# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Pollard v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_0155%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 420 U.S. 962

## Text

— torre eer er ee RE ee Seer es ee we

~ReME COURT, Lh & filFD

1
MICHAEL RUUAK, JR., CLE

r

RK
cxsmaall

IN THE.
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1974

no. @47619 4

H. CALLOWAY POLLARD, JR., Petitioner,
VS.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

Jack W. FLoyp

Eric P. HANDLER
Smith, Moore, Smith, Schell & Hunter
Drawer G, Greensboro, N. C.
Attorneys for Petitioner,
H. Caltoway Poiiard, Jr.

INDEX

Authorities Cited

Citation to Opinions Below

Jurisdiction

Questions Presented

Constitutional Provisions and Statutes Involved
Statement of Case

Reasons for Granting the Writ

1. The writ should be granted to prevent the sub-
version of the function of the grand jury and
to prohibit the transformation of the grand
jury’s subpoena into a secret and illegal
administrative subpoena in the hands of the
FBI

2. There currently exists a clear conflict among
the circuits as to whether willful misapplication
under 18 U.S.C. $656 has ceased, since the deci-
sion in United Staies v. Britton, to be a generic
offense which cannot be sufficiently charged by
an indictment using the statutory language
alone

3. The writ should be granted because the decision
below creates a direct conflict among the cir-
cuits as to the elements which constitute the
offense of misapplication and expands that
offense far beyond the intent of Congress

4. The writ should be granted to resolve the con-
flict between the policy of grand jury secrecy
and an individual’s right to be tried only upon
the indictment of the grand jury

Conclusion

Page

—
-

ohwhd Nv —

13

16

19

Appendix A—Opinions and Orders

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

Order of the United States Court of Appeais
for the Fourth Circuit denying petition
for rehearing

Order of the United States Court of Apneals
staying mandate pending petition for writ
of cert‘orari

Order of the United States District Court for
the Middle District of North Carolina denying
Motion to dismiss the indictment

Appendix B—Text of Constitutional Provisions,
Statutes and Rules Involved
Constitutional Provisions
Statutes
Rules

AUTHORITIES CITED

Dennis v. United States, 384 U.S. 855 (1966)

Durbin v. United States, 221 F.2d 520 (D.C. Cir.
1954

Hargreaves v. United States, 75 F.2d 68 (9th Cir. )
cert. denied, 295 U.S. 759 (1935)

In re Dionisio, 442 F.2d 276 (7th Cir. 1971) rev'd
sub nom. United States v. Dionisio, 410 U.S. 1
(1973) .

In re September, 197] Grand Jury, 454 F.2d 580 (7th
Cir. 1971) rev'd sub nom, United States v. Mara,

410 U.S. 19 (1973)
Johnson v. United States, 95 F.2d 813 (4th Cir.
_ 1938)
Pe. Iman v. United States, 347 U.S. 7 (1918)

ii

Page

2a

3a

4a

Ib
Ib
lb
2b

19
12

14

id

10

14, 15

11

Page
Russell v. United States, 369 U.S. 749

(1962) 15, 19, 29, 21
Sparks v. Union Trust Company of Shelby, 256
N.C. 478, 124 S.E.2d 365 (1962) 9

Stirone v. United States, 361 U.S. 212 (1960) 19, 20, 21
United States v. American Stevedores, 16 F.R.D.

164 (S.D.N.Y. 1954) 12
United State. v. Archambault, 441 F.2d 281 (9th

Cir.) cert. denied, 404 U.S. 843 (1971) 14
United States v. Beard, 436 F.2d 1084 (Sth Cir.

1971) 20
United States v. Bearden, 423 F.2d 805 (Sth Cir.)

cert. denied, 400 U.S. 836 (1970) 14
United States v. Britton, 107 U.S. 655

(1883) 3, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18
United States v. Bryan, 483 F.2d 88 (3rd Cir.

1972) yon . 20
United States v. Docherty, 468 F. 2d 989 (2nd Cir.

1972) 16
United States v. Fortunato, 402 F.2d 79 (2nd Cir.)

cert. denied, 394 U.S. 933 (1969) 14
United States v. Gens, 493 F.2d 216 (Ist Cir.

1974) 14, 15, 16
United States v. Giordano, 489 F.2d 327 (2nd Cir.

1973) . 16
United States v. Johns-Manville Corporation, 213

F. Supp. 65 (E.D.Pa. 1962) 12
United States v. Kernodle, 357 F. Supp. 844

(M.D.N.C. 1973) ee.
United States v. Moraites, 456 F.2d 435 (3rd Ce. )

cert. denied, 409 U.S. 819 (1972) 14

United States v. Mulloney, 79 F.2d 566 (1st Cir.
1935) a 16

iil

Page
United States v. Nixon, —U.S.—, 41 L.Ed.2d 1039,

94 S.Ct.—(1974) il
United States v. Quinn, 365 F.2d 25€ (7th Cir.

1968) 14
United States v. Silverman, 430 F.2d 106 (2nd Cir.

i97C) Pais 20

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

United States Constitution, Amend. V 19, 1b
United States Constitution, Amend. VI 15, 19, 22, 1b

STATUTES
18 U.S.C. $371 4
18 U.S.C. $656 3, 4, 5, 17, 18, 22, 1b
28 U.S.C. $1254 (1) ; 2
RULES
Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure:
Rule 6(e) 19, 20, 22, 2b
Rule 7(c) 206, 21, 22, 3b
Rule 17(a), (c) 9, 4b

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Note, Government Access to Bank Records,
83 YALE L.J. 1439 (June, 1974) 10, 11

iv

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1974

NO.

H. CALLOWAY POLLARD, JR., Petitioner,
VS.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

To the Honorable Chief Justice and Associate Justices of
the Supreme Court of the United States:

The petitioner, H. Calloway Pollard, Jr., respectfully
prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment
of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Cir-
cuit entered on September 23, 1974.

CITATION TO OPINIONS

The per curiam opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, which was filed on Sep-
tember 23, 1974 but has not yet been officially reported
as of the date of filing of this petition, is reproduced in
Appendix A to this petition (Appendix A, p. la). The
opinion, by Ward, J., of the United States District Court

I

2

for the Middle District of North Carolina, which denied
petitioner’s motion to dismiss the indictment, was filed on
October 12, 1973, is reported sub nom. United States v.
Kernodle, 367 F. Supp. 844 (M.D.N.C. 1973) ‘and is re-
produced in part in Appendix A to this petition. (Appendix
A, pp. 4a-13a.)

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit affirming petitioner’s conviction,
under 18 U.S.C. $371 and 18 U.S.C. $656, was entered
on September 23, 1974. A petition for rehearing was
timely filed in the Court of Appeals, and rehearing was
denied by an order entered on October 23, 1974. An
order staying issuance of the mandate uniii November 22.
1974 was entered on October 25, 1974.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. §1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does it constitute a subversion of the function of the
grand jury, an abuse of the grand jury’s process and
the creation of an illegal and secret administrative
subpoena for the Federal Bureau of Investigation,
without the knowledge or anproval of the District
Judge or the United States Attorney, to obtain from
the District Court a grand jury subpoena, signed in
blank by the Clerk, and io direct such subpoena to a
commercial bank requiring production of records in
its possession but having completed and altered tke .
subpoena to provide for its “satisfaction” by delivery
of such records to the Bureau’s agent in the field
rather than to the grand jury or to tae District Court?

3

2. In the seventy years since this Court last construed
the offense of “willful misapplication” in United
States v. Britton, 107 U.S. 655 (1883), there has
arisen a clear conflict among the decisions of the
United States Courts of Appeal as to whether the re-
quirement laid down Britton, that an indictment charg-
ing this offense under 18 U.S.C. $656 must do so with
specificity, continues to be binding; has he time now
come, therefore, for this Court to resolve the conflict
either by reaffirming its decision in Britton or by over-
ruling it?

