# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bibler v. Young

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_0390%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 419 U.S. 996

## Text

Seren: Cot
e £01,-1

JUL 26 3574

MICHA

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1974

wa a

q4-1%

ANN E. BIBLER, ADMX. OF THE ESTATE OF
RALPH BIBLER, DECEASED, ET AL.,
Petitioners,

No.

vs.
BERRY H. YOUNG, JR., ET AL.,
and

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and

THE FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION,
Respondents.

_—_——

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

HARRY L. RIGGS, JR.

Riggs & Riggs
25 Erlanger Road
Erlanger, Kentucky 41018

NELSON LANCIONE

42 East Gay Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215

COUNSEL FOR PETITIONERS
—— es

re
COURT INDEX PRESS, INC. — 809 Walnut Street, Cincinnati, Ohio 45202 — (513) 241-1450

ae

INDEX

Page
2 sens sees Maceneny SRE ERLE CE TOT TA of eet: > - l
PR. 6 OO drach el pyceet (ace An Se 2
Peewions prewrnted «22... 5... ees esclcc..... 2
Statutory provisions involved .................... 2
wenn We Oe Ces iiss oa ee 3
Reasons for granting the writ
1. The decision below conflicts with the decisions
of other Courts of Appeals as to the standard
of care required of government air traffic con-
secs sep MRRLET PLP eR eas he ie 5
2. The interpretation of 14 C.F.R. Section 91.87
adopted by the Court below raises significant
probleins important to the safe operation of air
iets Ee CE ae REAL tes ann aA, 8
3. The decision below conflicts with the decisions
of other Courts of Appeals as to the proper in-
terpretation of 14 C.F.R. Section 91.87. .......__. 12
sCoxsaeircsrcspma CCE OTe RAS 15

CITATIONS
Cases: Page

Cattarro v. Northwest Airlines, Inc., 236 F. Supp. 889
CEs EP ere oS cay er rec eee eros ras ll

Eastern Airlines v. Union Trust Co., 221 F. 2d 62 (D.C.
ee re aioe ee ae eee, ely ate ree eee 5

George v. American Airlines, Inc., 295 F. 2d 311 (7th

+ 2.) ee Nea b one ue ae cla arian gery 13
Gill v. United States, 429 F. 2d 1072 (5th Cir. 1970) .... 6
Hartz v. United States, 387 F. 2d 870 (3th Cir. 1968) .... 6, 7

Indian ‘Towing Company, Inc. v. United States, 350
ae WR GEES ces hes onta Gees ieee a Rehets ean ree 5

Ingham v. United States, 373 F. 2d 227 (2nd Cir. 1967)... 5

New York Airways, Inc. v. United States, 283 F. 2d
i CR OE iis oe x ee eacee ee eae Ie ceo. 13

Spaulding v. United States, 455 F. 2d 222 (9th Cir. 1972)... 6
United Airlines v. Weiner, 335 F. 2d 379 (9th Cir. 1954)... 7
United States v. Furumizo, 381 F. 2d 965 (9th Cir. 1967)... 6
United States v. Miller, 303 F.2d 703 (9th Cir. 1962) ....13, 14
United States v. Union Trust Company, 350 U.S. 907

MN arcs, et PA Lr OH ah ln el Ded ee rt 5
Statutes:
De Ga CO NE oo borg orc ee 12-12
es |. Sarees eee Renee ene a 2, 12

BO Saws OO ENE a ov Sas dcdacdacosecace 2, 8, 10, 11

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

ANN E. BIBLER, ADMX. OF THE ESTATE Ot

RALPH BIBLER, DECEASED, ET AL...
Petitioners,
Vs.
BERRY H. YOUNG, JR., ET AL...
and

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and
THE FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

The petitioner, Aun E. Bibler, Administratrix of the Estate
of Ralph Bibler, deceased, respectfully prays that a writ of
certiorari issue to review the judgment and opinion of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit entered
in this proceeding on February 27, 1974.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals was reported in 492 F.2d
1351 (6th Cir. 1974), and appears in the separately printed
appendix. The unreported opinion of the District Court for the
Southern District of Ohio, appears in the separately printed
appendix.

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit
was entered on February 27, 1974. The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. Section 1254(1)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether or not 14 C.F.R. Section 91.67, the Right of
Way Rules, are applicable to aircraft operating within air
ticflic control areas, and if so, was respondent, Young, neg-
ligent in failing to observe the provisions thereof?

2. For purposes of 14 C.F.R. Section 91.87 regarding
radio contact with control towers, is approach control an
entity of the control tower as that term is construed in Sec-
tion 14 Section 91.87?

?

3. Was the United States, through its agent, the Federal
Aviation Administration, negligent in failing to warn the de-
cedent, Bibler, of the presence of another aircraft in com-
peting airspace?

4. Was the United States, through its agent, the Federal
Aviation Administration negligent in failing to adhere to its
procedural guide lines and advise decedent, Bibler, to con-
tact local control at the outer marker?

5. Whether the proximate cause of the collision of the two
aircraft approaching the same runway was the faiture of ap-
proach control to observe the danger and warn the pilot?

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED
(Printed in separately bound Appendix )
Code of Fedegsal Regulations, Chapter 14:

Section 1.67 Right of Way Rules; except water
operations.

Section 91.87 (a}, (b) Operation at airports with oper-
ating control towers.

3
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The jurisdiction of the Federal Court was invoked in the
case as the action was brought under the Federal Tort Claims
Act (18 U.S.C. Section 1346(b)).. The action was brought by
the petitioner, Aun Bibler, as Administratrix of her husband's
estate against the United States and the Federal Aviation
Administration for the wrongful death of her husband who
was killed in a mid-air collision. Petitioner also sued re-
spondent’s Young and Ohio Aviation Distributors, Inc., the
pilot and owner of the other plane.

In a related state case Sundin, the owner of the air-
craft in which Bibler was killed, sued all the respondent's
for property damage. By stipulation of all parties the cases
were tried in the United States District Court for the Southern
District of Ohio. Judge Rubin held that the petitioner's claims
were barred by the contributory negligence of the deceased
pilot.

In affirming the judgment of the District Court, the Court
of Appeals held that the approach controller at the Port Co-
lumbus Airport was guilty of negligence for failing to tell the
pilot Bibler to contact the local controller, but that this neg-
ligence was not the proximate cause of the collision. (App. p.
3). The Court of Appeals found that respondent, Young was
not guilty of any negligence. The court also found Bibler
contributorily negligent in that he failed to maintain con-
tact with the control tower while in an airport traffic area.
(App. pp. 14-15).

The mid-air collision occurred approximately two miles east
of Port Columbus Airport, Columbus, Ohio on April 10, 1968.
The petitioner's decedent, Bibler, was an instructor-pilot in
aircraft 39J, and respondent, Young was piloting ISN. The
respondent, United States and the Federal Aviation Admini-
stration operate the control tower at Port Columbus Airport.
The control tower at Columbus Airport is divided into separ-
ate functions; Approach Control and Local Control are
relevant to case at bar. Both aircraft were approaching Run-

4

way 28L at the airport. 18N for the purpose of landing and
39J was completing a second practice instrument approach
and had informed Approach Control of his intention to con-
duct a third. Approximately one-fourth of the rear section of 39]
was severed in the collision including the entire tail section.
It immediately fell to the ground killing Bibler and a student
pilot. 18N, with a portion of the tail section of 39] wrapped
around its propeller made a safe emergency landing in a
nearby field.

The reconstruction of the events preceding the collision are
based entirely upon the tape recordings of all transmissions
made to and by Approach and Local Control. A typed state-
ment of these transmissions including time sequence is con-
tained in pages 172 through 189 of the Appendix to the Appel-
lants’ Brief contained in the record transmitted to the Court. At
1457:50, 39] requests a second practice instrument approach af-
tor having successfully completed a first. Approach Contro! im-
mediately acknowledged and then at 1502:26 Approach Con-
trol instructs 39] to turn to a heading of 260 degrees inter-
cept the final approach course and clears him for a straight-
in instrument approach to Runway 28L. At the same time
39] informs Approach Control he plans to execute a third
missed approach and not to land. At 1503:23 Approach Con-
trol informs Local Control on the intercommunication line
of 39J’s presence on the localizer and intorms Local Control
to turn 39J south if he gets in the way. At 1503:47 Approach
Control informs 39] he is one mile from the outer marker
and that he will be spaced in reference to a Lake Central
Nord aircraft approaching Runway 28L.

Between 1503:47 and 1504:24, 18N contacts Local Control
and identifies himself as two miles south of the outer marker.
During the same period Approach Control and Local Control
are exchanging conversations on the intercommunication line
regarding the location of the Approach Controller's wife.
Shortly after 1504:24 Local Control advises 18N to plan to
land on Runway 28L and that he is number two behind a
Lake Central Nord. ‘At 1504:34 Local Control informs Ap-

5

proach Control of the presence of 18N south of the outer
marker. Next Local Control next informs 18N that he be-
lieves he has him in sight and clears him to land on Runway
28L. At 1507:45, 39] advises Approach Control that he is
“just a beam off Western Electric.” It is at this approximate
point that ISN strikes 39J on the left rear side of 39] and
at an angle of approximately 30 degrees.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH
THE DECISIONS OF OTHER COURTS OF AP-
PEALS AS TO THE STANDARD OF CARE RE-
QUIRED OF GOVERNMENT AIR TRAFFIC CON-
TROLLERS.

The exemptions of Federal Tort Claims Act were held not
to preclude recovery against the government for the neg-
ligence of Air Traffic Control for landing two aircraft on
the same runway in Eastern Airlines vy. Union Trust Company,
221 F. 2d 62 (D.C. Cir. 1955), aff'd. sub nom., United States
v. Union Trust Company, 350 U.S. 907 (1955). After this
decision the duty of the air traffic controler has been ex-
panded in scope commensurate with the requirements of air
safety. The duty to warn is based on the simple principal
that once the government has assumed a function or service,
it is liable for negligent performance. Indian Towing Com-
pany, Inc. v. United States, 350 U.S. 61, 64-65, (1955). The
lower standard of care imposed on the government by the
Court below is in conflict with the standard imposed by other
Circuits and merits review by this Court.

The Second Circuit in Ingham v. United States, 373 F. 2d
227 (2nd Cir. 1967), cert. denied, 389 U.S. 931 (1967), held
that the controller had to do more than merely comply with
operating procedures required by ATC manuals. The con-
troller’s twelve minute delay to advise the pilot of a change
in weather was deemed negligence and a proximate cause of
the crash of the airliner.

6

The same standard was imposed on ATC by the Ninth
Circuit in United States v. Furumizo, 381 F. 2d 965 (9th Cir.
1967), wherein the pilot had been given the procedures
manual warnings regarding wake turbulence, but proceded
to land as the controller watched. The Court found an
“overriding duty” of safety that went beyond the require-
ments of the procedures manual and held there was a duty
to repeat the warning when it was apparent to ATC that
the pilot was in obvious danger.

