reinstate and re-adopt the seniority assignments
that were in effect prior to June 19, 1972, and to pay back
wages for income lost as a result of loss of employment
following the institution of the June 19, 1972 seniority
plan.

The Court, after hearing all of the evidence and
arguments of counsel at trial, and upon all the files,
records, proceedings and briefs herein enters the follow-
ing Memorandum Opinion which shall constitute the
Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law in this case.

The evidence indicates that for many years Local 1581
had contracts or collective bargaining agreements with
Manchester Terminal Corporation, Petty Terminal Cor-
poration and then finally with Long Reach Plant of Gulf
Atiantic Warehouse Company, each providing for certain
wages, hours and other conditions of employment for
employees who were members or represented by the
Local. The employees represented by the Local were per-
manently assigned to either of two departments at the
companies, the Cotton Compress Department or the
Dock/ Warehouse Department. On occasion, though, as
provided in the collective-bargaining agreement those
who usually did cotton compress work would be assigned

6a

temporarily to dock/warehouse work. The permanent
assignments were determined by either personal choice
or company decision. The difference between the two
types of work extended beyond just the type of work done
to include differences in wages and benefits. In general
cotton compress work paid a lower wage than
dock/warehouse work. Furthermore, the collective-
bargaining agreements in force provided for company
contributions to the union pension and health benefits
plans only for those employees working in the
Dock/ Warehouse Department. The workers in the Cotton
Compress Department were covered by a group health in-
surance plan selected and maintained by the employer
company, but no pension plan was provided for them.

Under the collective-bargaining agreement with these
private companies the Union Local served as a hiring
hall whereby it referred members and non-members for
employment to said employers for acceptance or rejection
as permanent or temporary employees. No seniority
system was provided for the collective bargaining agree-
ment except for the provision in the event it was
necessary to reduce the work force, preference in con-
tinued employment would be given by the employer to
qualified employees continuously employed by the
employer during the preceding twelve months.

Sometime in 1969, due to a declining amount of cotton
being brought to the Port of Houston, Long Reach discon-
tinued operations in the Cotton Compress Department,
transferring many of the employees to the
Dock/Warehouse Department. In January, 1971, the Port
of Houston Authority purchased Long Reach and began
operating it. All sides concede that the Port, as a political

7a

subdivision of the State, is barred from entering into
collective bargaining contracts with a labor organiza-
tion, V.A.T.S., Art. 5154c §1, and that therefore no collec-
tive bargaining agreement exists between the Port of
Houston and ILA Local 1581. However, the evidence in-
dicates that the Port looks to the Union exclusively to
supply employees and pays them the prevailing wage
rate as negotiated in the collective bargaining
agreements in force with private employers at the Port.

On taking over the operation of Long Reach the Port of
Houston began hiring through Local 1581 on a day-to-day
basis; in effect the Local became a daily hiring hall Local.
Workers reported to the Union Hall each day to be
referred for dock warehouse work at Long Reach and the
evidence indicates that these referrals were made on the
basis of seniority as to number of years an employee had
worked through the Local, although no formal seniority
system existed.

The Executive Board of the Local began working on a
formal seniority system and met with the attorney forthe
Gulf Coast South Atlantic ILA for guidance. Their deci-
sion to institute a seniority plan resulted not only from
the change in ownership at Long Reach but also because
the ILA had in 1965 instituted a requirement that the
Locals adopt a seniority system, and further because
Local 1581, which is composed entirely of Mexican-
Americans, was attempting to protect itself in the face of
a possible court ordered merger with its Sister Local 1525,
an all black local.

The seniority system adopted in October, 1971 by a un-
animous vote of the members of the Local present at the

JS

8a

meeting was generally a formalization of the informal
system put into effect when the Port took over Long
Reach. Seniority was based on the number of years an in-
dividual had worked through the Local 1581 hiring hall,
and in the event of doubt, an individual was required to
furnish Social Security records as documentation. No
differentiation was made between the types of work done
by an individual; all that was considered was the number
of years one had worked through the Local. The net effect
of this was that some individuals who had spent all their
time in dock/warehouse work were bumped down the
seniority list by people who had worked in the Compress
Department until it closed and who had greater seniority
than the dock/warehouse workers. This of course would
potentially decrease the opportunities for a person with
less seniority to work. This displacement of
Dock / Warehouse Department employees disrupted their
accruing pension fund which had been instituted in 1956
and to which employers of Dock, Warehouse Department
employees had contributed regularly but to which no con-
tributions had been made for compress employees since
they were not covered by the plan. Significantly, in order
to qualify to receive the pension an individual needs
credit for twenty-five years of contributions. It takes a
minimum of one hundred hours per year in the
Dock/ Warehouse Department to receive a year’s credit
for the pension fund, and one thousand hours in a yearin
the Dock/ Warehouse Department to get a year’s seniority
credit.