3. Does the offense of willful misapplication under 18
U.S.C. $656 include every “unauthorized, unjustifiable
or wrongful use” of bank funds if done knowing that
such transaction “somehow constituted a breach of
bank laws or rules”, or is the offense limited to those
transactions which, at the time they occur, are ob-
viously improper and subject the bank to an increased
risk of probable and foreseeable loss; and, if the former,
is not tlie oivense unconstitutional and void for vague-
ness?

4. Does it violate the Fifth and Sixth Amendments for a
defendant first to be denied all access to records or
minutes of grand jury proceedings for the purpose of
determining upon what theory it indicted, then to be
denied a bill of particulars, and finally to be convicted
upon theories of fact and law not even suggested on the
face of the indictment?

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS. STATUTES
AND RULES INVOLVED
United States Constituicn, Amendment V
United States Constitution, Amendment VI
18 U.S.C. $656
(Reproduced in Appendix B; pp. 1b--4b)

4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
This petition secks review by writ of certiorari of the
judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
affirming defendant Pollard’s conviction of one count of
conspiracy under 18 U.S.C. $371 and three counts of mis-
application of bank funds under 18 U.S.C. $656.

Prior to the return of the indictment in this case, de-
fendant Pollard had been a director of a state-chartered
bank iocated in the Middle District of North Carolina and
insured by the Federal Deposit insurance Corporation.

Upon learning that the United States Attorney for the
Middle District of North Carolina intended to present an
indictment against him to the grand jury, the defendant
moved the District Court first for an order requiring
transcription of the grand jury’s proceedings and _ there-
after for an order enjoining presentation to the grand jury
of any evidence obtained by the government under a grand
jury subpoena which had been signed in blank by the clerk
and afterwards completed to state that it could be “satis-
fied” by delivery of the materials sought to an agent of the
FBI in the field. Both motions were denied on July 10.
1973 and, while an appeal to the Fourth Circuit from such
denial was pending, the grand jury returned the indictment
upon which the defendant was later tried. The defendant
then moved to dismiss the indictment and for discovery of
uny minutes or records of the grand jury’s proceedings,
both of which were denied by the District Court’s Memo-
randum Order filed on October 12, 1973. (Appendix A,
p. 4a). The defendant’s petition to the Fourth Circuit
for a writ of mandamus to review the order denying dis-
missai of the indictinent was denied by an order of that
Court filed on December 6, 1973.

The indictment contained one count charging con-
spiracy under 18 U.S.C. $371 and eighteen counts charg-

5

ing misapplication of bank funds under 18 U.S.C. $656,
all naming as defendants the petitioner and three other
persons. The first count, for conspiracy, charged that the
four defendanis and persons unknown kad conspired to
misapply bank funds and to defraud the United States with
respect to its interest in the enforcement of “laws pertain-
ing to the regulations [sic] of banks insured by the Federal
Deposit insurance Corporation” (Indictment. p. 2). Count
One named eight overt acts committed in furtherance of
the conspiracy, each of which was also charged as a
substantive offense in later counts. Count One and all
eight of these substantive counts were dismissed as to the
three cod:fendauts pursuant to their plea bargains. De-
fendant Pollard was convicted upon Count One and was
acquitted upon Counts Two through Sixteen. Count Seven-
teen, of which the defendant was convicted, charged, in
addition to certain jurisdictional aliegations, that the de-
fendant,
“with intent to injure and defraud the said Bank.
did wilfully misapply and cause to be misapplied
monies, funds and credits of said Bank in that the
defendants did cause Loan Number 11615 to be
made by the Bank to John J. Schopp, in the
amount of $50,000, the proceeds of which were
deposited to the account of Ketteridge Indus-
tries, Inc., at said bank concealing the purpose
for the loan and concealing the interest of H.
CALLOWAY POLLARD, JR.. NORMAN
GRAHAM SMITH and MARSHALL STE-
WART, JR.; in violation of 18 U.S.C. $656; 2.”
(Indictment, p. 15). Counts Eleven through Sixteen, of
which the defendant was acquitted, and Counts Eightee~
and Nineteen, of which he was convicted, are identical
except for the name of the borrower and the daic. number
and amount of the loan.

6

At trial, the defendant sought, with respect to all the
loan counts, including the three of which he was con-
victed, to disprove any intent to injure or defraud by of-
fering evidence that each loan, regardless of whether it
was ultimately repaid, was actually a benefit to the bank,
rather than an injury, because it decreased the overall
risks of the bank by replacing the obligation of a borrower
whose credit worthiness the bank’s own officers mistrusted
with the obligations of solvent borrowers whose credit was
superior, in the opinion of the same officers, all without
actually advancing any additional funds. The Government
called as a witness the bank officer who had made each of
the loans in question, and defense counsel was permitted
to ask, over the Government’s objection, whether there
had been, at the time the loan charged in Count Eleven
was made, any foresceability of loss therefrom and whether
the loan benefited or injured the bank. The witness
answered that the bank was muci: better off because the
loan was made, and the defendant was acquitted as to that
Count. When defense counsel attempted to repeat these
questions as to a subsequent loan count, the trial judge
sustained the Government’s objection and plainly indicated
that objections to similar questions would also be sustained,
apparently because he believed both foreseeability of loss
at the time and the net effect of the transaction standing
alone were irrelevant as to intent. (Appendix to Briefs in
the Court of Appeals, pp. A-155, A-164-167). Despite
this ruling, however, the trial judge did admit, over de-
fendant’s objections, voluminous evidence to the effect
that the loans had not been fully repaid.

In instructing the jury, the trial judge again de-
clined to require that, in order to find any intent to injure
or defraud the bank, it must have appeared ar the time of
the transaction that it would subject the bank to an un-
reasonable or foreseeable Tisk of loss. Instead, he defined

7

misapplication as any “unauthorized, unjustified or wrong-
ful use” of the bank’s monies and stated that,
“it is only necessary that the defendant knew that
the transactions somehow constituted a breach of
bank laws or rules... .”
(Appendix to Briefs in Court of Appeals, p. A-287).
Because the trial judge had relied on the allegation of
concealment to distinguish the defendant’s authority that
the indictment should have been dismissed, the theory of
concealment became the focal point of the evidence and
jury arguments by both the Government and defense
counsel. The following instruction by the trial judge, how-
ever, presented the jury with four additional theories of
guilt not even suggested by the indictment:

“A misapplication may be accomplished by
various means, such as the making of a loan
which is insufficiently secured, or the making of
a loan whiere the true recipient of the proceeds
of the loan is concealed, or the making of a Joan
where the bank officer’s or director’s interest is
concealed, or the making of a loan where there
is no intention to repay or where the maker is
insolvent. A misapplication may also occur where
a loan is made on the strength of fraudulent ap-
plications or statements.”

(Appendix to Briefs in Court of Appeals, p. A-286).

At the close of the Government’s case and at the
Close of all the evidence, the defendant moved for judg-
ment of acquittal, which was denied on both occasions.
Upon the jury’s verdict, judgment of conviction was
entered and sentence imposed, and the defendant gave
notice of appeal. The United States Court of Appeals for
the Fourth Circuit affirmed on September 23, 1974 and
denied rehearing on October 23, 1974.

8

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. THE WRIT SHOULD BE GRANTED TO PREVENT THE
SUBVERSION OF THE FUNCTICN OF THE GRAND
JURY AND TO PROHIBIT THE TRANSFORMATION OF
THE GRAND JURY'S SUBPOENA INTO A SECRET
AND ILLEGAL ADMINISTRATIVE SUBPOENA IN THE
HANDS OF THE FBI.

The procedure employed in this case vy agents of the
Federal Bureau of Investigation, and approved by the
courts below, represents a frightening and effective mech-
anism for the destruction of individual privacy, one which
should be condemned by this Court in the stronges: ierms
available.