In Hartz v. United States, 387 F. 2d 870 (Sth Cir. 1968),
the Fifth Circuit in deciding the duty of government air
traffic controllers held that before a pilot can be held legally
responsible for the movement of his aircraft he must know,
or be held to have known, those facts which were then ma-
terial to the safe operation of his aircraft. In Hartz, the con-
troller's warning to the pilot to “watch the prop wash” was
held to be insufficient warning of a wake turbulence. The
controller was held to have a superior duty because of both
the controller's better physical position for observation and
his experience. The controller's negligence in failing to de-
lay the take-off for a reasonable time was held to have been
the proximate cause of the crash of a small plane on take-
off into the turbulence from the prior take-off of a com-
mercial airliner. Thus, establishing that pilot action could
not be the proximate cause until he is charged with all the
facts.

The duty of the air traffic controller was similarly decided
by the Ninth Circuit in Spaulding v. United States, 455 F. 2d
222 (9th Cir. 1972). The controller is required to give all
information and warnings specified in his manuals, and in
certain situations he must give information beyond the man-
uals. Spaulding, supra, cited Hartz, supra, as an example of
where the situation requires the controller to give additional
warnings as the controller is better qualified to evaluate the
actual situation.

The Fifth Circuit, again in Gill v. United States, 429 F. 2d
1072 (5th Cir. 1970) similarly held the duty of the United

7

States to exercise due care in providing services to airplane
pilots rests either upon requirements of procedures manuals
or upon general pilot reliance upon the government for the
given service.

In United Air Lines v. Weiner, 335 F. 2d 379 (9th Cir.
1954), warnings beyond those prescribed in the manual were
required when danger is known only to federal personnel.
In Weiner, the controller failed to warn aircraft of the po-
tential invasion of its airspace by a military jet.

Of the entities involved Approach Control alone possessed
all the essential information necessary to avoid the crash.
(App. p. 11). Thus the government of all the parties in-
volved was better qualified to evaluate the situation and
required by the standard set forth in Hartz, supra, to warn
the aircraft of the danger. The Court of Appeals affirmed the
District Courts’ finding that the radar screen used by Ap-
proach Control was available to alert the controller of the
decreasing separation between the two planes.

Under the standards set forth in Hartz, and the other cited
cases, Bibler cannot be held legally responsible for the move-
ment of his aircraft until he knows or can be held to have
known, those facts which were material to the safc operation
of his aircraft. Bibler did not know, nor was he capable of
knowing where 18N was located. Approach Control possessed
such knowledge. It was this negligence of Approach
Control that proximately caused this collision, not any
negligence on Bibler’s part. Bibler’s failure to contact Local
Control can not be considered proximate cause when Ap-
proach Control has a duty to warn pilots of danger before
the pilot is legally responsible.

The conflicting lesser degree of care required by the de-
cision below is exemplified by the fact that Approach Control
failed to even give the warnings required by procedures
manuals, Under Section 674 of the Terminal Air Traffic
Control Manual (App. D), the Approach Controller is re-
quired to issue certain instructions to the pilot regarding

8

switching to Local Control. This he failed to do. Approach
Control did not even satisfy these requirements. Thus, the
court below has set forth a standard far below those decided
by other Courts of Appeals requiring the government to give
warnings beyond those prescribed in the manuals.

These decisions because of conflicting nature of the duty
prescribed for the air traffic controller involves questions of
import beyond the parties involved in this case. If the de-
cision below is allowed to stand the safety of operations at
major airports will be jeopardized. The Sixth Circuit has im-
posed a standard of care on the government that is not com-
mensurate with the task undertaken by the Federal Aviation
Administration, namely the safety of air traffic in this county's
airports. The decision of the court below and those of the
Fifth, Second and Ninth Circuits need be reconciled to en-
sure a uniform standard.

2, THE INTERPRETATION OF 14 C.F.R. SEC-
TION 91.87 ADOPTED BY THE COURT BELOW
RAISES SIGNIFICANT PROBLEMS IMPORTANT
TO THE SAFE OPERATION OF AIR TRAVEL.

The Federal Aviation Administration Regulations interpreted
by the court below includes:

Communications with control towers operated by the
United States. No person may within an airport traffic
area, operate an aircraft to, from, or on an airport hav-
ing a control tower operated by the United States un-
less two-way radio communications are maintained be-
tween that aircraft and the control tower. . . i4 C.F.R.
Section 91.87(b) (1968).

The Court of Appeals affirmed the District Judge's finding
that Bibler was guilty of contributory negligence consisting
of failing to contact the Tower as he passed the outer marker

9

and failing to maintain radio cont. ‘t with the Tower while
in the airport traffic area. (App. p. 15). This finding of neg-
ligence was premised a “violation of the above regulation.”

In affirming the finding of contributory negligence the court
below discusses Bibler’s failure to communicate with the
“Tower.” The District Court and the Court of Appeals are
both confused by terms. The regulation quoted above pro-
hibits flying within an airport traffic area unless two-way
radio communications is maintained between the aircraft and
the control tower. The term control tower is not limiting.
In Appendix E is contained an excerpt from the FAA’s In-
strument Flying Handbook. It is important to note that the
term “control tower” refers to five different subgroupings.
The term control tower includes Local Control, Ground Con-
trol, Clearance Delivery, Departure Control and Approach Con-
tro). For some reason, both the District Court and the Court of
Appeals concluded that the control tower, commonly referred
to as Local Control, and Approach Control are two separate
and distinct entities. This is not the case and was never
intended by the regulation. Bibler was in contact with the
“control tower” by maintaining two-way communications with
Approach Control. Both the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals
and the District Court are wrong and have missed the point
of the regulation when they hold otherwise.

In the opinion of the Court of Appeals at App. p. 2, the
District Court’s finding of fact concerning the functions of the
control tower are set forth. The findings state:

“The control of traffic in and around the Columbus Air-
port is a function of the Federal Aviation Administra-
tion. This facility operates from the Columbus control
tower. There is a separation of function between Ap-
proach Control (APC) which monitors by radar traffic
which is outside of a five mile radius from the tower,
and Tower Control, also known as Local Control (TWR),
which has jurisdiction over air traffic within the five mile
radius.” (Emphasis added).

10

The court correctly states the relationship among the terms
control tower, Approach Control and Lecal Concrol. That
is, that the term control tower includes the functions of Local
Control and Approach Control. Yet in finding Bibler con-
tributorily negligent, thus barring any recovery, both the
Disizict Court and the Court of Appeals concluded he had
violated the regulation requiring contact with the control
tower. The undisputed facts show Bibler maintained radio
contact with Approach Control. Thus the finding of con-
tributory negligence is based on the erroneous assumption that
the term control tower does not encompass the Approach
Control function.

The finding that Bibler violated 14 C.F.R. 91.87 by failing
to maintain radio contact with the tower can only be based
on the erroneous conclusion that the control tower does not
include the Approach Controller. It is this erroneous con-
struction of the Federal Air Regulations that this Court
should review. Such construction will have a harsh effect on
the operation of air traffic control facilities endangering the
safety of all persons flying in and out of tower controlled air-
ports in the United States.

This interpretation permits the government to, in effect.
become two parties in this and other actions against the United
States for negligent performance of control tower functions.
On the facts of this case, as found by both the District Court
and the Court of Appeals, Bibler was in radio contact with
Approach Control at Port Columbus Airport, and concurrent-
ly respondent, Young, was communicating with Local Con-
trol. Both planes were being guided toward the same run-
way by two units of the same Air Traffic Control facility. A
case of the right hand not knowing what the left is doing,
certainly a violation of the high standard of care imposed on
the government by the line of decisions in the Fifth, Ninth,
aud Second Circuits, supra.

The Federal Aviation Administration employees who con-

11

trol air traffic in our major airports are the agents of one party,
the United States of America, which is responsible for their
negligent performance that was proximate cause of this tragic
accident. To exoncrate the United States because two of its
agents, who were in interphone contact with cach other, di-
rected two planes to approach the same runway at the same
time is ludicrous.

In one case where this issue was present, a District Court
held that one government air traffic controller cannot. au-
thorize an airplane to fly a collision course with another air-
plane then being monitored by another government control-
ler and escape liability by claiming neither controller had a
duty to separate them. Cattarro v. Northwest Airlines, Inc.,
236 F. Supp. 889 (D.C. Vir. 1964).

It is important that this Court determine the proper in-
terpretation of 14 C.F.R. Section 91.87. The respective duties
incumbent on pilot and controller must be determined. In
order for this to be accomplished, the proper interpretation
of the term control tower must be established. The pro-
cedures manuals, charts, and regulations that govern aviation
are predicated on the Court's interpretation of the air traffic
controller's duty of care. With nationwide aviation traffic,
it is both impractical and dangerous for this standard to vary
among the Circuits. Further, it is conceivable that follow-
ing this decision one aircraft in contact with the one govern-
ment controller might land on one runway, while a second
aircraft, in contact with a second government controller, would
land on the same runway at the same time with catastrophic
results. To avoid such consequences petitioner respectfully
submits that this Court should review this case and establish
a standard of care for government air traffic control fa-
cilities commensurate with the responsibility for human life
placed upon them.

12

3. THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH
THE DECISIONS OF OTHER COURTS OF AP-
PEALS AS TO THE PROPER INTERPRETATION
OF 14 C.F.R. SECTION 91.67.

In finding that Respondent, Young, was not guilty of any
negligence, the Sixth Circuit held that he had not violated
the right of way rules promulgated in the Federal Air Reg-
ulations:

(e) OVERTAKING. Each aircraft that is being over-
taken has the right of way and each pilot of an over-
taking aircraft shall alter course to the right to pass will
clear.

(f) LANDING. Aircraft, while on final approach to
land, or while landing, have the right of way over other
aircraft in flight or operating on the surface. When two
or more aircraft are approaching an airport for the pur-
pose of landing, the aircraft at the lower altitude has the
right of way, but it shall not take advantage of this rule
to cut in front of another which is on final approach to
land, or to overtake that aircraft. 14 C.F.R. Section 91.-
67(e) & (f) (1973).

As stated by the Court below, Young’s plane was both above
and behind Bibler’s. (App. 18). This under the language
of Section 91.67(f) states Bibler had the right of way as he
was at the lower altitude. However, the court found that
Young could not see Bibler because of the configuration of
his plane. (App. p. 18). This finding is based on the Court’s
opinion that Young was not required to take any further
measures to observe Bibler or any other aircraft that might
be in his path. This conclusion is in conflict with the duty
imposed upon pilots by other Circuits interpreting the right
of way rules.