After the October 1971 seniority agreement was im-
plemented, there arose some dissatisfaction in the Local
especially among those who had spent all their time in
dock ‘warehouse work, when they realized that those who
had worked in compress had more seniority than they

9a

did. The executive board consulted with the union at-
torney who advised them that they could institute a new
plan and subsequently they did present to the members of
the Local a plan which had dual lines of seniority — one
for compress work and one for dock/ warehouse work. The
plan was adopted by a two-thirds majority vote of the
members present at a meeting of the Local in June 1972.
Due notice of the meeting and subjects to be voted upon
was given.

The June hiring hall and seniority plan only assigned
seniority to those individuals working through the Local
for the Port of Houston Long Reach plant. The evidence
indicates that the department in which a man had work-
ed since 1945 can be determined by either Port of Houston
records, ILA Maritime Trust Fund records, Local 1581
records, or eye witnesses. Furthermore, adjustment in
original seniority assignments can be made by the
Seniority Comrvittee in cases of demonstrable error.'
Thus the net result of the new seniority system was that
those who had worked predominantly in compress found
themselves with less seniority than those who had work-
ed mainly in dock/warehouse, and thus arguably had
decreased opportunities to cbtaimn warehouse work.“
However, it should be pointed out that in the event the
Compress Department were to be reopened at Long
1 Indeed, since the institution of this pian, several individuals’
dock warehouse seniority has been adjusted upward by the committee when

prooi of dock warehouse assignments was made via letter or records of private
employers.

T. Rodriguez - i4 years to 15

R. Castillon - 10 years to 14

J. Renteria - 3 years to 4

M. Villareal - 9 years to 14

M. Cantu - | year to 3

2 The evidence reflects that in actuality Plaintiffs. as well as other in
dividuals working through the Local are working as much or more now as un
der the previous svstems but this 1s due to the increased volume of work at the
Port

10a

Reach, those jobs would be filled in order of compress
seniority. It was the institution of the June seniority
system that led to Plaintiffs’ bringing this lawsuit.

The Defendants have contended throughout the
pendency of this cause that this Court lacks jurisdiction
under § 301(a), Labor-Management Relations Act, 29
U.S.C. § 185(a) to consider Plaintiffs’ claims. By
Memorandum and Order of December 22, 1972 the Court
denied Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss for Lack of
Jurisdiction, holding that the Plaintiff had sufficiently
pled jurisdiction to that point. However, the jurisdiction
has remained a live issue and the Court has continued to
have grave doubts about its jurisdiction. Now that all the
facts are before the Court is clear that no jurisdiction ex-
ists in this Court under § 301(a) over this cause of action.

Elementary to the maintenance of a suit under § 301 of
the Labor-Management Relations Act is that the suit be
for a violation of a contract or collective bargaining
agreement between an employer and a labor organiza-
tion, or between labor organizations.’ Hernandez uv.
National Packing Co., 455 F.2d 1252 (1st Cir., 1972);
Adams v. Budd, 349 F.2d 368 (3rd Cir., 1965). But here we
have no such contract because by law the Port is barred
from entering into such contracts. At the very most we
have an informal, unwritten agreement between the
Local and the Port that the Port will hire those employees
3 = Labor Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. §185 provides in pertinent

art:

. (a) Suits for violation of contracts between an employer anda labor
organization representing employees in an industry affecting
commerce as defined in this chapter, or between any such labor
organizations, may be brought in any district court of the United
States having jurisdiction of the parties, without respect to the

amount in controversy or without regard to the citizenship of the
parties.

lla

sent to it by the Local and pay them the same wage and
provide the same benefits as the other employers at the
Port. No violation of that agreement has occurred
because seniority is not an element of that agreement.
The seniority system in question in this case is one im-
posed by the union members on themselves by majority
vote. It is not a system bargained for by the union with the
employer. The employer is in no way involved in the day
to day administering of the system because the employees
are selected and supervised by gang foremen appointed
by the union executive board. If men must be cut from the
gang, it is the gang foreman, not the employer, who is
obligated to do se according to seniority. In Deaton Truck
Line, Inc. v. Local Union 612, 314 F.2d 418 (5th Cir., 1963),
the Court urged a broad interpretation of the word ‘‘con-
tracts” in § 301 suits observing:

It is now settled that “contracts,” ... includes
more than “collective bargaining agreements,”
and is broad enough to include any agreement
“between employers and labor organizations
significant to the maintenance of labor peace
between them.” Cite omitted.