The procedure was as foilows: agents of the FBI, for
the purpose of commencing an investigation into the af-
fairs of the North State Bank of Burlington, North Caro-
lina, obtained from the office of the Clerk of District Court
a series of grand jury subpoena forms signed by the Clerk
in blank. The agents hen completed the forms directing
each to the bank, requiring the production of specified
documents, and providing that the subpoena could be
“satisfied” by delivering the specified documents to the
FBI. Because the bank sought to respect its duty of
secrecy by delivering only the specified information, the
FBI obtained a final subpoena, again providing for “satis-
faction” by delivery to the FBI and calling for the fol-
lowing:

“All records, ledgers, documents, and corres-
pondence to include all related commercial and
personal checking accounts concerning com-
mercial loan transactions conducted with the
North State Bank during the period from 1967
through 1972.”

9

(Appendix to Briefs in Court of Appeals, p. A-21(a).)

The bank then submitted to a wholesale examination of
all books, records and documents in its possession, aband-
oning its duty of secrecy under state law. See Sparks v.
Union Trust Company of Shelby, 256 N.C. 478, 124 S.E.
2d 365 (1962). During the entire period described, the
subpoenas so employed were never subjected to review
by either the District Court or the United States Attorney;
indeed, neither had even seen them at the time oral argu-
ment was heard in the Court of Appeals on the defend-
ant’s petition for mandamus. The defendant has no know-
ledge as to what information or which of the decuments so
obtained by the FBI were ever delivered to the grand jury
or as to what disclosures or other uses the FBI has made
or intends to make of such information or documents.

Rule 17 of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure
authorizes the issuance of a subpoena, signed in blank by
the clerk. The Rule also provides, however, that subpoenas
arc to be issued ty “a party requesting it. who shall fill in
the blanks before it is served.” (Appendix B, p. 4b).
The FBI, for whose use these subpoenas were issued, is in
no sense a “party” and the provision that the subpoena
may be satisfied goes beyond the authority conferred by
the words “fill in the blanks”. Clearly, the Rule contem-
plates that the grand jury subpoenas issued thereunder will
be for the sole purpese of producing testimony and docu-
ments bevore a sitting grand jury.

The argument might readily be made that, because
confidential information concerning his financial transac-
tions constitutes property, the overbreadth of this last

subpoena and the tact that it was used in support of an
ongoing criminal nyestigation amounted to an unreason-

able search and seizure in violation of the defendant's
Fourth Amendment rights and, therefore, that the trial

‘ 10

judge’s failure to exclude all evidence so obtained was
reversible error. See generally, in re September, 1971
Grand Jury, 454 F.2d 580(7th Cir. 1971) rev'd sub
nom. United States v. Mara, 410 U.S. 19 (1973); In re
Dionisio, 442 F.2d 276 (7th Cir. 1971) rev'd sub nom.
United States v. Dionisio, 410 U.S. 1 (1973); Note,
Government Access to Bank Records, 83 YALE L. J. 1439,
1455-65, 1473 n. 162 (June, 1974). The status of con-
fidential information in the hands of institutional third
parties, as property protected under the Fourth Amend-
ment, is a crucial question of constitutional law, and one
not yet finally resolved. While this argument is not the
reason advanced herein for the granting of the writ, it
should be observed that, if the practice described above is
permitted to continue, the FBI will be free, by avoiding
judicial review as shown below, to violate whatever Fourth
Amendment rights do attach to such informational pro-
perty.

The argument which the defendant has asserted, even
since before the grand jury was convened, is that the sub-
poenas so employed by the FBI constitute an abuse of the
grand jury process, and are for that reason invalid, that
the evidence obtained by their use should have been sup-
pressed, and that the defendant has standing to raise this
objection. The evil of these subpoenas is threefold. First.
they wholly avoid judicial supervision and whatever re-
straints may be applicable to them. Second, they usurp to
the FBI the grand jury’s role as an independent, investiga-
tive body endowed with subpoena power. Third, they de-
stroy the guarantee of secrecy which, except in judicially
supervised instances, surrounds all the evidence produced
pursuant to a grand jury subpoena.

With respect to the first objection, the defendant sub-
mits that he has standing to challenge these subpoenas

1]

precisely because, if he has not, there will never be effec-
tive judicial review of their use. This principle, in an
anajogous form, was recently recognized by this Court in
United States v. Nixon, —U.S.—, 41 L. Ed.2d 1039, 1054,
94 S.Ct. —, 42 U.S.L.W. 5237, 5240 (1974), citing
with approval Perlman v. United States, 247 U.S. 7
(1918). Although arising in Nixon and Perlman as a
question of timing, the applicable principle involved is
that, if a subpoena issued at the instance of the govern-
ment is improper, whether because it violates the de-
fendant’s privilege or for any other reason not adversely
affecting the third party to whom it is directed, then the
defendant must be granted standing to object or the abuse
will always go unchecked. The principle operates with
special force upon institutional third-party custodians of
information. See generally, Note, Government Acess to
Bank Records, supra. In the present case, tne bank, in-
timidated by apparent authority and having inadequate
incentive to resist, made no objection to these subpoenas,
despite their obviously burdensome scope. Grand juries
and the offices of United States Attorneys, if either has an
incentive, which is doubtful, may never object to such
subpoenas because there is no guarantee that information
gained by their use, or even the fact of their issuance, will
ever be revealed to them by the FBI, as they were not in
this case until the defendant raised an objection. Thus, if
these subjoenas constitute an abuse of the grand jury pro-
cess which ought te be challenged, the defendant is the
only party with incentive to do so.

The most compelling reason for which subpoenas
such as these should be condemned is that, because there
is no guarantee that the information and documents so
obtained will ever be presented to the grand jury, there is
also no guarantee that the same will be guarded by the
oath of secrecy to which the grand jurors are sworn. Acting

12

with the apparent approval of the grand jury and the
Court, although without supervision or direction by either,
the FBI obtairs by these subpoenas a license which few
will question to demand from one person information con-
cerning or the property of another and then to make what-
ever use of these it sees fit. These subpoenas contain no
compulsion that the information or documents obtained
be returned to the grand jury; indeed, under the procedure
employed in this case, there need be no grand jury even
sitting at the time. The FBI should not be permtited to
convert by this practice the subpoena power of the grand
jury into its own compulsory, administrative process. See
Durbin v. United States, 221 F.2d 520, 522, (D.C. Cir.
1954); United States v. Johns-Ménville Corporation, 213
F. Supp. 65 (E.D. Pa. 1962); United States v. American
Stevedores, Inc., 16 F.R.D. 164 (S.D.N.Y. 1954) (all of
which condemn such conversion of grand jury subpoenas
by the United States Attorney’s office, but by which the
Court of Appeals declined to be bound in this case).

The constitution and our comon law tradition recog-
nize that, as the institutional conscience of the community,
the grand jury ought to be empowered to pursue rumor
and suspicion, and to enforce that pursuit by subpoena.
The justification for this power is that when the grand
jurors indict, the information so gained is made public sub-
ject to judicial control; but when they do not, when their
collective conscience is not persuaded of probable cause,
then the information relevant to the accusations or sus-
picions they reject is forever sealed by their oath of secrecy,
and the accused is assured that, unless a subsequent grand
jury is persuaded to indict, the information presented to
the first will not be broadcast to his injury. No such public
trust has been reposed in the FBI, nor has subpoena power
been conferred upon it.

13

Defendant contends therefore, that the subpoenas
employed in this case represent an illezga‘ and dangerous
practice which should be prohibited by the order of this
Court. Because no case better suited to present the issue
is likely to arise, the prayed for writ of certiorari should be
granted to review this case.

2. THERE CURRENTLY EXISTS A CLEAR CONFLICT
AMONG THE CIRCUITS AS TO WHETHER WILLFUL
MISAPPLICATION UNDER 18 U.S.C. $656 HAS
CEASED, SINCE THE DECISION IN United States v.
Britton, TO BE A GENERIC OFFENSE WHICH CAN-
NOT BE SUFFICIENTLY CHARGED BY AN _ INDICT-
MENT USING THE STATUTORY LANGUAGE ALONE.