The argument that the rules of right of way do not apply to
Young is predicated on a note to 14 C.F.R. Section 60.14
reading in part:

13

“Note: Right-of-way rules do not apply when, for rea-
sons beyond the pilot’s control, aircraft cannot be seen
due to restrictions of visibility.”

The Ninth Circuit in United States v. Miller, 303 F. 2d 703
(9th Cir. 1962), held that the configuration of the aircraft
was not “beyond the pilot’s control” and thus the note did
not relieve the pilot of his duty to look out for other aircraft.
This imposes a duty on the pilot to observe the right of way
rules where by altering the plane’s position the pilot can
observe the area beneath and in front of his descending air-
craft.

Thus the holding in Miller and that of the Court below im-
poses are directly in conflict as to the standard of care im-
posed on pilots by the Federal Air Regulations dealing with
right of way, an area of aviation law whose effect on air
safety is obvious. Miller, supra, involved two aircraft that
collided while in an airport traffic area and under the control
of government air traffic controllers. Thus the right of way
rules were held applicable in the airport traffic area and
the instant case is not distinguishable on that ground.

In New York Airways, Inc. v. United States, 283 F. 2d 496
(2d Cir. 1960), the Second Circuit found the pilot of a heli-
copter negligent in that he failed to manuever his aircraft
to keep the touchdown area in sight. Thus imposing a duty
to observe as in United States v. Miller, supra. Also in George
v. American Airlines, Inc., 295 F. 2d 311 (7th Cir. 1961), the
crew of an air carrier were held negligent for failure to main-
tain a proper lookout. These cases all exhibit the imposition of
a higher standard of care on pilots to observe other aircraft than
does the decision of the Court below.

The Sixth Circuit states that the respondent, Young, was
not in violation of the right-of-way rules as he had a clearance
to land and the petitioner did not. The petitioner respect-
fully submits that this determination is an error. The fact that
Bibler was not going to actually land does not alter the fact
that he was cleared to approach runway 28L and should

14

have beeu observed by the respondent, Young. Further the
Court below stated:

“At the time and place concerned, Young did not know
that what turned out to be Bibler’s plane (391) was even.
in the airport traffic area.” (App. p. 18).

This statement is clearly an error. The flight transcript re-
veals that the local controller warned Young of Bibler’s pres-
ence. When Young communicated to the Columbus tower that
he was approaching the airport for a landing and was lo-
cated south of the outer marker the Columbus local con-
troller responded:

“18N south of charlie mike plan runway 28L presently no.
2 following a nord on a right base leg for 28L and watch
for traffic coming up on the marker, be making an aisle s
(instrument) low approach.”

The local controller had immediately prior to this point been
told of the presence of 39] on the ILS approach.

The foregoing demonstrates that the conclusion of the Sixth
Circuit Court of Appeals that Young had not violated the right-
of-way rules was in error. This erroneous application of the
rules should be reversed by this Court. More importantly,
and even disregarding the Court's factual conclusions. The
standard of care imposed on pilots by the Sixth Circuit Court
of Appeals departs from that standard imposed by the Ninth
Circuit in United States v. Miller, supra. The Sixth Circuit
Court of Appeals has lowered the standard of care imposed
on pilots at the expense of air safety. The conflict in in-
terpretation of the Federal Air Regulations, and the differing
standards imposed thereunder must be resolved by this Court.

15
COIXCLUSION

For these reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue to re-
view the judgment and opinion of the Sixth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

HARRY L. RIGGS, Ji
RIGGS & RIGGS

25 Erlanger Road
Erlanger, Kentucky 41017

NELSON LANCIONE

42 East Gay St.
Columbus, Ohio 43215

Counsel for Petitioner

' FILEFTywy

AUG 3 197%
———————————————————————

IN THE | MICHAEL RODAK, !2_1

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1974

ANN E. BIBLER, ADMX. OF THE ESTATE OF
RALPH BIBLER, DECEASED, ET AL.,
Petitioners,
VS.

BERRY H. YOUNG, JR., ET AL.,
and
THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and

THE FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION,
Respondents.

APPENDIX TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

HARRY L. RIGGS, JR.
Riggs & Riggs
25 Erlanger Road
Erlanger, Kentucky 41018
NELSON LANCIONE
42 East Gay Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215

COUNSEL FOR PETITIONERS

Te ES RD
COURT INDEX PRESS, INC. — 809 Walnut Street, Cincinnati, Ohio 45202 — (513) 241-1450

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Appendix A
Eee ee ree

Appendix B
Opinion of The Court of Appeals ..................

Appendix C
Opinion of The District Court ...........0000.....

Appendix D
Terminal Air Traffic Control Manual ..............

Appendix E
Excerpts From FAA Instrument Flying Handbook ... .

Appendix F
Judgment of The Court of Appeals ................

Page

19

36

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

ANN E. BIBLER, ADMX. OF THE ESTATE OF
RALPH BIBLER, DECEASED, ET AL.,

Petitioners,
vs.
BERRY H. YOUNG, JR., ET AL.,
and

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and
THE FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION,

Respondents.

APPENDIX TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

APPENDIX A.
REGULATIONS INVOLVED
14 C.F.R. § 91.67 Right-of-way Rules; Except Water Opera-
tions.

(a) GENERAL. Except when, because of restrictions to
visibility beyond the pilot’s control, another aircraft cannot
be seen, each person operating an aircraft shall comply with
this section. When a rule of this section gives another air-
craft the right-of-way, he shall give way to that aircraft and
may not pass over, under, or ahead of it, unless well clear.

(ec) OVERTAKING. Each aircraft that is being overtaken
has the right-of-way and cach pilot of an overtaking aircraft
shall alter course to the right to pass well clear.

(f) LANDING. Aircraft, while ou final approac’: to land,
or while landing have the right-of-way oy other aircraft
in flight or operating on the surface. When two or more air-
craft are approaching an airport for the purpose ef landing,
the aircraft at the lower altitude has the righi-of-way, but
it shall not take advantage of this rule to cul in front of
another which is on final approach to laud, or to overtake
that aircraft.

14 C.F.R. § 91.87 Operation at airports with operating control
towers,

(a) GENERAL. Unless otherwise authorized or required
by ATC, each person operating an aircraft to, from, or on an
airport with an operating control tower shall comply with
the applicable provisions of this section.

(b) COMMUNICATIONS WITH CONTROL TOWERS
OPERATED BY THE UNITED STATES. No person may,
within an airport traffic area, operate an aircraft to, from, or
on an airport having a control tower operated by the United
States unless two-way radio communications are maintained
between that aircraft and the control tower. However, if the
aircraft radio fails in flight, he may operate that aircraft and
land if weather conditions are at or above basic VFR weather
minimums, he maintains visual contact with the tower, and he
receives a clearance to land. If the aircraft radio fails while
in flight under IFR, he must comply with Section 91.127.

1

2
APPENDIX B.

OPINION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS

Nos. 73-1201-02

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

ANN E. Biscer, ApMx. or THE Estate

OF Raven Biscen, DECEASED, ET AL., |

Plaintiffs-Appellants, |

Vv.

Berry H. Younc, JR., ET AL,
Defendants-Appellees. | ApreaAL from the
. United States District
Unitep STATES OF AMERICA. AND Tue | Court for the South-
Feperar AVIATION AvMinistration,| ¢™ District of Ohio.
Third-Party Plaintiffs-Appellants,
Vv. {
Berry H. Younc, JR., er At. |
Third-Party Defendants-Appellees.

Decided and Filed February 27, 1974.

Before: Wrick, Epwanvs and CeLesrezze, Circuit Judges.

Enwanps, Circuit Judge. The widow of a deceased airplane
pilot and instructor appeals from the judgment of the United
States District Court for the Southern District. of Ohio dis-
missing her complaint. The District Judge who tried this
case without a jury found for the defendants on the ground
of contributory negligence on the part of her husband who

3

was killed in an airplane crash. The suit was brought under
the Federal Tort Claims Act (18 U.S.C. § 1346(b) (1970) ),
by Ann Bibler, as Administratrix of her husband's estate, on
behalf of herself and their minor child against the United
States and the Federal Aviation Administration, the operator
of the control tower at the Columbus, Ohio, airport where
the crash occurred. She also sued the owner and operator
of the other aircraft which collided with Bibler’s plane. The
United States answered denying negligence and claimed in-
demnification against defendants Young and Ohio Aviation
Distributors, Inc., the operator and the owner of the other
plane.

By stipulation of the parties, another related state case was
submitted to the court wherein Sundin, the owner of the
plane in which Bibler was killed, sued all the same defendants
for property damage occasioned by their claimed negligence.
In turn Ohio Aviation counterclaimed for the damages to its
plane.

The cases were heard before Judge Rubin in the United
States District Court for the Southern District of Ohio. Judge
Rubin held that the plaintiffs’ claims were barred by the con-
tributory negligence of the deceased pilot, Bibler, in that “He
failed to advise the Local Control that he had passed the
cuter marker” in making a simulated landing at Port Colum-
bus International Airport, and in that he failed to make and
maintain radio contact with the Local Controller while over
the airport area. The District Judge held that pilot Young
was not guilty of negligence and awarded $17,000 damages to
Ohio Aviation for the damage to the plane Young was flying.
He also held that the approach controller at the Port Colum-
bus Airport was guilty of negligence for failing to tell pilot
Bibler to contact Local Control. But he held that this neg-
ligence was not the proximate cause of the accident. The
District Judge also held that the Local Controller at the
Port Columbus Airport was not guilty of negligence.

There were four parties involved in this air collision which

4

resulted in the death of two people. This record, as we view
it, indicates that any one of the four might have prevented
the crash. But actionable negligence does not consist of failing
to take extraordinary measures which hindsight demonstrates
would have been helpful. It consists of doing or failing to
do what a reasonable man would do under the circumstances
contronting him.

This appeal disputes the interpretation of the applicable rules
and regulations and the inferences from the facts drawn by
the District Judge. Many of the facts in this case were stipu-
lated and none of them are currently in dispute.

We recite them from the District Judge’s findings of fact:

“FINDINGS OF FACT
Finding of Fact (1)
General Conditions at Columbus International Airport

Columbus International Airport, known by pilots as
CMH, is located in Franklin County, Ohio, immediately
east of the City of Columbus. Its main runways lie in
an east-west direction. Airport runways are identified by
the first two digits of direction. Accordingly, the two
main runways of Port Columbus are 28 left and 28 right,
indicating an east to west bearing of approximately 280
degrees. When used west to east the same runways are
known as 10 left and 10 right, signifying a heading of
approximately 100 degrees. The precise magnetic bear-
ing of 28 left and 28 right is 276 degrees.

Runway 28 left is 10,700 feet long and 150 feet wide.
It is equipped for instrument landing and includes an
electronic extension in the same compass heading referred
to as a ‘beam.’ At a point 5.4 nautical miles (6.2 statute
miles) east of runway 28's left threshold is the ‘outer
marker.’ An outer marker is an electronic device that ad-
vises a pilot when he has passed over it on his way to
a landing.