Ibid. at 422. But even in that case the dispute arose out of a
term in an agreement between the employer and the labor
organization representing employees.‘ Clearly such is
not the case before us. The Plaintiffs have made no show-
ing of any agreement between the employer and the un-
ion, especially with respect to the employees’ seniority,
which has been violated. Thus the case does not fall

4 Significantly on rehearing the Fifth Circuit concluded they nad erred in
holding the agreement in question as being significant to labor peace and held
that such a determination went to the merits of the gnevance and would be
decided by the arbitration

12a

within the ambit of § 301 and this Court must dismiss for
want of jurisdiction.

Even if this Court were to find that its jurisdiction ex-
isted, it would still be compelled to deny to the Plaintiffs
the relief which they seek. In order for a Plaintiff to sus-
tain an allegation that the union has breached its
statutory duty of fair representation he must establish
that the union’s conduct toward a member of the collec-
tive bargaining unit is arbitrary, discriminatory, or in
bad faith. Vaca v. Sives, 385 U.S. 895 (1967). Such
evidence does not exist in this case. If anything, the
evidence shows the great extent to which the local has
attempted to please everyone — a difficult feat indeed
when attempting to represent as a Local two groups of
people who have traditionally performed two types of
work at two different wage rates. The two different
seniority systems were forumlated after much thought
and consultation with their attorneys. And most impor.
tantly, each was discussed and ratified by a majority of
the union local’s members. The situation in this case is
analagous to that in Humphrey v. Moore, 375 U.S. 335
(1964) where one company was absorbed by another and
the Union agreed with the company upon a plan which
dovetailed the seniority of the employees of the two com-
panies. The effect of this was to displace a number of
employees. The Union represented both the employees
who had been benefitted from the plan and the ones who
were displaced. In denying aclaim of breach of the duty of
fair representation made by those employees displaced
the Court commented on the wide range of
reasonableness which the Union must be allowed in
representing its members:

13a

. we are not ready to find a breach of the
collective bargaining agent’s duty of fair
representation in taking a good faith position
contrary to that of some individuals whom it
represented nor in supporting the position of one
group of employees against that of another. In
Ford Motor Co. v. Huffman, 345 U.S. 330, 31
LRRM 2548, the Court found no breach of duty by
the union in agreeing to an amendment of an ex-
isting collective bargaining contracting, gran-
ting enhanced seniority to a particular group of
employees and resulting in layoffs which
otherwise would not have occurred. “Inevitably
differences arise in the manner and degree to
which the terms of any negotiated agreement
affect individual employees and classes of
employees. The mere existence of such
differences does not make them invalid. The com-
plete satisfaction of all who are represented is
hardly to be expected. A wide range of
reasonableness must be allowed a statutory
bargaining representative in serving the unit it
represents, subject always to complete good faith
and honesty of purpose in the exercise of its dis-
cretion.” Id., at 338. Just as a union must be free
to sift out wholly frivolous grievances which
would only clog the grievance process, so it must
be free to take a position on the not so frivolous
disputes. Nor should it be neutralized when the
issue is chiefly between two sets of employees.
Conflict between employees represented by the
same union is a recurring fact. To remove or gag
the union in these cases would surely weaken the
collective bargaining and grievance processes.”
375 US. at 349-350.”

a)

l4a

It is clear to the Court that no matter which seniority plan
is adopted some members would benefit at the expense of
others. The Defendant has acted with honesty ar.d good
faith in structuring and implementing the June 1972
seniority system and has committed no breach ofits duty
of fair representation.

Therefore, it is ORDERED, ADJUDGED and
DECREED that the relief sought by Plaintiffs is in all
things DENIED and that Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss
is in all things GRANTED, and this case is DISMISSED
for want of jurisdiction.

The Clerk will enter this Memorandum Opinion and
provide counsel with true copies.

Done at Houston, Texas this 28th day of December,
1973.