In United States v. Britton, 107 U.S. 655 (1883),
this Court held that, because the words “willfully mis-
apply” had no “settled technical meaning” and did not of
themselves fully and clearly set forth every element of the
offense, in an indictment charging misapplication,

“It would not be sufficient simply to aver that
the defendant ‘willfully misapplied’ the funds of
the association . . . There must be averments to
show how the misapplication was made, and
that it was an unlawful one.” (emphasis added)

107 U.S. 655, 669. The indictment in that case was held
defective because it failed to aver a conversion of funds,
which the Court considered an essential element of the
offense. 107 U.S. 655, 666. Since 1883, this Court has
never again construed the offense of willful misapplication
nor in any way narrowed its holding in Britton. Nonethe-
less, in response to the defendant’s motion to dismiss this
indictment, which likewise fails to allege conversion or to
show why the transactions involved were unlawful, the
District Court concluded that the term “willfully misappli-

14

ed” has now gained a technical meaning and so held this
indictment, and others simultaneously being reviewed,

“sufficient because they follow the language of

the statute in charging a crime. The prevailing

view today apears to be that it is sufficient to set

out an offense under 18 U.S.C. $656 (for mis-

application) by using the language of the statute,

and the omission of detailing the means by which

the offense was committed does not make the

indictment insufficient.” (emphasis added, foot-

note omitted)
(Appendix A, p. 9a).

Since the decision in 8ritron, the Courts of Appeal
for the Second and Ninth Circuits have held that the
words “willfully misapply” have evolved a sufficiently
technical meaning to permit the oflense to be charged in
the statutory language alone. See United States v. For-
tunato, 402 F.2d 79, 81 (2nd Cir.) cert. denied 394 U.S.
933 (1969); Hargreaves v. United States, 75 F.2d 68 (9th
Cir.) cert. denied 295 U.S, 759 (1935). The same con-
clusion has been suggested in dictum by the Second, Fifth
and Tenth Circuits. See United States v. Moraites, 456
F.2d 435, 441 (3rd Cir.) cert. denied 409 U.S, 819
(1972); United States v. Archambault, 441 F.2d 281,
283 (9th Cir.), cert. denied 404 U.S. 843 (1971); United
States v. Bearden, 423 F.2d 805, 810-811 (Sth Cir.) cert.
denied 400 U.S. 836 (1970).

Recently rejecting this view, however, the First and
Seventh Circuits have both required the additional aver-
ments mandated by Britton. See United States v. Gens,
493 F.2d 216 (1st Cir. 1974); United States v. Quinn,
365 F.2d 256 (7ih Cir. 1966). Prior to the decision
delow, it was clear that the Fourth Circuit too regarded
Britton as controlling. Johnson v. United States, 95 F.2d

15

813 (4th Cir. 1938). Although Johnson was squarely in
point, the Fourth Circuit, for reasons which cannot be
ascertained from its per curiam opinion, upheld the Dis-
trict Court’s refusal to dismiss the indictment. The con-
fusion is enhanced by the fact that Gens, decided after the
District Court’s denial of the motion to dismiss was re-
ported, nonetheless recognized Johnson as being the law
of the Fourth Circuit, even though the District Court's
denial is, both in language and effect, utterly inconsistent
with Johnson.

Since the decision in Britton, the adoption of Rule
7(c) of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure has
greatly reduced the specificity required of indictments gen-
erally. However, this Court recognized, in Russell v.
United States, 369 U.S. 749, 762, 765 (1962), that the
sufficiency of any indictment charging an offense in
statutory language must be measured against the Sixth
Amendment's requirement that the defendant be adequately
apprised of the nature of the accusation he must be pre-
pared to meet. (Appendix B, p. Ib). To meet this
requirement, the Court in Russell held that, where the
Statute creating an offense contains “generic terms”, an
indictment must descend to particulars rather than charg-
ing the offense in the same generic terms, 369 U.S, 749,
762, 765. For exactly the same reason, the Court in
Britton held that an indictment for misapplication is not
sufficient unless it contains adidtional averments to “show
how the misapplication was made, and that it was an un-
lawful one.” Clearly, to make such a showing, the indict-
ment must not only identify the transaction involved, but
must also demonstrate or allege that cach of the elements
of the offense in fact occurred. The defendant contends
that the indictment in the present case was defective for
failure to make such a showing, both because it omits an
allegation of conversion and because neither the statutory

i6

language nor the particulars alleged could apprise him of
the nature of the charge he must meet while there persists,
as will be shown below, a conflict among the circuits as
to the elements of the offense itself.

The defendant respectfully submits, therefore, that the
writ should be granted because the time has now come for
the Supreme Court either to reaffirm its holding in Britton
or to approve the view that Britton is no longer the law.

3. THE WRIT SHOULD BE GRANTED BECAUSE THE
DECISION BELOW CREATES A DIRECT CONFLICT
AMONG THE CIRCUITS AS TO THE ELEMENTS
WHICH CONSTITUTE THE OFFENSE OF MISAPPLICA-
TION AND EXPANDS THAT OFFENSE FAR BEYOND
THE INTENT OF CONGRESS.

The offense of misapplication was apparently intended
as a catchall. It is all the more important, therefore, unless
Britton is specifically reaffirmed, to resolve the present con-
flict among the circuits as to the elements of the offense.

At the trial of this case, the defendant requested in-
structions to the jury which incorporated the view of the
First and Second circuits that, for a transaction to be a
misapplication, it must be obviously improper and unjustifi-
able and must subject the bank to a risk of probable and
foreseeable loss. See United States v. Gens, 493 F.2d 216
(Ist Cir, 1974); United States v. Giordano, 489 F.2d 327
(2nd Cir. 1973); United States v. Docherty, 468 F.2d 989
(2nd Cir. 1972); United States v. Mulloney, 79 F.2d 566
(Ist Cir, 1935). The trial judge never gave the requested
instructions and that failure, assigned as error on appeal,
was approved by the Fourth Circuit’s per curiam affirm-
ance.

The instructions which the trial judge gave instead
made virtually every use of bank funds which violates any

17

state or federal bank rule or regulation a felonious mis-
application under 18 U.S.C. $656. (See pp. 6, 7 supra).
These instructions are in plain conflict with the First and
Second Circuit cases cited above, the thrust of which is
that, unless the natural and probable consequence of 4
given transaction is to cause a Joss, the transaction itself
affords no basis for inferring the intent to injure or defraud
required in order to render it a misapplication. Clearly,
there could be technical violations which, although pro-
hibited, entail no such natural or probable consequence,
do not reflect an intent to injure or defraud and were not,
therefore, intended to be punished as felonies under 18
U.S.C. $656. If this conclusion is false, the Supreme Court
should bring that fact to light and so give warning to the
thousands of honest bank officers and directors who reason-
ably believe that, while a good faith attempt to mect
exigent circumstances with exceptions to established policy
may prove an error of judgment, it will not give rise to
criminal liability unless a criminal statute expressly so
provides.

Moreover, in the three substantive counts of which
the defendant was convicted, the specific regulation violat-
ed by those loans, if any, was never identified by the
indictments or the United States Attorney. Even the trial
judge’s instructions to the jury failed to identify any particu-
lar law or regulation allegedly violated by those loans. This
sequence of events has an important implication for the
future, if the present indictment is upheld, because one
must then conclude: (a) that, where an indictment de-
scribes an apparently legitimate transaction but also alleges
intent to defraud and concealment, a defendant may be
required to stand trial for misapplication without first
identifying the violation which made the transaction illegal;
or (5) that, although a transaction ia fact violates no
banking law or regulation and has no natural or foresee-

18

able tendency to injure the bank, indeed, even if it benefits
the bank, it will yet constitute a felonious misapplication
if the jury infers an intent to injure or defraud from the
fact of “concealment” alone. The first conclusion involves
a patent Genial of constitutional rights under the Fifth and
Sixth Amendments. The second conclusion would render
the offense impossible to disprove, if the transaction oc-
curred at all. This is so because concealment requires no
Overt act; it is itself a matter of intent. Moreover, in the
present case, the Government’s evidence affirmatively
showed that there was no concealment. More importantly,
however, the second conclusion also extends the offense to
include acts which this Court has heretofore held, in
United States v. Britton, 107 U.S. 655, 668 (1883), give
rise to civil, rather than criminal, liability as mere acts of
maladministration.

