# Memorandum — Simpkins v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_2234%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Memorandum
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 420 U.S. 946

## Text

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1974

No. 74-595

JERRY HowarD SIMPKINS AND JEs:—e HOWARD
S1MPKINS, PETITIONERS

_

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

MEMORANDUM FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

Petitioners conte®4 that they were improperly limited
in cross-exz ming a 80vernment witness, that they were
denied their right t° 4 Speedy trial, and that they were
prejudiced by the ‘rial court’s admonitions to defense
counsel.

Following a jury trial in the United States District
Court for the Easter" District of Virginia, petitioners were
convicted on eight Counts of interstate transportation of
stolen vehicles and Other stolen property, in violation
of 18 U.S.C. 2312 and 2314. Jerry Howerd Simpkins
was sentenced to 2 term of three years imprisonment,
all but six months Of which was suspended, with three
years’ probation. Jesse Howard Simpkins was given a term
of three years’ proPation, and fined $5,000. The court of
appeals affirmed in 2 thorough opinion (Pet. App.).

(1)

2

The government’s case was based principally upon the
testimony of Ellen O’Meara, who was the intermediary
between petitioners and members of a New York orga-
nized crime ring. Ms. O’Meara explained in detail her
dealings with the Simpkinses in procuring stolen auto-
mobiles and machinery for them, preparing bogus bills
of sale and invoices at their direction, and collecting
money they owed to the New York connections (Tr. 399-
445).

1. Petitioner’s contention that the trial court improper-
ly limited their cross-examination of Ms. O’Meara is in-
substantial.

On cross-examination, defense counsel inquired into the
names of the members of the theft ring. O’Meara refused
to answer, explaining that her life would be endangered
if she answered those inquiries (Tr. 446-447). The trial
court sustained a subsequent objection to the question
because it was irrelevant to the issue at hand, i.e.,
whether or not the vehicles and machir.es were trans-
ported in interstate commerce by petitioners and whether,
at the time they were transported, petitioners knew they
were stolen (Tr. 521-523).

The government never contended, and the evidence
did not show, that petitioners dealt with any of the main
figures in the organized crime ring other than O’Meara.
Trial testimony did reveal that petitioners did not know
many of the members of the ring (Tr. 483), but that they
had had some contact with Gary Melius, Artie Dome,
and an individual named Pauley (Tr. 416, 436, 450). These
people were involved in delivering the automobiles and
machinery. Petitioners contend that the names of others
were relevant because they could use these unknown per-
sons to prove they had no knowledge the goods were stolen
and did not know with whom they were dealing. However,
in endorsing the trial court’s action, the court of appeals
properly ruled (Pet. App. A5):

eRe Sat oat BETTY

3

* * * (T]he scope of cross-examination is generally
within the discretion of the trial court and usually
limited to matters brought out on direct. See United
States v. Williams, 478 F.2d 369, 371 (4th Cir. 1973);
United States v. Chase, 372 F.2d 453, 463 (4th Cir.
1967). But, in any event, we note that the defendants
did not attempt to use as witnesses those crime ring
members who were named by Miss O’Meara. They
have given us no reason to believe that they would
have used the unnamed criminal members. We are
of the opinion the district court acted within its discre-
tion in not requiring the witness to divulge names of
persons not directly involved with the crime charged,
and whose testimony, if available, could be of little
or no value to the defense. In addition, any error
committed was harmless. We have had brought to
our attention no potential witness with whom the
defendants dealt who could not have been subpoenaed.
[Emphasis added. ]

2. There is no merit to petitioners’ contention that the
trial court’s admonitions to their attorney denied them
a fair trial.

On several occasions during the hotly contested, four-day
trial, Judge Kellam admonished defense counsel to state
his questions in proper form, to refrain from commenting
on the evidence, and generally to upgrade his trial
tactics (Tr. 473, 508-510, 523-524).

The most critical exchange between the court and the
attorney occurred when the court interrupted a question
the attorney was directing toward a witness during
cross-examination, and advised the attorney that he was
testifying and that the form of the question was improper.
Shouting in protest, the attorney declared that the pros-

‘
ecution had not objected to his form of questioning and
that, in essence, he was not able properly to cross-
examine the witness (Tr. 816-817). The court then
admonished him as follows (Tr. 817-818):

***(I}f you. will conduct yourself as a lawyer
should conduct himself in a courtroom, you will
receive every consideration. If you do not wish to
proceed in that manner, then you will not receive
every consideration; and there’s no reason for you to
raise your voice to the jury or this Court.

During its instructions to the jury on the following day,
the court advised the jury that its comments directed
toward counsel should not be taken as any indication
that it felt the defendants were or were not guilty, nor
should the jury attempt to reward or punish the defend-
ants because of any such incidents (Tr. 916-917).!

The court of appeals, upon whose opinion we rely,
properly ruled that there had been no prejudice to the
defendants (Pet. App. A7):

The trial court has a duty to see that the facts are
developed and the jury not left confused. The court
here acted within its discretion in warning counsel
to desist from what it considered to be unnecessary
actions. None of the court’s comments were directed
to the defendants’ credibility or the strength of
their case. The case against them was not a weak
one, and the court’s instructions to the jury were
sufficient to correct any prejudice which might have
resulted because of its comments to counsel.

‘At the beginning of the trial,.as well, Judge Kellam advised
the jury that they should not be affected by vigorous courtroom
interchanges (Tr. 22-23).

~

5

See United States v. Weiss, 491 F.2d 460 (C.A. 2),
certiorari denied, No. 73-1736, October 15, 1974; United
States v. Boatner, 478 F.2d 737 (C.A. 2), certiorari denied,
414 U.S. 848.