Between the outer marker and the runway threshold
there is a middle marker which likewise electronically

5

advises the pilot that he has passed over such marker.
A pilot may receive such information by a Beacon Mark-
er Indicator which will cause a light to flash on the
instrument panel and an audible radio signal to be
given, or by a low frequency ADF receiver which will
receive in Morse Code the identifying letters of the
marker. The outer marker on runway 28 left is identi-
fied by the letters CM and is known by the term ‘Charlie
Mike.’

A plane need not contain such equipment in order to
use part of the electronic extension of runway 28 left.
A plane can be equipped merely to ascertain its posi-
tion in relation to the electronic extension or ‘localizer
beam’ and be guided onto the localizer for ultimate
landing on the runway.

The control of traffic in and around the Columbus Air-
port is a function of the Federal Aviation Administra-
tion. This facility operates from the Columbus control
tower. There is a separation of function between Ap-
proach Control (APC) which monitors by radar traffic
which is outside of a five mile radius from the tower,
and Tower Control, also known as Local Control (TWR),'
which has jurisdiction over air traffic within the five
miie radius. APC operations extend for approximately
forty miles around Port Columbus. Local Control is
housed at the top of the control tower. In 1968, when
this accident occurred, Local Control did not have radar
equipment and relied on visual sightings to identify and
direct landing aircraft. The two control departments
communicate with pilots on assigned frequencies: APC
on 119.0 megahertz and TWR on 121.5. Because their
jurisdictions are exclusive, pilots do not customarily com-
municate with both departments simultaneously.

When a pilot is flying under instrument flight regula-
tions (IFR), he communicates with Approach Control
until he reaches the outer marker. At this time he is

1vhe terms Local Control, Local Tower or Tower as used
herein are synonymous and are all identified at TWR.

6

advised to contact Local Control in the tower on its
frequency and report his presence. When a pilot is flying
under visual flight regulations (VFR) he is not required
to advise Approach Control of his presence, but contacts
instead Local Control when he is in the vicinity of the
outer marker.

Finding of Fact (2)
Cherokee N42 39J (39 Juliet)?

On April 10, 1968, Ralph D. Bibler, decedent, was a
duly qualified and licensed commercial pilot and flight in-
structor with over 1000 hours of pilot flight time. He
Was in command of a Piper Cherokee aircraft, Registra-
tion No. N4239J. At approximately 3:00 p-m. on that
date, he was instructing a student, one David Dunnick,
in the procedures for instrument landing at Port Co-
lumbus. Mr. Dunnick had logged 123 hours of flight
time. The plane was equipped with an omni-converter
for localizer guidance. It was not equipped with an
ADF radio Beacon Marker Indicator or any other elec-
tronic means of establishing position in relation to the
outer marker. Prior to 3:00 p.m., 39 Juliet was operating
under Instrument Flight Regulations (IFR) procedures
with student Dunnick at the controls. Dunnick was Wear-
ing a ‘hood,’ a vision limiting, device which focused his
attention upon the instrument panel. As the operating
pilot stedent Dunnick occupied the left hand seat. In-
structor Bibler occupied the right hand seat. Weather
conditions at Port Columbus on April 10, | 968, were such
that visual flight regulations (VFR) were in effect. Pro-
ceeding under IFR conditions in a VFR day placed an
obligation upon Bibler to ect as ‘safety pilot’ and ob-
serve the classical admonition under VFR conditions of
‘see and be seen,’

2 There is an identification System used by pilots and con-
trollers which involves the last two digits and letter of a plane’s |
registration. Specific words are used to avoid letter confusion.
Thus Cherokee N42352 was known as “39 Juliet” and Bonanza
N8318N wae referred to as “18 November.”

7

Finding of Fact (3)
Bonanza N8318N (18 November)

Defendant Berry D. Young, a retired United States Air
Force Lieutenant Colonel, on April 10 was piloting Beech-
craft Bonanza No. 8318N. Defendant Young at the time
had logged in excess of 7,000 hours of pilot flying time.
He was employed as a salesman by defendant Ohio Avi-
ation Company, a distributor of Beechcraft products. The
instrument equipment of 18 November is not significant
since Young was flying, on the date in question, under
VFR conditions. One such instrument, the air speed
indicator, was known to be inaccurate in its operation.
Mr. Young had taken off at approximately 14:30 (2:30
p.m.) from the Wood County Airport at Parkersburg,
West Virginia. At 1500 (3:00 p.m.) he was proceeding
in a westerly direction parallel to Interstate 70 and im-
mediately south thereof. His direction would approxi-
mate the magnetic heading of runway 28 and he would
be approximately 2 miles south of an eastward projection
thereof. He first contacted Local Control at 1504 (3:04
p.m.) locating himself “2 miles south of Charlie Mike”
(outer marker),

Finding of Fact (4)
Approach Control (APC)

Approach Control at the Port Columbus tower was
made aware of the presence of 39 Juliet at 1440:54 (2:40
p-m.). Its pilot requested a practice instrument approach
at the Port Columbus Airport. In answer to its question
Approach Control was advised that 39 Juliet was rated
and equipped for an ILS approach. It is a matter of
definition whether it was so equipped. 39 Juliet could
electronically locate the localizer beam: it could not elec-
tronically find either the outer marker or the middle
marker. The outer marker at Port Columbus can be
visually determined and on the first ILS approach, Local
Control was advised when 39 Juliet passed the marker.

8

This was in accordance with previous instruction from
Approach Control. An ILS practice approach is treated
as a missed approach. 39 Juliet was instructed to exe-
cute a right turn to heading 50°, ascend to an altitude
of 2,700 feet and return to the frequency of Approach
Control. At 1457:50, 39 Juliet did so return and was
guided or ‘vectored’ in a clockwise direction for a second
approach to the runway. Thereafter Approach Control
gave 39 Juliet the following instructions: 1500:16 head-
ing 100°; 1501.25 heading 180°; 1502:26 heading
260°.

At 1503:47, 39 Juliet was noted by Approach Control
as ‘on the localizer a mile from the marker” At no
time did Approach Control have radio contact with 18
November. APC was, however, aware that 18 Novem-
ber would land on runway 28 left.

Pinding of Fact (5)
Local Control (TWR)

Local Control did not have in 1968 a radar scope that
would assist its controllers (or Tower Control) in lo-
cating and monitoring a specific plane. The tower con-
trollers were required to make visual locations assisted
by binoculars when those were indicated. TWR had
contact with 39 Juliet on the first approach from 1449,
when it was advised that 39 Juliet had passed the outer
marker, until 1457:50, when the pilot returned to the
frequency of Approach Control. At 1503:23 TWR was
advised that 39 Juliet was on the localizer. Approach
Control advised that if 39 Juliet got in TWR’s way he
was to be turned south.

Approximately 37 seconds later at 1504, 18 November
advised TWR that he was 2 miles south of Charlie
Mike for landing. TWR instructed 18 November to land
on runway 28 left number two following a flight of Lake
Central Airlines in a Nord aircraft. This transmission in-
cluded notice of traffic coming upon the outer marker
intending an ILS low approach. The term ‘low approach’

9

or ‘low go’ refers to a landing approach that will not
be completed.

At no time after 1457:50 was there radio communica-
tion between 39 Juliet and Local Control although no
later than 1504:47, 39 Juliet did in fact cross the outer
marker. 39 Juliet never contacted TWR during the time
it was inside the outer marker. Its last advice at 1507:45
was made to Approach Control and its radio in the wreck-
age was found to be tuned to 119.0 mg. Approach Con-
trol frequency (Ex. 45 at 8).

Finding of Fact (6)
Time and Location
In midair collision cases, the relative positions of the
aircraft are of sufficient importance to be considered in
detail. The Court finds that the positions of the two air-
craft over the crucial period of time prior to their crash,
were as follows:

POSITION
39] 18N
Prior to 1500
1459:07 North East of Unknown — heading
Tower 2 mi. westerly from
heading 50° Parkersburg, W. Va.

1500-1501

1500:16 Heading 100° Unknown — heading
westerly from
Parkersburg, W. Va.

1501-1502

1501:25 Heading 180° Unknown — heading
westerly from
Parkersburg, W. Va.

1502-1503

1502:26 Heading 260° Unknown — heading
westerly from
Parkersburg, W. Va.

10

1503-1504

1503:23 On the localizer Unknown — heading
westerly from
Parkersburg, W. Va.

1503:47 On the localizer Unknown — heading
a mile from the westerly from
marker Parkersburg, W. Va.

1504-1505
1504:14% On the localizer 2 mi. s. of Charlie Mike
1504:44"2 On the localizer down by Pandora’s Box

1505-1506

1505:34° On the localizer South of the approach
course

1506-1507

1506:41 On the localizer In sight [of Tower]

1507-1508

1507:45 A beam Western

Electric

Finding of Fact (7)
Knowledge of Parties

(A) Knowledge of 18 November — After contacting
Local Control at 1504, Young was advised to plan to
land on runway 28 left following the Lake Central Nord
and to watch traffic coming up on the outer marker mak-
ing an ILS low approach. The term, ‘coming up on the
outer marker,” indicates a position of such traffic at that
time cast of the outer marker. Because only 13 seconds
had elapsed from the location of 39 Juliet at one mile
from the outer marker, this statement was correct. At
1505:47° he was advised of the Lake Central Nord about
a mile out of the airport and cleared to land on runway
28 left.

(B) Knowledge of 39 Julict — Following the vectoring
that had ended at 1502:26, 39 Juliet had received from
Approach Control a clearance for a straight in ILS 28L

1]

approach. At 1503:47 he was advised that he was on the
localizer one mile from the outer marker and spaced in
reference to a Lake Central Nord three miles north of the
airport. The term ‘spaced in reference to Lake Central
Nord’ is not a clearance to land nor is it a landing se-
quence. At 1507:45, 39 Juliet knew he was inside the
outer marker since he advised Approach Control ‘a beam
of Western Electric.’ No conversation at any time in this
approach was had with Local Control.

(C) Knowledge of Approach Control — At 1502:26
Approach Control knew that 39 Juliet was heading 260°
intending another missed approach. At 1503:47 he knew
that 39 Julict was on the localizer one mile from the
outer marker. At 1504:34 Approach Control knew that
18 November was intending to land on 28 left. At
1504:44% Approach Control knew that 18 November was
in the vicinity of Pandora’s Box heading for the approach
to 28 left. At no time did Approach Control speak to 18
November. Alone of the four parties involved, Approach
Control possessed all of the critical information. Two
planes no more than three miles apart were planning to
use the same runway approach and were converging
thereon. The radar scope that had previously located 39
Juliet ‘one mile from the outer marker’ and 18 November
‘down by Pandora’s Box’ was available to alert Approach
Control of the decreasing separation between the two
planes.