After almost one hundred years, the Courts of Appeal
have still reached no consensus as to the precise meaning
of the term “misapply”. If this reflects the fact that one
cannot say what misapplication is, the time has come for
the Supreme Court to say what it is not. It is not, as the
trial judge should have instructed the jury upon request,
a transaction which was not expressly prohibited by any
banking law or regulation and was, as it appeared to the
parties at the time, beneficial rather than harmful to the
bank. It is no answer to say that a transaction which ap-
pears to be benecial or from which no loss actually results
may yet be a misapplication if effected with an intent to
injure or defraud because, if the offense of misapplication is
not to be limitless, there must at least be objective criteria
to be satisfied before a jury will be permitted to infer the
specific criminal intent. If no such criteria can be articulat-
ed, the offense of misapplication under 18 U.S.C. $656 is
void for vagueness.

»

~

“,

19

In recent years reports of decisions involving sub-
stantive questions with respect to the offense of misappli-
cation have appeared with increasing frequency. These
decisions, it may be surmised, reflect both the economic
climate of our times and the spiraling number and com-
plexity of state and federal regulations affecting banks.
Under these circumstances, and because the lower courts
have failed to develop one, the need has grown urgent for
a definitive statement of the elements of the offense. The
petitioner submits that the writ should be granted to pro-
vide such a statement.

4. THE WRIT SHOULD BE GRANTED 10 RESULVE THE
CONFLICT BETWEEN THE POLICY OF GRAND JURY
SECRECY AND AN INDIVIDUAL’S RIGHT TO BE TRIED
ONLY UPON THE INDICTMENT OF THE GRAND
JURY.

The doctrine is well settled that the deliberations of a
grand jury and testimony before it, will ordinarily be kept
secret although exceptions may be made, in the discretion
of the trial judge, under the power conferred by Rule 6(e)
of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure. See Dennis v.
United States, 384 U.S. 855, 869-70 (1966). In direct
conflict with this general policy is the fact that, unless a
defendant has access to records of the testimony before
and the deliberations of the grand jurors, his right under
the Fifth and Sixth Amendments to be tried only upon the
theory of guilt contained in their indictment may be render-
ed nugatory. See, Russell v. United States, 369 U.S. 749,
770 (1962); Stirone v. United States, 361 U.S. 212, 217
(1960). The fact of this conflict and its prejudicial impact
on a defendant, are clearly revealed in the case at bar,
which presents, therefore, an appropriate occasion for its
resolution by this Court.

20

Under Rule 7(c) of the Federal Rules of Criminal
Procedure, the indictment need only be a “plain, concise
and definite written statement of the essential facts con-
stituting the offense charged.” (Appendix B, p. 3b). In
the present case, the Court of Appeals has held, in effect,
that such a statement may be sufficient in law to withstand
a motion to dismiss, but still be so broadly worded as to
permit the trial judge to instruct the jury on four theories
of guilt not even suggested by the indictment on its face.
This holding is in direct conflict with the rule of other
circuits that, since the court and the prosecutor must not
be allowed to guess what was in the minds of the grand
jurors at the time they returned the indictment, only
thicories apparent on the face of the indictment may be pre-
sented to the petit jury. See, Russell v. United States, 369
U.S. 749, 770 (1962); United States v. Bryan, 483 F.2d
88, 96-97 (3rd Cir. 1972): United Siates v. Beard, 436
F.2d 1084, 1087 (Sth Cir. 1971), United States v. Silver-
man, 430 F.2d 106, 1ii (2nd Cir. 1970).

if the rule of the Second, Third and Fitth Circuits is
an accurate expression of the law, the decision of the
Court below should be reversed. Necessarily, however,
such a rule would significantly restrict the notice pleading
sought by Rule 7(c), especially as to catchall offenses
sucn as misapplication. If the rule of these Circuits is not
the law, then some restriction must be placed upon a trial
judge's discretion under Rule 6(e); otherwise. the right
proclaimed by Stirone and Russell may not survive at all,
as the defendant's trial well demonstrates. The defendant's
motion to record the grand jury proceedings was denicd,
despite his offer to bear the expense thereof, as was his
motion to discover any records or documents of those pro-
ceedings. Moreover, even if the grand jurors did volun-
tarily keep any such records, which is not known, the de-

21

fendant has no assurance that they would be sufficiently
complete to prove or disprove that the four additional
theories introduced by the judge’s instructions to the jury
had in fact been considered by the grand jurors, much
less included in the indictment itself.

Of course, the conflict between these policies can
normally be avoided if the trial judge will, in his discretion,
order some records to be kept of grand jury proceedings
and, when the need arives, grant a motion for a bill of
particulars or discovery of these records. A defendant's
constitutional rights, however, must not be made dependent
upon the unfettered discretion of the judge. In the present
case, the judge rejected out of hand every attempt by the
defendant to discover the nature of the charge against him
and, until the eve of trial, even denied him access by dis-
covery against the bank to the same records which the
FBI had obtained pursuant to its secret subpoena. Such a
clear abuse of discretion makes this an appropriate case
for this Court to review for the purpose of determining
whether and how that discretion should be restricted.

Three alternatives are available for the resolution of
the conflict herein raised: first, to require universal recor-
dation of grand jury proceedings or, at least. to make
recordation upon motion a matter of right, which motion
shall be prerequisite to any claim that the requirements of
Russell and Stirone have not been met; second, to require.
as to any indictment charging an offense the statute creat-
ing which does not fully and clearly set forth all its ele-
ments, a greater degree of specificity than presently re-
quired under Rule 7(c); and, third, to restrict the discre-
tion of a trial judge in denying bills of particulars and dis-
covery of grand jury records, perhaps making at least one
a matter of right, the choice as to which being left in each
case to the judge. Whichever alternative is chosen, the

22

effect upon criminal procedure in state and federal courts
would be profound and should, therefore, be uniform as
well. The need for such a choice, by this Court, is clear,
and no case will be better suited to raise and decide the
issue than is the case at bar. The petitioner would respect-
fully submit, therefore, that the writ of certiorari should
be granted.

CONCLUSION

The case at bar raises two types of issues which, the
petitioner believes, require review by this court. The
issues raised herein involving the substantive law of mis-
application of bank funds under 18 U.S.C. $656 are ripe
for review by this Court because the Courts of Appeal
have tailed to agree both as to the elements of the offense
and as to whether those elements are so well Known as to
permit the offense to be charged in statutory language. If
the requirements of due process are to be preserved tor
future defendants, it will be necessary for this Court either
to define the offense or to declare it void. The two other
issues raised hercin require the exercise by the Court of
its supervisory control over our judicial system. The dis-
cretion accorded trial judges under Rule 6(e) and the
generality permitted in indictments under Rule 7(c) have
been seen to thwart individual constitutional rights under
the Sixth Amendment. There is needed an accommodation,
either by restricting that discretion or by requiring more
specilically worded indictments. The use by the FBI of
grand jury subpoenas is a dangerous and important usurpa-
tion of the grand jury’s function. If the writ were granted,
the decision of this Court could prohibit and even prevent
the recurrence of this abuse.

It is, therefore, respectfully submitted that this peti-

23

tion for writ of certiorari to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit should be granted.