3. The claim that petitioners were denied their right
to a speedy trial is also without foundation.

Petitioners were originally indicted on November 8,
1971 (Transcript of April 2, 1973, hearing on motion
to dismiss, p. 4). A four day continuance was granted
on March 9, 1972, because the key government witness,
Ellen O'Meara, had for the first time requested a grant
of immunity. The case was continued with the agreement
of defense counsel on March 13, 1972, because the gov-
ernment had not had sufficient time to obtain immunity
for Ms. O’Meara and because defense counsel was ill
(Transcript of April 17, 1973, hearing on motion to dis-
miss, pp. 41-42). The immunity request was finally ap-
proved on July 10, 1972. The government was then un-
able to locate Ms. O’Meara until September 1972,
when she was found to be incarcerated in a New York
state prison; it was, however, impossible to obtain: her
release on a writ of habeas corpus ad testificandum from
New York State officials until the March 1973 term of
grand jury, when petitioners were reindicted? (Transcript
of April 2, 1973, hearing on motion to dismiss, pp. 6-7).

The trial on the superseding indictment commenced
on May 24, 1973, the original indictment having been
dismissed without prejudice on April 2, 1973.

2The government's efforts to locate Ms. O'Meara began in June
1972, before immunity was secured for her. From October 1972,
the government sought to obtain her from New York State penal
authorities, who initially requested that she be extradited.

6

During this time, petitioners’ attorney had written
two letters to the Assistant United States Attorney in
charge of the case and had conversed with him several
times, requesting that the indictments be dismissed. No
request for a speedy trial was made to the court until
the April 2, 1973, hearing on the motion to dismiss
(April 2 Tr., pp. 8, 10). During this period, petitioners
were free on personal recognizance (id. at 5).

In Barker v. Wingo, 407 U.S. 514, this Court held that
four factors are to be considered in determining whether
the right to speedy trial has been violated: (1) the
length of the delay; (2) reasons for the delay; (3) the
defendants’ responsiblity to assert their right; and (4)
prejudice suffered due to the delay. Consideration of
those factors in light of the facts of this case shows that
petitioners were not denied their right to a speedy trial.

The delay was not unreasonably long in light of the
reasons for it. The 18-month period between the original
indictment and the trial was not wholly attributable to
the government. From November 1971 to March 1972, a
period of four months, and from March 1973 to May 1973,
a period of two months, the cases were moving routinely
from indictment through arraignment and to trial. The
early 45-day continuance was agreed to by defense coun-
sel and occasioned in part by his illness. The remaining
period—slightly less than 11 months—of the delay was
primarily due to the government’s inability to locate and
obtain. the surrender of Ms. O’Meara. The circumstances
here could not have been changed, nor the case expedited,
regardless of the priority assigned to the matter or the
urgency accorded it by the United States Attorney. See
Pitts v. North Carolina, 395 F.2d 182 (C.A. 4).

> PPro

;

Petitioners did not assert their right to a speedy
trial until April 2, 1973. The earlier letters and phone
calls to the prosecutor were essentially attempts to obtain
a dismissal of the indictment.

Finally, as both courts below found, “no prejudice
was shown in any event as [petitioners] had not been

incarcerated or otherwise suffered any material damage
to their defense” (Pet. App. A3).4

3The letters sent to the prosecutor (Appendix to petitioners’
brief in the court of appeals, p. 21) indicate that petitioners wanted
the government to follow the course of the first indictment against
a then co-defendant, Jack Booher, by dismissing the indictment and
foregoing prosecution. They only asserted their speedy trial rights
when, at arraignment on the re-indictment, they knew that Booher
had also been re-indicted and would be prosecuted. This may ac-
count for the fact that a request was not made to the court until
the April 2, 1973, hearing.

‘Petitioners contend that the delay “saw the death of two witnesses
material to the defense” (Pet. 8). The witnesses were petitioner Jesse
Simpkins’ mother and one Howard Strickland.

Petitioners’ version of what Strickland would have testified is
set out in the transcript of the April 17, 1973, hearing on the
motion to dismiss at 19-22. In denying that motion, the trial judge
correctly concluded, “I doubt seriously that [Strickland’s] testimony
would have been of any consequence.” /d. at 58.

As to the mother, Mrs. Hattie G. Simpkins, petitioners apparemly
never intended to call her for the trial scheduled on March 9, 1972,
or at any other time. She was not subpoenaed for the original
trial date, although another family member who was expected to
testify was subpoenaed. /d. at 47.

Mrs. Simpkins, who was in her seventies, suffered a stroke in
August 1970, and remained in the hospital constantly until her
death on January |, 1973. Had petitioners actually wanted Mrs.
Simpkins as a witness, they could have taken a deposition to pre-
serve her testimony pursuant to the provisions of 18 U.S.C. 3503.
In fact, this possiblity was considered but not acted upon. /d. at 50-51.

In any event, as the trial court concluded, Mrs. Simpkins’ testi-
mony would have been of no practical value to the defense. /d.
at 59. It was not significant enough to establish a “reasonable pos-

8

It is therefore respectfully submitted that the petition
for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

RoperT H. Bork,
Solicitor General.

FEBRUARY 1975.

sibility that the jury could have reached a different result by con-
sidering the asserted evidence foreclosed by delay.” Favors v. Eyman,
466 F.2d 1325, 1328 (C.A. 9)); Turner v. Slayton (C.A. 4), No.
73-1027, February 7, 1974.

DOJ-1975-02

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_2234%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