(D) The knowledge of Local Control — At 1503:23 he
knew that 39 Juliet was on the localizer. At 1504 he
knew that 18 November was 2 miles south of the outer
marker. At 1505:44° he knew that 18 November was
south of the approach and could see the Lake Central
Nord. At 1505.51° he was advised that 18 November
would land a little long. At 1506:41 he had 18 November
in sight and cleared him to land on runway 238 left. He
had no precise knowledge of the location of 39 Julict.
Neither the communication of 1503:47 identifying 39 Juli-
et one mile from the outer marker nor the communica-
tion of 1507:45 identifying 39 Juliet ‘just a beam of West-

12

ein Electric’ was received by the Tower since these
communications were on Approach Control frequency.
Bearing on local control’s lack of knowledge concerning
the location of 39 Juliet is the fact that as late as 1507:44
he inquired whether that plane was within the outer
marker.” (Footnotes 3, 4 and 5 omitted.)

The law applicable to this Federal Tort Claims Act action
is, of course, that of the State of Ohio, where the accident
occurred. Richards v. United States, 369 U.S. 1 (1962). Ohio
law makes no provision for a comparative negligence, and
as the District Judge held, it bars recovery to any plaintiff
whose negligence contributed as a proximate cause to the
happening of the accident." Bahm v. Pittsburgh & Lake Erie
Rd. Co., 6 Ohio St. 2d 19 (1966): Drown v. Ohio Traction Co.,
76 Ohio St. 234 (1907).

As we have indicated, the District Judge held that Bibler’s
contributory negligence consisted of failing to contact the
Tower as he passed the outer marker and failing to maintain
radio contact with the Tower while in the airport traffic area.

It is appellant’s contention, however, that since Bibler was
in contact with Approach Control, he was in contact with the
Tower and that he was under no legal duty to report his pass-
ing of the outer marker.

We believe that several Federal Aviation Administration
Regulations are applicable:

(1) The pilot in command of an aircraft is directly
responsible for, and is the final authority as to, the op-
eration of that aircraft. 14 C.F.R. § 91.3 (1973).

(2) Communications with control towers operated
by the United States. No person may, within an airport
traffic area, operate an aircraft to, from, or on an airport
having a control tower operated by the United States

' Plaintiff is suing as Administratrix of the estate of her deceased
— and hence, his contributory negligence would bar her
claim.

13

unless two-way radio communications are maintained be-
tween that aircraft and the control tower. However, if
the aircraft radio fails in flight, he may operate that air-
craft and land if weather conditions are at or above
basic VFR weather minimums, he maintains visual con-
tact with the tower, and he receives a clearance to land.
If the aircraft radio fails while in flight under IFR, he
must comply with § 91.127. 14 C.F.R. § 91.87(b) (1973).

(3) The pilot in command of each aircraft operated
under IFR in controlled airspace shall have a continuous
watch maintained on the appropriate frequency and shall
report by radio as soon as possible—

(a) The time and attitude of passing each desig-
nated reporting point, or the reporting points specified
by ATC, except that while the aircraft is under radar
control, only the passing of those reporting points spe-
cifically requested by ATC need be reported;

(b) Any unforecast weather conditions encountered:
and

(¢) Any other information relating to the safety of
flight. 14 CLF.R. § 91.125 (1975).

(4)(e) Overtaking. Each aircraft that is being over-
taken has the right of way and each pilot of an overtaking
aircraft shall alter course to the right to pass well clear.

({) Landing. Aircraft, while on final approach to land,
or While landing, have the right of way over other air-
craft in flight or operating on the surface. When two
or more aircraft are approaching an airport for the pur-
pose of landing, the aircraft at the lower altitude has the
right of way, but it shall not take advantage of this rule
to cut in front of another which is on final approach to
land, or to overtake that aircraft. 14 C.F.R. § 91.67(e) &
(f) (1973).

Likewise applicable to our problems on this appeal is a
sentence from the Airman’s Information Manual:

“During the time an IFR flight is operating in VFR
weather conditions, it is the direct responsibility of the

14

pilot to avoid other aircraft, since VFR flights may be op-
erating in the same area without knowledge of ATC (air
traffic control).” Airman’s Information Manual (AIM, 1-
58).

Of stmilar applicability is a Port Columbus regulation which
places on the Approach Controller the specific duty of telling
the pilot of an airplane which he has cleared for an approach
to contact Tower Control when he reaches the final approach
fix. TersunaL Am Trarric Contro: Manvat, Rule 674(d).

With these facts and these rules and regulations in mind,
we conclude that the District Judge’s finding of contributory
negligence on the part of pilot Bibler must be affirmed and
therefore the two original causes of action were properly dis-
missed.

Under Rule 52(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure,
this court cannot set aside the findings of fact of the District
Judge unless we can say that they are “clearly erroneous.”
Judge Rubin's findings are not only not “clearly erroneous”;
we believe they are support by the great weight of the
evidence in this record. Indeed, as pointed out above, aside
from interpretations of the regulations and inferences from the
facts, they are undisputed.

We now turn directly to Judge Rubin’s conclusions pertaining
to pilot Bibler’s contributory negligence. Like the District
Judge, we believe that 14 C.F.R. § 91.87(b) (1973), spe-
cifically forbids operating any aircraft within an airport traffic
area (described at the time as within five miles of the Tower
and below 2,000 feet) which airport has a control tower op-
erated by the United States “unless two-way radio communica-
tions are maintained between that aircraft and the control
tower.” Like the District Judge, we reject the appellant’s con-
tention that Bibler satisfied this rule by maintaining two-way
radio contact with the Approach Controller. This record which
contains much expert testimony, demonstrates conclusively
that when the term “Control Tower” or “Tower” is used in

15

connection with operations “within an airport traffic area,”
the terms refer to local control and not to approach control.
This conclusion is strengthened by the fact that under visual
flight conditions, such as prevailed on the date of this acci-
dent, Approach Control would not routinely have radio coutact
with in-bound traffic. Like Young’s plane (18N), such traffic
would ordinarily report only to the Tower (local control)
at the outer marker. Thus Approach Control would be power-
less to talk to or guide away from danger most of the planes
within the airport traffic area.

Since the State of Ohio has adopted Federal Air Regula-
tions as its own (See Ohio Rev. Code, $§ 4561.05. 4561 14),
we believe that Bibler’s vistaiion of 14 C.F.R. $ 91.87(b) was
also a violation of Ohio law, and negligence per se. Maryland
Casualty Co. v. United States, 231 U.S. 342, 349 (1920); East-
ern Airlines y. Union Trust Co., 221 F.2d 62 (D.C. Cir.),
affd sub nom. United States vy. Union Trust Co., 350 US.
907 (1955).

We also affirm the District Judge’s conclusion that pilot Bib-
ler was guilty of contributory negligence in failing to “advise
local control that he had passed the outer marker.”

Strangely, the federal regulations on this score (See $ 91.123
previously quoted) are not sufficiently definite to support this
conclusion as a matter cf law. But this record shows that the
weight of the expert evidence does support the District Judge’s
statement in this regard. The testimony of expert witness
Culley is persuasive:

Q. And as a pilet, when an aircraft is making an ac-
tual or simulated ILS approach, is there anything the
pilot must do in passing over the outer marker as re-
quired by good operating procedures?

A. Yes, he should most definitely report the final ap-
proach fix or the outer marker in this case to the local con-
troller or to approach control.

THE COURT: Mr. Pangia, excuse me just a moment.
May I ask you a question in this regard: You said he

should.

nF

16

THE WITNESS: Yes, sir.

THE COURT: Now, does that mean he must or is
it just good practice to do so?

THE WITNESS: It is not required by Federal Air
Regulations that he do so, but it is a part of the recom-
mended air traffic contre! procedures on which all in-
strument flying is predicated.

THE COURT: Okay. His failure to do so does not
subject him to any discipline? Aside from the question
of negligence, I don’t want to get into that, but his fail-
ure to do as you stated is not a violation of any of the
FAA regulations?

THE WITNESS: No, sir, it is not. ,

THE COURT: Thank you. You may proceed.

Q. (By Mr. Pangia) Is it fair to say, Mr. Culley,
that there are many things which pilots should do in
the operation of the aircraft that are not spelled out ex-
actly in the Federal Aviation Regulations?

A. Absolutely.

Q. Mr. Cully, if an aircraft was making an ILS ap-
proach, practice or otherwise, and he was not told to
change from approach to the tower frequency, what, if
anything should the pilot do?

A. As a pilot, if he has not been told to report or
instructed to report as he approaches the marker, he
should query approach control as to whether or not he
wants him to change frequency to local control. If in
the event we have a frequency congestion and he can’t
get to him or can't get a reply, he automatically changes
to local control, the reason being, if I may say, as a pilot,
I am interested in the traffic ahead of me. If | con-
tinue to monitor approach control frequency, I am only
getting traffic that is behind me and to the side of me.
If I am on the tower frequency, I can hear other traffic
and communication with the tower, and I can determine
their position from that report.

Q. And if an aircraft were not making a radar ap-
proach, Mr. Culley, would he get his landing sequence
and clearance to land from the local controller?

17

A. Landing sequence and clearance to land is assigned
by the approach controller under these conditions.

Q. I am sorry.

A. I beg your pardon, under tower control.

Q. Is it done by the approach controller in that con-
dition?

A. No, sir, it is not.

While we recognize that Culley’s testimony might be af-
fected by his employment with defendant, Federal Aviation
Administration, other witnesses, including plaintiff Sundin
(owner of the plane Bibler was flying) furnish confirmation
of the essential points of this testimony.

Finai'v. the Airman’s Manual contains this paragraph:

Report Leaving Final Approach Fix

Pilots conducting a prescribed instrument approach are
reminded of the importance of reporting to ATC or an
FSS when over the final approach fix on final approach.
ATC may predicate se 5 between departures and ar-
rivals and between successive arrivals on the basis of this
report; therefore, failure to make this report may com-
promise separation criteria. Airman’s Information Manual

This instruction is vividly underlined by the comment of
the Local Controller immediately after the mid-air collision
on April 10, 1968:

“He [Bibler (39])] never called me at the marker.”

Since pilot Bibler’s failure to report at the Marker or to
contact Local Control deprived Local Control of knowledge
that Bibler’s plane (39J) had passed the marker and was in
proximity of Young’s plane (18N), it served to prevent action
by Local Control to warn and separate the converging planes.
It also served to deprive Bibler of knowledge of Young's clear-
ance to land and Young of Bibler’s presence within the air-
port traffic area. Clearly the negligence we have described

-

18

on Bibler’s part was a proximate cause of the accident. Such
contributory negligence under the Ohio cases cited earlier
bars recovery by either plaintiff Administratrix or plaintiff
Sundin in the original actions, regardless of whether or not the
negligence of the Approach Controller (in failing to tell Bib-
ler to switch to Local Control) contributed as a proximate
cause also.