Jack W. FLOYD

Eric P. HANDLER
Attorieys for Petitioner,
H. Calisway Pollard

OF COUNSEL:

SMITH, Moore, SMITH, SCHELL & HUNTER
700 Jefferson Building

Post Office Drawer G

Greensboro, North Carolina 27402
Teiephone: (919) 273-8263

APPENDIX A—OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT
No. 74-1368
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, -4ppellee,
versus
H. CALLOWAY POLLARD, JR., Appellant.
Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Middle District of North Carolina, at Greensboro.
Hiram H. Ward, District Judge.

Argued September 4, 1974 Decided September 23, 1974

Before HAYNSWORTH, Chief Judge, RUSSELL and
WIDENER, Circuit Judges. -

Jack W. Floyd (Eric P. Handler and Smith, Moore, Smith,
Schell and Hunter on brief) for Appellant; N. Carlton
Tilley, Jr., United States Attorney, (Hugh P. Mabe, Ii,
Attorney, Criminal Division, United States —— of
Justice, on brief) for Appellee.

PER CURIAM:

H. Calloway Pollard, Jr., was convicted by a jury of
three counts of willful misapplication of bank funds in
violation of 18 U.S.C. $656 and one count of conspiracy
willfully to misapply bank funds and to defraud the United
States in violation of 18 U.S.C. $371.

Upon consideration of the record, briefs and oral
argument, we find no reversible error.

AFFIRMED.

2a

Filed Oct. 23, 1974, William K. Slate, II, Clerk
United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
No. 74-1368
United States of America, Appellee,
versus
H. Calloway Pollard, Jr., Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Middie District of North Carolina, at Greensboro.

Upon consideration of the petition for rehearing with
the request for rehearing en banc in the above entitled
case, and with the concurrence of Judges Russell and
Widener, no member of the court having requested a poll,

IT IS ORDERED that the petition for rehearing be,
and the same is hereby, denied.
FOR THE COURT:

a/CLEMENT F. HAYNSWORTH, JR.
Chief Judge, Fourth Circuit

A True Copy, Teste:

VILLIAM K. Strate, Il, Clerk
By Faye CHLONIE,
Deputy Clerk

3a

Filed Oct. 25, 1974, William K. Slate, II, Clerk
United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
No. 74-1368 —
United States of America, Appellee,
versus

H. Calloway Pollard, Jr., Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Middle District of North Carolina, at Greensboro.
Hiram H. Ward, District Judge.

Upon motion of the appellant, by counsel and for
cause shown,

IT IS ORDERED that the mandate in the above-
entitled case be, and it is hereby, stayed pending applica-
tion of the appeilant in the Supreme Court of the United
States for a writ of certiorari to this Court to and includ-
ing Friday, November 22, 1974.

For the Court—by Direction.
/s/ WILLIAM K. SLATE, II, Clerk

A True Copy, Teste:
WILLIAM K. SiarteE, II, Clerk
By FRANCES S. SEWELL,
Deputy Clerk

4a

Filed Oct. 12, 1973, Carmon J. Stuart, Clerk
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR
THE MIDDLE DISTRCT OF NORTH CAROLINA
GREENSBORO DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
Vv. Cr-279-G-73

JOHN ROBERT KERNODLE
NoRMAN GRAHAM SMITH

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
v. Cr-280-G-73

JOHN ROBERT KERNODLE
H. CALLOWAY POLLARD, JR.
MARSHALL STEWART, JR.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
Vv. Cr-28 1-G-73

Houston P. SHARPE
NorRMAN GRAHAM SMITH
CHARLES M. MCMILLAN

MEMORANDUM ORDER
WARD, District Judge

The three above-entitled cases charge various officers
and directors of the North State Bank of Burlington, North
Carolina, and defendant McMillan with willfully mis-
applying bank monies, funds, and credits. Each indict-
ment charges defendants in Count One of their respective

Sa

indictments with conspiracy. The remaining counts charge
a violation of 18 U.S.C. $656 and 18 U.S.C. 82. In ad-
dition, the indictment in Cr-281-G-73 charges those de-
fendants witn making a false financial statement in viola-
tion of 18 U.S.C. §1014. All defendants are charged in
each count of their respective indictments.

Prior to arraignment on October 5, 1973, these de-
fendants filed various motions attacking the indictments
and requesting severance. The Court initially denied those
motions for reasons as set out in this memorandum order.

Due to the similarity of some of the contentions raised
in these three cases, the Court has decided to deal with all
of the motions in this order. Generally, all defendants
attack the sufficiency of both the conspiracy and substan-
tive counts of the indictments. They also challenge the
grand jury proceedings which issued the indictments. Some
defendants have aiso moved for a severance.

I

SUFFICIENCY OF THE INDICTMENT RELATING TO THE
COUNTS CHARGING A VIOLATION OF 18 U.S.C. $656

Each of the indictments charges the defendants with
violation of 18 U.S.C. $656 in that they allegedly willfully
misapplied bank funds. In Cr-279-G-73 Counts Two
through Eleven contain those charges. !

1Count Two charges, in material part, the defendants “with
intent to injure and defraud the said Bank, did wilfully misapply
and cause to be misapplied monies, funds, and credits of said Bank
in that the defendants did cause Loan Number 9252 to be made
by the Bank to Barbara T. Smith, in the amount of $40,000.00,
the proceeds of which were deposited in the account of the de-
fendants, concealing the purpose for the loan and concealing the
interests of JOHN ROBERT KERNODLE and NORMAN GRA-
HAM SMITH in the loan, which loan was financially unsound; in
violation of 18 U.S.C. 656; 2.”

The remaining counts allege the same type of transaction with
only the date, loan number, amount and recipient being different.

6a

In Cr-280-G-73, Counts Two through Nineteen allege
violation of 18 U.S.C. $656. Counts Two through Ten of
that indictment charge defendants with causing checks to
be paid from an insufficient funds account.? Counts Eleven
through Nineteen allege a misapplication by the making of
loans.3 In Cr-281-G-73 the allegations as to 18 U.S.C. $656
appear in Counts Two through Twenty-Four. Counts Two
through Twenty-One charge a misapplication by writing
checks on an insufficient funds account, using the same
format as Counts Two through Ten in Cr-280-G-73 as set
out in footnote 2. Counts Twenty-Two through Twenty-
Four of Cr-281-G-73 charge misapplications by the making
of loans, using the format of Counts Eleven through Nine-
teen in Cr-280-G-73 as set out in footnote 3.

2Count Two charges. in material part, the defendants “with
intent to injure and defraud the said Bank, did wilfully misapply
and cause to be misapplied the sum of $21,525.65 of the monies of
the said Bank, in that the defendants did cause to be paid out of
the monies and funds of the said Bank a check in the amount of
$21,525.65, dated December 23, 1970, drawn on the account of
Ketteridge Industries, Inc., which, as the defendants well knew, did
not contain sufficient funds to cover the said check, whereby the
possession, control, and use of said monies and funds of the Bank
were converted and misapplied to the use and benefit of Ketteridge
Industries, Inc.. NORMAN GRAHAM SMITH, H. CALLOWAY
POLLARD, JR., and MARSHALL STEWART, JR.: in violation
of 18 U.S.C. 656; 2.”

The remaining counts are the same except for dates and
amounts.

3Count Eleven charges, in material part, the defendants “with
intent to injure and defraud the said Bank did wilfully misapply
and cause to be misapplied monies, furds, and credits of said Bank
in that the defendants did cause Loan Number 10012 to be made by
the Bank to Ketteridge Industries, Inc., in the amount of $260,-
000.00, the proceeds of which were deposited in said Bank to the
account of Ketteridge Industries, Inc., concealing the purpose for
the loan and concealing the interest of Hi CALLOWAY POLLARD,
JR.. NORMAN GRAHAM SMITH and MARSHALL STEYVAF.T,
JR.; in violation of 18 U.S.C. 656; 2.”

The remaining counts are the same except for different cates,
loan numbers, amounts. and recipients.