/s/ WOODROW SEALS
United States District Judge

15a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
HOUSTON DIVISION

RIGOBERTO GONZALEZ, FRANK V. GONZALEZ.
JESE O. GARGIA, MANUEL VILLAREAL, VICTOR
RODRIGUEZ, CARLOS RIVERA, RUBEN PEREZ,
SAM RAMOS, GUADALUPE AYALA, MARTIN 0.
CANTU, JOSE PEREA, JUAN F.GARCIA, RAMON M.
CASTELLON, ELOGIO L. RIVERA, JUSTINO LOPEZ,
CARLOS T. JASS, C. B. MURILLO, FIDEL PEREZ, AR-
NULFO CASTILLA and ISMAEL RODRIGUEZ,
Plaintiffs

versus C.A. No. 72-H-765

INTERNATIONAL LONGSHOREMEN’S ASSOCIA-
TION LOCAL NO. 1581, AFL-CIO,
Defendant

Kenneth L. Tilley, Houston, Texas
Attorney for the Plaintiffs

Brock & Williams (Gerald J. Goodwin)
Houston, Texas
Attorneys for the Defendant

JUDGMENT:
For the reasons set forth in the Memorandum Opinion

of even date and incorporated herein, it is ORDERED,
ADJUDGED and DECREED that the Plaintiffs take

16a

nothing, that the Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss be and
hereby is GRANTED and this cause is DISMISSED.

It is further ORDERED that the Defendant recover of
the Plaintiffs its cost of action as provided by Rule 54(d) of
the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

This is a Final Judgment.

The Clerk will enter this Judgment and provide counsel
for all parties with true copies.

Done at Houston, Texas, this 28th day of December.
1973.

s/ WOODROW SEALS
United States District Judge

Filed: Dec. 28, 1973

17a
APPENDIX “C”

Rigoberto GONZALEZ et al.,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

versus

INTERNATIONAL LONGSHOREMEN’S ASSOCIA-
TION LOCAL NO. 1581, AFL-CIO,
Defendant-Appellee.

No. 74-1658
Summary Calendar.*

United States Court of Appeals,
Fifth Circuit.

Aug. 1, 1974.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas

Before COLEMAN, DYER and RONEY, Circuit
Judges.

PER CURIAM:

Displeased because their seniority rights were alleged-
ly adversely affected by a majority vote of the union mem-
bership, plaintiffs brought suit under section 301(a) of the
National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C.A. § 185(a), for
violation of the Union’s duty of fair representation. The
district court dismissed the complaint for want of jurisdic-
tion. We affirm.

* Rule 18, 5 Cir.: see Isbell Enterprises, Inc. v. Citizens Casualty Co. of New
York et al. 5 Cir, 1970, 431 F.zd 404, Part I

18a

The Union served as a daily hiring hall for the Port of
Houston. While the latter looked to the Union as a source
of labor, there was no collective bargaining agreement
between the Union and the Port.'

As a result of a seniority plan adopted by a majority of
the Union in 1972, those who had worked predominately
in the Compress Department found themselves with less
seniority than those who had worked mainly in the Dock
Department and thus had decreased opportunities to ob-
tain dock work. The plaintiffs’ suit followed.

We think it is clear that there must be a collective
bargaining agreement and a breach of that agreement to
confer jurisdiction on a federal district court under Sec-
tion 301 of the Act. See Rae v. United Parcel Service of
Pa., E.D.Pa. 1973, 356 F.Supp. 465, 468; Genesco, Inc. v.
Joint Council 13, United Shoe Workers of America,
S.D.N.Y. 1964, 230 F.Supp. 923, 928-29, aff'd, 2 Cir. 1965,
341 F.2d 482. Fatal to the jurisdiction of the court below
was the showing that there was no bargaining agreement
between the Port and the Union.’

Affirmed.

1 Any such agreement would have been void as against the statutory policy of
the State of Texas. Vernon’s Ann.Civ.St. art. 5154c, § 1.

2 Section 301(a) of the Act provides: “Suits for violation of contracts between
an employer and a labor organization representing employees in an industry
affecting commerce as defined in this chapter, or between any such labor
organizations, may be brought in any district court of the United States having
jurisdiction of the parties, without respect to the amount in controversy or
without regard to the citizenship of the parties.”

3 Whether there was an “under the table” bargaining agreement between the
Port and the Union as suggested by the plaintiffs does not merit discussion

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_0444%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