There remains for our consideration only appellant's vehe-
ment protest against recovery by Ohio Aviation of the $17,000
worth of damages suffered by the Bonanza 18N piloted by
appellee Young. Here appellant relies upon a regulation which
places the burden of yielding the right of way upon an over-
taking plane (See 14 C.F.R. $91.67) i.e. upon Young. Since
visual flight conditions prevailed at the time and place con-
cerned, the fact that neither pilot ever saw the other is ap-
parently explained by the fact that Young's plane (18N) was
both above and behind Bibler’s, and hence, as found by the
District Judge, Young could not see Bibler and Bibler could
not see Young because of the configuration of their planes.

At the time and place concerned Young had a clearance to
land and was proceeding according to it. Bibler did not have
a clearance to land; he had only a clearance to approach.
Thus, under 14 C.F.R. §$ 91.67(f), Young had the right of
way over Bibler. At the time and place concerned Young
did not know that what turned out to be Bibler’s plane (39J)
was even in the airport traffic area. Expert testimony sup-
ports the District Judge’s conclusion that Young's failure te
take extraordinary measures to observe below him by side
slipping and veering off his course (while landing) was nct
negligence — even though by hindsight such action might well
have prevented the accident.

For these reasons and others spelled out in the District
Judge’s Findings of Fact Opinion and Conclusions of Law,
the judgments of the District Court are affirmed.

19

APPENDIX C.
OPINION OF THE DISTRICT COURT

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO
EASTERN DIVISION

CIVIL NO. 70-56
CIVIL NO. 70-82

ANN E. BIBLER, admx. of the estate of Ralph D.
Bibler, deceased, etc.,

PLAINTIFF,
vs.
BERRY H. YOUNG, JR., et al.,
DEFENDANTS.
DONALD L. SUNDIN,
dba SUNDIN AVIATION COMPANY,
PLAINTIFF,
vs.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and
FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION,
DEFENDANTS.

FINDINGS OF FACT, OPINION AND
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

(Filed October 6, 1971)

20

I
INTRODUCTION

In dealing with a midair collision and the circumstances
which culminate in such a tragedy, a court, of necessity,
enters a complex and somewhat alien world. It is a world
inhabited by uniquely trained people, speaking a strange
but precise jargon and utilizing highly sophisticated ma-
chines. It is an inter-dependent and self-contained world in
which the pilots and air controllers must share information
with one another and where failure to do so may bring swift
disaster. The knowledge necessary to avoid catastrophe may
initially be within the peculiar knowledge of only one of the
several participants, for there are major contrasts between
the almost unlimited physical vision of a pilot in a cockpit
and the circumscribed visual limitations of a controller in a
darkened radar room. But conversely a pilot exists in an
environment where at times weather conditions, physical
sursoundings and speed of his aircraft make him dependent
upon the greater electronic vision of the controller's radar
scope.

Perhaps most importantly, we are dealing with a world
where the failure to share essential information results, often
enough, in all to apparent disasters. One such accident oc-
curred on April 10, 1968, at Port Columbus Airport, Colum-
bus, Ohio. This accident forms the subject matter of the
present law suit as to which the Court makes the following
findings of fact.

Il
FINDINGS OF FACT
Finding of Fact (1)
* General Conditions at Columbus International Airport

Columbus International Airport, known by pilots as CMH,
is located in Franklin County, Ohio. immediately east of

21

the City of Columbus. Its main runways lie in an east-west
direction. Airport runways are identified by the first two
digits of direction. Accordingly, the two main runways of
Port Columbus are 28 left and 28 right, indicating an east to
west bearing of approximately 280 degrees. When used
west to east the same runways are known as 10 Jeft and 10
right, signifying a heading of approximately 100 degrees. The
precise magnetic bearing of 28 left and 28 right is 276 degrees.

Runway 28 left is 10,700 feet long and 150 feet wide. It
is equipped for instrument landing and includes an elec-
tronic extension in the same compass heading referred to as
a “beam.” At a point 5.4 nautical miles (6.2 statute miles)
east of runway 25's left threshold is the “outer marker.” An
outer marker is an electronic device that advises a pilot when
he has passed over it on his way to a landing.

Between the outer marker and the runway threshold there
is 1 middle marker which likewise electronically advises the
pilot that he has passed over such marker. A pilot may re-
ceive such information by a Beacon Marker Indicator which
will cause a light to flash on the instrument panel and an
audible radio signal to be given, or by a low frequency ADF
receiver which will receive in Morse Code the identifying
letters of the marker. The outer marker on runway 28 left
is identified by the letters CM and is known by the term
“Charlie Mike.”

A plane need not contain such equipment in order to use
part of the electronic extension of runway 28 left. A plane
can be equipped merely to ascertain its position in relation
to the electronic extension or “localizer beam” and be guided
onto the localizer for ultimate landing on the runway.

‘Yhe control of traffic in and around the Columbus Air-
port is a function of the Federal Aviation Administration.
This facility operates from the Columbus control tower.
There is a separation of function between Approach Con-
trol (APC) which monitors by radar traffic which is outside
of a five mile radius from the tower, and Tower Control.

22

also known as Local Control (TWR),’ which has jurisdiction
over air traffic within the five mile radius. APC operations
extend for approximately forty miles around Port Colum-
bus. Local Control is housed at the top of the control tower.
In 1968, when this accident occurred, Local Control did not
have radar equipment and relied on visual sightings to
identify and direct landing aircraft. The two contro] depart-
ments communicate with pilots on assigned frequencies: APC
on 119.0 megahertz and TWR on 121.5. Because their juris-
dictions are exclusive, pilots do not customarily communicate
with both departments simultaneously.

When a pilot is flying under instrument flight regulations
(IFR), he communicates with Approach Control until he
reaches the outer marker. At this time he is advised to
contact Local Control in the tower on its frequency and re-
port his presence. When a pilot is flying under visual flight
regulations (VFR) he is not required to advise Approach Con-
trol of his presence, but contacts instead Local Control when
he is in the vicinity of the outer marker.

Finding of Fact (2)
Cherokee N42 39] (39 Juliet)?

On April 10, 1968, Ralph D. Bibler, decedent, was a duly
qualified and licensed commercial pilot and flight instructor
with over 1000 hours of pilot flight time. He was in com-
mand of a Piper Cherokee aircraft, Registration No. N4239J.
At approximately 3:00 p.m. on that date, he was instructing
a student, one David Dunnick, in the procedures for instru-
ment landing at Port Columbus. Mr. Dunnick had logged
123 hours of flight time. The plane was equipped with an

'The terms Local Control, Local Tower or Tower as used herein
are synonymous and are all identified as TWR.

kee N4239J was known as “39 Juliet” and Bonanza N8318N was re-
ferred to as “18 November.”

23

omni-converter for localizer guidance. It was not equipped
with an ADF radio Beacon Marker Indicator or any other
electronic means of establishing position in relation to the
outer marker. Prior to 3:00 p.m., 39 Juliet was operating
under Instrument Flight Regulations (IFR) procedures with
student Dunnick at the controls. Dunnick was wearing a
“hood,” a vision limiting device which focused his attention
upon the instrument panel. As the operating pilot student
Dunnick occupied the left hand seat. Instructor Bibler oc-
cupied the right hand seat. Weather conditions at Port Co-
lumbus on April 10, 1968, were such that visual flight regula-
tions (VFR) were in effect. Proceeding under IFR con-
ditions in a VFR day placed an obligation upon Bibler to
act as “safety pilot” and observe the classical admonition
under VFR conditions of “see and be seen.”

Finding of Fact (3)
Bonanza N8318N (18 November)

Defendant Berry D. Young, a retired United States Air
Force Lieutenant Colonel, on April 10 was piloting Beech-
craft Bonanza No. 8318N. Defendant Young at the time
had logged in excess of 7,000 hours of pilot flight time. He
was employed as a salesman by defendant Ohio Aviation
Company, a distributor of Beechcraft products. The in-
strument equipment of 18 November is not significant since
Young was flying, on the date in question, under VFR con-
ditions. One such instrument, the air speed indicator, was
known to be inaccurate in its operation. Mr. Young had
taken off at approximately 14:30 (2:30 p.m.) from the Wood
County Airport at Parkersburg, West Virginia. At 1500
(3:00 p.m.) he was proceeding in a westerly direction parallel
to Interstate 70 and immediately south thereof. His di-
rection would approximate the magnetic heading of run-
way 28 and he would be approximately 2 miles south of an
eastward projection thereof. He first contacted Local Con-
trol at 1504 (3:04 p.m.) locating himself “2 miles south of
Charlie Mike” (outer marker).

24

Finding of Fact (4)
Approach Control (APC)

Approach Control at the Port Columbus tower was made
aware of the presence of 39 Juliet at 1440:54 (2:40 p.m.).
Its pilot requested a practice instrument approach at the
Port Columbus Airport. In answer to its question Approach
Control was advised that 39 Juliet was rated and equipped
for an ILS approach. It is a matter of definition whether
it was so equipped. 39 Juliet could electronically locate the
localizer beam; it could not electronically find either the
outer marker or the middle marker. The outer marker at
Port Columbus can be visually determined and on the first
ILS approach, Local Control was advised when 39 Juliet
passed the marker. This was in accordance with previous
instruction from Approach Control. An ILS practice approach
is treated as a missed approach. 39 Juliet was instructed to
execute a right turn to heading 50°, ascend to an altitude
of 2,700 feet and return to the frequency of Approach Control.
At 1457:50, 39 Juliet did so return and was guided or “vec-
tored” in a clockwise direction for a second approach to the
runway. Thereafter Approach Control gave 39 Juliet the
following instructions: 1500:16 heading 100°; 1501:25 head-
ing 180°; 1502:26 heading 260°.

At 1503:47, 39 Juliet was noted by Approach Control as
“on the localizer a mile from the marker.” At no time did
Approach Control have radio contact with 18 Noveraber.
APC was, however, aware that 18 November would land on
runway 28 left.3

3 The following dialogue appears in Exhibit 45:
TWR to APC The guy south of the Marker just talking to me he'll
be coming in for the left one.
APC to TWR I'm not talk, ah (unintelligible) I don’t see anybody.

I/C
TWR to APC Oh he said he’s just south of Charlie Mike.
TWR One eight November you did say you're just south of

Charlie Mike (unintelligible).

25

Finding of Fact (5)
Local Control (TWR)

Local Control did not have in 1968 a radar scope that
would assist its controllers (or Tower Control) in locating and
monitoring a specific plane. The tower controllers were re-
quired to make visual locations assisted by binoculars when
those were indicated. TWR had contact with 39 Juliet on
the first approach from 1449, when it was advised that 39
Juliet had passed the outer marker, until 1457:50, when the
pilot returned to the frequency of Approach Control. At
1503:23 TWR was advised that 39 Juliet was on the localizer.
Approach Control advised that if 39 Juliet got in TWR’s way
he was to be turned south.