Ta

Defendants contend that the counts charging a mis-
application of bank monies, fu.cds, or credits do not con-
form to the requirements of Rule 7(c), Federal Rules of
Criminai Procedure. As to the counts alleging misapplica-
tion through the payment of checks drawn on insufficient
funds accounts, they claim that the indictment fails to show
that the company on whose account the ciiecks were drawn
was insolvent and thus unable to repay the bank. They state
that the company may have given security or had some
arrangement with the bank for repaying the checks. They
state that the indictment must show that the company did
not have other accounts in the bank which contained
funds. They also say that regulations contained in 12
C.F.R. $7.1161 permits banks to extend credit through
use of overdrafts. In regard to the misapplication charges
through use of loans, they claim that the indictment must
allege that the loans would and could not be repaid. They
say that the defendants’ interest and purpose in the loans
must be more specifically stated and. the indictment must
detail the defendants’ involvement in making the loans.
They state that the contention of the indictments that they
concealed their purpose and interest in the loans does not
cure the defect of insufficiency. To summarize, the defend-
ants claim that in an indictment charging misapplication
under 18 U.S.C. £656, the government must detail the
facis behind the charge, give particulars as to the involve-
ment of the defendants and explain why the transaction
was illegal. They claim that the three indictments merely
allege garden variety banking transactions and that the
charges that defendants acted with intent to defraud, to
conceal their interests, or to convert bank funds and
monies merely states a conclusion but does not inform
them of the nature of the charges against them.

In support of their contentions, defendants rely upon
United States v. Britton, 107 U.S. 655, 2 S.Ct. 512, 27

8a

L.Ed. 520 (1883), for the proposition that the term
‘willfully misapplied’ has no set meaning and, therefore,
the indictments must particularize the means whereby the
alleged misapplications were accomplished in order to
sufficiently inform them of the charges which tiey face. In
addition, they place heavy reliance upon Johnson v. United
States, 95 F.2d 813 (4th Cir. 1938), for their contention
that an indictment under 18 U.S.C. $656 must negate any
possibility that the banking transaction might be legitimate
or that the monies taken or paid out might be repaid at a
future date.

In Johnson v. United States, supra, the court held that
an indictment under what is now 18 U.S.C. $656 did not
charge an offense. The indictment charged in the language
of the statute and then went on to explain defendant's
actions in detail. The indictment charged that defendant
took a note from another individual, discounted it, and
credited the funds to his personal checking account which
had been overdrawn. The court noted that allegations failed
to show a fraud on the bank, or a conversion of bank
funds, since the funds were never withdrawn. In effect, the
court found that the allegations particularizing the crime
merely recounted routine banking transactions.

The Court finds significant differences between the
indictments here and those in Johnson v. United States,
supra. Here, the counts as to checks drawn on insufficient

4As summarized in United States v. Docherty, 468 F.2d 989,
994 (2nd Cir. 1972):

. . . On the other hand, Johnson v. United States, 95 F. 2d
813 (4 Cir. 1938) (Soper, J.), held that no crime was charged
when the indictment alleged only that a bank president, whose
conduct was characterized with a copious array of pejorative
adverbs, had discounted a note payable to himself and applied
the proceeds to his own account, in order to meet an overdraft.
The court found the indictment flawed since there was no
allegation that the maker was known to be insolvent or to have
an intention not to pay.

9a

funds accounts in adition claim that the funds were con-
verted. In Johnson there was no claim that the note was
bad or that the defendant converted the funds. In the
present indictments the counts relating to the loans also
claim that the defendants concealed the purpose of the
loans and their interests in them. In Johnson there was no
concealment, and in fact there the defendant was quite
candid about what he did. The Court also finds significant
that here the indictments charge many different misapplica-
tions involving large sums of money, whereas in Jo/inson,
the alleged misapplication occurred once, and only in-
volved $600.5 The Court finds that the present indictments
sufficiently inform defendants of how the alleged misap-
plication took place and indicate why it was unlawful. The
Court cannot read these indictments and come to the
conclusion that only an ordinary banking transaction is
charged. These indictments allege conversion and conceal-
ment as essential ingredients of the transactions.

While the Court holds that the present indictments
sufficiently explain the means whereby the misapplications
arose, it also holds that [sic] indictments sufficient because
they follow the language of the statute in charging a crime.®

SIn United Stares v. Moraites, infra, 456 F.2d 435, the court
said it need not consider whether an indictment charging an offense
under 18 U.S.C. §656 and framed in the language of the statute
would be sufficient standing alone, since in that case the first count
of the indictment charged an elaborate conspiracy to misapply
bank funds, and all defendants were charged in both the conspiracy
and the challenged substantive counts. The same could be said of
the three indictments in the present case. In fact, it appears that
the indictments in the present case are more informative than those
in United States v. Moraites, supra, at 440 n. 7, which the court held
sufficient.

6The essential elements of 18 U.S.C. $656 in this case are (1)
the accused was an officer, director, etc., of a bank; (2) the bank
had a particular type of federal connection; (3) the accused will-
fully misapplied money, etc., of said bank; and (4) the accused
acted with intent to injure or defraud the bank.

10a

The prevailing view today appears to be that it is sufficient
to set out an offense under 18 U.S.C. $656 (for misapplica-
tion) by using the language of the statute, and the omission
of detailing the means by which the offense was committed
does not make the indictment insufficient. United States v.
Archambault, 441 F.2d 281, 283 (10th Cir. 1971), cert.
denied, 404 U.S. 843 (1971); United States v. Bearden,
423 F.2d 805, 810-11 (Sth Cir. 1970), cert. denied, 400
U.S. 836 (1970); United States v. Fortunato, 402 F.2d
79, 81-2 (2nd Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 394 U.S. 933
(1969); and see aiso United States vy. Moraites, 456 F.2d
435, 440-41 (3rd Cir. 1972), cert. denied. Those cases
either implicitly or explicity hold that the term ‘willfully
misapplied’ as used in 18 U.S.C. $656 is not so vague and
indefinite a word so as to necessitate further explanation.
(See United States v. Moraites, supra, at 441 n. 9 for
citation of authorities that this term as used in 18 U.S.C.
§656 has gained a technical meaning since the decision in
United States v. Britton, supra, which was decided in
1883.)

Since the decisions in Britton (1883) and Johnson
(1938), Congress has adopted new rules of criminal pro-
cedure to replace the old common law rules of pleading.
Rule 7(c), Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, became
effective in 1946. As stated in Wright, Federal Practice
and Procedure, Vol. 1, $123 at 219-21 (1969):

Rule 7(c) put an end to “the rules of technical
and formalized pleading which had characterized an
earlier era.” The complex requirements of common
law criminal pleading and of some state practices
are now obsolete. The precision and detail formerly
demanded are no longer required, imperfections of
form that are not prejudicial are disregarded, and
common sense and reason prevail over technicalities.

lla

The fundamental functions and requirements of an
inggetment have not been modified, and it is still
essential that every element of an offense be stated
and that the defendant be given fair notice of the
charge against him, but the rule now permits a plain,
concise, and definite statement of the essential facts
constituting the offense.

The sagacity of Rule 7(c) readily appears in the instant
case. An indictment charging a violation of 18 U.S.C.
$656 may indeed involve complex matters of banking law
and policy at the trial. To do as defendants suggest and
require that all the details of the alleged illegal transaction
be explained in detail would result in a reversion to the
common law technical form of pleading. To avoid this
result, the government necessarily must rely upon con-
clusory statements, the facts of which must be proved
during the trial. The Court holds that the term ‘willfully
misapplied’ through the years has acquired a specific mean-
ing so as to enable the defendants to be put on notice of
the crime for which they are charged and to enable them
to prepare their defense.” In addition, these three indict-

7A misapplication is an unauthorized, unjustifiable, or wrongful
use of the bank’s monies, funds, or credits. However, the term
‘willful misapplication’ as used in 18 U.S.C. $656 means a criminal
misapplication rather than a mere act of maladministration. In order
for there to be a willful misapplication, the defendant must convert
to his own use, benefit, or gain, or to some other person’s or com-
pany’s use, benefit, or gain, the monies, funds, or credits of the
bank. However, it is not every such unauthorized or unlawful ap-
propriation of monies, funds, or credits which is punishable, but
only those acts willfully done with the specific intent to defraud or
deceive the bank. See United States v. Moraites, supra, at 441 and
cases cited in footnote 9, and United States v. Docherty, supra, 468
F.2d 989 (2nd Cir. 1972). The fact that the bank may suffer no
loss or injury, or that there is a future possibility of repayment or
benefit to the bank is no defense. The offense is complete im-
mediately upon the act of willful misapplication with intent to de-
rm or deceive. United States v. Acree, 466 F. 2d 1114 (10th Cir.
1972).