Approximately 37 seconds later at 1504, 18 November ad-
vised TWR that he was 2 miles south of Charlie Mike for
landing. TWR instructed 18 November to land on runway
28 left number two following a flight of Lake Central Air-
lines in a Nord aircraft. This transmission included notice of
traffic coming upon the outer marker intending an ILS low
approach. The term “low approach” or “low go” refers to a
landing approach that will not be completed.

At no time after 1457:50 was there radio communication
between 39 Juliet and Local Control although no later than
1504:47, 39 Juliet did in fact cross the outer marker. 39 Juliet
never contacted TWR during the time it was inside the outer
marker. Its last advice at 1507:45 was made to Approach
Control and its radio in the wreckage was found to be tuned
to 119.0 mg. Approach Control frequency. (Ex. 45 at 8).4

1/C

APC to TWR Yes he’s down by Pandora’s Box.
wc Ah eastbound.

hy A to TWR Help you any?

TWR to APC Yea.

4 The speed of 39 Juliet cannot be precisely determined, but it can
be approximated. The airplane had traveled from one mile east
of the outer marker at 1503:47 to “just a beam of Western Electric”
at 1507:45. This distance approximately 4.4 miles. The accident

y une
|
.'

26
Finding of Fact (6)

Time and Location

In midair collision cases, the relative positions of the air-
craft are of sufficient importance to be considered in detail.
The Court finds that the positions of the two aircraft over
the crucial period of time prior to their crash, were as fol-
lows:5

POSITION
39J 18N
Prior to 1500
1459:07 North East of Unknown — heading
Tower 2 mi. westerly from
heading 50° Parkersburg, W. Va.
1500-1501
1500:16 Heading 100° Unknown — heading
westerly from
Parkersburg, W. Va.
1501-1502
1501:25 Heading 180° Unknown — heading

westerly from
Parkersburg, W. Va.

occurred sometime between 1507:45 and 1508:00. At 1507:45 39
Juliet had traveled a distance of 4.4 miles in three minutes and
fifty-eight seconds. Since the speed was well in excess of 60 m.p.h.,
39 Juliet crossed the outer marker less than one minute after 1503:47.

$5 Information for the time sequence has been obtained in the fol-
lowing manner: Exhibit 45, the National Transportation Safety Board
Aircraft Accident Report, contains at pages 81 to 90 typewritten
communication between Approach Control and aircraft and transcrip-
tion of the radio Tower and aircraft. Wherever stated in that exhibit,
the times are accepted as accurate. In addition, Exhibit 46, also
identified as Exhibit BH-43, contains a taped re-recording of the
official tape. A stop watch has been used to determine the length
of times between transcriptions which are not noted on the official
tapes. Such times are to be considered as approximations only and
are identified with an asterisk in this finding. In no event has the
Court used such approximations for the basis of any findings of
fact or of any conclusions of law. All times hereafter are referred
to ae of a 24-hour clock wherein the equivalent of 1500 hours
is 3:00 p.m.

1502-1503
1502:26

1503-1504
1503:23

1503:47

1504-1505
1504:14%
1504:44%

1505-1506
1505:34°

1506-1507
1506:41

1507-1508
1507:45

27
39)

Heading 260°

On the localizer

On the localizer
a mile from the
marker

On the localizer
On the localizer

On the localizer

On the localizer

A beam Western
Electric

18N

Unknown — heading
westerly from
Parkersburg, W. Va.

Unknown — heading
westerly from
Parkersburg, W. Va.

Unknown — heading
westerly from
Parkersburg, W. Va.

2 mi. s. of Charlie Mike
down by Pandora’s Box

South of the approach
course

In sight [of Tower]

Finding of Fact (7)
Knowledge of Parties

(A) Knowledge of 18 November — After contacting Local
Control at 1504, Young was advised to plan to land on runway
28 left following the Lake Central Nord and to watch traffic
coming up on the outer marker making an ILS low approach.
The term, “coming up on the outer marker,” indicates a po-
sition of such traffic at that time east of the outer marker.
Because only 13 seconds had elapsed from the location of

BI vo
2

39 Juliet at one mile from the outer marker, this statement
was correct. At 1505:47° he was advised of the Lake Central
Nord about a mile out of the airport and cleared to land on
runway 28 left.

(B) Knowledge of 39 Juliet — Following the vectoring
that had ended at 1502:26, 39 Juliet had received from Ap-
proach Control a clearance for a straight in ILS 28L ap-
proach. At 1503:47 he was advised that he was on the
localizer one mile from the outer marker and spaced in ref-
erence to a Lake Central Nord three miles north of the airport.
The term “spaced in reference to Lake Central Nord” is not
a clearance to land nor is it a landing sequence. At 1507:45,
39 Juliet knew he was inside*the outer marker since he ad-
vised Approach Control “a beam of Western Electric.” No
con.ersation at any time in this approach was had with Local
Conirol.

(C) Knowledge of Approach Control — At 1502:26 Ap-
proach Control knew that 39 Juliet was heading 260° in-
tending another missed approach. At 1503:47 he knew that
39 Juliet was on the localizer one mile from the outer marker.
At 1504:34 Approach Control knew that 18 November was
intending to land on 28 left. At-1504:44% Approach Control
knew that 18 November was in the vicinity of Pandora’s Box
heading for the approach to 28 left. At no time did Approach
Control speak to 18 November. <Alone of the four parties
involved, Approach Control possessed all of the critical in-
formation. Two planes no more than three miles apart were
planning to use the same runway approach and were con-
verging thereon. The radar scope that had previously located
39 Juliet “one mile from the outer marker” and 18 November
“down by Pandora’s Box” was available to alert Approach
Control of the decreasing separation between the two planes.

(D) The knowledge of Local Control — At 1503:23 he
knew that 39 Juliet was on the Jocalizer. At 1504 he
knew that 18 November was 2 miles south of the outer marker.
At 1505:44° he knew that 18 November was south of the ap-
proach and could see the Lake Central Nord. At 1505:51°

28

29

he was advised that 18 November would land a little long.
At 1506:41 he had 18 November in sight and cleared him to
land on runway 28 left. He had no precise knowledge of the
location of 39 Juliet. Neither the communication of 1503:47
identifying 39 Juliet one mile from the outer marker nor the
communication of 1507:45 identifying 39 Juliet “just a beam of
Western Electric” was received by the Tower since these
communications were on Approach Control frequency. Bear-
ing on Local Control's lack of knowledge concerning the loca-
tion of 39 Juliet is the fact that as late as 1507:44 he in-
quired whether that plane was within the outer marker.

Finding of Fact (9)
Miscellaneous Facts of Slight Significance

Evidence indicated an erroneous setting of the altimeter in
39 Juliet. This setting, the advice to Approach Control of
the electronic equipment in 39 Juliet, the inaccurate air speed
indicatcr in 18 November, and the angle of collision do not
appear to be significant items in terms of proximate cause.
Expert testimony established that the angle of difference be-
tween the headings of the two aircraft was approximately 30
degrees at the time of collision. While counsel have variously
suggested that the inexperience of student pilot Dunnick,
gusts of wind or erroncous headings might have caused such
angle of collision, it does not appear that this angle bears upon
the legal issue involved. None of the foregoing relates to
proximate cause of the collision.

Ill
OPINION

In the opinion of this Court the evidence that has been
adduced herein clearly indicates negligence on the part of
Bibler. He failed to advise the Local Control that he had
passed the outer marker. In fact, he continued to report to
Approach Control until moments before the actual collision

30 .

when he stated that he was “a beam of Western Electric.”
Perhaps either a lapse of memory on his part or some other
undiscoverable circumstance caused Bibler, an inexperienced
pilot, to remain on Approach Control's frequency inside of the
outer marker, where Approach Control had no jurisdiction.
If we assume 39 Julict was traveling at about 70 miles per
hour, Bibler was traveling, for at least three minutes, inside
of the outer marker and on Approach Control's frequency. It
is difficult to justify this conduct or to find it to be non-
negligent. The conduct additionally was a proximate cause
of the collision because it placed Bibler in air space unknown to
the Tower and not reasonably ascertainable by it on line of
sight.

While it may be asserted that an agency of the defendant
United States was also negligent in failing to instruct 39 Juliet
to contact the Tower at the outer marker, such negligence can-
not absolve the plaintiff.

Plaintiff's decedent, Ralph Bibler, was contributorily neg-
ligent hecause of his failure to contact the Tower as he passed
the outer marker; to advise, for a period in excess of three
minutes prior to the accident, that he was west of the marker;
and to advise the Tower of his location “a beam of Western
Electric.” These failures on his part demonstrate that he
neglected to exercise due care for his own safety.

There is insufficient evidence of negligence by either the
Tower or defendant Barry Young. Based upon the information
supplied to it by the other parties, Tower had reason to be-
lieve that Bibler was, at all times material to the events herein,
east of the outer marker. The location of Bibler on the localizer
at 1503:23 supplied Tower with only his compass heading.
Bibler, at the time this transmission was received by the Tower,
could have been as much as 20 miles east of the outer marker.
As we have noted above, the transmission of 1503:47 which
placed 39 Juliet on the localizer one mile from the outer marker
was not received by the Tower. The failure of the Tower to
locate 39 Juliet visually under the weather conditions prevail-

31

ing on the date of the accident does not rise to the level
of proximate cause.

There was no apparent negligence on the part of defendant
Young. He proceeded in accordance with information sup-
plied to him by the Tower. He followed instructions by check-
ing in with the Tower which cleared him to land, and he ul-
timately lined up his plane for landing in conformity with
these instructions. We do not believe that the inaccuracy of
his air speed indicator bears in any significant manner upon
the issue of proximate cause.

Nor do we think that Young's failure to visually observe
39 Juliet constitutes negligence per se. The inherent con-
figuration of small planes, such as both the Cherokee and the
Bonanza, create substantial areas of non-visibility. The course
that Young followed required a left turn prior to his final
approach. By raising his right wing he additionally obliterated
the area in which the Cherokee was traveling. This maneuver
was necessary to his expected landing and there was no evi-
dence that Young expected to or could have, at any time, seen
39 Juliet. He had no reason to anticipate Bibler west of
the marker. We conclude that Young proceeded in the
fashion of a reasonably prudent pilot. Plaintiff's evidence failed,
in our opinion, to show specific acts of negligence on Young's
part.

. Finally, under settled principles of Ohio law, the doctrine
of last clear chance has no application in the case at bar to
relieve Bibler from the consequences of his own contributory
negligence. It is true that Approach Control was the only
entity that knew, at a time immediately prior to the accident,
of the relative locations of the two planes. Beginning at
1503:47 it had precisely located 39 Juliet: at 1504:44 it had
located 18 November. For a period of between three and
four minutes Approach Control had the capability of noting
that two planes were in a collision course. Ironically, Bibler’s
own contributory negligence in failing to contact Tower had
the effect of retaining him on Approach Control's frequency.
Approach Control could have instructed Bibler to take evasive

32

action or it could have advised Tower to order Young to do
the same.

Approach Control’s fai‘ure to do this, however, does not
relieve Bibler from the effects of his contributory negligence
through the doctrine of last clear chance. It was stated in
Brock v. Marlatt, 128 O.St. 435, 438 (1934) that:

The last clear chance rule has no application to any
situation except where the injured party through his
own negligence has placed himself in a position of peril.
The doctrine presupposes his antecedent fault and neg-
ligence, as a result of which he is in a place of peril. His
negligence does not absolve the defendant from liability,
if, knowing such peril, defendant fails thereafter to ex-
ercise ordinary care to avoid causing injury. Such charge
is not proper where the claimed negligence of the defen-
dant and the contributory negligence of the plaintiff are
concurrent. (emphasis added)

That the plaintiffs concurrent and on-going negligence pre-
vents the application of the counter defense of last clear
chance, was further underscored in Cleveland Ry. Co. v. Mas-
terson, 126 O.St. 42, 51 (1932) where Justice Jones wrote
that:

It is only in those cases of prior negligence on plaintiff's
part, not actively continuing to the time of injury, that
the last clear chance rule applies.

Also see Peters v. Transfer Co., 7 Oisio St.2d 143, 150 (1966);
Lones v. Detroit, Toledo and Ironton Ry. Company, 398 F.2d
914, 920 (C.A. 6 1968) (applying Ohio law), cert. denied
393 U.S. 1063 (1969); Pennsylvania Co. v. Hart, 101 O.St.
196 (1920); Columbus Green Cabs, Inc. v. Seip, Ohio App.,
65 O.L.Abs. 428, 115 N.E.2d 5 (1952); Pflugh v. United States,
138 F.Supp. 470 (W.D. Pa. 1951) (applying Ohio law).

As we have noted above, Bibler was negligent in failing to
communicate with the Tower at the time he passed the outer
marker. This negligence continued until and was concurrent

33

with the negligence that resulted in the accident. Because
Bibler’s negligence contributed to the proximate cause that
resulted in his death, Ohio law bars his recovery. See Buhm
v. Pittsburgh & L.E. R. Co., 6 O.St.2d 192, 35 O.Ops.2d 307
(1966); Lehman v. Leffler, 78 O.St. 448 (1908); Brown v.
Northern Ohio Traction Co., 76 O.St. 234, 81 N.E. 328 (1907);
Northwest Airlines v. Glenn L. Martin Co., 224 F.2d 120 (C.A.
6 1955), cert. denied 350 U.S. 937 (1956); Nice v. Pennsylvania
Ry. Co., 168 F Supp. 641 (N.D. Ohio E.D. 1959): McDonough
v. Buckeye S.S. Co., 103 F.Supp. 473 (N.D. Ohio E.D. 1952),
afd. 200 F.2d 558 (C.A. 6 1952), cert. denied 345 US. 926
(1953). Since this negligence continued until the accident,
the doctrine of last clear chance cannot alter this result.

IV
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Court has jurisdiction over this action under the
Federal Tort Claims Act, 18 U.S.C. 1346(b).

2. The law of the State of Ohio, the place where the alleged
acts or omissions of negligence took place, governs this ac-
tion. See Richards v. United States, 369 U.S. 1 (1962).

3. Under the law of the State of Ohio contributory neg-
ligence of the plaintiff, if it contributes to the proximate
cause of the accident, is a complete defense and bar to re-
covery. See Brown v. Northern Ohio Traction Co., supra;
Lehman v. Hayman, supra; Nice v. Pennsylvania Ry. Co.,
supra; McDonough vy. Buckeye S.S. Co., supra.

4. Federal Aviation Regulations provide that the pilot-in-
command is responsible for, and is the final authority as to,
the operation of that aircraft. See 14 C.F.R. 91.3; United
States v. Miller, 303 F.2d 710 (C.A. 9 1962); United States v.
Schultetus, 277 F.2d 322 (C.A. 5 1960), cert. denied 364 USS.
828 (1960); Hamilton v. United States, No. C-48398, —— F.
Supp. —— (N.D. Calif. Oct. 21, 1971).

-

VN ¢

34

5. Federal Aviation Regulations provide that no person
may within an airport traffic area, or in the case of Port Co-
lumbus within the outer markers, operate an aircraft to,
from or on an airport having a control tower operated by the
United States unless two-way radio communications are main-
tained between that aircraft and the control tower. See 14
C.F.R, 91.87.

6. Bibler’s failure to contact the tower once he passed
over the outer marker was negligence as a matter of law.

7. Bibler’s conduct, as it violated the conclusions of law
set forth in Nos. 5 and 6 above, constitutes contributory neg-
ligence as a matter of law and bars his recovery under the
authorities cited in Conclusions of Law Nos. 2 and 3.

8. The paramount responsibility for the safe operation of
aircraft under VFR weather conditions continues to rest
with the pilot of the aircraft. See United States v. Miller, supra;
United States v. Schultetus, supra; Hamilton vy. United States,
supra; Compagnie Nationale Air France vy. Port of New York
Authority, et al., 10 Avi. 18, 356 (E.D. N.Y. 1969), aff'd. 427
F.2d 951 (C.A. 2 1971); American Airlines, Inc. v. United
States, 418 F.2d 180 (C.A. 1 1969); Stanley v. United States,
239 F.Supp. 973 (N.D. Ohio 1969): Tilley v. United States,
375 F.2d 678 (C.A. 4 1967).

9. Bibler’s negligence continued from the time his plane
passed the outer marker until the time of impact and con-
tributed to the proximate cause of his injuries. Therefore,
under Ohio law, the doctrine of last clear chance does not
relieve him of the consequences of his contributory negligence.
See Cleveland Ry. Co. v. Masterson, supra; Brock v. Marlatt,
supra; Lones vy. Detroit, Toledo & Ironton Ry. Co., supra;
and cases cited at 14, supra. .

10. The evidence fails to establish negligence, as a matter
of law, on the part of defendant Young.

11. Since the negligence of the plaintiff's decedent was a
proximate cause of the accident, plaintiffs cannot recover.

35
12. For the reeson set forth in Conclusion of Law No.
11, Sundin, the decedent's master and plaintiff in No. 70-82,

cannot recover because of the contributory negligence of his
servant.

13. Plaintiffs’ causes of action must be dismissed.

14. For the reasons set forth in Conclusions of Law Nos.
11 and 12, defendant United States of America’s cross-claims
will be dismissed as moot.

15. Defendant United States of America is entitled to a
judgment in its favor.

The partics shall submit a form of judgment, in accordance
with the views and conclusions expressed herein, within ten
(10) days from the filing date hereof. No costs.

It is so ORDERED.

/s/ CARL B. RUBIN
United States District Judge

36

APPENDIX D.
TERMINAL AIR TRAFFIC CONTROL MANUAL

674. ARRIVAL INSTRUCTIONS.

Issue all of the following to an aircraft before it reaches
the approach gate: (E)

a. Position with respect to the final approach fix.
b. Vector to intercept the final approach course, if required.

c. Approach clearance, except when conducting a sur-
veillance or precision approach.

d. Instructions to do one of the following:

(1) Monitor local control frequency, reporting to the
tower when over the approach fix.

(2) Contact the tower on local control frequency.

(3) Contact approach control on final approach fre-
quency if a surveillance or precision approach will be made.

(4) When radar is used to establish the final approach
fix — inform the pilot that after being advised that he is over
the fix, he is to contact the tower on local control frequency.

37
APPENDIX E.

EXCERPTS FROM FAA INSTRUMENT FLYING
HANDBOOK

Airport Traffic Control Towers

Jurisdiction — The ATC tower is responsible for control of
aircraft on and in the immediate vicinity of airports. Terminals
handling a large traffic volume employ specialized personnel
for operation; they use light signals, radio, and ASDE radar
(Airport Surface Detection Equipment) for control of surface
traffic. Less congested airports have fewer controllers to handle
the workload with less specialization. Organization of the
tower operation falls into the following units:

Local Control is concerned mainly with VFR traffic in and
#round the traffic pattern and with ground traffic. The local
controller works with the other IFR controllers to integrate
VFR and IFR flights into a smooth, safe traffic flow in and
out of the airport.

Ground Control directs the movement of aircraft on the
airport surface, working closely with other tower positions.
The controller relays clearances from ARTCC to departing
IFR flights unless a special position is assigned that function.

Clearance Delivery is accomplished by a separate controller
at most busy terminals where heavy ground traffic and fre-
quent IFR departures require division of the workload.

Departure Control originates departure clearances and in-
structions to provide separation between departing and arriving
flights. Although the physical location of this controller varies
at different terminals — in the tower at some locations, in
separate radar installations at others — he coordinates closely
with the Approach Controller and Local Controller.

Approach ( Arrival) Control formulates and issues approach
clearances and instructions to provide separation between ar-
riving IFR aircraft. using radar if available.

38
APPENDIX F.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FORK THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

No. 73-1201

ANN E. BIBLER, ADMINISTRATRIX OF THE ESTATE
OF RALPH D. BIBLER, DECEASED, ON BEHALF
OF HERSELF AS SURVIVING SPOUSE AND MINOR
CHILD, AND DONALD L. SUNDIN D/B/A SUNDIN

AVIATION CO.,
Plaintiffs-Appellants,

vs.

BERRY H. YOUNG, Jr.; OHIO AVIATION COMPANY,
OHIO AVIATION DISTRIBUTORS, INC.; DAYTON
MUNICIPAL AIRPORT; UNITED STATES OF AMERI-
CA; AND THE FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRA-

TION, PORT COLUMBUS AIRPORT,
Defendants-Appellees.

Before: WEICK, EDWARDS and CELEBREZZE, Circuit
Judges.

JUDGMENT
(Filed February 27, 1974)
APPEAL from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Ohio.
THIS CAUSE came on to be heard on the record from the

United States District Court for the Southern District of Ohio
and was argued by counsel.

39

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here ordered
and adjudged by this Court that the judgments of the said
District Court in this cause be and the same are hereby af-
firmed.

It is further ordered that Defendants-Appellees recover from
Plaintiffs-Appellants, the costs on appeal, as itemized below,
and that execution therefor issue out of said District Court.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

/s/ JAMES A. HIGGINS
Clerk

A True Copy.
Attest:

/s/ JOUN P. HEHMAN
Clerk

Issued as Mandate: April 9, 1974
COSTS: Awarded to Appellee

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_0390%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