12a

ments sufficiently explain the transactions to defendants
so as to comply with Rule 7(c).

In regard to defendants’ contentions that the trans-
actions alleged in the indictments can be shown to be legal,
it is enough to say that they will have ample opportunity
to present their evidence at the trial. To require the govern-
ment to negate every possible or unusual defense con-
travenes the purpose of Rule 7(c) and would lead to a
mini-trial prior to arraignment in order to determine
whether a particular transaction could or might be merely
irregular rather than illegal. Such a procedure is neither
good policy, nor is it the law. As stated in United States v.
Thomas, 444 F.2d 919, 926 n. 23 (D.C. Cir. 1971):

As a general rule, it is not required that matters of
defense be negated in an indictment or information.
Evans v. United States, 153 U.S. 584, 590, 14 S.Ct.
934, 38 L.Ed. 830 (1894); Fippin v. United States,
162 F. 2d 128, 131 (9th Cir. 1947); United States
v. Branigan, 299 F. Supp. 225, 228 (S.D.N.Y. 1969).
See generally 1 C. Wright, Federal Practice and Pro-
cedure $125 (1969).

See also United States v. Vannatta, 189 F. Supp. 939, 941
(D. Hawaii 1960), which applied the general rule to a case
involving 18 U.S.C. $656.

% * *
[The remaining sections of the Memorandum Order deal
with issues not pertinent to this petition and are, therefore,
omitted. ]

% * *%

IT IS THEREFORE, ORDERED that each defend-
ant’s motion as to each and every particular be, and the
same hereby is, denied. The motion for severance is denied
without prejudice to its being raised again after defendants

i3a

have completed their discovery, and in such time in ad-
vance of trial to permit the Court to give adequate con-
sideration to it.

s/ HirAM H. WARD
United States District Judge

A True Copy, Teste:
CARMON J. Stuart, Clerk
By WAYNE N. EvERHART,
Deputy Clerk

APPENDIX B

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES
AND RULES INVOLVED

United States Constitution, amend. V:

“No person shall be held to answer for a capital,
or otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment
or indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising
in the land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in
actual service in time of War or public danger; nor
shall any person be subject for the same offence to
be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be
compelled in any criminal case to be a witness against
himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law; nor shall private property
be taken for public use, without just compensat:on.”

United States Constitution, amend. VI:

“In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall
enjoy the right to a speedy and public trial, by an
impartial jury of the State and district wherein the
crime shall have been committed, which district shall
have been previously ascertained by law, and to be
informed of the nature and cause of the accusation;
to be confronted with the witnesses against him; to
have compulsory process for obtaining witnesses in
his favor, and to have the Assistance of Counsel for
his defence.”

18 U.S.C., S656:

“Whoever, being an officer, director, agent or
employee of, or connected in any capacity with any
Federal Reserve bank, member bank, national bank or
insured bank, or a receiver of a national bank, or any
agent or employee of the receiver, or a Federal Re-

1b

2b

serve Agent, or an agent or employee of a Federal
Reserve Agent or of the Board of Governors of the
Federal Reserve System, embezzles, abstracts, purloins
or willfully misapplies any of the moneys, funds or
credits of such bank or any moneys, funds, assets or
securities intrusted to the custody or care of such
bank, or to the custody or care of any such agent, of-
ficer, director, employee or receiver, shall be fined not
more than $5,000 or imprisoned not more than five
years, or both; but if the amount embezzled, abstract-
ed, purloined or misapplied does not exceed $100, he
shall be fined not more than $1,000 or imprisoned
not more than one year, or both.

As used in this section, the term “national bank”
is synonymous with “national banking association”;
“member bank” means and includes any national bank,
state bank, or bank and trust company which has be-
come a member of one of the Federal Reserve banks;
and “insured bank” includes any bank, banking uas-
sociation, trust company, savings bank, or other bank-
ing institution, the deposits of which are insured by
the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation. June 25,
1948, c.645, 62 Stat. 729.”

Rule 6(e), Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure:

“SECRECY OF PROCEEDINGS AND DIS-
CLOSURE. Disclosure of matters occurring before
the grand jury other than its deliberations and the vote
of any juror may be made to the attorneys for the
government for use in the performance of their duties.
Otherwise a juror, attorney, interpreter, steuographer,
operator of a recording device, or any typist who
transcribes recorded testimony taay disclose matters
occurring before the grand jury only when so directed
by the court preliminarily to or in connection with a

3b

judicial proceeding or when permitted by the court at
the request of the defendant upon a showing that
grounds may exist for a motion to dismiss the indict-
ment because of matters occurring before the grand
jury. No obligaiion of secrecy may be imposed upon
any person except in accordance with this rule. The
court may direct that an indictment shall be kept
secret until the defendant is in custody or has given
bail, and in that event the clerk shall seal the indict-
ment and no person shall disclose the finding of the
indictment except when necessary for the issuance and
execution of a warrant or summons.”

Rule 7(c), Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure:
“(c) Nature and contents

(1) In general. The indictment or the informa-
tion shall be a plain, concise and definite written state-
ment of the essential facts constituting the offense
charged. It shall be signed by the attorney for the
government. It need not contain a formal commence-
ment, a formal conclusion or any other matter not
necessary to such statement. Allegations made in one
count may be incorporated by reference in another
count. It may be alleged in a single count that the
means by which the defendant committed the offense
are unknown or that he committed ittby one or more
specified means. The indictment or information shall
state for each count the official or customary citation
of the statute, rule, regulation or other provision of
law which the defendant is alleged therein to have
violated.

(2) Criminal forfeiture. When an offense charg-
ed may result in a criminal forfeiture, the indictment
or the information shall allege the extent of the inter-
est or property subject to forfeiture.

4b

(3) Harmless error. Error in the citation or its
omission shall not be ground for dismissal of the in-
dictment or information or for reversal of a conviction
if the error or omission did not mislead the de’ endant
to his prejudice.”

_ Rule 17(a), (c), Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure:

Rule 17. Subpoena.

(a) FOR ATTENDANCE OF WITNESSES;
FORM; ISSUANCE. A subpoena shall be issued by
the clerk under the seal of the court. It shall state the
name of the court and the title, if any, of the proceed-
ing, and shall command each person to whom it is
directed to attend and give testimony at the time and
place specified therein. The clerk shall issue a sub-
poena, signed and sealed but otherwise in blank to a
party requesting it, who shall fill in the blanks before
it is served. A subpoena shall be issued by a United
States magistrate in a proceeding before him, but it
need not be under the seal of the court.

(c) FOR PRODUCTION OF DOCUMENT-
ARY EVIDENCE AND OF OBJECTS. A subpoena
may also command the person to whom it is directed
to produce the books, papers, documents or other
objects designated therein. The court on motion made
promptly may quash or modify the subpoena if com-
pliance would be unreasonable or oppressive. The
court may direct that books, papers, documents or ob-
jects designated in the subpoena be produced before
the court at a time prior to the trial or prior to the
time when they are to be offered in evidence and may
upon their production permit the books, papers, docu-
ments or objects or portions thereof to be inspected
by the parties and their attorneys.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385608_0155%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
